# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Board of Public Education v. Lucas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1009%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 973

## Text

at i’ P D
\) | Le |

4

90-1 I 07 4 jan 22 1991

7 —_— —= , SSEPHEPRSPANIOL, JR
CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

THE BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION and
ORPHANAGE FOR BIBB COUNTY, et al.,
“ Petitioners,
DAVID LUCAS, et al.,
Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

TETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRANK CATER JONES *
STEPHANIE E. PARKER
DAVID C. NUTTER

KING & SPALDING

2500 Trust Company Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 572-4600

W. WARREN PLOWDEN, JR.
CRAIG N. COWART

JONES, CORK & MILLER

P.O. Box 6437

500 Trust Company Bank Bldg.
Macon, Georgia 31208-6437
(912) 745-2821

EDWARD S. SELL, JR.
SELL & MELTON
1414 Charter Medical Bldg.
P.O. Box 229
Macon, Georgia 31297-2899
(912) 746-8521

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioners

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Under Georgia law, elected school boards are given ex-
clusive authority to decide whether capital improvement
projects will be undertaken and how they will be financed.
If a school board (or any other local governmental body
in Georgia) decides to fund a capital improvement
through bonded indebtedness, the issuance of the bonds
must be approved by the voters in a referendum.

The questions presented by this petition are:

1. Whether the Court of Appeals improperly expanded
Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act (which pro-
hibits any voting qualification, prerequisite to vot-
ing or standard, practice or procedure abridging
the right to vote) by empowering voters themselves,
in contravention of the exclusive authority vested
in elected school boards, to challenge a policy deci-
sion of a school board as to what bond issues tu
submit to the voters?

2. Whether the Court of Appeals’ ruling under Section
2 of the Voting Rights Act is inconsistent with this
Court’s summary affirmance in this case of a three-
judge district court’s ruling under Section 5 of the
Voting Rights Act that a school board’s decision as
to what bond issues to submit to the voters is not a
voting qualification, prerequisite to voting or stand-
ard, practice or procedure with respect to voting?

(i)

ii
THE PARTIES

The petitioners before this Court are the Board of
Public Education and Orphanage for Bibb County;
Stephen Massey in his official capacity as President of
the Board of Education; the Bibb County Board of Com-
missioners; Larry Justice in his official capacity as Chair-
man of the Bibb County Board of Commissioners; the
Macon-Bibb County Board of Elections; A. B. Caldwell
in his official capacity as Chairman of the Macon-Bibb
County Board of Elections; and Bernard Fletcher in his
official capacity as Superintendent of the Macon-Bibb
County Board of Elections. The respondents before this
Court are David Lueas, Willie Davis, Jr., Connie Cater,
Corlis McKenzie and Ronnie T. Miley.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
GUEBSLIONS PRESENTED ..........................c0...c....ccces00: i
seals iuluienaeauiibiessslesioammed il
gg |, V
a cscccuchbupesucnctaenconcessessees are 2
ET RE 2
NI i cccaneensccececnneccccncacaveasccsesces 2
SLALOM: OF THE CASE ......................................... 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT _.......... = 7
I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION IN-
VADES THE LEGISLATIVE DISCRETION
OF VALIDLY ELECTED LOCAL GOVERN-
MENTAL BODIES AND IMPROPERLY RE-
STRICTS THE OPERATION OF LOCAL
Neen uauesbbcucuecemannauneeces 7
Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION IM-
PROPERLY EXPANDS THE REACH OF
THE VOTING RIGHTS ACT IN CONTRA-
VENTION OF THE LANGUAGE AND HIS-
TORY OF THE ACT AND CONFLICTS WITH
ESTABLISHED PRECEDENT OF THIS
Nee Te sickesaeisweenune SaaS 10
i os canissammunnmavenne 15
APPENDICES
\
Appendix A
Lucas v. Townsend, 908 F.2d 851 (11th Cir.
rc snunumuncnscnunaienn la

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page
Appendix B

Lucas v. Townsend, 714 F. Supp. 525 (M.D.
ee raat nem nee rere 17a

Appendix C

Unpublished Order of the Eleventh Circuit
denying petition for rehearing in Lucas v.
Townsend, 908 F.2d 851 (11th Cir. 1990) ...... 36a

Appendix D

Lucas v. Townsend, 698 F. Supp. 909 (M.D.

eg es Pe eeree ee 38a
Appendix E

Lucas v. Townsend, 732 F. Supp. 1581 (M.D.

nc I Wd II i eccetekccnaescarcudivaninpaemeniconicenccusc 44a
Appendix F ;

Lucas v. Townsend, 110 S. Ct. 858 (1990)...... 46a

v
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544,
563-67 (1969) _.......... ee a ea ee 10, 11
Delgado v. Smith, 861 F.2d 1489, 1492 (11th Cir.
1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 3243 (1989)... = 10
Dougherty County, Georgia Board of Education v.
fe 6D OF ae | ne en cence 11, 12
Georgia v. United States, 411 U.S. 526 (1973)... 11
Hadnot v. Amos, 394 U.S. 358 (1969) _....0 11
Hart v. Board of Education, 299 Mo. 36, 252 S.W.
SRR PR eR SNe. Pee OE 8
Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) ................... 13
Lucas v. Townsend, 698 F. Supp. 909 (M.D. Ga.
1988), aff'd mem., 110 S. Ct. 858 (1990)... 4, 5, 18
Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173 (1977) .......0...... 13
Miles v. State, 96 Ga. App. 610, 614, 101 S.E.2d
RF, Re AR ere oe ee 8
Perkins v. Matthews, 400 U.S. 379 (1971) _........... 11
Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30, 38 (1986)... 1l
United States v. Board of Commissioners of Shef-
pe OS RB Oe, | ne renee 14
Wells v. Banks, 153 Ga. App. 581, 266 S.E.2d 270
PIE cacscaceckerestuceseuatgetecacnaateismacsciuiccaie aaa ae saad 3,7
Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124, 154-55 (1971)... 10

White v. Dougherty County Board of Education,
579 F. Supp. 1480 (M.D. Ga. 1984), aff'd mem.,

A's eo | eee 12
Statutes
28 U.S.C.A. § 1254(1) (West Supp. 1990) _............ 2
Voting Rights Act of 1965 § 2, 42 U.S.C.A. § 1973

ao 8 Teh Re lh oan ort passim
Voting Rights Act of 1965 §5, 42 U.S.C.A.

4 | SE ee il it ee ee ee passim
Official Code of Georgia Annotated § 20-2-50 3.7
Official Code of Georgia Annotated § 20-2-430 8
Official Code of Georgia Annotated § 20-2-520 _.... 3, 7

Other Authorities
i aC i tteasencccnes 3, 8

S. Rep. No. 417, 97th Cong., 2d Sess., 28 reprinted
in, 1982 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 206

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

THE BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION and
ORPHANAGE FOR BIBB COUNTY, et al.,
. Petitioners,
DAviIp LUCAS, et al.,
Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Board of Public Education and Orphanage for
Bibb County; Stephen Massey in his official capacity as
President of the Board of Education; the Bibb County
Board of Commissioners; Larry Justice in his official
capacity as Chairman of the Bibb County Board of Com-
missioners; the Macon-Bibb County Board of Elections;
A. B. Caldwell in his official capacity as Chairman of the
Macon-Bibb County Board of Elections; and Bernard
Fletcher in his official capacity as Superintendent of the
Macon-Bibb County Board of Elections (collectively the
“Board” or the “School Board’) respectfully petition for
a writ of certiorari to review the decision of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Cireuit in
this case.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 908
F.2d 851 and is reprinted as Appendix A to this Peti-
tion. The Order of the District Court is reported at 714
F. Supp. 525 and is reprinted as Appendix B. The un-
published Order of the Court of Appeals denying the
Petition for Rehearing is reprinted as Appendix C.

The Orders of the District Court of three judges, con-
vened under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, are re-
ported at 698 F. Supp. 909 and 732 F. Supp. 1581 and
are reprinted as Appendices D and E. The Decision of
this Court summarily affirming the judgment of the Dis-
trict Court of three judges is reported at 110 S. Ct. 858
and is reprinted as Appendix F.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals was entered on
August 9, 1990. 908 F.2d 851 (App. A). A timely
Petition for Rehearing was denied on October 30, 1990.
(App. C). This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.A.
Section 1254(1) (West Supp. 1990).

STATUTE INVOLVED

This case involves Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act
of 1965, 42 U.S.C.A. § 1973 (West Supp. 1990), which
provides: :

‘a) No voting qualification or prerequisite to voting or
standard, practice, or procedure shall be imposed
or applied by any State or political subdivision in
a manner which results in a denial or abridgement
of the right of any citizen of the United States to
vote on account of race or color, or in contraven-
tion of the guarantees set forth in Section 1973b
(f' (2) of this title, as provided in subsection (b)
of this section.

‘bi A violation of subsection (a) of this section is
established if, based on the totality of circum-

’ 3

stances, it is shown that the political processes lead-
ing to nomination or election in the State or politi-
cal subdivision are not equally open to participa-
tion by members of a class of citizens protected
by subsection (a) of this section in that its mem-
bers have less opportunity than other members of
the electorate to participate in the political process
and to elect representatives of their choice. The
extent to which members of a protected class have
been elected to office in the State or political sub-
division is one circumstance which may be con-
sidered: Provided, That nothing in this section
establishes a right to have members of a protected
class elected in numbers equal to their proportion
in the population.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

County school boards in Georgia are vested with broad
authority to govern, manage and control local schools and
to “make all arrangements necessary to the efficient op-
eration of the schools.” 0O.C.G.A. $§ 20-2-520, 20-2-50;
Wells v. Banks, 153 Ga. App. 581, 266 S.E.2d 270
(1980). Pursuant to this authority, the Board adopted
a comprehensive capital improvement plan to air condi-
tion 17 existing schools, construct a new high school and
a new middle school,' and renovate an existing high
school for use as a magnet school. 908 F.2d 851, 852
(App. A at 2a); 714 F. Supp. 525, 526 (App. B at
17a-18a). To fund this plan, the Board decided to issue
$29 million of bonded indebtedness.

Under Georgia law, a decision by a school board or
other local governmental body to issue bonds must be
approved by the voters through a referendum. Ga. Const.
art. IX, $V, (1. Accordingly, the Board scheduled a
bond referendum for November 8, 1988, in connection
with a general election on that date. 908 F.2d at 853

1 The new schools were to serve student bodies of approximately
50° black students and 50° white students. Lucas v. Townsend,
714 F. Supp. 525, 526 (M.D. Ga. 1989) (App. B at 17a).

ogo

4

(App. A at 4a). The question to be presented to the
voters in the referendum was as follows:

SHALL GENERAL OBLIGATION SCHOOL BONDS
IN THE AMOUNT OF $29 MILLION BE ISSUED
BY BIBB COUNTY?

Acting upon the Board’s request, the Attorney Gen-
eral of the United States precleared the referendum date
under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, 42
U.S.C.A. § 1973¢ (the “Act’’). 908 F.2d at 853 (App. A
at 4a). Prior to that date, respondents, who are regis-
tered voters in Bibb County, sued the Board to enjoin
the bond referendum under Section 5 of the Act. Re-
spondents argued that the Board’s decision to submit
the $29 million bond issue to the electorate as a single,
combined question—rather than having a separate ques-
tion on each component of the capital improvement plan
—constituted a “voting qualification or prerequisite to
voting, or standard, practice, or procedure with respect
to voting” under Section 5, 42 U.S.C.A. $1973c. 908
F.2d at 852-53 (App. A at 3a).

A district court of three judges (the “Three-Judge
Court”) was convened pursuant to Section 5. In re-
sponse to the Three-Judge Court’s invitation, the At-
torney General of the United States filed a brief as
amicus curiae. The Attorney General took the position
that the decision to include funding for several related
projects in a single bond issue was not a voting qualifi-
cation or prerequisite to voting, or standard, practice,
or procedure with respect to voting under Section 5.
Adopting the Attorney General’s position, the Three-
Judge Court denied respondents’ motion for a prelimi-

/ nary injunction and held that the Board’s decision to

submit the $29 million bond issue to the electorate as
one question was simply a “normal legislative decision
unrelated to the process of holding elections.” 698 F.
Supp. 909, 912 (quoting Brief for the United States as
Amicus Curiae in the United States District Court for

Se =

5

the Middle District of Georgia at 16) (App. D at 43a).
The court also concluded that the Board formulated the
question in a manner consistent with Georgia law as it
had existed both before and after the benchmark date
contained in Section 5. Jd. (App. D at 43a).

On November 8, 1988, the referendum took place as
scheduled and was approved by the voters. 908 F.2d at
853 (App. A at 5a). On March 7, 1989, the Three-Judge
Court issued a Final Order entering judgment against
respondents on their Section 5 claim. 732 F. Supp. 1581
(App. E at 45a).

