# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — InterContinental Life Insurance v. Lindblom

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1019%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 956

## Text

FIL
FEB 1 4 1991

\ocruce oF THe CER

_ al

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

® ,
90-1284+

INTERCONTINENTAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
PETITIONER

Vv.

Lou R. LINDBLOM, RESPONDENT

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ANDREW L. FREY
Counsel of Record

THEODORE A. FLERON
Vice President &

>

General Counsel
InterContinental Life

Insurance Company
601 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, Pa. 19106
(215) 351-2953

ANDREW J. PINCUS
KATHERINE J. HENRY
Mayer, Brown & Platt
2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 778-0602

JAMES C. BARTON
MICHAEL L. HALL
HOLLINGER F’. BARNARD
Johnston, Barton, Proctor,
Swedlaw & Naff
1100 Park Place Tower
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
(205) 322-0616
Counsel for Petitioner
InterContinental Life
Insurance Company

Ta TNE

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

A/¢

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the punitive damages award in this
case violates the Due Process Clause because the jury
instructions failed to provide any meaningful stand-
ards to be employed in setting the amount of the
punitive exaction and instead left calculation of the
penalty to the jury’s unguided discretion.

2. Whether the amount of punitive damages in
this case is excessive and disproportionate in viola-
tion of the Due Process Clause because it is not ra-
tionally related to the purposes of fairly punishing
any misconduct that occurred and appropriately de-
terring such misconduct in the future.

(I)

II

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Petitioner InterContinental Life Insurance Com-
pany’s (‘InterContinental’) parent corporation is
Standard Life Insurance Company, whose parent cor-
poration is InterContinental Life Corporation
(“ILCG”’). ILCO is controlled by Financial Indus-
tries Corporation (“FIC’’), through FIC’s ownership
of 40.4°. of ILCO’s outstanding common stock and
FIC’s option to purchase approximately 16.5° of
ILCO’s common stock. InterContinental has no sub-
sidiaries other than wholly owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. .....................00...00.20.0.222...-. ; I
eee See MORMON 2... II
oe) i | ES EE Se Pre ORAL e 1

acct caiesercencheci-yuhemisncbeteisnmeamoniesnsnses 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ........... 2

SE
BE NE as case nnccscnsennaisesscsanccnenseneons 3
a ee HOOOOW .............0000.0......0.......-20...0..

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......... x

I. THE JURY WAS NOT GIVEN ANY MEAN-
INGFUL GUIDANCE REGARDING THE
STANDARDS TO APPLY IN FIXING THE
AMOUNT OF THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES
EEE SEES a 8

Il. THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD IS EX-
CESSIVE AND DISPROPORTIONATE IN
VIOLATION OF THE DUE _ PROCESS
Er seni 10

a eicahanacabdirehiaxnnntndcnnakinckawaseansdesxsacusasconsnsnens 14

(m1)

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. V.
Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 2909 (1989) ....... 1l
Maxey V. Freightliner Corp., 665 F.2d 1367 (5th
5 ER ERA oc Ee ele ee A RR es I ae 12
Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. Vv. Haslip, No.
- 89-1279 (argued Oct. 3, 1990) 000000... passim
Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1988) ......000.0 oe. 11
Constitution and Statutes:
is I I, Mg Bcc secre ciccececencsonsie 2
ee Sy | nae PANS ID pO Rite ee 2
a cailmuidlemdondouaaiichn 11
Miscellaneous:

ABA Special Comm. on Punitive Damages, Puni-
tive Damages: A Constructive Examination

SIE sisstdicnic calansoectenaptahatiannicersdeisonadiienenablnedioneene: 12

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No.

INTERCONTINENTAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
PETITIONER

Vv.
Lou R. LINDBLOM, RESPONDENT

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
~

N

InterContinental Life Insurance Company respect-
fully petitions this Court for a writ of certiorari to
review the judgment of the Alabama Supreme Court

in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court
(App., infra, la-19a) is not yet reported.’ The order
of the circuit court (App., infra, 20a-26a) is unre-
ported.

1 The opinion reprinted in Appendix A is that issued by the
Alabama Supreme Court on November 16, 1990. As far as
we can determine, that opinion is identical to the original
opinion issued on September 28, 1990 and then withdrawn by
the Alabama Supreme Court, except for the addition of a
deadline for accepting the remittitur (App., infra, 16a).

f oon

i

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Alabama Supreme Court was
entered on November 16, 1990. On December 14,
1990, Justice Kennedy issued an order staying the
issuance of the Alabama Supreme Court’s certificate
of judgment pending the timely filing and disposition
of a petition for a writ of certiorari. This Court’s
jurisdiction rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION ENVOLVED

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution provides in pertinent
part:

[N]or shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law
* * *

STATEMENT

The plaintiff in this breach of contract action pre-
vailed on her contention that petitioner InterConti-
nental Life Insurance Company (“InterContinental”)
failed in bad faith to pay a claim on an insurance
policy. As in Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v.
Haslip, No. 89-1279 (argued Oct. 3, 1990), the state
court jury’s award to the plaintiff included a tremen-
dous helping of punitive damages: the jury supple-
mented the compensatory award of approximately
$10,000 (plus more than $2,000 in interest) with
$3,000,000 in punitive damages. The Alabama Su-
preme Court subsequently ordered a remittitur to
$1,000,000.

This certiorari petition seeks vacation of the pen-
alty imposed on petition on two of the federal con-
stitutional grounds that are now pending before the
Court in Pacific Mutual—(1) that the jury instruc-

3

tions failed to afford due process because they did not
in any way confine or structure the jury’s discretion
in fixing the amount of the penalty, and (2) that the
$1,000,000 award is unconstitutionally excessive be-
cause it bears no rational relationship to the purposes
for which punitive damages are imposed under Ala-
bama law.

A. Factual Background.

On December 1, 1980, InterContinental issued a
$10,000 life insurance policy to Tommie L. Rodden-
berry, designating Roddenberry’s daughter, Lou R.
Lindblom, the respondent herein, as the beneficiary.
App., infra, 2a. Under the payment plan that was
selected, payments were due on a quarterly basis,
with the first payment due on December 1, 1980.
Ibid. However, the policy expressly granted a 31-day
grace period for late premium payments. /bid. In
addition, as a voluntary, non-contractual benefit to
its policyholders, InterContinental treated as timely
payments that arrived during a further two-week
grace period, known as the ‘‘courtesy period.” Jd. at
2a-3a, 6a. (Courtesy periods are common in the in-
surance industry. Tr. 312.) If the courtesy period
ended on a weekend or holiday, InterContinental ex-
tended the period to the next business day. /d. at 3a.
Once the courtesy period ended without receipt of the
premium, however, the policy was deemed lapsed.
Tr. 212, 374-375. InterContinental’s policyholders
were not apprised of the existence of the courtesy
period. App., infra, 3a-6a.°

2 InterContinental used a computer system to track pre-
mium payments. Payments accompanied by premi'm notices
were posted in the computer system within seven tc ten days
of receipt. Tr. 551, 553. Payments might not be posted until

4 “

On January 1, 1984, Lindblom (who handled the
payments on Roddenberry’s policy) wrote to Inter-
Continental asking it to switch the payment schedule
from quarterly to monthly, as the policy permitted.
App., infra, 3a. Together with that request, Lind-
blom included_a payment specifically designated for
the December 1983 premium; she asked that Inter-
Continental bill her for the January 1984 premium.
Ibid. InterContinental applied the payment to the
December 1°83 premium (Tr. 416) and changed the
payment schedule as Lindblom requested. However,
InterContinental apparently did not bill Lindblom for
the January premium (there is no suggestion in the
record that she was entitled to demand such billing),
and Lindblom never sent a check designated for the
January premium. The next payment received by
InterContinental was a check dated February 2, 1984
(Tr. 103), which Lindblom testified was intended to
cover the payment due February 1 (Tr. 155). (Noth-
ing in the record indicates that Lindblom instructed
InterContinental to apply this payment to the Feb-
ruary premium.) Because Lindblom had not paid the
January premium, InterContinental applied her check
to that past-due premium. App., infra, 3a.

