# Opposition Brief — Lehman v. MacFarlane

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1443%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1106

## Text

DD FILED

No. 99-437 Viv 1 [shy

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The SUPREME COURT, U.S.

Supreme Court of the United States

.

JOSEPH LEHMAN, Secretary,
Washington State Department of Corrections,

Petitioner,

DONALD MACFARLANE and JAMES FOGLE,
Respondents.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

¢

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

¢

James E. Lossenz* MerepitH Martin ROUNTREE
CARNEY BADLEY SMITH & SCHONEMANN, ROUNTREE

SPELLMAN & Owen
701 Fifth Avenue 510 S. Congress Avenue
Suite 2200 Suite 308
Seattle, WA 98104 Austin, TX 78704
(206) 622-8020 (512) 320-0334

*Counsel of Record
Attorneys for Respondents

December 13, 1999

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

1.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THERE IS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN McGINNIS
AND BEARDEN. BEARDEN STATES THE LAW
APPLICABLE TO CASES WHERE INCARCERA-
TION IS AUTOMATICALLY CAUSED SOLELY
BY A LACK OF WEALTH. McGINNIS DID NOT
INVOLVE AUTOMATIC INCARCERATION DUE
TO A LACK OF WEALTH, BUT INSTEAD
INVOLVED DELAY IN OBTAINING A HEAR-
ING THAT MIGHT HAVE LED TO RELEASE,
PROVIDED THE PRISONER DEMONSTRATED
FRRE: SAAMI IRE IN ING a 05068 Gd dee escapades

A. Bearden Controls Because It Articulates the
Equal Protection Analysis This Court Has
Held Directly Applicable To Cases, Like the
Present Case, In Which Lack of Wealth
Directly Causes Incarceration ..............

B. In McGinnis, This Court Applied A Standard
Equal Protection Analysis That Is Inapplica-
ble To This Case Because the Principle of
Incarceration Caused Directly By Lack of
Wealth Was Not At Stake ..................

THIS CASE IS NOT LIKELY TO BE AFFECTED
BY THIS COURT’S DECISION IN WILLIAMS v.
SOUT EME ss 4 Ks 0's 064 4 aba caine SON 4hdnd 9 he Kw

CAO Pe Ac «Silos de hadesdetbhaseebalencuasends

Page

TARR OF MTIONNIIIB 6s ici cs 0 i
sce cass 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 3

6

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases
Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987) ........... 18
Bearden v. Georgia, 461 U.S. 660, 103 S. Ct. 2064, 76

L..AD8 2B1 CGR sic caaes vesaceutsesawaents passim
Green v. French, 143 F.3d 865 (4th Cir. 1998)......... 17
Hamilton Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240

U.S. 251, 36 S. Ct. 269, 60 L.Ed. 629 (1916)........ 22
In re Fogle, 128 Wn.2d 56, 904 P.2d 722

CUGRS) ows oc ctdnnvccacks saueaennsaweeen 2, 6, 9, 10, 18
In re Mota, 114 Wn.2d 465, 788 P.2d 538 (1990)...... 13
In re Myers, 105 Wn.2d 257, 714 P.2d 303 (1986)....8, 9
In re Whitesel, 111 Wn.2d 621, 763 P.2d 199 (1988) ..... 8
In re Williams, 121 Wn.2d 655, 853 P.2d 444 (1993)..... 1

MacFarlane v. Walter, 179 F.3d 1131 (9th Cir. 1999) ..passim
McGinnis v. Royster, 410 U.S. 263, 93 S. Ct. 1055, 35

me Be e.g re errs rer ee passim
MLB v. SLJ, 519 U.S. 102, 117 S. Ct. 555, 136

LIOR Ge COMO. onsanc.ccaucebucdexkeeeee 13, 14
Pruett v. Texas, 414 U.S. 802, 94 S. Ct. 118, 38

me BR Ri, 5 eer Sere a er eS 5
State v. Barnes, 117 Wn.2d 701, 818 P.2d 1088 (1991) ..... 9
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 104 S. Ct.

