# Opposition Brief — Larson v. Minnesota

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0971%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 801

## Text

. FILED
: © a a a.
No. 90-168 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, yp
PEOER ISIS, Se ea A 3
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990
+

BRUCE PHILLIP LARSON,
Petitioner,

Vs.

STATE OF MINNESOTA,
Respondent.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Minnesota

~>

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
—}

Husert H. Humpurey, III
Attorney General
State of Minnesota

Pau. R. KemMPAINEN
Counsel of Record
Assistant Attorney General
Criminal Division

200 Ford Building

117 University Avenue
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155
Telephone: (612) 296-7573

Counsel for Respondent
ee

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Confrontation Clause allows admis-
sion of the out-of-court statements of a nontestifying five
year old victim, unexpectedly declared competent on the
eve of trial, where the statements were otherwise admis-
sible under the residual exception to the hearsay rule and
the victim was equally available as a witness to the
defense had it chosen to call her for cross-examination?

2. Whether the Minnesota Supreme Court’s pro-
spective rule, requiring the State to call an available child
witness whose hearsay statements are being admitted if
expressly requested to do so by the defense, comports
with the Confrontation Clause?

I.

II.

Ill.

IV.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT COR-
RECTLY APPLIED ESTABLISHED CONFRON-
TATION CLAUSE PRINCIPLES TO THE
PARTICULAR FACTS OF THIS CASE.........

THE FACTUAL SITUATION PRESENTED BY
THIS CASE IS NARROW, IF NOT UNIQUE,
AND IS UNLIKELY TO RECUR ON ANY TYPE
OF Ripe Me is hs eceeedwcwnnd Cakynn sa.

THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT’S PRO-

SPECTIVE RULE, REQUIRING THE STATE TO >

CALL AN AVAILABLE WITNESS WHOSE
HEARSAY STATEMENTS ARE BEING ADMIT-
TED WHEN REQUESTED BY THE DEFENSE
TO DO SO, IS A STATE RULE WHICH ADDS
TO DEFENDANTS’ RIGHTS AND DOES NOT
DIMINISH THE CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT OF
CONFRONTATION IN THE LEAST...........

THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT’S FAC-
TUAL FINDING OF SUFFICIENT CIRCUM-
STANTIAL GUARANTEES OF TRUST-
WORTHINESS IS IN ACCORD WITH THE
RELIABILITY STANDARDS OF IDAHO V.

11

13

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CasES
Bourjaily v. United States, 483 U.S. 171 (1987)......... 9
Coy v. Iowa, 487 U.S. 1012 (1988).................. 4,12
Idaho v. Wright, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 3139 (1990)
ee ven b eae eee ae 7, 9, 15, 16
Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530 (1986) ................. 8, 14
Maryland v. Craig, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 3157
ee e's ha bbw eu aut 12
Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980)......... 6, 7, 8, 9, 16
Reardon v. Manson, 806 F.2d 39 (2d Cir. 1986) cert.
sadn é eo tweese 8

State v. Larson, 453 N.W.2d 42 (Minn. 1990) 1, 5, 10, 13

State v. Larson, 447 N.W.2d 593 (Minn. Ct. App.
SAV i ew hG eee eh nb aee cM beeg hss viereredeees r

Tennessee v. Street, 471 U.S. 409 (1985)............. 8, 14
United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. 387 (1986)... .6, 8, 9, 10, 14
United States v. Massa, 740 F.2d 629 (8th Cir. 1984)

re Ce cst asnckcnewneee 8, 14
STATUTES
i cca senseesesecews cues 15
r,s ecceteeetwecseceund 15
ee er 4
Minn. Stat. § 609.343, subd. 1(g) (1986) .............. 2
RULE

SN Gh TN BUD cece cece ccicevesccucdsncees 6

No. 90-168

sa

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990

y%
vv

BRUCE PHILLIP LARSON,

Petitioner,
vs.

STATE OF MINNESOTA,
Respondent.

,™
_—

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Minnesota

i...
vv

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ee
vv

Respondent respectfully requests that this Court
deny the petition for writ of certiorari, seeking review of
the Minnesota Supreme Court’s opinion in this case.

