# Amicus Curiae Brief — City of Seattle v. First Covenant Church of Seattle

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0999%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 901

## Text

—

4)

No. 90-892

> IN THE

>

™~ Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

THE City OF SEATTLE,
Petitioner,

V.

FIRST COVENANT CHURCH OF SEATTLE, WASHINGTON,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme
Court of the State of Washington

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AND BRIEF OF
THE NATIONAL TRUST FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
THE PETITIONER CITY OF SEATTLE

Davip A. DOHENY
General Counsel
ANDREA C. FERSTER
Assistant General Counsel
(Counsel of Record)
ELIZABETH S. MERRITT
Assistant General Counsel
National Trust for Historic
Preservation in the United States
1785 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 673-4035

Counsel for the National Trust for
Historic Preservation in the
United States
February 8, 1991

L

arn aar aE
FRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-892

THE CITY OF SEATTLE,
Petitioner,
Vv.

First COVENANT CHURCH OF SEATTLE, WASHINGTON,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the —
Supreme Court of the State of Washington

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF
THE NATIONAL TRUST FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER CITY OF SEATTLE

_ Pursuant to Rule 36.1, the National Trust for His-
toric Prese. vation in the United States (‘‘National
Trust’’) respectfully moves for leave to file the at-
tached brief as amicus curiae in support of the City
of Seattle’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Washington Supreme Court in this case. The City of
Seattle has consented to the filing of the brief, as
evidenced by the letter filed with the Clerk of this
Court. However, Respondent First Covenant Church
has not consented.

The National Trust is the leading national organi-
zation in the field of historic preservation. It was
chartered by Congress in 1949 as a private, chari-
table, educational, and nonprofit corporation to ‘‘fa-
cilitate public participation in the preservation of sites,
buildings and objects of national significance or in-
terest’? and to preserve and administer properties
“significant in American history and culture.” 16
U.S.C. § 468. In deciding to charter the National
Trust, Congress intended that ‘‘[the National Trust]
will mobilize and coordinate public interest and par-
ticipation in the preservation and interpretation of
sites and buildings from voluntary resources.” S. Rep.
No. 1110, 81st Cong., 1st Sess. 4 (1949), reprinted
in 1949 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2285, 2288. It
is in the spirit of this charter that the National Trust
seeks to express its views in this case.

The National Trust has more than 230,000 individ-
ual contributing members nationwide, and approxi-
mately 3,000 member organizations involved in local
and regional historic preservation activities. These
members have a substantial interest in upholding and
enhancing the effectiveness of local historic preser-
vation laws. In addition to owning and maintaining
historic properties, the National Trust furthers his-
toric preservation by providing extensive advisory and
technical services to local governments that have en-
acted landmark and historic district ordinances. The
National Trust has worked closely with many of the
more than 1,700 municipalities that have enacted such
ordinances.

The National Trust’s expertise on historic preser-
vation law is nationally recognized, particularly with
respect to the constitutional validity of local historic

preservation ordinances.! The National Trust has thus
examined the issues presented in this case from a
national perspective. It believes that historic preser-
vation contributes fundamentally to the welfare and
the vitality of this nation and that the decision in this
case will have a significant impact on the regulatory
authority of local governments to protect historic re-
ligious properties. The National Trust is concerned
that wholesale exemptions from landmark designation
for any category of historic properties, as distinct
from case-by-case requests for relief in order to make
specific changes in designated features of the prop-
erty, will undermine the integrity of historic preser-
vation laws without valid justification.

‘ The National Trust participated as amicus curiae in this case
before the Washington Supreme Court in support of the City
of Seattle’s motion for reconsideration. The National Trust also
participated as amicus curiae in Rector, Wardens, and Members
of the Vestry of St. Bartholomew’s Church v. City of New York,
914 F.2d 348 (2d Cir. 1990), petition for cert. filed, 59 U.S.L.W.
3433 (U.S. Dec. 10, 1990) (Nos. 90-899, 90-900), and Society of
Jesus v. Boston Landmarks Comm’n, No. SJC No. 5415 (Mass.
Dec. 31, 1990), which involve the applicability of preservation
laws to religious properties. The National Trust is also a plaintiff
in Alger, et al. v. City of Chicago, No. 90 C 2778 (N.D. Ill. Sept.
19, 1990), appeal docketed, No. 91-1029 (7th Cir., filed Jan. 3,
1991), which involves a constitutional challenge to a local ordi-
nance exempting religious properties from landmark designation.

