# Reply Brief — Dean v. Leake (No. 07-1458)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1653%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

FILED

(4) AUG - 4 2008

No. 07-1458 OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Joseph Dean, et al.,
Appellants,
1)
Larry Leake, et al.,
Appellees,

And

North Carolina State Conference of Branches of the
NAACP,
Appellee-Intervenor

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of North Carolina

BRIEF OPPOSING APPELLEES’ AND APPELLEE-
INTERVENOR’S MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

Robert N. Hunter, Jr. Dalton L. Oldham
Hunter, Higgins, Miles, 1320 Washington St
Elam & Benjamin, PLLC 2" Floor

101 W. Friendly Ave., Ste 500 Columbia, SC 29201
Greensboro, NC 27401 (803) 772-7729

(336) 273-1600

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLAS OF} AUT RE Riee WOM ccs scsesescessncsesncamens wise il

REASONS FOR DENYING THE
MOTIONS TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

I. The Notice of Appeal was timely filed................. |

II. The Court reviews the Interlocutory Orders
De Novo for Errors of Law

III. The Appeal is not moot

IV. Motions to Dismiss Raise Irrelevant
Disputes of Fact

Ce EN kn Scie xcncscacdnwacuuanwueuieens Keele kee 11
APPENDIX

Feb.20, 2003 Letter of Cathy McCully, Chief
Census Bureau Redistricting Office.................. App.1

Chart County Corrections to 2000 Federal
CNOA. onc ok snvacncndbeccccancavensdeauen eee ean App. 2

Census 2000 Informational Memorandum No.

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Bartlett v. Stricklar.d, 128 S. Ct. 1648 (2008)........3,5

Burns v. Richardson, 384 U.S. 73 (1966)................. 2

Clemons v. Board of Education of Hillsboro,
mae we BOS (GR Cie. TOG) oo ccccscddkccscnnene eee 2

FEC v. Wisconsin Right to Life, 127 S.Ct.

a kL tS en anne rrp mer mer emir mrernen bre 4
Karcher v. Daggett, 462 U.S. 725 (1983)................. 8
City of Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95 (1983)...... 4
LULAC us. Perry, 548 U.S. 399 (2006).............. 9,11

Natural Res. Defense Council, Inc. v. Morton,

Som © 00 O29 (0). AD.. BBIB) a ince nessicsscesseseee 2

Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC,
219 U.S. 498 (1911)........ ences thle ache eee 4

Spencer v. Kemna, 523 U.S. 1, 17 (1998).................5

Stephenson vs. Bartlett, 562 S.E.2d 377
Ps PIED a oo sne oosindnssdcndssmmeteedsnanennes oe eeeennan 3

Union Tool Co. v. Wilson, 259 U.S. 107
IE Fe occu x cwhoixsee-y'c'e'neu ae ULeameks becapeuee yee aa 2

il]
United States v. Dixie Highway Exp., Inc., 389 U.S.
409 (1967)........... ee si Ries Micah ag eta aa Rites Gaeta Stee ee 2

Wisconsin us. City of New York, 517 U.S. 1,
sas ciis sink boda Catecennateae corer eis nee ca ae 8

Youngstown Sheet & Tub Co. v. Sawyer,
Se sO 1 6 ns aaa ea 2

STATUTES

TEAS, BONG ciscisccs cassstsasrstianviiors 5 Ccrianpetetann

28 U.S.C. § 2101(b)

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure Rule 52
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure Rule 54

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure Rule 58

REASONS FOR DENYING THE MOTIONS TO
DISMISS OR AFFIRM

I. The Notice of Appeal was timely filed.

Appellants seek to invoke this court's
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1253, which grants a
party a right of direct appeal to the U.S. Supreme
Court from interlocutory injunctions of a properly
convened three judge panel. The time for an appeal!
under this statute is governed by 28 U.S.C. § 2101(b)
which requires that an appeal be taken “within
thirty days from the judgment, order or decree,
appealed from, if interlocutory”. The three-judge
panel entered two orders covering the same issue,
the first a simple denial of the Appellants motion for
preliminary injunction was entered on January 28,
2008, which provided the following statement: “The
court will set forth its findings and conclusions in
separate memorandum opinion.”

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (“FRCP”)
Rules 52, 54 and 58 require an_ interlocutory
injunction or a final order so as to initiate the thirty-
day time period for filing the notice of appeal to “find
facts specially and state its conclusions of law”. The
district court’s Jan. 28, 2008 order did not under the
federal rules of civil procedure constitute a final
order so as to initiate the thirty-day time period for
filing the notice of appeal. ” Rule 52(a)(2) states: “For
an Interlocutory Injunction. In granting or refusing
an interlocutory injunction, the court must similarly
state the findings and conclusions that support its
action.”

