# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Leslie v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0383%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 1074

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S, ¥
FILED =

APR 19 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JRL
IN THE a CLERK
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

85-1961 :
. ; a

NO.

OCTOBER TERM 1985

EUGENE LESLIE,
Petitioner
VERSUS
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT GLASS

GLASS & REED

338 Lafayette Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
Tel.: 504/581-9065

Counsel for Petitioner,
Eugene Leslie

LOLIS EDWARD ELIE

215 N. Jefferson Davis Pkwy.
New Orleans, LA 70119

Tel.: 504/482-0330

Co-counsel for Petitioner,
Eugene Leslie

ep NS a eee ena eh li a ea TS iti. ‘ «cheep ntittawe ey heap laa

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether:
- when a federal prosecutor uses
each and every one of his
peremptory challenges to strike
black jurors from a petit jury
sitting in judgment on a black
defendant, and
- thereby eliminates all
blacks from the jury,
a federal district court has the authority
and obligation under the supervisory power to
inquire into the prosecutor's reasons for
exercising his challenges in an apparently
racially motivated way, and if the district
court on inquiry finds impermissible racial
motivation, to take steps to correct the

abuse,

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. ....
TABLE OF CONTENTS. . « «© «© «© © © © @ «
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES . .. =. -« « © e@ «
OPINIONS BELOW. « . +2222 «6 © © »@
RULES AND STATUTES IMPLICATED. ... .
SO ey ys a ae ae ee ae ae ee oer
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. . . « « « « « e
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT. ... .

A. Racist Utilization of Peremp-
tory Challenges is Unques-
tionably Pernicious and Evil
in Federal Criminal Trials. .

B. The State Experience Since
Swain Demonstrates that
there is a Reasonable and
Practical Way to Minimize
the Evil of Racist Strikes
by a Federal Prosecutor ...

C. The Fifth Circuit Decision
Relies on Distinguishable
Supervisory Power Decisions,
and Improperly Defers to
Inapplicable Rules and Legis-
ais « «sx SS See SF

ED i

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ......«« «

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Aldridge v. United States, 282
i oe eee . . 6 ke he ee. ee Sag OO

Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S.
eer. - f . ss 4.6 - 6¢@ 6 6 e ae

Batson v. Kentucky, S.Ct. No.
84-6263 (argued (12/12/85). ... 6, 7

Commonwealth v. Benbow, 16
Mass.App. 970, 452 N.E.2d 1164
(1983). . 2 — * = o > . _ . e e * 19

Commonwealth v. Brown, ll
Mass.App. 228, 416 N.E.2d
a a |

Commonwealth v. DiMatteo, 12
Mass.App. 547, 427 N.E.2d |
De Ses of ke «ee ee we te | CD

Commonwealth v. Kelly, 10
Mass.App. 847, 406 N.E.2d
ee eS eG ew el ltl ee

Commonwealth v. Soares, 377
Mass. 461, 387 N.E.2d 499,
eee Oe, Oe Bt, Bhs 6 to el eCKD

Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446
en Senn /. 6 6 « + se 6 « « Aa

Jencks v. United States, 353
U.S. 657 (1975) 7 . e 2s a ce 7 > a 10

Marshall v. United States, 360

me See CEeeee « + « we et + lw & dhe UB, 22

iv

McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d
113 (2nd Cir. 1984), cert.
pending, S.Ct. No. 84-1426. ... 17, 19

McCray v. New York, 461 U.S.
vee Seen eS 8 a ee ake oo oe

McNabb v. United States, 318
ewe Oe See bb he Sw ei ot Re 10, 14

Mesarosh v. United States, 352
Urea e Seeeee 6.6 4 a ke ee Be

Murphy v. Florida, 421
A. Bic.) re a

Palermo v. United States, 360
Ucita Ome TASSEP si ice 6 we ss ow Oe

People v. Alexander, 205
COL Mees Ber CAP c & ade %

People v. Allen, 152 Cal.Rptr.
454, 23 Cal.3d 286, 590 P.2d
ag tie ee ko a be ee. oe

