# Opposition Brief — Goodson v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0117%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1063

## Text

>) Office “Supreme Court, U.& |
Le FILED
No. 84-1015

R 22 1985

In the Supreme Court of the Hniteh Steg, |

OcTOBER TERM, 1984

JOHNNIE K. GOODSON, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. Lge
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(262) 633-2217

THOMAS M. CuRTIS
LTC, JAGC, USA

JOHN F. De Pug
LTC, JAGC, USAR

PATRICK J. CUNNINGHAM
CPT, JAGC, USA

Appellate Government Counsel
Government Appellate Division
Office of the Judge Advocate General
United States Army

Falls Church, VA 22041

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the government was precluded from interro-
gating petitioner when petitioner had requested counsel
during detention but before he was advised of and waived
his Miranda rights and before the initiation of custodial
interrogation.

2. Whether petitioner knowingly and intelligently waived
his right to counsel after receiving Miranda warnings prior
to custodial interrogation.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Nee ke cee Gh Cees E en eS teres cwes |
thine eke hs ebwesersbeoeseves |
tne e ie sdcceeseecsveersenceese l
cc ct ecchh seen seen sensed secsacceses 7
Oak a eS bA ese bss ed eceeees 16
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Berenyi v. Immigration Director,
ee 15
Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 ........ passim
E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Train,
ee 14
Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 .......... 9, 12
Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S.96 ............. 12
Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433 ....... Menees 7
Miranda v. Arizona,
CED dgivns se secesess 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12
Oregon v. Bradshaw, No. 81-1857
CE cccweccsceeescececes 6, 8, 10, 13
Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 ...... 9, 11, 12
Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613 .............0.. 15
Shea v. Louisiana, No. 82-5920 |
ie Rs 7
Smith v. Illinois, No. 84-5332
Seed cea eK een ee eee s 11, 14

IV

Page
Cases—Continued:
Solem v. Stumes, No. 81-2149
GI i SE nae ok hea eRdee Cdk e va cee enaee 12
United States v. Booth, 669 F.2d 1231 ........ 12
United States v. Doe, No. 82-786
A a 6 Soke ens s eee siisndawerces 15
United States v. Foskey, 636 F.2d 517 ......... 12
Ubsised Somtes ¥. TEA, 3 WE.5. TES nc cccvccccceccs 6
United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783 ........ 14
United States v. Mendoza, No. 82-849
SS cv akis sie dNe ae eekeeveesneis 14
_ United States ex rel. Hines v. LaVallee,
521 F.2d 1109, cert. denied,
ee ce ene cnnnweeenns 12
Wyte ¥. FURR, SOP ULB. GE noc cccvesecceves 10
Constitution and statutes:
CE gc b acc cans ixencenes 8, 12
Uniform Code of Military Justice,
10 U.S.C. 801 et seq. :
PE ok ov cn cinecesedivs 12
Att, FE OS i BOOED oes cen secesncs 3
ee a a his h-0.0 0 5 eR ees Ress 2
Art. GGfe), 10 U.S.C. B6GfC) 0. nc ccccceses 15
Art. 67(b)(3), 10 U.S.C. 867(b)(3) .......... 2
ee a ee a NE hn 0 6 keh doce Kevenes 2

Art. 138, 16 U.S.C. Foe on ccc ccc cccccccecns 2

Inu the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-1015
JOHNNIE K. GOODSON, PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Military
Appeals (Pet. App. 1a-23a) is reported at 18 M.J. 243. The
opinion of the United States Army Court of Military
Review (Pet. App. 24a-29a) is reported at 14 M.J. 542.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Military
Appeals was entered on July 23, 1984. A petition for recon-
sideration was denied on November 2, 1984 (Pet. App. 30a).
The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on December
26, 1984. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
Section 10(a)(1) of the Military Justice Act of 1983, Pub. L.
No. 98-209, 97 Stat. 1405 (to be codified at 28 U.S.C.
1259(1)).