The National Trust has also participated as amicus curiae in
the following cases before this Court involving local government
land use regulatory authority: First English Evangelical Lu-
theran Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987);
MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo, 477 U.S. 340
(1986); San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. City of San Diego, 450
U.S. 621 (1981); Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980);
Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104
(1978).

For the reasons stated above, the National Trust
respectfully requests that this Court grant its motion
to file the attached amicus curiae brief in support of
the petition for a writ of certiorari filed by the City
of Seattle in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Andrea C. Ferster
Davip A. DOHENY
General Counsel
ANDREA C. FERSTER
Assistant General Counsel
(Counsel of Record)
ELIZABETH S. MERRITT
Assistant General Counsel
National Trust for Historic
Preservation in the United States
1785 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 673-4035

Counsel for the National Trust for
Historic Preservation in the
United States

February 8, 1991

i.

II.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

B. Regulatory Framework ...........ccccccceeeeeeees
C. First Covenant’s Challenge .....................

This Case Presents an Important Question
Concerning the Authority of Local Govern-
ments to Protect Historic Properties Through
Landmark Designation and Controls ...........

A. The Landmark Designation of Historic
Buildings, Including Historic Religious
Properties, Serves an Important Public
PD Wiskdinensictcccssandteninncientaenaesindssnceencine

B. The Washington Court’s Ruling Will Se-
verely Disrupt the Regulatory Authority
of Local Governments to Designate and
Protect Historic Landmarks ...................

This Case Raises a First Amendment Issue
of National Significance ...................cceeseeeeees

A. This Decision is in Direct Conflict with
Other State and Federal Court Decisions,
and Disregards Important U.S. Supreme
Court Precedents ............cccccccccccccssscceseees

B. Landmark Designation is a Neutral Reg-
ulatory Scheme and is Therefore Not
Properly Reviewed Under the Compelling
Governmental Interest Standard ............

CARAT. sstersevsnentyvennsensnssssinenemnasecsiincinaiitubedinitien

13

13

18

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Alger v. City of Chicago, No. 90 C 2778 (N.D. Ill.
a 19, 1990), appeal docketed, No. 91-1029
ub oe ff 4 | eee 5

Church of St. Paul & St. Andrew v. Barwick, 67
N.Y.2d 510, 296 N.E.2d 188, 505 N.Y.S.2d 24,

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 985 (1986) ...............000 12
Employment Division v. Smith, 110 S. Ct. 1595

CRED cstastiencserpunsesviointioiensalincutiesdasiaeienenis 11,15,16,17
Hernandez v. Commissioner, 109 8. Ct. 2436

(TIRED -scistnncidssvenioiectscormnacsegeiansontigtlisossanpeinsnts 14-15,16
Jimmy Swaggart Ministries v. California Board of

Equalization, 110 S. Ct. 688 (1990) ............... 14,15
Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New

York, 488 U.S. 104 (1978) .....ccrcccrcccrcessseseee 2,8,13,17

Rector, Wardens, and Members of the Vestry of St.
Bartholomew’s Church v. City of New York,
914 F.2d 348 (2d Cir. 1990), petition for cert.
filed, 59 U.S.L.W. 3483 (U.S. Dec. 10,

RETEII . sssisheee'Nisdiesicannejeesiidsinnntdibenanaiidaaiebieebamannethhe 12,13,18
Society for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449,

415 N.E.2d 922 (N.Y. App. 1980) .................. 13
Society of Jesus v. Boston Landmarks Comm’n, No.

SJC No. 5415 (Mass. Dec. 31, 1990), ............. 10
Tony & Susan Alamo Foundation v. Secretary of

EOP, STE Ws Te CRMIUe cvcsnnccesnsessessnncesnesies 15
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) .............. 16

FEDERAL STATUTES

National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA)
Se Sec ae I enesictiendecnstansatcneninctancinneeniinbian 1
OD Re: Be Oe GG, isicccssccictcneptctncstteeinticsin
BD Wess Oe GN Redacastsaendccenheeciasenaanetiiain eens i)

ili

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Oe Fi i ED ciintnsisnbicicnetiusanabiannimisindiiabiiieans y)

Oe Ne A la a cocniniaennnndatenbbaneconien 3

I Eo onldeialionemnelionpini 3
FEDERAL REGULATIONS
Solas msaaemsc nN 9
LOCAL ORDINANCES
Seattle Municipal Code, §§ 25.12 et seq. (1977) ..... 4,5,12
Chicago Municipal Code, § 21-69.1 0... eee 5
MISCELLANEOUS

American Planning Ass’n, Responding to the Tak-

ings Challenge, Planning Advisory Service Re-

= No. 416, at 23 (R. Roddewig & C.
Ns IID ‘exéhitncnscemmedemnbianieetantnencesssee 8

