# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. ABC (No. 07-745)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1648%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

as

Supre S.

Pen oeg Us
() 07-745DEC 4- 2007
No. OFFICE OF THE GLEwiK

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

v.
ABC

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
JEFFREY S. BUCHOLTZ
Acting Asistant Attorney
General
EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General
KANNON K. SHANMUGAM
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
MARK B. STERN
ERIC FLEISIG-GREENE
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Bureau of Prisons officials constitute “law
enforcement officer[s}” for purposes of the detention-of-
property exception to the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28
U.S.C. 2680(c).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
oN, ks seks seins ee Raed eo ee l
ec oN Ls cad a eee SSR AG Ra 1
eS eal i ks 5a baie aioe a oa ee eee 2
Reasons for granting the petition ....................000- 4
eg a is Pao lin a dog un oa dd wae ch RO 5
NR a say lg Vn’ a baw woe oS ee ee la

(IIT)

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.

ABC

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United States
of America, respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit in this case.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., izfra, la-
14a) is reported at 500 F.3d 103. The memorandum de-
cision and order of the district court (Pet. App. 15a-21a)
is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
September 5, 2007. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

This case concerns the question whether the deten-
tion-of-property exception to the waiver of sovereign
immunity in the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C.
2680(c), applies to detentions of property by all law en-
forcement officers, or instead applies only to detentions
of property by officers acting in an excise or customs
capacity. On October 29, 2007, the Court heard argu-
ment in Ali v. Federal Bureau of Prisons, No. 06-9130,
on that same question. This petition for a writ of certio-
rari should therefore be held pending the decision in
Ali and then disposed of accordingly.

1. The Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA), 28 U.S.C.
1346(b), 2671-2680, waives the United States’ sovereign
immunity for suits seeking damages for “injury or loss
of property, or personal injury or death caused by the
negligent or wrongful act or omission” of employees of
the federal government “under circumstances where the
United States, if a private person, would be liable * * *
in accordance with the law of the place where the act or
omission occurred.” 28 U.S.C. 1346(b)(1). As amended,
however, the FTCA excepts from that waiver of sover-
eign immunity “[a]ny claim arising in respect of the as-
sessment or collection of any tax or customs duty, or the
detention of any goods, merchandise, or other property
by any officer of customs or excise or any other law en-
forcement officer.” 28 U.S.C. 2680(c). That exception
itself contains an exception, added by Congress as part
of the Civil Asset Forfeiture Reform Act of 2000
(CAFRA), Pub. L. No. 106-185, § 3(a)(3), 114 Stat. 211,
which waives the government’s immunity for “any claim
based on injury or loss of goods, merchandise, or other
property, while in the possession of any officer of cus-
toms or excise or any other law enforcement officer,” if,

3

among other requirements, “the property was seized for
the purpose of forfeiture under any provision of Federal
law providing for the [civil] forfeiture of property” and
“the interest of the claimant was not forfeited.” 26
U.S.C. 2680(e).

2. Respondent is a federal prisoner whose name is
under seal. Respondent alleges that, in 2001, he was
transferred within his prison to a special housing unit,
based on the government’s belief that other prisoners
had learned about his cooperation with the authorities.
Respondent contends that he was told that certain items
of personal property would be transferred with him, but
that, when his property arrived, some of those items
were missing. Respondent subsequently filed an admin-
istrative tort claim with the Federal Bureau of Prisons
(BOP), which was denied. App., infra, 2a-3a & n.1.

3. Respondent then filed suit against the United
States, the Department of Justice (DOJ), and the BOP,
asserting that defendants were liable under the FTCA.
The district court dismissed the claims against DOJ and
the BOP, on the »round that the FTCA does not permit
suit against federal agencies. Pet. App. 17a-18a. Th
district court then dismissed the claim against the
United States, on the grounds that the Bureau of Pris-
ons officials who allegedly mishandled respondent’s
property qualified as “law enforcement officer[s]” for
purposes of the detention-of-property exception in Sec-
tion 2680(c) and that the government was therefore im-
mune from suit. /d. at 18a-21a.