STATEMENT

Pursuant to his pleas of guilty, petitioner, a member of
the United States Army, was convicted by a military judge

(1)

2

sitting as a special court-martial convened by the Com-
manding General, U.S. Army Test and Evaluation Com-
mand, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland, of possessing
and using marijuana, in violation of Article 134 of the
Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ), 10 U.S.C. 934.
Contrary to his pleas of not guilty, petitioner also was
convicted of attempting to possess, transfer, and use
amphetamines, in violation of Article 80, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C.
880. He was sentenced to a bad conduct discharge, con-
finement at hard labor for three months, forfeiture of $334
pay per month for three months, and reduction to Private
E-1. The convening authority reviewed the case pursuant to
Article 60, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. 860, and approved the find-
ings and sentence. The United States Army Court of Mil-
itary Review likewise affirmed the findings and sentence
(Pet. App. 24a-29a). Upon discretionary review pursuant to
Article 67(b)(3), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. 867(b)(3), the United
States Court of Military Appeals aiso affirmed (Pet. App.
la-23a).

1. Evidence developed at a suppression hearing showed
that during the early morning of February 28, 1981, peti-
tioner and eight other service members were apprehended
by Military Police Sergeant Faron R. Slye for possession of
marijuana and other controlled substances on the Aberdeen
Proving Ground military reservation (Pet. App. 2a, 4a; Tr.
15-16). After a search of petitioner’s clothing revealed the
presence of marijuana and the other suspected dangerous
drugs, he was handcuffed and, along with the other sus-
pects, transported to the Military Police Investigation
(MPI) office (Pet. App. 4a; Tr. 15-17). There, petitioner was
released from his handcuffs and detained with the other
suspects to await questioning by Investigator Dennis T.
Allinder, the only Military Police Investigator on duty at
the time (Pet. App. 3a, 4a-5a; Tr. 20).

3

Approximately 15 minutes after arriving at the MPI
office, petitioner informed Sergeant Slye, the arresting
officer, that “he didn’t want to make a statement” and
“requested a lawyer” (Pet. App. 5a; Tr. 23). Sergeant Slye
responded that he would relay the request to Investigator
Allinder (ibid.). Some time later, while Sergeant Slye was
obtaining data concerning petitioner’s name, rank, social
security number, and date and place of birth, petitioner
again requested counsel (Pet. App. 5a, 16a; Tr. 25). About
two hours later, petitioner requested counsel again (Pet.
App. 5a; Tr. 26). On these occasions, Sergeant Slye again
told petitioner that he would inform Investigator Allinder
of petitioner’s request, and Sergeant Slye later testified that
he did so (Pet. App. 2a-3a; Tr. 23-26). Investigator Allinder,
however, testified that he did not recall anyone having
informed him that petitioner wanted to see an attorney (Pet.
App. 3a; Tr. 31, 34-35).

The military judge found, in accordance with petitioner’s
own testimony, that Sergeant Slye told petitioner that he
should not make any statements or sign anything until his
rights were read to him by Investigator Allinder (Pet. App.
3a-4a, 5a; Tr. 88-89, 132-133). The military judge also found
that, while waiting to see Investigator Allinder, petitioner
“was told that he could not see a lawyer at that time and that
the on-duty [legal] officer could not be called by [peti-
tioner]” (ibid.).

At approximately 12 noon, nine hours after petitioner’s
apprehension, Investigator Allinder, who had first inter-
viewed six of the other suspects apprehended along with
petitioner, interviewed petitioner (Pet. App. 3a-Sa; Tr. 36).
Investigator Allinder began the session by fully advising
petitioner of his rights as required by Article 31(b), UCMJ,
10 U.S.C. 831(b), and Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436
(1966). Petitioner initialed and signed a form signifying that
he wished to waive his right to counsel and that he was

4

willing to discuss the offenses (Pet. App. 3a & n.1, 5a; Tr.
31-35; GX 1). He then made incriminating oral statements
concerning his attempted possession, use, and transfer of
amphetamines (Tr. 34).

The following day, petitioner was interviewed by his
company commander. After she prefaced the interview with
the proper warnings, petitioner again waived his right to
counsel and agreed to discuss the offenses. He then gave
another inculpatory statement concerning the contested
charges. The following day, the commander made arran-
gements for petitioner to consult with counsel, although
petitioner had never asked her to do so. Tr. 55-65.

