# Amicus Brief — Doctor's Associates, Inc. v. Casarotto

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1248%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1129

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

F I LED
No. 94-1518 MAY 9 1999

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

DOCTOR'S ASSOCIATES, INC.
and NICK LOMBARDI,

Petitioners,

Vv.

PAUL CASAROTTO and PAMELA CASAROTTO,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the Supreme Court of Montana

BRIEF FOR THE INTERNATIONAL
FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION, AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

JOHN F.. VERHEY MATTHEW R. SHAY

Counsel of Record THE INTERNATIONAL
LEwis G. RUDNICK FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION
RUDNICK & WOLFE 1350 New York Avenue, N.W.
203 North LaSalle Street Suite 900
Suite 1800 Washington, D.C. 20005
Chicago, Illinois 60601 (202) 628-5000
(312) 368-4000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................. ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE .....

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................
NE. bid ou iae eid yds cewaee eed enin

THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE WHETHER A
STATE STATUTORY NOTICE PROVISION
FOR ARBITRATION IS PREEMPTED BY THE
FEDERAL ARBITRATION ACT ........... 7

A. The Montana Supreme Court’s Decision
Disregards Prior Decisions Of This Court

And Other Lower Federal Courts .... 8
B. The Montana Supreme Court’s Decision
Distorts This Court’s Reasoning In Volt . 1]

i II.

THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT’S DE-
CISION REPRESENTS UNSOUND PUBLIC
PRET 6640665 beenbandusisevdedsesevestve 13

SAE bd. cd nds awedeveerewskedaurbense 18

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: PAGE

Albright v. Edward D. Jones & Co., 571 N.E.2d
1329 (Ind. Ct. App. 1991), cert. denied, 113 S.

CA. GE CURED occcvcicesatecseaveesesseeee 10, 11
Allied-Bruce Terminix Companies, Inc. v. Dobson,
115 B. Ch. GG CIR cccccevasevctesunstseee 9, 14

American Physicians Service Group, Inc. v. Port
Lavaca Clinic Assoc., 843 S.W.2d 675 (Tex. Ct.
App. 1992) (en banc), writ of error denied (Tex.

Ape. Ti, TED s0vendtvesexacateeaseseean 10
Carnival Cruise Lines, Inc. v. Shute, 111 S. Ct.

SORR CD) ck vcvdsidnnveoieeeeeee 17
Collins Radio Co. v. Ex-Cell-O Corp., 467 F.2d 995

st a. ape Se eee 10

David L. Threlkeld & Co., Inc. v. Metallgesellschaft,
Ltd. (London), 923 F.2d 245 (2d Cir.), cert. dis-

missed, G01 US. 1907 (1901)... ccccceceses 10
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 111 S. Ct.

S067 GRD) va cédckdies tuesedscansabascees 14
Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc.,

236. BS. CR. SEER CURED 0 nccccccacvesdsucnese §
Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth,

Foon., GB UR. Gib. GORE ter vavacsccososess 14

Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S. 483 (1987) ... 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 13

Securities Indus. Ass’n v. Connolly, 883 F.2d 1114
(1st Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 956 (1990) . 10

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482
Se Ge See o.de4as ans eke 14

iii
Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1 (1984) ...
TMicueEle teach veegawededeveneeenes 4, 5, 8,9, 11, 13

Volt Information Sciences, Inc. v. Board of Trus-
tees of Leland Stanford Junior University, 489

i ees wees 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13
Webb v. R. Rowland & Co., 800 F.2d 803 (8th Cir.
ead ie tee deine eaee wee hts 10
STATUTES:
a ng ee eekees 5, 8,9

No. 94-1518

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1994

DOCTOR’S ASSOCIATES, INC.
and NICK LOMBARDI,

Petitioners,

Vv.