National Trust for Historic Preservation, A Guide
to State Historic Preservation Programs
SUIS :ahelecnaanunlaltcksatheidssantigkesnenbieduinndistiianediniediantsaces 8

National Trust for Historic Preservation, State En-
abling Legislation for Local Preservation Com-
ME eeccesticnteiictcinstcinntieinplanciaknsinenninnns 8

National Trust for Historic Preservation, State Sys-
tems for Designating Historic Properties and
the Results of Designation (1987) ...............c00 8

~
q
J
P ;
oe
-
'
a)
' — _—— —
i
f
:
- t
:
he 7
*@
r ~~
‘
» _ -~
@
3
.
om |
i
—
:
¢
'
es
t

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-892

THE CiTy OF SEATTLE,
Petitioner,
Vv.

FIRST COVENANT CHURCH OF SEATTLE, WASHINGTON,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme
Court of the State of Washington

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF
THE NATIONAL TRUST FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER CITY OF SEATTLE

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Trust for Historic Preservation in the
United States (“‘the National Trust’) was chartered
by Congress in 1949 as a private charitable, educa-
tional, and nonprofit corporation to “‘facilitate public
participation in the preservation of sites, buildings
and objects of national significance or interest’’ and
to preserve and administer properties “significant in
American history and culture.” 16 U.S.C. § 468. The
National Trust has more than 230,000 individual

members nationwide, and approximately 3,000 mem-
ber organizations involved in local and regional his-
toric preservation activities. In addition to owning and
maintaining historic properties, the National Trust
furthers historic preservation by providing extensive
advisory and technical services to local governments
that have enacted landmark and historic preservation
ordinances.

STATEMENT
A. Introduction

While Americans have always treasured their his-
tory and traditions, it is only in the past 60 years
that local, state, and federal laws have been expanded
to protect our physical heritage—the nation’s historic
buildings, places, and neighborhoods. In the 1930s,
the cities of Charleston, South Carolina and New Or-
leans, Louisiana adopted the first local historic pres-
ervation ordinances in the United States. By the
1960s, the threat of wholesale destruction of historic
neighborhoods by urban renewal projects and high-
ways had engendered a broad national historic pres-
ervation movement, and led to the adoption of the
National Historic Preservation Act, 16 U.S.C. § 470
et seq., and the enactment of state and local historic
preservation laws across the country.

By 1978, when this Court issued its landmark opin-
ion in Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New
York, 438 U.S. 104, 107 (1978), all 50 states and more
than 500 local communities had enacted historic pres-
ervation laws; today that number has grown to more
than 1,700.1 Penn Central laid to rest any doubts

1 See infra note 6.

about the constitutionality of the local regulation of
historic landmarks, which enhance the quality of life
for all. The decision of the Washington Supreme Court
in this case presents a serious threat to these wide-
spread local preservation efforts, by creating a whole-
sale exemption from the protections that would
otherwise be afforded for historic properties owned
by religious institutions.

Religious properties often have historic, community,
and architectural significance that makes them par-
ticularly worthy of preservation. According to the Na-
tional Park Service, 5,524 religious properties are
listed in the National Register of Historic Places.? But
this number tells only part of the story. In cities and
towns across the country, churches and other religious
buildings are often literal landmarks—giving residents
and visitors a sense of the fabric of community life.
Religious buildings often dominate the streetscapes
and skylines, adding beauty and inspiration to many
towns and neighborhoods. Religious buildings act as
anchors in their communities, providing, in addition
to their religious and spiritual missions, outreach to
broad segments of the public for cultural enrichment,
social services, and a variety of private sector activ-
ities.

2 Statistics provided on January 14, 1991, by Jon Byrn, Data
Base Manager, U.S. Department of the Interior, Keeper of the
National Register. Unlike the protections afforded by local land-
mark ordinances such as Seattle’s, National Register listing pro-
vides protection only with respect to the actions of federal
agencies, such as federally-funded highways or urban renewal
projects, and non-federal activities that are regulated by federal
licenses or permits. See National Historic Preservation Act, 16
U.S.C. §§ 470f, 470h-2.

Religious buildings also have played an important
role in the history of our nation, from Boston’s Old
North Church, which signalled Paul Revere to start
his historic ride, to the Ebenezer Baptist Church in
Atlanta, where Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. devel-
oped the moral precepts of the civil rights movement
in the 1960s. More than perhaps any other category
of buildings, religious properties are a vital compo-
nent of our physical and social environment from coast
to coast, from Park Avenue to Main Street.

