# Amicus Curiae Brief — Return Mail, Inc. v. U.S. Postal Serv., 139 S. Ct. 1237 (2019) (No. 17-1594)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0827%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2019

## Text

No. 17-1594

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

RETURN MAIL, INC.,
Petitioner,
v.
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE and
UNITED STATES,
Respondents.

On Writ Of Certiorari To
The United States Court of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN INTELLECTUAL
PROPERTY LAW ASSOCIATION AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT
OF NEITHER PARTY

SHELDON H. KLEIN BLAIR A. SILVER
President Counsel of Record

AMERICAN INTELLECTUAL BANNER & WITCOFF, LTD.
PROPERTY LAW ASSOCIATION 1100 13th Street, N.W.

1400 Crystal Drive Suite 1200

Suite 600 Washington, DC 20005-4051
Arlington, VA 22202 (202) 824-3000

(703) 415-0780 bsilver@bannerwitcoff.com

DECEMBER 17, 2018
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
po EEE ES Re as ii
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE .....0.0.........0000000000 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................................... 2
I 6
|. A FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AGENCY IS Not A

“PERSON” UNDER THE AIA......................0...... 6

A. The Legislative Backdrop To “Person”

Excludes Federal Government

i ccattncuitiindiiainintaiiicthiinesntamnininicinn 7

B. Congress Did Not Affirmatively Expand
The Statutory Meaning Of “Person” In
Se a eiaciinicaiccdnicettisianiidibineniacia 14

Il. ALLOWING FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AGENCIES
To INITIATE AIA REVIEWS VIOLATES THE
POLICY UNDERLYING THE AIA .................... 16

SO Scccvcnevemsenevensmseniansineninaeneensenmesennsnnien 22

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Cases
Bowen v. Massachusetts,

a eetumememenbeinate 7
Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams,

I ac csmenleetnannetie 14
Davis v. United States,

CE Ee 16
Electric Storage Battery Co. v. Shimadzu,

4g ERENT 5 eR AS SERN veo a a 7
Federal Express Corp. v. USPS,

151 F.3d 536 (6th Cir. 1998)..................... 13, 20, 21
GlobalMail Lid. v. USPS,

142 F.3d 208 (4th Cir. 1998)........................... 13, 21
Intl Primate Prot. League v. Adm'rs of

Tulane Educ. Fund,

SE SL ene vere 10
Loeffler v. Frank,

Ee 12
Monell v. Dep't of Social Services,

Sn EE nicccnsotacinnencieezcensdnecenisunsinienseesonsees 8

i

Motorola, Inc. vy. United States,

729 F.3d 765 (Fed. Cir. 1984) ...................c.cccceeeeee 22
Oil States Energy Serus., LLC v. Greene’s

Energy Grp., LLC,

oo nienanennanias 6
OPM v. Richmond,

Ea ee 19
Pennsylvania Dept. of Public Welfare v.

Davenport,

i eenamnnenininenions 14
SAS Inst. Inc. v. lancu,

I I a ceeriarinenianialie 6
Stewart v. Dutra Constr. Co.,

I a eneaniene i)
United States vy. Cooper Corp.,

eis 10, 11, 12
United States v. Fox,

ES AS Cn ene Oe x

United States v. United Mine Workers of
Am

330 U.S. SEE 2, 3, 9, 10, 11, 16
USPS v. Flamingo Indus. (USA) Ltd..,
540 U.S. 736 (2004)........ areas

Vermont Agency of Natural Res. v. United
States ex rel. Stevens,
529 U.S. 766 (2000)...................... 2, 3, 10, 11, 13, 16

