# Opposition Brief — Shalala v. Grijalva

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1423%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1096

## Text

fit Gok Ge BEG ies. pi cnn i teats eae
Gat CE ED
No. 98-1284
om MAR 99 1999.
In The | OFFICE GE THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998
7

DONNA E. SHALALA, SECRETARY OF HEALTH
AND HUMAN SERVICES,

y. Petitioner,

GREGORIA GRIJALVA, MARY LEA, JOSEPHINE
BALESTRERI, FRED S. SCHERZ, KEVIN A. DRISCOLL,
MINA AMES, EDMUNDO B. CARDENAS, ARLINE T.

DONOHO, GOLDIE M. POWELL, and RICHARD

BAXTER, as individuals and representatives of a

class of persons similarly situated,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit
*

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

$
Lenore E. Gerarp SALLY Hart
Legal Assistance (Counsel of Record)
to the Elderly Center for Medicare

1453 Mission St., Ste. 500 Advocacy, Inc.
San Francisco, CA 94103 1730 E. River Rd., Ste. 107
(415) 861-4444 Tucson, AZ 85718

Carot Ss. JIMENEZ (520) 577-1611

5182 Katella Ave., Ste. 106 Gnt Derorp
Los Alamitos, CA 90720 Center for Medicare

(562) 430-0239 Advocacy, Inc.
Auprey Kraus P.O. Box 350
Conter ton Health Willimantic, CT 06226

520 S. Lafayette Park Pl., Counsel for Respondents
Ste. 214

Los Angeles, CA 90057

(213) 383-4519

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO, (#00) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

b1¢¥

<3 one

a
a

Pee ge!
xi i

4

REVISED STATEMENT OF
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Respondents suggest that a more accurate statement
of the Questions Presented, both in content and in recog-
nition of the Secretary’s goal with this Petition, is as
follows:

Whether the judgments below should be vacated,
and the case remanded to the district court to begin the
litigation anew, because of either (1) legislation which the
Secretary explicitly declined to rely on in the court of
appeals, which has made no significant change to the
relevant portions of the Medicare statute, and which the
Secretary has misrepresented to the Court, or (2) a recent
decision of this Court which, upon objective scrutiny, has
no bearing on the outcome of the instant case.

Whether the courts below correctly concluded, like
other courts considering government health services
delivered by HMOs, that when the federally created,
mandated, and operated Medicare program contracts
with private HMOs to provide Medicare benefits, their
coverage decisions constitute state action.

Whether the courts below correctly concluded that
the Secretary violated principles of due process, which
have been recognized as a requirement in the Medicare

program by numerous courts, when she did not require
her contracting HMOs to provide adequate notice and
hearings upon the reduction or termination of Medicare

benefits.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

INTRODUCTION qo occisccevekudeon ct eee 1
STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

DOVORNEDD. co ccs ccntiencn tethbennie see 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. 20.0... ccccccccecccccks 5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 13

A. The Factual And Legal Context Of Sullivan
Renders The Decision On State Action In That
Case Of No Relevance To The Instant Case... 23

B. The Secretary’s Limited Compliance With The
Remedial Order Does Not Moot The Case, And
The District Court Has Continuing Jurisdiction
To Consider Whether Its Order Should Be
MEOGEIOE 5. occccacunacecccncct cine 21

CONCLUSION «oes os csc Cannneseeciene een 27

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203 BRB iirc otic tie 26
American Manufacturers Mutual Insurance Co. v.
Sullivan, 119 S.Ct. 977 Fg) ee ee a ets passim
Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 PAM rks cahixgs 12, 18
Bodimetric Health Services, Inc. v. Aetna Life & Casu-
alty, 903 F.2d 480 (7th Cir. ca! EES SES act ae ig
Bowen v. Kizer, 485 U.S. 386 (1988).................. 22
Catanzano v. Dowling, 60 F.3d 113 (2d Cir. 1995) ...9, 16
City of Mesquite v. Aladdin's Castle, Inc., 455 US.
1 St EUR TS RA ala Gung Rela 24
Daniels v. Wadley, 926 F.Supp. 1305 (M.D.Tenn.
1996), vacated in part, 145 F.3d 1330 (6th Cir.
SMUPRT EWN e Stas rie cees calle eee 16
Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete Co., 500 US. 614
a AUG ine tes Oss OK tek een 14
FEA v. Algonquin SNG, Inc., 426 U.S. 548 (3976) 3.3%: 24
Fox v. Bowen, 656 F.Supp. 1236 (D.Conn. 1986) ....9, 17
Gray Panthers v. Schweiker, 652 F.2d 146 (1980),
appeal after remand, 716 F.2d 23 (D.C. Cir. 1983) ..6, 20
Grijalva v. Shalala, 152 F.3d 1115 (9th Cir. 1998)...... 12
Heckler v. Community Health Services of Crawford
County, Inc., 467 U.S. 51 SEMIS sity ck wtb s Gata ond 17
Himmler v. Califano, 611 F.2d 137 (6th Cir. 1979)...... 9

|.K. v. Dillenberg, 836 F.Supp. 694 (D.Ariz. 1993) ...9,

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345
PPE Sad Piece enksaeWal aceon ane

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Kraemer v. Heckler, 737 F.2d 214 (2d Cir. 1984)... 9, 17, 20
Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S. 472 (1990) .... 22
Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922 (1982) ..... 14

Martinez v. Richardson, 472 F.2d 1121 (10th Cir.

1973), on later motion, 655 F.Supp. 95 (D.N.M.
1986), appeal dis’d, 874 F.2d 751 (10th Cir. 1989) . .6, 20
Mathews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67 (1976) ........ cece eeee 5
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ......... passim

McCuin v. Sec. of H.H.S., 817 F.2d 161 (1st Cir.
AGRI D, sak ckabcds Featdl aan canna rian ees eewene salen hs 6

National Independent Coal Operators’ Assn. v. Kleppe,
MPD UG. TO CEST O) Soo sks os a kcanvecuengeeaenann 24

Northeastern Fla. Chapter of the Associated Gen. Con-
tractors v. City of Jacksonville, 508 U.S. 656 (1993) .... 24

Perry v. Chen, 985 F.Supp. 1197 (D.Ariz. 1996)....... 16
Princeton Univ. v. Schmid, 455 U.S. 100 (1982)........ 22
Schweiker v. McClure, 456 U.S. 188 (1982).......... 5, 20
Standard Oil v. U.S., 429 U.S. 17 (1976)...........085 26

Transgo, Inc. v. Ajac Transmission Parts Corp., 768
F.2d 1001 (Sth Cir. 1985)... ... cc cccuccsvcesccceses 26

U.S. Dep't of Treasury v. Galioto, 477 U.S. 556 (1986) .... 22
Vorster v. Bowen, 709 F.Supp. 934 (C.D.Cal. 1989) ..... 9
West v. Atkins, 487 U.S. 42 (1988) ............005. 18, 19

a

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (BBA), Pub. L. No. 105-33,
§ 4001, 111 Stat. 251, 275

§ 4001:
toe Oe Sree RPE Pere re rar errs ct 19
BUA TONE SOU oi ecc kes te sne tae sa veawecyect ion 23
fe Se i rere rere ee ere re tree 24

Social Security Act, Tit. XVIII, codified at 42 U.S.C. 1395
et seq.

42 U.S.C.:
§ 1395d(a) (S.S.A. § 1812(a)) ..... 6... eee eee 3
§ 1395k(a)(2) (S.S-A. § 1832) ............00 00s 4
Social Security Act:
© TSIEN ZNA). 0 wei eee veccescewerserevercees 2
G TBS ANC). onic a vice ccc evecccc espa 19
Bt) ee Serer errr irae erty y ise seer S
§ 1852(g)(3)(B)(idi) 1... cece eee e eee eeees 23
ORE ib inic's sp daine'énvodk segs tdensecnaawes passim
§ 1862(a)(1) (42 U.S.C. § 1395y(a)) .......... 18
42 U.S.C.: :
§ 13956f (S.S.A. § 1869) ..... cece ccceceecences 6
§ 1395mm (S.S.A. § 1876)........ 6.6.0 eee 2, 6

§ 1395mm(c)(1) (S.S.A. § 1876(c)(1)) ... 4, 22, 24

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

§ 1395mm(c)(2)(A) (S.S.A. § 1876(c)(2)(A)) ...-. 4

§ 1395mm(c)(5)(A) (S.S.A. § 1876(c)(5)(A)) ... . 22

§ 1395mm(c)(5)(B) (S.S.A. § 1876(c)(5)(B)) ..... 7

A2 USC. © 1965 053s iindctessnesccs pias vaocrieeres 14
Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982,

Pub. L. No. 97-248, § 114(a), 96 Stat. 324, 341...... 6

42 C.E.R.:

S GOD.7O1 OF OG. oa is cc bie Cea acue eee een ERY 6

5 G06.008 ef G88. 655 eT eg eee 6

S O09.1-409 GE. 6 os i pcdaarcdcushdatouniiewereed 5

G 410.1-410.175 6k civic eng 5

§ 417.1-417.694 .......... hed hea ORAS wre 7

MisCELLANEOUS:

62 Fed. Reg. 23368 (April 30, 1997) ...........5..00 11
Mcllrath, GAO Report, Medicare HMOs, American

Medical News 3 (November 18, 1996).............. 6
Report of testimony by Bruce C. Vladek, HCFA
Administrator, at February 10, 1995 hearing of
the Health Subcommittee of the House Ways
and Means Committee, reported at 842 New
Developments 5-7, Medicare & Medicaid Guide

(CID). sso 00d ik peach pA GE wel eek Aa ROT ae 7

Rule GOGs), FRACS, «..s:0:dy's dope Re dn cha Ce hee es 26
S. J. Stayn, Securing Access to Care in HMOs:
Toward a Uniform Model of Grievance and Appeal

Procedures, 94 Couum. L. Rev. 1674 (1994)........... 8
The Medicare Coverage Issues Manual, HCFA-

PUD. 6 onc de wine saeap obec weds coiee ene teres cistern 18

mer re ree =

—“——

INTRODUCTION

The Secretary argues that a writ of certiorari should
be issued for two reasons, neither of which is well taken.

The facts and legal context of American Manufacturers
Mutual Insurance Co. v. Sullivan, 119 S.Ct. 977 (1999),
differ so dramatically from those in the instant case that
Sullivan has no bearing on the state action issue. Here, in
contrast to the workers’ compensation program at issue
in Sullivan, Medicare’s status as a pubfecentitlement man-
dated by congressionally established substantive stan-
dards, to which due process protections have always
attached, compels the finding of state action which the
courts below correctly made.

In addition, for several reasons, it is not necessary or
appropriate for the decisions below to be vacated and the
case remanded in light of the Balanced Budget Act (BBA),
which was passed and in effect before briefing was com-
pleted in the court of appeals. First, the Secretary explic-
itly declined to raise this issue at the appropriate time
below, apparently viewing the BBA as not relevant to the
issues here raised. Second, any apparent compliance by
the BBA and its implementing regulations with the judg-
ment below responded only in small part to the deficien-
cies identified by the district court. Third, as the court of
appeals observed, the district court may modify its order
in light of later developments if the Secretary so requests
and the legal standards are met; that procedure, not the
vacating of the judgments below without full briefing and
in the face of inaccurate and misleading statements by the
Secretary, is the appropriate procedure for resolving these
issues.