Petitioner testified that he did not request counsel when
Investigator Allinder advised him of his rights because he
“didn’t think [he would] get one” and “[b]ecause it was
already denied to me, two or three times” (Pet. App. 4a; Tr.
90). However, petitioner also testified that, after listening to
the other suspects’ admissions to Investigator Allinder, he
realized that “{t]hey already knew everything” (ibid.). He
further testified that he did not request counsel when inter-
viewed by his commanding officer on the following day
because he “thought [he] was already hung * * * [and]
didn’t stand a chance because they already knew” (Pet.
App. 4a; Tr. 91).

2. The military judge rejected petitioner’s argument that
his statement to Investigator Allinder was obtained in viola-
tion of his right to counsel (Pet. App. 4a; Tr. 135). After
making specific findings of fact,! the military judge rea-
soned (Pet. App. 6a):

[Petitioner’s] initial request for a lawyer * * * was not
made at a time when he had full knowledge of his rights

1The military judge’s findings of fact are set out in the decision of the
court below (Pet. App. 4a-6a).

5

and was not due to any interrogation whatsoever. It is
not uncommon for one arrested to want to see a law-
yer, but the state of the law does allow the government
to inform the accused of his rights and then ask if he
understands them. Once ascertaining the suspect under-
stands his rights, the next question is to whether he
wants a lawyer present. [Petitioner] had his opportun-
ity at that point when questioned by Agent Allinder to
state that he did want an attorney and that would
require the government to suspend any further ques-
tioning. In this case [petitioner], after being informed
of his rights completely and for the first time * * *,
consciously elected not to demand a lawyer and waived
his rights. Therefore the statement taken by MPI
Agent Allinder was voluntarily and intelligently given
by [petitioner] with full knowledge of his rights.

Both petitioner’s statement to Investigator Allinder and
his subsequent statement to his company commander were
admitted into evidence (Pet. App. 26a). In addition to peti-
tioner’s confessions, the government presented independent
evidence of the offenses. That evidence showed that, at the
time of petitioner’s apprehension, he was in possession of
marijuana and various capsules that proved to be stimu-
lants (Tr. 154, 159, 176; GX 7).

3. The United States Army Court of Military Review
rejected petitioner’s claim that his confessions should have
been suppressed under Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477
(1981), because they were obtained after he had requested
the assistance of counsel. The court reasoned that “[{t]he
prohibition in Edwards is aimed at attempts by authorities
‘to reinterrogate an accused in custody if he has clearly
asserted his right to counsel’ ” and that the “Fifth Amend-
ment right to counsel identified in Miranda does not grant
an accused a right to confer with or have counsel imme-
diately upon apprehension and before questions eliciting an

6

incriminating response are put to him” (Pet. App. 26a-27a
(citation omitted)). The court therefore concluded that “the
Edwards ‘bright line’ was not transgressed by the police”
(Pet. App. 27a).

The United States Court of Military Appeals also held
that petitioner’s suppression motion was properly denied.
Writing the lead opinion for the court, Judge Cook con-
cluded that Edwards was distinguishable. He noted that,
unlike the situation in Edwards, petitioner made his
requests for counsel while the case was still in the investiga-
tory stage and before he had been advised of his Miranda
rights or subjected to any interrogation (Pet. App. 9a).
Observing that under Miranda and its progeny the right to
appointed counsel does not attach until custodial interroga-
tion has begun, Judge Cook concluded that the “corollary is
that a waiver of the Miranda rights cannot occur unless
there has been a full advisement of rights” (Pet. App. 10a).?

Chief Judge Everett dissented (Pet. App. 15a-23a). In his
view, the distinction relied upon by Judge Cook between
pre-interrogation requests for counsel and those made after
interrogation has commenced was unsupported by Edwards
and Oregon v. Bradshaw, No. 81-1857 (June 23, 1983) (Pet.
App. 21a).

2 Judge Fletcher concurred in the result for the reasons set forth in his
opinion in United States v. Hill, 5 M.J. 114, 117 (CMA 1978) (see Pet.
App. 15a). In Hill, Judge Fletcher had dissented from an opinion
written by Judge Cook excluding a confession because the defendant’s
request for counsel following a reading of Miranda rights and prior to
reinterrogation nine hours later was not “ ‘scrupulously honored’ ” (5
M.J. at 116). In dissent, Judge Fletcher stated that, in his view, the
government had met its burden of showing that the defendant had»
intelligently waived his right to counsel because, inter alia, after request-
ing counsel but before asking to discuss the case with an investigator, he
learned that one of his co-suspects had made a statement implicating
him (id. at 118).