People v. Clay, 153 Cal.App.3d
433, 200 Cal.Rptr. 269 (1984) .. 19

People v. Coleman, 174 Cal.Rptr.
oe) eee re a ee

People v. Fuller, 136
Cal.App.3d 403, 186 Cal.Rptr.
ae eek. 6 ke: ae ek See

People v. Hall, 197 Cal.Rptr.
71, 35 Cal.3d 1161, 672 P.2a
Tae, Seen sc ks ke ee ee ee

People v. Harvey, 208 Cal.Rptr.
TSG. SSeS 4 8 wok eR ere ee

People v. Lucero, 160 Cal.Rptr.

At See? & 4 2 oS ks Se ee eee

People v. Walker, 205 Cal.Rptr.
278 (1984). * . . . * . . * . -

People v. Wheeler, 22 Cal.3d
258, 148 Cal.Rptr. 890, 583
P.2@ 746 (1978) « «- «eee e

Ristaino v. Ross, 424
Ues SOD (aera) 6 » 6 6 © 0 ©

Rose v. Mitchell, 443
Gane 545 (1979) a. . >. > a. * — .

State v. Crespin, 94 N.M. 486,
6iZ P.2G 716 (1980) « « « © ©

State v. Gilmore, 489 A.2d 1175
(N.J. Super. Ct. 1985). ... -

State v. Neil, 457 So.2d 481
; Fla. 1984) > . * > . i >.

Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202
(1965). * > . > > _ . > >. . .

Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co.,
San Gallic BEE LAGE) «6.2 6 © 3

United States v. Hasting, 461
Deus Gee Sapeee te ee ee 8

United States v. Payner, 447
Bsc Fal Capeerans eee bbe

Other Authorities:

21 U.S.C. $846. . 2. 2. © © © «

21 U.S.C. $84l(a)(1). . . . s -

28 U.S.C. §1254(1). . . © « «

19

19

12, 13, 22,
26

15

19

19

19

8, 13, 15,
20, 23, 28

10

1: Meme a pS ne

—

vi

428 U.8.C. $1861, @t SOG. «2 - By 24, 25
Rule y PR.CE.P. . . . . . . . . 2

Rule 24, F.R.Cr.P. . . . . . . . y 3, 24-
26

Beale, Reconsidering Super-

visory Power in Criminal Cases:
Constitutional and Statutory

Limits on the Authority of

the Federal Courts, 84 Colum.

be MOV. BG0s CEPOEP cw wc cee so eo 1

Note, The Judge-Made Super-
visory Power of the Federal

Courts, 53 Geo. L. Rev. 1050
Ot ) RN Se oe a ae a ee ce ee ee

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1985
EUGENE LESLIE,
Petitioner
VERSUS
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Eugene Leslie, by his counsel Robert
Glass, and co-counsel, Lolis Edward Elie,
petitions for a writ of certiorari to review
the decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirming his

judgment of conviction.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Fifth Circuit panel opinion, Judge

Garwood dissenting, conditionally reversed

petitioner's conviction. It is reported at

759 F.2d 366 (Sth Cir. 1985), and reprinted
as Appendix A. The en banc opinion of the
Fifth Circuit, Judges Williams, Brown Rubin,
Tate and Johnson dissenting, reversed the
panel and affirmed petitioner's conviction.
It is reported at 783 F.2d 541 (5th Cir.

1986), and is reprinted as Appendix B.

RULES AND STATUTES IMPLICATED

The rules and statutes implicated in
petitioner's case, which are reprinted in the
separately presented Appendix, are as
follows:

- Rule 2, F.R.Cr.P. (Appendix C).

- Rule 24, F.R.Cr.P. (Appendix
D).