2052, OD LG Ge Cee «ocd cas vata peucawaks 17, 18

Tate v. Short, 401 U.S. 395, 91 S. Ct. 668, 28 L.Ed.2d
BOD CRGPR) «ons ncnccscasscees cass Rkae OUR ee Ce 5

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Williams v. Illinois, 399 U.S. 235, 90 S. Ct. 2018, 26
Ia I a 5

Williams v. Taylor, 119 S. Ct. 1753 (1999)..... 16, 17, 19, 21

Wright v. West,-505 U.S. 277, 112 S. Ct. 2482, 120
oo ee 8 reer Pre Tey rer oer 18

STATUTES
ON 3 a ys | aan 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21

CASE HISTORY

Washington State prisoner Donald MacFarlane was
convicted of unlawful possession of a controlled sub-
stance with intent to deliver and on June 24, 1991 he was
sentenced by the Clark County Superior Court to serve 72
months in confinement. Washington State prisoner James
Fogle was convicted of possession of a controlled sub-
stance, and in 1992 he was sentenced by the Pierce
County Superior Court to serve 60 months in confine-
ment. They were both unable to afford to post bail and
were therefore detained in the respective county jails
prior to sentencing. MacFarlane spent 144 presentence
days in the Clark County Jail, and Fogle spent 102 pre-
sentence days in the Pierce County Jail. Due to the local
jail policies of the Pierce and Clark County Jails, they
received less earned early release credit for the time they
spent in those county jails than they would have received
had they been released on bail and\later had to serve the
exact same amount of time in a state correctional facility,
or in other county jails in Washington State. See, e.g., In re
Williams, 121 Wn.2d 655, 658, 853 P.2d 444 (1993).! “Early

1 State prisoners in the custody of the Department of
Corrections are eligible to earn up to a one-third sentence
reduction. The reported facts of Williams show that the
administration of the King County Jail, located in Seattle, allows
pretrial detainees to earn up to one-third time off for good
conduct. At the time respondents were in Pierce and Clark
County jails, local policy provided that no prisoner charged
with or convicted of a felony was eligible to earn as much as a
one-third sentence reduction.

While this case was pending in the District Court, Pierce
County changed its policy so that now all pretrial detainees in
the Pierce County Jail are eligible to earn as much good time

release” credit is made up of two components, “good
conduct” and “good performance.” “Good conduct”
credit is awarded for the absence of misconduct. “Good
performance” credit is awarded for affirmative participa-
tion in various work or rehabilitative programs. Mac-
Farlane v. Walter, 179 F.3d 1131, 1135 n.1 (9th Cir. 1999).

MacFarlane and Fogle filed separate personal
restraint petitions in the Washington Court of Appeals,
challenging the county jails’ early-release policies as vio-
lative of equal protection. The Washington Court of
Appeals rejected Fogle’s petition, and the Washington
Supreme Court then granted Fogle’s petition for discre-
tionary review. The state supreme court also transferred
MacFarlane’s personal restraint petition, which was then
pending in the Washington Court of Appeals, to the state
supreme court, and consolidated the two cases for review.
On November 2, 1995 the Washington Supreme Court, in
a 5-to-4 decision, rejected the prisoners’ equal protection
claims. In re Fogle, 128 Wn.2d 56, 904 P.2d 722 (1995).

In August of 1996, MacFarlane and Fogle filed habeas
corpus petitions in the United States District Court for
the Western District of Washington. Their petitions were
consolidated. The Magistrate Judge issued a Report &
Recommendation recommending that their petitions be
denied, and that summary judgment be granted to the
Washington Department of Corrections. On June 9, 1997
the District Court issued an order approving the Report

credit as persons confined in state prisons (up to one-third). CR
39, ER 49-50. Thus, if Mr. Fogle were in Pierce County jail today,
his total time spent incarcerated would be less than it was under
the local policy in effect when he was there.

and entered judgment for the Department of Corrections.
MacFarlane and Fogle appealed.

On May 5, 1999 a panel of the United States Court of
Appeals issued a decision which reversed in part and
affirmed in part the decision of the District Court. The
Court of Appeals held that the county jails’ good conduct
credit policies violated equal protection, and the jails’
good performance credit policies did not violate equal
protection. The Department of Corrections’ petition for
rehearing was denied on June 9, 1999.

¢

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

1. THERE IS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN McGINNIS
AND BEARDEN. BEARDEN STATES THE LAW-
APPLICABLE TO CASES WHERE INCARCERA-
TION IS AUTOMATICALLY CAUSED SOLELY BY
A LACK OF WEALTH. McGINNIS DID NOT
INVOLVE AUTOMATIC INCARCERATION DUE
TO A LACK OF WEALTH,BUT INSTEAD
INVOLVED DELAY IN OBTAINING A HEARING
THAT MIGHT HAVE LED TO RELEASE, PRO-
VIDED THE PRISONER DEMONSTRATED HIS
REHABILITATION.

