# Opposition Brief — Riley v. Plump (No. 07-1460)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1654%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

No. 07-1460

In the
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

HONORABLE BOB RILEY, as Governor of the
State of Alabama,
Appellant,

V.
FRED L. PLUMP,
Appellee.

¢
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Alabama
.

BRIEF OF GOVERNOR BOB RILEY IN OPPOSITION TO
APPELLEE’S MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

e

Troy King

Attorney General

James W. Davis
Counsel of Record

Margaret L. Fieming

Misty S. Fairbanks

Asst. Attorneys General

STATE OF ALABAMA

Attorney Generals Office

11 South Union Street

Montgomery, AL 36130
August 4, 2008 (334) 242-7300

S oneniaiinenichiabaeieia

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee itn is in dvectanscaneeecanan x
ee OF FT oicvess cxasacccamoiecasctiiadin im
ee U6 Fe CI ON ion sca scunctnssnvesccrnanmincneaceeuaiauaeinee ]
1. The evolution of the facts since Governor

Riley filed his Jurisdictional Statement

demonstrates the burden Section 5 places

on covered States, and by extension, on

our Federal system of government....................
2. Governor Riley’s appeal is timely. ....................cceen. 6
3. Section 5 does not reach a return to a

coverage-date practice Ss
4. The unchallenged back-to-back elections

in Jefferson County in 1982 were a

“temporary misapplication of state law.’

such that the practice of special clections

was never “in force or effect.” ........... 9
5. The District Court improperly skipped to

the merits, thereby creating an additional

basis for vacating and remanding the

judyment below 1]
CONCLUSION l

—_—— .

APPENDIX

Letter from Christopher Coates, Acting
Chief, Voting Section to Ala. Att’y Gen. Troy
King and Ala. Ass’t Att’y Gen. Misty S.

ER CUUEORY TO, DMID 0.05.50... c.ccncvssnecncnnansnccsoscovenss

Working, et al. v. Jefferson County Election
Commission,

eee. eee CR. Gums BO, ZOGS) on vccccccccenccese

Letter from Christopher Coates, Acting
Chief, Voting Section to Ala. Att’y Gen. Trov
NN EE NOI ono cain ssediv caves. ysccedanesesucevseneveiues
Complaint in Powell v. Alabama, Case No.

2:08-cv-01345-LSC (N.D. Ala., pending) ................

111

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Catlin v. United States,

ee ee ee NIN iste bisnnsa kid bcndivassdonncitaimacandiesioaes 7
City of Lockhart v. United States,

AGO U.S. 125 (1988)......cccccccccccosecccscscecesscesecsscsseees 10
Idlewild Liquor Corp. v. Epstein,

ee ee Fe I hsv ocec skoda wkdaenvasnadacesvoaniandndaws 7-8
Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v. Mercur}
Const. Corp.,

ee erates th ouickens aaaicnsesuaneasens 7
Peddycoart v. City of Birmingham,

rete He Se EG, BEES sonido ducicnscovnnssacevsscsatactins 4
Perkins v. Matthews,

I er te A Ie Bac ccaccens sss cavcaubensdke ceasetieakecen 10
Riley v. Kennedy,

653 U.S. CRY Zi De? ci ctkcliad ras passim
Spector Motor Service, Inc. v. McLaughtiin,

ee eS, CRI on oh ve dawn ecdavesccanadesserauieciveactaeeciee
Stokes v. Noonan,

ee PO te ee CU, PUMPED oo dacicdeckscracneseccnosncesascecanes Z

Working, et al. v. Jefferson County Election
Cioommtssion,

So. 2d ___ (Ala. June 30, 2008) ..........

passim

Young v. Fordice,
RP RP. Fe CRE) ci civesccinncesiaccsrssnavanecs

Constitutional Provisions
oe a oe St | Ieper
yt UR, III, FREY oh vcisdinsaciscaccccceccsscenes
RS dee CONE, PIII, FY wisi sins ecsisccsaccnsececasacsce

Pie. Comet. Art. TV, © BOG cicccccccessssscstssncnce.

Statutes and Acts

Be ete eR sodas ire ds os eons Ga a cua ess chen vee wes
PBR Fae TH TB ic ic intisninwevasecsccssncansins ne
Pe MR CI, FO hinisik cha his dn she ncnd dace eds sauveds
PEs Fae FO. I Foie visvdnvcnsteasdsdincncaens
ee 8 BG Ee (nar
Pa, SE Fe BU oe xekdsnweccdicncassccesexsnacnns

Voting Rights Act

UES OR Ee ae TE AP re ee

Section 2

ee 8 oe ey, ee eee

Section 5

OS ITA. B BOTA iascvessnditavteiv ccdnccers

passim

Liat ap aera 6

saicges passim

Other Authorities

TN, TO i cc anecsadacssccsacaccsaceansenccenis

Ne au cusuuecdacdncdcusandevascucccsens

Complaint in Powell v. Alabama, Case No.

2:08-cv-01345-LSC (N.D. Ala., pending) .............

Letter from Ala. Att'y Gen. Troy King to

Chief, Voting Section (February 4, 2008)............

Letter from Christopher Coates, Acting
Chief, Voting Section to Ala. Att’y Gen. Troy
King and Ala. Ass’t Att’y Gen. Misty S.

gE EN Ae S| re

Letter from Christopher Coates, Acting
Chief, Voting Section to Ala. Att'y Gen. Troy

Teen nc. cenauschanccccadectscuccacncacncs

Letter from Ala. Atty Gen. Troy King to
Chief, Voting Section (July 28, 2008)

(Working Supreme Court submission) ................

Letter from Ala. Att'y Gen. Troy King to
Chief, Voting Section (July 28, 2008)

(Working trial court submission).......... pi ccuceoninen

eed 3

ania Oo

~

cea o

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Governor Riley’s Jurisdictional Statement sought
to emphasize the similarities between the present
case and the then-pending appeal in Riley ov.
Kennedy, Case No. 07-77. After the Jurisdictional
Statement was filed, this Court issued its narrowly
tailored decision, Riley v. Kennedy, 553 U.S. ___
(May 27, 2008), and the Alabama Supreme Court
issued a decision of some import, Working, et al. v.
Jefferson County Election Commission, ___ So. 2d
(Ala. June 30, 2008). Working triggered additional
key events, which are discussed below. Still, § 5
itself, as well as substantial federalism concerns,
compel resolution of this appeal in Governor Riley’s
favor.

1. The evolution of the facts since Governor
Riley filed his Jurisdictional] Statement
demonstrates the burden Section 5 places on
covered States, and by extension, on our
Federal system of government. These facts
spring from the Alabama Supreme Court’s decision
in Working, et al. v. Jefferson County Election
Commission, __ So. 2d ___, 2008 WL 2569255 (Ala.
June 30, 2008), reprinted at Appendix 6a. The
litigation presented a state court challenge to the
Jefferson County local law at issue here, Act No. 77-

784.

Litigants (including Governor Riley) challenged
the state-law validity of a special election called by
local officials pursuant to the Act No. 77-784. The
trial court held that state law required a special
election; the Alabama Supreme Court reversed,
ruling that Governor Riley's appointment was valid,

and the special election invalid. See Appendix at
32a-41a.

Governor Riley had argued in state court that Act
No. 77-784 violated §105 of the Alabama
Constitution. His argument was predicated on the
authority of Stokes v. Noonan, 534 So. 2d 237 (Ala.
1988), one of the decisions at the heart of the Riley
appeal and a decision on which the Governor relied
in appointing Commissioner Bowman. Citing the
principle that courts should avoid constitutional
questions if the matter may be decided on other
grounds,! the Alabama Supreme Court resolved
Working on statutory grounds, holding that Act No.
2007-488 (reprinted at J.S. Appx. 51a) had repealed
the Jefferson County local law. See Appendix at 32a-
39a. The Court did not hold that Act No. 77-784 was
constitutional, nor did it question its holding in
Stokes; the Court simply affirmed Governor Riley’s
position on grounds different from those advanced by
him.

The Alabama Supreme Court thus ruled that the
Governor’s appointment was proper, but for a
different reason than was offered by the Governor
and that was considered by the District Court in this
case. Nonetheless, the difference in reasoning does
not defeat the Governor's appeal for three reasons.
First, the Working decision, issued in June 2008,
does not change the fact that Governor Riley made
the appointment at issue here in November 2007,
some seven months earlier, because Alabama

' Cf. Spector Motor Service, Inc. v. McLaughlin, 323 U.S. 101,
105 (1944) (“If there is one doctrine more deeply rooted than
any other in the process of constitutional adjudication, it 1s that
we ought not to pass on questions of constitutionalty ... unless
such questions are] unavoidable’)

Supreme Court precedent compelled the
appointment.2 The circumstances that gave rise to
this htigation and appeal take the preclearance
question here presented outside the normal confines
of § 5 analysis within which the Plaintiff attempt to
box it, e.g., M.D.A. at 26-27.

Second, the Alabama Supreme Court’s notation of
§ 105’s “direct[ion that] the judicial branch . . . decide
disputes under that provision” was made in the
course of the Court’s conclusion that the voter
plaintiffs before it had standing. See Appendix at
20a-21la, n. 8. The Court was explaining that this
provision undercuts any suggestion that its resolving
the dispute would be contrary to the Separation of
Powers concerns that animate the standing doctrine.
Id. The Court was not, as Plump suggests, M.D.A. at
13, 29 n.12, rebuking the Governor for interpreting
the law, as is required, in the performance of his
function of implementing the law.

Third, the Alabama Supreme Court explicitly
stated that it was not addressing the constitutional
issue, preferring instead to resolve the litigation on
statutory grounds. See Appendix at 32a. Given that,
it is not for Plump to suggest that the Court

2 It is because Governor Riley made the appointment based on
his understanding of Alabama Supreme Court precedent that
USDOJ's letter requesting more information was misguided in,
for example, requesting “[a] detailed description of the efforts

. made ... to secure the views of the public... . regarding
whether the voting change is retrogressive,’ see Letter from
Christopher Coates, Acting Chief, Voting Section to Ala. Att’y
Gen. Troy King and Ass’t Atty Gen. Misty S. Fairbanks (May 8,
2008), Appendix at 4a, and unreasonable in requesting various
information on Jefferson Country elections “in which an African-
American candidate participated from 1997 to present,’ td.,
Appendix at 3a.

4

implicitly rejected the constitutional challenge. See
M.D.A. at 29 (emphasizing that the Working Court
had referred to Act No. 77-784 as a “preexisting local
law”). Nor are Pump’s contentions about the impact
of Peddycoart v. City of Birmingham, 354 So.2d 808
(Ala. 1978), M.D.A. at 28, n.11, on the constitutional
analysis of any relevance. Governor Riley disagrees
with Plaintiffs assessment of the import of
Peddycoart, and he made his State law argument to
the Alabama Supreme Court, which chose not to
address the subject.

