# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. Abreu

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1103%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 508 U.S. 935

## Text

i) Supreme Court, US
y . : 3s i

99-67 F FILED

JUL 9 193

No. (See WOE
a |

In the Suprenwe Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.

ORESTES LUCIANO ABREU

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

JAMES DAVID THORNBRUGH

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a defendant who is convicted in a single
proceeding of multiple violations of 18 U.S.C. 924(c)
is subject to the statute’s provisions imposing a more
severe sentence for “second or subsequent’ convic-
tions.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Nee save ntnnnnnvvnsxunasannsecseinankhcend 1
mereeeeeneM ..............-............... YEE LET Se Oo a 2
Statutory provision involved... Sener 2
a cissacsnsaunncnsncemvnadonsuannstmanns 3
Reasons for granting the petition _.... Tiers Urictasaasoeancnon ces 7
Nee ee os sssnnvorsinnansnsvehntunuandacssuse 8
Neen Ts schnsindiadnwctaneonedgaseanns la
ER COATES ae aerated 20a
Nees cs sca uniuhchonaanesipnencsanatexagneacscunses 45a
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

United States v. Bennett, 908 F.2d 189 (7th Cir.),
cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 534 (1990) ......0 2... 7

United States v. Bernier, 954 F.2d 818 (2d Cir.
Neen ne ee 65 cesdassnavanstnohbbahinwennnnn 7

United States v. Deal, 954 F.2d 262 (5th Cir.
1992), petition for cert. pending, No. 91-8199... —s_ ‘7,8
United States v. Foote, 898 F.2d 659 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 112 (1990) .....0..... 7
United States v. Jones, No. 91-1987 (8th Cir.

aE EET ES no 7
United States v. Nabors, 901 F.2d 1351 (6th

Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 192 (1990) _........ te 7
United States Vv. Rawlings, 821 F.2d 1543 (11th

Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 979 (1987) ........... 7
United States v. Raynor, 939 F.2d 191 (4th Cir.

et Ea 7

Statutes:
Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-

690, § 6460(2) (A), 102 Stat. 4873 0... 2
Bp ares. ee) .............................- Ln, RE IE 4,5, 6,7
ioe ees ey Ca) .................................... lar RCN 2
18 U.S.C. 924(c) (1) (Supp. V 1987) —...... me 2
Teen oeccectuhadnsansossnes~sauaeinnvicesecs 4
i are OMY CE) ...................... LEEEE SER ee sO 3
Ne sc ccwancecsccnovsiuveedessnseene 3

Iu the Supreme Court of the linited States
OCTOBER ‘TERM, 1992

No.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
”.

ORESTES LUCIANO ABREU

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.

JAMES DAVID THORNBRUGH

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United
States, petitions for a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit in these cases.

OPINIONS BELOW
The en hanc opinion of the court of appeals (App.,
infra, la-19a) and the panel opinions disposing of
respondents’ other claims (App., ‘nfra, 20a-44a, 45a-
62a) are not yet reported.
(])

9

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the en bane court of appeals was
entered on April 13, 1992. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Section 924(c)(1) of Title 18 of the U.S.C. cur-
rently provides in relevant part: '

Whoever, during and in relation to any crime of
violence or drug trafficking crime * * *, uses or
carries a firearm, shall, in addition to the pun-
ishment provided for such crime of violence or
drug trafficking crime, be sentenced to imprison-
ment for five years * * *. In the case of his sec-
ond or subsequent conviction under this subsec-
tion, such person shall be sentenced to imprison-
ment for twenty years * * *. Notwithstanding
any other provision of law, the court shall not
place on probation or suspend the sentence of
any person convicted of a violation of this sub-
section, nor shall the term of imprisonment im-
posed under this subsection run concurrently
with any other term of imprisonment including
that imposed for the crime of violence or drug
trafficking crime in which the firearm was used
or carried,

1 Respondent Abreu committed the offenses at issue on
April 3, 1988. At that time, Section 924(c) (1) mandated a
sentence of ten years for any “second or subsequent convic-
tion.” See 18 U.S.C. 924(c) (1) (Supp. V 1987). The statute
was amended by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, Pub. L.
No. 100-690, § 6460(2) (A), 102 Stat. 4181, 4373 (Nov. 18,
1988), to require a mandatory sentence of 20 years in the
case of any second or subsequent conviction. See 18 U.S.C.
924(c)(1) (1988). Respondent Thornbrugh committed his
offenses in 1989 and was sentenced under the current version
of Section 924(c) (1). App., infra, 4a n.2.

3

STATEMENT

1. From approximately January 1987 to April
1988, respondent Abreu and co-defendant Juan Car-
los-Alvarez sold cocaine in Utah. In late 1987 or
early 1988, one of their customers gave Abreu a
Mini-14 semi-automatic rifle and a .38 caliber re-
volver as collateral for a credit purchase of cocaine.
The customer never redeemed the firearms, and
Abreu and Alvarez retained possession of the fire-
arms at the apartment they shared. 9 12 89 Tr. 75-
77, 85-86, 89-91, 152-53, 159-61; 9 13/89 Tr. 42-46,
60-62, 74-76.

In February 1988, a government informant made
several controlled purchases of cocaine from Alvarez.
Federal agents subsequently tried to use the inform-
ant to make a large-scale controlled purchase from
the defendants; that proved impossible, however, be-
cause Abreu refused to complete the transaction at
the informant’s apartment. 9/11, 89 7r. 6, 9, 12, 19-
20; 9 12/89 Tr. 99-100; $/13/89 Tr. 31.

Federal agents arrested Abreu and Alvarez in
April 1988. After obtaining a warrant, the agents
searched their apartment and seized approximately
two ounces of cocaine from the kitchen. They also
seized the rifle and the revolver from a closet in
Abreu’s bedroom. 9°11 89 Tr. 34-36, 40-42, 73, 76-
78; 9/12/89 Tr. 29-30; 9/13/89 Tr. 41, 54-56, 75.

At trial, the government proved that Abreu used
the two firearms in connection with two drug traf-
ficking offenses. Abreu was convicted of conspiracy
to possess and to distribute cocaine, in violation of 21
U.S.C. 846 (Count 1); possession of more than 509
grams of cocaine with intent to distribu’, in viola-
tion of 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1) (Count 2); use of the
semi-automatic rifle in connection with the substan-
tive drug offense charged in Count 2, in violation of

4

18 U.S.C. 924(c) (Count 3); use of the same rifle in
connection with the substantive drug offense charged
in Count 1, in violation of Section 924(c) (Count 4) ;
use of the .38 caliber revolver in connection with the
substantive drug offense charged in Count 2, in vio-
lation of Section 924(c} (Count 5); and use of the
38 caliber revolver in connection with the substan-
tive drug offense charged in Count 1, also in violation
of Section 924(c) (Count 6). See App., infra, 2a.

t sentencing, the district court ruled that Abreu’s
conviction on Count 3 merged with his conviction on
Count 4, and that his conviction on Count 5 merged
with his conviction on Count 6. See App., fra, 22a,
33a. Abreu was then sentenced to concurrent terms
of 200 months’ imprisonment on Counts 1 and 2; to
a consecutive five-year prison term on Count 5; and
to an enhanced consecutive ten-year prison term on
Count 6 as a “second or subsequent” conviction under
Section 924(c). App., infra, 22a.

2. James David Thornbrugh committed three bank
robberies in January and March 1989. Thornbrugh
was arrested after the third robbery and charged
with three counts of armed bank robbery, in violation
of 18 U.S.C. 2113 (Counts 1, 2, and 3), and three
counts of using a firearm in relation to a crime of
violence, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(¢c) (Counts 4,
5, and 6). Thornbrugh was convicted by a jury on
all six counts. App., infra, 46a.

At sentencing, the district court departed below
the range prescribed by the Sentencing Guidelines
and sentenced Thornbrugh to concurrent terms of
three months’ imprisonment on the bank robbery con-
victions. Pursuant to the enhanced penaity provi-
sions of Section 924(c), the district court sentenced
Thornbrugh to a consecutive five-year prison term on
Count 4. The court also imposed two additional, con-

5

secutive, 20-year prison terms on Counts 5 and 6 as
“second or subsequent” convictions under Section
924(c). App., infra, 49a.

3. Abreu and Thornbrugh challenged the en-
hanced sentences imposed on them under Séction 924
(c), and the Tenth Circuit chose to address the issue
en bane. App., infra, la-19a. The court of appeals
vacated Abreu’s and Thornbrugh’s sentence enhance-
ments for their ‘second or subsequent” Section 924
(c) convictions and remanded the cases for resen-
tencing. App., infra, 15a.

The en bane court found that the language of Sec-
tion 924(c)’s enhancement provision was ambiguous
in two respects. First, the court stated that while
the words “second” and “subsequent” could be read
to refer to multiple events occurring at the same
point in time, they also could be read, with equal
plausibility, to refer to two or more events occurring
sequentially. App., imfra, 5a. Second, the court
stated that the ambiguity was “heightened” because
the words “second or subsequent” were used to mod-
ify the word “conviction,” which was, in the absence
of a statutory definition, ‘““chameleon[-like|” in char-
acter. The term “conviction,” the court concluded,
could “refer either to the return of a jury verdict of
guilt or to the court’s entry of judgment on that
verdict.” /d. at 5a-7a. Therefore, it was ‘impos-
sib[le] [to] discern] ] the plain meaning of ‘second
or subsequent conviction’ from the language of the
statutory phrase” alone. /d. at Ta.

The court of appeals looked to the legislative his-
tory of Section 924(c) for guidance, but found the
history unilluminating. Faced with a perceived stat-
utory ambiguity, the court applied the rule of lenity
and resolved the ambiguity in favor of the respond-
ents. App., infra, 8a. The court examined various

Ss)

federal and state enhanced-penalty statutes and
found that those statutes required a final conviction
as a condition precedent to the imposition of en-
hanced penalties for second or subsequent convictions.
Id. at 10a-12a. The court declared that such enhanced
penalty regimes were set up in that manner to allow
unenhanced penalties to rehabilitate first-time con-
victs before increased penalties were imposed on re-
peat offenders. /d. at 12a-13a.

The court of appeals ‘“‘ffou]nd this logic persua-
sive” when interpreting Section 924(c) and held
that:

the words ‘second or subsequent’? mean events
that are chronologically sequential, and “‘convic-
tion” means judgment of conviction. Accord-
ingly, * * * a defendant may not receive an en-
hanced sentence under [S]lection 924(c) for a
second or subsequent conviction unless the ot-
fense underlying this conviction took place after
a judgment of conviction had been entered on
the prior offense.

App.. nv fra, 13a-l4a. Although it recognized that its
construction of the statute conflicted with the hold-
ings of six other courts of appeals, the en banc court
stated that its interpretation was “mandated by the
applicable rules of statutory construction, [wa]s
consistent with the other subsequent-offense statutes
enacted by Congress, and best effectuate[d] the pur-
poses underlying such [penalty] statutes generally.”
Id. at 14a.

Judge Brorby dissented, joined by Judges Tacha
and Baldock. The dissenters stated that in their view
the plain meaning of the statutory language dictated
the conclusion that ‘‘a second or subsequent convic-
tion charged in the same indictment as the first * * *

7

trigger[s] the enhancement provision of § 924(c).”
App., infra, 19a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

We submit that the court of appeals erred in hold-
ing that the sentence enhancement provision of 18
U.S.C. 924(c) applies only to “second or subsequent’”’
convictions that occur after a conviction has been
entered on a prior offense. The decision in this case
has created a conflict between the Tenth Circuit and
the seven other courts of appeals that have inter-
preted the “‘second or subsequent conviction” lan-
guage of 18 U.S.C. 924(c). See United States v.
Bernier, 954 F.2d 818, 820-821 (2d Cir. 1992);
United States vy. Deal, 954 F.2d 262, 263 (5th Cir.
1992), petition for cert. pending, No. 91-8199; United
States v. Raynor, 939 F.2d 191, 193-194 (4th Cir.
1991); United States v. Bennett, 908 F.2d 189, 194
(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 534 (1990) ; United
States vy. Nabors, 901 F.2d 1351, 1358-1359 (6th
Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 192 (1990); United
States y. Foote, 898 F.2d 659, 668 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 111 S. Ct. 112 (1990); United States vy.
Rawlings, 821 F.2d 1543, 1546 {11th Cir.), cert.
denied, 484 U.S. 979 (1987).°

The United States has acquiesced in the petition
for a writ of certiorari in Deal y. United States, No.
91-8199, to resolve the conflict created by the decision
in this ease. The issue in this case is identical to the
one presented in Deal. Accordingly, the petition

2 A panel of the Eighth Circuit recently suggested that that
court should reconsider en banc its holding in United States
Vv. Foote, supra, in light of the Tenth Circuit’s holding in this
case. See United States v. Jones, No. 91-1987 (8th Cir. June
9, 1992), slip op. 22.

8

should be held and disposed of in light of this Court’s
resolution of the petition in Deal.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be held
and disposed of in light of this Court’s resolution of

the petition for a writ of certiorari in Deal v. United
States, No. 91-8199.

Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

JULY 1992

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-4145
(D. Utah)
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE
v.

