# Motion — American General Life & Accident Insurance v. Miller

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0345%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1042

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FIlLED
5) APR 2049988

}
‘a J

No. 85-1429 Wo len &. SPANIO‘L, JR.

~at ene
Citi RM.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

AMERICAN GENERAL LIFE AND ACCIDENT
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant,
Ws

CAROLYN MILLER AND MARVIN RAMSEY MILLER, B8R.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Mississippi

MOTION TO DISMISS

GEORGE C. COCHRAN *
University, MS 38677
(601) 232-7361

MICHAEL B. MCMAHAN
MCMAHAN & MCMAHAN
P. O. Box 31
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
(601) 544-8680

Attorneys for Appellees

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

re cence ae ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
pe PR Be ig y | | RRR NE Re On i
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROV!-
I te i csc cneeenndsinimanimiinnsonnins 1
ie ee 1 gt ly 1 oy). | Sennen 2
I Fat Xe a aonceniesanababidonianneniiins 5
III ise cxcdoasacbiasthaacaaddas sac asttnanneneeddaeeeaandaanudincduecen 10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:
Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, slip op. at 14 (No. 84-

es i ceshsabiaiadi 9
Barr v. City of Columbia, 375 U.S. 147, 149 (1964)... 7
Collins v. North Miss. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, 445 So.

pM eT cae, |) eee rne 7
Cunningham v. Cunningham, 423 So. 2d 136 (Miss.

I ce on 7
Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255 (1982) ................. 7
Lumberman’s Mut. Cas. Co. v. Rhodes, 459 So. 2d

i cen sipsaoscancunne 7
McGolderick v. Compagnie Generale Transatlan-

tique, 309 U.S. 430, 4384 (1940)... 9
Peoples Bk. & Trust Co. v. L & T Developers, Inc., _

ee Tk ee FE, OD erie. 8
Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120,

BE ii neck p oucserkbneidaaainncialse 5
South Cent. Beli v. Adson, 474 So. 2d 584 (Miss.

|.) BRERIERRRY tcp rm ery ere meer UNC een eee 7
Wallace v. Jones, 360 So. 2d 932 (Miss. 1978) ........ 8
Webb v. Webb, 451 U.S. 493, 499 (1981) —000000... 9

STATUTES AND RULES:
Miss. Code Ann. § 11-3-23 (Supp. 1982) ........0........ 5, 6
Rule 14, Mississippi Supreme Court ......................... 1% 74
TREATISES:
A. TOBIAS, THE INVISIBLE BANKERS 258-9 (1982)... 1
16 C. WRIGHT, A. MILLER, E. COOPER & E. GRESS-
MAN, FED. PRAC. & PROC. 4022 at 701 (1977)....... 5,8

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No. 85-1429

AMERICAN GENERAL LIFE AND ACCIDENT
INSURAI"CE COMPANY,

Appellant,

CAROLYN MILLER AND MARVIN RAMSEY MILLER, 8R..,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Mississippi

MOTION TO DISMISS

Pursuant to Rule 16.1(b), Appellees move to dismiss
this appeal on the ground that the federal questions
sought to be reviewed were not timely and properly
raised before the Supreme Court of Mississippi.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Rule 14, Mississippi Supreme Court.

PETITION FOR REHEARING

(a) Within fifteen (15) days after a decision is
handed down on the merits of a case or on a motion,
any party asserting that an error of law or fact was
committed may file a written petition for rehearing,
fandj] ... shall briefly and distinctly set forth its

2

grounds. The petition for rehearing shall be accom-
panied by a brief in support thereof....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Appellant is a debit insurance company.’ In 1981 it
had a net worth of $470,000,000 and net profits for that
fiscal-year of $134,000,000. The typical policy issued is
for a small amount and the typical insured is a person
of low income who has never purchased insurance before.

