# Opposition Brief — Board of Public Education v. Lucas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1009%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 973

## Text

—,
No. 90-1167

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990

y%
—

THE BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION and
ORPHANAGE FOR BIBB COUNTY, GEORGIA, et al.,

Petitioners,
versus

DAVID LUCAS, et al.,

Respondents.

,
we

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of
4 Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit

&
-

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

a,
a

Neit BRADLEY

Counsel of Record

LAUGHLIN McDoNALD

KATHLEEN L. WILDE

Mary E. Wyckorr

American Civil Liberties Union
Foundation, Inc.

44 Forsyth Street, NW

Atlanta, GA 30303

(404) 523-2721

Counsel for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

«*
e-

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, after petitioners changed a referendum
from an election date with high black voter turnout to a
date when voter turnout was expected to be low, the
court of appeals correctly ruled that the combining of
bond issues into one referendum question which forced
minority voters supporting one project to either vote in
favor of other projects they might not support, to abstain
from voting, or to vote against the project they favored,
was a standard, practice or procedure affecting voting
that has the potential for abridgement of the right to vote
on account of race under Section 2 of the Voting Right Act
of 1965, 42 U.S.C. § 1973.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
rrr rrr rrr Ty epee i
pC Be RT ere ese Peek ii
er Se OS. 5 ook ccuecdcceanveneeeeeun iv
SO Peer EeeerC errr eS re tr 2
rr err re ree a 2
Ee mre re rr rues p 2

FUROR TU oc bbc ca veer eanaes Peweees 3
Facts Material to the Question Presented......... 6
1. The Referendum Form and Structure
| ETT ETS e eT ee oe Freee TE oe 6
2. The School Bond Issues as Racially Divisive
PP eee ere rr ie BES 8
3. Election Turnouts, Results & Racially Polarized
PEER eT Eye ee rel rer ese 8
Reasons for Denying the WEE «oo. 2.052. ones eect tews 10

I. The Opinion Below Reversing & Remanding
for Consideration of Respondents’ Section 2
Complaint is Not Ripe for Review........... 10

I]. The Court of Appeals Decided Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act Covers How Ballot Questions
Are Presented, Not, As Petitioners Contend, What
Issues May be Placed on Ballots............... 11

III. The Holding of the Court of Appeals that the
Structure of a Referendum Question is a “Stan-
dard, Practice or Procedure” Affecting Voting
Under § 2 Of the Voting Rights Act is Correct
and Does Not Merit Review by this Court... 13

A. Section 2 Covers Practices Which Affect
How Votes Are Cast and the Decision to
Have One Referendum Question on Sep-
arable Bond Issues Does Just That ...... 13

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

B. The Board’s Actions In Setting the Time of

the Election and the Ballot Structure Were
Political/Election Practices...............

The Evidence in This Record Illustrates
How Referendum Timing and Structure
Can Dilute Minority Voting Strength to
eG Se

The Court of Appeals Correctly Adhered
to the Law That Summary Affirmances are
Binding on Lower Courts...............

IV. This Litigation Presents A Unique Set of Facts.

Similar Issues Will Seldom Arise or be Capable
of Proof, and Therefore Review by this Court is
Rae ga

nu awhdweuwcewvuvens

APPENDIX

Order of Three-Judge Court Denying Preliminary

Injunction on May 27, 1988

Opinion Entered Upon Stay Pending Appeal
Enjoining the Holding of the May 31, 1988 Bond

Referendum Election

Table Showing Racially Polarized Voting Analysis
of Bibb County Elections (Source: Affidavit of

ae eee ee ee ob e ee OR eA OO eS Re oe we ©

15

16

Michael Binford, R48, pp. 6-7)................... 12A°

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544
UN et ar a ee enn i ee ee sa sy ee € 14
Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen v. Bangor &
Aroostook R.R., 3869 U.S. 327 (1967)............... 11
Brown v. Dean, 555 FSupp. 502 (D.R.I. 1982)........ 14

Dunston v. Scott, 336 FSupp. 206 (E.D.N.C. 1972) .... 13
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240

Se kG ey se Ch aS CNA ae be Es 11
Harris v. Graddick, 593 F.Supp. 128 (M.D. Ala.

PCa as cel area ee SaN sorry bi sest nausea 14
Reynotds v. Sime, 377 US. 533 (1968) ... .... 222.005. 14
Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30 (1986)..... 14, 15, 18

U.S. Dept. of Labor v. Triplett, __ U.S. __, 110
to ee CA ca bop CRS Oe ews 11

STATUTES, CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND REGULATIONS

Fe I Sere cs. cleo ycened ene tonite ewe dds 4
pe EET OCTE TET ECET TEC TRE Te 4
Fourteenth Ere ey bth Soo i alot ceca ee ata oat 4
ERE ee ere a rer nee 4
ee ee cp hess nb seu causa uaes av veda ak 4
Ne a i ee ie tiene 2

§ 36-82-1, Official Code of Georgia Ann.............. 6

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, 42
es CU ask vans Kank piensa aetna yaaa passim

Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, 42
Ss Se POC SS dn oon ow ae passe senses £3.73, 7,4

a S160: & TI . oink hse 13

OtHeR AUTHORITIES

S. Rep. 417, 97th Gong., 20 Sees. (1908)... .... 6.52.0 14
H. Rep. 227, 97th Cong., 1st°Sess. (1981)............ 14

No. 90-1167

-%
er

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990

,
4

THE BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION and
ORPHANAGE FOR BIBB COUNTY, GEORGIA, et al.,

Petitioners,
versus

DAVID LUCAS, et al.,
Respondents.

