# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. DiMatteo

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0006%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1101

## Text

83-1554

am «al

No.

6

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

MAR 1Y 1984

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS.,
CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

U.

RICHARD DIMATTEO, ET AL.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

REX FE. LEE

Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General

ANDREW L. FREY
Deputy Solicitor General

JOHN H. GARVEY

Assistant to the Solicitor General

SARA CRISCITELLI
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether an adverse ruling on a defendant’s motion
in limine to restrict cross-examination of his proposed
witness is reviewable on appeal if the defendant does
not call the witness to testify at trial.

2. If so, whether the court of appeals erred in pre-
suming, both as to the proponent of the witness and as
to two co-defendants, that any error in the trial court’s
ruling was not harmless.

(I)

II

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

In addition to Richard DiMatteo, respondents are
Morris Kessler and James Suggs.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
cig hy eek uns chess ss 1
ER Se el a 1
ss aa ob deus vow eee s 2
Reasons for granting the petition.............. 8
ei we eb h easy én sso-004s609 12
EEE ee la
I ae a Naa ba chews Cabs dirk cis ax 13a
Ts ie Ska RG TOW UAV 00 ON Od 06's des 14a
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
New Jersey v. Portash, 440 U.S. 450 ..... 10
United States v. Cook, 608 F.2d 1175, cert.
Gy ON rt BOE vies ccvccdivenscecs 9
United States v. Fountain, 642 F.2d 1083,
cert. denied, 451 U.S. 993 ............. 9

United States v. Fulton, 549 F.2d 13825 .... 9

United States v. Halbert, 668 F.2d 489,
cert. denied, 456 U.S. 984 .............. 9

United States v. Hayes, 553 F.2d 824, cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 867 ........ccccccceees

United States v. Hendershot, 614 F.2d 648 .
United States v. Hickey, 596 F.2d 1082....
United States v. Kiendra, 633 F.2d 349....
United States v. Lipscomb, 702 F.2d 1049..

United States v. Luce, 713 F.2d 1236, peti-

tion for cert. pending, No. 83-912.. 8, 9, 10, 12
United States v. Murray, 492 F.2d 178,

cert. denied, 419 U.S. 942 .............. 9

ooo © ©

(III)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page
United States v. Palumbo, 401 F.2d 270,
cert. denied, 394 U.S. 947 ............. 8)
United States v. Panza, 612 F.2d 482, cert.
Gemene. GGr GBs He ka ee ei eb ti 11
United States v. Phillips, 664 F.2d 971 .... 11
United States v. Portillo, 633 F.2d 1313,
cert. denied, 450 U.S. 1048 ............. 9
United States v. Provenzano, 620 F.2d 985,
cert. denied, 449 U.S. 899 .............. 9
United States v. Toney, 615 F.2d 277, cert.
ee BB ae ere ee 9

United States v. Varella, 692 F.2d 1352,
cert. denied, No. 82-6845 (Oct. 3, 1983) .. 2, 4

United States v. Walters, 477 F.2d 386,

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1007 ............. 9
United States v. Whitehead, 618 F.2d 528 .. 9

Constitution, statutes and rules:
Uc CE A 8 ick es oe el 5, 6, 8
BR Ue hioias 05 ceed ain 2
BE See conde hase eae 2
RTE TR RP perry pore 2
ee sis aid needs knkeed eens 2

Fed. R. Evid.

OL ee Ee aia ed aes reali 6
TE eto Jae a bo oe owed bee ea 6

In the Supreme Cowt of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No.

UNITED STATES OF’ AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.

RICHARD DIMATTEO, ET AL.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS |
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United States,
petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit in this case.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra,
la-12a) is reported at 716 F.2d 1361.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App., infra,
13a) was entered on October 11, 1983. A petition for re-
hearing was denied on December 19, 1983 (App., infra,
14a). On February 8, 1984, Justice Powell extended the
time for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to March
18, 1984 (a Sunday). The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida, respondents
Kessler and DiMatteo were convicted of conspiracy to
import marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 963 (Count
One), conspiracy to possess marijuana with intent to
distribute it, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 846 (Count
Three), and importation (Count Two) and possession of
marijuana (Count Four), in violation of 21 U.S.C.
841(a)(1) and 952(a). Respondent Suggs was convicted
of conspiracy to possess marijuana (Count Three), but
was acquitted of possession of marijuana (Court Four).
Kessler and DiMatteo were each sentenced to concur-
rent terms of 30 months’ imprisonment on all counts, to
be followed by concurrent special parole terms of three
years. Suggs was sentenced to 18 months’ imprison-
ment, suspended in favor of three years’ probation. The
court of appeals reversed.

1. The evidence at trial, the sufficiency of which was
not disputed on appeal, established that early in 1980
respondent Kessler contacted Jimmy Miller, an inform-
ant working with the Drug Enforcement Administra-
tion, about a possible drug smuggling scheme (Tr.
538-539). Miller agreed to meet Kessler, but he also
notified the DEA (Tr. 539).

On April 3, 1980, Miller met with Kessler at the
Fontainebleau Hotel in Miami Beach. With Miller was
DEA Special Agent Charles Martinez. Miller intro-
duced Martinez as “Carlos,” a pilot with long experi-
ence flying drugs into the United States (Tr. 96-98).
Kessler told Martinez that he and his “long time part-
ner” Ricky (DiMatteo) were working with two groups

1 Other co-conspirators were convicted at an earlier trial.
Their convictions were affirmed on appeal. United States v.
Varella, 692 F.2d 1352 (11th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, No.
82-6845 (Oct. 3, 1983).