That said, the Working decision triggered several,
additional new facts relevant to this appeal. The
Alabama Supreme Court’s statutory holding was
based on enforcement of two new provisions of Act
No. 2007-488, specifically new Ala. Code § 11-3-1(b)
and (f). For good reason, those provisions had not
been submitted for preclearance at the time that the
Working Court ruled.

USDOJ responded to news of the Working
decision by declaring that a submission—filed
months earlier as a result of the District Court's
decision in this case—could not be reviewed until

Plump asserts that the State “has expressly refused” to
submit provisions. See M.D.A. at 2: see also id. at 11-12, n.6. In
fact, prior to the Working Court's decision, no change with
respect to Ala. Code § 11-3-1(f had been identified, and, in any
event, it would have been premature to make any submission
concerning the interaction between Ala. Code § 11-3-1() and
Ala. Code § 1-3-l(b) before the latter subsection was
independently ready for submission The preclearance
submission concerning other portions of Act No. 2007-488 made
clear that Ala. Code §11-3-l(b) was not appropriate for
submission—at that time—because_ th Legislature was
considering repealing the relevant change Letter from Ala
Att'y Gen. Troy King to Chief, Voting Section (February 4

2008) at 1-2

Ala. Code § 11-3-1(b) was submitted. Letter from
Christopher Coates, Acting Chief, Voting Section to
Ala. Att’y Gen. Troy King (July 22, 2008); see
Appendix at 42a. Ala. Code § 11-3-1(b), as well as
Ala. Code § 11-3-1(f) and non-certification of the
February 5, 2008 special election, have now been
submitted. Letter from Ala. Att'y Gen. Troy King to
Chief, Voting Section (July 28, 2008) (Working
Supreme Court submission).

Additionally, the Working Court’s enforcement of
new Ala. Code §11-3-1(b) means Commissioner
Bowman’s appointment is cut short, and an election
is to be held this November to select someone to
serve out the remainder of Larry Langford’s term
(that is, until November 2010). Appendix at 39a-40a.
The Alabama Supreme Court remanded the case to
the trial court “to enter an appropriate order
declaring that the required election is to be placed on
the November 2008 general election ballot.” Jd. at
40a. The normal qualification deadlines and party
primaries had already passed. After a hearing, the
trial court enterec' an order concerning the election
details at 5:55 p.m. on Friday, July 25, 2008. On
Monday, July 28, 2008, the State submitted the
changes within the scope of §&5 embodied in that
order for preclearance. Letter from Ala. Att'y Gen.
Troy King to Chief, Voting Section (July 28, 2008)
(Working trial court submission)

The next dav, counsel for Plump filed a
Complaint in federal court on benalf of Doris Powell.
Powell v. State of Alabama. Case No. 2:08-cv-01345-
LSC (N.D. Ala., pending). See Appendix at 46a. The
Complaint seeks a declaratory judgment that
preclearance of new Ala. Code § 11-3-1(b) and (f) and
the non-certification of the February 5, 2008 special

6

election are required. Jd. at 52a. (Powell knew the
preclearance submission had made; she referred to
it. Id. at 50a.) Powell also seeks an injunction
preventing the defendants, absent preclearance, from
failing to certify the special election results and from
going forward with the November election of a new
County Commissioner. /d. at 52a-53a.

In sum, the Governor’s appointment, which he
believed to be compelled by Alabama Supreme Court
precedent, has been met with two §5 challenges
(Plump and Powell) and has resulted in three
preclearance submissions-—~so far.

2. Governor Riley’s appeal is timely. Plump
argues that the District Court’s order should be
construed an interlocutory, requiring that any notice
of appeal be filed within 30 days, not 60 days. See 28
U.S.C. § 2101. The order was not final, Plump
argues, because the District Court did not address
the single-judge claims raised under §2 and the
Thirteenth, Fourteenth, and Fifteenth Amendments
and because the relief was uncertain. M.D.A. at 17-
25. Plump further suggests that the stays entered by
the District Court and this Court have somehow
undermined any finality that the order would have
otherwise achieved. M.D.A. at 23-25.

As to the unaddressed claims, Governor Riley
pointed out to the District Court that it had not
spoken to these claims, see J.S. Appx. 25a, and it did
not respond. While never specifically invoking Rule
54(b) or its key language. the District Court
encouraged a prompt appeal and consolidation with
tiley. Specifically, in both the Judgment and the
Amended Judgment, the District Court said: “The
clerk of court is DIRECTED to enter this document
on the civil docket as a final judgment pursuant to

Rule 58 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure so
that appeal may be taken and the case consolidated
with Kennedy v. Riley, O7-77, if the U.S. Supreme
Court deems consolidation appropriate.” See J.A.
Appx. 13a, 17a.

Paradoxically, the District Court would have
punished the Governor for an immediate appeal.
The Amended Judgment provided that “the Jefferson
County Commission seat currently occupied by
General George F. Bowman shall be vacated on
February 5, 2008 without further order of this court”
if the Governor notified the ourt of an intent to
“immediately appeal” or ut the Governor failed to
timely notify the court of his intentions. J.S. Appx.
l7a. The only way to keep the Governor’s
appointment from being vacated in February was for
the State to seek preclearance, id., which it did.

As to the curious nature of the judgment, the
contingent relief left nothing for the court to do—the
hallmark of a final judgment. See Catlin v. United
States, 324 U.S. 229, 233 (1945). Indeed, the District
Court ensured that any of the various contingencies
would operate automatically, without the court’s
further involvement.

As to the stays issued by this Court and the
District Court, litigants often seek stays pending
appeal, without thereby undercutting their ability to
pursue the appeal.

Finally, while it was unclear in late January
which—if any—remedy would materialize, it was
clear that Governor Riley was “effectively out of
court.” See Moses H. Cone Memortal Hosp.
Mercury Const. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 10 (1983). Accord,
Idleuild Liquor Corp. v. Epstein, 370 U.S. 713, 715

n.2 (1962). Since then, Governor Riley has filed two
notices of appeal — covering the entire range of dates
on which the District Court’s judgment might have

become final. This Court’s stay order is the only
reason that the Governor’s appointment has not been
vacated. On balance, then, this Court should

conclude that the District Court’s order has achieved
finality and that Governor Riley’s appeal is timely.

3. Section 5 does not reach a return to a
coverage-date practice.’ The plain text of 42
U.S.C. §1973c requires preclearance of a practice or
procedure that affects voting if it is different from
the practice or procedure in. place on the
jurisdiction’s coverage date. On November 1, 1964,
Alabama’s coverage date, vacancies on the Jefferson
County Commission were filled by gubernatorial
appointment. The Governor's appointment is a
return to the coverage-date practice, and § 5's text
therefore does not require preclearance.

Plump contends that gubernatorial appointment
is not a return to the coverage date practice because
of allegedly different rules for when the appointee’s
term ends. M.D.A. at 29-31. Under the 1964
practice, Plump argues, the Governor’s appointee
served for the entire unexpired term if the vacancy
occurred within six months of the next general
election. See Ala. Act 57-429.° Under the current

+ This argument is equally valid whether the return comes as a
result of a legislative repeal or a court's declaration that a
statute is unconstitutional Whatever effect the Alabama
Supreme Courts reasoning in Working may have on the
Governors remaining arguments, the coverage-date argument
remains very much in play

‘Governor Riley does not concede that the 1957 statute is the
proper “baseline” There was no evidence in the District Court

practice, the appointee serves for the entire
unexpired term if the appointment occurs later than
“30 days before the closing of party qualifying.” Ala.
Code § 11-3-1(b).

Two points are particularly relevant. First, the
issue of how the vacancy is filled is a separate
“standard, practice, or procedure” from how long the
new Commissioner will serve. In both cases—in
1964 and today—vacancies are filled by
appointment. That is the only practice at issue in
this case. If, in 1964, the appointee would serve a
shorter or longer term than under the 2008 practice,
that is @ separate practice meriting a separate § 5
consideration.

Second, and in the alternative, under both the
1957 local law and the practice sought to be enforced
today, the Governor has the authority to appoint and
his appointee would face election in November 2008.
Even under Plump’s argument that the practices can
be combined, the State seeks to return to a coverage
date practice, and that practice is not subject to the
plain text of § 5.

4. The unchallenged back-to-back elections in
Jefferson County in 1982 were a “temporary
misapplication of state law,” such that the
practice of special elections was never “in
force or effect.” No citizen stepped forward to
challenge the local law when it was implemented in
1982. The next vacancy did not occur until] 2001, and
it was filled by gubernatorial appointment.

that Act No. 57-429 was ever once enforced Kven taking
Plump’s position as correct, though, the text of § 5 does not

reach the return to gubernatorial appointment

10

As this Court noted of the facts in Riley, “[ilf the
only relevant factors were the length of time a
practice was in use and the extent to which it was
implemented, [Riley] would be a close case falling
somewhere between the two poles established by our
prior decisions.” Riley, 553 U.S. at __.. At one pole
lie Perkins v. Matthews, 400 U.S. 379 (1971), and
City of Lockhart v. United States, 460 U.S. 125
(1983); in each of those cases, a practice that was
unauthorized by state law was nonetheless “in force
or effect” for purposes of § 5 because it was in effect
on the coverage date designated by the statute. At
the other pole lies Young v. Fordice, 520 U.S. 273
(1997); there, a voter registration practice was not
“in force or effect,” even though it was precleared and
used before being abandoned as a “temporary
misapplication of state law.” This case likewise falls
between the two poles, though, admittedly, it is a
little further from Young than Riley was, given the
absence of an early legal challenge and the length of
time between its only use and its abandonment.

Ultimately, though, the relevant length of time is
the period during which the practice of special
elections was actually used, not how long it was on
the books. Vacancies are infrequent. Here, there
was none between the back-to-back use in 1982 and
the non-use in 2001. This case is thus closer to
Young (a temporary misapplication of State law)
than Perkins and Lockhart (where the State was
required to keep a coverage-date practice in place).
Moreover, as noted in the Jurisdictional Statement,
there is reason to believe that one of the 1982 special
elections may have been held in violation of § 5, JS
at 32, n.15; that election ought not be able to
establish the § 5 baseline

li

5. The District Court improperly skipped to the
merits, thereby creating an additional basis for
vacating and remanding the judgment below.
Plump never addresses the Governor’s argument
that the District Court erred in skipping to the
merits, when there was only a motion for
preliminary injunction pending. This argument
stands un-rebutted as grounds to vacate and remand
for further consideration.