Lindblom continued to pay premiums monthly, and
InterContinental continued to apply each payment to

later if received without premium notices, with the wrong
payment amount, on weekends, or with a request to change
the payment schedule. Tr. 554. Several times a month, Inter-
Continental’s computer system generated printouts reporting
the status of the premium payments. Tr. 474, 520. One
printout (“the final notice run sheet’’) listed all policies with
past-due premiums for which the 31-day grace period had not
yet expired. Another printout (‘the lapse listing’) listed all
policies that had lapsed for failure to pay the premiums be-
fore the end of the courtesy period. Tr. 470.

5

the previous menth’s past-due premium. App., infra,
3a-4a. The payments that Lindblom made, beginning
with the payment for December 1983, arrived at
InterContinental after the end of the 3l-day grace
period but before the expiration of the courtesy pe-
riod. Jd. at 3a. This pattern continued for a year
and a half, with Lindbiom receiving credit for prem-
ium payments through July 1985.

The courtesy period for the payment due August 1,
1985, expired on September 15. Lindblom sent a pay-
ment by check dated September 15, 1985, which was
not posted until after both the grace and courtesy
periods had ended. Tr. 166, 216, 435. InterContinen-
tal’s computer system flagged the policy as lapsed (Tr.
472, 499-500) and credited the payment to an escrow
account pending review of the policy. Tr. 258-259,
505-506. After determining that the policy had
lapsed, InterContinental notified Lindblom of that
fact. App., infra, 4a.* At Lindblom’s request, Inter-

3’ Respondent has suggested that other payments had been
received by InterContinental after expiration of the courtesy
period but had not caused it to lapse the policy. But the rec-
ord does not support that suggestion. InterContinental! posted
three payments after the date of expiration, but it appareniy
had received each of those payments (unlike the payment
dated September 15, 1985) before the courtesy period ended.
Tr. 409-410, 528. Thus, InterContinental posted the Decem-
ber 1, 1983 payment on January 17 after it completed the
paperwork switching the payment from quarterly to monthly
and well after it received the payment. Tr. 212, 264, 410,
464-466, 468, 491. InterContinental posted the March pay-
ment on April 16th, which was within the courtesy period
because April 15, 1984 fell on a Sunday. Tr. 214, 264-265,
410, 493. InterContinental also posted the July 1984 payment
(dated August 10, 1984) outside of the courtesy period, on

6

Continental reviewed its records and confirmed that
the policy had lapsed because Lindblom had not paid
the premium prior to the end of the courtesy periou.
Tr. 414-415, 582. InterContinental eventually re-
funded the payment it held in the escrow account.
App., infra, 5a. .

Roddenberry died on October 23, 1985. App., in-
fra, 4a. On November 8, 1985, Lindblom filed a claim
with InterContinental for the policy’s benefits. Tr.
133-134, 379. (There is no suggestion that Inter-
Continental was aware of Roddenberry’s illness prior
to the time it terminated the policy. Tr. 216-217,
221, 269, 430.) Because the policy had lapsed almost
two months before Roddenberry died, InterContinen-
tal denied Lindblom’s claim. App., infra, 5a.

B. The Proceedings Below.

Lindblom subsequently commenced this action
against InterContinental in Alabama state court. She
sought $10,000 in compensatory damages (the face
value of the policy), interest, and punitive damages.
Following a trial, the jury awarded $3,012,400 in
compensatory and punitive damages against Inter-
Continental for bad faith failure to pay insurance
benefits, breach of contract, misrepresentation, and

September 7, 1984. Tr. 215-216, 235, 422-423, 494. Because
InterContinental posted the payment after the courtesy
period expired, InterContinental’s computer system generated
a lapse notice. The lapse notice was never mailed because
InterContinental determined that Lindblom had timely paid
the’July premium, apparently on the basis of the date on the
check or the fact that the payment arrived unaccompanied by
a premium notice. Tr. 235, 266-267, 270, 482, 512, 513-514,
594-595.

7

fraud.‘ The trial court denied InterContinental’s mo-
tion to set aside the award of punitive damages. App.,
infra, 25a. It specifically rejected InterContinental’s
claim grounded in the Due Process Clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment. /d. at 24a-25a.

The Alabama Supreme Court affirmed. App., infra,
la-19a. It refused to recognize InterContinental’s
courtesy period because “it is not part of the written
contract and never became part of the contract. The
‘extended grace period’ argument, under the facts of
this case, appears to be merely a convenient way for
InterContinental to justify its acceptance of premium
payments outside of the 31-day grace period, insure
continued payments, and keep the policy in force, all
without the knowledge of the insured or the bene-
ficiary.” Jd. at 7a. Characterizing the courtes, pe-
riod as a “practice” of “‘continuously” applying late
payments to previously-due premiums, the court held
that InterContinental could not “arbitrarily cease this
practice and treat the policy as lapsed in August 1985
by claiming that payment was not made within the
31-day grace period.” Jbid.° The court consequently
held that InterContinental waived its right to lapse
the policy by not doing so when Lindblom failed to
make the January payment before the 3l-day grace
period expired and by accepting payments past the
31-day grace period. [bid.

*Lindblom also had sued the insurance agency that had
sold the policy to Roddenberry. The jury found the agency
not liable. App., infra, 5a-6a.

5 Of course, InterContinental did not lapse policies on the
basis of the 3l-day grace period. By holding invalid and then
ignoring the courtesy period, the court fundamentally recast
the ground relied on by InterContinental in determining that
the policy had lapsed.

8

For these reasons, the court concluded that Inter-
Continental had no right to declare the policy lapsed
on the basis of the lateness of the August 1985 pay-
ment. It further held that the jury could properly
find that InterContinental’s failure to pay Lindblom’s
claim constituted a bad faith refusal under Alabama
law. App., infra, 14a.

The court specifically considered and rejected In-
terContinental’s challenge to the punitive damages
award under the federal Constitution. Relying on its
prior decision in Pacific Mutual, the court held that
“the award is not unconstitutional.” App., infra, 16a.

Finally, turning to InterContinental’s claim that
the penalty was excessive as a matter of Alabama
law, the court concluded that the award “is excessive
and should be reduced by $2,012,400.” App., infra,
16a. I: therefore affirmed the trial court’s judgment.
conditioned on Lindblom’s acceptance of a remittitur
in that amount (which Lindblom has accepted).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The questions presented in this case are essentially
identical to those now pending before the Court in
Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, No. 89-
1279 (argued Oct. 3, 1990). Accordingly, the Court
should hold the petition in this case and dispose of it
as appropriate in light of its decision in Pacific Mu-
tual.

I. THE JURY WAS NOT GIVEN ANY MEANINGFUL
GUIDANCE REGARDING THE STANDARDS TO
APPLY IN FIXING THE AMOUNT OF THE PUNI-
TIVE DAMAGES AWARD.

One of the questions before this Court in Pacific
Mutual is whether “Alabama Law * * * violates Due
Process by allowing [a] jury to award punitive dam-

anieanaa

9

ages as a matter of ‘moral discretion,’ without ade-
quate standards as to the amount necessary to punish
and deter and without a necessary relationship to the
amount of actual harm caused.” 89-1279 Pet. i. Pre-
cisely the same question is presented in this case.