3

of Cubans and needed a pilot to help them fly marijuana
out of Haiti and Colombia in a DC-6 (Tr. 99-100, 113).
Martinez replied that he would not fly out of Colombia,
but he agreed to assist Kessler and his co-conspirators
in flying the marijuana from Haiti (Tr. 100-101). During
this two-hour meeting (Tr. 107) Kessler repeatedly left
Martinez to speak to “the Cubans” (later identified as
co-conspirators Varella and Chinea) (Tr. 102-105,
327-328), returning to Martinez with details about the
plane they were to use to transport 17,000 pounds of
marijuana (Tr. 101-103) and what Martinez would be
paid for his participation (Tr. 104). Martinez agreed to
meet with Kessler again the next morning.

On April 4, Martinez again met with Kessler at the
hotel. Kessler introduced Martinez to DiMatteo (Tr.
108-109, 328-329) and arranged a meeting for that after-
noon in DiMatteo’s hotel room at the Cricket Club, a
private club in Miami Beach (Tr. 107-110).

DiMatteo’s sponsor at the Cricket Club. Bobby
Caldevilla, was present at the afternoon meeting. The
co-conspirators discussed details of the planned mari-
juana importation, including the airplane, the proce-
dures to be followed, and Martinez’s payment. Martinez
told DiMatteo he would need $75,000 “front money” out
of the agreed total payment of $150,000. When
DiMatteo demurred, he agreed to take only $50,000
(Tr. 116-117).

On April 9, Martinez met respondent Suggs and two
others, who were “in charge of the off-loading opera-
tion” (Tr. 137-138). They arranged to meet the next
morning at the proposed landing field in central Florida
(Tr. 140). Early the next morning, Martinez flew in a
chartered plane to a small airport in Leesburg, Florida,
where he was met by Suggs (Tr. 141-144). Suggs then
drove Martinez to the proposed landing site. He de-
scribed the field’s dimensions to Martinez, and said that
even if the police were to learn that a plane had landed,

4

they would be able to unload the marijuana before the
police could get to the landing site (Tr. 144-145). Suggs
then drove Martinez back to the airport (Tr. 153-154).?

After several more meetings with other co-
conspirators (Tr. 157-162) Martinez flew to Haiti on
April 19, and the next day flew the loaded DC-6 to the
landing site in central Florida (Tr. 163-167). Martinez
and surveillance agents saw 10 to 15 people unload the
cargo into waiting trucks and drive the loaded trucks
away (Tr. 174-177). DEA agents followed three of the
trucks, seized their contents—a large quantity of mari-
juana (Tr. 320-322)—and arrested several individuals.
The main conspirators continued to meet, however, to
discuss how and why they had lost their marijuana and
how to recover their lost profits (Tr. 183-185). Martinez
spoke frequently with Kessler over the next three ,
weeks, reassuring him that they would receive their
share of the marijuana money (Tr. 186).

2. During the government’s direct case DiMatteo an-
nounced his intention to call Caldevilla as a defense wit-
ness (Tr. 244). After the government rested DiMatteo
reaffirmed his intention to call Caldevilla, as a witness
on his behalf, to testify that at the April 4 Cricket Club
meeting there had been no discussion of marijuana (Tr.
424). The government responded that if Caldevilla tes-
tified that the April 4 meeting concerned legitimate
business, it would cross-examine him about subsequent
drug discussions and transactions with Agent Martinez
unrelated to the charges in this case (Tr. 425).

2 Martinez described Suggs’ car as a big four-door green
Chrysler (Tr. 144). A surveillance agent saw Martinez leave the
Leesburg Airport in a green Chrysler bearing a license tag reg-
istered to Suggs (Tr. 322; GX 16).

* Caldevilla had originally beer charged in the same indict-
ment. The charges were dismissed after the district court
found, in the Varella trial, that co-conspirator statements could
not be used against him.

Winnie tal

5

DiMatteo’s attorney then made a proffer of
Caldevilla’s proposed testimony outside the presence of
the jury. He said that Caldevilla would testify about
“his relationship with Mr. DiMatteo and the fact that
Mr. DiMatteo was a guest of Mr. Caldevilla’s at the
Cricket Club in early April of 1980, and that he was in-
vited to come down here on business by Mr. Caldevilla
related to an oil deal with Niger[iJa” (Tr. 428). The deal
purportedly involved DiMatteo’s brother, an electrical
engineer in Pennsylvania (Tr. 428-429).

The government responded that Caldevilla’s April 4
meeting with Kessler and DiMatteo concerned narcot-
ics, not oil, and stated that Caldevilla had continued to
meet with Agent Martinez and Kessler through July 28
to negotiate another marijuana deal (Tr. 431-432).
Caldevilla had not yet been indicted for those subse-
quent activities, but an investigation was in progress
(Tr. 432). The government proposed to cross-examine
Caldevilla about his subsequent transaction to impeach
his testimony about the April 4 meeting (Tr. 434). The
prosecutor also stated that if Caldevilla claimed igno-
rance of the July marijuana meetings he would call
Agent Martinez as a rebuttal witness (Tr. 435).

Concerned about requiring Caldevilla to assert his
privilege against self-incrimination before the jury, the
court allowed him to present a dry run of his proposed
testimony out of the jury’s presence and cautioned him
on his Fifth Amendment privilege (Tr. 438-440).
Caldevilla testified in the voir dire that he was present
in the hotel room on April 4 and that he had heard no
conversation about marijuana or drugs (Tr. 446-447,
455-456). He said that he and DiMatteo had discussed
an oil deal involving DiMatteo and his brother (Tr. 453).
After the voir dire the court tentatively ruled that the
government could not question Caldevilla about his lat-
er marijuana transactions with Agent Martinez. The

6

court then recessed the trial overnight to permit the
government to research the issue (Tr. 458).

