# Jurisdictional Statement — Cahoon v. Alton Packaging Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0553%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 482 U.S. 922

## Text

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

LEO CAHOON,
Appellant,

VS.

ALTON PACKAGING CORPORATION,
JEFFERSON SMURFIT CORPORATION, and
JEFFERSON SMURFIT GROUP, LTD.,

Appellees.

On Appeal From The Appellate Court
of Illinois, Fifth District

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

JAMES R. MENDILLO

FREEARK, HARVEY, MENDILLO &
DENNIS

115 West Washington Street

Post Office Box 423

Belleville, Illinois 62222

(618) 233-2686

Eric JACKSTADT

Pratt & CALLIS

1326 Niedringhaus Avenue
Granite City, Illinois 62040
(618) 452-1323

Counsel for Appellant
April 27, 1987

4 ~

St. Louis Law Printing Co.,Inc., 411 No. Tenth Street 63101 314-231-4477

_ eee

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Illinois Human Rights Act, ///. Rev. Stat. ch. 68,
§8-111(C) (1985), formerly ///. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §8-111(D)
(1983), as enacted or construed, violates the Supremacy Clause
of the United States Constitution by prohibiting the filing of
claims under the federal Age Discrimination in Employment
Act (ADEA) 29 U.S.C. §621, et seq, in Illinois courts, unless
state administrative remedies have been exhausted, contrary to
the express terms of the ADEA.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
re rr err er 1
SEI ee Ore er eee er ee |
Constitutional Provisions and Statutes ............... 2
How The Federal Question Was Raised .............. 4
i ede fad as ck Keesastyasascsans 4
pp | Pee ereeeeeerers Teer ere 7
LE aa ie a a ner SP Pa 14
Appendix:

A - Opinion of the Appellate Court of Illinois,
ee Pg ra Ena aids dik wee @ 3 A-1
B- Order Denying Petition For Rehearing ...... A-6
C- Order Denying Leave to Appeal............ A-7

D - Notice of Appeal filed 3- 9-87 .............. A-8

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases:
Baldwin v. Sears Roebuck & Co., 667 F.2d 458 (Sth Cir.

EL SAR DEARSE RTA eR KE DR LER Caer hd bas 8
Brown v. Gerdes, 321 U.S. 178, 64 S.Ct. 487, 88 L.Ed.

Es ob x 6a cence da ceeiewahe és 1]
Cahoon v. Alton Packaging Corp., 148 Ill.App.3d 480,

499 N.E.2d 522, 101 Ill.Dec. 934 (Sth Dist. 1986) .. 5
Claflin v. Houseman, 93 U.S. 130, 23 L.Ed. 833 (1876) . 10
Eagleburger v. City of Springfield, 677 S.W.2d 914

Ss SUNG EE in kev iw de ws seed ek ewes 8
Federal Energy Regulatory Com’n v. Mississippi, 456

U.S. 742, 102 S.Ct. 2126, 72 L.Ed. 2d 532 (1982) .. 10
Jacobi v. High Point Label, Inc., 442 F.Supp. 518

Fe gs re ge rae ee ee 8
Kremer v. Chemical Construction Co., 456 U.S. 461,

102 S.Ct. 1883, 72 L.Ed.2d 262 (1982)........... 12
Norfolk & W. Ry. Co. v. Liepelt. 444 U.S. 490, 100

S.Ct. 755, 62 L.Ed. 2d 689 (1980) ............... 12
Oscar Mayer & Company v. Evans, 441 U.S. 750, 99

S.Ct. 2066, 60 L.Ed. 2d 609 (1979) ............. 9, 10, 14
Regan v. Kroger Grocery & Baking Co., 386 Ill. 284,

ee IS 6 b's Sh ak oe ad caaacdcanseedé 11
Ruth v. Aurora Sanitary District, 17 Ill.2d 11, 158

Pe, oes ite eee aes a 8
Second Employers’ Liability Cases (Mondou v. New

York, N.H. & H.R. Co.), 223 U.S. 1, 32 S.Ct. 169,

ee Es 6. 6c 54.004 54 0G e eas ARE Coe 10

SPER ee

Vv

Skilling v. Skilling, 104 Ill.App.3d 213, 432 N.E.2d

WN NE I sh sine ree 8
Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386, 67 S.Ct. 810, 91 L.Ed. 967

OIRO GE rire torments epee Revises 10, 11
Whitfield v. City of Knoxville, 756 F.2d 455 (6th Cir.

