# Motion — Summers v. Thompson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0839%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 977

## Text

No. 88-665 iS siieaGi i

—GEERK

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

ra’
Vv

JERRY H. SUMMERS,
Appellant,

VS.

ROBERT L. THOMPSON, ez al.,
Appellees.

Ly
Vv

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE

fa’
Vv

MOTION OF APPELLEE, CHARLES W. BURSON,
ATTORNEY GENERAL AND REPORTER OF THE
STATE OF TENNESSE, TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

ft).
Vv

CuHartes W. Burson
Attorney General & Reporter
State of Tennessee

[Counsel of Record]

MicHaEt W. CaTALANo
Deputy Attorney General
State of Tennessee

Anpy D. Bennett
Deputy Attorney General
State of Tennessee

Kevin StTEILInG

Assistant Attorney General
State of Tennessee

450 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, Tennessee 37219

Counsel for Appellees

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
or call collect (402) 342- 2831

Te a .
y , Pores nes
ut BANE SAS Sc huad
baa. BEL
‘
i ' .
“3
é
°
, .
Py
at - 4
mM ;
5
,
|
173
|
| :
| : M
a ¥
y ‘3 i
f °
;
lc Fes ,
i :
” . = 7 °

—_
ay

Nt

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Tenn. Code Ann. ${ 6-21-501 and 16-18-
102 which provide for at-will termination of a municipal
judge, who has jurisdiction to impose fines up to $50.00
and incarcerate for terms of up to 90 days, by the govern-
ing body of that municipality violates the doctrine of
separation of powers contained in Article III, $1 of the
United States Constitution?

2. Whether the doctrine of separation of powers con-
tained in Article III, § 1 of the United States Constitution
is applicable to the states through the due process and
equal protection clauses of the Fifth and [ourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution?

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The appellant in this action is Jerry H. Summers.
The appellees in this action are: Mayor Robert L. Thomp-
son, Commissioners James Ables, Don Gentry, Bryson
Johnson, and Jimmy Williamson, in their capacities as
Commissioners of the City of Soddy-Daisy, Tennessee,
Robert Eckard, in his capacity as Police Chief of Soddy-
Daisy, Tennessee, the City of Soddy-Daisy, Tennessee, and
Charles W. Burson, Attorney General and Reporter for
the States of Tennessee.!

i Pursuant to Rule 40.3 of the Supreme Court Rules, Charles
W. Burson has been substituted for W. J. Michael Cody as the
Attorney General and Reporter for the State of Tennessee as a
result of Mr. Cody’s resignation and Mr. Burson’s appointment
effective October 1, 1988.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW .....
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

ARGUMENT:
I. THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT

IT.

CONCLUSION

OF TENNESSEE RESTS ON NON-CONSTI-
TUTIONAL GROUNDS; THEREFORE, THIS
COURT SHOULD DISMISS THIS APPEAL .

THE APPLICABILITY OF THE DOCTRINE
OF SEPARATION OF POWERS UNDER
ARTICLE IIT SECTION I OF THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION TO THE MU-
NICIPAL COURT OF SODDY-DAISY, TEN-
NESSEE DOES NOT PRESENT A SUB-
STANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION OVER
WHICH THIS COURT SHOULD EXERCISE
ITS JURISDICTION

i

ii

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases Crrep:
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) on
Dreyer v. Illinois, 187 U.S. 71 (1902) 5, 6

State ex rel. Haywood v. Superintendent, Davidson
County Workhouse, 195 Tenn. 265, 259 S.W.2d
159 (1953) 3

Hughes v. Superior Court of California in and
for the County of Contra Costa, 339 U.S. 460 (1950) 6

Mayor of the City of Philadelphia v. Educational
Equity League, 415 U.S. 605 (1974) 6

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983)

Minnesota v. Cloverleaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S.
456 (1981)

Prentiss v. Atlantic Coastline Co., 211 U.S. 210 (1908)
Ridgeway v. Ridgeway, 454 U.S. 46 (1981)
Rose v. Hodges, 423 U.S. 19 (1979)

Sweazy v. State of New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234
(1957) 6

awn mH

STATUTES:

FEDERAL:

Article ITI, § 1, United States Constitution 2,5
Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution 2,6
Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution 2, 6,7

STATE:
Tenn. Code Ann. § 6-18-101
Tenn. Code Ann. § 6-21-501

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Tenn. Code Ann. § 6-21-501(b) 2, 3,4
Tenn. Code Ann. § 16-18-101 (1987 Supp.) 3, 4
Tenn. Code Ann. § 16-18-102 2
Article I, § 8, Tennessee Constitution 2
Article IT, § 1, Tennessee Constitution 2
Article II, § 2, Tennessee Constitution 2
MiscELLANEOUS:
Rule 16.1, Supreme Court Rules 1

Justice Brennan, State Constitutions and the Pro-
tection of Individual Rights, 90 Harv. Law Rev.
489 (1977) 4

No. 88-665

ry
Vv

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

ty.