PAUL CASAROTTO and PAMELA CASAROTTO,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the Supreme Court of Montana

BRIEF FOR THE INTERNATIONAL
FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION, AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The International Franchise Association (“IF A’’), founded
in 1960, is the oldest and largest trade association in the
world representing the interests of franchising. IFA has
more than 750 franchisor members and, since first inviting
franchisees to join in 1993, has already attracted more
than 27,000 franchisee members. IFA serves as a resource
center for current and prospective franchisors and fran-
chisees, state and federal government agencies, and the

- =

public. IFA also represents the interests of franchising
before legislatures, the courts, and the public. The Associ-
ation has been instrumental in promoting balanced legisla-
tion to regulate franchising practices in the United States.

A franchise is a contractual relationship in which the
franchisor, the owner of a business concept and associated
trademarks or service marks, authorizes a franchisee to
conduct a business that is identified by the franchisor’s
marks and uses the franchisor’s format and operating sys-
tem. The contractual relationship is defined by a franchise
or license agreement, which sets forth the respective obli-
gations of the franchisor and franchisee. To promote uni-
formity in their franchise networks, franchisors utilize
standardized agreements. However, such “form’’ agree-
ments are frequently subject to negotiation. An increas-
ing number of franchising companies, in an effort to resolve
disputes with their franchisees in the least costly, least
disruptive and most expeditious manner possible, include
in their franchise agreements an undertaking to resolve
disputes by arbitration, binding on both the franchisor and
the franchisee. Such agreements obligate the parties to arbi-
trate disputes, usually under the auspices of the American
Arbitration Association or similar organization, and often
in the home state of the franchisor. In the past year alone,
almost 400 arbitrations involving franchise relationships
were initiated with the American Arbitration Association.

Historically, many state courts and state legislatures
have looked dimly on arbitration, especially when it oc-
curred as the result of a pre-dispute agreement to arbi-
trate. Whether this reluctance to honor agreements to ar-
bitrate stemmed from the belief that arbitration did not
afford the same procedural or substantive safeguards as
litigation, or whether it grew out of the states’ effort to
preserve in-state forums for their citizens, the end result

a we

was that arbitration agreements were routinely disregarded.
With the passage of the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”)
and rigorous enforcement of arbitration agreements under
the FAA, especially by federal courts, most state courts
and legislatures grudgingly accepted arbitration as a legiti-
mate means of resolving disputes. In the past several
years, however, a backlash has occurred. A number of
states, including Montana, have enacted statutes, pur-
portedly under the guise of ensuring that arbitration
agreements are freely entered into, that seriously under-
mine the enforceability of agreements to arbitrate. One
of the most prevalent examples of such legislation is the
Montana statute that is the subject of the Montana Su-
preme Court’s decision below,' which requires that notice
of the existence of an agreement to resolve disputes by
arbitration be displayed on the first page of the contract
in underlined, capital letters, a requirement that is appli-
cable only to arbitration agreements, not to contracts
generally. While federal courts have consistently struck
down anti-arbitration statutes of this type on preemption
grounds, a growing number of state courts, of which the
Montana Supreme Court is but the latest example, have
held otherwise, permitting states to single out arbitration
agreements for unfavorable treatment.

IFA is vitally concerned about this case because per-
mitting the decision of the Montana Supreme Court to
stand will encourage other state courts and legislatures
to undertake similar steps to undercut the enforceability

' The Montana Supreme Court’s opinion in this case, together
with the special concurrence and dissents, is printed as Appendix
A to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari filed with the Court
in this case. References to the lower court’s opinion are designated
“App. A” followed by a page reference.

aitlien

of agreements to arbitrate and further thwart the strong
federal policy favoring arbitration. As a result, franchisors
and other businesses that include arbitration provisions
in their form agreements will either be forced to tailor
their agreements to the laws of 50 different states or for-
go the many advantages inherent in the arbitration proc-
ess. Even now, the inconsistent treatment of arbitration
notice provisions by federal and state courts introduces
great uncertainty into the franchise relationship and
spawns satellite litigation over the enforceability of those
provisions that threatens to overwhelm the benefits of
economy and efficiency that arbitration was originally in-
tended to produce.

