# Opposition Brief — Denton v. Hernandez

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0906%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 801

## Text

No. 88-2034
In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

GEORGE F. DENTON, et al., Petitioners,
Vv.

MIKE HERNANDEZ, Respondent

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT
RE PETITION FOR CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RICHARD W. NICHOLS, ESQ
McDONOUGH, HOLLAND & ALLEN
A Professional Corporation

555 Capitol Mall, Suite 950
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-3900

Attorney for Respondent

RECEIVED

2020
isa
Ive

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
BR Ae PRRs REI sihetciscensiiatacignncssndaresaaeoasgdemieaaceedoii ae i
SIE Ee TEI wessveth drsndionincssidebinceplahalaciemmaaiclchinaomeicea comedic 2
Pa IIE istithiccisatnsssniiniessiaissarcksicdcabanasgapiessecusniddhammigaaaedsemoi ee ae 2
PEEP ITE Se IRR aise scent cuncsceepn eldest 2
Fe eR NIE UNE sr iss nerdcanscioucupemctnaionicdhdas ieradembcaie anita ome 2
Pe AREER COE CHUN SIMONE siicic cise cesarean neater 2
PROMI DETTE sarssitdecingticctnsicinige aroaasamnucaanetaniapeh euler seapoteadbdedenecaal 5
I. The Effect of this Court's decision in Neitzke v. Williams,
PUT OMEN: ceccinatichnnsiedactobacitedtaimmree temic cea ee 5
II Inter-Circuit Conflict as to the Meaning of "Frivolous" Under
yf | Se ed sida intemal ease ipiteleteisueaieh babes thapaaeideaeonae 6
88 Factual Considerations in Determining Frivolousness Under
a || i tad juitbcsidh snslsudig jalccasebiladananis gyelsetdnoaleda a a
CONCLUSION SaaS SoC Bab molsduteeninamscnennineictnias

Cases
Andersor V Coughlir 700 F.2d 37 43 [2d Cir 1982 é
Neitzke v. Williams, No. 87-1882, 490 US 109 S¢
104 L.Ed.2d 338 ;
[raufler v. Thompson, 662 F.Supp. 945, 946 [N.D. Ill. 1987 p
Statutes

RICHARD W. NICHOLS, ESQ.
McDONOUGH, HOLLAND & ALLEN
A PROFESSION AL CORPORATION
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 950
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-3900
Attorneys for Respondent
MIKE HERNANDEZ
No. 88-2034

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

GEORGE F. DENTON, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
MIKE HERNANDEZ,

Respondent,

Nee eee eee ee

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT RE PETITION FOR CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Mike Hernandez, respondent in the above-captioned proceeding, by and
through counsel appointed for him by the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit, does herewith submit his brief in response to the petition of
George F. Denton, et al., for certiorari to said United States Court of Appeals. In
what may perhaps appear to be an unusual posture, Hernandez agrees with
petitioners that this proceeding is an appropriate one for the granting of

certiorari.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
appears at 861 F.2d 1421 A copy of that Opinion is appended hereto as
Attachment 1. A petition for rehearing, and suggestion of rehearing en banc,
filed by petitioners herein, was denied by that Court. A copy of that Order is
appended hereto as Attachment 2

[URISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction over the certiorari petition filed herein,
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1)
STATUTE INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. §1915(¢): “The court may request an attorney to represent any

s+ tho
Ah UAE

such person unable to employ counsel and may dismiss the case

allegation of poverty is untrue, or if satisfied that the action is frivolous or

malicious.” (Emphasis added

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioners have stated the question presented, as follows

"Whether a Federal District Court may dismiss a
complaint pursuant to 28 U.S. Code section 1915(d) if it finds
the complaint wholly fanciful even though the allegations in
the complaint do not conflict with facts of which a court may
take judicial notice

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Prior to 1986 respondent Mike Hernandez, a state prisoner, Qad filed "
r

separate civil rights complaints pursuant to 42 US.C §1983. On numerous
occasion? the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Calitornia

had granted Hernandez leave to proceed in forma pauperis, under 28 U.S.C

§1915(a), but had pronounced itself unable to “determine trom the present
record whether o* not plaintiff's claim is frivolous within the meaning of 28

U.S.C. §1915(d). The District Court had ordered Hernandez to engage

document discovery, pursuant to the Federal Ruies of Civi! Procedure, to
obtain certain requested information.

On April 17, 1986, however, while various discovery motions by
Hernandez were pending!, the United States Magistrate filed findings and
recommendations that all of those complaints be dismissed, pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §1915(d). On May 5, 1986, the District Court adopted the Magistrate's
recommendation and entered judgments of dismissal as to each of those cases.
Hernandez filed notices of appeal as to three of those five cases; in each of
those three cases, Hernandez had filed with the Court affidavits from other
prisoners, which tended to support his factual allegations.

The various complaints contained allegations that Hernandez, during
night hours while he was asleep, had been drugged and rendered comatose by
prison guards, and had then been assaulted and raped in his cell, by those
guards and/or by other guards or inmates allowed into his cell by those guards.
Because of his comatose state, Hernandez did not claim to be able, personally, to
identify any of his assailants, although affidavits from other prisoners did
purport to identify some of them. The complaints alleged that Hernandez had
sought medical attention for his injuries, and administrative relief prohibiting
the commission of further similar assaults, without success. Collectively, the
complaints alleged that such events had occurred on 28 occasions over a period
of more than two years.

The Magistrate's recommendation for dismissal, which the District Court
adopted, was based upon the following rationale contained in the

recommendation:

"The court has concluded that the present five actions
lack arguable substance in law or fact and should therefore be

1 Hernandez had sought various documents from his prison medical file, in an effort to obtain
evidence which would have tended to support his factual allegations concerning the assaults
which are the subject of this proceeding. In light of the dismissal of his actions at the district
court level, those discovery motions were never ruled upon.

3.

dismissed. Although each complaint, taken separately, is not
necessarily frivolous, a different picture emerges from a
reading of all five complaints together. Plaintiff alleges that
both guards and inmates, at different institutions, subjected
him to sexual assaults. Despite the fact that different
defendants are allegedly responsible for each assault, the

purported modus operandi is identical in every case.

Moreover, the attacks occurred only sporadically
throughout a three year period. The facts thus appear to be
‘wholly fanciful’ and justify this court's dismissal of the
actions as frivolous.”

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed the dismissals, and
remanded the cases to the District Court. Three separate opinions were
authored by the panel. The lead opinion affirmed the dismissals on certain
claims which are not the subject of the present certiorari petition’, but reversed
the dismissals on the subject claims, because those dismissals had been “based
upon credibility determinations impermissible under section 1915(d)." 861 F.2d
at 1427, slip opinion at 14466. The holding of the lead opinion was to the effect
that “[o}nly if the facts alleged are impossible in light of any judicially noticeable
fact may the district court find a complaint ‘wholly fanciful’ and hence without
arguable substance in law or fact.” 861 F.2d at 1426, slip opinion at 14465

A concurring opinion agreed that reversal was appropriate, but only
because Hernandez had not been given prior notice of the alleged deficiencies
in his complaints, and an opportunity to correct those deficiencies by
amendment, as required by Ninth Circuit case law. The concurring judge
agreed that the Magistrate had “erroneously. concluded that Hernandezs
allegations were ‘wholly fanciful’ because unlikely” (861 F.2d at 1427, slip
opinion at 14467). The concurring judge did opine that, if Hernandez did not
subsequently amend his complaints to “add allegations that will establish the
connection of each defendant to the deprivations and that will establish that

Hernandez has been the victim of unconstitutional conduct, rather than mere

~

The Court of Appeals also reversed the dismissal of Hernandez’ claims under the Eight!
Amendment, involving allegations of (a) deprivation of a blanket for an unspecified penod of
time, (b) deprivation of shoes for a month, and (c) physical and verbal abuse by pnson officials

negligence,” then a dismissal of the complaints would be appropriate, as urged
by the! dissenting judge. A lengthy dissenting opinion (861 F.2d at 1427 et seq.,
slip opinion at 14467 et seq.) set forth the view that Hernandez’ various
complaints represented nothing more than “the hallucinations of a troubled
man" (861 F.2d at 1440, slip opinion at 14495), and that no amendment could
cure that problem.

The California Attorney General, representing the appellees (petitioners
before this Court), filed a petition for rehearing and suggestion of reheaz.ig en
banc. He stated therein that the question to be considered was “how a district
court is to determine whether a complaint is wholly fanciful.” Respondent
respectfully agrees with the Attorney General's characterization of the critical
issue in this case. Unfortunately, the Court of Appeals declined the invitation
to clarify its views on the subject, as a result of which the present certiorari
petition was filed.

ARGUMENT
I The Eff f this Court’ ision i i illi _ 87-

On May 1, 1989, this Court issued its opinion in Neitzke v. Williams, No
87-1882, 490 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. ___, 104 L-Ed.2d 338. The Court held that the
fact that a pro se complaint fails to state a claim sufficient to withstand a
motion to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
does not automatically render that complaint subject to dismissal, as frivolous,
under 28 U.S.C. §1915(d).

