# Amicus Curiae Brief — Miller-Wohl Co. v. Commissioner of Labor & Industry

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0161%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 1045

## Text

ae \ Su preme Court, U.S. 4
Nn So

K ) .
No. 94-1545 APR 26 1985

® a a -_

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS
fc IN THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

THE MILLER-WOHL COMPANY, INC.,
Appellant,
V.

COMMISSIONER OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY,
STATE OF MONTANA, AND TAMARA L. BULEY,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Montana

MOTION FOR LEAVE
TO SUBMIT BRIEF AS AMICUS CURIAE
AND BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF THE JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

ROBERT E. WILLIAMS
DOUGLAS S. MCDOWELL *
NANCY DIRKSE DE WITT
McGUINESS & WILLIAMS
1015 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Suite 1200
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 789-8600

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Equal Employment
Advisory Council

* Counsel of Record

es
WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

py VP Bi Nip 5 15 y | -- aa

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO SUBMIT BRIEF AS
I sai Sincere das acicnchsntnsnonacnnnsinn

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............0000000000..002..........-
THERE ARE SUBSTANTIAL REASONS FOR NOT-
ING PROBABLE JURISDICTION OVER THIS
PIR EPSON IR a eS A I aE Re CR
I. State Statutes Mandating That Women Disabled
By Pregnancy Be Given Benefits To Which
Other Disabled Employees Are Not Entitled
Potentially Conflict With Title VII Of The Civil
Rights Act, As Amended By the Pregnancy
Discrimination Act of 1978

A. This Case Has Implications Beyond The Par-
TSR a a re

B. The Pregnancy Discrimination Act And Its
Legislative History Strongly Indicate That
All Employees Must Be Treated The “Same”
According To Their Ability To Work And
That Work Preferences May Not Be Given
To Pregnant Employees

C. The Court Should Review This Case To Re

solve Apparent Conflicts With Prior Deci-
I re ite

II. The Montana Supreme Court’s Reliance Upon
the Adverse Impact Theory Is Contrary To The
Decisions Of This Court And The Purposes Of
The Pregnancy Discrimination Act

CONCLUSION

Page

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases Page
Abraham v. Graphic Arts International Union, 660
F264 Gil (OG; Ce: TS? ection 15
Alexander v. Choate, U.S. ——, 105 S. Ct.
PUT CID ric csesin ss nsccnih ees eneiamiaasianes viii, 17
American Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S. 63
CII cicctesncesinccinscsnenhintnntnenrsdncnitineeinainaiccamaesleniatiaaai 6
Arizona Governing Committee v. Norris, —— U.S.
, OS S. Ch. BR Cee cies viii, 10, 11
Burns v. Rohr Corp., 346 F. Supp. 994 (S.D. Cal.
DAPI vadanncaiewiscicraaccceraddllescicthahaccne tans aaenaaaais 5
California Brewers Ass’n. v. Bryant, 444 U.S. 598
ID ick cscs scsinsiinedcsecpce-sainnesmnssctbniatbiadenainaapeepeteataedints 6

California Federal Savings & Loan v. Guerra, Nos.
84-5843, 84-5844, slip op. (9th Cir. April 16,

aici dicsebcsiikeanscnonnininahaslipionaasonapsbianuearediaa viii, 4, 11, 12
Cannon v. The University of Chicago, et al., 441

TG Ce FID csisstcccenncsicanionrciastatabencehacndoliainan adic vii
Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373

pi RR: et . | RRR RNS ee eie omc er sent in Witt r; Seen 12, 13
Furnco Construction Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567

RTPI “scsiisdsnhics piaachcaciiesandannstieeabenancnsen a naacGaoni ate vii
Gardner v. Westinghouse Broadcasting Company,

Gee Be Ge 2 tetiedtiinencencsiamnens vii
General Hlectric Co. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125

| SRRURCHRA prereset. Sie a. Ae Oe 6

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971)... 14
Harper v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 525 F.2d 409

CEE GIN sR O IE Ssasavinchnisliciiioneaencnipadiaieidionin 15
Homemakers, Inc. v. Division of Industrial Wel-

fare, 509 F.2d 20 (9th Cir. 1974), cert. denied,

Se UA. HE Kiki tieebeinti See 5
International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United

Somiee; ABE UE BR CITI iscrackcvnniedineceeseennss viii, 14
Johnson v. Uncle Ben’s, Inc., 657 F.2d 750 (5th Cir.