Respondents appealed to this Court. The Attorney
General was again invited to file a brief as amicus
curiae. The Attorney General took the same position as
in the lower court, again expressing the view that this
type of discretionary decision “concerning the content of
a bond issuance referendum did not require preclearance
because it was not a voting matter within the purview
of Section 5.” (Brief for the United States as Amicus
Curiae in the Supreme Court of the United States at
11). On January 22, 1990, this Court summarily af-
firmed the judgment of the Three-Judge Court denying
respondents’ claim for relief under Section 5. Lucas v.
Townsend, 110 S. Ct. 858 (1990) (App. F at 46a).

Having failed under Section 5, respondents then ai-
tempted to persuade a single-judge district court (the
“District Court”) that the conduct found not to be a
“standard, practice, or procedure” affecting voting under
Section 5, was nevertheless a “standard, practice or pro-
cedure” abridging the right to vote under Section 2 of
the Act. The District Court rejected respondents’ argu-
ment and held that the exercise of discretion by validly
elected local bodies in deciding to fund a comprehensive
capital improvement plan through a single bond issue was
not a standard, practice or procedure abridging the right
to vote. 714 F. Supp. 525, 534 (App. B at 35a). As the
District Court explained:

6

The Voting Rights Act addresses the right to vote;
it does not address the deliberative process of local
or state boards. ... Elected bodies like the School
Board of Bibb County, comprised of individuals nom-
inated and elected in presumably valid elections in
which all voters had an equal opportunity to partici-
pate, must be afforded some freedom to engage in
the traditional political tools of consensus-building
and compromise to effectuate comprenhensive plans
for school and community development and improve-
ment. Government in the United States, be it fed-
eral, state or local, takes the form of representative
democracy. That does not mean, of course, that rep-
resentatives once elected are free to disregard the
law; however, the functioning of a representative
democracy must be contrasted with the functioning
of a pure democracy. Representatives are elected to
pursie an agenda which benefits the community at
large. They may be re-elected or cast out of office,
depending upon their performance or lack thereof.
This scheme of government does not contemplate a
vote by every individual on every single issue in iso-
lation or in the abstract. ...

To accept [respondents]’ position in this matter is
to invite chaos. Any and all matters which are to be
submitted to the electorate for its approval or dis-
approval, be that matter a proposal by a local board
for a bond issue to construct a new high school or
be it an amendment proposed by a state legislature,
would be subject to challenge under the Voting Rights
Act. This Court finds [respondents]’ position un-
founded either in law or in logic.

714 F. Supp. at 532-33 (App. B at 30a-32a) ‘(emphasis
added .

Respondents appealed to the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Eleventh Circuit. Despite the fact that this
Court had summarily affirmed the Three-Judge Court’s
decision denying respondents’ claim under Section 5, and
even though the Attorney General had twice filed amicus

7

curiae briefs disagreeing with respondents’ contention,
the Eleventh Circuit issued a 2-1 decision on August 9,
1990, reversing the judgment of the District Court. 908
F.2d 851 (App. A).

Rejecting the reasoning of the Attorney General, the
Court of Appeals held in essence that the very same ac-
tion that was not a standard, practice or procedure affect-
ing voting under Section 5, was a standard, practice or
procedure having the potential to abridge the right te vote
under Section 2. 908 F.2d at 857-58 (App. A at 13a-14a).
Even though state law vests the Board with the exclusive
authority to decide what bond issues to submit to the
voters, the Court of Appeals held that “[m]inority com-
munities have the right to vote for or against the propo-
sitions of their choice just as they have the right to a
fully effective vote to elect candidates of their choice.”
908 F.2d at 858 (App. A at 14a) (emphasis added).

In dissent, former Chief Judge Roney adopted the rea-
soning of the District Court and the Attorney General
that the exercise of discretion by a validly elected local
governmental body in deciding to fund a comprehensive
capital improvement plan through a single bond issue is
not a standard, practice, or procedure abridging the right
to vote. /d. at 858-59 (App. A at 16a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION INVADES
THE LEGISLATIVE DISCRETION OF VALIDLY
ELECTED LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL BODIES AND
IMPROPERLY RESTRICTS THE OPERATION OF
LOCAL GOVERNMENT.

Georgia law vests local county school boards with broad
authority to govern, manage and control local schools and
to “make all arrangements necessary to the efficient op-
eration of the schools.” O.C.G.A. $£ 20-2-520, 20-2-50;
Wells v. Banks, 153 Ga. App. 581, 266 S.E.2d 270 (1980).

8

Thus, the Board is vested with the discretion to decide
how to manage the schools, including how to fund capital
improvements. The voters exercise control over the Board
through elections of Board members.? If voters are dis-
satisfied with the performance of the Board, they may cast
their votes to elect new members. The only local govern-
ment issue on which voters have a direct voice is a deci-
sion by a local governmental body to incur bonded debt,
which must be approved by the voters through a referen-
dum. Ga. Const. art. IX, $V, { I. The decision as to
what bond issue(s) to propose to the voters, however,
rests exclusively with the school board. O.C.G.A, § 20-2-
430: Miles v. State, 96 Ga. App. 610, 614, 101 S.E.2d
173, 176 (1957) (quoting Hart v. Board of Education,
299 Mo. 36, 252 S.W. 441 (1923)).°

The Court of Appeals’ decision invalidates this system
of local representative government and purports to grant
to the voters themselves, as opposed to their validly elected
representatives, the right to decide what projects should
be submitted to the voters for approval. In essence, the
Court of Appeals’ decision creates a right to vote—on
what bond issues will be submitted to the voters—that
does not exist under state law.

“Bibb County is located in central Georgia. According to the
1980 census, it has a population of approximately 150,000. Approxi-
mately 38% of the County’s population is black. The Bibb County
Schoo] Board is a representative body of ten members elected by
the voters of that county. Six of the members of the Board are
elected from single member districts; two members are elected
county-wide; a representative of the Bibb County Board of Com-
missioners and the Mayor of Macon fill the other two voting seats
on the Board. The Board is composed of six whites (including one
county-wide seat) and four blacks (including one county-wide seat).
It is undisputed that the Board is properly composed under the
Voting Rights Act. (R. 2-62).

* Indeed, the Court of Appeals specifically acknowledged (and
respondents did not dispute) that Georgia law allows school boards
ty combine related projects in a single bond issue. 908 F.2d at 855
(App. A at 9a).

9

The Court of Appeals’ ruling improperly restricts the
operation of local governments. Local governmental bodies
will be unable to fund many necessary and worthwhile
projects that are in the best interests of the community
as a whole. Indeed, if the voters are permitted to decide
what capital improvement projects should be submitted to
them in a bond issue referendum, then it will be virtually
impossible for their elected representatives to forge the
coalitions and compromises necessary to fund most proj-
ects. The Board’s decision to fund a comprehensive cap-
ital improvement plan through a single bond issue is no
different from a legislative committee’s decision to in-
clude a certain combination of projects in an appropria-
tions bill. Both decisions involve the exercise of legisla-
tive discretion over substantive policy matters. Neither
constitute a policy, practice, or procedure abridging the
right to vote under the Act. Just as Congress and the
state legislatures depend on coalitions, compromises and
consensus to accomplish their legislative goals, local rep-
resentatives likewise depend on these legitimate legislative
tools to perform their public responsibilities. Such com-
promises do not abridge anyone’s right to vote. Each
voter, if dissatisfied with a component of a bond program,
may vote against the entire program.

The issue raised by this case affects thousands of local
governmental bodies throughout the United States. The
opinion of the Court of Appeals invades the legislative
discretion of such validly elected local governmental bod-
ies and undermines the most basic notions of local self
government on which this country is founded. This case
thus presents an important issue concerning the proper
scope of the Voting Rights Act that is worthy of resolu-
tion by this Court.

10

II. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION IMPROP-
ERLY EXPANDS THE REACH OF THE VOTING
RIGHTS ACT IN CONTRAVENTION OF THE LAN-
GUAGE AND HISTORY OF THE ACT AND CON-
FLICTS WITH ESTABLISHED PRECEDENT OF
THIS COURT.

Congress enacted the Voting Rights Act to ensure the
integrity of the registration and voting process. Allen v.
State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544 (1969) ; Delgado
v. Smith, 861 F.2d 1489, 1492 (11th Cir. 1988), cert.
denied, 109 S. Ct. 3242 (1989). The Act does not guar-
antee a particular political outcome, but ensures that the
political processes are equally open to participation by
all citizens. 42 U.S.C.A. § 1973(b) (West Supp. 1990) ;
Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124, 154-55 (1971).

Never has Congress expressed an intent to expand the
Act to regulate policy decisions of validly elected repre-
sentatives, as the Court of Appeals’ decision purports to
do here. The Court of Appeals’ decision conflicts with
the language and history of the Act and is inconsistent
with prior decisions of this Court. Section 2 of the Act
by its terms regulates only voting procedures: ‘‘No vot-
ing qualification or prerequisite to voting or standard,
practice, or procedure shall be imposed or applied by any
State or political subdivision in a manner which results
in a denial or abridgement of the right of any citizen of
the United States to vote... .” 42 U.S.C.A. § 1973(a)
(West Supp. 1990). A violation of Section 2 occurs if
“the political processes leading to nomination or election
in the State or political subdivision are not equally open
to participation by members of a class of citizens pro-
tected by [the Act] in that its members have less oppor-
tunity than other members of the electorate to partici-
pate in the political process and to elect representatives of
their choice.” 42 U.S.C.A. $ 1973(b) (West Supp. 1990) .*

4 The language “voting qualification or prerequisite to voting or
standard, practice, or procedure” in Section 2 is virtually identical

11

The legislative history likewise indicates that Section 2
was intended only to protect “the right of minority voters
to be free from election practices, procedures or methods
that deny them the same opportunity to participate in
the political process as other citizens enjoy.” S. Rep. No.
417, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. 28 reprinted in 1982 U.S. Code
Cong. & Ad. News 206.

Consistent with the language and history of the Act,
this Court has repeatedly stated that the phrase ‘voting
qualification or prerequisite to voting, or standard, prac-
tice or procedure” in the Act refers to rules and laws
that embody election and voting procedures. See, e.g.,
Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 563-67
(1969). Thus, the Act has been applied to procedural
rules affecting the registration of voters, id. at 565-67 &
n.31 (1969), the casting of votes, id. at 563, the tabula-
tion of votes, id., electoral system features such as at-
large eiections, id. at 569; United States v. Board of
Commissioners of Sheffield, 435 U.S. 110, 137-38 (1978),
candidate qualification requirements, Allen, 393 U.S. at
570; Dougherty County, Georgia Board of Education v.
White, 439 U.S. 32, 47 (1978); Hadnot v. Amos, 394
U.S. 358 (1969), reapportionment and _ redistricting
plans, Georgia v. United States, 411 U.S. 526 (1973);
Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30 (1986), and changes
in the location of polling places, Perkins v. Matthews,
400 U.S. 397 (1971).

No other court has adopted the Court of Appeals’
overly-broad interpretation of the Act. Indeed, this Court
has twice summarily affirmed decisions of three-judge
district courts under Section 5 refusing to expand the
Act’s coverage to policy decisions of local governmental

to the reference in Section 5 to “voting qualification or prerequisite
to voting, or standard, practice, or procedure with respect to voting.”
Compare 42 U.S.C.A. § 1973 (West Supp. 1990) with 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 19738c.

12

bodies. In White v. Dougherty County Board of Educa-
tion, 579 F. Supp. 1480 (M.D. Ga. 1984), aff'd mem.,
470 U.S. 1067 (1985), an employee of a county board
of education sued the board, alleging that the board’s
action denying him a leave of absence for political pur-
poses constituted a “policy, practice, or procedure with
respect to voting” in violation of Section 5 of the Act.
Rejecting the employee’s claim, the district court of three
judges held that the board’s refusal to alter its neutral
leave policy to allow employees elected to public office
greater time away from the job “does not possibly consti-
tute a Section 5 ‘standard, practice, or procedure.’” Id.
at 1493.5 This Court summarily affirmed the three-judge
district court’s ruling.

White is directly applicable here. Just as a neutral
personnel policy of a local school board does not consti-
tute a “standard, practice, or procedure” with respect to
voting under Section 5, the Board’s fiscal policy decision
to submit a comprehensive $29 million education bond is-
sue to the voters in a single referendum question does not

5 In an earlier lawsuit, the very same school board employee had
sued the board, alleging that the board’s Rule 58, which had re-
quired any school system employee who became a candidate for
public office to take a leave of absence without pay for the duration
of the candidacy, constituted a “policy, practice, or procedure with
respect to voting” under Section 5. A three-judge district court
agreed with plaintiff and enjoined the use of Rule 58. This Court
affirmed in a 5-4 decision. Dougherty County, Georgia, Board of
Education v. White, 489 U.S. 32 (1978). Since Rule 58 specifically
addressed the electoral process in the same manner as a filing fee
law, it was a “standard, practice, or procedure” under Section 5.
As this Court explained:

Rule 58 is not a neutral personnel practice governing all forms
of absenteeism. Rather, it specifically addresses the electoral
process, singling out candidacy for elective office as a disabling
activity. Although not in form a filing fee, the Rule operates in
precisely the same fashion.
Id. at 40. The Board rescinded Rule 58 before the filing of the
second lawsuit.

ee OP

13

constitute a “standard, practice, or procedure” abridging
the right to vote under Section 2.

