# Amicus Curiae Brief — Union Security Life Insurance v. Crocker

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1273%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1230

## Text

In THE
Suprene Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

UNION SECURITY LiFe INSURANCE Co.,
Petitioner,
Vv.

EVELYN CROCKER,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE
AMERICAN COUNCIL OF LIFE INSURANCE
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

Of Counsel: PATRICIA A. DUNN
PHILLIP E. STANO Counsel of Record
AMERICAN COUNCIL OF HARkY I. JOHNSON, III

LIFE INSURANCE JONES, DAY, REAVIS & Pocus
1001 Pennsylvania Ave.,N.W. 1450 G Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004 Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 624-2188 (202) 879-8989

Counsel for the Amicus

WILSON - Erne Printing Co., Inc. - 789-0006 - WasHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the $2 million punitive exaction in this case,
which is at least 137 times the economic harm suffered by
respondent, is so grossly excessive as tc violate the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ....... allie adenssbittitinteventonegnes

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. .........2....22--:-c-cecceeeeeeeeeeeeenees

INTERESTS OF THE AMICUS. ...........20--.---cceceeeeeee- ;

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..............
I. THIS CASE PRESENTS THE SAME IMPOR-

IT.

TANT CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS CON-
CERNING THE EXCESSIVENESS OF PUNI-
TIVE DAMAGES THAT WERE PRESENTED
IN GORE AND SHOULD, AT A MINIMUM,
BE HELD FOR DISPOSITION IN LIGHT OF
GORE ....... Me a AREA. GEN EAE SS PR

IN THE EVENT THAT THESE RECURRING
AND IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL IS-
SUES EVADE DEFINITIVE RESOLUTION
IN GORE, THIS CASE PRESENTS AN EX-
CELLENT OPPORTUNITY FOR THE COURT
TO ADDRESS THE EXCESSIVENESS ISSUE..

A. The Current Confusion Regarding Due Proc-
ess Limitations On Punitive Damages Awards
Will Continue Absent This Court’s Definitive
Resolution Of The Excessiveness Issue In
a

B. The Alabama Courts’ Justifications For Up-
holding The $2 Million Punitive Award
Against Union Security Clearly Fail To
Establish A Reasonable Relationship Be-
tween The Punitive Exaction And The Goals
Of Punitive Damages ...............-.--.c.c--c0-cecceneoeee

(iii)

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

1. The Alabama Supreme Court’s Award Of
Punitive Damages Against Union Secur-
ity On The Basis Of Its Lawful Conduct
Serves Neither Punishment Nor Deter-

2. The Alabama Supreme Court’s And Trial
Court’s Award Of Punitive Damages
Against Union Security On The Basis Of
Its Nationwide Profit On All Sales Of
Credit Life Insurance Serves Neither
Punishment Nor Deterrence .......................

3. The Alabama Supreme Court’s And Trial
Court’s Award Of Punitive Damages
Against Union Security On The Basis Of
Respondent’s Unspecified, Unsupported
Failed “Expectations” Serves Neither
Punishment Nor Deterrence ......................

C. Measurable, Objective Standards Exist For
Determining Whether A Punitive Award
Reasonably Relates To The Goals Of Punish-
ment And Deterrence ...000000.00000000.ccec cece ecco

4. BEC R Se SEW Ee a oe ere BIRO ew mee ee

Page

11

15

16

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 818 (1986) .. 2

BMW v. Gore, 646 So.2d 619 (Ala. 1994) (per
curiam), cert. granted, 115 S.Ct. 982 (1995) .....1, 11, 13

Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S.

Fa. CRD iia dekh tncheeiitthhepindeceloitltectieadtbttaiis tocesnes 1
Bordenkircher v. Hayes, 434 U. S. 857 (1978) ......... 10
Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1963) .... 10
Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492

8 RR) Se TS A a ae oa a 1
Green Oil v. Hornsby, 539 So.2d 218 (Ala. 1989) .... 8
Hammond v, City of Gadsden, 493 So.2d 1374 (Ala.

yp) Pe etme es hs DN RR Red Peo RN ee I 4
Hanson v. American Nat’l Bank & Trust Co., 865

SF & 85 | PR ee 7
Hawkins v. Allstate Ins. Co., 733 P.2d 1073

(Ariz.), cert. denied, 48° U.S. 874 (1987) ........... 11
Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 114 S.Ct. 2331 (1994).. 1
Huff v. United Ins. Co. of America, 1995 WL

317676 (Ala., May 26, 1995) .................-.-..0..--200+ 5, 9, 10

Intercontinental Life Ins. Co. v. Lindblom, 571
So.2d 1092 (Ala. 1990), vacated, 499 U.S. 956
(1991), op. reinstated, 598 So.2d 886 (1992),
cert. denied, 113 S.Ct. 200 (1992) ..............22...... 11,138
In re Northern Dist. of Calif. “Dalkon Shield” IUD
Prod. Litig., 526 F. Supp. 887 (N.D. Cal. 1981),
vacated, 693 F.2d 847 (9th Cir. 1982), cert. de-

OE Fe aes Se CED iererekeennsnttbnctcimanemniccinpaciins 15
Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1

a eh ceutchinmmeall passim
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797

SPW aie anette RS AE: ella tS RET 12
TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 113

ee re a nn edesateion 1,17

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Ala. Ins. Reg. No. 28, § VI(J) (2) ........-.............. 2,10, 14, 18
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 385.070(d) (1994) ....000 12
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 230(3) (1998) -...........000......... 12

N.C. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 58-57-25 (c) (2) (1995) ....... 12

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

MISCELLANEOUS

D. Ellis, Punitive Damages, Due Process, and the
Jury, 40 Ala. L. Rev. 975 (1989) -......0...20..--022..
D. Owen, Punitive Damages in Products Liability
Litigation, 74 Mich, L. Rev. 1258 (1976) ............
D. Owen, The Moral Foundations of Punitive Dam-
ages, 40 Ala. L. Rev. 705 (1989) -.........0....--..2--.-.
R. Stern, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro & K. Geller,
Supreme Court Practice (7th ed. 1998) ..............