- 28 sy se §l18s6l, et seq.
(Federal Jury Selection and
Services Act of 1968) (Appendix
E).

ee

—————

JURISDICTION

The en banc decision of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
is dated February 20, 1986. This petition is
timely, coming within 60 days of the en banc
decision. Jurisdiction is present under 28

U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Eugene Leslie is a prominent
fight promoter and trainer in the City of New
Orleans; he is black. He was indicted and
convicted in the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Louisiana for
conspiracy to distribute and possession with
intent to distribute cocaine, in violation of
21 U.S.C. §§846 and 841(a)(1).

During jury selection the Assistant
United States Attorney exercised each and
every one of the six peremptory challenges
permitted to him by Rule 24(b), F.R.Cr.P.,

against black veniremen, These six black

veniremen were the only blacks on the panel
available for selection. Of the three venire-
men from whom the alternate was to be
selected, only one was black; the assistant
exercised his single peremptory against the
one black venireman.

Petitioner immediately moved for a mis-
trial, arguing that the pattern of the
prosecutor's challenges indicated that they
were racially motivated. Petitioner urged
the trial court to invoke its supervisory
power over the conduct of federal trials to
grant his motion for mistrial. The prosecu-
tor maintained that his actions were not
racially motivated and that he was under no
obligation to articulate his reasons for
striking those particular jurors. He never-
theless offered to give the court an in
Camera explanation. The district court, how-
ever, declined to hear the prosecutor's
reasons in camera or otherwise, stating that

a prosecutor need not offer any explanation

for the manner in which he exercises his
peremptory challenges.

On appeal petitioner reasserted his
claim that a federal district court has the
Supervisory power to inquire into a prosecu-
tor's motives for exercising peremptory
challenges when on its face the pattern of
strikes appears to be racially motivated.
The original panel sustained that claim. It
held that the trial court was obliged to exer-
cise its inherent supervisory power to make
inguiry into the prosecutor's motives for
exercising his challenges; on remand, if the
district court were to find that the prosecu-
tor "exercised his peremptory challenges for
impermissible, racially discriminatory
reasons," a new trial would be ordered. On
en banc rehearing, however, the Fifth Circuit
reversed the panel decision and held that,
absent a showing of systematic exclusion of

blacks, it is a misuse of the supervisory

|

6

power to inquire into a prosecutor's reasons

for peremptorily challenging veniremen.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The question raised on these facts is
whether federal judges have the power and
Obligation to mitigate the extreme result
achieved by the prosecutor in this case in
his efforts to convict a black man. The

imminent decision in Batson v. Kentucky,

S.Ct. No. 84-6263 (argued 12/12/85) will not

resolve the supervisory question because this

is a federal criminal case, not a state

criminal case.1l In federal criminal
cases, this Court's obligation is to assure
not simply that trials are marginally consti-
tutional (the standard for state cases), but
that federal trials are truly fair and just,
and as well appear to be fair and just. The
Court's responsibility for racial fairness
and racial justice in the federal system is
more primary, compelling and organic than its
general superintendence over the 50 states
through the Fourteenth Amendment. If Batson

is decided adversely to the state defendant's

lgpatson v. Kentucky, of course, involves only
constitutional concerns and raises no federal
supervisory power question. Batson therefore
cannot control the outcome here. Because the
Batson decision has not yet issued, however,
petitioner cannot draw on the Court's
analysis in that case insofar as it might
bear on the arguments for or against applica-
tion of the supervisory power. Petitioner is
prepared to supplement his petition when
Batson is decided, should the Court deem that
course helpful or appropriate.