The instant case represents the next step of the Neitzke analysis. Neitzke
establishes the proposition that Rule 12(b)(6) and Section 1915(d) “were devised
to serve distinctive goals" (104 L.Ed.2d at 347), and that while the two standards
have considerable overlap, they are not identical. Neitzke also establishes that
Section 1915(d) accords to district judges “the unusual power to pierce the veil
of the complainant's factual allegations and dismiss those claims whose factual

contentions are clearly baseless" (104 L.Ed.2d at 348). The Court has even

5-

articulated that Section 1915(d) would extend, by way of example, to “claims
describing fantastic or delusional scenarios, claims with which federal district
judges are all too familiar.” Ibid

The question to be asked, in this regard, is how or under what standards a
district judge is to conclude that a particular claim is “clearly baseless” because it
is “fantastic or delusional.” That question was at the heart of Hernandez
appeal, and a majority of the Court of Appeals panel appears to have concluded
that “lack of credibility” and “unlikelihood” are insufficient to qualify within
the “clearly baseless” standard. The lead opinion has answered the standards
question, correctly in Hernandez’ view, by concluding that a district court must
be able to take judicial notice of facts rendering the allegations of the complaint
untrue, before that court can dismiss a complaint as factualiy frivolous under
28 USC. §1915(d). The dissent obviously contests that view. In light of the
multiplicity of opinions, Hernandez is in agreement with the assertion of the
California Attorney General that the Opinion of the Court of Appeals is
confusingly drafted

fl. Inter-Circuit Conflict as to the Meaning of “Frivolous” Under §1915(d)

Petitioners urge upon this Court a definition of “frivolous,” within the
meaning of 28 U.S.C. §1915(d), as “beyond credulity.” Petitioners assert that
there is some support for this definition in a holding of the Second Circuit

(Anderson v. Coughlin, 700 F.2d 37, 43 [2d Cir. 1982]), and of a district court

within the Seventh Circuit (Traufler v. Thompson, 662 F Supp. 945, 946 [ND
Dl. 1987})

As petitioners concede, however, the majority of the circuits adhere to a
less discretionary definition of the term “frivolous,” and require that the
plaintiff be able to “prove no set of facts” (Sixth, Eighth and Eleventh Circuits)
or to “make no rational argument in law or fact” (Fifth, Seventh and Tenth
Circuits), or that there is “indisputably absent any factual basis” for the claim

(District of Columbia Circuit). See, e.g., 52 A.L.R. Fed. 679 et seq., Standards for

This Court's opinion in Neitzke, however, may be read to support the
“beyond credulity” standard of the Second Circuit. In that context, petitioners’

application for review by this Court is appropriate.

allegations as “unlikely.” A number of factors, however, are shown in the
record to support at least the possibility of another conclusion, including the
following:

1. Hernandez had moved for document discovery of various of his
prison medical records, supposedly in aid of being able to support his credibility
by showing that he had in fact sought the medical attention which he alleged’;

2. Hernandez had filed affidavits from three other prisoners which
purported to support his contentions that guards and other inmates had
entered his cell at night; and

3. The Magistrate had opined that Hernandez’ allegations, taken
separately, were not frivolous, and that it was only their identical nature in
multiple instances that rendered them frivolous.

Hernandez respectfully suggests that there is nothing inherently
incredible, or “wholly fanciful,” about the proposition that drugs exist, or that
homosexual activity occurs, or that inmate-guard relationships are less than
amicable, in prison settings. This is not a case where a prisoner is alleging that
“little green men from Mars” have taken over his mind by radio waves, and
that prison authorities are responsible therefor! Allegations of that type would
no doubt qualify for inclusion under the “fantastic or delusional scenarios”

3 if Hernandez’ claims can properly be dismissed as “fanciful,” such a result will occur (a) in
the face of the Disirict Court's inability to make such a determination on the basis of the face of
his individual pleadings along, but (b) in the face of the District Court's failure to allow him to
attempt to secure objective evidence which might tend to support those ciaims.

Ja

| trom the repetitive imbe ( allege

language of Neitzke. Bui, aside | t)
incidents, Hernandez’ claim that he was unaware
were occurring, and his claim that prison guards were
is nothing in the inherent nature of Hernandez’ allegations tha
with judically noticeable facts about the “seamier” side of pris
CONCLUSION
The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, consistent with a ma

are impermussiDle

other circuits, has held that determinations of credibility

the decision of whether an in forma pauperis complaint should be d SS :
frivolous, pursuant to 28 US.C. §1915(d This Court's recent decis
Neitzke v. Williams, supra, appears to place that neept il é
decision of the Court of Appea Sin the instant :
the reasons raised oy petitioners. Accord Mik
does not oppose the petition for writ 7) ‘ rar ‘
Attorney General on behalf of Georgs lent ‘

DATED: July 6 1989

Respect!

chard WW) Urekola

Richard W. Nichols
McDonough, Holland & Aller
\ Professional Corporat
Attorney (Appointed t

ted States ( rt ‘ \r

”

crwor
>

f

HMENT

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Mike HERNANDEZ, Nos. 86-2139,
Plainuff-Appeilant, 87-1693/1694
v. } D.C. No
GeorGE F. DENTON, et al., CV-S-83-645-LKK
Defendanis-Appellees. OPINION

Appeal from the United States District Coun
for the Eastern District of California
Lawrence K. Karlton, District Judge. Presiding

Argued and Submitted
January 12, 1988—San Francisco. California

Filed November 23, 1988

Before: Ruggero J. Aldisert.* J. Clifford Wallace. and
Mary M. Schroeder. Circuit Judges

Opinion by Judge Schroeder; Concurrence by Judge
Wallace: Concurrence and Dissent by Judge Aldisert

SUMMAR\

Civil Rights/Prisons and Jails/Courts ana Procedure

The coun of appeals affirmed in pan and reversed in pari
a district court judgment. The court held, inter alia. that the

*Honorable Ruggero J. Aldisert, Senior United States Circuit Juage for
the Third Circuit, sitting by designation

14453

14454 HERNANDEZ V. DENI

district court erred in making a credibility determinate
dismissing a prisoner's pro se complaint alleging numerous
prison rapes as “wholly fanciful.”

Appellant Mike Hernandez. a prisoner at Vacaville Medi
cal prison in California filed in forma pauperis suits agains!
prison officials at a number of prisons. Hernandez filed hve
pro se complaints alleging 42 US.C. § 1983 violations
acluding due process claims that he was placed in adminis
trative segregation without written notice of reasons. an
opportunity to present evidence. have an attorney. represent
him, and without written justification. The complaints also
alleged Eighth Amendment violations for having to sleep on
the floor without a mattress for one night and without a blan-
ket for an unspecified number of nights. that he was not
ssued shoes for a month. and that he was physically and ver-
bally abused by prison officials. The complaint also alleged
that he was drugged and homosexually raped over 28 times h
both prisoners and prison officials. The district court. on tt
magistrates recommendation. dismissed the complaints
because. when viewed together. the rape allegations were f1
olous under 28 U.S.C. § 191¥d)

{1] The district court properly dismissed the due process
claims: the Due Process Clause does not require detailed writ
ten ndatice of charges. representation by counsel. an opp
nity to present witnesses. Or a written decision justifying the
reasons for placing a prisoner in administrative segregat)
{2} However. Hernandez may be able to state an Eighth
Amendment claim based on his having been deprived of
shoes for a month and that he slept without a blanket for an
unspecified amount of time as they may indicate wanton
infliction of pain or deliberate indifference on the part o!
prison officials. Accordingly. Hernandez should be allow ed io
amend his complaint to claim this deprivation. [3] But. Her-
nandez allegation that he slept without a mattress for only
one night is insufficient to state an Eighth Amendment claim
and no amendment can alter that deficiency. [4] However

HRN 4NDEZ V. DENTON 14455

Hernandez’ rape claims by prison guards and prisoners. if
construed liberally, may indicate deliberate indifference on
the part of prison officials. [5] Moreover, prison beating
guards may involve a deprivation ofa liberty inierest in viola
tion of due process and insufficient protection of a prisoner
resulting in harm inflicted by other inmates may also violate
a prisoner's due process rights. [6] A district court should not
dismiss On its Own motion an in forma pauperis complaint
unless it has no arguable substance in law or fact, including
the recitation of bare legal conclusions without supporting
facts, the claims are redundant or barred by res judicata, the
defense 1s obvious and complete based on the pleadings and
court records, or the claims are “wholly fanciful.” [7] In this
case, the district court erred in dismissing the claims as
wholly fanciful based on an exercise of credibility determin.
tion because the alleged facts are not impossible in light
any judicially noticeable fact

Judge Wallace. concurring. agreed that Hernandez sh
be allowed to amend his complaints. if he can. to add alleg
tions that would establish the connection of each defendar

to the deprivations that he claims and that he has been tt

victim of unconstitutional conduct rather than mere neg
gence. However. should Hernandez fail 10 remedy the prot
lems in his complaint. the court should dismiss his claims a

}
Irivolous

Judge Aldisert concurred with the majority regarding tt
dismissal of the due process and the Eighth Amendment mat
tress claims. However. he dissented from the Eight

Amend
ment rape and related claims. Judge Aldisen opined that th:
majority was giving Hernandez a second notice that his com
plaints were to be dismissed and could be amended a second
lume to make factual averments to permit him to mount the

hurdle of frivolity

14456 HERNANDEZ V. DENTON

COUNSEL

Richard W. Nichols. McDonough. Holland & Allen. Sacra-
mento, California, for the plaintiff-appellant

Patricia C. Esgro, Deputy Attorney General. State of Califor-
nia, Sacramento, California. for the defendants-appellees

OPINION
SCHROEDER. Circuit Judge

Appellant is a prisoner proceeding in forma pauperis in
Suits against prison officials at a number of prisons. He
appeals the district court’s dismissal of three complaints as
“frivolous” under 28 U.S.C. § 191 S(d)