TIPU. Uisticincindnrnccnepitsceniepleiasnenk nancy tetas enema 14
Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corp., 456 U.S.

tN See Oe RS SN cats I lied Ott SS viii

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Marafino v. St. Louis County Circuit Court, 537
F. Supp. 206 (E.D. Mo. 1982) aff’d on other
grounds, 707 F.2d 1005 (8th Cir. 1983) _............ 15
Miller-Wohl Company v. Commissioner of Labor
and Industry, State of Montana and Tamara L.
Buley, 515 F. Supp. 1264 (D. Mont. 1981), action
dismissed, 685 F.2d 1088 (9th Cir. 1982) ......... 2,5
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Com-
pany v. EEOC, U.S. ——, 103 S. Ct. 2622

EEL SL enn eee celle viii, 5, 9, 10
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., U.S. ——, 103
i cide boasepoonses viii
Shell Oil Company v. Anne M. Dartt, 434 U.S. 98
EG tt a vii
Southeastern Community College v. Davis, 442
Cee i eesnesasinienieonice 17
Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432 U.S.
Sia SECT RES RSS Ae Os SOO vii
Federal Statutes
Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended
Title VII, Section 708, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-7...._. 13
Title VII, Section 701(k), 42 U.S.C. § 200Ge-
ES GTARS Re) 5 Oe ATCT passim
The Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Section 504, 29
RE SE 17
State Statutes
Calif. Gov’t Code § 12945 (b) (2) .... 4
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46(a)-60(a) (7) 0. 4
Montana Maternity Leave Act (MMLA); MCA
AES ES ee passim

Other

H.R. Rept. No. 948, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. reprinted

in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4749... 8
S. Rept. No. 331, 95th Cong., 1st Sess. (1977) ........ 7,8
123 Cong. Rec. 29645 (1977) 7

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

THE MILLER-WOHL COMPANY, INC.,

y. Appellant,

COMMISSIONER OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY,
STATE OF MONTANA, AND TAMARA L. BULEY,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Montana

MOTION OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL
FOR LEAVE TO SUBMIT BRIEF AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and the Asso-
ciate Justices of the United States Supreme Court:

Pursuant to Rules 36 and 42 of the Rules of this
Court, the Equal Employment Advisory Council
(EEAC) moves this Court for leave to file the ac-
companying brief as amicus curiae supporting the Ju-
risdictional Statement of the Appellant, the Miller-
Wohl Company, in this case. In support of this mo-
tion, EEAC shows as follows:

1. The Equal Employment Advisory Council is a
voluntary nonprofit association organized to promote
the common interest of employers and the general
public in sound government policies, procedures and

(v)

vi

requirements pertaining to nondiscriminatory employ-
ment practices. Its membership comprises a broad
segment of the employer community in the Uniied
States, including both individual employers and trade
and industry associations. Its governing body is a
board of directors composed primarily of experts
and specialists in the field of equal employment op-
portunity. Their combined experience gives the
Council a unique depth of understanding of the prac-
tical and legal considerations relevant to the proper
interpretation and application of EEO policies and
requirements. The members of the Council are firmly
committed to the principles of nondiscrimination
and equal employment opportunity.

2. Substantially all of the Council’s members, or
their constituents, are employers subject to the pro-
visions of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,
as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, et seg., which incor-
porates the Pregnancy Discrimination Act, as well as
other federal and state statutes, orders, and regula-
tions pertaining to nondiscriminatory employment
practices. As such, these members are vitally con-
cerned with the issue presented in this case; i.e.,
whether a state statute mandating that women dis-
abled by pregnancy, childbirth, or related conditions
be given a benefit to which other disabled employees
are not entitled conflicts with the federal Pregnancy

Discrimination Act and therefore preempted by fed-
eral law.

3. The movant, EEAC, is concerned with the
broader implications of this case. Particularly, we
are concerned that affirmance of the Montana Su-
preme Court’s decision would open the door for states
to codify various types of preferential treatment for
women affected by pregnancy. As shown in more de-
tail in the attached brief, such state legislation would

EL ee OT eT Te

vii

al-aost inevitably clash with Title VII’s requirement
that employment benefits cannot be denied to em-
ployees on the basis of sex—here, male employees
and non-pregnant female employees. Thus, compli-
ance with such state pregnancy benefit statutes could
render employers liable to other employees who are
not entitled to the same benefits.