-
as

THE OPINION BELOW

Petitioner seeks a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment and opinion of the Supreme Court of Minne-
sota in State v. Larson, 453 N.W.2d 42 (Minn. 1990). This
opinion reversed the decision of the Minnesota Court of

Appeals in State v. Larson, 447 N.W.2d 593 (Minn. Ct.
App. 1989).

,%
_

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 3, 1988, petitioner was found guilty by
a Minnesota district court jury of one count of criminal
sexual conduct in the second degree in violation of Minn.
Stat. § 609.343, subd. 1(g) (1986). Investigation of the case
had begun on May 1, 1987, when B., a girl then almost
four years old, reported sexual contact by her father to a
physician’s assistant during a medical examination at a
family practice clinic. B. had previously complained of
vaginal soreness and burning urination and was taken to
the clinic for an exam by her mother (T. 172).1

The physician’s assistant conducting the exam
observed redness and swelling around the vaginal open-
ing (T. 173). The examiner, suspecting abuse, asked B.
who had touched her. In response, B. said that “Daddy”
had touched her with “his bone” that “came out of his
pants.” B. told the examiner that it had hurt and she had
asked him to stop.

Subsequent investigation, which included out-of-
court statements by B. to medical personnel, investigators
and her mother, led to a complaint being filed on Decem-
ber 15, 1987, charging petitioner with criminal sexual
conduct against B.

1 “T.” refers to the trial transcript.

ae TE

Because of the prosecutor’s good faith belief that B.
was incompetent to testify, the State’s professed intention
from the beginning was to rely solely on the out-of-court
statements of B. rather than calling her personally as a
witness at trial (e.g. Ist O.H. 3; 2d O.H. 4; T. 13-14, 154).?
B. was only three or four years old at the time of the
abuse, and had only recently turned five years old by the
trial. Therefore, the prosecutor had serious concerns
about her ability to remember and relate facts concerning
the incident (T. 33). These concerns were bolstered by the
opinion of a psychotherapist. As the prosecutor
announced at the first pretrial omnibus hearing:

I should advise the court at this time that it
is not the state’s intention to call the victim in
this case as set forth in my affidavit due to the
fact that it is my opinion after speaking with the
victim and the opinion of the psychotherapist,
as I understood that opinion, that the victim is
not presently competent to testify as to the facts
and circumstances surrounding the claimed
criminal act.

(ist O.H. 3).

Accordingly, at the June 15, 1988 omnibus hearing,
petitioner moved to suppress the out-of-court statements
made by B., on the ground that his constitutional right to
confrontation would be denied. The parties

2 “1st O.H.” refers to the transcript of the first omnibus
hearing held on June 15, 1988.

“2d O.H.” refers to the transcript of the ~econvened
omnibus hearing held on August 19, 1988.

assumed for purposes of the hearing that B. was incom-
petent. The trial court ruled that the out-of-court state-
ments were reliable, corroborated, and admissible under
Minn. Stat. § 595.02, subd. 3.3

At the August 18, 1988 reconvened omnibus hearing,
petitioner renewed his motion to suppress B.’s out-of-
court statements on constitutional grounds, based on this
Court’s then recent decision in Coy v. Iowa, 487 U.S. 1012
(1988). The trial court again denied petitioner’s motion to
suppress B.’s out-of-court statements, finding that Coy
did not apply.

This remained the state of the evidentiary questions
until August 30, 1988, the first day of trial, when peti-
tioner informed the trial court that he intended to call B.
as a witness (T. 14-16). Therefore, the trial court arranged
a competency hearing in chambers before the trial would
commence (T. 15). The trial court explained that “it is
understood that neither party — if the Court finds [B.] is
competent . . . has to call her if they don’t wish to do so”
(T. 16).

B. was produced by the State for the competency
hearing (T. 25). Despite the concerns of the State as to her
ability as a witness (T. 15, 33, 38), B. was determined to be
competent by the trial court (T. 45). However, in making
its competency ruling, the trial court recognized that B.’s
ability to remember was very limited (T. 44-45). It said:

3 The text of Minn. Stat. § 595.02, subd. 3 is set forth in the
petition at pages 4-6.

The Court recognizes that on the stand she
may say nothing more than she doesn’t remem-
ber, but that doesn’t make her incompetent as a
witness.