The jury instruction in this case provided no mean-
ingful standards for the jury to apply in selecting the
amount of the penalty:

I mention punitive damages, meaning punish-
ment damages. The purpose of awarding or
making an example out of somebody is to allow
money recovery to the plaintiff by a way of pun-
ishment to the defendant and for the added pur-
pose of protecting the public and others from
doing such wrong in the future. The imposition
of punitive damages is entirely discretionary by
the jury.

Should you award, you must take into con-
sideration the characterization and degree of the
wrong as shown by the evidence in the case. And
the necessity of preventing similar wrongs. You
ean only award punitive damages if you have
found the defendant guilty of [or?] one or-more

_of them to be guilty of those things that I just
read to you which would authorize you to award.

Tr. 833-834. This instruction is virtually identical to

the instruction challenged in Pacific Mutual. See 89-
1279 Pet. Br. 7-8.

The Alabama Supreme Court, relying on its prior
decision in Pacific Mutual, rejected InterContinental’s
federal due process claim that the jury instruction was
“vague, arbitrary, and imposes no standards or-lim-
its.” App., infra, 15a. Justice Maddox of that court,
who dissented in Pacific Mutual, recognized that the
federal constitutional question in this case is the same
as the one presented in Pacific Mutual:

10

[T]he issue raised in this case is the same as
that presented in [Pacific Mutual]. Therefore,
if the Supreme Court of the United States re-
verses this Court’s judgment in [Pacific Mutual],
then the judgment in this case should also be re-
versed. I must await, as everyone else must, the
decision of the Supreme Court of the United
States in Pacific Mutual * * *.

App., infra, 18a.

In sum, there can be no doubt that this case turns
on the very procedural due process issue now before
this Court in Pacific Mutual. Indeed, Justice Kennedy
implicitly recognized this identity of issues when he
granted a stay of the Alabama Supreme Court’s judg-
ment in this case. Accordingly, the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be held pending the Court’s deci-
sion in Pacific Mutual. If for any reason the issue is
not resolved in that case, the Court may wish to grant
plenary review here to address the issue.

II. THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD IS EXCES-
SIVE AND DISPROPORTIONATE IN VIOLATION
OF THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE.

Another question before this Court in Pacific Mu-
tual is whether “the amount of punitive damages in
this case was excessive, in violation of [the insurance
company’s] Due Process right to be free of grossly
excessive, disproportionate damages awards.” 89-1279
Pet. i. The same constitutional claim is presented
here.

To begin with, InterContinental squarely raised
this argument, below. See, e.g., InterContinental Ala.
Sup. Ct. Br. 59-73; InterContinental Ala. Sup. Ct.
Reply Br. 28. The Alabama Supreme Court rejected
the contention, holding that “the evidence of Inter-
continental’s conduct warranted the punitive award

11

here and that that award is not unconstitutional.”
App., infra, 16a.

Moreover, the penalty of nearly $1,000,000 in this
case is demonstrably more disproportionate and irra-
tional than the penalty at issue in Pacific Mutual.”
The relevant factors in assessing the constitutional-
ity of a punitive damages award under the Due
Process Clause are (1) the relationship between the
punitive exaction and comparable statutory penalties
prescribed by the legislature; and (2) the relation-
ship between the punitive award and the gravity of
the defendant’s conduct, including the nature of that
conduct, the injury caused by the defendant, and the
actual or potential gain to the defendant. Cf.
Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Ine. v.
Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 2909, 2933-2934
(1989) (O’Connor, J., concurring and dissenting) ;
Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277, 290-300 (1983). So
measured, the award here violates due process.

The penalty in this case is much greater than the
criminal and civil fines enacted by the Alabama leg-
islature. See Am. Br. for The Business Roundtable,
et al. 21-22, Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v.
Haslip, No. 89-1279. The legislatively-prescribed
sanction for a corporation convicted of an analogous
offense—violation of insurance regulations—is a fine
of $10,000. Ala. Code § 27-29-10. Indeed, the high-
est fine for any offense is $50,000.

6 As this Court is aware from the Pacific Mutual litigation,
Alabama law permits a jury to lump compensatory and puni-
tive damages together in one award. The $3,012,400 awarded
in this case unquestionably represented the $10,000 policy
benefit, plus interest, and $3,900,000 in puntive damages. The
remitted award accordingly must be deemed to be $12,400 in
compensatory damages and $987,600 in punitive damages.

12

In addition, the penalty bears no reasonable rela-
tionship whatever to InterContinental’s alleged mis-
conduct. First, it is nearly 80 times the compensa-
tory damages awarded to Lindblom. See note 4,
supra. Courts and commentators have repeatedly
suggested a ratio of three times compensatory dam-
ages as a rule of thumb for assessing the proportion-
ality of an award of punitive damages. See, e..,
Maxey v. Freightliner Corp., 665 F.2d 1367, 1377-
1378 (5th Cir. 1982) (en banc); ABA Special
Comm. on Punitive Damages, Punitive Damages: A
Constructive Examination 6-10 to 6-12 (1986).
Whether or not there is any specific or fixed ratio
required by due process, the presence of a ratio as
high as 80:1 is a clear warning sign that the award
is likely to be irrationally excessive.

Second, the extraordinary award here is not re-
motely justified by the nature of InterContinental’s
conduct. Although the Alabama Supreme Court had
the authority to determine that the failure to pay
Lindblom’s claim constituted “bad faith” as a matter
of Alabama law, the enormous penalty imposed on
InterContinental cannot rationally serve the pur-
poses of deterrence or punishment in the circum-
stances of this case. The state court’s ruling rests on
its conclusion that the company’s practice of allowing
policyholders an additional two-week courtesy period
is legally irrelevant because the practice was not set
forth in writing. Insofar as we are able to deter-
mine, that ruling constituted a new and unprece-
dented statement of Alabama law, as evidenced by
the fact that no cases were cited to support the prop-
osition. InterContinental’s violation of a legal rule
that did not exist at the time the company refused to
pay Lindblom’s claim is grounds for lessening rather
than increasing the level of punishment. For the

13

same reason, a severe punishment cannot be justified
on a deterrence rationale.

Significantly, there is no evidence that Inter-
Continental’s conduct was designed to obtain some
improper benefit at the expense of its policyholders
generally or Lindblom in particular. The company
did not know of Roddenberry’s illness and therefore
cannot be deemed to have lapsed the policy in order
to avoid paying the death benefit. Moreover, even if
InterContinental could be found to have acted in
order to avoid paying the death benefit, the nearly
$1 million nenalty is grossly disproportionate to the
size of that benefit.

This is not a case of fraud, breach of trust, or
concealed misconduct likely to go undetected and
therefore requiring a larger penalty to accomplish
appropriate deterrence. Nor does the record support
any finding of repeated misconduct threatening in-
jury to significant numbers of people. At worst, one
beneficiary may have been unintentionally lulled into
a false sense of security in believing the coverage
was being maintained despite her failure to pay
timely a premium due under the policy. Granting
that Alabama possesses the constitutional power to
impose punitive damages in such circumstances. the
punishment inflicted here is grossly disproportionate
to any harm done or to the culpability of the conduct
and therefore, is entirely irrational.

In sum, the punitive award in this case is exces-
sive and disproportionate, in violation of the Due
Process Clause. If this Court in Pacific Mutual holds
that the Due Process Clause bars excessive and dis-
proportionate punitive damages awards, the judg-

14

ment below cannot stand.‘ If the due process exces-
siveness issue remains open in the wake of Pacific
Mutual, this case would provide an excellent oppor-
tunity to address it.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be held
and disposed of as appropriate in light of this Court’s
decision in Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Has-
lip, No. 89-1279 (argued Oct. 3, 1990).

Respectfully submitted.