B. Regulatory Framework

The Seattle Landmarks Preservation Ordinance cre-
ates a three-step process for protecting historic sites
in Seattle. The first step is the nomination and review
of a site for designation as a landmark. The desig-
nation. decision is made by an expert agency—the
Landmarks Preservation Board—based on specific cri-
teria of historic or architectural significance, after a
public nominating meeting and a public hearing on
the designation. Seattle Mun. Code §§ 25.12.350-
25.12.480 (App. 53a-59a).

The second step is to develop appropriate controls
and incentives to preserve the significant features of
the landmark. This is done by agreement with the
owner where possible; otherwise upon the recommen-
dation of a hearing examiner. These controls are then
codified in a designating ordinance, which must be
approved by the City Council. Jd. §§ 25.12.490-
12.25.660 (App. 59a-67a). The designating ordinance
specifies the features of the landmark that will re-
quire the approval of the Landmarks Preservation
Board prior to making any significant changes. Jd.
§§ 25.12.500-25.12.630 (App. 60a-66a). The ordinance
specifically provides that in no event may the des-

ignation deprive the owner of a reasonable economic
use of the property. Jd. § 25.12.580 (App. 63a-64a).

The third step in the process comes into play if the
property owner wishes to make changes in the pro-
tected features of the property. In order to do so,
the owner must apply for a certificate of approval
from the Seattle Landmarks Commission. Id.
§ 25.12.670 (App. 68a). An application for a certificate
of approval is evaluated based on a number of factors,
including the economic consequences of denying the
certificate, the extent to which other alternatives are
available to achieve the owner’s objectives, and the ~
extent to which the proposed alteration may be nec-
essary to meet the requirements of another law. Jd.
§ 25.12.750 (App. 71a-72a).

Virtually all preservation ordinances, including Se-
attle’s, allow exceptions based on the particular cir-
cumstances of an individual property owner, but such
exceptions are only allowed on a case-by-case basis,
in the context of evaluating a concrete proposal to
make changes in the landmarked property or to ac-
commodate the specific needs of the property owner.?
In fact, conflicts between the interests of property

*The National Trust is aware of only one preservation ordi-
nance that categorically exempts historic religious properties
from landmark designation. The City of Chicago has enacted a
broad exemption for religious properties from its landmarks or-
dinance. See Chicago Mun. Code § 21-69.1. This legislative ex-
emption is currently being challenged as violative of the first
amendment’s establishment clause. See Alger v. City of Chicago,
No. 90 C 2778 (N.D. Ill. Sept. 19, 1990), appeal docketed, No.
91-1029 (7th Cir., filed Jan. 3, 1991) (district court dismissed
plaintiffs’ claim on grounds that alleged harm to church was not
yet imminent and therefore plaintiffs did not yet have standing).

owners and the goals of historic preservation are the
exception rather than the rule. The primary objective
cf most landmark ordinances, including Seattle’s, is
to provide an administrative review process that fa-
cilitates dialogue and negotiation between the prop-
erty owner and preservation experts, in order to assist
the property owner in making sure that proposed al-
terations or changes in the property do not inad-
vertently or unnecessarily harm significant features
of the property.

C. First Covenant’s Challenge

This case well illustrates the problems of creating
wholesale exemptions from preservation ordinances at
the landmark designation stage. First Covenant
Church has never alleged that it has any plans either
to renovate, alter, or demolish its building, or to take
any other action that would be regulated by the Se-
attle Landmarks Preservation Ordinance. The Church
brought this case on the ground (among others) that
the landmark designation of the exterior of its build-
ing, alone, substantially burdened its right to free
exercise of religion. The Washington Supreme Court
agreed, concluding that the ‘‘aesthetic and community
values associated with landmark preservation’ were
“clearly outweighed” by the burden on the Church’s
free exercise rights. (App. 17a).

Significantly, the Church did not allege that the
landmark designation had any impact—even a poten-
tial future impact—on its practice of religion. Rather,
it alleged burdens of the sort that any property owner
might encounter in connection with land use regula-
tion: the burden that some future alteration proposal
might require secular review; the burden, in connec-
tion with such a proposal, of paperwork, negotiations,

and hearings; and the burden of “‘uncertainty’”’ as to
whether approval of the proposal would he granted.

(App. 5a)

Based on these asserted burdens, and essentially on
the ground that a religious organization should not
have to interact with secular authorities except on
secular matters of compelling importance, the Wash-
ington Supreme Court effectively exempted buildings
owned by religious institutions from landmark des-
ignation, without regard to any actual hardship or
interference with the practice of religion. This reli-
gious exemption warrants review by this Court.