PO is santas cates SIRE Me oror tte 12

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes:

Constitution of the United States, Article VI, Section 2

(Supremacy Clause) ........ccccccscccsccceees ee
62 Stat. 929, as amended, 28 U.S.C. §1257(2) ......... 2
81 Stat. 604, as amended, 29 U.S.C. §626(c)(1)........ 2, 8, 13
81 Stat. O07, DUB. FESS ook cc ccccscnccccenceess 3,4,9
62 Stat. 971, as amended, 28 U.S.C. §2403(b) ......... 2

Illinois Human Rights Act, Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §1-101
ae 4. rer er rrrerr Tre er eT 3, 3, 14, &3

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

LEO CAHOON,
Appellant,

Vs.

ALTON PACKAGING CORPORATION,
JEFFERSON SMURFIT CORPORATION, and
JEFFERSON SMURFIT GROUP, LTD.,

Appellees.

On Appeal From The Appellate Court
of Illinois, Fifth District

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Appellate Court of Illinois, Fifth District,
attached as Appendix A, is reported at 148 IIl.App.3d 480, 499
N.E.2d 522, 101 Ill.Dec. 934 (Sth Dist. 1986), leave to appeal
denied (February 6, 1987).

JURISDICTION

Leo Cahoon, Appellant, appeals from the judgment and deci-
sion of the Appellate Court of Illinois, Fifth Judicial District,
which was entered September 24, 1986. This decision reversed a
jury verdict and judgment for Leo Cahoon entered in the trial

court on November 4, 1985, under a claim made pursuant to the
federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, 29
U.S.C. §621 et seg. (1985). A Petition for Rehearing was denied
by the Appellate Court on November 7, 1986, and a Petition for
Appeal as a Matter of Right, or, Alternatively, for Leave to Ap-
pec! to the Illinois Supreme Court was denied by that court on
February 6, 1987.

A Notice of Appeal to this Court was filed in the Appellate
Court of Illinois, Fifth District, on March 9, 1987, with Proof
of Service.

This appeal is being docketed in this Court within 90 days
after the denial of the Petition for Appeal as a Matter of Right,
or, Alternatively, for Leave to Appeal.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 'J.S.C.
§1257(2). 28 U.S.C. §2403(b) may be applicable to this cause.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS & STATUTES
Supremacy Clause, United States Constitution, Article VI §2:

Fhis Constitution, and the Laws of the United States
which shall be made in pursuance thereof; and all Treaties
made, or which shall be made, under the Authority of the
United States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and
the Judges in every State shall be bound thereby, any
Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the Con-
trary notwithstanding.

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. §626(c)(1)
(1985):

Any person aggrieved may bring a civil action in any court
of competent jurisdiction for such legal or equitable relief—
as will effectuate the purposes of this chapter... .

—

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. $633 (1985):
___Federal-State Relationship
(a) Federal action superseding state action.

Nothing in this chapter shall affect the jurisdiction of any
agency of any State performing like functions with regard
to discriminatory employment practices on account of age
except that upon commencement of action under this
chapter such action shall supersede any State action.

(b) Limitation of Federal action upon commencement of
State proceedings:

In the case of an alleged unlawful practice occurring in a
State which has a law prohibiting discrimination in
employment because of age and establishing or authorizing
a State authority to grant or seek relief from such
discriminatory practice, no suit may be brought under
§626 of this Title before the expiration of sixty days after
proceedings have been commenced under the State law,
unless such proceedings have been earlier terminated... .

Illinois Human Rights Act, J//. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §8-111(C)
(1985), formerly ///. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §8-111(D) (1983)':

Except as otherwise provided by law, no court of this state
shail have jurisdiction over the subject of an alleged civil
rights violation other than as set forth in this Act.

' Public Act of Illinois, 84-717, effective Jan. 1, 1986, redesignated
_former subdivision (D) as (C).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND HOW THE FEDERAL
AND CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTION WAS RAISED

Plaintiff Leo Cahoon was fired from his employment with
defendants as corrugator supervisor on November 30, 1981. He
had been employed by defendants for 16 years and was 60 years
old when terminated. (R. 138, 150-151).

Plaintiff filed a formal charge of age discrimination with the
Illinois Human Rights Commission and the federal Equal
Emplovment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) on February
18, 1982. (R. Appendix A-1). After waiting in excess of the 60
days required by 29 U.S.C. §633(b), on August 11, 1982, plain-
tiff filed his Complaint alleging age discrimination in violation
of the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (hereinafter
ADEA) in the Illinois Circuit Court, Third Judicial Circuit,
Madison County, Illinois. (C. 2). Defendants did not seek
removal of this suit.

On December 14, 1982, defendants filed an Objection to the
Jurisdiction of the Illinois Human Rights Commission and a
Motion to Stay on the basis that an ADEA action was pending
in the Circuit Court, and that pursuant to the ADEA, 29 U.S.C.
§633(a), the state administrative proceeding was superseded. (R.
Appendix C-3). Plaintiff agreed, and the Illinois Human Rights
Commission ordered the administrative proceeding stayed pen-
ding the outcome of the state court suit. (R. Appendix C-4).