The next morning the government again argued that
Caldevilla’s subsequent marijuana-related conversa-
tions and dealings with Agent Martinez were relevant
to impeach his testimony that the April 4 meeting con-
cerned only legitimate business dealings, since those
contacts would have been inexplicable had Caldevilla
not learned at the meeting of Martinez’s apparent in-
volvement in illicit drug trafficking (Tr. 472-476). The
government accordingly contended that the impeach-
ment evidence was not directed at Caldevilla’s charac-
ter (Tr. 465, 490-491), se that unless Caldevilla admit-
ted the subsequent narcotics conversations with Agent
Martinez, it was entitled to impeach him directly by
putting on a rebuttal witness (Tr. 476-480). DiMatteo
responded that Fed. R. Evid. 608 precluded the use of
extrinsic evidence to prove Caldevilla’s subsequent con-
duct (Tr. 481).

The district court reversed its earlier ruling (Tr.
493-496). Relying on Fed. R. Evid. 403, it held that be-
cause Caldevilla’s testimony would directly conflict with
Martinez’s testimony about what happened at the April
4 meeting, the government’s proffered cross-
examination and rebuttal were material and relevant
(Tr. 494). The court noted that admission of the evi-
dence did not violate Fed. R. Evid. 608(b), since the
government’s proffered evidence was “not character ev-
idence or evidence designed to address the character of
the witness” (Tr. 494-495). Accordingly the court ruled
that the government could cross-examine Caldevilla
about the subsequent transactions, and if Caldevilla
denied them or refused to answer the questions, could
offer rebuttal testimony (Tr. 496).

After another voir dire of Caldevilla concerning his
July 1980 discussions with Martinez, during which
Caldevilla asserted his Fifth Amendment privilege (Tr.

RA eT RS ee Or ED

7

497-498), DiMatteo chose not to call him as a defense
witness before the jury (Tr. 511). DiMatteo then re-
quested a continuance to secure the testimony of two
other witnesses (whom he had not subpoenaed) who
had attended the April 4 meeting and could—he
said—testify along the same lines as Caldevilla. The
district court, finding that DiMatteo had had several
months to prepare for trial, denied his mid-trial request
for a continuance (Tr. 512-513).

3. The court of appeals reversed. It first concluded
that DiMatteo was entitled to seek review of the trial
court’s ruling in limine, even though he had never put
Caldevilla on the stand and the arguably inadmissible
evidence had never been introduced. “The trial court
was clearly apprised of the disagreement with its ruling
in the offer of proof, and that is the primary considera-
tion in preservation of error” (App., infra, 5a).

The court held that both Kessler and Suggs were also
entitled to review of the trial court’s ruling. Kessler
had not sought to put Caldevilla on the stand, but had
objected to the government’s proposed cross-
examination and rebuttal since it would refer to later
marijuana deals in which Kessler participated (Tr. 438,
487). That was sufficient, the court of appeals con-
cluded, to entitle Kessler to seek reversal based on the
district court’s ruling.* Finally, the court found that
Suggs should stand in the same position as his co-
defendants, since he had “adopted” their objections

(App., infra, 6a).5

4 The government had, however, agreed not to refer to
Kessler’s participation in the subsequent marijuana deal (Tr.
492-493).

5 Suggs’s only participation in the trial court discussion of this
issue was the following (Tr. 487):

THE COURT: Mr. Korchin, do you want to be heard?

MR. KORCHIN: No, Judge, I don’t think so. There is
nothing I can add.

iii

On the merits, the court of appeals held that the trial
court would have erred in admitting the government’s
rebuttal evidence (Agent Martinez’s testimony). It
found that the drug-related meetings between Martinez
and Caldevilla in July were specific acts of misconduct
that would have been “admitted solely to attack the
credibility of the witness,” in violation of Fed. R. Evid.
608(b) (App., infra, 9a).

Finally, having concluded that respondents had all
objected and that error would have been committed
(had everything occurred according to the parties’ prof-
fers), the court rejected the contention that the error
would have been harmless. The government argued
that if Caldevilla had invoked his Fifth Amendment
privilege before the jury, the trial court would have
been within its discretion in striking Caldevilla’s direct
testimony. The defendants would thus derive no benefit
from Caldevilla’s testimony, no matter which way the
trial court ruled (App., infra, 10a). The court of ap-
peals responded that that argument was “based on an
assumption about how the trial court would exercise its
discretion. This case involves enough hypothetical sce-
narios without our adding to the tale” (ibid.). The court
also did not consider, in its conclusion on harmless er-
ror, that- DiMatteo could have subpoenaed other wit-
nesses, but failed to do so.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

1. This case presents the question whether a criminal
defendant may appeal an adverse ruling on his motion
in limine to restrict cross-examination of a prospective
witness when he does not thereafter call the witness to
testify at trial. A closely related issue is presented in
Luce v. United States, petition for cert. pending, No.
83-912: whether a defendant may appeal an adverse rul-
ing on his motion in limine to restrict cross-examination
about the defendant’s prior conviction, when the de-
fendant has declined to testify at trial. In light of the

9

disarray among the circuits on that issue,? we have
taken the position that the petition for a writ of certio-
rari in Luce should be granted.?

6 The Sixth Circuit holds that a defendant who chooses not to
testify may not appeal the court’s preliminary ruling allowing
introduction of the impeachment evidence. United States v.
Luce, 713 F.2d 1236 (1983), petition for cert. pending, No.
83-912. The Ninth Circuit until recently took the same position.
See United States v. Fulton, 549 F.2d 1325, 1327 (1977);
United States v. Murray, 492 F.2d 178, 197 (1973), cert.
denied, 419 U.S. 942 (1974); United States v. Walters, 477 F.2d
386, 389, cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1007 (1973).