~

iv

Wilson v. Omaha Indian Tribe,

ee ee a iricniiciensctiasnirveninasensrsentecitiiomnett 3, 10
Statutes
ED Bectintsccnsaiesianinannsetenncisenieiacensnenedsies 2, 3, 9, 16
SES SEIT ctncisnernsancanctcnnieseusonsnecmneasemnannpnantedioenens 13
Be eo i iiicntecsersnsecsssnsnswrssncmeinenssssnecencennensvenscantin 10
Bee SS SID ccnrtpicesnntnininptnshascinneiapinnnien 5, 17, 21
Ey HD cinicsscicnioriantatinhoeesusipiaanninnnbiaes 4,14,15
NEE Se cccsccrnssmaniennsessicntecteencuniennpinanmasiatecoieal 14
re Be rnincnnsticnesienistorssniccentaninatinndamanans 4,15
ee en rvectsachnvsictmeciinindtilintecniniainnndiinitintneminnininciat 13
Be es ED ecennsenescnseesbescevecenennnonssessvanseneabessiening 13
Be Ee IED ccastcnsnccnennniintveninapenintameteamenganets 4,14
RRR E See ennneer Peto enee nn ene veer UW ET RE ET 21
le Stl tccccredncensctneeneensetssawesaccesonsionnesniniainennians 21
fe scinsonenssncennnenpnnticnaetonmennimmninneaneanineee 22
SI iT sincicsdenincnsanusécinsensscnicanbicsovendasiesiiieeientotensdaid 22
Se es GI cescnsccseniovsmesneneinsimnncentonensniceashanmenasannnane 20

> TEE, TD ccnesvttoresemnenincsinsannsseddesesanssenamnmauinatin 20
Be Cs NE sentennerancciscnntndnecninentsinminsninapeail 3, 6,14
es SIND senetaciniciniiittinsediserkeveitiionimnathdsnieiitiedsisinens 19
Be ee, MTD iicnsactecinsibicnsinhietnndanienpiidenpadiniaiiion 5, 17
I SIRE TTY siciciicinciniciiapiitisniiiadcedneinigediansiisaniian 4,15
Be is CD tctcsesiennnesabninsincacsiniitnnicuinnseoesenine 3, 6, 15
EF Cees SEED cn ccnconneinmecacenediesestannimanenanacnngnennsias 19
a ly I nssthiiiihnisctsiinsnienbabednbainanninaasialinbaniaite 5, 17
ee GE. MEI nisceeccsicinschiianntenonvedstinseciotianeaninnnes 4,15
a SD secintninesicocnicasssnisasitapenesatcenoeaieins 12, 13

Act of April 10, 1790,
re ee i 7

Act of Feb. 25, 1871,
i ee Ss i cncitssinnicecctisitpincpnasntiinerenietiaanins 8

Act of July 30, 1947,
i a 9

Act of June 25, 1948,
OM Ee i)

Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA),
Pub. L. No. 112-29, 125 Stat. 284 (2011)...... passim

vi
Other Authorities

2 J. Kent, Commentaries on American Law

(12th O. W. Holmes ed. 1873)..........................

America Invents Act: Hearing on H.R. 1249
Before the House Comm. On the
Judiciary, 112th Cong. 52-53 (2011)

(statement of Director David Kappos) ............

H.R. Rep. No. 112-96 (2OT)) ................cce0-eseseeees

John Ruggles, Report of the Select
Committee Appointed to Take Into
Consideration the State and Condition of
the Patent Office, S. Doc. No. 24-338

Manual of Patent Examining Procedure

(9th ed. Oct. 2015) § 22038 ..........ccccccceeeeeereeeseees

P.J. Federico, Commentary on the New
Patent Act, 75 J. Pat. & Trademark Off.

By Se i incedecntcicsincsticansiinnininniesimnentetnsoees

Patent Reform Act of 2011, 157 Cong. Rec.

$936-02, S952 (daily ed. Feb. 28, 2011)..........

Patent Reform: The Future of American
Innovation: Hearing before the Senate
Comm. On the Judiciary, 110th Cong. 13

(2007) (statement of Director Jon Dudas).......

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The American Intellectual Property Law Associa-
tion (“AIPLA”) is a national bar association of approx-
imately 13,500 members who are primarily lawyers
engaged in private and corporate practice, in govern-
ment service, and in the academic community.’
AIPLA’s members represent a wide and diverse spec-
trum of individuals, companies, and institutions in-
volved directly and indirectly in the practice of pa-
tent, trademark, copyright, trade secret, and unfair
competition law as well as other fields of law affecting
intellectual property. Our members represent both
owners and users of intellectual property. Our mis-
sion includes helping establish and maintain fair and
effective laws and policies that stimulate and reward
invention while balancing the public’s interest in
healthy competition, reasonable costs, and basic fair-
ness.

AIPLA has no stake in any of the parties to this
litigation or in the result of this case.