ORESTES LUCIANO ABREU, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

Nos. 89-5166 & 89-5173
(N.D. Okla. )
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE
v.

JAMES DAVID THORNBRUGH, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

OPINION ON REHEARING EN BANC
[Filed Apr. 13, 1992]

Before MCKAY, Chief Judge, HOLLOWAY, LOGAN,
SEYMOUR, MOORE, ANDERSON, TACHA, BAL-
DOCK, BRORBY, and EBEL, Circuit Judges.

(la)

2a

SEYMOUR, Circuit Judge.

The court, on its own motion, ordered rehearing
en banc in these two appeals to consider the interpre-
tation of the enhancement provision in 18 U.S.C.
$ 924(c)(1) (1988). The remaining issues raised
on appeal are decided separately in two panel opin-
ions filed simultaneously with this opinion. See
United States v. Abreu, F.2d (10th Cir.
No. 89-4146 filed April 13, 1992; United States v.
Thornbrugh, F.2d —— (10th Cir. Nos. &9-
5156, 89-5173, filed April 138, 1992).

I.

Orestes Abreu was charged in a second superseding
indictment with one count of conspiring to possess
cocaine with intent to distribute, one substantive
count of possessing cocaine with intent to distribute,
and four counts of using a firearm during and in
relation to a drug offense in violation of 18 U.S.C.
§ 924(c)(1).' Two of the section 924 charges per-
tained to the conspiracy count; one of those charges
alleged the use of a rifle, and one alleged the use of
a revolver. The remaining two section 924 charges
pertained to the count charging the substantive drug
offense, which was also alleged to be an overt act in
furtherance of the conspiracy. One of these section
924 charges alleged the use of the rifle during the
substantive offense, and the other alleged use of the
revolver. Abreu was convicted on all counts. In addi-
tion to the sentences imposed on the conspiracy and
drug charges, the trial court sentenced Abreu on two
of the section 924 charges. The court imposed a 60-

1 Abreu was also charged with failure to appear in viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. § 3146(a) (1) (1988). He pled guilty to
that charge and it is not at issue on appeal.

8a

month sentence on the count charging the use of a
revolver during the substantive drug offense, and an
enhanced sentence of 120 months on the charge alleg-
ing use of a rifle during the conspiracy offense, the
sentences to run consecutively to the drug charges
and to each other.

James Thornbrugh was charged in a six-count in-
dictment with three counts of bank robbery, occur-
ring on three different dates, and three section 924
counts, one pertaining to each of the alleged bank
robbery offenses. He was found guilty on all six
counts. In addition to giving Thornbrugh concurrent
sentences on the robbery offenses, the court imposed
a 60-month sentence on one section 924 count, and
enhanced 240-month sentences on each of the other
two, these sentences to run concurrently to the rob-
bery sentences and consecutively to each other.

Abreu and Thornbrugh both raise the propriety of
their enhanced sentences under section 924. That
section currently provides in pertinent part:

“Whoever, during and in relation to any
crime of violence or drug trafficking crime (in-
cluding a crime of violence or drug trafficking
crime which provides for an enhanced punish-
ment if committed by the use of a deadly or
dangerous weapon or device) for which he may
be prosecuted in a court of the United States,
uses or carries a firearm, shall, in addition to
the punishment for such crime of violence or
drug trafficking crime, be sentenced to imprison-
ment for five years, .... In the case of his
second or subsequent conviction under this sub-
section, such person shall be sentenced to im-
prisonment for twenty years... .”

4a

18 U.S.C. § 924(c) (1) (emphasis added).* Defend-
ants challenge the applicability of the sentence en-
hancement provision for a ‘‘second or subsequent con-
viction.” The government urges this court to hold
that the phrase “second or subsequent conviction”
includes one or two separate offenses charged in the
same indictment. For purposes of our en bane con-
sideration, we asked the parties to address whether
under 18 U.S.C. § 924(c) an enhanced sentence for
a “second or subsequent conviction” may be imposed:

(1) when a defendant is convicted of two or
more separate offenses charged in the same
indictment regardless of when the offenses
occurred ; or

(2) only when a defendant is convicted of an
offense that was committed in a subsequent
transaction distinet from the conduct con-
stituting the first section 924(c) offense,
without regard to when the first conviction
occurred; or

(3) only when a defendant is convicted of an
offense that was committed subsequent to
an earlier conviction under section 924(c).

2 Abreu committed the offenses at issue on April 3, 1988.
At that time, section 924(c)(1) provided for a mandatory
sentence of five years on a first offense, and a mandatory
sentence of ten years on a “second or subsequent conviction.”
See 18 U.S.C. § 924(c) (1) (Supp. V 1987). The statute was
amended by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, Pub. L. No.
100-690, § 6460(2) (A), 102 Stat. 4181, 4373 (Nov. 18, 1988),
to provide a mandatory sentence of twenty years in the case
of a second or subsequent conviction. See 18 U.S.C. § 924
(c) (1) (1988). Thornbrugh committed his offenses in 1989
and was sentenced under the current version.

va

IT.

In order to ascertain the meaning of section
924(c), we begin with the text of the statute itself.
“A fundamental canon of statutory construction is
that, unless otherwise defined, words will be inter-
preted as taking their ordinary, contemporary, com-
mon meaning.” Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S.
O7, 42 (1979). “Second” is defined as ‘next to the
first in place or time.” Webster’s Third New Inter-
national Dictionary, 2050 (1981). “Subsequent” is
defined as “following in time” or “following in order
of place.” Jd. at 2278. Black’s Law Dictionary, 1351
(6th Deluxe Ed. 1990), defines “second” as ‘sequence
in point or time.” “Subsequent” is defined as “[f]ol-
lowing time; coming or being later than something
else; succeeding.” Jd. at 1427. Thus, while the words
“second” and “subsequent” can be arguably read to
refer to multiple events occurring at the same point
in time, both words can equally plausibly be read as
referring to two or more than two events that occur
sequentially in time.

The textual ambiguity arising from the use of the
words “second or subsequent” is heightened by the
fact that these words modify “conviction,” a term
not defined in the statute itself and which one court
has described as “a chameleon.” Harmon v. Team-
sters Local Union 371, 832 F.2d 976, 978 (7th Cir.
1987). The Supreme Court has noted that “the terms
‘convicted’ or ‘conviction’ do not have the same mean-
ing in every federal statute,” Dickerson v. New Ban-
ner Inst., Inc., 460 U.S. 103, 112 n.6 (1983), rather,
the terms “vary from statute to statute,” id. at 113
n.7.* Indeed, this court has held that a conviction

’ The Court in Dickerson addressed the meaning of the
term “convicted” in the Gun Control Act of 1968, 18 U.S.C.

ba

occurs upon entry of a guilty plea for purposes of
28 C.F.R. § 2.52(c) (2), which requires the Parole
Commission to order forfeiture of street time if a
parolee is “convicted” of a new offense punishable
by imprisonment. See DeCuir v. United States Parole
Comm'n, 800 F.2d 1021, 1023 (10th Cir. 1986).
There, however, the regulation also stated that ‘“[a]n
actual term of confinement or imprisonment need not
have been imposed for such conviction.” 28 C.F.R.
2.52(c)(2). On the other hand, we have also held
that a conviction for purposes of adjudging a defend-
ant as a juvenile delinquent occurs not upon ine plea
but upon the entry of judgment. See United States v.
Steven W., 850 F.2d 648, 649 (10th Cir. 1988) (citing
Lott «. United States, 367 U.S. 421, 426 (1961)
(“the plea itself does not constitute a conviction’) ),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1012 (1988).

In short, ‘second or subsequent”? can be read to
describe either multiple events occurring at one time

§§ 922(7) (1), (h) (1). At issue was whether a defendant
was “convicted” within the meaning of the statute when he
pled guilty to a state crime under a deferred sentencing pro-
cedure in which no judgment of conviction was entered.
The Court there held as a matter of federal law that a person
is convicted for purposes of the Gun Control Act upon a plea
of guilty. This decision is not helpful to the instant inquiry
for two reasons. First, the Court stressed that the Gun Con-
trol Act specifically applies not only to those convicted of a
state crime, but to those who have only been indicted. See
460 U.S. at 115-16. The Court viewed the inclusion of indicted
status as indicative of congressional intent that the term
“convicted” be construed broadly. Section 924(c) has no
comparable provision. Second, Congress has effectively over-
ruled Dickerson in the Firearms Owners’ Protection Act, Pub.
L. No. 99-308, §§ 102(6), 104(b), 100 Stat. 449, 452, 459
(1986), which expressly adopts the particular state’s defini-
tion of conviction. See United States v. Pennon, 816 F.2d
527, 529 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 987 (1987).

Ta

or multiple events occurring in a chronological se-
quence. “Conviction” can refer either to the return
of a jury verdict of guilt or to the court’s entry of
judgment on that verdict. Accordingly, the text of
the statute does not compel the construction that a
second or subsequent conviction occurs when a de-
fendant is charged in one indictment with more than
One section 924(c) offense and a single judgment of
conviction is entered on that indictment. Given the
impossibility of discerning a plain meaning of “second
or subsequent conviction” from the language of the
statutory phrase, we conclude that the phrase is
ambiguous.

When the plain language of the statute does not
unambiguously reveal its meaning, we turn to the
legislative history. See Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S.
886, 896 (1984). The legislative history regarding
section 924(c) is sparse.

“[Section] 924(c) was offered as an amendment
on the House floor by Representative Poff, and
passed on the same day. Accordingly, the com-
mittee reports and congressional hearings to
which we normally turn for aid in these situa-
tions simply do not exist, and we are forced in
consequence to search for clues to congressional
intent in the sparse pages of floor debate that
make up the relevant legislative history.”

Busic v. United States, 446 U.S. 398, 405 (1980)
(citations omitted).

One of the few relevant statements made with re-
spect to the language in question is the following
observation by Representative Poff, one of section
924(c)’s sponsors. He stated that the intended effect
of the provision’s minimum mandatory penalty was

Sa

“to persuade the man who is tempted to commit
a Federal felony to leave his gun at home. Any
such person should understand that if he uses
his gun and is caught and convicted, he is going
to jail. He should further understand that if he
does so a second time, he is going to jail for
a longer time.”

114 Cong. Rec. 22231 (daily ed. July 19, 1968) (em-
phasis added). Representative Rogers echoed Poff’s
statement: “[A]ny person who commits a crime and
uses a gun will know that he cannot get out of serving
a penalty in jail. And if he does it a second time,
there will be a stronger penalty.” Jd. at 22237. As
With the statutory language itself, these isolated
statements could support either of two equally plausi-
ble meanings. In our judgment, however, the legis-
lators’ repeated reference to committing a_ section
924(c) crime ‘a second time’ does not compel a
particular interpretation of ‘second or subsequent
conviction.”

Thus, ‘“‘[n]Jeither the wording of the statute nor
its legislative history points clearly to either mean-
ing. In that circumstance, the Court applies a policy
of lenity and adopts the less harsh meaning.” Ladner
v. United States, 358 U.S. 169, 177 (1958): see also
Bifulco v. United States, 447 U.S. 381, 387 (1980) ;
United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 347-48 (1971);
United States v. Freisinger, 937 F.2d 383, 391 (8th
Cir. 1991) (construing ambiguous language in 924
(ce) (1) in defendant’s favor in different context);
United States v. Chalan, 812 F.2d 1302, 1317 (10th
Cir. 1987) (same). This principle is equally applica-
ble in construing sentencing provisions. See, e.g.,
Hughey v. United States, 110 S. Ct. 1979, 1985 (1990).

9a

Application of the rule of lenity is particularly
appropriate in this case. As we have pointed out,
“[s]econd and subsequent offense statutes are admit-
tedly harsh and must be strictly construed to avoid
and protect against unintended applications.” Rogers
v. United States, 325 F.2d 485, 487 (10th Cir. 1963),
reversed on other grounds and remanded for resen-
tencing, 378 U.S. 549 (1964); see also Gonzales v.
United States, 224 F.2d 431, 435 (1st Cir. 1955).

“While in common parlance a verdict of guilty
is said to be a conviction, it must be given its
strict legal meaning when a second offense is
made a distinct crime, carrying with it heavier
penalties. The authorities overwhelmingly estab-
lish, first, that in the legal sense a conviction is
a judgment on a plea or verdict of guilty; second,
a second offense, carrying with it a more severe
sentence, cannot be committed in law until there
has been a judgment on the first; third, the in-
dictment, charging the accused of being a second
offender, must set forth the fact of the prior con-
viction, as that is an element of the offense in
the sense that it aggravates the offense described
in the indictment, and authorizes the increased
punishment.”

Singer v. United States, 278 F. 415, 420 (3rd Cir.).
cert. denied, 258 U.S. 620 (1922). It is clear that,
as did the statute at issue in Singer, section 924(c)
creates distinct offenses rather than being merely a
sentencing enhancement provision. See Simpson v.
United States, 435 U.S. 6, 10 (1978); United States
v. Adams, 771 F.2d 783, 787 (3d Cir.) (construing
Special Dangerous Offender Act and distinguishing
Singer as concerning statute creating second distinct
offense), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1013 (1985). Thus,

10a

the same principles of lenity and strict construction
apply here that were applicable in Singer. We are
not at iiberty to interpret section 924(c) “so as to
increase the penalty that it places on an individual
when such an interpretation can be based on no more
than a guess as to what Congress intended.” Ladner,
358 U.S. at 178.