Petitioner notes, nonetheless, that he did
reserve the constitutional claims raised in
Batson. Should Batson be decided favorably
to the state defendant, reversal of petition-
er's conviction on constitutional grounds
would necessarily follow.

constitutional claims, racial fairness in the
federal system is still at risk and should
not be left in unresolved limbo for the for-
seeable future. The stakes are too great.
The en banc opinion of the Fifth
Circuit held that as regards peremptory
strikes the supervisory authority was no
broader and extended no further than the
constitutional principle applicable in both
state and federal courts and expressed 21

years ago in Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202

(1965). This alleged analytical unity of the
supervisory and constitutional powers derived
from the appellate court's misguided applica-
tion of and syllogistic adherence to two
recently decided supervisory cases, United

States v. Hasting, 461 U.S. 499 (1983) and

United States v. Payner, 447 U.S. 727 (1980).

As a consequence of this reasoning, the Fifth
Circuit held that, absent a showing of

systematic racial exclusion, the district

court had no authority whatsoever to effect

any sort of judicial superintendence over a
prosecutor's prima facie utilization of all
of his peremptory challenges to eliminate all
blacks from a jury, even in a case in which
some cross-sectional input of the minority
race affected both the appearance and the
probable substance of jury fairness. Both
the reasoning and the result were simply
wrong, and the damage done to racial fairness
and perceived justice immeasureable.

The supervisory power of federal courts
to control their own proceedings has a long
and distinguished history. It was first
articulated as a basis for decision in McNabb

v. United States, 318 U.S. 332 (1943).

There, Justice Frankfurter wrote:

Judicial supervision of the adminis-
tration of criminal justice in the
federal courts implies the duty of
establishing and maintaining
civilized standards of procedure and
evidence. Such standards are not
satisfied merely by observance of
those minimal historic safeguards for
securing trial by reason, which are
Summarized as “due process of law"
and below which we reach what is

really trial by force.... Considera-
tions of large policy in making the
necessary accommodations in our
federal system are wholly irrelevant
to the formulation and application of
proper standards for the enforcement
of the federal criminal law in the
federal courts.

Id. at 340-341.
This Court has called upon its super-
visory power in numerous cases. See, @.g.,

Jencks v. United States, 353 U.S. 657 (1975);

Mesarosh v. United States, 352 U.S. 1 (1956);

Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 187

(1946); and Thiel v. Southern Pacific Co., |
328 U.S. 212 (1946). The supervisory power |
has in fact been invoked in such a wide range
of circumstances that it has been said that
"the sole common denominator of its usage is
a desire to maintain and develop standards of
fair play in the federal courts more exacting
than the minimum requirements of due process."

Note, The Judge-Made Supervisory Power of the

Federal Courts, 53 Geo. L. Rev. 1050 (1965).

11

Nowhere is the proper compass of the
supervisory power more compellingly illus-
trated than in the contrasting decisions in

Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S. 319

(1959) and Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. 794

(1975). In both cases jurors had been
exposed to newspaper stories reporting, that
the defendant, who did not testify, had been
convicted previously of serious offenses; in
both cases the exposed jurors swore to the
satisfaction of the judge that they would not
be influenced by the newspaper articles and
would decide the case only on the evidence.

In Marshall, the Court reversed the federal

defendant's conviction; in Murphy, the Court
affirmed the state defendant's conviction.
The only distinction was the differing roles
played by the federal courts in federal and
state adjudications. This Court reversed
Marshall's conviction "'[iJ]n the exercise of

[its] supervisory power to formulate and

apply proper standards for enforcement of the

12

criminal law in the federal courts,' and not
as a matter of constitutional compulsion....

We cannot agree that Marshall has any applica-

tion beyond the federal courts." Murphy,
supra, 421 U.S. at 797-798.
A similar pair of contrasting jury fair-

ness cases is Aldridge v. United States, 283

U.S. 308 (1931) and Ristaino v. Ross, 424

U.S. $89 (1976). In both cases the black
defendant was accused of killing a white
police officer. In both cases the defendant
requested, but was refused, voir dire examina-
tion directed to racial prejudice. fMThis
Court reversed the conviction of the federal

defendant in Aldridge; it affirmed the convic-

tion of the state defendant in Ristaino. The

distinction again was the difference between
constitutional and supervisory superin-

tendence:

Although we hold that voir dire ques-
tioning directed to racial prejudice
was not constitutionally required,
the wiser course generally is to
propound appropriate questions

<=

13

designed to identify racial prejudice
if requested by the defendant.
Under our supervisory power we
would have required as much of a
federal court faced with the circum-
stances here.