The Washington Department of Corrections contends
that this Court’s decision in Bearden v. Georgia, 461 U.S.
660, 103 S. Ct. 2064, 76 L.Ed.2d 221 (1983) did not “clearly
establish” any right applicable to the habeas petitioners
in this case. While the factual setting of Bearden is super-
ficially different from that of the present case, this Court
described the principle at stake in Bearden as “the imper-
missibility of imprisoning a defendant solely because of

his lack of financial resources.” 461 U.S. at 661 (italics
added). That principle is at stake in the present case as
well.

Petitioner Lehman contends that it is McGinnis v.
Royster, 410 U.S. 263, 93 S. Ct. 1055, 35 L.Ed.2d 282 (1973),
rather than Bearden, that controls this case. Petitioner
suggests that because both McGinnis and the present case
are prisoner “good time” cases, McGinnis controls, and
tries to distinguish Bearden because it is a case about
financial inability to pay a fine. But this type of analysis
ignores the material facts which make McGinnis inap-
posite and Bearden controlling. Bearden and this case both
deal with situations where a lack of wealth automatically
led to having to spend more days incarcerated. McGinnis
did not.

A. Bearden Controls Because It Articulates the
Equal Protection Analysis This Court Has Held
Directly Applicable To Cases, Like the Present
Case, In Which Lack of Wealth Directly Causes
Incarceration.

It does not matter that the respondents’ lack of
wealth in the present case made them incapable of post-
ing bail, whereas the defendant’s lack of wealth in
Bearden made him unable to pay a fine. These factual
differences are immaterial. In both cases, the lack of
financial resources led directly to the imposition of addi-
tional imprisonment.

_

Bearden held that incarceration must not be imposed
on an indigent individual solely because of that person’s
inability to pay a fine, following a well established line of

cases prohibiting imprisonment imposed solely on the
basis of lack of wealth. See Williams v. Illinois, 399 U.S.
235, 90 S. Ct. 2018, 26 L.Ed.2d 586 (1970) (unconstitutional
for state to add time to maximum prison term solely
because defendant involuntarily failed to pay fine or
costs); Tate v. Short, 401 U.S. 395, 398, 91 S. Ct. 668, 28
L.Ed.2d 130 (1971) (jailing a defendant for involuntary
failure to pay fines on non-jail offenses unconstitutionally
imprisons “solely because of . . . indigency” just as in
Williams; Pruett v. Texas, 414 U.S. 802, 94 S. Ct. 118, 38
L.Ed.2d 39 (1973) (summarily affirming lower court deci-
sion that when defendant was in jail pending appeal
“because [he] was too poor to make bond,” it was uncon-
stitutional to deny good time for this period simply
because his sentence did not technically start to run until
after his conviction was affirmed (470 F.2d 1182, 1183 (5th
Cir. 1973) (en banc)). In all of these cases, the relationship
between the inability to pay, and the imposition of addi-
tional incarceration time, is direct and automatic.

The decision below cogently explains why Bearden is
the controlling case notwithstanding any superficial fac-
tual distinctions between a criminal defendant’s post-
conviction inability to pay a fine imposed as part of a
sentence, and another defendant's failure to secure pre-
trial release from jail due to an inability to post bail.

Respondents fail to show that there is any mean-
ingful distinction between the case of a poor
person unable to pay a fine, who, as a result,
suffers longer incarceration than a similarly sit-
uated affluent person (Bearden) and the case of a
poor person unable to post bail pre-trial who, as
a result, suffers longer incarceration than a sim-
ilarly situated affluent person (MacFarlane and

Fogle). Bearden erected the framework intended
for application where a defendant suffers
increased incarceration because of indigency
and, thus, is clearly established law governing
the issue presented here.

MacFarlane v. Walter, 179 F.3d at 1140. This simple logic,
deeply grounded in this Court’s precedents, demon-
strates the correctness of the Court of Appeals’ decision
in this case.

B. In McGinnis, This Court Applied A Standard
Equal Protection Analysis That Is Inapplicable
To This Case Because the Principle of Incarcera-
tion Caused Directly By Lack of Wealth Was
Not At Stake.

Petitioner argues that McGinnis is the controlling pre-
cedent that should be applied to the present case, and
that the Washington Supreme Court’s decision rejecting
MacFarlane and Fogle’s claims is not “contrary to”
McGinnis. McGinnis, however, is not applicable to the
present case because McGinnis does not deal with a situa-
tion in which lack of wealth directly caused incarceration.

Petitioner concedes-that this Court in McGinnis did
not frame the issue as one of “disparate treatment of
indigent prisoners.” Petition for Writ of Certiorari, at 16. In
order to try to blunt the constitutional significance of this
fact, petitioner then goes on to claim that ” . . . the Court
in McGinnis was well aware that the good time differ-
ences at issue resulted in longer incarceration for those in
pretrial county jail custody because they could not make
bail.” This attempt to bootstrap McGinnis into a case
about lack of wealth causing incarceration must fail: This

Court could not have been “aware” that the good time
differences at issue in McGinnis resulted directly in extra
incarceration, because they did not do so.