Furthermore, although the Secretary suggests that
this case might be appropriate for plenary review, she is
in error: there is no conflict between the circuits on the
issues raised in this case, and the court of appeals prop-
erly applied rules of law in the state action and due
process contexts which have long been settled by this
Court. Indeed, the Secretary’s main effort is to manipu-
late the BBA and Sullivan as the mechanisms for negating
lower court decisions with which she disagrees. In her
eagerness to have the lower court opinions simply disap-
pear, the Secretary has repeatedly mischaracterized the
nature of the Medicare program and the content and
relevance of the BBA. The petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied and the decisions below left intact.

¢

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Secretary asserts that the HMO portion of the
Medicare statute in effect when the district court made its
decision has been superseded by entirely new Medi-
care+Choice legislation. That is not correct. The HMO
portion of the Medicare statute and program remains in
effect, with only minor changes, renamed as one of the
Medicare+Choice coordinated care options allowed by
the Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (BBA), Pub. L. No.
105-33, § 4001, 111 Stat. 251, 275 (Social Security —Act
(S.S.A.) § 1851(a)(2)(A)). Compare BBA, §§ 4001-4002, 111
Stat. 275-330 (only partially set forth in Pet.App. 70a and
100a-101a) with the prior HMO provisions, 42 U.S.C.
§§ 1395mm et seq. Because the Secretary failed to include
significant and relevant portions of the BBA in her

—— —_

Appendix, the current HMO portion of the Medicare
statute, including the minor changes made by the BBA, is
set forth as Respondents’ Appendix (Resp.App.).

Although the BBA includes an expedited HMO
reconsideration determination in its appeal procedures
for Medicare HMO beneficiaries, S.S.A. § 1852(g),
Pet.App. 93a-101a, this change complies with only one
part of the district court’s remedial order. The Secretary
ignores the fact that four other important parts of that
order remain unmet.

Also, contrary to the Secretary’s description of Medi-
care HMOs as making coverage determinations according
to their own professional and contractual obligations
without government participation or assistance, Pet.Br.
16-17, 20, the Medicare statute specifies the health ser-
vices provided to beneficiaries of the program. Under
Part A, these services must include:

(1) inpatient hospital services . . . for up to
150 days... ;

(2)(A) post-hospital extended care services
for up to 100 days... ;

(3) ... home health services; and

(4) in lieu of certain other benefits, hospice
GARG. 3...

42 U.S.C. § 1395d(a). Under Part B, services that Medicare
must cover include:

(A)(i) home health services ... ;
(B) medical and other health services
[including physician services, outpatient

therapies and diagnostic tests, home dialysis
equipment, antigens, durable medical equip-
ment, and ambulance services]. . . ;

(C) outpatient physical therapy services

(D) [certain health clinic services];

(E) comprehensive outpatient rehabilita-
tion facility services; and

(F) facility services furnished in connec-
tion with surgical procedures specified by the
Secretary... .

42 U.S.C. § 1395k(a)(2). These provisions remain intact
under the BBA.

HMOs which contract with the Medicare program are
required to provide their enrollees with the full range of
services covered by Medicare for beneficiaries generally.
42 U.S.C. § 1395mm(c)(2)(A). This section also remains
intact under the BBA.

Congress included a mandatory enforcement mecha-
nism for the standards prescribed for Medicare HMOs:
“The Secretary may not enter into a contract under this
section with an eligible organization unless it meets the
requirements of this subsection and subsection (e) of this
section with respect to members enrolled under this sec-
tion.” 42 U.S.C. § 1395mm(c)(1). Again, this section
remains intact under the BBA. Resp. App. 7.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

l.a. The Medicare program, established by Con-
gress in 1965, mandates that the federal government
cover specific medical services for Medicare beneficiaries.
The Secretary has issued extensive regulations and
administrative manuals defining with precision the pack-
age of health services covered and the process by which
coverage determinations are made pursuant to the stat-
ute. 42 C.F.R. §§ 409.1-409.68, 410.1-410.175. Incident to
this legislative determination, the courts have definitively
established that Medicare benefits are constitutionally
protected property rights. Schweiker v. McClure, 456 U.S.
188, 198 (1982); Mathews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67 (1976).

In the traditional fee-for-service program, which has
existed since Medicare’s inception in 1965, health care
providers are paid directly for services already rendered
to Medicare beneficiaries. The Secretary contracts with
private insurers, called “intermediaries” under Part A
and “carriers” under Part B, to process claims and other-
wise administer the benefits. These private insurers make
coverage determinations including those related to medi-
cal necessity, make payments to providers and benefici-
aries, establish guidelines and utilization screens for
coverage, and investigate fraudulent billing practices.
This Court has determined that, in exercising their con-
tractual duties, the fiscal intermediaries act as the Secre-
tary’s agents. McClure, 456 U.S. at 190; see also, e.g.,
Bodimetric Health Services, Inc. v. Aetna Life & Casualty, 903
F.2d 480, 487 (7th Cir. 1990).

From Medicare’s beginning, Congress has required
an administrative appeal process culminating in judicial
review for beneficiaries who are denied benefits. 42
U.S.C. § 1395ff. The Secretary has promulgated detailed
regulations governing this appeals process. 42 C.FR.
§§ 405.701 et seq. and 405.801 et seq. It has been clearly
established that the requirements of procedural due pro-
cess apply to the Medicare administrative appeals sys-
tem. See, e.g., McCuin v. Sec. of H.H.S., 817 F.2d 161,
171-175 (1st Cir. 1987); Gray Panthers v. Schweiker, 652 F.2d
146 (1980), appeal after remand, 716 F.2d 23 (D.C.Cir.
1983); Martinez v. Richardson, 472 F.2d 1121 (10th Cir.
1973), on later motion, 655 F.Supp. 95, 102-103 (D.N.M.
1986) (reaffirming original judgment under updated due
process analysis), appeal dismissed, 874 F.2d 751 (10th
Cir. 1989).

In 1982, Congress authorized widespread Medicare
contracting with risk-based HMOs. Tax Equity and Fiscal
Responsibility Act of 1982, Pub. L. No. 97-248, § 114(a), 96
Stat. 324, 341 (codified at 42 U.S.C. § 1395mm). Under this
system, Medicare pays contracting HMOs monthly a flat
fee or capitation payment to provide or cover the con-
gressionally mandated package of services. The Secretary
has actively encouraged Medicare beneficiaries to enroll
in HMOs, and the growth in the number of Medicare
beneficiaries enrolled in HMOs accelerated greatly in the
1990’s.!

' In 1996, 3.8 million Medicare beneficiaries were enrolled
in HMOs, more than double the 1.5 million beneficiaries
enrolled just three years earlier. McIlrath, GAO Report, Medicare
HMOs, American Medical News 3 (November 18, 1996); Report

Contrary to the Secretary’s suggestion, Medicare
HMOs are not analogous to private HMOs. Congress has
specified the package of services that Medicare HMOs
must provide, supra at 3, and the Secretary has elaborated
upon these mandates through extensive regulations and
manuals. Coverage decisions by Medicare HMOs may be
appealed to the Secretary and federal court; in fact, when
Congress included risk-based HMO coverage, it
expanded HMO beneficiary appeal rights beyond those
conferred in the Medicare fee-for-service appeal process
to include failure to receive services as well as denials of
payment. 42 U.S.C. § 1395mm(c)(5)(B). Extensive and
detailed conditions are attached to HMO participation in
the Medicare program. 42 C.F.R. §§ 417.1-417.694.

b. The Joint Statement of Facts presented to the
district court in this case identified a number of problems
with the Medicare HMO program. The six thick volumes
of exhibits, which included declarations of named plain-
tiffs, other beneficiaries and professionals, excerpts from
discovery, and studies and investigative reports, show a
pattern of denials by HMOs, particularly of certain more
costly types of health services.

Beneficiaries’ primary remedy for denial of service is
the administrative appeal process established by statute
and regulations. But he defects of this process impair the
relief which it should offer to HMO enrollees who are

of testimony by Bruce C. Vladek, HCFA Administrator, at
February 10, 1995 hearing of the Health Subcommittee of the
House Ways and Means Committee, reported at 842 New
Developments 5-7, Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH).

denied services.2 HMO notices of denial to beneficiaries
are infrequently given and, even when given, are inade-
quate in content. The hearing process that follows is
seriously flawed, both by its extensive delays when ser-
vices are urgently needed and by the inability of benefici-
aries to obtain and supply supporting evidence. As a
result, most beneficiaries have no effective remedy when
services are denied.

2. In an effort to correct this harmful situation,
HMO-enrolled Medicare beneficiaries brought the instant
lawsuit, stating four claims. First, the Secretary failed to
enforce the obligations of her contracting HMOs to pro-
vide congressionally mandated services. Second, the Sec-
retary did not enforce the requirement that her HMOs
provide adequate notice when they deny coverage of
such health services. Third, the Secretary’s failure to pro-
vide HMO beneficiaries with a timely appeal when
needed health services are denied deprives them of a
meaningful hearing. Fourth, in HMO appeals the Secre-
tary should place the burden of proof on the HMO rather
than on the beneficiary. After certifying a nationwide
class action, the district judge issued summary judgment
for beneficiaries on counts two and three of the complaint
and for the Secretary on count four. The district court
specifically retained jurisdiction to resolve count one.

a. Under two separate analyses, the district court
found that, contrary to the Secretary’s contention, HMO
service denials constituted state action. First, the court

2 See generally S. J. Stayn, Securing Access to Care in HMOs:
Toward a Uniform Model of Grievance and Appeal Procedures, 94
Co.um. L. Rev. 1674 (1994).

explained that Medicare HMOs fulfill two separate func-
tions, as insurers and as direct providers of medical care.
This case challenges HMOs’ performance of Medicare's
insurer function; it does not challenge HMOs’ perfor-
mance as providers of medical care. Pet.App. 33a. Courts
have consistently found that private contractors fulfilling
this insurance function for Medicare act as agents of the
Secretary. See Kraemer v. Heckler, 737 F.2d 214, 215 (2d Cir.
1984); Himmler v. Califano, 611 F.2d 137, 140 (6th Cir.
1979); Vorster v. Bowen, 709 F.Supp. 934, 936 (C.D.Cal.
1989); Fox v. Bowen, 656 F.Supp. 1236, 1238 (D.Conn.
1986). In the present case, the district court found that
“there is nothing unique about the performance of these
same duties by HMOs which warrants a contrary finding
here.” Pet.App. 34a.

Secondly, the court analyzed HMO denials of Medi-
care services under the criteria set forth in Catanzano v.
Dowling, 60 F.3d 113 (2d Cir. 1995) (decisions by private
home health agencies to deny or reduce the amount of
home health care for Medicaid recipients amount to state
action triggering due process rights), and in J.K. v. Dillen-
berg, 836 F.Supp. 694 (D.Ariz. 1993) (decisions by private
entities that contracted with the state to perform Medi-
caid mandated behavioral health care duties constituted
state action). As in Catanzano and Dillenberg, the district
court found that the criteria for state action apply here.
Specifically, the district court found that, with respect to
Medicare HMO service denials: (1) the government pays
for covered services; (2) the government regulates HMOs’
activities as they apply to Medicare beneficiaries, espe-
cially benefit coverage determinations; (3) the Secretary
issues regulations and directives which cannot be

10

ignored, and creates the legal framework which governs
the activities complained of by beneficiaries; and (4) Med-
icare beneficiaries appeal HMO service denials directly to
the Secretary, who has the power to overturn the HMO
decision. Pet.App. 32a-33a.

b. The district court held that Medicare benefici-
aries who are denied coverage by contracting HMOs are
entitled to due process as are Medicare beneficiaries who
are denied coverage in the fee-for-service system. Id. at
34a-35b. The court then applied the balancing test set
forth by this Court in Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319
(1976), to determine the extent of procedural protections
required for HMO beneficiaries by due process. Pet.App.
42a-45a. It concluded that the Secretary’s current notice
and hearing procedures violated due process.

