# Opposition Brief — Hawkins v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1550%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 542 U.S. 919

## Text

No. 03-1326 | OFFICE OF THE CLER!

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

ARTHUR M. HAWKINS, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Assistant Attorney General

DANIEL S. GOODMAN
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

Np = laden
| COP
RINE I Ce 8G a hts ann ee crc — “

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether venue in petitioner’s prosecution for wire
fraud was proper, when the government alleged and
subsequently proved that acts taken in furtherance of
the fraudulent scheme, including the airing of false
television advertisements, occurred in the district of
prosecution.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinions below 1
Jurisdiction 1
Statement 2
Argument 8
Conclusion 15
Appendix la
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
United States v. Cabrales, 524 U.S. 1 (1998) ..........000 10, 11
United States v. Frederick, 835 F.2d 1211 (7th Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1013 (1988) 7
United States v. Mitchell, 70 Fed. Appx. 707
(4th Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 1114 (2004) ......... 11
United States v. Molt, 772 F.2d 366 (7th Cir. 1985),
cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1081 (1986) 8
United States v. Pace, 314 F.3d 344 (9th Cir.
2002) ios 11, 12, 13
United States v. Rodriguez-Moreno, 526 U.S 275
(1999) 9, 10, 11, 14
United States v. Svoboda, 347 F.3d 471 (2d Cir.
2003), cert. denied, No. 03-1438 (May 17, 2004) ............... 11
United States v. Wood, No. 01-2548, 2004 WL 828097
(6th Cir. Apr. 19, 2004) 12
Statutes and regulation:
18 U.S.C. 371 2,3
18 U.S.C. 924(¢)(1) 9, 10
18 U.S.C. 1341 a 12
18 U.S.C. 1343 2,3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 14
IID os cirnntsocnshissnnemnateansoscnapsineinntouwbinnesension 10
18 U.S.C. 1957 10
18 U.S.C. 3237(a) ........cecceeseeees 6, 12
United States Sentencing Guidelines § 5G1.2(d) ................ 6

(IID)

was
:

Le yo ee
Vien h enn
ae |

* ie er ry = am ;
ee eee ‘ 7
an ea peda tae Pe: 7 are ce ed m"

15 1 gaiiae RAMEE ae SEASON

x, ; ; a - = 3c, Ti ~ fat i ee a
iy A ey ey ey Se MwA gate? . x
el 7 1 ~~ Y : - 7 4
~~ ond y _
AR 7 yeas an we i
a - 7 9 5 nt Ace a ee.
- | : —_ Sr er
i = . .
a yo . = 2 a8 i o- is - - 7 he i eens en oe
C : ; aol *t — ie _ a’ Ley 25
iP. - ; : ponte ee ee eS A hie er
Gs of a0 ae ea AS 8 ot mero
* 7 , 7 ys ¥ - 7%
; ; < y ae ay
3 a at , Pir Ga a Bm pe 1 eee, PF Sra i - ol
a ; 2 — 7 oe “va
a = 7s - Sei hie af eedees et
he - : ny z 7: Ore ree as — 7
ry : : s+ : ee Ah ot 1S Sitar on Pee Me
~ae : ; phe Ine ee hy Lane

2. 7 . at * 7 at
i =» " cape | ‘ ‘
fe ; . Pay a ee cary ist ed ein Me © *
Wi tb - fea wn Boe aa Pee eae, nara T ee a” Pe ke a5 aie
, f ; a i
a = a falta eae roan
| ee Dh ered
7 i = es ny pape re re
: : : _ = 0 ~~ nD
~ | ee SS gi ree
Y f* . vt : © ay Pal -
'. ; ; ; tr | hee id CR ah gece, ale is Veale aster lage ert aa
; ia = a ~ a or ee | .
7 : 7 - ne ay » oa .
: 7 x owe te tp ©. Senay Se

Sir Vuk nese
Sp Canter?
; _ Ps le

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 03-1326

/
ARTHUR M. HAWKINS, PETITIONER

Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OFINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. B at 1-
19) is reported at 340 F.3d 459. The opinion of the
district court denying petitioner’s motion for a change
of venue (App., infra, 1a-12a) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 14, 2003. A petition for rehearing was denied
on October 10, 2003, and an amended order denying the
petition for rehearing was issued on October 14, 2003
(Pet. App. A at 1-2). On January 8, 2004, Justice
Stevens extended the time within which to file a peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari to and including March 12,
2004, and the petition was filed on that date. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Illinois, petitioner
was found guilty on one count of conspiracy to commit
wire fraud, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371, and one count
of wire fraud, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1343. Pet. App.
B at 1; Gov’t C.A. Br. 3-4. He was sentenced to con-
secutive terms of imprisonment of 60 months on each
count, for a total of 120 months of imprisonment. Pear-
son Separate C.A. App. SA1045. The court of appeals
affirmed. Pet. App. B at 1-19.

1. Petitioner was the Chief Executive Officer and
Chairman of the Board of Exide Corporation, a battery
manufacturer. Pet. App. B at 2. In April 1994, Exide
was awarded a contract to manufacture DieHard
batteries for Sears. The batteries that Exide manu-
factured pursuant to that contract contained a design
flaw and did not conform to the representations made in
Exide’s bid. By October 1994, Sears warned Exide
officials of significant quality problems with the batter-
ies. By the end of that month, Exide removed defective
batteries from approximately 700 Sears stores nation-
wide. [bid.

