# Amicus Curiae Brief — McDonough v. Smith (No. 18-485)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0863%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2019

## Text

No. 18-485

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

EDWARD G. MCDONOUGH,

Petitioner,
Vv.
YOUEL SMITH, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS SPECIAL
DISTRICT ATTORNEY FOR THE COUNTY OF RENSSELAER,
NEW YORK, AKA TREY SMITH,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF CONSTITUTIONAL ACCOUNTABILITY
CENTER AS AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

ELIZABETH B. WYDRA

BRIANNE J. GOROD*

BRIAN R. FRAZELLE

CONSTITUTIONAL
ACCOUNTABILITY CENTER

1200 18th Street NW, Suite 501

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-6889

brianne@theusconstitution.org

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

March 4, 2019 * Counsel of Record
Fn eee Ee a )

I.

Il.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Section 1983 Is Meant To Vindicate
the Unique Rights Guaranteed by

the Federal Constitution, Not the
Interests Protected by the Common
Eg LES ae

Common-Law Rules Are Borrowed To
Fill in the Gaps of Section 1983 Only
When Those Rules Help Fulfill the
gg EE a a ee

To Advance the Goals of Section 1983,
a Constitutional Claim that Fabricated
Evidence Was Used To Initiate and
Maintain Criminal Proceedings Should
Accrue Only When Those Proceedings
LEADON

IIIT titisensinsinstubtinedtncatidesatinbscincrntinscbicasers

(i)

14
28

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Ahern v. Collins,
SR BA Cb cccieecssencicseinsstindeteres

Anderson v. Creighton,
Pd A . , Rr

Baker v. McCollan,
PPoase Bf eRe wore

Bay Area Laundry & Dry Cleaning
Pension Trust Fund v. Ferbar Corp,
— £th fs» Ea

Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of
Fed. Bureau of Narcotics,
QE UTE, GD Ge 0 tnnsctesccsessccesatccnnssccees

Briscoe v. LaHue,
FG ES neon

Burnett v. Grattan,
BO UF: Ge CO cece snectsacitscasesntessncnase

Cardival v. Smith,
109 Mass. 158 (1872) ................ccceeeeeees

Carey v. Piphus,
SBE UE. BGT COT cceccnccocccsscsvesssacsoessans

City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc.,

453 U.S. 247 (1981)............0sseseeseereeees 6,

Daniels v. Williams,
ry bie Bf ERSTE Se Ser

Page(s)

10

16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd

Page(s)

Devbrow v. Kalu,

705 F.3d 765 (7th Cir. 2013)................. 17
District of Columbia v. Carter,

| 6
Finley v. St. Louis Refrigerator Co..,

99 Mo. 559, 13 S.W. 87 (1890).............. 25
Hardin v. Straub,

490 U.S. 536 (1989).......................... 25, 26, 27
Hartman v. Moore,

I ons snc csicetcnsenensces 4,9, 13
Heck v. Humphrey,

RR 8, 18, 19, 23
Herman v. Brookerhoff,

8 Watts 340 (Pa. 16398).......................... 23, 25
Hogg v. Pinckney,

RE 22
Holloway v. Morris,

182 Ark. 1096 (1931)...............00000.0008.. 16
Kalina v. Fletcher,

i cas cetmncsnneseancee 8
Malley v. Briggs,

a 10, 13
Manuel v. City of Joliet,

Se passim
Manuel v. City of Joliet,

903 F.3d 667 (7th Cir. 2018)................. 21, 22

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd

Page(s)

McNeese v. Bd. of Educ.,

Se I iiss cctsinditennniscunienatls 7
Mitchum v. Foster,

407 U.S. 225 (1972).................00..... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Monell v. Dep't of Soc. Servs.,

oS 6
Monroe v. Pape,

1: * 5 eee 6,9
Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. EEOC,

ee TI icirciiatinidiitrintieptiniatencnes 12
Owen v. City of Independence,

ee iii icicniccnncsecienicain 12, 27
Owens v. Balt. City State’s Attorneys Office,

767 F.3d 379 (4th Cir. 2014)................. 17
Owens v. Okure,

488 U.S. 235 (1989)........................ 4, 6, 7,9, 13
Patsy v. Bd. of Regents,

4 | 2 | Se 5, 6
Rawlings v. Ray,

te 16
Rehberg v. Paulk,

566 U.S. 356 (2012).................. siscia tial passim
Robertson v. Wegmann,

GE St He Gein rtccictcnecscennscnnssescees 26

Smith v. Wade,
SD Ck Bip Ge crcesennestesicsnscerensnens 5, 7, 12

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd

Page(s)

Spak v. Phillips,

857 F.3d 458 (2d Cir. 2017) .................. 15
Tenney v. Brandhove,

be ko | 9
Tower v. Glover,

ey I I i cisinsicinctinienebitntinnntniesint 13
Wallace v. Kato,

| |, ea passim
Wilson v. Garcia,

4g | passim
Wood v. Strickland,

ee 8
Wyatt v. Cole,

SE 12
Zahrey v. Coffey,

221 F.3d 342 (2d Cir. 2000) .................. 24

Ce a 1,8
Civil Rights Act of 1871, ch. 22, § 1, 17
of ee eee 3, 5

Cong. Globe, 42nd Cong., 1st Sess.
REE aS SY Sees 3, 5, 6, 7

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd

Page(s)
Books, Artic] 1 Other Authoriti
2 C.G. Addison, A Treatise on the Law
of Torts (H.G. Wood ed., 1881).............. 23, 24
Thomas M. Cooley, A Treatise on the
I i icncciiccnssciniceenesse 24
1 Francis Hilliard, The Law of Torts
or Private Wrongs (3d ed. 1866)........ 20, 22, 24

Martin L. Newell, A Treatise on the Law
of Malicious Prosecution, False Impris-
onment, and the Abuse of Legal Process
NERA ESS ASOT WS cE SEC 23

2 H.G. Wood, Limitation of Actions (rev.
RARER ES 21

l
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'!

Amicus Constitutional Accountability Center
(CAC) is a think tank, public interest law firm, and
action center dedicated to fulfilling the progressive
promise of our Constitution’s text and history. CAC
works in our courts, through our government, and
with legal scholars to improve understanding of the
Constitution and to preserve the rights and freedoms
it guarantees. CAC accordingly has a strong interest
in this case and in the proper interpretation of a law,
like 42 U.S.C. § 1983, that was passed to protect the
uniquely federal rights guaranteed by the Constitu-
tion.

INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Twice this Term, parties have asked this Court to
resolve 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claims alleging the violation
of a federal constitutional right by imposing the rules
or elements of a specific common-law tort. In one
case, this approach would favor the defendants. See
Pet’rs Br. 42-48, Nieves v. Bartlett, No. 17-1174 (Aug.
20, 2018). Here, it would favor the plaintiff. See
Pet’r Br. 19-30. In both cases, however, mechanically
importing the components of an “analogous tort” into
a Section 1983 claim would conflict with Section
1983's text, history, and purpose. This Court should

' The parties have consented to the filing of this brief and
their letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk. Under
Rule 37.6 of the Rules of this Court, amicus states that no coun-
sel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no
counsel or party made a monetary contribution intended to fund
the preparation or submission of this brief. No person other
than amicus or its counsel made a monetary contribution to its
preparation or submission.

2

adopt the accrual rule sought by Petitioner, not be-
cause “the proper approach is to adopt the limitations
rule from the most analogous common law tort,” Pet’r
Br. 19, but rather because the use of this accrual rule
best comports with the nature of Petitioner’s consti-
tutional claim and Section 1983's purpose.

Respondent Youel Smith, a state prosecutor, al-
legedly fabricated evidence of criminal activity
against Petitioner Edward McDonough and used this
evidence in a pretrial investigation, in grand jury
proceedings, and in two criminal trials. Petr Br. 2.
Due to this malfeasance, McDonough was subject to
prolonged criminal proceedings, an ordeal that ended
only when his second trial resulted in an acquittal.
Id. McDonough later sued Smith under Section 1983
for fabrication of evidence, which the court below re-
gards as violating the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-
ment right to due process of law. Pet. App. 10a.

The gravamen of McDonough’s claim is thus “the
wrongful initiation and maintenance of criminal pro-
ceedings on the basis of fabricated evidence.” Pet’r
Br. 3. That wrong continued throughout both of his
trials and ended only when his acquittal eliminated
all prospect of further prosecution. Until that mo-
ment, McDonough suffered a continuous deprivation
of liberty by virtue of being forced to stand trial. /d.
at 40-41.

Despite that, the court below concluded that the
violation and its harm were “complete” as soon as
Smith’s fabricated evidence was used against
McDonough. Pet. App. 15a. At that point, according
to the court, the statute of limitations on
McDonough’s constitutional claim began to run—
meaning that the lawsuit he ultimately filed after his
acquittal was untimely. Jd. at 13a. The court
reached this result by applying a “standard rule” of

3

accrual derived from the common law, under which
“accrual occurs when a plaintiff has a complete and
present cause of action,” or, put another way, “once
the plaintiff knows or has reason to know of the inju-
ry which is the basis of his action.” Jd. at 9a-10a (ci-
tation and quotation marks omitted).

The court below applied this “standard rule” re-
flexively—without considering the “refinement|s]” to
this rule, Wallace v. Kato, 549 U.S. 384, 388 (2007),
that the common law has developed for torts address-
ing concerns similar to Petitioner's constitutional
claim. And as a result, the court failed to apply the
rule that would best serve “the values and purposes
of the constitutional right at issue.” Manuel v. City of
Joliet, 137 S. Ct. 911, 921 (2017).

After all, Section 1983 created a new remedy to
vindicate the uniquely federal rights guaranteed by
the federal Constitution against infringement by
state officials. Enacted during Reconstruction as part
of “extraordinary legislation,” Cong. Globe, 42nd
Cong., Ist Sess. 322 (1871) (hereinafter “Globe”) (Rep.
Stoughton), that “alter[ed] the relationship between
the States and the Nation with respect to the protec-
tion of federally created rights,” Mitchum v. Foster,
407 U.S. 225, 242 (1972), Section 1983 was passed to
provide “further safeguards” to “life, liberty, and
property,” Globe 374 (Rep. Lowe). To that end, it en-
abled individuals to seek damages in the federal
courts for deprivations of rights “secured by the Con-
stitution of the United States.” Civil Rights Act of
1871, ch. 22, § 1, 17 Stat. 13.

Critically, Section 1983 did not create “a federal-
ized amalgamation of pre-existing common-law
claims, an all-in-one federal claim encompassing the
torts of assault, trespass, false arrest, defamation,
[and] malicious prosecution.” Rehberg v. Paulk, 566

4

U.S. 356, 366 (2012). Instead, it furnished “a unique-
ly federal remedy” for incursions on “rights secured
by the Constitution.” Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261,
27 1-72 (1985) (quoting Mitchum, 407 U.S. at 239).

Common-law principles, therefore, “are meant to
guide rather than to control the definition of § 1983
claims, serving ‘more as a source of inspired examples
than of prefabricated components.” Manuel, 137 S.
Ct. at 921 (quoting Hartman v. Moore, 547 U.S. 250,
258 (2006)). Thus, the procedural rules governing a
particular tort are not to be reflexively imposed on a
Section 1983 claim through “narrow analogies.” Ow-
ens v. Okure, 488 U.S. 235, 248 (1989). Instead, when
“applying, selecting among, or adjusting common-law
approaches, courts must closely attend to the values
and purposes of the constitutional right at issue.”
Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 921.

Sometimes, of course, “the interests protected by
a particular branch of the common law of torts may
parallel closely the interests protected by a particular
constitutional right. In such cases, it may be appro-
priate to apply the tort rules . . . directly to the § 1983
action.” Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 258 (1978).
This is such a case. Where, as here, fabricated evi-
dence was the basis for criminal proceedings that de-
prived a victim of liberty, the rule that best fits the
nature of this constitutional claim is that the statute
of limitations begins running only when those pro-
ceedings have terminated. This rule also best serves
Section 1983's goal of redressing and deterring con-
stitutional violations in a uniform manner.

5
ARGUMENT

Il. Section 1983 Is Meant To Vindicate the
Unique Rights Guaranteed by the Federal
Constitution, Not the Interests Protected by
the Common Law of Torts.