NM

When a court issues a second judgment, order
or decree involving the same issues as an earlier
decree, this court has consistently held that
Appellant’s appeal is timely filed if entered 30 days
from the entry of the latter order. This is
particularly true in election or redistricting cases.
Burns v. Richardson, 384 U.S. 73 (1966), U.S. v.
Dixie Highway Exp., Inc., 389 U.S. 409 (1967).

II. The Court reviews the Interlocutory
Orders De Novo for Errors of Law

The operative facts are undisputed. If the
CQR enumerated data is applied to the 2003
redistricting map, districts are not equally populated
within a 10% range of deviation as required by state
law. Since the three judge panel’s decision rests
solely on an erroneous interpretation of law, this
Court, must correct this error because it has the
effect of determining the outcome of the cause of
action. The “abuse of discretion” standard of review
is limited to factual issues appellate courts always
review purely legal questions de novo. Natural Res.
Defense Council, Inc. v. Morton, 458 F.2d 827
(C.A.D.C. 1972) citing Youngstown Sheet & Tub Co.
v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 584-585, (1952). See also
Clemons v. Board of Education of Hillsboro, 228 F.2d
853 (6th Cir. 1956) the trial court abuses its
discretion when it fails or refuses properly to apply
the law to conceded or undisputed facts. Citing
Union Tool Co. v. Wilson, 259 U.S. 107 (1922).

The court’s legal determination that the
Plaintiffs are unable to succeed on the ments

because the court is not required to use correct
enumerated census data in measuring redistricting
challenges based upon one person, one _ vote
statistical analysis is clearly erroneous. If the CQR
census data is used, the Plaintiffs are able to
establish they will succeed on the merits of their
claim because numerous districts are outside the
10% range of deviation. This fact alone establishes
irreparable harm because a constitutional right has
been violated and shifts the burden of proof to the
defendants to show a compelling governmental
interest to justify overpopulating election districts.
Because the North Carolina Constitution would
prevent such overpopulation, this interest could
never be shown as a matter of law. Stephenson vs.
Bartlett, 562 S.E.2d 377 (N.C. 2002).

III. The appeal is not moot.

The Appellants realize that because of the
time required for this appeal the elections for the
General Assembly are _ proceeding in 2008.
Nonetheless, Appellants if they are successful could
be entitled to remedial elections in 2009 or legal
elections in 2010.

This Court’s decision to grant certiorari in
Bartlett v. Strickland, 128 S. Ct. 1648 (2008)
(“hereinafter “Strickland”) has effected both the facts
and the timing of this case. If Strickland is affirmed
then the North Carolina legislature must redistrict,
such redrawing will affect more districts across
North Carolina than just Pender County. If the
lower court’s opinion in this case is left uncorrected,

then the 2009 Legislature will revert to using
erroneous data.

Complete enumerated census block level data
is now available and fully assessable for compliance
with one person one vote. The leadership of the
North Carolina Legislature, for political reasons
described in Appellants’ jurisdictional statement at
pp.10-20, do not want to use this data in any
revisions when they occur.

If this Court decides this appeal in any
manner which does not correct this error of law,
then the Appellants will continue to suffer the
irreparable deprivation of a constitutional right and
be unable to obtain relief in time to prevent any new
redistricting scheme from being put into operation.
The 2009 special elections will be lost and the same
timing issues present in this case will insure that no
legal election will be held in this decade. Judicial
economy demands that the error of law be corrected
now rather than forcing the courts the litigants and
the voters to spend time, money, and resources while
their right to vote is diluted.

This appeal also fits within the established
exception to mootness for disputes capable of
repetition, yet evading review. See FEC ut.
Wisconsin Right to Life, 727 S.Ct. 2652 (2007) citing
City of Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95, 109,
(1983); Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219
U.S. 498, 515,.1911). The exception applies where
“(1) the challenged action [is] in its duration too
short to be fully litigated prior to cessation or
expiration, and (2) there fis) a_ reasonable

expectation that the same complaining party will! be
subject to the same action again”. Spencer v. Kemna,
523 U.S. 1, 17, (1998) ... Both circumstances are
present here.”

