# Supplemental Brief — Armadores de Cabotaje, S. A. v. Young

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1191%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Supplemental Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 512 U.S. 1216

## Text

No. 93-1068 MAR 18 1994

OBOE Ob TK BLERK |

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1993
r——*®@

ARMADORES de CABOTAIJE, S.A.,

Petitioner,
versus

JERRY YOUNG,
Respondent

- *

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court Of Appeal

- >

SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT
+. —_

LAWRENCE S. KULLMAN (#7884)
Lewts & KULLMAN

2615 Pan American Life Center
601 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130
Telephone: 504/588-1500
Counsel of Record

FREDERICKA HomBerG Wicker (#6977)
434 Bellaire Drive

New Orleans, Louisiana 70124
Telephone: 504/482-1887

Attorneys for Respondent, Jerry Young

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 442-2431

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS.....
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES...
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
PIES Sev cccccccdecss
COINNCLUISIOIN 2. 2c ccccccced

“eee ene nenenenne eee eee ee

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASsEs:
Derr v. Kawasaki Kisen K.K., 835 F.2d 490 (3d Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1007 (1988)........

Howlett v. Birkdale Shipping Co., S.A., 62 U.S.L.W.

3441 (U.S. Jam. 32, TORR ces cdesctvcccvvccescs

Howlett v. Birkdale Shipping Co., S.A., 114 S. Ct. 681
(1994)... cocccvenceusteciangeiansuereeenatnene

Kirsch v. Plovidba, 971 F.2d 1026 (3d Cir. 1992)...

Scindia Steam Nav. Co. v. De los Santos, 451 U.S. 156
C3GBE) ... cvccccesuss cneduauseudeeeneeneaaaens

Woods v. Sammisa Co., Ltd., 873 F.2d 842 (5th Cir.
1989), cert. denied sub nom Sammiline Co., Ltd. v.
Woods, 493 U.S. 1050 (1990). ..........0.0 0 cues

Young v. Armadores de Cabotaje, S.A., 617 So. 2d 517
(La. App. 4th Cir. 1993) .....cccccccvccvcveses

Young v. Armadores de Cabotaje, S.A., 625 So. 2d 171
(La. 1998) 0... ccccuccecaseussduveseatuuesthenss

OTHER:

Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation
Act, 33 USL. § FG4, Ob Whee sc sicevcevcevuccecs

ocoke @
.2, 3-4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent, Jerry Young, files this supplemental
memorandum in response to the supplemental brief in
support of petition for writ of certiorari filed by peti-
tioner, Armadores de Cabotaje, S.A., (hereinafter
ARCASA) specifically addressing Howlett v. Birkdale Ship-
ping Co., S.A., 114 S. Ct. 681 (1994), in which this Court
granted a petition for certiorari on January 10, 1994.

In Howlett v. Birkdale Shipping Co., this Court limited
its writ of certiorari to the issue:

Does not the shipowner’s duty of care owed to a
longshoreman under § 5(b) of the Longshore
and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act extend
to unsafe conditions existing in a cargo stow of
which the shipowner knows or has reason to
know, and which are unknown to the longshore-
man and his stevedore employers, are not open
and obvious, and would not normally be antici-
pated?

See Howlett v. Birkdale Shipping Co., S.A., Petition for Writ
of Certiorari at i; 62 U.S.L.W. 3441 (U.S. Jan. 11, 1994).

On March 31, 1993, the Louisiana Fourth Circuit
Court of Appeal rendered its opinion in the matter
herein. Young v. Armadores de Cabotaje, S.A., 617 So. 2d 517
(La. App. 4th Cir. 1993).

On October 1, 1993, the Louisiana Supreme Court
denied ARCASA’s application for writ of certiorari. Young
v. Armadores de Cabotaje, S.A., 625 So. 2d 171 (La. 1993).

The Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal, con-
sistent with its jurisdiction, reviewed both questions of
law and fact in this case, applying its own system for

reviewing factual determinations by juries of general
maritime law and Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Com-
pensation Act (33 U.S.C. § 901, et seq.) cases. Young, 617
So. 2d at 525.