The current Ninth Circuit rule, announced in United States v.
Cook, 608 F.2d 1175 (1979) (en banc), cert. denied, 444 U.S.
1034 (1980), permits review when the defendant has announced
an unequivocal intention to testify if the motion is granted, and
has outlined the substance of his proposed testimony. See 608
F.2d at 1186 (opinion of Goodwin, J.); id. at 1188 (opinion of
Wallace, J.); id. at 1196-1197 (opinion of Hufstedler, J.); United
States v. Portillo, 633 F.2d 1313, 1321 (9th Cir. 1980), cert.
denied, 450 U.S. 1043 (1981); United States v. Hendershot, 614
F.2d 648, 651-652 (9th Cir. 1980). Cf. United States v. Halbert,
668 F.2d 489, 491-494 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 934
(1982). The First, Fourth, Fifth, Seventh, and District of Co-
lumbia Circuits have held that review is available even if the de-
fendant has not shown a firm intention to testify, or has not
made clear the substance of his testimony. See United States v.
Kiendra, 663 F.2d 349, 352 (1st Cir. 1981); United States v.
Whitehead, 618 F.2d 523, 528 (4th Cir. 1980); United States v.
Toney, 615 F.2d 277, 279 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 985
(1980); United States v. Fountain, 642 F.2d 1083, 1087 & n.3
(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 993 (1981); United States v.
Lipscomb, 702 F.2d 1049, 1069 (D.C. Cir. 1983) (en banc). Cf.
United States v. Hickey, 596 F.2d 1082, 1087 (1st Cir. 1979).
The Third Circuit has explicitly held that review is available,
without addressing the question of the defendant’s obligation to
make a record. United States v. Provenzano, 620 F.2d 985,
1002 n.22, cert. denied, 449 U.S. 899 (1980). The Second Circuit
has implicitly held that review is available, albeit without
analyzing the issue. United States v. Hayes, 553 F.2d 824,
826-828, cert. denied, 484 U.S. 867 (1977); United States v.
Palumbo, 401 F.2d 270 (1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 947
(1969).

7 We have sent copies of our response to the petition in Luce
to counsel for respondents.

a ee

10

The same reasons that support a holding of unreview-
ability in {se dictate that result here. Even where
there is a athe of the witness’s and the government’s
evidence, as there was here, there is not the firm rec-
ord that testimony before the jury would have created,
and that gives the issue on appeal a “concrete factual
context.” New Jersey v. Portesh, 440 U.S. 450, 462
(1979) (Powell, J., concurring). More important,
permitting appeal by a defendant who has never put his
witness on the stand deprives the trial court of the op-
portunity to reconsider a possibly erroneous ruling, and
the prosecution of the chance to reassess the need for
its rebuttal evidence. It also allows defendants with no
real intention of calling a witness to inject.into the trial
proceedings, at no risk to themselves, a potential
ground for reversal. Because of these problems, a hold-
ing that the district court’s preliminary ruling is re-
viewable may have no other consequence than to dis-
courage the district courts from giving such rulings.
83-912 U.S. Br. 9-12.

2. We also argued in our brief in Lwce that where the
defendant’s proffered testimony is not actually intro-
duced at trial, it is difficult for the reviewing court to
determine whether any error in the district court’s rul-
ing was harmless (83-912 U.S. Br. 10). In this case the
court of appeals, after holding that the ruling in limine
was reviewable, concluded that the district court had
erred in ruling that it would permit the government to
put on Agent Martinez’s rebuttal testimony (App.,
infra, 6a-9a).8 The court then refused to consider that

® Though we have not presented the correctness of the evi-
dentiary ruling as a separate question here, we note our strong
disagreement with the court of appeals’ resolution of that issue.
The court improperly concluded that Martinez’s testimony about
later drug dealings with Caldevilla would have been offered “for
the purpose of attacking * * * [Caldevilla’s) credibility,” in vio-
lation of Fed. R. Evid. 608(b). In fact, as the district court spe-

SL ee TE TN oe ey &

11

Caldevilla’s testimony may have been stricken, and
hence that the district court’s error had been harmless
(id. at 10a):
We will not hold the error to be harmless based on
an assumption about: how the trial court would ex-
ercise its discretion. This case involves enough hy-
pothetical scenarios without our adding to the tale.
The very difficulty of reviewing such “hypothetical
scenarios,” of course, is one of the principal reasons
why the district court’s ruling should be held unreview-
able in the first place. Had Caldevilla actually testified
the district ¢ might, on his refusal to submit to
cross-examination regarding later dealings with
Martinez, have stricken Caldevilla’s testimony. See,
e.g., United States v. Panza, 612 F.2d 482, 438-439
(9th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 447 U.S. 925, 926 (1980);
United States v. Phillips, 664 F.2d 971, 1027-1028 (5th
Cir. 1981). But if DiMatteo could not have the benefit of
Caldevilla’s testimony regardless how the district court
ruled on his motion in limine, it is hard to avoid con-
cluding that the preliminary ruling—if erroneous—was
harmless error.®
The court of appeals’ refusal to consider the question
of harmless error is still more difficult to explain as to

cifically noted, Martinez’s testimony was “not character evi-
dence or evidence designed to address the character of the
witness” (Tr. 494-495). Caldevilla’s proposed direct testimony
was that the April 4 meeting had not concerned marijuana. The
government’s rebuttal was designed to show that the subject of
drug dealing must have been discussed, else Caldevilla would
have had no occasion to solicit Martinez to engage in another
marijuana deal only three months later.

