# Motion — Budget Rent-A-Car of Cincinnati, Inc. v. Kentucky Revenue Cabinet

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0362%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1137

## Text

—

Supreme Court, U.S,
(@) | I. PILED

No. 85-1637 | MAY @ 1988

SPANIOL, JR.

CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

BUDGET RENT A CAR OF CINCINNATI,
oes «6s « «« »« - Appellant

versus

REVENUE CABINET, COMMONWEALTH
OF KENTUCKY : - - - - Appeilee

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of Kentucky

ROSS T. CARTER
Legal Services Section
Revenue Cabinet
P. 0. Box 423
Frankfort, Kentucky 40602
Ph: 502/564-3112

Counsel for Appeilee

WESTERFIELD-BONTE CO., 619 W. KENTUCKY=-P.O. SOX 3251, LOUISVILLE, KY.

No. 85-1637

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

Bupcet Rent A Car OF Crncinnatl, Inc. - Appellant
Vv.

REVENUE CABINET, COMMONWEALTH OF
KENTUCKY - - - - - - Appellee

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

The appellee moves the Court to dismiss the appeal
herein or, in the alternative, to affirm the judgment of
the Supreme Court of Kentucky on the ground that it
is manifest that the questions on which the decision of
this cause depends are so unsubstantial as not to need
further argument.

I. THE STATE LAWS INVOLVED AND THE
NATURE OF THE CASE.

The Greater Cincinnati Airport is located in
Northern Kentucky. Budget Rent A Car of Cincinnati
maintains an outlet there, renting automobiles to cus-
tomers who frequently drive across the Ohio River into
Cincinnati. Some of the cars which Budget rents were
licensed in Kentucky, and some were licensed in Ohio.
The question of where the vehicles should have been

2

registered is not an issue in this case. The questions
raised by Budget were: may Budget rent its Ohio-
licensed vehicles from its Kentucky outlet without
paying tax to Kentucky?; and, is tax due on every
Kentucky transaction even though some of the vehicles
are driven some of the time in Ohio?

The first question was decided purely under state
law. Kentucky imposes a usage tax for the privilege
of using Kentucky lighways. The Supreme Court of
Kentucky looked at the applicable statutes and regu-
lations (Ky. Rev. St. 138.460, 138.463, 138.455, and 103
Ky. Admin. Reg. 44:020) and determined that Ken-
tucky motor vehicle usage tax was due on every trans-
action that tock piace in Kentucky, irrespective of
whether the vehicle bore Ohio or Kentucky licertse
plates. This question, since it involves only state law,
is presumably not before this Court for consideration.

Il. THE FEDERAL QUESTION INVOLVED.

The second question was decided by the Kentucky
Supreme Court under the commerce clause of the fed-
eral constitution. The Court applied the classic four-
part test set out in Complete Auto Transit, Ine. v.
Brady, 430 U. 8. 274, 97 S. Ct. 1076, 51 L. Ed. 2d 326
(1977), and concluded that taxation of all of Budget’s
Kentucky operations imposed no unconstitutional
burden on interstate commerce.

Other constitutional arguments, such as a denial of
equal protection, were not raised by Budget and have
never been discussed in the proceedings below.

Ill. A BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE KENTUCKY
SUPREME COURT'S DECISION.

A. The State Law Issue.

In Kentucky, vehicle rental agencies may select
between two methods of paying motor vehicle usage
tax. They may pay either five percent of the value of
the vehicle at the time it is registered in Kentucky, or
they may pay five percent of the gross rental charges
derived from renting the vehicle in Kentucky. Budget
argued that since registration in Kentucky is a pre-
requisite to the first alternative, it must also be a pre-
requisite to the second alternative. The Supreme
Court of Kentucky ruled to the contrary. The Court
simply stated that if the second alternative is elected,
then usage tax is due on all rentals executed within
Kentucky, regardless of where the vehicle may have
been registered. To hold otherwise would permit
Budget to escape tax completely simply by purchasing
Ohio license plates for all the vehicles located at the
Kentucky outlet. In fact, there was some evidence in
the record to indicate that this had indeed occurred.

B. The Federal Constitutional Issue.

The basic tenor of the constitutional argument
below was that since interstate commerce is implicated
(by virtue of the fact that some customers drive rental
vehicles from Kentucky into Ohio and back) then the
entire transaction, or a large proportion of the total
transactions, must be exempt from taxation. In apply-
ing the Brady, supra, test the Kentucky Supreme Court

+

reached these conclusions: the Kentucky motor ve-
hicle usage tax does not discriminate against interstate
commerce ; maintaining a business outlet for the rental
of vehicles in Kentucky supplies sufficient nexus to
impose the tax; it is not necessary that the tax be ap-
portioned on the basis of mileage, under the authority
of Capitol Greyhound Lines v. Brice, 339 U. 8. 542,
70 S. Ct. 806, 94 L. Ed. 1052 (1950); and the tax is
fairiy related to the services provided by the state, viz.,
the privilege of using Kentucky highways.