Although we have focused only on the statutory
language and its legislative history thus far in our
attempt to ascertain congressional intent, the Su-
preme Court has indicated that reference to other
statutes may be appropriate as well. See, e.g., United
States v. American Trucking Ass’ns, 310 U.S. 534,
543-44 (1940). In American Trucking, the Court
interpreted the Motor Carrier Act of 1935 in light
of the Hours of Service Act, the Motor Vehicle Act,
the laws governing the Civil] Aeronautics Authority,
and the subsequently enacted Fair Labor Standards
Act. Significantly, the Court in American Trucking
was “especially hesitant” to interpret the clause in
question in a way that would deviate from the mean-
ing of other related statutes because it was adopted
as a floor amendment. See 310 U.S. at 546-47. In
Dickerson, the Court likewise turned to related fed-
eral statutes and their legislative history. See 460
U.S. at 117-18.

These authorities support an interpretation of
section 924(c) that is inforined by the numerous
statutes requiring the enhancement of a _ sentence
because of the commission of a subsequent offense.
Congress has enacted many statutes providing for
enhancement on the basis of the commission of a
second offense after a prior conviction. See, e.g., 18
U.S.C. § 3575(e) (1988) (special offender statute) ;
21 U.S.C. § 841(b) (1) (1988) (commission of drug
crime after prior drug convictions) ; 21 U.S.C. § 844
(a) (1988) (simple possession of drugs after two or

lla

more prior convictions) ; 21 U.S.C. § 845(a) (engag-
ing in continuing criminal enterprise after prior
conviction); 21 U.S.C. §$ 859(b) (1988) (distribut-
ing drugs to minor after prior conviction); 21
U.S.C. $ 860(b) (1988) (distributing or manufactur-
ing drugs near school after prior conviction); 21
U.S.C. £ 861(c) (1988) (employing minors to violate
drug laws after prior conviction). The government
has not pointed us to any federal enhancement statute
in which a prior conviction was not required.

Moreover, in 28 U.S.C. §$994(h), Congress ad-
dressed the promulgation of sentencing guidelines
applicable to defendants categorized as career offend-
ers. Such defendants were there defined as those
who, inter alia, had “previously been convicted of
two or more prior felonies.” Jd. § 994(h) (2). The
sentencing guideline implementing this directive,
section 4B1.2(3), states that “[t]he term ‘two prior
felony convictions’ means [that] the defendant com-
mitted the instant offense subsequent to sustaining
at least two felony convictions.” The guideline fur-
ther states that the “date that a defendant sustained
a conviction shall be the date the judgment of con-
viction was entered,” thus precluding a conviction
arising from the same indictment as the offense of
conviction to be counted as a ‘prior felony’ for pur-
poses of placing the defendant in the career offender
category. Id.

We find particularly significant the sentence en-
hancement statute pertaining to illegally importing
and exporting drugs, which doubles the otherwise
authorized punishment in the case of a “second or
subsequent offense.” See 21 U.S.C. § 962(a) (1988)
(emphasis added). Congress in that instance specifi-
cally stated that “[for purposes of this section, a
person shall be considered convicted of a second or
subsequent offense if, prior to the commission of such

12a

offense, one or more prior convictions of him under
[laws relating to drugs] have become final.” Z/d.
$ 962(b).

Finally, construing “second or subsequent convie-
tion”? to require that the offense underiying that con-
viction be committed after a defendant has received
a judgment of conviction on the prior offense imple-
ments the legislative ».urpose upon which all such
subsequent-offense statutes are grounded. These stat-
utes were the subject of early attacks on the basis
of double jeopardy. Defendants argued that the in-
creased severity of the sentence for the second offense
was in effect a second punishment for the first offense.
In rejecting this argument, the Supreme Court stated
that rather than punishing the defendant again for
the first offense, “the statute ‘imposes a higher punish-
ment for the same offense upon one who proves, by a
second or third conviction, that the former punish-
ment has been inefficacious in doing the work of
reform, for which it was designed.’” Moore v. Mis-
souri, 159 U.S. 673, 677 (1895) (emphasis added).
The purpose and construction of subsequent-offender
statutes was also considered at length in Gonzales,
224 F.2d 431. The court there considered whether a
prior conviction must occur before the commission of
the subsequent offense in the context of the particular
statute and facts before it. However, its discussion
of the purpose to be achieved by these types of stat-
utes generally, and the construction which this pur-
pose requires, is equally relevant here. The court
pointed to the Supreme Court’s language in Moore
that we have quoted above as recognizing that “the
reformation and retribution theories of punishment
[are] the primary reasons for imposing greater pen-
alties on the repeater.” Jd. at 433. The court rea-
soned that

13a

“if subsequent offender statutes are intended to
reform the offender and deprive him by reason
of his incarceration of the opportunity for con-
tinued criminal conduct, then such statutes would
seem to apply properly only to offenders convicted
prior to the subsequent offense, for the repetition
of criminal activity after conviction would show
the inadequacy of a first-offender penalty to per-
form this function and the need of increased
penalties.”

Id. (emphasis added).

We find this logic persuasive. A statute designed
to punish a second offender more severely when he
has not learned from the penalty imposed for his
prior offense should not be construed to apply before
that penalty has had the chance to have the desired
effect on the offender. We thus conclude that the
primary purpose of subsequent offense legislation
“would be served best by applying the statutes only
to those offenders who have been convicted prior to
the commission of the subsequent offense.” Jd. at 434.
Our conclusion is bolstered by the previously quoted
statements of Rep. Poff concerning the effect he in-
tended this provision to have. See supra at 9.

In sum, we conclude that section 924(c) must be
strictly construed. Moreover, because the text of the
statute and its legislative history reveal an ambiguity
concerning the construction Congress intended to give
the words “second or subsequent conviction,’”’ we must
apply the rule of lenity. Under this rule, the words
“second or subsequent”? mean events that are chrono-
logically sequential, and ‘“‘conviction” means judgment
of conviction. Accordingly, we hold that a defei.dant
may not receive an enhanced sentence under section
9241(c) for a second or subsequent conviction unless

14a

the offense underlying this conviction took place after
a judgment of conviction had been entered on the
prior offense. We believe this construction is man-
dated by the applicable rules of statutory construc-
tion, is consistent with the other subsequent-offense
statutes enacted by Congress, and best effectuates the
purpose underlying such statutes generally.

We recognize that our holding is in conflict with
United States v. Rawlings, 821 F.2d 1543 (11th Cir.),
cert. denied, 484 U.S. 979 (1987), and those circuits
that have followed the reasoning of that case. See
United States v. Raynor, 959 F.2d 191, 193-94 (4th
Cir, 1991) (agreeing with Rawlings and holding that
section 924(¢c) enhancement applies to defendant
charged with two counts in same indictment) ; United
States v. Nabors, 901 F.2d 1351, 1858-59 (6th Cir.)
(relying on “reasoning in Rawlings” to conclude that
two separate 924(c) offenses charged in same indict-
ment support enhanced sentences), cert. denied, 111
S. Ct. 192 (1990): United States v. Foote, 898 F.2d
659, 668 (Sth Cir.) (agreeing with holding and rea-
soning of Rawlings), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 112
(1990); United States v. Bennett, 908 F.2d 189, 194
(7th Cir.) (same), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 534
(1990): see also United States v. Bernier, 954 F.2d
818 1992 WL 8248 (2d Cir. Jan. 22, 1992) (per
curiam) (noting holding in Rawlings line of cases
and reaching same result). However, as discussed
above, we simply cannot agree with those courts that
the language and legislative history unambiguously
demand the harsh construction those courts impose.‘

4 The court in Rawlings observed that the habitual offender
statute, 18 U.S.C. § 3575, specifically defined a special offender
as one who has previously been convicted ... [and] “im-
prisoned prior to the [instant] felony.” Based on this ob-

15a

We find significant their failure to recognize that
section 924(c) must be construed strictly, and that
the section contains a patent ambiguity arising from
the undefined term “conviction.” It is clear to us
that at a minimum, a “second or subsequent convic-
tion,” strictly construed, requires more than one judg-
ment of conviction, thus precluding the result reached
in those cases.

Accordingly, we hold that Abreu and Thorr srugh
were improperly given enhanced sentences for second
oy subsequent convictions under section 924(c). Such
an enhanced sentence is only proper when the under-
lying offense has been committed after a judgment of
conviction on the prior section 924(c) offense. The
enhanced sentences under section 924(¢c) in both cases
are REVERSED and the cases are REMANDED for
resentencing. For a disposition of the remaining
arguments raised individually by each appellant, we
direct attention to the panel opinions in those cases.

servation, the Rawlings court concluded that where Congress
intended to provide for enhancement on the basis of previous
convictions, it did so explicitly. United States v. Rawlings,
821 F.2d at 1546. We do not find this argument persuasive
given that section 924(c) was a floor amendment offered and
passed on the same day.

We also disagree with the court’s statement in United
States v. Raynor, 939 F.2d at 194, that Congress’s failure to
specifically define “second or subsequent conviction” with
respect to section 924(c) requires us to construe that section
differently from the congressionally mandated construction
in 21 U.S.C. § 962(b), see supra at 13-14. An equally plausi-
ble argument can be made that by using the word “conviction”
in section 924(c), instead of the word ‘offense’ used in sec-
tion 962(a), Congress intended the same construction for
both provisions without the necessity of a definitional provi-
sion in section 924(c) comparable to that in section 962(b).

l6a

BRORBY, Circuit Judge, dissenting, joined by
TACHA and BALDOCK, Circuit Judges.

Certainly more futile exercises exist than dissent-
ine, but at the moment I can think of none. Never-
theless, the conclusion reached by the majority com-
pels my comment by way of dissent.

The two cases decided are legally identical. Each
defendant committed multiple offenses, Thornbrugh
having a propensity to commit bank robberies and
Abreu a propensity to commit drug offenses. Both
defendants utilized firearms in the perpetration of
their multiple crimes. Ultimately, each was appre-
hended, charged with the multiple offenses in a single
indictment and convicted of multiple felonies.

At sentencing, the district court applied 18 U.S.C.
$ 924(c), which reads: “In the case of his second or
subsequent conviction ... such person shall be sen-
tenced to... .” Thus, the district court enhanced
each defendant’s sentence for the second conviction
which the jury returned simultaneously with the first
conviction.

The sole issue to be decided is whether § 924(c)
mandates an enhanced sentence when a defendant is
convicted of two or more distinct $ 924(c) offenses
when the offenses are charged in the same indictment.

The majority rejected the analysis employed by all
six circuits that have previously considered the ques-
tion presented. Instead, the majority concluded the
statute was ambiguous, applied the rule of lenity, and
held the statute applies only when the commission
of a second offense is preceded by the entry of a
judgment of conviction. The majority has thus re-
written 18 U.S.C. § 924(c) to read:

Whoever, having been previously charged and
convicted under 924(¢) which conviction is evi-

a a ee

17a

denced by the entry of a judgment of conviction,
then commits another § 924(c) offense shall be
sentenced to... .

All six of the circuits that have previously con-
sidered this question have decided the statute is not
ambiguous and have held a second conviction charged
in the same indictment as the first triggers the en-
hancement provision of § 924(c).' The analysis em-
ployed by the Fourth Cireuit in United States v.
Raynor, 939 F.2d 191 (4th Cir. 1991), is illustrative.
The Raynor court said:

The plain meaning of the statute supports the
conclusion that a conviction on a second firearms
count, even though charged in the same indict-
ment as the first, gives rise to the enhanced
sentence. The statute directs enhancement for a
“second or subsequent conviction.” The second
conviction is the one that follows the first, either
in time or in a number sequence, and the subse-
quent conviction is any that follows the second,
either in time or in a number sequence. The en-
hancement that is mandated by the statute does
not depend on satisfying conditions that the sec-
ond or subsequent conviction be by reason of a
different indictment, or that the sentence be im-
posed on the first conviction before the enhance-
ment can apply to the second, or that the de-
fendant have served the sentence on the first. To
construe the statute with such conditions would
interject terms not included, and surely not in-
tended, by Congress.

I/,, at 193. I am persuaded by this reasoning.

1 The majority opinion cites to these decisions.

18a

Our six sister circuits have likewise delved into the
collateral issues including the legislative history, Con-
eressional intent, Sentencing Guidelines, rules of stat-
utory construction and analogous cases, and have come
to the opposite conclusion from that enunciated by
our majority. I embrace the reasoning and analysis
as set forth by our sister circuits. I can add nothing
to their analysis.

The majority’s application of the rule of lenity
deserves special comment. A statute is not deemed
ambiguous “for purposes of lenity merely because it
[is] possible to articulate a construction more narrow
than that urged by the Government.” Moskal v.
United States, USS. , 111 S. Ct. 461, 465
(1990). Instead, lenity is reserved ‘‘for those situa-
tions in which a reasonable doubt persists about a
statute’s intended scope.”’ Jd. The rule of lenity
applies only “ ‘at the end of the process of construing
what Congress has expressed, not at the beginning
as an overriding consideration of being lenient to
wrongdoers.’ ”” Chapman v. United States, US.
, 1118S. Ct. 1919, 1926 (1991) (quoting Callanan
vu. United States, #64 U.S. 587, 596 (1961), and
citing Moskal). The majority has, in effect, decided
that $ 924(c) is draconian and meant to apply only
to a recidivist. This reasoning has driven the major-
ity into the corral formed by Moskal and Chapman.