Section 1983, which derives from the Civil Rights
Act of 1871, was enacted to create “a private right of
action to vindicate violations of rights, privileges, or
immunities secured by the Constitution.” Rehberg,
566 U.S. at 361 (quotation marks omitted). This Act,
“along with the Fourteenth Amendment it was enact-
ed to enforce, were crucial ingredients in the basic al-
teration of our federal system accomplished during
the Reconstruction Era,” Patsy v. Bd. of Regents, 457
U.S. 496, 503 (1982), which established “the role of
the Federal Government as a guarantor of basic fed-
eral rights against state power,” Mitchum, 407 U.S.
at 239.

The text of what is now Section 1983 left no
doubt about the new primacy of “federally secured
rights.” Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 34 (1983). It
gave any person who was deprived of “any rights,
privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution
of the United States” the ability to hold the perpetra-
tor liable, “any ... law, statute, ordinance, regula-
tion, custom, or usage of the State to the contrary
notwithstanding.” 17 Stat. 13; see Globe 692 (Sen.
Edmunds) (the “solemn duty of Congress” is “to se-
cure to the individual, in spite of the State, or with its
aid, as the case might be, precisely the rights that the
Constitution gave him”).

While the “specific historical catalyst” for this leg-
islation “was the campaign of violence and deception
in the South, fomented by the Ku Klux Klan,” Wilson,
471 U.S. at 276; see Globe 158 (Sen. Sherman), Sec-

6

tion 1983 “was not a remedy against the Klan or its
members but against those who representing a State
in some capacity were unable or unwilling to enforce
a state law.” District of Columbia v. Carter, 409 U.S.
418, 426 (1973) (quoting Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S.
167, 175-76 (1961) (brackets omitted)). The funda-
mental problem that Congress sought to address,
therefore, was not the prevalence of violent acts—the
type of individual harms for which state tort law was
designed to provide compensation. Rather, the prob-
lem was that Southern states, by tolerating this vio-
lence, were “permit[ing] the rights of citizens to be
systematically trampled upon.” Globe 375 (Rep.
Lowe).

To address this problem, Section 1983 “inter-
pose|d] the federal courts between the States and the
people, as guardians of the people’s federal rights.”
Patsy, 457 U.S. at 503 (quoting Mitchum, 407 U.S. at
242) (emphasis added); see Carter, 409 U.S. at 428
(Congress enacted Section 1983 to provide “indirect
federal control over the unconstitutional actions of
state officials”). Thus, while the violence inflicted on
freedmen and their sympathizers “often resembled
the torts of assault, battery, false imprisonment, and
misrepresentation, § 1983 was not directed at the
perpetrators of these deeds as much as at the state
officials who tolerated and condoned them.” Owens,
488 U.S. at 249 n.11.

Accordingly, “Section 1983 imposes liability for
violations of rights protected by the Constitution, not
for violations of duties of care arising out of tort law.”
Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S. 137, 146 (1979); see Mo-
nell v. Dep't of Soc. Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 685 n.45
(1978). The statute “was designed to expose state
and local officials to a new form of liability,” City of
Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 259

7

(1981) (emphasis added), by providing a remedy for
“federa'ly secured rights,” Smith, 461 U.S. at 34, and
would be “supplementary to any remedy any State
might have,” McNeese v. Bd. of Educ., 373 U.S. 668,
672 (1963). Regardless of what recourse state tort
law might provide, “[p]roponents of the measure re-
peatedly argued that... an independent federal rem-
edy was necessary.” Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325,
338 (1983); see Globe 370 (Rep. Monroe) (“life, liberty,
and property require new guarantees for their securi-
ty” (emphasis added)).

In sum, Section 1983 provides “a uniquely federal
remedy” for incursions upon “rights secured by the
Constitution.” Wilson, 471 U.S. at 271-72 (quoting
Mitchum, 407 U.S. at 239). With full awareness that
it was “altering the relationship between the States
and the Nation with respect to the protection of fed-
erally created rights,” Congress enacted Section 1983
to “protect those rights.” Mitchum, 407 U.S. at 242
(emphasis added); see Br. of Constitutional Accounta-
bility Center at 5-10, Nieves v. Bartlett, No. 17-1174
(Oct. 9, 2018) (providing more detailed account of the
history and purpose of Section 1983).

Il. Common-Law Rules Are Borrowed To Fill in
the Gaps of Section 1983 Only When Those
Rules Help Fulfill the Statute’s Purpose

A. While Section 1983 authorizes an “action at
law,” it lacks procedural details concerning the opera-
tion of this remedy. See Wilson, 471 U.S. at 266; Ow-
ens, 488 U.S. at 239. Thus, when a plaintiff alleges
the violation of a constitutional right under Section
1983, courts “must determine the elements of, and
rules associated with, an action seeking damages for
its violation.” Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 920. This task,

8

however, is an act “of statutory construction.” Wood
v. Strickland, 420 U.S. 308, 316 (1975).

As this Court has recognized, “Congress intended
the statute to be construed in the light of common-
law principles that were well settled at the time of its
enactment.” Kalina v. Fletcher, 522 U.S. 118, 123
(1997). That conclusion is premised on the “im-
portant assumption ... that members of the 42d
Congress were familiar with common-law principles
... and that they likely intended these common-law
principles to obtain, absent specific provisions to the
contrary.” City of Newport, 453 U.S. at 258. Because
Congress “borrowed general tort principles” in craft-
ing Section 1983, Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477,
484 n.4 (1994), this Court has often filled in the gaps
of the statute with “federal rules conforming in gen-
eral to common-law tort principles,’ Wallace, 549
U.S. at 388.

Crucially, however, “the Court has not suggested
that § 1983 is simply a federalized amalgamation of
pre-existing common-law claims, an all-in-one federal
claim encompassing the torts of assault, trespass,
false arrest, defamation, malicious prosecution, and
more.” Rehberg, 566 U.S. at 366. Instead, it has rec-
ognized that “[t]he new federal claim created by
§ 1983 differs in important ways from those pre-
existing torts,” most significantly in that “it reaches

2 In marked contrast to these procedural omissions, Section
1983 expressly specifies the federal interests it protects—which
include, without limitation, “any rights ... secured by the Con-
stitution.” 42 U.S.C. § 1983. On this point, the stetute leaves
no textual gaps to be filled. Therefore, courts may not shrink
the range of constitutional rights protected by Section 1983 in
an effort to mimic the scope of the interests protected by state
tort law. See Br. of Constitutional Accountability Center, Nieves
v. Bartlett, No. 17-1174 (Oct. 9, 2018).