Subsequently, at the court’s request, both parties
fully briefed their positions regarding the content of the
remedi«: order. Court of Appeals Supplemental Excerpts
of Record 1010-1078. The court ordered the parties to
enter into binding settlement discussions as to the details
of a meaningful notice and appeals process, with the
understanding that the Secretary's right to appeal the
state action issue would be preserved. When the Secre-
tary took the position that she would not be bound by
any settlement agreement, the district court considered
the parties’ briefing as to the specifics of the injunction
and issued its judgment on March 3, 1997. Pet.App.
59a-69a. The court did not strike down Medicare legisla-
tion or regulations, but ordered the Secretary to make
reforms in five specific areas of its HMO notice and
appeals process.

11

c. On April 30, 1997, two days before the deadline
for filing a notice of appeal, the Secretary published a
“Final Rule with comment period”, which implemented a
portion of the court’s order. 62 Fed. Reg. 23368 (April 30,
1997). She then requested a stay of the judgment pending
appeal, claiming that her new regulations complied with
many of the court’s procedural requirements, and, signifi-
cantly, that the other requirements would be addressed
by additional regulations in the near future. Def. Motion
for Stay Pending Appeal (5/13/97), in Court of Appeals
Excerpts of Record (C.A.E.R.) 200. The district court
granted the stay based on the Secretary’s assurances
regarding further compliance: “[T]he entire case may
become largely moot if the Secretary’s attestations
regarding rule changes are true and are implemented
without delay.” Pet.App. 68a. However, consistent with
her regrettably misleading practices throughout this liti-
gation, the Secretary has never issued regulations imple-
menting the rest of the district court’s judgment.

d. On August 5, 1997, the Balanced Budget Act of
1997 was enacted, folding Medicare HMOs into a broader
Medicare+Choice set of options. The BBA also inserted
into the statute some time frames for expedited appeals.

Although the BBA was enacted before the Secretary
filed her reply brief in the court of appeals, she declined
to discuss the new statute. Instead, she stated without
qualification that the BBA provisions “have no effect on
the arguments presented in this appeal.” Gov’t Reply Br.
at 10 n.9. Furthermore, at oral argument before the court
of appeals on January 13, 1998, the Secretary again dis-
claimed any effect on this case by the BBA, which had
become effective on January 1, 1998.

12

The BBA provided for expedited appeal in some but
not all of the situations addressed by the district court.
Unfortunately, neither it nor the Secretary’s implement-
ing regulations complied with other important protec-
tions included in the judgment below. First, they do not
satisfy the five-day timeliness standard for written denial
notices.* Second, they do not provide for an ‘ndependent,
non-HMO decision-maker in expedited reviews. Third,
they fail to provide for urgently needed services to con-
tinue pending expedited review. Fourth, they do not
implement the congressional mandate for the Secretary’s
enforcement of HMO contractual conditions.

3. The Ninth Circuit, in a unanimous opinion writ-
ten by Judge Wiggins, affirmed the district court’s deci-
sion. Pet.App. la-21a. First, the court of appeals held that
HMO denials of services to Medicare beneficiaries consti-
tute state action. The court considered each of the factors
that point to state action, and stated that, although each
factor alone might not be sufficient to establish state
action, together they show that the HMOs and the federal
government are joint participants in providing Medicare
services. Pet.App. 9a-10a. The court distinguished Blum v.
Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982), where physicians made
medical treatment decisions based on professional stan-
dards, from Grijalva, where HMOs make Medicare cover-
age determinations pursuant to federal law. Pet.App. 11a.

3 The Petition incorrectly asserts that the five-day standard
is unreasonably rigid. In fact, the judgment carefully provides
for extensions of up to sixty days when needed to “make a
responsibly considered medical determination.” Pet.App. 60a.

13

The court of appeals then performed its own balanc-
ing test under Mathews v. Eldridge, and concluded that
due process does require the procedural protections for
Medicare beneficiaries enrolled in HMOs that were
ordered by the district court. Pet.App. 13a.

Finally, the court addressed the Secretary’s argument
that intervening regulations warranted modifying the
district court’s injunction. Judge Wiggins noted that the
district court has continuing jurisdiction over its injunc-
tion and that the Secretary could seek modification
through the district court. Pet.App. 20a. As the Secretary
had expressly advised the Ninth Circuit that the BBA did
not change the issues before it, the court did not address
the BBA.

Subsequently, the Secretary filed a Petition for
Rehearing With Suggestion For Rehearing En Banc. Her
petition was based largely on a reversal in position,
namely, that the BBA does affect the issues and relief in
this case. The panel unanimously denied the petition, and
the court as a whole declined to rehear the case en banc.
Pet.App. 22a-23a.

¢

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

A. The Factual And Legal Context Of Sullivan Renders
The Decision On State Action In That Case Of No
Relevance To The Instant Case.

1. The Secretary’s reliance on American Manufac-
turers Mutual Insurance Co. v. Sullivan, 119 S.Ct. 977
(1999), as providing grounds to vacate and remand the

14

decision below is misplaced. In Sullivan, this Court held
that a private insurer’s decision to withhold payment and
seek utilization review of whether particular medical
treatments were reasonable and necessary is not fairly
attributable to the state so as to subject the insurer to the
Fourteenth Amendment's constraints. Thus, although the
Sullivan decision generally discusses this Court’s state
action jurisprudence, it has no specific relevance to this
case and offers no basis for requiring the appeals and
district courts to revisit their analyses.

a. Initially, it needs to be emphasized that Sullivan
does not modify this Court’s prior holdings on state
action. While enlightening in the application of state
action principles to a case under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 involv-
ing workers’ compensation, Sullivan does not alter the
analytical framework relied on by the courts below in this
case. This Court reaffirmed the traditional two-step
approach enunciated in Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457
U.S. 922, 937 (1982), and reached its conclusion that there
was no state action by distinguishing the situation in
Sullivan from prior state action cases and by carefully
parsing the factual contexts in which the different contro-
versies arose. 119 S.Ct. at 985-989. The court of appeals’
critique in the instant case is entirely consistent with this
Court’s long-standing approach, and Sullivan makes no
change in those parameters previously outlined.4

4 Sullivan also demonstrates that there is no significance to
the Secretary’s observation that the appellate courts’ decisions
in Sullivan and the instant case failed to include the three
principles applicable to the second Lugar factor, as set out in
Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete Co., 500 U.S. 614, 621-622 (1991).
See Pet.Br. 16. The absence of an explicit statement of these

15

b. It is of paramount importance to the resolution of
this Petition, however, that the legal and factual context
of Sullivan differs dramatically from the instant case.
Unlike Sullivan, where the state action inquiry focused on
private decisions to withhold payment for medical care
based on professional standards, with no state obligation
to pay or provide benefits, 119 S.Ct. at 986-988, the state
action inquiry in the present case turns on HMO coverage
determinations which are based on federal law and the
governmental obligation to provide benefits.

The Secretary contends that the state action holding
below was “predicate[d] . . . largely on the government's
regulatory role.” Pet.Br. 16. Given this Court’s repeated
recognition, including in Sullivan, 119 S.Ct. at 986, that
regulation alone does not convert private action into state
action, it is not surprising that the Secretary would seek
to frame this case as merely an instance of government
regulation. This situation, however, is vastly different
from one involving a regulated industry, as the state
action finding is here predicated on a comprehensive
federal statutory scheme establishing the Medicare pro-
gram. See supra at 2-4.

The structure and operation of the Medicare pro-
gram, which is detailed at length in the statute, the regu-
lations, and the manuals, are the responsibility of the
Secretary to carry out and enforce, and the HMOs which
contract with the Secretary play subordinate roles in this

principles does not necessarily undercut the implicit propriety
of the lower courts’ analytical approach, regardless of the
ultimate outcome of those analyses.

16

scheme. The Secretary not only sets the benefit entitle-
ment package, coverage and standards for quality, orga-
nization, delivery of services, and notice and appeal
rights, but exercises a virtual monopsony in its role as the
exclusive buyer of beneficiary services. Unlike Sullivan,
119 S.Ct. at 988, and Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419
U.S. 345, 352-353 (1974), where the state had no obligation
to provide service or benefits, in this case the government
is obligated to ensure that HMOs provide all federally
mandated public benefits. That is the critical difference
from the instant case, where the obligation has always
attached to the government.

Courts have invariably found state action in the con-
text of government health benefits obligated by statute
and provided via a delegation to HMO. In a number of
recent decisions courts have explicitly rejected arguments
against state action like that made by the Secretary. In
Catanzane, 60 F.3d at 117-120, state action and consequent
due process protections were found in a managed care
arrangement for Medicaid benefits. In Perry v. Chen, 985
F.Supp. 1197 (D.Ariz. 1996), the court held that managed
care organizations contracting with the state’s Medicaid
program must meet due process requirements when they
deny health services to beneficiaries. In Daniels v. Wadley,
926 F.Supp. 1305, 1311 (M.D.Tenn. 1996), vacated on this
point sub nom. Daniels v. Menke, 145 F.3d 1330 (6th Cir.
1998) (table) (vacated for change of circumstances), the
district court held that Medicaid-contracting HMOs are
state actors and so are subject to due process standards
when they deny health services to beneficiaries. Finally,
in J.K. v. Dillenberg, 836 F.Supp. at 697-699, state action

17

with constitutional protections was found in private men-
tal health case management services provided under con-
tract with the state Medicaid program.

c. There is no logic in according preferential treat-
ment to HMOs which participate in the Medicare system,
when, like fee-for-service providers, they contract with
the federal government to carry out federally established
coverage decisions and as such are acting as agents. See,
e.g., Heckler v. Community Health Services of Crawford
County, Inc., 467 U.S. 51, 54, 64 (1984); Bodimetric Health
Services, Inc., 903 F.2d at 487; Kraemer, 737 F.2d at 215; Fox,
656 F.Supp. at 1238. That HMOs participate both in the
Medicare program and in the private sector is not a
relevant concern. Rather, it is their voluntary participa-
tion in the Medicare program and in the provision of
Medicare benefits which defines their role as state actors,
for, in that context, the HMOs’ actions are “fairly attribu-
table to the State.” Sullivan, 119 S.Ct. at 989.

A finding of no state action in the HMO Medicare
context, and the consequent reduction in beneficiary
rights, would also create a double and unequal standard
for Medicare beneficiaries, depending on whether they
were HMO-enrolled or in fee-for-service. The courts
below explicitly recognized this unfairness and the fact
that there is nothing in the legislative record to indicate a
congressional intention to create such a disparate system.
See Pet.App. 34a-35a.

Further, the Secretary significantly errs by stating
that the court below “conclud[ed] that medical treatment
decisions by private HMOs concerning their Medicare-

18

beneficiary members are properly attributed to the fed-
eral government.” Pet.Br. 16 (emphasis supplied). In fact,
the court of appeals’ ruling clearly was limited to coverage
decisions by Medicare HMOs rather than medical judg-
ments. Pet.App. 11a. By contrast, Sullivan did not involve
coverage determinations but, rather, withholding pay-
ment to providers pending resolution of medical treat-
ment disputes, where standards were not established by
the state. 119 S.Ct. at 986.°

The present case is also quite different from prior
cases where the challenged activity turned on judgments
made by medical professionals. In Blum v. Yaretsky, 457
U.S. at 1008-1009, this Court held that physician treat-
ment decisions do not involve state action. The lower
courts here rightly distinguished HMO coverage deter-
minations from the situations in Blum and its progeny
where no state action was found. Pet.App. 8a-10a, 30a.
The Secretary’s attempt to insulate herself and her HMOs
from accountability by cloaking them in independent pro-
fessional discretion must fail. See Pet.Br. 17-18 n. 6.