ARGUMENT

I. This Case Presents an Important Question Concern-
ing the Authority of Local Governments to Protect
Historic Properties Through Landmark Designation
and Controls.

A. The Landma-k Designation of Historic Buildings, In-

cluding Historic Religious Properties, Serves an Im-
portant Public Purpose.

The importance of preserving America’s architec-
tural and historic resources through the enactment of
historic preservation laws has received increasing rec-
ognition during the last half-century. Beginning with
our nation’s first preservation ordinance, adopted by
the City of Charleston, South Carolina, in 1931, state
and local governments around the country have
adopted laws that provide for the designation and
protection of buildings, sites, and districts that em-
body exceptional architecture or make a signifivant
contribution to our local, state, or national heritage.

On the local level, historic preservation is now a
well-established and rapidly growing form of land use

regulation. This is evidenced by the dramatic increase
in the number of communities that have adopted some
form of historic preservation ordinance, rising from
approximately 500 in 1978‘ to an estimated 1,500 in
1989.5 In 1991, more than 1,700 communities in all
50 states provide legal protection for historic re-
sources.* These historic preservation ordinances have
proven to be an effective vehicle for protecting and
preserving the best of our nation’s heritage for future
generations, thereby enhancing the quality of life for
all. See Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of
New York, 438 U.S. 104, 108-09 (1978).’

The importance of historic preservation has been
recognized at the federal level as well. In 1966, Con-
gress enacted the National Historic Preservation Act
(NHPA), which established a national policy that ‘‘the
historical and cultural foundations of the Nation

4 See National Trust for Historic Preservation, A Guide to
State Historic Preservation Programs (1976), cited in Penn Cen-
trai Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104, 107 n.1
(1978).

5 See American Planning Ass’n, Responding to the Takings
Challenge, Planning Advisory Service Report No. 416, at 23 (R.
-Roddewig & C. Duerkson eds. 1989).

6 Statistics compiled by the National Park Service (February
1990), and updated by the National Trust for Historic Preser-
vation (February 1991).

7In addition to the 1,700 local jurisdictions that have adopted
historic preservation ordinances, every state government has en-
acted a historic preservation law, as this Court recognized in
Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. at 107.
See also National Trust for Historic Preservation, State Systems
for Designating Historic Properties and the Results of Desig-
nation (1987); National Trust for Historic Preservation, State
Enabling Legislation for Local Preservation Commissions (1984).

should be preserved as a living part of our community
life and development in order to give a sense of ori-
entation to the American people.” 16 U.S.C.
§ 470(b\(2).2 The NHPA gives recognition to the crit-
ical role of local governments in the preservation of
historic resources, through the Certified Local Gov-
ernment program. This program, administered by the
National Park Service, allows local governments to
share in their state’s allocation of federal money from
the Historic Preservation Fund if they have enacted
comprehensive preservation ordinances that satisfy
the criteria spelled out in 16 U.S.C. § 470a(c) and 36
C.F.R. Part 61. According to the National Park Ser-
vice, 633 communities in the United States qualify as
Certified Local Governments.

B. The Washington Court’s Ruling Will Severely Disrupt
the Regulatory Authority of Local Governments to Des-
ignate and Protect Historic Landmarks.

By declaring that the interest in preserving historic
properties is “clearly outweighed’”’ by the burden of
submitting building plans for secular review, the
Washington Supreme Court has effectively exempted
religious buildings altogether from preservation or-
dinances. This decision has several unfortunate con-
sequences.

First, if the view of the Washington Supreme Court
is adopted in other jurisdictions, the decision could

® Consistent with this policy, the NHPA strongly encourages
the establishment of federal, state, and local programs for sur-
veying and inventorying historic properties and nominating el-
igible properties for listing in the National Register of Historic
Places, the list of districts, sites, buildings, structures, and ob-
jects significant in American history, architecture, archeology,
engineering, and culture. 16 U.S.C. § 470a.

10

have the effect of exempting thousands of buildings
of historical and architectural significance—many of
them true national treasures—from local preservation
efforts solely because they are owned by religious
institutions.? Without effective regulatory protections,
there is no practical way for Seattle, or other cities
and towns across the nation, to preserve these prop-
erties as living parts of their communities. As a re-
sult, our nation’s religious buildings will become
endangered.

Moreover, church buildings are often an integral
part—and in many cases, the anchors—of the larger
historic districts and neighborhoods that embody our
heritage. Exempting religious properties from land-
mark protection leaves these buildings vulnerable to
demolition, paving the way for the construction of
parking lots or office towers in their place. The con-
sequences to the physical and social fabric of these
historic communities will be severe.