Under New York’s “complex” sentencing system,
each state prisoner “received a series of release dates”
upon his arrival at prison. McGinnis, 410 U.S. at 265-66.

Each inmate has both a minimum parole date,
which is the earliest date on which he may be
paroled at the discretion of the Parole Board,
and a statutory release date which is the earliest
date he must be paroled by the Parole Board.
The minimum parole date is calculated .. . by
subtracting the greatest amount of good time
that can be earned (10 days per month) from the
minimum sentence of an indeterminate term.
The statutory release date is calculated .. . by
subtracting the greatest amount of good time
that can be earned (5 days per month) from the
maximum sentence of an indeterminate term.

McGinnis, 410 U.S. at 266 (footnotes omitted).

In McGinnis this Court reviewed a claim by New
York state prisoners regarding the denial of good time
credit toward their discretionary minimum parole date
under a system where parole was conditioned on a show-
ing of rehabilitation. And yet at the same time this Court
explicitly noted that under the New York sentencing stat-
utes the prisoners were eligible to receive good time credit
toward the prisoner’s maximum statutory release date:

While New York does deny good-time credit for
jail time in computing the minimum parole

date ..., it allows such credit in calculating the
statutory release date... .

McGinnis, 410 U.S. at 267 (italics added).

There was a denial of good time credit for pretrial
incarceration time towards the New York prisoners’ dis-
cretionary minimum parole date. But since parole in New
York was dependent upon a showing of rehabilitation,
there was no automatic causal relationship between the
denial of good time credit towards the minimum discre-
tionary parole date and having to serve a longer term of
imprisonment. Therefore, petitioner is in error in suggest-
ing that McGinnis is a case involving incarceration caused
directly by lack of wealth.

In contrast to the indeterminate New York sentencing
system with a parole component, where parole of the
prisoner was dependent upon a showing of rehabilita-
tion, the respondents here were sentenced under a wholly
determinate sentencing scheme in which the length of
sentences are known from the outset. Since the enactment
in 1984 of the Sentencing Reform Act (“SRA”), Washing-
ton State has employed this determinate sentencing system
in which rehabilitation is completely irrelevant and there
is no such thing as parole.

“Before the enactment of the SRA, the [Washington]
Legislature adhered to a policy that actual time of
imprisonment was best determined by the [Parole]
Board.” In re Myers, 105 Wn.2d 257, 262, 714 P.2d 303
(1986). The system was “rehabilitation oriented, with
broad discretion given to the Board of Prison terms and
Paroles to fix minimum terms according to a wide rang-
ing set of factors.” In re Whitesel, 111 Wn.2d 621, 626, 763

P.2d 199 (1988) (footnotes omitted). Accord, State v. Barnes,
117 Wn.2d 701, 711, 818 P.2d 1088 (1991).

That old sentencing system was akin to the indeter-
minate component of the New York sentencing system at
issue in McGinnis. But the Washington Parole Board was
phased out and ceased to exist after 1988. Myers, 105-
Wn.2d at 262. The new determinate sentencing system
was created, with a shift “from rehabilitation to propor-
tionality, equality and justice.” Id. at 710. Since 1984 reha-
bilitation has been irrelevant to the determination of the
length of a prison sentence in Washington State. Id. at
711.

Under the determinate sentencing system, a Wash-
ington State prisoner has no uncertainty about when he
will be released. Under a rehabilitation-centered indeter-
minate system, such as the New York system at issue in
McGinnis, a prisoner might be paroled at some unknown
point in time, if the state parole board concludes that the
prisoner has made rehabilitative progress. Under Wash-
ington State’s determinate sentencing system, the length
of a prisoner’s sentence is fixed from the moment the
sentence is judicially imposed, and is completely
unaffected by rehabilitative efforts or results.

While the denial of the opportunity to earn an equal
amount of good conduct credit leads automatically to
more incarceration for prisoners like MacFarlane and
Fogle who could not afford to post bail in the trial court,
the financial inability to post bail of the McGinnis pris-
oners did not lead automatically to their having to serve
more time in prison.