Thereafter, the ADEA claim went to trial before a jury in the
Madison County Circuit Court in February, 1985. At no time in
the trial court did defendants object or question subject matter
jurisdiction. The jury returned a verdict for plaintiff under the
ADEA in the amount of $67,500.00 for past lost wages. (R.
505, C. 183). The trial court awarded an additional $147,310.00
in future wages and benefits, attorneys’ fees and costs, pursuant
to the parties’ stipulation that these elements of damage under
the ADEA would be assessed by the court. (C. 267). Defen-

— won

\

dants filed a timely Notice of Appeal to the Appellate Court of
Illinois, Fifth District, and on January 13, 1986 filed their Ap-
pellants’ Brief.

Defendants raised eight points in their Appellate brief, one
being that the Illinois Circuit Court lacked subject matter
jurisdiction over ADEA claims on the basis of Section 8-111(C)
of the Illinois Human Rights Act, J//. Rev. Stat. ch. 68,
§8-111(C) (formerly ch. 68, §8-111(D) (1983)). This was the
first time this contention had been made in either the ad-
ministrative or judicial forum.

The Appellate Court reversed the judgment outright, agree-
ing that Illinois Circuit Courts did not have subject matter
jurisdiction of ADEA claims ‘‘unless state administrative
remedies have been exhausted’’ and suggesting that Illinois
courts could decline to hear ADEA suits and require that they
be processed through the state administrative agency only.
Cahoon v. Alton Packaging Corp., 148 Ill.App.3d 480, 499
N.E.2d 522, 101 Ill.Dec. 934 (Sth Dist. 1986).

Plaintiff timely filed a Petition for Rehearing asserting the
unconstitutionality of the Illinois statute (///. Rev. Stat. ch. 68,
§8-111(C), formerly J//. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §8-111(D)), and assert-
ing that exhaustion of state administrative remedies, which had
not been argued by defendants, was not required. The question
of the subject matter jurisdiction of the Illinois Courts for
ADEA claims was thus first raised in the Appellate Court briefs
of both parties. That the Illinois legislature had no authority to
restrict or reject substantive rights created by Congress, as a
matter of preemption, was first raised in plaintiff’s Appellate
Court brief. The specific assertion that ch. 68 §8-111(D), as
enacted or as construed, violated the Supremacy Clause, was
first specifically stated in plaintiff’s Petition for Rehearing after
the Appellate Court ruled that this statute required a plaintiff to
follow the state administrative framework, an argument not ad-
vanced by defendants in their brief and therefore not addressed
by plaintiff in response.

—_—

Plaintiff’s Petition for Rehearing was denied by the Appellate
Court, and subsequently plaintiff’s Petition for Appeal as a
Matter of Right, or, Alternatively for Leave to Appeal was
denied by the Illinois Supreme Court.

oe, oom

THE QUESTION IS SUBSTANTIAL

As a result of the decision appealed from, Illinois now pro-
hibits access to its courts by ADEA claimants until state ad-
ministrative remedies are exhausted, contrary to the express
language of the federal statute and contrary to established
federal law. This state-imposed requirement violates the doc-
trine of preemption under the Supremacy Clause of the United
States Constitution (U.S. Const., Art. VI §2). The result is to
impose burdens upon an ADEA plaintiff in Illinois that exist in
no other state, and to undermine the very efficacy that the
ADEA intended to promote by explicitly addressing this ques-
tion and eliminating any exhaustion of remedies requirement.

The decision by the Illinois Appellate Court has overturned
the well recognized and accepted procedures for handling
ADEA claims, at least in the State of Illinois. It is submitted
that if this decision is not reviewed, other states will undoubted-
ly adopt its rationale. Ultimately, Illinois, and other states, will
presumably apply its rationale to other civil rights suits, e.g., 42
U.S.C. §1983, if for no other reason than to alleviate their
allegedly congested dockets. Plaintiff will demonstrate that (1)
Illinois courts have concurrent jurisdiction of ADEA claims; (2)
exhaustion of state administrative remedies is not required; (3) a
requirement of exhaustion of remedies violates the Supremacy
Clause of the U.S. Constitution; (4) mandatory use of the II-
linois administrative forum provided denies substantial rights;
and (5) reversal is required not only to correct the error as to this
plaintiff, but also for other ADEA plaintiffs whose claims have
been or may be essentially extinguished in Illinois by this deci-
sion.

Plaintiff’s cause of action was based on the federal Age
Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA), 29 U.S.C.
$621 ef seq. It is evident from the statutory language, legislative
history and case law that the United States Congress determined
that state and federal courts would have concurrent jurisdic-

sil nia

tion, which grants plaintiff his choice of forum in either a state
or federal court. 29 U.S.C. §626(c)(1) states:

Any person aggrieved may bring a civil action in any court
of competent jurisdiction for such legal or equitable relief
as will effectuate the purposes of this chapter... . (em-
phasis added).