In order to retain une lucrative Sears contract, Exide
bribed Gary Marks, Sears’s battery buyer. From
March 1995 through February 1996, Exide made
several payments of approximately $10,000 each to
Marks. After Marks left Sears in July 1997, petitioner
informed Marks that an investigation by the Florida
Attorney General’s Office had implicated Marks in the
Exide bribery scheme. Petitioner and Marks at-
tempted to conceal their arrangement by fabricating a
consulting agreement and creating backdated docu-
ments to substantiate the bribe payments. Petitioner

3

paid Marks $15,000 in the spring of 1999 and an addi-
tional $10,000 in the fall of 1999 in return for Marks’s
participation in the cover-up. Pet. App. B at 2-3.

2. The federal wire statute establishes criminal
penalties for any person who,

having devised or intending to devise any scheme or
artifice to defraud, or for obtaining money or
property by means of false or fraudulent pretenses,
representations, or promises, transmits or causes to
be transmitted by means of wire, radio, or television
communication in interstate or foreign commerce,
any writings, signs, signals, pictures, or sounds for
the purpose of executing such scheme or artifice.

18 U.S.C. 1343. In July 2001, a federal grand jury in the
Southern District of Illinois returned a two-count
second superseding indictment against petitioner;
Douglas N. Pearson, Executive Vice President of Sales
and Marketing and then-President of North American
Operations for Exide; and Alan E. Gauthier, Chief
Financial Officer of Exide. Pearson Separate C.A. App.
SA46-SA62.' Count One of the indictment charged the
defendants with conspiracy to commit wire fraud. Jd.
at SA46-SA61; see 18 U.S.C. 371 (establishing criminal
penalties for conspiracy “to commit any offense against
the United States”). The indictment alleged that, as
part of the conspiracy, “a nationwide advertising cam-
paign was run both before and after the initial delivery
of the defective batteries. Exide, acting together with
the defendants and others, would and did misrepresent
and cause to be represented material facts to the

! Marks and Joseph Calio, Senior Vice President of Sales and
Marketing for Exide, entered into plea agreements and pleaded
guilty to wire fraud in March 2001. Pet. App. B at 4 n.1.

4

consumers.” Pearson Separate C.A. App. SA55.
Among the overt acts alleged to have been committed
in furtherance of the conspiracy, the indictment
charged that “(dJuring 1994, television advertising re-
garding the DieHard batteries was aired to consumers
located in the Southern District of Illinois.” Jd. at
SA60.

Count Two of the indictment charged the defendants
with wire fraud, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1343. Pearson
Separate C.A. App. SA61-SA62. The substantive wire
fraud count “reallege[d] and reincorporate[d] by refer-
ence” the allegations in the conspiracy count. Id. at
SA61. The wire fraud count further alleged that from
on or about January 1994 through February 1996, the
defendants, in the Southern District of Illinois and
elsewhere,

for the purpose of executing the scheme and artifice
to defraud consumers of money and property by
means of false and fraudulent pretenses, representa-
tions, and promises in connection with the distribu-
tion, sale and marketing of Sears’ automotive bat-
teries manufactured by Exide, caused to be trans-
mitted by wire from an Exide bank account at
CoreStates Bank in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,
wire transfer B00035879, writings, signs, and sym-
bols representing $10,000 cash to an account main-
tained at the Bank of Palatine, Palatine, Illinois in
the name of DG Consulting, Inc., account no. 051-
594-01.

Id. at SA62.”

2 Palatine is a northwestern suburb of Chicago and is located in
the Northern District of Illinois.

5

Pearson argued that venue for the wire fraud count
was not proper in the Southern District of Illinois, and
he asked that the case be transferred either to the
Northe istrict of Illinois or to the Eastern District
of Pennsylvania. See Pearson’s Pretrial Motions (May
11, 2001). Petitioner adopted Pearson’s pre-trial venue
motion. See Government’s Omnibus Response to De-
fendant Pearson’s Pre-Trial Motions 2 (June 8, 2001).
In opposing that motion, the government stated that,
“[wlith regard to count 2, the case law does not require
that a wire pass through the subject district for proper
venue on a wire fraud charge. Additionally, the offense
is continuing in nature, over a large geographic area,
with substantial points of contact and causative acts
performed in Southern Illinois.” Jd. at 6. The govern-
ment further explained: “The indictment alleges,
among other causative acts, that the wires were used in
interstate commerce, including in Southern Illinois, to
promote the sale of known defective batteries through
the use of false advertising. While those particular wire
transmissions were not charged in count 2 as the sub-
ject wires, they were alleged as part of the overall
scheme charged in count 2.” Jd. at 8.

The district court determined that venue was
“proper in this Court as to both Counts One and Two of
the Second Superseding Indictment.” App., infra, 4a.
The court explained that, “[bJased on the pleadings, the
situs of the Defendants’ acts include causing the de-
livery and sale of defective batteries by Sears’ distri-
bution centers in the Southern District of Illinois and
causing specific acts of concealment to facilitate the
scheme, including but not limited to false advertising in
the Southern District of Illinois.” Jbid. The court
further observed that the propriety of venue in the
Southern District of Illinois did not depend on the

6

existence of a “personal ‘tie’ to any of the three
Defendants.” Jd. at 5a.