JERRY H. SUMMERS,

Appellant,
vs.

ROBERT L. THOMPSON, et al.,
Appellees.

ray
—

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE

4
—

MOTION OF APPELLEE, CHARLES W. BURSON,
ATTORNEY GENERAL AND REPORTER OF THE
STATE OF TENNESSE, TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

EE
_

Pursuant to Rule 16.1, the appellee, Charles W. Bur-
son, Attorney General and Reporter for the State of Ten-
nessee (appellee) moves to dismiss or affirm the appeal
filed on behalf of Jerry H. Summers (appellant). This
motion is based upon the fact that the decision of the Su-
preme Court of Tennessee rests upon independent and
adequate state grounds and that the questions on which
the decision of this case depends are so unsubstantial as

to not need further argument.

——— -O-——

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional provisions involved in this appeal
are Article II], § 1 of the United States Constitution, the
Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States
Constitution. The statutory provisions involved are
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 6-21-501, 6-18-101, and 6-18-102. The
constitutional provisions are set out in appellant’s Juris-
dictional Statement at page 2; whereas, the statutory pro-
visions involved are set out in appellant’s Jurisdictional
Statement at pages A-65 through A-67.

©

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT
OF TENNESSEE RESTS ON NON-CONSTI-
TUTIONAL GROUNDS; THEREFORE, THIS
COURT SHOULD DISMISS THIS APPEAL.
rom the inception of this litigation, the appellant
has contended that Teun. Code Ann. § 6-21-501, which pro-
vides that the municipal judge of Soddy-Daisy is to ‘‘ serve
at the will of the board of commissioners’’, is violative of
the doctrine of separation of powers under Article ILL, §1
of the United States Constitution and Article II, §$1 and 2
of the Tennessee Constitution and the due process provi-
sions of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the
United States Constitution and Article I, §8 of the Ten-
nessee Constitution. See Appellant’s Jurisdictional State-
ment, page A-23, § 24. However, the Tennessee Supreme
Court expressly limited its decision to one of statutory

3

construction and did not address either the state or fed-
eral constitutional issues raised by the appellant. In
particular, the Tennessee court stated the following:

The majority of this Court does not find it neces-
sary to address the constitutional issue presented by
this case because the issue may be resolved by a proper
construction of the statutes involved. Moreover, the
holding of this case is expressly limited to those city
courts that are not vested with concurrent jurisdie-
tion with a general sessions court which is an inferior
court, under T.C.A, § 6-21-501(b) or T.C.A, § 16-18-101
(Supp. 1987). The jurisdiction of these city courts is
wholly limited to traffie violations or violations of
city ordinances, as the judges of these courts have no
authority to impose fines exceeding $50.00 or to im-
pose extensive terms of imprisonment and, as a prac-
tical matter are essentially administrative judges.
Such a judge is not cloaked with the powers of a judge
of an inferior court within the meaning of Article VI,
§1. See State ex rel. Haywood v. Superintendent,
Davidson County Workhouse, 195 Tenn. 265, 270-71,
259 S.W.2d 159, 161 (1953).

Appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement, page A-61.

This Court has indicated in the past that it has no
jurisdiction to entertain an appeal where the decision of
a state court is based upon independent and adequate state
grounds. See Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1082 (1983);
Ridgeway v. Ridgeway, 454 U.S. 46, 54 (1981). The ap-
pellant argued before the courts, below, that the municipal
court of Soddy-Daisy, Tennessee was vested with concur-
rent jurisdiction of a general sessions court in Tennessee,
which is an inferior court under Article VI of the Ten-
nessee Constitution. Based upon that argument, the ap-
pellant concluded that at-will termination of the municipal

judge by the board of commissioners would be violative
of the doctrine of separation of powers under both the
Tennessee and United States Constitutions since the munic-
ipal court is part of the judicial branch of government in

Tennessee.

However, the Supreme Court of Tennessee in its de-
cision held that the municipal court of Soddy-Daisy, Ten-
nessee is not vested with concurrent jurisdiction with a
general sessions court in Tennessee under Tenn. Code Ann.
§§-6-21-501(b), 16-18-101. This holding pretermits the ap-
pellant’s federal constitutional argument since the Su-
preme Court of Tennessee concluded that judges of courts
who cannot impose fines to exceed $50.00 are as a practical
matter administrative judges and are not cloaked with the
powers of a judge of an inferior court within the meaning
of Article VI, §1 of the Tennessee Constitution. Such a de-
termination provides an independent and adequate state
ground upon which the decision of the Supreme Court of
Tennessee rests; therefore, this Court should dismiss this

appeal.”