4. The court of appeals reversed. App., infra, la-
14a. It held that the phrase “any other law enforcement
officer” in Section 2680(c) should be limited to “law en-
forcement officers whose function or authority are re-
lated to customs or excise functions.” /d. at 5a. The

4d

court acknowledged the government’s argument that
such a reading would “dof{] violence to the statutory lan-
guage by replacing what Congress actually said (‘any
other law enforcement officer’) with something Con-
gress did not (‘any other law enforcement officer acting
in a customs or excise capacity’).” Jd. at 7a. The court
nevertheless concluded that the context in which the
phrase “any other law enforcement officer” appeared
“confined” that phrase to “customs and excisty”. -/bid.
The court also rejected the government’s argument that
the “exception to the exception” that Congress added to
Section 2680(c) in CAFRA supported a contrary read-
ing. /d. at 10a-12a. The court of appeals noted that this
Court had granted review in Ali to decide the same
question, 7d. at 5a, and that the other courts of appeals
were split on the question, zd. at 4a-5a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Second Circuit held that the exception to the
waiver of sovereign immunity in the Federal Tort
‘Claims Act for the detention of property by law enforce-
ment officers, 28 U.S.C. 2680(c), does not apply to
detentions by prison officials, and instead applies only to
detentions by law enforcement officers performing cus-
toms or excise (or related) functions. On October 29,
2007, the Court heard argument in Ali v. Federal Bu-
reau of Prisons, No. 06-9130, on that same question.
Because this case arises in a materially identical factual
context to Alz, and because briefing and oral argument
in Ali are complete, the petition for a writ of certiorari
in this case should be held pending the Court’s decision
in Alz. In the event that the Court holds in Al? that the
detention-of-property exception applies to detentions by
prison officials, the petition should be granted, the judg-

5

ment of the court of appeals vacated, and the case re-
manded for further consideration; in the event that the
Court holds in Ali that the exception does not apply, the
petition should be denied.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be held
pending this Court’s decision in Ali v. Bureau of Pris-
ons, No. 06-9130, and then disposed of accordingly.

Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General

JEFFREY S. BUCHOLTZ
Acting Asistant Attorney
General
EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General

KANNON K. SHANMUGAM
Assistant to the Solicitor
General

MARK B. STERN
ERIC FLEISIG-GREENE
Attorneys

DECEMBER 2007

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 06-1362-ev
ABC, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT
v.

DEF, DEFENDANT-APPELLEE

Argued: Apr. 23, 2007
Decided: Sept. 5, 2007

Before: JACOBS, Chief Judge, LEVAL and POOLER,
Circuit Judges. |

JACOBS, Chief Judge.

A federal prison inmate pro se appeals from the judg-
ment of the United States District Court for the South-
ern District of New York (Daniels, J.), dismissing his
clairn against the United States based on the allega-
tion that a prison officer negligently detained and lost
his property during his transfer from one cell to ano-
ther. The Federal Tort Claims Act (“FTCA”) waives the
sovereign immunity of the United States for certain civil
actions, with various exceptions, and vests jurisdiction
in the district courts. 28 U.S.C. §§ 1346(b), 2680(a)-(n).
The district court dismissed the claim on the ground
that § 2680(c), one of the exceptions to the FTCA’s waiv-
er, bars jurisdiction for claims involving the detention of

(la)

2a

goods “by any officer of customs or excise or any other
law enforcement officer.” The court ruled that a prison
officer is such an “other law enforcement officer.” We
conclude that the phrase “any other law enforcement
officer,” as used in § 2680(c), references only law en-
forcement officers who are functioning in a capacity akin
to that of a customs or excise officer. Since plaintiff's
claim is not barred by § 2680(c), we vacate the judgment
in relevant part and remand for further proceedings
consistent with this opinion.