Even more compelling than White is the decision of
the Three-Judge Court convened under Section 5 in the
present case. The Three-Judge Court rejected (under
Section 5) the very same claim that respondents now
raise under Section 2. The Three-Judge Court spe-
cifically held:

[T]he form or structure of a question on a bond
referendum is not a standard, practice or procedure
affecting voting. The discretionary decision to submit
one or more questions to the electorate is one prop-
erly left to the political process.

698 F. Supp. 909, 912 (App. D at 48a), aff'd mem., 110
S. Ct. 858 (1990) (App. F at 46a). The Three-Judge
Court also ruled that the Board formulated the question
in a manner consistent with Georgia law as it existed
both before and after the benchmark date in Section 5.
Id. (App. D at 48a). As in White, this Court again sum-
marily affirmed the ruling of the Three-Judge Court.
110 S. Ct. 858 (1990) (App. F).

The Court of Appeals’ decision here is in direct con-
flict with White and the summary affirmance of the
Section 5 holding in this case, and should thus be over-
turned. See Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173, 176 (1977)
(summary affirmances are binding on lower courts) ;
Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, 348-44 (1975) (same).

Since school boards need not obtain Section 5 clearance
from the Attorney General regarding the subject matter
of bond issue proposals before a referendum, it defies
reason to hold that voters still may challenge the validity
of such bond issues under Section 2, after the voters have
approved the bonds. To perform their public responsibili-
ties, local governmental authorities require some degree
of certainty that their decisions are enforceable. The
Court of Appeals’ decision undercuts the Board’s author-

14

ity to decide what bond issues to submit to the voters
and exposes the Board to the uncertainty and delay of
protracted litigation.

The cases cited above, taken together, teach that the
Voting Rights Act only regulates election and voting
procedures and does not reach substantive policy decisions
of validly elected representatives. The Board’s actions
here have in no way deprived respondents of an equal
opportunity to participate in the political process. In-
deed, each voter had an opportunity to weigh the per-
ceived benefits and detriments of the bond issue in its
entirety and to cast an effective vote for or against it.
If respondents disagreed with the comprehensive capital
improvement plan that the Board formulated and the
majority of the voters approved, they were entitled to
voice their disagreement by voting in the referendum
against the issuance of the bonds (and by voting in the
next election of the board members), but they have no
right to challenge the plan itself in a Voting Rights Act
lawsuit.

Not only is this conclusion required under the prece-
dents of this Court, but it is also fully consistent with
the views already twice expressed by the Attorney Gen-
eral of the United States, as amicus curiae, in this very
lawsuit. As this Court has stated, the views of the At-
torney General regarding the scope of the Voting Rights
Act are entitled to particular deference. United States
v. Board of Commissioners of Sheffield, 435 U.S. 110,
131 (1978). The Board respectfully suggests that this
Court again invite the Attorney General of the United
States to file an amicus curiae brief addressing the is-
sues raised by this petition for certiorari.

15

CONCLUSION

The Board respectfully requests that the Court grant
a writ of certiorari because the Court of Appeals’ deci-
sion improperly expands the reach of the Voting Rights
Act, invades the legislative discretion of validly elected
local governmental bodies and is contrary to controlling
precedents of this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

FRANK CATER JONES *
STEPHANIE E. PARKER
DAVID C. NUTTER

KING & SPALDING

2500 Trust Company Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 572-4600

W. WARREN PLOWDEN, JR.
CRAIG N. COWART

JONES, CORK & MILLER

P.O. Box 6437

500 Trust Company Bank Bldg.
Macon, Georgia 31208-6437
(912) 745-2821

EDWARD S. SELL, JR.

SELL & MELTON

1414 Charter Medical Bldg.
P.O. Box 229

Macon, Georgia 31297-2899
(912) 746-8521

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-8556

DAVID LUCAS, WILLIE DAVIS, JR., CONNIE CATER,
CoRLIS MCKENZIE and RONNIE T. MILEY,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Ve

JUDY TOWNSEND, in her official capacity as President of
the Board of Education, Bibb County Board of Educa-
tion, EMORY GREENE in his official capacity as Chair-
man of the Bibb County Board of Commissioners, Bibb
County Board of Commissioners, A.B. “TONY” CALD-
WELL in his official capacity as Chairman of the Macon-
Bibb County Board of Elections, Macon-Bibb County
Board of Elections, BERNARD FLETCHER, in his official
capacity as Supt., Macon-Bibb County Board of
Elections,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Georgia

Aug. 9, 1990

ees 2a

Neil Bradley and Kathleen Wilde, American Civil
Liberties Union Foundation, Inc., Atlanta, Ga., for
plaintiffs-appellants.

W. Warren Plowden, Jr., Craig N. Cowart, and
Edward S. Sell, Jr., Jones, Cork & Miller, Macon, Ga.,
and Della Wager Wells, King & Spalding, Atlanta, Ga.,
for defendants-appellees.

Before HATCHETT, Circuit Judge, RONEY* and
FAIRCHILD**, Senior Circuit Judges.

HATCHETT, Circuit Judge:

In this voting rights case, we reverse the district court
and hold that the form in which a referendum question
is presented to voters may constitute a standard, prac-
tice, or procedure within the meaning of section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act.

FACTS
In 1987, the Board of Pub\c Education and Orphanage
for Bibb County (“the Board) began planning a refer-

endum requesting the voters of Bibb County to approve
the issuance of genera! obligation bonds. The bonds were
to provide funds to build a new high school and middle
school, and to complete the air conditioning in all of the
existing county schools. Initially, the Board planned to
include all the projects in a single referendum scheduled
for May, 1989. Subsequently, the Board voted to sepa-
rately offer the air conditioning project in a referendum
scheduled for March 8, 1988, the date of the presidential
preference primary, popularly known as “Super Tues-
day.”

*See Rule 34-2(b), Rules of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit.

** Honorable Thomas E. Fairchild, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for
the Seventh Circuit, sitting by designation.

3a

The Board reversed this decision, changing the date for
the referendum to May 31, 1988, and combining all the
projects in a single referendum. The Board explains this
change by pointing out that the Super Tuesday ballot
also contained a referendum to raise the sales tax .a
Bibb County. According to the Board, voters might ..ave
been reluctant to pass two bond referendums; thus, both
may have been defeated. Bibb County citizens, some of
whom are appellants in this case, charged that the Board
changed the date to avoid the heavy African-American
voter turnout expected because of Jesse Jackson’s name
on the ballot. These citizens also charged that the Board
combined the air conditioning project, initially scheduled
as a separate referendum question on Super Tuesday,
with the other projects to dilute the minority vote.
Allegedly, African-American voters favored the air con-
ditioning project, but did not favor new schools. These
citizens complained that voters supporting one project
were forced to vote in favor of other projects they did
not support. The Board, composed of six white and four
African-American members, split along racial lines in
voting whether to combine the projects in one referendum,
with the African-American members present voting
against combining the projects in a single referendum.

The School Board sought preclearance from the Attor-
ney General for the May 31st referendum pursuant to
section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 (“the Act’’).!
On May 25th, the Justice Department informed the Board
that it could not preclear the referendum without further
information.

1 Title 42 U.S.C. § 1973c requires preclearance by the Attorney
General of changes in voting practices in certain, covered juris-
dictions. In 1965, the Attorney General designated Georgia a cov-
ered jurisdiction under the Act. See City of Rome v. United States,
446 U.S. 156, 161, 100 S.Ct. 1548, 1553, 64 L.Ed.2d 119 (1980).

By regulation, the discretionary choice of a date for a special

election such as a referendum is subject to the preclearance require-
ment. 28 C.F.R. § 51.17(b) (1987).

4a

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On May 27, 1988, David Lueas, Willie Davis, Jr.,
Connie Cater, Corlis McKenzie, and Ronnie T. Miley
(“the appellants”) filed this lawsuit in the Middle Dis-
trict of Georgia seeking declaratory and injunctive relief.
The appellants sought to enforce the provisions of section
5 of the Act and to enjoin “deprivation under color of
state law, statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or usage
of the rights, privileges and immunities secured to plain-
tiffs by 42 U.S.C. $$ 1971, 1973, 1973e and 1983, and the
first, thirteenth, fourteenth and fifteenth amendments of
the Constitution of the United States... .”° The appel-
lants also filed a motion for a preliminary injunction.
A three-judge court denied preliminary injunctive relief,
holding that section 5 of the Act did not require pre-
clearance of the date selected for a special referendum.’
Lucas v. Townsend, 686 F.Supp. 902 (M.D.Ga.1988).
The Supreme Court granted an injunction pending appeal
on May 30, 1988. Because of state law notice require-
ments for holding a bond referendum, the postponement
resulting from the injunction rendered the appeal moot,
and it was dismissed.

On June 9, 1988, the Board approved a new bond
referendum for $29 million which combined the building
projects and the air conditioning project plus funding for
a magnet school program at Northeast High School.
Board members defeated an amendment to separate each
of the four projects into individual questions on the
ballot. The Board scheduled the referendum for Novem-
ber 8, 1988, the date of the general election, including the
presidential election. The Attorney General granted pre-
clearance for the new bond referendum under section 5.

-““Any action under this section shall be heard and determined
by a court of three judges in accordance with the provisions of
section 2284 of Title 28 and any appeal shall lie to the Supreme
Court.” 42 U.S.C.A. §1973c (West 1981).

5a

In October, 1988, the appellants filed a second motion
in the district court for injunctive relief claiming that the
form of the referendum had not been precleared.’ In an
amicus brief, the Attorney General asserted that the deci-
sion to combine multiple projects in a single bond refer-
endum was not a voting qualification, or a prerequisite
to voting, or a standard, practice, or procedure with re-
spect to voting as controlled by section 5 of the Act. A
three-judge court denied the motion for a_ preliminary
injunction under section 5, substantially adopting the
Attorney General’s position. Lucas v. Townsend, 698
F.Supp. 909 (M.D.Ga.1988). The three-judge court’s
order was not appealed. On November 8, 1988, the voters
of Bibb County approved the bond issue by 590.8-percent
of the vote.

On March 7, 1989, the three-judge court entered judg-
ment for the School Board on the section 5 claims. Lucas
v. Townsend, 732 F.Supp. 1581 (M.D.Ga.1989). On June
7, 1989, a single-judge district court denied the appel-
lants’ claim based on section 2 of the Act. The district
court ruled that the Board’s exercise of discretion in
combining multiple projects in a single referendum rather
than submitting them as four separate questions did not
constitute a standard, practice, or procedure under sec-
tion 2. Lucas v. Townsend, 714 F.Supp. 525 (M.D.Ga.
1989).

On January 22, 1990 the Supreme Court summarily
affirmed the judgment of the three-judge court denying
relief for the section 5 claims. Lucas v. Townsend,
US. , 110 S.Ct. 858, 107 L.Ed.2d 943 (1990).

3“Any change affecting the ... methods for offering issues and
propositions for approval by referendum” is subject to preclear-
ance. 28 C.F.R. §51.13(j) (1987) (emphasis added).

6a

CONTENTIONS OF THE PARTIES

The appellants contend that the Supreme Court’s sum-
mary affirmance of the three-judge court’s denial of re-
lief under section 5 does not constitute binding prece-
dent regarding the legal issues presented in this section
2 claim. According to the appellants, the form and tim-
ing of the referendum constitutes a standard, practice,
or procedure affecting voting within the meaning of sec-
tion 2 of the Voting Rights Act. They further contend
that the form of the referendum was intended to or had
the effect of diluting the minority vote in violation of
section 2 of the Act and in violation of the first, thir-
teenth, fourteenth, and fifteenth amendments.

The Board contends that the Supreme Court’s sum-
mary affirmance is binding precedent which controls the
outcome of this appeal. The Board also contends that
the form of the referendum question on the ballot is not
a voting qualification, prerequisite to voting, or standard,
practice, or procedure with respect to voting pursuant
to the Act. According tc che Board, even if section 2 is
applicable, the political pocesses leading to the formula-
tion of the referendum question were equally open to
African-Americans, and therefore, section 2 was not vio-
lated. All other constitutional claims were waived, the
Board argues, through the appellants’ failure to raise
these claims in the pretrial conference on March 2, 1989,
or in subsequent documents submitted to the district
court.