Ristaino, 424 U.S. at 597, n. 9.

That Swain held racist peremptory
ciiallenges constitutional is thus plainly
no answer to the question whether a federal
court should attempt to effect some moder-
ating influence on the practice by resort to
its authority? in “the formulation and

application of proper standards for the

2See Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980)
where this Court held, with regard to
possible conflicts of interest by counsel in
the representation of multiple defendants,
that (446 U.S. at 346) --

nothing in our precedents sug-
gests that the Sixth Amendment
requires state courts themselves
to initiate inquiries into the
propriety of multiple representa-
tion in every case;

while noting approvingly (446 U.S. at 335, n.
10) that --

several [federal] Courts of
Appeals already invoke their
supervisory power to require
Similar inquiries.

14

enforcement of the federal criminal law

in the federal courts." McNabb, supra.

The values underlying equal protection and
cross-sectional representation of juries are
at war with racially motivated challenges.
The supervisory power can and should be
applied to inhibit invidious discrimination,
for to do so serves the constitutional
principles of equal protection and cross-
sectional representation, even if the consti-
tutional principles themselves and by their
own force do not require such action.

There are two parts to the question
whether a court should exercise its super-
visory avthority where prosecutors, by racist
utilization of peremptory challenges, under-
mine our fundamental commitment to racial
fairness and cross-sectional values: (a)
whether there is a recognizable evil which is
insulated (and thereby encouraged) by the

tradition of exercising peremptories without

judicial inquiry or review, and therefore

—

so

warrants exposure to daylight; and (b)
whether there is a reasonable and practical
way to moderate that evil without destroying
the salutary and important uses of the
peremptory.
A. Racist Utilization of Peremp-
tory Challenges is Unquestion-

ably Pernicious and Evil in
Federal Criminal Trials.

The evil is there, unmistakable and
palpable. 3 The fact that, in the 20 years
following Swain, the racial use of peremp-
tories continues to raise its ugly head with

frequency in federal courts attests to the

Discrimination on the basis of
race, odious in all aspects, is
especially pernicious in the ad-
ministration of justice. Selec-
tion of members of a... jury
because they are of one race and
not another destroys the appear-
ance of justice and thereby casts
doubt on the judicial process.
The exclusion of Negroes, or any
other gruop otherwise qualified
to serve, impairs the confidence
of the public in the administra-
tion of justice.

Rose v. Mitchell, 443 U.S. 545,

555-556 (1979).

16

persistence of the problem. If a particular
federal prosecutor harbors an unremitting and
racist hostility towards blacks, and in the
service of his racism, systematically exer-
cises his peremptory strikes against blacks
whenever it is practicable to do so, would
this Court hesitate to condemn the practice
-- if only it were revealed? zé.a
federal prosecutor believes that all blacks
are uneducated and stupid, and for that
reason uses each and every one of his
challenges to strike each and every black on
a particular panel, would this court blink
for a hesitant second before saying that the
federal system should not tolerate such
conduct in its prosecutors -- if it knew
about it? If a federal prosecutor were so
narrow and prejudiced as to believe that all
blacks were addicts or drug users, could not
be trusted to follow the law in drug prosecu-
tions, and so should be struck whenever

possible, would not this Court want to act to

17

stop the prosecutor -- if he were found
out? Even if the federal prosecutor who
hated blacks struck them wherever and when-
ever he could for the rational reason
that his hatred coulaG not be masked from
black jurors (thus diminishing his credibil-
ity), would this Court encourage him to
persist in his practice -- if the Court
could discover the truth about him and deter
him?