- =
4

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit

>
vw

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

y
wr

Respondents David Lucas, Willie Davis, Jr., Connie
Cater, Corlis McKenzie and Ronnie T. Miley respectfully
request that this Court deny the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari seeking review of the Eleventh Circuit’s opin-
ion which reversed and remanded for consideration, inter
alia, of respondents’ claim premised on Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973.

= *
4

OPINIONS BELOW

The petition appendix does not contain the following
opinions — the opinion of the district court denying
respondents’ first motion for preliminary injunction,
reported at 686 F.Supp. 902 (M.D.Ga. 1988), appended
hereto at 1A, and the opinion entered upon granting a
stay pending appeal and enjoining the holding of the
May 31, 1988 bond referendum election, reported at 486
U.S. 1301 (1988) (KENNEDY, J., in chambers), appended
hereto at 7A.*

.
=

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioners assert jurisdiction in this Court under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

a
>

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners, the Board of Public Education and
Orphanage of Bibb County, Georgia (hereinafter “the
Board”) and related public officials of the county seek
review of the determination by the U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit that the form and structure of a

* Reference to the appendix hereto are “__A.” References to
the petition appendix are “___a.” References to the record are
to the record document number, e.g., “R21.”

referendum question may violate Section 2 of the Voting
Rights Act of 1965, 42 U.S.C. § 1973.!

Proceedings Below. Respondents, black registered
voters of Bibb County and plaintiffs below, instituted this
action contending that the Board removed from the ballot
a bond issue that biack citizens favored (air conditioning
for existing schools) and combined it with several other
bond issues which black citizens opposed (mainly con-
struction of a high school in a white neighborhood when
there was space available in a majority black high school)
and scheduled the referendum for a later, special election.
The air conditioning issue was originally scheduled to be
on the ballot on the March 8, 1988 presidential preference
primary popularly known as Super Tuesday, an election
at which high black voter turnout was expected and
occurred, but the combined issues were scheduled for a
special election at which no other item or races were on
the ballot, on a day after a national holiday at which low
voter turnout would be expected.

Respondents contended that the setting and changing
of the election date and the removal of the one issue and
combining it as one ballot question with others were
“standards, practices or procedures” under the Voting
Rights Act. The complaint was brought under Sections 2

' Section 2 states in relevant part that “[nlo voting quali-
fication or prerequisite to voting or standard, practice, or pro-
cedure shall be imposed or applied by any State or political
subdivision in a manner which results in a denial or abridge-
ment of the right of any citizen of the United States to vote on
account of race or color... ”

and 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973
and 1973c, and the first, thirteenth, fourteenth and fif-
teenth amendments of the Constitution.

Respondents were successful in getting an injunction
to stop the special election set for May 31, 1988. Special
elections in Bibb County are required to receive pre-
clearance under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. 28
CFR § 51.17 (1987). The Board did submit the special
election to the Attorney General of the United States, but
when the Attorney General requested additional informa-
tion rather than preclearing the special election, the
Board proceeded with plans to hold the election. Though
the three-judge district court denied a preliminary injunc-
tion, ruling that the Attorney General’s regulation desig-
nating special elections as covered changes under Section
5 was not authorized under the Act, the election was

enjoined by the Circuit Justice. See appendix hereto, at 1A
and 7A.

The Board rescheduled the bond referendum (with
four bond issues combined into one ballot question) for
the general election on November 8, 1988. Respondents
unsuccessfully sought to enjoin the referendum at that
election, again contending that the combining of issues
required preclearance under Section 5. 38a. The three-
judge district court entered judgment for the Board that
the structure of the referendum question did not violate
the preclearance requirement of Section 5. 44a. Respon-
dents’ appeal to this Court on the Section 5 issue was
affirmed. 46a.

The single judge district court held subsequently that
the form and structure of the referendum question was

not a standard, practice or procedure affecting voting
under Section 2 and dismissed respondents’ Section 2
claims. 17a et seq.?

On appeal to the Eleventh Circuit, the court of
appeals reinstated the complaint holding that respon-
dents did state a claim under Section 2. The Court
rejected the Board’s argument that this Court’s summary
affirmance on the Section 5 appeal foreclosed the claim
under Section 2, stating that “because two reasons exist
for the Supreme Court’s affirmance, it did not necessarily
decide the issue of whether the form of a bond referen-
dum question is a standard, practice or procedure affect-
ing voting.” 9a. (Emphasis in original.) After examining
cases of this Court and inferior courts under Sections 2
and 5, the court concluded respondents’ claim was
encompassed by Section 2. 9a-15a. It stated:

How the Board presents projects to the voters,
whether as single-issue or multiple-issue refer-
endums, becomes a political decision with the
potential for diluting or submerging the minor-
ity vote as prohibited by section 2... . By
combining projects in one referendum, the
Board forced minority voters supporting one
project to either vote in favor of other projects
they might not support, to abstain from voting,
or to vote against the project they supported.
Their political will to defeat certain propositions

2 The opinion only addressed Section 2, not mentioning
respondents’ constitutional claims. A judgment captioned
“Final Judgment” was entered, R61, but by its terms it also
covered only Section 2. The Court of appeals directed the
district court to determine the status of the constitutional
claims. 15a, n.7.

is effectively diluted or submerged by the com-
bination of multiple projects in a single referen-
dum.

13a. The court did not reach the merits of the claim but
remanded for proceedings consistent with its opinion.

Facts Material to the Question Presented.