ISSUES

The issues are (1) whether the Supreme Court’s sum-
mary affirmance of the denial of relief under section 5
constitutes binding precedent in this section 2 appeal,
(2) whether the form of the referendum question is a
standard, practice, or procedure within the meaning of
section 2 of the Voting Rights Act, and (3) whether
section 2 of the Act was violated in this case.

Ta

DISCUSSION
I. Summary Affirmance

When the Supreme Court summarily affirms without
opinion, it affirms the judgment, but not necessarily the
court’s reasoning supporting the judgment. Mandel v.
Bradley, 482 U.S. 173, 176, 97 S.Ct. 2238, 2240, 53
L.Ed.2d 199 (1977). Any question which it clearly de-
cides in affirming the judgment is binding on all other
courts faced with the same issue. Hicks v. Miranda, 422
U.S. 332, 344-45, 95 S.Ct. 2281, 2289-90, 45 L.Ed.2d 223
(1975). Thus, the threshold question is whether the Su-
preme Court necessarily decided that the form of a bond
referendum question is not “a standard, practice, or pro-
cedure affecting voting” pursuant to section 5.

The three-judge court denied relief on the merits of
the section 5 claims, citing the same reasons it gave ear-
lier in its opinion denying preliminary injunctive relief
under section 5.4 In that opinion, the court gave the fol-
lowing two reasons for its decision:

First, Georgia school boards before November 1,
1964, were authorized to and had exercised their

4 The parties having stated at a pretrial conference held on
March 2, 1989, before the originating judge that they do not
desire to present further evidence or briefs on the issues re-
quired to be heard by this 28 U.S.C. § 2284 court of three
judges, this court of three judges, for the reasons set forth
in its order of November 2, 1988, [Lucas v. Townsend, 698
F.Supp. 909 (M.D.Ga.1988)] does hereby declare and adjudge
that the decision of the defendant Bibb County Board of
Education to submit a single twenty-nine million dollar bond
issue by referendum to the voters of Bibb County, Georgial,]
rather than to submit four separate bond issues for the four
categories of school improvements to be paid for by said bond
issues, is not encompassed by Section Five of the Voting Rights
Act of 1965, and therefore, did not have to be submitted to the
Attorney General of the United States for Section Five pre-
clearance.

Lucas v. Townsend, 732 F.Supp. 1581, 1581 (M.D.Ga.1989).

8a

discretion in formulating questions for bond refer-
endums. The exercise of discretion by the Bibb
County School Board was thus no change. Second,
the form or structure of a question on a bond ref-
erendum is not a standard, practice, or procedure
affecting voting. The discretionary decision to sub-
mit one or more questions to the electorate is one
properly left to the political process.

Lucas v. Townsend, 698 F.Supp. 909, 912 (M.D.Ga.
1988).

The School Board contends that the Supreme Court’s
summary affirmance of this ruling is binding precedent
on whether the form of a referendum is a standard, prac-
tice, or procedure pursuant to section 2.° The appellants
argue that the two alternative reasons for the Supreme
Court’s affirmance prevent it from controlling this sec-
tion 2 case. Under the first basis for its affirmance, the
Court may have simply agreed that the exercise of dis-
cretion in formulating questions for bond referendums
does not constitute a “change’’ under section 5. Section
5, requiring preclearance by the Attorney General, only
applies to proposed changes in voting procedures en-
acted after November 1, 1964. 42 U.S.C.A. $ 1973¢e
(West 1981); see Lucas v. Townsend, 698 F.Supp. at 911.
If the Supreme Court agreed with this rationale, it did
not have to reach the second basis for the opinion,

5 Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, codified at 42
U.S.C. § 1973c, requires preclearance by the Attorney General for
changes of “any voting qualification or prerequisite to voting, or
standard, practice, or procedure with respect to voting. .. .” 42
U.S.C.A. § 1973¢ (West 1981) (emphasis added).

Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, codified at 42 U S.C.
$1973(a), provides that “[n]o voting qualification er prerequisite
to voting or standard, practice, or procedure shall be imposed or
applied by any State or political subdivision in a manner which
results in a denial or abridgvement of the right of any citizen of the
United States to vote on account of race... .”’ 42 U.S.C.A. § 1973 (a)
(West Supp. 1990) (emphasis added).

9a

whether the form of a bond referendum question is a
standard, practice, or procedure affecting voting.

We agree with the appellants that because two rea-
sons exist for the Supreme Court’s affirmance, it did not
necessarily decide the issue of whether the form of a
bond referendum question is a standard, practice, or
procedure affecting voting. The Supreme Court may have
agreed with the three-judge court that the decision to
combine multiple projects in a bond referendum did not
constitute a change under section 5. Georgia law allows
school boards to combine more than one project in a
referendum. See Miles v. State, 96 Ga.App. 610, 614,
101 S.E.2d 173, 176 (1957) (bond referendum combin-
ing several school funding projects held to constitute
“one proposition” as required by state statute); see also
Ga.Code Ann. § 36-82-1 (Michie Supp.1989). Therefore,
we hold that the Supreme Court’s summary affirmance
does not constitute binding precedent on the issue of
whether the form of a referendum is a standard, prac-
tice, or procedure within the meaning of section 2."

II. “Standard, Practice, or Procedure’ Under Section 2

Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 provides
that
[n]o voting qualification or prerequisite to voting or
standard, practice, or procedure shall be imposed or
applied by any state or political subdivision in a
manner which results in a denial or abridgement of
the right of any citizen of the United States to vote
on account of race or color, or in contravention of
the guarantee set forth in section 1973b(f1(2) of
this title, as provided in subsection (b) of this section.

* Because we decide that the Supreme Court did not necessarily
reach this issue, we need not decide whether the phrase “standard,
practice, or procedure” has the same meaning in section 2 and
section 5.

10a

42 U.S.C.A. $ 1973(a) (West Supp.1990). “The essence
of a $2 claim is that a certain electoral law, practice,
or structure interacts with social and historical condi-
tions to cause an inequality in the opportunities enjoyed
by black and white voters to elect their preferred rep-
resentatives.” Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30, 47,
106 S.Ct. 2752, 2764, 92 L.Ed.2d 25 (1986). All citizens
enjoy the right to a properly weighted and counted vote
encompassing both “votes cast with respect to candidates
for public or party office and propositions for which votes
are received in an election.” 42 U.S.C.A. $ 19731 (¢) (1)
(West 1981). Thus, bond referendums. which are a form
of proposition, fall within the express language of the
Act. The question remaining, as a matter of first im-
pression, is whether combining multiple bond projects in
a single referendum constitutes a standard, practice, or
procedure which has the potential of resulting in the
denial or abridgement of the right to vote on account of
race.

The phrase “standard, practice, or procedure” appears
in section 2 and section 5 of the Act. In the following
discussion, we examine the Supreme Court’s interpreta-
tion of this phrase in both sections to determine its scope.
In Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 567,
89 S.Ct. 817, 832, 22 L.Ed.2d 1 (1969), the Court held
that the phrase must be given the “broadest possible
scope.” Based on the legislative history of Congress’ in-
tent, the Court concluded that “the Act gives a broad
interpretation to the right to vote, recognizing that vot-
ing includes ‘all action necessary to make a vote effec-
tive.” Allen, 393 U.S. 544, 565-66, 89 S.Ct. 817, 832
(citations omitted). In Allen, the Court held that a
change from district to at-large voting for county super-
visors constituted a “voting qualification or prerequisite
to voting, or standard, practice, or procedure with re-
spect to voting’ within the meaning of section 5. The
Court alse held that the decision to make certain offices

lla

appointive instead of elective fell within the meaning of
section 5.

In Dougherty County, Georgia, Board of Education »,
White, 439 U.S. 32, 99 S.Ct. 368, 58 L.Fd.2d 269 (1978),
the Court held that a local school board’s rule regard-
ing leave without pay for employees while they sought
elected office and while they served in that capacity was
“a standard, practice, or procedure” affecting voting
within the meaning of section 5. The Court reasoned
that the rule was not a neutral personnel practice govern-
ing all forms of absenteeism, but rather a type of filing
fee. “By imposing substantial economic disincentives on
employees who wished to seek elective office, the rule bur-
dens entry into elective campaigns and, concomitantly
limits the choices available to Dougherty County voters.”
439 U.S. at 40, 99 S.Ct. at 373. é

In response to the Court’s ruling. the loeal school board
eliminated the policy requiring leave without pay for
emplovees seeking political office, instituting instead a
neutral employee policy limiting leave without pay to
case-by-case consideration. The Court subsequently af-
firmed the three-judge court’s holding that individual per-
sonnel! decisions regarding an employee's request for leave
without pay to serve in an elected capacity was not “a
standard, practice, or procedure with respect to voting.”
White v. Dougherty County Board of Education, 579 F.
Supp. 1480 (M.D.Ga.1984), aff'd, 470 U.S. 1067, 105
S.Ct. 1824, 85 L.Ed.2d 125 (1985). Cf. NAACP v. Hamp-
ton County Election Commission, 470 U.S. 166, 178, 105
S.Ct. 1128, 1135, 84 L.Ed.2d 124 (1985) (change need
not be likely to be repeated; “Voting Rights Act reaches
changes that affect even a single election.’’).

While section 5 requires preclearance for changes in
voting practices in covered jurisdictions, section 2 forbids
practices which abridge the right to vote on account of
race in any jurisdiction. The right to vote may be

12a

abridged through the dilution of voting strength. Reyn-
olds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 538, 555, 84 S.Ct. 1362, 13878, 12
L.Ed.2d 506 (1964). Challenges to at-large voting
schemes consistently have been held to fall within the
meaning of section 2 because of their potential for dilut-
ing the effectiveness of the minority vote. See, e.9.,
Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30, 106 S.Ct. 2752, 92
L.Ed.2d 25 (1986); Solomon v. Liberty County, Florida,
899 F.2d 1012 (11th Cir.1990) ; Unitea States v. Dallas
County Commission, 850 F.2d 1433 (11th Cir.1988).
The courts have also held that a “standard, practice, or
procedure” within the meaning of section 2 can include
the appointment of poll officials and the selection of poll-
ing places. See United States v. Marengo County Com-
mission, 731 F.2d 1546, 1552-53 (11th Cir.1984) (ap-
pointment of poll officials); Perkins v. Matthews, 400
U.S. 379, 387, 91 S.Ct. 431, 436, 27 L.Ed.2d 476 (1971)
(location of polling place). In Perkins, the Court held
that locating polling places distant from African-Ameri-
can communities or at places calculated to intimidate
them from entering was a practice or procedure which
violated the Act. “The abstract right to vote means
little unless the right becomes a reality at the polling
place on election day.” Perkins v. Matthews, 400 U.S.
at 387, 91 S.Ct. at 436.

We begin our analysis by noting that the views of the
Attorney General regarding the scope of section 5 of the
Act are entitled to deference. Dougherty County, Geor-
giz, Board of Education v. White, 439 U.S. at 39, 99
S.Ct. at 372. We do not afford the Attorney General’s
interpretation of section 5 the same deference in resolv-
ing clams under section 2, however, because that section
does not involve the Attorney General. In the amicus
brief submitted, on behalf of the United States to the
three-judge court, the Attorney General stated that “i]t
is unquestioned that the ‘method of offering issues and
propositions for approval by referendum’ is . . . a stand-
ard, practice, or procedure that, if changed, is subject

13a

to section 5 review.” (Citing 28 C.F.R. § 51.13(j).) The
Attorney General, nevertheless, stated the following rea-
sons for not requiring preclearance for the Board’s choice
of how to frame the referendum:

Here, the facts of the record would tend to suggest
that the defendants’ discretionary decision to pre-
sent the voters with a single vote on the entire bond
project is not the kind of change subject to preclear-
ance. Selecting a number of projects to be financed
under one bonding authority would seem to be a
normal legislative decision unrelated to the process
of holding elections. It is essentially the same kind
of determination as the amount of bonded indebted-
ness required for a project, the interest rate the
Board is willing to pay, or the term of the bonds.

We cannot agree that the decision to group multiple
projects into one referendum is analogous to the decision
of how much money to spend on a project, or what in-
terest rate should be paid on the bonds. How the Board
presents projects to the voters, whether as single-issue
or multiple-issue referendums, becomes a political deci-
sion with the potential for diluting or submerging the
minority vote as prohibited by section 2. As the Attor-
ney General acknowledges, the Voting Rights Act is de-
signed to assure equal opportunity for the minority to
express its political will whether in the election of the
candidate of their choice or in voting for the proposition
of their choice. By combining projects in one referendum,
the Board forced minority voters supporting one project
to either vote in favor of other projects they might not
support, to abstain from voting, or to vote against the
project they supported. Their political will to defeat cer-
tain propositions is effectively diluted or submerged by
the combination of multiple projects in a single refer-
endum. See Rea v. City of Lafayette, 130 Ga. 771, 61
S.E. 707, 708 (1908) (“[tlo present [two] propositions
in a single submission, thus rendering the success of one

14a

dependent upon the success of the other, or the defeat of
one on the defeat of the other, is clearly unfair to the
voters. ...”).