Prosecutors like those described above,
who choose juries in those ways, are perpetu-
ating an evil that no theoretically
legitimate use of the peremptory challege
could justify. Prosecutors like this exist,
in greater or lesser degree, throughout the
federal districts.4 Yet, under the Fifth
Circuit's ruling, such prosecutors will never
be revealed, and their practices will not be
deterred even minimally by the embarassment

4see cases cited in McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d
113, 1120 at n. 2 (2nd Cir. 1984), cert. pend-
ing, S.Ct. No. 84-1426.

18

that the mere demand for explanation would
necessarily cause.

B. The State Experience Since
Swain Demonstrates that there
is a Reasonable and Practical
Way to Minimize the Evil of
Racist Strikes by a Federal
Prosecutor.

There simply exists no reason whatso-
ever to deny the federal courts the
supervisory power to make a minimal inquiry
of prosecutors whose strikes raise the racist
spectre. Even authors who advocate only
limited use of the power accept the propriety
of its application to situations where the
reliability and integrity of the judicial
process is brought into question. See, e.g.,

Beale, Reconsidering Supervisory Power in

Criminal Cases: Constitutional and Statutory

Limits on the Authority of the Federal

Courts, 84 Colum. L. Rev. 1433, 1520 (1984).
It is clear, moreover, that a limited
modification of the peremptory practices of

prosecutors is feasible. The experience in

19

California following People v. Wheeler, 22

Cal.3d 258, 148 Cal.Rptr. 890, 583 P.2d 748
(1978)> and in Massachussetts following

Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass. 461, 387

N.E.2d 499, cert. den., 444 U.S. 881,° and

the decisions by Florida’? and New

Jersey8 to follow suit, demonstrate not

>People v. Hall, 197 Cal.Rptr. 71, 35 Cal.3d
1161, 672 P.2d 854 (1983); People v. Allen,
152 Cal.Rptr. 454, 23 Cal.3d 286, 590 P.2d 30
(1979); People v. Harvey, 208 Cal.Rptr. 910
(1984); People v. Alexander, 205 Cal.Rptr.
387 (1984); People v. Walker, 205 Cal.Rptr.
278 (1984); People v. Clay, 153 Cal.App.3d
433, 200 Cal.Rptr. 269 (1984); People v.
Fuller, 136 Cal.App.3d 403, 186 Cal.Rptr. 283
(1982); People v. Coleman, 174 Cal.Rptr. 756
(1982); People v. Lucero, 160 Cal.Rptr. 27
(1979).

Scommonwealth v. Benbow, 16 Mass.App. 970, 452
N.E.2d 1164 (1983); Commonwealth v. DiMatteo,
12 Mass.App. 547, 427 N.E.2d 754 (1981);
Commonwealth v. Brown, 11 Mass.App. 228, 416
N.E.2d 218 (1981); Commonwealth v. Kelly, 10
Mass.App. 847, 406 N.E.2d 1327 (1980).

7State v. Neil, 457 So.2d 481 (S.Ct. Fla.
1984).

8state v. Gilmore, 489 A.2d 1175 (N.J. Super.
Ct. 1985); see also, the New Mexico decision,
State v. Crespin, 94 N.M. 486, 612 P.2d 716
(1980), and the Second Circuit decision,

McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d 1113 (2nd Cir.
1984) (petition for certiorari pending).

20

only that it is possible to devise workable
rules for examining the prima facie racial
use of peremptories but that it is possible
to do so without destroying the function and
efficacy of peremptories in the totality of
jury selection. Indeed, since Swain was
decided in 1965, this Court has had the
benefit of "the various States...serv[ing] as
laboratories" for refinement of the principle
of limited intervention in extreme, racially

skewed jury situations. McCray v. New York,

461 U.S. 961 (1983)(concurrence of Justice
Stevens on denial of certiorari). Where in
1965 even a limited inquiry, like that
designed by the Fifth Circuit panel here,
might be said to have "entailf[ed] a radical
change in the operation of the challenge,"
Swain, 380 U.S. at 222-223, this is no longer
so. The peremptoriness of the challenge is
no longer considered absolute throughout the
land, nor is the desirability for absolute

deference any longer clear.