1. The Referendum Form and Structure Decisions. The
Board had for several years considered a number of pro-
jects - one was the air conditioning of older buildings
and another was the construction of a high school. On
December 17, 1987 a black member of the Board, Revert
Brown, moved to place the air conditioning bond referen-
dum on the March 8, 1988, presidential primary (Super
Tuesday) ballot.3 Jesse Jackson’s name would be on that
ballot as it had been in 1984, which resulted in high black
voter turnout (59%) compared to white voter turnout
(37%). R48, p. 17; R58, p. 48. Four black members joined
with one white member of the Board to adopt the motion.
R4, p. 52. This decision was opposed by the county com-
mission, which itself had previously placed a controver-
sial one cent sales tax on the Super Tuesday ballot. R4, p.
57. The county commission had hired a consultant to help
decide when to hold its sales tax referendum. R21 (Stipu-
lation of: Facts). The consultant studied turnout data for
past elections, including the 1984 presidential primary,
and recommended against having the school bond

3 The county commission, not the Board, has the authority
to call a referendum election, O.C.G.A. § 36-82-1, but as a
practical matter the county commission, which is a party here-
to, accedes to the Board’s requests.

issue and the sales tax referendum together on the Super
Tuesday ballot and reported:

The presidential preference primary (Super
Tuesday) to be held in March may attract large
numbers of voters that are not prepared to cast
an informed vote on the sales tax referendum.

Ibid.. report of Kermit Keenum.

Three weeks after its original vote, the Board re-
scinded the motion calling for the air conditioning refer-
endum, voting strictly on racial lines. R4, p. 57. It decided
to consolidate the air conditioning issue and the school
construction issue into one ballot question and to hold
the election as a one-item special election the day after
Memorial Day, despite the “possibility of a smaller voter
turnout for a one-item vote.” R4, p. 57. A second vote to
separate the multiple issues into individual ballot ques-
tions was rejected strictly along racial lines. 3a, R-21,
Board minutes of June 9, 1988, p. 3. The six white mem-
bers followed the recommendation of the superintendent
who strongly opposed dividing the issues. He recom-
mended:

In order to. . . structure a program which has
the best chance of passing, . . . the Administra-
tion believes that we should keep the package
together and try to get as many persons as pos-
sible who have an interest in any part of it to
support it.

R21 (Stipulation of Facts).

2. The School Bond Issues as Racially Divisive Issues.4
There was a difference between white and black voters in
Bibb County on the referendum issues. As noted above,
all black board members voted to separate the multiple
issues into separate ballot questions. R-21. The Baptist
Ministers Union/Evangelical Ministerial Alliance, com-
posed of all black ministers in Macon, favored the air
conditioning project but opposed the construction of the
high school. The ministers issued a statement that they
were “committed to supporting air conditioning for chil-
dren,” but urged voters to vote against the combined
bond question. R23, p. 10. David Lucas, one of the
respondents, a state representative for fourteen years
with children in the public schools, along with other
black citizens opposed the construction of a new high
school believing that there was space available in a pre-
dominantly black high school and that the location of the
proposed school in a white area would put the burden of
bussing disproportionately on black students. R23, p. 9.

3. Election Turnouts, Results and Racially Polarized
Voting. The combined bond referendum passed with
50.8% of the vote, a margin of 628 votes. White turnout
was higher than black turnout, 71% of whites compared
to 60% of blacks. At the originally scheduled Super Tues-
day referendum date with Jesse Jackson’s name on the

4 The following facts concerning racial division and
polarized voting are in the record but are not set out as
conclusive on these issues, for no trial has been held. Respon-
dents set them out to illustrate how the timing of an election
and the ballot format can be utilized to dilute minority voting
strength.

ballot, black and white turnout were almost equal, 51% of
blacks, 52% of whites. R48, p. 19.

Respondents presented an analysis of 15 elections in
Bibb County between 1979 and 1988, including the school
bond and sales tax referendums in 1988. Dr. Michael
Binford conducted a regression analysis on those elec-
tions, the same procedure utilized in Thornburg v. Gingles,
478 U.S. 30 (1986).

In the twelve black/white elections plus the 1988
presidential general election, the correlation coefficient
(“r’) between votes and racial composition of the turnout
was always between .91 and .99, 1.0 being a perfect
correlation. The amount of variance (“r squared”)
explained by the correlation coefficient ranged from .84 to
99. R48, pp. 3 through 7. The table compiled by Binford
on these races is reproduced at 12A, infra. Binford subse-
quently analyzed seventeen additional races in Macon
and Bibb County between 1971 and 1988, and these but-
tressed his conclusion that “racially polarized voting
exists in Bibb County.” R58, p. 3.

The ecological regression estimates conducted by
Binford showed that 66% of blacks voted against the
combined bond referendum; 57% of whites voted for.
R48, pp. 3-7. Thus a majority of each race voted on
opposing sides, and the difference between the races in
their support of (or opposition to) the referendum was
23%.

More voters of both races turned out in November,
1988 (when the school bond referendum was held) than
in March, 1988 (Super Tuesday, the date of the originally
scheduled air conditioning bond issue), but white voters

10

turned out at a much higher rate than blacks in Novem-
ber. Binford concluded that if black voters in November
had matched the white turnout as they had in March, and
the degree of polarity had continued as the ecological
regression indicates, the referendum would have been
narrowly defeated. R48, p.5.

y%
vw

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. The Opinion Below Reversing and Remanding for
Consideration of Respondents’ Section 2 Complaint
is Not Ripe for Review.