9

constitutional and statutory violations that do not
correspond to any previously known tort.” Jd. And
because the statute has “no precise counterpart in
state law,” “any analogies to those causes of action
are bound to be imperfect.” Jd. (quoting Wilson, 471
U.S. at 272).

Accordingly, while this Court “look[s] first to the
common law of torts” when “defining the contours
and prerequisites of a § 1983 claim,” tort principles
“are meant to guide rather than to control the defini-
tion of § 1983 claims, serving ‘more as a source of in-
spired examples than of prefabricated components.”
Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 920-21 (quoting Hartman, 547
U.S. at 258). The rules governing particular causes of
action, therefore, are not mechanically imposed on
Section 1983 claims through “narrow analogies.”
Owens, 488 U.S. at 248. Instead, when “applying, se-
lecting among, or adjusting common-law approaches,
courts must closely attend to the values and purposes
of the constitutional right at issue.” Manuel, 137 S.
Ct. at 921.

Reflecting those principles, this Court’s approach
has traditionally been to fashion “federal rules con-
forming in general to common-law tort principles,”
Wallace, 549 U.S. at 388 (emphasis added), by calling
upon basic, fundamental, and broadly applicable
principles of tort law. See, e.g., Monroe, 365 U.S. at
187 (Section 1983 “should be read against the back-
ground of tort liability that makes a man responsible
for the natural consequences of his actions”). Reli-
ance on such foundational principles makes sense be-
cause they are the ones that “members of the 42d
Congress were familiar with” and “likely intended” to
apply under Section 1983. City of Newport, 453 U.S.
at 258; see, e.g., Tenney v. Brandhove, 341 U.S. 367,
372 (1951) (legislator immunity “was taken as a mat-

10

ter of course by those who severed the Colonies from
the Crown and founded our Nation”); Briscoe, 460
U.S. at 334 (“the common law’s protection for wit-
nesses is a tradition so well grounded in history and
reason that we cannot believe that Congress im-
pinged on it by covert inclusion in the general lan-
guage before us” (citation and quotation marks omit-
ted)); Carey, 435 U.S. at 254-55 (“[t}he cardinal prin-
ciple of damages in Anglo-American law .. . hardly
could have been foreign to the many lawyers in Con-
gress in 1871” (citation and qr-tation marks omit-
ted)).

Importantly, however, even when importing such
foundational principles into Section 1983, this Court
has not “mechanically duplicated” their “precise
scope.” Rehberg, 566 U.S. at 364; see, e.g., Malley v.
Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 340 (1986) (“while we look to
the common law for guidance, we do not assume that
Congress intended to incorporate every common-law
immunity into § 1983 in unaltered form”); Anderson
v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 644-45 (1987) (“determi-
nations as to the scope of official immunity are made
in the light of the common-law tradition,” but “we
have never suggested that the precise contours of of-
ficial immunity can and should be slavishly derived
from the often arcane rules of the common law” (cita-
tion and quotation marks omitted)).

That is because “[rjights, constitutional and oth-
erwise, do not exist in a vacuum. Their purpose is to
protect persons from injuries to particular interests,
and their contours are shaped by the interests they
protect.” Carey, 435 U.S. at 254. And critically, “the
United States Constitution [and] traditional tort law
... do not address the same concerns,” Daniels v. Wil-
liams, 474 U.S. 327, 333 (1986), even when they pro-
hibit similar conduct.

1]

B. To be sure, sometimes “the interests protected
by a particular branch of the common law of torts
may parallel closely the interests protected by a par-
ticular constitutional right. In such cases, it may be
appropriate to apply the tort rules .. . directly to the
§ 1983 action.” Carey, 435 U.S. at 258. Indeed, this
is such a case. See infra, Part !ll. “In other cases,”
however, “the interests protected by a particular con-
stitutional right may not also be protected by an
analogous branch of the common law torts.” Carey,
435 U.S. at 258; see Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents of Fed. Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388, 394
(1971) (“The interests protected by state laws regulat-
ing trespass and the invasion of privacy, and those
protected by the Fourth Amendment's guarantee
against unreasonable searches and seizures, may be
inconsistent or even hostile.”); Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at
925 (Alito, J., dissenting) (citing “a severe mismatch”
between the Fourth Amendment and the tort of mali-
cious prosecution); see also Br. of Constitutional Ac-
countability Center at 19-30, Nieves v. Bartlett, No.
17-1174 (Oct. 9, 2018) (explaining that the torts of
false imprisonment and malicious prosecution protect
different interests than the First Amendment’s pro-
hibition on retaliatory arrest).

Where constitutional requirements and the inter-
ests they protect do not neatly align with any particu-
lar common-law tort, “[t]he purpose of § 1983 would
be defeated if injuries caused by the deprivation of
constitutional rights went uncompensated simply be-
cause the common law does not recognize an analo-
gous cause of action.” Carey, 435 U.S. at 258. Ina
Section 1983 suit, after all, the question is not
whether the defendant has breached a duty of care
imposed by tort law, but rather whether he or she
“has conformed to the requirements of the Federal

12

Constitution.” Owen v. City of Independence, 445
U.S. 622, 649 (1980).

“In order to further the purpose of § 1983,” there-
fore, “the rules governing compensation for injuries
caused by the deprivation of constitutional rights
should be tailored to the interests protected by the
particular right in question—just as the common-law
rules ... themselves were defined by the interests
protected in the various branches of tort law.” Carey,
435 U.S. at 258-59; see Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 921.
Because state common-law rules are not fashioned
“with national interests in mind,” the federal courts
must ensure that any reliance on common law “will
not frustrate or interfere with the implementation of
national policies.” Occidental Life Ins. Co. v.
EEOC, 432 U.S. 355, 367 (1977).

C. Consistent with this circumscribed role for
common-law rules, even when this Court determines
that a particular rule may be appropriate to import
into Section 1983, the Court does not do so without
first considering “if § 1983’s history or purpose coun-
sel against applying it in § 1983 actions.” Wyatt v.
Cole, 504 U.S. 158, 164 (1992).

With respect to damages, for instance, the Court
has explained that, in the absence of “specific guid-
ance” from Section 1983's text and history, it “look{s]
first to the common law of torts,” but only “with such
modification or adaptation as might be necessary to
carry out the purpose and policy of the statute.”
Smith, 461 U.S. at 34.