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE
AMERICAN COUNCIL OF LIFE INSURANCE
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

INTERESTS OF THE AMICUS'

The American Council of Life Insurance (“ACLI”) is
the largest life insurance trade association in the United
States. ACLI represents the interests of more than 600
member life insurance companies; these companies cur-
rently underwrite 91 percent of the life insurance in force
in legal reserve life insurance companies in the United
States.

Defining the procedural and substantive limitations that
the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment im-
poses on punitive damages is an issue of vital importance
to the amicus’ members. In recent years, courts have per-
mitted juries to assess substantial punitive damages awards
against insurers and have deferred to those awards even
though they are imposed without meaningful standards
and bear no rational relationship to the purposes of pun-
ishment and deterrence. These decisions drastically and
unpredictably enlarge the risks facing insurers, which must
rely on a predictable allocation 7 risks and costs in pro-
viding insurance, and jeopardize their ability to offer
affordable insurance.

One such decision, in which ACLI has also filed an
amicus brief, is currently being reviewed by this Court in
BMW vy. Gore, No. 94-896 (“Gore’’). Due to its genuine
interest in the constitutionality of current punitive dam-
ages law, the amicus has also filed briefs in this Court in
prior cases involving this issue. See, e.g., Honda Motor
Co. v. Oberg, 114 S.Ct. 2331 (1994); TXO Prod. Corp.
v. Alliance Resources Corp., 113 S. Ct. 2711 (1993);
Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1 (1991);
Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S.
257 (1989); Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw,

! Counsel for both the Petitioner and the Respondent have con-
sented to the filing of this brief. Their consents are on file with
the Clerk.

2

486 U.S. 71 (1988); Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475
U.S. 813 (1986).

This brief presents to the Court the view of the amicus,
based on the experience of its broad-based constituents,
concerning the importance of the Court’s intervention in
this case—a case that, perhaps better than any other case
previously before this Court, squarely presents the con-
stitutional problems with excessive punitive damages

awards.
STATEMENT

1. Petitioner Union Security Life Insurance Company
(“Union Security”) sells, among other products, credit
life insurance. This insurance pays off the balance of a
loan where the insured debtor dies during the term of
the loan. Pet. 2. During the period relevant to this case,
First Alabama Bank (“First Alabama”) and its branch
at Choctaw (“First Alabama, Choctaw”) were authorized
to sell group credit life policies on behalf of Union Se-
curity. Pet. 2.

Union Security required that all individuals seeking
credit life insurance for amounts over $10,000 fill out a
“Statement of Debtor’s Physical Condition” (hereinafter
“Health Statement”). Pet. 2. The form, as it existed at
the relevant time, asked whether the debtor had experi-
enced a variety of health conditions over the preceding
five years. Pet. 2. Among the listed conditions were
“heart disease” and “nervous disorder.” Pet. 2-3. It was
and is Union Security’s uniform policy to deny insurance
to any applicants who acknowledge that they had experi-
enced one of the listed conditions. Pet. 3.

If the insured debtor dies within the contestability pe-
riod of one year that is permitted under Alabama law,”

2 The contestability period is the period of time during which
the insurance company may dispute coverage on the basis that the
policyholder made a material misstatement in his/her policy ap-
plication. Alabama insurance regulations set this period at one year
for credit life insurance policies. See Ala. Ins. Reg. No. 28,
§ VI(J) (2).

3

and dies from a condition apparently covered by the
Health Statement, Union Security's uniform policy is to
investigate whether the policyholder’s Health Statement
contained material inaccuracies. Pet. 3-4. If Union Se-
curity learns that the cause of death actually was an un-
disclosed pre-existing Health Statement condition, it de-
nies the claim and returns the premium to the policyhold-
er’s representative. Pet. 4. Otherwise, it pays the claim
without further inquiry. Pet. 4-5. Union Security only
rarely denies a group credit life claim on the basis of
such nondisclosure; these denials have occurred for under
one percent of all of Union Security’s group credit life
Claims. Pet. 4.

2. Respondent Evelyn Crocker, together with her hus-
band, Coleman Crocker, purchased a group credit life
insurance policy in conjunction with a loan from First
Alabama, Choctaw in October 1990. Pet. 5. For years
prior to buying the policy, Mr. Crocker had suffered from
heart disease and Parkinson’s Disease. Pet. 4-5.

Samuel Taylor, an employee of First Alabama, Choc-
taw, sold the Crockers the group life policy. Taylor filled
out the Health Statement for each of the Crockers, indi-
cating on the statement that neither had any of the listed
medical conditions. Pet. 6. After having an opportunity
to review his Health Statement, Mr. Crocker signed it.
even though it inaccurately reflected that he had not suf-
fered from heart disease or a nervous disorder. /d.

