# Respondents Brief — Madison v. Alabama, 138 S. Ct. 943 (2018) (No. 17-7505)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0841%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2018

## Text

No. 17-7505

In the
Supreme Court of the United States
r

VERNON MADISON,
Petitioner,
Vv.

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Respondent.

e
On Writ of Certiorari to the
the Mobile County Circuit Court
e

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT

°

Steve Marshall
Alabama Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

Clay Crenshaw

Chief Deputy Att'y Gen
Eric Palmer

Assistant Solicitor Gen'l
James R. Houts

Deputy Att'y Gen

OFFICE OF THE ALABAMA
ATTORNEY GENERAL

501 Washington Avenue
Montgomery, AL 36130

(334) 242-7300

smarshall@ago.state.al.us
July 31, 2018 Counsel for Respondent
AE aaa

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
(Capital Case)

Although the Court granted certiorari on these
two questions, Madison’s brief changes the first
question presented. The following are the questions
on which the Court granted certiorari, not the
questions as rephrased in Madison’s brief.

(1) Consistent with the Eighth Amendment, and
this Court’s decisions in Ford v. Wainwright, 477
U.S. 399 (1986), and Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S.
930 (2007), may the State execute a prisoner whose
mental disability leaves him without memory of his
commission of the capital offense?

(2) Do evolving standards of decency and the
Eighth Amendment's prohibition of cruel and
unusual punishment bar the execution of a prisoner
whose competency has been compromised by
vascular dementia and multiple strokes causing
severe cognitive dysfunction and a degenerative
medical condition which prevents him from
remembering the crime for which he was convicted or
understanding the circumstances of his scheduled
execution?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ..........--.000-cecseeseeeeeeseeceenensnseees i
PAE GP GI vcccccncccsssoccccnssccscccscssessesscncscscconsness ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............-0c0-ccccereeeeeeeeeeseseeeeeennnes iv
PDITTROMIC TIONS... cccccccccccccccceccccccccccccccscescccocoscsccsocososeoesees 1
PATTI occcccccccccccccceccccccccccccescncsscccscecesscessosocccoceooseses 3
A. Trial and post-conviction proceedings. ............ 3

B. The first state court competency
III cccecscccssscesssesnstnansnnterpeomnennesssernsennessoncens 5

corpus, and this Court summarily

II, ccccevesntasesasncstsnssssnsanssntonsstebeienaeumeanecsse 10

D. Madison's second state court
competency petition. .............-----..cccceeeeeneennes 12
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. .......22200-cccccecceccecoecssceseesesseeee 13
DEIIIGIG En ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccscccescececcccocsssccsccccscoosee 17

|. The lower court’s decision is consistent
wits Fiend ered Pama, .nccccccccccccsecsccscsssccscscsncscosces 17

A. Madison can rationally understand his
SPUMIINIIIEE, 2200cccececsecscecescsocsscosovsssossncssossnsseeees 18

B. Madison’s arguments for reversal are
UMPOTSURGIVE. ..........0.-cccererccrscecseccrosnccsssnecsssese 22

{l. The Eighth Amendment allows a State to
punish a murderer whose mental! disability
leaves him without memory of his
commission of the capital offense.....................--- 27

A. The common law supports the
punishment of murderers who cannot
remember committing a crime. ................... 28

8. Madison’s position finds no support in
state legislation or sentencing
I iailenstesinintinniaaciensiinapacspiiieasiniemietniscdipaetiiness 32
C. The State has valid penological
interests in punishing a murderer who
cannot remember committing a crime. ....... 34
III. Madison’s proposed extension of Ford and
Panetti will lead to false claims,
manipulation, and abuse. .........00000000000000.......... 41
ES EERE RE ee Se NEL 47

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979).................. 42
Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68 (1985) ........0.00000...02... 41
Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002)............ passim
Baird v. Davis, 388 F.3d 1110 (7th Cir.

Si csnighiadidesniainicbeiaendininiesianiimsastemiieineeecncemamcus 34
Bedford v. Bobby, 645 F.3d 372 (6th Cir.

iii eecedsicsnichncetabecisinvenalantinsenhitininsiainnanmssineiunintiees 21
Clark v. Arizona, 548 U.S. 735 (2006) ...................... 26
Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) ...00....00.2.00000. 32
Dunn v. Madison, 138 S. Ct. 9 (2017)............... passim
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986)......... passim
Graham v. Florida, 560 US. 48 (2010) .................... 35
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)........... 17, 32, 39
Hall v. Brannan, 670 S.E.2d 87 (Ga. 2008).............. 34
Harris v. Alabama, 513 U.S. 504 (1995) .................... 4
In re Neville, 440 F.3d 220 (5th Cir. 2006)............... 34
Johnston v. State, 27 So.3d 11 (Fla. 2010) ............... 34
Kennedy v. Louisiana, 554 U.S. 407 (2008)............... 35
Madison v. Allen, 2011 WI, 1004885 (S.D.

RES Le ee 5
Madison v. Allen, 2013 WL, 1776073 (S.D.

ge I nicniaedininenthictiptinisetnenisorctatnencceseneced 5

Madison v. Comm’r, Alabama Dep't of
Corr., 851 F.3d 1173 (11th Cir. 2017) ..........00....... 11

v

Madison v. Dunn, 2016 WL 2732193 (S.D.

Pe EE eee 10, 24
Madison v. State, 545 So.2d 94 (Ala. Crim.

|) EEE ee 3
Madison v. State, 620 So. 2d 62 (Ala. Crim.

Ee ee ailacnnniccndensieinepibennnnieeiamddumrnmenmncsceenes 3,4
Madison v. State, 718 So.2d 90 (Ala. Crim.

EE TTT aiecineenichasentaniantictineratiepusepeninanantennacensoeneconte 3,4
Madison v. State, 999 So. 2d 561 (Ala.

ners aseereileciescinibaniiiaenimeveieonidonidas 4
Madison v. Thomas, 135 S. Ct. 1562 (2015)............... 5
Malone v. State, 293 P.3d 198 (Okla. Crim

i cdidkinindeisneiaieniatientuapintaniiqunnidinasarnpeormoncsosnenss 34
Matheney v. State, 833 N.E.2d 454 (ind.

a SE Ee nee eee 34
Mays v. State, 318 S.W.3d 368 (Tex. Crim.

FE iiceaniischsanminnctiinnnsveimidentinnisinensinnieescepcarenees 34
Miller v. Alabama, 567 U.S. 460 (2012) ................... 39
Panetti v. Quarterman, 2008 WL 2338498

ft & 2 4 25
Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930

SE ihiieitiae ntateissiatinididliniaisdisimbetpnpaindniensceian passim
Panetti v. Stephens, 727 F.3d 398 (5th Cir.

2013), cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 47 (2014)................ 25
Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) .................... 32
Price v. Thurmer, 637 F.3d 831 (7th Cir.

SERN A Tae ES 45
R. v. Podola, [1959] 43 Crim. App. 220 .................... 29

Roberts v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633 (1977) ........ passim

vi

Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005) ........ 27, 33, 40
Russell v. H.M. Advocate, 1946 8.C.(J.) 37............... 29
Simon v. Fisher, 641 F. App'x 386 (5th Cir.

EES SE SRST Se ee Re 21
Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983) .0000.02222220000000000- 27
Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9 (1950).................... Al
State ex rel. Clayton v. Griffith, 457

eisai ctennstiinnncensentevesinnes 21
State v. Irick, 320 S.W.3d 284 (Tenn. 2010)....... 22, 34
State v. Johnson, 207 S.W.3d 24 (Mo.

ee ey nS 34
State v. Ketterer, 855 N.E.2d 48 (Ohio

EE RTE EE TE ee TS Oe eS re 34
Tison v. Arizona, 481 U.S. 137 (1987) ....................-. 35
Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958) ...0000000000.0cceccceeees 27
Statutes
ERE ee en REE 10
pS 3
ie ee iaiitinsitecnindentedibivnsedanensensetascmtets 10, 23
Other Authorities
1 Matthew Hale, Pleas of the Crown 37

Sn siadidbennisinhidiebssnciinapniinhinitnidininninictiniannementeingtnl 29
3 Edward Coke, Institutes 6 (6th ed. 1680) ....... 28, 31

vii

Alexander M. Burrill, A Law Dictionary

and Glossary 192 (2d ed. 1859)...................

Am. Bar Assoc. Crim. Just. Mental Health

ig Gy SPREE ccnreccvscenennsergsenssvecsveescccees

Am. Psychiatric Ass'n, Diagnostic and
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

Elana Rusconi & Timothy Mitchener-
Nissen, Prospects of Functional
Magnetic Resonance Imaging as Lie
Detector, 7 Frontiers in Human

Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of Mr.
Charles Bateman, 11 How. St. Tr. 474,

EG Gee ircttinstevcsessnstsesesancccnnsessqecczncseaneesoses

Is Mississippi Death Row Inmate Robert
Simon Faking Amnesia?, AL.com (The

Associated Press) (June 10, 2015)...............

John Cowell, A Law Dictionary or The

Interpreter of Words and Terms (1777)......

Kennet. tockwood et al., Diagnosis of
Vascular Dementia, 21 Can. J. Neurol.

SR, Se Ge cesanncenscesecessanessecsnnsccrsscccorecs

Marko Jelicic, Harald Merckelbach &
Saskia van Bergen, Symptom Validity
Testing of Feigned Amnesia for a Mock
Crime, 19 Archives of Clinical

Neuropsychology 525 (2004)...0000000000.0000.....

Martin Prince, Tenata Bryce, et al, The
Global Prevalence of Dementia: A
Systematic Review and Metaanalysis, 9

Alzheimer’s & Dementia 63 (2013).............

—-

25

—

seicneuietied 42

siwavenved 45

vill

Michael D. Kopelman, What Does A
Comparison of The Alcoholic Korsakoff
Syndrome And Thalamic Infarction Tell
Us About Thalamic Amnesia?, 54
Neuroscience & Behavioral Rev. 46

Michael S. Moore, Justifying

Retributivism, 27 Isr. L. Rev. 15 (1993).........