Similarly, with respect to immunities, even when
this Court determines that “an official was « corded
immunity from tort actions at common law when the
Civil Rights Act was enacted in 1871, the Court next
considers whether § 1983's history or purposes none-

13

theless counsel against recognizing the same immun-
ity in § 1983 actions.” Malley, 475 U.S. at 340 (quot-
ing Tower v. Glover, 467 U.S. 914, 920 (1984)). That
is because “it would defeat the promise of the statute
to recognize any preexisting immunity without de-
termining ... its compatibility with the purposes of
§ 1983.” City of Newport, 453 U.S. at 259.

With respect to statutes of limitations, likewise,
this Court has rejected yoking each specific type of
Section 1983 action to a corresponding tort, recogniz-
ing that “[a]lmost every § 1983 claim can be favorably
analogized to more than one of the ancient common-
law forms of action, each of which may be governed
by a different statute of limitations.” Wilson, 471
U.S. at 272-73. Instead, “a simple, broad characteri-
zation of all § 1983 claims best fits the statute’s re-
medial purpose” by ensuring that, within each state,
a single, predictable statute of limitations will apply.
Id. at 272.

In sum, this Court consistently eschews reliance
on “narrow analogies between § 1983 claims and
state causes of action.” Owens, 488 U.S. at 248. Be-
cause those causes of action reflect the concerns of
traditional tort law and not the distinct concerns of
the U.S. Constitution, Daniels, 474 U.S. at 333, this
Court has not “mechanically duplicated” their con-
tours under Section 1983, Rehberg, 566 U.S. at 364,
even when looking to them “as a source of inspired
examples,” Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 921 (quoting Hart-
man, 547 U.S. at 258).

14

Ill. To Advance the Goals of Section 1983, a
Constitutional Claim that Fabricated
Evidence Was Used To Initiate and
Maintain Criminal Proceedings Should
Accrue Only When Those Proceedings Have
Terminated.

In the decision below, the court mechanically ap-
plied a general-purpose accrual rule derived from the
common law of torts. Instead of doing so, the court
should have first “considered” the “refinement{s]” to
this rule that the common law has developed for torts
that address concerns similar to Petitioner’s constitu-
tional claim. Wallace, 549 U.S. at 388. It then
should have asked whether adopting any of those re-
finements would better serve “the values and purpos-
es of the constitutional right at issue.” Manuel, 137
S. Ct. at 921.

Applying that approach, the result is clear: when
a plaintiff challenges “the initiation and maintenance
of criminal proceedings based on fabricated evidence,
and the resulting deprivation of his liberty,” Pet’r
Br. 4, the statute of limitations should begin running
only when those proceedings have terminated. This
rule, an application of the common-law concept of a
continuing violation, best fits the nature of Petition-
ers constitutional claim. Moreover, adopting that
rule here best serves Section 1983's goal of redressing
and deterring constitutional violations in a uniform
manner.

A. The court below erred by applying a common-
law accrual rule without analyzing whether this rule
was a proper fit for the constitutional claim at issue.

The court began its analysis with a subtle, but
crucial, misstatement of the law. It stated that fed-
eral courts “apply general common-law tort principles

15

to determine the accrual date of a [Section] 1983
claim.” Pet. App. 9a (quoting Spak v. Phillips, 857
F.3d 458, 462 (2d Cir. 2017)); see Spak, 857 F.3d at
462 (citing Wallace v. Kato for this point). What this
Court has actually said, however, is that federal
courts should apply “federal rules conforming in
general to common-law tort principles.” Wallace, 549
U.S. at 388 (emphasis added). Behind that subtle dif-
ference in wording is a wide gulf in meaning.

The notion that courts should “apply general
common-law tort principles,” Pet. App. 9a, implies a
wholesale adoption of those common-law principles,
displacing any further consideration of the unique
constitutional right at issue. But this Court’s guid-
ance makes clear that the procedural rules governing
Section 1983 actions will conform only “in general” to
the common law. Wallace, 549 U.S. at 388. That im-
portant caveat acknowledges what the court below
did not: “In order to further the purpose of § 1983, the
rules governing compensation for injuries caused by
the deprivation of constitutional rights should be tai-
lored to the interests protected by the particular right
in question ....” Carey, 435 U.S. at 258-59; accord
Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 920-21.

This misstatement by the court below compro-
mised its analysis. Instead of using common-law
rules as “the appropriate starting point for the in-
quiry under § 1983,” Carey, 435 U.S. at 258 (empha-
sis added), the court took those rules to be the end of
that inquiry.

Under “the standard rule” for accrual, the court
explained, “accrual occurs when a plaintiff has a
complete and present cause of action, that is, when
the plaintiff can file suit and obtain relief.” Pet. App.

16

9a-10a. This rule derives from “common-law tort
principles.” Wallace, 549 U.S. at 388.5 But the court
never carried out the next step in the inquiry: as-
sessing whether this standard rule was a proper fit
for Petitioner’s constitutional claim, or whether any
“refinement” to the standard rule would better vindi-
cate Section 1983’s goals. Cf. id. at 384 (“There is,
however, a refinement to be considered, arising from
the common law's distinctive treatment of the torts of
false arrest and false imprisonment ... .”).

To be sure, the court acknowledged, and rejected,
Petitioner’s analogy between fabrication of evidence
and the tort of malicious prosecution. But its rejec-
tion of that analogy was premised on its assumption
that the standard rule applied. See Pet. App. 13a (re-
jecting analogy because “the injury . . . occurs at the
time the evidence is used against the defendant”).
The court never wrestled with the threshold question
of whether this standard rule, or some alternative,
should be used when a Section 1983 plaintiff brings
fabrication-of-evidence claims like Petitioner’s.

By assuming that it should fill in the gaps of Sec-
tion 1983 by simply plugging in “general common-law
tort principles,” Pet. App. 9a, the decision below
failed to abide by this Court’s precedents.

B. Petitioner, for his part, also advocates the
wholesale adoption of a common-law rule. Instead of

8 See also id. (citing for this rule Bay Area Laundry & Dry
Cleaning Pension Trust Fund v. Ferbar Corp., 522 U.S. 192, 201
(1997)); Bay Area Laundry, 522 U.S. at 201 (citing for this rule
Rawlings v. Ray, 312 U.S. 96, 98 (1941)); Rawlings, 312 U.S. at
98 (citing for this rule Holloway v. Morris, 182 Ark. 1096, 1099
(1931)); Holloway, 182 Ark. at 1099 (“It is well settled that the
statute of limitations does not begin to run in any case until
there is a complete and present cause of action.”).