7

ARGUMENT

The decision of the United States Court of Military
Appeals is correct and does not conflict with any decision of
this Court or of any other court of appeals; indeed, it does
not appear that any other appellate court has considered the
Edwards issue raised by petitioner. In addition, petitioner
failed to preserve his alternative claim that his waiver of the
right to counsel was involuntary. Accordingly, further
review is not warranted.

1. Relying upon Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477
(1981), which was decided by this Court subsequent to
petitioner’s interrogation,’ and Miranda v. Arizona, 384
U.S. 436 (1966), petitioner contends (Pet. 5-9) that the
failure of the military police to honor his requests for coun-
sel during his pre-interrogation detention precluded a find-
ing of a valid waiver of his right to counsel once interroga-
tion began. This claim was properly rejected by all three
courts below. As those courts correctly recognized, peti-
tioner’s right to counsel simply had not attached at the time
that he made his requests to Sergeant Slye, because he had
not yet been subjected to any custodial interrogation.
Accordingly, the rule announced in Edwards, precluding
reinterrogation following a request for counsel, or a finding
of a valid waiver of that right absent initiation by the

‘Petitioner argues (Pet. 9-11) that Edwards should be applied to this
case even though the decision was announced after his interrogation by
the military police. Subsequent to the filing of the petition, this Court
held that Edwards does indeed apply retroactively to cases still pending
on direct review at the time of the decision. Shea v. Louisiana, No.
82-5920 (Feb. 20, 1985). As we demonstrate in this brief, however,
petitioner is asking the Court to extend Edwards to a new situation.
Whether such an extension is appropriate raises no question of retroac-
tivity. See Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433, 452-453 n.26 (1974). And
even if the Court were to disagree with our submission that Edwards
does not govern the instant case, review still would be inappropriate for
the additional reasons set forth at pages 14-15, infra.

8

defendant of a conversation with the police, is inapplicable
to this case. Moreover, the extension of Edwards urged by
petitioner would produce a result bearing no relationship to
the concerns that animated the Edwards decision in the first
place.

a. In Miranda, the Court dealt with the “admissibility of
statements obtained from an individual who is subjected to
custodial police interrogation” and the inherent cocercion
present during that process. 384 U.S. at 439. The Court
concluded that protection of a suspect’s Fifth Amendment
right against self-incrimination required that custodial
interrogation be preceded by advice to the suspect that he
has the right, inter alia, to the presence of counsel during
questioning. 384 U.S. at 471. The Court emphasized that
the right not to be interrogated in the absence of counsel
attaches at the point of interrogation because it is the “pro-
cess of in-custody interrogation * * * [that] contains inher-
ently compelling pressures which work to undermine the
individual’s will to resist and to compel him to speak where
he would not otherwise do so freely.” Id. at 467.‘

Edwards, in turn, merely established an additional pro-
phylactic rule intended to ensure that the safeguards estab-
lished by Miranda would not be eviscerated by police
badgering. See Oregon v. Bradshaw, No. 81-1857 (June 23,
1983), slip op. 5 (plurality opinion). In Edwards, following
the administration of the warnings required by Miranda,
the accused voluntarily submitted to questioning but sub-
sequently stated that he wished to consult with an attorney
before the discussion continued. Nevertheless, the police

‘See also Miranda, 384 U.S. at 448 (in-custody interrogation is
psychologically oriented); id. at 478 (Fifth Amendment privilege
against self-incrimination is jeopardized when an individual “is taken
into custody * * * and is subjected to questioning”).

9

persisted in their questioning on the following day, inform-
ing the accused that “he had” to talk with them. 451 U.S. at
478-479. Concluding that the resulting confession was
inadmissible because the defendant had not effectively
waived his previously invoked right to counsel, the Court
announced a bright line rule prohibiting the police from
“further interrogation” of an accused once he invokes his
right to counsel and requiring the accused to initiate further
dialogue with the police as a prerequisite to a finding of a
valid waiver of the right to be free from uncounseled
interrogation.