Nor are the implications of the Washington
Supreme Court’s decision limited to historic preser-
vation. The “‘burdens’’ allegedly imposed by the land-
mark designation of First Covenant Church (i.e.,
paperwork, “‘uncertainty,’’ and the necessity of in-
teraction with secular authorities) are hardly unique

®In fact, at least one other court has also been receptive to
a free exercise challenge by a religious property owner under
a state constitution. See Society of Jesus v. Boston Landmarks
Comm'n, No. SJC-5415 (Mass. Dec. 31, 1990) (holding that lan/-
mark designation of the interior worship space of a church vi-
olated the free exercise clause of the Massachusetts Constitution,
notwithstanding the fact that the landmarks commission had
ultimately permitted the church to make the requested interior
alterations.)

11

to landmark designation. If religious organizations
cannot be required to interact with secular authorities
and prepare secular “‘paperwork’”’ except for the most
compelling reasons, the authority of local govern-
ments to implement land use and other regulatory
programs, including zoning laws, will also be threat-
ened.?°

Finally, the wholesale exemption sanctioned by the
Washington Supreme Court is in no way necessary
to accommodate changes that may be needed in order
for religious property owners to carry out their re-
ligious and charitable programs. Like most such or-
dinances, Seattle’s Preservation Ordinance provides a
process for evaluating, on a case-by-case basis, pro-
posals for changes to significant features of a des-
ignated landmark after the property owner makes a
concrete proposal in an application for a certificate
of approval. Only in the context of a concrete proposal
for altering or demolishing the landmark is there any
real ability to determine whether an exception is nec-
essary to provide effective relief to the property
owner, or whether alternative solutions may allow the
property owner to more effectively utilize its building

1 As this Court recently noted in Employment Division v.
Smith, 110 S. Ct. 1595 (1990):

The rule respondents favor would open the prospect of

constitutionally required religious exemptions from civic ob-

ligations of almost every conceivable kind.... The First

Amendment’s protection of religious liberty does not re-
Id. at 1605-06 (citations omitted).

12

without destroying designated features of the land-
mark."

Here, the Seattle ordinance provides a flexible ad-
ministrative mechanism for the review of proposed
changes to designated features of the landmark, tak-
ing into account the special financial or programmatic
needs of the property owner. Id. §§ 25.12.490-
25.12.660 (App. 59a-67a). Indeed, the designating or-
dinance for First Covenant Church itself illustrates
this level of accommodation. The ordinance specifi-
cally requires the Landmarks Board to approve all
religiously motivated alterations, i.e., for any exterior
alterations ‘‘necessitated by changes in liturgy.” (App.
83a). Thus, a wholesale exemption from preservation
regulation is unnecessary to protect the legitimate
interests of the Church.

1 For example, in Rector, Wardens, and Members of the Vestry
of St. Bartholomew’s Church v. City of New York, 914 F.2d 348
(2d Cir. 1990), petition for cert. filed, 59 U.S.L.W. 3433 (U.S.
Dec. 10, 1990) (Nos. 90-899, 90-900), the church’s free exercise
challenge was raised only after the New York City Landmarks
Commission had reviewed and disapproved specific plans by the
church to demolish its historic community house. See also Church
of St. Paul & St. Andrew v. Barwick, 67 N.Y.2d 510, 296 N.E.2d
183, 505 N.Y.S.2d 24, cert. denied, 479 U.S. 985 (1986):

The ultimate resolution of this constitutional issue—i.e.,
whether the Landmarks Law, as applied, prevents or se-
riously interferes with plaintiff's ability to carry out its
charitable purpose—will require a careful examination of
facts not yet developed pertaining to plaintiffs financial
situation and to whatever action the Commission takes with
respect to plaintiffs rebuilding program.

296 N.E.2d at 190-91 (citation omitted). This was also the ra-
tionale of the trial court in First Covenant, which concluded that
the case was not ripe for review. (App. 30a-31a.)

So

13

II. This Case Raises a First Amendment Issue of Na-
tional Significance.

A. This Decision is in Direct Conflict with Other State
and Federal Court Decisions, and Disregards Important
U.S. Supreme Court Precedents.