The fatal flaw in the majority’s analysis may best
be illustrated by a hypothetical factual scenario.
Suppose a defendant commits two separate and dis-
tinct $924(c) violations one year apart. Subse-
quently, he is apprehended and convicted of the first.
Under the majority’s helding, once the second crime
is solved and defendant is charged and convicted, his
sentence may not be enhanced because the commis-

19a

sion of the second crime occurred prior to his convic-
tion for the first. Even more extreme would be the
defendant who escapes during his trial and commits
a second § 924(c) offense prior to the entry of the
judgment of conviction. Neither could his sentence
for a second conviction be enhanced. But if the ma-
jority employed a plain language analysis to § 924
(c), sentence enhancement would apply under either
scenario.

Assuming, arguendo, the majority is correct in
concluding §$924(c) may be read in more than one
way, it is still impossible to reach the interpretation
they suggest. The only other logical way to read this
statute is that it requires the second or subsequent
conviction to be charged in an indictment separate
from the first. As the Fourth Circuit has aptly
pointed out, reading that requirement into § 924(c)
does nothing more than require prosecutors to go
through the additional ministerial task of charging
repeat offenders in separate indictments. See Raynor,
939 F.2d at 193. The only legitimate interpretation
remaining allows a second or subsequent conviction
charged in the same indictment as the first to trigger
the enhancement provisions of § 924(c).

'f you pump enough water into a dry creek it be-
comes a river. The majority has pumped sufficient
conditions into § 924(c) to transform it into a lenient
vehicle for wrongdoers to ride.

I would affirm the enhanced sentences given to
Mr. Abreu and Mr. Thornbrugh for their second and
subsequent convictions.

20a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-4145
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE
Vv),

ORESTES LUCIANO ABREU, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Utah

(D.C. No. 88-CR-060S )

[Filed Apr. 13, 1992]

sefore SEYMOUR and EBEL, Circuit Judges, and
BROWN,* District Judge.

E BEL, Circuit Judge.

* Honorable Wesley E. Brown, Senior District Judge for
the District of Kansas, sitting by designation.

2la

Appellant Orestes Luciano Abreu appeals his con-
viction and sentencing for various drug trafficking
and weapons offenses. He raises eleven issues on
appeal. We affirm the district court on all issues ex-
cept for appellant’s enhanced sentence for a second or
subsequent conviction under section 924(c)(1). As
to that sentence, we vacate and remand for resentenc-
ing pursuant to the en banc opinion in this case is-
sued concurrently with this panel decision.

Facts

Appellant Orestes Luciano Abreu ' was arrested in
Salt Lake City along with his “nephew” and _ co-
defendant, Juan Carlos Alvarez, who allegedly served
as Abreu’s interpreter and partner. The two had
been the targets of a long-standing undercover nar-
cotics investigation. Following the arrest, and under
the authority of a search warrant, government offi-
cials entered defendants’ Salt Lake City apartment
and uncovered approximately 641 grams of a white
powdery substance in a kitchen cabinet. The sub-
stance was subsequently tested and found to contain
cocaine. In addition to the white powder, officials
seized 9 scale, grinder, and plastic bags from under
the kitchen sink, along with a triple beam balance
scale commonly used by narcoties traffickers to weigh
their drugs. A search of Abreu’s bedroom uncovered
a semi-automatic rifle, a .38 caliber Colt revolver con-
taining three bullets, and ammunition for the rifle.

Abreu eventually was indicted for violations of 21
U.S.C. £846 (conspiracy to possess and distribute

1 Appellant’s Brief refers to appellant as Mr. Abrue. How-
ever, the notice of appeal, R. Vol. I, doc. 130, and all prior
documents refer to defendant as Mr. Abreu. For consistency’s
sake, we will refer to defendant as Mr. Abreu, though we are
mindful that the proper spelling may be A-B-R-U-E.

22a

cocaine), 21 U.S.C. $ &41(a)(1) and 1% U.S.C. £ 2
(possession with intent to distribute cocaine and aid-
ing and abetting therein), 21 U.S.C. § 46 (conspir-
acy), and four counts of 16% U.S.C. § 924(¢e) (1) Cuse
of a firearm during a drug trafficking crime). He
was subsequently charged with violating 1% U.S.C.
3146 for failing to appear after attempting to e
cape from a Mississippi halfway house before trial,
Abreu pled guilty to the last of these charges and wis
convicted on al! others following a jury trial. At the
trial, his former partner Alvarez testified for the gov-
ernment. The district court eventually sentenced
Abreu to a total of 380 months Incarceration: 200
months on the drug possession charge and 200 months
on the conspiracy charge, to run concurrently, plu
60 months for one gun charge and an enhanced 120
month sentence for the ‘second or subsequent’ gun
conviction, both to run consecutively following the
service of the first 200 months. In addition, Abreu
was sentenced to 1% months on the failure to appear
charge, to yun concurrently with the other sentences,
Abreu now appeals his conviction and sentencing and
raices eleven issues for our review. We consider each
in turn.

I. Does Appellants Conviction Under 21) USC.
S fae (a) (1) Viclate the Kighth Amendment?

Appellant maintains that the mandatory minimum
punishment preserihed by the Armed Career Crim
inal Act, 21 U.S.C. $8414) (1), violates his rights
under the Kighth and Fourteenth Amendments. Spe-
cifically, appellant contends that (1) the mandatory
minimum sentence deprived him of “individualized”
sentencing, and (2) the mandatory minimum sen-
tence Is so grossly disproportionate as to be eruel and
unusual under the test set forth in Solem v. Helm,

eee

234

463 U.S. 277 (1983). We find no merit to these
claims,

Since the filing of this appeal, the Supreme Court
handed down its opinion in Harmelin v. Michigan,
Ll} Ss. Ct. 2680 (1991), which upheld a mandatory
life imprisonment sentence without possibility of pa-
role for conviction of possession of more than 650
grams of cocaine. Although the Court was split in its
reasoning, it is clear from the various opinions gen-
erated in that case that mandatory sentences are per-
missible for non-capital punishment. Thus, Harmelin
discredits appellant’s argument that his mandatory
minimum sentence is unconstitutional because it de-
prives him of “individualized” sentencing.

Turning to appellant’s proportionality argument,
we likewise find no Kighth Amendment problem, Al-
though a majority of the Court in Harmelin held that
the constitution does impose a proportionality re-
quirement on non-capital sentences,’ considerable lati-
tude is to be given to the legislature or Congress in
setting sentences, The appellant is correct in assert-
ing that “[t]he Armed Career Criminal Act calls for

* Although the Harmelin Court upheld the sentence by a 5-4
vote, the majority was split on the appropriateness of the
“proportionality” principle in non-capital cases. Justice
Scalia, joined by Chief Justice Rehnquist, argued that “Solem
lv. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983)| was simply wrong: the
fighth Amendment contains no proportionality guarantee.”
Harmelin, 111 S. Ct. at 2686. Justice Kennedy, joined by
Justices O’Connor and Souter, concluded that the “Eighth
Amendment proportionality principle also applies to non-
capital sentences” but found that “our proportionality deci-
sions ... require us to uphold petitioner’s sentence.” Jd. at
2702. The dissenters argued that “the statutorily mandated
punishment at issue here... fails suster under Solem and,

consequently, under the Eighth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion.” Jd. at 2716.

24a

a mandatory minimum punishment which is greater
than the maximum term imposed on many persons
convicted of homicide,” Appellant’s Brief at 18.
However, the Supreme Court has upheld similarly
severe sentences for drug offenses. For example, in
Hutto v. Davis, 454 U.S. 370 (1982), the Supreme
Court rejected an Eighth Amendment challenge to a
prison term of 40 years and fine of $20,000 for pos-
session and distribution of approximately nine ounces
of marijuana. Similarly, in Harmelin, the Court up-
held a life sentence with no possibility of parole for a
defendant convicted of possession of slightly more
than 650 grams of cocaine.

In the case at hand, appellant was convicted for
possession of 641 grams of cocaine. Although appel-
lant contends that the mixture seized was of low con-
centration and virtually “unmarketable,” 21 U.S.C.
S$ 841 does not require any degree of drug purity for
a conviction. We think it is clear that the sentence at
issue here is constitutionally sound. Although the ten-
year minimum prescribed by § 841 is indeed a harsh
penalty, it hardly compares to a life sentence without
parole as Was at issue—and upheld—in Harmelin. We
therefore reject appeilant’s proportionality argument.

Il. Was There Sufficient Evidence to Support a
Finding of Possession Under 21 U.S.C. $841
(a)(1)?

Appellant contends that there was insufficient evi-
dence to support a finding of cocaine possession—one
of the elements of a $ 841(a)(1) charge. Accord-
ing to appellant, “[s]howing that one is present in the
proximity of a cache of drugs is not sufficient to
demonstrate constructive possession, nor is the fact
that the person accused habited the apartment where
the drugs were found sufficient to impute construc-

LESS ee.

25a

tive possession.” Appellant’s Brief at 20. We con-
clude that ‘constructive possession” is not an element
ofa § 841(a)(1) charge where, as here, appellant was
charged under the aiding and abetting statute, 18
U.S.C. § 2. We therefore reject appellant’s claim.
In this case, appellant was indicted and subsequently
convicted of
knowingly and intentionally . . . possess | ing ]
with intent to distribute in excess of | kilogram
of a mixture containing cocaine, a Schedule II
narcotic drug controlled substance, all in viola-
tion of Section 841(a)(i) of Title 21, United
States Code, and Section 2 of Title 18, United
States Code, with penalties as provided in Title
21, United States Code, Section 841(b) (1)(B).

Kt. Vol. I, Doe. 90 at 3 (emphasis added). According
to 18 U.S.C. $2, a defendant may be charged as a
principal in the commission of a substantive crim-
inal offense whenever he “aids, abets, counsels, com-
mands, induces or procures its commission... .” In
order to prove a crime of aiding and abetting, the
government must prove that the defendant associated
with the criminal venture, that he purposefully par-
ticipated in it, and that he sought by his action to
bring it about. United States v. Vaden, 912 F.2d 780,
185 (Sth Cir. 1990); United States v. Medina, 887
F.2d 528, 532 (5th Cir. 1989).

Here, there was sufficient evidence for the jury to
conclude that appellant aided and abetted Alvarez in
the commission of the 841(a) offense. As we noted
in United States v. Culpepper, 834 F.2d 879 (10th
Cir. 1987), “[e]vidence is considered sufficient to
support a criminal conviction if, when viewed in the
light most favorable to the government, a reasonable
jury could find the defendant guilty beyond a rea-

26a

sonable doubt.” Jd. at 881 (citation omitted). We
think it was perfectly reasonable for the jury to con-
clude that appellant associated with the criminal ven-
ture, that he purposefully participated in it, and
that he sought by his actions to bring it about.

In any event, we also conclude that there was suf-
ficient evidence to support a finding of constructive
possession on the part of appellant. As we noted in
Culpepper, knowing exercise of dominion and control
over the narcotics constitutes constructive possession,
and constructive possession may be joint among sev-
eral individuals. Jd. The fact that the cocaine was
found in appellant’s apartment, coupled with the testi-
mony of Alvarez and various law enforcement officers,
supports the conclusion that appellant constructively
possessed the cocaine. We therefore affirm the con-
viction for possession with intent to distribute cocaine.

Ill. Was There Sufficient Evidence To Support a
Conviction for Conspiracy?

Appeliant maintains that the prosecution must
show, “by a preponderance of the evidence, independ-
ent of the co-conspirator’s statement, that a conspir-
acy existed, and that the co-conspirator and the de-
fendant were members of the conspiracy.” Appel-
lant’s Reply Brief at 1 (emphasis in original).
According to appellant, the government relied en-
tirely on the statements of Alvarez—the alleged co-
conspirator—without offering any independent proof
of the conspiracy. Thus, appellant concludes that
Alvarez’ statements should have been excluded and
the conviction overturned.

We reject appellant’s argument. The cases cited by
appellant—for example, United States v. Silverman,
861 F.2d 571, 576-80 (9th Cir. 1988), and United
States v. Paris, 812 F.2d 471, 475-76 (9th Cir. 1987)

27a

—involved the admission of a co-conspirator’s out-
of court statements. In both Silverman and Paris,
the Ninth Circuit merely stated that a co-conspirator’s
out-of-court statements, standing alone, are insuffi-
cient to establish that defendant had knowledge of
and participated in a conspiracy. In this case, how-
ever, Alvarez testified directly and extensively at ap-
pellant’s trial as a government witness. Thus, he was
at all times available for cross-examination by ap-
pellant.