The ensuing jury trial lasted approximately three
months. Pet. App. B at 4. With respect to the wire
fraud count, the jury was instructed as to venue:

Count 2 charges a continuing offense occurring in
more than one state or district. The Government
must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that
some part of the crime charged in count 2 of the
Indictment occurred in the Southern District of
Illinois. Venue is proper in any district in which
part of the crime was committed.

Gov’t C.A. Br. 21 n.6. (citation omitted). The jury found
petitioner and Pearson guilty on both counts of the
indictment. Pet. App. B4. Petitioner was sentenced to
120 months of imprisonment, to be followed by three
years of supervised release, and was fined $1 million.
Ibid. The prison sentence consisted of a 60-month term
of imprisonment on each count of conviction, to run
consecutively pursuant to Sentencing Guidelines
§ 5G1.2(d). Pearson Separate C.A. App. SA1045.

3. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. B at 1-
19. Petitioner and Pearson contended, inter alia, that
venue on the substantive wire fraud charge was not
proper in the Southern District of Illinois. See id. at 8-
10. In addressing that claim, the court of appeals ex-
plained that, under the general federal venue statute
governing offenses committed in more than one State
or district, “any offense against the United States be-
gun in one district and completed in another, or com-
mitted in more than one district, may be inquired of and
prosecuted in any district in which such offensc was
begun, continued, or completed.” Jd. at 8 (quoting 18
U.S.C. 3237(a)). The court also stated that “[pJroper

7

venue is not limited to districts where the defendants
were physically present when they committed unlawful
acts. So long as an overt act is intended to have an
effect in the district where the case is finally brought,
venue is proper.” Jd. at 9 (quoting United States v.
Frederick, 835 F.2d 1211, 1215 (7th Cir. 1987), cert.
denied, 486 U.S. 1013 (1988)).

Petitioner and Pearson contended “that the sub-
stantive wire fraud count should not have been tried in
the Southern District of Illinois because the basis for
that count, a wire transfer from a bank in the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania to a bank in the Northern
District of Illinois, did not originate in, pass through, or
terminate in the Southern District of Illinois.” Pet.
App. B at 8. The court of appeais rejected that argu-
ment, explaining that petitioner and his co-defendant

intended to defraud customers in the Southern
District of Illinois. They were charged with wire
fraud, including use of the wires to promote the sale
of defective batteries through false advertising in
the Southern District of Illinois. Moreover, the de-
fective batteries themselves were distributed and
sold in that district, and an audit of the battery
quality conducted in the Southern District of Illinois
initially uncovered the defects in the product. The
Exide Corporation, a defendant in a companion case,
was charged with similar crimes and pled guilty in
the Southern District of Illinois.

These fraudulent activities conducted in the
Southern District of Illinois provided critical evi-
dence of the “intent to defraud,” an element of the
crime of wire fraud. The Supreme Court has em-
phasized that when analyzing venue, courts must
inquire into the nature of the offense, see United

8

States v. Rodriguez-Moreno, 526 U.S. 275, 280
(1999) * * * , and Pearson and [petitioner]’s crime
of wire fraud focused on defrauding and concealing
their deceit of consumers, including those in the
Southern District of Iliinois.

Id. at 9-10 (citations omitted). In a footnote, the court
of appeals stated that, “[aJthough neither party dis-
cusses the case, in United States v. Pace, 314 F.3d 344,
350 (9th Cir. 2002), the Ninth Circuit held that venue
for a wire fraud offense may only ‘lie where there is a
direct or causal connection to the . . . wires.’ This
approach differs with the rubric we have established for
analyzing venue * * * , and we decline to adopt the
analysis outlined by the Ninth Circuit in Pace.” Id. at
10.’

ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends (Pet. 4-12) that the courts belew
erred in ruling that venue was proper in the Southern
District of Illinois for the wire fraud count of his indict-
ment. Petitioner further argues (Pet. 5-10) that the
court of appeals’ resolution of the venue issue is incon-

3 Petitioner also contended in the court of appeals that venue in
the Southern District of Illinois was improper on the conspiracy
count. Pet. App. B at 10. The court rejected that argument, ex-
plaining that “[bjoth the sale of defective batteries and the
broadcasting of advertisements in the Southern District of Illinois
were overt acts that supported the charge of conspiracy to commit
mail fraud.” Ibid. Relying on the principle that “[aJs long as one
overt act in furtherance of the conspiracy was committed in a
district, venue is proper there,” the court held that venue was
proper in the Southern District of Illinois on the conspiracy count
as well as on the substantive wire fraud charge. IJbid. (quoting
United States v. Molt, 772 F.2d 366, 369 (7th Cir. 1985), cert.
denied, 475 U.S. 1081 (1986)). In this Court, petitioner does not
contest the propriety of venue on the conspiracy charge.

9

sistent with decisions of other circuits. As the court of
appeals explained, however, petitioner’s fraudulent
scheme was effectuated in part through false television
advertising aired in the district of prosecution. Peti-
tioner identifies no decision suggesting that such con-
tacts are insufficient to establish venue in a federal wire
fraud case. Because any differences between the legal
standards employed by various courts of appeals in
resolving venue questions would not affect the disposi-
tion of the instant case, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.

1. In United States v. Rodriguez-Moreno, 526 U.S.
275 (1999), this Court considered a venue challenge to a
conviction for using or carrying a firearm during and in
relation to a crime of violence, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
924(c)(1). The underlying crime of violence in that case
was a kidnapping that continued through several States
(and thus through several federal judicial districts).
See 526 U.S. at 276-277. The defendant was prosecuted
in the District of New Jersey, one of the locations in
which the victim had been held captive. Id. at 277. The
Section 924(c)(1) charge was based on evidence that the
defendant had used a firearm in Maryland in
furtherance of the crime. bid.