The Washington Supreme Court’s decision conflicts
directly with a recent decision of the Second Circuit
in Rector, Wardens, and Members of the Vestry of St.
Bartholomew’s Church v. City of New York, 914 F.2d
348 (2d Cir. 1990), petition for cert. filed, 59 U.S.L.W.
3433 (U.S. Dec. 10, 1990) (Nos. 90-899, 90-900) (‘‘St.
Bartholomew’s’’). In that case, the owner of a historic
religious building in New York City challenged the
landmarks commission’s decision denying its request
to demolish its landmarked community house in order
to construct a 47-story office tower. The court held
that the commission’s denial of the demolition permit
did not unconstitutionally impair the church’s ability
to carry out its religious mission.'? See also Society
for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449, 415
N.E.2d 922 (N.Y. App. 1980) (landmark designation
of religious organization’s meeting house did not in-
terfere with religious organization’s free exercise of
its religious activities).

The decision below, while in conflict with St. Bar-

2 The Second Circuit also held, applying this Court’s holding
in Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104
(1978), that the landmarks commission’s actions did not uncon-
stitutionally ‘‘take’’ the church’s property without just compen-
sation under the fifth amendment. The Washington Supreme
Court’s decision in First Covenant Church did not address the
church’s additional claim that landmark designation, alone, ef-
fects a ‘“‘taking’”’ of the church’s property, presumably because
Penn Central is dispositive on this issue.

14

tholomew’s, in fact poses a broader and more impor-
tant question. Here the question is whether the mere
landmark designation of a church building violates
free exercise rights, without regard to whether the
property owner has been denied any particular use
of the building, or whether the designation will result
in actual hardship or interference with religious prac-
tice. The decision in St. Bartholomew’s, by contrast,
represents a balancing of competing interests in the
context of a specific proposal to demolish a land-
mark.’ If the decision of the Washington Supreme
Court were correct, the issue in the St. Bartholomew’s
case would never be reached.

The Washington Supreme Court also failed to apply
relevant Supreme Court precedents that specifically
set forth the appropriate analytical framework for
evaluating a free exercise challenge to neutral gov-
ernment regulation. This Court has repeatedly upheld
the applicability of a variety of neutral government
regulatory programs to religious institutions. These
cases confirm that the financial and administrative
consequences of landmark designation simply do not
create a judicially cognizable burden on free exercise
rights. See, e.g., Jimmy Swaggart Ministries v. Cal-
vforma Board of Equalization, 110 S. Ct. 688, 696-
97 (1990) (the free exercise clause does not guarantee
that religious groups will be free from all financial
and administrative burdens of government); Hernan-

18 While affirming the legitimate authority of local govern-
ments to regulate historic religious properties, the St. Bartho-
lomew’s decision does not close the door on free exercise claims
by religious property owners, where a iandmarks commission
oversteps its bounds and bars an activity central to the property
owners’ expression of religious faith, or where the owner is
unable to use the building to carry out its religious mission.

15

dez v. Commissioner, 109 S. Ct. 2136, 2147-48 (1989)
(disallowance of tax deduction for religious auditing
and training services did not constitute a substantial
burden on free exercise rights); Tony & Susan Alamo
Foundation v. Secretary of Labor, 471 U.S. 290, 304-
05 (1985) (recordkeeping and “‘paperwork’’ require-
ments of Fair Labor Standards Act did not burden
the free exercise rights of individuals associated with
religious foundation).

The Washington Supreme Court disregarded this
Court’s establishment clause rulings as well. As the
Court recognized in Jimmy Swaggart, the mere ne-
cessity for interaction with the state resulting from
governmental regulation does not result in excessive
government entanglement under the first amendment.
Jimmy Swaggart, 110 S. Ct. at 697-99. See also Tony
and Susan Alamo Foundation, 471 U.S. at 305-06.
Thus, the alleged interference with the Church’s free-
dom to alter the exterior of the church structure by
requiring proposed changes to be reviewed by the
Seattle Landmarks Commission, and any present ‘‘un-
certainty” such review may engender, cannot be char-
acterized as an infringement of protected first
amendment interests.

Finaliy, this Court’s recent decision in Employment
Division v. Smith, 110 S. Ct. 1595, 1600 (1990),
firmly rejected the approach embraced by the Wash-
ington Supreme Court of requiring the City to dem-
onstrate a ‘“‘compelling’’ governmental interest in

4 Smith was decided after the Washington Supreme Court’s
original decision in First Covenant, but nearly five months prior
to the court’s decision to deny reconsideration.

16

order to regulate historic religious properties."* In
Smith, this Court held that the ‘‘compelling interest
test’”’ was not applicable to free exercise challenges
to valid and neutral laws of general applicability, stat-

ing:

To make an individual’s obligation to obey such
a law contingent upon the law’s coincidence with
his religious beliefs, except where the state’s in-
terest is ‘‘compelling’’—permitting him, by virtue
of his beliefs, ‘‘to become a law unto himself,”’—
contradicts both constitutional tradition and com-
mon sense. |

110 S. Ct. at 1603 (footnote and citation omitted).
The Washington Supreme Court, by contrast, con-
cluded that the ‘‘aesthetic and community values as-
sociated with landmark preservation’’ were “clearly
outweighed” by the infringement on the church’s free
exercise rights. (App. 17a).