Mr. Crocker died of heart disease approximately nine
months after the closing on his loan and the signing of his
Health Statement. Pet. 8. Mrs. Crocker then made a
claim for the loan balance. Because Mr. Crocker had
died within the one-year contestability period and because
the cause of death was a medical condition listed in the
Health Statement, Union Security acted in accordance
with its policy and investigated Mrs. Crocker’s claim. /d.
After learning from Mr. Crocker’s doctor that Mr.
Crocker was suffering from heart disease at the time he
signed the Health Statement, Union Security denied Mrs.
Crocker’s claim and refunded Mr. Crocker’s premium. /d.

4

3. Following Mr. Crocker’s death, Mrs. Crocker
stopped making payments on the loan and filed suit in
Choctaw County court against Union Security, First Ala-
bama, and First Alabama, Choctaw. Pet. 8. Mrs. Crock-
er’s amended complaint alleged, inter alia, that Taylor,
as an agent of both First Alabama and Union Security,
had fraudulently “concealed” from the Crockers that he
had disclosed inaccurate information on the Health State-
ment, that they had to be in good health to get the credit
life policy, and that, if Mr. Crocker were to die of heart
problems or a nervous disorder, coverage would be de-
nied. Pet. 9. Only these fraud claims went to trial, as
the trial court dismissed the breach of contract and bad
faith claims against Union Security. Pet. App. la.

At trial, no evidence was presented that Union Se-
curity had authorized Taylor or any other agent to fill out
Health Statements inaccurately or to conceal the fact that
inaccuracies on a Health Statement could result in the
denial of a claim. Pet. 6, note 7. Instead, Mrs. Crocker’s
attorneys laced their questioning and argument with evi-
dence of Union Security’s out-of-state location, foreign
ownership, substantial aggregate premiums, and other ir-
relevant facts. Pet. 9-10. After deliberating for little
more than a half-hour, the jury returned a general verdict
holding the defendants jointly and severally liable for $5
million on the fraud theory. Pet. App. 1a-2a.

The trial court, after conducting a post-trial evidentiary
hearing under Hammond vy. City of Gadsden, 493 So.2d
1374 (Ala. 1986), sustained the jury’s finding of fraud,
but granted a reznittitur of $2 million in punitive dam-
ages. The trial court concluded that the $3 million puni-
tive damage award against Union Security was not ex-
cessive, even though the trial court acknowledged that Un-
ion Security's liability was entirely vicarious and, even
then, was an “isolated incident” rather than part of a pat-
tern of conduct. Pet. App. 20a, 23a. The trial court
further concluded that $3 million was not excessive be-
cause Union Security had realized a net gain of $1.29
million from the sale of credit life insurance nationwide

5

and because Mrs. Crocker suffered “grievous” harm from
the failure of the Crockers’ bargained-for “expectations”
under the policy. Pet. App. 20a.

Both defendants filed notices of appeal. First Alabama,
Choctaw entered into a pro tanto settlement with Mrs.
Crocker that released First Alabama for $1 million. After
learning of the settlement, Union Security successfully
moved for a remand to the trial court for purposes of
determining whether the $2 million that remained of the
judgment was excessive in relation to Union Security’s
conduct. Pet. 12. Refusing to conduct a new hearing, the
trial court issued a short order effectively holding that
$2 million was not excessive as to Union Security. Pet.
App. 28a-3 1a.

The Alabama Supreme Court affirmed the trial court’s
decision in all respects. The Alabama Supreme Court
agreed that a $2 million punishment for Union Security
was not excessive as it was an “amount necessary .. .
in order to exorcise fraud and inequity from the marketing
of credit life insurance policies.” Pet. App. Ila-12a. In
this regard, the Alabama Supreme Court held Union Se-
curity’s marketing practices inequitable and deserving of
punitive damages on the sole basis of language in a freshly-
minted, unreported 1995 opinion, Huff v. United Ins. Co.
of America, 1995 WL 317676 (Ala., May 26, 1995),
decided more than three-and-a-half years after the Crock-
ers’ policy was issued. Pet. 13-14.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS THE SAME IMPORTANT
CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS CONCERNING
THE EXCESSIVENESS OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES
THAT WERE PRESENTED IN GORE AND
SHOULD, AT A MINIMUM, BE HELD FOR DIS-
POSITION IN LIGHT OF GORE.

In many respects, the issues in Crocker are mirror
images of those in Gore, where this Court is reviewing
whether a $2 million punitive damages award is so ex-
cessive as to violate due process under the Fourteenth

6

Amendment. Like Gore, this case raises the same broad
and recurring question: what is the “constitutional cal-
culus” for deciding whether an award of punitive dam-
ages is grossly excessive and without a reasonable relation-
ship to punishment and deterrence? See, e.g., Haslip, 499
U.S. at 22 (1991) (to satisfy the requirements of the
Due Process Clause, punitive damages standards must
“provide for a rational relationship in determining whether
a particular award is greater than reasonably necessary
to punish and deter”). And, like Gore, this case presents
a number of related issues that warrant this Court’s reso-
lution, either in Gore or here, including the recurrent
problems of using punitive damages awards to punish for
lawful extraterritorial conduct, punish for conduct con-
temporaneously lawful within Alabama, and punish on the
basis of a corporate practice undertaken for legitimate
business reasons.