¢ As Justice Brennan has indicated, judgments based upon
an independent and adequate state ground “not only cannot be
overturned by, (but) indeed are not even reviewable by the
Supreme Court of the United States.” Justice Brennan, State
Constitutions and the Protection of Individual Rights, 90 Harv.
Law Rev. 489, 501 (1977).

II. THE APPLICABILITY OF THE DOCTRINE

OF SEPARATION OF POWERS UNDER AR-
TICLE III, SECTION I OF THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION TO THE MUNICI-
PAL COURT OF SODDY-DAISY, TENNESSEE
DOES NOT PRESENT A SUBSTANTIAL FED-
ERAL QUESTION OVER WHICH THIS
COURT SHOULD EXERCISE ITS JURISDIC-
TION.

This Court in the case of Dreyer v. Illinois, 187 U.S.

71 (1902), stated the following with regard to the applica-
bility of the doctrine of separation of powers under Article
ITT, § 1 of the United States Constitution to State Courts:

It is only necessary now to say that, even if the
statute in question were obnoxious to the objection
now urged by plaintiff in error, it would not follow
that this Court would review a judgment of the high-
est Court of the State, which expressly or it by neces-
sary implication sustained it as constitutional. A
local statute investing a collection of persons not of
the judicial department, with the powers that are
judicial, and authorizing them to exercise the pardon-
ing power which alone belongs to the Governor of the
State, presents no question under the Constitution of
the United States. The right to the due process of
law prescribed by the Fourteenth Amendment would
not be infringed by a local statute of that character.
Whether the legislative, executive or judicial powers
of a State shall be kept all together distinet and sep-
arate, or whether persons or collections of persons
belonging to one department may, in respect to some
matters, exert powers, which strictly speaking, per-
tain to another department of government, is for the
determination of the State.

Id. at 83-84.

Subsequent to the Dreyer decision, this Court has
again and again held that the Fourteenth Amendment
leaves the States free to distribute the powers of govern-
ment as they will between their legislative and judicial
branches. See Hughes v. Superior Court of California
in and for the County of Contra Costa, 339 U.S. 460 (1950) ;
Prentiss v. Atlantic Coastline Co., 211 U.S. 210 (1908) ;
Rose v. Hodges, 423 U.S. 19 (1979); Sweazy v. State of
New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234 (1957); Mayor of the City
of Philadelphia v. Educational Equity League, 415 US.
605 (1974); Minnesota v. Cloverleaf Creamery Co., 449
U.S. 456 (1981). Thus, it is a well-established principle by
this Court that the doctrine of separation of powers under
the United States Constitution is not applicable to the
states through the Fourteenth Amendment.

The appellant’s only argument for this Court to grant
jurisdiction in this case is that the Dreyer decision should
be overruled because since the time of the Dreyer decision
in 1902, “a number of fundamental constitutional rights
have been applied to the States through the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments. ... [and that] it is essential
that the rights of the individual be protected by the ap-
plication of federal separation of powers doctrine to the
States as well.” Appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement,
pages 4-5. Beyond failing to provide any reasons why this
issue may be one of significant national importance justi-
fying this Court’s exercise of its jurisdiction, the appel-
lant’s analysis is fatally flawed.

This Court has on a number of occasions applied in-
dividual rights secured under the First Amendment to the
States through the Fourteenth Amendment. See, e.g.,

~]

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 at 303 (1940). How-
ever, the appellant in this case seeks to apply Article ITI,
§ 1 of the United States Constitution, whi h concerns the
structure of the federal government not individual liber-
ties, to the States. Such a proposition is wholly absurd.
The doctrine of separation of powers has nothing to do
with individual liberties secured under the First Amend-
ment; rather, it concerns the structure and distribution of
power among the three branches of the federal government.
As this Court has indicated, States are free to structure
their own governments in whatever manner they deem fit.

The purpose of applying the First Amendment to the
States through the Fourteenth Amendment is to ensure
that the fundamental rights of all citizens are protected.
On the other hand, how a state distributes its powers be-
tween its branches of government is a decision left to the
State not the federal government. To provide otherwise
would constitute an unwarranted intrusion by the federal
government into the structure of state governments and
effectively emasculate the well-established constitutional
doctrine of federalism.

>)

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing authorities and analyses, the
appellee respectfully requests this Court to dismiss or
affirm the appeal in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

CuarLes W. Burson
Attorney General & Reporter
State of Tennessee

[Counsel of Record]

MicHakEt W. CaTaLano
Deputy Attorney General
State of Tennessee

Anpy D. Bennett
Deputy Attorney General
State of Tennessee

Kevin StTEmLine

Assistant Attorney General
State of Tennessee

450 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, Tennessee 37219

Counsel for Appellees

a ee

bin, Mowat
4¥
OP so
_
.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0839%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