Moreover, to the extent that the government did
make use of some hearsay evidence—Captain Stuart
Smith testified about several telephone conversations
he and a government informant had with Alvarez—
appellant at no time objected to the evidence on hear-
say grounds. This being so, we may not reverse the
district court unless the admission of such evidence
was plain error. See Fed. R. Crim. P. 52(b). Since
the co-conspirator whose declarations are in question
was a government witness at trial, subject to full cross-
examination by appellant on all relevant issues—in-
cluding the comments referred to in Captain Stuart’s
testimony—we cannot say that the admission of such
hearsay testimony seriously affected the fairness, in-
tegrity, or public reputation of appellant’s judicial
proceedings.

Finally, after reviewing the record, we find that
there was indeed independent evidence to support
appellant’s conspiracy conviction. For example, we
refer to evidence of an intercepted mailing between
Harold Jackson, a known drug purchaser, and appel-
lant containing $14,000 in cash. R. Vol. VI at 8-12.
Although appellant offered an explanation for this
evidence, we cannot say that it was unreasonable for
the jury to conclude that appellant was a conspirator
in the effort to traffic drugs between Florida and Salt
Lake City.

28a

lV. Are Conspiracy ty Distribute Cocaine (21
UUS.C. $846) and Possession of Cocaine with
[utent to Distribute (21 U.S.C. S S41) “Druy
Trafficking Crimes” as Contemplated by 18
U.S.C. § 942(c)?

According to 18 U.S.C. § 924(c) (1), “[w]hoever,
during and in relation to any crime of violence or
drug trafficking crime... uses or carries a firearm,
shall, in addition to the punishment provided for such
crime of violence or drug trafficking crime, be sen-
tenced to imprisonment for five years .... In the
case of his second or subsequent conviction under this
subsection, such person shall be sentenced to imprison-
ment for ten years.” * Appellant maintains that nei-
ther of his drug charges was sufficient to trigger a
$924 weapons charge. This is a fanciful and incor-
rect interpretation of both the statute and Tenth
Circuit caselaw.

According to § 924(c) (2), as it existed at the time
of the offenses in question, a drug trafficking crime
means “any violation of Federal law involving the
distribution, manufacture, or importation of any con-
trolled substance (as defined in section 102 of the
Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802)).”* We
believe that both the possession and conspiracy
charges brought against defendant fit that definition
of “drug trafficking crime.” We note that such

“This section has since been amended, such that a second
or subsequent conviction under this subsection now carries a
twenty-year mandatory sentence.

‘This section has since been amended to define drug
trafficking crime as any “felony punishable under the Con-
trolled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. § 801 et seq.)....” The
Controlled Substances Act includes both §§ 841 and 846—the
two drug offenses brought against appellant here.

29a

charges have been used routinely as the basis for
$924(c) charges in the past. United States v.
McKinnell, 888 F.2d 669, 674 (10th Cir. 1989)
(‘Possession of a controlled substance with intent to
distribute ...is a valid predicate offense for section
924(c)(1)”); see United States v. Cardenas, $64
F.2d 152%, 1529 (10th Cir.) (section 846 and 841
(a) (1) convictions triggered §$ 924(c) conviction),
cert, denied, 491 U.S. 909 (1989). Since we are
aware of no cases to the contrary, and since appel-
lant’s position seems contrary to common sense and
common practice, we categorically reject appellants’
contention that ‘neither of [the] offenses is suffi-
ciently ‘involved’ with the dist[ribution], manufac-
ture, or importation of cocaine so as to bring them
within the definitional provisions of 18 U.S.C.
[$] 924(c)(2).” Appellant’s Brief at 22.

V. Was There Sufficient Evidence to Support Ap-
pellant’s Conviction for “Use” of a Firearm
During a Drug Trafficking Crime?

Appellant next contends that there was no evidence
to suggest that the firearms seized from his apart-
ment were “used” or “carried” during or in relation
to the alleged drug trafficking crimes, as required
under § 924(c). He argues that “[b]oth ‘uses’ and
‘carries’... are active verbs implying direct physical
action,” Appellant’s Brief at 26, and that mere pos-
session is insufficient to support a conviction under
the statute. He further argues that there was never
any evidence presented at trial as to who controlled
the guns—himself or Mr. Alvarez.

As noted above, appellate review of this issue re-
quires the court to consider, in the light most favorable
to the prosecution, all the evidence presented at trial
and any reasonable inferences drawn therefrom.

30a

United States v. Frank, 901 F.2d 846, 848 (10th Cir.
1990). Based on our thorough review of the record,
we think there was sufficient evidence to support the
convictions.

The Tenth Circuit, like most other circuits, has
recognized that

a defendant can “use” a firearm within the
meaning of $ 924(c) (1) without firing, brand-
ishing, or displaying it. ... [T]he “uses” ele-
ment of $ 924(c)(1) is met when the defendant
has “ready access” to the firearm and the fire-
arm “was an integral part of his criminal under-
taking and its availability increased the likeli-
hood that the criminal undertaking would suc-
ceed.”

Mckinnell, 888 F.2d at 674-75 (emphasis added)
(citations omitted). In this case, the firearms at issue
were found in appellant’s bedroom, in the same apart-
ment where over half a kilogram of cocaine mixture
was stored. Many circuits have held that this kind of
physical proximity, coupled with the understanding
that guns have become tools of the drug trade, is
enough to support a jury’s inference that the guns
played an integral role in appellant’s criminal enter-
prise. See United States v. Torres, 901 F.2d 205, 241-
46 (2d Cir.) (gun stored under mattress in a room
containing drugs could reasonably be considered an
integral part of defendant’s criminal undertaking
since it might have served to protect the cocaine and
cash stored in the apartment), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct.
273 (1990); United States v. Alvarado, 882 F.2d
645, 653-54 (2d Cir. 1989) (jury could reasonably
infer that guns locked in safe were there to protect
money and drugs in the event drug deal went sour,
thus implicating §924(c)(i)), cert. denied, 110

3la

S. Ct. 1114 (1990) ; United States v. Matra, 841 F.2d
837, 839, 841-43 (8th Cir. 1988) (not unreasonable
to infer that machine gun hidden under frame of
waterbed served to protect defendant’s cocaine and
cash and was therefore “used” in relation to drug
trafficking crime); United States v. LaGuardia, 774
F.2d 317, 319-20 (&th Cir. 1985) (evidence of
weapons found with cocaine and cash sufficient to
support jury finding of §924(c) violation, even
though some of the weapons were not in the actual
possession of the defendant).

In United States v. Martinez, 912 F.2d 419, 420
(10th Cir. 1990), this court upheld a § 924(c) (1)
conviction where the police “found an unloaded re-
volver, currency, and over $40,000 worth of cocaine
in a closed briefcase in” defendant’s room. The court
cited a string of cases from other circuits upholding
similar convictions. E.g., United States v. Munoz-
Fabela, 896 F.2d 908, 911 (5th Cir.) (“It is enough
that the firearm was present at the drug-trafficking
scene, that the weapon could have been used to protect
or facilitate the operation, and that the presence of
the weapon was in some way connected with drug
trafficking.”), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 76 (1990).

In this case, the presence of the weapons at the
scene was bolstered by testimony that appellant and
his ‘“‘partner” had been previously robbed of their
cocaine. That, plus the fact that the weapons were
displayed to at least one cocaine customer, supports
the inference that the guns were an integral part of
appellant’s criminal undertaking, used to protect both
money and drugs. Although there was testimony pre-
sented at trial for the proposition that the guns were
obtained from drug purchasers merely as collateral
for future payments, we cannot say that it was un-
reasonable for a jury to infer that appellant used the

32a

weapons to facilitate his drug trade. This is espe-
cially true in light of the fact that appellant retained
possession of the weapons for at least three months
and was carrying another weapon at the time of his
arrest. Appellant’s insistence that there was no evi-
dence presented at trial as to who controlled the guns
—both Mr. Alvarez and appellant lived in the same
apartment—is unpersuasive. Fingerprint evidence
established that appellant handled at least two of the
ammunition clips for the Mini-14 rifle. In addition,
Mr. Alvarez’ testimony gave the jury sufficient
grounds on which to base their conzlusion that appel-
lant did in fact control the weapons.

We therefore find that it was not unreasonable for
the jury to conclude, as it did, that appellant used the
weapons in the commission of a drug trafficking
offense.

VI. Was Appellant Improperly Sentenced on Mul-
tiple Convictions When They All Related to
a Single Criminal Episode?

Appellant was sentenced on four separate counts:
one count for possession with intent to distribute
cocaine and aiding and abetting therein; one count
for conspiracy to possess cocaine within intent to
distribute; and two counts for use of a firearm dur-
ing a drug trafficking crime. He now maintains that
it was error to charge and sentence him separately
when all counts arose out of the same criminal
episode. The government counters that possession
with intent to distribute and conspiracy to distribute
cocaine are separate crimes, each requiring an ele-
ment the other does not. The government further
argues that the separate gun convictions were proper
since each alleged a violation involving a single fire-

33a

arm used in relation to a single and separate drug
trafficking crime.

In United States v. Henning, 906 F.2d 1392, 1399
(10th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 789 (1991),
we held that ‘‘where a defendant has been convicted
of a single drug trafficking offense and more than
one firearm was involved, a single violation of § 924
(c)(1) occurs and multiple consecutive sentences
may not be stacked to account for each firearm
seized.”’ Obviously the district court was mindful of
Henning when it sentenced appellant on just two of
the four § 924(c)(1) convictions. However, in eval-
uating appellant’s sentence, we must now decide
whether two consecutive sentences under § 924(c)
may be applied where a defendant has been convicted
of two drug trafficking offenses which arise out of
the same criminal episode or operative facts and
where a different gun is paired with each drug
trafficking offense. Although several other circuits
have endorsed the assessment of multiple § 924(c)
penalties to separate underlying offenses charged in
the same indictment, none of these cases confronted
the specific facts facing us here. See United States
vu. Bennett, 908 F.2d 189, 194-95 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 111 S. Ct. 534 (1990); United States v.
Foote, 898 F.2d 059, 668-69 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,
111 S. Ct. 112, cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 342 (1990);
United States v. Rawlings, 821 F.2d 1543, 1545-46
(11th Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 979 (1987).
Rather, each involved several “distinct”? transactions,
“oecurr[ing] on... different dates and... requir-
[ing] proof of different sets of facts.” Bennett, 908
F.2d at 194. In resolving this case of first impres-
sion, we look for guidance to our own case of United
States v. Chalan, 812 F.2d 1302, 1315-17 (10th Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 983 (1988), in which

34a

we held that multiple firearms counts are proper if
the underlying multiple offenses do not constitute a
single offense for double jeopardy purposes.

In Chalan, defendant was convicted of felony mur-
der while committing a robbery. He was also con-
victed of robbery and two counts of 924(c) (use of a
firearm in the commission a crime of violence). Al-
though sentenced concurrently on the murder and
robbery charges, defendant was sentenced to consecu-
tive sentences for the weapons charges. Defendant
appealed his weapons sentences, contending that the
crimes underlying the 924(c) convictions were really
one offense. We agreed and held that “fulnder the
Blockburger [v. United States, 284 U.S. 299 (1932),]
analysis, the underlying crimes in this case constitute
a single offense for double jeopardy purposes, and a
single ‘crime of violence’ within the meaning of sec-
tion 924(c).” Chalan, 812 F.2d at 1317. |

Like the defendant in Chalon, the appellant here
asserts that the crimes underlying his two $ 924(c)
sentences were in fact a “single criminal transaction.”
Id. In order to evaluate this assertion, we must apply
the test set forth by the Supreme Court in Bloc/:-
burger. According to Blockburger, ‘“‘the test to be ap-
plied to determine whether there are two offenses or
only one, is whether each provision requires proof of
a fact which the other does not.” Blockburger, 284
U.S. at 304. Unlike the robbery and felony-murder
charges at issue in Chalan, we think that the offenses
charged here do in fact constitute separate offenses.
As the Ninth Circuit and others have noted,

[a]s a general rule, a substantive charge, and
conspiracy charge based on the _ substantive
charge, pass muster under the Blockburger test
and retain their separateness. The reason for

35a

this is because a requirement for a conspiracy
conviction is proof of an agreement which is not
necessary to prove an underlying substantive
count. And, conviction on the substantive count
will require the consummation of the crime,
which, of course, is not essential for completing
the crime of conspiracy.

United States v. Wylie, 625 F.2d 1371, 1381 (9th
Cir. 1980) (citations omitted), cert. denied, 449 U.S.
1080 (1981). The Wylie court concluded that “Con-
gress did intend to allow the courts to impose consecu-
tive sentences for conspiracy (21 U.S.C. § 846), and
for substantive offenses (21 U.S.C. § 841(a)(1)),
even when the proof necessary to obtain a conviction
for the former was necessary to obtain a conviction
for the latter offense.” Jd. at 1382 (footnote omitted).
The Tenth Circuit followed the Wylie court in United
States v. Espinosa, 771 F.2d 1382, 1402-03 n.27 (10th
Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1023 (1985), concluding
that “[t]he district judge here could have sentenced
defendants to consecutive sentences [on § 841 and
§ 846 charges].”