17

pointing to general tort principles, however, he ar-
gues that “the proper approach is to adopt the limita-
tions rule from the most analogous common law tort.”
Pet’r Br. 19.

Petitioner at times portrays Wallace v. Kato as
demanding this approach, Pet’r Br. 19, and some
courts have read Wallace that way. See, e.g.,
Devbrow v. Kalu, 705 F.3d 765, 767 (7th Cir. 2013)
(“we use the rule that applies to the common-law
cause of action most similar to the kind of claim the
plaintiff asserts” (citing Wallace, 549 U.S. at 388));
Owens v. Balt. City State’s Attorneys Office, 767 F.3d
379, 391-92 (4th Cir. 2014) (same, rejecting argument
that “the common law [is] merely the ‘starting point’
in resolving a statute-of-limitations question in a
§ 1983 action”).

Wallace, however, does not call for inflexible reli-
ance on whatever the nearest tort analog to a Section
1983 claim happens to be. While the decision firmly
indicates that courts should “consider” any “distinc-
tive rule[s]” of such torts when selecting the appro-
priate standard, Wallace, 549 U.S. at 389-90, its
choice to borrow the rule of a particular tort rested on
a determination that this rule served similar inter-
ests as the constitutional right at issue. Borrowing
from that tort, therefore, would adequately serve the
values and purposes of Section 1983.

In Wallace, defendants who were accused of an
unconstitutional arrest urged this Court to apply the
same “standard rule” for accrual that the court below
applied here. This Court instead opted to apply the
“distinctive rule” governing false imprisonment
claims. Jd. at 389. In doing so, the Court explained
that the tort of false imprisonment protects similar
interests as the Fourth Amendment’s ban on unrea-
sonable seizures:

18

That tort provides the proper analogy to the
cause of action asserted against the present
respondents for the following reason: The sort
of unlawful detention remediable by the tort
of false imprisonment is detention without le-
gal process, and the allegations before us
arise from respondents’ detention of petition-
er without legal process ... .

/d. (citations omitted). Because the common-law rule
and the relevant constitutional provision were both
meant to remedy the same “sort” of injuries, this tort
was a “proper analogy” for the constitutional claim.
Id.

This Court also noted why the common law may
have developed this distinctive rule for false impris-
onment claims: “the reality that the victim may not
be able to sue while he is still imprisoned.” /d. That
acknowledgement further underscored why it was
appropriate to apply this rule to plaintiffs like the one
in Wallace—plaintiffs who likewise may have been
unable to sue while still imprisoned.

Petitioner also relies on this Court's decision in
Heck v. Humphrey. But Heck does not call for me-
chanical reliance on the rules of an “analogous tort”
any more than Wallace does. This Court there noted
that “we look first to the common law of torts,” which
is “the appropriate starting point for the inquiry un-
der § 1983.” Heck, 512 U.S. at 483 (quoting Carey,
435 U.S. at 257-58) (emphases added). After examin-
ing the elements of the tort of malicious prosecution,
the Court adopted one of those elements—favorable
termination of the criminal proceedings—as a re-
quirement for similar constitutional claims.

Before doing so, however, the Court assured itself
that malicious prosecution was indeed a proper anal-

19

ogy. Because this tort “permits damages for confine-
ment imposed pursuant to legal process,” including
“compensation for any arrest or imprisonment,” id. at
484, it closely matched the plaintiffs constitutional
claims alleging abuse of the criminal process to ar-
rest, try, and convict him, id. at 479.

The Court also made clear why borrowing the
“favorable termination” rule from malicious prosecu-
tion would serve the purposes of federal law. That
rule “avoids parallel litigation over the issues of
probable cause and guilt,” and it precludes “collateral
attack|s] on the conviction through the vehicle of a
civil suit.” Jd. at 484 (citation and quotation marks
omitted). These attributes were especially significant
in Heck because there the Court had to reconcile Sec-
tion 1983 with the federal habeas corpus statute. /d.
at 480-81. By exploring “the common-law principle
barring tort plaintiffs from mounting collateral at-
tacks on their outstanding criminal convictions,” this
Court confirmed its belief that Section 1983, “which
borrowed general tort principles, was not meant to
permit such collateral attack,” leaving “habeas corpus
[as] the exclusive remedy” for such challenges. /d. at
485 n.4, 481.

Heck and Wallace, therefore, do not endorse a re-
flexive adoption of the rules or elements of whatever
tort happens to be most analogous to a plaintiff's con-
stitutional claim. Embedded in both decisions was a
determination that the constitutional claim at issue
truly was analogous to the specific tort from which
the Court borrowed, and that applying this tort’s
rules would further the purposes of Section 1983.

Any doubt or ambiguity on this score has been
removed by this Court’s subsequent decisions, which
reemphasize that Section 1983 is not “a federalized
amalgamation of pre-existing common-law claims,”

20
Rehberg, 566 U.S. at 366, that “any analogies to those
causes of action are bound to be imperfect,” id., and
that, as a result, “[clommon-law principles are meant
to guide rather than to control the definition of § 1983
claims,” Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 921.

This more nuanced interpretation of Heck and
Wallace also helps ensure the consistency of those de-
cisions with the remainder of this Court’s prece-
dent—which has always recognized Section 1983's
role as a remedy for uniquely federal rights. It is “the
purest coincidence” when the common law seeks to
protect comparable rights. Rehberg, 566 U.S. at 366
(quoting Wilson, 471 U.S. at 272). The efficacy of
Section 1983 in vindicating constitutional rights can-
not hinge on the luck of whether state tort law hap-
pens to address similar interests. Indeed, it is pre-
cisely where state law is lacking in this regard that
Section 1983’s remedy is most essential.

C. The court below should not, therefore, have
“simply adoptied] the limitations rule applicable to
the most analogous common law tort.” Pet’r Br. 2.
But neither should the court have applied a “stand-
ard rule” of accrual, Pet. App. 9a, without “closely at-
tend[ing] to the values and purposes of the constitu-
tional right at issue,” Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 921. In-
stead, the court should have considered whether any
refinements to that standard rule were a better fit for
Petitioner's constitutional claim. And that analysis
supports the rule sought by Petitioner: a constitu-
tional claim that fabricated evidence was used to ini-
tiate and maintain criminal proceedings should not
accrue until those proceedings terminate.