In Jacobi v. High Point Label, Inc., 442 F.Supp. 518
(M.D.N.C. 1977), the court pointed out:

Clearly, Congress intended for a person aggrieved by a
violation of the Age Discrimination Act to have the right
to bring his action in state court. 442 F.Supp. at 521.

The legislative history also states that the ADEA provides for
concurrent jurisdiction. 1967 U.S. Cong. & Ad. News (90th
Cong.) 2213 at 2218. Eagleburger v. City of Springfield, 677
S.W.2d 914, 915 (Mo. Ct.App. 1984) reached the same result
and held that Missouri trial courts had subject matter jurisdic-
tion of an ADEA claim. See also, Baldwin v. Sears Roebuck &
Co., 667 F.2d 458, 461 (Sth Cir. 1982). No cases have held to
the contrary.

Illinois circuit courts are courts of competent and general
jurisdiction. Ill. Const. Art. VI §7 (1970), provides:

Circuit courts shall have original jurisdiction of all
justiciable matters... .

The Illinois legislature may not deprive Illinois circuit courts of
their original jurisdiction, nor can their jurisdiction be changed
or abridged by an act of the legislature. Ruth v. Aurora
Sanitary District, 17 l.2d 11, 158 N.E.2d 601, 605 (1959), and
Skilling v. Skilling, 104 Ill.App.3d 213, 432 N.E.2d 881, 886 (ist
Dist. 1982).

The conclusion of the Illinois Appellate Court that an Illinois
court must dismiss an ADEA case ‘‘unless state administrative

—

remedies have been exhausted’’, 499 N.E.2d 523, 524, directly
contradicts the ADEA itself and decisions of this Court. 29
U.S.C. §633, entitled Federal-State Relationship, provides:

(a) Federal action superseding State action.

Nothing in this chapter shall affect the jurisdiction of any
agency of any State performing like functions with regard
to discriminatory employment practices on account of age
except that upon commencement of action under this
chapter such action shall supersede any State action. (em-
phasis added).

It further provides:

(b) Limitation of Federal action upon commencement of
State proceedings.

a

In the case of an alleged unlawful practice occurring in a
State which has a law prohibiting discrimination in
employment because of age and establishing or authorizing
a State authority to grant or seek relief from such
discriminatory practice, no suit may be brought under
§626 of this Title before the expiration of 60 days after pro-
ceedings have been commenced under the State law, unless
such proceedings have been earlier terminated . . . . (em-
phasis added).

In Oscar Mayer and Company v. Evans, 441 U.S. 750, 99
S.Ct. 2066, 60 L.Ed. 2d 609 (1979), this Court specifically ad-
dressed and rejected the assertion that exhaustion of state ad-
ministrative remedies was required. This Court held that
§633(b) was intended to give state agencies only a /imited oppor-
tunity to resolve problems of employment discrimination and to
screen those cases capable of early resolution. 441 U.S. at 755.
This Court concluded that besides commencement of state ad-
ministrative proceedings more than 60 days prior to filing a
complaint, no other obligations were placed on ADEA
claimants. 441 U.S. at 759. In this case, plaintiff followed this

ane Minn

directive by waiting 173 days after commencing his state ad-
ministrative proceeding before filing his civil suit. There is no
question that plaintiff has complied with all ADEA statutory re-
quirements, and had his suit been filed in federal court, it would
be ‘‘on all fours’’ with the holding in Oscar Mayer & Company
v. Evans, 441 U.S. 750, 99 S.Ct. 2066, 60 L.Ed. 2d 609 (1979).

Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386, 67 S.Ct. 810, 91 L.Ed. 967 (1947)
held that states are not free to refuse enforcement of a valid
federal statute. At issue in Testa was a claim under the federal
Emergency Price Control Act which gave jurisdiction to ‘‘any
court of competent jurisdiction’’, just as the ADEA does. The
Rhode Island Supreme Court ruled that Rhode Island courts
could decline to hear such a suit which it said was based on a
foreign penal statute. The United S.ates Supreme Court revers-
ed and held that Rhode Island could not decline or refuse to
hear such a suit.

According to Testa, earlier Supreme Court cases had
repudiated the assumption that federal laws can be considered
by the states as emanating from a foreign sovereign and held
that when Congress speaks through legislation, such legislation
becomes the policy of every state and ‘‘should be respected ac-
cordingly in the courts of the States.’’ 330 U.S. at 391, 392.
Testa held that the state court had ‘‘jurisdiction adequate and
appropriate under established local law to adjudicate this ac-
tion.’’ 330 U.S. at 394.