The fact that appellant’s possession conviction was
based on the aiding and abetting statute does not alter
this calculus. Several circuits have held that con-
spiracy to commit a crime with another is a separate
and distinct offense from that of aiding and abetting
and involves the additional element of preconcert and
connivance not necessarily inherent in the mere joint
activity common to aiding and abetting. United
States v. Goff, 847 F.2d 149, 175 (5th Cir.) (“It is
well established that conspiracy to commit a crime
and the crime itself are separate punishable offenses.
It is also well established that conspiracy and aiding
and abetting are separate punishable offenses.”’)
(citations omitted), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 932

36a

(1988); United States v. Peterson, 524 F.2d 167, 174
(4th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 925, cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 1088 (1976); United States vt.
Cowart, 595 F.2d 1023, 1029-30 (Sth Cir. 1979);
United States v. Krogstad, 576 F.2d 22, 29 (3rd Civ.
1978); United States v. Townes, 512 F.2d 1057, 1058
(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 846 (1975). The
Tenth Circuit reached this very result in United
States v. Jackson, 482 F.2d 1167, 1176 (10th Cir.
1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1159 (1974):

The law is well settled that commission of a sub-
stantive offense and a conspiracy to commit it
are separate crimes. The substantive offense of
illegally importing heroin into the United States
requires no more than one person for its commis-
sion. Similarly, aiding and abetting does not re-
quire an agreement .... The essence of a con-
spiracy charge is an agreement to commit an
offense against the United States. Whether [de-
fendants] were convicted as principals or for
aiding and abetting, it is clear their conviction
does not rest on the agreement. Thus the of-
fenses in Count One [illegal importation of
heroin or aiding and abetting therein] require
proof not essential to the conspiracy conviction.

[citations omitted ]

Based on these holdings, we conclude that the con-
spiracy and possession charges were separate offenses,
and therefore separate “drug trafficking crimes”
within the meaning of § 924(c). Since section 924(c)
imposes additional sentences for “crimes” which have
been committed with a weapon, and since the drug
trafficking crime statutes referenced in section 924(c)
(2) acknowledge the possibility that the same act or
transaction may result in the violation of two or more
distinct statutory provisions, we think it was appro-

37a

priate for the district court to sentence appellant on
two separate § 924(c) charges. Such a result is con-
sistent with Blockburger, Espinosa, and Chalan.

VII. Does Appellant’s Sentence Violate the Eighth
Amendment?

Appellant maintains that the vast disparity be-
tween his sentence and that of his co-defendant, Mr.
Alvarez, constituted an Eighth Amendment viola-
tion. Appellant received a sentence of 380 months
imprisonment; * Alvarez received only 60 months. As
authority for this argument, appellant cites a Ne-
braska Supreme Court case (State v. Garcia, 345
N.W.2d 826 (Neb. 1984)). Appellant’s Brief at 40.

As we noted in United States v. Sardin, 921 F.2d
1064, 1067 (10th Cir. 1990),

The sentencing guidelines incorporate the prin-
ciples of equality and proportionality. Their
purpose is to narrow the “disparity in sentences
imposed ... for similar criminal conduct by simi-
lar offenders.” Guidelines Ch. 1, Pt. A.3. The
guidelines mandate the sentencing court to con-
sider “the need to avoid unwarranted sentence
disparities among defendants with similar rec-
ords who have been found guilty of similar con-
duct.” 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a) (6). We have spe-
cifically recognized and endorsed this principle.
United States v. Jackson, 921 F.2d 985, 987-989

> We note that as a result of our en banc decision in this
case, see United States v. Abreu, F.2d (10th Cir.
Nos. 89-4145, 89-5166, 89-5337, filed April 13, 1992) (en
banc), appellant’s sentence on Count IV for 120 months
(based on section 924(c)) is being vacated and his case is
remanded for resentencing on that count to the unenhanced
sentence of 60 months (five years).

oo

38a

(10th Cir. 1990) (en bane); see also United
States v. White, 893 F.2d 276, 278 (10th Cir.
1900)...

However, “[w]hile similar offenders engaged in simi-
lar conduct should be sentenced equivalently, dispar-
ate sentences are allowed where the disparity is ex-
plicable by the facts on the record.” United States v.
Goddard, 929 F.2d 546, 550 (10th Cir. 1991) (em-
phasis added) (citations omitted). In this case, ap-
pellant has failed to designate a record which would
enable us to evaluate the appropriateness of his sen-
tence. Specifically, we are unable to review the pre-
sentence report or any testimony made at the sen-
tencing hearing. Moreover, we have virtually no in-
formation regarding the sentencing of Mr. Alvarez;
we do not know the full charges contained in his in-
dictment nor his criminal history nor the sentencing
court’s assessment of his cooperation and or accept-
ance of responsibility.” That being so, we cannot say
that appellant’s sentence was unjustified. See United
States v. Jimenez, 928 F.2d 356, 364 (10th Cir.),
cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 164 (1991). Given appellant’s
failure to specify the source of the disparity and the
details of the record, we affirm the sentence imposed
by the district court.

* Alvarez’ testimony at trial indicates that he pled guilty to
charges of conspiracy and distribution of one-half ounce of
cocaine. The government moved to dismiss all other charges
and agreed to inform the sentencing court of the ful! extent
and value of Alvarez’ cooperation with the United States. No
more information could be gleaned from the record. R. Vol.
III at 48-49.

39a

VIII. Did the Trial Court Properly Impose an
Enhanced Ten Year Sentence for One of
Appellant’s Convictions Under 18 U.S.C.
§ 924(¢e) as a “Second or Subsequent Con-
viction” 2

Appellant contends that the district court erred in
imposing an enhanced ten-year sentence for appel-
lant’s gun conviction on Count IV pursuant to the
second sentence of section 924(c)(1). We agree.

Our en hane decision in this ease, handed down
concurrently with this panel decision, holds that “a de-
fendant may not receive an enhanced sentence under
924(c) for a second or subsequent conviction unless
the offense underlying this conviction took place after
a judgement of conviction had been entered on the prior
offense.” United States v. Abreu, F.2d
(10th Cir. Nos. 89-4145, 89-5166, 89-5773, filed April
15, 1992) (en banc). Because that was not the case
here, we concluded that “Abreu... [was] improperly
viven fan] enhanced sentence [|] for [a] sentence or
subsequent [sic] conviction[] under section 924(c)”
Id. We therefore reversed appellant’s enhanced sen-
tence of ten years under Count IV and remanded for
resentencing. On resentencing, the court should im-
pose only a five-year on Count IV as is provided in
the first sentence of section 924(c) (1).

IX. Should the Trial Court Have Suppressed Fvi-
dence of a 9 MM Handgun Found in Defend-
ant’s Automobile at the Time of His Arrest?

Appellant challenges the admission of evidence
showine that he was in possession of a loaded pistol
when arrested. The handgun was uncovered immedi-
ately after defendant had left his apartment where
the cocaine and other firearms were later found by

40a

agents executing a search warrant. After a bench
conference outside of the presence of the jury, the trial
court found that the evidence was probative as to de-
fendant’s intent, knowledge, and use of the weapons
found in his bedroom. Finding that the “probative
value of the evidence outweigh[ed] the prejudiciai
effect,” R. Vol. II at 69-71, the trial court allowed
the evidence. In evaluating the trial court’s admis-
sion of evidence, we are bound to uphold the trial
court unless we find an abuse of discretion. See United
States v. Keys, 899 F.2d 983, 987 (10th Cir.) (de-
cision whether to exclude evidence as being unfairly
prejudicial is one for which trial judge is particularly
well-suited), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 160 (1990). The
trial court is given broad discretion in determining
whether evidence is relevant and whether the proba-
tive value of the evidence outweighs any unfair preju-
dice to the defendant. We find no abuse of discretion
here.

Although appellant contends that there was “never
any showing that the[re] was any connection between
the 9 mm. handgun and the drug trafficking charges,”
Appellant’s Brief at 45, we believe that the handgun
was indeed relevant to defendant’s “possession,
knowledge and ownership of the firearms found in
the bedroom in the apartment.” R. Vol. II at 70.
Faced with almost identical circumstances in United
States v. Sullivan, 919 F.2d 1403 (10th Cir. 1990),
this court agreed with several other circuits that “‘fire-
arms are generally admissible in a drug conspiracy
trial because thev are ‘tools of the trade’ for those
engaged in illegal drug activity.” Jd. at 1420 (cita-
tions omitted). Although we noted that such a broad
proposition must not “substitute for a more detailed
case-hy-case analysis under Federal Rules of Evi-

4la

dence 401 and 403,” id., we were persuaded that the
admission of the weapons was proper. We reach the
same conclusion here.

In this case, we think the handgun may indeed have
been relevant to determining whether the guns seized
in the bedroom were merely collateral or protection
for appellant’s drug trade. Although we agree with
appellant that such evidence may have carried the po-
tential for jury prejudice, we cannot say that it was
error for the district court to conclude that “the pro-
bative value of the evidence outweighs the prejudicial
effect ....” R. Vol. II at 71. Moreover, we note that
the prejudicial effect of such evidence might have been
further minimized by a jury instruction limiting the
use of the handgun. However, appellant never re-
quested such an instruction, either at the time the evi-
dence was admitted or at the conclusion of the case.
He has accordingly waived this aspect of the issue.
Since we cannot say that it was an abuse of discre-
tion for the trial court to allow evidence and testmiony
of the 9 mm. handgun, we affirm the trial court.

X. Should the Trial Court Have Suppressed Evi-
dence and Testimony Concerning Appellant’s
Subsequent Mississippi Convictions?

Appellant maintains that the trial court erred by
allowing testimony regarding appellant’s subsequent
possession of a controlled substance in Mississippi. He
asserts that the effect of such evidence was to preju-
dice and to inflame the jury against him. We once
again review the district court’s admission of evidence
under the abuse of discretion standard.

tule 404(b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence al-
lows for the admission of evidence of ‘other crimes,
motive, intent, preparation, plan, or identity. Rule

42a

404(b) does not specifically exclude acts subsequent to
the incident or incidents giving rise to the charyes in
the indictment. United States v. Hogue, 827 F.2d
660, 663 (10th Cir. 1987). In fact, we have allowed
evidence of subsequent crimes where it is similar
to the crime charged or possesses some “signature
quality.” United States ». Gutierrez, 696 F.2d 753,
755 (10th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 461 U.S. 909,
cert. denied, 461 U.S. 910 (1983). In this case, the
government sought to introduce testimony revarding
:.ppellant’s possession of cocaine in Mississippi. The
government argued that such evidence was “sig-
nificant because it shows not only was the defendant in
possession of a large quantity of cocaine within [the]
last two months after he escaped from this jurisdic-
tion but that he was doing so in association and in con-
junction with a fellow family member of a much
younger age than himself... in the same manner that
he enlisted Mr. Alvarez.” R. Vol. III at 162-63. The
government asserted that the Mississippi cocaine pos-
session was relevant to “show the defendant’s plan,
opportunity, knowledge and intent in regard to the
eurrent charges.” Jd. at 163. The district court
agreed and held that “the evidence is relevant... and
the probative value outweighs the prejudicial value.”
Id. at 164. We cannot say that that ruling was an
abuse of discreticn. Moreover, we note that the gov-
ernment was careful to avoid any reference to appel-
lant’s conviction on the Mississippi charges. They
offered testimony only as to appellant’s possession and
“modus operandi” in Mississippi: it was the defense
which revealed to the jury the facts of appellant’s con-
viction. We therefore affirm the trial court’s eviden-
tiary ruling on this matter.

43a

XI. Did the Trial Court Properly Sentence Ap-
pellant Under the Sentencing Guidelines?

Appeliant finally charges that the district court
misapplied the federal sentencing guidelines in im-
posing his sentence. Specifically, appellant contends
that the district court erred in sentencing him for
bringing into Utah “in excess of five kilograms of
cocaine to sell or distribute.”” Appellant’s Brief at
53. He further contends that he was wrongly sen-
tenced as an “organizer and leader.” Jd. at 54. Lastly,
appellant asserts that the district court wrongly ap-
plied the sentencing guidelines criminal history cal-
culus. We find that the sentence imposed by the dis-
trict court was appropriate.

In the first place, we note that a sentencing court
may look beyond the charges alleged in the indict-
ment in imposing a sentencing. United States v.
Smith, 929 F.2d 1453, 1459 (10th Cir.) (“[Q]uan-
tities and types of drugs not specified in the charge
with which defendant stands convicted are to be in-
cluded in determining the base offense level ‘if they
were part of the same course of conduct or part of
a common scheme or plan as the count of convic-
tion.’”’) (citations omitted), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct.
146 (1991). In this case, the evidence presented at
trial adequately supported the trial court’s finding
that appellant had brought more ‘ian five kilograms
of cocaine into Utah as part of the overall conspiracy.
See fh. Vol. [V at 68, Testimony of Alvarez. The evi-
dence of appellant’s role as an organizer and leader
was also sufficiently established at trial. See R. Vol.
IV at 52-56; R. Vol. III at 125-26. Appellant’s final
assertion, that it was error for the court to consider
his Mississippi conviction in determining his criminal
history level since that conviction occurred after the

44a

commission of Utah crimes, is incorrect as a matter of
law. In fact, the Tenth Circuit considered this very
issue in United States v. Fortenbury, 917 F.2d 477,
179 (10th Cir. 1990), and concluded that subsequent
criminal conduct occurring before sentencing for an
earlier offense is a permissible basis for departing up-
ward by criminal history category. Moreover, be-
cause appellant failed to designate the record on sen-
tencing, we cannot evaluate the district court’s con-
sideration of criminal history in any further detail.
We therefore affirm the district court’s sentence as to
these particular issues.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons given in this panel decision and in
the en bane decision in this case issued concurrently
herewith, we AFFIRM the district court in all par-
ticulars except as to appellant’s consecutive sentence
of 120 months on Count IV. As to that particular
sentence, we REVERSE and REMAND for resen-
tencing in accordance with our decisions.