10

The statutory release date, towards which New York
prisoners did earn good time credit for their presentence
jail incarceration time, is analogous to the determinate
sentences imposed upon Washington State prisoners such
as respondents Fogle and MacFarlane. For New York
prisoners who had been unable to secure pretrial release
due to an inability to post bail, the relationship between
denial of good time credit towards their statutory release
date was direct and automatic. Every day of good time
credit awarded automatically shortened by one day their
statutory release date. Since the New York prisoners did
receive good time credit for their pretrial detention time
towards their maximum statutory release date, there was
no incarceration penalty automatically imposed as a
result of their financial inability to post bail prior to trial.
Thus the issue present in MacFarlane and Fogle’s case
simply did not arise, and was not addressed by this
Court.

In McGinnis this Court relied on the fact that the New
York indeterminate sentencing system awarded good
time primarily for rehabilitative efforts, and that while
rehabilitative programs existed in the state prisons, they
generally did not exist in the local jails:

We note, further, that the distinction of which
appellees complain [between time served in a
local jail as a pretrial detainee and time served
after conviction and sentence in a state prison]
arose in the course of the State’s sensitive and
difficult effort to encourage for its prisoners
constructive future citizenship while avoiding
the danger of releasing them prematurely upon
society ....

== aE

f=

11

The Commissioner [of the New York Corrections
Department] defends this distinction by noting
that “state prisons differ from county jails with
respect to purpose, usage and availability of
facilities.” State prisons are “intended to have
rehabilitation as a prime purpose and the facili-
ties at these institutions are built and equipped
to serve this purpose.” The Commissioner cites
the presence at state prisons of “educational and
vocational services such as schools, facilities,
jobtraining programs and related activities.” . . .

We pass no judgment on the success or merits of
the State’s efforts, but note only that at state
prisons a serious rehabilitative program exists.
County jails, on the other hand, serve primarily
as detention centers.

McGinnis, 410 U.S. at 269-271.

This Court held that under a discretionary, indeter-
minate, rehabilitation-based parole system, “[t]hese sig-
nificant differences” between prisons and county jails
“afford[ed] the basis for a different treatment within a
constitutional framework.” Id. at 271.

As the statute and regulations contemplate state
evaluation of an inmate’s progress toward reha-
bilitation, in awarding good time, it is reason-
able not to award such time for pretrial
detention in a county jail where no systematic
rehabilitative programs exist and where the
prisoner’s conduct and performance are not
even observed and evaluated by the responsible
state prison officials. Further, it would hardly be
appropriate for the State to undertake in the
pretrial detention period programs to rehabili-
tate a man still clothed with a presumption of
innocence.

McGinnis, 410 U.S. at 272-73.

12

But these distinctions do not exist in Washington
State. Under the determinate sentencing system adopted
in 1984 by the enactment of the SRA, both jails and
prisons “serve primarily as detention centers,” and reha-
bilitation effort and progress is irrelevant to the length of
a prison sentence.

Since parole was conditioned upon a showing of
rehabilitation in New York, a delay in providing a parole
hearing at the minimum parole date would not lead
automatically to a longer sentence. For even if good time
credit for time served in local jails was credited towards
the minimum parole date, since parole was discretionary,
there was no guarantee that parole would actually be
granted on the minimum parole date. And since parole
was conditioned upon a showing of rehabilitation that
could not be made until the prisoners arrived in state
prisons where rehabilitative programs were offered, it
was unlikely that parole would be granted until after the
prisoner had spent a significant amount of time in a state
prison facility.

The rationale of McGinnis is completely inapplicable
in a state such as Washington where there is a determi-
nate sentencing system, there is no parole, and rehabilita-
tion is completely irrelevant to the question of when a
prisoner will be released from prison. In fact, in an earlier
decision the Washington Supreme Court specifically
rejected the relevance of McGinnis to good time calcula-
tion under Washington’s Sentencing Reform Act because
when considering prison sentences imposed under the
SRA “[rJehabilitation is irrelevant;” since it “does not rise
to the level of a substantial interest under the SRA it
cannot justify disparate treatment of offenders.” In re

— eee KJ[ESETETES-”--Ct~*s

13

Mota, 114 Wn.2d 465, 476, 788 P.2d 538 (1990). Thus the
state supreme court held in Mota that Washington pris-
oners must be eligible to earn good time credit for their
good conduct during the period of their pretrial deten-
tion in a county jail.

In sum, McGinnis may be the correct law to apply to
an equal protection challenge brought in an indetermi-
nate sentencing State where release from confinement
does not automatically occur on the minimum parole
eligibility date, and instead depends upon a discretionary
official determination that a sufficient showing of reha-
bilitation has been made. But McGinnis is not the correct
law to apply in a determinate sentencing State like Wash-
ington where release is automatic once a prisoner has
served his determinate sentence. McGinnis does not con-
trol an equal protection claim that the length of imprison-
ment has been increased solely because a pretrial
detainee’s lack of wealth made it impossible for him to
bail out of a county jail which did not permit pretrial
detainees to earn as much good time as might be earned
by a wealthier defendant who posted bail, was at liberty
during his pretrial stage, and who later served his entire
sentence in a state prison facility.