Pursuant to Rule 37.2 of the Rules of this Court, IFA
respectively submits this brief as amicus curiae in support
of petitioners. Because many IFA members, both fran-
chisors and franchisees, utilize arbitration as a means of
resolving disputes, IFA has a substantial interest in the
outcome of this case and is able to provide an additional
and broader prospective on the issues presented. IFA be-
lieves this brief will assist the Court in analyzing and
resolving these issues. The parties have consented to the
filing of this brief, and their written consents have been
filed with the Clerk of Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the decision below, the Montana Supreme Court un-
duly restricted the preemptive reach of Section 2 of the
FAA by holding that Montana’s notice requirement for arbi-
tration agreements does not violate the Supremacy Clause.
In doing so, the Montana Supreme Court disregarded two
controlling decisions of this court, Southland Corp. v. Keat-
ing, 465 U.S. 1 (1984), and Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S.

=~

483 (1987), which held that states may not restrict the en-
forceability of agreements to arbitrate except on “grounds
as exist at law or in equity for the revocation of any con-
tract.” 9 U.S.C. § 2. Since Montana’s notice requirement
is directed exclusively at arbitration provisions and not
at any other contractual terms, it is preempted by the
FAA. In addition to conflicting with Southland and Perry,
the Montana Supreme Court’s decision also runs directly
contrary to the decisions of the three federal courts of
appeals that have addressed the issue, all of which held
that state arbitration notice requirements are preempted
by the FAA. Instead of following these decisions, the
court below relied on two intermediate state courts in In-
diana and Texas that upheld similar notice provisions.
Review of the decision below is necessary to signal to
state courts and legislatures that, for purposes of pre-
emption under the FAA, burdening the enforceability of
arbitration agreements with a notice provision is no differ-
ent than declaring those agreements unenforceable per se.

In determining that Montana’s notice provision did not
undermine the goals and policies of the FAA, the Mon-
tana Supreme Court also distorted this Court’s holding
in Volt Information Sciences, Inc. v. Board of Trustees
of Leland Stanford Junior University, 489 U.S. 468 (1989).
The decision in Volt was premised on the notion that the
primary purpose of the FAA is to enforce privately nego-
tiated agreements to arbitrate, even where those agree-
ments allow for arbitration to be stayed pending the reso-
lution of related litigation. Because the parties here chose
the AAA’s Commercial Arbitration Rules and Connecticut
law, not Montana law, to govern their arbitration agree-
ment, Volt requires that their choice be upheld and not,
as the Montana Supreme Court reasoned, that another
state’s law be substituted that would invalidate the par-
ties’ agreement to arbitrate. In addition, although in Volt

Qu

this Court observed that the FAA does not entirely preempt
state arbitration laws, in particular state laws governing
the procedures under which arbitration is conducted, the
Montana Supreme Court perverted this holding into a li-
cense to enforce a state arbitration law that went to the
very substance of the right to arbitrate, prohibiting arbi-
tration from occurring altogether. The Montana Supreme
Court’s conclusion that the FAA mandates the enforce-
ment only of those arbitration agreements that are en-
tered into “knowingly,” which Montana’s notice provision
is purportedly designed to promote, flies in the face of
the FAA’s insistence on rigorous enforcement of arbitra-
tion agreements. Because of the apparent solicitude for
arbitration of the majority of the Montana Supreme Court,
when in fact its decision and the statute it enforced are
based on hostility to arbitration agreements, it is crucial
that this Court grant review of the decision below to dis-
courage similar attempts by state courts and legislatures
to undermine the FAA on the pretext of furthering its
goals and policies.