THEODORE A. FLERON ANDREW L. FREY
Vice President & Counsel of Record
General Counsel ANDREW J. PINCUS
InterContinental Life KATHERINE J. HENRY
Insurance Company Mayer, Brown & Platt
601 Walnut Street 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Philadelphia, Pa. 19106 Washington, D.C. 20006
(215) 351-2953 (202) 778-0602

JAMFS C. BARTON

MICHAEL L. HALL

HOLLINGER F.. BARNARD
Johnston, Barton, Proctor,

Swedlaw & Naff
1100 Park Place Tower
\ Birmingham, Alabama 35203

(205) 322-0616

Counsel for Petitioner
InterContinental Life

FEBRUARY 1991 Insurance Company

7 The foregoing analysis is not affected by the Alabama Su-
preme Court’s conclusion that the $3 million punitive award
was excessive as a matter of state law. The court provided no
explanation at all for its conclusion that a penalty of nearly
$1 million would not be excessive. As we have argued above,
such a penalty does violate the Due Process Clause’s require-
ment of rationality.

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
OCTOBER TERM, 1990-91

89-14

INTERCONTINENTAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
Vv.

Lou RODENBERRY LINBLOM

Appeal from Jefferson Circuit Court
(CV-86-7156)

ON APPLICATION FOR REHEARING
[Filed Nov. 16, 1990] .

ADAMS, JUSTICE.

Our opinion of September 28, 1990, is withdrawn and
the following is substituted therefor.

This is an appeal from a jury verdict awarding
$3,012,400 to the plaintiff, Ms. Lou R. Lindblom, against
the defendant, Intercontinental Life Insurance Company
(hereinafter “Intercontinental’’), for bad faith failure to
pay insurance benefits, breach of contract, misrepresenta-
tion, and fraud. We affirm.

2a

The appellant has raised many issues on appeal deal-
ing with the denial of its post-trial motions and with
questions regarding the constitutionality of the award of
punitive damages. The record reveals the following facts
relevant to this appeal:

In November 1980 Ms. Tommie Rodenberry applied
for a life insurance policy with Intercontinental. Larry
Culver of the Culver Agency submitted the application
to Intercontinental. On December 1, 1980, Interconti-
nental issued a term life insurance policy (number
178427) to Tommie Rodenberry. The policy designated
Ms. Lou R. Lindblom as the beneficiary of the policy,
with $10,000 in benefits. The premium payments were
originally due and payable quarterly beginning in Decem-
ber 1980. The policy provided in its relevant parts as
follows:

“PAYMENT OF PREMIUMS—The first premium
is due on or before the Policy Date. You may choose
to pay your premium at 12, 6, 3, or 1 month in-
tervals. Each payment is due on or before the first
day of the payment period....

“The policy shall lapse if premiums are not paid in
full when due. Please refer to the ‘Grace Period’
provision.

“GRACE PERIOD—a grace period of 31 days after
the due date will be allowed for payment of each
premium after the first, without interest, during
which period the policy shall continue in full force.
If the insured dies during the grace period, any pro
rata premium due and unpaid will be deducted from
the amount payable under this policy. This policy
will lapse without value at the end of the grace
period.”

Intercontinental introduced evidence at trial that in ad-
dition to the written 31-day grace period, it voluntarily
granted an extended two-week (14-day) grace period at
the end of the 31-day period, making the total grace

3a

period 45 days. This “extra” grace period was not in-
cluded in the insurance contract, nor was Ms. Lindblom
ever informed of its existence. Intercontinental intro-
duced further evidence that if the end of the grace period
fell on a weekend or holiday, the period was extended
to the next business day.

From December 1980 through November 1983, Ms.
Lindblom made the quarterly payments on the policy.
Sometime in December 1983 or January 1984, she de-
cided that she desired to convert the payment plan from
the quarterly plan to a monthly plan. On January 1,
1984, she wrote to Intercontinental, informing it of her
desire to pay the premiums monthly from then on and
enclosing the monthly premium payment specifically des-
ignated for December 1983 ($32.06). This letter also
stated that she would remit the payment for January
1984 as soon as she received notice from Intercontinental.
At that time, the December 1983 payment was 31 days
past due. It appeared from the evidence at trial that
Intercontinental made no reply to Ms. Lindblom’s letter.

Ms. Lindblom’s next premium payment was made on
February 2, 1984. Intercontinental decided to back-apply
this payment to cover the January 1984, payment which
was then unpaid and 32 days past due, outside the writ-
ten 3l-day grace period but within the unwritten ex-
tended grace period. Ms. Lindblom continued to remit
payments each month from February 1984 through Oc-
tober 1985 to Intercontinental. Intercontinental accepted
each of these payments.

Evidence offered at trial showed that while Ms. Lind-
blom made each payment in the early part of each month
from February 1984 through October 1985, because of
Intercontinental’s decision to continuously back-apply
these payments to cover the missed January 1984 pay-
ment, virtually all of these payments were received out-
side the 3l-day grace period. During this time Inter-
continental contacted Ms. Lindblom on at least two oc-

4a

casions to inform her of premium increases. At no time
did Intercontinental inform her of the fact that she
had missed the January 1984 payment or of the fact that
her payments were continuously received outside the 31-
day grace period.

Intercontinental continued its practice of back applying
Ms. Lindblom’s payments through August 1985, when
problems began to develop. When Intercontinental re-
ceived a check dated August 5, 1985, it applied it to-
ward the July 1985 premium, which had not been paid.
The next check Intercontinental received was dated Sep-
tember 15, 1985. Again, Intercontinental treated this
check as the payment of the August 1985 premium.
When this check was entered into the computer system,
the computer designated the policy “terminated” and
showed “no premium applied.” Upon subsequent review
of all such computer entries by Intercontinental, em-
ployees discovered that the check had not been applied
to this policy because the policy had lapsed. Ms. Lind-
blom, who was at that time unaware of the problem,
sent in her payment for October. On October 11, 1985,
Intercontinental wrote Ms. Lindblom and informed her
of the lapse. Ms. Lindblom, who believed she was cur-
rent on the policy and could not understand how it had
lapsed, contacted Mr. Culver at the Culver Agency about
the problem. Ms. Lindblom presented Mr. Culver with
copies of the cancelled checks for the August and Sep-
tember 1985 premium payments. Mr. Culver told Ms.
Lindblom that he would take care of it. Mr. Culver in-
structed Ms. Lindblom to send him a copy of the can-
celled October 1985 premium check when she received it
from her bank. Later, when Mr. Culver received this
check and spoke with Ms. Lindblom, he informed her that
the policy was still in force.

On October 23, 1985, Tommie Rodenberry died. On
November 8, 1985, Ms. Lindblom filed a claim with In-
tercontinental for the death benefits under the policy.

5a

After Intercontinental personnel examined the claim and
the policy, they informed Ms. Lindblom, through the
Culver Agency, that the benefits could not be paid be
cause the policy had lapsed as of August 1, 1985, due to
nonpayment of premiums. At this point Intercontinental
did not refund any premiums paid after the alleged lapse.
The Culver Agency contacted Intercontinental on ¢ eral
occasions and sent Intercontinental copies of +’. can-
celled checks for Ms. Lindblom’s August, September, and
October payments. The Culver Agency apparently be-
lieved that the policy should not have lapsed and sought
to assist Ms. Lindblom. On each occasion Intercontinental
confirmed that the policy had lapsed effective August 1,
1985, and refused to pay the benefits. Intercontinental
eventually refunded the amount of two payments re-
ceived after the alleged lapse.

On November 19, 1986, Ms. Lindblom sued Intercon-
tinental, the Culver Agency, and Mr. Culver, alleging
wrongful refusal to pay the benefits under the policy and
seeking $10,000 compensatory damages and $1,000,000
punitive damages. Upon Intercontinental’s petition, the
case was removed to a federal district court. The federal
district court, however, found removal inappropriate and
remanded the case to the Circuit Court of Jefferson
County.