Appellant filed five pro se complaints alleging 42 U.S.C
§ 1983 violations. The three complaints at issue in this appea
made the following allegations

(1) Due process claims: Appellant alleges that he was placed
in administrative segregation without written notice of the
reasons. afm Opportunity to present evidence. an opportunity
to be represented by counsel or written justification. In addi-
tion. appellant alleges that he was punished before receiving
procedural due process in connection with other alleged rule
violations

(2) Eighth amendment claims other than rape claims
Appellant alleges that he had to sleep without a mattress for
one night and without a blanket for an unspecified period of
time. In addition, he alleges that he was not issued shoes for
a month. Finally, appellant alleges physical and verbal abuse
by prison officials;

mosexua rape Over l

prison officia’s at different institutions

The district court referred all cases to a magistrat
deiendants had been served and had answered with respe
some but not all of the claims. The Magistrate reviewed a
claims and recommended that the district court dismiss then
because the complaints, viewed together, indicated that
appellant's rape allegations were frivolous. The magistrate
did not discuss the other claims. The district count fol!
the magistrate’s recommendation and dismissed pursuant 1
section 1915(d), which provides in pertinent pan as f

The court may dismiss [a case proceeding in f
pauperis] if the allegat nN Of poverty 1s untr
Salished that the action 1s ft
SB OhT oe By j
V ha - i that whe r ~ at
nti failure to Sta 3 nT msn me |
ce sexplainingt the plaintiff the deficie es ar
1} pla nif amend A ( nm &O9 F 3 34 +
Yin Cir. 198 arim-Pana} l 4nge /
\ Q ¢ 98. ship op 634 9th Cir. Fe é
Because pro se litigants are unskilled in the law. th
prone to pleading errors. Without guidance. amendment
these litigants are made without an understanding of the

ciencies and are usualiy insufficient to cure deficient p

ings. Thus, when instructing pro se litigants to amer
surts should briefly explain the complaints’ def

the pro se plaintiffs will be better equipped to amer

rectly. Nol/, 809 F.2d at 1448. However. if it “is abs

clear that the deficiencies of the complaint could not be

by amendment,” the district court may dismiss. Fran

Murphy, 745 F.2d 1221, 1228 n.9 (9th Cir. 1984)(quoting

14458 HERNANDEZ V. DENTON

Broughton Cutter Laboratories, 622 F.2d 458. 460 (9th Cir
1980)).

{1] The procedural due process claims before the district
court do not appear sufficient on the face of the complaints
We have ruled that, because prison safety 1s paramount. the
procedural due process rights of prisoners are adequately pro-
tected by post-segregation decisions that administrative seg-
regation is justified. Touissant v. McCarthy, 801 F.2d 1080.
1100 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied. 107 S. Ct. 2462 (1987)
“(T]he due process clause does not require detailed written
notice of charges, representation by counsel or coun-
sel-substitute. an opportunity to present witnesses, or a writ-
ten decision describing the reasons for placing the prisoner in
administrative segregation.” Jd at 1100-0!. In this case.
appellant alleges that he was placed in administrative segrega-
tion without written notice. an opportunity to present evi-
dence. an opportunity to be represented by counsel or written
justification: appellant did receive post-depris ation hearings
Appellant's claims fall squarely within 7owssants holding
Therefore. he does not state a claim for siolation of due pro-
cess and no amendment could cure this deficiency. These
claims should be dismissed

The district court did not address the eighth amendment
claims when it dismissed appellant's complaint. The eighth
amendment prescribes punishments incompatible with
“evolving standards of decency” such as those “so totally
without penological justification that [they] result{] in the
gratuitous infliction of suffering.” Hoptowity Ray. 682 F.2d
1237, 1246 (9th Cir. 1982\quoting Gregg » Georgia 428
U.S. 153. 173 (1976)). Appellant alleges that he had to sleep
without a mattress for one night and without a blanket for an
unspecified pcriod of time, that he was not issued shoes fora
month, and that he was physically and verbally abused by
prison officials. “Prison officials have a duty to take reason-
able steps to protect inmates from physical abuse.” Hopiow it,
682 F.2d at 1250. Physical and verbal! abuse by officiais indi-

Hernandez. DENTON 144589

cates a deliberate indifierence by prison officials to the safety
needs of prisoners, therefore, appellant has stated an eighth
amendment claim based on physical and verbal .abuse
because such abuse is “totally without penological
justification.” Jd at 1237.

[2] In addition, appellant may be able to state an eighth
amendment claim based upon his allegation of deprivation of
shoes for a month. Appellant has not alleged additional facts
suggesting deliberate indifference or gratuitous infliction of
suffering. He may. however, be able to state an eighth amend-
ment claim with respect to the shoes if he amends his com-
plaint. He should be permitted an opportunity to amend

Appellant alleges that he slept without-a blanket for an
unspecified amount of time in a room across from broken
windows. Appellant similarly has alleged no additional! facts
to indicate wanton infliction of pain or deliberate indiffer-
ence. but appellant should similarly be allowed to amend this
claim of deprivation

[3] Appellant's allegation that he slept without a mattress
for only one night 1s insufficient to state an eighth amendmen:
violation and no amendment can alter that insufficiency We
affirm the district court’s dismissal of his claim for one night's
deprivation of a mattress

The district court’s dismissal of appellant's homosexua
rape claims as “frivolous” under 28 U.S.C. § 191 S(d) deserves
more eatensive discussion. For the purposes of determining
whether a complaint is “frivolous.” the coum presumes tha:
the plainuff s allegations are true. Franklin, 748 F.2d at 122s
In addition. courts must construe allegations in pro se com-
plaints hberall,. Shapley v Nevada Bd of State Prisor
Comm'rs, 766 F.2d 404, 408 (9th Cir. 1985) :

[4] If appellant's rape claims are not “fnvolous.” thes may
state claims for violation of both the eighth amendment and

14460 Herwnanpez v. Dentos

the fourteenth amendment. The eighth amendment dictates
‘that prison officials may not be deliberately indifferent to the
safety needs of inmates because such indifference may resul!
in the unnecessary infliction of pain. Hoptowi! 682 F.2d at
1250. Appellant's allegations of rape by prison guards, if con-
strued liberally, indicate deliberate indifference. His allega-
tions that the guards allowed his rape by other prisoners
construed liberally, also indicate deliberate indifference

[5] In addition, prisoner beatings by guards involving
excessive force amounting to brutality are deprivations ofa
liberty interest in violation of due process WcRarie v Sh
moda. 795 F.2d 780, 785 (9th Cir. 1986). Appellant's allega-
tions that he was raped by prison guards are no less troubling
than the claims of beatings in McRorie. Therefore. they state
a claim for violation of appellant's substantive due process
rights

Finally. insufficient protection of a prisoner resulting 1
harm inflicted by other inmates may also + iolate the prisor
er's due process rights. Youngberg v Romer 4s7 US 30°
315-16 (1982) mght to personal security protected by sut
stantive due process and not extinguished by imprisonment
Escamilla. City of Sania Ana. 796 F.2d 266. 269-70 (9th Cir
1986\pohce have a duty to protect individuals if there 1s a
“custodial relationship”). See Orpiano \ Jonnson. 6. 2 F.2d
1096. 1101 (4th Cir. 1980)\af prison officials know of per a-
sive risk of harm to prisoner and fail to protect that prisoner
prisoner has a viable section 1983 claim for s1olation of his
constitutional rights). cert. denied. 480 U.S 929 (1981). In
this case. appellant alleges that prison guards allowed other
inmates to enter his cell and rape him. This allegation if not
frivolous. appears to state a claim for violation of appellants
substantive due process righis

The district court, however, deemed the claims frivolous
Disposition of the rape claims therefore requires some under-
standing of what is meant by “frivolous.” This court ha

Herenanoezy Desato- 44
cra >d th Irisolous” standard under section |9
ength in Franhiliy Murphy 745 F.2d 1221 (9th ¢

We there adopted procedures proposed by the Federal! Jud
al Center in Recommended Procedures for Handling Pr

r ( R ghis Cases in (hn Federal Court $7.58 y*

That :afluential study, chaired by Judge Aldiser. re

mended that if a prisoner meets the economic requrremer

‘ hiue

rin forma pauperis status, the court should permit { 2
the complaint under section 191 5(a) and conduct a separ
and independent inquiry into whether the action is “fr

or malicious” under section 191 5(d). It noted that the def-
tion of “frivolous” may be influenced by Supreme Court
discussing standards for dismissal of pro se complain

60-61. See. eg. Haines v. Kerner 404 US 519. $2
reh g denicd 408 US. 948 (1972). See also. Ander
nia 386U.S 738. 744 reh'g denied. 388 LU S 924 347

noin a 4:Fferen?