That the obligation of states to enforce federal laws rests
squarely in the Supremacy Clause was verified in Federal
Energy Regulatory Com’n v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 102
S.Ct. 2126, 72 L.Ed. 2d 532 (1982). This case also rejected the
notion that states entertain federal actions solely as a discre-
tionary matter of comity. 456 U.S. at 763 n.28. See also, Se-
cond Employers’ Liability Cases (Mondou v. New York, N.H.
& H.R. Co.), 223 U.S. 1, 32 S.Ct. 169, 56 L.Ed. 327 (1912), and
Claflin v. Houseman, 93 U.S. 130, 23 L.Ed. 833 (1876).

—— wo

Interestingly, the Illinois Supreme Court in Regan v. Kroger
Grocery & Baking Co., 386 Ill. 284, 54 N.E.2d 210 (1944),
decided the precise issue presented in Testa three years earlier.
The Illinois Supreme Court ruled the same way as 7Jesta was
decided, and recognized that because the laws of the United
States were the laws of the State of Illinois, plaintiff was entitled
to his choice of forum:

It follows that when Congress grants a right-and makes
no provision with reference to the courts in which the right
may be enforced, a suit to enforce such right may be
brought in any State or Federal court having general
jurisdiction of the class of cases to which the particular ac-
tion belongs. When the Congress creates a right and pro-
vides that the State and Federal Courts shall have concur-
rent jurisdiction of suits to enforce it, such grant of con-
current jurisdiction implies that the plaintiff, in the first in-
stance, shall have the choice of the court in which to bring
the action. He is entitled to whatever remedial advantages
inhere in the particular forum.

The result is that whether the act be regarded as penal or
remedial, makes no difference in this case. It is not a law
of foreign sovereignty. The Emergency Price Control Act
is a law of Illinois and enforceable as such. The courts of
Illinois have not been denied jurisdiction by the act. Such
jurisdiction has been expressly granted to them, concurrent
with the Federal courts. 54 N.E.2d at 218.

The argument advanced by defendants that federal statutes
take state courts ‘‘as it finds them”’ is correct as far as it goes.
However, this doctrine does not mean that ADEA claims
should or can be pursued through a state’s administrative forum

- only. This doctrine means that conditions imposed by the state
court must be conditions for every other litigant who seeks ac-
cess to its courts. Brown v. Gerdes, 321 U.S. 178, 190, 64 S.Ct.
487, 493, 88 L.Ed. 659 (1944). The requirement that conditions

itt Ese

must be applied across the board, regardless of the basis of the
claim, also is present in the so-called ‘‘valid excuse’’ cases. C.
Wright, The Law of Federal Courts, §45 at 269 (4th ed. 1983).
This Court has asserted federal control over incidents of state
trial practice in Federal Employers’ Liability Act (FELA) cases
that might appear to be procedural, and has done so out of con-
cern, apparently, for protecting the rights of FELA plaintiffs.
Norfolk & W. Ry. Co. v. Liepelt, 444 U.S. 490, 503, 100 S.Ct.
755, 762, 62 L.Ed. 2d 689 (1980). It should do no less for
ADEA plaintiffs. Further, the filing and deferral provisions of
the ADEA have been held sustantive and not procedural. Whit-
field v. City of Knoxville, 756 F.2d 455 (6th Cir. 1985).

There is reason to question whether the Illinois Appellate
Court correctly construed the state statute in question. It ap-
pears that the legislature recognized the requirements of the
ADEA (and other laws) in the statute itself by the provision
‘Except as otherwise provided by law...’’. Second, as discuss-
ed supra, since the Illinois legislature may not deprive, change
or abridge the original jurisdiction of the circuit courts, which is
established by the Illinois Constitution, it is unlikely that the
legislature intended the construction given the Illinois statute by
the Appellate Court. Whether or not the Appellate Court’s
construction of the state statute is correct, that construction
creates a substantial deprivation of federal rights.

Most significant is the right to a jury trial. Claims under the
Illinois Human Rights Act are heard by an administrative law
judge whose decision is subject to review only pursuant to the
Administrative Review Act. Venue for judicial review is directly
to the Appellate Court, which determines if factual findings are
contrary to the manifest weight of the evidence. JIl. Rev. Stat.
ch. 68, §8-111 (A)(2) & (A)(3). The doctrine of res judicata bars
later judicial action where such claims have been administrative-
ly litigated and judicially reviewed. Kremer v. Chemical Con-
struction Co., 456 U.S. 742, 102 S.Ct. 1883, 72 L.Ed.2d 689
(1980). On the other hand, a jury trial is a matter of right in

a.