IV. Motions to Dismiss Raise Irrelevant
Disputes of Fact

Appellee-Intervenors, who do not have actual
knowledge of the facts, invite this court into a maze
of imagined factual disputes regarding the CQR
program. While Appellants disagree with the
Appellee-Interventors contentions, the court below
did not decide those issues, and this court need not
resolve these issues to resolve legal error in this
case.

These factual disputes are too numerous for
this limited space but out of an abundance of caution
some of these issues are addressed herein. The
lower court determined that it did not need to decide
such issues because its decision is decision based
solely on the question of law made any such factual
findings unnecessary. Appellants need this court to
correct the error of law so that resulting issues
which may still exists after a Strickland decision
may be subsequently decided. For example, if this
court corrects the error of law and affirms Strickland
little or no discovery would be required.

Appellees intimate that “block level data for
the corrections unknown by the legislature until
June 10, 2004. The block level data changes for
many, if not all, of the jumsdictions were available to
the North Carolina Legislature pmnor to the

Legislature’s enactment of the Nov. 25, 2003
legislative redistricting scheme. Appendix 1. Feb.
20 2003 letter of Cathy McCully, chief, census
redistricting data office. “[t]he second type of letter
provides the research results of a claim. These
letters will inform you of the Census blocks affected
and whether the change was associated with group
quarters.” Appendix 2 is a chart provided by state
Appellees which indicates when they received the
letters describing the corrections for each county in
the state. Appellants lack adequate knowledge to
determine the veracity of the chart provided by state
Appellees, from the information in possession of
Appellamts the Orange County corrections may be
the only corrections which did not include the block
level data at the time that the corrected certificates
were provided to the local jurisdictions. As stated in
Appellants’ JS block level data was unnecessary in
order to use the Orange County data for redistricting
purposes. (See also JS pp.6 fn. 3 & 16-19). As noted
in Appellants’ JS at p 5 the Census Bureau had to
have the total population and characteristic data
(racial and age) for the block level in their possession
at the time they corrected the certificates. Had the
state of North Carolina sought this data it could
have acquired it.

Whether North Carolina possessed corrected
characteristic data (racial, etanic and age) is
immaterial to the question of one person one vote
and the corrected enumerated census data for total
population which is the component used in North
Carolina to measure one person one vote. The
characteristic data from the original PL 94-171 data
can still be used for all purposes involving

redistricting for which consideration of such
characteristic data would be appropriate. It remains
just as accurate as it did previously and the failure
to acquire «corrected enumerated data for the
characteristic data does not make the corrected
enumerated total population data any less accurate.
The people of North Carolina should not have their
right to vote diluted because North Carolina made
no effort to improve the accuracy of the
characteristic data.

The CQR program issues only enumerated
census data The CQR program is described in
CENSUS 2000 INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM NO. 100
and was provided to the North Carolina Legislature.
(See Appendix 3). This memorandum is provided to
all jurisdictions to inform them of the CQR program
and how to document possible errors in processing
the data which was collected. This memorandum
makes clear that under the CQR program “the
Census Bureau will not collect new
information.” (Emphasis in original.) These same
processes occur in the enumerated census and
double-check the original geographic assignments,
record selection and math. The memorandum also
states “the corrected CQR counts that are issued are

' lt is unfortunate that this process was delayed until 2003 for the 2000
Census when the process has taken place much earlier in all prior
censuses. It was delayed two years for the 2000 Census because of the
ill advised attempt by the Census Bureau to statistically adjust the 2000
Census instead of taking an enumerated headcount as required by the
United States Constitution. The post census local review program which
produced corrections in 198! and 1991 for the 1980 in 1990 censuses
respectively is essentially the exact same program as COR except it is
performed two vears later. It is essentially the final part of the decennial
enumerated census

based on the housing unit and population counts as
of April 1, 2000. The new official census counts may
be used by the governmental entities for all
programs requiring official Census 2000 data.” The
process involved in CQR identifies each specific error
and then corrects it. Each correction carries the
original closer to perfection.

This is what happened in Karcher v. Daggett,
462 U.S. 725 (1983). The first set of corrections
made the census enume:rated total population data
more accurate than the original, the second set of
corrections made the total population data even
more accurate than the first set of corrections did.