This case is not ripe for review. No trial has been held
and the court of appeals merely remanded the case for
further proceedings.

Subsequent to a pre-trial conference, the district
court ruled that the determination of “the number of
questions to be submitted to the electorate for its
approval or disapproval at the ballot box is not a voting
standard, practice, or procedure” and denied respon-
dents’ claim under Section 2. 35a. The court of appeals
found that a challenge to the form or structure of a
referendum question can state a claim under Section 2,
but appropriately did not reach the merits “because the
district court did not rule on the ‘results’ aspects of this
case.” 15a. The case was remanded to the district court
“for the determination of whether section 2 has been
violated.” Ibid.

It is not the usual practice of this Court to review a
case prior to final judgment, when a court of appeals has

11

remanded, because the case is not ripe for review. Brother-
hood of Locomotive Fireman v. Bangor & Aroostook R.R., 389
U.S. 327 (1967); Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. &
Co., 240 U.S. 251 (1916). Denial of review at this stage is
appropriate here.

In addition, this case may yet be resolved below on
factual grounds. Any need for this Court’s review may be
obviated by development of facts. The parties have never
had a trial in which a finder of fact could explore the
evidentiary bases for respondents’ claims. The claims and
defenses may present different issues when fleshed out
with a full factual record. Cf. U.S. Dept. of Labor v. Triplett,
__ US. __, 110 S.Ct. 1428 (1990). The courts below could
rule for either petitioners or respondents in such a way as
to obviate the question of interpretation of Section 2. If
the findings are that no racial effects sufficient to violate
Section 2 are present, the need to construe the coverage of
Section 2 would not arise. Conversely, if invidiously dis-
criminatory racial purpose and effect are found, respon-
dents would prevail under their constitutional claims
regardless of the scope of Section 2.

Review by the Court at this stage of the proceedings
is simply premature.

II. The Court of Appeals Decided Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act Covers How Ballot Questions
Are Presented, Not, As Petitioners Contend, What
Issues May be Placed on Ballots.

The Board’s first question presented, which contends
the court of appeals’ opinion allows voters “to challenge
a policy decision of a school board as to what bond issues

12

to submit to the voters,” Petition, (i), simply is not at
issue in this case, was not decided by the court below,
and is not presented here.

The Board’s authority to decide on the propriety of
projects and to submit those projects to voters for
approval of bonded indebtedness is unaffected by this
litigation. Nothing in this case even suggests that the
Board may not present any and all projects to the voters.
What respondents contend, and what the court of appeals
decided respondents must be heard on, is that “the struc-
ture of the referendum question” requiring an all or noth-
ing vote on racially divisive issues diluted minority
voting strength. The complaint repeatedly uses the
phrase “the structure of the referendum,” Complaint, R1,
qq 25, 28, 29, 30. It does not challenge the substance of the
items to be placed on the ballot or the authority to place
them on the ballot. It does challenge the Board’s election
decisions — how those items appear on the ballot and how
votes are to be cast and counted for them.

The Board’s argument that the court of appeals held
voters have the right under Section 2 to place items up
for referendum is of whole cloth. There is nothing to
review on this point and_this is not grounds for issuing
the writ of certiorari.

13

III. The Holding of the Court of Appeals that the
Structure of a Referendum Question is a “Stan-
dard, Practice or Procedure” Affecting Voting
Under § 2 of the Voting Rights Act is Correct and
Does Not Merit Review by this Court.

A. Section 2 Covers Practices Which Affect How
Votes are Cast and The Decision to Have One
Referendum Question on Separable Bond
Issues Does Just That.

The court of appeals was correct in holding that the
practice of combining separable referendum issues into a
single question could, in some situations, “dilute a minor-
ity vote as effectively as anti-single shot voting pro-
cedures and straight ticket voting requirements.” 15a. The
anti-single shot and straight ticket comparisons are apt.
Such laws compel voters to vote a full slate, thus casting
ballots for those they co not support. Dunston v. Scott, 336
F.Supp. 206 (E.D.N.C. 1972) (3-judge court). Combining
the bond issues here operated in the same manner. As
reflected in the statement of the Baptist Ministers Union/
Evangelical Alliance, minority voters faced the choice of
opposing a project they favored in order to vote against a
project they opposed. Voters favoring all or none of the
bond issues were able to cast a fully effective ballot.
Those voters divided cn the issues were not.

The Voting Rights Act was designed to cover all
practices that affect voting, and referendum elections are
included in the scope of the Act. The definition of voting
for Section 2 is found in 42 U.S.C. § 1973I(c)(1):

‘

The terms “vote” or “voting” shall include all
action necessary to make a vote effective in any
primary, special, or general election, including,
but not limited to, registration, listing pursuant

14

to this subchapter, or other action required by
law prerequisite to voting, casting a ballot, and
having such ballot counted properly and
included in the appropriate totals of votes cast
with respect to candidates for public or party
office and propositions for which votes are received
in an election.

(Emphasis added.)

This Court long ago recognized that the right to vote
“can be denied by a debasement or dilution of the weight
of a citizen’s vote just as effectively as by wholly prohib-
iting the free exercise of the franchise.” Reynolds v. Sims,
377 U.S. 533, 555 (1964). Congress recognized this in
drafting the Voting Rights Act and defining “voting”
broadly in the Act. Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393
U.S. 544, 565-66 (1969). From Allen to Thornburg v. Gingles,
478 U.S. 30 (1986), the broad scope of potentially discrim-
inatory devices has been recognized.