Carolyn and Marvin Miller fit the pattern. Neither
possesses a high-school education, and they live a life best
described as on the edge of a marginal economic base.
When solicited by two agents of Appellant (Messrs.
Dillon and Blount), Mrs. Miller orally responded to ques-
tions concerning the health of her child by explaining
that he had a heart murmur. The agents, however,
omitted this information from the application form they

1The history and current status of this industry has been
recently reviewed:

[With respect to debit insurance] [t]hese are tiny face-amount
policies, still sold in some of America’s poverty pockets ....
Under the terms of these whole life policies, an insurance agent
comes by in person, weekly, to collect the 50 cents or dollar
that is due, checking off payments in his debit book. For the
poor who could save in no other way, it was argued, this was
worthwhile insurance. Yet these policies were, and are, gro-
tesquely inefficient. Of each dime “saved,” perhaps a penny
went to pay the actual cost of insurance, and a penny or two
more built up “cash value”’—but most of the dime went to
expenses, overhead and profit. Horror stories abound of
families being sold five and ten such penny-rate policies—on
the lives of their children, no less, instead of their breadwinner
—when the coverage was not needed, or when the same dollars,
combined to purchase a single term policy, could have pur-
chased five or ten or twenty times more coverage .... There
were still 98 million home-service life insurance policies in
force in 1980 (. . . 36 million [of which are] monthly debit
plans), with an average face value of less than $1,600 each.

[A. ToBIAS, THE INVISIBLE BANKERS 258-9 (1982) ].

3

prepared and forwarded to the Appellant. Subsequently,
following the child’s death, Appellant refused to pay the
policy amount ($2,500) to the Millers on the basis of
“false statements” on the application. The practices of
Appellant uncovered at the trial in which the jury
awarded $2,500 in actual damages and $350,000 in puni-
tive damages elicited the following analysis from one
Justice of the Mississippi Supreme Court:

In ail likelihood Dillon’s and Blount’s sole source
of income from National Life was on commission.
Furthermore, their largest commission came from the
initial premium paid on an insurance policy.

If the policy was issued following the application,
they kept the commission. If the policy was not is-
sued, the premium had to be refunded.

When the soliciting agent, rather than the appli-
cant fills in the application, it is naive to assume
there is not a strong temptation on his part to ig-
nore an answer the applicant gives which would
prevent the company’s issuing a policy, which would
“knock out” a sale.

The insurance companies surely know this. Yet,
they permit their agents to be put in such conflict
of interest positions, only to assert later, with a pre
sumably straight face, that precisely what happened
in this case should never occur.

Not only this, having approved a system of prac-
tice which encourages giving false answers (by their
own agents) to questions on their application forms,
they use the deceit of their own employees as a
weapon to deny a claim.

It would be quite simple to remove from the agent
any responsibility or authority to fill in the applica-
tion form. The question then follows, why don’t in-
surance companies do so?

The answer, for insurance companies such as this
defendant, is not savory.

4

... Did National Life know, or have any reason |
to know, that Blount and Dillon had been told by |
Mrs. Miller that her son had a heart problem when
the application was taken? When she made the claim |
for her son’s death, she told the company she had
told Dillon and Blount the truth. Yet the company
waited eleven months after rejecting her claim, and
just two weeks before trial before it ever so much
as questioned Dillon and Blount, its own employees,
about the circumstances surrounding the apvlication.

. . . National Life could play the odds with its
practice of encouraging agents to submit false appli-
cations and then be able to deny a claim because the
application was false. In this case National Life has
played the odds and lost.

A punitive damages award in this case is quite
proper. Again, a court has been called upon to re-
dress grievances which could be avoided by proper
state regulation of insurance company practices.

[ Jurisdictional Statement 20a-21a]}.

After the jury’s verdict was entered, Appellant filed
a “Motion for Judgment, Corrected Judgment, or New
Trial.” Grounds for setting aside the punitive damage
award were limited to the following:

That the verdict of the jury is against the over-
whelming weight of the testimony and there is no
testimony «> atsoever to justify a verdict for puni-
tive damages.

That, if the plaintiffs were entitled to recover
anything whatsoever in the cause, which is denied,
the verdict is excessive and evidences that the jury
was biased and prejudiced against said defendant.

(Id. at 71a}.

The motion was denied. Appeal to the Mississippi
Supreme Court followed. In its brief to the court,

5

Appellant confined its argument on the punitive dam-
ages issue to the contention that it was “excessive”
under applicable Mississippi decisions. Jd. at 109a-110a,
123a. Following affirmance and imposition of the manda-
tory fifteen percent appeal penalty pursuant to Miss.
Code Ann. § 11-3-23 (Supp. 1982), id. at 22a, Ap-
pellant filed a petition for rehearing. This document
raised, for the first time, the issue of whether the 15%
penalty provision violated the Fourteenth Amendment.?
The only basis for reconsideration of the punitive dam-
age award, on the other hand, was limited to the follow-
ing contention:

A party making an unsuccessful factual defense
should not be subjected to a punitive damage in-
struction.