The CQR corrections should have been
entered into North Carolina’s redistricting database
as they were received. The CQR program ended on
September 30, 2003. At that time all of the data
including block level data should have been
available. If not supplied, its delivery could have
been expedited had the State requested it. The data
produced by the CQR program is_ corrected
enumerated census data and is the most numerically
and distributively accurate enumerated census data
available and will remain so until it is replaced by
the results from the 2010 census.°

Appellee-Intervenors incorrectly assert that
the Census Bureau has precluded the use of this
data by a federal court for the purposes of assessing
compliance with the one-person one-vote principle.
Under this Court's precedent the Census Bureau

> This is consistent with Wisconsin vs City of New York, $17 U.S. 1, 20
(1996)

could not through a disclaimer prevent a federal
court from considering what is obviously relevant
evidence, furthermore the language used by the
Bureau in the disclaimers clearly is not intended to
prohibit the use of the data in redistricting or by the
courts. The Census Bureau states that it will not
reissue the PL 94-171 redistricting data summary
files. The Census Bureau does state that it is
recertifying the official 2000 Census total population
counts and issued new official certificates showing
the new total population counts for each jurisdiction
and provided block level errata with most if not all of
these certificates. See Appendix 3. The corrected
data was also available on the Bureau’s web site.
Not reissuing the entire redistricting data summary
files makes perfect sense. In 2003 over 90 percent of
America’s jurisdictions redistricting would have been
completed. The few jurisdictions which still had to
redistrict could simply make use of the errata to
correct to their existing PL 94-171 file. This appears
consistent with the prior practice under the post
census local review.

Contrary to motions, the legal issue presented
by this appeal was not presented to this court in
LULAC us. Perry, 548 U.S. 399 (2006). Nowhere in
the opinions issued by any court in L.ULAC is the
question of corrected census data discussed. The
briefs filed by Travis County in the LULAC case
indicate why neither court considered the issue. In
Travis County’s Supreme Court’s brief, the only
mention of corrected census data is on page 5 and
reads: “(t]he redistricting plan used the uncorrected
population count from the 2000 Census to meet the
constitutional requirement of equipopulous

10

districts.” This sentence is footnoted and it states:
“the Census Bureau had officially corrected the 2000
Census and added 30 people to Texas’ total
population before plan 1374 C. was enacted.” The
footnote is followed by a citation to a trial exhibit
which was not included in the Joint Appendix.
Travis County’s jurisdictional statement contained
virtually the same language.

Travis County was incorrect, 30 people were
not added by the corrected census count but instead
were subtracted. Travis County did not assert at
either the trial or the appellate level that the
District Court should have assessed the redistricting
plans produced by the Legislature of the state of
Texas for compliance with one person one-vote using
the corrected census data produced by the CQR
program. Nor did Travis County assert that the
Texas legislature was aware of the corrected census
data.

Travis County’s passing mention of the
Census Bureau’s correction was in support its
argument that since the state of Texes had enjoyed
rapid growth in the three years since the 2000
Census, any new redistricting map could not be
drawn unless a new census was taken. This
contention was rejected by this court. Travis
County's logic would have forced the continued use
of the prior Democrat gerrymandered redistricting
scheme drawn using the exact same census data as
the legislatively enacted congressional redistricting
plan.

11

Appellants herein take an even more
attenuated position. They suggest that because the
state of North Carolina has enjoyed considerable
growth since the taking of the 2000 census it is more
appropriate to use the erroneous total population
data to draw any new redistricting plans as opposed
to the corrected data which eliminates’. the
mathematical and clerical errors that existed in that
data. Both sets of data are enumerated data both
measure the population as of April 1, 2000. The only
difference is one is known to be erroneous and the
other has those known errors corrected. If the
corrected data were available to the legislature and
they had knowledge of this, common sense demands
that the courts assess one person one vote using this
data. But to assert as Appellants and the district
court do that the knowledge of the errors is
irrelevant, so that if the state decides that it wants
to use the data which it knows is erroneous the
district court should and would use the erroneous
census data to assess one person one vote defies all]
logic and all of this Court’s prior precedent. This
court rejected this type of circular argument when
Travis County made it in the LULAC case and this
court should reject it again in this case.

Conclusion

Appellants request this court to summarily
reverse the District Court on the question of law,
then remand this case to the District Court for
further proceedings consistent with this Court's
prior rulings and instruct the District Court to use
the most accurate enumerated census data of which
the North Carolina Legislature was or should have

12

os

been aware of at the time that the redistricting
scheme was enacted when it assesses compliance
with the one person, one vote principle.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert N. Hunter, Jr.