The Senate Report accompanying the 1982 amend-
ments to the Voting Rights Act states that Section 2 “also
prohibits practices, which, while episodic and not involv-
ing permanent structural barriers, result in the denial of
equal access to any phase of the electoral process for
minority group members.” S. Rep. No. 417, 97th Cong,.,
2d Sess., 30, reprinted in U.S. Code, Cong. & Admin.
News 177 (1982). Consistent with the language of the Act
and the legislative history, Section 2 has been applied to a
range of election related practices. Brown v. Dean, 555
F.Supp. 502 (D.R.I. 1982) (polling place locations); Harris
v. Graddick, 593 F.Supp. 128 (M.D.Ala. 1984) (appointment
of poll officials). For examples of other practices held
covered by Section 2 see cases collected at S. Rep. No.
417, 30, n. 119 and H. Rep. 227, 97th Cong., Ist Sess.,

15

14-17 (1981). A broad construction of Section 2 is consis-
tent with this Court’s opinion in Thornburg v. Gingles, 478
U.S. at 45, n. 10 (“Section 2 prohibits all forms of voting
discrimination, not just vote dilution. S.Rep. at 30.”)

B. The Board’s Actions in Setting the Time of the
Election and the Ballot Structure were Political/
Election Practices.

The Board’s actions in setting the time of the referen-
dum election and combining the bond issues into one
question were political/election practice decisions. The
Board was engaged in a political campaign and was
structuring the election to enhance its chance of winning.
There is nothing inherently sinister in this. This is what is
expected of referendum proponents who control the tim-
ing of the election and the ballot format. But because
election dates and ballot structure affect minority politi-
cal participation, they are subject to challenge under Sec-
tion 2.

The Board’s own statements make clear the purely
political aspect of its decisionmaking. E.g., the superin-
tendent’s report, quoted supra, 7, on how to “structure a
program which has the best chance of passing”; the con-
sultant’s report that the Super Tuesday primary “may
attract large numbers of voters that are not prepared to
cast an informed vote,” quoted supra, 7. Even to this
Court the Board argues the decision of the court v°
appeals will make it “virtually impossible . . . to forge the
coalitions and compromises necessary to fund most pro-
jects.” Petition, 9.

16

The timing and structure of a referendum are clearly
“standards, practices or procedures” affecting voting. The
court of appeals was correct in ruling that Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act proscribes their manipulation in a man-
ner that dilutes minority voting strength.

C. The Evidence in This Record Illustrates How
Referendum Timing and Structure Can Dilute
Minority Voting Strength to Come Within Sec-
tion 2.

Respondents have set out in their statement of the
case some of the facts illustrating how the manipulation
of the ballot timing and structure can dilute minority
voting strength.

When Robert Brown and the other black Board mem-
bers voted to put the air conditioning issue on the 1988
Super Tuesday ballot, they knew Jesse Jackson would be
on the ballot and a high black voter turnout was
expected. When petitioners removed the referendum
from Super Tuesday, they had studied the voter turnout
at the 1984 presidential preference primary, at which
blacks had turned out at a much higher rate than whites.
The Board then picked an election day which was
expected to result in low turnout. The November election
date at which the referendum was finally held resulted in
whites having an advantage, by virtue of high white
voter turnout, they did not have in the March election.

The Board's decision to combine the air conditioning
and high school construction into one ballot question was
made at a time when it knew that black voters supported
the air conditioning and that there was substantial black

17

voter opposition to the school construction. The decision
to combine the questions was specifically made to affect
how people voted, to diminish voting against the school
construction.

The referendum results were racially polarized
despite the Board’s efforts to minimize black voters’
opposition to the school construction. Though the vote on
the referendum was not as polarized as other votes in
Bibb County, 12A, the facts that the majority of black and
white voters cast their votes on opposite sides and that
the spread between black and white voter support or
opposition was 23% strikingly illustrate that the referen-
dum issues were racially divisive. Further, the closeness
of the vote and the different turnouts between March and
November, coupled with the racial polarization, indicates
the manipulation of the date and ballot question affected
the outcome of the election. The referendum carried
though 66% of minority voters opposed it, and the evi-
dence in the record strongly indicates the results would
have been different if the original election date had been
used. This case presents a classic instance of dilution of
the minority vote.

The court of appeals was correct in holding the
Board’s actions were encompassed by Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act. The decision below is consistent with
the language and legislative history of the Act, and plen-
ary review is not warranted.

D. The Court of Appeals Correctly Adhered to the
Law That Summary Affirmances are Binding
on Lower Courts.

In the Section 5 part of this case, this Court sum-
marily affirmed the judgment of the three judge district

18

court that the decision to combine the bond issues into
one referendum question did not violate Section 5 of the
Voting Rights Act for failure to receive preclearance. 44a,
46a. Petitioners urge review contending that the court of
appeals’ decision is in direct conflict with this summary
affirmance. Petition, 13.

To the contrary, the court of appeals correctly
acknowledged that all inferior courts are bound by any
question necessarily decided by a summary affirmance by
this Court. 7a. The court also correctly decided that the
summary affirmance could have been based on one of
two rationales — that the Board’s action was not a change
in voting practices because it was authorized by statutes
pre-existing the effective date of the Act, or that it was
not a voting practice. 9a.°

The argument in this section demonstrates that the
court of appeals’ decision — that the Board’s actions were
standards, practices or procedures affecting voting within
the meaning of Section 2 - was correct and plenary
review by this Court is not warranted.

> There is nothing that “defies reason,” Petition, 13, in a
voting practice exempt from Section 5, either because it was
authorized by law in effect prior to the date of coverage or was
actually precleared, being subject to challenge under Section 2.
See, Thornburg v. Gingles, supra, finding a legislative reappor-
tionment in violation of Section 2 which had been previously
precleared under Section 5.