The significance of these constitutional questions
prompted the Court to grant certiorari in Gore. Because
the determination of constitutional excessiveness here de-
pends on the Court's holding in Gore, this case should,
at a minimum, be held for disposition in light of the
resolution of Gore. See R. Stern, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro
& K. Geller, Supreme Court Practice §§ 4.16, 5.9 (7th ed.
1993).

Il. IN THE EVENT THAT THESE RECURRING AND
IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES EVADE
DEFINITIVE RESOLUTION IN GORE, THIS CASE
PRESENTS AN EXCELLENT OPPORTUNITY FOR
THE COURT TO ADDRESS THE EXCESSIVENESS
ISSUE.

A. The Current Confusion Regarding Due Process Lim-
itations On Punitive Damages Awards Will Continue
Absent This Court’s Definitive Resolution Of The
Excessiveness Issue In Gore Or In This Case.

If the Court does not decide to address the full scope
of the excessiveness issue in Gore, it should do so in
Crocker. Both cases amply dramatize that punitive dam-
ages have indeed exceeded any legitimate bounds and

7

“run wild.” Haslip, 499 U.S. at 18. Gore involves a
judicially-sanctioned $2 million punishment for failing to
disciose that a physician's BMW had undergone a paint
job that affected its value, by at most, $4,000. This case,
perhaps more egregious than Gore, involves a judicially-
sanctioned $3 million punishment for an insurer’s failure
to pay a $14,563 claim under an insurance policy that
was procured through the applicants’ fraud.

To be sure, this Court has already declared that “gen-
eral concerns of reasonableness . . . properly enter into
the constitutional calculus” in determining whether an
award is unconstitutionally excessive. Haslip, 499 U.S. at
18. Yet, the Court has not specifically identified what cri-
teria or factors are indicators of unreasonable excessiveness.

Unless the Court elucidates the criteria for measuring
punitive awards for unconstitutional excessiveness, lower
courts will continue to address punitive damages awards
without meaningful, objectively-measurable criteria for de-
ciding whether a particularly large punitive damages award
is unconstitutionally excessive, i.e. not reasonably related
to punishment and deterrence. The current lottery-like
system of large punitive awards will continue unrestrained
—with no real assurance to defendants that their consti-
tutional rights to due process will be protected—unless
this Court intervenes with meaningful criteria for judicial
review of the constitutionality of punitive awards. See,
e.g., Hanson v. American Nat'l Bank & Trust Co., 865
S.W.2d 302, 310 (Ky. 1993) (affirming $5.75 million
award while stating that Haslip “did not identify the pa-
rameters [state courts] should apply in insuring that an
award of punitive damages meets the test of due process”).

B. The Alabama Courts’ Justifications For Upholding
The $2 Million Punitive Award Against Union Se-
curity Clearly Fail To Establish A Reasonable Re-
lationship Between The Punitive Exaction And The
Goals Of Punitive Damages.

This Court has repeatedly stated, in its due process
jurisprudence, that punitive damages awards greater than

reasonably necessary to punish and deter are unconstitu-
tional. See Haslip, 499 U.S. at 21-22 (allowing awards
greater than necessary to punish and deter is unconstitu-
tional). Punitive damages awards that are greater than
reasonably necessary to punish and deter are those that
bear no reasonable relationship to punishing or deterring
the conduct at issue. /d. These awards fail to serve pun-
ishment or deterrence, the ultimate goals of all punitive
awards, either by inflicting disproportionate punishment
on an offender or by overdeterring or underdeterring fu-
ture offenders.

The Alabama Supreme Court's and trial court’s primary
justifications for the size of Union Security’s $2 million
share of the punitive award were (i) the “inequity” of
Union Security's post-claim investigation policy, (ii) its
nationwide profits from the sale of credit life policies, and
(iii) its supposed denial of bargained-for “expectations”
never pled or proven at trial.’ None of these justifications
is rationally related to the goals of punishment and deter-
rence, and they demonstrate vividly that Union Security’s
$2 million share of the $3 million award is constitutionally
excessive.‘ Indeed, the award is at least 68 times the
actual and potential harm to the respondent, at least 2,400
times Union Security's profit, and at least 57 times the

’ Under Alabama law, the trial court was required to judge the
reasonableness of the jury’s award by seven factors under Greer
Oil v. Hornsby, 589 So. 2d 218 (Ala. 1989). Several Green Oil
factors were not relied on heavily by the tria! court or the Ala-
bama Supreme Court to justify the $3 million size of the post-
remittitur award. These were (i) the degree of reprehensibility
of the defendant’s conduct, (ii) the costs of litigation (the trial
court only mentioned that the attorneys should recover a “signifi-
cant” amount beyond their $35,000 fee, see Pet. App. 22a), (iii)
the imposition of criminal sanctions, and (iv) the imposition of
other punitive damages awards. Pet. App. 19a-24a.

The trial court rested on its original analysis when it declined

to hold Union Security’s $2 million share of the award excessive.
Pet. App. 3ia.

4 Hereinafter, the brief refers to Union Security’s $2 million
share of the punitive award as the “award.”

9

respondent's litigation costs. These amounts clearly ex-
ceed the four-to-one ratio that this Court, in Haslip,
deemed “close to the line” of constitutional excessiveness.
Haslip, 499 U.S. at 23.

1. The Alabama Supreme Court’s Award Of Puni-
tive Damages Against Union Security On The
Basis Of lis Lawful Conduct Serves Neither
Punishment Nor Deterrence.