I

Plaintiff-appellant ABC is a federal prisoner whose
name is concealed in this opinion and in the caption; the
district court proceedings are largely under seal (inclu-
ding the opinion reviewed on this appeal); and our state-
ment of facts (accepted as true by the district court) is
spare.

Sometime in 2001, the government came to believe
that information regarding ABC’s cooperation with the
authorities might have been disclosed to other prisoners.
For his safety, ABC was transferred to a special housing
unit. He was told by a prison official that certain prop-
erty in his cell and in storage would be transferred with
him. About six weeks after the transfer, ABC surveyed
his property and discovered that many items were mis-
sing. He brought this action seeking money damages
against the United States, the United States Depart-
ment of Justice (“DOJ”), and the Federal Bureau of Pri-
sons (“BOP”), alleging that the loss of his property was
the result of negligence by federal prison officials during

3a

the transfer.’ ABC’s claims against the DOJ and the
BOP were dismissed because the FTCA does not permit
suits against federal agencies, see Mignogna v. Sair Av-
iation, Inc., 937 F.2d 37, 40 (2d Cir. 1991); see also 28
U.S.C. § 2679(a), a ruling that is not contested on appeal.
As to ABC’s claim against the United States, the district
court concluded that there was no waiver of sovereign
immunity (and that the district court therefore lacked
jurisdiction) because the BOP official responsible for
transferring ABC’s property was an “other law enforce-
ment officer” under § 2680(c). This appeal followed.

IT

In relevant part, the FTCA vests the district courts
with

exclusive jurisdiction of civil actions on claims ag-
ainst the United States, for money damages .. . for
injury or loss of property . . . caused by the negl-
igent or wrongful act or omission of any employee of
the Government while acting within the scope of his
office or employment, under circumstances where
the United States, if a private person, would be liable
to the claimant in accordance with the law of the
place where the act or omission occurred.

28 U.S.C. § 1346(b)(1). This is a “broad waiver of
sovereign immunity,” Kosak v. United States, 465 U.S.
848, 852, 104 S. Ct. 1519, 79 L. Ed. 2d 860 (1984); but it
is subject to numerous exceptions, see 28 U.S.C.
§ 2680(a)-(n). Relevant here, § 2680(c) excepts claims
regarding the detention of property “by any officer of
customs or excise or any other law enforcement officer.”

' The district court observed that ABC exhausted his administrative
remedies. The government does not contest the issue on appeal.

4a

The government contends that “any other law en-
forcement officer” should be read broadly to encompass
any law enforcement officer who has detained any pro-
perty in any law enforcement context. ABC contends
that the phrase should be read more narrowly, in light
of the surrounding text, to reference only law enforce-
ment officers who are acting in a customs or excise cap-
acity.”

Our sister circuits are split on this issue. Compare
Bramwell v. U.S. Bureau of Prisons, 348 F.3d 804 (9th
Cir. 2003) (adopting the broad reading of the exception
advanced by the government); Chapa v. U.S. Dep’t of
Justice, 339 F.3d 388 (5th Cir. 2003) (per curiam)
(same); Hatten v. White, 275 F.3d 1208 (10th Cir. 2002)
(same); Cheney v. United States, 972 F.2d 247 (8th Cir.
1992) (per curiam) (same); Schlaebitz v. U.S. Dep't of
Justice, 924 F.2d 193 (1ith Cir. 1991) (per curiam)
(same); Ysasi v. Rivkind, 856 F.2d 1520 (Fed. Cir. 1988)
(same), with Andrews v. United States, 441 F.3d 220
(4th Cir. 2006) (adopting the narrow reading of the
exception advanced by ABC); Ortloff v. United States,
335 F.3d 652 (7th Cir. 2003) (same); Bazuaye v. United