19

IV. This Litigation Presents a Unique Set of Facts.
Similar Issues Will Seldom Arise or Be Capable of
Proof, and Therefore Review by this Court is Not
Merited.

The facts underlying this litigation are unique, both
as a matter of occurrence and of availability of proof of
racial purpose and effect. Seldom will there be recorded
evidence of the decision to place a ballot issue on a date
on which blacks would be expected to turn out in rela-
tively high numbers, that public officials would rescind
that decision and attempt to move the referendum to a
day after a national holiday with expected low turnout,
that black and white citizens would be divided over
referendum proposals in the same election, that p.<opo-
nents’ motivations in structuring the election would be
contemporaneously recorded, that the ultimate vote
would be so close and so racially polarized that proof is
available not merely of minority vote dilution, but that
the outcome of the election would have been different
absent the dilution.

Similar litigation will seldom arise such that there is
a need for plenary review, and as the.court of appeals
noted, its “holdings do not have any far reaching impact
on the manner in which public bodies in Georgia may
offer propositions to the voters.” 15a.

,
=

20

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, respondents suggest that
the petition for writ of certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Net. BRADLEY

(Counsel of Record)

LAUGHLIN McDoNnaLp

KATHLEEN L. WILDE

Mary E. Wyckorr

AMERICAN Civil LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION, INC.

44 Forsyth Street, NW

Atlanta, GA 30303

(404) 523-2721

Counsel for Respondents

1A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
MACON DIVISION

C.A. 88-166-1-MAC (WDO)
[Filed May 27, 1988]
[686 FSupp. 902)

DAVID LUCAS, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

JUDY TOWNSEND, et al.,
Defendants.

OWENS, District Judge

Plaintiffs in their complaint filed this 27th day of
May at 2:20 P.M. contend that the Tuesday, May 31, 1988,
bond referendum election to be held in Bibb County,
Georgia, should be temporarily restrained by the receiv-
ing single district judge and preliminarily enjoined by the
court of three judges — Circuit Judge James C. Hill, Dis-
trict Judge Duross Fitzpatrick and Chief District Judge
Wilbur D. Owens, Jr., appointed this date by Chief Circuit
Judge Paul Roney pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2284(b) — because
it is being held in violation of Section Five of the Voting
Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. 1973(c).

Plaintiffs’ motion for a temporary restraining order
came on to be heard before the receiving single judge
who heard evidence and argument from plaintiffs and
defendants. At the conclusion of the hearing the parties
were asked if they desired a further hearing preceding

2A

the scheduled election before the court of three judges.
All parties responded that if such a hearing were held,
they would present nothing other than what was pre-
sented this afternoon so that it is agreeable with all for
the court of three judges to decide this controversy on the
basis of all that was presented to and heard by the
receiving single district judge. Accordingly, the court of
three judges conferred by telephone, carefully considered
the contentions of the parties and decided as follows:

Section Five of the Act, 42 U.S.C.A. § 1973c,
provides that whenever a covered state or politi-
cal subdivision “shall enact or seek to adminis-
ter any voting qualification or prerequisite to
voting, or standard, practice, or procedure with
respect to voting different from that in force or
effect on November 1, 1964...” it may not
utilize or implement such change until (a) it has
secured a judicial determination in the U.S. Dis-
trict Court for the District of Columbia that the
change does not have the purpose or effect of
denying the right to vote on account of race or
(b) it has submitted such change to the Attorney
General of the United States and the Attorney
General has not interposed an objection within
sixty days. While the Act does not specifically
provide for a remedy for failure to comply with
Section Five, the Supreme Court has held that a
complaint for injunctive relief to be heard by a
district court of three judges may be filed in any
U.S. District Court and that court if it is shown
that Section Five applies must enjoin the utiliza-
tion or implementation of such change until Sec-
tion Five is complied with. Allen v. Board of
Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 89 S.Ct. 817, 22 L.Ed. 2d 1
(1969).

3A

This district court of three judges is required to
resolve any dispute as to the coverage of Section
Five or, said more directly, to determine
“whether such changes have the potential! for
diluting the value of the Negro vote and are
within the definitional terms of § 5.” Georgia v.
United States, 411 U.S. 526, 534, 93 S.Ct. 1702,
1707, 36 L.Ed.2d 472, 481 (1973). The question of
coverage to be decided by this court does not
include the ultimate question required by Sec-
tion Five to be presented to the District Court
for the District of Columbia or the Attorney
General, i.e., whether or not the enactment in
truth and fact has a discriminatory purpose or
effect. Perkins v. Matthews, 400 U.S. 379, 383, 91
S.Ct. 431, 434, 27 L.Ed.2d 476, 482 (1971).

Plaintiffs contend that the school bond referendum
scheduled for May 31, 1988, constitutes a “change,” as
that term has been defined under 42 U.S.C. § 1973c, and
therefore, the bond referendum cannot be held on that
date absent preclearance from the Attorney General’s
office. Plaintiffs support this position by citing the court
to 28 C.F.R. § 51.17. This section provides in relevant part:

(a) The conduct of a special election_(e.g., an
election to fill a vacancy; an initiative, referen-
dum, or recall election; or a bond issue election)
is subject to the preclearance requirement to the
extent that the jurisdiction makes changes in the
practices or procedures to be followed.

(b) Any discretionary setting of the date for a
special election or scheduling of events leading
up to or following a special election is subject to
the preclearance requirement.