(T. 45).

In any event, neither the State nor petitioner called B.
as a witness during the course of the four day trial. The
State did not call her in accord with its professed concern
whether B. had the ability to present any relevant evi-
dence (T. 154). Instead, the State introduced B.’s out-of-
court statements.

The defense failed to call B. for reasons not apparent
in the record. However, petitioner did call twelve other
witnesses, including defendant himself (T. 459). As part
‘of his defense, petitioner called an expert witness who
questioned the investigative procedures used by the
State’s witnesses (T. 528-579).

At the end of the trial the jury found petitioner guilty
of the amended charge of criminal sexual conduct in the
second degree (T. 664). On direct appeal the Minnesota
Court of Appeals remanded the case, concluding that
admission of B.’s out-of-court statements was prejudicial
error if she had been properly ruled competent, but that
the competency ruling therefore had to be reexamined in
that light. State v. Larson, 447 N.W.2d 593, 598-599 (Minn.
Ct. App. 1989). However, on further review by the Minne-
sota Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals was reversed
and petitioner’s conviction affirmed. State v. Larson, 453
N.W.2d 42 (Minn. 1990).

>

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I. INTRODUCTION

The writ should be denied in this case because there
exist no “special and important reasons” for the exercise
of this Court’s discretionary power of review. U.S. Sup.
Ct. Rule 10.1. The Supreme Court of Minnesota was
clearly correct in holding that, under the particular facts
of this case, petitioner’s right of confrontation simply was
not violated by admitting the extrajudicial statements of
an available but nontestifying child witness where peti-
tioner himself was free to call and cross-examine the
child, but declined to do so.

In reaching its decision, the Minnesota Supreme
Court correctly applied the basic principles relating to
“unavailability” which have already been established in
Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) and United States v.
Inadi, 475 U.S. 387 (1986). Accordingly, there is no need to
revisit the subject area. Furthermore, the unique factual
situation presented by this case, where a young child
with limited ability to remember was unexpectedly (and
just barely) found competent on the eve of trial, is
unlikely to recur on any sort of regular basis. Therefore,
the petition herein should be denied.

Il. THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT COR-
RECTLY APPLIED ESTABLISHED CONFRONTA-
TION CLAUSE PRINCIPLES TO THE
PARTICULAR FACTS OF THIS CASE.

Petitioner contends that this case presents an oppor-
tunity to address the allegedly unsettled question of

’

when “unavailability” is required by the Confrontation

Clause before admitting extrajudicial statements in a
criminal trial; a question which petitioner argues was left
open by Idaho v. Wright, __. U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 3139
(1990). Petition at 15-20. However, there is nothing unset-
tled about that question at all. The basic principles relat-
ing to the Confrontation Clause’s “unavailability”
requirement are already well established. Furthermore,
the Minnesota Supreme Court correctly applied those
principles to the unique facts of this child sexual abuse
case.

In Ohio v. Roberts, 445 U.S. 56 (1980) this Court drew
upon its previous Confrontation Clause jurisprudence to
generally establish what has come to be known as the
“unavailability” requirement, but which can be more

accurately defined as a rule of “necessity.” This Court
held that:

First, in conformance with the Framers’ prefer-
ence for face-to-face accusation, the Sixth
Amendment establishes a rule of necessity. In the

- usual case (including cases where prior cross-
examination has occurred), the prosecution
must either produce, or demonstrate the
unavailability of, the declarant whose statement it
wishes to use against the defendant.

Id. at 65 (emphasis added).

Thus it is already settled that the State may meet the
necessity requirement by either producing the witness or
demonstrating her unavailability. In fact, Roberts itself
specifically noted that a “demonstration of unavailability
... is not always required.”; especially in cases where the
utility of trial confrontation would be minimal. Roberts at
65, n.7. In this case, B. was produced at trial and equally

available to both sides. The fact that she was not called as
a witness by the defense is an implicit admission that the
utility of confronting her at trial was too remote to invcke
constitutional concern over her “availability.”