Ir MLB v. SLJ, 519 U.S. 102, 117 S. Ct. 555, 136
L.Ed.2a 473 (1996), this Court recently reaffirmed the
vitality of the holding of Bearden and it. antecedents. The
issue arose in the context of a civil case where the paren-
tal rights of a mother had been terminated by the trial
court. The question presented was whether the Four-
teenth Amendment required the State to accord the par-
ent access to an appeal which would have been available
“but for her inability to advance required costs.” MLB,

14

117 S. Ct. at 565. Relying upon Bearden this Court held it
unconstitutional to permit an indigent parent’s inability
to advance required appeal costs to have the automatic
effect of denying her the same type of appellate review
that a more affluent parent could obtain.

As we said in Bearden v. Georgia, 461 U.S. 660,
665, 103 S. Ct. 2064, 2068-2069, 76 L.Ed.2d 221
(1983), in the Court’s Griffin-line cases, “due
process and equal protection principles con-
verge.” The equal protection concern relates to
the legitimacy of fencing out would-be appel-
lants based solely on their inability to pay core
costs. [Citation omitted]. The due process con-
cern homes in on the essential unfairness of the
state ordered proceedings anterior to adverse
state action. [Citation omitted]. A “precise ratio-
nale” has not been composed [citation], because
cases of this order “cannot be resolved by resort
to easy slogans or pigeonhole analysis,” Bearden,
461 U.S. at 666, 103 S. Ct., at 2069.

MLB, 117 S. Ct. at 565.

Petitioner’s focus on the application in McGinnis of
the rational basis standard is precisely the type of
“pigeonhole analysis,” that Bearden and MLB rejected.
Petitioner would have this Court view this case simply as
a bail/good time case. Such an approach is inconsisten*
with MLB, where this Court recognized that even though
Bearden involved jail time imposed for inability to pay a
fine, its equal protection principle was applicable to a
situation where access to an appeal of a parental rights
termination order was blocked solely because the parent
couldn’t pay appeal costs.

15

Petitioner’s unconvincing attempt to place this case
and McGinnis into the same pigeonhole is highlighted by
petitioner’s own concession that this Court’s McGinnis
opinion did not frame the issue as one of disparate treat-
ment of indigent prisoners. Petition for Writ of Certiorari,
at 16. Thus petitioner effectively concedes that the Court
of Appeals was correct when it concluded that McGinnis
was not controlling:

McGinnis, however, decided 12 years before
Bearden, was not about indigency: although
appellees Royster and Rutherford appear to
have been unable to post bail because of indi-
gency, 410 U.S. at 266-67, the issue was not
framed as one of disparate treatment of indigent
prisoners, nor did the Supreme Court so analyze
it... . The petitioners here, as the Washington
Supreme Court recognized, explicitly claim an
equal protection violation based on their indi-
gency. This is not to say that the Supreme Court
in McGinnis could not have treated the case as
one about indigency and analyzed the issue in

~ this light, but it did not do so and, theretcre, is
not on point. It is probably for that reason thet
the Supreme Court did not mention McGinnis
when it decided Bearden.

MacFarlane v. Walter, 179 F.3d at 1140, n.11.

This is not to say that McGinnis is not relevant to
some cases involving equal protection challenges to dis-
parate good time credit treatment of subclasses o: pris-
oners. For example, an equal protection challenge to a
policy of giving more good time credit to prisoners con-
victed of property offenses, than to those convicted of
violent crimes against persons, would be governed by the

16

McGinnis rational basis standard. On the other hand, an
equal protection challenge to a policy of allowing pris-
oners of one race to earn good time credit, while denying
good time credit to prisoners of a different race, would
trigger strict scrutiny, and clearly would not be governed
by McGinnis.

In sum, there is no conflict between Bearden and
McGinnis, nor is there any conflict between the decision
below and McGinnis. Thus there is no reason to exercise
the extraordinary power of certiorari to review the deci-
sion below.

2. THIS CASE IS NOT LIKELY TO BE AFFECTED BY
THIS COURT’S DECISION IN WILLIAMS v. TAY-
LOR

Petitioner claims that “[t]his case will be directly
affected by any decision this Court renders in Williams v.
Taylor,” cert. granted, 119 S. Ct. 1753 (1999). Petition for
Writ of Certiorari, at 10. Respondents respectfully submit
that this is not so. While this Court’s decision in Williams
certainly will resolve some issues regarding the proper
construction of statutory language contained in 28 U.S.C.
Section 2254(d), the Williams decision is unlikely to either
control or provide any significant guidance as to how this
case should be decided.

