# Reply Brief — Bemis Pentecostal Church v. Tennessee

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0617%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 1029

## Text

‘)

No. 87-317 ~~ |
| een, a) we dRar
IN THE %

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1987

BEMIS PENTECOSTAL CHURCH, et al.,
Appellants,
v.
STATE OF TENNESSEE, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal From The Judgment Of The Supreme Court
Of The State Of Tennessee

APPELLANTS’ BRIEF IN RESPONSE TO
MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

LEE BooTHBY

(Counsel of Record)

JAMES. M. PARKER
Boorusy, ZIPRICK & YINGST
208 W. Mars Street

Berrien Springs, MI 49103
(616) 471-7787

MICHAEL T. TABOR

202 W. Baltimore

Jackson, TN 38301

Of Counsel (901) 424-3074
ALBERT P. BLAUSTEIN Ivy E. SCARBOROUGH
Rutgers University 203 E. Main Street
Law School Jackson, TN'38301
Camden, New Jersey 08012 (901) 423-0037
Counsel for Appellants

PRESS OF RAM PRINTING, HYATTSVILLE, MD 20781 (301) 864-6662

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I a ee vaiaa
PE aS re eee ee

I. THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF DISCLOSURE
REQUIREMENTS IN REFERENDA Is Not SETTLED
Rie ee Rees Ee a ot LS walek wiglaitwe ada 0

II. A SuBSTANTIVE ISSUE PRESENTED IN THIS CASE
Is THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF THE APPLICATION
To CHURCHES OF A CAMPAIGN DISCLOSURE LAW
Tuat Acts As A Prior RESTRAINT. ...........

Ill. WHETHER ACTUAL PROOF OF THE STATE’S
INTEREST Is NECESSARY Is A QUESTION OF SuB-
STANTIAL CONSTITUTIONAL MAGNITUDE. ......

Cs lig Bie Or, tn ua me

Co +]

cc i

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page

American Civil Liberties Union v. Jennings, 366 F.Supp.
1041 (D. D.C. 1973), vacated as moot sub nom Staats

v. ACLU, 422 U.S. 1080 (1975) ....... 02. cceecees 5
Brown v. Hartlage, 456 U.S. 45 (1982) ............... 3
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) (per curiam). .... 2, 3, 4
Citizens Against Rent Control v. Berkeley, 454 U.S. 290

- COBBRK ov cksib nse a cd cwe eee 2,4
Commonwealth v. Dennis, 368 Mass. 92, 329 N.E.2d 706

4: | See ferry err Ce ey Oe 3
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 485 U.S. 765

tA ere PAbS ry hoy fe te ee 2,4
Heffron v. International Society for Krishna Consci-

oneness, 458 U.S. GOO CURBED) i iki icin cccsccdascss 4

Iowans for Tax Relief v. The CIT Finance Dis-
_ closure Commission, 331 N.W.2d 862 (lowa), appeal
dismissed, 464-U.S. 879 (1983). ............02000- 5, 6
Meese v. Kenne, ___._ U.S. ___.,, 107 S.Ct. 1862 (1987) . 6
Metromedia, Inc. v. San Diego, 453 U.S. 490 (1981).... 3,4
New Jersey Citizen Action v. Edison Township, 797 F.2d
1250 (3d Cir. 1986), cert. denied sub nom Piscataway
Township v. New Jersey Citizen Action, 107 S.Ct.

SE oss ocdcvencnncnisceaaeeeeenre 7
New York Civil Liberties Union v. Acito, 459 F.Supp. 75

Ge Be we MOE. cs kins 40440004 0n0o eee 5
United States v. National Committee for Impeachment,

SED Fe Se Ce Cle BTR nk oon s vc cccanccccccdas 5
CONSTITUTION:
United States Constitution Amendment One........ 1, 4,5
STATUTE:

Tennessee Campaign Financial Disclosure Act of 1980,

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 87-317

BEMIS PENTECOSTAL, et al.,
Appellants,
V.

STATE OF TENNESSEE, et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal From The Judgment Of The Supreme Court
Of The State Of Tennessee

APPELLANTS’ BRIEF IN RESPONSE TO
MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

ARGUMENT

I. THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF DISCLOSURE
REQUIREMENTS IN REFERENDA IS NOT SET-
TLED LAW.

The appellees’ motion to dismiss or affirm reveals the
very reasons that this Court should grant plenary review
of this case. Upon inspection, the appellees’ attempts to
show that the question of the constitutionality under the
First Amendment of campaign financial disclosure laws in

- :
referenda presented by this case is settled law ends up
emphasizing how unsettled and important the question is.