Neither Miranda nor Edwards, therefore, supports the
proposition that requests for counsel made prior to the
commencement of the interrogation process prohibit the
initiation of that process (which is commenced not by actual
questioning but merely by the administration of the Miranda
warnings) unless counsel has been provided or the suspect
initiates a conversation with the police. Instead, Miranda
identified the time at which the right to counsel attaches and
efforts to conduct questioning must cease upon invocation
of the right as the point when the suspect is advised of his
rights and “is first subjected to police interrogation while in
custody.” Miranda, 384 U.S. at 477; id. at 444-445, 473-474.
See Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291, 300 (1980) (pro-
cedural safeguards of Miranda “are required not where a
suspect is simply taken into custody, but rather where a
suspect in custody is subjected to interrogation”); Escobedo
v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478, 490-491 (1964) (right to consult
with counsel attaches when “the suspect has been taken into
police custody, [and] the police carry out a process of
interrogations that lends itself to eliciting incriminating
statements”). Edwards, in turn, simply “reconfirm[ed]”
that, once the right to counsel is invoked by the suspect
during custodial interrogation, the police cannot initiate
efforts to “reinterrogate” him, and adopted a prophylactic

10

rule to enforce that prohibition against “further interroga-
tion by the authorities.” Edwards, 451 U.S. at 484-485. See
also Oregon v. Bradshaw, slip op. 5 (rule in Edwards
prohibits “further interrogation” once right to counsel is
asserted by accused during custodial interrogation); Wyrick
v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42, 45-46 (1982) (per curiam) (same).

That the Edwards rule applies only to situations of
“further interrogation” or “reinterrogation” following the
suspect’s invocation of his right to counsel during or after
the commencement of custodial interrogation is made clear
by the final footnote of the opinion, in which the Court
cautioned (451 U.S. at 487 n.10):

We need not decide whether there would have been a
valid waiver of counsel had the events of January 20
[the date of the “reinterrogation”] been the first and
only interrogation to which Edwards had been sub-
jected. Cf. North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369
(1979).

Here, however, petitioner seeks to extend Edwards not
merely to the first custodial interrogation that occurred in
this case, but to a point in time that preceded the com-
mencement of any custodial interrogation. It would, of
course, be possible to apply the Edwards rule at virtually
any point in time. For example, a person who expects to be
arrested in the near future could advise the police that he
will want counsel following his arrest. Under petitioner’s
reading of Edwards, the police would be precluded, upon
arresting that person, from advising him of his Miranda
rights in the absence of counsel or the initiation of commun-
ication with the police by the arrestee. Obviously, a line
triggering the application of Edwards must be drawn

11

somewhere, and, as we have shown above, this Court has
drawn it at the point of custodial interrogation.®

b. Because the prophylactic rule of Miranda is designed
to act as a safeguard against the inherently compelling
pressures found to be so often present during custodial
interrogation (Miranda, 384 U.S. at 467), rather than the
mere “subtle compulsion” resulting from the the fact of
custody (cf. Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. at 303), limita-
tion of the Edwards rule to requests for counsel made
during or after the commencement of in-custody interroga-
tion makes perfect sense. A suspect awaiting interrogation
may decide, for any number of legitimate reasons, that he
wishes to answer questions without counsel. To allow a
request for counsel prior to the commencement of custodial
interrogation to invalidate a waiver made once police-
initiated interrogation begins would “deprive suspects of an
opportunity to make informed and intelligent assessments

‘The Court’s recent decision in Smith v. Illinois, No. 84-5332 (Dec.
10, 1984) (per curiam), is not to the contrary. In that case, the defendant,
while being advised of his Miranda rights at the inception of interroga-
tion, stated that a female acquaintance had advised him to obtain
counsel and that he would “like to do that.” Nevertheless, “{iJnstead of
terminating the questioning,” the police “proceeded to finish reading
Smith his Miranda rights and then pressed him again to answer their
questions.” Smith v. Illinois, slip op. 2. Smith then responded “Yeah
and no, uh, I don’t know what’s what, really” to a question whether he
wished to speak without the presence of counsel. /bid. He then admitted
commission of the offense. Rejecting the analysis of the Illinois
Supreme Court that ambiguous responses to further questioning cast
doubt upon the initial clarity of Smith’s request for counsel, the Court
reiterated its holding in Edwards that the police cannot subject an
accused to further interrogation once he expresses his desire to deal with
the police only through counsel, absent the procurement of counsel or
subsequent waiver of the request. Smith, slip op. 6-9. Nothing in Smith
Suggests that requests for counsel during detention but prior to the
commencement of any interrogation preclude the police from giving
Miranda warnings and obtaining a valid waiver when they are ready to
commence interrogation.