CONCLUSION

This Court should note jurisdiction, and either
reverse the District Court or vacate and remand for
further proceedings in light of the Riley decision, the
evolving facts, and the District Court’s improper
jump to the merits. In the event the case is
remanded, the Governor respectfully requests that
this Court keep its stay in place pending any
subsequent appeal and final decision by this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

Troy King

Attorney General

James W. Davis
Counsel of Record

Margaret L. Fleming

Misty S. Fairbanks

Asst. Attorneys General

STATE OF ALABAMA

Attorney General's Office

11 South Union Street

Montgomery, Al 36130
August 4, 2008 (3:34) 242-7300

APPENDIX

la
U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

Voting Section - NWB
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20580

CC:TFM:DJ
DJ 166-012-2 May 8, 2008
2008-157

The Honorable Troy King
Attorney General

Misty S. Fairbanks, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130

Dear Attorney General King and Ms. Fairbanks:

This refers to the change in the procedure for
filling vacancies on the Jefferson County
Commission from special election to gubernatorial
appointment, for Jefferson County, Alabama,
submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to
Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c.
We received your submission on March 19, 2008.

Our analvsis indicates that the information
sent is insufficient to enable us to determine that the
proposed change dves not have the purpose and will
not have the effect of denying or abmdging the nght

2a
me

to vote on account of race, color, or membership in a
language minority group, as required under Section
5. The following information is necessary so that we
may complete our review of your submission:

1. The factual basis for the State or county’s
determination that the proposed change will not
result in a retrogression of the effective exercise of
the electoral] franchise by the African-American
voters of Jefferson County Commission District No.
a;

2. A special clection was held for Jefferson
County Commission, District 1 on February 5, 2008.
Please provide any documents, including any
analysis or reports that have been done discussing
whether Mr. Bowman was the candidate of choice for
African-American voters in that special election. For
this election, please also provide the following:

(a) the number of votes each candidate
received by precinct;

(b) the total number of persons who voted and
the number of African-American persons who
voted, by precinct, if that information is
available;

(c) if a breakdown by race or ethnicity is not
available as indicated in paragraph (b) above,
copies of the actual voter sign-in sheets for
each precinct located in whole or in part
within Jefferson County for this election; and

(d) the number of registered voters, by race or

ethnicity and precinct, at the time of the
election.

3. Please provide any documents, including
any analysis or reports that have been done
discussing whether there is racially polarized voting
in Jefferson County.

4. Please provide election returns by voting
precinct for all state, county, municipal, and school
district elections in which Jefferson County was
included in whole or in part and in which an African-
American candidate participated from 1997 to the
present. For each election, please indicate the
following:

(a) the office sought (indicate the
incumbent(s), if any, their races, and whether
incumbency was by election or appointment);

(b) each candidate’s name and race or
ethnicity;

(c) the number of votes each candidate
received by precinct:

(d) the total number of persons who voted and
the number of African-American persons who
voted, by precinct, if that information is
available;

(e) if a breakdown by race or ethnicity is not
available as indicated in paragraph (d) above,
copies of the actual voter sign-in sheets for
each precinct located in whole or in part
within Jefferson County for each election: and
(f) the number of registered voters, by race or
ethnicity and precinct. at the time of the
election.

(g) for early and absentee voting, if possible,
an identification of the precinct in which early

Aa

and/or absentee voters would have voted on
election day.

(h) if possible, this information should be
provided in electronic format, either Excel or a
delimited text file. If a delimited text file,
please specify the common delimiter used.

5. The precinct boundaries used for the
elections for which election return and _ voter
registration data is requested. If possible, this

should be in electronic form. It will expedite our
review if we receive this information in “Shape file
format,” including all three types of files that form
components of this format: .shp. .shx, and .dbf files.

6. A detailed description of the efforts, both
formal and informal, made by the county or the State
to secure the views of the public, including members
of the minority community, regarding whether the
voting change is_ retrogressive. Describe the
substance of any comments or suggestions received,
indicate the names and daytime telephone numbers
of the persons making the comments or suggestions,
and explain the State or county’s response, if any.

The Attorney General has sixty davs to
consider a completed submission pursuant to Section
5. This sixty-day review period will begin when we
receive the information specified above. See
Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 of the
Voting Rights Act (28 C.F.R. § 51.37). However, if no
response is received within sixty davs of this request,
the Attorney General may object to the proposed
change consistent with the burden of proof placed
upon the submitting authority. See 28 C.F.R.
§§ 51.40 and 51.52(a) and (c)

Sa

Changes which affect voting are legally
unenforceable unless Section 5 preclearance has
been obtained. Clark v. Roemer, 500 U.S. 646 (1991);
28 C.F.R. § 51.10. Therefore, to enable us to meet
our responsibility to enforce the Voting Rights Act,
please inform us of the action the State of Alabama
plans to take concerning this matter. If you have
any questions, you should call Donald Jacobsen (202-
305-8299) of our staff. Refer to File No. 2008-1576 in
any response to this letter so that your
correspondence will be channeled properly.

Since the Section 5 status of this change is at
issue in Plump v. Riley (Civ. Act. No. 07-1014, M.D.
Ala. (three-judge court)) and Working v. Jefferson
County, (No. 08-cv-900316, 10th Jud. Cir., Ala.), we
are providing a copy of this letter to the court and
counsel of record in those cases.

Sincerely,

/s/ Timothy Mellett

for

Christopher Coates

Acting Chief, Voting Section

REL: 06/30/08

[Notice concerning reporting typographical or other

]

errors omitted.|
SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

OCTOBER TERM, 2007-2008

1070850

Patricia Working et al.
Vv.
Jefferson County Election Commission et al.

1070893

Governor Bob Riley, in his official capacity
Ve

Jefferson County Election Commission et al.

1070917

George F. Bowman
Vv.
State of Alabama ex rel. Fred L. Plump and
William A. Bell, Sr.

Appeals from Jefferson County Circuit Court
(CV -08-900316)

PER CURIAM.

These appeals arise from challenges to the
attempts to fill the district 1 seat on the Jefferson
County Commission left vacant when Commissioncr
Larry Langford was elected mayor of the City of
Birmingham in October 2007. The trial court held
that the vacant seat was to be filled by a special
election rather than by gubernatorial appointment.
For the reasons stated herein, we reverse the trial
court's judgment.

|. Facts, Procedural Background. and

Applicable Statutes

On October 9, 2007, Larry Langford, the
member of the Jefferson County Commission
representing district 1, was elected mayor of the City
of Birmingham. He thereafter resigned his seat on
the Jefferson County Commission. On October 29,
2007, the Jefferson County Election Commission,
pursuant to Act No. 784, Ala. Acts 1977,! adopted a
resolution calling for a special election to fill the seat
vacated by Langford. The resolution set the special
election for February 5, 2008 -- the date of Alabama's
presidential-preference primaries. Fred L. Plump.
George F. Bowman, and William A. Bell, Sr., were
among those who qualified to run for the district 1
seat on the county commission.

The Alabama Legislature enacted Act No. 784 effective May

25, 1977, as a local law that purported to authorize a special
election to fill a vacancy on the Jefferson County Commission
caused by death. resignation mpeachment roeanyv cause

except normal expiration of terms.” § 1, Act No 784

Sa

On November 21, 2007, Governor Bob Riley
appointed George F. Bowman to fill the vacant
district 1 seat on the Jefferson County Commission.
The Governor's appointment was made pursuant toa
general law, § 11-3-1(b), Ala.Code 1975.2

2 Section 11-3-1(b) now provides

Unless a local law authorizes a_ special
election, any vacancy on the county
commission shall be filled by appointment by
the Governor. If the appointment occurs at
least 30 days before the closing of party
qualifying as provided in Section 17-13-5, the
person appointed to the vacated office shall
only serve until seven days after the next
general election following the appointment as
provided herein. The person so appointed to
fill the vacancy shall meet the residency
requirements in subsection (a), and shall hold
office from the date of appointment until the
eighth day following the next general election.
If the original term in which the vacancy
occurred would not have expired on the eighth
day following the next general election after
the appointment, the person elected at the
election required by operation of this
subsection shall serve for a period of time
equal to the remainder of the term in which
the vacancy was created. Thereafter. clection
for the county commission seat shall be as

otherwise provided by law.

The emphasized language, however, was first included in this
statutory scheme effective in 2004. See Act No. 2004-455, Ala
Acts 2004. The substance of the first sentence, without the
emphasized language, was part of the Alabama Code prior to
the enactment of Act No. 784 in 1977. Until September 1, 2007,
it was codified as § 11-3-6, Ala.Code 1975. Effective September
1, 2007, the entire provision, including the emphasized
language and additional language. was renumbered by Act No
2007-4588 as § 11 l(b)

Va

On January 31, 2008, Patricia Working and
Rick Erdemir filed a complaint for declaratory relief
in the Jefferson Circuit Court, naming as defendants
the Jefferson County Election Commission and its
individual members, namely Jefferson County
Probate Judge Alan King, Jefferson County Sheriff
Mike Hale, and Jefferson County Circuit Clerk
Anne-Marie Adams. Among other things, they
alleged that they were residents and taxpayers in
Jefferson County and that the special election was
unauthorized and unconstitutional because, they
said, Act No. 784, Ala. Acts 1977, violated § 105 of
the Alabama Constitution of 1901,° and that, even if
Act No. 784 was not unconstitutional and authorized
the special election, the date set by the Election
Commission for the special election was incorrect.
Accompanying the complaint were an application for
a temporary restraining order and a motion for a
preliminary injunction.

On February 1, 2008, the Jefferson Circuit
Court conducted an expedited hearing in which it
noted the absence of potentially interested parties

Section 105 provides

“No special, private, or local law, except a law
fixing che time of holding courts, shall be
enacted in any case which is provided for by a
general law, or when the relief sought can be
viven by any court of this state; and the
courts, and not the legislature, shall judge as
to Whether the matter of said law is provided
for bv a general law, and as to whether the
relief sought can be given by amy court; nor
shall the legistature indirectly enact any such
special, private, or local law by the partial
repeal of a general law”

10a

and issued an order holding that it would not have
subject-matter jurisdiction until the attorney general
was served with a copy of the complaint pursuant to
Ala.Code 1975, § 6-6-227. It further stated that the
matter would be held under submission until the
plaintiffs had complied with § 6-6-227. Subsequent to
the entry of that order, the attorney general was
served with a copy of the complaint and filed an
answer stating that he was entitled to be heard on
the issue of the constitutionality of Act No. 784, and
that because Act No. 784 is unconstitutional, the
circuit court should enjoin the Election Commission
from canvassing the votes and certifying the results
of the special election. In addition, on February 6,
2008, Plump filed a motion to intervene as a
defendant, which the court later granted.‘

The special election was held on February 5,
2008. On February 12, Floyd McGinnis filed a
“Joinder of Verified Complaint” and, with Working
and Erdemir, amended the complaint to add Bell as
a defendant. McGinnis, Working, and Erdemir
(collectively referred to as “the Working plaintiffs”)
each filed a verification in support of the amended
complaint.