After remand, Ms. Lindblom amended her complaint
to allege that the Culver defendants had been guilty of
misrepresentation and concealment while acting as agents
of Intercontinental. Ms. Lindblom’s complaint, in its final
form, alleged: breach of contract, bad faith failure to
pay on the insurance contract, misrepresentation, fraud-
ulent suppression, outrage, and conversion. Interconti-
nental moved for summary judgment on all claims. The
trial court granted the motion as to the claims of out-
rage and conversion, but denied it as to the other claims.
At the end of the plaintiff’s case-in-chief and again at
the end of the presentation of all the evidence, Intercon-

6a

tinental moved for a directed verdict, which was denied.
After closing arguments, Intercontinental requested a
special verdict and requested that the jury be given ver-
dict forms to differentiate compensatory damages from
punitive damages. The trial judge denied these requests
and submitted the case to the jury.

The jury returned a verdict exonerating the Culver
defendants from any liability but assessing damages
against Intercontinental in the amount of $3,012,400. In-
tercontinental timely filed alternative motions for a judg-
ment notwithstancing the verdict, a remittitur, or a new
trial. These post-trial motions were denied by the trial
court. Because one of the issues raised in the post-trial
motions was an alleged excessiveness of the verdict, the
trial judge, pursuant to Hammond v. City of Gadsden,
493 So. 2d 1374 (Ala. 1986), conducted a hearing on
that issue ane found no excessiveness.

As noted, Intercontinental has raised several issues for
our review on this appeal. At the outset however, we
must address the nature of the insurance policy issued
by Intercontinental and the actions of the parties in-
volved. An examination of these factors will effectively
dispose of the issues raised by Intercontinental, requiring
only minimal review. Our consideration of these areas re-
quires a two-step analysis: (1) an examination of the in-
surance contract itself and (2) an examination of the
conduct of the parties.

With respect to the insurance contract, the primary
area of concern is with the grace period. As set out
above, the insurance contract contains a 31-day grace
period for the receipt of insurance premiums. Intercon-
tinental maintains that it voluntarily grants an addi-
tional grace period of two weeks (14 days) at the end of
the 31-day grace period, making the total grace period
45 days. This additional extended grace period is not
mentioned anywhere in the policy, nor was it ever re-
vealed to Ms. Lindblom. In our review of this case and

Ta

of the insurance contract, we cannot give any validity
to this extended, unwritten grace period, as it is not part
of the written contract and never became part of the
contract. The “extended grace period” argument, under
the facts of this case, appears to be merely a convenient
way for Intercontinental to justify its acceptance of
premium payments outside of the 31-day grace period,
insure continued payments, and keep the policy in force,
all without the knowledge of the insured or the bene-
ficiary.

Because Intercontinental set up a practice whereby it
continuously back-applied some 20 or more payments it
received outside the 31-day grace period and made no
attempt to treat the policy as lapsed, it could not ar-
bitrarily cease this practice and treat the policy as lapsed
in August 1985 by claiming that payment was not made
within the 31-day grace period. This Court will not
allow Intercontinental to establish such a practice and
then to suddenly change it. Allowing such a practice
gives Intercontinental virtually absolute power over the
contract and leaves persons such as Ms. Lindblom help-
less.

Moreover, a plausible alternative reading of the evi-
dence could indicate that the policy actually lapsed in
January 1984 when Ms. Lindblom informed Intercon-
tinental that she would remit the January payment as
soon as she received notice. Because Intercontinental
never notified her as to the change in payment plans, her
next check was dated February 2, 1984, and Ms. Lind-
blom made each subsequent payment on time, including
the August and September 1984 payments. We conclude
that Intercontinental waived its right to lapse the policy
by not doing so when the January payment was overdue
and by accepting payments past the 31-day grace period.

Because it impliedly agreed to accept payments made
outside the grace period for approximately two years,

8a

Intercontinental could not arbitrarily stop this practice in
August 1984. Furthermore, Intercontinental ignored the
missed January 1984 payment and back-applied all subse-
quent payments. With respect to the specific issues Inter-
continental now raises on appeal, we have consolidated
several issues for clarity and briefly address them below,
in light of the foregoing.

Intercontinental raises five issues in this appeal: (1)
Whether a judgment notwithstanding the verdict should
have been granted for Intercontinental on any of the
plaintiff’s claims; (2) whether a new trial should have
been granted for Intercontinental on the ground that the
jury returned a general verdict and at least one of the
claims against Intercontinental was insufficient; (3)
whether a remittitur or a new trial should have been
granted for Intercontinental on the ground that the jury’s
verdict was necessarily the result of bias, passion, or
other improper motive and was otherwise excessive; (4)
whether the verdict is unconstitutional under the due
process clause of the United States Constitution; and (5)
whether a remittitur or a new trial should be ordered by
this Court on appeal.

Intercontinental first argues that a judgment notwith-
standing the verdict should have been granted in its favor
with respect to the plaintiff’s claims of breach of con-
tract, bad faith, and misrepresentation. We disagree.
Our discussion of Intercontinental’s right to a J.N.O.V.
will bring into focus our view of Intercontinental’s other
claims. We begin by stating the standard of review ap-
plicable to a denial of a judgment notwithstanding the
verdict, as set out by this Court in Elrod v. Ford, 489
So. 2d 534 (Ala. 1986) :

“To be entitled to either a directed verdict or
J.N.O.V., Defendant must have proved to the trial
judge that, from the evidence before the court at the
time each motion was made, there was ‘a complete

9a

absence of proof on a material issue or [that there
were] no controverted questions of fact on which
reasonable people could differ,’ and that Defendant
was entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Deaton,
Inc. v. Burroughs, 456 Sc. 2d 771, 773 (Ala. 1984).
Stated conversely, the motions for directed verdict
and J.N.O.V. should not have been granted if reason-
able inferences in favor of Plaintiff’s claims could
have been drawn from the evidence or if there was
any conflict in the evidence for resolution by a jury.
O’Donohue v. Citizens Bank, 350 So. 2d 1049 (Ala.
Civ. App. 1977) .”

489 So. 2d at 537. With regard to each of these claims,
the plaintiff has clearly met the burden set out in Elrod.
Contrary to Intercontinental’s argument, the plaintiff
presented sufficient evidence to warrant submission of her
claims to the jury.

Intercontinental first attacks the plaintiff’s breach of
contract claim. Intercontinental contends that its actions
of accepting payments did not constitute a waiver, be-
cause, it says, the company policy was to grant an addi-
tional 14-day grace period. We have dealt with this grace
period above and only need point out here that the ex-
tended grace period has no validity. As for Intercon-
tinentai’s actions in accepting payments outside the 31-
day period, the plaintiff’s evidence raised reasonable in-
ferences supporting the argument that Intercontinental
did waive any right to “lapse” the policy due to late
payments and thereby breached the contract by lapsing
the policy and refusing to pay benefits. Furthermore, the
evidence could have supported a finding that the policy
actually lapsed in January 1984, and that all subsequent
payments were made on time, and that because Inter-
continental did nothing in January it waived any right
to lapse the policy in August. This claim was, thus,
properly submitted to the jury.

10a

The second claim Intercontinental attacks is the bad
faith claim. Intercontinental argues that even if it was
not entitled to a judgment notwithstanding the verdict on
the breach of contract claim, it was entitled to one the
bad faith claim, because, it argues, the plaintiff’s proof in
support of her contract claim does not rise to the level
entitling the plaintiff to a directed verdict. National Sav-
ings Life Insurance Co. v. Dutton, 419 So. 2d 1357 (Ala.
1982). In Dutton, as Intercontinental correctly points out,
Justice Shores stated:

“In the normal case in order for a plaintiff to make
out a prima facie case of bad faith refusal to pay an
insurance claim, the proof offered must show that the
plaintiff is entitled to a directed verdict on the con-
tract claim.”