12

of their interests.” Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96, 102
(1975).® At the same time, invocation of the right to counsel
prior to custodial interrogation should not confer “perman-
ent immunity from * * * interrogation, regardless of the
circumstances,” lest “the Miranda safeguards [be trans-
formed] into wholly irrational obstacles to legitimate police
investigative activity” (ibid.).

In this case, each of petitioner’s requests for counsel was
made to Sergeant Slye during the preliminary stages of the
investigation and well before the time that he was “first
subjected to police interrogation while in custody at the
station.” Miranda, 384 U.S. at 477.’ Sergeant Slye’s
responses to petitioner’s requests bore none of the hall-
marks of police “badgering” that animated the Edwards

‘Although Mosley dealt with the invocation of the right to silence
during custodial interrogation, “much of the logic and language of the
opinion could be applied to the invocation of the [right to counsel].”
Solem v. Stumes, No. 81-2149 (Feb. 29, 1984), slip op. 10.

7Petitioner notes (Pet. 2, 7) that one of his requests for counsel was
made while Sergeant Slye was conducting “administrative questioning”
— the process of obtaining administrative data concerning the suspect
such as his name, rank, and social security number. But as Chief Judge
Everett observed in his dissent (Pet. App. 21a), questions concerning
such “neutral subjects” do not constitute interrogation within the mean-
ing of the Fifth Amendment or Article 31, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. 831.
Questioning of this type is not interrogation within the meaning of
Miranda because an essential ingredient of interrogation is “words or
actions on the part of the police (other than those normally attendant to
arrest and custody) that the police should know are reasonably likely to
elicit an incriminating response from the suspect.” Rhode Island v.
Innis, 446 U.S. at 301 (footnotes omitted). See, e.g., Escobedo v.
Illinois, 378 U.S. at 491 (right to counsel attaches at the “process of
interrogations that lends itself to eliciting incriminating statements”);
United States v. Booth, 669 F.2d 1231, 1238 (9th Cir. 1982) (routine
gathering of background biographical data ordinarily not custodial
interrogation under Miranda); United States v. Foskey, 636 F.2d 517,
522 n.3 (D.C. Cir. 1980); United States ex rel. Hines v. LaVallee, 521
F.2d 1109, 1112-1113 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1090 (1976).

13

decision. See Oregon v. Bradshaw, slip op. 5. Instead,
Sergeant Slye told petitioner that “he should not make any
siatements and sign anything until his rights were read to
him by the MPI Agent” (Pet. App. 5a; see also Tr. 88).
Moreover, on each occasion that petitioner requested coun-
sel, Sergeant Slye told him that he would relay the request
to Investigator Allinder. Under these circumstances, all that
petitioner had to do when Investigator Allinder read him
his rights was assert that he did in fact want counsel, as he
had previously told Sergeant Slye.* That he did not do so
suggests not that the police engaged in improper behavior
designed to overcome petitioner’s will, but rather that peti-
tioner had changed his mind. This conclusion is borne out
by the findings of the United States Army Court of Military
Review (see Pet. App. 29a) that petitioner waived his right
to counsel because he realized that the “cat was already out
of the bag” by virtue of his confederates’ statements at the
time Investigator Allinder commenced interrogation. See
page 15, infra. Nothing in Edwards or its progeny was
intended to prevent an accused from waiving his right to
counsel in these circumstances.?

*As earlier noted, Investigator Allinder testified that he did not recall
being advised that petitioner had requested counsel. The discrepancy
between Sergeant Slye’s testimcny and Investigator Allinder’s was
never resolved by the courts below, but that discrepancy is irrelevant to
the legal question here, because our position does not depend on any
claim that Investigator Allinder was ignorant of petitioner’s pre-
interrogation statements. Moreover, because the interrogation anted-
ated Edwards, it seems unlikely that Investigator Allinder would have
thought that a prior request for counsel could disable petitioner from
agreeing to submit to interrogation.