: a context thata ntention isf

legal points [are] arguable n their m

v i ega sul en n standa ?
. tha ad aa as e -
c rc 4 c
ai Ku r ed Ku
nlaint < he dice ed upon proper nr ,
d aim u reiiei ma. Ce gran rhs
he ndd Te ha he w are 3
oporn ofh aim which wou ~
} 404ULS a *4
2 . - (Qu 2
S 4 34.4 “a h
~ 7 *
usness under se s)
n ntical to the 12(b4) lega! stand S
‘ perm the distr um upon en rT
4 - merit : - seas ti
weec ul pa eritiess Claims at anea slag r a
at must De tlaaen that section Yidc J:SMiSsa
abused. See Bour Smith. 43 > 8 Se y
er ave nc 5 nal right of access he unt

1446) Heranannezs Diston

sidering section 1915(d) dismissals we thus look not only to
the face of the complaint and the matters actually pleaded.
but beyond to whether the claims have arguable substance in
law or fact. As the Seventh Circuit has explained

Rule 12(b)(6) permits the dismissal of a complaint
for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be
granted only when “it appears beyond doubt that the
plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his
claim which would entitle him to relief.” (citations
omitted). Under § 191 S(d). in contrast. an in forma
pauperis. pro se complaint can be dismissed sua
sponte by the district court only if the petitioner can-
not make any rational argument in law or fact which
would entitle him or her to relief Thus. the
§ 191 5(d) test is less stringent than the Rule | 2(bx6)
dismissal standard

Wola vs Faulkner. No. $7-1417. shpop at $(7th Cir Jan
12. 1988). This is a more lemenmt standard because

[nleither [the opporunity to further develop a
claim]. nor the sharply honed adversarial exchange
involved in a Rule 12(b#6) motion and opposition
are present when dismissal 1s sua spore Sua sponte
dismissal 1s therefore 2 much more truncated pro-
cess than is dismissal under Rule 12(b6). In giving
effect to the intent with which Congress created the
narrow exception in section 191 5(d) for sua sponte
dismissals. this difference must be taken into
account

Brandon v. Dist of Columbia Bd of Parole 734 F.2d $6. $9
(D.C. Cir. 1984). cert denied. 469 U.S. 1127 (1985)

{6] Thus. 'n Franklin we held that pro se prisoner com-
plaints may be dismissed on the court's own motion and prior
to service. but only in limited circumstances: a district court

Heexanoezs Destin 14440

May not dismiss an in forma pauperis complaint uniess it has
no “arguable substance in law for] fact” Franklin 745 F 2d
at 1227 (adopting standard in Wasson » Aulr $25 F 2d 886.
892 (Sth Cir. 1976)) See also Brandon 734 F 2d at $9 (claim
not viable). Crisafiv Holland 655 F.24 1305. 1307-08 (DC
Cir. 1981 (no suggestion of supporting facts). fur: + Parr
758 F 2d 1254, 1258 (8th Cir. 1985 face of complaint shows
“msuperable bar to relief Wquoting Jackson Sanmi!! Co +
United States $80 F.2d 302, 306 (8th Cir 1978). cert denied
439 US. 1070 (1979)).

We have recognized several possible bases which may jus-
tify a district court's decision to dismiss an in forma pauperis
complaint as having no arguable subsiance in law or fact
First. a court may dismiss as frivolous complaints that recite
bare legal conclusions without am) supporting facts Frar«
748 F.2d at 1228 See Tripatiss First Nar? Bank & Truss 42
F.2d 1368. 1370 (9th Cir 1987)

Second. a coum may dismiss if the plaints clarms are
redundant or barred by res pudicata because of pres sous it
gation Tripar: 821 F.2d at i3°O See Van Uerers Aforgs
$18 F.2d 366. 368 (8th Cir. cer’ dered 323 US ave
(197S) The district court may review its own records

Getermine whether. given previous coum documents the
plasntif’'s claims are redundant S:orer s Rag: 322 F 2
3144. 316 09th Cir 1963). cers deri 3768 U § 82 +3

Third. we have observed that “[ajn action mas be dis
mussed under section 191 id) where the defense is compiler:
and obs ious from the face of the pleadings or the court's o«7
records.” Franklin 748 F 24 122). 1228

Fourth. a court mas dismiss a claim that us founded or
“wholly fanciful” factual allegations /d ft appears tha: the
district court viewed the rape allegations im this case as fanc)-
ful because it did not believe so mans similar episodes could
have occurred However. the district court could not proper!

i. f a ; 5
: , al ed a standard f friy "es ws) '
exe redih —
7] In se nm 1915(d) dismissal of act a wt
we musia rdingly look to a standard which f
. a al on grounds of a credit assessment S
andard ss found in the principles of judicial n c
ndeed, in authorizing dismissal of complaints founded
wh fanciful” factual allegations in Franklin. we re
suoted authorits in tw ther circuits applying a
¢ standard in assessing “fanciful aliegatior
“oo 4ismmiss as fr y mplaints re ne
Ra ns with no suggestion of supy
, postulating events ar rcumstance
‘ kind Sin a mt
might a ' ' -
, > F
k
, ubie reasonable dispute becau
. nd ready determina ne oo
d anr rea nat De Ques
ed. RE E Cleary. Af k's Hand
i Jer 329-3 2c ec ’ Such ar
anG 2 %% ftequirec ii Courts are 1 maac state ff
ble for meritonous prisoner claim stitut

a’ c va 4 ” \

_ b ’ appea ar | " hye

je nda ; “e

Admitted i1 1S tempting toe a

mpia at the pieacing ag
fae ¢ - ther tan
|however). this 1s another instance
which in the long run makes waste
Durning. 139 F.2d 774, 775 (CA
}) Kcitation omitted

E ste 429U S at 112-13 (Stever :

many Yakah: S49F 4 1) ¢

ne Justice Stever Brar 734 &§

F.2d at 1258. Or f the fa alleged a
ar , d noticeaDie ta ma r
npla wb far ; hence &
4 ein ia ria
I ta alice r 4
ee \ua) fay

Lecemb a4 + $

c h Ff n fF , ar 4

Va He alieges rape be

\ his arn -
id been drugged . 92
i mae ar
iT se kud ape air ne
piaints al.ege ar f

t “i'd simiuiar ir ; .

man similar incidents occurred B “e

r ¢ that none o then 7 J “ T ™

source t te s they did n happe

By determining the {nv ne a

e » the 4 -

he mer
fact ;
‘
, a 4
‘ guar
944 :
enting
. ¢ VU
“ >
are
) ;
4
: ak

14466 Hernanpezs. Distos

determination by the magistrate that appellant's claims were
not credible. This is not permissible. Franklin. 748 F.2d at
1228 The magistrate himself stated that “although cach com-
plaini. taken separately. is not necessarily frivolous, a differ-
ent picture emerges from a reading of all five complaints
together.”

If the district court had reviewed appellant's complaints
individually and had treated the factual allegations as pre-
sumpuvely truthful. it could not have dismissed them as friv-
olous because they are not “wholly fanciful”: appellant's
allegations of needle marks on his arms and other evidence of
homosexual rape present claims with an arguable basis in
fact

We affirm the district court’s dismissal of appellant's proce-
dura] due process claim and his eighth amendment claim
based on deprivation of a mattress. However. we reverse the
district court’s dismissal of the remaining eighth amendment
claims because the district court never addressed them and
never Ciered the appellant a chance to correct deficiencies
through amendment. We reverse the district court's decision
on the rape claims as we!!. because the dismissal was based

upon credibility determinations impermissibdie under section
191 Sid)

REVERSED AND REMANDED

“WALLACE. Circuit Judge. concurring:

I concur in Judge Schroeder's opinion insofar as it reverses
the district court’s dismissai of Hernandez’s claims based
upon alleged deprivation of footwear. rape. and other physi-
cal abuse. Under the controlling precedent of this circuit. No//
v. Carlson, 809 F.2d 1446 (9th Cir. 1987), unless it 1s
“absolutely clear” that a pro se civil rights plaintif™s com-

HERNANDEZ V. DENTON 14467

plaint could not be amended to allege constitutional viola-
tons, the district court errs by dismissing the action without
notifying the plaintiff of the complaint’s deficiencies and
allowing him leave to amend. /d. at 1449. Here. as in Nol/
Hernandez amended his complaint, but did so without the
benefit of a statement by the court notifying him of the defi-
ciencies in his pleadings. Jd. The magistrate’s recommenda-
tions to the district court, which erroneously concluded that
Hernandez’s allegations were “wholly fanciful” because
unlikely, did not serve as adequate notice of the complaint's
deficiencies under Noll. Thus, while I agree with Judge Aldi-
sert that Hernandez’s various complain’s faiied to state
claims upon which relief could be granted, see Aldisert. J .
dissenting, reversal is required under Nol/ to allow Her-
nandez a chance to remedy the deficiencies in his complaint

As Judge Aldisert points out in his persuasive dissent. it is
not enough for a complaint to allege conclusions that are
merely “possible.” a plainttff must allege facts from which the
liability of each defendant can rationally be inferred | agree
with Judge Schroeder that Hernand# should be allowed to
amend his complaints, if he can. to aad allegations that wil!
establish the connection of each defendant to the depriva-
tions claimed by Hernandez and that will establish that Her-
nandez has been the victim of unconstitutional conduct
rather than mere negligence. However. I write separately to
emphasize that. should Hernandez fail to remedy the prob-
lems in his complaints after being informed of their deficien-
cies, his claims properly may be dismissed as frivolous for the
reasons stated in Judge Aldisert’s dissent

ALDISERT, Circuit Judge, concurring and dissenting

When Mr. Monroe and his family were routed out of bed in
the middle of the night by the Chicago police, and made to
stand naked in their living room while the cops ransacked