Dutton, 419 So. 2d at 1362 (citing National Security
Fire & Casualty Co. v. Bowen, 417 So. 2d 179 (Ala.
1982)). While both parties acknowledge that the plain-
tiff did not move for a directed verdict, in reviewing the
evidence we have come to the conclusion that the plaintiff
would have been entitled to a directed verdict; thus the
Dutton requirement was satisfied. The evidence in sup-
port of that claim is overwhelming. Because Interconti-
nental had no legal justification for refusing to pay the
claim, no matter how the evidence is construed, the only
reasonable conclusion is that Intercontinental breached
the contract when it refused to pay the benefits.

Assuming, arguendo, that the plaintiff would not suc-
ceed on a motion for directed verdict, Intercontinental’s
contention still fails. This Court has addressed this issue
on numerous occasions. We have consistently noted that
there will be many cases that do not meet the qualification
of “normal” or “ordinary” spoken of in Dutton, and that
in such cases the “directed verdict on the contract claim’”’
test should not apply. See National Savings Life Insur-
ance Co. v. Dutton, 419 So. 2d 1357 (Ala. 1982) (Jones
J., concurring). See also Thomas v. Principal Financial

aa ~

lla

Group, [Ms. 88-834, August 3, 1990] —— So. 2d ——
(Ala. 1990) (wherein Justice Houston undertook an ex-
haustive analysis of the development of the “directed
verdict on the contract claim” test). The case now before
this Court is just such a case.

The two elements of a bad faith claim were set out in
Chavers v. National Security Fire & Cas. Co., 405 So. 2d
1 (Ala. 1981):

“TAjn actionable tort arises for an insurer’s inten-
tional refusal to settle a direct claim where there is
either ‘(1) no lawful basis for the refusal coupled
with actual knowledge of that fact or (2) intentional
failure to determine whether or not there was any
lawful basis for such refusal.’ ”

Chavers, 405 So. 2d at 7 (quoting Vincent v. Blue Cross-
Blue Shield of Alabama, 373 So. 2d 1054 (Ala. 1979) ).
As mentioned above, Dutton established the “great” bur-
den that is on the plaintiff in proving a bad faith claim.
Dutton, however, qualified the rule regarding this burden
so as to prevent the insurer from avoiding liability in
certain extreme situations. After Dutton, we found it
necessary on several occasions to restrict the application
of this great burden.

First, in Continental Assurance Co. v. Kountz, 461 So.
2d 802, 806 (Ala. 1984), we stated:

‘Second, even if Continental could defeat Kountz’s
directed verdict on the contract claim, this case is
not the ‘normal’ or ‘ordinary’ case described in Dut-
ton; in an extraordinary case like this the directed
verdict standard is inapplicable. Aetna Life & Cas.
Insurance Company v. Lavoie, 470 So. 2d 1060 (Ala.
1984).”

In Kountz we noted that proof of an intentional failure to
determine whether there was a lawful basis for deny'ng
payment could be used to establish that the irsur r hac

ls

12a

no legitimate reason to deny the payment. Kountz, 461
So. 2d at 807. This Court in Kountz held that the evi-
dence showed that the insurer had intentionally failed to
determine whether there was a lawful basis for denying
the claim, and that that showing supported an inference
of bad faith. Jd. at 808. See also Aetna Life & Casualty
Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 470 So. 2d 1060 (Ala. 1984)
(extraordinary evidence of “‘reckless indifference” toward
insured in breach of duty of good faith and fair dealing
properly submitted to jury).

In Jones v. Alabama Farm Bureau Mutual Casualty
Co., 507 So. 2d 396 (Ala. 1986), the only basis of denial
rested on the resolution of the single factual issue of
what the insured had told the insurance adjuster. In
Jones we stated:

“Although the plaintiff’s burden of proof in a bad
faith action is great, it should not be insurmountable.
Precluding a plaintiff’s bad faith action by applica-
tion of the ‘directed verdict on the contract claim’
test when the disputed factual issue arises solely
from a contradicted oral conversation between the
insurer and the insured .. . puts too onerous a bur-
den on the plaintiff. Moreover, it would frustrate the
purpose of the bad faith action by allowing an in-
surer simply to misrepresent the content of an oral
conversation to avoid liability.”

Jones, 507 So. 2d at 401. Jones held that it was error
to grant a partial summary judgment because there was
a disputed factual issue to be decided by the jury. Jd.
See also United American Insurance Co. v. Brumley, 542
So. 2d 1231 (Ala. 1989) (it would frustrate the purpose
of the bad faith action to allow an insurer to prevent a
bad faith claim from going to the jury by misrepresent-
ing the content of oral or written communications). The
case now before us presents an analogous “extraordinary”
situation. Intercontinental, over the course of nearly two
years, accepted and back-applied payments outside of the

VX

13a

grace period and made no effort to investigate Ms. Lind-
blom’s payment history or to inform her of possible lapses.
Moreover, there was conflicting testimony as to whether
any “pre-lapse” notices were sent to Ms. Lindblom. At
trial, Intercontinental employees testified that such no-
tices were sent, while Ms. Lindblom denied ever receiving
them. Under the facts of this case, the existence or non-
existence of these notices raises a presumption in favor
of the plaintiff’s argument that Intercontinental inten-
tionally ignored late payments in order to keep the policy
in force, to guarantee continued payments, and failed to
determine if there was any valid reason for denying the
claim. Finally, we note that the evidence tended to show
that Intercontinental employees, upon reviewing the
denial of the claim, merely consulted a computer or other
employees and reported that the policy had lapsed due to
nonpayment of premiums. This effort by Intercontinental
is wholly insufficient to amount to an investigation into
the basis for the denial of payments. Intercontinental
has not only intentionally failed to investigate whether
there was a valid reason to deny the claim, but has also
failed to investigate any part of the policy at any time.
Under Kountz and Aetna, this intentional failure to in-
vestigate whether there was a valid reason to deny the
claim amounts to an intentional failure to determine
whether there was any lawful basis for denying the claim
and creates the inference of bad faith.

Furthermore, considering Jones and Brumley, we note
that the action of bad faith would be frustrated by per-
mitting Intercontinental to avoid liability merely by mis-
representing the existence or the content of pre-lapse
notices. The resolution of the issue whether these notices
were sent to Ms. Lindblom, is partly determinative of
Intercontinental’s investigation practices throughout the
existence of this policy. These facts illustrate why this
case is anything but ordinary or normal. The facts pre-
sented a question whether Intercontinental investigated
to determine if there was a valid reason to deny payment

l4a

of benefits, and that question was properly submitted to
the jury for resolution. We hold, therefore, that the
Dutton “directed verdict on the contract claim” test does
not apply here and that the trial judge properly sub-
mitted the bad faith claim to the jury.

Intercontinental also attacks the denial of a judgment
notwithstanding the verdict on the misrepresentation
claim. Here again, Intercontinental argues that the plain-
tiff made no skowing of any misrepresentation. Contrary
to Intercontinental’s interpretation of the facts, the rec-
ord contains numerous examples of misrepresentations to
Ms. Lindblom. The actions of Intercontinental in con-
tinuously accepting late payments and its taking no steps
to advise Ms. Lindblom of this fact or to advise her of its
so-called extended grace period, as well as the actions of
the Culver Agency, all create reasonable inferences to
support the plaintiff’s claim of misrepresentation. Thus,
we hold that the trial judge properly submitted this claim
to the jury for resolution.