Missouri Executes Cecil Clayton, Killer
who had Brain Injury, LA Times (March

£7, BBE -cccccccscssosossccsocsvessoosnssosenssssnessesstessessees

Mohamad E] Haj et al, Autobiographical
Memory Decline in Alzheimer’s Disease,

27 Ageing Res. Rev. 15 (2016)................00006

Note, Amnesia: A Case Study in the Limits
of Particular Justice, 71 Yale L. J. 109

Ohio Man Executed for Double Murder He
Doesn't Remember, Daily Mail (May 17,

BIBT). nccccccsceascscevenestovsoscssescenstasseoenssqooousneeeoeeees

Pascale Piolino, Béatrice Desgranges,
Liliane Manning, Pierre North, Corinne
Jokic, & Francis Eustache,
Autobiographical Memory, the Sense of
Recollection and Executive Functions
After Severe Traumatic Brain Injury, 43

Recommendation and Report on the Death
Penalty and Persons with Mental
Disabilities, 30 Mental & Physical

Disability L. Rep. 668 (2006).....................-

Richard Moran, The Origin of Insanity as
a Special Verdict: The Trial for Treason

—

—

— 43

—

—

ix

of James Hadfield, 19 Law & Society
EEE 29

Robert F. Schopp, Wake Up and Die Right:
The Rationale, Standard, and
Jurisprudential Significance of the
Competency to Face Execution
Requirement, 51 La. L. Rev. 995 (1991)................ 31

Sarah J. Smith, Celine Souchay, Martin A.
Conway, Overgeneral Autobiographical
Memory in Parkinson’s Disease, 46
EE 44

Scott Y.H. Kim, Jason H.T. Karlawish, &
Eric D. Caine, Current State of Research
on Decision-Making Competence of
Cognitively Impaired Elderly Persons,
10 Am. J. Geriatric Psychiatry 151

Soumya Hegde & Ratnavalli Ellajosyula,
Capacity Issues and Decision-Making in
Dementia, 19 Ann. Indian Acad. Neurol.

Xue Sun et al., Does Feigning Amnesia
Impair Subsequent Recall?, 37 Memory

l

INTRODUCTION

This case is about the State’s sovereign power to
impose a just and constitutional punishment on a vi-
olent criminal who murdered one of the State’s own
law enforcement officers. From the State’s perspec-
tive, the question is not just whether Madison may
be punished for violating the State’s criminal laws. It
is whether the State can “assure that there will be a
police force to see that the criminal laws are enforced
at all.” Roberts v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633, 647 (1977)
(Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

For his part, Madison clearly intends to “claim
that he has become insane” no matter “the number of
prior adjudications of the issue, until the very mo-
ment of execution.” Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S.
399, 429 (1986) (O’Connor, J., concurring in part and
dissenting in part). Madison first claimed that he
could not remember murdering Officer Schulte in
1990, long before he purportedly suffered from de-
mentia-related amnesia. On the eve of his scheduled
execution in 2016, he asserted incompetence for the
same memory failure but blamed it on two recent
strokes. After the Court rejected his position last
year, see Dunn v. Madison, 138 S. Ct. 9 (2017), Madi-
son filed a new petition in the same state court under
the same case number to make the same allegations
based on the same evidence.

The Court granted certiorari again to address the
question Justice Ginsburg noted last year: “whether
a State may administer the death penalty to a person
whose disability leaves him without memory of his
commission of a capital offense.” /d. at 12 (Ginsburg,
J., concurring). But Madison’s brief expressly chang-
es the question presented from the one he posed in
his certiorari petition. Compare Cert. Pet. at i with

2

Pet. Br. at i. And that brief proposes no cogent theory
for why the Constitution would bar the execution of a
prisoner “without memory” of his capital offense.

Despite Madison’s arguments to the contrary, the
trial court did not hold that dementia-related infir-
mities can never render a person incompetent to be
executed. Instead, the trial court held that Madison's
dementia does not render him incompetent to be exe-
cuted. As we explained the last time we came before
this Court, Madison understands that he is being
punished for a murder he committed and for which
he has never accepted responsibility. He is “neither
delusional [njor psychotic.” Doc. 8-1 at 111.' Madi-
son’s own expert confirmed that he “is able to under-
stand the nature of the pending proceeding,” Doc. 8-3
at 19, understands that “the reason he was in prison
was because of ‘murder,” understands that the State
is “seeking retribution” for that crime, Doc. 8-3 at 18,
and “understands the sentence . . . specifically the
meaning of a death sentence,” Doc. 8-3 at 18. Alt-
hough some other dementia patient could be incom-
petent, the state court was well within reason to hold
that Madison is not.

Like he did in 1990, Madison asserts that he can-
not remember murdering Officer Julius Schulte. But
Madison’s ability to recall the killing has no bearing
on the State’s interest in punishing him for it. The
community remembers Officer Schulte. His family
remembers. The eyewitnesses who saw the murder—
they remember. Although Madison may not recall
committing this crime, the Eighth Amendment does
not bar the State from punishing him for it.

' Our citations to the record follow the format established in
Madison's brief. See Pet. Br. at 5 n. 2.

3

STATEMENT

In April 1985, Vernon Madison killed Officer Jul-
ius Schulte during a domestic dispute. At the request
of Madison’s neighbors, Officer Schulte was protect-
ing Madison’s ex-girlfriend and her 11-year-old
daughter while Madison moved out of their house.
After pretending to leave, Madison retrieved a pistol,
crept behind the car where Schulte was sitting, and
fired two shots into the back of Schulte’s head. Madi-
son v. State, 620 So. 2d 62, 64 (Ala. Crim. App. 1992).
After shooting Officer Schulte, Madison shot his ex-
girlfriend in the back as she tried to run away. /d.
Three eye witnesses—including the 11-year-old
girl—watched as Madison murdered Officer Schulte
and tried to murder his girlfriend. /d.

A. Trial and post-conviction proceedings.

Madison was charged with capital murder be-
cause he had murdered an on-duty police officer. See
Ala. Code § 13A—5—40(a)(5). The government has “a
special interest in affording protection to these public
servants who regularly must risk their lives in order
to guard the safety of other persons and property.”
Roberts v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633, 636 (1977). Be-
cause of procedural errors, Madison was tried and
convicted three times. See Madison v. State, 545
So.2d 94, 99 (Ala. Crim. App.1987); Madison v. State,
620 So.2d 62, 63 (Ala. Crim. App. 1992); Madison v.
State, 718 So.2d 90 (Ala. Crim. App. 1997).

Although there has never been any doubt about
Madison’s guilt, he never accepted responsibility for
murdering Officer Schulte. Instead, he has always
concocted various theories to excuse his crime. For
example, before his second trial in 1990, Madison
was already telling psychologists that “he could not

4

remember the shooting.” Madison, 620 So. 2d at 66.
By the time of his third trial, he was claiming self-
defense. Madison, 718 So. 2d at 97.

After each trial, Madison was sentenced to death
because of his lifetime of violent crime.? Madison had
previously been convicted of robbery, assault and
battery with intent to kill, aggravated assault, and
other violent offenses. See Sentencing Order at 4-5,
State v. Madison, CC85-1385.80 (Mobile Cty. Cir. Ct.
July 7, 1994). He was on parole from his most recent
conviction when he murdered Officer Schulte. Jd. at
5. After his third conviction and sentence were af-
firmed on direct review, Madison spent twenty years
pursuing every conceivable avenue of state and fed-
eral post-conviction relief.

Madison’s state post-conviction petition “lan-
guished in the [state] court for years with little ac-
tion.” Madison v. State, 999 So. 2d 561, 567 (Ala.
Crim. App. 2006). “An evidentiary hearing was
scheduled for February 23, 2000, but was continued
on Madison’s motion.” Jd. One year later, “[t)he cir-
cuit court issued an order notifying Madison that the
[post-conviction] petition would be dismissed if coun-
sel did not contact the court within 30 days.” /d.
Madison requested that a hearing be delayed for at
least a year. Id. When that time came, he replaced
his counsel. Jd. Eventually, the trial court “concluded

2 Madison's first two juries recommended a death sentence. See
Madison, 545 So. 2d at 95 (the jury's vote was 11-1); Madison,
620 So. 2d at 63 (10-2). The third death sentence was imposed
by a judge after this Court had affirmed the conatitutionality of
judicial sentencing in capital cases. See Harris v. Alabama, 513
U.S. 504 (1995) . Madison waived any objection to the judge's
sentencing authority. See Madison, 718 So. 2d at 104.

5

the long-delayed postconviction proceedings” by
granting the State’s motion to dismiss. /d.

Madison filed his first federal habeas petition in
2009. Madison v. Allen, 2011 WL 1004885, at *1
(S.D. Ala. Mar. 21, 2011). The federal habeas court
held an evidentiary hearing on Madison’s claim that
the prosecutor exercised six of his eighteen strikes
against black jurors because of their race. The court
noted that Madison’s final “jury was seven (7) blacks
and seven (7) whites,” even though the jury pool was
75% white. Madison v. Allen, 2013 WL 1776073, at
*6 (S.D. Ala. Apr. 25, 2013). The prosecutor who
tried Madison eventually became the “Chief of the
criminal division for the U.S. Attorney’s Office in the
Southern District of Alabama.” Jd. Based on contem-
poraneous notes, he testified that he struck these six
jurors for specific race-neutral reasons. Id. The fed-
eral habeas court denied the petition, and this Court
denied certiorari. See Madison v. Thomas, 135 S. Ct.
1562 (2015).

B. The first state court competency petition

After the Attorney General asked the Supreme
Court of Alabama to set an execution date, Madison
filed a successive state-court post-conviction petition
claiming he was incompetent to be executed. Doc. 8-
1. The petition asserted that Madison was incompe-
tent because he had suffered “both short-term and
long-term memory loss.” Doc. 8-1 at 2.

The state court set a hearing to evaluate Madi-
son’s claims of incompetence and gave Madison the
opportunity to submit evidence, including from his
own psychological expert. Doc. 8-1 at 55. Before the
hearing, Madison was evaluated by Dr. Karl Kirk-
land, a court-appointed psychologist, and Dr. John

6

Goff, a neuropsychologist retained by Madison. At
the hearing, the state court admitted Dr. Kirkland’s
report, Dr. Goffs report, and Madison’s medical rec-
ords. The state court also heard testimony from Dr.
Kirkland, Dr. Goff, and the warden of the prison
where Madison lived.

1. Dr. Kirkland’s testimony. The state court ap-
pointed Dr. Kirkland to examine Madison’s claims as
a neutral expert on behalf of the court. Dr. Kirkland
concluded that Madison has had physical and cogni-
tive decline as a result of strokes. Doc. 8-1 at 74
(hearing). Even so, Dr. Kirkland concluded that Mad-
ison has a rational understanding that he is to be ex-
ecuted for killing a police officer in 1985. Doc. 8-1 at
78-79 (hearing); Doc. 8-3 at 9-10 (expert report). Dr.
Kirkland determined that Madison has a “rational
understanding of the sentence, [and] the results or
effects of the sentence ... .” Doc. 8-3 at 10 (report).
Dr. Kirkland also found that Madison had normal
thought content and showed no symptoms of psycho-
sis, paranoia, or delusion. Doc. 8-3 at 8 (report).