446% HERNAN i BD

room in their home. emptying drawers and ripping
mattress covers, the Supreme Court took long overdue action
In Monroe v Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961). the Court resu
tated, if not resurrected, the remedy of the Civil Rights Act of
1874. the now familiar 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Since that day. this
federal remedial statute has been successfully utilized
rect tens of thousands of civil rights violations of all de [

tion, in high school classrooms to maximum securily wings of

us

cor

state prisons

Section 1983 has been a major force in protecting the ind
vidual from countless abuses by the city. county. and State
We have become a more civilized societ, because of the pro
tections it affords those under police arrest or confined t
nenal institutions. Thanks to section 1983. and concurrent

prison reforms. we no longer tolerate the degrading exper

ences ponraved in film classics such as Paul Muni's powe

as Burns in “] Has a Fugitive t e Georgia Cl
Gang.” or Pau! Newman's portrava! af “cove! Hand 1
Nor do we tolerate the dehumanizine treatment tt
DI ns. where a - dec }
Iripy d of his name. addres b an k .
t r tossed ir ole” ind ely. at the s
Pua

It is with sympathy for the cor pris
nthusiastic endorsemeni of U Mr 8§ p
extended to state prisoners by the filing or threat of filing
rights acuons. and the profound sensitivity that n t
extended to pro se petitions for relie!. thai | review the cists
urt’s dismissal of Mixe Hernandez complaints

i join Judge Schroeder's opinion to the eatent that
affirms the district cour’s dismissal of the procedural due
rocess claim and the eighth amendment claim based on
deprivation of a mattress. | do not agree with the majority s

analysis of the other claims set forth b, Judges Wallace and

HERNANDE De» 44
sci jer. | would affirm the judgment of the d
all respects. for reasons other than those given by the d

Let it be understood at the outset that what divides tI
panel on the remaining claims is a very narrow issue. i don
nti

read my colleagues’ opinions as deciding that the pla
many claims can, at this time, pass muster when measured
against standards of frivolousness. | think the entire panel 1s
unanimous in this respect. What divides us 1s that m)

leagues seem to feel Hernandez was entitled to a second not
that his complaints were to be dismissed, and that, some!

he can amend hi mplaints again (all three complaints ha
been amende least once). and make factual averments s

ficient to permit him to mount the hurdle of frivolit

Thus. we disagree only on procedure. Because Herna
mplaints are already fact-specific, setting forth a

narrative of that which occurred first at Folsom pnson a!

at Vacaville. 1 believe that no amendment of fa
the fatal deficiencies that permeate al] his lab
¢ named defendants. The necessary fact f
mm he major premise of his legal! argun
I A be enlarged or altered to suppor p
I inference oO!
T
i
Where a complaint fails to state aclaim on which
be gr e are two levels in the preliminary pr
aa . } - be dism1i ad The Hr
gs a compiaint ma e dismissed ne

under the authority of 28 U.S.C. § 191 5(d). even prior t

vice of the complaint upon the defendant. Frans
Mfurphy. 745 F.2d 1221, 1226 (9th Cir. 1984) (Frank
Under section 1915(d), the court may dismiss the case if sat
fied that the action is frivolous. After service upon the defen
dant, the court may grant a motion for dismissal under
12(b)(6). F.R. Civ. P

14470 Herxanpez ¥. Dixntosn

The district court dismissed Hernandez’ rape allegations as
frivolous, basing its judgment on the recommendation of a
magistrate. The magistrate decided that each complaint.
when read independently of the other complaints filed by
Hernandez, “is not necessarily frivolous,” ER 34 at 5, but that
“a different picture emerges from a reading of all five com-
plaints together.” Jd. The magistrate relied on the test for fri-
volity set out in Franklin—specifically. that the concept of
frivolous embraces complaints “postulating events and cir-
cumstances of a wholly fanciful kind.” Franklin, 745 F.2d at
1228 (quoting Crisafi v. Holland, 635 F.2d 1305. 1308 (D.C.
Cir. 1981) (per curiam)). The magistrate found Hernandez
rape allegations “wholly fanciful” because they were reiter-
ated in several different compiaints alleging the same “modus
operandi.” but involved different prison officials and inmates
at different institutions

Like my colleagues. 1 would not accept the reasoning of the
magistrate adopted by the district court. for under the cir-
cumstances of this case. that would amount to making credi-
bility findings on the pleadings. As Judge Schroeder correct!)
points out. in a section 191 5(d) adjudication. we must assume
the credibility of the plaintiffs allegations unless the, run
counter to law. human behavior. or permissibie inference:

] would affirm the district court’s dismissal for entirely dif-
“crent reasons. a practice permitted in this Circuit. Harc/i 1
Reliance Ins. Co., 758 F.2d 409 (9th Cir. 1985): Salmeron
United States. 724 F.2d 1357, 1364 (9th Cir. 1983): Ang/e 1
United States. 709 F.2d 570. 573 (9th Cir. 1983). I would hold
that even if we credited every factual allegation in Her-
nandez complaints. the complaints are frivolous and mn
opportunit, to amend can possibly cure that deficiency

In each of the complaints at issue in the three appeals
before us. Hernandez included a very detailed statement of
facts. These facts. if believed, do not make out a claim “on the
basis of reasonable inferences and not mere speculation.”

-

HERNANDEZ ¥. DENTON 1447]

Edward J. Sweeney, & Sons, Inc. v. Texaco. 637 F.2d 105, 111
(3d Cir. 1980)

The district court's dismissal of the complaints as frivolous
is Subject to de novo review by this court. Tripati v. First Nat'l
Bank & Trust, 821 F.2d 1368, 1369 (9th Cir. 1987); Rizzo 1
Dawson, 778 F.2d 527, 530 (9th Cir. 1985). Our role here is
to determine whether, as a matter of law, the claims are criti-
cally deficient of the minimum quantum of fact, reason, and
law from which the plaintiff might-possibly be entitled to
relief. In exercising this review, I proceed on the assumption
that “plaintiffs sworn allegations are . . . uncontroverted
and entitled to the usual presumption of truth.” Franklin, 745
F.2d at 1228

My ultimate conclusion is that the multitude of allegations
expressed in the separate compiaints filed 1n the district court
do not qualif\ for further consideration. I agree with the dis
trict court’s conclusion that the allegations are frivolous and
therefore should be dismissed under 28 U.S.C. § 191 S(d)

ll

My point of beginning is a discussion of how the courts
have interpreted the statuton term “frivolous ~ “The court
may dismiss the case if satished that the action 1s frivo-
lous or maiicious.~ 28 U.S.C. § 191 5(d). The most familiar
coun definition of frivolous. that in 4nders v. California, 38¢
U.S. 738 (1967). 1s phrased in the negative. Anders states that
a contention 1s not frivolous if “any of the legal points [are]
arguable on their merits.” /d. at 744. In Franklin, this coun
determined that an action 1s frivolous if it lacks “arguable
substance in law and fact.” Franklin. 745 F.2d at 1227. This
Circuit has accepted the frivolity analysis formulated by the
Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit

“A court may dismiss as frivolous complaints recit-
ing bare legai conclusions with no suggestion of sup-

porting fasts estilalin evoats and

sircumsiances of a holix fanciful Kind Similarly. ‘a
complaint conflicting with facts of which the district
court may take judigial noice might also properly be
I. PA Gibson

5 41°

§79 F.2d 709 17 48th Ce 1976)”

dismissed under section 19tSid

Id. at 1228 (quoting Croaf 4 Holland. 655 F.2d 1305
1307-08 (D.C. Car. 19812 (pes cusiam))

This analysis seis out three possible standards for dismiss-
ing acomplaint as frivolous: 1) does the complaint recite bare
legal conclusions without supporting facts” 2) does the com-
plaint postulate wholl fanciful events or circumstances’ 3)
does the complaint confiict with facts of which a court ma}
take judicial notice? (A fourth standard—redundanc, —“as
added by Tnipaiv. First Nat ) Bank & Trust, 821 F.2d 1368
1370(1987)). Judge Schroeder combines the second and third
Franklin standards. She sees the “judicial notuce™ and the
“whollh fanciful” tests as being one In the same. Sec —
Schroeder op. at 14465 (“Onl if the facts alleged are imposs!
ble in light of any judicially noticeable fact may the district
coun And a complaint ‘wholly fanciful’ and hence without
arguable substance in law or fact.”)

As | read Franklin, the “wholly fanciful” and “judicial
notice” standards are two separate possible bases for dism1ss-
ing a complaint as frivolous. Under Franklin, a court ma)
indeed dismiss an action as frivolous if it is “dependent upon
allegations which conflict with facts of which a district court
may take judicial notice.” Schroeder op. at 14464 However
a coun may a/so dismiss as frivolous an action “postulating
events or circumstances of a wholly fanciful kind.” Franklin
at 1228. 1 find Hernandez allegations to be indisputably
wholly fanciful.