® The court of appeals also did not address the fact that
DiMatteo had failed to subpoena two other witnesses to the
April 4 meeting. They presumably could have given the same
account as Caldevilla (assuming it was true or that they were
willing to perjure themselves), but would not have been open to
Martinez’s rebuttal.

-

12

respondents Kessler and Suggs. Suggs was not even
present at the April 4 meeting (Tr. 496), so the district
court’s ruling could not possibly have harmed him. It
was no doubt for that reason that his counsel took no
part in the proceedings concerning Caldevilla’s testimo-
ny and the government’s rebuttal. See note 5, supra.
Kessler, like Suggs, did not join DiMatteo in proposing
Caldevilla as a witness (Tr. 438) (“we are not calling
that witness”). And though he said in passing that
Caldevilla’s testimony might be of “some benefit” to
him (Tr. 482), his only real interest was in making cer-
tain that the government’s cross-examination and re-
buttal did not enlighten the jury about his participation
with Caldevilla in the later marijuana transactions (a
subject the prosecution agreed to refrain from bringing
up (see note 4, supra)). That interest was fully satisfied
when DiMatteo decided not to put Caldevilla on the
stand.

a

CONCLUSION

The Court should defer consideration of the petition
for a writ of certiorari pending its decision on the peti-
tion in Luce v. United States, No. 83-912. It should
then dispose of this petition as appropriate in light of
that determination.

Respectfully submitted.
Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General
STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General
ANDREW L. FREY
Deputy Solicitor General
JOHN H. GARVEY
Assistant to the Solicitor General

SARA CRISCITELLI
Attorney

MARCH 1984

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT.

No. 81-6001

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE,
Vv.

RICHARD DIMATTEO, MORRIS KESSLER,
JAMES SUGGS, DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS.

Appeals from the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Florida

OcT. 11, 1983.

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, ANDERSON, Cir-
cuit Judge, and GOLDBERG*, Senior Circuit Judge.

GOLDBERG, Senior Circuit Judge:

In this direct appeal from convictions for various of-
fenses flowing out of a conspiracy to import marijuana
we are called upon to evaluate two evidentiary rulings.
Finding that the trial court improperly admitted extrin-
sic evidence to attack the credibility of a defense wit-
ness, we reverse the convictions of all three appellants
and remand.

I. BACKGROUND
A. Facts
In early 1980, a DEA informant, Miller, was con-
tacted by appellant Kessler regarding a possible drug
smuggling scheme. After this contact, Miller and DEA

*Honorable Irving L. Goldberg, U.S. Circuit Judge for the
Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

2a

agent Martinez met Kessler in Miami at the
Fontainebleau Hotel, on April 3, 1980. Kessler de-
scribed the scheme as involving flying marijuana from
Haiti and Colombia to the United States in a DC-6.
Kessler wanted agent Martinez to be the pilot. Nothing
was settled at that meeting, so another meeting was
scheduled the next day.

On April 4, 1980, agent Martinez again met appellant
Kessler. Kessler introduced Martinez to appellant
DiMatteo and some other conspirators. Bobby
Caldevilla was also present for part of that meeting. At
this meeting definite plans were made for the importa-
tion of marijuana. Subsequently, agent Martinez was
introduced to appellant Suggs, who was to participate
in unloading the plan when it landed in the United
States. Suggs showed agent Martinez the proposed
landing site. The marijuana was flown to the United
States on April 20, 1980. After the marijuana was un-
loaded into trucks, DEA agents seized it. Subsequently
the conspirators were arrested.

B. Procedure Below

Some of the conspirators were tried separately, and
their convictions have been affirmed by this Court.
United States v. Varella, 692 F.2d 1352 (11th
Cir.1982). Caldevilla was indicted, but after a James
hearing, United States v. James, 590 F.2d 575 (5th
Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 442 U.S. 917, 99
S.Ct. 2836, 61 L.Ed.2d 283 (1979), the trial court or-
dered that the charges against him be dismissed. Ap-
pellants DiMatteo, Kessler, and Suggs were tried be-
fore a jury and convicted of various counts flowing out
of the conspiracy.

DiMatteo and Kessler tried to show that they had
been attempting to establish legitimate business ven-
tures. DiMatteo wanted to introduce testimony by
Caldevilla that Caldevilla heard no discussion of mari-
juana at the April 4 meeting. After extensive voir dire
the trial court ruled that if Caldevilla so testified, the

3a

government could cross examine Caldevilla regarding
subsequent drug related conversations with agent
Martinez. The court further ruled that if Caldevilla as-
serted his fifth amendment rights against self-
incrimination, it would allow Martinez to testify regard-
ing the subsequent conversations. Given these rulings
by the trial court on the voir dire, DiMatteo decided not
to call Caldevilla as a witness. Both Kessler and Suggs
joined DiMatteo’s objection to the trial court’s rulings
on these matters.

Kessler attempted to show that his interest was in le-
gitimate business by introducing a recording of a phone
call to informant Miller made in the fall of 1980. The
government in turn introduced duplicates of other re-
cordings made by informant Miller in which Kessler dis-
cussed the drug transaction, rather than a legitimate
business deal.

Suggs’ court appointed counsel attempted to show
that Suggs was not an active participant in the conspir-
acy. Suggs had a very distinctive raspy voice due to
surgery on his larnyx. Suggs’ counsel tried to attack
Martinez’ credibility by showing that Martinez had nev-
er noticed Suggs’ distinctive voice. During the trial
Suggs became unhappy with his court appointed coun-
sel and after trial he requested a new trial because his
representation was inadequate. The trial court denied
the motion.