Although the standard rule under common-law
tort principles is that a limitations period begins
“when the plaintiff has a complete and present cause
of action,” Wallace, 549 U.S. at 388, the common law

21
also recognizes that certa’™ vrongs constitute contin-

uing violations. And those violations are governed by
a different rule.

The tort of false imprisonment, for instance, “does
not consist in a single act, but in a prolonged or con-
tinuous violation of personal liberty.” 1 Francis Hil-
liard, The Law of Torts or Private Wrongs 200 (3d ed.
1866); see id. (“an officer, who illegally imprisons a
person, is liable not only for the time he is in the of-
ficer’s custody, but for all the time of the imprison-
ment”). Accordingly, “[t}he running of the statute of
limitations on false imprisonment is subject to a dis-
tinctive rule,” commencing only “when the alleged
false imprisonment ends.” Wallace, 549 U.S. at 389
(quoting 2 H.G. Wood, Limitation of Actions
§ 187d(4), at 878 (rev. 4th ed. 1916)). This Court bor-
rowed that distinctive rule in Wallace after finding it
better suited to the nature of the plaintiffs constitu-
tional claim. See supra at 17-18.

The same principle applies here. An official's
fabrication of evidence to initiate and maintain crim-
inal proceedings is an ongoing wrong from which the
victim is not free until the proceedings have com-
pletely terminated. See Petr Br. 44-50. Just as
“(t]he wrong of detention without probable cause con-
tinues for the duration of the detention,” Manuel v.
City of Joliet, 903 F.3d 667, 670 (7th Cir. 2018), here
too the wrong continued for the duration of Petition-
er’s trial and retrial. As the court below acknowl-
edged, “[t]he constitutional right violated by fabricat-
ed evidence is the right not to ... face trial based on
such evidence.” Pet. App. l4a-l5a. Petitioner con-
tinued to face trial, and thus was deprived of his con-
stitutional rights, until his acquittal ended all pro-
spect of further prosecution. Until that point, he en-
dured “a prolonged or continuous violation of person-

22
al liberty.” 1 Hilliard, supra, at 200; cf. Pet. App. 10a
(acknowledging that Petitioner “suffered a_ liberty

deprivation because of [fabricated] evidence when he
... Stood trial”).

Resisting that conclusion, the court below insist-
ed that Respondent's wrongful acts were “complete”
as soon as the fabricated evidence was used against
Petitioner. Pet. App. 15a. By “complete,” the court
seems to have meant that Petitioner by then had
been legally harmed and was thus entitled to sue.
See id. But as Wallace illustrates, that is not the only
consideration. The mere fact that a wrong has begun
to injure its victim does not mean that the wrong has
ended. In Wallace, after all, the plaintiff “was injured
and suffered damages at the moment of his arrest,
and was entitled to bring suit at that time,” 549 U.S.
at 390 n.3, yet the violation did not end—and his
claim did not accrue—until later, when he was no
longer held without legal process, id. at 391.

Respondent's unconstitutional acts were there-
fore not “complete” at the moment he used fabricated
evidence in a way that injured Petitioner. That evi-
dence led to the instigation and the continuation of
criminal proceedings. The violation ended only wher
Petitioner was no longer in legal jeopardy, and thus
no longer being deprived of his liberty. “When a
wrong is ongoing rather than discrete,” as here, “the
period of limitations does not commence until the
wrong ends.” Manuel, 903 F.3d at 669.

Borrowing the distinctive accrual rule for contin-
uing violations is appropriate regardless of whether
false imprisonment, malicious prosecution, or some
other tort is “the closest common law analog” to Peti-
tioner’s claim. Pet’r Br. 3. The function of the com-
mon law here is to provide “a source of inspired ex-
amples.” Manuel, 137 S. Ct. at 921. Because the con-

23
tinuation of Petitioner’s criminal proceedings based
on fabricated evidence was an ongoing violation, akin
to the continuation of a false imprisonment, it is
proper to draw upon the example of false imprison-
ment’s distinctive accrual rule.

After all, while false imprisonment and malicious
prosecution are separate causes of action, the two are
“related.” Heck, 512 U.S. at 484; see generally Martin
L. Newell, A Treatise on the Law of Malicious Prose-
cution, False Imprisonment, and the Abuse of Legal
Process (1892).4 Together with their variants, these
torts formed “a particular branch of the common law,”
Carey, 435 U.S. at 258, addressing the harms that
ensue from deprivations of liberty inflicted with inad-
equate or tainted legal process. See Newell, supra,
§ 7, at 9 (“An action will lie against one who has ei-
ther unlawfully arrested or imprisoned another, or
who has falsely, that is unjustly and maliciously,
prosecuted him and caused his arrest.”). And those
harms resemble the harms that the Constitution
guards against by prohibiting the use of fabricated
evidence in criminal proceedings. See Pet. App. 10a
(“Under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments’ Due
Process Clauses, individuals have ‘the right not to be

‘ Illustrating the fluid spectrum between these torts, one of
their variants, sometimes called “malicious arrest,” consisted of
making false representations to obtain a judicial order for the
arrest and detainment of another person, such as an alleged
debtor. See 2 C.G. Addison, A Treatise on the Law of Torts
§ 870, at 83 (H.G. Wood ed., 1881); Ahern v. Collins, 39 Mo. 145,
150 (1866); Herman v. Brookerhoff, 8 Watts 240, 241 (Pa. 1839);
Hogg v. Pinckney, 16 S.C. 387, 392 (1882). And i suits for mali-
cious arrest, just like in suits for malicious prosecution, courts
held that “[t}he new action must not be brought before the first
be determined; because till then it cannot appear that the first
was unjust.” Cardival v. Smith, 109 Mass. 158, 158 (1872);
Hogg, 16 S.C. at 396.

24

deprived of liberty as a result of the fabrication of ev-
idence by a government officer . . . .” (quoting Zahrey
v. Coffey, 221 F.3d 342, 349 (2d Cir. 2000))). One
need not cast about for a “most” analogous tort, there-
fore, to conclude that the deferred-accrual rule can,
and should, be borrowed in the process of “applying,
selecting among, or adjusting common-law approach-
es” here—a process centered around “the values and
purposes of the constitutional right at issue.” Ma-
nuel, 137 S. Ct. at 921.