BROWN, District Judge, dissenting:

For the reasons set for in the dissent in the en banc
decision in United States v. Abreu and United States
v. Thoribrugh (Nos. 89-4145, and 89-5166, 89-5173),
F.2d , I must respectfully dissent.

45a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 89-5166
89-5173

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE, CROSS-APPELLANTS

Vv.

JAMES DAVID THORNBRUGH,
DEFENDANT-APPELLANT, CROSS-APPELLEE

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Oklahoma

(D.C. No. 89-CR-67-B )

[Filed Apr. 13, 1992]

Before HOLLOWAY, BRIGHT,* and SEYMOUR,
Circuit Judges.

* Honorable Myron H. Bright, United States Circuit Judge
for the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

46a

SEYMOUR, Circuit Judge.

James David Thornbrugh was convicted of three
counts of armed bank robbery in violation of 18
U.S.C. $$ 21138(a) & (d) (1988), and three related
counts of possession of firearms during the commis-
sion of a crime of violence under 18 U.S.C. § 924
(c)(1) (1988). On appeal, Thornbrugh raises sev-
eral challenges to his conviction and also contends
that his sentence was improperly enhanced under sec-
tion 924(c). The court on its own motion ordered
rehearing en bane in this case and in United States
v. Abreu, No. 89-4145, limited to consideration of the
proper interpretation of the enhancement prevision
in section 924(c)(1). Accordingly, Thornbrugh’s
sentencing argument is addressed in the en banc opin-
ion of this court, filed simultaneously with this opin-
ion. See United States v. Abreu, F.2d
(10th Cir. Nos. 89-4145, 89-5166, 89-5173, filed
April 13, 1992). Here we resolve the remaining is-
sues Thornbrugh raises with respect to his conviction.
He claims that: (1) the prosecutor’s remarks during
closing arguments violated his due process rights;
(2) newly discovered evidence merits a new trial;
(3) the government wrongly withheld exculpatory
evidence; (4) the prosecution improperly alluded to
his prior bank robbery convictions; and (5) the cu-
mulative errors at trial require reversal. We con-
clude that these assertions do not require reversal of
his conviction.

L.
FACTS

Thornbrugh was indicted on three counts of armed
bank robbery and three related gun charges. The in-
dictment filed against him specifically charged the

47a

robberies of Local American Savings & Loan on Jan-
uary 6, 1989, of Continental Federal Savings & Loan
Association on January 24, 1989, and of Village
South National Bank on March 11, 1989. He was
also charged with three counts of carrying a firearm
in relation to a crime of violence, referring to the
three robberies charged in the first part of the indict-
ment.

The government’s key witness at trial was Thorn-
brugh’s accomplice, Gary Sewell, who had pled guilty
to two of the three bank robberies. Sewell testified
that in each robbery he stood by the door as Thorn-
brugh jumped over the teller counter and emptied
the bank’s registers. Sewell also testified that in each
robbery Thornbrugh selected the bank to rob, supplied
the guns (a .357 Wesson and a .380 Browning), and
shouted orders for everyone to get on the floor. Sewell
said that during each robbery he and Thornbrugh
wore gloves and masks made from stockings.

Proof at trial revealed the following chronology
with respect to the crimes. On January 6, 1989,
Sewell and Thornbrugh traveled to Local American
Savings & Loan in Thornbrugh’s Chevrolet pickup
and parked it two to three blocks away. After rob-
bing the bank in less than three minutes, they ran
behind a shopping center, climbed over a fence, and
ran past a mail carrier. Upon arriving at Thorn-
brugh’s pickup, they drove away followed by the mail
carrier, at whom Thornbrugh pointed a gun.

On January 21, 1989, Sewell and Thornbrugh
traveled to the Continental Federal Savings & Loan
in Sewell’s silver Camaro. As before, they were in
the bank for under three minutes. They left in the
Camaro, which Thornbrugh drove to his pickup in a
parking lot. He then left in his truck, taking the
money, guns, and masks. Meanwhile, Sewell drove

48a

the Camaro to the Falls Apartments, where he was
to meet Thornburgh to split money. A police officer
questioned Sewell at the apartments. Upon searching
the Camaro, the police officer found Thornbrugh’s
boots, belt, wallet, and driver’s license. Sewell was not
arrested at that time.

On March 11, 1989, Sewell and Thornbrugh robbed
the Village South National Bank. They drove to the
bank in a brown Ford Pinto Sewell bought to use in
the bank robbery, and robbed the bank following the
same plan as before. After the robbery, Thornbrugh
drove the Pinto to a Ford LTD which they had parked
in the general neighborhood of the bank. Special
Agent McDade, United States Secret Service, and
Larry Choate, president of Village South National
Bank, had pursued the robbers at a distance following
the robbery. Sewell put the money, guns, and masks
in the trunk of the LTD and dropped Thornbrugh off
at his pickup. Both McDade and Choate observed the
license tag on the back of the pickup truck which
Thornbrugh drove off. They recalled*the license tag
as Kansas number CU—-151. They chose to follow
Sewell, and he was subsequently arrested.

After Sewell’s arrest, several items were recovered
from the Ford LTD including a Browning .380 auto-
matic, a Don Wesson .357 revolver, two nylon stocking
masks, two pairs of brown gloves, one black and one
blue baseball cap, items of personal clothing, and
$1,647.00 in cash. On March 15, FBI Agent Jo
Deatherage was present at Thornbrugh’s home during
his arrest. She observed a Chevrolet pickup parked in
the driveway, with a Kansas license tag number, CUI-
151.

Several eyewitnesses to each of the robberies testi-
fied and offered descriptions of the robber who took

49a

the cash. Most of the eyewitnesses recalled that the
robber was approximately six-feet tall, although some
descriptions placed the robber between five-ten and
six-feet. Thornbrugh is about six-two. No eyewit-
ness except Sewell placed Thornbrugh at the scene of
any of the robberies. Thornbrugh offered several alibi
witnesses, including his father, co-workers, employer,
and his employer’s wife, all of whom confirmed
Thornbrugh’s alibis for each of the robberies.

Thornbrugh was convicted on all counts under 18
U.S.C. $$ 2113(a) & (d) and 924(c). On the three
robbery counts, the district court sentenced Thorn-
brugh as a career offender with a total offense level of
34 and a criminal history level of VI. The imprison-
ment range at that level is from 262 to 327 months.
With respect to the gun charges, the district court con-
strued section 924(c) to require mandatory sentences
of five years on the “first” count (count four), and en-
hanced sentences of twenty years for each “second or
subsequent conviction” under section 924(c) (counts
five and six). Thornbrugh therefore received an ad-
ditional forty-five years on the section 924(c) gun
charges. When added to the guideline range of 262
to 327 months, the additional forty-five years pro-
duced a possible sentence range of 802 to 867 months.
The court departed downward based on its conclusion
that the Sentencing Commission did not adequately
consider “the effect of the cumulative sentence of 45
years mandatory ... [as it] relates to the minimum
guideline range required on Counts 1, 2 and 3.” Rec.,
vol. XII, at 16. It therefore departed downward to a
total of 543 months imprisonment. 7d. at 16.’

1Jn the en banc opinion filed this day, we hold that the
court erred in construing section 924(c) to require enhance-
ment for second or subsequent convictions under the circum-

50a
I.

PROSECUTOR'S REMARKS DURING
CLOSING ARGUMENT

Thornbrugh contends that his right to a fair trial
was denied by the prosecution’s inappropriate com-
ments during closing arguments. Thornbrugh alleges
prosecutorial error in the following exchange:

“Mr. Lunn [defense counsel]: Well, what about
the problems with Sewell? There are plenty of
them. He changed his statements numerous times.
You've heard that he has made many deals dur-
ing the course of his life. It’s terrible to think
that a man with five felony convictions can
possibly—

Mr. Baker [prosecution]: If Your Honor
please, that is an absolute untruth. The man said
he had two felony convictions. This is misquot-
ing the record. I object to it.

Mr. Lunn: The man has—

Mr. Baker: Just a minute, please.

The Court: Ladies and gentlemen, you heard
the evidence on that subject. I’m [sic] leave it to
you to recall it. Proceed.

Mr. Lunn: The man has pled guilty three
times to bank robbery, and he has pled guilty
twice to burglary.

Mr. Baker: That again is untrue, Your Hon-
or, and I ask you again to admonish this man to
quit lying to the jury. He said he had been con-
victed twice. He pled guilty to two bank rob-

stances here. A remand for resentencing is therefore neces-
sary. Accordingly, we do not address the government’s cross-
appeal alleging error in the downward departure.

5la

beries and not three. That’s the record in the
case. Please admonish this man to stop lying.

The Court: You heard the evidence, ladies
and gentlemen. Proceed.”

Ree., vol. X at 696-697.

Defense counsel did not object to these comments
when they were made. We will therefore reverse only
for “plain error.” United States v. Young, 470 U.S.
1, 13-14 (1985); United States v. Lonedog, 929 F.2d
568, 570 (10th Cir. 1991). “Plain error is ‘funda-
mental error, something so basic, so prejudicial, so
lacking in its elements that justice cannot have been
done.’ /d. (quoting United States v. Henning, 906
F.2d 15392, 1397 (10th Cir. 1990) ).

Although attacks on defense counsel may consti-
tute prosecutorial misconduct warranting reversal,
the prosecutor’s comments here were responsive to
defense counsel’s statements. See Young, 470 U.S. at
12. As we have stated previously: “[T]he fact that
the prosecutor was responding to defense counsel’s
closing argument did not give him carte blanche to
make improper statements. But the fact that the
statement was part of a response and not part of a
general attack on defense counsel lessened its effect.”
United States v. Lowden, 900 F.2d 213, 216 (10th
Cir. 1990) (citation omitted). The substance of the
prosecutor’s objection expressed no opinion on the
question of Thornbrugh’s guilt. Compare United
States v. Rios, 611 F.2d 1335, 1343 (10th Cir. 1979)
(disapproving prosecutor’s expression of personal be-
lief in defendant’s guilt), cert. denied, 452 U.S. 918
(1981). Furthermore, the prosecutor’s statement
that the record reflected that Sewell had two prior
felony convictions, not five, had a factual basis. Com-
pare Rios, 611 F.2d at 1542-43 (unfounded remarks

52a

held prejudicial error) ; see also rec., vol. VIII, at 353
(evidence of Sewell’s convictions at trial). The likeli-
hood of prejudice was minimized by the district
court’s admonition to the jury prior to closing that
closing arguments are “not evidence in the case at
all.” Rec., vol. X, at 667; see United States v. Elizey,
936 F.2d 492, 498 (10th Cir. 1991) (residual prej-
udice arising from prosecutor’s comments in closing
eliminated by court’s limiting instruction). Under
these circumstances, we cannot find plain error.

The prosecutor also stated in his rebuttal remarks
during closing:

“Mr. Baker: While [defense counsel] was talk-
ing about this license tag that Agent McDade and
Jo Deatherage said they didn’t have any trouble
reading, I wonder why he didn’t explain to you
who tampered with evidence in a federal crimi-
nal case and mutilated this license tag. He
omitted somehow to teil you that, didn’t he?”

Rec., vol. X at 699. Mr. Lunn objected to this state-
ment, contending that “there has been no evidence of
[tampering] whatsoever.” /d. at 699-700. His ob-
jection was overruled. Jd. at 700.

Because this comment was the subject of an objec-
tion, we assess it under the harmless error standard.
See Lonedog, 929 F.2d at 572; see also United States
v. Alexander, 849 F.2d 1293, 1296 (10th Cir. 1988) ;
United States v. Tayler, 800 F.2d 1012, 1018 (10th
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 838 (1987).

“To determine whether defendants have been de-
prived of a fair trial, we must view the improper
remark in the context of the entire record before
the jury. We will not overturn the convictions
unless the prosecutor’s misconduct ‘was enough

58a

to influence the jury to render a conviction on
grounds beyond the admissible evidence pre-
sented.’ ”’

United States v. Espinosa, 771 F.2d 1882, 1401 (10th
Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1023 (1985) (citations
omitted). In evaluating whether a prosecutor’s com-
ment had an impermissible effect on the jury’s de-
liberations, we consider: ‘‘ ‘the curative acts of the
district court, the extent of the misconduct, and the
role of the misconduct within the case as a whole.’ ”’
Lonedog, 929 F.2d at 572 (quoting United States v.
Martinez-Nava, 838 F.2d 411, 416 (10th Cir. 1988) ).