The Montana Supreme Court’s decision is also premised
on judicial and legislative hostility to arbitration, which
has long been discredited by this Court in view of the
many advantages that arbitration affords over traditional
litigation, including speed, economy, adjudicative exper-
tise and the capacity to preserve long-term relationships
once the dispute is resolved. To enforce statutes like Mon-
tana’s either would deprive the parties to a franchise rela-
tionship of these advantages altogether, or would seriously
impede the use of arbitration in the franchise relation-
ship by burdening franchisors with tailoring their contract
documents to meet the requirements of 50 different states
relative to the enforceability of arbitration provisions.
Moreover, the Montana Supreme Court’s reasoning is based

4
7

=

on unsupported and unfounded assumptions regarding the
negotiability of arbitration agreements and the role of
forum-selection clauses in those agreements.

The decision below introduces rationales that substan-
tially curtail the enforceability of agreements to arbitrate
and raise issues of great importance under the FAA and
the Supremacy Clause. These issues have enormous sig-
nificance for a large and growing segment of American
business. These are compelling reasons for this Court’s
review.

ARGUMENT

THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE WHETHER A STATE
STATUTORY NOTICE PROVISION FOR ARBITRATION
IS PREEMPTED BY THE FEDERAL ARBITRATION ACT

In holding that the FAA does not preempt Montana’s
statute requiring that a contract containing an arbitration
agreement include a conspicuous notice to that effect on
the face of the contract, the Montana Supreme Court dis-
regarded two of this Court’s controlling precedents and
a substantial number of lower federal court decisions that
flatly refute the Montana Supreme Court’s holding. In so
doing, the Montana Supreme Court has severely restricted
the preemptive reach of the FAA. Moreover, the Montana
Supreme Court reached its decision by seriously distort-
ing this Court’s holding in Volt Information Sciences, inc.
v. Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Junior Uni-
versity, 489 U.S. 468 (1989), to the point of emasculating
the enforceability of agreements to arbitrate under the
FAA.

~

A. The Montana Supreme Court’s Decision Disregards Prior
Decisions Of This Court And Other Lower Federal
Courts

The Montana Supreme Court held that the Montana
notice provision is not preempted by Section 2 of the FAA
because the notice requirement does not ‘‘undermine the
goals and policies of the FAA.” App. A at 16a. In so hold-
ing, however, the Montana Supreme Court disregarded
this Court’s controlling decisions in Southland Corp. v.
Keating, 465 U.S. 1 (1984), and Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S.
483 (1987). In holding that a provision of the California
Franchise Investment Law requiring judicial consideration
of claims brought under the statute was preempted by
the FAA, this Court in Southland declared that the only
permissible limitation under state law on the enforceability
of agreements to arbitrate (other than the “involving com-
merce” requirement) was whether those agreements were
revocable upon “ ‘grounds as exist at law or in equity for
the revocation of any contract.’ ” 465 U.S. at 11 (quoting
9 U.S.C. § 2). Likewise, in Perry, this Court struck down
a provision of the California Labor Code, which precluded
arbitration of wage collection claims, on the ground that
the California law did not ‘{arise] to govern issues con-
cerning the validity, revocability, and enforceability of con-
tracts generally,” but rather “(took] its meaning precise-
ly from the fact that a contract to arbitrate is at issue.”
482 U.S. at 492 n. 9.

The Montana statute at issue here is preempted by the
FAA because it clearly “takes its meaning preciseiy from
the fact that a contract to arbitrate is at issue.’”’ Montana
does not require that any other contractual provision be
flagged with a conspicuous notice provision on the first
page of the contract. Arbitration agreements alone are
burdened with this requirement in Montana—burdened,

~~

in that the absence of such a notice renders the agree-
ment to arbitrate unenforceable. Under this Court’s deci-
sions in Southland and Perry, therefore, the Montana
statute is preempted by the FAA.