The situation in this case — unlike Sullivan — is similar
to West v. Atkins, 487 U.S. 42 (1988). There, the Court

5 The Medicare statute contains a section listing exclusions
from its package of covered services; several of the exclusions
are services “not reasonable and necessary for... [various listed
purposes].” S.S.A. § 1862(a)(1). The Secretary has further
defined in detail the situations where these exclusions are
found. See, inter alia, The Medicare Coverage Issues Manual,
HCFA-Pub. 6. These Medicare coverage exclusio~s are not
analogous to the Pennsylvania legislation analyzed in Sullivan,
where medical judgment was a prerequisite to entitlement.

19

found that a state-contracted physician's delivery of med-
ical treatment to state prison hospital inmates was action
fairly attributable to the state, as it had an obligation to
provide adequate medical care, it delegated that function,
and the private actor voluntarily assumed the obligation
by contract. Id. at 56. These are the same factors identified
by the district and appellate courts below in concluding
that there is state action in this situation. See Pet.App.
10a, 32a.

Indeed, the effect of the BBA is to accentuate the
Medicare parallel to the circumstances which defined
state action in West. Under the BBA, when beneficiaries
elect to enroll in managed care organizations, they will be
“locked in” and dependent on their HMOs to make cov-
erage decisions according to federal law. S.S.A.
§ 1851(e)(2)(C), added by BBA § 4001, 111 Stat. 281 (mis-
leadingly omitted from Pet.App.; see id. at 78a). Conse-
quently, beneficiaries’ circumstances will be remarkably
similar to those of the inmates in West, who also had no
alternative to the health care available from the contract-
ing physician — a state actor.

e. The Secretary wrongly discerns significance in
her observation that the relationship between Medicare
beneficiaries and HMOs is the “product of a private
choice.” Pet.Br. 17. But it is irrelevant that an HMO’s
connection to its Medicare beneficiary members resem-
bles the HMO relationship to private health beneficiaries
on the issue of choice of plans. As this Court noted in
West, 487 U.S. at 56 n. 15, whether the role of a putative
state actor “parallels one in the private sector is not, by
itself, reason to conclude that the former is not acting
under color of state law in performing his duties.”

20

The relevant private decision-making at issue in this
case is not that of Medicare beneficiaries choosing the
HMO route. It is, rather, the voluntary decision of private
health plans to participate as contractors in the Medicare
program. Consequently, like intermediaries in the tradi-
tional fee-for-service Medicare market, they must adhere
to the statutory and contractual entitlements to benefits.

2. The lower courts correctly held that principles of
due process require the procedural protections ordered in
this case for Medicare HMOs. In Sullivan, this Court held
that the Due Process Clause does not apply to medical
benefits under the Pennsylvania workers’ compensation
law because there is no protected property interest in
those benefits. 119 S.Ct. at 990. Here, in direct contrast,
this Court, as well as numerous other courts, has long
recognized that due process principles apply to the Medi-
care package of health benefits. McClure, 456 U.S. at 198;
see also, e.g., Kraemer, 737 F.2d at 222; Gray Panthers, 652
F.2d at 146; Martinez, 472 F.2d at 1121; Martinez, 655
F.Supp. 95, 99.

The Secretary complains that, in its due process anal-
ysis, the court of appeals did not give substantial weight
to agency views, but she misquotes the court’s opinion.
Pet.Br. 18. Judge Wiggins rejected the Secretary’s asser-
tion that Eldridge confers “great deference” upon the Sec-
retary’s views on the appropriate level of procedural
protection, for the simple reason that the language and
standard suggested by the Secretary simply do not
appear in Eldridge. See Pet.App. 13a n.3. In fact, the
district judge did give deference to her views on this
point, as he conscientiously reviewed both the Secretary’s
existing procedures and arguments, ruling in her favor on

21

one of the four counts. Pet.App. 24a et seq. In formulating
relief, the district court asked the Secretary to file a
response to the proposed judgment and then ordered
beneficiaries to engage in settlement talks with the Secre-
tary on the remaining issues. District Court Minute Entry
of 2/3/97, in C.A.E.R. 199. The court of appeals reviewed
the government’s interests in a separate section of its
opinion, and, even after applying the deference due
under Eldridge, the court determined that the government
had simply failed to advance any convincing argument
that the burden on it outweighed the need for additional
due process protections.

B. The Secretary’s Limited Compliance With The
Remedial Order Does Not Moot The Case, And The
District Court Has Continuing Jurisdiction To Con-
sider Whether Its Order Should Be Modified.

1. The Secretary’s assertion that this case would
warrant plenary review absent its alleged similarity with
Sullivan is unfounded. The decisions below were not
nearly so sweeping as to have “declare{d] unconstitu-
tional the Secretary’s implementation of a major federal
program.” Pet.Br. 20. Rather, they simply held that one
circumscribed aspect of the Medicare program - appeal
rights for HMO beneficiaries - needed improvement to
meet judicially recognized standards. Nor did the deci-
sions “constitutionalize” private HMOs. Id. HMOs con-
duct their activities as before, except that a)>eal
procedures for Medicare beneficiaries, which have alw.«'s
been prescribed by the Secretary, are somewhat stricter.

22

2. Contrary to the Secretary’s repeated assertions,
the BBA and regulations do not substantially alter the
controversy or moot this case. First, the district court's
decision did not strike down any particular provisions of
the Medicare statute or regulations. Rather, the court
focused on the Medicare appeals process as it existed in
practice, and ordered the Secretary to improve the proc-
ess in certain specific ways. Pet.App. 24a-64a. Thus, the
BBA did not replace legislation declared invalid by the
court, and for that reason many of the decisions cited by
the Secretary are not directly applicable to this case. See,
e.g., Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S. 472 (1990);
Bowen v. Kizer, 485 U.S. 386 (1988); U.S. Dep’t of Treasury v.
Galioto, 477 U.S. 556 (1986); Princeton Univ. v. Schmid, 455
U.S. 100 (1982).

Second, the BBA and the new regulations do not
satisfy the requirements of the district court’s remedial
order. The BBA renamed Medicare risk-contracting HMOs
‘ grouped them together with
some new structures for providing Medicare benefits, and

“coordinated care plans,’

shifted some of the relevant statutory provisions to a new
section of the Medicare statute. But neither the statutory
framework nor the statutory provisions addressed by the
lower courts have changed. Section 1395mm(c)(1) of title
42, which forbids the Secretary from entering into a con-
tract with an HMO unless it meets the statutory require-
ments and upon which the lower courts relied (Pet.App.
20a, 54a), has not been repealed. Section 1395mm(c)(5)(A)’s
requirement of meaningful procedures for hearing and
resolving grievances between enrollees and the HMO also
remains in the statute. See Resp.App. 7.

23

Although the Secretary describes in glowing detail
the salubrious contents of the BBA (Pet.Br. 20-22), she
fails to note that many of its procedural provisions deal
with matters not raised in this litigation, such as decision-
making by qualified medical personnel and the time lim-
itation for non-expedited reconsiderations. Other BBA
provisions touted in the Petition simply repeat in statu-
tory form procedural characteristics of the existing sys-
tem, such as independent review of adverse HMO
reconsiderations and subsequent levels of review by ALJs
and federal courts. Only one important element of the
district court’s remedial order is satisfied by the BBA: the
requirement that an expedited HMO reconsideration by
the HMO be provided within three days (or 72 hours in
the BBA) for urgently needed health services. S.S.A.
§ 1852(g)(3)(B)(iii), added by BBA § 4001, 111 Stat. 294.

However, the other key components of the court
order are not met in the BBA and the Secretary’s regula-
tions. For example, recognizing the frequent need for
prompt medical treatment, the district court required that
HMOs make initial determinations within five days of a
request for a health care service unless more time is
required by the HMO. Pet.App. 60a. The court also
required the continuation of on-going and urgently
needed acute care services (unless harmful to the
enrollee) pending an expedited reconsideration deter-
mination. Id. at 63a. Finding that existing “notice and
informal hearing requirements set forth by statute and
regulations are all but ignored,” id. at 51a, the court
required the Secretary to enforce Congress’ statutory pro-
hibition against renewing contracts with HMOs that do
not comply with federal standards. Id. at 54a-55a, 61a,

24

63a. The BBA does not satisfy these obligations, and the
Secretary continues to ignore the bulk of the remedial
order.

The Petition asserts that the prohibition against con-
tracting with non-compliant HMOs was mooted by the
BBA in its enactment of S.S.A. § 1857, BBA § 4001, 111
Stat. 319. Pet.Br. 24 n.13. While it is true that the new
S.S.A. § 1857 uses permissive language in authorizing the
Secretary to terminate non-compliant Medicare+Choice
organizations generally, the Petition fails to disclose the
fact that the BBA did not repeal 42 U.S.C. § 1395mm(c)(1),
which mandates non-renewal of Medicare contracts with
deficient HMOs. Resp.App. 7. Under the rules of statu-
tory construction, the more specific provision of section
1395mm(c)(1) continues to be controlling in Medicare
contracts with HMOs under Medicare+Choice. And
where, as here, the intervening legislation and regula-
tions do not resolve many of the underlying controversies
or issues, the case is not moot. Northeastern Fla. Chapter of
the Associated Gen. Contractors v. City of Jacksonville, 508
U.S. 656, 662 (1993) (municipal ordinance conferring
minority business preferences voluntarily replaced dur-
ing appeal did not moot case when replaced by similar
statute); City of Mesquite v. Aladdin's Castle, Inc., 455 U.S.
283, 289 (1992) (voluntary compliance did not moot judg-
ment). See also, e.g., National Independent Coal Operators’
Assn. v. Kleppe, 423 U.S. 388, 393 n.4 (1976) (challenge to
validity of regulations regarding administrative hearings
not moot where regulation reissued after filing of suit
required a hearing if requested); FEA v. Algonquin SNG,
Inc., 426 U.S. 548, 558 n.8 (1976) (challenge to administra-
tive imposition of fees on oil imports not mooted by new

i

25

federal statute because it did not eliminate one type of fee
which respondents sought to enjoin).

3. The Secretary asks the Court to vacate the court
of appeals’ decision and remand this case to the district
court with instructions to vacate its judgment as well and
conduct such further proceedings as may be appropriate
in light of the BBA and new regulations. Pet.Br. 26. This
action is neither necessary nor appropriate for several
reasons.

First, it is apparent that the Secretary’s regulatory
and legislative initiatives were in reaction to the injunc-
tion in this case. Even the Secretary should not be
allowed to manipulate the judicial process by offering
half a loaf after her efforts to evade compliance have
failed.

As discussed above, the Secretary advised the court
of appeals that it need not consider the effect of the BBA
in deciding the appeal. Although that legislation became
law in August 1997, before the appeal was fully briefed
and argued, the Secretary informed the court that it
should not consider its provisions: “[T]hese changes have
no effect on the arguments presented in this appeal.”
Gov’t Reply Brief at 10 n.9 (emphasis added). Further-
more, although oral argument took place after the Janu-
ary 1, 1998 effective date of the BBA, the Secretary still
did not ask the court to consider its effect. Having
expressly waived her opportunity to raise this legislation
below, the Secretary should not be allowed to use it now
to further delay or deny relief to tens of thousands of
Medicare beneficiaries.