On February 13, 2008, the Working plaintiffs
filed a notice of appeal to this Court from the trial

*Plump, a resident of district 1, is a plaintiff in a federal action
challenging Governor Riley's appointment of Bowman to fill the
district 1 vacancy on the Jefferson County Commission; that
action is based on § 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1963, 42
U.S.C. § 1973c (2000) and is presently pending remmew by the

United States Supreme Court

lla

court's February 1, 2008, order and, specifically, its
effective denial of a temporary restraining order and
a preliminary injunction by holding the case “under
submission.” On February 14, 2008, this Court
granted an emergency motion filed by the Working
plaintiffs, enjoining the Election Commission from
certifying the results of the special election until
further order of this Court. On February 20, 2008,
this Court issued an order noting that it appeared
the statutory. notice requirements pertaining to the
attorney gencral had been met, remanding the cause
to the trial court for a ruling on the merits of the
Working plaintiffs’ claims, and maintaining in place
the injunction prohibiting the certification of the
results of the February 5 special election pending
further order of this Court. (Case no. 1070693.)

On February 21, 2008, the defendants moved
to dismiss the action on the bases, among others,
that the Working plaintiffs lacked standing to pursue
their claims because, as was undisputed, Working
and Erdemir did not actually reside in district 1 of
Jefferson County and McGinnis had not suffered a
sufficient, particularized injury. On February 27,
2008, Plump filed an answer to the complaint and a
third-party complaint asserting a quo warranto
action as a relator for the State against Bowman. See
Ala.Code 1975, § 6-6-597.

On February 28, 2008, Governor Riley filed a
motion, which was later granted, to intervene as a
plaintiff. Also on February 28, the Working plaintiffs
filed a second amended complaint, among. other
things, adding a claim that the Election Commission
was required by Act No. 2007-488 to hold an election
at the November 2008 general election to fill the

|2a

district 1 vacancy and that its refusal to do so was a
violation of plaintiff McGinnis's right to vote in such
an election.

On March 6, 2008, Bell filed, and on March 9,
2008, the trial court granted, a motion to join and to
amend Plump's third-party quo warranto complaint
against Bowman. The amended _ third-party
complaint alleged that Bell was entitled to hold the
office of County Commissioner for district 1 based on
the result of the special election and that Bowman
was unlawfully holding that office. Specifically, Bell
and Plump alleged:

“Governor Riley did not have
the authority to appoint George
Bowman to the District 1 seat because
it is clear that a general state statute,
Act 2007-488 codified at § 11-3-1(b),
that begins ‘Unless a local law
authorizes a special election, allows
local laws on the same _ subject to
coexist without violating § 105 of the
Alabama Constitution. Baldwin
County 3 Jenkins, 494 So.2d 584
(Ala.1986).”

After conducting a hearing, the tmal court
issued a final judgment. In its judgment, the trial
court held that the Working plaintiffs lacked
standing to pursue their claims. As to the merits of
the litigation, the trial court determined that the
local law on which the special election was based, Act
No. 784, Ala. Acts 1977, did not conflict with the
general law. § 11-3-1(b). and theretore did not wiolate
Ss 105 ot the Alabama Constitution of 1901, because

l3a

of the proviso at the beginning of § 11-3-1(b) allowing
local laws to authorize special elections to fill
vacancies on county commissions. Finally, the trial
court held that the Election Commission had sct the
special election for the correct day.

Consistent with the foregoing determinations,
the trial court specifically ruled that Governor
Riley's appointment of Bowman to the district 1 seat
for the Jefferson County Commission’ was
unauthorized and that, when the final results of the
election of February 5, 2008, are certified by the
Election Commission, the winner of the election will
be entitled to hold the office of Jefferson County
commissioner for district 1.

The Working plaintiffs, the Governor, and
Bowman each appeal.

Il. Subject-Matter Jurisdiction

We are presented with two issues pertaining
to subject-matter jurisdiction. These itmclude the
standing of the Working plaintiffs to pursue their
claims and the potential effect of § 17-16-44,
Ala.Code 1975.

A. The Standing of the Working Plaintitfs

In the tmal court, the Working plaintiffs
asserted that they have standing to bring their
claims in this case based on their status as residents
and taxpayers of Jefferson County whose taxes go to

14a

the general fund of the County.’ They alleged that
their status in this regard gives them standing to
challenge the expenditure of moneys from the
general fund for conducting an election not
authorized by law.

In their February 21 motion to dismiss, the
Election Commission and Sheriff Hale argued to the
trial court that the Working plaintiffs did not have
standing to pursue their claims because (1) Working
and Erdemir were not residents or voters of district 1
and (2) McGinnis, although a district 1 voter, had
“not stated or shown with particularity the injury in
fact necessary to grant him standing to challenge the
constitutionality of 1977 Ala. Act No. 784."6 The
motion to dismiss did not specifically address the
Working plaintiffs’ status as taxpayers of Jefferson

> They also note that, as residents of Jefferson County, they will
be governed by the winner of the election in his capacity as a
member of the Jefferson County Commission. In addition,
McGinnis notes his status as a voter in district 1 and, further,
seeks the right to participate in the election of a county
commissioner that, he asserts, should be scheduled for
November 2008 tn keeping with § 11-3-1(b), Ala.Code 1975.

6 In their motion to dismiss, the Election Commission and
Sheriff Hale also argued, and the trial court subsequently
found, that because plaintiffs Working and Erdemir did not
have standing, the court lacked subject-matter jurisdiction over
the case as originally filed, and therefore the amendment by
which McGinnis joined the action as a plaintitf “cannot relate
back to the filing of the original complaint, because there is
nothing ‘back’ to which to relate.” Because of our disposition of
the issue of the Working plaintiffs’ standing as taxpavers, we
need not address the issue whether McGinnis's soinder of the
complaint related back to the date of the filing of the criginal
complaint or, if it did not, whether the trial court nonetheless
acquired subject-matter jurisdiction over McGinnis's claims as
of the date they were filed

Sa

County or whether that status contributed to their
standing to obtain the relief they sought.

In proposed conclusions of law submitted to
the trial court in preparation for the final hearing
and in arguments presented at that hearing, the
Working plaintiffs reasserted their position that
their status, particularly as taxpayers, gave them
standing to pursue their claims. As noted, however,
in its final judgment, the trial court ruled against the
Working plaintiffs on the issue of standing.
Specifically, it held that because neither Working nor
Erdemir were residents of district 1 they did not
suffer a Jegal] injury as a result of the special election.
Among other things, it agreed with the Election
Commission and Sheriff Hale that McGinnis lacked
standing because he “had not stated or shown with
particularity [an] injury in fact.” The trial court did
not directly address the issue of taxpayer standing.

On appeal, the Working plaintiffs again assert
their status as residents and taxpayers of Jefferson
County and again contend that that status gives
them standing to pursue this case. In response, the
Election Commission and Sheriff Hale urge this
Court to uphold the trial court's ruling as to standing
on the same grounds cited in the trial court's opinion;
they make no substantive argument as to the issue of
taxpayer standing.

We note at the outset of our analysis that the
fact that neither the defendants nor the trial court
has directly addressed the Working plaintiffs’
argument as to the issue of taxpayer standing does
not provide us with a reason to conclude, by default,
that such standing exists. Standing is a component of

16a

a court's subject-matter jurisdiction and, as such, is
not subject to waiver. See Waite v. Waite, 959 So.2d
610, 613 (Ala.2006); RLI Ins. Co. v. MLK Ave. Redev.
Corp., 925 So.2d 914, 918 (Ala.2005). See also United
States v. Hays, 515 U.S. 737, 742 (1995).

Whether a party has standing “turns on
‘whether the party has been injured in fact and

:

whether the injury is to a legally protected right’” so
as “ ‘to ensure that he will vigorously present his
case.” ’ State v. Property at 2018 Rainbow Drive, 740
So.2d 1025, 1027-28 (Ala.1999). This Court has said
that a party has standing where, among other
things, there is “an actual, concrete and
particularized ‘injury in fact’ -- ‘an invasion of a
legally protected interest. ” Alabama _ Alcoholic
Beverage Control Bd. v. Henri-Duval Winery, LLC,
890 So.2d 70, 74 (Ala.2003) (relied upon in Town of
Cedar Bluff v. Citizens Caring for Children. 904
So.2d 1253 (Ala.2004)). We conclude that the
Working plaintiffs had standing to bring their
claims.

“In a long line of decisions this Court has
recognized the right of a taxpayer to challenge,
either as unconstitutional or as not conforming to
statute, the expenditure of public funds by county
officers.” Zeigler v. Baker, 344 So.2d 761, 763
(Ala.1977) (quoted with approval in Henson v.
HealthSouth Med. Ctr., 891 So.2d 863, 866
(Ala.2004)). See also Alabama State Florists Ass'n,
Inc. v. Lee County Hosp. Bd., 479 So.2d 720, 722
(Ala.1985); Court of County Revenues for Lawrence
County v. Richardson, 252 Ala. 403, 412, 41 So.2d
749, 754 (1949); Revnolds v. Collier, 204 Ala. 38, 39,

17a

85 So. 465, 466 (1920). In Broxton v. Stegelman, 861
So.2d 376 (Ala.2003), this Court stated:

“(T]he right of a taxpayer to sue ‘ “ ‘is
based upon the taxpayer's equitable
ownership of such funds and their
liability to replenish the _ public
treasury for the deficiency which
would be caused by the
misappropriation.” ’ Hunt v. Windom,
604 So.2d [895] at 396-97 [ (Ala.1992) |
(quoting Zeigler v. Baker, 344 So.2d
761, 763 (Ala.1977), quoting in turn,
Fergus v. Russel, 270 Ill. 304, 314, 110
N.E. 130, 135 (1915)).”