? Because we conclude that § 2680(c) relates only to law enforcement
offieers acting in a customs or excise capacity, we need not decide whe-
ther federal prison employees generally, or the particular federal pris-
on employee allegedly responsible for the loss of ABC’s property, are
“law enforcement” officers for the purpose of § 2680(¢). But cf Bram-
well v..U.S. Bureau of Prisons, 348 F.3d 804 (9th Cir. 2003) (holding
that prison officers are law enforcement officers under § 2680(c));
Chapa v. U.S. Dep't of Justice, 339 F 3d 388 (5th Cir. 2003) (per curiam)
(same); Hatten v. White, 275 F.3d 1208 (10th Cir. 2002) (same); see also
18 U.S.C. § 3050 (authorizing BOP officers and employees to make
arrests in certain circumstances and to carry firearms). A prison
employee detaining a prisoner’s property in connection with a transfer
is not acting in a customs or excise capacity, so § 2680(c) does not apply.

5a

States, 83 F.3d 482 (D.C. Cir. 1996) (same); Kurinsky v.
United States, 33 F.3d 594 (6th Cir. 1994) (same). The
Supreme Court has granted a writ of certiorari to decide
the question. Ali v. Fed. Bureau of Prisons, _ US.
__, 1278. Ct. 2875, 167 L. Ed. 2d 1151 (2007).

The issue first arose in this Circuit in Formula One
Motors, Ltd. v. United States, in which agents of the
Drug Enforcement Administration (“DEA”) had seized
a car being shipped to the United States from Italy,
searched it for illegal drugs, and allegedly damaged the
ear in the process. 777 F.2d 822, 822-23 (2d Cir. 1985).
In discussing whether the FTCA permitted suit against
the United States, we observed that § 2680(c) “might
suggest a more narrow reading” of the exception than
the one advanced (then as now) by the government; but
we did not so hold because we concluded that the DEA
agents were performing a function “sufficiently akin to
the functions carried out by Customs officials”; accor-
dingly, we held that “the agents’ conduct [was] within
the seope of section 2680(c).” Jd. at 823-24.

We now join a sound minority of the courts of ap-
peals, and conclude that the phrase “other law enforce-
ment officer” in § 2680(c) references only law enforce-
ment officers whose function or authority are related to
customs or excise functions.” See id. at 822-24 (holding

* The courts of appeals that have adopted a similar view of § 2680(c)
have limited the phrase “other law enforcement officer” in various
ways. The District of Columbia Circuit has held that § 2680(c) applies
only if the officer was “acting under the authority of the tax or customs
laws such that he would be eligible for indemnification under 28 U.S.C.
§ 2006.” Bazuaye, 83 F.3d at 486. Other circuits have declined to look
to the officer’s statutory authority, and have instead required only a
relationship between the detention at issue and customs or excise func-
tions. See Andrews, 441 F.3d at 227 (“limited to those officers acting in

6a

that § 2680(c) applied to the detention of “an automobile
still in transit from overseas” because the detention wa
“sufficiently akin to the functions carried out by Cus-
toms officials”).

Itl

“The starting point of our analysis of these com-
peting interpretations must, of course, be the language
of § 2680(c).” Kosak v. United States, 465 U.S. 848, 853,
104 S. Ct. 1519, 79 L. Ed. 2d 860 (1984). We look first to
the plain and commonsense meaning of the statute.
United States v. Dauray, 215 F.3d 257, 260 (2d Cir.
2000).

Without context, the phrase “any other law enforce-
ment officer” would mean (as the government argues)
anyone who is a law enforcement officer. But statutes
are not construed in isolation; “the meaning of statutory
language, plain or not, depends on context.” King v. St.
Vincent's Hosp., 502 U.S. 215, 221, 112 S. Ct. 570, 116 L.
Ed. 2d 578 (1991). Section 2680(c)’s exception to the
FTCA’s waiver of immunity is expressed in two phrases
(as marked):

a tax or cusLoms capacity”); Ortloff; 335 F.3d at 658 (“applies only to law
enforcement officers performing functions related to customs and
excise duties”); Kurinsky, 33 F.3d at 598 (“limited to the detention of
goods by law enforcement officers acting in a tax or customs capacity”).
We need not choose among these various approaches, because in this
case, regardless of which test is employed, the prison employees in-
volved would not come within the exception.