Indeed, in a recent pronouncement on the FAA, this
Court reaffirmed that, under its holdings in Southland and
Perry, the FAA preempts state laws that seek to invali-
date arbitration agreements. See Allied-Bruce Terminix
Companies, Inc. v. Dobson, 115 S. Ct. 834 (1995); accord
Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 115 S.
Ct. 1212, 1215-16 (1995). In Terminix, this Court decisively
rejected a request to overrule Southland and permit state
courts to apply their own anti-arbitration laws regardless
of whether interstate commerce was involved, holding that
Southland was well-established law and that, consequent-
ly, Alabama could not apply its statute barring pre-dispute
arbitration agreements to invalidate an arbitration pro-
vision. Terminix, 115 S. Ct. at 838-39 After observing that
the “basic purpose of the Federal Arbitration Act is to
overcome courts’ refusal to enforce agreements to arbi-
trate” and to place those agreements “ ‘upon the same
footing as other contracts,’ id. at 838 (quoting Volt, 489
U.S. at 474), Justice Breyer, writing for this Court, con-
cluded that while “States may regulate contracts, includ-
ing arbitration clauses, under general contract law prin-
ciples and they may invalidate an arbitration clause ‘upon
such grounds as exist at law or in equity for the revoca-
tion of any contract’[,] . . . [what States may not do is
decide that a contract is fair enough to enforce all its basic
terms (price, service, credit), but not fair enough to en-
force its arbitration clause,” Terminix, 115 S. Ct. at 843
(quoting 9 U.S.C. § 2) (emphasis in original). Montana has
done in the statute at issue here precisely what this Court
and numerous other federal and state courts over the past

==

decade have held that it cannot do: It has decided that
contracts are fair enough to enforce all their basic terms,
even absent a special notice designed to bring the exist-
ence of those terms to the parties’ attention, but that ar-
bitration agreements are not fair enough to enforce with-
out such a notice.

The Montana Supreme Court’s holding also disregards
the contrary decisions from the three federal courts of
appeals that have addressed the issue, all of which have
invalidated arbitration notice provisions similar to the
Montana statute. See, e.g., David L. Threlkeld & Co., Inc.
v. Metallgesellschaft, Ltd. (London), 923 F.2d 245, 249-50
(2d Cir.), cert. dismissed, 501 U.S. 1267 (1991) (invalidating
a Vermont statute that required agreements to arbitrate
to be “prominently displayed” in contracts and signed by
the parties); Securities Indus. Ass’n v. Connolly, 883 F.2d
1114, 1120 (1st Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 956 (1990)
(invalidating a state regulation requiring full written dis-
closure of “the legal effect of the pre-dispute arbitration
contract or clause”); Webb v. R. Rowland & Co., 800 F.2d
803, 806-07 (8th Cir. 1986) (invalidating a requirement that
contracts highlight the existence of arbitration clauses in
10-point capital letters); Collins Radio Co. v. Ex-Cell-O
Corp., 467 F.2d 995, 997-99 (8th Cir. 1972) (invalidating
a requirement that arbitration agreements bear an attor-
ney’s acknowledgement that all parties have been advised
of the agreement’s effects). Instead, the Montana Supreme
Court has joined a growing number of state courts that
have reinvigorated the former hostility to arbitration by
concluding that arbitration notice provisions do not run
afoul of the FAA. See, e.g., American Physicians Service
Group, Inc. v. Port Lavaca Clinic Assoc., 843 S.W.2d 675,
678 (Tex. Ct. App. 1992) (en banc), writ of error denied
(Tex. Apr. 21, 1993); Albright v. Edward D. Jones & Co.,

~~

571 N.E.2d 1329, 1332-33 (Ind. Ct. App. 1991), cert. denied,
113 S. Ct. 61 (1992). In addition, a number of states have
similar laws that single out arbitration agreements for un-
favorable treatment by regulating the placement and ac-
knowledgment of arbitration agreements in certain types
of contracts. Courts in those states could well be en-
couraged by the Montana Supreme Court’s decision below
to uphold similar anti-arbitration statutes against preemp-
tion attacks. Thus, there is a compelling need for this
Court to review—and reverse—the decision of the Montana
Supreme Court in order to signal to state courts and
legislatures that, for purposes of preemption under the
FAA, statutory notice provisions for arbitration are no
less hostile to arbitration than were the statutes at issue
in Southland and Perry.