861 So.2d at 385 (emphasis omitted).

The standing of taxpayers to challenge the
expenditure of public funds extends to funds
expended for holding elections not authorized by law.
In City of Mobile v. Mobile Electric Co., 203 Ala. 574,
578, 84 So. 816, 819 (1919), the Supreme Court held
that an election to adopt or reject a municipal
ordinance would be improper and that “the
complainant, as a taxpayer, had the right to enjoin
the same.” See also Dennis v. Prather, 212 Ala. 449,
103 So. 59 (1925) (citing City of Mobile with
approval). We also take note of the result in Petree v.
McMurray, 210 Ala. 639, 98 So. 782 (1923), a case in
which an appointed county superintendent of
education challenged an election that was to be held
pursuant to a local law that he contended was in
violation of Ala. Const.i901, § 175. The Court
affirmed the trial court's order overruling a

18a

demurrer’ to the complaint, which contained the
following allegations:

“(Njotwithstanding the invalidity of
said act, respondents, acting as an
election commission, [were]
threatening to and [were] about to
advertise and call a special election, to
appoint inspectors, clerks, etc., in the
various voting precincts, and_ to
purchase election supplies, all of
which [was] without warrant of law,
and it [was] alleged that the pay
vouchers for the proposed election
officers and the purchase of supplies
[would] constitute illegal claims and
expenses against the county, to the
detriment of [the plaintiff] as a
taxpayer; and that the holding of said
election [would] tend to interfere with
the proper discharge of the duties of
his office.”

210 Ala. at 640, 98 So. at 782.

Other jurisdictions also hold that a taxpayer
has standing to challenge an election paid for with
tax funds. For example, in Bulgo v. Maui County, 50
Haw. 51, 430 P.2d 321 (1967), a taxpayer challenged
the holding of an election that was based on a newly

7 The common-law “demurrer” has heen succeeded by a motion
filed pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) seeking dismissal of a complaint
on the ground that it fails to state a claim upon which rehief
mav be granted. See Roberts v. Meeks, 397 So.2d 11%, 114
(Ala. 1981)

19a

enacted law providing for a special election to fill the
term of a county chairman-elect who dies before
assuming office. Describing the taxpayer's contention
with regard to his standing to challenge the election,
the Supreme Court of Hawaii wrote:

“Plaintiff bases his standing to
sue on the fact that he pays real
property tax to the county of Maui,
which tax goes into the county general
fund out of which the expenses of the
special elections are payable. He
claims the requested relief on the
ground that the challenged provision
is a sp.cial law, violative of Article
VII, Section 1, of the State
constitution, and, unless restrained by
the court, defendant will irreparably
damage plaintiff by illegally
expending funds raised by taxation in
holding elections under an invalid
statutory provision.”

Bulgo, 50 Haw. at 54, 430 P.2d at 324. The Court
held that this was sufficient to confer standing on
the plaintiff to pursue his challenge of the election:

“We hold that plaintiff has a
standing to sue in this case. We hase
this holding on Castle v. Secretary of
the Territory, 16 Haw. 769 { (1905) }.
Although defendant urges that Castle,
as a controlling authority on the point
at issue, has been eroded by Wilson uv.
Stainback, 39 Haw. 67 [(1951)];:
Munoz v. Commissioner of Public

20a

Lands, 40 Haw. 675 [(1951)]; Aiur
Terminal Services v. Matsuda, 47
Haw. 499, 393 P.2d 60 | (1964) ]; and
Helela v. State, 49 Haw. 365, 418 P.2d
482 [(1966)}, and should _ be
overruled, we see no reason for doing
so. Plaintiff has alleged sufficient
personal interest in the controversy to
entitle him to a day in court.”

50 Haw. at 55, 430 P.2d at 324. See also, e.g., Board
of Supervisors of Elections of Anne Arundel County v.
Smallwood, 327 Md. 220, 233 n. 7, 608 A.2d 1222.
1228 n. 7 (1992) (“[[]ndividual taxpayers in each
county also contested the proposed amendments'
validity. Individual taxpayers have standing to sue
for an injunction against submitting a proposal to
the electorate; otherwise, they would be ‘put to
wrongful expense for the publication of the
referendum and the printing of it on the ballots of
the next generai election. “6

<

Our view of the standing issue in the present case finds
further support in the fact that § 105 affirmatively directs the
judicial branch to decide disputes under that provision: “ T]he
courts, and not the lemslature, shall judge as to whether the
matter of said law is provided for by a general] law, and as to
whether the relief sought can be given by any court ” The
doctrine of standing is rooted in concerns that courts not exceed
their proper scope of authority by intruding into matters more
properly decided by another branch of government or by
citizers as part of the political process. “The power of the

yudiciary . is ‘the power to [decide] . a particular case or
controversy.” City of Daphne v. City of Spanish Fort, 853 So.2d
933, 942 (Ala.2003) (quoting -x parte Jenkins, 723 So.2d 649,
656 (Ala.1998)) (emphasis added). In Allen v. Wright, 468 US

737 (1984), the United States Supreme Court explained that

‘the several doctrines that have grown up to elaborate” the

‘case or controversy requirement, including that of standing,

“are ‘founded in concern about the proper
and properly limited -- role of the courts in a
democratic society’ Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S.
490, 498 ... (1975)

‘All of the doctrines
that cluster about Article II] --
not only standing but
meotness, ripeness, political
question, and the lke -- relate
in part, and in_ different
though overlapping ways, to
an idea, which is more than an
intuition but less than a
rigorous and explicit theory,
about the constitutional and
prudential limits to the powers
of an unelected,
unrepresentative judi-clary in
our kind of government
Vander Jagt v. O'Neill, 226
U.S.App. D.C. 14, 26-27, 699
F.2d 1166, 1178-1179 (1983)
(Bork, J., comcurring).”

468 U.S. at 750. The Supreme Court further explained that the
standing inquiry turns on whether “adjudication is ‘consistent
with a system of separated powers and [the dispute is one]
traditionally thought to be capable of resolution through the

judicial process,’ Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83. 97 (1968).” 468
U.S. at 752. The concerns expressed in Flast v. Cohen as t

whether a court's resolution of a dispute would be “consistent

with a system of separated powers” and whether “the dispute 1s

one traditionally thought to be capable of resolution through
the judicial process” are ameliorated in this case by the

constitutional directive in § 105 fer courts to decide qisputes

arising under tnat provisi

9:

oe tee &

In the present case, it is clear that Jefferson
County incurred costs in holding the special election
for the district 1 county commission seat that it
otherwise would not have incurred in administering
the presidential-preference primary election on
February 5, 2008. Section 17-16-4, Ala.Code 1975,
provides that “|t}he State of Alabama _s shall
reimburse a county for all sums expended by the
county in payment of expenses incurred in holding
and conducting an election in which only candidates
for federal or state offices are nominated or federal or
state officials are elected."2 (Emphasis added.)
Section 17-16-2 defines, but also limits, the
“expenses for which the State must reimburse
counties:

“As used in this chapter, the term
‘expenses’ shall include the following
items, and no other:

“(1) The per diem
and mileage provided by
law for election officials.

“(2) The per diem
provided by law for the
clerk or other official
acting in his or her stead

¥ At least in regard to the payment of election expenses, the
legislature has indicated that a presidential-preference primary
is to be treated as if it were an election in which “candidates for
federal or state offices are nominated or federal or state offices
are elected.” See § i7-13-100(d) (providing that the State of
Alabama's obligation to reimburse a county for sums expended
in holding and conducting a presidential-preference primary

shall ne as provided in Section 17-16 a

23a

for handling absentee
ballots.

“(3) The costs of
ballots, supplies, and
other materials required
by law to be furnished to
election officials and
certified by the judge of
probate as chief election
official of the county. In
those counties where
electronic voting
machines are used, such
voting equipment shall
not be considered as
ballots, supplies, or
materials, as herein used.

“(4) The costs of
absentee ballots,
supphics, and other
materials required by law
to be furnished to the
official handling absentee
ballots.

“(5) The cost. of
preparing and furnishing
the lists of qualified
electors to the election
officials as required by
law.”

Ala.Code 1975, § 1 4-86-2.

24a

Even as to the specific “expenses” listed in
§ 17-16-2, however, § 17-16-4 does not obligate the
State to reimburse a county for “all sums” expended
by the county if the election is one in which
candidates or officials for other than federal or state
offices are to be nominated or elected. As to an
election “in which candidates for both federal or state
and county offices” are nominated or elected, § 17-16-
3 governs. It provides that the State of Alabama is
required to reimburse the county only “for one half of
all sums expended by the county in payment of
expenses incurred in holding and conducting” the
election. Ala.Code 1975, § 17-16-3.1°

10 Section 17-16-3 begins with the caveat “|e]xcept as provided
in Section 17-8-12.” Section 17-8-12, entitled “Compensation of
election officials,” provides:

“(a) The inspector and clerks shall
each be entitled to base compensation of fifty
dollars ($50). The compensation of the election
officials shali be paid as preferred claims, out
of moneys in the county treasury’ not
appropriated, on proper proof of service
rendered. In all counties in which the
compensation of election officials is prescribed
by local law or general law of local application
at an amount in excess of the amount
prescribed, the compensation of the election
officials shall not be decreased under this
section and the county commission may
increase the compensation so prescribed. In
those counties in which compensation of
election officials is set at an amount in excess
of five dollars ($5) per day, but less than fifty
dollars ($50) per day, the provision of the local
law or general law of local application relative
thereto 1s superseded and the compensation
prescribed herein © shall be the total

25a

a

Finally, we note that, consistent with all of the

above-discussed statutory provisions from Chapter
16, the parties stipulated as follows to the trial court:

“46. Jefferson County's General
Fund is used to pay persons to
administer elections at the direction of
the Jefferson County Election
Commission, including the February

compensation of election officials in the
counties.

“(b) In addition to the compensation
provided in subsection (a), each clerk shall be
entitled to supplemental compensation paid by
the state to ensure that the total compensation
paid to each shal] be in an amount of at least
seventy-five dollars ($75) per day, and each
inspector shal] be entitled to supplemental
compensation paid by the state in an amount
that ensures that the total compensation of an
inspector is at least one hundred dollars
($100) per day. Upon completion of a local
election school or being certified as a qualified
poll worker by the probate judge, or both, each
clerk and inspector shall be entitled to receive
an additional twenty-five dollars ($25) per day
In compensation froin the state. The increase
provided for in this subsection shall not
increase or decrease any salary supplement
paid under a local law which is in effect on
October 1, 2005. The provisions of this
subsection shail only apply to those statewide
elections for which county expenses are
reimbursed by the state as defined in Chapter
16. The provisions of this subsection shall not
apply to special county or other clections held
at any time other than at the time of holding
statewide elections.”

(Emphasis added.)

5, 2008, presidential preference
primary election. As a result of the
Election Commission's resolving to

conduct an election, monies
appropriated from Jefferson County's
General Fund pay for the printing of
ballots used during the February 5,
2008, presidential preference primary
election.”