*In his dissent (Pet. App. 20a), Chief Judge Everett errs in stating that
holding Edwards inapplicable to this case renders petitioner’s pre-
interrogation requests for counsel and the resulting conduct of the
police “immaterial.” As the United States Army Court of Military
Review correctly observed (Pet. App. 27a), these factors must be consi-
dered “to determine whether, at the time of questioning, the suspect’s
waiver was knowing and intelligent.” That inquiry, of course, is entirely
distinct from the question of the applicability of the presumption
created by Edwards. See pages 14-15 & note 11, infra.

4

c. Atall events, the question whether Edwards applies to
the instant case does not warrant this Court’s review at this
time. Petitioner cites no case — federal, state, or military
—-that has addressed the issue of the effect of a pre-
interrogation request for counsel. So far as we are aware,
the issue simply has not arisen before. It would thus appear
that the factual situation presented by this case is not a
recurring problem. And, if it does recur, further analysis by
the lower courts would be beneficial before this Court con-
siders the issue. See, e.g., United States v. Mendoza, No.
82-849 (Jan. 10, 1984), slip op. 6; E.J. du Pont de Nemours
& Co. v. Train, 430 U.S. 112, 135 n.26 (1977).

2. Petitioner also claims (Pet. 11-13) that even if Investi-
gator Allinder lawfully initiated custodial interrogation,
petitioner’s waiver of the right to counsel was neither know-
ing nor voluntary. 3ut the fact-bound issue of the voluntar-
iness of petitioner’s waiver of the right to counsel is not
properly before this Court because petitioner did not raise it
in any of the courts below.’® It therefore cannot be raised for
the first time in this Court. See, e.g., United States v.
Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783, 788 n.7 (1977)."! In any event, this

10 At trial, the sole basis for petitioner’s motion to suppress his confes-
sions was that his requests for counsel were not “scrupulously
honored.” Tr. 105; see also Tr. 125-126, 130; Def. Br. 1-2. When, during
the suppression hearing, the prosecutor attempted to introduce evi-
dence bearing on the knowing and voluntary nature of the waiver,
petitioner’s attorney objected on the ground that it was irrelevant. The
military judge then terminated the line of questioning. Tr. 105-106.
Petitioner’s arguments in both the United States Army Court of Mil-
itary Review and the Court of Military Appeals also focused exclusively
on the question whether Investigator Allinder’s interrogation violated
Edwards and did not address the question whether, in the absence of a
violation of Edwards, his waiver of the right to counsel was knowing
and voluntary.

'!Petitioner’s belated attempt to challenge the voluntariness of his
waiver is particularly inappropriate because “{iJnvocation and waiver
are entirely distinct inquiries, and the two must not be blurred by
merging them together.” Smith v. Illinois, No. 84-5332 (Dec. 10, 1984),
slip op. 7 (footnote omitted).

15

fact-bound claim is without merit. The military judge made
a sua sponte determination that “the statement taken by
MPI Agent Allinder was voluntarily and intelligently given
by [petitioner] with full knowledge of his rights” (Pet. App.
6a). Thereafter, the United States Army Court of Military
Review, exercising its factfinding powers under Article
66(c), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. 866(c), and relying upon petition-
er’s own testimony during the suppression hearing, found
that petitioner waived his right to counsel at the inception of
Investigator Allinder’s questioning because of his belief that
Investigator Allinder “already knew everything” as the
result of the interrogation of a co-accused and that peti-
tioner was “attempting to make the best out of a bad situa-
tion rather than acting on the belief that counsel would be
denied him upon his timely request” (Pet. App. 29a). These
concurrent factual determinations plainly do not warrant
further review by this Court. See, e.g., United States v.
Doe, No. 82-786 (Feb. 28, 1984), slip op. 8; Rogers v.
Lodge, 458 U.S. 613, 623 (1982); Berenyi v. Immigration
Director, 385 U.S. 630, 635 (1967).

16

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Resp°<tfully submitted.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General
THoMA®S M. CurTIS
LTC, JAGC, USA
JOHN Fe, USAR
LTC, ;

x J. CUNNINGHAM
PATRIC
on JAGC, USA

’

ellate Government Counsel

G P ernment Appellate Division
vce of the Judge Advocate General

oO
Offi:
Unite? States Army

7H 1985
MARC

1985-03
DOJ-1:

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0117%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