ADEA cases. 29 U.S.C. §626 (c)(2). However, a plaintiff in II-
linois must exhaust his administrative remedies before filing his
ADEA claim. When he thereafter files his ADEA claim, it will
be decided on the results of the state administrative proceedings
under the principles of preclusion and res judicata, and he is ef-
fectively denied his right to a jury trial.

A second deprivation to plaintiff is his choice of forum. The
ADEA grants plaintiff his choice of a federal or state forum
both at the administrative and judicial stages. The Illinois,
Statute, as construed, defeats absolutely his right to choose the
State judicial forum notwithstanding the ADEA’s directive that
he can file in any court of competent jurisdiction.

In addition, there is no known authority under the Illinois
Human Rights Act for the imposition of either liquidated
(punitive) or future damages, as opposed to the remedy of
reinstatement. J//. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §8-108. Therefore, the
remedies provided by the HRA may not be as complete as under
the ADEA which authorizes liquidated damages and future
damages in appropriate cases. Future damages are part of the
award won by the plaintiff in this case.

Also, the statute of limitations under the ADEA, which is two
years, is not tolled by the filing of a claim with a state ‘ad-
ministrative agency; in fact, this statute of limitations is only
tolled for a period of one year to the extent that the federal
EEOC is attempting to effect voluntary compliance. 29 U.S.C.
§626(e)(1) and (2). Accordingly, a plaintiff who is required to
institute and pursue procedures pursuant to the Human Rights
Act to the conclusion, including administrative review, would
be barred by the statute of limitations when he filed his ADEA
claim at the conclusion, as the Court’s opinion suggests he
must. The Illinois HRA contains no time limits within which
the administrative proceeding must be completed.

Plaintiff’s claim, first formally asserted in February, 1982, is
now over 5 years old. The need for expeditious processing of

ren; * Yan

ADEA claims, strongly noted in the Oscar Mayer v. Evans deci-
sion, has been frustrated. This question needs resolution to
avoid repetition of this onerous procedure in other cases and to
allow this plaintiff vindication of his claim.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth, this Court should note probable
jurisdiction of this appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

James R. Mendillo
’ FREEARK, HARVEY, MENDILLO
& DENNIS
115 West Washington Street
Post Office Box 423
Belleville, Illinois 62222
(618) 233-2686

Eric Jackstadt

PRATT & CALLIS

1326 Niedringhaus Avenue
Granite City, Illinois 62040
(618) 452-1323

Counsel for Appellant

April 27, 1987

APPENDIX

1

Coe

ie a,
iver:

APPENDIX A

Leo Cahoon,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
Vv.

Alton Packaging Corporation; Jefferson Smurfit
Corporation; and Jefferson Smurfit Group, Ltd.,

Defendants-Appellants.
No. 5-85-0770

Appellate Court of Illinois,
Fifth District

Sept. 24, 1986
Rehearing Denied Nov. 7, 1986

Al J. Pranaitis, Hoagland, Maucker, Bernard & Almeter,
Alton, for defendants-appellants.

Freeark, Harvey & Mendillo, Belleville, and Callis & Hart-
man, Granite City, for plaintiff-appellee; James R. Mendillo
and Michael J. Meehan, of counsel.

Justice WELCH delivered the opinion of the court:

Plaintiff Leo Cahoon brought this action for damages against
his ex-employer, Alton Packaging Corporation, for damages
and reinstatement under the Age Discrimination in Employ-
ment Act (‘‘ADEA’’) (29 U.S.C. §621 et seq.), and for breach
of an oral contract of employment. Plaintiff sought relief
against defendants Jefferson Smurfit Corporation and Jeffer-
son Smurfit Group, Ltd., on the basis that Alton Packaging was
the agent or instrumentality of the other two defendants. After
a trial, a Madison County jury found for defendants on the
count alleging an oral contract, and for plaintiff on the ADEA
counts. The circuit court entered judgment for defendants on

SP

the contract claim, and denied reinstatement and entered judg-
ment in excess of $214,800 plus costs against all three defen-
dants on the ADEA counts. Defendants appeal. There is no
cross-appeal.

Of defendants’ numerous contentions on appeal, we consider
only defendants’ contention that the circuit court was without
subject matter jurisdiction in this case. Jurisdiction is of two
types, jurisdiction of subject matter and jurisdiction of the per-
son. Defects in jurisdiction of the person may be waived. Ab-
sent subject matter jurisdiction, the court is without authority
to consider or act on a case before it other than to dismiss it.
Lack of jurisdiction over the subject matter cannot be waived,
nor may a party be deemed estopped to raise the issue. Volkmar
v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (1982), 104 Ill. App.3d 149,
151, 60 Ill.Dec. 250, 252, 432 N.E.2d 1149, 1151.