Likewise, to respondent’s knowledge the require-
ment for production of a witness has never been inter-
preted, at least since Roberts, to require that the witness
actually be called to the stand, so long as the witness is
available to the defense for cross-examination if it so
chooses. It is the opportunity for cross-examination
which the Confrontation Clause requires, not that cross-
examination actually occur. See Roberts at 70; and Lee v.
Illinois, 476 U.S. 530, 549 n.3 (1986) (Blackmun, J., joined
by three other Justices, dissenting on other grounds]. See
also Tennessee v. Street, 471 U.S. 409, 416 (1985) [“It was
appropriate that, instead of forcing the State to call a
witness who could offer no relevant testimony on the
immediate issue . . . , the trial judge left to respondent the
choice whether to call (the declarant)”].4

Nothing in United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. 387 (1986),
is contrary to these basic principles. Inadi simply recog-
nized that the “unavailability” language of Ohio v.
Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65 (1980) was not intended “as an
abstract answer to questions not presented in that case,

4 At least two of the federal circuits have, since Roberts
found that the government’s burden is met by simply obtain-
ing an available hearsay declarant’s presence at trial or making
the declarant available to the defense, without the need for
actually calling the witness to testify. United States v. Massa, 740
F.2d 629, 640 n.6 (8th Cir. 1984) cert. denied 471 U.S. 1115; and
Reardon v. Manson, 806 F.2d 39, 42-43 (2d Cir. 1986) cert. denied
481 U.S. 1020.

9

but rather as a resolution of the issue the Court said it
was examining...” Inadi at 392-393. See also, Bourjaily v.
United States, 483 U.S. 171 (1987) (The two pronged
unavailability and reliability approach of Roberts was set
forth “as a general matter only”). Thus, far from being in
conflict, the basic principles established in both Roberts
and Inadi are in agreement regarding the admission of
out-of-court statements under the Confrontation Clause.

This agreement was expressly recognized in Idaho v.
Wright, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 3139 (1990), when this
Court said:

In Ohio v. Roberts, we set forth “a general
approach” for determining when incriminating
statements admissible under an exception to the
hearsay rule also meet the requirements of the
Confrontation Clause.

We have applied the general approach artic-
ulated in Roberts to subsequent cases raising
Confrontation Clause and hearsay issues. In
United States v. Inadi, supra, we held that the
general requirement of unavailability did not
apply to incriminating out-of-court statements
made by a nontestifying co-conspirator and that
therefore the Confrontation Clause did not pro-
hibit the admission of such statements, even
though the government had not shown that the
declarant was unavailable to testify at trial. 475
U.S. at 394-400.

Id. at __, 110 S.Ct. at 3146.

Inadi did nothing more than recognize that there
were going to be cases, such as those involving state-
ments by co-conspirators, where a declarant of otherwise
admissible hearsay would technically be “available,” but

10

would not be called to the witness stand by either side for
a variety of reasons. Inadi at 396-398. This Court wisely
reasoned that application of a mechanical unavailability
rule in such circumstances is not required by the Con-
frontation Clause, holding that:

Any marginal protection to the defendant
by forcing the government to call as witnesses
those co-conspirator declarants who are avail-
able, willing to testify, hostile to the defense,
and yet not already subpoenaed by the prosecu-
tion, when the defendant himself can call and
cross-examine such declarants, cannot support
an unavailability rule.

Inadi at 399-400.

In the case at hand, the Minnesota Supreme Court
followed the same reasoning as Inadi. Here, B. was actu-
ally “produced” by the State and “available” for cross-
examination. However, because of her tender age and
marginal ability to remember and relate distasteful events
that occurred over a year before trial, the State decided,
openly and in good faith, not to call her to the witness
stand.

None of this denied petitioner his right of confronta-
tion. B. had been declared competent (albeit unexpectedly
so) by the trial court. Therefore, petitioner was free to call
her to the stand himse!f to confront her about the extra-
judicial statements she had made against him. But, as the
Minnesota Supreme Court correctly noted, petitioner did
not do so because it was “not at all clear that it was in the
interests of the defendant that the declarant be called by
either side.” Larson, 453 N.W.2d at 45-46. Clearly, the
Minnesota Supreme Court correctly found that petitioner

11

had been afforded his right of confrontation, but simply
chose not to exercise it.