28 U.S.C. Section 2254(d)(1) piovides that a writ of
habeas corpus shall not be granted to a person in custody
pursuant to a state court judgment unless the federal
habeas court finds that the state court decision was “con-
trary to, or involved an unreasonable application of,
clearly established Federal law, as determined by the

17

Supreme Court of the United States.” The first question
presented in Williams involves the degree of similarity
that must exist between a Supreme Court precedent and a
habeas petitioner’s case, such that the precedent may be
viewed as a “clearly established” and “contrary”
Supreme Court precedent. That question reads:

Did the Fourth Circuit err in concluding that,
under 28 U.S.C. Section 2254(d)(1), state habeas
court’s decision to deny federal constitutional

. claim cannot be “contrary to” clearly established
federal law unless it is in “square conflict” with
decision of this court that is “controlling as to
law and fact”?

65 Crim. L. Rep. 2001 (April 7, 1999).

The Fourth Circuit has ruled that a decision is “con-
trary to” Supreme Court precedent only when “either
through a decision of pure law or application of facts
indistinguishable in any material way from those on the
basis of which the precedent was decided, that decision
reaches a legal conclusion or a result opposite to and
irreconcilable with that reached in the precedent which
addresses the identical issue.” Green v. French, 143 F.3d
865, 870 (4th Cir. 1998) (italics added). The panel in
Williams specifically relied upon the Green construction of
Section 2254(d)(1) when it denied relief to the habeas
petitioner. Williams v. Taylor, 163 F.3d 860, 865 (4th Cir.
1998).

The Williams petitioner presented a Sixth Amend-
ment ineffective assistance of counsel claim, and argued
that the state court's rejection of his claim was contrary to
this Court’s decision in Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S.
668, 104 S. Ct. 2052, 80 L.Ed.2d 674 (1984). Of course the

18

facts of Strickland were not absolutely identical to the facts
of petitioner Williams’ case. Finding an insufficient
degree of factual identity between the facts of Williams
and Strickland, the Fourth Circuit cursorily decided that
Williams was not entitled to any relief under the “con-
trary to . . . clearly established Federal law” portion of
Section 2254(d)(1).2_

Even if this Court were to adopt the Fourth Circuit's
view that a Supreme Court precedent must involve facts
which are not materially different from those presented
by a state prisoner seeking federal habeas corpus relief,

2 If absolute factual identity were required before any state
prisoner seeking habeas relief could prevail in a federal court,
then virtually no case would ever be able to qualify for a grant
of habeas relief under the “contrary to” portion of Section
2254(d). Respondents MacFarlane and Fogle respectfully submit
that the Ninth Circuit was correct when it rejected such a
“absolute factual identity” construction of the “contrary to”
portion of Section 2254(d)(1): “If that were the standard,
however, hardly any law would be ‘clearly established,’ for only
cases presenting precisely the same facts could govern later
cases.” MacFarlane v. Walter, 179 F.3d 1131, 1138 (9th Cir. 1999).
Moreover, this Court has held in other contexts that a precedent
is “clearly established” if it compels a particular result, even
though the facts of the precedent may not be identical to the
facts of the case before the court. See Wright v. West, 505 U.S. 277,
304, 112 S. Ct. 2482, 120 L.Ed.2d 225 (1992) (O’Connor, J.,
concurring) (applying existing precedent to a different set of
facts in a habeas case is not a “new rule” if the factual
differences do not change the force with which the precedent’s
underlying principle applies); Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S.
635, 640, 107 S. Ct. 3034, 97 L.Ed.2d 523 (1987) (rejecting notion
that a right can be clearly established for qualified immunity
purposes only if “the very action in question has previously
been held unlawful.”)

19

that would not change the result in this case because the
material facts in this case are not different from the mate-
rial facts in Bearden.