C. Issues on Appeal

We are presented with three issues on this appeal.
DiMatteo argues that the trial court’s ruling that agent
Martinez could testify regarding subsequent drug relat-
ed conversations with Caldevilla violated the extrinsic
evidence rule of Fed.R.Evid. 608(b). Kessler and Suggs
join in this argument. Kessler claims that the court im-
properly admitted duplicate recordings of his telephone
conversations with informant Miller. Suggs claims that
his counsel did not adequately represent him. We find

that the extrinsic evidence claim has merit, but that the
¢

4a

duplicate tape claim does not. Because of our disposi-
tion of the first argument, we need not address Suggs’
inadequate representation claim.

II. CALDEVILLA’S CHARADE
A. Voir Dire

When DiMatteo’s counsel prepared to call Caldevilla
to testify, the government apprised the court of the
possibility that its cross-examination might cause
Caldevilla to assert his fifth amendment right against
self-incrimination. In order to avoid prejudicing the
jury, the trial court decided to hold a lengthy voir dire
of Caldevilla. At the voir dire Caldevilla testified on di-
rect examination that he was present at the April 4
meeting and had heard no mention of marijuana at the
meeting.

At that point the government disclosed the fact that
on July 7, after the conspiracy involved in this case had
terminated, Caldevilla had engaged in discussions with
agent Martinez regarding an independent smuggling
conspiracy. The district court initially held that the
government could not inquire into the subsequent con-
versation. The court adjourned for the day, and the
government put the evening hours to productive use.
The next morning the court was persuaded by the gov-
ernment’s new-found case law to allow both cross-
examination on the July 7 meeting and extrinsic evi-
dence if Caldevilla’s answers were not forthright and
forthcoming. In order to avoid the prejudice that would
result from the cross-examination and extrinsic evi-
dence, DiMatteo chose to forego Caldevilla’s testimony.

B. Preservation of Error

DiMatteo and Kessler both urge before us that the
trial court’s rulings on the subsequent July 7 conversa-
tion was error. The government responds, first, that no
one can raise the error because none of the disputed
testimony was actually given, and, second, that Kessler

5a

cannot raise the error because he disavowed Caldevilla
as his witness. We treat these arguments in turn.

Though we are somewhat troubled by the hypotheti-
cal nature of the proceedings in this case, we believe er-
ror was amply preserved. The only authority brought
to our attention by the parties on this point clearly
holds that error is preserved when evidence is with-
drawn following an anticipatory ruling by the trial
court. United States v. Whitehead, 618 F.2d 523, 528
(4th Cir.1980). The government would have us force
DiMatteo to attest to the courage of his convictions by
suffering the prejudice of improperly admitted testimo-
ny in the faith that an appellate court would later cor-
rect the error. Seeing no merit in that position, we fol-
low Whitehead. The trial court was clearly apprised of
the disagreement with its ruling in the offer of proof,
and that is the primary consideration in preservation of
error. See generally, 21 C. Wright & K. Graham, Fed-
eral Practice and Procedure §§ 5040, 5041 (1977).

It is a bit more difficult to determine whether appel-
lant Kessler preserved any error during the offer of
proof. On the first day of the voir dire Kessler’s counsel
made a point of noting that DiMatteo was calling the
witness, not Kessler. Transcript at 438. However, he
clearly objected to the government’s intention to cross-
examine Caldevilla concerning the July 7 meeting: “[I]f
this line of questioning is pursued by the Government,
Mr. Kessler would be prejudiced by his inclusion in
these meetings in July concerning this other criminal
activity and I would like to note my objection on his be-
half to that taking place.” Jd. On the second day of the
voir dire Kessler’s counsel noted the benefit to Kessler
of Caldevilla’s exculpatory testimony, id. at 482, and
detailed at great length the legal ground for his objec-
tion. Jd. at 482-87. We believe that the trial court was
well aware of the disagreement with his ruling, and,
thus, Kessler adequately preserved the error for ap-

6a

peal. Finally, we note that Suggs’ counse! adopted the
objections of DiMatteo and Kessler. Jd. at 487.

C. Extrinsic Evidence and Specific Contradiction

Ignoring for the moment the hypothetical nature of
the proceedings before us, we shall assume the follow-
ing facts: Caldevilla testified on direct examination that
he heard no mention of marijuana at the April meeting
and, when questioned about the July meeting, he as-
serted his fifth amendment rights against self-
incrimination. The government then desired to intro-
duce the testimony of agent Martinez regarding the
July meeting. The question facing us is whether that in-
troduction was permissible. Because evidence may be
admissible for many purposes, Fed.R.Evid. 105, we
shall consider alternative theories of admissibility.

1. Attacking Caldevilla’s Credibility. —The govern-
meni desired to prove that the April meeting was about
marijuana, and Caldevilla tesiified to the contrary.
Thus, the government had a strong incentive to attack
Caldevilla’s credibility. The government wished to in-
troduce testimony regarding the July meeting to attack
Caldevilla’s credibility in testifying about the April
meeting. That approach, however, runs squarely into
Fed.R.Evid. 608(b), which provides: “Specific instances
of the conduct of a witness, for the purpose of attacking
or supporting his credibility ... may not be proved by
extrinsic evidence.” This rule is well established in this
Circuit. See, e.g., United States v. Cluck, 544 F.2d 195
(5th Cir.1976). Accordingly, the government could not
introduce agent Martinez’ testimony in order to attack
Caldevilla’s credibility.

2. Extrinsic Evidence and Specific Contradic-
tion. —The government recognizes the shield provided
by the plain words of Rule 608(b), and attempts to
penetrate that barrier by invocation of the doctrine of
specific contradiction. The government argues that
Rule 608(b) applies solely to attacks on the overall cred-

7a

ibility of the witness and that extrinsic evidence may be
admitted to attack specific facts to which the witness
testified, notwithstanding Rule 608(b). We believe that
this “specific contradiction” rule is not as broad as the
government would have us believe and can be stated in
simple terms—evidence may be admitted to prove or
Cisprove material facts in a case, even though a previ-
ous witness has testified to the contrary. To understand
the need for so obvious a rule, we must first explain a
peculiar potential reading of Rule 608(b).