The district court concluded that the Board’s decision
to group all four bond projects into a single referendum
was not “a standard, practice, or procedure” pursuant to
section 2. The district court reasoned that the Board’s
discretionary, deliberative process did not address the
right to vote as protected by the Act.

[T]his court determines that the exercise of discre-
tion by validly elected local board officials in deter-
mining the number of questions to be submitted to
the electorate for its approval or disapproval at the
ballot box is not a standard, practice, or procedure.
Alternatively, the court finds that even if such exer-
cise of discretion was a standard, practice, or pro-
cedure, such practice does not affect voting. The
manner in which the proposal was structured had
and has absolutely no bearing upon the qualification
of any individual to vote, the ability of any individ-
ual to register to vote, the opportunity of any in-
dividual to cast his or her vote, or the manner in
which any individual’s vote was tabulated.

Lucas v. Townsend, 714 F.Supp. 525, 534 (M.D.Ga.1989)
(emphasis added).

Although this practice may not be the kind of change
subject to preclearance under section 5, we hold that it
is “a standard, practice, or procedure” that has the po-
tential for abridgement of the right to vote on account of
race. Minority communities have the right to vote for
or against the propositions of their choice just as they
have the right to a fully effective vote to elect candidates
of their choice. The practice of combining separable ref-
erendum issues into a single question may work to abridge
minority voting rights as certainly as the policy concern-
ing leaves of absence for employees running for public

15a

office, the appointment of polling officials, and the loca-
tion of the polls. In the proper case, this practice could
dilute a minority vote as effectively as anti-single shot
voting procedures and straight ticket voting require-
ments. See City of Rome v. United States, 466 U.S. 156,
184-85 n. 19, 21, 100 S.Ct. 1548, 1565 n. 19, 21, 64 L.Ed.
2d 119 (1980) (anti-single shot voting practices de-
scribed) ; Dunston v. Scott, 336 F.Supp. 206, 211 (E.D.
N.C.1972) (anti-single shot law requires voter to vote
for all available seats even though voter would prefer to
vote for fewer seats); Hendon v. North Carolina State
Board of Elections, 710 F.2d 177, 180 (4th Cir.1983)
(straight ticket vote counting that did not count split
ticket votes unconstitutional).

Our holdings do not have any far reaching impact on
the manner in which public bodies in Georgia may offer
propositions to the voters. Section 5 is not affected by
our holding. Since Georgia law presently allows multiple
propositions to be presented in a single referendum, con-
tinuing this practice will not constitute a change; thus,
the Attorney General will not be required to preclear the
proposition. See Lucas v. Townsend, 732 F.Supp. 1581
(M.D.Ga.1989), aff'd, U.S. ——, 110 S.Ct. 858,
107 L.Ed.2d 943 (1990). As to the effect of our hold-
ing on section 2, multiple propositions presented in a
single referendum will be subject to litigation; but, so
are all referendum propositions that allegedly discrimi-
nate against minorities.

III. The Violation of Section 2

We do not reach the merits of the appellants’ section
2 claim because the district court did not rule on the
“results” aspect of this case. Therefore, we remand this
case to the district court for the determination of whether
section 2 has been violated.’

70On remand, the district court should determine whether the
appellants’ failure to present the constitutional issues in the March

l6a
CONCLUSION

We hold that the Supreme Court’s summary affirmance
on the appellants’ section 5 claim does not constitute bind-
ing precedent as to the issue in this case. We further
hold that the form or structure of a referendum question
is “a standard, practice, or procedure” within the mean-
ing of section 2 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965. We
remand to the district court for further proceedings con-
sistent with this opinion.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

RONEY, Senior Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I respectfully dissent for the reasons stated in the opin-
ion of the district court, which I would affirm. Lucas v.
Townsend, 714 F.Supp. 525 (M.D.Ga.1989).

2, 1989 pre-trial conference resulted in a waiver of those issues.
We note that the appellants’ proposed Pre-trial Order filed February
28, 1989, listed claims based on the first, thirteenth, fourteenth,
and fifteenth amendments.

tae

17a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
M.D. GEORGIA
MACON DIVISION

Civ. A. No. 88-166-1-MAC (WDO)

DAVID LUCAS, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.

JUDY TOWNSEND, et al.,
Defendants.

June 7, 1989

Neil Bradley, Atlanta, Ga., for plaintiffs.

W. Warren Plowden, Ed. S. Sell, Jr., Macon, Ga., and
Della Wager Wells, Atlanta, Ga., for defendants.

ORDER
OWENS, Chief Judge.

As a part of the general presidential election conducted
on November 8, 1988, the voters of Bibb County, Georgia
approved a twenty-nine million dollar ($29,000,000.00)
bond issue destined to pay for the following improve-
ments in the Bibb County school system:

(1) air conditioning existing schools;

(2) constructing a new north-west Bibb County
high school with a proposed approximate ratio of
50% white students and 50% black students; and

18a

(3) renovating Northeast High School for its use
as a magnet high school.

Both preceding and after the November 8th general elec-
tion, plaintiffs failed to convince a three-judge district
court, convened in accordance with 28 U.S.C. § 2284(b),
that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, 42 U.S.C.
§$ 1973e, requires approval by the Attorney General of
the United States of the county commission’s and county
school board’s decision to submit the twenty-nine million
dollar bond issue to the electorate as a single question
rather than to submit to the voters cach of the three
component parts of the proposal for their separate ap-
proval or disapproval. See Lucas v. Townsend, 698
F.Supp. 909 (M.D.Ga.1988)'; Lucas v. Townsend, Slip.
Op. No. 89-166-1-MAC (WDO) (May 16, 1989).

Having failed to prevail on their Section 5 claim, plain-
tiffs now seek to persuade this court of one judge that,
pursuant to Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act, the same
conduct found not to be a standard, practice, or procedure
affecting voting by a three-judge court has suddenly been
transformed by Section 2 into such a standard, practice,
or procedure. Arguing that Section 2 coverage is broader
than coverage under Section 5, plaintiffs contend that the
conduct of defendants in this case, that is, the board’s
exercise of its discretion in combining the school improve-
ment proposals into one question rather than into several
questions, is a standard, practice, or procedure which has

1Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act requires that certain
“changes affecting voting” be pre-cleared by the Attorney General
of the United States prior to their implementation. The three-
judge panel held that the Bibb County school board’s exercise
of its discretion in formulating questions for bond referendums
was not a change affecting voting. Further, the court held that
“the form or structure of a question on a bond referendum is not
a standard, practice or procedure affecting voting. The discre-
tionary decision to submit one or more questions to the electorate
is one properly left to the political process.” Lucas, 698 F.Supp. at
912.

19a

prevented individuals in ihe black community from cast-
ing an effective vote.’

Discussion
Background

0.C.G.A. § 20-2-430 enables county school boards to
seek the issuance of bonds upon their determining that

2Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973, reads
as follows:

(a) No voting qualification or prerequisite to voting or stand-
ard, practice, or procedure shall be imposed or applied by any
State or political subdivision in a manner which results in a
denial or abridgement of the right of any citizen of the United
States to vote on account of race or color, or in contravention
of the guarantees set forth in section 1973b(f) (2) of this title,
as provided in subsection (b) of this section.

(b) A violation of subsection (a) of this section is estab-
lished if, based on the totality of circumstances, it is shown
that the political processes leading to nomination or election in
the State or political subdivision are not equally open to par-
ticipation by members of a class of citizens protected by sub-
section (a) of this section in that its members have less
opportunity than other members of the electorate to participate
in the political process and to elect representatives of their
choice. The extent to which members of a protected class
have been elected to office in the State or political subdivision
is one circumstance which may be considered: Provided, That
nothing in this section establishes a right to have members of
a protected class elected in numbers equal to their proportion
in the population.

42 U.S.C. § 19731(c) (1) defines “vote” or “voting” for purposes of
sections 2 and 5. It reads as follows:

(c) (1) The terms “vote” or “voting” shall include all action
necessary to make a vote effective in any primary, special, or
general election, including, but not limited to, registration,
listing pursuant to this subchapter, or other action required by
law prerequisite to voting, casting a ballot, and having such
ballot counted properly and included in the appropriate totals
of votes cast with respect to candidates for public or party
office and propositions for which votes are received in an
election.

See also 28 C.F.R. § 51.2.

20a

the incurrence of such debt is in the best interests of
education in the county. That statue provides that the
election shall be called and held in the manner prescribed
by O0.C.G.A. § 36-82-1, a section which describes in detail
the notice and other requirements applicable to such is-
sues. In ruling upon challenges to elections held pursuant
to the forerunners to these and other statutes, Georgia
courts have established the following principle:

If it can be said that the proposed improvements are
not naturally related or connected, then it is clear
that separate submissions are required; if, on the
other hand, the several parts of the project are
plainly so related that, united, they form in fact but
one rounded whole, it is equally clear that they may
be grouped together and submitted as one proposi-
tion.

Miles v. State of Georgia, 96 Ga.App. 610, 614, 101 S.E.2d
173, 176 (1957) (citations omitted); see Berrie v. State,
119 Ga.App. 148, 166 S.E.2d 631 (1969); compare Rea v.
City of LaFayette, 130 Ga. 771, 772, 61 S.E. 707, 708,
(1908) (“two or more separate and distinct propositions
cannot be combined into one and submitted to the voters
of a county or a municipality as a single question, so
as to have one expression of the voter answer all of
them.’’) (emphasis added).

The bond issues submitted to the electorate in both
Miles and Berrie each involved numerous projects for im-
proving the respective county school systems as a whole.’

3 For example, the bond issue in dispute in Miles involved a pro-
posal to finance improvements in the Bacon County, Georgia school
system, and the use of the funds derived from the sale of the bonds
was explained as follows:

[The funds derived from the sale of the bonds would be] for
the purpose of providing funds to build, construct and equip
new educational facilities such as school buildings, libraries,
auditoriums, cafeterias, gymnasiums, athletic fields and build-
ings, and structures useful in connection therewith, adding to,

2la

Clearly, the bond issue submitted to the voters of Bibb
County on November 8th involved various proposals for
the improvement of the Bibb County school system plainly
so related that, united, they form in fact but one related
whole. Thus, pursuant to Georgia law, those proposals
may be grouped together and submitted as one proposi-
tion. See Miles, supra.

Applicable Law

With the above discussion as background, the court
now considers plaintiffs’ Section 2 allegations. ‘The es-
sence of a § 2 claim is that a certain electoral law, prac-
tice or structure interacts with social] and historical con-
ditions to cause an inequality in the opportunities enjoyed
by black and white voters to elect their preferred repre-
sentatives.” Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30, 47, 106
S.Ct. 2752, 2764-65, 92 L.Ed.2d 25, 44 (1986). In evalu-
ating a plaintiff’s Section 2 claim, a court must first
determine whether the challenged conduct or activity is
of a type encompassed by the Voting Rights Act, that
is, whether the challenged conduct constitutes a standard,
practice, or procedure which affects voting.* See gen-

improving and equipping existing properties and facilities of
the Bacon County School System and acquirirz the necessary
property therefor and paying expenses incident thereto.

Miles, 96 Ga.App. at 613, 101 S.E.2d at 176.

4 Neither the statutes (sections 1973 and 1973c) nor the regula-
tions promulgated pursuant to section 1973c, see 28 C.F.R. §§ 51.1,
et seq., defines a standard, practice, or procedure as those terms
are employed in section 1973. See Dougherty County No. 1, 439 U.S.
at 37, 99 S.Ct. at 371-72, 58 L.E.2d at 277. 28 C.F.R. § 51.13
enumerates examples of “changes affecting voting,” most of which
relate to practices or procedures pertaining to (1) qualifications,
eligibility, or registration for either voting or running for office,
(2) boundaries for representative districts, voting precincts or
voting units, (3) locations of polling places, and (4) methods of
determining the outcome of elections. Only section 51.13(j), which
concerns changes “affecting the necessity of or methods for offering
issues and propositions for approval by referendum,” appears at all
relevant to the matter before this court. This court has been unable

22a

erally, Dougherty County, Georgia, Bd. of Education v.
White (“Dougherty County No. 1”), 439 U.S. 32, 99

to discover, and the parties in their pleadings have failed to in-
clude, cases interpreting this section.

However, as illustrative of the types of conduct or activities
which courts have found to constitute standards, practices, or pro-
cedures with respect to voting, the court includes the following
summary of “changes” which the Supreme Court has found to be
covered under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. This summary
is contained in NAACP, Dekalb County Chapter v. State of Georgia,
494 F.Supp. 668, 678 (N.D.Ga. 1980).