Section 8-111(C) of the Illinois Human Rights Act (‘‘HRA’’)
states: ‘‘Except as otherwise provided by law, no court of this
state shall have jurisdiction over the subject of an alleged civil
rights violation other than as set forth in this Act.’
(Ill. Rev.Stat.1985, ch. 68, par. 8-111(C).) Article 8 of the HRA
(Ill.Rev.Stat.1985, ch. 68, par. 8-101 ef seg.) provides for hear-
ings on human rights complaints by the Illinois Human Rights
Commission, and further provides for review of decisions of
that Commission in accordance with the provisions of the Ad-
ministrative Review Law (Ill.Rev.Stat.1985, ch. 110, par. 3-101
et seq.). (Ill. Rev.Stat.1985, ch. 68, par. 8-111(A).) These provi-
sions require an HRA Claimant, including an age discrimination
claimant, to exhaust administrative remedies prior to bringing
an action in the Illinois courts. See Mein v. Masonite Corp.
(1984), 124 Ill.App.3d 617, 619, 80 Ill.Dec. 154, 156, 464
N.E.2d 1137, 1139, aff'd (1985), 109 Ill.2d 1, 92 Ill.Dec. 501,
485 N.E.2d 312. In our view the plain language of Section
8-111(C) requires that an Illinois court dismiss an ADEA case
unless state administrative remedies have been exhausted.

— *

Plaintiff does not contend that our legislature intended other-
wise. Rather, plaintiff maintains the intent of the legislature
does not control the jurisdiction of the court in this situation.
Plaintiff’s complaint alleged a violation of the ADEA which
provides in part: ‘‘Any person aggrieved may bring a civil action
in any court of competent jurisdiction for such legal or
equitable relief as will effectuate the purposes of this Act * * *.”’
(29 U.S.C. §626(c)(1) does not purport to confer jurisdiction.
(See generally 20 Am.Jur.2d Courts §§ 91, 93 (1965).) None of
the cases cited by plaintiff supports the conclusion that a civil
rights claimant may ignore the administrative framework pro-
vided by our legislature.

Like the HRA, the ADEA provides administrative pro-
cedures and remedies. Under the ADEA no civil action may be
commenced by an individual until 60 days after a charge alleg-
ing unlawful discrimination has been filed with the Secretary of
Labor, whose duty is to notify named prospective defendants
and seek to eliminate any alleged unlawful practice ‘‘by infor-
mal methods of conciliation, conference, and persuasion.”’ (29
U.S.C. § 626(d).) Apparently in the instant case the Secretary
was duly notified. We do not view that act as conferring
jurisdiction on the circuit court in light of our legislature’s man-
date to the contrary. See People v. Lang, (1978), 62 Ill.App.3d
688, 704, 19 Ill.Dec. 231, 244, 378 N.E.2d 1106, 1119, aff’d in
part, rev'd in part (1979), 76 Ill.2d 311, 29 Ill.Dec. 87, 391
N.E.2d 350, cert. denied (1979), 444 U.S. 954, 100 S.Ct. 433, 62
L.Ed.2d 326, cert. denied (1980), 444 U.S. 1045, 100 S.Ct. 733,
62 L.Ed.2d 731.

Plaintiff argues the Illinois courts are not free to
‘*discriminate’’ against federal claims. We only decide here that
the federal civil rights claim must be prosecuted under the same
procedure applicable to a state civil rights claim. Discrimina-
tion against the federal claim is not in question here. Rather, we
find in section 8-111(C) of the HRA our legislature’s plain direc-
tive that a civil rights claim be prosecuted in the administrative

— oo

forum before it reaches the court, and that a complaint which
‘invokes a federal claim is not entitled to preferential treatment
in that regard. Messrs. Wright and Miller, relied upon by plain-
tiff, write:

**For present purposes, it is enough to note that state
courts may not arbitrarily deny enforcement to federal
statutory claims similar to state law claims that lie within
their ordinary jurisdiction. If proper procedure is follow-
ed in presenting the claim, state law is not independent to
apply a principle of nonenforcement.

**e* £e * *

Whatever may be the extent of the obligation imposed
on state courts to remedy federal wrongs, much room is
left to control the form of the remedy and to impose
reasonable limits on its availability. The Ward decision
[Ward v. Board of County Comm’rs. (1920), 253 U.S. 17,
64 L.Ed. 751, 40 S.Ct. 419] expressly left open the
possibility that the claim might be denied under the state
statute of limitations. In McCoy v. Shaw [(1928), 277 U.S.
302, 72 L.Ed. 891, 48 S.Ct. 519], a similar case, the Court
affirmed denial of anticipatory equitable relief on the
ground that the state could properly require relief to be
sought by payment of the taxes and suit for recovery. The
same principle appears in other contexts as well.