The next issue raised by Intercontinental is whether a
new trial should have been granted in its favor on the
ground that the jury returned a general verdict and at
least one claim against Intercontinental was insufficient.
Intercontinental argues that if it was entitled to a directed
verdict on any cne or more of the plaintiff’s five claims
submitted to the jury, then the verdict must be set aside
and a new trial ordered. In short, we are of the opinion
that Intercontinental was not entitled toa directed ver-
dict on any of the five claims. The plaintiff’s evidence
presented differing interpretations and raised reasonable
presumptions in her favor. The trial judge properly de-
nied Intercontinental’s motion for a directed verdict and
submitted the claims to the jury. Furthermore, we see no
error in the general form of the jury verdict.

Intercontinental next argues that a new trial or a
remittitur should have been granted for Intercontinental
because, it says, the jury verdict was necessarily the

15a

result of bias, passion, or other improper motive and was
otherwise excessive. We disagree with both of its argu-
ments.

After the jury returned the verdict, the trial judge
entered his findings regarding questions of alleged ex-
cessiveness of the verdict, pursuant to Hammond v. City
of Gadsden, 493 So. 2d 1374 (Ala. 1986). After care-
fully reviewing the evidence before the jury, the trial
judge concluded that the evidence clearly established that
Intercontinental’s conduct warranted the punitive award.

As for a motive for the jury to give an excessive
verdict, Intercontinental maintains that the conduct of
the plaintiff at trial in, among other things, testifying as
to the nature of Ms. Rodenberry’s illness, the presence of
Ms. Lindblom’s retarded son, and testifying that Ms.
Lindblom remained at home to care for Ms. Rodenberry
caused the jury to disregard the legal requirements ap-
plicable to Ms. Lindblom’s claim and to decide the case
out of passion and pity for Ms. Lindblom’s situation.
This argument is unpersuasive. Much of the testimony
that Intercontinental now cites as error was either elicited
by counsel for Intercontinental or was notobjected to at
the time the testimony was given. Furthermbne much of
what Intercontinental claims caused the jury * abandon
its duty to decide the case on legal grounds d not, as
we see it, rise to a level that could have affected the jury
in the manner Intercontinental contends. This i& an
extreme case. Much of the testimony Intercontinental now
attacks is relevant and was properly put before the jury
in order for it to make an informed decision.

Intercontinental next attacks the jury verdict as un-
constitutional. Specifically, Intercontinental argues that
the law of punitive damages lacks fundamental fairness
because it is vague, arbitrary, and imposes no standards
or limits. However, as Intercontinental correctly points
out, the Supreme Court of the United States held in
Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco

l6a

Disposal, Inc., U.S. ' , 109 S.Ct. 2909, 2916
(1989), that the excessive fines clause of the eighth
amendment does not apply to punitive damages awards in
cases between private parties. This Court has, in line
with Browning-Ferris, consistently declined to hold that
the award of punitive damages is unconstitutional. See
HealthAmerica v. Menton, 551 So. 2d 235 (Ala. 1989),
cert. denied, U.S. ——, 110 S. Ct. 1166 (1990) ;
Olympia Spa v. Johnson, 547 So. 2d 80 (Ala. 1989) ;
Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, 553 So. 2d
537 (Ala. 1989), cert. granted, US. ——, 110S. Ct.
1780 (1990). Also, the trial judge carefully reviewed the
evidence presented and the constitutional arguments
raised and concluded that the award did not violate the
Constitution. We agree with the trial court that the
evidence of Intercontinental’s conduct warranted the puni-
tive award here and that that award is not unconstitu-
tional.

Last, Intercontinental renews its argument before this
Court that the award of $3,012,400.00 is excessive and
urges this Court to order a remittitur pursuant to Ala.
Code 1975, § 12-22-71. The trial court followed the Ham-
mond guidelines and found no reason to disturb the jury
verdict. However, this Court still has the responsibility
to consider whether the award is excessive, because we
must assure some degree of uniformity in the area of
punitive awards.

After a thorough examination of the record in this
case and a comparison of verdicts in similar cases that
have come before this Court, we conclude that the award
of $3,012,400 is excessive and should be reduced by
$2,012,400. We therefore affirm the judgment of the trial
court, conditioned upon the acceptance of a remittitur of
$2,012,400 by Ms. Lindblom, within 28 days of the date
of this substituted opinion, which will result in a judj-
ment in her favor of $1,000,000.

‘rennin

17a

ORIGINAL OPINION WITHDRAWN; OPINION
SUBSTITUTED; AFFIRMED CONDITIONALLY; AP-
PLICATION OVERRULED.

Hornsby, C. J., and Jones, Almon, Shores, Houston,
and Steagall, JJ., concur.

Maddox, J., concurs specially.

Kennedy, J., concurs in part and dissents in part.

18a

MADDOX, JUSTICE (concurring specially).

I agree that under this Court’s present case law the
punitive damages award, as remitted, must be affirmed.
However, I must point out that I dissented in Pacific
Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 553 So. 2d 537 (Ala.
1989), cert. granted, USS. ; S.ct. ——
(1990), and that the issue raised in this case is the same
as that presented in Haslip. Therefore, if the Supreme
Court of the United States reverses this Court’s judg-
ment in Haslip, then the judgment in this case should
also be reversed. I must await, as everyone else must,
the decision of the Supreme Court of the United States
in Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip.

i...

19a

KENNEDY, JUSTICE (concurring in part and dis-
senting in part).

The jury returned a verdict favoring Ms. Lindblom,
and the trial court entered a judgment on that verdict.
The trial court denied Intercontinental’s motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict and conducted a
hearing, pursuant to Hammond v. City of Gadsden, 493
So.2d 1374 (Ala. 1986), in which it determined that
the verdict was not excessive. A jury’s verdict is pre-
sumed correct and will not be disturbed unless plainly it
is erroneous or manifestly unjust. United American In-
surance Co. v. Brumley, 542 So.2d 1231, 1233 (Ala.
1989); Pate v. Sunset Funeral Home, 465 So.2d 347
(Ala. 1984). That presumption of correctness is
strengthened when a motion for new trial is denied by
the trial court. Brumley, at 1233; Hill Air of Gadsden,
Inc. v. Marshall, 526 So.2d 15, 17 (Ala. 1988). A re-
mittitur is proper only when the record establishes that
the award is excessive as a matter of law or that the
verdict is based upon bias, passion, corruption, or other
improper motive. Hammond, at 1379.

The record does not indicate that the jury’s verdict
was in any way improper. To apply properly the pre-
sumption of correctness that attends the jury’s verdict
requires that the judgment of the trial court in regard
to liability be affirmed; the majority does affirm in that
regard. I concur in the portion of the opinion that af-
firms the judgment as to liability. However, the record
does not establish that the award was either excessive or
based upon bias, passion, corruption, or any other im-
proper motive; the trial court did not err in denying a
remittitur. Accordingly, I dissent from the portion of
the opinion that orders a remittitur.

20a
APPENDIX B

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
FOR JEFFERSON COUNTY, ALABAMA

Civil Action No. CV86-7156

Lou R. LINDBLOM,
Plaintiff
v.

INTERCONTINENTAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, et al.,
Defendant

ORDER ON MOTION FOR JUDGMENT
NOTHWITHSTANDING VERDICT OR,
ALTERNATIVELY, MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL

1. The defendant’s Motion For Judgment Notwith-
standing Verdict Or, Alternatively, Motion For New
Trial, is denied and overruled. The defendant’s request
for remittitur is denied and overruled.

2. One of the grounds of defendant’s motion is that
the verdict was excessive. The trial court is commande?
by Hammond v. City of Gadsden, 493 So2d 1374 (1986) ;
Jawad v. Granade, 497 So2d 471 (1986) and succeeding
cases to conduct a hearing on the factors considered in
either granting or denying a Motion For New Trial al-
leging excessiveness, or with respect to remittitur. The
Court has carefully studied the body of Alabama law re-
garding damages and remittitur:

“The trial court may not substitute its own judg-
ment for that of the jury in determining whether to
grant a remittitur.