It has been suggested that employers could resolve
this potential Title VII liability by voluntarily ex-
tending to all employees those benefits which state
law requires only for pregnant employees. Such a
suggestion, however, creates an improper infringe-
ment upon traditional business prerogatives and uses
potential federal liability to force employers to adopt
policies beyond even those chosen by the state legisla-
ture. Consequently, EEAC’s members have a sub-
stantial interest in determining whether state laws
in fact create a potential conflict with Title VII. If
allowed to participate as amicus curiae, EEAC will
demonstrate that the importance of these broader is-
sues warrants that jurisdiction be noted and the case
accepted for further briefing and argument. EEAC
is uniquely qualified to do so, based upon its prior
experience with these issues and as amicus curiae in
cases raising related questions.

4. Because of its interest in issues pertaining to
equal employment, EEAC on several other occasions
has sought and been granted permission by the Court
to file briefs as amicus curiae. See, e.g., Cannon v. The
University of Chicago, et al., 441 U.S. 677 (1979);
Furnco Construction Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567
(1978); Trans World Avrlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432
U.S. 63 (1977) ; Gardner v. Westinghouse Broadcast-
ing Company, 437 U.S. 478 (1978); and Shell Oil
Company v. Anne M. Dartt, 434 U.S. 98 (1977).

vill

5. EEAC also has filed briefs as amicus curiae
with the consent of the parties in a number of other
cases raising important equal employment issues
relating to pregnancy, gender classifications, the
use of statistical evidence, and the relationship be-
tween state and federal non-discrimination law.
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company
v. EEOC, US. , 103 S. Ct. 2622 (1983) ;
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,. —— U.S. ——, 103
S. Ct. 2890 (1983); Arizona Governing Committee
v. Norris, —— U.S. ——, 103 S. Ct. 3492 (1983) ;
International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United
States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977); Alexander v. Choate,
U.S. ——, 105 S. Ct. 712 (1985); and Kremer
v. Chemical Construction Corp., 456 U.S. 461 (1982).
Furthermore, EEAC participated as amicus curiae
in California Federal Savings & Loan Association v.
Guerra, et al., Nos. 84-5843, 84-5844, slip op. (9th
Cir. April 16, 1985), a recent Ninth Circuit case
addressing a question similar to that before the Court
in this case.

6. The written consent of counsel for the appel-
lant and appellee Tamara Buley to the filing of this
brief will be filed with the Clerk .. the Court. Coun-
sel for appellee, the Commissioner of Labor of the
State of Montana, has declined to consent to the fil-
ing of this brief, thereby necessitating this motion.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT E. WILLIAMS

Dovuc.as S. MCDOWELL

NANCY DIRKSE DE WITT
McGuIness & WILLIAMS
1015 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20005
April 26, 1985 (202) 789-8600

ee |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-1545

THE MILLER-WOHL COMPANY, INC.,

2. Appellant,

COMMISSIONER OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY,
STATE OF MONTANA, AND TAMARA L. BULEY,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Montana

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF THE JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The Equal Employment Advisory Council respect-
fully submits this brief as amicus curiae contingent
upon the granting of the attached motion. This brief
urges that this case presents a substantial question
and therefore should be accepted for further review
and oral argument.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Appellant, the Miller-Wohl Company, operates
a chain of women’s clothing stores located through-
out the United States. On August 1, 1979, the Ap-
pellant hired Tamara Buley as a part-time sales
clerk in its Great Falls, Montana store. During her

settee

2

first month of employment, Ms. Buley was sick at
work on several occasions and also missed work as a
result of suffering from “morning sickness.” Conse-
quently, she was unable to perform the responsibili-
ties of the job for which she was hired. Because
Miller-Wohl’s employment policy provides that an
employee is not entitled to obtain a leave of absence
for any sickness or maternity or to receive any paid
sick leave for any illness until the end of the first
year of employment, Miller-Wohl terminated Ms.
Buley’s employment.

After her discharge, Ms. Buley filed a complaint
against Miller-Wohl with the Commissioner of Labor
and Industry alleging a violation of the Montana
Maternity Leave Act (MMLA). The Montana Ma-
ternity Leave Act provides in pertinent part, that
“Tijt shall be unlawful for an employer or his agent
to: 1) terminate a woman’s employment because of
her pregnancy; [or,] 2) refuse to grant the employee
a reasonable leave of absence for such pregnancy .. .”
Section 49-2-310, 311, MCA (1983). The Commis-
sioner found that the Appellant violated the MMLA,
that the MMLA did not conflict with federal law and
therefore it was not preempted by Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964. The state district court,

1 Based upon an alleged conflict between the MMLA and
Title VII, Appellant sought injunctive relief in federal court
to prohibit the Commission from continuing its action against
Miller-Wohl. The district court’s order finding that there was
no preemption of state law was vacated because there was no
federal subject matter jurisdiction. See Miiler-Wohl Com-
pany v. Commission of Labor & Industry, State of Montana,
515 F. Supp. 1264 (D. Mont. 1981), action dismissed, 685
F.2d 1088 (9th Cir. 1982).