This Court rejected the defendant’s argument “that
venue was proper only in Maryland, the only place
where the Government had proved he had actually used
a gun.” 526 U.S. at 277. Rather, the Court interpreted
Section 924(c)(1) as containing “two distinct conduct
elements”: “the ‘using and carrying’ of a gun and the
commission of a kidnaping [or other crime of violence].”
Id. at 280. The Court further explained that “§ 924(c)(1)
does not define a ‘point-in-time’ offense when a firearm
is used during and in relation to a continuing crime of
violence.” Id. at 281. It observed that “(t]he kidnaping,

10

to which the § 924(c)(1) offense is attached, was com-
mitted in all of the places that any part of it took place,
and venue for the kidnaping charge * * * was
appropriate in any of them.” Jd. at 282. “Where venue
is appropriate for the underlying crime of violence,” the
Court concluded, “so too it is for the § 924(c)(1) offense.”
Ibid.

The same analysis applies here. Like Section
924(c)(1), 18 U.S.C. 1343 requires proof of two distinct
elements: that the defendant has devised a “scheme or
artifice to defraud,” and that he has used a “wire, radio,
or television communication in interstate or foreign
commerce” to execute that scheme. Like the kidnap-
ping in Rodriguez-Moreno, the scheme or artifice to
defraud in Section 1343 is a continuing crime for which
venue is proper in any district in which a portion of that
scheme or artifice was devised and carried out. And, as
in Rodriguez-Moreno, a wire fraud prosecution under
Section 1343 may properly be brought in any district
where the fraudulent scheme was devised and imple-
mented, whether or not the wires were used in that
district. Thus, the facts that petitioner “intended to
defraud consumers in the Southern District of Illinois,”
and that “the defective batteries themselves were
distributed and sold in that district,” provide a suffi-
cient basis for rejecting petitioner’s venue challenge in
this case. Pet. App. B at 9.*

4 United States v. Cabrales, 524 U.S. 1 (1998), is not to the
contrary. The defendant in Cabrales was charged with money
laundering, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(1)(B)(ii) and 1957,
based on financial transactions that were alleged to have occurred
in Florida and to have involved funds derived from unlawful
cocaine distribution in Missouri. 524 U.S. at 3-4. This Court held
that the Western District of Missouri was not a proper venue for
the money-laundering prosecution. Jd. at 6-10. In explaining that

11

2. As the court of appeals recognized (Pet. App. B at
10 n.3), the Ninth Circuit appears to have taken a more
restrictive view of permissible venue in prosecutions
under Section 1348. See United States v. Pace, 314
F.3d 344 (9th Cir. 2002).° The court in Pace stated that
“{a]lthough a fraudulent scheme may be an element of
the crime of wire fraud, it is using wires and causing
wires to be used in furtherance of the fraudulent
scheme that constitutes the prohibited conduct.” Jd. at

conclusion, however, the Court emphasized that the money laund-
ering statutes did not prohibit “the anterior criminal conduct that
yielded the funds allegedly laundered,” and that the defendant was
“charged in the money-laundering counts with criminal [money-
laundering] activity ‘after the fact’ of [a different] offense begun
and completed by others.” Jd. at 7. In the instant case, by con-
trast, the basis for laying venue in the Southern District of Illinois
was not that petitioner was alleged to have acted “after the fact” to
prevent detection of crimes committed by other persons in that
district. Rather, petitioner was from the outset an integral
member of a criminal scheme, prohibited by the wire fraud statute,
to defraud consumers in, inter alia, the district of prosecution.
Nor, contrary to petitioner’s contention (Pet. 5-6), did the lower
courts’ venue rulings turn on “the intended effects of unlawiul
conduct in a given district.” Cf. Rodriguez-Moreno, 526 U.S. at 279
n.2 (reserving that issue). The devising of a scheme to defraud is
an element of a wire fraud offense.

5 In addition to alleging a conflict with Pace (see Pet. 5-7), peti-
tioner also contends (Pet. 9-10) that the court of appeals’ resolution
of the venue issue in the instant case conflicts with the Second
Circuit’s decision in United States v. Svoboda, 347 F.3d 471 (2003),
cert. denied, No. 03-1438 (May 17, 2004), and the Fourth Circuit’s
unpublished decision in United States v. Mitchell, 70 Fed. Appx.
707 (2003), cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 1114 (2004). Petitioner’s reliance
on Svoboda and Mitchell is misplaced. Neither of those cases
involved a prosecution under 18 U.S.C. 13438, and the courts of
appeals in both cases rejected the defendants’ venue challenges to
their convictions. See Svoboda, 347 F.3d at 475, 482-485; Mitchell,
70 Fed. Appx. at 709, 710-713.