“Frivolous.” which UH ebster's Third New International
defines as “of little weight or impo.r1ance having no basis in

HERNANDEZ ¥ DENTON 1447 3

law or fact.” is derived from the Latin “friuolus.” whict
meant “worthless, trashy, insignificant, trifling, silly an
empty.” I believe that Hernandez complaint comes withi!
either the English or Latin definitions established

eal

| turn now to the procedures utilized in the federal cou
in handling prisoner civil rights cases and the relationship o!
those procedures to the determination of frivolity

Il]

As Judge Schroeder notes, this court has adopted the 1
ommendations of the Prisoner Civil Rights Committee of th
Federal Judicial Center (the Committee) relating to se

191 45(d) cases

[The Committee] recommends that the court mah
the frivolity determination before issuing pro t
1 or

protect defendants from the expense and inc
nience of answering a frivolous complaint. Fed

Judicial Center Re niumended Procedur for H
/ , , Poo

a ¢ Pr ner Cir Rigi Ca , 4 i

( r 59 ( LYA

We find persuasive the reasoning of the cases I

ing that courts may dismiss frivolous actions hied

forma pauperis before service of process and adopt
the procedure recommended by the Federal Judic
Center and applied here by the district court

ecause I served as the Federal Judicial Center Comm)
tee’s chair, reference to the reasoning that undergirded tt
Committee’s efforts w guide federal courts in the use of sec

; ‘ 7
1 . ,
mn e's purposes
Fir to evaluate the handling pris
wor f-confinement cases with the purp
mmending such changes as a d t
ease the Capac lo give promy{
nous prisoner Cases
Second. to help federal judges. mag
taff personne eflecti. g €
hese difficult-to-handle case
star ] 4 er > PD ; >
redera lal C¢ Ke
} ner Rio I
f Rig
> nr r y r
& her nafter Rer * T ’ P
mmit deliberations and hear
preser IT tor scas a}
rea that most pris g |
T ae nr [

.
'
cluded prior to tria
I , ° |
Report at 9 omitted
T r r 4 ‘ nmi r » err ‘
To understa the complex p S g tt
ry tocay in this area. or mus K al tne

Hi
pris
S No other judicial system in the S ed
b + . ] kh ’ y) r
I menor b a al iner svsten q
Iino > > +} .
) ) igs be hled b yunsel. Recording Xf

nt soner c¢ ghts actions hled ar rT
p age OF thos ses thal react 1
f ne ( Pe
R k
T + +> ft;
l C4. Annual Reports of the Director t Ad
q * * A

tive Office of the United States Counts (1 9¢
June 30, 1987, there were 2,825 prisoner civil mghts c
pending in the district courts of the Ninth Circuit, id. Tab
C.3A (1987), and 2,765 such cases had been terminated dur
3B (1987). Thus. in a 2

ing the court year. Jd. Table (

447¢ HERnat D

period the cases have increased fron if
11 Circuit hast

an ominous 1600 perceni, and
portionate share of the stress

This being so, we must bade fealty to three important §
we must ensure that meritorious prisoner ci 1] rights cases d
not fall between the cracks. The “cry wolf” syndrome car
affect federal judges, especially district judges and mag
trates. with what we may describe as a kind of jurisprudentia
weariness or fatigue, akin to what the German:

H eltschmerz, that sets in from examining Countiess meriti
petitions. At the same time. we must “protect defer
from the expense and inconvenience of answering a fr

A ¢ 1976 A r y er

complaint.” Franklin. 745 F 2d a
respect our obligation to the federal judiciary to pr
equal justice to all who seek relief in the federa
ensure the maximum delivery of legal services to al! litiga

- pro se as well as those represented Dy

In 1980, when the case load was only hall tna ja
Committee attempted to reso've these tensions 0D) re
mending that in prisoner civil rights complainis the plaint
go beyond the requirement of ordinary notice pleading
Committee would require the plaintiff to set forth the fa
supporting his claim. Admittediy. this 1s a departure Ir
notice pleading requirement set forth in Rule §. FR. ¢ I
but the Committee reasoned that Rule 8 and other pleadir
rules were designed for cases in which the plainufl
sented b, counsel. This exception for pro se prisoner con
plaints was designed to assist the prisoner in seiting fort
the earliest possible moment the facts that formed the basis
his complaint so that the claim could be proper!, evaluated
The Committee also reasoned that this would encourage th¢
prisoner pro se plain'* to te!' his or her story without fear
being injured in the pleading process by not conforming t
the niceties of pleading rules that were designed for the us

“ac renr
as rey

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

gUSC 81915 ouem «
\ ™ the deter tor Al
pon tr tne yuri may en ria
t for d Rule | 2(bK¢
r at 6; ernphasis added The Committe
dismissal with no opportunity to respond when tt
mplaint 1s irreparably frivolous or malicious “/d at 6
pu ( rnia De i ‘ Correction 43) } , fC
ath Cir 7 (no clanm was stated and there wa
jehcie nm the allegations that could be overcon t
amendment) In this respect. the Committee accepted ig

Har $ 1965 statement that a district pudge may disn

she ae ‘ ‘ nr
ghts compla withou pr
" ~ar ears from the mplair
r > ’ od > nr i~ r ree
a = ;
- 4 nif ki sth € of IA S Tr
a4 4 roa . gg
’ he th rule i. ‘
. 4 4 4* 4 ' ,
: nai 7 iZ a
_ Thew ¢ re 1) 4
appea eq c
r , r ’ he mer la mn
. a pla
" +} , ati@ ,
\ b ne pia |
sinter r 4,ery < he was serve

1¢T se r 415d). to which he hied eacer
b
5 the specif nature f the plainnfl tb
ual deficien n his compla
7 amendmer \ ROS F P. a 44>
. 4 & . . <* A , 2
+ » 4rmstrong 4 } ZG aia
wy » « add ‘ spec’ fics of Hernande n
react +} ver ) bier, dey wed
2 ;
yy ees recon ended Forn on 4 ,

14480 HERNANDEZ \. DENTON

July 29, 1982, for on that specific might he went to
sleep early, at approximately 8:00 P.M.. and did not
wake up until after ten (10) hours. the foliowing
morning, at approximately 6:00 A.M. Plaintiff nor-
mally sleeps five (5) hours without awakening. but
on the night of July 29, 1982, he slept about twice as
much as he normally sleeps.

ER 43 at 5-6.

In this complaint, Hernandez alleges a rape by unknown
correctional officers on the basis of putative inferences only.
There is no direct evidence that a rape occurred. Hernandez
concludes he was raped because he found fecal stains on his
teeshirt. slept later than usual. and received.taunts from fel-
low inmates. He suggests that he could not have known about
the actual victimizing of his body because he slept ten hours
that night instead of his normal five. Thus. he would like us
to draw two inferences: that he was drugged. and that because
he was drugged. he was not aware he had been raped by
unknown correcuonal officers

A

An inference 1s a process by which one proposition (a con-
clusion) is arrived at and affirmed on the basis@f one or more
other propositions. which are accepted as the starting point of
the process. Stebbing suggests that an “[iJnference . . . mas
be defined as a mental process in which a thinker passes from
the apprehension of something given. the datum. to some-
thing. the conclusion. reiated in a certain way to the datum
and accepted only because the datum has been accepted.”’
Whether an inference is deductive or inductive depends upon
the nature of the relationship between the proposition that 1s
given and the proposition that 1s inferred. Hernandez asks us
to draw an inductive inference, a conclusion from a congeries

1L Stebbing. A Modern introduction to Logic 211-212 (6th ed 1947)

Hresastizs Distros 144%

of particulars. From the particular facts asserted in his con
plaint. he asks us to draw the conciusion by induction that the
defendants can be held liable

But whether an inference 1s valid. that 1s. whether the con-
clusion is sound and free from flaw, depends upon its logical
force: the question of logical force 1s in turn based on the rea-
sonableness of the conclusion requested to be drawn Accord
ingly. inferences are permitted to be drawn in the law only to
the extent that known human experience dictates that certain
consequences can and do follow from basic circumstantial
facts What has been said in another context 1s relevant here

The court's role 1s especially crucial! when. as here
the plaintiff's case. and therefore the defendant's lia-
bility. is based solely on circumstantia! evidence
The illega! actton must be inferred from the facts
shown at trial Inferred factual conclusions based on
circumstantial! evidence are permitted only wher
and to the extent that. human experience indicates 4

4

robahilits that cerain consequences can anc ¢

Pp iat Ce
follow from the basic circumstantial facts The inter
ences that the coum permits the jun educe in 4
courroom d differ significan from interen

that rational beings reach daily in informally accepr-
ing a probabilits or arming at a conmciusion wher
presented with some hard. or basic evidence Acour

'

permits the yum to draw inferences because of |
shared experience in human endeasors See 2
re

q-~ ~ 4 ¢
rs {cCormick. Handbdook of th

-*

Law of Ex
289-96 (2d edition 1972
Edward J Sweener & Sons Inc Texace 637 F.2d

(3d Cir 1980) I conclude that. under the facts pieadec f
the allegations do not qualify as sound. s2.i¢ inferences The
test for a permissible inference 1s not «nether human exper
ence indicates a remote possifeicty that a particular conciu
sion may be drawn Rather. the testis probability was it more

14482? HERNANDEZ ¥. DENTON
probable than not that these consequences can and do follow
from the narrative or historical facts. In my view. applying
the most generous of standards, the desired conclusion may
not be drawn from the hard facts pleaded here. | further con-
clude that Hernandez can allege no other narrative facts by

amendment that will permit that conclusion to be drawn
B

Even if we were to accept Hernandez’ inference, that he
was in fact the victim of a rape, that inference still does not
point to the liability of the named defendants. The Civil
Rights Act, under which this action was filed, provides

Every person who, under color of [state law]

subjects. or causes to be subjected, any citizen of the
United States to the deprivation of any rights
privileges. or immunities secured by the Constitu-
uon shall be liable to the party injured in an
action at law, suit in equity. or other proper proceed-

} > f 2are
Ing lor rearess

The statute requires that there be an actual connection or
ink between the actions of the defendants and the depriva
tion alleged to have been suffered by the plaintiff. See Afon