3

however, reversed the decision of the Commissioner
on the grounds that

“the Maternity Leave Act is discriminatory, is a

denial of equal protection of the law, is a protec-

tive and preferential statute favoring non-

disabled pregnant employees to the discrimination

of disabled/non-pregnant employees and disabled

male employees, and is pre-empted by Titles VII
‘ and XI of the Federal Civil Rights Act.”

(A. 3¢e).?

The case was appealed to the Montana Supreme
Court which held:

* * * *

3) ‘“Miller-Wohl’s no leave policy created a dis-
parate effect on women who become pregnant,
compared to those employees who do not become
pregnant. Although facially neutral, its no-leave
policy subjected pregnant women to a job termi-
nation risk on a basis not faced by men. The
no-leave policy therefore was sexually discrimi-
natory in violation of Title VII and the Preg-
nancy Disability Act.

* of * *

5) Miller-Wohl’s termination of Tamara directly
violated the MMLA. The policy and purpose of
the MMLA is to protect equal job opportunities
for women as compared to others by removing a
female disability job risk not faced by men and
non-pregnant females. Its objective in that field,
equality, is the same as the objective of Title VII.
We do not agree that the MMLA violates Title
VII because it is gender-based in its operation, in

2 “A.” references are to the Appendices to the Jurisdictional
Statement.

4

that it protects women without at the same time
protecting others equally.

* * * *

8) We find the MMLA valid.”
(A. 3b-4b).

THERE ARE SUBSTANTIAL REASONS FOR NOTING
PROBABLE JURISDICTION OVER THIS APPEAL

I. STATE STATUTES MANDATING THAT WCMEN
DISABLED BY PREGNANCY BE GIVEN BENE-
FITS TO WHICH OTHER DISABLED EMPLOYEES
ARE NOT ENTITLED POTENTIALLY CONFLICT
WITH TITLE VII OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT,
AS AMENDED BY THE PREGNANCY DISCRIMI-
NATION ACT OF 1978.

A. This Case Has Important Implications Beyond The
Particular Parties.

The Court’s disposition of this case could have im-
portant ramifications beyond the particular Montana
statute and employer. At issue is the authority of
state governments to require that pregnant employees
be granted employment benefits to which neither male
nor female employees who are not pregnant but who
also suffer from disabilities, are entitled to receive.
The instant case involves a state statute that requires
an employer to give a leave of absence to employees
disabled by pregnancy even though the employer does
not grant such leave to employees with other dis-
abilities. Other states, moreover, have also enacted
statutes which provide other employment preferences
based on pregnancy.*® Insofar as this Court is called

3 See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46a-60(a) (7); Calif. Gov’t Code
§ 12945(b) (2), which requires pregnancy leave for up to four
months, upheld in California Federal Savings & Loan Associ-
ation v. Guerra, et al., Nos. 84-5848, 5844, slip op. (9th Cir.
April 16, 1985).

5

upon in the instant case to determine whether these
pregnancy-related preferences conflict with Title VII,
the case raises important questions of federal em-
ployment policy and the appropriate relationship
between the federal and state governments in regu-
lating this area.

As shown more fully below, the state laws in ques-
tion go beyond the federal Pregnancy Discrimination
Act, in that the federal Act does not require that
pregnant employees be treated any differently than
other employees with respect to disability benefits or
leave policies. It merely mandates that they receive
the same treatment as other employees. At the same
time, it is clear that Title VII forbids employers to
treat other employees, including males, differently
because of their sex. Newport News Shipbuilding
and Dry Dock Company v. EEOC, USS. .
103 S. Ct. 2622 (1983), discussed more fully below
at p. 9-10. Our concern, therefore, is that employers
may face liability to groups of nonpregnant employ-
ees who are not entitled to receive the same employ-
ment benefits as are mandated for pregnant employ-
ees under these state laws. The federal district court
and the Montana Supreme Court suggested that this
dilemma could be resolved by the employer extending
its policies to provide all employees with these same
benefits.* This, however, is an improper infringe-

* Miller-Wohl Co. v. Commissioner, 515 F. Supp. at 1267;
(A. 25b-26b). It should be noted that it is extremely question-
able whether the courts have the authority to usurp legislative
prerogatives and extend to all employees benefits which the
legislature has given only to one group. See e.g., Homemakers,
Inc. v. Division of Industrial Welfare, 509 F.2d 20, 22 (9th
Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1063 (1976) ; and Burns v.