21

C. The Fifth Circuit Decision
Relies on Distinguishable
Supervisory Power Decisions,
and Improperly Defers to In-
applicable Rules and Legisla
tion.

In holding the federal courts impotent
to unveil racist practices and so to create
the factual predicate for even limited
remedial action, the Fifth Circuit relied
heavily on two recent supervisory power

cases, United States v. Hasting, 461 U.S. 499

(1983) and United States v. Payner, 447 U.S.

727 (1980). Payner and Hasting, however,

spoke to a very different application of the
supervisory power than that urged here. In
those cases the appellate courts had taken it
upon themselves to fashion additional super-
visory remedies for constitutional violations
(which they found in those cases to be
particularly egregious and extreme), even
though this Court had already placed limits
upon the remedies to be available for dealing

with violations of those same constitutional

22

provisions. The point here, however, is not
additional remedies for constitutional
violations. The point is that even though
there may be no constitutional violation at
all, the supervisory power may still
provide a remedy for what is unfair but not
unconstitutional. Such is the teaching of

the contrasting Murphy-Marshall and Ristaino-

Aldridge decisions, supra, text at 21-24.

In Payner the district court disre-
garded the exclusionary rule's requirement of
standing to complain and refused to admit
evidence which had been seized in deliberate
violation of a third party's Fourth Amendment
rights. In Hasting the court of appeal found
that the prosecutor's closing argument consti-
tuted an impermissible comment on the
defendant's exercise of his Fifth Amendment
privilege against self-incrimination and
reversed the defendant's conviction without
regard for the harmless error rule. In

reversing both Payner and Hasting, this Court

23

held that the lower appellate courts had
improperly applied their supervisory power by
disregarding limits on remedies which the
Court, with careful consideration of the
competing interests, had already decreed were
adequate over the entire spectrum of Fourth
and Fifth Amendment violations. The particu-
lar forms of remedies for constitutional vio-
lations were not themselves of constitutional
origin or compulsion. Having designed ade-
quate remedies and thus having drawn already
the balance between greater and lesser
possible remedies, the supervisory approach
to the violations, no matter how offensive
the violations were, was deemed neither
necessary nor appropriate.

Not so here. Under the hegemony of
Swain, there is no constitutional remedy
for racist behavior by a prosecutor in
striking black jurors in the particular case.

The prohibitions imposed by Payner and

Hasting on expanding remedies for constitu-

24

tional violations under the supervisory power
simply do not apply to situations were there
are no preexisting constitutional violations.
The Fifth Circuit's decision fails to heed
this distinction and thereby obscures the
import of the Court's holdings in Payner and

Hasting; consequently, that court has applied

a plainly incorrect analytical framework to
deny the availability of the supervisory
power in the racial peremptory context.
Moreover, the Fifth Circuit improperly
found that its hand had been stayed in the
area of peremptory challenges by reason of
Rule 24(b), F.R.Cr.P., and the Federal Jury
Selection and Service Act of 1968, as
amended, 28 U.S.C. §1861, et seq. The rule
and the statute require no deference because
neither of these enactments even remotely
instructs a federal court whether or not it
may inquire into a prosecutor's motives for
striking all of the blacks from a jury panel.

The Fifth Circuit's reliance on Palermo v.

25

United States, 360 U.S. 343 (1959)29 there-

fore, is totally misplaced.

Rule 24(b) speaks only to the number of
peremptory challenges. It does not go
further and define what is meant by “peremp-
tory," whether peremptories might not be sub-
ject to limited review and supervision by the
court, nor whether further there might not be
some point beyond which the exercise of
peremptories passes beyond arbitrary into
intolerable. The fact is that Congress has
never legislatively defined what a peremp-
tory challege in the federal system is.