Indeed, considering the similar accrual rule for
the tort of malicious prosecution points in the same
direction. As Petitioner emphasizes, such claims do
not accrue until the allegedly malicious prosecution
has terminated in the plaintiffs favor. This rule,
whatever its original rationale, ensures that accrual
is deferred as long as a victim remains threatened by
the baseless prosecution he seeks to challenge—that
is, as long as “the prosecution is persisted in and kept
hanging over the head of the plaintiff.”. 2 Addison,
supra, § 852, at 65; see Cardival, 109 Mass. at 158-59
(in malicious prosecution, “an acquittal by a jury
must be shown,” and “a nolle prosequi entered by the
attorney for the government is not sufficient; Fe
another indictment may still be found on the same
complaint’).

Notably, a person could traditionally be liable for
malicious prosecution if he “continued” a criminal
proceeding that was initiated by another person
without his participation. 2 Addison, supra, §§ 857,
872, at 76, 85; 1 Hilliard, supra, at 426 (“one may ve
liable for the continuance of a prosecution, after no-
tice of it, though not commenced by him”); Thomas M.
Cooley, A Treatise on the Law of Torts 187 (1879) (a
witness giving false evidence who was not involved in
the decision to commence prosecution can be held lia-

25

ble if “he interferes improperly afterwards”); Finley v.
St. Louis Refrigerator Co., 99 Mo. 559, 13 S.W. 87, 88
(1890) (“[I]t was not vital to plaintiffs recovery that
he should show that defendants commenced and con-
tinued the prosecution maliciously. If he proved that
it was either so commenced or continued by them, it
would be sufficient to support his case ... .” (empha-
sis added)). As this rule illustrates, a malicious pros-
ecution violation continues throughout the pendency
of the prosecution. As such, its accrual rule dovetails
with the rule for false imprisonment: so long as a
plaintiffs liberty is still being infringed—whether by
an unauthorized confinement or by the need to face
spurious criminal charges—the statute of limitations
does not begin running.®

Together, the accrual rules of false imprisonment
and malicious prosecution form a distinct alternative
to the “standard” rule embraced by the court below.
And that alternative provides a better fit for Petition-
er’s constitutional claim.

D. In addition, applying this alternative rule bet-
ter serves the “chief goals” of Section 1983, “compen-
sation and deterrence.” Hardin v. Straub, 490 U.S.
536, 539 (1989); cf. Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42,

®’ The court below attempted to distinguish malicious prose-
cution by stating that “the harm—and the due process viola-
tion—is in the use of the fabricated evidence to cause a liberty
deprivation, not in the eventual resolution of the criminal pro-
ceeding.” Pet. App. 13a. While that is true, malicious prosecu-
tion is no different. After all, malicious prosecution is entirely
focused on the wrongful initiation of legal proceedings. See, e.g.,
Herman, 8 Watts at 241 (“The gist of the action . . . is the origi-
nation of a malicious and groundless prosecution, which ipso
facto put the party in peril.”). Despite the fact that instigating a
prosecution is the legal wrong, accrual is deferred so long as the
party remains “in peril.” Jd.

26

55 (1984) (“the central objective of the Reconstruc-
tion-Era civil rights statutes . . . is to ensure that in-
dividuals whose federal constitutional or statutory
rights are abridged may recover damages or secure
injunctive relief’). Without this rule, many victims of
fabricated evidence will see their causes of action ac-
crue during, or even before, their criminal trials.
Forcing such individuals to sue then, or not at all,
will inevitably discourage meritorious claims. See
Pet’r Br. 55-56.

To be sure, the goal of Section 1983 is not simply
to allow the most plaintiffs to sue. Robertson v.
Wegmann, 436 U.S. 584, 593 (1978) (“If success of the
§ 1983 action were the only benchmark, ... the ap-
propriate rule would then always be the one favoring
the plaintiff ....”). But here, without a rule defer-
ring accrual until termination, valid claims of consti-
tutional violations will be discouraged for reasons
that do not promote any of the statute’s goals. Quite
the contrary: the very reason individuals may be
afraid to file suit against an offending state official is
that they are still at risk of suffering the dire legal
consequences of that official’s malfeasance. Cf. Pet’r
Br. 2 (noting that it was Respondent’s choice whether
or not to try Petitioner a second time). Sanctioning
this perverse result would be entirely contrary to “the
settled § 1983 policy of deterring officials’ unconstitu-
tional behavior.” Hardin, 490 U.S. at 542.

“There is, of course, a federal interest in dispos-
ing of all litigation in the federal courts as expedi-
tiously as possible,” but that interest “is vindicated by
all statutes of limitations and always must be bal-
anced against the countervailing interest in allowing
valid claims to be determined on their merits.” /d. at
542 n.10; see Wilson, 471 U.S. at 272 (adopting an in-
terpretation of Section 1983 that “best fits the stat-

27

ute’s remedial purpose”); Owen, 445 U.S. at 636 (the
Forty-Second Congress anticipated that Section 1983
would be interpreted broadly to promote its remedial
goals).

A deferred-accrual rule is also appropriate here
because it promotes “uniformity,” one of Section
1983’s “subsidiary goals.” Hardin, 490 U.S. at 539.
Under this rule, fabrication-of-evidence claims will
never accrue before the relevant criminal proceedings
have terminated, and in most cases they will accrue
upon termination. (Exceptions may arise where a
plaintiff had no way of knowing about the fabricated
evidence until later.) By reducing the number of sce-
narios in which accrual dates hinge on a plaintiffs
awareness, or presumed awareness, of a violation,
this rule offers greater predictability. A standard ac-
crual date that in most cases cannot seriously be
challenged will minimize the “uncertainty and time-
consuming litigation that is foreign to the central
purposes of § 1983.” Wilson, 471 U.S. at 272.

” ” *”

Some cases present difficult choices between
promoting the breadth of Section 1983's remedy,
ensuring uniformity, and hewing to the common-law
principles on which the statute was modeled.
Not this case. Here, all three imperatives call for the
same result. This Court can borrow a traditional
common-law rule, employ that rule in service of
protecting constitutional rights, and in the process
make the law’s application simpler and more predict-
able. And it can accomplish all this by reaffirming
and applying established principles. The Court
should do so.

28
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the
court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

ELIZABETH B. WYDRA

BRIANNE J. GOROD*

BRIAN R. FRAZELLE

CONSTITUTIONAL
ACCOUNTABILITY CENTER

1200 18th Street NW, Suite 501

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-6889

brianne@theusconstitution.org

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
March 4, 2019 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0863%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