—a change from district to at-large voting for county super-
visors, Allen v. State Board of Elections, supra, 393 U.S. at 569,
89 S.Ct. at 833-34;

—a change from electing to appointing an important county
officer in certain counties, Allen v. State Board of Elections,
supra, 393 U.S. at 569-70, 89 S.Ct. at 834;

—an amendment to balloting procedure which provides that
“no person who has voted in a primary election may thereafter
be placed on the ballot as an independent condidate in the gen-
eral election,” Allen v. State Board of Elections, supra, 393 U.S.
at 570, 89 S.Ct. at 834;

—a new procedure for casting write-in votes, Allen v. State
Board of Elections, supra, 393 U.S. at 570, 89 S.Ct. at 834;

—a change in the location of polling places, Perkins v. Mat-
thews, supra, 400 U.S. at 387, 91 S.Ct. at 436;

—municipal annexations, Perkins v. Matthews, supra,.400 U.S.
at 388, 91 S.Ct. at 437;

—the change from ward to at-large elections of city aldermen,
Perkins v. Matthews, supra, 400 U.S. at 394, 91 S.Ct. at 439-40;
—a state statute which staggered the terms of the three
members of a county Board of Commissioners of Roads and
Revenues, Berry v. Doles, 438 U.S. 190, 191, 98 S.Ct. 2692,
2694, 57 L.Ed.2d 693 (1978);

—a city’s decision to change from an aldermanic system of
government to a system in which councilmen are elected at
large, United States v. Board of Commissioners of Sheffield,
Alabama, supra, 435 U.S. at 137-38, 98 S.Ct. at 982-83; and
—a rule by a county board of education requiring employees to
take unpaid leaves of absence while campaigning for public
office, Dougherty County, Georgia Board of Education v. White,
supra, 439 U.S. at 47, 99 S.Ct. at 377.

23a

S.Ct. 368, 58 L.Ed.2d 269 (1978) (holding that a local
school board’s rule regarding leave without pay for em-
ployees desiring to seek elected office and to serve in that
capacity was a standard, practice, or procedure affecting
voting); Delgado v. Smith, 861 F.2d 1489 (11th Cir.
1989) (holding that the Voting Rights Act does not reach
the activities of private citizens in their petition efforts
to place a referendum on the ballot); see also White v.
Dougherty County Bd. of Education (“Dougherty County
No. 2’), 579 F.Supp. 1480 (M.D.Ga.1984), aff’d, 470
U.S. 1067, 105 S.Ct. 1824, 85 L.Ed.2d 125 (1985) (hold-
ing that individual personnel decisions regarding employ-
ee’s request for leave without pay to serve in elected
capacity was not a standard, practice, or procedure with
respect to voting). In considering whether the conduct
alleged in this case is a standard, practice, or procedure
with respect to voting, the court is cognizant both that
the phrase “standard, practice, or procedure” must be
given the broadest scope possible, Allen v. Board of Elec-
tions, 393 U.S. 544, 566-67, 89 S.Ct. 817, 832-33, 22
L.Ed.2d 1, 17-18 (1969), and that “ ‘voting’ includes ‘all
action necessary to make a vote effective.’”’ Jd. at 565-
66, 89 S.Ct. at 832, 22 L.Ed.2d at 17, citing 79 Stat. 445,
42 U.S.C. § 19731 (c) (1).

Because of an absence of authority on the subject, see
supra note 4, and because the views of the Attorney
General regarding the scope of the Voting Rights Act are
entitled to particular deference, see Dougherty County
No. 1, 439 U.S. at 39, 99 S.Ct. at 372-73, 58 L.Ed.2d at
278, the three-judge panel, during the prior Section 5
litigation, invited the United States to submit a brief as
amicus curiae. Therein, commenting upon 28 C.F.R.
§ 51.13(j), the United States stated that “[i]t is unques-
tioned that the ‘method of offering issues and propositions
for approval by referendum’ is such a standard, practice
or procedure that, if changed, is subject to Section 5 re-
view.” Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae

24a

(“Amicus” Brief), pp. 13-14, citing 28 C.F.R. § 51.13(j).
However, the United States continued as follows:

Here, the facts of record would tend to suggest
that the defendants’ discretionary decision to present
the voters with a single vote on the entire bond proj-
ect is not the kind of change subject to preclearance.
Selecting a number of projects to be financed under
one bonding authority would seem to be a normal
legislative decision unrelated to the process of hold-
ing elections. It is essentially the same kind of de-
termination as the amount of bonded indebtedness
required for a project, the interest rate the board
is willing to pay or the term of the bonds.

Amicus Brief, pp. 16-17 (emphasis added).

The somewhat inconsistent statements made by the
Attorney General evidence both the novelty of plaintiffs’
argument and the difficulty of the question presented.
However, upon consideration, this court finds implicit in
the Attorney General’s comments the idea that the “meth-
ods” brought within the meaning of 28 C.F.R. § 51.13(j)
are not those discretionary decisions made by properly
elected legislative officials “‘in the best interests of educa-
tion’; instead, the regulation refers to those barriers, be
they subtle or obvious, which obstruct the paths leading
to the registration of voters, the casting of votes, the
tabulation of votes and the requirements for election or
passage, t.e., approval by majority vote, or by plurality
vote, or by a two-thirds margin.

The general idea stated just above finds support ‘in
the legislative history developed in regard to the 1982
amendments to the Voting Rights Act. See generally,
Senate Rep. No. 97-417, 97th Congress, 2nd Session, pp.
1-43, reprinted in 1982 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News, pp.
177-221 ‘citations hereafter will be to pages in 1982 U.S.
Code Cong. & Ad.News). The original intent of Section
2 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 was to ban “ ‘any

a4

25a

kind of practice . . . if its purpose or effect was to deny
or abridge the right to vote on account of race or
color.’”’ 1982 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News, p. 194 (foot-
note omitted), quoting Attorney General Katzenbach.
“!Sjection 2 protects the right of minority voters to be
free from election practices, procedures or methods, that
deny them the same opportunity to participate in the
political process as other citizens enjoy.” Jd. at 206.
Congress noted that the vast majority of Section 2 cases
have “dealt with electoral system features such as at-
large elections, majority vote requirements and district-
ing plans.” Jd. at 207; see e.g. Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403
U.S. 124, 91 S.Ct. 1858, 29 L.Ed.2d 363 (1971); White
v. Regester, 412 U.S. 755, 93 S.Ct. 2332, 37 L.Ed.2d 314
(1973) ; Zimmer v. McKeithen, 485 F.2d 1297 (5th Cir.
1973) (en banc), aff'd on other grounds sub nom East
Carroll Parish School Board v. Marshall, 424 U.S. 636,
96 S.Ct. 1088, 47 L.Ed.2d 296 (1976).5

5 Congress emphasized, however, that “section 2 remains the
major statutory prohibition of all voting rights discrimination. It
also prohibits practices which, while episodic and not involving
permanent structural barriers, results in the denial of equal access
to any phase of the electoral process for minority group members.”
1982 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News, p. 207.

Footnote 119 of the Senate Report, in illustration of the scope
of Section 2, states as follows:

This aspect of the statute’s scope is illustrated by a variety
of Section 2 cases involving such episodic discrimination. For
example, a violation could be proven by showing that the elec-
tion officials made absentee ballots available to white citizens
without a corresponding opportunity being given to minority
citizens. See Brown v. Post, 279 F.Supp. 60, 63-64 (W.D.La.
1968). Likewise, purging of voters could produce a discrim-
inatory result if fair procedures were not followed, Toney v.
White, 488 F.2d 310 (5th Cir. 1973), or if the need for a
purge were not shown or if opportunities for re-registration
were unduly limited. Administration of an election could like-
wise have a discriminatory result if, for example, the informa.
tion provided to voters substantially misled them in a discrim-

26a

Each of the cases mentioned, discussed, or noted above
addresses a standard, practice, or procedure which clearly
impacts a minority individual’s access to and participa-
tion in the electoral process. Those cases must be con-
trasted with the alleged standards, practices, or proce-
dures in Dougherty County No. 2, supra; Delgado v.
Smith, supra; Burger v. Judge, 364 F.Supp. 504 (D.
Mont.1973), aff'd, 414 U.S. 1058, 94 S.Ct. 563, 38 L.Ed.2d
465 (1973); and Kohler v. Tugwell, 292 F.Supp. 978
(E.D.La.1968), aff'd 393 U.S. 531, 89 S.Ct. 879, 21
L.Ed.2d 755 (1969). In Dougherty County No. 2, though
plaintiff John White’s claim was based upon Section 5,
the three-judge panel’s decision hinged upon whether
certain actions taken by the school board constituted a
standard, practice, or procedure.* The actions referred to
involved various decisions made by the Dougherty County

inatory way. United States v. Post, 297 F.Supp. 46, 50-51
(W.D.La.1969).

1982 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News, p. 208.

Two additional cases further illuminate the scope of Section 2. In
Brown v. Dean, 555 F.Supp. 502 (D.R.1.1982), the court held that
“the location and accessibility of a polling place have a direct
effect on a person’s ability to exercise his franchise.” Jd. at 505,
citing Perkins v. Matthews, 400 U.S. 379, 91 S.Ct. 431, 27 L.Ed.2d
476 (1971). The court found a violation of Section 2 and ordered
the polling place relocated. In Miss. State Chapter Operation PUSH
v. Allain, 674 F.Supp. 1245 (N.D.Miss.1987), the court identified
the following voter registration laws as practices in violation of
Section 2: (1) the state’s failure to make certain amendments to
Mississippi’s election laws retroactive to that category of voters
who had registered with a county registrar prior to August 3, 1984;
(2) the state’s failure to mandate deputization of all municipal clerks
as deputy county registrars; and (3) the state’s failure to require
satellite registration on a uniform statewide basis, thus hindering
the ability of minority members to participate in the political
process. Jd. at 1268.

6 The court noted as follows: “Assuming that this court finds
that any such standard, practice or procedure was adopted, the
second question to be answered is whether or not it is ‘with respect
to voting... .’” Dougherty County No. 2, 579 F.Supp. at 1490.

27a

school board either authorizing or refusing to authorize
leave without pay for school employees who wished to
campaign for and serve in certain elected positions. In
one instance, the panel determined that the school board’s
decision “did not constitute a ‘standard, practice or pro-
cedure’ pertaining to employee absence. It was nothing
more than an individual personnel decision.” Jd. at 1491-
92 (footnotes omitted). A second decision by the school
board was found not to be a standard, practice, or pro-
cedure because in light of its conditional nature it failed
to establish “fa precedent on which the affected employees
and others may rely....” Jd. at 1492. Finally, the three-
judge court found that, despite the defendant school
board’s own characterization of its decision as a policy
on political leave, “the board in reality decided not to
allow its employees who are elected to public office greater
time away from the job than they and all other employees
are otherwise allowed.” Jd.?

In Delgado v. Smith, supra, the Eleventh Circuit
considered whether citizen initiative petitions come within
the Voting Rights Act. The court stated that “[t]here
is no question that the sole purpose of [the Voting Rights
Act] was to ensure the integrity of the registration and
voting process by eradicating barriers which had pre-
viously prevented blacks from voting.” Delgado, 861 F.2d

7 The court summarized as follows:

Viewed from every angle and in the brightest light of the
Supreme Court’s broad interpretations of the words “standard,
practice, and procedure,” this board’s refusal to alter its neutral
personnel policies to accommodate this employee elected office
holder does not possibly constitute a Section 5 “standard, prac-
tice, or procedure.”

* * * *

There having been no “standard, practice, or procedure”
enacted or sought to be administered, it is unnecessary to con-
sider whether or not the conduct of the defendant board was
“with respect to voting.”

Id. at 1493 (footnote omitted).

28a

at 1492. The court cited with approval a decision which
found the petition process too far removed from the
voting booth to fall under the Act. Jd. at 1493, citing
Zaldivar v. City of Los Angeles, 590 F.Supp. 852 (C.D.
Cal.1984), rev’d on other grounds, 780 F.2d 823 (9th
Cir. 1986). The Eleventh Circuit panel concluded that
“the history of the Act, the stated intention of Congress,
and the relevant case law persuade us that the Voting
Rights Act could not properly be applied to the case
before us.” Id. at 1493.

In Burger v. Judge, supra, a three-judge panel con-
sidered the merits of plaintiffs’ contentions that the citi-
zens of Montana, in voting on four propositions submitted
to the electorate by a Constitutional Convention, had been
misled as to the effects of their votes by (1) the official
ballot, (2) an official publication mailed to all voters, (3)
a newspaper supplement, (4) an analysis prepared by the
Constitutional Convention Commission, (5) the debate
during the Constitutional Convention, and (6) a particu-
lar state statute. Burger, 364 F.Supp. at 508-09. The
court, after a discussion of plaintiffs’ arguments, stated
that “[iJn any event, it is clear that all electors who
were in fact opposed to the proposed constitution could
have expressed their disapproval by voting against it.”
Continuing, the court stated as follows:

This is not a case where any electors were de-
prived of a right to vote or where there was any
debasement or dilution in their votes. Nor is it a
case where the voters were misled with respect to the
content or meaning of any of the issues submitted to
them. The 7,302 electors clearly had a right and
opportunity to vote on the proposed constitution and
in fact were urged to do so.