The Alabama Supreme Court justified the amount
of punitive damages against Union Security because it was
“necessary . . . in order to exorcise fraud and inequity
from the marketing of credit life policies.” Pet. App. 1 la-
12a. Specifically, in affirming the trial court’s judgment,
the Alabama Supreme Court found punishable Union
Security’s limited use of post-claim, rather than pre-claim,
health investigations—a practice that was entirely lawful
under Alabama law at the time Union Security applied
it to respondent’s claim. /d. Indeed, as the Alabama Su-
preme Court’s opinion makes clear, the supposed “in-
equity” of this conduct was first elucidated in Alabama in
the 1995 Huff case.” Id.

Essentially, the Alabama Supreme Court punished Un-
ion Security for its 1991 conduct on the basis of a 1995
decision in another case against another defendant more
than three-and-a-half years later. As the Huff court ac-
knowledged, post-claim health investigations were entirely
permissible and unobjectionable before Huff was handed
down in May 1995:

As the law in Alabama currently stands, an insur-
ance company may issue a life insurance policy with

5 Other striking evidence exists that the Alabama Supreme Court
went to any length to characterize Union Security’s conduct as
wrongful. The cause of action that would normally encompass in-
tentionally wrongful investigatory conduct by Union Security, the
bad faith claim, had already been dismissed by the trial court.
Pet. App. la. Despite this, the Alabama Supreme Court declared
Union Security’s investigation policy inequitable.

10

its knowledge of its applicant’s health coming solely
from its agent’s questioning of the applicant about
his or her health history.

Huff, 1995 WL 317676, at *2 (emphasis added). In
fact, because the Huff court declined to make such con-
duct evidence of fraud, and Alabama regulations still ex-
plicitly permit credit life contestability within one year,
these investigations remain lawful in Alabama. See Huff,
1995 WL 317676, at *3 (summary judgment for insurer
affirmed); Ala. Ins. Reg. No. 28, § VI(J)(2).

Assessing punitive damages against a defendant for
conduct that is lawful when that conduct occurs clearly
serves neither the goal of punishment nor the goal of de-
terrence. This Court has recognized that punishment is
fundamentally unfair when it is based on lawful conduct.
See, e.g., Bordenkircher v. Hayes, 434 U.S. 357, 363
(1978) (“To punish a person because he has done what
the law plainly allows him to do is a due process violation
of the most basic sort. . . .”) (citation omitted); Bouie v.
City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 352 (1964) (judicial
construction that retroactively enlarges statute, making
conduct illegal that was clearly outside prohibition of sta-
tute, violates due process). Simply put, no culpability
deserving of punishment can exist where a party has no
wrongful intent, reasonably believing that its conduct is
lawful because the conduct is, at the time, lawful.

Punishing for lawful conduct likewise fails to serve the
goal of deterrence. To be effective, deterrence requires
that the potential wrongdoer be able to recognize what
type of conduct is prohibited. D. Owen, Punitive Dam-
ages in Products Liability Litigation, 74 Mich. L. Rev.
1258, 1283 (1976). That party then is able to avoid en-
gaging in the type of conduct that is prohibited, i.e., it can
successfully be deterred from the prohibited conduct. /d.
But, where certain conduct is legal when undertaken, no
one can possibly recognize the conduct as prohibited,
avoid the conduct, and thus be deterred from it. Punish-

li

ing Union Security for abiding by its contemporaneously
lawful post-claim investigation policy sends no meaningful
message of deterrence to any potential defendant; it sim-
ply sends the message that Alabama courts may sustain
large punitive damages awards by arbitrarily and retro-
actively labelling lawful conduct as “inequitable.”

Such retroactive, aggregate punishment on the basis of
ordinary business practices is a recurring problem, in
Alabama and elsewhere, and should be addressed. See,
e.g., BMW v. Gore, 646 So.2d 619 (Ala. 1994) (per
curiam) ($2 million punitive award for uniform repair
non-disclosure policy), cert. granted, 115 §. Ct. 932
(1995); Intercontinental Life Ins. Co. v. Lindblom, 571
So.2d 1092 (Ala. 1990) (close to $1 million punitive
award for practice of allowing premium grace period),
vacated, 499 U.S. 956 (1991), op. reinstated, 598 So.2d
886, cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 200 (1992); Hawkins v.
Allstate Ins. Co., 733 P.2d 1073, 1077, 1083 & n9
(Ariz.) ($3.5 million punitive award based on standard
policy of subtracting a cleaning fee of $35 from the es-
timated value of total loss vehicles), cert. denied, 484
U.S. 874 (1987). This case presents a compelling oppor-
tunity for this Court to do so.

2. The Alabama Supreme Court’s And Trial Court’s
Award Of Punitive Damages Against Union Se-
curity On The Basis O7 Its Nationwide Profit On
All Sales Of Credit Life Insurance Serves Neither
Punishment Nor Deterrence.

a. The Extraterritoriality Problem. The courts below
held that the punitive damages award in this case was
appropriate, in part, because Union Security realized a
$1.29 million nationwide profit from the sale of credit
life insurance. Pet. App. lla-12a, 2ia. The trial court
stated, and the Alabama Supreme Court affirmed, that it
was appropriate, under the Green Oil factors, to remove
this profit. Jd. They did so even though respondent had
adduced no evidence that either the sale of credit life in-

12

surance or post-claim investigations were illegal or consid-
ered wrongful in Alabama, much less the forty-nine states
besides Alabama.* In fact, like Alabama, a vast majority
of states consider legal both the sale of credit life insur-
ance and the contestability of credit life claims, though
some states, like Alabama, limit the time during which an
insurer may contest a credit life claim. See, e.g., Mo. Rev.
Stat. § 385.070(d) (1994) (Missouri allows contestabil-
ity of credit life for two years); Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 690A.230(3) (1993) (Nevada allows contestability of
credit life); N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-57-25(c)(2) (1995)
(North Carolina allows contestability of credit life for
two years).