**e* &£e & *

Whatever the extent to which state courts are obliged to
provide some remedy for federal claims, then, it rests on
principles of the nonindependence of state law. Once an
effective remedy is made reasonably available, state pro-
cedural limitations remain generally independent of federal
law, and need survive only the basic tests of adequacy.’’ 16
Wright & Miller [Cooper & Gressman], Federal Practice &
Procedure §4024 (1977).

—

Finally, we find Parks v. Illinois Dep’t of Mental Health
(1982), 110 Ill.App.3d 184, 65 Ill.Dec. 695, 441 N.E.2d 1209, in-
apposite. Section 626(c)(1) of the ADEA does not appear to
support a preemption argument, there being no actual conflict
between section 626(c)(1) and the HRA. In any event, plaintiff
does not expressly argue preemption in his brief.

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the circuit court
of Madison County insofar as it pertains to plaintiff’s age
discrimination claims is vacated, and to that extent the cause is
dismissed. The judgment insofar as it denies plaintiff’s contrac-
tual claim is affirmed.

VACATED AND DISMISSED IN PART; AFFIRMED IN
PART.

JONES and KARNS, JJ., concur.

—_—

APPENDIX B

No. 5-85-0770

IN THE
APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
FIFTH DISTRICT

Leo Cahoon,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

Alton Packaging Corporation, et al., =
Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the Circuit Court of Madison County
No. 82-L-627
Honorable Horace L. Calvo, Judge Presiding.

ORDER
(Filed November 7, 1986)

This cause having been considered on appellee’s petition for —
leave to appeal and motion for leave to supplement the record
pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 329 (103 Ill. 2d R. 329) and/or
to amend the pleadings pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 362
(103 Ill. 2d R. 362) and the court being fully advised in the
premises:

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that appellee’s motion for
leave to supplement the record and/or to amend pleadings shall
be, and the same hereby is, GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that appellee’s petition for
rehearing shall be, and the same hereby is, DENIED.

as, oo

APPENDIX C

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT
JULEANN HORNYAK, CLERK
Supreme Court Building
Springfield, Ill. 62706

February 6, 1987

Mr. James R. Mendillo
Freeark, Harvey & Mendillo
P.O. Box 423

Belleville, IL 62222

No. 64508 - Leo Cahoon, petitioner, v. Alton Packaging Corp-
oration, et al., respondents. Leave to appeal,
Appellate Court, Fifth District.

The Supreme Court today DENIED the petition to appeal as
a matter of right or leave to appeal in the above entitled cause.

The mandate of this Court will issue to the Appellate Court
on March 2, 1987.

= ee

APPENDIX D

IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
FIFTH DISTRICT

No. 5-85-0770

Leo Cahoon,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Alton Packaging Corporation; Jefferson Smurfit
Corporation, and Jefferson Smurfit Group, Ltd.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Madison County No. 82-L-627

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

(Filéd March 9, 1987)

Notice is hereby given that plaintiff-appellant Leo Cahoon
hereby appeals to the Supreme Court of the United States from
the judgment of the Appellate Court of Illinois, Fifth District,
which judgment was entered September 24, 1986, and reversed
the judgment entered for plaintiff-appellant Leo.Cahoon by the
Circuit Court of Madison County, Illinois, on or about
November 4, 1985. A Petition for Appeal as a Matter of Right,
or, Alternatively, for Leave to Appeal to the Illinois Supreme
Court was denied on February 6, 1987.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257(2).

FREEARK, HARVEY, MENDILLO
& DENNIS

nt an al

< N

By JAMES R. MENDILLO
115 West Washington Street
Post Office Box 423
Belleville, Illinois 62222
(618) 233-2686

Attorneys for Plaintiff-Appellant
Leo Cahoon

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
STATE OF ILLINOIS i

COUNTY OF ST. CLAIR

The undersigned attorney does hereby certify and state that
he has caused a true copy of the foregoing document, a Notice
of Appeal, to be served upon Mr. Al J. Pranaitis, Hoagland,
Maucker, Bernard & Almeter, 401 Alton St., P.O. Box 130,
Alton, Illinois, 62002, attorney for defendants, and upon Pratt
& Callis, 1326 Niedringhaus Ave., P.O. Box 1326, Granite City,
Illinois, 62040, co-counsel for plaintiff-appellant, by causing
the same to be placed in a sealed envelope, clearly addressed as
aforesaid, with postage fully prepaid, and by depositing said
envelopes in a United States Post Office mailbox in Belleville,
Illinois, on the 6th day of March, 1987, at approximately 3:00
p.m. o’clock.

/s/ James R. Mendillo

James R. Mendillo, being duly sworn, deposes and states that
the matters contained in the foregoing Affidavit of Service are
true.

/s/ James R. Mendillo

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 6th day of March,
1987.

/s/ Sara Jane Tipton
Notary Public

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0553%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