IV. ARGUMENT.

A. The Case Presents No Substantial Question Not
Previously Decided by This Court.

Complete Auto Transit, supra, supplies the defini-
tive test for determining whether Kentucky’s tax is
valid under the commerce clause. The appellant does
not propose that Complete Auto Transit ought to be
extended, discarded, or substantially modified. Rather
Budget seems to argue either that Complete Auto
Transit should not be applied at all (see Appellant’s
jurisdictional statement, pp. 14-15) or that the Ken-
tucky Supreme Court mishandled the apportionment
prong of the Complete Auto Transit test. (See Ap-
pellant’s jurisdictional statement, pp. 15-16).

First, it should be clear that Complete Auto Transit
applies to highway tax cases. The case itself, after all,
dealt with a tax levied on a motor carrier. Subsequent
cases discussing Complete Auto Transit have indicated
that it applies to all types of interstate commerce, in-
cluding use of highways. See Massachusetts v. United

5

States, 435 U. S. 444, 55 L. Ed. 2d 403, 98 S. Ct. 1153
(1978). .

Second, this Court has ruled that a state may ignore
mileage completely in evaluating the apportionment
prong of the Complete Auto Transit test. In Capitol
Greyhound Lines v. Brice, supra, the Court stated:
‘“Compiete fairness would require that a state tax
formula vary with every factor affecting appropriate
compensation for road use. [...] We have recognized
that such burdens may be sufficient to justify states in
ignoring even such a key factor as mileage... .’’ 339
U. S. at 546-547, 94 L. Ed. 2d 1053, 70 S. Ct. 806.

Complete Auto Transit and Capitol Greyhound
Lines specifically hold that the fact that a taxpayer
may travel extensively on out-of-state highways does
not invalidate a tax or reduce a tax on his in-state
travels. This case illuminates the precise reason for
that rule. Paying the Kentucky tax entitles Budget
and Budget’s customers to use every highway in Ken-
tucky. As it happens they choose to use our highways
very little; but they are free, just like every other
Kentucky taxpayer, to use every mile of Kentucky’s
highways. Their privilege is the same as everyone
else’s; therefore their tax obligation should be the
same, too.

B. Budget Attempts to Raise Issues Which Were Not

Raised Before and for Which It Lacks Standing.
Budget elected to be taxed under the second alter-
native. Budget now argues that the first alternative is
invalid. Budget paints a picture of ravenous tax col-

lectors stationed at the state’s borders extracting an
onerous tax from every non-resident who desires to
drive into our state. That scenario might be appro-
priate if Budget were one of those hypothetical non-
residents who was stopped and foreed to pay the tax.
But those are not the facts of this case. The pertinent
fact here is that Budget rents automobiles in Kentucky
to people who sometimes drive into Ohio, and doesn’t
want to pay tax to either state. Budget should not be
permitted to avoid its own tax obligation by arguing
that another tax, assessed against another taxpayer,
might be unconstitutional.

V. CONCLUSION.

For the reasons stated herein this appeal should
either be dismissed or affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Ross T. CARTER
Legal Services Section
Kevenue Cabinet
P. O. Box 423
Frankfort, Kentucky 40602
Ph: 502/564-3112

Counsel for Appellee

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that three copies of the foregoing Mo-
tion to Dismiss or Affirm were served this __-___ day of
May, 1986, in compliance with the Rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States, by depositing three copies in a
United States post office or mailbox, with first-class
postage prepaid, addressed to Hon. Robert S. Miller, Miller,
Griffin & Marks, P.S.C., Suite 700, Security Trust Build-
ing, Lexington, Kentucky 40507-1293. All parties required
to be served have been served.

Ross T. Carter
Attorney for Appellee

APPENDIX

RENDERED: JANUARY 16, 1986
TO BE PUBLISHED

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY
No. 84-80-991-DG

REVENUE CaBINET, COMMONWEALTH
or Kentucky - - - - - - Movant

Vv.

Bupcet Rent-A-Car or Cincinnati,
Iwo. - + += = & «© © + Respondent

On Review From the Court of Appeals
No. 84-CA-707-MR
(Franklin Circuit Court No. 82-CI-1017)

OPINION OF THE COURT BY JUSTICE GANT
REVERSING AND REMANDING

Budget Rent-A-Car of Cincinnati, Inc., among its opera-
tions, maintains an automobile rental outlet at Greater
Cincinnati Airport, which is located in Boone County, Ken-
tucky. Rentals at that site comprise some 60% of the total
business of the corporation. Pursuant to the applicable
statutes and regulations of this state, an allocation formula
was devised and agreed to by which Budget registered
some 19% of the vehicles used at this location in Kentucky,
the remainder being registered in Ohio. This action con-
cerns the usage tax payable to the Commonwealth under
the applicable law of the state.