' In accordance with Supreme Court Rule 37.6, AIPLA states
that this brief was not authored, in whole or in part, by counsel
to a party, and that no monetary contribution to the preparation
or submission of this brief was made by any person or entity
other than AIPLA and its counsel. Specifically, after reasonable
investigation, AIPLA believes that (i) no member of its Board or
Amicus Committee who voted to file this brief, or any attorney
in the law firm or corporation of such a member, represents a
party to the litigation in this matter; (ii) no representative of any
party to this litigation participated in the authorship of this
brief; and (iii) no one other than AIPLA, or its members who au-
thored this brief and their law firms or employers, made a mon-
etary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

AIPLA has no stake in the parties to this litigation
or in the result of this case, other than its interest in
the correct and consistent interpretation of the laws
affecting intellectual property.?

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court has recognized the “longstanding inter-
pretive presumption” that “person’ does not include
the sovereign” when interpreting statutes. Vermont
Agency of Natural Res. v. United States ex rel. Stevens,
529 U.S. 765, 780 (2000); United States v. United
Mine Workers of Am., 330 U.S. 258, 275 (1947). Con-
gress’s interpretation of “person” is codified in the
U.S. Code, defining the word “person” in “any Act of
Congress” to include “corporations, companies, asso-
ciations, firms, partnerships, societies, and joint stock
companies, as well as individuals,” “unless the con-
text indicates otherwise.” 1 U.S.C. 1. This definition
does not include federal government agencies.

In 2011, Congress enacted the Leahy-Smith Amer-
ica Invents Act (AIA), Pub. L. No. 112-29, 125 Stat.
284 (2011), overhauling the proceedings for reviewing
issued patents at the Patent and Trademark Office.
The AIA created three separate AIA review proceed-
ings to be heard by the Patent Trial & Appeal Board
(Board): inter partes review, post-grant review, and
covered business method review. By Act of Congress,
only a “person” may petition for these proceedings. 35

2 AIPLA has the consent of the parties to file this amicus brief,
pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a). Petitioner consented
by counsel in a December 4, 2018 emai! sent to AIPLA. Respond-
ent consented by counsel in a December 7, 2018 letter, which was
received by email on December 10, 2018.

3

U.S.C. 311(a) (inter partes review), 35 U.S.C. 321(a)

(post-grant review); AIA, § 18(a)(1)(B), 125 Stat. 284,
330 (covered business method review).

Contrary to the long-recognized, default meaning
of the term “person,” the government and the Federal
Circuit majority both posit that a “person” who may
petition for AIA review proceedings includes federal
government agencies. This is incorrect. In case after
case, this Court has repeatedly held that “person,” ab-
sent an “affirmative showing of statutory intent to the
contrary,” excludes the government and its agencies.
Vermont Agency, 529 U.S. at 781; United Mine Work-
ers, 330 U.S. at 275; see Wilson v. Omaha Indian
Tribe, 442 U.S. 653, 667 (1979). This Court has even
held that the Postal Service, the respondent in this
case, is not a “person” under the Sherman Act. USPS
v. Flamingo Indus. (USA) Ltd., 540 U.S. 736, 746
(2004).

Congress did not enact the AIA in a legislative vac-
uum. For over two-hundred years, dating back to the
first Patent Act of 1790, “persons” has referred to in-
dividuals (citizens and aliens) and, by virtue of the
Dictionary Act, 1 U.S.C. 1, “corporations, companies,
associations, firms, partnerships, societies, and joint
stock companies, as well as individuals.” P.J.
Frederico, one of the drafters of the modern patent
statutes and former Examiner-in-Chief of the Patent
Office, explicitly quoted the Dictionary Act’s defini-
tion of “person” to aid in interpreting certain sections
of modern patent act. The use of “person” in the pa-
tent statutes has remained largely unchanged since
1952.

4

In tacit recognition of the limited scope of the
meaning of “person,” Congress knew that it had to ex-
plicitly name federal government agencies to allow
them to participate in the patent system. Indeed,
there is an entire chapter dealing with patent rights
for federal government agencies (35 U.S.C. 207(a) (au-
thorizing “[eJach Federal agency” to “apply for, obtain,
and maintain patents”) that would be entirely super-
fluous if federal government agencies were already
“persons” entitled to a patent under the other provi-
sions of the patent statutes, such as under 35 U.S.C.
102(a) (“A person shall be entitled to a patent un-
less”).