Department of Social Servs, 436 U.S. 658, 692 (1978): s
also Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976). This court has held
that “[a] person ‘subjects’ another to the deprivation of a cor
sututional right, within the meaning of section 1983, if he
does an affirmative act, participates in another's affirmative
acts. Or omits to perform an act which he is legally required

d st Causes the deprivation of which complaint is
made.” Johnson v Duffy, $88 F.2d 740, 743 (9th Cir. 1978
[he law is clear that the liability of supervisory personn

be based on more than merely their right to control ott

Herxanpezy DeENTOo" 44%

ers. Afone supra. 436 U.S. at 694 n.S8 At a minimu
appellant :s required to show a causal connection between the
alleged harms suffered and appellees’ actions. The appe
must be shown to be responsible for setting in motion a ser
of acts by others. which the appellees knew or reasonat
should have known would cause the others to infl tit
tional injury upon the plaintiff. Jd. 743-744

ct con

Conclusionary allegations. unsupported by facts
[will be] rejected as insufficient to state a clain

under the Civil Rights Act The plaintiff mu
llec : a+ 1 ‘ene 2 - ft o? .
allege with at least 5 e Cegree of particula
t< hich defendantc «noaced in th anor
acts which defendants engaged at sur
pla nt F< claim
Co { 7 F 2d 4646. 64 ;
R43 tations om
The defendants are the Dir rT n
Superintendent. and member he disciplinan 2
r _—T Th . supnposed!\ estah
SEAL assau sere the dis r fap
nma bs sine ta whatsoever wa 3 >9 ha A
establish the personal in ement in an. allege
appellant bv an he de dJants.e Fade
narticipa r bv wa knowledge 53
r inmates rre nal officers. F
:
ad rc ri rnanc Sta men ra n 4
a 7 . : a sts be Be
Qua areua m
ine tata C de p a
‘ mposing liab he ba .
1¢ “wt an ; om na nd
Lica 3 . . P

14484 HERNANDEZ V. DENTON

follow from basic circumstantial facts. The basic relevant cir-
cumstantial facts here—sleeping late and finding fecal stains
on a tee-shirt—cannot reasonably lead to the conclusion that
the appellees were responsible for the alleged violations. This
is fatal to Hernandez’ case and no amendment can bring it
back to life. No amended statement can establish a causal
connection between the alleged harms suffered and appellees’
actions.

V.

We now tum to the Folsom Prison eighth amendment
claims:

14. Plaintiff alleges that he was placed in cell 812 in
the security housing unit, and was forced to sleep on
a sheet metal bunk without a mattress, for one night.
Plaintiff was forced t8 borrow one blanket from
inmate Raymond Rodnguez, who was housed in the
cell neat to his cell. Plaintiff was subjected to ven
uncomfonable bedding and suffered from freezing
weather conditions. as he was housed in a cell.
located across from broken windows.

15. Plainuff alleges that he was denied footwear.
because no officer in the security housing unit issued
him a pair of shoes ta wear after he was brought from
the psychiatric ward: he was forced to go about with-
Out shoes for approximately thirty (30) davs

The eighth amendment proscribes “cruel and unusual
punishments.” U.S. Const. amend. viii. This proscription
embodies “broad and idealistic concepts of dignity. civilized .
standards, humanity, and decency,” Jackson v. Bishop, 404~
F.2d 571,579 (8th Cir. 1968), against which we must evaluate
penal treatment. The amendment draws its meaning from

HERNANDEZ V. DENTON 14485

“the evolving standards of decency that mark the progress of
a maturing society.” Trop. Dulles. 356 U.S. 86, 101 (i958)
Conduct and punishments which are incompatible with those
standards, or which “involve the unnecessary and wanton
infliction of pain,” are prohibited. Estelle v Gamble, 429 US
97, 102-03 (1976)

Measured against these concepts, sleeping in a bunk with-
Out a mattress for one night cannot possibly rise to the dignity
of an eighth amendment deprivation. Here the majority and
I agree. But I disagree with Judge Schroeder's description of
the facts pleaded by Hernandez on the blanket claim
“Appellant alléges that Re slept without a blanket for an
unspecified amount of time in a room across from broken
windows.” Judge Schroeder's opimion transcript at |4459
Judge Schroeder's characterization of Hernandez’ factua
pleading has no support whatsoever in the complaint Rathe:
as indicated above, al) Hernandez alleged was that he “was
forced to borrow one blanket from Raymond Rodriguez. wh
was housed in the cell next to his cell.” This certainl, does n
qualify as an eighth amendment deprivation. Even if we
assume that going without shoes for 30 days involves “th
unnecessary and wanton infliction of pain.” Hernande
gation that an officer in the security housing unit failed :
issue him a pair of shoes does not rise-to a colorable claim
against the defendants named here. because no one of those
defendants was alleged to be the officer distributing the shoes

a

Under Rizzo » Goode. 423 US 362 (1976). and
Department of Social Servs v Monell. 436 U.S. 638 (1978
the mere right to control others. without any control or direc
tion having been exercised. and without any failure to super-
vise, 1S mot enough to support section 1983 habilit
Accordingly. I believe that this eighth amendment contention
1s controlled by the important precept set forth in Mai» Env-
moto, 633 F.2d 164 (9th Cir. 1980), to wit, that under the
Civil Rights Act, a defendant camnot be charged with respon-
sibility for neglectful acts of subordinates, absent that defen

14486 HERNANDEZ V. DENTON

dant’s direction or participation. /d at 167. The Civil Rights
Act does not permit liability under respondeat superior. Sec
Monell, 436 US. at 694.

I would affirm the district court's dismissal of these claims
Although neither the magistrate nor the district judge dis-
cussed them in the written recommendations or in the opin-
ion, it cannot be said that the district court disregarded these
questions. The entire complaint was dismissed; the com-
plaint included paragraphs 14 and 15; therefore, there can be
no question that these allegations were dismissed. As a
reviewing court, we are in the same position as a district court
to test these contentions to determine whether they have
arguable merit. In my view, they do not.

Vi.

] turn now to the first Vacaville case. In his recommenda-
_ tons, the magistrate referred to the facts Hernandez would
have alleged had he been permitted to amend his complaint
ee ER 21 at 4. The disimet court adopted the magistrate’s
findings and recommendations. I. too. shall proceed as if the
proposed amended complaint were here before me

1. On or about the 29th day of July. 1983. plainuff
alleges that he was ordered to move out of cell L-361.
L-wing. unit IV. on the third floor, into the N-2 wing
dorm. by Correctional Sergeant Anderson

5. Plaintiff alleges that on the 30th day of July. 1983.
he filed an inmate/parolee appeal form (602) with
defendant Hartman’s and defendant Ingle’s office.
wherein plaintiff complained about housing condi-
tions and also claimed that he had found signs and
evidence of sexual assault and rape on his clothing.
and that he believed one or more inmates housed in
the same dorm as him, assaulted and raped him on
the night of July 29, 1983.

HERNANDEZ V. DENTON yN 14487

4

6. Subsequently. plaintiff alleges that he discovered
four needle puncture wounds on different parts of
his bods: on the 2nd day of August, 1983, plaintiff
displayed one needle wound on his right wrist to
defendant Ingle: on the 3rd day of August, 1983.
plainuff displayed the same needle wound to his
supervisor. at the law library. and two more needle
wounds plaintiff had discovered on the calf of each
leg: on the 6th day of August, 1983, plaintiff discov-
ered a fourth needle wound on his left wrist, and dis-
played this needle wound to Officer Kreger, the N-2
wing dorm officer on the second watch. on the same
day plaintiff was given permission to move out of
the N-2 wing dorm and into a single-man cell in the
same wing

9 All the events described 'n paragraph five (5) were
witnessed by inmate Harold Pierce: his affidayit 's
attacked wothis amended pleading as Exhibit G (Ex-
hibit G reads: “Harold Pierce hereby declares

On the night of July 29. 1983. I witnessed inmate
Dushane B-71187 and inmate Millard B-30802
assault and rape inmate Mike Hernandez as he !a

asleep in bed 206 1n the N-2 unit dorm ©

18. Pla:ntuff alleges that on or about the 15in an

16th dass of December. 1983. he found signs and
evidence of rape and sexual assault on his clothing
and reponed it to Officer B. Da Rosa on Dec ember
17, 1983

ER 11 at 3-6

4

The foregoing facts, if believed. do not make out a va

constitutional claim against the prison official detendan

under either the due process clause or the eighth amendment
Again. Hernandez offers no direct evidence that he was raped
He relies only on the suggestion that somehow he was drugged

14488 HERNANDEZ ¥. Dinton

and then raped while asleep. His only effective evidence 1s the
affidavit of Harold Pierce describing events allegedly occur-
ring on the night of July 29, 1983. That affidavit may have
been sufficient to establish a state tort claim against inmates
Dushane and Milliard, but 1 is insufficient to establish that
the named defendants knew or should have known of these
events and taken steps to prevent then. See Procunicr \
Navarette, 434 U.S. 555, 562 (1978), Afar v Enomoto, 633
F.2d 164, 167 (9th Cir. 1980); Johnson v. Duffy. 588 F.2d 740.
745 (9th Cir. 1978)

Vil

The remaining appeal also involves events at Vacaville. In
this complaint. appellant alleged he was raped as follows

1. During the night of January 12-13. 1984. by
defendant McIntyre and two inmates. based on nee-
die marks:

2. During the night of January 26-27. 1984. also by
McIntyre and two inmates. based on needle marks
3. During the might of March 22-23. 1984. by
unknown persons but believed to be defendant Per-
domi, based on finding needle marks on his right
wrist On the morning of March 23.