There is no unsettled question of unavailability
raised in this case which is worthy of further review.

As for petitioner’s claim that Minnesota’s decision
will somehow open the floodgates to trials being held
without any victim testimony (Petition at 25-27), this is a
false specter indeed. In this country the availability of
circumstantial as well as direct evidence has meant that
all manner of criminal trials have for years been con-
ducted without the direct testimony of the victims them-
selves. Homicide cases are the most obvious example; but
they also include burglaries of unoccupied premises,
“blind-side” assaults, and other similar cases. In each
instance the question is whether the evidence actually
relied upon by the prosecutor is constitutionally admissi-
ble; not whether the prosecutor could have presented
something better. In any event, given the heavy burden of
proof placed upon prosecutors, it can be reliably said that
the vast majority of prosecutors who have direct victim
testimony available will continue to make every attempt
to use it at trial.

Ill. THE FACTUAL SITUATION PRESENTED BY
THIS CASE IS NARROW, IF NOT UNIQUE, AND
IS UNLIKELY TO RECUR ON ANY TYPE OF
REGULAR BASIS.

Another reason for denying certiorari in the instant
case is that it does not pose an important federal question
because of the very narrow and unusual set of facts
presented herein. The usual situation in cases of child

12

sexual abuse finds the prosecution offering the testimony
of the victim as the main pillar of its case. See, e.g.,
Maryland v. Craig, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 3157 (1990); and
Coy v. Iowa, 487 U.S. 1012 (1988). Likewise, it is usually
the defense which attempts to prevent such evidence by
arguing that the witness is incompetent.

Here, however, the roles were reversed in a situation
that is not likely to recur often, if at all. The prosecution,
supported by an expert’s opinion, realized from the very
beginning that B. was the type of very young girl who
would not be able to remember or relate at trial the abuse
which she had earlier reported happened to her over a
year before the trial (Ist O.H. 3). The prosecution, the
defense, and the trial court all assumed her incompetent
to testify and thus unavailable prior to trial. Conse-
quently, there was no thought prior to trial of holding a
competency hearing. .

But petitioner, on the first day of trial, announced his
intention to possibly call B. as a witness (an intention that
was not, in the event, fulfilled), thereby causing the trial
court to hold a competency hearing. At the end of that
hearing B. was unexpectedly found competent, although
in finding her so the trial court recognized the strong
possibility that B. may not be able to remember anything
(T. 45); and expressly told counsel that neither party had
to call her (T. 16).

Given these circumstances it is hardly surprising that
the prosecution continued with its planned strategy of
not calling-B. and instead relying upon other evidence,
including B.’s otherwise admissible hearsay statements,
to prove its case. What is surprising, however, is the fact

13

that petitioner did not call B. himself, even though she
had been “produced” by the State and was made avail-
able for cross-examination by the trial court’s competency
ruling.

Why petitioner did not call B. is not apparent from
the record. What is apparent, however, is that petitioner’s
failure to call a witness whom the State had produced,
and who had been found competent (albeit barely so) at
petitioner’s own request, is a very narrow, if not unique,
set of facts. Because it is highly unlikely to recur on any
sort of regular basis, the question is not an important one
for this Court to review.

IV. THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT’S PRO-
SPECTIVE RULE, REQUIRING THE STATE TO
CALL AN AVAILABLE WITNESS WHOSE HEAR-
SAY STATEMENTS ARE BEING ADMITTED
WHEN REQUESTED BY THE DEFENSE TO DO
SO, IS A STATE RULE WHICH ADDS TO DEFEN-
DANTS’ RIGHTS AND DOES NOT DIMINISH
THE CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT OF CONFRON-
TATION IN THE LEAST.

On pages 21-25 of his petition, petitioner claims that
the prospective state rule adopted by the Minnesota
Supreme Court is a question for this Court to review.
However, the rule effectively grants defendants more
than what the constitutional rights to compulsory process
and confrontation require. Clearly, this is not a federal
question, much less an important one.

Minnesota’s rule, which requires the State to call
available child hearsay declarants when expressly
requested by the defense to do so, Larson, 453 N.W.2d at

14

47, is obviously based upon the Minnesota Supreme
Court’s own supervisory power over evidentiary and
procedural questions within Minnesota’s criminal justice
system.