Awarding punitive damages based on conduct lawful
outside the punishing jurisdiction obviously fails to serve
the punishment goal. Alabama clearly has no rational in-
terest in punishing defendants in other states who carry
out their conduct in compliance with those states’ laws. In
punishing Union Security on the basis of its profits earned
in forty-nine other states, Alabama seriously infringes upon
these states’ sovereignty. See Phillips Petroleum Co. v.
Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 814-822 (1985) (due process vio-
lated where one state applies its law to a series of transac-
tions, the vast majority of which have no connection with
the state). It also defies fundamental principles of fairness
under the Due Process Clause.

Nor can Alabama possibly have a rational interest in
deterring the sale of credit life insurance or the contest-

®In addition, the trial court confusingly considered the overall
sale of credit life insurance to be the appropriate “wrongful con-
duct” for gauging the defendant’s profit, Pet. App. 21a, while the
Alabama Supreme Court later found the investigation and denial
of credit life claims to be this “wrongful conduct.” Pet. App. 1la-
12a. However, whether the practice of selling credit life insur-
ance or the practice of post-claim investigation was considered
“wrongful conduct,” punishing for such conduct outside of Ala-
bama serves neither the goal of punishment nor the goal of de-
terrence.

13

ability of credit life claims within other states. If the
states properly with authority to regulate a practice con-
sider it lawful, they have necessarily determined that the
practice should not be deterred, and another state can
have no rational interest in deterring inat lawful out-of-
state conduct. Awarding punitive damages based on con-
duct that other states deem lawful plainly overserves any
rational deterrent purpose and is excessive.

b. The Aggregation Problem. This case reveals a chill-
ing thread that runs through the Alabama courts’ punitive
damages decisions. Alabama courts are willing to permit
calculation of punitive damage awards simply by aggre-
gating “profit” gained under a common, nationwide cor-
porate practice or policy—without regard to the lawful-
ness or intent behind that practice or policy. See, e.g.,
Gore; Lindblom, supra. Allowing large punitive damages
awards to stand because the corporate defendant hap-
pened to have a lawful, standardized procedure or prac-
tice has no rational connection with the goals of punish-
ment and deterrence.

First, this case is even more extreme than Gore in dem-
onstrating that basing punitive damages on “profit” from
lawful, business-justified nationwide practices, as calcu-
lated by the Alabama courts under Green Oil, has no ra-
tional relationship to punishment. Here, not only was the
$2 million punitive award approved largely on the basis
that Union Security had a common corporate practice of
selling credit life insurance, or of post-claim investigation,
(see note 6, supra), but the Alabama courts punished Un-
ion Security on this basis despite the trial court’s finding
that the alleged wrongful conduct (Taylor's purported mis-
representation) was “an isolated incident’ not attributable
to any overall policy or practice of Union Security. Pet.
App. 20a, 23a. Regardless of this factual finding, both
the trial court and Alabama Supreme Court measured
damages on the basis of “profit” from a corporate practice
or practices that the trial court had acknowledged were

14

largely, if not wholly, irrelevant to the allegedly wrongful
conduct at issue.

The mere fact that a defendant has a standardized prac-
tice, of course, does not make it more culpable and de-
serving of punishment. This is especially true where, as
here, the standardized practices—Union Security’s nation-
wide sale of credit life insurance and/or its uniform policy
of post-claim investigation—were, at most, tangentially
related to the issue in the trial court: the alleged unau-
thorized acts of a single agent. Standardized corporate
policies may, as in this case, simply be required by econo-
mies of scale necessary for the company to make any
profit at all. See Pet. 16 n.14, 18 (where Union Se-
curity’s profit margin may be as low as 6%, it would be
uneconomical to pre-investigate every Health Statement).
There was no demonstration of culpable intent in Union
Security’s adopting such a policy.

Second, calculating punitive damages on an overall
“profit” basis bears no rational relationship to deterrence.
The Alabama courts, in upholding this award, ignore that
the inevitable effect of awarding punitive damages far in
excess of the defendant’s entire nationwide profit from a
business enterprise is to force any rational defendant to
stop engaging in that enterprise. Because Union Security
profits only $1.29 million from the sale of credit life,
the $2 million punitive damages award arising out of a
single credit life transaction—one of thousands of credit
life transactions each month—wipes out its entire nation-
wide profit. Instead of deterring insurance companies
from engaging in a certain type of conduct—such as giv-
ing non-employee agents discretion to sell policies or fail-
ing to provide conspicious written notice that false insur-
ance applications could result in denial of ciaims—such
punitive awards will overdeter by giving insurance com-
panies the incentive to leave the credit life business com-
pletely. Even Alabama has recognized credit insurance
as a worthwhile pursuit, see, e.g., Ala. Ins. Reg. No. 28

15

(allowing credit life insurance under scheme of regula-
tion), and destroying that business obviously serves no ra-
tional deterrence goal. See, e.g., In re Northern Dist. of
Calif. “Dalkon Shield” IUD Prod. Litig., 526 F. Supp.
887, 899 (N.D. Cal. 1981) (purpose of punitive damages
is to sting, not kill, defendant), vacated on other grounds,
693 F.2d 847 (9th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 US.
1171 (1983).