26

Second, the relief requested by the Secretary, recon-
sideration by the district court, may be obtained without
the issuance of a writ of certiorari vacating the court of
appeals’ decision. The district court retained jurisdiction
to consider the effects of the procedural changes ordered,
Pet.App. 58a, 64a, and, in any event, the Secretary may
seek modification in light of the BBA changes on remand
to the district court pursuant to Rule 60(b), F.R.Civ.P. At
the conclusion of his opinion for the unanimous panel
below, Judge Wiggins noted precisely this point:

The district court has continuing jurisdiction
over the modification of the injunction. See
Transgo, Inc. v. Ajac Transmission Parts Corp., 768
F.2d 1001, 1030 (9th Cir. 1985) (declining to
remand to district court with directions to mod-
ify injunction, noting that the party “may apply
directly” to the district court for modification in
light of post-trial events). The Secretary may
move in the district court for a modification of
its injunction.

Pet.App. 21a. See also, e.g., Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203
(1997) (discussing standards for a Rule 60(b) motion);
Standard Oil v. U.S., 429 U.S. 17 (1976) (unsuccessful
appellant may make a Rule 60(b) motion on remand).

Because the intervening legislation and regulations
complied only in small part with the lower court’s order,
this case is far from moot. The court of appeals’ opinion
directing the Secretary to seek consideration of these
subsequent events in the district court was correct. It is
not necessary, and certainly not equitable, for this Court
to vacate the decisions below merely to allow the Secre-
tary to belatedly raise additional issues. The Secretary,

like all other litigants, should apply to the district court
for that relief, rather than ask for this Court’s interven-
tion merely because of the fortuitous timing of the peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Court should deny the
petition for a writ of certiorari.

Lenore E. GERARD
Legal Assistance

to the Elderly
1453 Mission, Ste. 500
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 861-4444

Carot S. JIMENEZ

5182 Katella Ave., Ste. 106
Los Alamitos, CA 90720
(562) 430-0239

AuprREY Kraus
Center for Health
Care Rights
520 S. Lafayette Park PI.,
Ste. 214
Los Angeles, CA 90057
(213) 383-4519

March 29, 1999

Respectfully submitted,

SaLty Hart

(Counsel of Record)

Center for Medicare
Advocacy, Inc.

1730 E. River Rd., Ste. 107

Tucson, AZ 85718

(520) 577-1611

Gitt DeFrorp

Center for Medicare
Advocacy, Inc.

P.O. Box 350

Willimantic, CT 06226

(860) 456-7790

Counsel for Respondents

App. 1

Soc. Sec. Act § 1876 [codified 42 U.S.C. § 1395mm]
PAYMENTS TO HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANI-
ZATIONS AND COMPETITIVE MEDICAL PLANS

Sec. 1876. (a)(1)(A) The Secretary shall annually
determine, and shall announce (in a manner intended to
provide notice to interested parties) not later than Sep-
tember 7 before the calendar year concerned -

(i) a per capita rate of payment for each class of
individuals who are enrolled under this section with
an eligible organization which has entered into a
risk-sharing contract and who are entitled to benefits
under part A and enrolled under part B, and

(ii) a per capita rate of payment for each class
of individuals who are so enrolled with such an
organization and who are enrolled under part B only.

For purposes of this section, the term “risk-sharing con-
tract” means a contract entered into under subsection (g)
and the term “reasonable cost reimbursement contract”
means a contract entered into under subsection (h).

(B) The Secretary shall define appropriate
classes of members, based on age, disability status,
and such other factors as the Secretary determines to
be appropriate, so as to ensure actuarial equivalence.
The Secretary may add to, modify, or substitute for
such classes, if such changes will improve the deter-
mination of actuarial equivalence.

(C) The annual per capita rate of payment for
each such class shall be equal to 95 percent of the
adjusted average per capita cost (as defined in para-
graph (4)) for that class.

(D) In the case of an eligible organization with
a risk-sharing contract, the Secretary shall make
monthly payments in advance and in accordance

App. 2

with the rate determined under subparagraph (C)
and except as provided in subsection (g)(2), to the
organization for each individual enrolled with the
organization under this section.

(E)(i) The amount of payment under this para-
graph may be retroactively adjusted to take into
account any difference between the actual number of
individuals enrolled in the plan under this section
and the number of such individuals estimated to be
so enrolled in determining the amount of the advance
payment.

(ii)(1) Subject to subclause (Il), the Secretary may
make retroactive adjustments under clause (i) to take into
account individuals enrolled during the period beginning
on the date on which the individual enrolls with an
eligible organization (which has a risk-sharing contract
under this section) under a health benefit plan operated,
sponsored, or contributed to by the individual’s em-
ployer or former employer (or the employer or former
employer of the individual’s spouse) and ending on the
date on which the individual is enrolled in the plan under
this section, except that for purposes of making such
retroactive adjustments under this clause, such period
may not exceed 90 days.

(II) No adjustment may be made under subclause
(I) with respect to any individual who does not certify
that the organization provided the individual with the
explanation described in subsection (c)(3)(E) at the time
the individual enrolled with the organization.

(F)(i) At least 45 days before making the
announcement under subparagraph (A) for a year

App. 3

(beginning with the announcement for 1991), the Sec-
retary shall provide for notice to eligible organiza-
tions of proposed changes to be made in the
methodology or benefit coverage assumptions from
the methodology and assumptions used in the pre-
vious announcement and shall provide such organi-
zations an opportunity to comment on such proposed
changes.

(ii) In each announcement made under subpara-
graph (A) for a year (beginning with the announcement
for 1991), the Secretary shall include an explanation of the
assumptions (including any benefit coverage assump-
tions) and changes in methodology used in the announce-
ment in sufficient detail so that eligible organizations can
compute per capita rates of payment for classes of indi-
viduals located in each county (or equivalent area) which
is in whole or in part within the service area of such an
organization.

(2) With respect to any eligible organization which
has entered into a reasonable cost reimbursement con-
tract, payments shall be made to such plan in accordance
with subsection (h)(2) rather than paragraph (1).

(3) Subject to subsections (c)(2)(B)({ii) and (c)(7),
payments under a contract to an eligible organization
under paragraph (1) or (2) shall be instead of the amounts
which (in the absence of the contract) would be otherwise
payable, pursuant to sections 1814(b) and 1833(a), for
services furnished by or through the organization to indi-
viduals enrolled with the organization under this section.

(4) For purposes of this section, the term “adjusted
average per capita cost” means the average per capita
amount that the Secretary estimates in advance (on the

App. 4

basis of actual experience, or retrospective actuarial
equivalent based upon an adequate sample and other
information and data, in a geographic area served by an
eligible organization or in a similar area, with appropri-
ate adjustments to assure actuarial equivalence) would be
payable in any contract year for services covered under
parts A and B, or part B only, and types of expenses
otherwise reimbursable under parts A and B, or part B
only (including administrative costs incurred by organi-
zations described in sections 1816 and 1842), if the ser-
vices were to be furnished by other than an eligible
organization or, in the case of services covered only
under section 1861(s)(2)(H), if the services were to be
furnished by a physician or as an incident to a physi-
cian’s service.

(5) The payment to an eligible organization under
this section for individuals enrolled under this section
with the organization and entitled to benefits under part
A and enrolled under part B of this subchapter shall be
made from the Federal Hospital Insurance Trust Fund
and the Federal Supplementary Medical Insurance Trust
Fund. The portion of that payment to the organization for
a month to be paid by each trust fund shall be deter-
mined as follows:

(A) In regard to expenditures by eligible orga-
nizations having risk-sharing contracts, the allocation
shall be determined each year by the Secretary based
on the relative weight that benefits from each fund
contribute to the adjusted average per capita cost.

(B) In regard to expenditures by eligible organi-
zations operating under a reasonable cost reimburse-
ment contract, the initial allocation shall be based on

vise

App. 5

the plan’s most recent budget, such allocation to be
adjusted, as needed, after cost settlement to reflect
the distribution of actual expenditures.

The remainder of that payment shall be paid by the
former trust fund.

(6) Subject to subsections (c)(2)(B)(ii) and (c)(7), if
an individual is enrolled under this section with an eligi-
ble organization having a risk-sharing contract, only the
eligible organization shall be entitled to receive payments
from the Secretary under this title for services furnished
to the individual.

(b) For purposes of this section, the term “eligible
organization” means a public or private entity (which
may be a health maintenance organization or a competi-
tive medical plan), organized under the laws of any State,
which -

(1) is a qualified health maintenance organiza-
tion (as defined in section 1310(d) of the Public
Health Service Act), or

(2) meets the following requirements:
(A) The entity provides to enrolled mem-
bers at least the following heaith care ser-
vices:
(i) Physicians’ services performed
by physicians (as defined in section

1861(r)(1)).

(ii) Inpatient hospital services.

App. 6

(iii) Laboratory, X-ray, emergency,
and preventive services.

(iv) Out-of-area coverage.

(B) The entity is compensated (except for
deductibles, coinsurance, and copayments)
for the provision of health care services to
enrolled members by a payment which is
paid on a periodic basis without regard to
the date the health care services are pro-
vided and which is fixed without regard to
the frequency, extent, or kind of health care
service actually provided to a member.

(C) The entity provides physicians’ services
primarily (i) directly through physicians
who are either employees or partners of such
organization, or (ii) through contracts with
individual physicians or one or more groups
of physicians (organized on a group practice
or individual practice basis).

(D) The entity assumes full financial risk
on a prospective basis for the provision of
the health care services listed in subpara-
graph (A), except that such entity may -

(i) obtain insurance or make other

- arrangements for the cost of providing

to any enrolled member health care ser-

vices listed in subparagraph (A) the

aggregate value of which exceeds $5,000
in any year,

(ii) obtain insurance or make other
arrangements for the cost of health care
service listed in subparagraph (A) pro-
vided to its enrolled members other than
through the entity because medical
necessity required their provision before
they could be secured through the entity,

ET re i

App. 7

(iii) obtain insurance or make
other arrangements for not more than 90
percent of the amount by which its costs
for any of its fiscal years exceed 115
percent of its income for such fiscal year,
and

(iv) make arrangements with phy-
sicians or other health professionals,
health care institutions, or any combina-
tion of such individuals or institutions to
assume all or part of the financial risk on
a prospective basis for the provision of
basic health services by the physicians
or other health professionals or through
the institutions.

(E) The entity has made adequate provision
against the risk of insolvency, which provi-
sion is satisfactory to the Secretary.

Paragraph (2)(A)(ii) shall not apply to an entity which
had contracted with a single State agency administering a
State plan approved under title XIX of this chapter for the
provision of services (other than inpatient hospital ser-
vices) to individuals eligible for such services under such
State plan on a prepaid risk basis prior to 1970.

(c)(1) The Secretary may not enter into a contract
under this section with an eligible organization unless it
meets the requirements of this subsection and subsection
(e) with respect to members enrolled under this section.

(2)(A) The organization must provide to members
enrolled under this section, through providers and other
persons that meet the applicable requirements of this title
and part A of title XI -

(i) only those services covered under parts A and
B of this title, for those members entitled to

App. 8

benefits under part A and enrolled under part B,
or

(ii) only those services covered under part B, for
those members enrolled only under such part,

which are available to individuals residing in the geo-
graphic area served by the organization, except that (I)
the organization may provide such members with such
additional health care services as the members may elect,
at their option, to have covered, and (II) in the case of an
organization with a risk-sharing contract, the organiza-
tion may provide such members with such additional
health care services as the Secretary may approve. The
Secretary shall approve any such additional health care
services which the organization proposes to offer to such
members, unless the Secretary determines that including
such additional services will substantially discourage
enrollment by covered individuals with the organization.