10

The statute pertaining to the question is:

KRS 138.463. Collection of tax on U-Drive-It. —
(1) A holder of a certificate as required under KRS
281.615 to operaic as a U-Drive-It as defined in KRS
281.014 may pay the usage tax as provided in KRS 138.
460 or, subject to the provisions of subsection (2), may
pay a usage tax of five per cent (5%) levied upon the
amount of the gross rental or lease charges paid by a
customer or lessee renting or leasing a motor vehicle
from such holder of the certificate.

(2) A holder of a certificate shall pay the usage
tax as provided in KRS 138.460 unless he shows to the
satisfaction of the Cabinet that he is regularly engaged
in the renting or leasing of motor vehicles to retail
customers as part of an established business. Persons
first engaging in the renting or leasing of motor ve-
hicles to retail customers shall, in addition to obtaining
a certificate required under KRS 281.615, demonstrate
to the satisfaction of the Cabinet that they are pre-
pared to qualify under the standards set forth in this
subsection.

(3) In the event the holder of such certificate quali-
fies under subsection (2) and elects to pay the usage
tax by the alternate method as provided in subsection
(1), he shall present his certificate to the county clerk
at the time the motor vehicle is offered for registration
in Kentucky and the following provisions shall be ap-
plicable.

(4) The tax shall be the direct obligation of the
holder of the certificate but it may be charged to and
collected from the customer in addition to the rental
or lease charges. The tax due shall be remitted to the
Revenue Cabinet.

11

The applicable regulation in this case is 103 KAR 44:
020(6) (b) : "

Fleets of vehicles operating under a U-Drive-It per-
mit which are registered pursuant to an allocation
formula by the Department of Transportation may,
upon approval of the Department of Revenue, elect to
pay the five per cent (5%) usage tax on revenue de-
rived from rental or leasing of all vehicles rented or
leased in Kentucky.

Under KRS 138.463(1), Budget chose to operate under
this second option, which provides a usage tax of 5% upon
“gross rental or lease charges paid by a customer or
lessee,” rather than paying the usage tax on the vehicles
registered in Kentucky. However, they paid this optional
tax only on the rental or lease charges on those vehicles
registered in Kentucky, and not on the rental or lease
charges for the entire fleet of U-Drive-Its rented at the
Kentucky location. Relying upon the above quoted regu-
lation and statute, and after a complete audit of Budget,
Revenue assessed a deficiency of $255,526, plus penalties
and interest, contending the regulation and the statute
clearly required under the option selected by Budget that
the 5% usage tax applied to all Kentucky rentals, not
merely to rentals of those vehicles registered in the state.

The audit conducted by Revenue on the records of
Budget disclosed that Budget had collected the 5% usage
tax on all vehicles in the rental fleet, irrespective of its
registration, applying the tax to the “time and mileage”
charge and the collision insurance charge, but not to other
charges such as the “drop-off” charge in the rental con-
tracts. However, Budget had paid the tax thus collected
on only the vehicles registered in Kentucky, pocketing the
remainder.

12

The Board of Tax Appeals upheld the deficiency assess-
ment, plus penalty and interest, but its Opinion and Order,
written by Edward F. Prichard, Jr., Chairman, was re-
versed by the Franklin Circuit Court and that reversal was
upheld by the Court of Appeals.

STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION

KRS 138.463 provides two alternate methods of paying
taxes for U-Drive-It businesses operating in Kentucky.
They may pay the usage tax of 5% provided under KRS
138.460 on the value of registered vehicles at the time of
registration; or, they may pay a usage tax of 5% on the
“gross rental or lease charges paid by a customer or lessee
renting cr leasing a motor vehicle...” There is no lan-
guage of limitation if the company elects to pay its tax
under the second alternative and yet the interpretation
urged upon us and adopted by Budget (and by the Court
of Appeals) would add to the second alternative, after the
words “motor vehicle,” the phrase “Registered in Ken-
tucky.” We cannot concur with such equivocation, and find
no connection in the statute between the two alternatives
which would make the first alternative an incidence of the
second. Cf. Furste v. Dixie Traction Company, 286 Ky. 336,
150 S. W. 2d 913 (1941).

The alternative methods are quite simple. Once the
allocation formula is determined, as provided by 103 KAR
44 :020, the U-Drive-It operator may pay the usage tax pro
vided by KRS 138.460 at the time of registration, on all
vehicles registered in Kentucky, and exclude those vehicles
registered in another state; or they may elect to pay the
5% usage tax derived from leases entered into in this state
on all vehicles in the rental fleet which are leased in Ken-
tucky.

