# Supplemental Brief — Marino v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0722%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Supplemental Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 1031

## Text

87-1414 ~

jn Che = j Bei

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1987

NICHOLAS MARINO,
Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

SUPPLEMENTAL PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
PFHIRD CIRCUIT

W ASHOR, GREENBERG & WASHOR
Attorneys for Petitioner
291 Broadway
New York, NY 10007
(212) 732-2077

MICHAEL S. WASHOR
HARVEY L. GREENBERG
On thre Pe litto?

. an ry ° > 4
[) k brite inte rw, 202 Richmond Avenue @ Staten Island, New York 10302

ir (212) 608-7666 71K) 447-8358 — (516) 222-2470 (914) 682-O848

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. May a criminal defendant use the entrapment
defense when he admits committing all of the acts con-
Stituting the offense charged but denies possessing the re-
quisite criminal intent?

PARTIES

The Appellant in the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit and the defendant in the United
States District Court of New Jersey, was NICHOLAS
MARINO.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
i ieserchighintansesecsssaasensesvanesa i
aiden saruddciuadvarenuedsneeseseasnnas i
ns. ci avesavdeuecensivsecssaanenssti ill
ae bacalaneadhecewgnbidebsnsaieeaaucadec l
tila cchauvedsessnddessciascecasdesevsasacacs l
ee aise cidcdprancresdcpdtsescnlsceacsasarssencs 2
INN OMIWEEIONEG, oo occcsscnccscssncsacesesscescccancsees 2
Ort vlbicwessnedesshansesaonw nese 3
Statement of Facts Recs. GLA cccalnumaeepew es idaukcakwitonse 4
deli dcanavaciuajuasdannaseakaadanses 4
eens FOr GANTINS INE Wit ...........0ccccccccccssccssceces 5

POINT I—This Court should grant Certiorari and
summary reverse this case premised upon the recent
Decision in Mathews vs. United States wherein the
identical issue raised by Petitioner was decided
favorably, to wit, the right of Petitioner to have had
his defense of entrapment presented to the Petit Jury
when Petitioner admitted committing all of the acts
constituting the offenses charged but denied possess-
IMA CIO PRUSIEE CFIMIMIAL UNION «2... cccccccccccccccccscestes 5

iil

REET CRN NE MI Se A ME Mie ANS NETTIE 7

Appendix A—Trial Court Decisions 4/22/87 As it
pertains to this Supplemental Petition....................... la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Pages

Mathews v. U.S. __ U.S. __, 42 CRL 3069 No.
ny CIE Al OO evcanansentadcnincdscatawnencess passim

In Che
Supreme Court of the United #tates
October Term, 1987

NICHOLAS MARINO,
Petitioner,

VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

SUPPLEMENTAL PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CER-
TIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

NICHOLAS MARINO supplementally petitions this
Court to issue a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit (hereinafter Circuit

~ Court) to review the decision of that Court, which upheld
petitioner’s conviction for conspiracy to transport stolen
securities in interstate commerce and to sell and dispose of
said stolen securities in violation of Title 18 U.S.C. Sec-
tion 371, and for receipt, sale, and disposition of stolen
securities in violation of Title 18 U.S.C. Section 2315 and
Section 2, and upheld the imposition of a sentence of in-
carceration for Eighteen (18) months and a fine of Five-
Thousand ($5,000.00) Dollars.

OPINIONS BELOW
The decision and Judgment of the United States

District Court (Ackerman, J.), as pertains to the issue of
entrapment is set forth in the annexed appendix, ‘*A.’’

2

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
has not as yet been published in the official reports but is
set forth in the annexed appendix, ‘‘C’’, of Petitioner’s
Original Petition.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

This supplemental Petition seeks review of a decision
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Cir-
cuit, rendered on December 23, 1987, which decision af-
firmed petitioner’s conviction for violating the provisions
of Title 18 U.S.C., Sections 371, 2315 and 2.

The original petition was filed with this Court within
60 days of the date that the decision of the Circuit Court
was rendered on December 23, 1987.

This supplemental Petition is filed prior to any deci-
sion being rendered on the original petition in order to in-
corporate this Court’s decision in Mathews v. United
States, __ U.S. _., 42 CRL 3069, decided 2/14/88.

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28
U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

**No person shall be . . . compelled in any criminal case to
be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life, liber-
ty, Or property, without due process of law.”’