(B) If there is a national coverage determination
made in the period beginning on the date of an
announcement under subsection (a)(1)(A) and ending on
the date of the next announcement under such subsection
that the Secretary projects will result in a significant
change in the costs to the organization of providing the
benefits that are the subject of such national coverage
determination and that was not incorporated in the deter-
mination of the per capita rate of payment included in the
announcement made at the beginning of such period -

(i) such determination shall not apply to risk-
sharing contracts under this section until the first
contract year that begins after the end of such period;
and

ad taal

App. 9

(ii) if such coverage determination provides for
coverage of additional benefits or under additional
circumstances, subsection (a)(3) shall not apply to
payment for such additional benefits or benefits pro-
vided under such additional circumstances until the
first contract year that begins after the end of such
period,

unless otherwise required by law.

(3)(A)(i) Each eligible organization must have an
open enrollment period, for the enrollment of individuals
under this section, of at least 30 days duration every year
and including the period or periods specified under
clause (ii), and must provide that at any time during
which enrollments are accepted, the organization will
accept up to the limits of its capacity (as determined by
the Secretary) and without restrictions, except as may be
authorized in regulations, individuals who are eligible to
enroll under subsection (d) in the order in which they
apply for enrollment, unless to do so would result in
failure to meet the requirements of subsection (f) or
would result in the enrollment of enrollees substantially
nonrepresentative, as determined in accordance with reg-
ulations of the Secretary, of the population in the geo-
graphic area served by the organization.

(ii)(1) If a risk-sharing contract under this section is
not renewed or is otherwise terminated, eligible organi-
zations with risk-sharing contracts under this section and
serving a part of the same service area as under the
terminated contract are required to have an open enroll-
ment period for individuals who were enrolled under the
terminated contract as of the date of notice of such termi-
nation. If a risk-sharing contract under this section is

App. 10

renewed in a manner that discontinues coverage for indi-
viduals residing in part of the service area, eligible orga-
nizations with risk-sharing contracts under this section
and enrolling individuals residing in that part of the
service area are required to have an open enrollment
period for individuals residing in the part of the service
area who were enrolled under the contract as of the date
of notice of such discontinued coverage.

(II) The open enrollment periods required under
subclause (I) shall be for 30 days and shall begin 30 days
after the date that the Secretary provides notice of such
requirement.

(III) Enrollment under this clause shall be effective
30 days after the end of the open enrollment period, or, if
the Secretary determines that such date is not feasible,
such other date as the Secretary specifies.

(B) An individual may enroll under this section
with an eligible organization in such manner as may be
prescribed in regulations and may terminate his enroll-
ment with the eligible organization as of the beginning of
the first calendar month following the date on which the
request is made for such termination (or, in the case of
financial insolvency of the organization, as may be pre-
scribed by regulations) or, in the case of such an organi-
zation with a reasonable cost reimbursement contract, as
may be prescribed by regulations.

(C) The Secretary may prescribe the procedures and
conditions under which an eligible organization that has
entered into a contract with the Secretary under this
subsection may inform individuals eligible to enroll

Pe CLE eT EEL ee eR Ee ee

App. 11

under this section with the organization about the organi-
zation, or may enroll such individuals with the organiza-
tion. No brochures, app'tication forms, or other
promotional or informational! material may be distributed
by an organization to (or for the use of) individuals
eligible to enroll with the organization under this section
unless (i) at least 45 days before its distribution, the
organization has submitted the material to the Secretary
for review and (ii) the Secretary has not disapproved the
distribution of the material. The Secretary shall review all
such material submitted and shall disapprove such mate-
rial if the Secretary determines, in the Secretary’s discre-
tion, that the material is materially inaccurate or
misleading or otherwise makes a material misrepresenta-
tion.

(D) The organization must provide assurances to
the Secretary that it will not expel or refuse to re-enroll
any such individual because of the individual’s health
status or requirements for health care services, and that it
will notify each such individual of such fact at the time of
the individual’s enrollment.

(E) Each eligible organization shall provide each
enrollee, at the time of enrollment and not less frequently
than annually thereafter, an explanation of the enrollee’s
rights under this section, including an explanation of -

(i) the enrollee’s rights to benefits from the
organization,

(ii) the restrictions on payments under this title
for services furnished other than by or through the
organization,

App. 12

(iii) out-of-area coverage provided by the orga-
nization,

(iv) the organization’s coverage of emergency
services and urgently needed care, and

(v) appeal rights of enrollees.

(F) Each eligible organization that provides items
and services pursuant to a contract under this section
shall provide assurances to the Secretary that in the event
the organization ceases to provide such items and ser-
vices, the organization shall provide or arrange for sup-
plemental coverage of benefits under this title related to a
pre-existing condition with respect to any exclusion
period, to all individuals enrolled with the entity who
receive benefits under this title, for the lesser of six
months or the duration of such period.

(G)(i) Each eligible organization having a risk-shar-
ing contract under this section shall notify individuals
eligible to enroll with the organization under this section
and individuals enrolled with the organization under this
section that —

(I) the organization is authorized by law to ter-
minate or refuse to renew the contract, and

(II) termination or nonrenewal of the contract
may result in termination of the enrollments of indi-
viduals enrolled with the organization under this
section.

(ii) The notice required by clause (i) shall be
included in -

(I) any marketing materials described in sub-
paragraph (C) that are distributed by an eligible

EE RR eee ree

App. 13

organization to individuals eligible to enroll under
this section with the organization, and

(II) any explanation provided to enrollees by
the organization pursuant to subparagraph (E).

(4) The organization must -

(A) make the services described in paragraph
(2) (and such other health care services as such indi-
viduals have contracted for) (i) available and access-
ible to each such individual, within the area served
by the organization, with reasonable promptness and
in a manner which assures continuity, and (ii) when
medically necessary, available and accessible twenty-
four hours a day and seven days a week, and

(B) provide for reimbursement with respect to
services which are described in subparagraph (A)
and which are provided to such an individual other
than through the organization, if (i) the services were
medically necessary and immediately required
because of an unforeseen illness, injury, or condition
and (ii) it was not reasonable given the circumstances
to obtain the services through the organization.

(5)(A) The organization must provide meaningful
procedures for hearing and resolving grievances between
the organization (including any entity or individual
through which the organization provides health care ser-
vices) and members enrolled with the organization under
this section.

(B) A member enrolled with an eligible organiza-
tion under this section who is dissatisfied by reason of his
failure to receive any health service to which he believes
he is entitled and at no greater charge than he believes he
is required to pay is entitled, if the amount in controversy
is $100 or more, to a hearing before the Secretary to the

App. 14

same extent as is provided in section 205(b), and in any
such hearing the Secretary shall make the eligible organi-
zation a party. If the amount in controversy is $1,000 or
more, the individual or eligible organization shall, upon
notifying the other party, be entitled to judicial review of
the Secretary’s final decision as provided in section
205(g), and both the individual and the eligible organiza-
tion shall be entitled to be parties to that judicial review.
In applying sections 205(b) and 205(g) as provided in this
subparagraph, and in applying section 205(1) thereto, any
reference therein to the Commissioner of Social Security
or the Social Security Administration shall be considered
a reference to the Secretary or the Department of Health
and Human Services, respectively.

(6) The organization must have arrangements,
established in accordance with regulations of the Secre-
tary, for an ongoing quality assurance program for health
care services it provides to such individuals, which pro-
gram (A) stresses health outcomes and (B) provides
review by physicians and other health care professionals
of the process followed in the provision of such health
care services.

(7) A risk-sharing contract under this section shall
provide that in the case of an individual who is receiving
inpatient hospital services from a subsection (d) hospital
(as defined in section 1886(d)(1)(B)) as of the effective
date of the individual’s -

(A) enrollment with an eligible organization
under this section —

(i) payment for such services until the date
of the individual’s discharge shall be made

App. 15

under this title as if the individual were not
enrolled with the organization,

(ii) the organization shall not be financially
responsible for payment for such services until
the date after the date of the individual’s dis-
charge, and

(iii) the organization shall nonetheless be
paid the full amount otherwise payable to the
organization under this section; or

(B) termination of enrollment with an eligible
organization under this section —

(i) the organization shall be financially
responsible for payment for such services after
such date and until the date of the individual’s
: discharge,

(ii) payment for such services during the
stay shall not be made under section 1886(d), and

(iii) the organization shall not receive any
payment with respect to the individual under
this section during the period the individual is
not enrolled.

ig Fat Se Sole ale

In the case of an individual’s termination of enrollment,
the organization shall provide the individual with a copy
of the written request for termination of enrollment and a
written explanation of the period (ending on the effective
date of the termination) during which the individual
continues to be enrolled with the organization and may
not receive benefits under this title other than through
the organization.

ANS <b

(8) A contract under this section shall provide that
the eligible organization shall meet the requirement of

ae Eee i RACERS

atts

5
;
4
A

App. 16

section 1866(f) (relating to maintaining written policies
and procedures respecting advance directives).

(d) Subject to the provisions of subsection (c)(3),
every individual entitled to benefits under part A and
enrolled under part B or enrolled under part B only
(other than an individual medically determined to have
end-stage renal disease) shall be eligible to enroll under
this section with any eligible organization with which the
Secretary has entered into a contract under this section
and which serves the geographic area in which the indi-
vidual resides.

(e)(1) In no case may -

(A) the portion of an eligible organization’s
premium rate and the actuarial value of its deduct-
ibles, coinsurance, and copayments charged (with
respect to services covered under parts A and B) to
individuals who are enrolled under this section with

- the organization and who are entitled to benefits
under part A and enrolled under part B, or

(B) the portion of its premium rate and the
actuarial value of its deductibles, coinsurance, and
copayments charged (with respect to services cov-
ered under part B) to individuals who are enrolled
under this section with the organization and enrolled
under part B only

exceed the actuarial value of the coinsurance and deduct-
ibles that would be applicable on the average to individ-
uals enrolled under this section with the organization (or,
if the Secretary finds that adequate data are not available
to determine that actuarial value, the actuarial value of
the coinsurance and deductibles applicable on the aver-
age to individuals in the area, in the State, or in the

App. 17

United States, eligible to enroll under this section with
the organization, or other appropriate data) and entitled
to benefits under part A and enrolled under part B, or
enrolled under part B only, respectively, if they were not
members of an eligible organization.

(2) If the eligible organization provides to its mem-
bers enrolled under this section services in addition to
services covered under parts A and B of this title, election
of coverage for such additional services (unless such
services have been approved by the Secretary under sub-
section (c)(2)) shall be optional for such members and
such organization shall furnish such members with infor-
mation on the portion of its premium rate or other
charges applicable to such additional services. In no case
may the sum of -

(A) the portion of such organization’s premium
rate charged, with respect to such additional services,
to members enrolled under this section, and

(B) the actuarial value of its deductibles, coin-
surance, and copayments charged, with respect to
such services to such members

exceed the adjusted community rate for such services.