Dr. Kirkland learned from Madison’s treating
physicians that Madison did not suffer from psycho-
sis or delusions. Doc. 8-1 at 77 (hearing). They also
reported that Madison was asked for, and able to
give, consent for medical procedures. Jd. at 76. Mad-
ison “refuses some of his medications because of side
effects” but his treating physicians “felt that he knew
what he was doing” in making that choice. /d. at 78.

At his evaluation, Madison gave Dr. Kirkland a
detailed history of his life, his criminal record, and
his conviction for murder. For instance, Madison said
he was the son of Willie Seale and Aldonnia Madi-
son, was “born in an old Mobile Hospital for African
Americans that no longer exists,” and that he is the

7

“oldest of 11 children, seven boys and four girls,” four
of whom have died. Doc. 8-3 at 3-4 (expert report).
Madison said he was raised “on the end of Old Stan-
ton Road in Mobile, where Stanton Street runs into
Stanton Road.” /d. at 4. Madison remembers his
multiple juvenile arrests and the details of these
crimes, including shooting a man in Mississippi, and
the time he escaped from the Mt. Meigs Department
of Youth Services Camp, hitching “rides all the way
back home.” /d. at 3. Madison remembered trying to
join the Army during the Vietnam War because he
“knew they would draft him one way or the other,”
and he remembers being “excluded from the Army by
the physical due to be[ing] rated 4F.” Jd. at 4.

Madison also remembered details of his multiple
trials, convictions, and appeals. Madison discussed
each appeal and “marveled each time with the fact
that the whole process would end up being back in
Judge McCray’s court.” /d. at 8. Dr. Kirkland testi-
fied that “[Madison]| was able to talk with me about
very specific things that would indicate that he could
remember specific things about the time of the of-
fense even, as well as each trial.” Doc. 8-1 at 123

(hearing).

Dr. Kirkland determined that although Madison
had physical and mental limitations, Madison “clear-
ly was able to discuss his case in a very accurate
manner, including being able to accurately tell this
examiner legal theories about why Judge McCray
should have recused himself and why he refused to
do so.” Doc. 8-3 at 9 (expert report). When asked if
Madison had a rational understanding of the reason
for his execution, Kirkland replied, “Certainly. He
talked specifically about death sentence versus life

8

without in the original trial and the first retrial and
in the second.” Doc. 8-1 at 124 (hearing).

2. Dr. Goffs testimony. Madison’s expert, Dr.
Goff, agreed with Dr. Kirkland that Madison experi-
enced cognitive decline after suffering a stroke. He
also diagnosed Madison with dementia or major neu-
rological disorder. Even so, Dr. Goff concluded that
Madison understands “the meaning of a death sen-
tence.” Doc 8-3 at 18 (expert report). Dr. Goff also
concluded that Madison said his crime “must have
been a murder,” that he had three trials, and that he
felt his “conviction was unjust.” Doc. 8-3 at 18 (expert
report). Dr. Goff concluded that Madison “is able to
understand the nature of the pending proceeding and
he has an understanding of what he was tried for.”
Doc. 8-3 at 19 (expert report). Similarly, Dr. Goff tes-
tified that Madison was not delusional or psychotic.
Doc. 8-1 at 111 (testimony of Dr. Goff).

But, based on his interview with Madison, Dr.
Goff opined that Madison had no independent recol-
lection of the murder. According to Dr. Goff, Madi-
son could not remember the name of the victim, and
he did not think he killed anyone because he pur-
portedly “never went around killing folks.” Doc. 8-3
at 18 (report). Because Madison purportedly could
not remember the murder, Dr. Goff concluded that
Madison did not understand the rationale of the cur-
rent proceeding as it applied to him. Doc. 8-3 at 19-
20. Dr. Goff remarked, “I think he understands that
he’s being executed, but I don’t think that he under-
stands why, because I don’t think he has those--those
memories.” Doc. 8-1 at 110 (hearing). Similarly, Dr.
Goff concluded that “I think he understands that [the
State is] seeking retribution” but “I don’t think he
understands the act that he’s being -- that he’s being

9

punished for.” Jd. at 120. When Dr. Goff formed
that conclusion, he was unaware that Madison had
always denied responsibility for the murder. /d. at
120.

Dr. Goff gave three reasons for believing that
Madison cannot remember killing Officer Schulte.
First, Dr. Goff concluded that Madison had experi-
enced a thalamic stroke. Doc. 8-3 at 19 (expert re-
port). Second, Dr. Goff relied on Madison’s state-
ments that he does not recall the murder and that he
“never went around killing folks.” /d. at 18 (report);
Doc. 8-1 at 115-16 (hearing). Third, Dr. Goff relied on
his evaluation of Madison, including a test he admin-
istered showing Madison's trouble completing basic
tasks and remembering basic information and Madi-
son’s tendency to speak in a rambling vague manner,
which suggested to Dr. Goff that Madison “can’t re-
member what it is that he’s told me.” Doc. 8-3 at 18

(expert report); Doc. 8-1 at 114 (hearing).

3. The Warden's testimony. The warden testified
that when Madison received the death warrant set-
ting his execution date, Madison expressed no confu-
sion or lack of understanding of what it meant, com-
menting, “[Mly lawyers are supposed to be handling
that.” Doc. 8-1 at 130 (hearing). The warden also tes-
tified that Madison was not receiving treatment for a
mental condition in prison. Doc. 8-1 at 131 (hearing).

4. The state court’s first decision. The state court
issued a detailed order, finding Madison competent
to be executed. Doc. 8-2 at 149. The state court ex-
pressly found that Madison is not delusional. Doc. 8-
2 at 158. The state court also found that “Madison
has a rational[] understanding, as required by Panet-
ti, that he is going to be executed because of the
murder he committed and a rational[{] understanding

10

that the State is seeking retribution and that he will
die when he is executed. ... . ” Doc. 8-2 at 158.

Alabama law provides no right to appeal this de-
termination in the state court system. See Ala. Code
§ 15-16-23. This is presumably because of the expe-
dited nature of last-minute litigation about execu-
tions and because the Supreme Court of Alabama is
the body that sets an execution date in the first
place.

C. The court of appeals grants habeas cor-
pus, and this Court summarily reverses.

Madison filed a habeas petition in federal court,
raising the same claims he raised in the state court
proceeding. See Doc. 1. Under the Anti-Terrorism
and Effective Death Penalty Act, a habeas petitioner
cannot obtain relief without showing that a state
court’s adjudication is “contrary to, or an unreasona-
ble application of, clearly established law,” or “based
on an unreasonable determination of the facts in
light of the evidence presented in the State court
proceeding.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). The district court
denied Madison’s application after concluding that
“liJt is apparent that the state court adjudication of
these claims applied the relevant Panetti/Ford
standard for determining competency to be executed,
considered all of Madison’s factual averments, and
found that any dementia, and the alleged deficits in
memory associated with that condition, did not pre-
vent Madison from having a rational understanding
of his execution and the reasons for his execution.”
Madison v. Dunn, 2016 WL 2732193, at *9 (S.D. Ala.
May 10, 2016).

The court of appeals reversed the district court
and granted Madison’s petition for writ of habeas

11

corpus. Madison v. Comm’r, Alabama Dep't of Corr.,
851 F.3d 1173 (11th Cir. 2017). That court explained
that the “mental conditions relevant here” are “de-
mentia and related memory loss,” not psychosis or
delusions. The court adopted a bright-line rule that
“a man with no memory of what he did wrong” can-
not be “put to death.” Jd. at 1188. The court held that
a person cannot be executed if he “doesn’t remember
the crime and he believes, to the best of his ability,
he has never killed anyone.” /d. at 1189.

This Court summarily reversed the court of ap-
peals. See Dunn v. Madison, 138 S. Ct. 9 (2017). The
Court held that “the state court did not unreasonably
apply Panetti and Ford when it determined that
Madison is competent to be executed because—
notwithstanding his memory loss—he recognizes
that he will be put to death as punishment for the
murder he was found to have committed.” Jd. at 12.
The Court recognized that “[tjestimony from each of
the psychologists who examined Madison supported
the court’s finding that Madison understands both
that he was tried and imprisoned for murder and
that Alabama will put him to death as punishment
for that crime.” /d. The Court explained that
“[njeither Panetti nor Ford ‘clearly established’ that
a prisoner is incompetent to be executed because of a
failure to remember his commission of the crime, as
distinct from a failure to rationally comprehend the
concepts of crime and punishment as applied in his
case.” Id. at 11-12.

Justice Ginsburg concurred. She noted that “[t]}he
issue whether a State may administer the death
penalty to a person whose disability leaves him with-
out memory of his commission of a capital offense is

12

a substantial question not yet addressed by the
Court.” Jd. at 12 (Ginsburg, J., concurring).

D. Madison’s second state court competency
petition.

After the State again set Madison’s execution
date, Madison filed a second petition challenging his
competency to be executed. It was filed under the
same case number and assigned to the same judge as
his first petition. Madison’s petition relied on the
“previously established evidence of Mr. Madison's
significant mental impairments” and asserted un-
specified “continued decline.” The petition also as-
serted that the court should discard its neutral ex-
pert’s previous testimony because he was accused of
self-prescribing medications.

The State responded with three main arguments.
First, the State asserted collateral estoppel and res
judicata, noting that Madison was merely seeking to
relitigate decided issues. Second, the State noted
that Madison had alleged no new evidence to war-
rant relitigating his competency—such as a new di-
agnosis or new expert opinion. Third, the State ex-
plained that the neutral expert’s legal problems were
irrelevant because they had nothing to do with his
methodology or conclusions and his testimony
matched the testimony of Madison’s own expert.

The court held oral argument limited to whether
the court should vary from its previous order denying
Madison’s competency petition. The judge recalled
from the prior hearing that there was “nothing in
[Dr. Kirkland’s] demeanor, his testimony, his ap-
proach to how he evaluated the case to be [|signifi-
cantly different from Dr. Goffs” and “[t|hey pretty
much came down the same except for a very few

13

matters.” Hr’g R. at 29:6-12. After the hearing, the
court orally denied Madison’s petition from the
bench. Hr’g R. at 32:23-25; 33:1. The court later en-
tered a written order denying Madison’s second peti-
tion because it “did not provide a substantial thresh-
old showing of insanity . . . sufficient to convince this
Court to stay the execution.” Cert. Pet. App. A.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Eighth Amendment does not prohibit the
State from executing a convicted murderer because
he cannot independently recall committing a crime.
The death penalty is justified by the State’s interests
in retribution and deterrence, and those interests are
not diminished when a convicted murderer cannot
remember committing his crime.