* This conclusion is more categorical than the wording used by this
Circuit in Formula One, and as such, is closer to the view expressed by
Judge Oakes in his concurring opinion in that ease.

7a

Any claim arising in respect of [1] the assessment or
collection or any tax or customs duty, or [2] the de-
tention of any goods, merchandise, or other property
by any officer of customs or excise or any other law
enforcement officer. .. .

The first phrase relates only to the customs and excise
functions of government. The second phrase, which con-
cerns the detention of property by “any other law en-
forcement officer,” is similarly confined by context to
customs and excise.

If “any other law enforcement officer” were read to
mean any law enforcement officer doing anything, then
the immediately preceding language regarding “any of-
ficer of customs or excise” would be superfluous. But, as
a general proposition of statutory interpretation, we are
counseled “‘to give effect, if possible, to every clause and
word of a statute,’ and to render none superfluous.” Col-
lazos v. United States, 368 F.3d 190, 199 (2d Cir. 2004)
(quoting Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 174, 121 S. Ct.
2120, 150 L. Ed. 2d 251 (2001)); see also Tablie v. Gon-
zales, 471 F.3d 60, 64 (2d Cir. 2006) (concluding that a
proffered construction’s reduction of statutory language
to surplusage was “fatal”).

The government contends that ABC’s reading does
violence to the statutory language by replacing what
Congress actually said (“any other law enforcement of-
ficer”) with something Congress did not (“any other law
enforcement officer acting in a customs or excise cap-
acity”). But statutes are drawn to be to be read in con-
text. When a general term such as “any other law en-
forcement officer” follows the enumeration of specific
types of law enforcement officers, the general term is
often “understood as a reference to subjects akin to the

Sa

one[s] with specific enumeration.” Norfolk & W. Ry. Co.
v. Am. Train Dispatchers’ Ass'n, 499 U.S. 117, 129, 111
S. Ct. 1156, 113 L. Ed. 2d 95 (1991). To the extent the
phrase “any law enforcement officer” is ambiguous, “the
meaning of doubtful terms or phrases may be deter-
mined by reference to their relationship with other asso-
ciated words or phrases.” Dauray, 215 F.3d at 262. As
the District of Columbia Circuit explained in interpre-
ting § 2680(c): “if a statute lists ‘fishing rods, nets,
hooks, bobbers, sinkers and other equipment,’ ‘other eq-
uipment’ might mean plastic worms and fishing line, but
not snow shovels or baseball bats.” Bazuaye v. United
States, 83 F.3d 482, 484 (D.C. Cir. 1996) (citation omi-
tted).’

IV

In 2000, the FTCA was amended by the Civil Asset
Forfeiture Reform Act of 2000 (“CAFRA”), Pub. L.
106-185, 114 Stat. 202 (2000). The government contends
that the CAFRA amendments compel a broad reading of
the phrase “any other law enforcement officer,” relying
on the principle that “[a] statute should be construed to
be consistent with subsequent statutory amendments,”
Dauray, 215 F.3d at 263.

CAFRA effected three amendments to § 2680(c), two
of which are arguably relevant:” [i] changing the phrase

* Our reading is also consistent with the history behind the adoption
of the FTCA in 1946, as other courts adopting the minority position
have recognized. See, e.g., Bazuaye, 83 F.3d at 485-86.

* The third amendment, which is not relevant to this appeal, reflects
Congress’s evolving approach to the use of hyphens: “striking ‘law-
enforcement’ and inserting ‘law enforcement.’” CAFRA § 3(a\(2), 114
Stat. at 211.