3

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

This is an appeal by the petitioner, NICHOLAS
MARINO, from a judgment of conviction had after trial
before the Court and Jury (Judge Harold A. Ackerman),
United States District Court, District of New Jersey,
whereby the said petitioner was convicted under Counts I
and III (petitioner was found not-guilty under Count II) of
Indictment Number 86-36, charging, respectively, under
Count I, conspiracy under Title 18 U.S.C. 371, to
transport stolen securities in interstate commerce and to
sell and dispose of said stolen securities; and, under Count
III, the substantive crime of receipt, sale and disposition
of stolen securities in violation of Title 18 U.S.C. 2315 &
2.

Petitioner MARINO was sentenced as follows: On
Count I, Eighteen (18) Months incarceration and a fine of
TWENTY-FIVE HUNDRED ($2,500.00) DOLLARS: On
Count III, eighteen (18) Months incarceration and a fine
of TWENTY-FIVE HUNDRED ($2,500.00) DOLLARS:
The prison sentences under Counts I & III to run concur-
rently.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third Cir-
cuit affirmed.

This supplemental petition asks this Court to review
the Circuit Court’s decision. Petitioner contends that his
Constitutional rights were denied him in that he was
deprived of the defense of entrapment although he admit-
ted all of the acts constituting the offense charged but
denied possessing the requisite criminal intent.

This Court, in Mathews v. United States, __ U.S. _,
42 CRL 3069, No. 86-6109, decided 2/24/87, resolved the
identical issue raised herein.

=== aga...

4

On appeal to the Circuit Court, petitioner raised the
issue alluded to above. The decision of the Circuit Court,
dated December 23rd, 1987, of which review is sought, re-
jected petitioner’s contentions and affirmed his convic-
tion, while recognizing the pendency of decision in U.S. v.
Mathews, supra, in this Court.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Petitioner adopts and incorporates the Statement of
Facts submitted in his original Petition, pages 4 through 9,
as if fully reiterated herein in its entirety.

PETITIONER’S DEFENSE
Petitioner adopts and incorporates statement of his

defense submitted in his original petition, pages 9 through
16, as if fully reiterated Ferein in its entirety.

REASONS FOR GRANTING REVIEW
POINT I

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
AND SUMMARILY REVERSE THIS CASE
PREMISED UPON THE RECENT DECISION IN
MATHEWS vs. UNITED STATES WHEREIN THE
IDENTICAL ISSUE RAISED BY PETITIONER
WAS DECIDED FAVORABLY, TO WIT, THE
RIGHT OF PETITIONER TO HAVE HAD HIS
DEFENSE OF ENTRAPMENT PRESENTED TO
THE PETIT JURY WHEN PETITIONER ADMIT-
TED COMMITTING ALL OF THE ACTS CON-
STITUTING THE OFFENSES CHARGED BUT
DENIED POSSESSING THE REQUISITE
CRIMINAL INTENT.

I. In the case at bar, petitioner presented evidence of the

Government inducement, initiation and solicitation and

total lack of propensity and disposition by petitioner to

violate the law.

Petitioner admitted all the acts underlying the charges

against him, but denied the element of criminal intent.

Petitioner’s timely request for an instruction of the
defense of entrapment was denied as was the post-verdict

motion which was addressed to the same issue.

In Mathews v. United States, supra, this Court, in

reversing held:

‘*We hold that even if the defendant denies one or more
elements of the crime, he is entitled to an entrapment in-
struction whenever there is sufficient evidence from which

6

a reasonable jury could find entrapment.’’ (supra, at 3070)
‘‘That a valid entrapment defense has two related
elements: government inducement of the crime, and a lack
of predisposition on the part of the defendant to engage in
the criminal conduct. (Citations omitted). Predisposition,
the principal element in the defense of entrapment .. .
focuses upon whether the defendant was an ‘‘unwary inno-
cent’’ or instead, an ‘‘unwary criminal’’ who readily avail-
ed himself of the opportunity to perpetuate the crime
(Citations omitted). The question of entrapment is general-
ly one for the jury, rather than for the Court.’’ supra, at
3070.

In the case at bar, the record is replete with evidence
that the Government, through its informer-agent, Morton
Swersky, induced, solicited and beguiled the petitioner.
The Government cannot seriously contend otherwise in
light of the overwhelming evidence of Governmental in-
ducement.

At the trial level, the Government never contended in-
sufficiency of inducement by the Government agent
(Swersky); nor did they raise that issue on appeal in the
Third Circuit.