LEE Sener nee ee a

12

349. The court indicated that venue in Section 1343
prosecutions was limited to districts “where the wire
transmission at issue originated, passed through, or
was received, or from which it was orchestrated.” Id.
at 349-350 (interna! quotation marks omitted).°

In the instant case, however, venue would be proper
in the Southern District of Illinois even under the
approach taken by the court of appeals in Pace. The
wire fraud statute applies whenever the defendant,
“having devised or intending to devise any scheme or
artifice to defraud, * * * transmits or causes to be
transmitted by means of wire, radio, or television com-
munication in interstate or foreign commerce, any writ-
ings, signs, signals, pictures, or sounds for the purpose
of executing such scheme or artifice.” 18 U.S.C. 1348
(emphasis added). The government alleged in peti-
tioner’s indictment, and subsequently proved at trial,
that false television advertising in the Southern

6 After the certiorari petition in the instant case was filed, the
Sixth Circuit adopted a similar venue rule for mail fraud
prosecutions under 18 U.S.C. 1341. See United States v. Wood, No.
01-2548, 2004 WL 828097, at *4-*9 (6th Cir. Apr. 19, 2004). Court
in Wood, however, based its decision on the second paragraph of 18
U.S.C. 3237(a), which states that “[aJny offense involving the use of
the mails * * * may be inquired of and prosecuted in any district
from, through, or into which such * * * mail matter * * *
moves.” See Wood, 2004 WL 828097, at *7-*8. The court
concluded that “[a] plain reading of the text” of Section 3237(a)
“leads us to the conclusion that venue in a mail fraud case is limited
to districts where the mail is deposited, received, or moves
through, even if the fraud’s core was elsewhere.” Id. at *8.
Because 18 U.S.C. 3237(a) contains no comparable language
governing offenses that involve the use of wire communications, it
is by no means clear that the Sixth Circuit would adopt a similar
limit on venue in wire fraud prosecutions brought under 18 U.S.C.
1343.

13

District of Illinois was used to mislead consumers about
the characteristics of Exide’s batteries. See Pearson
Separate C.A. App. SA55, SA56, SA60 (indictment);
Gov’t C.A. Br. 11 (summarizing record evidence of false
television advertising). Both of the courts below relied
in part on those television communications in rejecting
petitioner’s challenge to venue in the Southern District
of Illinois. See App., infra, 4a (district court explains
that, “[bJased on the pleadings, the situs of the Defen-
dants’ acts include causing the delivery and sale of
defective batteries by Sears’ distribution centers in the
Southern District of Illinois and causing specific acts of
concealment to facilitate the scheme, including but not
limited to false advertising in the Southern District of
Illinois”); Pet. App. B at 9 (court of appeals observes
that petitioner and his co-defendant were “charged
with wire fraud, including use of the wires to promote
the sale of defective batteries through false advertising
in the Southern District of Illinois”).

It is true that the substantive wire fraud count of
petitioner’s indictment (see Pearson Separate C.A.
App. SA61-SA62) did not specifically identify the false
advertising as a wire or television communication by
means of which the fraudulent scheme was executed.’
The conspiracy count of the indictment alleged, how-
ever, that “[a]s a further part of the conspiracy, * * *
Exide, acting together with the defendants and others,
would and did misrepresent and cause to be repre-
sented material facts to the consumers” about the
characteristics of the DieHard batteries that Exide had

7 Rather, the only use of the wires that was described in the
wire fraud count was a transfer of funds to a bank located in the
Northern District of Illinois. Pearson Separate C.A. App. SA62;
see p. 4 & note 2, supra.

14

manufactured. Jd. at SA55. The conspiracy count also
alleged, as an overt act, that television advertising was
aired to consumers in the Southern District of Illinois.
Id. at SA60. The indictment’s allegations relating to
the conspiracy were expressly “reallege[d] and reincor-
porate[d] by reference” in the wire fraud count. Jd. at
SA61. The government in opposing the defendants’
motion to transfer, and the district court in denying
that motion, relied in part on the indictment’s allega-
tions of false advertising in the district of prosecution.
See p. 5, supra.

The indictment’s description of the false television
advertising in this case as an overt act in furtherance of
the defendants’ conspiracy to commit wire fraud is, for
purposes of determining venue, functionally equivalent
to treating that advertising as a communication under-
taken “for the purpose of executing [the] scheme or
artifice” to defraud. 18 U.S.C. 1343. The venue inquiry
turns on the substance of the criminal conduct alleged,
not on formal labels. See Rodriguez-Moreno, 526 U.S.
at 279 (“[T]he locus delicti [of the charged offense]
must be determined from the nature of the crime
alleged and the location of the act or acts constituting
it.”) (internal quotation marks omitted; bracketed mate-
rial added by the Court). And the trial proof indis-
putably established that the scheme was executed by
the use of the wires, in the form of television com-
munications, within the district of prosecution.

Thus, even under the venue analysis adopted by the
Ninth Circuit in Pace, petitioner’s claim would fail. The
absence of any specific reference in the wire fraud
count to false advertising as a means of executing the
scheme was at most a technical defect that would not
have prevented the jury from finding that venue was
proper in the district of prosecution. See p. 6, supra

15

(quoting jury instructions on venue). Because the out-
come would be the same under the approach taken by
the Ninth Circuit, this case presents an unsuitable
vehicle for resolving the analytical disagreement bet-
ween the courts of appeals about permissible venue in
federal wire fraud prosecutions.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General

CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Assistant Attorney General

DANIEL S. GOODMAN
Attorney

MAY 2004

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

No. 01-CR-30006-DRH
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF
Vv.