If, under these circumstances, any electors were in
fact misled, they were simply mistaken as to the
effect of their absention from voting and not de-
prived of any right or opportunity to vote in viola-

Cs ammameamaaaaaaaaaeasaaeaasaaaaaaainiaataaiai iia

29a

tion of Article IV, Section 4 of the Constitution of
the United States, the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution, or the Voting Rights Act of 1965 (42
U.S.C. § 1973).

Id. at 511-12 (footnotes omitted).

Finally, in Kohler v. Tugwell, supra,’ a three-judge
panel heard plaintiffs’ claim that “the designation of the
amendment as it appeared on the state ballot misled vot-
ers. Hence, they contend that those who voted in favor
of the enactment were deprived of their right to vote.

..’ Kohler, 292 F.Supp. at 979. The panel agreed with
plaintiffs that the amendment was phrased in a manner
“so turgid that it would be difficult to say that any ballot
designation could describe it accurately.” Jd. at 980.
Quoting Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 554, 84 S.Ct.
1362, 1377, 12 L.Ed.2d 506, 523 (1964), the court noted
that “the Constitution of the United States protects the
right of all qualified citizens to vote, in state as well as
in federal elections.” Kohler, 292 F.Supp. at 981. The
Kohler panel went on to state as follows:

————————

However, a federal court must not interfere with
the internal affairs of a State unless it is necessary
to do so to protect those rights guaranteed every citi-
zen by the Federal Constitution. The procedure fol-
lowed by Louisiana does not deprive the plaintiffs of
Due Process for it is sufficient that Louisiana’s vot-
ers were informed by the ballot of the subject of
the amendment, were given a fair opportunity by

8 The plaintiffs in Kohler were proceeding under the United
States Constitution, Article 4 §4 and Amendment 14. The Voting
Rights Act was not at issue in the case. However, the discussion
in Kohler sheds some light on the matter before this court. Addi-
tionally, the court notes that the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States is one of the sources of th» Voting
Rights Act. See United States v. Marengo County Commission, 731
F.2d 1546, 1555 (11th Cir.1984), appeal dismissed, cert. denied,
469 U.S. 976, 105 S.Ct. 375, 88 L.Ed.2d 311 (1984).

30a

publication to consider its full text, and were not
deceived by the ballot’s words.

Id. (footnote omitted).
Analysis

Quite clearly, the issues raised by plaintiffs in the case
before this court are not identical to those issues dis-
cussed in the cases above. However, the extensive ex-
amination of the relevant statutory, regulatory and case
law has convinced this court that the conduct attacked
by plaintiffs in this case is not a standard, practice, or
procedure as those terms are understood. First, it seems
clear to this court that the Voting Rights Act addresses
the right to vote; it does not address the deliberative
process of local or state boards. Second, plaintiffs have
presented no evidence to this court of any policy or math-
ematical formula by which or pursuant to which the
school board of Bibb County arrives at the manner in
which any particular proposal decided to be in the best
interests of education should be submitted to the elec-
torate. Instead, like the situation presented in Dougherty
County -No. 2, the evidence suggests that the decision to
submit the proposed improvements to the voters in one
question rather than in two or more questions was a
singular decision premised upon the facts of this par-
ticular situation. That the decision was to some degree
premised upon political realities does not undermine that
decision; nor does it make that decision in some fashion
sinister or manipulative. Elected bodies like the school
board of Bibb County, comprised of individuals nomi-
nated and elected in presumably valid elections in which
all voters had an equal opportunity to participate, must
be afforded some freedom to engage in the traditional
political tools of consensus-building and compromise to
effectuate comprehensive plans for school and community
development and improvement. Government in the United
States, be it federal, state or local, takes the form of
representative democracy. That does not mean, of course,

ae A Ee 5

eh Se ne . ete

eon tea:

3la

that representatives once elected are free to disregard
the law; however, the functioning of a representative
democracy must be contrasted with the functioning of a
pure democracy. Representatives are elected to pursue
an agenda which benefits the community at large. They
may be re-elected or cast out of office, depending upon
their performance or lack thereof. This scheme of gov-
ernment does not contemplate a vote by every individual
on every single issue in isolation or in the abstract. Some
trust and some faith must be placed in the elected rep-
resentatives of the people. The Georgia cases discussed
supra recognize that principle and establish boundaries
beyond which that trust is suspect. And as those cases
demonstrate, Georgia law provides various mechanisms
by which the citizens may challenge the conduct of their
representatives in this regard.

To accept plaintiffs’ position in this matter is to in-
vite chaos. Any and all matters which are to be sub-
mitted to the electorate for its approval or disapproval,
be that matter a proposal by a local board for a bond
issue to construct a new high school or be it an amend-
ment proposed by a state legislature, would be subject to
challenge under the Voting Rights Act.® This court finds

® Language from Dougherty County No. 2 is informative on this
point:

In response defendant school board argues that plaintiff in
effect is suggesting that under the Voting Rights Act the
Attorney General or the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia must pass judgment upon every board
of education decision to grant or withhold leave without pay
to an elected official to attend to the duties of his office. If
this be true, the defendant board suggests the Voting Rights
Act has removed the board’s authority to do anything without
going to Washington for approval.

Dougherty County No. 2, 579 F.Supp. at 1490, citing Dougherty
County No. 1, 439 U.S. at 54, 99 S.Ct. at 380, 58 L.Ed.2d at 287
(Powell, J., dissenting). The basis of the concern expressed by
the three-judge panel above has come to pass in the case sub judice.
The following discussion, elicited during the hearing on plaintiffs’

32a

plaintiffs’ position unfounded either in law or in logic.
Section 2(a) of the Voting Rights Act “prohibits all

Section 5 claim, illustrates that the concern expressed by the three-
judge panel in Dougherty County No. 2 was well founded.

JUDGE HILL: Well now, let me be sure I understand your
contention. Would that apply no matter how they came down
if they—if they discussed what to put on, then whatever
answer they came up with would be a Voting Rights Act
change? Let me be a little clearer. Suppose they had come up
with the idea, “We shall put each of these separate,” that
would be a change?

MR. BRADLEY: Yes, Your Honor.

JUDGE HILL: And if they’d said, “We will put each school
to be air conditioned separately,” that’d be a change and if they
said, “We'll put them all together,” that would be a change so
however they decided to put the question would have to be
precleared ?

MR. BRADLEY: When they’re deciding what questions to
put on the ballot, yes, Your Honor. To back up from that to
perhaps more clearly explain my position, if they debate
whether or not to air condition schools and decide they’re going
to air condition half of them—

JUDGE HILL: Suppose they decide to air condiiton all of
them but they decided the way to put this would be to put to
the voters each as a separate bond issue, so many dollars to
air condition School “A” and so many dollars for School “B”
as a separate question and “C” and all the rest, that would
be subject to preclearance?

MR. BRADLEY: Yes, Your Honor.

JUDGE HILL: And if they decided to air condition all the
schools and put that question, “Sha.. we air condition all the
schools? that would require preclearance ?

MR. BRADLEY: Yes, Your Honor.

JUDGE HILL: So there would be no question that could
be put in a bond referendum anywhere in any jurisdiction
covered by the Act that would not have to be precleared by the
Department of Justice, would there? Could you conceive of one?

MR. BRADLEY: Because bond issues are not regularly
scheduled elections, I don’t believe I can conceive of one.

JUDGE HILL: Well now, I’m assuming the date issue now
is out of the window, that’s been precleared?

MR. BRADLEY: Yes, Your Honor.

JUDGE HILL: So even if you had—if the Constitution
of a state established the dates upon which bond issues would

33a

states and political subdivisions from imposing any quali-
fications or prerequisites to voting, or any standards,
practices, or procedures which result in the denial or
abridgment of the right to vote... .” Thornburg v.
Gingles, 478 U.S. at 438, 106 S.Ct. at 2762, 92 L.Ed.2d
at 42. However, Section 2(b) expressly cautions that
“nothing in [§ 2] establishes a right to have members of
a protected class elected in numbers equal to their pro-
portion in the population.” Jd. at 43, 106 S.Ct. at 2763,
92 L.Ed.2d at 42 (brackets in original). This statutory
language establishes a boundary to the concept of “vote

be put, the construction of the question would still be subject
to preclearance, is that right?

MR. BRADLEY: Yes, Your Honor.

JUDGE FITZPATRICK: Let me ask you this question,
what if we’re dealing with one school and you want to—the
School Board says, “Well, we want to air condition this school
and we also want to build a gymnasium there at this school
and while we’re doing that, we need to enlarge the library to
make the library more attractive and do three or four differ-
ent projects all on this—in this same school,” would you have
to separate each one of those projects, for instance, to give
people [a chance] to say, “Well we want to air condition it but
we don’t want the new gym. We don’t think we ought to re-
furbish the library,” or “build a new teacher’s lounge,” or
whatever, is that—am I off in the wild blue younder with this
scenario?

MR. BRADLEY: No, Your Honor. And my answer is the
Board does not have to separate it; it can make whatever
choice it wants to, to have five bond issues for each particular
facility or to have one.

JUDGE FITZPATRICK: Oh, you could have a bond issue
to say to—dealing with Northwest School or Southeast School
or whatever, $25,000,000 to air condition, build a gym, re-
furbish the auditorium, all of that, and you could—you vote
for it or against it?

MR. BRADLEY: The Board could do that.

JUDGE FITZPATRICK: And that would be okay?

MR. BRADLEY: They would still have to submit it for
preclearance under the Voting Rights Act.

Transcript of November 1, 1988, Hearing Before Three-Judge
District Court, pp. 9-12.

34a

effectiveness”; by analogy, Section 2 clearly does not
establish a right to have those proposals which must be
submitted to the electorate phrased in such a way that
any particular group is ensured of success. Yet that is
what plaintiffs desire—an opportunity to isolate certain
issues which are allegedly favorable to a particular group
at the expense of a comprehensive plan which elected
officials have formulated for the overall good of the com-
munity.

The reapportionment decisions of the Supreme Court ”
support this court’s understanding of the term “vote ef-
fectiveness” as that term relates to the concept of “dilu-
tion.” Clearly, political units may not structure voting
districts in such a manner as to make impossible the elec-
tion of minority candidates. The matter before this court,
_ however, is qualitatively different from such a situation.
Here, each individual, black and white, had an oppor-
tunity to cast an effective vote for or against a com-
prehensive school improvement/development plan. The
matter was thoroughly discussed in the community. No
voter was misled. This court cannot find that “vote ef-
fectiveness” means a right to vote on each individual
issue considered by its elected officials.

This court reiterates what the Burger court recognized
earlier: every individual qualified to vote in the Novem-
ber 8th election had the opportunity to express his or
her approval or disapproval of the bond issue. Those
voters, like the school board itself, had to weigh the pros
and cons of the propasal as a whole. Then, based on
their understanding of the merits of that proposal, the
voters expressed their preference, albeit by a narrow ma-
jority, to support a comprehensive scheme of improve-
ment in the Bibb County school system. Such is the way
in which the political system functions.

10 See Beer v. United States, 425 U.S. 130, 96 S.Ct. 1357, 47
L.Ed.2d 629 (1976); Georgia v. United States, 411 U.S. 526, 93
S.Ct. 1702, 36 L.Ed.2d 472 (1973).

:
:
;
:
;
;
|

35a

In conclusion, this court determines that the exercise
of discretion by validly elected local board officials in de-
termining the number of questions to be submitted to the
electorate for its approval or disapproval at the ballot
box is not a standard, practice, or procedure. Alterna-
tively, the court finds that even if such exercise of dis-
cretion was a standard, practice, or procedure, such prac-
tice does not affect voting. The manner in which the
proposal was structured had and has absolutely no bear-
ing upon the qualification of any individual to vote, the
ability of any individual to register to vote, the oppor-
tunity of any individual to cast his or her vote, or the
manner in which any individual’s vote was tabulated.
Plaintiffs’ claim as premised upon Section 2 of the Voting
Rights Act is therefore DENIED."

SO ORDERED.

11 The court’s resolution of this matter negates the need to con-
sider the “results” of the alleged standard, practice, or procedure.
The 1982 amendments to the Voting Rights Act re-instituted the
“results” test, making clear that a Section 2 violation could be
proved by showing discriminatory effect alone. See Thornburg,
478 U.S. at 35, 106 S.Ct. at 2758, 92 L.Ed.2d at 37. The court is
aware that plaintiff has filed certain information regarding voting
patterns in the bond issue and other elections. Plaintiff has also
filed voluminous documents entitled plaintiffs’ request for judicial
notice of historic racia] discrimination. The court has examined
those pleadings; however, those documents are pertinent to the
“results” aspect of this case, an issue which this court did not reach.