B. The Montana Supreme Court’s Decision Distorts This
Court’s Reasoning In Volt

In sustaining the Montana statute against a preemption
attack, the Montana Supreme Court also seriously dis-
torted this Court’s reasoning in Volt in several respects.
First, the decision below completely disregards the par-
ties’ arbitration agreement. As this Court observed in
Volt, the primary purpose of the FAA is to enforce
“privately negotiated arbitration agreements,” and par-
ties to an arbitration agreement should be “at liberty to
choose the terms under which they will arbitrate.” 489
U.S. at 472. Here, the parties chose the AAA’s Commer-
cial Arbitration Rules and Connecticut law, not Montana
law, to govern their arbitration agreement. Since neither

2 See Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, at 21 nn. 20 & 21 (citing
statutes).

a

Connecticut law nor the AAA’s rules nor the FAA condi-
tions the enforceability of an agreement to arbitrate on
the existence of a notice provision, Volt cannot support
the result reached by the Montana Supreme Court. On
the contrary, the very notion of enforcing a notice provi-
sion not chosen by the parties to invalidate an arbitra-
tion provision chosen by the parties is completely an-
tithetical to the teaching of Volt and strikes at the heart
of the FAA’s purpose—to ensure that private agreements
to arbitrate are rigorously enforced according to their
terms.

Second, the Montana Supreme Court’s unduly narrow
interpretation of the scope of federal preemption of state
arbitration laws is impossible to square with Volt. Pur-
portedly relying on Volt, the Montana Supreme Court
declared that Montana’s notice requirement does not “un-
dermine the goals and policies of the FAA,” because Con-
gress never intended to preempt the entire field of arbi-
tration and because the FAA does not require parties to
arbitrate when they have not agreed to do so. App. A
at 16a. However, this Court’s statement in Volt that the
FAA does not entirely preempt state arbitration law was
made in reference to a California procedural statute that
merely had the effect of delaying an arbitration until after
litigation of related claims had occurred—and under cir-
cumstances where the parties had chosen that law to govern
their arbitration. Thus, the California law affected only
the timing of arbitration, and did not purport to prohibit
arbitration altogether. Here, however, the Montana Su-
preme Court has interpreted Volt to permit a state to
ban arbitration in its entirety, notwithstanding the exist-
ence of an arbitration agreement enforceable under the
laws of the parties’ own choosing. Nor does the justifica-
tion offered by the Montana Supreme Court for its hold-
ing—that the FAA mandates the enforcement only of those

~i-

arbitration agreements that are “knowingly” entered in-
to—survive scrutiny. Since the “knowing” requirement ap-
plies only to arbitration agreements and not to contracts
generally in Montana, it is preempted under Southland
and Perry. Behind Montana’s preoccupation with ensuring
that arbitration agreements are “knowingly” entered into
lies considerable legislative and judicial hostility toward
arbitration. Because of this apparent solicitude for arbitra-
tion of the majority of the Montana Supreme Court, when
its decision and the statute it enforced are, in fact, based
on hostility to arbitration agreements, and in order to
forestall similar attempts by state courts or legislatures
to use this Court’s reasoning in Volt to turn the FAA
on its head, it is critical that this Court grant review of
that decision.

THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT’S DECISION
REPRESENTS UNSOUND PUBLIC POLICY

Arbitration notice provisions like Montana’s not only run
afoul of the Supremacy Clause and Section 2 of the FAA,
but also represent unsound public policy based on a dis-
credited judicial and legislative hostility to arbitration. Op-
ponents of arbitration have long maintained that arbitra-
tion represents an inferior, and inadequate, form of justice
compared with traditional litigation because, they say, it
deprives parties of, among other things, substantive rights
under state statutory and common law, the right to a jury
trial, wide-ranging discovery procedures, a broad right of
appeal, competent adjudicators and, in many cases, an in-
state forum. Detractors of arbitration also attack the con-
sensual nature of pre-dispute arbitration agreements, point-
ing out that those agreements are often contained in non-
negotiated form contracts between parties of unequal bar-
gaining power. These anti-arbitration sentiments, barely

=o

concealed in the majority opinion of the Montana Supreme
Court, come to the surface in the special concurring opin-
ion of Justice Trieweiler. App. A at 18a-22a. This Court,
however, has repeatedly dismissed those objections as un-
founded® and, in doing so, has acknowledged the many
benefits of arbitration, including speed, see, e.g., Terminix,
115 S. Ct. at 843; economy, see, e.g., id.; informality and
adaptability of procedures; see, e.g., Mitsubishi Motors
Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 633
(1985); availability of expert adjudicators, see, e.g., Mit-
subishi, 473 U.S. at 633; and ability to preserve the dis-
putants’ relationship, see Terminix, 115 S. Ct. at 843.
Moreover, as this Court has observed, arbitration offers
advantages to large and small businesses as well as to in-
dividuals, notwithstanding that it is often invoked under a
form contract between parties having unequal bargaining
power. See Terminix, 115 S. Ct. at 843; Gilmer v. Inter-
state/Johnson Lane Corp., 111 S. Ct. 1647, 1655 (1991).

Permitting the decision below, with its inherent bias
against arbitration, to stand will encourage other state
courts and legislatures to likewise impair the enforceabil-
ity of arbitration agreements, with serious repercussions
for franchising and other business relationships that utilize

% The various objections to arbitration which this Court has dis-
missed include: 1) its inability to further important social policies,
see Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 111 S. Ct. 1647, 1653
(1991); 2) inherent bias of arbitrators, see id. at 1654; Mitsubishi
Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 US. 614, 634
(1985); 3) lack of discovery procedures, see Gilmer, 111 S. Ct. at 1654-
55; 4) lack of meani ] judicial review, see Shearson/American
Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 232 (1987); incompetence
of arbitrators, see McMahon, 482 U.S. at 232; 6) limitations on
substantive rights or relief, see Gilmer, 111 S. Ct. at 1655; and
7) that it is the product of unequal bargaining power, Gilmer, 111
S. Ct. at 1655.

i
:
7
ee nn

~~

arbitration to resolve disputes. Arbitration enjoys wide-
spread use in the franchise community, in large part be-
cause it offers many advantages to franchisors and fran-
chisees over traditional litigation. It is typically much less
expensive than litigation because of the absence of, or
limitations on, pleading requirements, motion practice,
discovery and pretrial procedures. Since many disputes
between franchisors and franchisees, such as claims for
nonpayment of royalty fees, involve relatively small amounts
of money, arbitration enables the parties to resolve these
disputes economically without having to spend the entire
value of the claim pursuing a remedy. Moreover, the great
majority of franchisors are relatively small companies and,
like many franchisees, cannot afford the high cost associ-
ated with pursuing or defending claims in a judicial forum.

The elimination or reduction in scope of motion prac-
tice, discovery and pretrial procedures in arbitration also
makes it generally much quicker than litigation. The rela-
tive speed with which arbitrations proceed from the ini-
tial filing of the arbitration demand to the issuance of an
award and, if necessary, confirmation of the award by a
court, not only will in most cases cost the parties less
in attorneys’ fees but also will enable them to resume
their relationship more quickly without the continuing
disruptive influence of a pending lawsuit. Similarly, the
informality and often less adversarial nature of arbitra-
tion enhance the prospect that the franchisor and fran-
chisee will be able to honor their respective obligations
while the arbitration is pending, put aside their differences
once the arbitration has concluded and keep the franchise
relationship intact. Franchise relationships are unique in
today’s business world because they typically run for a
period of ten to twenty years. Since disputes are bound
to arise in a relationship of that length, arbitration offers