3. The Alabama Supreme Court’s And Trial Court’s
Award Of Punitive Damages Against Union Se-
curity On The Basis Of Respondent’s Unspeci-
fied, Unsupported Failed “Expectations” Serves
Neither Punishment Nor Deterrence.

The trial court found, and the Alabama Supreme Court
affirmed, that the $2 million punitive award was justified
because the respondent’s bargained-for “expectations” had
“totally failed.” Pet. App. 1la-12a, 20a. The trial court
never explained why it considered relevant Mrs. Crocker’s
bargained-for “expectations” after it had dismissed the
breach of contract claim against Union Security. Pet.
App. la. Nor did the trial court explain how these expec-
tations could be any greater in amount than the value of
the insured loan, even as it awarded punitive damages
greater than 137 times the loan balance. Pet. App. 20a.
In sum, the failed “expectations” were a chimera in the
trial court’s Green Oil analysis, used to create a reason-
able relationship between the respondent’s harm and the
size of the punitive award, when, in fact, there was rone
at all.

Assessing punitive damages on the basis of an entirely
subjective, unproven phenomenon, like the supposed
failed “expectations” in this case, clearly fails to serve
the goals of punishment and deterrence. The basis of
punishment cannot be insusceptible of calculation and a
potentially unlimited bootstrap for liability, as it was in
this instance, and rationally serve the goal of punishment.
Of course, where punishment depends on standards that a

16

defendant cannot possibly know and that may be used to
bootstrap any amount of punitive damages to a compen-
satory award, it overdeters. See, e.g., D. Owen, The
Moral Foundations of Punitive Damages, 40 Ala. J.. Rev.
705, 729-730 (1989) (unpredictable punitive liability di-
minishes social utility by deterring useful social conduct);
D. Ellis, Punitive Damages, Due Process, and the Jury,
40 Ala. L. Rev. 975, 988 (1989) (“[U]ncertainty as to
potential liability induces overinvestment in liability avoid-
ance, Or worse, suppresses innovation, and results in
higher insurance costs for all that are insured”) (footnotes
omitted ).

C. Measurable, Objective Standards Exist For Deter-
mining Whether A Punitive Award Reasonably Re-
lates To The Goals Of Punishment And Deterrence.

This case, like Gore, amply reveals the serious prob-
lems that exist for courts attempting to ensure due process
in the exaction of large punitive damages awards. Un-
fortunately, because the Haslip opinion offered little guid-
ance as to criteria for measuring unconstitutional exces-
siveness, cases like Crocker and Gore are not freakish but
common.’ This Court should intervene and articulate
non-exclusive, but objective and measurable, criteria for
lower courts to consider in determining whether particu-
lar punitive awards are so excessive as to violate the Due
Process Clause. Such criteria should include (i) propor-
tionality to the quantifiable harm that the individual plain-
tiff actually suffered or potentially may have suffered, (ii)
comparison with legislative penalties for similar miscon-
duct, (iii) the extent to which the defendant profited from
the misconduct toward the particular plaintiff, and (iv) in

* Although the Court approved Alabama’s system of post-verdict
review in Haslip, these cases amply demonstrate that Alabama’s
system of review is being misapplied in disregard of defendants’
due process rights. Thus, an elucidation of criteria by this Court
is necessary to keep such appellate review from becoming a hollow,
meaningless process.

17

some cases, the reasonable litigation costs of the plaintiff.
These criteria faithfully serve the goals of punishment and
deterrence and thus may adequately guide a due process
analysis of punitive awards.

Even a cursory examination of these criteria, applied to
the facts in this case, reveals that the $2 million punitive
damages award against Union Security is constitutionally
excessive and warrants this Court’s intervention:

1. Actual and Potential Harm. The best basis for de-
termining unconstitutional excessiveness is comparing the
punitive award to the sum of the quantifiable actual harm
suffered by the plaintiff, and the quantifiable potential
harm likely to occur to the plaintiff, from the defendant’s
conduct.* See TXO Prod. Corp., 113 S. Ct. at 2721-
22 (1993) (plurality opinion) (appropriate to consider
actual and potential harm to plaintiff in reviewing puni-
tive damages award). Even taking a liberal view of the
damages the respondent suffered, or may have potentially
suffered,’ the $2 million award is clearly excessive.

At the outer limits, the respondent’s actual harm could
not have exceeded the amount of the balance of the loan
($14,563) that Union Security declined to pay. Even con-
sidering that the respondent had the “potential” harm of
having her collateral—her residence—foreclosed upon by
First Alabama, her total actual and potential harm would
unlikely be more than double the loan amount or

§ Potential quantifiable harm is also a good measure of the repre-
hensibility of the defendant’s act—a common law standard for
punitive damages—that avoids the danger of arbitrariness in ap-
plying a vague concept like “reprehensibility.”

*In taking this view, ACLI does not suggest the petitioner’s
well-reasoned arguments that the plaintiff suffered a much lower
amount of actual damages, Pet. 17-18, are not ultimately correct.
The amicus brief demonstrates that, even assuming arguendo an
extremely liberal standard of actual and potential harm, the puni-
tive damages remain unconstitutionally disproportionate.