ARTHUR M. HAWKINS, ALAN E. GAUTHIER, AND
DOUGLAS N. PEARSON, DEFENDANTS

[Filed Nov. 7, 2001]

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

HERNDON, District Judge

I. Introduction and Background

On January 19, 2001, the Grand Jury returned the
initial Indictment in this matter (Doc. 1). That same
day, Magistrate Judge Clifford J. Proud ordered that
indictment sealed (Doc. 4). On March 22, 2001, the
Grand Jury returned a sealed Superseding Indictment
(Doc. 9). The Court unsealed the Superseding Indict-
ment on March 23, 2001 (Doc. 11). Subsequently, the
Grand Jury returned a Second Superseding Indictment
(Doc. 73). The Second Superseding Indictment contains
two counts against Arthur M. Hawkins, Alan E.

(la)

2a

Gauthier and Douglas N. Pearson. Count One charges
Defendants with conspiracy to commit wire fraud in
violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371 and Count Two charges De-
fendants with wire fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C.
§ 1343. Specifically, Defendants are charged with par-
ticipating in a scheme to defraud and defrauding con-
sumers in connection with the distribution, sale and
marketing of automotive batteries.

Now before the Court are Defendants’ motion to
change venue (Doc. 41-1); Defendants’ motion to dis-
miss the superseding indictment as time barred and
based on duplicity (Doc. 41-4) and Defendants’ supple-
mental motion to dismiss Second Superseding Indict-
ment as containing a third independent theory which is
duplicitous (Doc. 79). The Government objects to De-
fendants’ motions. Based on the pleadings and the
applicable law, the Court denies Defendants’ motions.

II. Motion to Transfer

Trials must be held in the state and district in which
the offense was committed. See U.S. Const. art. III,
§ 2, cl. 3; FED.R.CRIM.P. 18. For crimes that occur in
more than one state or district, venue is constitutionally
and statutorily proper in any district in which part of
the crime was committed. See 18 U.S.C. § 32387(a);
United States v. Tingle, 183 F.3d at 719, 726 (7th Cir.
1999). Thus, the traditional rule is that a conspiracy
charge may be tried in any district in which an overt act
of the conspiracy occurred. See United States v.
Rodriguez, 67 F.3d 1312, 1318 (7th Cir. 1995); United
States v. Molt, 772 F.2d 366, 369 (7th Cir. 1985) (“As
long as one overt act in furtherance of the conspiracy is
committed in a district, venue is proper there.”).

3a

“(Where a crime consists of distinct parts which
have different localities the whole may be tried where
any part can be proven to have been done.” United
States v. Rodriguez-Moreno, 119 S. Ct. 1239, 1244
(1999). “Proper venue is not limited to districts where
the defendants were physically present when they
committed unlawful acts. So long as an overt act in
furtherance of the conspiracy is intended to have an
effect in the district where the case is finally brought,
venue is proper.” United States v. Brown, 739 F.2d
1136, 1148 (7th Cir. 1984). The Government need prove
facts supporting venue only by a preponderance of
evidence. Id.

Defendants maintain that venue is not proper in the
Southern District of Illinois under either Count One or
Count Two.' Specifically, Defendants maintain that
venue is not proper in Count Two because none of the
wire frauds occurred or passed through the Southern
District of Illinois; and that venue is not proper in
Count One because the overt acts were performed by
Sears and or EXIDE, who have not been named as co-
conspirators, therefore, the alleged acts cannot be
attributable to Defendants. The Court does not agree.

As to Count One, the conspiracy count, the Court
finds that the conspiracy occurred, in part, in the
Southern District of Illinois. First this Court has
continuing jurisdiction over the companion case, United
States v. EXIDE Illinois, et al; 01-CR-30035-DRH,
which arose out of the same set of facts as this case.”

1 The Court notes that Defendants do not cite to any case law
or statutes to support its argument of why venue is not proper
under Count Two.

2 The three defendants in 01-CR-30035-DRH are EXIDE
Illinois, Joseph C. Calio and Gary Marks.

4a

The defendants in the companion case have pled guilty
to one count of wire fraud and one count of conspiracy
to commit wire fraud and sentencing is pending. As to
Count Two, the wire fraud count, the Second Super-
seding Indictment alleges that the wires were used in
interstate commerce, including the Southern District of
Illinois, to promote the sale of known defective bat-
teries through the use of false advertising. In addition,
the audit conducted in the Southern District of Illinois
revealed the problem to Sears. Furthermore, the
Second Superseding Indictment alleges that illegal
payments were made in an effort to influence the inde-
pendent judgment buyer of the Sears battery, which
allowed EXIDE to continue to do business in the
Southern District of Illinois.

Applying the “substantial contacts analysis” found in
United States v. Reed, 773 F.2d 477, 480 (2nd Cir. 1985),
the Court finds that venue is proper in this Court as to
both Counts One and Two of the Second Superseding
Indictment. Based on the pleadings, the situs of the
Defendants’ acts include causing the delivery and sale
of defective batteries by Sears’ distribution centers in
the Southern District of Illinois and causing specific
acts of concealment to facilitate the scheme, including
but not limited to false advertising in the Southern
District of Illinois. As stated earlier EXIDE, a defen-
dant in a companion case, pled guilty to charges con-
taining allegations of delivering known defective
products in the Southern District of Illinois and causing
false advertising in this judicial district in furtherance
of the unlawful agreement. The Second Superseding
Indictment alleges that overt acts in furtherance of the
conspiracy took place in this judicial district and num-
erous alleged acts comprising the scheme to defraud

5a

occurred in the Southern District of Illinois. There
need not be a personal “tie” to any of the three De-
fendants to the Southern District of Illinois. The Court
concludes that venue for Counts One and Two is proper
in the Southern District of Illinois.