6

ment upon business prerogatives and uses potential
federal liability as a lever to force employers to adopt
employment benefit policies beyond those even the
state legislature has chosen to require. Further guid-
ance by the Court, therefore, is needed at this time.

B. The Pregnancy Discrimination Act And Its Legis-
lative History Strongly Indicate that All Employ-
ees Must Be Treated The “Same” According To
Their Ability To Work And That Work Status Pref-
erences May Not Be Given To Pregnant Employees.

The Pregnancy Discrimination Act, enacted in Oc-
tober 1978, was a congressional clarification of em-
ployment discrimination law with respect to preg-
nancy and pregnancy-related issues.” The Act, which
amends Title VII, reads:

The terms “because of sex” or “on the basis of
sex” include, but are not limited to, because of
or on the basis of pregnancy, childbirth or re-
lated medical conditions; and women affected by
pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical condi-
tions shall be treated the same for all employ-
ment-related purposes, including receipt of bene-
fits under fringe benefit programs, as other per-
sons not so affected but similar in their ability or
inability to work, and nothing in Section 703 (h)

Rohr Corp., 346 F. Supp. 994, 997 (S.D. Cal. 1972). And see,
California Brewers Ass’n. v. Bryant, 444 U.S. 598 (1980)
(Congress left it to employers and not the courts to establish
employment conditions).

5 Specificaliy, Congress intended to negate the Court’s deci-
sion in General Electric Co. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125 (1976),
in which the Court stated that a disability insurance plan
which excluded coverage for pregnancy related disabilities
did not violate Title VII because a condition-related distinc-
tion was being made, not a gender-related distinction.

7

of this title shall be interpreted to permit other-
wise (emphasis added).
42 U.S.C. § 2000e(k).

In selecting this language, Congress intentionally
specified that all employees should be treated the
“same” on the basis of their ability or inability to
work. The meaning of this language is clear. Preg-
nant women may be treated no differently—neither
more beneficially nor more detrimentally—than any
other workers who, for reasons other than pregnancy,
are similarly situated in terms of their ability or
inability to work.°

This construction of the Pregnancy Discrimination
Act’s plain language is supported by its legislative
history. As stated by Senator Stafford on the Sen-
ate floor, “When an employer treats pregnancy,
childbirth, and related conditions the same as he
treats any other disabling condition, then he has com-
plied with this bill.” 123 Cong. Rec. 29645 (1977).

Although not discussed by the Court below, the leg-
islative history is replete with evidence that Con-
gress intended to permit only equal treatment. On
numerous occasions, it was stated that there was
nothing in the Act to mandate any additional treat-
ment for women to accommodate their role as child
bearers. In the Senate report submitted by Senator
Williams, the legislation was explained as follows:

the bill does not require employers to treat preg-
nant women in any particular manner with re-
spect to hiring, permitting them to continue

6 Whenever a question of statutory construction arises, it is
well-settled that the starting point must be the language used
by Congress and it is assumed that the legislative purpose is
expressed by the ordinary meaning of the words used by
Congress. See American Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S.
63, 68-69 (1982), and cases cited therein.

8

working, providing sick leave, furnishing medical
and hospital benefits, providing disability bene-
fits, or any other matter. The bill would simply
require that pregnant women be treated the same
as other employees on the basis of their ability or
inability to work.

S. Rep. No. 331, 95th Cong. 1st Sess. 4 (1977)

The House Report also reaffirms that the Con-
gressional intent was to mandate only equal treat-
ment.

It must be emphasized that this legislation, op-
erating as part of Title VII, prohibits only dis-
criminatory treatment. Therefore, it does not re-
quire employers to treat pregnant employees in
any particular manner with respect to hiring,
permitting them to continue working, providing
sick leave, furnishing medical and hospital bene-
fits, providing disability benefits, or any other
matter.... The bill would simply require that
pregnant women be treated the same as other
employees on the basis of their ability or in-
ability to work ....
The “same treatment” may include employer
practices of transferring workers to lighter as-
signments, requiring employees to be examined
by company doctors or other practices, so long as
the requirements and benefits are administered
equally for all workers in terms of their actual
ability to perform work (emphasis added).

H.R. Rep. No. 948, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 4-5 re-

printed in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4749,

4752-4758.