4. During the might of June 28-29. 1984. bs
unknown persons but believed to be defendant Per-
doni, based on finding needle marks on his left arm
right wrist and right ankle on the morning of June
29;

5. On August 4 and August 23, 1984, during the 1:00
P.M.-3:00 P.M. watch, believed to be by defendant
Perdoni, based on appellant's discover of needle
marks;

HERNANDEZ V. DENTON 4489

1

6. On September 11, 1984, during
P.M.-3:00 P.M. watch, by defendants Fitzgerald ar
Price, based on discovery of a needle mark on hi
thumb

On September 16, 1984, during
P.M.-3:00 P.M.. watch, by defendant Price. ba
on discovery of needle marks on his left arm ar
right wrist

8. On September 21, 1984, shortly before 7:00 AM

by defendants Perdoni and/or McIntyre, based
awakening feeling ill and nauseous and discovering
needle marks on his abdomen

9. During the night of September 2¢ Ik

defendant MclIntvre. based on awakening

ver needle marks on his left arm and addon
On Octob ~ Ik4. bv d ja M
based awakening to dis erar Jie mara
x ar
Vurine ‘
984. by defendant M fe ah
n () § 4 n ry
arm anc adgon
> Durine th oh i ~ y
I&4. by defendant Melr ba A ab

A

, "Or mi

Wu . a r i

T
r defe jar Tomlir ba aw ak
dic » e mark n his left arn
h 2 rv nir b I eo
2 a £ )

vf

14490 HERNANDEZ V. DENTON

to discover needle marks on his left wrist and right
leg: and

15. During the early morning hours of December 10
1984, by defendant McIntyre, based on awakening
to discover a needle mark on his right arm

Appellant also alleged that as a result of these various sexual!
assaults and drug injections, he suffered fevers. bacteriologi-
cal skin infections, headaches, nausea, sinus infections and
facial scarring, and that institutional physicians refused his
request for antibiotic medication

A

To place this appea! in perspective, it is helpful at this point
to summarize the other two appeals before us In appea! \
86-2139, in his amended complaint, Hernandez said he had
been raped by correctional officers at Folsom Prison on Ju!
29, 1982. He reached this conclusion in the hypothesis that he
found “signs of rape” on his tee-shirt, to wit. fecal stains. and
that on the morning of July 30, 1982. he was ridiculed t
unidentified correctional officers and inmates about having
been raped the night before. He had no personal recollectior
of having been raped and made no identification of his sur
posed rapist. In appeal No. 87-1693, his proposed amend:
complaint contends that he was again raped—this time at
Vacaville—on precisely the same day of the vear as the }
som rape, but one vear later, on July 29, 1983. Again, he
cluded that he had been raped because he found “eviden
of sexual assault on his clothing, viz, feces and semen stair
on his shirts. He also claimed that he found a needle wound
yn his right wrist on August 2. 1983. two needle wounds
on each of his two legs. on August 3, 1983; and another need
wound on August 6, 1983. This time he alleged that his rapis!
were inmates, not correctional officers. Here. too, he had
personal knowledge of having been raped and made no ide
tification of his alleged rapists

Heenanoez v. Dextor 1449

I now turn to an analysis of the massive complaint invols
ing events at Vacaville in 1984. Here Hernandez alleged tha
he had been raped 21. repeat 21. umes. Hernandez named the
Superintendent of the Cahfornia Medical Facility at Vaca
ville. a correctional heutenant, and sia correctional officers as
| defendants. Of the alleged 21 acts of rape. four were alleged
committed by inmates. Although Correctional Officer Mclr
tyre supposedly committed nine of these rapes. appellant's
| complaint contains no fact capable of establishing that Melr
'
|
|
|

tvre. direct!, or by inference. or any of the other defendants
assaulted him. Here. too, he has no personal recollection of
having experienced these sa\ age assaults His conclusions are
based solel, on the alleged discovery of needle punctures or
his body. After these repeated acts. he complained he suffer

f bacteria and acne on his face

Irrespectise of the outcome of this lhtigation, nm
acknowledged that Hernandez has established a world
capable of qualifying for the Guinness: Book R |

person who has been raped 28 separate umes »
knowing at the time that this was hapf g r >
as an experienced student and researcher in 5
rights petitions. | b ha t apy é
r ‘ f Tt a chee a
ce Th an be und ny g ne t

pella sas Giag F Pr as a

1 eT r irea r “ 3
fe , purp ar 3 7

at at Ala ; Sta ER
a
Eve 4 T Rg apptiia $ fa r
r t ar e d .

7

HER NANDE Dr ,

t {i middle term.’ In a formally va
g al syllogism, the middie term must be distributed in al
ne of the premises. If either the minor tern i}

distributed in the conclusion, it must O« }

ted in the premise in which it originates * Here. the mid
zg

j
needle marks” 1s undistributed in both the major anc
premises. It does not necessarily follow that ai! nee }

ks are evidence of drug ingestion simply because
; See eg. Spencer. Texas, 385 U.S. $54, 569-570 (19¢
“a ss : er F
‘ gism “B™ dis ses the forma) falia iu
term Here the maior term in the syllogisn raf
t tine major premise can De frat t
was raped ]
Mund pt . rmenta
f
‘jis’ 4 ,
‘ ‘
Fe
of
‘

14494 HERNANDEZ V. DENTON

minor premise because it refers only to the defen-
dan. correctional! officials, not the entire universe of correc-
tional onveials.

But even if ernandez’ arguments met the requirements of
formal logical form, they would still contain fatal defects. The
arguments contain material fallacies, that is. errors or eva-
sions that appear only through an analysis of the meaning of
the terms, rather than an analysis of the logical form. For
example, each syllogism is a mon sequitur, an argument exhib-
iting the lack of a logical connection. From the mix of pleaded
facts—needle marks, fecal stains on a tee-shirt. sleeping later
than usual on one occasion—any conclusion pinning liabilit\
on the defendants here is a paradigmatic non sequitur. See
materials collected in R. Aldisen, The Judicial Process 626-87
(1976).

IX.

Ata very minimum, appellant is required to Show a causal
connection between the alleged harms suffered and the
actions of the deferfdants Hernandez’ theors that he was
raped is based only on the factual allegation that he discov-
ered needle marks on his body the morning after the alleged
incidents.

As a matter of law, the conclusion that he had been raped
cannot be drawn as a permissible, let alone a reasonable
inference from the needle marks; a fortiori, the presence of
the needle marks as a major premise cannot by any logical
process lead to a conclusion implicating the named correc-
nonal officials as perpetrators of the rapes.

But what is of paramount importance here is that no
amendment of facts in the complaint can cure this fatality
given the theory advanced and the inferences required. This
is a Classic example of the precept set forth in the H or/c)
Armstrong, and Noll line of cases—if it clearly appears that

™~

>

HERNANDEZ ¥. DENTON 14495

the deficiency in the complaint cannot be overcome by
amendment. the district court may dismiss under section
1915(d) without genuflecting to the needless ritual of giving
the plaintiff the opportunity to amend a second time before
entering an order of dismissal. This precept was reaffirmed as
recently as April 26, 1988, by this court in Albrechi v. Lund,
845 F.2d 193, 195 (1988). (“If the district court determines
that the ‘allegation of other facts consistent with the chal-
lenged pleading could not possibly cure the deficiency,” then
the dismissal without leave to amend is proper.”) (quoting
Schreiber Distrib. Co. v. Serv-Well Furniture Co., 806 F.2d
1393. 1401 (9th Cir. 1986)).

1 would affirm the judgment of the district court in all
respects for the reasons stated herein. The grand purpose of
prisoner civil rights petitions under section 1983 is to insure
that the structured society within penal institutions possesses
the minimum accoutrements of civilized order. It 1s to elimi-
nate savage and barbarous treatment. It should not be prosti-
tuted by the hallucinations of a troubled man. And that 1s
what we have here

ATTACHMENT Z

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF Oe d | L E D

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT Aon
FE8 1+ 1389

CATHY A. CATTERSON. CLERK
U. S. COURT OF APPEALS
Nos. 86-2139
87-1693/1694

MIKE HERNANDEZ,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
Vv. D.C.# CV-S-83-645-LKK
GEORGE F. DENTON, et al., ORDER

Defendants-Appellees.

Before: ALDISERT,* WALLACE, and SCHROEDER, Circuit Judges.

The panel as constituted above has voted to deny the
petition for rehearing and to reject the suggestion for rehearing
en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for
rehearing en banc and no judge of the court has requested a vote
on the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion

for rehearing en banc is rejected.

*Honorable Ruggero J. Aldisert, Senior Unitrd States Circuit Judge
for the Third Circuit, sitting by designation.

CASE TITLE: GEORGE F. DENTON, et al. v. MIKE HERNANDEZ
COURT/CASE NO: | SUPREME COURT NO. 88-2034

PROOF OF SERVICE
I am employed in the County of Sacramento; my business address is
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 950, Sacramento, California. I am over the age of

eighteen years and not a party to the foregoing action.
On July 6, 1989, I served the within

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT RE PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

on all parties in said action by placing a true cop» thereof enclosed in a sealed
envelope, with postage thereon fully prepaid, in the United States post office

mailbox at Sacramento, California, addressed as set forth below:

JAMES CHING, Supervising Deputy Attorney General
State of California

1515 K Street, Suite 511

Sacramento, California 95814

Mr. Mike Hernandez C-49192
California Medical Facility

P. O. Box 2000

Vacaville, California 95696-2000

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on July 6, 1989, at Sacramento, California. .

a”

LM Ce

P. A. Le Doux

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0906%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