Lastly pursuant to FEDERAL RULE OF CRIMINAL
PROCEDURE 21, Defendants move the Court to trans-
fer the case to either the Northern District of Illinois or
the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. Rule 21(b) pro-
vides that “[flor the convenience of the parties and
witnesses, and in the interest of justice, the court upon
motion of the defendant may transfer the proceeding as
to that defendant or any of the courts thereof to
another district.” The decision to transfer a case pur-
suant to Rule 21(b) is within the sound discretion of the
trial judge. See United States v. Zylstra, 713 F.3d 1332,
1336 (7th Cir. 1983).

Here, the facts do not compel transfer to another
venue. The facts demonstrate that the Defendants, the
witnesses, the lawyers and the location of the Govern-
ments’ evidence are in different locations throughout
the country. The crimes charged were committed in
the Southern District of Illinois and the Government’s
evidence is located here. Further, the interests of
justice do not mandate transfer and Defendants failed
to provide any reason for doing so. Despite the fact
that the Court finds Defendants’ argument that trans-
fer is necessary in light of the horrific events that
occurred on September 11, 2001 compelling, the Court
rejects Defendants’ argument. One could easily infer
that persons traveling to and around the East coast are
most at risk. Traveling to or from St. Louis could, as a
consequence, be the safest destination point or origina-
tion location. The Court does not accept Defendants’

6a

rhetoric in this regard. Thus, the Court denies the
motion to transfer venue.

III. Motion to Dismiss based on Duplicity

Defendants maintain that if Sears is an unindicted co-
conspirator both Counts One and Two of the indictment
are duplicitous and must be dismissed. The Court re-
jects Defendants’ argument.

Duplicity is the “joining of two or more offenses in a
single count.” United States v. Marshall, 75 F.3d 1097,
1111 (7th Cir. 1996). The adverse effects a duplicitous
count can have on a defendant include “improper notice
of the charges against him, prejudice in the shaping of
evidentiary rulings, in sentencing, in limiting review on
appeal, in exposure to double jeopardy, and of course
the danger that a conviction will result from a less than
unanimous verdict as to each separate offense.” /d.; see
also United States v. Kimberlin, 781 F.2d 1247, 1250
(7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 938 (1986).

Duplicity is not always fatal to an indictment, as
corrective instructions and other measures can cure
any prejudice that might exist. See, e.g., Kimberlin, 781
F.2d at 1251. Nonetheless, the court must first deter-
mine whether the counts at issue are duplicitous.
Duplicity exists if a count contains “more than one
distinct and separate offense.” United States v.
Berardi, 675 F.2d 894, 897 (7th Cir. 1982). It does not
exist if the count merely charges the “commission of a
single offense by different means.” I/d.; see also United
States v. Kramer, 711 F.2d 789, 797 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 464 U.S. 962 (1983). FEDERAL RULE OF
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 7(c) specifically permits a
count to allege that the offense was committed by “one
or more specified means.” Rule 7(c) has been inter-

Ta

preted to contemplate the joining of two or more acts,
each one of which would constitute a violation of the
same offense standing alone, without offending the rule
against duplicity. Berardi, 675 F.2d at 898. While it is
often a fine line to draw, a count is not duplicitous
where it alleges multiple acts, which independent of
each other constitute separate violations of the same
statute, if the multiple acts are part of a continuing
course of conduct. IJd.; see also United States v. Bruce,
89 F.3d 886, 890 (D.C. Cir. 1996) (involving a bank fraud
scheme comprised of several transactions); United
States v. Shorter, 809 F.2d 54, 57 (D.C. Cir.), cert.
denied, 484 U.S. 817 (1987) (involving an ongoing
scheme to evade taxes).

A single act or purpose of the conspiracy is alleged
herein. Ultimately, consumers were to be deprived of
the kind of product they were led to believe they would
receive. The allegations suggest that as time went
along, person were added to the conspiracy and it was
broadened, but remained the same conspiracy. See
United States v. Varelli, 407 F.2d 735, 742 (7th Cir.
1969) (Agreement may continue for a long period of
time and include the performance of many transactions
in which new parties join the agreement at any time

. .). The Court finds that the second superseding
indictment is not duplicitous. Therefore, the Court
denies the motion to dismiss based on duplicity.

Further, Defendants argue that the Second Super-
seding Indictment should be dismissed because the
Government introduces a new and independent con-
spiracy relating to Hawkins (Doc. 79). Specifically, De-
fendants maintain that this new conspiracy has a wholly
different objective and that it commenced more than
two years after the conclusion of the earlier conspiracy.

8a

The Government responds that Defendants misstate
the law of conspiracy and the standard for determining
whether two separate conspiracies have been charged
in the same count and that the Second Superseding
Indictment charges only one continuous conspiracy.
The Court agrees with the Government.