Credibility can be attacked in two basic ways. First,
opposing counsel can show a witness to be generally
unbelievable; second, counsel can show that some par-
ticular testimony of the witness was unbelievable, for
example, by introducing controverting testimony. This
second proposition makes possible a slightly bizarre
reading of Rule 608(b). Suppose a prosecution witness
testifies that the defendant committed the crime. If the
defendar. sought to introduce testimony to the effect
that she did not commit the crime, the prosecution
could object on the basis of Rule 608(b)—the defendant
seeks to introduce extrinsic (exculpatory) evidence to
attack the credibility of the prosecution’s (inculpatory)
testimony.

Fed.R.Evid. 105 shows us the way to avoid this ab-
surd result. Evidence inadmissible for one purpose may
be admissible for another purpose. In the example just
given, the evidence inadmissible for attacking the credi-
bility of the prosecution’s witness may, of course, be
admissible to show that the defendant did not commit
the crime. This rather simple and obvious proposition
has been confused by its elevation to the lofty status of
the doctrine of specific contradiction. Extrinsic evi-
dence introduced exclusively in order to attack the
credibility of a witness is barred by Ruie 608(b), but ev-
idence that is admissible for other purposes is still ad-
missible for other purposes even though it may by im-

8a

plication reduce the credibility of another witness.
Thus, in United States v. Opager, 589 F.2d 799 (5th
Cir.1979), we said:

Similarly, we believe that Rule 608(b) should not
stand as a bar to the admission of evidence intro-
duced to contradict, and which the jury might find
disproves, a witness’ testimony as to a material is-
sue of the case.

The fact that the business records might have
the incidental effect of proving Posner a liar does
not affect their admissibility as relevant evidence.
In countless cases where facts are in dispute, one
party may be able overwhelmingly to disprove the
testimony of a prior witness. To exclude under
Rule 608(b) the latter otherwise relevant evidence,
as the government would have us do today, would
completely divorce legal proceedings from the truth
seeking process.

Id. at 803 (emphasis added). See also J. Wigmore, Evi-
dence § 1003, at 961 (J. Chadbourn rev. 1970.)!

1The government cites two pre-Federal Rules of Evidence
cases that it believes illustrates its view of the specific contra-
diction rule. In fact, as we explained in United States v.
Holman, 680 F.2d 1340, 1353-54 (11th Cir.1982), the two cases
are not quite so broad. Jackson v. United States, 311 F.2d 686,
689-90 (5th Cir.1963), held merely that when a criminal defend-
ant presents himself or herself as a law-abiding citizen not likely
to have committed a crime, the prosecution may introduce ex-
trinsic evidence of specific bad acts to show lack of good charac-
ter. “It must be remembered that the defendant himself in-
jected this idea that as a former violator he had now reformed
and neither needed, used, or handled narcotics.” Jd. at 689.
United States v. Gonzalez, 491 F.2d 1202, 1204 (Sth Cir. 1974),
though using unfortunately loose language, is to the same ef-
fect—Gonzalez alleged a blameless past not involving narcotics
and the government was allowed to introduce evidence to the
contrary. Gonzalez, in fact, relied upon Jackson for that propo-
sition. This rule is now codified in Fed.R.Evid. 404(a)(1).

9a

In the case before us, we need not consider whether
the evidence would be independently admissible, be-
cause the government, in accord with its understanding
of the principle of specific contradiction, has never ar-
gued that Martinez’ testimony was offered for any pur-
pose other than to attack Caldevilla’s credibility. See,
e.g., Transcript at 435 (“THE COURT: You are, in ef-
fect, trying to bring in subsequent similar or extrinsic
acts? MR. McMASTER [prosecuting attorney]: Not
against the defendant, Judge. Against a witness and it
goes to his credibility....”); id. at 478 (“I would bring
Agent Martinez in to directly impeach his credibility, to
prove on the stand that Mr. Caldevilia is a liar.”). In
fact, the government specifically disavowed any other
ground for admission:

It’s the Government’s position that [the defend-
ants] thereby open the door for the admission of
the evidence impeaching or what the Government
submits, at least, is going to be impeaching the
witness’ testimony.

If it’s material, Judge, it would only come in for
that one particular purpose and | should be al-
lowed to use whatever evidence I have to show
that Mr. Caldevilia is untruthful.

Id. at 491 (emphasis added). Though the trial court
made passing reference to other grounds for admissibil-
ity, id. at 494-95, it is clear that the sole ultimate basis
for admitting the evidence was to attack Caldevilla’s
credibility. The trial judge noted that he “would in-
struct the jury that the testimony with regard to this
matter is admitted and limited to the issue of the credi-
bility of the witness and is not addressed to the direct
guilt or innocence of any defendant... .” Jd. at 496.

Given the fact that the extrinsic evidence was admit-
ted solely to attack the credibility of the witness, and
the fact that Fed.R.Evid. 608(b) specifically prohibits
such a use of extrinsic evidence, the trial court’s ruling
was in error.

10a

D. Harmless Error

The government next argues that any error in the
trial court’s ruling would be harmless. The govern-
ment’s position is that if Caldevilla declined to answer
questions on cross-examination because of his fifth
amendment rights and the government was unable to
rebut with extrinsic evidence, the trial court would
have been within its discretion in striking Caldevilla’s
testimony on direct examination. See, e.g., United
States v. Diecidue, 603 F.2d 535, 552 (5th Cir.1979),
cert. denied, 445 U.S. 946, 100 S.Ct. 1345, 63 L.Ed.2d
781 (1980).2 Thus, the situation would be the same as it
is now—no testimony by Caldevilla, no rebuttal by
Martinez.