C. The Court Should Review This Case To Resolve
Apparent Conflicts With Prior Decisions Of This
Court.

As construed by this Court, the Pregnancy Dis-
crimination Act requires that all employees, male

9

and female, be treated the same and forbids sex-
related benefit differentials. While the question
whether a state statute granting preferential treat-
ment to women disabled by pregnancy conflicts with
Title VII is a novel question for the Court, this
Court has previously recognized that an employment
policy of an individual employer which provides spe-
cial treatment for pregnant employees violates the
Pregnancy Discrimination Act. In Newport News
Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company v. EEOC, ——
US. , 103 S. Ct. 2622 (1983), the Court
squarely addressed and rejected the assertion that
it is appropriate under the PDA to accord preferen-
tial treatment to women employees disabled by preg-
nancy. The Court found that the employer had en-
gaged in unlawful sex discrimination against its
male employees by excluding pregnancy from the
otherwise comprehensive medical benefits provided to
employee spouses. Coverage for pregnancy was pro-
vided to female employees. In holding that the male
employees had been discriminated against on the
basis of sex because female employees received pref-
erential treatment, the Court noted:

Although the 1978 Act makes clear that this
language [the general prohibition against sex dis-
crimination at Section 703(a), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-
2(a)] should be construed to prohibit discrimi-
nation against a female employee on the basis of
her own pregnancy, it did not remove or limit
Title VII’s prohibition of discrimination on the
basis of the sex of the employee—male or female
—which was already present in the Act. As we
explain infra, . . . petitioner’s plan discriminates
against male employees on the basis of their sex.

103 S. Ct. at 2627, n.11.

10
The Court concluded:

By making clear that an employer could not dis-
criminate on the basis of an employee’s preg-
nancy, Congress did not erase the original pro-
hibition against discrimination on the basis of
any employee’s sex.
* ~ + *

The pregnancy limitation in this case violates
Title VII by discriminating against male em-
ployees.

103 S. Ct. at 2631-2632.

The Court’s decision unequivocally states that
“Tmjale as well as female emplovees are protected
against discrimination.” Jd. at 2630.

Newport News thus clearly interprets the Preg-
nancy Discrimination Act as prohibiting any distinc-
tion whatsoever made on the basis of pregnancy.
Furthermore, the Court held that such a distinction
is per se discrimination, regardless of whether the
distinction creates a benefit or a detriment for
women. If a distinction made on the basis of preg-
nancy provides women with an additional benefit, the
distinction will be per se discrimination because it
discriminates against men.

In Arizona Governing Committee v. Norris,
US. , 103 S. Ct. 3429 (1983), this Court fur-
ther clarified Title VII by holding that the statute
prohibits making any distinctions whatsoever based
on sex or sex related factors. In holding that it is
unlawful for an employer to classify employees on
the basis of sex in predicting longevity for purposes
of calculating retirement benefits, the Court stated:

“What we said in Manhart bears repeating:
‘Congress has decided that classification based on

11

sex, like those based on national origin or race
are unlawful.’ [Citation omitted]. The use of
sex-segregated actuarial tables to calculate re-
tirement benefits violates Title VII whether or
not the tables reflect an accurate prediction of the
longevity of women as a class, for under the
statute ‘[e]ven a true generalization about [a]
class’ cannot justify class based treatment.
[footnote and citation omitted].

103 S. Ct. at 3498.

These decisions arguably would render employers
liable to employees who are denied benefits that are
given to pregnant employees.

The Montana legislature failed to grasp the di-
lemma created by these decisions and the legislative
history of the Pregnancy Discrimination Act. It en-
acted legislation articulating specific accommodations
which an employer must make for preguant women,
including granting them a reasonable leave of ab-
sence for such pregnancy when they are unable to
work, even where such leave is not available to other
disabled employees.

The question in this appeal is whether these two
approaches can exist side-by-side. Can an employer
comply with the state’s mandate for preferential
treatment for pregnant women while simultaneously
complying with federal law which provides that all
persons similar in their ability to work cannot be de-
nied benefits for a sex-based reason?’ A review of

7™The Ninth Circuit recently addressed the same question
and found that the two approaches could exist side-by-side
because Congress, in enacting the PDA, intended to “construct
a floor beneath which pregnancy disability benefits may not
drop—not a ceiling above which they may not rise.” Califor-
nia Federal Savings and Loan v. Guerra, Nos. 84-5843, 84-

12

the Montana Supreme Court’s decision reveals that
that Court did not address this language in Title VII
nor the relevant legislative history. Rather the Mon-
tana Supreme Court concluded that the Appellant vio-
lated Title VII; that the policy and the purpose of
the MMLA are the same as the policy of Title VII;
and that the MMLA was therefore valid.