Hunter, Higgins, Miles,

Elam & Benjamin, PLLC

101 W. Friendly Ave., Ste 500
Greensboro, NC 27401

(336) 273-1600

Dalton L. Oldham
1320 Washington St., 2 Floor

Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 772-7729

APPENDIX 1

United States Department of Commerce
Economic and Statistics Administration
U.S. Census Bureau

Washington, D.C. 20333-00011
OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

Feb. 20 2003

Mr. Terrence Sullivan
Director of Research

NC General Assembly
Legislative Services Office
LOB, Room 4545

300 North Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC. 27603

Dear Mr. Sullivan:

In an effort to provide complete information on the results of
the Count Question Resolution Program for your state, I am
providing recent correspondence that has been issued to local
governments. This additional correspondence may include
two types of Ietters. The first type is a letter which informs
the local government that the Census Bureau’s research does
not support the claim made, and that no change is
forthcoming from the Census Bureau. The second type of
letter provides the research results of a claim. The letters
will inform you of the census blocks affected and whether
the change was associated with group quarters. The «tall
does not go beyond the affected blocks. For this second
type, a letter providing the certified counts for the affected
jurisdictions should follow soon.

We will continue to provide you with coptes of the”
certification letters” and “research complete letters” as they
arrive in our office. If you have any question regarding this

App. 1, Page 2

mailing do not hesitatc to give me a call on 301-763-4039 or
via cmail at cathcrine.clark.mccully@cenus.guv.

Sincerely,

Cathy McCully, Chief
Census Redistricting Data Office

Enclosures

cc: Mr. Bill Gilkerson, Legislative Services
Mr. Dan Frey, GIS Programmcr/Analyst
Mr. Gerry Cohen, Director of Bill Drafting Legislative
Services Office

APPENDIX 2

PNY 2109 suas Sowspen 20 arms Soutap/) dy

Re jl h Jt | tL jl iN |
& “[s199 it ester jester jo zee's ieoes sie sog'tr je6oze fcosuor | Banwre ut i}
a ae {56857 ji196 857 [0 76161 |f%6161 — |foz 98179 j998'179 |Itoezor | orem 9z |
¢ jpoez jaz S69'Sb jézl'se lo 9991 1999"! 56 U9 ece'ezt Hfeonmtat * wounl st
& lipec’s 1 sts6z jisesez =o est jest =k 6879 110679 = EOI psopauanyll |
gy jeo'y — for- —oce'er Gri iy |0_ foc Yocee ire oecrert lieve ert _froretic uesqow] ez
jee bb civvs ezv'vs jo sve't_svet aids e'oet Iftze'oei feorcia ydiopuang tt |
0 jjeos's__jjeoe’s ict eow'es |isoe'as flo cee's feted loc Ieor'eel Voter }\r0/90/1 ug! iz |
c___fpcve Jvev'e lews't- pazior Yoocur Jo __—ere's eves _|ooot- fuerait Jieccit ones awumio|! 02
fot ——sHeee'tt fleve'ti iit 196. |Ipe9"6z ty jperr _}oz___ficoe‘oor ficzeosr eorciss joraouny many! 61
C oe Cae | iso'ce |i6vo'ze fo ecre \uziz Wise ——foze'us |isee'ces eon Pen et |
0 gery |fecv's fp ist'se |isei'se lo oot jizoo't —|u- —fooc'be toes =‘ eonontt aoowl 61
1_|froe'ot__fsve'et|isz- onz'zez isse'ver J Weir's jewsl | jvs-__livsv'seo Jloce’se9 jleomio1 |! Square! 97
0 _|ore fore oz: _forooi foreor lo fisz —‘iitez ur __iess’st_|iges'sz_ feos: | = eum} st
0 |igtee fete g 9600 |isrc'oz jo slices sles es tis’ez fgoe’sz = |icominr wooe]; #1
0 _ jee’ Ieee’ raree jetaz jo eset jooz't —_iizt- __iavs'ss Jeoes |oxis nowy a |
9 Vere't llove't bz 60661 jlese6! — jo joss |968 tot lobo or = iguror touts ay ot
0 1o9'¢_fjio9e_—ice- —oni’os Hest’os fo tei jtet is S9G'ITL OOS TZ |EO/cott wosuyorl = Ty
0 re veL6 ‘iiveL6 ~— ore ote —_—iiosz OLE lop et_Jieceze__|icocey | puopuang| on
{0 906'> [906'» ——iiez- —izwa’ae § Wcie’ee ilo Ba ot iy sve 06t [ror os! |komin | uowepy 66
I oie |iitoe it voor |fevo'rt io rt jet yo pos'ss [90'ss cowort || aquiosoFpa]¢
o— BOSE LSE ibe OSt'8e |ivot'se ilo Te ae a a Ge a) ae
(0 ‘ear feve 0 | Coe Ce a CE Gr ie lprs'pt fost'et — iltovcur uaa |
loec'y eec’y Iie sle6s |iz66s jo CORES CT | CT wqneey, g§ ||
ri Oi- — joer'ee joze'ee jlo pil jertt —jez- —iistw'ee =fowe'ze —iltaveze (RAPRO| oy |)
0 N668°Z 0 tev'ce |itrce lo pive foie fe iesr'ee spies fori angi oc |
0 £6602 as I- levts loev'is — io ve. lee Ye Vewvec Mivi'ec JcOM101 punsunug!) ft ||
I" koe jooet —|it-——sdfoso'’s lleva’ 861 Rot gt Heec's liusc’st — eovezanr anag, tl
WBQ) | TUFO||P2010) Fury shag |/pwrasz0 Ho 0 HO |Parauepiaopsaiioy| uno |uequiny
| a I AHL =| warn dnary opamdog | eared || 38005 yO EN")
a, ae =
> iene S8SH9D [84937 0007 24) 0} SUON}92II05 AyuNO>D
ZO | Beg -