Plaintiffs have also presented evidence that the Attorney
General, has, in fact, refused to preclear the May 31st,

4A

1988, election date’ because he had not been provided
with sufficient data to make an informed decision on the
subject. Based upon these facts, and without any more
evidence, plaintiffs assert that Section Five is implicated
because the election, as scheduled, is a “change,” and that
it has the “potential for diluting the value of the Negro
vote.” See Georgia v. United States, 411 U.S. at 534
(emphasis added).

Plaintiffs have presented no evidence, however, that
the standard, practice, or procedure for scheduling bond
referendums presently being utilized in this state is any
different from that in force or effect when the Voting
Rights Act was adopted and/or extended. Even assuming
that such is the case, the evidence presented before this
Court has utterly failed to demonstrate that the holding
of the bond referendum on May 31st, 1988, has even the
potential for diluting the minority vote. Plaintiffs’ argu-
ment is that there would be an adverse effect with regard
to voting by minorities if a bond referendum, such as the
one at issue, is conducted on a date other than the date of
a statewide or national election. As the argument goes,
this would be necessary in order to insure a large black
voter turnout. We are aware of nothing in Section Five
jurisprudence which requires such a result. There is no
reason to suspect that blacks or whites will turn out in
greater or less numbers in proportion to each other if the
election is conducted at a time when only one issue is put
before the voters, as opposed to a date when other issues

' Defendants have made an effort to comply with the
Attorney General’s regulations, however, their compliance was
done under protest.

5A

or races are pending. To find to the contrary would, in
effect, restrict all special elections to being held at the
time of a general primary or general election, and would
entirely negate the purpose of having a special election
law in the first place. Plaintiffs have presented no evi-
dence to refute such a conclusion. Plaintiffs have cited the
court to the Eleventh [sic Fifth] Circuit’s decision in Gar-
cia v. Guerra, 744 F.2d 1159 (11th [5th] Cir. 1984), however,
this case is not controlling because the “change” therein
clearly implicated the migrant farmworkers’ ability to
participate in the planned election.

While the court recognizes that the Attorney General
plays a cextral role in formulating and implementing
Section Five, and that his interpretation of the scope of
this section is entitled to particular deference, the ulti-
mate determination of whether a change is covered by
Section Five is reserved for a three-judge panel in the
local district court. See Allen v. Board of Elections, 393 U.S.
544, 562-63 (1969); and Garcia, 744 F.2d at 1163. The Attor-
ney General’s regulation making all discretionary special
elections subject to Section Five’s coverage is simply not
supported by the language found in 42 U.S.C. § 1973c.
The electoral action involved must constitute a genuine
change from past practices, and further it must have, at
minimum, the potential for discrimination. The facts as
presented herein, do not demonstrate these requirements.

Accordingly, because plaintiffs have failed to present
any evidence that the school bond referendum scheduled
for May 31st, 1988, is a cognizable “change” under Sec-
tion Five of the Voting Rights Act, and that the election
will in some way discriminate against minority voters,

6A

the court must and does hereby DENY plaintiffs’ prayer
for preliminary injunctive relief.

For the Court of three Judges, this 27th day of May,
1988.

/s/ Wilbur D. Owens, Jr.
Wilbur D. Owens, Jr.
Chief United States
District Judge
###

7A

[108 S.Ct. 1763]
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
LUCAS ET AL. v. TOWNSEND ET AL.
No. A-898

JUSTICE KENNEDY, Circuit Justice.

This is an application to enjoin a bond referendum
election scheduled for May 31, 1988, in Bibb County,
Georgia. The applicants are five black citizens registered
to vote in Bibb County. On May 27, 1988, a three-judge
District Court for the Middle District of Georgia declined
to issue an injunction, concluding that the applicants had
failed to establish that holding the election now contem-
plated would violate Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act,
79 Stat., as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c. The United States
has submitted, and i have reviewed, a memorandum
advising me that it supports the applicants’ request for
immediate injunctive relief. | have also reviewed and
considered a submission by appellees in opposition.

I

On December 17, 1987, the Bibb County Board of
Education resolved to place a bond referendum on the
March 8, 1988 ballot, a primary election date popularly
known as “Super Tuesday.” The bond issue was intended
to help defray the cost of air conditioning certain local
schools. The Board subsequently voted, on January 4,
1988, to rescind its prior resolution. It resolved to post-
pone the referendum until May 31, 1988, when it would

8A

be voted on with a second bond issue for the building of
a new high school.

On March 7, 1988, counsel for the applicants
requested the Board to rescind its vote calling for the May
31 referendum. In his letter to the Board, counsel argued
that changing the date of the election from a primary day
would adversely affect minority voter turnout. The letter
also argued that the two bond issues had been combined
in an effort to manipulate the minority vote, and noted
that the call for the May 31 referendum had not yet been
submitted for preclearance to the Voting Section of the
United States Department of Justice.

On March 30, 1988, the State authorities applied to
the Voting Section of the Civil Rights Division of the
Department of Justice for preclearance. On May 25, 1988,
the Civil Rights Division responded that “the information
sent is insufficient to enable us to determine that the
proposed change does not have the purpose and will not
have the effect of denying or abridging the right to vote
on account of race or color,” and asked for additional
information, including a “detailed explanation of the rea-
son for choosing May 31, 1988, as the bond election date.”