(3) For purposes of this section, the term “adjusted
community rate” for a service or services means, at the
election of an eligible organization, either —

(A) the rate of payment for that service or ser-
vices which the Secretary annually determines would
apply to a member enrolled under this section with
an eligible organization if the rate of payment were
determined under a “community rating system” (as
defined in section 1302(8) of the Public Health Ser-
vice Act, other than subparagraph (C)), or

App. 18

(B) such portion of the weighted aggregate pre-
mium, which the Secretary annually estimates would
apply to a member enrolled under this section with
the eligible organization, as the Secretary annually
estimates is attributable to that service or services,

but adjusted for differences between the utilization char-
acteristics of the members enrolled with the eligible orga-
nization under this section and the utilization
characteristics of the other members of the organization
(or, if the Secretary finds that adequate data are not
available to adjust for those differences, the differences
between the utilization characteristics of members in
other eligible organizations, or individuals in the area, in
the State, or in the United States, eligible to enroll under
this section with an eligible organization and the utiliza-
tion characteristics of the rest of the population in the
area, in the State, or in the United States, respéctively).

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
eligible organization may (in the case of the provision of
services to a member enrolled under this section for an
illness or injury for which the member is entitled to
benefits under a workmen’s compensation law or plan of
the United States or a State, under an automobile or
liability insurance policy or plan, including a self-insured
pian, or under no fault insurance) charge or authorize the
provider of such services to charge, in accordance with
the charges allowed under such law or policy -

(A) the insurance carrier, employer, or other
entity which under such law, plan, or policy is to pay
for the provision of such services, or

App. 19

(B) such member to the extent that the member
has been paid under such law, plan, or policy for
such services.

(f)(1) For contract periods beginning before January
1, 1999, each eligible organization with which the Secre-
tary enters into a contract under this section shall have,
for the duration of such contract, an enrolled membership
at least one-half of which consists of individuals who are
not entitled to benefits under this title.

(2) Subject to paragraph (4), The Secretary may
modify or waive the requirement imposed by paragraph

(1) -

(A) to the extent that more than 50 percent of
the population of the area served by the organization
consists of individuals who are entitled to benefits
under this title or under a State plan approved under
title XIX, or

(B) in the case of an eligible organization that is
owned and operated by a governmental entity, only
with respect to a period of three years beginning on
the date the organization first enters into a contract
under this section, and only if the organization has
taken and is making reasonable efforts to enroll indi-
viduals who are not entitled to benefits under this
title or under a State plan approved under title XIX.

(3) If the Secretary determines that an eligible orga-
nization has failed to comply with the requirements of
this subsection, the Secretary may provide for the suspen-
sion of enrollment of individuals under this section or of
payment to the organization under this section for indi-
viduals newly enrolled with the organization, after the

App. 20

date the Secretary notifies the organization of such non-
compliance.

(4) Effective for contract periods beginning after
December 31, 1996, the Secretary may waive or modify
the requirement imposed by paragraph (1) to the extent
the Secretary finds that it is in the public interest.

(g)(1) The Secretary may enter a risk-sharing con-
tract with any eligible organization, as defined in subsec-
tion (b), which has at least 5,000 members, except that the
Secretary may enter into such a contract with an eligible
organization that has fewer members if the organization
primarily serves members residing outside of urbanized
areas.

(2) Each risk-sharing contract shall provide that -

(A) if the adjusted community rate, as defined
in subsection (e)(3), for services under parts A and B
(as reduced for the actuarial value of the coinsurance
and deductibles under those parts) for members
enrolled under this section with the organization and
entitled to benefits under part A and enrolled in part
B, or

(B) if the adjusted community rate for services
under part B (as reduced for the actuarial value of the
coinsurance and deductibles under that part) for
members enrolled under this section with the organi-
zation and entitled to benefits under part B only is
less than the average of the per capita rates to bene-
fits under part B only

is less than the average of the per capita rates of payment
to be made under subsection (a)(1) at the beginning of an
annual contract period for members enrolled under this
section with the organization and entitled to benefits

App. 21

under part A and enrolled in part B, or enrolled in part B
only, respectively, the eligible organization shall provide
to members enrolled under a risk-sharing contract under
this section with the organization and entitled to benefits
under part A and enrolled in part B, or enrolled in part B
only, respectively, the additional benefits described in
paragraph (3) which are selected by the eligible organiza-
tion and which the Secretary finds are at least equal in
value to the difference between that average per capita

~payment and the adjusted community rate (as so
reduced); except that this paragraph shall not apply with
respect to any organization which elects to receive a
lesser payment to the extent that there is no longer a
difference between the average pe: capita payment and
adjusted community rate (as so reduced) and except that
an organization (with the approval of the Secretary) may
provide that a part of the value of such additional bene-
fits be withheld and reserved by the Secretary as pro-
vided in paragraph (5). If the Secretary finds that there is
insufficient enrollment experience to determine an aver-
age of the per capita rates of payment to be made under
subsection (a)(1) at the beginning of a contract period, the
Secretary may determine such an average based on the
enrollment experience of other contracts entered into
under this section.

(3) The additional benefits referred to in paragraph
(2) are -

(A) the reduction of the premium rate or other
charges made with respect to services furnished by
the organization to members enrolled under this sec-
tion, or

(B) the provision of additional health benefits,

App. 22

or both.
(4) [Repealed.]

(5) An organization having a risk-sharing contract
under this section may (with the approval of the Secre-
tary) provide that a part of the value of additional bene-
fits otherwise required to be provided by reason of
paragraph (2) be withheld and reserved in the Federal
Hospital Insurance Trust Fund and in the Federal Supple-
mentary Medical Insurance Trust Fund (in such propor-
tions as the Secretary determines to be appropriate) by
the Secretary for subsequent annual contract periods, to
the extent required to stabilize and prevent undue fluctu-
ations in the additional benefits offered in those subse-
quent periods by the organization in accordance with
paragraph (3). Any of such value of additional benefits
which is not provided to members of the organization in
accordance with paragraph (3) prior to the end of such
period, shall revert for the use of such trust funds.

(6)(A) A risk-sharing contract under this section
shall require the eligible organization to provide prompt
payment (consistent with the provisions of sections
1816(c)(2) and 1842(c)(2)) of claims submitted for services
and supplies furnished to individuals pursuant to such
contract, if the services or supplies are not furnished
under a contract between the organization and the pro-
vider or supplier.

App. 23

(B) In the case of an eligible organization which the
Secretary determines, after notice and opportunity for a
hearing, has failed to make payments of amounts in
compliance with subparagraph (A), the Secretary may
provide for direct payment of the amounts owed to pro-
viders and suppliers for such covered services furnished
to individuals enrolled under this section under the con-
tract. If the Secretary provides for such direct payments,
the Secretary shall provide for an appropriate reduction
in the amount of payments otherwise made to the organi-
zation under this section to reflect the amount of the
Secretary’s payments (and costs incurred by the Secretary
in making such payments).

(h)(1) If -

(A) the Secretary is not satisfied that an eligible
organization has the capacity to bear the risk of
potential losses under a risk-sharing contract under
this section, or

(B) the eligible organization so elects or has an
insufficient number of members to be eligible to
enter into a risk-sharing contract under subsection

(g)(1),

the Secretary may, if he is otherwise satisfied that the
eligible organization is able to perform its contractual
obligations effectively and efficiently, enter into a con-
tract with such organization pursuant to which such
organization is reimbursed on the basis of its reasonable
cost (as defined in section 1861(v)) in the manner pre-
scribed in paragraph (3).

App. 24

(2) A reasonable cost reimbursement contract under
this subsection may, at the option of such organization,
provide that the Secretary -

(A) will reimburse hospitals and skilled nurs-
ing facilities either for the reasonable cost (as deter-
mined under section 1861(v)) or for payment
amounts determined in accordance with section 1886,
as applicable, of services furnished to individuals
enrolled with such organization pursuant to subsec-
tion (d), and

(B) will deduct the amount of such reimburse-
ment from payment which would otherwise be made
to such organization.

If such an eligible organization pays a hospital or skilled
nursing facility directly, the amount paid shall not exceed
the reasonable cost of the services (as determined under
section 1861(v)) or the amount determined under section
1886, as applicable, unless such organization demon-
strates to the satisfaction of the Secretary that such excess
payments are justified on the basis of advantages gained
by the organization.

(3) Payments made to an organization with a rea-
sonable cost reimbursement contract shall be subject to
appropriate retroactive corrective adjustment at the end
of each contract year so as to assure that such organiza-
tion is paid for the reasonable cost actually incurred
(excluding any part of incurred cost found to be unneces-
sary in the efficient delivery of health services) or the
amounts otherwise determined under section 1886 for the
types of expenses otherwise reimbursable under this title
for providing services covered under this title to individ-
uals described in subsection (a)(1).

App. 25

(4) Any reasonable cost reimbursement contract
with an eligible organization under this subsection shall
provide that the Secretary shall require, at such time
following the expiration of each accounting period of the
eligible organization (and in such form and in such
detail) as he may prescribe -

(A) that the organization report ©» him in an
independently certified financial statement its per
capita incurred cost based on the types of compo-
nents of expenses otherwise reimbursable under this
title for providing services described in subsection
(a)(1), including therein, in accordance with account-
ing procedures prescribed by the Secretary, its
methods of allocating costs between individuals
enrolled under this section and other individuals
enrolled with such organization;

(B) that failure to report such information as
may be required may be deemed to constitute evi-
dence of likely overpayment on the basis of which
appropriate collection action may be taken;

(C) that in any case in which an eligible organi-
zation is related to another organization by common
ownership or control, a consolidated financial state-
ment she \, be filed and that the allowable costs for
such organization may not include costs for the types
of expense otherwise reimbursable under this title, in
excess of those which would be determined to be
reasonable in accordance with regulations (providing
for limiting reimbursement to costs rather than
charges to the eligible organization by related organi-
zations and owners) issued by the Secretary; and

(D) that in any case in which compensation is
paid by an eligible organization substantially in
excess of what is normally paid for similar services
by similar practitioners (regardless of method of

App. 26

compensation), such compensation may as appropri-
ate be considered to constitute a distribution of
profits.

(5)(A) After the date of the enactment of this paragraph,
the Secretary may not enter into a reasonable cost reim-
bursement contract under this subsection (if the contract
is not in effect as of such date), except for a contract with
an eligible organization which, immediately previous to
entering into such contract, had an agreement in effect
under section 1833(a)(1)(A).

(B) The Secretary may not extend or renew a
reasonable cost reimbursement contract under this
subsection for any period beyond December 31, 2002.

(i)(1) Each contract under this section shall be for a
term of at least one year, as determined by the Secretary,
and may be made automatically renewable from term to
term in the absence of notice by either party of intention
to terminate at the end of the current term; except that in
accordance with procedures established under paragraph
(9), the Secretary may at any time terminate any such
contract or may impose the intermediate sanctions
described in paragraph (6)(B) or (6)(C) (whichever is
applicable) on the eligible organization if the Secretary
determines that the organization -

(A) has failed substantially to carry out the con-
tract;

(B) is carrying out the contract in a manner
substantially inconsistent with the efficient and effec-
tive administration of this section; or

(C) no longer substantially meets the applicable
conditions of subsections (b), (c), (e), and (f).

App. 27

(2) The effective date of any contract executed pur-
suant to this section shall be specified in the contract.