ssued) 0007 oY Ol SUONI@LO-, 45 Ayano)

LOOW/LET Jany s1oocw. Aowsp jn su o1m}s Sounp,, dug

9007 ‘C1 Auorune aopd; i607]
(SSET MOH HSU 0OHT OTST")
a5} 4 oF"

wo. VORNSSIZY DopAFNd rGN0> s,nvamg meveD a—m UNDIy

A a

fez Wreotec loseiee |eisi- loroecstjoce cest fo _‘[lesesz|[iewese Jeeet- \etcoroafseroroe || Ol Funes) quON |
0 © loirz lore = fir — ore’ve fszeoe fo Joos! soa t= pts"ec tse feocozr ony sz
SIKX3

7joz shey

SSW OOOZ OM 0) SUONIAIO®, 4 AWUNdD

APPENDIX 3

April 26, 2001

CENSUS 2000 INFORMATION MEMORANDUM
NO. 100

MEMORANDUM FOR Distribution List

From: Carol M. Van Horn
(Signed)

Chief, Decennial
Management Division

Subject: Count Question Resolution

Program

Census 2000 Count Question Resolution
Program Overview

This memorandum provides information concerning
the Census 2000 Count Question Resolution (CQR)
program. This program will be implemented to
respond to challenges to the Census 2000 housing
unit and group quarter counts received from local
and tribal governmental entities in the U.S. and
Puerto Rico. The CQR program will become effective
on June 30, 2001 and will end on September 30,
2003. Please note this program is currently pending
Office of Management and Budget approval.

The CQR start date of June 30, 2001 is coordinated
with the release of the Summary File 1(SF1). SF1
data will be released on a state-by-state basis
between June and September 2001 and will contain
block-level data on the number of housing units and

App. 3, Page 2

group quarters population counts. After the release
of SF1, some governmental entities may want to
challenge these counts. The Census Bureau will
respond to all questions and will notify all affected
governmental entities of any corrections to their
official counts as a result of CQR.

Challenges to the overseas counts of persons in the
military and Federal civilian personnel stationed
overseas and their dependents living with them will
not be accepted. These overseas counts are obtained
using administrative records and will be used solely
for reapportioning seats in the U.s. House of
Representatives and do not provide the sub state
geographic information required for the CQR
program.

Governmental units challenging the completeness or
accuracy of the Census 2000 counts must contact the
Census Bureau directly in writing or by electronic
mail to initiate the CQR process. Ail challenges
should be sent to the Census Bureau's headquarters.
Local and government officials can submit their
challenge in writing to:

The U.S. Census Bureau

Count Questions Resolution Program
Decennial Management Division, Room
2002/SFC-2

4700 Silver Hill Road, Stop 7100
Washington, CD 20233-7100

App. 3, Page 3

CQR submissions also can be submitted to the
following email address:

CountQuestion.Resolution@census.gov

The Census Bureau will respond to all submissions
from local and tribal governments, county clerks,
city planners, local planning board representatives,
and state legislative representatives with
redistricting functions within each state and state
equivalents who are acting onthe’ alf of a local or
tribal jurisdiction. A local or tribal government must
provide documentation of the missing housing
unit(s) or group quarter(s) that they believe existed
on April 1, 2000. For documentation necessary to
initiate the Census 2000 CQR process, refer to the
section below, “Documentation Necessary to Initiate
and Support the Census 2000 CQR Process.”