9a

“the detention of any goods or merchandise” to “the de-
tention of any goods, merchandise, or other prop-
erty.”see CAFRA § 3(a)(1), 114 Stat. at 211; and [ii] in-
serting the following text at the conclusion of the sub-
section:

, except that the provisions of this chapter and sec-
tion 1346(b) of this title apply to any claim based on
injury or loss of goods, merchandise, or other pro-
perty, while in the possession of any officer of cus-
toms or excise or any other law enforcement officer,
if—
(1) the property was seized for the purpose of
forfeiture under any provision of Federal law pro-
viding for the forfeiture of property other than as
a sentence imposed upon conviction of a criminal
offense; ,

(2) the interest of the claimant was not forfeited;

(3) the interest of the claimant was not remitted
or mitigated (if the property was subject to for-
feiture); and

(4) the claimant was not convicted of a crime for
which the interest of the claimant in the property
was subject to forfeiture under a Federal
criminal forfeiture law.
Id. § 3(a)(3), 114 Stat. at 211 (internal quotation marks
omitted).

As to the first CAFRA amendment, the government
argues that the additional phrase (“or other property”)
“only make[s] sense if the statute is read to apply to all
law enforcement officers, not merely those engaged in
customs or excise duties.” But our reading of § 2680(c)

10a

is entirely compatible with its application where “other
property” is detained by an officer acting in a customs
or excise capacity. Cf Cheney v. United States, 972 F.2d
247, 249 (8th Cir. 1992) (Gibson, J., dissenting) (conclu-
ding that plaintiff’s sports car was not “‘goods or mer-
chandise’ within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 2680(c)”).

The second (longer) CAFRA amendment creates “an
exclusion to the [§ 2680(c)] exception which re-waives
the government’s immunity for certain seizures of pro-
perty made in connection with asset-forfeiture laws.”
Dahler v. United States, 473 F.3d 769, 771 (7th Cir.
2007) (per curiam). Thus CAFRA amended $ 2680(c) to
allow claims based on loss or damage to property that
“was seized for the purpose of forfeiture under any pro-
vision of Federal law providing for the forfeiture of
property other than as a sentence imposed upon convic-
tion of a criminal offense.” CAFRA § 3(a)(3), 114 Stat.
at 211 (emphasis added). The government relies on the
phrase “forfeiture under any provision of Federal law,”
arguing that it is broader than provisions relating only
to customs or excise, and that it reflects Congress’s un-
derstanding that § 2680(c) applies to the detention of
property by officers other than those acting in a customs
or excise capacity. me

The government has a reasonable (although not nec-
essarily conclusive) argument that this was Congress’s
view in 1999. The Report of the House Judiciary Com-
mittee on CAFRA expressed the view that under the
pre-CAFRA version of § 2680(c) the “federal govern-
ment 2s exempted from liability under the [FTCA] for
damage to property while detained by law enforcement
officers.” H.R. Rep. No. 106-192, at TV(5) (1999), avazl-
able at 1999 WL 406892, at *18 (emphasis added). That

lla

was, for the most part, an accurate reflection of the gen-
eral view of the courts: in 1999, four out of five courts of
appeals to address the question had adopted a broad
reading of § 2680(c).' But the understanding of Con-
gress in 1999, assuming that was its understanding,®
does not control the interpretation of a law passed fifty
years before. “({S]ubsequent legislative history pro-
vide[s] an extremely hazardous basis for inferring the
meaning of a congressional enactment,” Consumer Prad
Safety Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 118
n.13, 100 S. Ct. 2051, 64 L. Ed. 2d 766 (1980); and the un-
derstanding of a future Congress “will rarely override a
reasonable interpretation of a statute that can be glean-
ed from its language,” id.

The relevant question is not how § 2680(c) was read
by the Congress that passed CAFRA. What matters is
whether our reading of § 2680(c) is consistent with the
CAFRA amendments. See Dauray, 215 F.3d at 2638. It
is.