1. The lower court correctly applied this Court's
Eighth Amendment precedents to deny Madison's
competency claim.

A. Although the Eighth Amendment prohibits the
State from executing someone who is insane and
lacks a rational understanding of the reasons for his
execution, the lower court correctly held that Madi-
son does not meet that standard. Madison’s mental
uisorder does not render him incompetent. Although
his dementia purportedly precludes him from re-
membering his capital offense, it does not preclude
him from understanding that he is being punished
for murdering Officer Schulte or from sharing the
community's understanding of crime, punishment,
retribution, and death.

Under this Court's precedents, a State may exe-
cute a prisoner whose mental disability leaves him

14

without memory of his commission of the capital of-
fense. A failure to recall committing a crime is dis-
tinct from a failure to understand why one is being
punished for a crime. An inmate’s personal recollec-
tion of the crime is irrelevant to whether the inmate
shares the community’s understanding of the crime,
has a moral responsibility for committing the crime,
or understands why he is being punished for the
crime.

B. Madison incorrectly argues that the lower
court misapplied this Court’s precedents. Although
Madison suggests that the mere diagnosis of demen-
tia means that he is incompetent to be executed, this
Court has made clear that a prisoner's mental condi-
tion does not establish incompetence unless that
mental condition precludes the inmate from under-
standing why he is being executed.

Nothing about dementia necessarily precludes a
rational understanding of crime and punishment.
Cognitive disorders like dementia exist on a spec-
trum of cognitive and functional impairment and are
accompanied by a wide variety of symptoms. Alt-
hough another prisoner may be rendered incompe-
tent by dementia, the lower court appropriately held
that Madison has not been.

Il. No part of this Court’s Eighth Amendment
doctrine suggests that the Constitution eliminates
the sovereign power of the State to punish a
convicted murderer who cannot remember
committing a capital offense.

A. The common law supports the punishment of
criminals who do not remember committing a crime.
The common law prohibition on executing the insane
narrowly applied to prisoners who lacked the

15

capacity to reason or understand. Common law
courts have held that amnesia does not constitute
insanity.

Moreover, the rationales offered by common law
authorities do not preclude punishing a murderer
who lacks an independent recollection of his crime.
The loss of memory does not undermine a prisoner's
ability to appreciate the religious and moral
significance of his crime. Nor does it affect his ability
to participate in court proceedings after his guilt has
been established.

B. There are no objective indicia that society has
determined that it is inhumane to execute an inmate
who cannot recall his crime. Despite several recent
highly-publicized amnesia claims by death row
inmates, no state has enacted legislation to preclude
the execution of an inmate who cannot recall
committing a crime. Standards promulgated by
professional associations likewise suggest that an
inmate’s recollection is irrelevant to his competency
to be executed.

C. Lastly, the State has two penological interests
in punishing a murderer who cannot remember
committing a crime: retribution and deterrence.

Retribution is concerned with whether a person is
culpable for an offense that warrants punishment.
The Court has recognized that the murder of a police
officer is a grievous offense that warrants the
harshest punishment. And, unlike the young or
intellectually disabled, Madison is fully culpable for
murdering Officer Schulte. Madison’s mental
condition does not preclude him from understanding
that he is being punished for murdering a police
officer or that such a murder is a grave moral wrong.

16

Deterrence also justifies the execution of an
inmate, regardless whether he can recall his crime.
Madison’s execution will serve as an example to
others that the intentional murder of a police officer
will be punished. And an inmate suffering from
amnesia is no less subject to deterrence than an
inmate who remembers the crime that put him in
prison.

Ill. Madison’s proposed rule would increase the
potential for false claims and manipulation.

First, Madison’s argument would preclude the
execution of any inmate with dementia, giving that
of cognitive disorders is not straightforward, and the
difference between a minor disorder and a major
disorder is essentially arbitrary.

Second, Madison’s rule would allow many more
inmates to assert incompetence claims. Many
medical conditions can arguably result in the loss of
memory. And few convicted capital murderers are
willing to concede the facts of their crime or their
moral responsibility for it.

Third, a prisoners assertion that he cannot
remember his crime is not objectively verifiable.
Although there are ways to test cognitive decline and
memory loss, the only person who can know for sure
whether an inmate remembers his crime is the
inme te himself.

The Eighth Amendment forbids the execution of a
murderer who has lost his sanity, not his memory.
This Court should affirm.

17

ARGUMENT

I. The lower court’s decision is consistent with
Ford and Panetti.

The Constitution affirms the sovereign power of
the States to execute the worst murderers as a
deterrent to themselves and others and as
retribution for the community's loss. See Gregg v.
Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 176 (1976). This Court has
recognized that the imposition of the “death penalty
undoubtedly is a significant deterrent” to “many”
murders and that retribution “is essential in an
ordered society that asks its citizens to rely on legal
processes rather than self-help to vindicate their
wrongs.” Jd. at 183, 185 (joint opinion of Stewart,
Powell, and Stevens, JJ.).

Nowhere are these state interests more apparent
than where, as here, the State’s own agent was the
victim of premeditated murder. See Roberts v.
Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633, 636 (1977). “Policemen are
both symbols and outriders of our ordered society,
and they literally risk their lives in an effort to
preserve it.” Jd. at 647 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).
For that reason, the State has an especially strong
interest “in making unmistakably clear that those
who are convicted of deliberately killing police
officers acting in the line of duty” know that
punishment “will be inexorable.” /d. (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting).

In light of these principles, Madison must carry
an especially heavy burden to justify an exception to
the constitutionality of capital punishment for his
unique circumstances. He cannot do so. When he
murdered Officer Schulte, Madison was not part of a
class with any characteristic tending to make him
less culpable or less subject to deterrence. He was

18

not, for example, intellectually disabled or a juvenile.
Instead, he was a thrice-convicted violent felon on
parole. Today, Madison is older. But he knows that
he is being punished for a crime he committed, and
he shares the community's understanding of that
crime and the punishment. It is neither cruel nor
unusual for the State to carry out his senterce.

A. Madison can rationally understand his
punishment.

The lower court correctly determined that
Madison’s allegations in his second petition did not
establish that he was incompetent to be executed.
Madison’s second petition in the state court merely
reasserted the allegations in his first petition, with
the addition of unrelated charges against the court’s
appointed expert. Because of these _ identical
allegations, there was no reason for the lower court
to vary from its prior fact-finding that “Madison has
a rational[] understanding, as required by Panetti,
that he is going to be executed because of the murder
he committed and a rational[] understanding that
the State is seeking retribution and that he will die
when he is executed. . . . . ” Doc. 8-2 at 158.

This fact-finding is neither clearly erroneous nor
a misapplication of this Court’s case law. The Eighth
Amendment prohibits a state “from inflicting the
penalty of death upon a prisoner who is insane,”
Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399, 410 (1986),
including one who “suffers from a_ severe,
documented mental illness that is the source of gross
delusions preventing him from comprehending the
meaning and purpose of the punishment to which he
has been sentenced,” Panetti v. Quarterman, 551
U.S. 930, 960 (2007). The upshot is that an inmate

19

may “establish|] incompetency by . . . a showing that
his mental illness obstructs a rational understanding
of the State’s reason for his execution.” Jd. at 956.

But an inmate cannot meet his burden under
Ford and Panetti merely by showing that he has
been diagnosed with a mental disorder. Instead, the
inmate must show that his diagnosed mental
disorder actually prevents him from a factual or
rational understanding of the reasons for his
execution. Panetti, 551 U.S. at 959. See also Ford,
477 U.S. at 422 (Powell, J., concurring). The
prisoner's “awareness of the crime and punishment”
must have “little or no relation to the understanding
of those concepts shared by the community as a
whole.” Panetti, 551 U.S. at 959. Accordingly, the
inquiry is whether the diagnosed mental disorder
“render[s} a subject’s perception of reality so
distorted that he should be deemed incompetent.” /d.
at 962.

The lower court correctly applied this Court’s
precedents to the facts of Madison’s case. It is
undisputed that Madison has suffered cognitive
decline over the years. But it is also undisputed that
Madison has not experienced delusions, psychosis, or
confusion avout the meaning of crime, punishment,
or death. Moreover, as this Court has already
explained, “|tjestimony from each of _ the
psychologists who examined Madison supported the
court’s finding that Madison understands both that
he was tried and imprisoned for murder and that
Alabama will put him to death as punishment for
that crime.” Dunn, 138 S. Ct. at 12. Despite
Madison’s cognitive decline, Madison’s own expert,
Dr. Goff, “found that Madison ‘is able to understand
the nature of the pending proceeding and he has an

20

understanding of what he was tried for; that he
knows he is ‘in prison ... because of murder; that he
‘understands that .. [Alabama _ is] seeking
retribution’ for that crime, and that he ‘understands
the sentence, specifically the meaning of a death
sentence.” /d. at 10-11. Even Madison's
responsibility-denying statements that he never
“went around killing folks” and that his sentence is
“unjust” proves that he understands the crime he
committed and the retributive nature of his sentence.
Doc. 8-3 at 18 (expert report).

Madison’s dementia purportedly means that he
does not remember—and will not acknowledge—
murdering Officer Schulte. See Pet. Br. at 9
(‘memory loss”), 10 (“retrograde amnesia”), 11
(“memory impairments”), 25 (“cannot independently
recall the facts of the offense”). But the Court has
already recognized that an inmate’s “failure to
remember his commission of the crime” is “distinct
from a failure to rationally comprehend the concepts
of crime and punishment as applied in his case.”
Dunn, 138 S. Ct. at 12. A history major may have no
independent memory of the Vietnam War, but still
understand the conflict; a Vietnam veteran may
remember the war in vivid detail, but have
delusional beliefs about it. “[E]veryone is amnesic to
some degree” because “every individual’s memory
process is marked by some distortion.” Note,
Amnesia: A Case Study in the Limits of Particular
Justice, 71 Yale L. J. 109, 109-111 (1961). But such
memory problems do not stop us from having a
rational understanding of our past. They do not
make us less culpable or deserving of punishment.
They do not render our punishment any less of a
deterrent to ourselves or others.