The Census Bureau will make corrections if the
results of our research indicate they are warranted.
Our experience has shown that some of the
questions received from the local or tribal officials do
not reflect errors in census counts, but result from
an incorrect or incomplete understanding of the
procedures used to take the census. The Census
Bureau’s determination of whether a correction is
necessary will be based on the information provided
by local and tribal governmental unit
representatives and the results of the Census
Bureau’s review of the census records. The Census
Bureau will investigate challenges to determine
whether a housing unit or group quarters that

App. 3, Page 4

existed on April 1, 2000, was allocated to an adjacent
jurisdiction or erroneously excluded during the
processing of the data. The Census Bureau will
not collect new information.

The CQR program is not intended to create a
mechanism or process to challenge the March 6,
2001 decision of the Secretary of Commerce to
release unadjusted Census 2000 redistricting data.
No changes will be made to the apportionment or
redistricting counts as a result of this program. This
process will allow the Census Bureau to maintain
consistency between data products while
maintaining the schedule for timely release of the
data. However, the Census Bureau will issue a

revised official Census 2000 population and housing
unit counts for the affected governmental entity(es),
maintain a list of CQR corrected areas on the
American Factfinder, and will incorporate any
corrections into its Postcensal Estimates program
beginning in December 2002.

Types of Corrections Acceptable for the Census
2000 CQR Program

The results of the Census 2000 CQR Program will
produce three types of corrections: boundary
corrections; geocoding corrections; and coverage
corrections:

Boundary corrections — Census 2000
respects the proper alignment of the
jurisdictional boundaries of functioning

App. 3, Page 5

governmental units as legally in effect
on January 1, 2000. The Census
Bureau needs to ensure that the
geographic assignment information
provided does not, in fact, reflect
boundary changes made after January
1, 2000. Problems, such as the
inaccurate reporting of jurisdictional
boundaries and the inaccurate
recording of such boundaries by the
Census Bureau, will be addressed by
the CQR program. The boundaries of
other geographic and statistical areas,
such as census designated places,
census tracts, voting districts, school
districts, and the like are not in the
scope of the Census 2000 CQR program.

Geocoding corrections — placement
of living quarters and associated
population within the correct
boundaries, census blocks, and the like.
Even if the CQR process does not result
in a change to the total count for a local
or tribal jurisdiction, we will send a
letter to the local or tribal government
official when the Census Bureau moves
group quarters or housing units to
different blocks within the jurisdiction.

Coverage corrections — add or
remove specific living quarters and
persons residing therein that were

App. 3, Page 6

identified during the Census 2000
process but erroneously included or
excluded due to processing errors.
Addresses for living quarters that were
not found to be erroneously excluded
due to processing will be added to the
Census address list for use in future
statistical programs of the Census
Bureau.

Documentation Necessary to Initiate and
Support the Census 2000 CQR Process

The Census Bureau will require documentation
before committing resources to investigate concerns
raised by local and tribal officials or their
representatives about boundary and geographic
assignment errors or the accuracy of the census
housing unit or group quarters population counts.
In general, when submitting a challenge,
governmental entities must specify whether the
challenge disputes the location of a governmental
unit boundary or the number of housing units and/or
group quarters population counts in one or more
tabulation blocks.

Boundary challenges —- For boundary
disputes, indicate on a map the location
of the governmental unit boundary in
dispute; that is, it must be shown where
the Census Bureau incorrectly depicts
the boundary and show the correct

App. 3, Page 7

boundary legally in effect as of January
1, 2000. The Census Bureau will
compare the maps and appropriate
supporting documentation submitted by
the challenging entity with the
information used by the Census Bureau
to depict the boundaries for Census
2000.

Challenges to boundaries must:

> show the correct location of the
boundary and the portion of the
boundary that the Census
Bureau depicted incorrectly,
including the Census 2000
tabulation block numbers
associated with the boundary.
Provide the Census Bureau with
a list of addresses in affected
tabulation blocks, indicating
their location in relationship to
the boundary requiring
correction.

Housing Unit challenges - the
governmental official must provide
supporting evidence that specifically
reflects the validity of any address list
source and reflect the residential
addresses that existed as viable living
quarters on April 1, 2000.

App. 3, Page 8

Challenges to housing unit counts
must:

Specify the Census 2000
tabulation block(s) for which the
counts are being challenged. SF1
can be used to obtain tabulation
block housing unit counts.
Provide a complete address list
for all units that should be
included in each contested block.
Be certified by local and tribal
officials that the addresses on
their lists existed and could be
lived in or April 1, 2000.