While both statutes may have been enacted to pre-
vent pregnancy discrimination, this common intent
does not bring the state law in accordance with the
federal law. The Pregnancy Discrimination Act did
more than set out an objective of eliminating preg-
nancy discrimination; it set out specific guidelines
for combatting the discrimination. Therefore, for
state law to be in accordance with the Act it must
not only have the same intent but also must follow
the same guidelines. Consequently, the Montana Su-
preme Court’s finding that the statutes have like ob-
jectives is insufficient grounds for upholding the
MMLA.

As stated by this Court in Florida Lime & Avo-
cado Growers, Ine. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132 (1963) :

The test of whether both federal and state regu-
lations may operate, or the state regulation must
give way, is whether both regulations can be en-
forced without impairing the federal superin-
tendence of the field, not whether they are aimed
at similar or different objectives ... A holding
of federal exclusion of state law is inescapable

5844, slip op. at 12 (9th Cir. April 16, 1985). The Ninth
Circuit’s decision, however, is in conflict with the plain
language of the Pregnancy Discrimination Act as supported
by the legislative history of the Act. Indeed, the Ninth Cir-
cuit’s opinion does not discuss the legislative history discussed
herein.

13

and requires no inquiry into congressional design
where compliance with both federal and state
regulations is a physical impossibility . . .

373 U.S. at 142.

In the instant case, the conflict between the fed-
eral and the state law may be irreconcilable. It may
be impossible for an employer to grant preferential
treatment to women disabled by pregnancy, as man-
dated by the state law, and avoid Title VII liability
unless it gives the same benefits to employees who are
disabled for reasons other than pregnancy.* Because
of the apparent conflicts between Title VII and state
statutes which give preferences to pregnant employ-
ees which are not given to others who are similar in
their inability to work, the questions raised herein
over the validity of such statutes should be consid-
ered by the Court.

Il. THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT'S RELIANCE
UPON THE ADVERSE IMPACT THEORY IS CON-
TRARY TO THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND
THE PURPOSES OF THE PREGNANCY DISCRIMI-
NATION ACT.

The Montana Supreme Court’s interpretation of
Title VII law conflicts with the Title VII decisions of

* There is no doubt that in enacting Title VII, Congress
intended Title VII principles to prevail over conflicting state
statutory requirements. Section 708 of Title VII speaks
directly to this issue, providing that:

Nothing in this title shall be deemed to exempt or relieve
any person from any liability, duty, penalty, or punish-
ment provided by any present or future law of any State
or political subdivision of a State, other than any such
law which purports to require or permit the doing of
any act which would be unlawful employment practice
under this title.
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-7 (emphasis added) .

14

this Court. The Montana Supreme Court, in consid-
ering this case, made the assumption that an employ-
ment policy which does not grant any disability leave
to employees during their first year of employment
has a disparate impact on women. (A. 3b, 20b).
Then, without affording the employer an opportunity
to rebut the assumed disparate impact by showing
that its policy does not have a disparate impact on
women or by showing a business necessity for the
employment policy, the Montana Supreme Court
found the Appellant to be in violation of Title VII.
Furthermore, the court used this finding as a basis
for holding that the state statute was not in viola-
tion of Title VII. This convoluted reasoning should
not be affirmed by this Court.

The adverse or disparate impact method of proof
under Title VII is used to attack employment selec-
tion criteria which are facially neutral yet fail more
harshly on a protected class of employees. /nterna-
tional Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United States, 431
U.S. 324, 335 n.15 (1977). To establish a prima facie
case of disparate impact, a plaintiff must show that
a facially neutral employment practice produces a
significant adverse impact on a protected group of
employees. Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424,
432 (1971). There must be some statistical or actual
data showing that a disparate impact has occurred.
As the Fifth Circuit stated in Johnson v. Uncle ben’s
Inc., 657 F.2d 750 (5th Cir. 1981), “In making a
prima facie case in a disparate impact suit, however,
the plaintiff must not merely prove circumstances
raising an inference of discriminatory impact; he
must prove the discriminatory impact at issue.” 657
F.2d at 753.

In the pregnancy context, the U.S. District Court
for the Eastern District of Missouri in Marafino v.