36a
APPENDIX C

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-8556

DAVID LUCAS, et al.,
Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

versus

JUDY TOWNSEND, et ai.,
Defendants-A ppellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Georgia

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING AND
SUGGESTION(S) OF REHEARING EN BANC
(Opinion August 9, 1990, ilth Cir., 19—, —— F.2d ——»)
(October 30, 1990)

Before: HATCHETT, Circuit Judge, RONEY* and
FAIRCHILD **, Senior Circuit Judges.

* See Rule 34-2(b), Rules of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit.

** Hon. Thomas E. Fairchild, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the
Seventh Circuit, sitting by designation.

37a

PER CURIAM:

(X) The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and
no member of this panel nor other Judge in regular ac-
tive service on the Court having requested that the Court
be polled on rehearing en bane (Rule 35, Federal Rules
of Appellate Procedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5), the
Suggestion(s) of Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.

;
;
4
:

ona eunes

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Joseph W. Hatchett
United States Circuit Judge

38a
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
M.D. GEORGIA
MACON DIVISION

Civ. A. No. 88-166-1-MAC (WDO)

DAVID LUCAS, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.

JUDY TOWNSEND, et al.,
Defendants.

Nov. 2, 1988

Neil Bradley, Atlanta, Ga., for plaintiffs.

W. Warren Plowden, Ed S. Sell, Jr., Macon, Ga., Della
Wager Wells, Atlanta, Ga., for defendants.

Before HILL, Circuit Judge, OWENS, Chief Judge,
and FITZPATRICK, District Judge.

OWENS, Chief Judge:

Included for consideration, by Bibb County voters on
the general election ballot is the question of whether
twenty-nine (29) million dollars of general obligation
bonds should be issued to pay for the following improve-
ments within the Bibb County school system: (1) air
conditioning all existing schools not presently air condi-
tioned; (2) building a fifth high school to serve a pro-
jected 58% black—47% white student body; and (3)
renovating Northeast High School into a magnet high
school. The selection of November 8th, the date of the

39a

general election, as the date for this bond referendum
was submitted to and precleared by the Attorney General
of the United States pursuant to the Voting Rights Act
of 1965. Nevertheless, piaintiffs contend that the Voting
Rights Act requires the submission to the Attorney Gen-
era! of not only the date for this bond referendum but
also the form or the structure of the question itself.
Plaintiffs contend that the discretionary decision of the
school board to submit the approval or disapproval of
the entire twenty-nine (29) million dollar bond issue to
the electorate as a single bond issue rather than to sub-
mit the questions of (1) air conditioning existing schools,
(2) constructing a new school, and (3) renovating North-
east High School as three separate bond issues is a
“change affecting voting.” ’ Arguing that the form of
the bond referendum has been neither submitted to nor
precleared by the Attorney General,’ plaintiffs ask this
three-judge court * to enjoin the inclusion of this bond
referendum on next Tuesday’s general election ballot.

DISCUSSION

In 1965 Congress enacted the Voting Rights Act to
eliminate the racial discrimination in voting that Con-
gress believed to still exist in a minority of the states of

1 During oral arguments held before a district court of three
judges, plaintiffs argued that the school board’s decision would
have been equally as cognizable under Section Five of the Voting
Rights Act if the board had determined to submit the issues to
the electorate as separate questions rather than as a single package.
Thus, plaintiffs effectively argue that any question submitted by
ballot to the electorate must be precleared by the Attorney General.

2 The parties disagree as to whether the form of the question
was in fact submitted to and precleared by the Attorney General.
In light of this court’s decision, see Discussion, ante, the court need
not address this dispute.

3“Any action under this section shall be heard and determined
by a court of three judges in accordance with the provisions of
section 2284 of Title 28 and any appeal shall lie to the Supreme
Court.” 42 U.S.C. § 1973c.

40a

these United States, chiefly those in the traditional South.
As contemplated, only eleven states were brought within
the coverage of the Act—South Carolina, Alabama, Alaska,
Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Virginia, twenty-six
counties in North Carolina, three counties in Arizona,
one county in Hawaii, and one county in Idaho. South
Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301, 86 S.Ct. 808, 15
L.Ed.2d 769 (1966).

Section Five of the Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c, provides
that whenever a covered state or political subdivision
“shall enact or seek to administer any voting qualifica-
tion or prerequisite to voting, or standard, practice, or
procedure with respect to voting different from that in
force or effect on November 1, 1964 .. .” it may not
utilize or implement such change until (a) it has secured
a judicial determination in the United States District
Court for the District of Columbia that the change does
not have the purpose or effect of denying the right to
vote on account of race or (b) it has submitted such
change to the Attorney General of the United States and
the Attorney General has not interposed an objection
within sixty days. While the Act does not specifically
provide a remedy for failure to comply with Section Five,
the Supreme Court has held that a complaint for injunc-
tive relief to be heard by a district court of three judges
may be filed in any United States District Court and that
court, if it is shown that Section Five applies, must en-
join the utilization or implementation of such change
until Section Five is complied with. Allen v. Board of
Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 89 S.Ct. 817, 22 L.Ed.2d 1 (1969).

A district court of three judges convened pursuant to
Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act conducts a limited in-
quiry. First, the court determines whether questioned
activity is a covered voting change. If, and only if, that
question is answered in the affirmative, the court then
determines whether the_questioned activity has been pre-
cleared either by the Attorney General or by declaratory

4la

judgment from the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia. See United States v. Board of
Supervisors, 429 U.S. 642, 645-47, 97 S.Ct. 833, 834-35,
51 L.Ed.2d 106, 110 (1977).

While to effectuate the purpose of the Voting Rights
Act, Section 5 is to be given broad scope, NAACP v.
Hampton County Election Comm., 470 U.S. 166, 175-76,
105 S.Ct. 1128, 1133-34, 84 L.Ed.2d 124, 182 (1985);
Allen v. Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 566-67, 89
S.Ct. 817, 832-33, 22 L.Ed.2d 1, 17-18 (1969), “[t]he
language of § 5 clearly provides that it applies only to
proposed changes in voting procedures.” Beer v. United
States, 425 U.S. 130, 138, 96 S.Ct. 1857, 1362, 47 L.Ed.2d
629, 638 (1976), quoted in McCain v. Lybrand, 465 U.S.
236, 245, 104 S.Ct. 1037, 1043, 79 L.Ed.2d 271, 279
(1984).

Plaintiffs contend that the school board’s exercise of
its discretion in submitting the school improvement plan
to the voters as a single question is by definition a
“change affecting voting.” Defendants vigorously argue
that the school board’s exercise of its discretion in this
matter is not a “change affecting voting.”

While the exercise of discretion in setting dates for
elections, changing candidate qualifications or altering
voting procedures have all been held to constitute changes
requiring Voting Rights Act preclearance, see e.g.,
NAACP v. Hampton County Election Comm., supra;
Dougherty County, Georgia, Board of Education v.
White, 439 U.S. 32, 99 S.Ct. 368, 58 L.Ed.2d 269 (1978) ;
Allen v. State Board of Elections, supra, plaintiffs have
cited no authority for the proposition that a school board’s
or any other board’s exercise of discretion in formulating
a question to be submitted to the electorate constitutes a
change affecting voting. Likewise, defendants are unable
to provide this court with authority supporting their po-
sition that it is not a covered change.

Though not binding upon this or any other court, the
Attorney General’s interpretation of both the scope of

42a

Section 5 and his regulations promulgated thereunder
is entitled to particular deference. See Dougherty County,
Georgia, Board of Education, 439 U.S. at 39, 99 S.Ct.
at 372, 58 L.Ed.2d at 278; NAACP v. Hampton County
Election Comm., 470 U.S. at 178-79, 105 S.Ct. at 1135-
36, 84 L.Ed.2d at 134. Due to the novel nature of plain-
tiffs’ contentions and the absence of either case authority
or a regulation on point, the Attorney General was in-
vited by the panel of three judges to submit his views on
the matter under consideration. In response, the United
States of America applied for leave to participate in this
case as amicus curiae. The United States’ application was
granted on November 1, 1988.

In its amicus curiae brief, the United States noted that
state law enables county school boards to seek the issu-
ance of bonds upon a determination that the incurrence
of such debt is in the “best interests of education in the
county.” Brief for United States as Amicus Curiae
(“Amicus Brief”), 3; 0.C.G.A. § 20-2-430. “[DJecisions
such as the manner in which the purpose of the bonds is
identified, whether to seek, at one election, a single bond
or several separate bonds for discrete projects or to pre-
sent separate bond requests at different elections, are left
to the defendants’ discretion.” Amicus Brief at 4 (foot-
note omitted). Commenting upon the above-described
state procedure, the Attorney General stated that ‘‘the
normal formulation of policy by elected representatives,
e.g., setting employees’ salaries, hiring employees, adopt-
ing capital budgets, [does] not constitute [a change] af-
fecting voting, even though [the decisions] result in the
exercise of discretion and even though a referendum may
be required for final decision.” Jd. at 16. The Attorney
General concluded that “the board’s decision to air con-
dition existing schools and to construct new schools is a
routine matter for the board to decide and attracts no
pre-clearance obligation.” Jd. Further, the schoo] board’s
“discretionary decision to present the voters with a sin-
gle vote on the entire bond project is not the kind of

43a

change subject to preclearance.” Jd. Such a decision is a
“normal legislative decision unrelated to the process of
holding elections.” Jd. at 17.

After careful consideration, this court agrees with the
views held by the United States. First, Georgia school
boards before November 1, 1964, were authorized to and
had exercised their discretion in formulating questions for
bond referendums. The exercise of discretion by the Bibb
County school board was thus no change. Second, the
form or structure of a question on a bond referendum is
not a standard, practice or procedure affecting voting.
The discretionary decision to submit one or more ques-
tions to the electorate is one properly left to the political
process.

It tortures the language of the Act to conclude that
[the form of a question on a bond referendum], hav-
ing nothing to do with the conduct of elections as
such, is state action “with respect to voting.” No
one is denied the right to vote; nor is anyone’s ex-
ercise of the franchise impaired.

Dougherty County, Georgia, Board of Education, 439
U.S. at 51, 99 S.Ct. at 379, 58 L.Ed.2d at 286 (Powell,
J., dissenting) (language within brackets substituted for
original by this court).

Plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary injunction is thus
DENIED this 2nd day of November, 1988.

444
APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
M.D. GEORGIA
MACON DIVISION

Civ. A. No. 88-166-1-MAC (WDO)

DAVID LucAS, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.

JUDY TOWNSEND, et al.,
Defendants.

March 7, 1989

Neil Bradley, Laughlin McDonald, Kathleen Wilde and
Derek Alphran, American Civil Liberties Union Founda-
tion, Inc., Atlanta, Ga., for plaintiffs.

Craig N. Cowart and W. Warren Plowden, Jones, Cork
& Miller, Ed. S. Sell, Jr. and Buckner F. Melton, Sell &
Melton, Macon, Ga., and Della Wager Wells, King and
Spalding, Atlanta, Ga., for defendants.

Before HILL, Circuit Judge, OWENS, Chief Judge,
and FITZPATRICK, District Judge.

ORDER

The parties having stated at a pretrial conference held
on March 2, 1989, before the originating judge that they
do not desire to present further evidence or briefs on the
issues required to be heard by this 28 U.S.C. § 2284 court
of three judges, this court of three judges, for the reasons

: 45a

set forth in its order of November 2, 1988, does hereby
declare and adjudge that the decision of the defendant
Bibb County Board of Education to submit a single
twenty-nine million dollar bond issue by referendum to
the voters of Bibb County, Georgia rather than to submit
four separate bond issues for the four categories of school
improvements to be paid for by said bond issue, is not
encompassed by Section Five of the Voting Rights Act
of 1965 and, therefore, did not have to be submitted to
the Attorney General of the United States for Section
Five preclearance.

There being no further issues to be decided by this
court of three judges, this court of three judges does
hereby dissolve itself, leaving all remaining issues to be
decided by the originating judge. Further, there being
no just reason to delay entry of judgment on plaintiffs’
Section Five claims, the clerk is expressly directed to
enter judgment thereon for the defendants. Rule 54:b),
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

SO ORDERED.

46a
APPENDIX F

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE UNITED STATES

No. 89-400
DAVID LUCAS, ef al.,
appellants
v.

JUDY TOWNSEND, etc., et al.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Georgia

Former decision, 110 S.Ct. 230; 110 S.Ct. 319.

Case below, 686 F.Supp. 902; 698 F.Supp. 909; 714
F.Supp. 525; 732 F.Supp. 1581.

Jan. 22, 1990. The judgment is affirmed.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1009%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