Group Quarters challenges —- the
government official must provide the
name of the group quarters and
evidence, e.g., a listing of patients that
supports the number of persons
residing in the XYZ Nursing Home as of
April 1, 2000.

Challenges to group quarters

population counts must:

w Specify the tabulation block(s) for
which the counts are being
challenged. Group quarters may
have housing units on the
premises for staff and/or guests.
SF 1 can be used to obtain group

App. 3, Page 9

quarters population counts by
tabulation block.

a provide a complete address list
for all group quarters units that
should be included in each
contested block.

> be certified by local and tribal
officials that the addresses on
their lists existed and could be
lived in on April 1, 2000.

Types of Acceptable Paper Maps
Paper Census 2000 Public Law 94-171
County Block Maps — These maps
accompanied the Redistricting Data
Summary Files. Paper Census 2000
Redistricting Block Maps for
Washington, D.C. Paper Census 2000
Redistricting Municipio block Maps for
Puerto Rico — These maps will
accompanied the Puerto Rico
Redistricting Data File.

Paper Census 2000 Block Maps — These
maps will be provided to local and tribal
jurisdictions and will show tabulation
block numbers. They are a companion
map for the Demographic Profiles that
will contain information on population
totals, including group quarters and
selected population and housing
characteristics.

App. 3, Page 10

Paper Maps based on the 2000
TIGER/Line File — These maps may be
generated by local or tribal

governments based on information from
the Census Bureau’s 2000 TIGER/Line |
files using commercial geographic
information systems.

Other Paper Maps Showing Census
Bureau 2000 Tabulation Block
Numbers and Boundaries — These maps
should show geographic boundaries as
of January 1, 2000, that identify census
tabulation blocks, census tracts, legal
and statistical entities and state
boundaries; maps depicting data
collection blocks cannot be used. In
general, maps should be comparable to
Census 2000 maps.

“ Types of Address Lists

City-Style Address Lists — Must contain city-
style addresses organized by Census 2000
tabulation block within census tract. Housing
unit identifiers in multi-unit buildings must
be included, if applicable.

Non-City-Style Address Lists — Non-city-style
addresses must be keyed to the local or tribal
government’s map-spotted maps, that is, maps
that show the exact location of the housing
unit. The list should be focused on the specific

App. 3, Page 11

area and/or addresses where the problem
exists. All housing units in the disputed block
must be map spotted and a description of the
housing unit and location must be supplied.

Group Quarters Information—Provide the
name, address, and telephone number for the
administrative office of the facility as of Apri]
1, 2000. In addition, provide the census tract
and tabulation block number for the location
of the group quarters.

Internal Census Bureau Review

Changes to the boundaries or counts for a
jurisdiction also may result from Census Bureau
initiated research and review of census files. The
Census Bureau reviews Census 2000 data by
checking for data reasonableness, internal and intra-
product consistency, and consistency with historical
and external data sources. This review process
begins with an analysis by Census Bureau staff, the
Federal-State Cooperative Program for Population
Estimates and others. These reviewers identify,
address and/or explain issues or problems related to
coverage, content, processing, and geo-coding.
Unresolved potential problems will be forwarded to
the CQR staff for additional analysis.

Changes made as result of this internal review and/or
research will be incorporated into the CQR processes and
documented in the same way that changes based on

App. 3, Page 12

jurisdictional CQR challenges will be documented. In cases
where changes to housing unit and/or population counts are
made, new official counts will be issued to the affected
jurisdictions.

Changes That Result in Corrections

The corrected CQR counts that are issued are based on the
housing unit and population counts as of April 1, 2000. The
new official census counts may b used by the governmental
entities for all programs requiring official Census 2000 data.
The Census Bureau will not make corrections to the data
concerning the charactcristics for the population and housing
inventory. The corrected counts will be reflected in the
Census Bureau’s decennial filed modified for use in making
postcensal estimates that will be released on a flow basis
beginning in December 23002. An inventory of corrections
also will be available on the American FactFinder Internet
Data Access System (errata) and updated periodically. The
base files for the census will remain unrevised so that none
of the standard Census 2000 data products will reflect the
corrections.

Challenges that Do Not Result in Corrections

When a local or tribal government provides evidence that the
Census Bureau missed housing units or group quarters that
existed on April 1, 2000, but the CQR research and Census
2000 records show that all of the Census Bureau’s boundary
information, geocoding, and processing were correctly
implemented, the Census Bureau will respond by sending a
letter to the official or his/her representative stating that the
Census Bureau will maintain the documentation for

App. 3, Page 13

consideration in the context of address list updating
activities over the decade.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1653%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