Petitioner introduced evidence demonstrating his lack
of predisposition to commit any of the crimes charged.
This evidence was not controverted and stands uncon-
tradicted.

In sum, the two related elements of the defense of en-
trapment, government inducement and lack of predisposi-
tion to violate the law, were fully evidenced at trial.

All that remains is the application of the law as pro-
mulgated and enunciated in Mathews, supra, to the instant
petition, where petitioner properly preserved the issue for
review.

CONCLUSION

Upon the facts and the principles of law outlined
above, it is urged that this Court issue a Writ of Certioriari
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Cir-
cuit and review the decision of that Court or, alternatively,
Summarily reverse the instant case in light of Mathews vs.
United States, remanding the matter to the Third Circuit
Court of Appeals directing entry of judgment in accor-
dance with this Court’s decision rendered in Mathews v.
United States.

Respectfully submitted,

WASHOR, GREENBERG & WASHOR
Attorneys for Petitioner
291 Broadway
New York, NY 10007
(212) 732-2077

MICHAEL S. WASHOR
HARVEY L. GREENBERG
On the Petition

la

APPENDIX A - TRIAL COURT DECISION 4/22/87
AS PERTINENT TO THE SUPPLEMENTAL PETI-
TION

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

CRIMINAL ACTION NO. 86-36

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.
.

NICHOLAS MARINO, et al.,
Defendants.

Samuel Alito, Esq

United States Attorney

by: Daniel J. Bibbons, Esq.
Asst. United States Attorney
970 Broad Street

Newark, New Jersey 07102

Michael S. Washor, Esq.
Washor, Greenberg & Washor
291 Broadway

New York, New York 10007
Attorneys for Defendant Marino

2a

OPINION
ACKERMAN, District Judge.

This is a criminal action brought by the United States
Government against defendant Nicholas Marino and
others, alleging violations of federal criminal prohibitions
against interstate dealings in stolen securities. Before me
now are defendant Marino’s motions for post-conviction
relief.

In September and October, 1986, Marino was tried
before a jury in this court on two counts of dealings in and
One count of conspiring to deal in stolen bearer bonds
moving in interstate commerce, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
Sections 2315, 2 and 371. On October 2, 1986, defendant
was convicted by the jury on Count I of the indictment,
which stated the conspiracy charge, and Count III of the
indictment, which stated one of the two charges of dealing
in stolen bearer bonds. Defendant was acquitted on Count
II, the other charge of dealing in stolen bearer bonds.

Defendant has moved for arrest of judgment, relief
from the verdict, and a new trial, on the following
grounds:. .. .that the verdict was contrary to law (and)
that the interest of justice demands a newtrial,. . . .I shall
consider each of these grounds in turn.

Defendant’s grounds for relief, that the verdict was
contrary to law (and) that the interest of justice demands a
new trial, are all based on the following more specific con-
tentions: that the court committed an error of law when it
refused to instruct the jury on the law of entrapment; that
the court committed errors of law in regard to each of
defendant’s request to charge the jury, and exceptions to
the jury charge which the court denied; I shall discuss each
of these contentions in turn.

In order to assert a defense of entrapment in this cir-
cuit, a defendant must first admit his ‘‘guilt of the crime

3a

charged and all of its elements, including the required
mental state.’’ U.S. v. Hill, 655 F.2d 512, 514 (3d Cir.
1981) (citing U.S. v. Watson, 489 F.2d 504 (3d Cir. 1973),
cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1039 (1984). See Government of the
Virgin Islands v. Braithewaite, 782 F.2d 399 (3d Cir.
1986). The Third Circuit has specifically rejected the alter-
native view that an entrapment charge may be given once a
defendant admits only the ‘‘operative facts’’ of the
charge, and not each element specifically, including the re-
quisite mental state. U.S. v. Janotti, 673 F.2d 578, 601 (3d
Cir. 1982). Defendant Marino never did admit the mental
states with which he was charged under any of the three
counts in the indictment, including the two counts on
which he was convicted, Counts I and III. Therefore, his
request for an entrapment charge was properly denied at
the time it was made, and does not at this time constitute
an error of law requiring relief from the jury verdict.

In conclusion, I find that no error was made in refus-
ing to charge the jury on entrapment; that other
unspecified rulings of the court denying requests to charge
the jury, and exceptions to the jury charge made by defen-
dant do not require reconsideration.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0722%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