The conclusion that Rule 24(b) has no
substantive preemptive content is fortified
by reference to subsection (a) of Rule 24.
Rule 24(a) specifies wno may conduct voir
dire, and if the judge chooses to do so, how

supplemental questions by the parties are to

9=~The power of this Court to prescribe rules
of procedure and evidence for the federal
courts exists only in the absence of a
relevant act of Congress." 360 U.S. at 353,
Ms dh.

26

be asked to the jurors. Under the Fifth
Circuit's logic, Congress has "legislated" in
the area of voir dire just as it has "legis-
lated" in the area of peremptory strikes;
accordingly, the supervisory power could not
be invoked in either circumstance, This,
however, is clearly not so because the super-
visory power of this Court has in fact been
applied to require voir dire questions of a

particular sort. Aldridge v. United

States, 282 U.S. 308 (1931)(question on
racial prejudice required under supervisory
authority, though not under the constitu-
tion), 10

The Fifth Circuit's reliance on the
Federal Jury Selection and Service Act of
1968 is similarly misplaced. The primary
function of that enactment was to prevent

discrimination in the panel; thus, the Act

10The Court more recently reaffirmed this
requirement in federal criminal trials in
Ristaino v. Ross, 424 U.S. 589, 597, n. 9
(1976).

27

focuses on the means for compiling jury lists
and on juror qualifications, and provides an
"exclusive" mechanism for challege which
shuts down once “voir dire examination
begins." 28 U.S.C. §1867(a). Peremptory
challenges and challenges for cause are men-
tioned only incidentally, and are reaffirmed
as operating outside of the Act as "provided
by law."11 In other words, the Act says
nothing at all substantive about the law, the
practice or the outer limits of the perenp-
tory challenge.

Insulating prima face racial strikes
from court superintendence promotes both the
appearance of unfairness and its fact. The
government's peremptory strikes are provided

for in Rule 24, F.R.Cr.P., and neither their

llsubsections (3) and (4) of the proviso in 18
US.C. §1866(c) specify "[t]hat any persons
summoned for jury service may be... (3)
excluded upon peremptory challege as

provided by law, or (4) excluded pursuant

to the procedure specified by law upon a
challenge by a party for good cause

shown...."

28

Origin nor their sanctity are constitution-
ally derived. See Swain, 380 U.S. at 211-217.
The government's strikes, therefore, should
be governed by Rule 2 of the same Federal
Rules of Criminal Procedure. Rule 2 provides
in relevant part that the rules "shall be
construed td eebere, ; faltecee in administra-
tion" and "are intended for the just deter-
mination of every criminal proceeding." This
is nothing if not a statement of supervisory
power and authority. Here, then, is an
explicit source for the supervisory power and
authority of the federal courts to moderate
the invidious, perniciously evil use of
peremptory challenges by government counsel

in racially despicable and condemnable ways.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, petitioner
respectfully petitions this Court to grant a

writ of certiorari to review the decision of

29

the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT GLASS

GLASS & REED

338 Lafayette Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
Tel.: 504/581-9065

Counsel for Petitioner,
Eugene Leslie

LOLIS EDWARD ELIE

215 N. Jefferson Davis Pkwy.
New Orleans, LA 70119

Tel.: 504/482-0330

Co-counsel for Petitioner,
Eugene Leslie

30

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Robert Glass, a member of the bar of
this Court, hereby certify that copies of
this petition for certiorari have been served
on respondent, United States of America, by
mailing three copies thereof, first class
ieteds prepaid, to the Solicitor General,
Department of Justice, Washington, DC 20530,
and three copies to John Volz, Esq., U.S.
Attorney, 500 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA

70130, this day of April, 1986.

ROBERT GLASS

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0383%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