In its factual review, the Louisiana Fourth Circuit
referenced testimony regarding the ARCASA vessel mas-
ter’s actual involvement in preparing and approving the
stowage plan, finding that the evidence heard by the jury
furnished support for a finding that it was more probable
than not that ARCASA’s conduct contributed to the plain-
tiff’s accident and resulting injuries. Young, 617 So. 2d at
523, 528.

While the Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal
followed the rule enunciated by the United States Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals in Woods v. Sammisa Co., Ltd.,
873 F.2d 842 (5th Cir. 1989), cert. denied sub nom Sammiline
Co., Ltd. v. Woods, 493 U.S. 1050 (1990), in its review of the
questions of law, the Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of
Appeal’s findings on review of the facts make it clear that
ARCASA is equally liable under the standard enunciated
by the United States Third Circuit in Derr v. Kawasaki
Kisen K.K., 835 F.2d 490 (3d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 486
U.S. 1007 (1988), and more recently and expansively in
Kirsch v. Plovidba, 971 F.2d 1026 (3d Cir. 1992).

Even if the Third Circuit’s interpretation of the law
were found to be controlling, ARCASA would be liable.

+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARCASA’s writ application should be denied because
the resolution of any conflict existing between the United
States Courts of Appeals as to the standard of care owed
by vessel owners to offloading longshoremen is irrelevant
herein since ARCASA is liable to respondent under either
standard.

ARGUMENT

Apparently, in granting the petition for certiorari in
Howlett v. Birkdale Shipping Co., S.A., 114 S. Ct. 681 (1994),
this Court intends to address the conflict between the
United States Third Circuit Court of Appeals and the
United States Fifth and Ninth Circuit Courts of Appeals
with regard to the standard of care owed by the vessel
owner to an offloading longshoreman for harm caused by
danger arising from cargo.

As petitioner, ARCASA, is liable under either stan-
dard, upon the evidence presented to the jury and
addressed in respondent’s original brief at pages 2-6,
ARCASA’s writ application should be denied.

Petitioner, ARCASA, interprets Derr v. Kawasaki Kisen
K.K., 835 F.2d 490 (3d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1007
(1988), as holding that the vessel owner has no general
duty to inspect or supervise cargo operations and thus
should be liable, if at all, for negligently stowed cargo
only upon attaining actual knowledge of the hazard.

More accurately, the United States Third Circuit held
in Derr, and more recently and expansively in Kirsch v.

Plovidba, 971 F.2d 1026 (3d Cir. 1992), that the vessel
owner owes a duty of care to offloading longshoremen
for harm caused by dangers arising from cargo when the
vessel’s own conduct caused or contributed to the dan-
gerous condition or when the vessel had actual knowl-
edge of a dangerous condition.

Here, the evidence was uncontroverted that
ARCASA was a co-participant with defendant ENSIDESA
in designing, causing, permitting and approving the man-
ner of the stow. The jury found the stow presented an
unreasonable danger to the offloading stevedore; further,
that the expert offloading stevedore could do nothing to
avoid the hazard and conduct cargo operations reason-
ably safely. Young v. Armadores de Cabotaje, S.A., 617 So. 2d
at 523-24.

Under either of the conflicting interpretations of
Scindia Steam Nav. Co. v. De los Santos, 451 U.S. 156 (1981),
ARCASA is liable under the particular facts and circum-
stances of this case.

Thus, ARCASA’s petition for writ of certiorari should
be denied.

CONCLUSION

ARCASA’s writ application should be denied and its
petition should not be consolidated with Howlett v.
Birkdale because the resolution therein of any conflict
existing between the United States Courts of Appeals as

to the standard of care owed by vessel owners to offload-
ing longshoremen is irrelevant herein since ARCASA is
liable to respondent under either standard.

Respectfully submitted,

LAWRENCE S. KuLLMAN (#7884)
Lewis & KULLMAN

2615 Pan American Life Center
601 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130
Telephone: 504/588-1500
Counsel of Record

FREDERICKA HompBerG WicKER (#6977)
434 Bellaire Drive

New Orleans, Louisiana 70124
Telephone: 504/482-1887

Attorneys for Respondent, Jerry Young

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1191%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