To hold otherwise would permit Budget to select the
best of both alternatives. For example, the record divulges

13

that there was annually a vast difference between the per-
ceutage of vehicles registened in Kentucky and the per-
centage of rental of those vehicles when compared to the
entire fleet rental. Also, for two periods, one of four
months and one of five months, no tax was paid at all in-
asmuch as no Kentucky vehicle was rented out of the entire
fleet. Clearly, the statute was not intended to permit
Budget, or similar enterprises, to do business in this state
on a regular basis without paying a fair and proper tax
for that privilege. Cf. Reeves v. Deisenroth, 288 Ky. 724,
157 S. W. 2d 331 (1941). Further, KRS 138.455 states that
all taxes imposed under the applicable sections of the chap-
ter are taxes “on the privilege of using a motor vehicle
upon the public highways” of this state. Under our Con-
stitution, the revenues from such taxes are mandated to
be placed in the road fund.

CONSTITUTIONALITY

The principal thrust of Budget’s argument herein is
that the regulatory scheme enacted by Revenue under the
statute and under the applicable regulations are violative
of the United States Constitution, art. 1, § 8, CL. 3, the in-
terstate commerce clause. Budget’s contention was adopted
by the Franklin Cireuit Court and the Court of Appeals,
but we do not agree. Although the law relating to the
commerce clause has undergone cyclical changes over the
past 50 years, one phrase has been repeatedly echoed in the
hails of the Supreme Court of the United States. That
phrase is: “It is not the purpose of the commerce clause
to relieve those engaged in interstate commerce from their
just share of state tax burden even though it increases the
cost of doing business.” Western Live Stock v. Bureau of
Revenue, 303 U. 8. 250, 254, 58 S. Ct. 546, 548, 82 L. Ed.
823 (1938).

14

The criteria which are to be applied to any state tax
relating to interstate commerce, by whatever name such
tax may be levied, were set out in Complete Auto Transit,
Inc. v. Brady, 430 U. S. 274, 97 S. Ct. 1076, 51 L. Ed. 2d
326 (1977). Those are: (1) Tkere shall not be discrimina-
tion between foreign and state corporations; (2) There
must be local activities within the taxing state to form
sufficient nexus to justify the tax; (3) The tax must be
properly apportioned to local activities; and (4) The tax
must be related fairly to services provided by the state.
Also, this case goes on to say, such tax would be upheld
even though the activity was generated exclusively by in-
terstate sales.

Applying these criteria to the case before us, we find
distinct compliance with each of them. First, there is no
discrimination between this Ohio corporation and any Ken-
tucky corporation operating in the same line of business.
In fact, no discrimination is even urged by the respondent.
Second, the entire activities of Budget in renting its fleet
at its airport location in Kentucky are intrastate, not in-
terstate, giving more than sufficient connection, or nexus,
to this state in the operation. The fact that the customer,
or lessee, may go north, south, east or west from his point
of Kentucky origin is his choice, not that of Budget. Also,
in whichever direction he goes, he operates upon the high-
ways of this state for some portion of the trip. This is a
total answer to the third standard. The apportionment by
mileage urged by Budget is noi required under the com-
merce clause, especially where there is this volume of local
activities. See Capitol Greyhound Lines v. Brice, 339 U.S.
542, 70 S. Ct. 806, 94 L. Ed. 1053 (1950). Finally, the tax
is on the privilege to use the highways in this state, not on
the use itself. Although Budget may charge by the mile
driven, the tax is a flat percentage charge for the privilege.

15

Of course, as Budget readily admits, there is no question
of double taxation herein as Ohio charges no registration
tax or usage tax on any of the Ohio licensed vehicles in
the fleet.

STATUTORY APPLICATION

We further affirm the Board of Tax Appeals in its
opinion that the tax applies to all charges, including “total
time and mileage,” “full collision insurance,” “personal ac-
cident insurance,” and “drop-off charges,” as set out in the
lease agreement with Budget as lessor and the customer
as lessee. We find no ambiguity in a statute which assesses
the usage tax upon “gross rental” and “gross .. . lease
charges.” As any dictionary definition reads, “gross”
means “without deductions.” If it is a charge contained
in the lease, by clear meaning that is a “lease charge.”

We reverse the Court of Appeals on the issues herein
disposed of and remand this case to the Franklin Circuit
Court for further proceedings dealing with penalty assess-
ment, statute of limitations, and all other issues originally
raised but not disposed of in that court.

All coneur.

Attorney for Movant:

ROSS T. CARTER
Legal Services Section
Revenue Cabinet

P. O. Box 423
Frankfort, KY 40602

Attorney for Respondent:

ROBERT S. MILLER

Miller, Griffin & Marks, P.S.C.
700 Security Trust Building
Lexington, KY 40507

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0362%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