The Division also requested that State authorities
respond to allegations (i) that the Super Tuesday date had
been abandoned because the turnout of black voters was
expected to be high on that date, and (ii) that the two
bond issues were consolidated to prevent black voters
from voting separately on each of the proposed projects.
Finally, the Division noted that the Attorney General has
60 days to consider a completed submission, and that the

9A

period would begin to run upon receipt by the Division
of all necessary information.

Applicants sought an injunction prohibiting the
Board from holding the election on the ground that the
election had not been precleared by the Attorney General
in.accordance with Section 5. On May 27, 1988, the three-
judge court denied the request for an injunction. The
court stated that it was required to determine whether the
actions proposed “have the potential for diluting the
value of the Negro vote and are within the definitional
terms of § 5.” Opinion, at 3, quoting Georgia v. United
States, 411 U.S. 526, 534 (1976). It also adverted to the
Attorney General’s regulation providing that any discre-
tionary setting of the date for a special election, which is
defined to include a referendum, is subject to the pre-
clearance requirement, 28 CFR § 51.17 (1987), and
acknowledged that the Attorney General had not pre-
cleared the referendum.

The court concluded that the applicants had failed to
present evidence that the procedures to be utilized in the
upcoming election differ from those in use at the time the
Act became law. Accordingly, it concluded that the refer-
endum was not a “change” covered by Section 5. While
the court noted that the Attorney General’s regulation
provides otherwise, it held that the regulation is not
supported by the language of Section 5. Alternatively, the
court concluded that plaintiffs had failed to show that
holding the referendum on May 31, 1988, “has even the
potential for diluting the minority vote.” Opinion, at 4-5.
Accordingly, the court declined to issue the injunction
prayed for by the applicants. This application followed.

10A

I]

The principles that control a Circuit Justice’s consid-
eration of in-chambers applications for equitable relief
are well settled. As a threshold consideration, it must be
established that four members of the Court will consider
the issue sufficiently meritorious to grant certiorari or to
note probable jurisdiction. See White v. Florida, 458 U.S.
1301, 1302 (1982) (Powell, J., in chambers); Rostker v.
Goldberg, 448 U.S. 1306, 1308 (1980) (Brennan, J., in cham-
bers). I must also be persuaded that there is a fair pros-
pect that five Justices will conclude that the case was
erroneously decided below. See, e.g., Graves v. Barnes, 405
U.S. 1201, 1203 (1972). Finally, an applicant must demon-
strate that irreparable harm will likely resuit from the
denial of equitable relief and, in appropriate cases, a
Circuit Justice will balance the equities to determine
whether the injury asserted by the applicant outweighs
the harm to other parties or to the public. See Rostker v.
Goldberg, supra, at 1308; Times Picayune Publishing Corp. v.
Schulingkamp, 419 U.S. 1301, 1304 (1974) (Powell, J., in
chambers). —

The substantiality of the federal questions presented
by the case cannot be doubted. Section 5 provides that
certain jurisdictions, including the one in which this case
arose, may not implement any election practices different
from those in force on November 1, 1964, without first
obtaining approval from the United States District Court
for the District of Columbia or, alternatively, from the
Attorney General. Neither statutory requirement has
been met in this case. The three-judge court concluded,
however, that the discretionary setting of the date of a
special election is not a “change” covered by the statute,

11A

notwithstanding the provision in 28 CFR § 51.17 to the
contrary. The conclusion is most problematic under our
precedents, see, e.g., NAACP v. Hampton County Election
Commission, 470 U.S. 166, 178 (1985) (noting that it could
not seriously be disputed “that a change in the date of an
election, if effected by statute, requires approval by the
Attorney General under § 5”), and I have concluded that
four members of the Court would likely vote to note
probable jurisdiction and that there is a fair prospect that
the Court would vote to reverse the judgment below.

I am further persuaded that irreparable harm likely
would flow from a denial of injunctive relief. Permitting
the election to go forward would place the burdens of
inertia and litigation delay on those whom the siatute
was intended to protect, despite their obvious diligence
in seeking an adjudication of their rights prior to the
election. Even if the election is subsequently invalidated,
the effect on both applicants and defendants likely would
be most disruptive. Further, although an injunction
would doubtless place certain burdens on defendants,
such burdens can fairly be ascribed to the defendants’
own failure to seek preclearance sufficiently in advance
of the date chosen for the election. On balance, I conclude
that the equities favor the applicants. Today | have
entered an order enjoining the election, pending the
timely docketing of an appeal.

HHH

12A

[Source: Affidavit of Michael Binford, R48, pp. 6-7]
Bibb County, Georgia

r R2 100% 100%
White black
Jackson 99 99 3% 69%
1984
Jackson 59 .98 12% 104%
1988
Sales Tax .68 46 53% 71%
(No)
Dukakis .98 95 30% 101%
1988
Bonds (No) .66 44 43% 66%
Adams, 1986 .98 .96 18% 91%
primary
Hudson, 1986 95 .90 13% 83%
primary
Adams, 1986 93 87 23% 103%
run-off
Harvey/Hill 91 84 56% 98%
1987 primary
Brooks, 1987 99 99 17% 93%
primary
Lucas, 1987 99 99 16% 97%
primary
Dillard / Huff .98 .97 36% 95%
1987 primary
Brooks, 1987 99 .98 39% 94%

general

13A

Lucas, 1987 .99 99 8% 96%
general

Brooks, 1979 99 .97 25% 93%
primary

The first column reports the correlation coefficient
between the votes and racial composition of the precinct.
The second column indicates the amount of variance
explained by the correlation. The third and fourth col-
umns present the estimates from the regression equations
for the percentage of vote that would be given to a
candidate in homogeneous white and black precincts.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1009%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