21

Panetti itself compels the common-sense
conclusion that an inmate’s “failure to remember his
commission of the crime” is “distinct from a failure to
rationally comprehend the concepts of crime and
punishment as applied in his case.” Dunn, 138 S. Ct.
at 12. In Panetti, the Court made clear that the
rational understanding it required was an
“awareness of the crime and punishment” !ike that
“shared by the community as a whole.” Panetti, 551
U.S. at 958-59. But no one in the broader community
(except, perhaps, an eyewitness) will understand an
inmate’s execution based on his or her own
independent recollection of the facts of a murder.
Rather, the community's understanding will be
based on the facts as adduced in the trial, press
reports, or other third party accounts. Independent
recollection of a crime has nothing to do with the
community's understanding of the punishment.

This self-evident distinction between memory
and rational understanding is why the lower courts
are unanimous in their opinion that a murderer's
inability to remember his crime does not render him
incompetent to be executed." The only lower court

® See Bedford v. Bobby, 645 F.3d 372, 374-76, 378 (6th Cir.
2011) (although inmate's “condition hajd] ... deteriorated ...
with the onset of... dementia,” his “memory [wa]s severely im-
paired,” and he “lack{ed] intact memories of events and easily
confuse|d] memories he does have or that others attempt to re-
mind him about,” court held that these conditions “do not es-
tablish that [he] does not understand the reasons for his convic-
tion or the nature of his punishment.”); Simon v. Fisher, 641 F.
App'x 386, 389 (5th Cir. 2016) (agreed with Sixth Circuit); State
ex rel. Clayton v. Griffith, 457 S.W.3d 735, 750 (Mo. 2015) (alt-
hough inmate has “several disorders,” including “dementia,”
“traumatic brain injury,” “a small stroke,” and “possible age-
related decline,” he has a rational understanding under
Ford/Panetti because he “understands that he is under the
threat of execution, that this will result in his death”); State v.

22

that has held dementia-induced memory problems to
bar execution is the one this Court summarily
reversed in the last iteration of this case. See Dunn,
138 S. Ct. at 12.

Ultimately, Madison’s legal position extends the
prohibition on executing the insane far beyond Ford
and Panetti. Madison may not independently re-
member his crime. But he shares the community's
understanding of crime and punishment, can appre-
ciate the morality of murder, and knows he is being
executed because he was convicted of that crime. He
understands these concepts so well that he continues
to deny responsibility for murdering Officer Schulte
and to assert that his sentence is “unjust.” Doc 8-3 at
18 (Goff expert report). Madison’s dementia-induced
amnesia is insufficient to establish incompetence to
be executed.

B. Madison’s arguments for reversal are un-
persuasive.

Madison’s brief does not explain how his inability
to recall his crime makes his understanding of “crime
and punishment” any different than the understand-
ing “shared by the community as a whole.” Panetti,
959. Instead, the brief makes two unpersuasive ar-
guments that do not meaningfully grapple with the
actual question presented.

First, Madison argues against a strawman, sug-
gesting that the lower court denied his successive
cut-and-paste petition because dementia is not a

Trick, 320 S.W.3d 284, 295-96 (Tenn. 2010) (although inmate
“has no memory of the events surrounding the murder,” inmate
was competent to be executed because he understood “that he
has been convicted of murdering the victim” that that he was
“acheduled to be executed for this crime”).

23

mental disorder. In the fantasy world imagined by
Madison’s brief, the lower court “rejected Mr. Madi-
son’s claim for relief under Ford largely because de-
mentia and neurological disease were seen as outside
the scope of protection under the Eighth Amend-
ment.” Pet. Br. at 16. The lower court also supposed-
ly denied Madison’s claim because “vascular demen-
tia constitutes a different medical condition than
what this Court has recognized as triggering the
Kighth Amendment protections of Ford and Panetti.”
Pet. Br. at 24.

But in the real world, the lower court found—and
the State argued below—that Madison has a rational
understanding of the death penalty despite his de-
mentia and purported memory problems.‘ As we told
the Court the last time we were here, the problem for
Madison’s legal position is that he can rationally un-
derstand why he is being punished, “not that [he]
suffers from a delusion that is different than the one
at issue in Panetti or that his ‘DSM diagnosis dif-
fer[s]’ from the diagnosis in Ford.” State’s Reply Br.,

‘In a footnote, Madison's bref asserts that “the State has con-
sistently argued that Mr. Madison's claim should fail because
vascular dementia, and associated cognitive and memory im-
pairments, is not considered a mental illness.” Pet. Br. 24 n. 16.
This is incorrect. As a matter of state law, the State has argued
that Madison's condition is not “insanity” under Ala. Code § 15-
16-23, such that his petition should have been filed under Rule
32 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure. But, as a mat-
ter of federal law, the State has consistently argued that Madi-
son does not meet the Ford/Panetti standard because his men-
tal disorder does not prevent him from understanding why he is
being punished. See, e.g., State Br. in Opp'n 14 (noting that
Madison's “own expert agreed that he understands he was tried
for [murder], that he is in prison and will be executed because
of that offense, and the finality of death if his sentence is car-
ried out”).

24

Madison v. Dunn, No. 17-193. at 7 (Sept. 14, 2017).
In the words of the federal habeas court, the state
court “found that any dementia, and the alleged defi-
cits in memory associated with that condition, did
not prevent Madison from having a rational under-
standing of his execution and the reasons for his exe-
cution.” Madison v. Dunn, 2016 WL 2732193, at *9
(S.D. Ala. May 10, 2016). As we have explained
above, supra pp. 18-22, the lower court’s decision on
this point faithfully applied this Court’s precedents.

Second, Madison's brief simply begs the question
by assuming without any argument that he meets
the Ford/Panetti standard. This error starts at the
very beginning of his brief. Madison’s certiorari peti-
tion asked the Court to determine whether the State
could execute a “prisoner whose mental disability
leaves him without memory.” Cert. Pet. at i. This is
the question we have answered. But Madison's brief
alters the question presented so that it also asks
whether the State may execute a prisoner whose
mental condition “leaves him without memory of the
commission of the capital offense and prevents him
from having a rational understanding of the circum-
stances of his scheduled execution.” Pet. Br. at i (em-
phasis added). This formulation builds the assump-
tion that Madison meets the Ford/Panetti standard
(and thus cannot be executed) into the question pre-
sented, even though the Court granted certiorari to
resolve the question whether his impairments meet
that standard and even though the lower court held
as a matter of fact that he did not.

Madison’s question-begging argument assumes
that the bare fact that he suffers from dementia
necessarily establishes that he is incompetent to be
executed. But this argument finds no support in Ford

25

or Panetti. |n both cases, the Court made clear that
an inmate could not establish incompetence merely
by having a mental disorder. The central question in
both cases was whether an inmate’s diagnosed
mental disorder actually eliminated his ability to
understand his punishment. Under Ford and
Panetti, it is not enough for Madison to suffer from a
diagnosed mental disorder. He must establish that
his “mental illness obstructs a_ rational
understanding of the State’s reason for his
execution.” Panetti, 551 U.S. at 956.

The rational understanding step in_ the
competency analysis is especially important with a
diagnosis like dementia. The DSM-5 recognizes that
cognitive disorders like dementia “exist on a
spectrum of cognitive and functional impairment”
that varies considerably from person to person. Am.
Psychiatric Ass’n, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual
of Mental Disorders 607 (5th Ed. 2013) [hereinafter
“DSM-5”]. Because the key diagnostic criteria is
“cognitive decline from a _ previous level of
performance,” a “high-functioning individual” may be
properly diagnosed with dementia even if his
abilities register as “normal.” DSM-5 at 602, 607.
Moreover, a major neurocognitive disorder like
dementia may be accompanied by a wide variety of
symptoms. One person who suffers from dementia

® The district court on remand in Panetti expressly found the
inmate to be “mentally ill,” but, like the state court in this case,
still found that the innate had “a factual and rational under-
standing of his crime, his impending death, and the causal re-
tributive connection between the two.” See Panetti v. Quarter-
man, 2008 WL, 2338498, at *37 (W.D. Tex. Mar. 26, 2008). The
court of appeals affirmed, and this Court denied certiorari. See
Panetti v. Stephens, 727 F.3d 398 (5th Cir. 2013), cert. denied,
135 S. Ct. 47 (2014).

26

might merely “requireje] assistance with .. . paying
bills.” DSM-5 at 602. Another might have “delusions”
and “paranoia.” DSM-5 at 606. As the Court has
observed, the medical definitions of mental disorders
“are subject to flux and disagreement,” and
diagnoses “may mask vigorous debate within the
profession about the very contours of the mental
disease itself.” Clark v. Arizona, 548 U.S. 735, 752,
772 (2006). “[T]he consequence of this professional
ferment,” the Court has noted, “is a general caution
in treating psychological classifications as predicates
for excusing otherwise criminal conduct.” Jd. at 775

Although it is possible that some other inmate
with dementia could establish that his condition has
eliminated his rational understanding of crime and
punishment, Madison has not met that burden. Even
though Madison was already asserting 28 years ago
that he could not remember the murder, he now says
a recently diagnosed disorder has caused him not to
recall “the facts of the offense” or “the name of the
victim.” Pet. Br. at 10. But Madison’s lack of
independent recollection does not eliminate his
ability to understand death, appreciate the gravity of
murdering a police officer, or otherwise share the
communitys understanding of crime and
punishment. Madison’s own expert testified that he
“is able to understand the nature of the pending
proceeding,” Doc. 8-3 at 19 (report), understands that
“the reason he was in prison was because of
‘murder,” understands that the State is “seeking
retribution” for that crime, Doc. 8-1 at 120 (hearing),
and “understands the sentence . . . specifically the
meaning of a death sentence,” Doc. 8-3 at 18 (report).
Madison’s disorder does not make him any less
deserving of punishment nor does it render his

27

punishment less of a deterrent to himself or to
others.

Il. The Eighth Amendment allows a State to
punish a murderer whose mental disability
leaves him w’ Sout memory of his commis-
sion of the capital offense.

Just as Madison’s claims are inconsistent with
Ford and Panetti, no other part of this Court’s
Kighth Amendment doctrine supports his position.

In determining whether the Eighth Amendment
bars a particular punishment as “cruel and unusual,”
the Court has followed a well-established analytical
path. First, the Court examines whether the pun-
ishment was among “those modes or acts of punish-
ment that had been considered cruel and unusual at
the time that the Bill of Rights was adopted” in
1791. Ford, 477 U.S., at 405; see also Solem v. Helm,
463 U.S. 277, 285-86 (1983). Second, the Court con-
siders whether the punishment is deemed cruel and
unusual according to modern “standards of decen-
cy.” Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551, 560-61 (2005)
(quoting Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958) (plu-
rality op.)). Those standards derive principally from
“objective evidence of contemporary values,” the
“clearest and most reliable” of which is “the legisla-
tion enacted by the country’s legislatures.” Atkins v.
Virginia, 536 U.S. 304, 312 (2002) (citation and quo-
tation marks omitted). Finally, the Court applies its
“independent judgment” to evaluate “the acceptabil-
ity of a particular punishment under the Eighth
Amendment.” Roper, 543 U.S., at 563-64. In capital
cases, the Court has made this assessment primarily
by reference to “the penological justifications for the

28

death penalty.” See id., at 571; Atkins, 536 U-S., at
317.