The materials facts of this case are those identified by
the Court of Appeals below: a poor person, solely by
reason of his indigency, faces more incarceration than a
similarly situated affluent person. This was true of
respondents MacFarlane and Fogle. This was also true of
petitioner Bearden. Since the material facts of this case
and the Bearden case are identical, the result in this case
will not change even if this Court affirms the Fourth
Circuit in Williams and adopts the Fourth Circuit’s test for
determining when a state court decision is “contrary to” a
“clearly established” precedent of this Court. If this Court
rejects the Fourth Circuit’s test in favor of some less
stringent test for determining when a state court decision
is “contrary to” a clearly established precedent of this
Court, that also would have no effect on the decision in
this case. :

The remaining “questions presented” in Williams con-
cern a claim of ineffective assistance of counsel, and the
proper interpretation of the phrase “unreasonable appli-
cation of” clearly established federal law.* The present

3 The third question presented in Williams reads:

Did the Fourth Circuit err in concluding that, under
28 U.S.C. Section 2254(d)(1), state habeas court’s
decision to deny federal constitutional! claim cannot
involve “unreasonable application of” clearly
established federal law unless state court’s decision is
predicated on interpretation or application of

20

case does not involve any claim of ineffective assistance
of counsel. Nor does it involve any construction of the
“unreasonable application” portion of Section 2254(d)(1).
In the present case the Court of Appeals expressly
declined to address the issue of whether the state court’s
denial of relief was “an unreasonable application of”
Supreme Court precedent, because it was wholly unnec-
essary to address that question. Although recognizing
that there might be some overlap between the “contrary
to” and the “unreasonable application of” provisions, the
Court of Appeals found it unnecessary to decide whether
the Washington State Supreme Court’s decision fell into
Section 2254(d)(1)’s second category of cases where relief
may be granted, as well as the first.

The Washington Supreme Court’s failure to
apply Bearden, and its resultant decision that the
county jails’ good-conduct policies did not vio-
late equal protection, was “contrary to...
clearly established . . . Federal law” within the
meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). Such a failure to
identify or apply the governing Supreme Court
standard unquestionably falls within the “con-
trary to” provision of AEDPA. [Citation omit-
ted]. ... We... have not sought to draw a rigid
distinction between the “contrary to” and
“unreasonable application of” provisions, both
of which reflect the same general requirement
that federal courts not disturb state court deter-
minations unless the state court has failed to
follow the law as explicated by the Supreme _

relevant precedent that “reasonable jurists would all
gree is unreasonable”?

65 Crim. L. Rep. 2001 (April 7, 1999).

21

Court. Indeed, we have stated that there is an
overlap in the scope of the two provisions.
[Citation]. Again, however, because the “con-
trary to” provision is clearly met, we need not
consider whether such an overlap exists.

MacFarlane v. Walter, 179 F.3d at 1142 (italics added).

In sum, it is unlikely that this Court’s decision in
Williams would have any impact on this case. Of course it
is always possible that this Court could decide, or com-
ment upon, related questions pertaining to the proper
construction of Section 2254(d)(1) which are not set forth
in the Williams certiorari petition. But only in the event
that this Court radically narrowed the availability of fed-
eral habeas relief to state prisoners, in a way that has not
been suggested by any lower federal court, would Wil-
liams be likely to affect the outcome of this case. In that
unlikely event, this Court might consider the option of
granting certiorari, vacating the judgment below, and
remanding for reconsideration in light of its Weélliams
decision. But there would be no need for this Court to
grant certiorari in order to retain this case, so that this
Court could repeat whatever holding it decides to render
in the Williams case.

CONCLUSION

The Bearden principle that incarceration cannot be
imposed solely because the prisoner does not have the
money necessary to secure his freedom is fully applicable
to this case. The holding of McGinnis, is that it is rational
to delay the holding of a parole hearing which might

Nn

22

result in release from confinement provided the prisoner
makes a showing of rehabilitation, until the prisoner has
had the opportunity to participate in rehabilitative pro-
grams. That holding has no application at all to the
present case. Since Bearden, and not McGinnis, is the
controlling “clearly established Federal Law” set down
by this Court, there was no error committed by the court
below, and there is no conflict between Bearden and
McGinnis that warrants resolution by this Court.

This Court has many times declared that its certiorari
jurisdiction is to be exercised sparingly, and only in cases
of peculiar gravity and general importance. Hamilton
Brown Shoe Company v. Wolf Brothers & Company, 240 U.S.
251, 36 S. Ct. 269, 60 L.Ed. 629 (1916). Given that only one
of the two county jails in these consolidated cases is still
adhering to a differential good time credit policy that
denies inmates the opportunity to earn the same amount
of good time credit as that which exists in the state
prisons, this case hardly seems like one which involves a
legal dispute of national importance.

23

Accordingly, respondents suggest that the Court
should deny the petition for certiorari in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

James E. Lossenz*

CARNEY, BADLEY, SMITH &
SPELLMAN

701 Fifth Avenue

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 622-8020

MEREDITH ROUNTREE
SCHONEMANN, ROUNTREE & OWEN
510 South Congress Avenue
Suite 308

Austin, TX 78704

(512) 320-0334

Counsel for Respondents

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1443%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