21a

“The authority to disturb a jury verdict on the
ground of excessive damages is one which should be
exercised with great caution.

“A remittitur may be ordered in those cases where
the court can clearly see that the verdict has been
reached because of bias, passion, prejudice, corrup-
tion or other improper motives.

“The right to a trial by jury is a fundamental, con-
stitutionally guaranteed right, Article 1, Section 2,
Constitution of 1901, and, therefore, a jury verdict
may not be set aside unless the verdict is flawed,
thereby losing its constitutional protection.

“A jury verdict may be constitutionally flawed be-
cause it results, not from the evidence and applicable
law, but from bias, passion, prejudice, corruption,
or other improper motives.

“The cases have consistently held that in deciding
whether a jury verdict is excessive because it is the
result of passion, bias, corruption, or other improper
motive, a trial judge may not substitute his judg-
ment for that of the jury.

“Only where the record establishes that the award
is excessive as a matter of law, or where it is es-
tablished and reflected in the record that the verdict
is based upon bias, passion, corruption, or other im-
proper motive, may a trial court order a new trial
or remittitur.

“Alabama Courts do not favor setting aside jury
verdicts unless justice demands it, and the Supreme
Court has warned repeatedly that the authority
vested in courts to disturb a jury’s verdict on the
ground of excessiveness should be exercised in great
caution.

“To permit a trial judge to substitute his judgment
on the facts for that of the jury, or to give undue

22a

presumption to the action of the trial judge in deal-
ing with verdicts, would minimize the jury system
(and render) juries advisors of the trial judge
rather than a positive force in the administration
of justice.

“Whether remittitur of a new trial should be
granted on the grounds of excessiveness, the Ala-
bama Supreme Court has said that neither remittitur
nor a new trial is appropriate unless the verdict re-
sults from bias, passion, prejudice, or corruption or
other improper motive. This strict standard, when
the courts adhere to it, discourages judges from un-
necessarily tampering with jury verdicts and thereby
minimizes the potency of the argument that re-
mittitur merely substitutes judicial opinion for jury
opinion.”

3. This Court carefully conducted the voir dire ex-
amination and observed the parties and their respective
counsel along with the jury’s reaction during the trial.
The trial of the case was conducted on a highly profes-
sional level by competent, seasoned advocates for both
sides. Frivoiity was not present at the trial of this case.
The jury recognized the seriousness of the issues that
were being presented for their determination. At no
time did it seem or appear to the Court that any part in
this case received less than a fair, impartial trial be
fore the jury.

4. This was a case stating actions in contract, fraud
and tort of bad faith. Testimony from defendant’s own
employees that it accepted premium payments outside of
the written thirty-day grace period contained in the pol-
icy of insurance involved in excess of twenty times. The
court noted the reaction of the jury to the evasive and
inconsistent testimony of defendant’s corporate represen-
tative, James Grace, and its employee, Mary Newman.
The Court observed the expert, and uncontradicted testi-
mony presented on behalf of the plaintiff by Ed Trow-

23a

bridge of Metropolitan Life. He testified that there was
no legitimate basis for denying the claim involved in this
case and that defendant’s actions in reviewing and re-
fusing to pay the claim at issue were in violation of ac-
cepted procedures and practices in the insurance indus-
try. This court also heard inconsistent testimony from
defendant’s employees and representatives regarding
whether defendant ever established or followed a policy
of sending written “pre-lapse notices” to customers, in-
cluding the plaintiff, prior to the date the claim involved
was denied. Defendant failed to produce any documen-
tation or proof to support the testimony of its employee,
Mary Newman, that such “pre-lapse notices” were sent
to the plaintiff at any time. At no point during the trial
of this case did Intercontinental nor any of its corporate
officers admit any wrongdoing. From the facts, this court
is reasonably satisfied that the insurance company de-
liberately or recklessly suppressed material facts from
the plaintiff prior to the death of Tommie Rodenberry;
and, this court is reasonably satisfied that the insurance
company had no legitimate basis for denying the claim
made the basis of this suit and/or failed to properly in-
vestigate the Lindblom claim and subject the results of
the investigation to cognitive evaluation and review.

5. The amount of a civil fine or exemplary damages
is largely left to the discretion of the jury. Alabama Law
allows juries to fix punitive damages. ‘his court knows
of no reason why there should be any judicial invasion
into the function of the jury under the facts in this case.
The court finds nowhere in the record where it is estab-
lished that the award is excessive because it is based
upon bias, passion, corruption or other improper motive.

6. In addition to the above, the court has also con-
sidered those factors listed by the Supreme Court in
Hammond, supra, as being appropriate for the trial
court to consider. With regard to the culpability of the
defendant’s conduct, the evidence clearly established that

24a

the conduct of the defendant justified a punitive award.
The evidence presented was also sufficient to establish
that defendant’s actions or inactions were against recog-
nized and accepted insurance industry standards.

The insurance industry should be discouraged from
placing their interests above that of their customers when
processing claims and adjusting insurance policies. In-
surance companies are in a position to have knowledge
and information which the lay person does not have.

The defendant has argued that the verdict in this case
will adversely impact the insurance company. Any verdict
for any party will have an adverse impact to some extent.
The court does not find that this verdict on the defendant
is such that would require a reversal of the jury’s deci-
sion as to damages. In line with that same reasoning, the
court does not find that the impact on innocent third
parties is of such significance or consequence so as to
reverse the jury’s determination of damages.

7. The defendant raised Federal constitutional ques-
tions, in every possible and conceivable way and manner,
during the trial of the case and on all post-judgment
motions. In substance, defendant claims the award of
damages in this case violates the due process clause of
the United States Constitution in that

a. the award of punitive damages was committed
solely to the authority and standardless discretion of
the jury, Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw,
486 U.S. 77, 78-79 (1988) (O’Connor, J., concur-
ring) ;

b. the standardless discretion of the jury in award-
ing punitive damages constitutes arbitrary action of
the government, which is forbidden by the due process
clause of the United States Constitution, Browning-
Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal,
Inc., 57 U.S.L.W. 4985, 4991-92 (U.S. June 26,
1989) (Brennan, J., concurring) ; and

ee ee a

25a

ce. the unbridled discretion of the jury in award-
ing punitive damages in this case amounts to un-
constitutional vagueness and procedural due process
violation, Jd. at 4992 (O’Connor, J., concurring).

The court considered the constitutional issues when
raised by defendant, both during the trial of the case
and during the post-judgment arguments. This Court
holds that the award by this jury of punitive damages
did not violate the due process clause of the United States
Constitution.

8. On post-judgment motion defendant submitted a
sparse affidavit which says by implication that the verdict
against the defendant would adversely impact the insur-
ance company because its net income has been reduced.
Yet, plaintiff, in post-judgment hearing, introduced an-
nual statements of defendant filed with State of Alabama
Department of Insurance showing that the defendant has
millions and millions of dollars in assets. Therefore, this
court finds that Green Oil Co. v. Hornsby, 539 So2d 218,
does not apply. In Green Oil the trial judge on post-
judgment Hammond motion had evidence of the company’s
and partners’ worth and he found the punitive damages
award was excessive because of its effect upon Green Oil
and the partners. In the Supreme Court’s words: “The
Green Oil Company overcome the presumption of correct-
ness that attached to the jury’s award of punitive dam-
ages.”

This court finds that this defendant did not overcome
said presumption of correctness and the trial verdict
stands.

9. It is therefore ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-
CREED that defendant’s Motion For Judgment Notwith-
standing The Verdict Or, In The Alternative, For A
Remittitur Or New Trial is denied and overruled.

All court costs taxed against said defendant.

26a

DONE AND ORDERED this the 1st day of September,
1989.

/s/ Josh Mullins
JOSH MULLINS
Circuit Judge

ec: All counsel of record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1019%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