A. The common law supports the punish-
ment of murderers who cannot remember
committing a crime.

The constitutional prohibition on executing the
insane comes from the common law. See Ford, 477
U.S. at 406-07 (citing Blackstone and Coker). But
there is no similar common law prohibition on the
punishment of someone who cannot recall commit-
ting a crime.

The historical sources uniformly attest that the
common law prohibition on the execution of the in-
sane came into play only if a prisoner suffered a
comprehensive deprivation of his intellectual powers.
Blackstone formulates the prohibition on the execu-
tion of the insane in terms of the concept of “nonsane
memory.” As he puts it, if a man “in his sound
memory commits a capital offence” and later “be-
comes of nonsane memory, execution shall be
stayed.” 4 William Blackstone, Commentaries, *24-
*25. But in the Law French of Blackstone’s time, the
expression “nonsane memory” did not denote amne-
sia. It was defined as a condition in which a party
“was Mad or not within his wits.” John Cowell, A
Law Dictionary or The Interpreter of Words and
Terms (1777)(definition of “non sane memory”). See
also Alexander M. Burrill, A Law Dictionary and
Glossary 192 (2d ed. 1859)(definition of “memory’”).
Indeed, Edward Coke’s discussion of the same prohi-
bition requires that the inmate be “totally deprived
of all compassings, and imaginations.” 3 Edward
Coke, Institutes 6 (6th ed. 1680). Matthew Hale also
stressed that the requisite mental condition “must be

29

an absolute madness.” 1 Matthew Hale, Pleas of the
Crown 37 (1736). And Blackstone’s own discussion
uses the term “nonsane memory” interchangeably
with “madness.” 4 Blackstone, Commentaries, *24-
*25.

It is thus entirely unsurprising that common law
courts confronted with the question whether this
prohibition extends to amnesia have answered with a
resounding “no.” Contra APA Br. at 11. Parliament
codified the common law prohibition in the Criminal
Lunatics Act of 1800 shortly after our country rati-
fied the Eighth Amendment. See Richard Moran, The
Origin of Insanity as a Special Verdict: The Trial for
Treason of James Hadfield, 19 Law & Society Rev.
487, 513-15 (1985). By the middle of the 20“ century
both English and Scottish courts had firmly conclud-
ed that “amnesia causing the disappearance of all
memory of the events surrounding the alleged crime
cannot of itself constitute insanity for the purposes of
that Act.” R. v. Podola, [1959] 43 Crim. App. 220, 238
(England) (recognizing that term “memory” as used
in Blackstone “does not relate to recollection, but to a
state of mind”). See also Russell v. H.M. Advocate,
1946 S.C.(J.) 37 (Scotland) (same).

Thus, the common law itself supplies no support
for Madison’s position. Nor do the rationales for the
prohibition on the execution of the insane offered by
common law authorities, and Madison makes little
attempt to argue otherwise.

First, Justice Powell observed in Ford that some
authorities contended that it is “against christian
charity to send a great offender quick ... into another
world, when he is not of a capacity to fit himself for
it.” 477 U.S. at 419-20 (Powell, J., concurring) (quot-
ing Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of Mr. Charles

30

Bateman, 11 How. St. Tr. 474, 477 (1685)). Drawing
on this rationale, Madison suggests that his execu-
tion would “implicate society's and the Eighth
Amendment's aversion to grotesque and obscene
punishment.” Pet. Br. at 28. But there is no sense
in which Madison’s alleged memory loss could impli-
cate the “natural abhorrence civilized societies feel at
killing one who has no capacity to come to grips with
his own conscience or deity.” Ford, 477 U.S. at 409.
Madison’s amnesia does not affect his capacity to
know that he murdered Officer Schulte or to under-
stand that murdering a police officer is morally
wrong. This is enough for Madison to reckon with the
gravity of his crime and seek reconciliation based on
whatever religious or moral beliefs he may hold.

Second, Ford indicates that some common law au-
thorities took the justification for the prohibition to
be that a prisoner who has lost his sanity cannot ad-
equately participate in his defense and thus may for-
feit an opportunity to obtain a stay of execution that
he otherwise might have realized. 477 U.S. at 406-
407. But as Justice Powell’s concurrence rightly not-
ed, this “justification{] has slight merit today” be-
cause “[mJodern practice provides far more extensive
review of convictions and sentences than did the
common law, including not only direct appeal but or-
dinarily both state and federal collateral review.” /d.
at 420 (Powell, J., concurring in part and concurring
in the judgment). Factual issues are contested pri-
marily at the trial court level where the defendant's
opportunity to participate and advise defense counsel
is protected by the requirement of trial competency.
And appeals that occur late in the process leading to
execution tend to address legal rather than factual
issues, emphasizing the competency of appellate
counsel rather than that of the condemned.

31

Third, Ford notes that another common law ra-
tionale for the prohibition on the execution of the in-
sane was that “madness is its own punishment: /uri-
osus solo furore punitur.” 477 U.S. at 407-08. But see
Robert F. Schopp, Wake Up and Die Right: The Ra-
tionale, Standard, and Jurisprudential Significance
of the Competency to Face Execution Requirement, 51
La. L. Rev. 995, 1002 (1991) (‘[Mjadness cannot con-
stitute punishment comparable to execution simply
because it is not punishment at all”). Madison
makes no attempt to rely on this rationale, and with
good reason, because it is difficult to see how this ra-
tionale makes any sense as applied to Madison's
condition. Dementia is a common disorder that af.-
flicts roughly 3.9 million Americans, including
roughly 7% of all Americans over 60 years old. See
Martin Prince, Tenata Bryce, et al, The Global Prev-
alence of Dementia: A Systematic Review and Metaa-
nalysis, 9 Alzheimers & Dementia 63, 69 (2013).
Madison’s dementia-based amnesia is not equivalent
to state-imposed punishment for murder.

Fourth, Ford mentions one other traditional justi-
fication for the prohibition: that the execution of a
prisoner who has lost his mind is simply “savage and
inhuman.” 477 U.S. at 406 (quoting Blackstone); see
also 3 Edward Coke, Institutes 6 (6th ed. 1680). This
“intuition that such an execution simply offends hu-
manity” may supply a satisfactory explanation of the
common law rule, but it does nothing to support the
extension of that doctrine to cases of amnesia. Ford,
477 U.S. at 409. As Ford itself suggests, this intui-
tion’s legal significance derives from the fact that it
“is evidently shared across this Nation.” /d. at 409.
Nothing similar can be said about the execution of
prisoners who cannot recall the facts of their crime.
See infra pp. 32-34 (discussing present standards of

32

decency). Moreover, the factual predicate undergird-
ing this intuition is absent in cases like Madison’s.
The traditional common law prohibition “protect|s]
the condemned from fear and pain without comfort of
understanding” and thus avoids the brutal spectacle
of the execution of a person with no comprehension
of his predicament. Ford, 477 U.S. at 410. But Mad-
ison’s condition does not deprive him of the relevant
mode of understanding, and thus presents no such
risk.

B. Madison’s position finds no support in
state legislation or sentencing practice.

The Court’s Eighth Amendment analysis also re-
lies on “objective indicia that reflect the public atti-
tude toward a given sanction.” Gregg, 428 U.S at
173. Indeed, Eighth Amendment cases “should be in-
formed by objective factors to the maximum possible
extent.” Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584, 592 (1977)
(plurality opinion) (emphasis added). See also Ford,
477 U.S. at 406 (pointing to the “objective evidence of
contemporary values” as the touchstone of any
“standards of decency” analysis).

There is not a shred of legislative evidence that
Madison’s execution would flout contemporary
“standards of decency.” In the death penalty context,
the “clearest and most reliable objective evidence of
contemporary values” are the laws passed by the
people’s elected representatives. Atkins, 536 U.S. at
312 (quoting Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302, 331
(1989)). But not one State has proscribed the use of
capital punishment against prisoners with dementia-
induced memory loss. This legislative silence is all
the more striking given the recent, highly-publicized
claims of death-row inmates with medical conditions

33

like Madison’s in Ohio, © Missouri, ’ and Mississippi.*
Were the public widely opposed to execution in such
cases, one would expect a swift legislative response—
a groundswell like the ones that preceded Atkins and
Roper. See Atkins, 536 U.S. at 313-18; Roper, 543
U.S. at 564-67. But no such response has material-
ized.

For their part, the relevant professional associa-
tions have adopted standards that focus on psycho-
sis, not memory. The American Bar Association does
not address “memory” in its standard for competence
to be executed. That standard instead provides that
a “convict is incompetent to be executed if, as a result
of mental illness or mental retardation, the convict
cannot understand the nature of the pending pro-
ceeding, what he or she was tried for, the reason for
the punishment or the nature of the punishment.”
Am. Bar Assoc. Crim. Just. Mental Health Stds., Std.
7-5.6(b).2 Like the ABA, the American Psychiatric
Association and the American Psychological Associa-
tion are concerned about inmates with “profound de-

® Ohio Man Executed for Double Murder He Doesn't Remember,
Daily Mail (May 17, and

remember. html (last visited June 29, 2018).
’ Missouri Executes Cecil Clayton, Killer who had Brain Injury,
LA vam Bsn 17, ton

cuumtionansicimaennnaaaaatatemn hems Gast visled Suns
29, 2018).

5 Is Mississippi Death Row Inmate Robert Simon Faking Amne-
sia?, —— (The Associated — (June 10,

zhane (last visited — 29, 2018)

® http://www.americanbar.org/publications/criminal_ justice _
section_archive/crimjust_standards mentalhealth blk. htm!
(last visited July 26, 2018).

34

ficiencies in understanding” that are “associated with
mental retardation and with delusional beliefs.”
Recommendation and Report on the Death Penalty
and Persons with Mental Disabilities, 30 Mental &
Physical Disability L. Rep. 668, 676 (2006). These or-
ganizations believe an inmate is competent to be exe-
cuted if he has “a meaningful understanding that the
state is taking his life in order to hold him accounta-
ble for taking the life of one or more people.” /d.