18

$29,126." This places the respondent’s $2 million puni-
tive damages award against Union Security at a level
over 68 times greater than her quantified actual and po-
tential harm. As ACLI argued in its amicus brief in Gore,
a punitive award that is disproportionate to actual and
potential harm should be presumptively unconstitutional,
unless the application of the remaining criteria rebuts that
presumption—a presumption that the amicus contends
applies here as well.

Even absent such a multi-criterion approach, this
Court’s precedent clearly supports the conclusion that the
$2 million award here is excessive. Under the similar
facts of Pacific Mut. Ins. Co. v. Haslip, which concerned
an insurer’s vicarious punitive liability for its non-em-
ployee agent’s wrongful conduct in disregard of the in-
surer’s policies, this Court ruled that a ratio of four-to-one
between punitive and actual damages was “close to the
line.” Haslip, 499 U.S. at 23. ACLI submits that this
case, with a ratio of over 68-to-one even after making
favorable allowances for potential harm, has crossed that
constitutional line.

2. Comparative Penalties. Courts should also com-
pare the punitive award to the legislative and regulatory
penalties for the conduct at issue. Here, the Alabama leg-
islature and regulatory bodies have chosen to permit insur-
ers to contest claims made within one year of the policy’s
signing. See Ala. Ins. Reg. No. 28, § VI(J)(2). Where
the appropriate governmental bodies in Alabama have
chosen not to punish conduct, implicitly setting the pen-
alty for such conduct at zero, it cannot be more consti-

‘© Had respondent been required to vacate her mobile home, her
moving costs and rental costs for an equivalent residence during
the trial would not likely have exceeded the amount of the loan
balance. Moreover, given the alacrity with which her lawyers
responded to service her debt, Pet. 18 n.15, foreclosure was a
remote possibility at best.

19

tutionally disproportionate to levy a multi-million dollar
punitive award on the basis of that conduct."

3. Profits from Misconduct. In awarding punitive
damages, courts should examine the extent to which a
defendant profited from its conduct toward that individual
plaintiff and remove any profit that was derived from the
defendant’s wrongful conduct pertaining to that individ-
ual plaintiff. As discussed above, see supra, at 11-15,
when calculating this prof't, courts should not indiscrimi-
nately aggregate all of the defendant’s dealings under a
general practice—particulariy where the practice is not
considered “wrongful” in most states. Among other
things, this approach punishes a defendant solely for
maintaining a standardized practice regardless of whether
the practice was wrongful.” According to the evidence
below, the profit attributable to Union Security for this
transaction, a certain portion of the Crockers’ premium,
existed in an amount somewhere between $66.38 and
$830." Since the $2 million award is over 2,400 times

1! While in previous briefs the amicus has suggested, as a con-
stitutional criterion, the comparison of a punitive award to other
punitive awards for similar conduct, see, e.g., ACLI amicus brief
at 21-28, Gore, the continued proliferation of punitive damages
awards unfettered by constitutionally sufficient review increasingly
makes this criterion unreliable in measuring punitive awards for
unconstitutional excessiveness.

12 Moreover, because the conduct that appears to be the true
basis of the Alabama Supreme Court’s opinion is the investigation
and denial of the respondent’s claim, it is even more improper to
consider the net gain of all Union Security's nationwide sales of
credit life as Union Security’s “profit.” [(f “profit” is to be assessed
from this conduct, only profit from policies that were denied should
be considered. On this basis, punitive damagee here exceed 155
times the nationwide profit, and 3,000 times the Alabama profit,
that resulted from selling the one percent of Union Security poli-
cies that involved denied claims. Pet. 19-20.

18 These figures are the low-end estimate (4% of Mr. Crocker’s
premium) and the high-end estimate (50% of the joint premium)
of the profit Union Security gained from the Crockers’ purchase
of credit life insurance. See Pet. 17-18.

20

this amount, the profit-based criterion supports a finding
of constitutional excessiveness.

4. Reasonable Litigation Costs. Comparison of the
punitive award to the reasonable litigation costs of the
plaintiff likewise does nothing to justify the excessive
amount of the award in this case. In some cases, it may
well be appropriate to measure punitive damages in terms
of reducing the cost of otherwise uneconomical litigation
to encourage plaintiffs to bring merit-worthy claims, espe-
cially where the detection of the wrongful conduct is un-
likely. But, even considering the $35,000 that the re-
spondent’s attorneys allegedly spent in litigation, the $2
million punitive damages award is over 57 times that
amount.

CONCLUSION

In sum, the punitive damages award against Union Se-
curity grossly exceeds any amount that could be reason-
ably deemed to serve the goals of punishment and deter-
rence. Taking into account all the relevant factors-—that
the award is greater than 68 times the actual and potential
harm to the respondent, that the petitioner’s conduct was
explicitly permitted, not penalized, by Alabama before this
case, that the award is greater than 2,400 times the peti-
tioner’s profit, and that the award is greater than 57 times
the respondent’s legal costs—the award is unconstitution-
ally excessive.

The petition for a writ of certiorari should either be
held pending the disposition of the Gore case or should
be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: PaTnicia A. DUNN
PHILLIP E. STANO Counsel of Record
AMERICAN COUNCIL OF HARRY I. JOHNSON, IIT

LIFE INSURANCE JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE

1001 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. 1450G Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004 Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 624-2183 (202) 879-8989

Counsei for the Amicus

December 1995

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1273%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