The ‘“‘interference’’ and “uncertainty” resulting
from the landmark designation alleged by the Church
in no way burdens or infringes the religious practice
of any individual, but merely subjects First Covenant
as an institutional property owner to a reasonable,

‘6’ The Washington Supreme Court referred to the ‘compelling
interest” test as “‘strict scrutiny.”’ (App. 10a-11a).

‘6 In fact, the Washington Supreme Court did not even cor-
rectly apply the compelling state interest test as enunciated in
cases such as Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 214 (1972). The
question of whether the government regulation serves a com-
pelling government interest is reached only if the regulation
places a “substantial burden on the observation of a central
religious belief or practice.” Hernandez v. Commissioner, 109 S.
Ct. 2136, 2148 (1989) (emphasis added).

ee ee 3

17

neutral, government police power regulation of the
exterior of its church building. Accordingly, the in-
juries alleged by First Covenant simply do not satisfy
the standards for first amendment violations estab-
lished by this Court.

B. Landmark Designation is a Neutral Regulatory Scheme
and is Therefore Not Properly Reviewed Under the
Compelling Governmental Interest Standard.

The Seattle Landmarks Ordinance is clearly a ‘‘valid
and neutral law of general applicability’ entitled to
presumptive validity under this Court’s decision in
Employment Division v. Smith, 110 S. Ct. at 1600
(citation omitted). The question of whether compre-
hensive historic preservation ordinances place discrim-
inatory and arbitrary burdens on affected property
owners has already been decided by this Court in
Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York,
438 U.S. 104 (1978):

In contrast to discriminatory zoning, which is the
antithesis of land-use control as part of some
comprehensive plan, the New York City law em-
bodies a comprehensive plan to preserve struc-
tures of historic or aesthetic interest wherever
they might be found in the city....

Equally without merit is the related argument
that the decision to designate a structure as a
landmark “‘is inevitably arbitrary or at least sub-
jective... .”

Id. at 132 (footnote omitted).

Contrary te the Washington Supreme Court’s sug-
gestion, the fact that the Seattle Landmarks Pres-
ervation Ordinance is specifically applied to religious
buildings does not remove the presumption of validity

18

that neutral regulatory laws are otherwise accorded.
The Second Circuit specifically rejected this view in
St. Bartholomew’s, holding instead that “(t]he Land-
marks Law is a facially neutral regulation of general
applicability within the meaning of Supreme Court
decisions.” 914 F.2d at 354. The court explained:

It is true that the Landmarks Law affects many
religious buildings.... Nevertheless, we do not
understand those facts to demonstrate a lack of
neutrality or general applicability. Because of the
importance of religion, and of particular churches,
in our social and cultural history, and because
many churches are designed to be architecturally
attractive, many religious structures are likely to
fall within the neutral criteria—having ‘special
character or special historical or aesthetic interest
or value’’—set forth by the Landmarks Law. This
however, is not evidence of an intent to discrim-
inate against, or impinge on, religious belief in
the designation of landmark sites.

Id. (citation omitted). Because the Seattle Landmarks
Preservation Ordinance is a neutral government reg-
ulation of general applicability, it should be deemed
presumptively valid against the free exercise chal-
lenge raised by the First Covenant Church.

CONCLUSION

The danger of the Washington Supreme Court’s
decision lies in its potential to sanction wholesale ex-
emptions for religious properties from landmark or-
dinances, without any individualized inquiry into the
extent to which the regulations impose genuine hard-
ship or restraints on religious practice. Such exemp-
tions are in no way necessary to protect the legitimate

19

interests of religious property owners. To the con-
trary, such exemptions would threaten the authority
of local governments to implement land use regulation
and, indeed, a number of neutral regulatory programs
that may require religious organizations to interact
with secular authorities. Accordingly, for the fore-
going reasons, the National Trust respectfully re-
quests that the petition for a writ of certiorari be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip A. DOHENY
General Counsel
ANDREA C. FERSTER
Assistant General Counsel
(Counsel of Record)
ELIZABETH S. MERRITT
Assistant General Counsel
National Trust for Historic
Preservation in the United States
1785 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 673-4035

Counsel for the National Trust for
Historic Preservation in the
United States

February 8, 1991

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0999%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