We recognize that twelve years ago these organi-
zations adopted a policy resolution that any signifi-
cant mental disorder should bar the imposition of the
death penalty. See id.; Pet. Br. at 27 n.17. That ex-
treme position explains the amicus brief two of these
organizations filed here. See APA Br. at 2. But no
state legislature has adopted this position. Nor has it
persuaded any lower court.'° Because there is no ba-
sis in the evolving standards of decency to hold that
any mental illness precludes execution, neither Mad-
ison nor his amici expressly argue for such a rule.

C. The State has valid penological interests
in punishing a murderer who cannot re-
member committing a crime.

Finally, a prisoner’s ability to recall his crime is
irrelevant to whether his execution would advance
the penological interests the Court has singled out as

"© See In re Neville, 440 F.3d 220, 221 (5th Cir. 2006); ; Baird v.
Davis, 388 F.3d 1110, 1114-15 (7th Cir. 2004); State v. Irick,
320 S.W.3d 284 (Tenn. 2010); Mays v. State, 318 S.W.3d 368,
379-80 (Tex. Crim. App. 2010); Johnston v. State, 27 So.3d 11,
26-27 (Fla. 2010); Hall v. Brannan, 670 S.E.2d 87, 96-97 (Ga.
2008); State v. Ketterer, 855 N.E.2d 48, 77 (Ohio 2006); State v.
Johnson, 207 S.W.3d 24, 50-51 (Mo. 2006); Matheney v. State,
833 N.E.2d 454, 458 (Ind. 2005); Malone v. State, 293 P.3d 198,
216 (Okla. Crim. App. 2013).

35

“the two distinct social purposes served by the death
penalty: retribution and deterrence of capital
crimes.” Kennedy v. Louisiana, 554 U.S. 407, 441
(2008). The retributive value of punishment depends
on an offender's culpability at the time of the offense,
not at the time when his sentence wil! be executed.
There is likewise no reason to believe that Madison's
execution will not have the same deterrent effect as
any other execution.

1. Retribution. From a retributive perspective,
amnesia developed after the commission of a capital
offense has no bearing on whether the offender de-
serves to be executed for his crime. Retributive jus-
tice requires the punishment of offenders because
they have engaged in culpable wrongdoing and thus
deserve to be punished. See Atkins, 536 U.S. at 319;
Tison v. Arizona, 481 U.S. 137, 149 (1987); Michael
S. Moore, Justifying Retributivism, 27 Isr. L. Rev. 15,
30 (1993). The object of retributive justice is the can-
cellation of a wrong committed against an individual
and the State through the elimination “of the moral
imbalance caused by the offense.” Graham v. Flori-
da, 560 U.S. 48, 71 (2010). This imbalance arises
when an offender engages in culpable wrongdoing
and cannot be corrected until he receives the pun-
ishment he deserves.

Put otherwise, retributive justice is backward-
looking and concerned only with the offender's cul-
pability at the time when he committed the offense
in question. See Stephen P. Garvey, “As the Gentle
Rain from Heaven”: Mercy in Capital Sentencing, 81
Cornell L. Rev. 989, 1029 (1996). “From a retributive
perspective, the punishment a defendant deserves is
.. . fully congealed at the time of the crime. The fu-
ture is neither here nor there. Only the past mat-

36

ters.” Id. at 1029-1030. Only the offender's state of
mind at the time when he committed the offense in
question is relevant to retribution.

To be sure, Panetti suggests that retribution has
a communicative function that is compromised when
a prisoner's “mental illness obstructs a rational un-
derstanding of the State’s reason for his execution,”
even if he were fully culpable for his offense. 551
U.S. at 956. As this Court put the point, “it might be
said that capital punishment is imposed because it
has the potential to make the offender recognize at
last the gravity of his crime and to allow the commu-
nity as a whole, including the surviving family and
friends of the victim, to affirm its own judgment that
the culpability of the prisoner is so serious that the
ultimate penalty must be sought and imposed.” /d.
at 958. When “the prisoner's mental state is so dis-
torted by a mental illness that his awareness of the
crime and punishment has little or no relation to the
understanding of those concepts shared by the com-
munity as a whole,” however, “[t]he potential for a
prisoner's recornition of the severity of the offense
and the objective of community vindication are called
in question.” /d. at 958-59.

But these concerns are not implicated here. A
prisoner's failure to independently recall committing
a crime does not prevent him from possessing an un-
derstanding of his crime and sentence that corre-
sponds to the conception of the community as a
whole. The facts of this case provide an apt illustra-
tion. Apart from the three eye witnesses who saw
Madison murder Officer Schulte, no member of the
community’s grasp of the gravity of Madison’s crime
and the justification for his sentence will derive from
introspectively-accessible memories of the murder.

37

Instead, their understanding will be based on the ev-
idence adduced at Madison’s murder trials—the
same evidence that led three juries to convict him of
capital murder. That Madison allegedly cannot recall
murdering Officer Schulte in no way undercuts his
capacity to form the same understanding of his crime
and sentence based on the same evidence.

For analogous reasons, the fact that Madison's
vascular dementia allegedly prevents him from re-
memberine that he murdered Officer Schulte does
nothing to obstruct his potential “recognition of the
severity of the offense.” Jd. at 958. Nothing in the
record so much as suggests that Madison has lost the
capacity to recognize that murdering a police officer
is a grave legal and moral offense. See Roberts, 431
U.S. at 649 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (“the premedi-
tated murder of a peace officer is so heinous and in-
tolerable a crime that no combination of mitigating
factors can overcome”). And any reasonably mature
human being can feel guilt and remorse for a wrong
they have committed against another person even if
they cannot personally recall committing the act in
question. Thus, to the extent the political communi-
ty’s decision to impose a capital sentence communi-
cates “its own judgment that the culpability of the
prisoner is so serious that the ultimate penalty must
be sought and imposed,” Madison can receive and
understand this message. Panetti, 551 U.S. at 958.

Finally, Madison’s argument finds no purchase in
precedents that “ban|] the execution of prisoners
whose diminished culpability, by virtue of age or in-
tellectual disability, rendered the death penalty ex-
cessive and cruel.” Pet. Br. at 18. Unlike the young
or the intellectually disabled, Madison does not have
“lesser culpability” for his crimes. Atkins, 536 U.S. at

38

319.'! Madison was a violent felon on parole when he
murdered Officer Schulte and tried to murder his es-
tranged girlfriend. He is fully culpable for his ac-
tions.

2. Deterrence. Deterrence also justifies the
execution of a capital sentence even where the
prisoner has purportedly forgotten committing his
crime. “The theory of deterrence in _ capital
sentencing is predicated upon the notion that the
increased severity of the punishment will inhibit
criminal actors from carrying out murderous
conduct.” Atkins, 536 U.S. at 320. The general
deterrent effect of capital punishment is diminished
for offenders who suffer from “the same cognitive and
behavioral impairments that make . . . defendants
less morally culpable.” Jd. Impairments of this kind
“also make it less likely that they can process the
information of the possibility of execution as a
penalty, and as a result, control their conduct based
upon that information.” /d.

But this logic applies only to cognitive
impairments that have taken hold before an offender
has committed a capital crime. Just as _ the
subsequent development of a memory impairment
has no impact on an offender's moral culpability at
the time when he committed his offense, it can have
no effect on an offender's ability to incorporate the
expected cost of a capital sentence into the “cold

'! Madison argues that “age of onset is the only difference be-
tween an individual who is intellectually disabled .. . and an
individual who suffers from dementia.” Pet. Br. 28 at 17.
Though Mr. Madison's cognitive faculties have slipped in the
wake of his recent strokes, he has an IQ of 72—above the cogni-
tive threshold required to stand trial, to be held criminally re-
sponsible for one’s actions, or to be eligible for execution under
Atkins. See Pet. Br. at 26.

39

calculus that precedes the decision” to commit a
capital crime. Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 186
(1976). Unlike the intellectually disabled or
juveniles, offenders like Madison do not form a class
of persons who are “less likely to consider potential
punishment” when deciding whether to commit a
capital offense. Miller v. Alabama, 567 U.S. 460, 472
(2012).

If anything, extending the doctrine of Ford and
Panetti to Madison’s amnesia claim would diminish
the general deterrent value of capital punishment by
interposing between conviction and execution a
requirement that a _ prisoner’ independently
remember committing their crime. This would make
it less likely that any given offender will be executed
for his crime, since there is a nontrivial chance that
anyone can develop a memory-impairing health
condition. Madison’s proposed rule would also
effectively condition the execution of a death
sentence on the offender's assent to the proposition
that he remembers committing his crime. This
development would undermine the threat of
punishment upon which general deterrence depends.

Madison’s attempts to demonstrate that his
condition would compromise the deterrent value of
his sentence come up short.

First, he argues that because the Ford plurality
suggested that the execution of an incompetent
person “provides no example to others and thus
contributes nothing to whatever deterrence value is
intended by capital punishment,” 477 U.S. at 407,
his execution would not serve the ends of deterrence.
Pet. Br. at 28. But this argument begs the question
by assuming—with no further argument—that
Madison’s condition renders him incompetent to be
executed. As argued above, supra pp. 18-27,

40

Madison’s amnesia in no way prevents him from
forming the requisite “rational understanding of the
reasons for the execution.” Panetti, 551 U.S. at 958.
Thus, Ford supplies no cause for skepticism about
whether Madison’s execution would provide an
example to others. And common sense suggests that
it will. His execution will send a message that
murdering a police officer is a crime grave enough to
warrant “the law’s most severe penalty.” Roper, 543
U.S. at 571. See also Roberts, 431 U.S. at 636 & n.3.

Second, Madison asserts—with no apparent
justification—that “with incapacity by virtue of
dementia, specific deterrence is already achieved.”
Pet. Br. at 28. But this assertion is contradicted by a
wealth of evidence suggesting that, in all but the
most severe cases, persons who suffer from dementia
can respond rationally to incentives.'* While it is
true that a mentally ill prisoner who has no
awareness that he will be executed if he commits a
capital offense is not specifically deterrable, this logic
plainly does not extend to those who, like Madison,
do not suffer from that impairment.

" See, e.g., Soumya Hegde & Ratnavalli Ellajosyula, Capacity
Issues and Decision-Making in Dementia, 19 Ann. Indian Acad.
Neurol 34 (2016) (summarizing research on reasoning and ca-
pacity in dementia patients); J. Karlawish, Measuring Decision-
Making Capacity in Cognitively Impaired Individuals, 16 Neu-
rosignals 91 (2008) (decisional impairment is on a spectrum in
dementia patients); Scott Y.H. Kim, Jason H.T. Karlawish, &
Eric D. Caine, Current State of Research on Decision-Making
Competence of Cognitively Impaired Elderly Persons, 10 Am. J.
Geriatric Psychiatry 151 (2002) (noting that many dementia
patients do not suffer from decisional impairment).