As previously noted, this Court has stated that
standing “turns on ‘whether the party has been
injured in fact and whether the injury is to a legally
protected right.” State v. Property at 2018 Rainbow
Drive, 740 So.2d at 1027. On the basis of the
foregoing, we conclude that the Working plaintiffs
had standing to bring their claims

B. The Effect of § 17-16-44

Although the trial court did not address the
issue, Plump argues on appeal that the trial court
lacked subject-matter jurisdiction over all but his
and Bell's third-party quo warranto action against
Bowman on the basis of Ala.Code 1975, § 17-16-44
That statute provides

“No jurisdiction exists in or shall be
exercised by any judge or court to
entertain any proceeding for
ascertaining the legality, conduct, or
results of anv election, except so tar as
authoritv to do so shall be specially
and specifically enumerated and set
down by statute: and any injunction.

process, or order from any judge or

27a

court, whereby the results of any
election are sought to be inquired into,
questioned, or affected, or whereby
any certificate of election is sought to
be inquired into or questioned, save as
may be specially and _= specifically
enumerated and set down by statute,
shall be null and void and shall not be
enforced by any officer or obeyed by
any person. If any judge or other
officer hereafter undertakes to fine or
in any wise deal with any person for
disobeying any such _ prohibited
injunction, process, or order, such
attempt shall be null and void, and an
appeal shall he forthwith therefrom to
the Supreme Court then sitting, or
next to sit, without bond, and such
proceedings shall be suspended by
force of such appeal; and the notice to
be given of such appeal shall be 14
days.”

We disagree.

We begin by noting that § 17-16-40 prescribes
grounds for an election contest that go to the manner
in which the election was conducted and the
eligibility of a candidate to hold the office at issue,
and, in those respects, whether the particular
yutcome of the election was lawful or correct. Those
grounds are as follows:

“(1) Maleonduct, fraud, or
corruption on the part of anv

28a

inspector, clerk, returning officer,
canvassing board, or other person.

“(2) When the person whose
election to office ts contested was not
eligible thereto at the time of such
election.

“(3) On account of illegal votes.

“(4) On account of the rejection
of legal votes.

“(5) Offers to bribe, bribery,
intimidation, or other malconduct
calculated to prevent a fair, free, and
full exercise of the elective franchise.

“(6) The results of a recount
conducted under Section 17-16-20
name as a winner a person other than
the person initially certified.”

§ 17-16-40, Ala.Code 1975.

The present challenge to the February 5
election does not fall within the scope of an election-
contest statute as suggested by the grounds of
contest outlined in § 17-16-40. This conclusion
comports with even more fundamental principles
regarding the jurisdiction of our circuit courts as
courts of general jurisdiction and of equity. In King
v. Campbell, [Ms. 1060804, Nov. 30, 2007] _—s-— So.2d

(Ala.2007), this Court rehed upon. those
fundamental principles to explain the jurisdiction of
our circuit courts in relation to election challenges:

29a

“Article VI, § 142(b), Ala. Const. 1901
(Off.Recomp.), provides:

“‘b) The circuit
court shall exercise
general jurisdiction in all
cases except aS may
otherwise be provided by
law. The circuit court
may be authorized by law
to review decisions of
state administrative
agencies and decisions of
inferior courts. It shall
have authority to issue
such writs as may be
necessary or appropriate
to effectuate its powers,
and shall have such other
powers as may be
provided by law.’

“ The legislature has restricted
his jurisdiction of the circuit courts by
enacting § 17-16-44. ... In Dennis v.
Prather, 212 Ala. 449, 103 So. 59
(1925), this Court construed a
predecessor statute to § 17-16-44. This
Court noted:

‘“The general rule
without question is that
courts of equity will not
interfere by injunction
with the holding’ of
elections pohtical in

“212

30a

character, nor take
jurisdiction of a contest
after the election is held.

But this court is
commiited to the
proposition that equity
will interfere by

lnjunction to restrain
elections not authorized
by law. It will also
restrain the usurpation of
office, or the assumption
of functions of office
where no lawful office
exists.”

Ala. at 452, 103 So. at 61-62
(emphasis added). Speaking to the
predecessor to § 17-16-44, the Dennis

Court stated:

‘ Statutes restricting the
jurisdiction of courts of
equity, as defined at

common law, and
reiterated by statute in
Alabama, should be
strictly construed.

Construing this. statute
as a whole, it appears,
broadly speaking, to
cover cases Inquiring into
the validity of elections
theretofore held -- a
proceeding in the nature
of a contest of an election.

3la

whether the legality,
conduct or results of the
election be the point of
attack. We doubt if it
would include a case of
injunction against the
exercise of any form of
official power, derived
through or by virtue of an
election not authorized by
law and therefore wholiy
void. The equity
jurisdiction in such case
does not rest so much
upon matters going to the
conduct of the election,
but upon the usurpation
or abuse of official power
under color of a_ void
election.’

“212 Ala. at 452-53, 103 So. at 62
(emphasis added).”

__ So.2d at __-—- (some emphasis omitted). Thus, we
concluded in Aing, “htigation challenging the
consequences of a void election does not come within
the sweep of the limitation on _ subject-matter
jurisdiction in § 17-16-44." _s— So.2d at ___.

This principle controls in the present case. The
Working plaintiffs, the Governor and Bowman make
no challenge to the manner in which the February 5
special election was conducted or the particular
results of that clection: the challenge here is to the
very holding of the election. It is a challenge to the

32a

election as one “not authorized by law and therefore
wholly void.” The jurisdictional hmitations imposed
by § 17-16-44 therefore are not applicable.

Ill. The Validity of the February 5 Special Election

We turn now to the substantive question
presented, the validity of the February 5 special
election. Two issues are presented by the parties for
our consideration: (1) whether Act No. 784, Ala. Acts
1977, upon which the election was based, is
unconstitutional in light of the prohibition of certain
local laws imposed by § 105 of the Alabama
Constitution of 1901, and (2) whether Act No. 784
has been repealed by § 11-3-1(f). We first turn our
attention to the latter issue because an affirmative
response to it will make it unnecessary for us t¢o
address the constitutionality of a _ legislative
enactment. See generally, e.g., Lowe v. Fulford, 442
So.2d 29, 33 (Ala.1983) (“‘Generally courts are
reluctant to reach constitutional questions, and
should not do so, if the merits of the case can be
settled on non-constitutional grounds. White v. U.S.
Pipe & Foundry Co., 646 F.2d 203 (5th Cir.1981).’”
(quoting trial court's order)); Becton v. Rhone-
Poulenc, Inc., 706 So.2d 1134, 1142 (Ala.1997)
(explaining that “because we hold that [the federal
statute] does not apply under the facts of this case, it
is unnecessary for us to determine any constitutional]
issue concerning [that statute's] preemption of
Alabama's applicable statute of limitations’).

We begin our analysis with a bnief
examination of the decision of this Court in Stokes uv.
Noonan, 534 So.2d 237 (Ala.1988). At issue in Stokes
was § 11-3-6. the precursor statute to § 11-3-1(b), the

nd
nd
po

general law at issue in the present case. At the time
Stokes was decided, however, § 11-3-6 contained no
exception for local laws. It stated simply as follows
with respect to a vacancy in a county commission
seat:

“In case of a vacancy, it shall be
filled by appointment by the governor,
and the person so appointed shall hold
office for the remainder of the term of
the commissioner in whose place he is
appointed.”

This general law -was in place when the
legislature enacted Act No. 85-237, Ala. Acts 1985.
Similar to the local law at issue here, Act No. 85-237
was a local law intended to provide for filling
vacancies on a county commission of one particular
county, specifically Mobile County, by a_ special
election. Addressing the constitutionality of Act No.
85-237, the Stokes Court reasoned that

“the legislature, by enacting a general
law containing no ... provision or
exception for contrary local laws,
thereby intended that general law to
be primary and the subject subsumed
entirely by the general law. In that
situation, § 105 does’ operate to
prohibit the enactment of contrarv
iocal laws.”

Stokes, 534 So.2d at 239 (quoting Baldwin County uv.
Jenkins, 494 So.2d 584, 587 (Ala.1986)(emphasis
omitted)). On this basis. the Stokes Court declared
Act No. 85-237 to be unconstitutional.

34a

Riley v. Kennedy, 928 So.2d 1013 (Ala.2005),
dealt with the same local law as did Stokes, Act No.
85-237. By the time this Court decided Riley,
however, the legislature had amended § 11-3-6 to
add the beginning proviso “[uJnless a local law
authorizes a special election.” Act N’. 2004-455. The
plaintiffs in Ailey argued that that made all the
difference:

“Kennedy argues that Act No. 2004-
455, which amended §& 11-3-6,
Ala.Code 1975, manwvests an intent by
the legislature to cure the impediment
to the enforceability this Court found
as to Act No. 85-237 and to now give
effect to that Act and _ that,
consequently, a special election is the
proper procedure by which to fill the
vacancy created on the Mobile County
Commission by Jones's resignation.”

928 So.2d at 1016. The Court in /tiley disagreed:
“This Court has consistently held that

“statutes are to be
prospective only, unless
clearly indicated by the
legislature. Retrospectiv:
legislation is not favored
bv the courts, and
statutes will not be
construed as
retrospective unless the
langue « used in_ the
enactment of the statut:

Riley,

is so clear that there is no
other possible
construction. Sutherland
Stat. Const., § 41.04 (4th
ed 1984).”’”

928 So.2d at 1016. The Court continued:

“Here, the plain language in Act
No. 2004-455, amending § 11-3-6,
Ala.Code 1975, provides for
prospective application only, and that
language must be~ given effect
according to its terms. Nothing in the
language in_ Acet No. 2004-455
demonstrates an intent by the
legislature that the amendment of
§ 11-3-6 apply retroactively. The
argument that Act No. 2004-455
apples prospectively only is further
supported by the preamble of the Act,
which provides that the purpose of the
Act is ‘[tlo amend Section 11-3-6 of the
Code of Alabama 1975, relating to
county commissions, to authorize the
Legislature ... to provide for the
manner of filling vacancies in the
office of the county commission.’
(Emphasis added.) The language ‘to
authorize the Legislature to
provide the means by which vacancies
on the county commission are to be
filled further indicates an intention by
the lemslature that the Act is to be
prospectively applie 1 Therefore, we

hold that Act No. 2004-455 apphes

36a

prospectively only; consequently,
Governor Riley is authorized to fill the
vacancy on the Mobile County
Commission by appointment."

Riley, 928 So.2d at 1017 (most emphasis added; some
emphasis omitted).