15

St. Louis County Circuit Court, 537 F. Supp. 206
(E.D. Mo. 1982), aff'd on other grounds, 707 F.2d
1005 (8th Cir. 1983) noted:

The Court realizes that women are subject to
most of the same types of illness and to the nec-
essity for most of the same types of surgery that
men are. Women are subject to the additional!
occasional physical condition of pregnancy and
to the resulting event of childbirth. It might be
presumed that those two facts together establish
that women, more often than men, are in a posi-
tion to know that they will require leave of ab-
sence from work, for physical reasons, at a fairly
definite future time. However, the Court cannot
simply imagine a disparate impact. Harper v
Trans World Airlines, Inc., 525 F.2d 409, 414,
11 FEP Cases 1074 (8th Cir. 1975). In the total
absence of any evidence that women do in fact
request lengthy leaves of absence more frequently
than men, the Court cannot conclude that dis-
parate impact has been shown.

537 F. Supp. at 213.°

In the present case, the Montana Supreme Court
ruled that, “[a]n employer’s no-leave policy therefore
poses a drastic effect on women employees of child-
bearing age, an impact no male would ever encoun-
ter.” ** The Montana Supreme Court made this find-

®In Abraham v. Graphic Arts International Union, 660
F.2d 811 (D.C. Cir. 1981), the District of Columbia Court of
Appeals also assumed that a neutral employment policy fail-
ing to grant an adequate leave policy had a disparate impact
on pregnant women. Amicus curiae asserts, however, that
such an assumption is improper.

© (A. 19b.)

16

ing absent any evidence whatsoever of the impact of
Miller-Wohl’s employment policy. No evidence was
introduced showing how many persons lost their jobs
as a result of Miller-Wohl’s policy of prohibiting
medical-related leave during the first year of employ-
ment; no evidence was introduced showing how many
of the persons who lost their jobs were pregnant
women, non-pregnant women, or men; and no evidence
was introduced showing whether, at a statistical sig-
nificance, there was a disparate impact on one sex or
the other.

Consequently, the Montana court’s finding of dis-
parate impact was based upon assumptions that were
unsupported by any probative evidence. T'he court’s
assumption of disparate impact was improper absent
any evidence to that fact. The Montana Supreme
court compounded its error by then finding that the
Appellant violated Title VII without affording the
Appellant any opportunity to rebut the disparate im-
pact finding or to show a business necessity for im-
plementing the leave policy. Consequently, the Mon-
tana Supreme Court’s holding should not be sum-
marily affirmed.

As discussed above, moreover, the Pregnancy Dis-
ability Act was enacted to assure the equal treatment
of pregnancy-related and other disabilities. But Con-
gress made it clear that one type of disability was
not to be singled out for special treatment over others
as long as individuals were treated the same with
respect to their “inability to work.” The fact that an
evenhanded policy may have different results for
groups having varying disabilities is not the type of
“adverse impact” for which the Pregnancy Disability
Act permits a remedy.

17

A similar construction was given by the Court to
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29
U.S.C. § 794, in a case rejecting an argument that
a state government’s reduction of hospital care pro-
vided by Medicaid has an impermissible adverse im-
pact on handicapped persons. In Alexander v. Choate,
U.S. ——, 105 S. Ct. 712 (1985), the Court
stated:

Section 504 does not require the State to alter
this definition of the benefit being offered simply
to meet the reality that the handicapped have
greater medical needs. To conclude otherwise
would be to find that the Rehabilitation Act re-
quires States to view certain illnesses, i.e., those
particularly affecting the handicapped, as more
important than others and more worthy of cure
through government subsidization. . . . Section
504 seeks to assure evenhanded treatment and
the opportunity for handicapped individuals to
participate in and benefit from programs receiv-
ing federal assistance. Southeastern Community
College v. Davis, 442 U.S. 397 (1979). The Act
does not, however, guarantee the handicapped
equal results from the provision of state Medi-
caid, even assuming some measure of equality of
health could be constructed. Ibid.

105 S. Ct. at 722.

Like 504, Title VII was enacted to ensure even-
handed treatment and opportunity for all persons;
however, it was not enacted to be a guarantee that
all persons would obtain equal results. To conclude
otherwise would be to find that Title VII provides
employees with a certain disability, pregnancy, more
protection than other disabilities, a result clearly con-
trary to the PDA’s legislative history. Accordingly,

18

the Montana Supreme Court’s improper reliance upon
the adverse impact method of analysis should be re-
viewed by this Court.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, it is respectfully requested that
the Court note probable jurisdiction o* this appeal
and grant further briefing and oral argument to de-
velop the questions presented.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT E. WILLIAMS

DOUGLAS 8. MCDOWELL *

NANCY DIRKSE DE WITT
McGUuINESS & WILLIAMS
1015 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Suite 1200
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 789-8600

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Equal Employment
Advisory Council

* Counsel of Record
April 26, 1985

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0161%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