The appellees cook up a muddled stew to show that the
issue of the constitutionality of disclosure requirements in
referenda campaigns has been clearly decided by implica-
tion, an argument that seems self-contradicting. They
take selected facts from various cases to approximate the
situation in this case, add a dash of reasoning from one
case and generous helpings of dicta from others, and come
to the conclusion that this case presents no substantial
federal question. The appellees point to the disclosure
requirements in the stdtute upheld in Buckley v. Valeo,
424 U.S. 1(1976) (per curiam), and the fact that referenda
were at issue in first National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti,
435 U.S. 765 (1978), and Citizens Against Rent Control v.
City of Berkeley, 454 U.S. 290 (1981), and rely heavily on
brief dicta contained in Citizens Against Rent Control
and Bellotti. What they ignore is that the state interest
recognized in Buckley and which the appellees specifi-
cally relied on below has been limited by this Court to
candidate elections; that disclosure requirements were
not at issue in Citizens Against Rent Control and Bellotti;
and, that no compelling state interest was recognized in
Bellotti or Citizens Against Rent Control as justifying
any restriction on free speech in referenda.

In order to paper over some of the holes in their reason-
ing, the appellees now assert that the compelling state
interest primarily served by the Tennessee Campaign
Financial Disclosure Act of 1980 is informing the electo-
rate of how referendum campaigns are financed. In the
court below, the appellees repeatedly relied on the state
interest of preventing corruption recognized in Buckley.
They argued that even though there are no candidates to
corrupt in a referendum, the process itself could be cor-

3

rupted. Informing the public of how referendum cam-
paigns were financed was the chosen means to prevent
this corruption. Now the state has elevated this means to
a compelling interest in itself. Unfortunately for
appellees, this Court has never recognized a state interest
in informing the electorate as justifying restrictions on
free speech during campaigns. In fact, the Court has
specifically rejected as justification for campaign speech
restrictions the interest of maintaining an informed elec-
torate. Brown v. Hartlage, 456 U.S. 45 (1982), accord
Commonwealth v. Dennis, 329 N.E.2d 706 (Mass. 1975).
The fact, accurately pointed out by appellees, that the
restrictions in those cases were of a different nature than
the disclosure requirements here cannot by some reverse
reasoning establish that this interest will justify dis-
closure requirements.

Finally, and most importantly, the appellees ignore the:
fact that the statute at issue here contains more than what
appellees constantly characterize as “simple disclosure
requirements.” This statute operates as a prior restraint.
Even the passage from Buckley, 424 U.S. at 81-82, cited
by appellees in their motion (p. 11-12), recognizes that
systems of prior restraint are harder to justify than dis-
closure requirements.

Appellees have attempted to portray the issue in this
case as settled law by drawing parallels, analogies, and
conclusions that not only are unsupported by this Court’s
precedents but represent an improper method of constitu-
tional analysis.

Because regulation of the noncommunicative aspects
of a medium often impinges to some degree on the
communicative aspects, it has been necessary for the
courts to reconcile the government’s regulartory
interests with the individual’s right to expression.

4

“A] court may not escape the task of assessing the
First Amendment interest at stake and weighing it
against the public interest allegedly served by the
a, ” Linmark Associates, Inc. v.
Willingboro, 431 U.S. 85, 91 (1977), quoting Bigelow
v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809, 826 (1975). Performance of
this task requires a particularized inquiry into the
nature of the conflicting interests at stake here,
beginning with a precise appraisal of the character of
the ordinance as it affects communication.

Metromedia, Inc. v. San Diego, 453 U.S. 490, 502-503
(1981) (opinion of White, J.). Therefore, this Court's deci-
sion in cases involving other statutes with other types of
restrictions cannot be relied upon as settling this case. It
should be noted that the decisions in Buckley, Bellotti,
and Citizens Against Rent Control, which the appellees
argue have clearly decided the issue in this case, are the
very decisions that the Tennessee Court of Appeals relied
on to reach the opposite conclusion. To determine
whether the burden on First Amendment rights imposed
by the Tennessee statute is constitutional, a precise
appraisal of the character of that ordinance, the interest
purportedly served, and its effect on free speech is
required.

II. ASUBSTANTIAL ISSUE PRESENTED IN THIS CASE
IS THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF THE APPLICA-
TION TO CHURCHES OF A CAMPAIGN DIS-
CLOSURE LAW THAT ACTS AS A PRIOR
RESTRAINT.

The appellees also assert that the appellants have not
presented any substantial question regarding the applica-
tion of the Act to nonpolitical groups and churches in
particular. The main thrust of their argument is based on
Heffron v. International Society for Krishna Consci-
ousness, 452 U.S. 640 (1981), and the notion that some

5

principle of fairness requires applying the Act to all
organizations. This argument reverses the normal
requirement that the state must prove the necessity of a
broad application of an act restrictive of First Amend-
ment rights and places the burden on appellants to prove
an exemption is required. As stated in the appellants’
Jurisdictional Statement, broad application of campaign
registration and disclosure acts to nonpolitical groups has
been rejected by lower federal courts. New York Civil
Liberties Union v. Acito, 459 F.Supp. 75 (S.D. N.Y. 1978);
American Civil Liberties Union v. Jennings, 366 F.Supp.
1041 (D. D.C. 1973), vacated as moot sum nom Staats v.
ACLU, 422 U.S. 1030 (1975); United States v. National
Committee for Impeachment, 469 F.2d 1135 (2d Cir.
1972).