The problem with this argument is that the govern-
ment claims only that it was within the trial court’s dis-
cretion to strike the testimony. We will not hold the er-
ror to be harmless based on an assumption about how
the trial court would exercise its discretion. This case
involves enough hypothetical scenarios without our
adding to the tale. Given that the error is not harmless
and that all defendants objected, we must reverse all
the convictions and remand for a new trial.

2 We do not hold in fact that it would be proper for the trial
court to strike Caldevilla’s direct testimony under those circum-
stances. First “[i]t is generally only where the witness refuses
to answer on ‘direct’ as opposed to ‘collateral’ matters that his
direct testimony must be excised.” Diecidue, supra, 603 F.2d at

«552. Diecidue itself held that an attack on credibility was collat-
eral. Jd. Second, Diecidue dealt with a prosecution witness; the
calculus may change with a defense witness because of the de-
fendant’s right to present a defense. Again, we do not pass on
the issue one way or the other, but merely note that it is not a
foregone conclusion that striking Caldevilla’s testimony would
be permissible.

nl

lla

III. ADMISSION OF DUPLICATE TAPES

Defendant Kessler raises a second evidentiary argu-
ment, and because the same problem is likely to arise
on retrial, we address the issue briefly. Kessler made
several phone calls during the pendency of the conspir-
acy to informant Miller. Unbeknownst to Kessler, Mill-
er recorded many of those calls and turned the record-
ings over to DEA agents. The DEA made copies of
these recordings and the government introduced the
copies into evidence at trial. Kessler objected to the ad-

‘mission of the copies because “[t]hey are not originals
and they have not been in custody of the DEA exclu-
sively or in such a manner secured so that we know
these are the tapes and they are not the tapes originally
made.” Transcript at 549.

We construe this as raising two grounds for the ob-
jection. First, it questions the accuracy cf the copies,
and second, it objects simply to the introduction of du-
plicates rather than the originals. “A ‘duplicate’ is a
counterpart produced ... by mechanical or electronic
re-recording, ... or by other equivalent techniques
which accurately reproduces the original.” Fed.R.Evid.
100i(a). Thus, a duplicate must be an accurate repro-
duction of the original recording. Here Miller testified
that the duplicates were “exact recordings of conversa-
tions that were on the original tapes.” Transcript at
547. Thus, the government properly established that
the tapes introduced were duplicates of the original
recordings.

Under the Federal Rules of Evidence, “[a] duplicate
is admissible to the same extent as an original unless (1)
a genuine question is raised as to the authenticity of the
original or (2) in the circumstances it would be unfair to
admit the duplicate in lieu of the original.” Fed. R. Evid.
1003. The burden of raising an issue as to the authentic-
ity of the original is on the party opposing admission.
United States v. Georgalis, 631 F.2d 1199, 1205 (5th

12a

Cir.1980). We do not believe that Kessler ever met his
burden of raising a genuine issue as to the authenticity
of the originals. Furthermore, even if he had done so,
Miller’s testimony that the duplicates accurately repro-
duced the conversations would have been a sufficient
response. “If there is independent evidence of the accu-
racy of the tape recordings admitted at trial, we shall
be extremely reluctant to disturb the trial court’s deci-
sion even though at the time that decision was made
the government had not carried its particularized bur-
den of going forward.” United States v. Biggins, 551
F.2d 64, 67 (5th Cir.1977). Accordingly, we find no er-
ror in the admission of the duplicate tapes.

CONCLUSION

The district court and the government, fully recog-
nizing the possible consequences of error, were in
agreement that the government could introduce extrin-
sic evidence to attack the credibility of the proffered
testimony of a defense witness. That is precisely what
Fed.R.Evid. 608(b) prohibits, unless there are inde-
pendent grounds for admitting the extrinsic evidence.
Accordingly, we must reverse the convictions of all
three defendants and remand for a new trial.®

REVERSED and REMANDED.

3 Appellant Suggs also requested a new trial on the ground
that his court-appointed counse] was inadequate. Because we
reverse on other grounds, we need not address that argument.

13a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 81-6001
D.C. Docket No. 80-317-CR-SMA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE,
Vv.

RICHARD DIMATTEO, MORRIS KESSLER,
JAMES SUGGS, DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS.

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, ANDERSON, Cir-
cuit Judge, and GOLDBERG’, Senior Circuit Judge.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
the record from the United States District Court for
the Southern District of Florida, and was argued by
counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now here
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment
of conviction of the said District Court in this cause be
and the same is hereby REVERSED; and that this
cause be, and the same is hereby, REMANDED to said
District Court in accordance with the opinion of this
Court.

OCTOBER 11, 1983

*Honorable Irving L. Goldberg, U.S. Circuit Judge for the
Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

l4a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 81-6001

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE,
Vv.

KICHARD DIMATTEO, MoRRIS KESSLER,
AND JAMES SUGGS, DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
For the Southern District of Florida

[Dec. 19, 1983]

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, ANDERSON, Cir-
cuit Judge, and GOLDBERG*, Senior Circuit Judge

PER CURIAM:

The petition for rehearing is DENIED and no mem-
ber of this panel nor judge in regular active service on
the court having requested that the court be polled on
rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 26), the suggestion
for rehearing en banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT

/s/ GODBOLD
Chief Judge

*Honorable Irving L. Goldberg, U.S. Circuit Judge for the
Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_0006%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