—16—

a method for resolving those disputes while preserving
the long-term nature of the relationship. Moreover, be-
cause arbitration is more flexible with regard to sched-
uling times and places of hearings, it tends to be less
disruptive of the day-to-day operations of franchisors and
franchisees alike, an important consideration in light of
the fact that many franchisors and franchisees are small
businesses with limited personnel. Finally, arbitration also
offers the parties to a franchise relationship the option
of having an individual experienced in franchising adjudi-
cate their dispute. Because franchising is a unique form
of business organization and is subject to a wide array
of registration, disclosure and relationship laws, franchise
expertise is often a sought-after qualification of arbitrators
chosen to decide franchise disputes. To ensure that the
many advantages of arbitration remain available to them,
national franchisors should not be compelled to tailor their
contract documents to meet the requirements of 50 differ-
ent states.

Furthermore, there is nothing inherent in the arbitra-
tion process itself that favors franchisors over franchisees.
Contrary to the anti-arbitration sentiments expressed in
the special concurring opinion of Justice Trieweiler, fran-
chisees are often sophisticated, multi-unit operators who,
on their own behalf or through counsel, negotiate the
terms of their franchise agreements, including whether
and under what circumstances arbitration of disputes will
occur. Although arbitration agreements often provide for
arbitration in the franchisor’s home state, there are sound
business reasons for a franchisor to consolidate disputes
with its franchisees in a forum where it can resolve them
as cost-effectively as possible. It is certainly no more
burdensome for an individual franchisee to arbitrate in
the franchisor’s home state than it is for a national fran-
chisor to arbitrate against multiple franchisees in their

—17—

respective home states. Indeed, in light of this Court’s de-
cision in Carnival Cruise Lines, Inc. v. Shute, 111 S. Ct.
1522 (1991), upholding the enforceability of a non-negoti-
ated choice-of-forum clause printed on the reverse side
of a cruise line passenger ticket, there is no serious
argument that forum selection clauses in the franchise
relationship—a business relationship—are not fully en-

forceable.

Enforcement of arbitration agreements in the franchise
relationship will also produce systemic benefits, economiz-
ing on the scarce judicial resources available for resolving
other disputes where parties may not be able to structure
a dispute resolution procedure in advance. Those scarce
judicial resources are utilized not only when a dispute sub-
ject to arbitration is instead resolved in a judicial forum,
but also when parties, encouraged by anti-arbitration deci-
sions like that of the Montana Supreme Court in this case,
participate in satellite litigation such as this to challenge
the enforceability of agreements to arbitrate. The benefits
that Congress sought to realize by mandating the rigorous
enforcement of agreements to arbitrate will be realized
only if state courts and state legislatures are reminded
that attempts to undermine the enforceability of agree-
ments to arbitrate will not go unnoticed by this Court.
Otherwise, state legislatures will be unleashed to formu-
late all manner of requirements for, and obstacles to, ar-
bitration agreements, and the sound public policy that
underlies the FAA will be subverted. Moreover, there is
no assurance that states will not seek to burden arbitra-
tion agreements retroactively, contending that the right
to arbitrate is a purely procedural right, the deprivation
of which would not impair obligations or substantive rights’
under franchise agreements. For those reasons, it is critical
to the franchising community that this Court review the
decision of the Montana Supreme Court.

—18—

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN F. VERHEY MATTHEW R. SHAY

Counsel of Record THE INTERNATIONAL
LEwis G. RUDNICK FRANCHISE ASSOCIATION
RUDNICK & WOLFE 1350 New York Avenue, N.W.
203 North LaSalle Street Suite 900
Suite 1800 Washington, D.C. 20005
Chicago, Illinois 60601 (202) 628-5000
(312) 368-4000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Dated: May 8, 1995

a

—————

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1248%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