In fashioning its rule the Minnesota Supreme Court
cited no federal authority. it simply said, by way of
justification, that:

We recognize, however, that a defendant
who wants to cross-examine an available child
witness whose extrajudicial statements are
being used by the state should not be compelled
to call the child as a witness if the defendant
would prefer that the state call the witness.

Id. at 47. This is the sort of reasoning used by state
appellate courts in exercising their supervisory authority.
It is certainly not based upon any federal constitutional
imperative.

Nor does the rule violate any federal constitutional
provision. The Confrontation Clause does not absolve
defendants from procuring witnesses they feel are impor-
tant to their defense. As explained in Part I, supra, it has
become clearly established that the right to confrontation
is satisfied if a defendant has the opportunity to call the
declarant of hearsay as a witness for cross-examination.
Inadi, 475 U.S. at 397-399; Tennessee v. Street, 471 U.S. at
416; Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. at 549 n.3 (Blackmun, J.,
dissenting on other grounds); Reardon v. Manson, 806 F.2d
at 42; and United States v. Massa, 740 F.2d at 640 n.6.
Minnesota’s rule simply adds the option of allowing the
défense to force the State to call such witnesses, without
requiring the defense to put on a case at all.

a eemnnniaaniaaaiaes!

15

Likewise, there is no merit to petitioner’s contention
that Minnesota’s prospective rule somehow shifts the
burden of proof to defendants. The State must still prove
its case beyond a reasonable doubt, and if it cannot do so
on its case-in-chief then there will be a dismissal and the
defense need do nothing. If anything, the new rule adds
to the State’s burden rather than defendant's, by requir-
ing it to call hearsay declarant witnesses even in those
rare cases where the State feels that it can prove is case-
in-chief without them.

Because Minnesota’s prospective rule is a local one
that adds to defendants’ rights rather than diminishes
them, it is not an important federal question.

V. THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT’S FACTUAL
FINDING OF SUFFICIENT CIRCUMSTANTIAL
GUARANTEES OF TRUSTWORTHINESS IS IN
ACCORD WITH THE RELIABILITY STANDARDS
OF IDAHO V. WRIGHT.

In this case the Minnesota Supreme Court admitted
B.’s hearsay statements under two exceptions to the hear-
say rule. In one instance B.’s statements made for the
purpose of medical diagnosis or treatment were found
admissible under Minnesota’s medical treatment excep-
tion, Minn. R. Evid. 803(4), see 453 N.W.2d at 47; which is
one of the “firmly rooted” hearsay exceptions. Idaho v.
Wright, __ U.S. at __, 110 S.Ct. at 3149.

In the case of B.’s other statements, they were admit-
ted under the residual exception applicable even though
the declarant is available as a witness, Minn. R. Evid.

16

803(24). In doing so the Minnesota Supreme Court specif-
ically addressed the factual issues involved and found
that: “We are satisfied that the out-of-court statements by
the victim in this case had sufficient circumstantial guar-
antees of trustworthiness to justify their admission under
this rule.” 453 N.W.2d at 47.

This factual finding is fully in accord with the “suffi-
cient indicia of reliability” test established by Roberts and
applied in Idaho v. Wright. Indeed, Wright itself reaffirms
that the constitutional requirement of reliability is to be
drawn from the “totality of circumstances” surrounding
the making of the hearsay declaration. Id. 110 S.Ct. at
3149.

Because there is nothing in the opinion of the Minne-
sota Supreme Court which indicates that it relied for
trustworthiness upon circumstances other than those sur-
rounding the making of B.’s out-of-court statements,
there is no basis for either review or remand by this
Court. Absent a showing of clear error, such factual
determinations by state courts of competent jurisdiction
should remain undisturbed.

A.
v-

17

CONCLUSION

For all the above reasons, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Husert H. Humpnrey, III
Attorney General
State of Minnesota

Paut R. KEMPAINEN
Counsel of Record
Assistant Attorney General
Criminal Division

200 Ford Building

117 University Avenue

St. Paul, Minnesota 55155
Telephone: (612) 796-7573

Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0971%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