We conclude there was no reversible error with
respect to the comments made during the prosecu-
tion’s rebuttal. Although defense counsel contends
that the statements “implicate[] Mr. Lunn [defense
counsel] with tampering with evidence,” Appellant’s
Opening Brief at 26, our reading of the record con-
vinces us that this oblique reference to the alteration
of the license tag number was not such as “‘to influence
the jury to render a conviction on grounds beyond the
admissible evidence presented.” Espi sa, 771 F.2d
at 1401. In light of the strength of the evidence pre-
sented by the government in this case, if the state-
ment was error, it was harmless.

ITI.
DENIAL OF MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL

A motion for a new trial is not regarded with fa-
vor and should only be granted with great caution.
United States v. Kelley, 929 F.2d 582, 586 (10th
Cir. 1991): United States v. Page, 828 F.2d 1476,
1478 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 989 (1987).
The denial of such a motion is addressed to the sound
discretion of the trial court. Jd.

he

54a

A. Newly Discovered Evidence

Thornbrugh first argues that the district court err-
ed in denying his motion for a new trial based on two
instances of newly discovered evidence. Thornbrugh’s
new evidence consists of a statement by Woody Wood-
ward that he sold the .857 Wesson to Gary Lynn
Sewell, and the existence of two witnesses to the South
National Bank robbery who would provide exculpat-
ing descriptions of the bank robber.

Thornbrugh argues that the trial court abused its
discretion in denying his new trial motion without an
evidentiary hearing. However, the district court im-
plicitly assumed that the evidence was true and con-
sidered its impact on the outcome at trial. Rec., supp.
vol. II, doc. 58 at 7-8. No evidentiary hearing to de-
termine credibility was therefore necessary. See
United States v. Ramsey, 726 F.2d 601, 605 (10th
Cir. 1984).

In order for new evidence to merit a new trial, it
“must be more than impeaching or cumulative; it
must be material to the issues involved; it must be
such as would probably produce an acquittal; and a
new trial is not warranted by evidence which, with
reasonable diligence, could have been discovered and
produced at trial.” Page, 828 F.2d at 1478 (cuoting
United States v. Allen, 554 F.2d 398, 403 (10th Cir.),
cert. denied, 434 U.S. 836 (1977)). Under this
standard, we are not persuaded that the district court
erred in denying the new trial motion on the basis of
new evidence.

With respect to the statement of Woody Wood-
ward, the district court stated in its order denying
a new trial that the new evidence would, at best, raise
the possibility that Sewell used this gun in the rob-
bery rather than a gun supplied to Sewell by Thorn-

55a

brugh. Rec., supp. vol. II. doc. 58 at 7. The evidence
would therefore be cumulative as to Thornbrugh’s
denial of any participation in the robberies and im-
peaching as to Sewell’s testimony that Thornbrugh
supplied both guns for the robberies. /d. The court
also said “having heard all the evidence, that this pos-
sibility of additional cumulative and impeachment evi-
dence would not produce (and would not have pro-
duced), in all probability, acquittal.” Jd. at 7-8.
Given the record in this case and the district court’s
careful consideration of the impact that the new evi-
dence would have had on the outcome, we conclude
there was no abuse of discretion in denying a new
trial based on the statement of Woody Woodward.

The district court similarly concluded that the testi-
mony of the two identification witnesses did not merit
granting the motion for a new trial:

“TS]uch testimony ... would have been cumula-
tive as to the robbers being white males and im-
peaching as to the lack of beards and gray or
graying hair of either of the suspects. It is clear
Defendant’s hair is predominantly dark, not
gray. Neither witness nor both in the Court’s
estimation, would produce or would have pro-
duced, probably, an acquittal.”

Id. at 8. Again, our review of the record and the dis-
trict court’s order indicates that the court carefully
considered the probable impact of the new evidence
under the appropriate legal standard and committed
no abuse of discretion by denying the new trial on the
basis of new evidence.

56a

B. Withholding Exculpatory Evidence

Thornbrugh also contends that a new trial is war-
ranted because exculpatory evidence was withheld by
the government. ‘‘[T]he suppression by the prosecu-
tion of evidence favorable to an accused upon request
violates due process where the evidence is material
either to guilt or to punishment, irrespective of the
good faith or bad faith of the prosecution.” Page,
828 F.2d at 1479 (quoting Brady v. Maryland, 373
U.S. 83, 87 (1963), and adding emphasis). Sup-
pressed evidence is deemed material “ ‘if there is a
reasonable probability that, had the evidence been dis-
closed to the defense, the result of the proceeding
would have been different. A ‘‘reasonable probabil-
ity” is a probability sufficient to undermine confi-
dence in the outcome.’” Jd. (quoting United States v.
Bagley, 473 U.S. 667, 682 (1985) (Blackmun, J. joined
by O’Connor, J.)). In making this determination, we
view the suppressed evidence’s significance in relation
to the record as a whole. United States v. Wolf, 839
F.2d 1387, 1391 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S.
923 (1988).

Thornbrugh contends that the government sup-
pressed the testimony of Agent Deatherage in viola-
tion of his due process rights, thus entitling him to a
new trial. According to Thornbrugh, Agent Deather-
age gave conflicting descriptions of the pickup used in
connection with the rcbberies in two separate affida-
vits. Agent Deatherage’s affidavit dated March 13,
1989, described the truck identified by Agent McDade
on March 11 as a “white GMC pickup with a Kansas
tag.” Ree., Supp. Vol. IJ, doc. 45, exh. B. Agent
Deatherage’s affidavit dated Anri! 12, 1989 stated
that McDade observed a “tan and white Chevrolet
pickup with a Kansas tag CU —-151.” /d. at exh. C.

57a

Thornbrugh also contends that the prejudice arising
from this alleged suppression was compounded by the
fact that Agent Deatherage did not recall preparing
the separate affidavits and denied any inconsistencies
between descriptions of the truck.

The alleged suppression arising out of Agent Dea-
therage’s conduct does not merit a new trial because
it does not raise a “reasonable probability” of a dif-
ferent result. Page, 828 F.2d 1479. The district
court concluded that it is unlikely the comparison of
the two affidavits at trial would have affected the out-
come because “these affidavits ... are far more in
harmony than in conflict.” Rec., supp. vol. II, doc. 58
at 5. As explained by the district court:

“The Court is aware and the record supports the
very similar appearance of Chevrolet and GMC
pickup vehicles, both being General Motors prod-
ucts. A later description of a ‘GMC pickup’ as
being a ‘Chevrolet pickup’ is not, in the Court’s
mind, a serious variance. The pickup’s color
(white, later described in greater detail as tan
and white) is more of an enlargement of descrip-
tion rather than a discrepancy. The license tag
was more fully described to include the tag num-
ber as reported by Agent McDade. There is no
discrepancy whatsoever as to the tag in the Dea-
therage affidavits.”

Id. at 5-6 (footnote omitted).

The district court also relied on the availability at
trial-of the two affidavits to defense counsel in reject-
ing Thornbrugh’s claim that exculpatory evidence
was wrongly withheld. |

“The two affidavits were available to Defendant
during trial. If Defendant considered the two
Deatherage affidavits sufficiently conflicting it

58a

was incumbent upon him, through his counsel, to
utilize the same during trial for impeachment
purposes. Defendant argues the later affidavit
was not “introduced into evidence because it al-
ledged that Defendant Thornbrugh had_ been
picked up because of a parole violation.’ The
affidavit, in redacted form, was available for use
but was not used—a tactical choice within the
Defendant’s control.”

Id. at 6. The district court’s conclusion in this re-
spect is consistent with our decisions establishing
that there is no violation of a defendant’s right with
respect to production of exculpatory evidence when
such evidence is available at trial. See United States
vu. Behrens, 689 F.2d 154, 158 (10th Cir.), cert.
denied, 459 U.S. 1088 (1982); United States v.
Alberico, 604 F.2d 1315, 1319 (10th Cir.), cert. de-
nied, 444 U.S. 992 (1979).

Thornbrugh also contends that the government
withheld exculpatory evidence by failing to provide
the defense with the correct escape route of the rob-
bery suspects and the fact that there were two wit-
nesses along the escape route, Darlene Slotterback
and Darlene Rudner. The district court held that the
testimony of the two new witnesses was cumulative,
and that in light of the record it would not have cre-
ated a reasonable probability of a different outcome.
There was no abuse of discretion in denying the mo-
tion for a new trial on the basis of this “withheld” *
evidence, because such evidence was not exculpatory.

* We note that there is no clear evidence in the record that
the government actually suppressed the correct escape route
or the witnesses’ statements. On appeal, the government
maintains that “the names and addresses of the [witnesses]
were never supplied to the government by any investigating
agency.” Government Brief at 36-37.

59a

Finally, Thornbrugh contends that exculpatory
fingerprint evidence was improperly withheld. The
record nowhere indicates that the prints would be
exculpatory. In the absence of any support for the
contention that the fingerprints constitute exculpa-
tory evidence, we are precluded from reversing the
district court’s denial of a new trial based on the
suppression of this evidence.

IV.

REFERENCE TO DEFENDANT'S
PRIOR CONVICTIONS

Thornbrugh asserts that his right to a fair trial
was compromised because the prosecution’s witness,
Gary Sewell, implied that Thornbrugh was an ex-
perienced bank robber by unfairly alluding to his
prior convictions. The exchange at trial during de-
fense counsel’s cross-examination of Sewell was as
follows:

“(Mr. Lunn] You weren’t so to speak, led
by a leash by your accomplice with regard to
doing this robbery?

“TMr. Sewell] I was told by my accomplice
what to get and what to do. I’m not a bank
robber. I don’t know how.

“Mr. Lunn] All right. I’d like to ask you
questions about the second robbery... .”

Rec., vol. IX, at 442-43. The trial transcript reveals
that there was no objection to Sewell’s remark. The
alleged error is therefore reviewed under a _ plain
error standard. See Lonedog, 929 F.2d at 570. Ac-
cordingly, we will not reverse unless the statement

60a

constituted ‘something ... so prejudicial . . . that
justice cannot have been done.” /d.

Sewell’s statement was not sufficiently prejudicial
to constitute plain error. As the district court con-
cluded in its order denying the new trial, “the state-
ment made by... Sewell... was not prejudicial to
Defendant’s case, in that it makes no reference, by
insinuation or otherwise to Defendant’s prior record.”’
Rec., supp. vol. II, doc. 58, at 4. We agree that
Sewell’s comment did not highlight Thornbrugh’s
prior convictions. Other cases where mistrials were
requested suggest that, given the nature of Sewell’s
comment, a new trial is not warranted. See, e.y.,
United States v. Kendall, 766 F.2d 1426, 1437 (10th
Cir. 1985) (testimony that defendant had sold air-
plane to pilot who had used it in earlier drug smug-
gling venture), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1081 (1986);
United States v. Walton, 552 F.2d 1354, 1365-66
(10th Cir.) (testimony that defendant interviewed
by FBI while in jail on another matter), cert. de-
nied, 431 U.S. 959 (1977); United States v. Wood-
ring, 446 F.2d 733, 737 (10th Cir. 1971) (testimony
that defendant subject of unrelated criminal charge).

Thornbrugh contends that the error should be
deemed prejudicial when one considers that the Gov-
ernment’s case against Thornbrugh was a relatively
weak one. Our review of the record, however, con-
firms the conclusion of the district court that there
was more than sufficient evidence for the jury to re-
turn a guilty verdict. Ree., supp. vol. II, doc. 58, at
8; compare United States v. Sands, 899 F.2d 912,
915-16 (10th Cir. 1990).

6la
V.
CUMULATIVE ERROR

Thornbrugh argues that even if no individual error
warrants reversal, the cumulative effect of the errors
at trial do. In United States v. Rivera, 900 F.2d
1462, 1469 (10th Cir. 1990) (en banc), cert. denied,
111 S. Ct. 2249 (1991), we stated that: ‘The cumu-
lative effect of two or more individually harmless er-
rors has the potential to prejudice a defendant to
the same extent as a single reversible error.” The
purpose of a cumulative error analysis is to address
that possibility.

In this case, the district court explicitly stated in
denying Thornbrugh’s motion for a new trial that:

“In sum, the Court restates it heard all of the
evidence, viewed the demeanor of all of the wit-
nesses, considered all of the exhibits and heard
all the argument and concludes there was more
than ample evidence upon which the jury based
its verdict. There was solid corroborative evi-
dence in support of accomplice Sewell’s testi-
mony.”

Rec., supp. vol. II, doc. 58 at &. Our own review of
the record also bears out the conclusion that the al-
leged errors and prosecutorial misconduct, viewed in
the aggregate, did not have a prejudicial effect on the
jury’s verdict.

In sum, we AFFIRM Thornbrugh’s convictions.
However, we hold today in our en banc opinion that
Thornbrugh’s sentence was improperly enhanced for
a second or subsequent conviction under section 924
(c). Such an enhancement is only proper when the
underlying offense was committed after a judgment

62a

of conviction on the prior section 924(c) offense. See
United States v. Abreu, F.2d (10th Cir.
Nos. 89-4145, 89-5166, 89-5173, filed April —, 1992).
Accordingly, we REMAND for resentencing in light
of our en banc opinion.

W ov. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING orrice; 1992 312324 45479

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1103%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