41

Ill. Madison’s proposed extension of Ford and
Panetti will lead to false claims,
manipulation, and abuse.

Madison’s proposal to extend Ford and Panetti
will heighten the already existing problem of false
claims, manipulation, and abuse in this area. Justice
O’Connor warned in Ford that “the potential for false
claims and deliberate delayin this context
is obviously enormous.” 477 U.S. at 429 (O’Connor,
J., concurring in part and dissenting in part). Be-
cause every death row inmate has an incentive to de-
lay his execution, she predicted that an inmate will
continue to “claim that he has become insane” no
matter “the number of prior adjudications of the is-
sue, until the very moment of execution.” /d. Madi-
son’s position, if accepted, would only make these
problems worse.

First, Madison’s position would give talismanic
importance to an inmate’s mental disorder diagnosis,
even though precise mental health diagnoses are
shifting, debatable, and subjective. “[P|sychiatrists
disagree widely and frequently on what constitutes
mental illness [and] on the appropriate diagnosis to
be attached to given behavior and symptoms.” Ake v.
Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68, 81 (1985). For that reason,
“a particularly acute need for guarding against error
inheres in a determination that ‘in the present state
of the mental sciences is at best a hazardous guess
however conscientious.” Ford, 477 U.S. at 412 (quot-
ing Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9, 23 (1950)
(Frankfurter, J., dissenting)). As Justice Powell ex-
plained,

Unlike issues of historical fact, the question of
petitioner's sanity calls for a basically subjec-
tive judgment. And unlike a determination of

42

whether the death penalty is appropriate in
a particular case, the competency determina-
tion depends substantially on expert analysis
in a discipline fraught with ‘subtleties and nu-
ances.’

Ford, 477 U.S. at 425 at 426 (Powell, J., concurring
in the judgment) (quoting Addington v. Texas, 441
U.S. 418, 430 (1979)) (citations omitted).

The diagnosis of cognitive disorders, in particular,
is not nearly as straightforward as Madison claims.
The DSM-5 classifies vascular dementia as a “major
neurocognitive disorder” characterized by progres-
sive memory loss, general cognitive decline, and di-
minished executive functioning. DSM-5 at 621. While
earlier editions of the DSM relied exclusively on clin-
ical observation to establish these four factors, the
DSM-5 incorporates neurological imaging—primarily
MRIs and CT scans—as a way to confirm a patient's
cognitive decline. Specifically, it directs physicians to
find abnormalities in these brain scans, and to corre-
late them to clinically-observable cognitive deficien-
cies. See id. at 622 (“Etiological certainty requires
the demonstration of abnormalities on neuroimag-
ing.”). But, despite these changes in the DSM-5, de-
mentia remains a necessarily vague diagnosis. The
DSM-5 recognizes that the “distinction between ma-
jor and mild” neurocognitive disorders “is inherently
arbitrary” without any “[pjrecise thresholds.” /d. at
608. Stripped to its essentials, dementia refers to ab-
normal cognitive decline, corroborated by brain im-
aging, for which no superior explanation is available.
“Vascular dementia is s syndrome, not a disease.”
Kenneth Rockwood et al., Diagnosis of Vascular De-
mentia, 21 Can. J. Neurol. Sci. 358, 361 (1994). .See

43

also APA Br. at 8. The use of brain imaging does not
render a dementia diagnosis any less subjective.

Second, under Madison’s rule, many more
prisoners will be able to claim that their mental
disorders prohibit their execution. Because few
people who commit capital murder are “normal” or
“rational” in the conventional sense, the Court has
rightly imposed a high bar for an inmate to “show[]
that his current mental state would bar his
execution.” Panetti, 551 U.S. at 934, 959. Lowering
that bar as Madison suggests would leave a blurry
line between the small class of capital murderers
who are “insane” and the very many who are
“unrepentant” and “lack all sense of guilt.” Jd. at 960.

There are also many neurological conditions that
could deprive a capital murderer of an independent
memory of committing his crime. The range of
prisoners eligible to assert such claims would not be
confined to those suffering from stroke-induced
dementia like Madison. Recognized medical
conditions that can result in the loss of
autobiographical memory include traumatic brain
injuries," Alzheimer’s’ disease,‘ Parkinson's

'S Pascale Piolino, Béatrice Desgranges, Liliane Manning,
Pierre North, Corinne Jokic, & Francis Eustache, Autobio-
graphical Memory, the Sense of Recollection and Executive
Functions After Severe Traumatic Brain Injury, 43 Medical |m-
age Analysis 172 (2007) (traumatic brain injury patients, com-
pared with healthy controls, were significantly impaired in re-
cal. ng epwsodic autobiographical memories).

'4 Mohamad FE] Haj et al., Autobiographical Memory Decline in
Alzheimer’s Disease, 27 Ageing Res. Rev. 15 (2016) (autobio-
graphical recall in Alzheimer's disease is characterized by loss
of episodic information).

44

disease," and Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome."
Apart from these disorders, the generic effects of
aging, stress, and depression can aiso induce episodic
memory loss.'’ There is even evidence suggesting
that otherwise heaithy, high-functioning individuals
can suffer from severe autobiographical memory
deficiencies even when they do not suffer from any
medical disorder recognized under _ existing
diagnostic criteria.'*

These concerns are not speculative or marginal.
Over the past few decades, as this Court has
expanded the range of state and federal appeals

'® Sarah J. Smith, Celine Souchay, Martin A. Conway, Overgen-
eral Autobiographical Memory in Parkinson's Disease, 46 Cor-
tex 787 (2010).

'® Michael D. Kopelman, What Does A Comparison of The Alco-
holic Korsakoff Syndrome And Thalamic Infarction Tell Us
About Thalamic Amnesia’, 54 Neuroscience & Behavioral Rev.
46 (2015).

'? See, e.g., Brian Levine, Eva Svoboda, Jannine F. Hay, Gordon
Winocur, & Morris Moscovitch, Aging and Autobiographical
Memory: Dissociating Episodic from Semantic Retrieval, 17
Psychology and Aging 677 (2002) (older adults manifested di-
minished personal remote memory); Mark A. Smith, Hippo-
campal Vulnerability to Stress and Aging: Possible Role of Neu-
rotrophic Factors, 78 Behavioral Brain Research 25 (1996) (anx-
1ety and stress can result in hippocampal damage and loss of
memory); B.M. Elzinga & J.D. Bremner, Are the Neural Sub-
strates of Memory the Final Common Pathway in Posttraumatic
Stress Disorder?, 70 J. Affective Disorders 1 (2002) (by influenc-
ing the hippocampus, amygdala, and prefrontal cortex, post-
traumatic stress disorder can result in autobiographical
memory disturbances); Cristiano A. Kohler et al., Autobiograph-
ical Memory Disturbances in Depression, 2015 Neural Plast.
759139 (2015) (major depressive disorder is characterized by
dysfunctional! processing of autobiographical memory).

'® Damela J. Palombo, Claude Alain, Hedvig Séderlund, Wayne
Khuu, & Brian Levine, Severely Deficient Autobiographical
Memory (SDAM) in Healthy Adults: A New Mnemonic Syn-
drome, 72 Neuropsychologia 105 (2015).

45

afforded to prisoners facing capital punishment, the
average age of death row inmates has been steadily
rising. At the same time, dementia is expected to
become increasingly common in advanced societies:
by 2030, demographers predict, 11.25% of North
Americans over 60 will have dementia. This figure is
expected to reach 17.32% by 2050. See Martin Prince,
Tenata Bryce, et al, The Global Prevalence of
Dementia: A Systematic Review and Metaanalysis, 9
Alzheimer’s & Dementia 63, 70 tbl.4 (2013). Given
these two trends, we can expect to see a sharp
increase in the number of death row inmates
invoking real or feigned age-related health problems
to evade execution.

Third, a rule prohibiting the execution of those
who cannot remember committing their crime would
create new opportunities for malingering and
evasion. “False pleas of amnesia by criminal
defendants are both common and difficult to detect.”
Price v. Thurmer, 637 F.3d 831, 834 (7th Cir. 2011)
(citing Marko Jelicic, Harald Merckelbach & Saskia
van Bergen, Symptom Validity Testing of Feigned
Amnesia for a Mock Crime, 19 Archives of Clinical
Neuropsychology 525 (2004)). Although there are
tests for detecting false claims of amnesia, “there is
still ... no “gold standard” measure for distinguishing
between cases of genuine and feigned amnesia.” /d.
(quoting Xue Sun et al., Does Feigning Amnesia
Impair Subsequent Recall?, 37 Memory & Cognition
81 (2009)).

Although Madison points to the possibility of neu-
roimaging to verify false claims of amnesia, neu-
roimaging cannot establish the precise extent of a
patient’s cognitive decline or memory loss. Techno-
logical advances in brain imaging have made detec-
tion of the physiological correlates of dementia-

46

induced memory loss easier to recognize by objective
means. But verifying that a prisoner’s condition has
resulted in the loss of the specific memories associat-
ed with the commission of a capital offense will ulti-
mately turn on the prisoner’s say-so. The existing
scientific consensus is that functional magnetic reso-
nance imaging “research, processes, and technology
are insufficiently developed and understood for gate-
keepers to even consider introducing these neuroim-
aging measures into criminal courts as they stand
today for the purpose of determining the veracity of
statements made.” Elena Rusconi & Timothy Mitch-
ener-Nissen, Prospects of Functional Magnetic Reso-
nance Imaging as Lie Detector, 7 Frontiers in Human
Neuroscience, Art. 594 at 1 (2013). Ultimately, the
only person who can know with any certainty wheth-
er a person remembers a particular event is the per-
son himself.

47

CONCLUSION

The Court should hold the line it established in
Ford, Panetti, and its 2017 decision in this case.
Sanity and recollection are two distinct concepts.
Although the Constitution bars the execution of an
inmate who has lost his sanity, it does not bar the
execution of an inmate who has lost his memory. The
Court should affirm.

Respectfully submitted,

Steve Marshall
Alabama Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

Clay Crenshaw

Chief Deputy Att'y Gen'l
Eric Palmer

Deputy Solicitor Gen'l
James R. Houts

Deputy Att'y Gen

OFFICE OF THE ALABAMA
ATTORNEY GENERAL

501 Washington Avenue
Montgomery, AL 36130
(334) 242-7300
smarshall@ago.state.al.us

July 31, 2018 Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0841%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