The Election Commission and Sheriff Hale
argue that the issue in Riley was whether Act No.
2004-455 could “revive” a local act, Act No. 85-237,
which previously had been declared unconstitutional
in Stokes. Act No. 784, they point out, was at no time
before the enactment of Act No. 2004-455 judicially
declared to be unconstitutional. “It follows,”
according to the Election Commission and Sheriff
Hale, “that Act No. 77-784 does not need to be
revived. Therefore, the issue before this Court in
Riley v. Kennedy is not present in this case and the
Riley v. Kennedy decision is inapposite to this case.”

The reasoning unanimously adopted by this
Court in Riley does not admit of the distinction urged
by the appellees. Again, as this Court stated, “the

plain language in Act No. 2004-455 . provides for
prospective application only’; ‘[|njothing in the
language in Act No. 2004-455 demonstrates an

intent by the legislature that the amendment [to the
general law] apply retroactively,’ and “the preamble
of the Act... provides that the purpose of the Act is
to authorize the Legislature by local law to
provide’ ™ for exceptions to the general law. 928 So.2d
at 101%

ey, the introductory proviso im

§ 11-3-6 -- “[u]nless a local law authorizes a special

37a

election” -- was interpreted to apply only to local laws
enacted after Act No. 2004-455. Approximately two
years after this Court's decision in Riley was issued,
the legislature, in Act No. 2007-488, reenacted the
same language -- including the aforesaid proviso --
which had been interpreted in Riley. It did so
without choosing to make any changes to it (other
than to renumber it as § 11-3-1(b)). The Working
plaintiffs, the Governor, and Bowman argue that the
meaning of this language was decided in Riley and
that this Court has now but to apply that meaning in
the present case. We agree. Other than _ the
renumbering of the section in which this language
appears, there has been no change in this language
since the decision in Riley.

Our agreement with the appellants’ position is
buttressed by long-established and fundamental
principles of statutory construction.

“(T|here exists, and has long existed,
in this state, a principle that when the
legislature readopts a code section, or
incorporates it into a subsequent
Code, prior decisions of this court
permeate the statute, and it is
presumed hat the legislature
deliberately adopted the statute with
knowledge of this court's
interpretation thereof.”

Edgehill Corp. v. Hutchens, 282 Ala. 492, 495-96, 213
So.2d 225, 227

dda), ami

28 (1968). See also, e.g., Galloway
Coal Co. v. Stanford, 215 Ala. 79, 81, 109 So. 377,
379 (1926) (‘It is a settled rule, that, in the adoption
of the Code, the Legislature 1s presumed to have

38a

known the fixed judicial construction pre-existing
statutes had received, and the substantial re-
enactment of such statutes is a legislative adoption
of that construction.’ Morrison v. Stevenson, 69 Ala.
448, [450 (1881)].”); 2B Norman J. Singer,
Sutherland Statutory Construction § 49.09 (5th
ed.1992) (compiling numerous Alabama cases to the
same effect). As the Court aptly put it in the early
case of Barnewall v. Murrell, 108 Ala. 366, 377, 18
So. 831, 836 (1895), it is “an elementary rule of
statutory construction” that, where a _ reenacted
statute has previously been construed by the courts,
it is “presumed the legisJature intended the adoption
of that construction, or [it] would have varied the
words, adapting them to a different intent.” Here,
the legislature could have “varied the words” of
former § 11-3-6 in an effort to “adapt them to a
different intent,” but did not.

In accordance with the previous decision of
this Court in Ailey v. Kennedy and based on well-
established principles of statutory construction, we
conclude that § 11-3-1(b) requires vacancies on a
county commission to be filled by gubernatorial
appointment and that the proviso at the outset of
that subsection (making an exception tor local laws
that authorize special elections) does not apply
retroactively, that is to local laws that predate the
legislature's adoption of that proviso. Act No. 784,
Ala. Acts 1977, 1s such a local law.

In 2007, the legislature added subsection (f) to
§ 11-3-1. See Act No. 2007-488, Ala. Acts 2007.
Section 11-3-1() now expressly repeals local laws in
conflict with any other provision of § 11-3-1: “Any
existing local law or portion thereof in conflict with

39a

this section is specifically repealed to the extent of
the conflict effective with the next election following
September 1, 2007.” Act No. 784, by purporting to
provide for special elections to fill vacancies on the
Jefferson County Commission, is “in conflict” with
§ 11-3-1(b), which requires vacancies to be filled by
gubernatorial appointment, with no exception for
preexisting local laws. Act No. 784, as a preexisting
local law, therefore was repealed by the legislature's
adoption of § 11-3-1(f). The trial court's validation of
the February 5 special election on the basis that it
was authorized by Act No. 784 is due to be
reversed.?!

IV. The Right to a November 2008 Election

McGinnis argues on appeal that he is entitled
to an order requiring the Election Commission to
include the county commission seat for district 1 on
the November 2008 general election ballot. In
support of this view, he cites us to the portion of § 11-
3-1(b) that provides that “[iJf the appointment [by
the Governor to fill a vacancy on a _ county
commission] occurs at Jeast 30 days before the
closing of party qualifying as provided in Section 17-
13-5,” a condition that exists in this case, “the person
appointed to the vacated office shall only serve until
seven days after the next general election following

\! The Working plaintiffs also contend that Act No. 784 violates
their equal-protection rights and that, even if Act No. 784
governed, the Election Commission set the special election on
the wrong day. Asis true of the issue of the constitutionality of
Act No. 784 in relation to § 105 of the Alabama constitution, our
holding today makes it unnecessary for us to reach these

additional issues

40a

the appointment ....” We also observe that the
penultimate sentence of § 11-3-1(b) includes a
reference to “the election required by operation of
this subsection.” Given our ruling today as to the
repeal of Act No. 784, McGinnis's understanding of
§ 11-3-1(b) as it relates to the conduct of an election
to fill the vacancy in the Jefferson County
Commission is correct.!2 McGinnis seeks a judgment
requiring that the election prescribed by § 11-3-1(b)
be placed on the November 2008 general election
ballot and “such additional orders as may be needed
to secure full and appropriate relief consistent with
the right of political parties to nominate candidates”
for that election. The trial court 1s instructed to enter
an appropmiate order declaring that the required
election is to be placed on the November 2008
general election ballot. As for the remainder of the
relief requested by the appellants, this Court is
confident that appropriate officials will take the
necessary and appropriate steps as may be called for
or allowed in any applicable provisions of Title 17,
Ala.Code 1975, and any other applicable law,
whether relating to the selection by political parties
of nominees or any other aspect of the election
process. Nothing herein shall prevent the parties
from petitioning the trial court for such further rehef
as may be necessary and appropriate to fulfill the
intent of this Court's judgment

The opposition of the Election Comm :ssicn to placing the
county commission seat on the November ballot ha beer
premised on 1 view that Act No. 781 supersedes the provision:

of the general law in th regard

4ia

V. Conclusion

For the reasons discussed, the judgment of the
trial court upholding the validity of the February 5
special election on the basis of its conclusion that Act
No. 784 authorized that election was in error. The
Governor's appointment of George F. Bowman to fill
the vacant district 1 seat on the Jefferson County
Commission was in accordance with § 11-3-1(b) and
was lawful. An election for that seat is to be held as
part of the November 2008 general election.
Accordingly, we reverse the trial court's judgment
and remand the cause before us to the trial court for
the entry of a judgment consistent with this opinion.

1070850-REVERSED AND REMANDED.
1070893-REVERSED AND REMANDED.
1070917-REVERSED AND REMANDED.

Cobb, C.J., and See, Lyons, Woodall, Stuart,
Smith, Bolin, Parker, and Murdock, JJ., concur.

42a

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

CC:TFM:DJ:jdh Voting Section - NWB
DJ 166-012-2 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
2008-1576 Washington, DC 20530

2008-3861

July 22, 2008

The Honorable Troy King
Attorney General

State of Alabama

Alabama State House

11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alahama 86130

Dear Attorney General King:

This refers to the procedures for filling
vacancies on the Jefferson County Commission, in
Jefferson County, Alabama, submitted to the
Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the Voting
Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c. We received your
response to our May 8, 2008, request for additional
information on May 27, 2008: supplemental
information was received through July 1, 2008.

We understand that on June 30, 2008, the
Supreme Court of Alabama issued its decision in
Working v. Jefferson County Election Commission,
So.2d __, 2008 WL 2569255, which held that the

43a

county commission vacancy caused by the election of
Larry Langford as Mayor of Birmingham would be
filled initially by gubernatorial appointment, but
that subsequently, the unexpired term would be
filled by special election by the voters on the
November general election date. 2008 WL 2569255,
at *11-*12. It noted that this procedure was in
accordance with Ala. Code § 11-3-1(b). J/d., at *11.
According to our records, this change affecting voting
effectuated by Ala. Code § 11-3-1(b) has not been
submitted to the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia for judicial review or to the
Attorney General for administrative review as
required by Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. In
fact, when the State submitted the underlying
legislative act, Act No. 2007-488, which included Ala.
Code § 11-3-1(b), for Section 5 review, it specifically
excepted Ala. Code § 11-3-1(b) from the changes for
which preclearance was being requested. Letter
from Troy King, Attorney General, and Winfield
Sinclair, Assistant Attorney General, to Chief,
Voting Section, Feb. 4, 2008, at 1.

If our information is correct, it 1s necessary
that these changes be brought before the District
Court for the District of Columbia or submitted to
the Attorney General for a determination that they
do not have the purpose and will not have the effect
of discriminating on account of race, color, or
membership in a language minority group. Changes
which affect voting are legally unenforceable unless
Section 5 preclearance has been obtained. Clark v.
Roemer, 500 U.S. 646 (1991); Procedures for the
Administration of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act
(28 C.F.R. § 51.10).

44a

Because the change now before us and the
unsubmitted change are directly related, they must
be reviewed simultaneously. Accordingly, it would
be inappropriate for the Attorney General to make a
preclearance determination on the instant change
until the related change has been submitted for
Section 5 review. See 28 C.F.R. §§ 51.22(b) and
31.36.

Should you elect to make a submission to the
Attorney General for administrative review rather
than seek a declaratory judgment from the District
Court for the District of Columbia, it should be made
in accordance with Subparts B and C of the
procedural guidelines. At that time, we will review
all changes simultaneously; however, any
documentation previously provided need not be
resubmitted.

To enable us to meet our responsibility to
enforce the Voting Rights Act, please inform us of the
action the State of Alabama plans to take concerning
these matters. If you have any questions, you should
call Donald Jacobsen (202-305-8299) of our staff.
Refer to File Nos. 2008-1576 and 2008-3861 in any
response to this letter so that your correspondence
will be channeled properly.