In Grunewald v. United States, 353 U.S. 391 (1957),
the Supreme Court held that acts performed after the
accomplishment of the primary purpose of the con-
spiracy that furthered the conspiracy only by disguising
its existence generally are not considered part of the
conspiracy. Relying on its decisions in Lutwak v.
United States, 344 U.S. 604 (1953) and Krulewitch v.
United States, 336 U.S. 440 (1949), the Supreme Court
concluded that “after the central criminal purposes of a
conspiracy have been attained, a subsidiary conspiracy
to conceal may not be implied from circumstantial
evidence showing merely that the conspiracy was kept
a secret and that the conspirators took care to cover up
their crime in order to escape detection and punish-
me it.” Grunewald, 352 U.S. at 402. Further, the
Supreme Court stated that “[a]cts of covering up, even
though done in the context of a mutually understood
need for secrecy, cannot themselves constitute proof
that concealment of the crime after its commission was
part of the initial agreement among the conspirators.
For every conspiracy is by its very nature secret; a case
can hardly be supposed where men concert together for
crime and advertise their purpose to the world. And
again, every conspiracy will inevitably be followed by
actions taken to cover the conspirators’ traces.” Id. at
402. To hold that later acts of concealment are part of
the original conspiracy, the Supreme Court said, “would
result in a great widening of the scope of conspiracy

9a

prosecutions, since it would extend the life of a con-
spiracy indefinitely” and would “wipe out the statute of
limitations in conspiracy cases, as well as extend
indefinitely the time within which hearsay declarations
will bind co-conspirators.” Id.

However, Grunewald did recognize that some acts of
concealment can serve as conspiratorial acts and thus
constitute part of the original conspiracy. Grunewald
distinguished “acts of concealment done in furtherance
of the main criminal objectives of the conspiracy”
—which are considered part of the conspiracy—from
“acts of concealment done after these central objectives
have been attained, for the purpose of covering up after
the crime”—which are not considered part of the
conspiracy. Jd. at 405. The Seventh Circuit has indi-
cated that whether a particular act of concealment
constitutes part of the original conspiracy depends on
the nature of the conspiracy’s objective. In United
States v. Maloney, 71 F.3d 645 (7th Cir. 1995), the
Seventh Circuit held that where the conspiracy’s objec-
tive was never “finally attained,” acts of concealment
may be considered to be part of the conspiracy. Jd. at
659. According to the Seventh Circuit, “[a] conspiracy
ends when its main criminal objective has been accom-
plished or abandoned, 7.e., ‘when the design to commit
substantial misconduct ends.’” Jd. (quoting Midwest

Grinding Co. v. Spitz, 976 F.2d 1016, 1024 (7th Cir.
1992)). But “w]here a conspiracy contemplates a con-
tinuity of purpose and a continued performance of acts,
it is presumed to exist until there has been an affirma-
tive showing that it has been terminated. .. .’” Id. at
660 (quoting United States v. Elwell, 984 F.2d 1289,
1293 (1st Cir. 1993)).

10a

Here, the conspiracy as charged did not end with the
last wire transfer. The Second Superseding Indictment
charges that the conspiracy and the continuing success
of the conspiracy depended on the ability to continu-
ously conceal the truth about the product from con-
sumers and to prevent shareholders in the marketplace
from learning the truth about the quality of the product
being supplied by a publicly traded corporation,
EXIDE. The Second Superseding Indictment alleges
that acts of concealment began before the wire trans-
missions (i.e., falsifying internal quality assurance re-
ports) and continued as part of the wire transmissions
(i.e., falsifying corporate books and records) to conceal
the true status of the payments. The Second Super-
seding indictment also alleges that the later acts of
concealment “relate back” to the original decision to
defraud. See United States v. Mackey, 571 F.2d 376,
384 (7th Cir. 1978). As alleged, the acts of concealment
are inextricably interrelated to the functioning of the
scheme and the continued exploitation charged in the
indictment. Based on these allegations, the Court finds
that the Second Superseding Indictment alleges a
continuing conspiracy including the acts of concealment
and not three separate conspiracies. Thus, the Court
denies Defendants’ supplemental motion to dismiss
Second Superseding Indictment as containing a third
independent theory which is duplicitous.

Next, Defendants argue that superseding indict-
ments are time barred unless they properly relate back

lla

to the January 19, 2001 indictment.’ The Government
responds that the superseding indictments relate back
to the timely original indictment. The Court agrees
with the Government.

“A superseding indictment that supplants a still-
pending original indictment relates back to the original
indictment’s filing date so long as it neither materially
broadens nor substantially amends the charges initially
brought against the defendant.” United States v. Ress,
77 F.3d 1525, 1537 (7th Cir. 1996) (citations omitted).

The Court reviewed the original sealed January 19,
2001 indictment. The Court concludes that the super-
seding indictments do relate back to the original
indictment, which was only amended in the manner
represented by the Government. Thus, the charges
brought against Defendants are not time barred.
Neither of these superficial changes amounts to the
kind of broadening or amendment that would prevent
relation back to an earlier pending indictment. The
Second Superseding Indictment contains additional
language regarding the Defendants at bar, but Defen-
dants do not claim that the additional language does not
relate back. Even so, such a claim would be frivolous as
it clearly relates back and simply provides more details.
Thus, the Court denies Defendants’ motion to dismiss
the second superseding indictment as time barred.

VI. Conclusion

Accordingly, the Court DENIES Defendants’ motion
to change venue (Doc. 41-1); Defendants’ motion to dis-
miss Superseding Indictment as time barred and based

3 Defendants maintain that the statute of limitations for con-
spiracy to commit wire fraud and wire fraud are five years.

12a

on duplicity (Doc. 41-4) and Defendants’ supplemental
motion to dismiss second superseding indictment as
containing a third independent theory which is duplici-
tous (Doc. 79).

IT IS SO ORDERED.
Signed this 7th day of November, 2001.

/s/) DAVID R. HERNDON
DAVID R. HERNDON

United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1550%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