The CAFRA exclusion from § 2680(c), re-waiving im-
munity, applies “for the purpose of forfeiture under any
provision of Federal law.” 28 U.S.C. § 2680(¢)(1). As
the government emphasizes, this category is broader
than the customs or excise laws. But inconsistency with

" Compare Cheney, 972 F.2d 247, Schlaebitz v. U.S. Dep't of Justice,
924 F.2d 193 (11th Cir. 1991) (per curiam); Ysasi v. Rivkind, 856 F.2d
1520 (Fed. Cir. 1988); United States v. 2,116 Boxes of Boned Beef,
Weighing Approximately 154,121 Pownds, 726 F.2d 1481 (10th Cir.
1984), with Kurinsky v. United States, 33 F.3d 594 (6th Cir. 1994),

* In the House Judiciary Committee Report, Congress appeared to
be concerned primarily about boats and other conveyances, which are
often detained by customs and excise officials in service of enforcing the
nation’s drug laws.

12a

our reading of the statute arises only if one makes the
invalid assumption that officers acting in a customs or
excise capacity can effect forfeitures only under the cus-
toms or excise laws.

One example close at hand is Formula One Motors
Ltd. v. United States, in which DEA agents seized a car,
searched it for illegal drugs, and allegedly damaged the
car in the process. 777 F.2d 822, 822-23 (2d Cir. 1985).
We concluded that § 2680(c) barred a claim against the
United States because the agents were acting in a cus-
toms capacity. Jd. at 823-24. But if (hypothetically)
DEA agents found illegal drugs in a car traveling within
the confines of the United States, then the car would be
subject to forfeiture, see 21 U.S.C. § 881(a) (subjecting
to forfeiture containers for illegal drugs, vehicles used
to transport illegal drugs, and other property), and if
the car is “seized for the purpose of forfeiture under” 21
U.S.C. § 881(a), then CAFRA would presumably apply,
despite the fact that 21 U.S.C. § 881(a) is not a provision
of federal law relating to customs or excise. This single
instance drawn from our case law sufficiently demon-
strates that the CAFRA amendments are not inconsis-
tent with our reading of § 2680(c).

V

The government advances two additional arguments,
neither of which need detain us long. First, the gov-
ernment points to subsection (h) which—in contrast to
§ 2680(c)—defines “law enforcement officer” as “any of-
ficer of the United: States who is empowered by law to
execute searches, tou seize evidence, or to make arrests
for violations of Federal law.” 28 U.S.C. $ 2680(h). Un-
der this definition, federal prison officers are “law en-
forcement officers.” See 18 U.S.C. § 3050. But the def-

l3a

inition of “law enforcement officer” in subsection (h) is
expressly limited to subsection (h) and does not apply to
§ 2680 generally. See 28 U.S.C. § 2680(h) (“For the pur-
pose of this subsection, ‘investigative or law enforce-
ment officer’ means. . . .” (emphasis added)). If sub-
section (h) has any bearing on this appeal, it provides an
example of what § 2680(c) could have said had Congress
wanted to broaden the category of law enforcement
officers, or what Congress could say if it wished to do so
now. And even if the definition in subsection (h) applied
explicitly to subsection (c), that would not necessarily
aid the government, because there is no indication that
the BOP employees who allegedly lost ABC’s property
were of the sort who are “empowered by law to execute
searches, to seize evidence, or to make arrests for vio-
lations of Federal law.”

Second, the government contends that because the
question is one of sovereign immunity, we should not
construe § 2680(c) to effect a broad waiver of immunity
unless it does so clearly and unequivocally. See Lane v.
Pena, 518 U.S. 187, 192, 116 S. Ct. 2092, 135 L. Ed. 2d
486 (1996). Such a preferential reading is not called for
because § 2680(c) is not a waiver of immunity, but rather
an exception to a waiver of immunity: “(T]he proper
objective of a court attempting to construe one of the
subsections of 28 U.S.C. § 2680 is to identify those cir-
cumstances which are within the words and reason of
the exception—no less and no more.” Kosak v. United
States, 465 U.S. 848, 853 n.9, 104 S. Ct. 1519, 79 L. Ed.
2d 860 (internal quotation marks omitted).

14a

* * *

For the foregoing reasons, we vacate the district
court’s dismissal of ABC’s FTCA claim against the Uni-
ted States, and remand for further proceedings consis-
tent with this opinion.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1648%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