[Id. at 26a].

Thereafter, in a discrete portion of its brief in support
of the petition for rehearing, Appellant inserted one
sentence in which reference was made to a violation of
the Eighth Amendment and/or “due process rights.”
Id. at 32a. Following denial of rehearing without
opinion, Appellant now comes to this Court arguing that
plenary review of all constitutional issues “raised” and
“rejected” on rehearing is in order.

ARGUMENT

The Eighth Amendment and Due Process Issues:—The
general rule, of course, is that “[{q]uestions first pre-
sented to the highest State court on a petition for re-
hearing come too late for consideration” by this Court.
Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120, 128
(1945); 16 C. Wricht, A. MILLER, E. Cooper & E.
GRESSMAN, FED. PRAc. & Proc. § 4022 at 701 (1977).
While Appellant attempts to bring its case within excep-

* As pointed out, Appellant also raised the issue in a Motion to
Correct Mandate. Jurisdictional Statement 3.

6

tions to this rule, its analysis fails to deal with one
serious problem: the petition for rehearing did not raise
any constitutional claim with respect to the punitive
damage award.’

Rule 14 of the Mississippi Supreme Court requires the
filing of two documents at the rehearing stage: a peti-
tion which “briefly and distinctly set forth its grounds,”
and a “brief in support thereof.” As noted in the state-
ment of the case, the only grounds asserted in the peti-
tion for the granting of a rehearing alleged a violation
of state law, ie., “[a] party making an unsuccessful
factual defense should not be subjected to a punitive
damage instruction.” Having failed to “distinctly set
forth” any constitutional deficiency with respect to the
punitive damage award in its petition (as compared to
the sentence reference found in the brief in support
thereof), the issue is not appropriate for full review by
this Court.

Mississippi's Penalty Provision and the Equal Protec-
tion Challenge:—Section 11-3-23 is a mandatory pro-
vision, i.e., “the Supreme Court shall render judgment
arainst the appellant for damages at the rate of fifteen
percent ....” (emphasis added). This fact has led the
Mississippi Supreme Court to make the following propo-
sition clear to all members of the bar:

Every losing litigant is given an automatic right of
appeal. When deciding whether to exercise that
right, the penalty statute is there for him to con-
sider. If he is successful on his appeal, of course,
he incurs no penalty. Jf he loses, however, he must
pay the price, a price he well knows and may easily
calculate before giving his notice of appeal.

3 Appellant apparently has reached the same conclusion. See, e.g.,
Jurisdictional Statement 10 (requesting a “hold” on the case
pending disposition “of any other cases ... which... may be
suitable for decision of [sic] the Excessive Fines Clause” in order
that the perceived “new constitutional rule” can be applied to
the case.

re

7

[Collins v. North Miss. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, 445 So. 2d
828, 832 (Miss. 1984) (emphasis added) }.

Appellant had adequate notice of the proposition that
if the trial court’s judgment was affirmed, the penalty
would automatically attach. The fifteen percent penalty
of Section 11-3-23 is imposed unless the appeal is suc-
cessful and an appellant’s only defense is to contest
the statute’s applicability (on constitutional or other
grounds) on appeal. This is exactly the technique em-
ployed by counsel in previous cases. Cunningham v.
Cunningham, 423 So. 2d 136, 1388 (Miss. 1982) (court
directly addresses question on appeal as to whether
appellee was entitled to statutory damages); Collins v.—
North Miss. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, supra at 831 (addressing
applicability of 11-3-23 on appeal). See also South Cent.
Bell v. Adson, 474 So. 2d 584 (Miss. 1985) (direct
appeal; decision that 15% penalty was applicable to em-
ployer in worker’s compensation case); Lumberman’s
Mut. Cas. Co. v. Rhodes, 459 So .2d 244, 246 (Miss.
1984) (direct appeal; determination that funds were
subject to penalty).