Since the Section 5 status of these changes is
before the court in Plump v. Riley, No. 2:07-cv-01014-
MEF-CSC (M.D. Ala.), we are proving a copy of this
letter to the court and counsel of record in that case.

45a

Sincerely,

/s/ Timothy Mellett
for

Christopher Coates
Chief, Voting Section

ec: Court and Counse!] of Record

46a

IN THE DISTRICT COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ALABAMA
SOUTHERN DIVISION

DORIS POWELL,
Plaintiff,
Vv. CIVIL ACTION NO.

THE STATE OF ALABAMA;
JEFFERSON COUNTY
ELECTION COMMISSION;
ALAN KING, MIKE HALE,
and ANNE-MARIE ADAMS,
in their official capacities as
members of the Jefferson |
County Election Commission,

Defendants.

COMPLAINT

1. This is an action to enjoin violations of
Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as
amended, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c. This action is necessary
because the defendants are proceeding to enforce
changes in election practices which have not been
precleared under § 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 42
U.S.C. § 1973c, by either the Attorney General of the
United States or the U.S. District Court for the
District of Columbia.

47a

Parties

2. Doris Powell is an African-American citizen
of Alabama and a registered voter in Commission
District 1 of Jefferson County.

3. Defendant State of Alabama is a state that,
along with its political subdivisions, is a jurisdiction
covered under § 4 of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 1973b, and thus may not enact or seek to
administer any change in voting practice or
procedure unless and until it receives preclearance
under § 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c.
Congress has abrogated the Eleventh Amendment
immunity of the State of Alabama with respect to
plaintiffs claims in this action.

4. Defendant Jefferson County Election
Commission is by statute responsible for appointing
election officials and for canvassing and declaring
the results of elections for county offices. Alan King,
Probate Judge No. 1 for Jefferson County, Mike
Hale, Sheriff of Jefferson County, and Anne-Marie
Adams, Jefferson County Circuit Clerk, are the
members of the Jefferson County Election
Commission by virtue of the offices they hold. They
are sued in their official capacities.

Facts

5. The Alabama Legislature adopted Act 784
in the 1977 Regular Session (hereafter “Act 1977-
784”), providing that when a vacancy occurs on the
Jefferson County Commission, the Election
Commission of Jefferson County shall call a special
election. A copy of Act 1977-784 is attached as
Exhibit A to this complaint.

48a

6. Act 1977-784 has been precleared under §
5 of the Voting Rights Act by the Attorney General of
the United States.

7. Act 1977-784 was used to call elections in
1982 to fill two vacancies on the Jefferson County
Commission.

8. Jefferson County Commissioner Larry
Langford has been elected Mayor of the City of
Birmingham. He took office on Tuesday, 13

November 2007. He resigned his seat in District 1 of
the Jefferson County Commission, which has a
majority-black electorate.

9. The Election Commission called a special
election on the first Tuesday in February to fill the
vacancy

10. Pursuant to Act 77-784, six candidates
properly qualified to have their names placed on the
ballot for the February 5, 2008, Special Election.
Those candidates were George F. Bowman, William
A. Bell, Fred Plump, Orville Ifill, Kamu Afrika and
Eric Major.

11. The date of the February 5, 2008, Special
Klection was submitted to the United States
Department of Justice for pre-clearance' on
November 27, 2007. The United States Department
of Justice issued a “no objection” letter to the
February 5, 2008, Special Election on January 17,
2008.

12. Wilham A. Bell received slightly more
than 56% of the votes cast in the February 5, 2008,

Special Election.
13. As required by § 17-12-15, Alabama Code
(1975), the Jefferson County Election Commission

49a

was scheduled to meet at 12:00 noon on Friday,
February 15, 2008, to certify William A. Bell as the
winner of the February 5, 2008, Special Election, to
fill the vacancy in Commission District 1 on the
Jefferson County Commission.

14. On Thursday, February 14, 2008, the
Supreme Court of Alabama enjoined the Jefferson
County Election Commission from certifying William
A. Bell as the winner of the February 5, 2008,
Special Election, pending further orders of the
Supreme Court of Alabama.

15. The defendants have comphed with the
February 14, 2008, injunction of the Supreme Court
of Alabama, even though their compliance
constitutes a change in voting practice which may
not be implemented unless it receives preclearance
under § 5 of the Voting Rights Act, and even though
said change in voting practice has never been
submitted for preclearance.

16. On June 30, 2008, the Supreme Court of
Alabama held that “Act No. [1977-]784, as a
preexisting local law, . . Was repealed by the
legislature’s adoption of [Ala. Code] § 11-3-1()” in
Act 2007-488. Working v. Jefferson County Election
Comm'n, __ So.2d _, 2008 WL 2569255 (Ala., June
30, 2008) at *11.

17. The Supreme Court of Alabama further
held that § 11-3-1(b), Code of Alabama, which was
also amended by Act 2007-488, requires the vacancy
on the Jefferson County Commission to be filled, first
by gubernatorial appointment, then by a _ special
election during the November 2008 general election,
and it instructed the Circuit Court to order that a

special election to fill the vacancy on the Jefferson

50a

County Commission be placed on the November 4,
2008, election ballot. Id.

18. On July 25, 2008, the Jefferson County
Circuit Court entered an order enjoining the
certification of the February special election results,
calling a November election for the County
Commission District One seat, and setting deadlines
for party nominations and independents petitioning
for a ballot slot.

19. On July 26, Fred Plump (a party in the
Working casc) filed a motion to amend the Order of
July 25 to condition the November election on the
preclearance of the failure to certify the February
special election and § 11-3-1(b) and (f). The Circuit
Court denied that motion on July 28.

20. On July 28, 2008, the State of Alabama
made two submissions for preclearance under § 5 of
the Voting Rights Act: one letter states, “Specifically,
this submission concerns Act No. 2007-488 as it
relates to new Ala. Code §§ 11-3-1(b) & (f)” and
“Accordingly, the noncertification of the February 5
election is a new practice resulting from the
enforcement of new Ala. Code §_ 11-3-1 (f.”
Nevertheless, the State’s submission states that
“§$11-3-l(b) is being implemented in Jefferson
County now .

21. The second submission letter stated, “On
remand, the trial court has entered an Order to
facilitate voting on the County Commission seat this
November. That order is the subject of this
preclearance submission.’ (Emphasis u
original.)

—

22. Neither request for preclearance has been

}
granted

Sla

23. Unless and until §§ 11-3-1(b) and 11-3-1(f)
have been precleared under § 5 of the Voting Rights
Act, Act 1977-784, the last precleared statute
prescribing the manner of filling vacancies on the
Jefferson County Commission, remains in full force
and effect.

24. However, in its submission to the
Department of Justice the State has taken the
position that, should preclearance be denied, Act
1977-784 cannot be enforced because of the stay
issued by the U.S. Supreme Court in Governor
Riley's appeal from the judgment in Plump uv. Riley,
__ F.Supp.2d __, 2008 WL 192826 (M.D. Ala., Jan.
22, 2008). The State’s position ignores this explicit
disclaimer by the Middle District Court in Plump:
“The court emphasizes that whether Act No. 77-784
is, in fact, unconstitutional under state law, and
whether positions on the Jefferson County
Commission must be filled by special election or
zubernatorial appointment under state law, are
questions we do not reach and this opinion should
not. be understood in any way as reaching.” Id. at *3.
Thus the issues presented in this action are not
pending before the U.S. Supreme Court.

25. However, the U.S. Supreme Court is in
recess and cannot be expected to act on Governor
tiley's appeal in Plump before the first Monday in
October. That will be too late to prevent the names
of candidates for the District 1 seat on the Jefferson
County Commission from being printed on the
November 4 general election ballot. That ballot must
be certified by September 15, 2008. Consequently,
only = action by this Court’ can prevent

implemeyptation of the statutory repeal of Act 1977-

52a

784 in the event that preclearance of that repeal is
not obtained before September 15.
Claims

26. Defendants are violating § 5 of the Voting
Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c, by administering,
without preclearance, a practice different from that
in effect in 1977. The plaintiff will be harmed by the
failure to preclear the changes in election practices
before the November 2008 election, in_ that
implementation of said changes may lead _ to
retrogression of her voting strength as an African
American.

Prayer for Relief

A. The plaintiff prays that the Court promptly
will convene a three-judge court to hear and decide
this matter.

B. The plaintiff pravs that the Court will
enter a declaratory judgment that until and unless
they have received preclearance under § 5 of the
Voting Rights Act:

(1) the defendants lack the power to comply
with orders of the state courts implementing §§ 11-3-
l(b) and 11-3-1(f), Code ot Alabama, as amended by
Act 2007-488, by placing a special election for
District 1 of the Jefferson County Commission on the
November 4, 2008, general election ballot, and

(2) the defendants lack tne power to comply
with the February 14, 2008, injunction of the
Supreme Court of Alabama by refusing to certifv the
results of the February 5. 2008, special election.

C. The plaintiff pravs that the Court wall
vyrant preliminary and permanent. injunctions

prohibiting defendants from

(1) complying with orders of the state courts
implementing §§ 11-3-1(b) and 11-3-1(f), Code of
Alabama, as amended by Act 2007-488, by placing a
special election for District 1 of the Jefferson County
Commission on the November 4, 2008, general
election ballot, and

(2) complying with the February 14, 2008,
injunction of the Supreme Court of Alabama by
failing or refusing to certify the results of the
February 5, 2008.

Db. The plaintiff further pravs that the Court
will stay entry of the injunctions sought in the
preceding paragraph until September 14, 2008, the
day before the probate judge's deadline for sending
the ballot to the printers for the November 4, 2008,
general election, to provide defendants or other
appropriate officials of Jefferson County and/or the
State of Alabama an opportunity to submit and to
obtain preclearance under § 5 of the Voting Rights
Act, of §§ 11-3-1(b) and 11-3-1(9, Code of Alabama,
as amended by Act 2007-488, and defendants’ refusal
or failure to certify the results of the February 5,
2008, special election.

Kk. 6 The plaintiff prays that the Court will
order the defendants to pay their reasonable
attornevs fees, costs, and expenses.

Kk. The plaintiff prays for such other and
additional relief as the Court may deem just and
equitable.

James U. Blacksher

P.O. Box 636

Birmingham
phone 205-591-7238
fax 205-591-0709

email jblacksher@ns.

sympatico.ca

Submitted by,

s/ Edward Still
Edward Stull
Still

Kkdward Law Firm

LLC
2112 11th Avenue South
Suite 201
Srmingham AL = 35205-
2844
phone: 205-320-2882
fax: 205-449-9752

email: Still@votelaw.com

\ttorneys tor the plaintiff

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1654%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