Appellees’ attempt to distinguish National Committee
for Impeachment and Jennings by saying that those deci-
sions turned on the nature of the statements made (i.e.,
whether or not they were outcome specific) rather than
the nature of the orgnizations making those statements, is
simply not an accurate characterization of those decisions.
| Appellees cite Jowans for Tax Relief v. The Campaign
Finance Disclosure Commission, 331 N.W.2d 862
(lowa), appeal dismissed, 464 U.S. 879 (1983), for the
proposition that this Court has already determined that
; application of campaign financial disclosure requirements
) to organizations not created for the support or defeat of
candidates or ballot issues présents no substantial federal
question. That case does not support such a proposition.

The Iowa law involved in that case limited the definition
of political committees to organizations “organized for the
purpose of accepting contributions, making expen-
ditures, or incurring indebtedness. . . for the purpose of
supporting or opposing a candidate for public office or

teem

6
ballot measure.” 331 N.W.2d at 864. The appellant in
Iowans for Tax Relief amended its articles of incorpora-
tion to show a corporate purpose of promoting the passage
of a particular ballot measure. Jd. at 865. It was this
articulated corporate purpose that brought the appellant
within the scope of the Act. Jd. at 866.

The issue presented in this case, application of the
Tennessee Act to churches, is significantly different, in a
constitutional sense, from application of the Lowa law toa
group whose primary function is lobbying and whose
corporate charter reflects a purpose to win passage of a
particular ballot measure. Further, the questions pre-
sented, as framed in the Jurisdictional Statement filed in
this Court, did not present the issue to this Court as it is
presented by this case. The only question presented in
Iowans for Tax Relief regarding the nature of the organi-
zations subject to the Iowa Act read as follows:

Whether the requirement that a nonpartisan organi-
zation of continuous existence file detailed reports
every 30 days following an election until the o -
tion is dissolved is an unconstitutional burden on
associational rights of permanent organizations?

(Jurisdictional Statement filed in Jowans for Tax Relief v.

The Campaign Finance Disclosure Committee, No.
83-101, at 4).

Appellees’ citation to Meese v. Kenne, __. U.S. —__.,
107 S.Ct. 1862 (1987), and the accompanying argument
trivializes the appellants’ objections to the Tennessee
Act. Their objections are not based upon the pejorative
connotations of the word “political.” Rather, they object
to registering with the state as a precondition to exercis-
ing their right to address moral and ethical issues in the
public forum. Further, to classify churches as political
campaign committee distorts their religious role in the

ee ae

7

eyes of those to whom they seek to minister. Such a state-
imposed restriction on appellants’ ministry has had the
effect of chilling their free exercise of religion and would
draw churches into entangling subservience to govern-
ment (Tr 15, 66-67; see also Exhibit 7; App. p. 57a).
Appellants’ objections are theologically based (Tr 42,
111), thus impacting on their First Amendment rights.

Ill. WHETHER ACTUAL PROOF OF THE STATE’S
INTEREST IS NECESSARY IS A QUESTION OF
SUBSTANTIAL CONSTITUTIONAL MAGNITUDE.

Appellees argue that appellants will become intermedi-
aries for funneling large contributions from those wishing
to avoid the Act (Motion to Dismiss or Affirm, p. 19) and
accuse the appellants of ignoring the conclusions of the
Tennessee Supreme Court regarding the justifictation for
the Act’s requirements (Motion to Dismiss or Affirm, p.
26). It is not that appellants ignore the Tennessee
Supreme Court’s conclusions, it is just that those con-
clusions are unsupported by the record, as is appellees’
argument that appellants act as some sort of intermedi-
aries. Appellees do not seem bothered by this lack of
record support. They end their motion by stating that
there is “no necessity of putting on proof” of the compell-
ing state interest asserted.

Once again, appellees misunderstand the nature of con-
stitutional litigation.

“In general, constitutional litigation demands fact
analysis of the most particularized kind.” Karsi, Leg-
islative Facts in Constitutional Litigation, 1960 Sup.
Ct. Rev. 75, 75. In the First Amendment area
especially, the Supreme Court has stressed the need
for “a particularized inquiry into the nature of the
interests at stake.” Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 503. It
is questionable whether “assumtions and widely-held

8

beliefs” have a role to play in such an analysis.

New Jersey Citizens Action v. Edison Township, 797 F.2d
1250 (3d Cir. 1986), cert. denied sub nom Piscataway

Township v. New Jersey Citizen Action, 107 S.Ct. 1336

(1987).

CONCLUSION

The issues presented by this case are substantial and

unsettled questions of federal constitutional law. They
affect the most fundamental constitutional rights of
appellants and should be decided after plenary review by

this Court.

LEE BOOTHBY

(Counsel of Record)
JAMES. M. PARKER .
BooTHBY, ZIPRICK & YINGST
208 W. Mars Street
Berrien Springs, MI 49103
(616) 471-7787

MICHAEL T. TABOR

202 W. Baltimore

Jackson, TN 38301

(901) 424-3074

Ivy E. SCARBOROUGH

203 E. Main Street
Jackson, TN 38301

(901) 423-0037

Counsel for Appellants

Of Counsel

ALBERT P. BLAUSTEIN
Rutgers University

Law School
Camden, New Jersey 08012

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0617%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