Appellant argues, however, that there is precedent for
the proposition that the Mississippi Supreme Court enter-
tains post-judgment motions by unsuccessful appellants
attacking the statute’s constitutionality. As a general
proposition, the fact that a state supreme court employs
its equitable powers in certain instances to grant peti-
tions for rehearing has no bearing on this Court’s
rule precluding review of questions first raised in
this manner. Even more important, however, the

* Appellees agree with Appellant’s apparent conclusion that this
Court’s decision in Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255 (1982), has no
bearing on the correct disposition of the instant case. First, there
is no argument that petitions for rehearing with respect to Section
11-3-23 have not been handled “evenhandedly.” Jd. at 264. Second,
this Court’s citation to Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 147, 149
(1964), indicates that Hathorn is a decision compatible with the

8

case relied upon by Appellant, Wallace v. Jones, 360
So. 2d 932 (Miss. 1978), involves a situation in which
a successful appellee filed a post-decision motion con-
tending that the court was in error by not complying
with the mandatory statutory obligation to impose the
penalty. It is in this limited context, and only this contexi,
that the Mississippi Supreme Court has entertained ar-
guments on rehearing (including those of a constitutional
dimension) by appellants that the penalty should not be
imposed. See also, Peoples Bk. & Trust Co. v. L & T
Developers, Inc., 4837 So. 2d 7 (Miss. 1983) (motion for
assessment of statutory damages entertained; defense
by opposing party based on, among other things, consti-
tutional grounds).

This line of decisions establishes the following prece-
dent. First, those deciding to appeal are on notice that
an affirmance will result in the assessment of the penalty
if the case falls within the coverage of Section 11-3-23.
Second, inasmuch as the penalty is mandatory, all argu-
ments relating to its inapplicability must be presented
on appeal. Third, absent a decision to attack the statute
on appeal, the only remaining opportunity to contest the
mandatory penalty on constitutional grounds arises only
if all three of the follewing have occurred: (1) the Mis-
sissippi Supreme Court affirms the trial court’s decision;

proposition that state procedural rules that are “deliberately applied
to avoid consideration of federal rights” will not preclude review by
this Court. 16 C. WRIGHT, A. MILLER, E. COOPER & E. GRESSMAN,
FED. PRAC. & Proc. § 4028 at 429 (Supp. 1985). See also id. at 431
(Hathorn may have been decided because of ‘‘an unspoken fear that
the state court was applying its rehearing limits so as to discrim-
inate against federal rights.”) Third, Hatorn can be read to pro-
vide an exception to the general rule against review of questions
presented for the first time in a petition for rehearing with respect
to issues “that the parties could have foreseen but that [arise]
with urgency” only after a court upholds part of a challenged
statute. 457 U.S. at 264. This, of course, is not the procedural
posture of the instant case.

9

(2) the judgment entered fails to award the penalty;
and (3) the appellee files a proper motion contending
that error has been committed. It is at this point that
Wallace v. Jones supports the proposition that a consti-
tutional challenge by an appellant in the form of a re-
sponse may be sufficient to permit the Court to entertain
the argument.

In Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, slip op. at 14 (No.
84-1601, April 22, 1986), this Court concluded that the
issue of mandatory assessments of percentage penalties
against unsuccessful appellants raises an important issue
“which, in an appropriate setting, must be resolved... .”
An “appropriate setting” is obviously not one in which
the issue is not raised and argued on appeal and is
brought to the attention of a state supreme court in a
petition for rehearing. Time and again this Court has
recognized that “due regard for the appropriate relation-
ship [with] ... state courts requires [it] to decline to
consider and decide questions affecting the validity of
state statutes not urged or considered there.” McGold-
erick v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 309 U.S.
430, 484 (1940). As emphasized in Webb v. Webb, 451
U.S. 493, 499 (1981):

There are powerful policy considerations underlying
the . . . rule that the federal challenge to a state
statute . . . be presented first to the state courts.
Those considerations strongly indicate that we should
apply this general principle with sufficient rigor to
make reasonably certain that we entertain cases
from state courts only where the record clearly
shows that the federal issue has been properly raised
below.

The presence of an adequate and independent state
ground in the instant case precludes review.

10

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the appeal should be dis-
missed.
Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE C. COCHRAN *
University, MS 38677
(601) 232-7361

MICHAEL B. MCMAHAN
MCMAHAN & MCMAHAN
P. O. Box 31
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
(601) 544-8680

Attorneys for Appellees

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0345%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