(3) Each contract under this section -

(A) shall provide that the Secretary, or any per-
son or organization designated by him -

(i) shall have the right to inspect or other-
wise evaluate (I) the quality, appropriateness,
and timeliness of services performed under the
contract and (II) the facilities of the organization
when there is reasonable evidence of some need
for such inspection, and

(ii) shall have the right to audit and inspect
any books and records of the eligible organiza-
tion that pertain (I) to the ability of the organiza-
tion to bear the risk of potential financial losses,
or (II) to services performed or determinations of
amounts payable under the contract;

(B) shall require the organization with a risk-
sharing contract to provide (and pay for) written
notice in advance of the contract’s termination, as
well as a description of alternatives for obtaining
benefits under this title, to each individual enrolled
under this section with the organization; and

(C)(i) shall require the organization to comply
with subsections (a) and (c) of section 1318 of the
Public Health Service Act (relating to disclosure of
certain financial information) and with the require-
ment of section 1301(c)(8) of such Act (relating to
liability arrangements to protect members);

(ii) shall require the organization to pro-
vide and supply information (described in sec-
tion 1866(b)(2)(C)(ii))) in the manner such
information is required to be provided or sup-
plied under that section;

App. 28

(iii) shall require the organization to notify
the Secretary of loans a id other special financial
arrangements which are made between the orga-
nization and subcontractors, affiliates, and
related parties; and

(D) shall contain such other terms and condi-
tions not inconsistent with this section (including
requiring the organization to provide the Secretary
with such information) as the Secretary may find
necessary and appropriate.

(4) The Secretary may not enter into a risk-sharing
contract with an eligible organization if a previous risk-
sharing contract with that organization under this section
was terminated at the request of the organization within
the preceding five-year period, except in circumstances
which warrant special consideration, as determined by
the Secretary.

(5) The authority vested in the Secretary by this
section may be performed without regard to such provi-
sions of law or regulations relating to the making, perfor-
mance, amendment, or modification of contracts of the
United States as the Secretary may determine to be incon-
sistent with the furtherance of the purpose of this title.

(6)(A) If the Secretary determines that an eligible
organization with a contract under this section —

(i) fails substantially to provide medically
necessary items and services that are required
(under law or under the contract) to be provided
to an individual covered under the contract, if
the failure has adversely affected (or has sub-
stantial likelihood of adversely affecting) the
individual;

App. 29

(ii) imposes premiums. on individuals
enrolled under this section in excess of the pre-
miums permitted;

(iii) acts to expel or to refuse to re-enroll an
individual in violation of the provisions of this
section;

(iv) engages in any practice that would rea-
sonably be expected to have the effect of denying
or discouraging enrollment (except as permitted
by this section) by eligible individuals with the
organization whose medical condition or history
indicates a need for substantial future medical
services;

(v) misrepresents or falsifies information
that is furnished -

(I) to the Secretary under this section, or

(II) to an individual or to any other entity
under this section;

(vi) fails to comply with the requirements
of subsection (g)(6)(A) or paragraph (8); or

(vii) in the case of a risk-sharing contract,
employs or contracts with any individual or
entity that is excluded from participation under
this title under section 1128 or 1128A for the
provision of health care, utilization review, medi-
cal social work, or administrative services or
employs or contracts with any entity for the pro-
vision (directly or indirectly) through such an
excluded individual or entity of such services;

the Secretary may provide, in addition to any other
remedies authorized by law, for any of the remedies
described in subparagraph (B).

App. 30

(B) The remedies described in this subpara-
graph are —

(i) civil money penalties of not more than
$25,000 for each determination under subpara-
graph (A) or, with respect to a determination
under clause (iv) or (v)(I), of not more than
$100,000 for each such determination, plus, with
respect to a determination under subparagraph
(A)(ii), double the excess amount charged in vio-
lation of such subparagraph (and the excess
amount charged shall be deducted from the pen-
alty and returned to the individual concerned),
and plus, with respect to a determination under
subparagraph (A)(iv), $15,000 for each individual
not enrolled as a result of the practice involved,

(ii) suspension of enrollment of individuals
under this section after the date the Secretary
notifies the organization of a determination
under subparagraph (A) and until the Secretary
is satisfied that the basis for such determination
has been corrected and is not likely to recur, or

(iii) suspension of payment to the organiza-
tion under this section for individuals enrolled
after the date the Secretary notifies the organiza-
tion of a determination under subparagraph (A)
and until the Secretary is satisfied that the basis
for such determination has been corrected and is
not likely to recur.

(C) In the case of an eligible organization for
which the Secretary makes a determination under
paragraph (1), the basis of which is not described in
subparagraph (A), the Secretary may apply the fol-
lowing intermediate sanctions:

(i) Civil money penalties of not more than
$25,000 for each determination under paragraph

App. 31

(1) if the deficiency that is the basis of the deter-
mination has directly adversely affected (or has
the substantial likelihood of adversely affecting)
an individual covered under the organization’s
contract.

(ii) Civil money penalties of not more than
$10,000 for each week beginning after the initia-
tion of procedures by the Secretary under para-
graph (9) during which the deficiency that is the
basis of a determination under paragraph (1)
exists.

(iii) Suspension of enrollment of individ-
uals under this section after the date the Secre-
tary notifies the organization of a determination
under paragraph (1) and until the Secretary is
satisfied that the deficiency that is the basis for
the determination has been corrected and is not
likely to recur.

(D) The provisions of section 1128A (other than
subsections (a) and (b)) shall apply to a civil money
penalty under subparagraph (B)(i) or (C)(i) in the
same manner as such provisions apply to a civil
money penalty or proceeding under section 1128A(a).

(7)(A) Each risk-sharing contract with an eligible
organization under this section shall provide that the
organization will maintain a written agreement with a
utilization and quality control peer review organization
(which has a contract with the Secretary under part B of
title XI of this chapter for the area in which the eligible
organization is located) or with an entity selected by the
Secretary under section 1154(a)(4)(C) under which the
review organization will perform functions under section
1154(a)(4)(B) and section 1154(a)(14) (other than those
performed under contracts described in section

App. 32

1866(a)(I)(F)) with respect to services, furnished by the
eligible organization, for which payment may be made
under this title.

(B) For purposes of payment under this title,
the cost of such agreement to the eligible organiza-
tion shall be considered a cost incurred by a provider
of services in providing covered services under this
title and shall be paid directly by the Secretary to the
review organization on behalf of such eligible organi-
zation in accordance with a schedule established by
the Secretary.

(C) Such payments -

(i) shall be transferred in appropriate pro-
portions from the Federal Hospital Insurance
Trust Fund and from the Supplementary Medical
Insurance Trust Fund, without regard to amounts
appropriated in advance in appropriation Acts,
in the same manner as transfers are made for
payment for services provided directly to bene-
ficiaries, and

(ii) shall not be less in the aggregate for
such organizations for a fiscal year than the
amounts the Secretary determines to be sufficient
to cover the costs of such organizations conduct-
ing activities described in subparagraph (A) with
respect to such eligible organizations under part
B of title XI. ;

(8)(A) Each contract with an eligible organization
under this section shall provide that the organization may
not operate any physician incentive plan (as defined in
subparagraph (B)) unless the following requirements are
met:

App. 33

(i) No specific payment is made directly or
indirectly under the plan to a physician or physi-
cian group as an inducement to reduce or limit
medically necessary services provided with
respect to a specific individual enrolled with the
organization.

(ii) If the plan places a physician or physi-
cian group at substantial financial risk (as deter-
mined by the Secretary) for services not provided
by the physician or physician group, the organi-
zation —

(I) provides stop-loss protection for the
physician or group that is adequate and appro-
priate, based on standards developed by the Sec-
retary that take into account the number of
physicians placed at such substantial financial
risk in the group or under the plan and the
number of individuals enrolled with the organi-
zation who receive services from the physician or
the physician group, and

(II) conducts periodic surveys of both indi-
viduals enrolled and individuals previously
enrolled with the organization to determine the
degree of access of such individuals to services
provided by the organization and satisfaction
with the quality of such services.

j (iii) The organization provides the Secre-
tary with descriptive information regarding the
plan, sufficient to permit the Secretary to deter-
mine whether the plan is in compliance with the
requirements of this subparagraph.

(B) In this paragraph, the term “physician
incentive plan” means any compensation arrange-
ment between an eligible organization and a physi-
cian or physician group that may directly or

Betas. ee Te Se ee ee a

App. 34

indirectly have the effect of reducing or limiting ser-
vices provided with respect to individuals enrolled
with the organization.

(9) The Secretary may terminate a contract with an
eligible organization under this section or may impose
the intermediate sanctions described in paragraph (6) on
the organization in accordance with formal investigation
and compliance procedures established by the Secretary
under which -

(A) the Secretary first provides the organization
with the reasonable opportunity to develop and
implement a corrective action plan to correct the
deficiencies that were the basis of the Secretary’s
determination under paragraph (1) and the organiza-
tion fails to develop or implement such a plan;

(B) in deciding whether to impose sanctions,
the Secretary considers aggravating factors such as
whether an organization has a history of deficiencies
or has not taken action to correct deficiencies the
Secretary has brought to the organization’s attention;

(C) there are no unreasonable or unnecessary
delays between the finding of a deficiency and the
imposition of sanctions; and

(D) the Secretary provides the organization
with reasonable notice and opportunity for hearing
(including the right to appeal an initial decision)
before imposing any sanction or terminating the con-
tract.

(j)(1)(A)_ In the case of physicians’ services or renal
dialysis services described in paragraph (2) which are
furnished by a participating physician or provider of
services or renal dialysis facility to an individual enrolled
with an eligible organization under this section and

App. 35

enrolled under part B, the applicable participation agree-
ment is deemed to provide that the physician or provider
of services or renal dialysis facility will accept as pay-
ment in full from the eligible organization the amount
that would be payable to the physician or provider of
services or renal dialysis facility under part B and from
the individual under such part, if the individual were not
enrolled with an eligible organization under this section.
(B) In the case of physicians’ services described

in paragraph (2) which are furnished by a nonpar-
ticipating physician, the limitations on actual charges

for such services otherwise applicable under part B

(to services furnished by individuals not enrolled
with an eligible organization under this section) shall
apply in the same manner as such limitations apply

to services furnished to individuals not enrolled with
such an organization.

(2) The physicians’ services or renal dialysis ser-
vices described in this paragraph are physicians’ services
or renal dialysis services which are furnished to an
enrollee of an eligible organization under this section by
a physician, provider of services, or renal dialysis facility
who is not under a contract with the organization.

(k)(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) -

(A) on or after the date standards for Medi-
care +Choice organizations and plans are first
established under section 1856(b)(1), the Secretary
shall not enter into any risksharing contract under
this section with an eligible organization; and

(B) for any contract year beginning on or
after January 1, 1999, the Secretary shall not
renew any such contract.

(2) An individual who is enrolled in part B only
and is enrolled in an eligible organization with a risk-

App. 36

sharing contract under this section on December 31,
1998, may continue enrollment in such organization
in accordance with regulations described in section
1856(b)(1).

(3) Notwithstanding subsection (a), the Secre-
tary shall provide that payment amounts under risk-
sharing contracts under this section for months in a
year (beginning with January 1998) shall be com-
puted -

(A) with respect to individuals entitled to
benefits under both parts A and B, by substitut-
ing payment rates under section 1853(a) for the
payment rates otherwise established under sec-
tion 1876(a), and

(B) with respect to individuals only entitled
to benefits under part B, by substituting an
appropriate proportion of such rates (reflecting
the relative proportion of payments under this
title attributable to such part) for the payment
rates otherwise established under subsection (a).

(4) The following requirements shall apply to
eligible organizations with risk-sharing contracts
under this section in the same manner as they apply
to Medicare +Choice organizations under part C;

(A) Data collection requirements under sec-
tion 1853(a)(3)(B).

(B) Restrictions on imposition of premium
taxes under section 1854(g) in relating to pay-
ments to such organizations under this section.

(C) The requirement to accept enrollment
of new enrollees during November 1998 under
section 1851(e)(6).

(D) Payments under section 1857(e)(2).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1423%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