There is nothing in the AIA to indicate that Con-
gress meant to deviate from the standard meaning of
“person.” Other sections of the AIA reinforce that pre-
sumption, rather than detract from it, and explicitly
differentiate between “Federal Government agencies”
and “any person,” suggesting that the two are differ-
ent. 35 U.S.C. 317(b), 35 U.S.C. 327(b); see 35 U.S.C.
135(e). Because there is no such affirmative evidence
of statutory intent to redefine “person” in the AIA, the
default definition of “person” must continue to apply,
and, therefore, federal government agencies cannot
initiate AIA reviews.

The fact that Congress did not expand the defini-
tion of “person” in enacting the AIA review proceed-
ings to include federal government agencies is not
only consistent with the statute and legislative back-
drop, but also advances one of the AIA’s purposes.
Congress intended that these AIA review proceedings
would function as an alternative to costly litigation
between private parties in either the district court or
the International Trade Commission by streamlining

5

patent validity disputes. The cornerstone of this
streamlining is the petitioner estoppel that applies
when the Board issues its final written decision in
these proceedings.

Under the AIA, statutory estoppel bars all “peti-
tioner|s]” from asserting challenges that petitioners
“raised or reasonably could have raised” in any ac-
tions at the district court or the International Trade
Commission. 35 U.S.C. 315(e)(2); 35 U.S.C. 325(e)(2);
see AIA, § 18(a)(1)(D), 125 Stat. 284, 330 (covered
business method review) (similar but omitting “rea-
sonably could have raised”). But the exclusive rem-
edy for unauthorized use or manufacture of a pa-
tented invention by the government is in the United
States Court of Federal Claims for the recovery of
“reasonable and entire compensation.”
28 U.S.C. 1498(a). This forum is conspicuously ab-
sent from the estoppel provisions. And, as a result,
the AIA estoppel provisions will never bar a federal
government agency from relitigating invalidity. This
was no accident. Congress did not intend AIA review
proceedings to be available to federal government
agencies in the first place. Instead, these provisions
underscore that Congress intended to keep the exist-
ing process before the Court of Federal Claims in
place as the only mechanism for federal government
agencies to challenge the validity of a patent.

It would be manifestly unfair to private litigants to
allow the government the benefits of AIA review pro-
ceedings but not the corresponding estoppel. The gov-
ernment already enjoys considerable advantages over
private litigants in the patent arena flowing from its
sovereignty and exclusive forum under Section
1498(a), including immunity from injunctions, trebled

6

damages, attorney's fees, and damages limitations
based on a failure to mark. Allowing the government
a further advantage of petitioning for AIA reviews
without any estoppel risk, and absent any evidence of
Congressional intent to do so, tips the scale too far in
the government’s favor. This Court should reverse
the Federal Circuit’s decision.

ARGUMENT

I. A FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AGENCY Is Not A
“PERSON” UNDER THE AIA.

A federal government agency is not a “person” who
may petition for AIA review proceedings. As enacted,
only a “person” may petition for inter partes review,
35 U.S.C. 311(a), and only a “person” may petition for
post-grant review, 35 U.S.C. 321(a). Similarly, Sec-
tion 18(a)(1)(B) of the AIA provides that covered busi-
ness method review petitions are only available to “a
person” who “has been sued for infringement of the
patent or has been charged with infringement under
that patent.” AIA, Pub. L. No. 112-29, § 18(a)(1)(B),
125 Stat. 284, 330 (2011). As this Court acknowl-
edged less than one year ago, the purpose of AIA re-
views is to “allow[] private parties to challenge previ-
ously issued patents claims,” SAS Inst. Inc. v. Iancu,
138 S. Ct. 1348, 1350—51 (2018) (emphasis added); Oil
States Energy Servs., LLC v. Greene’s Energy Grp.,
LLC, 138 S. Ct. 1365, 1378 n.5 (2018) ( “To be sure, a
private party files the petition for review’).

In any Act of Congress—including the AlA—the
word “person” presumptively does not include the gov-

7

ernment, by statute and by this Court’s repeated hold-
ings. And, as explained below, there is nothing in the
AIA, Title 35, or the underlying legislative history
that compels a different conclusion. In short, for the
purposes of AIA reviews, a federal government agency
is simply not a “person.”

A. The Legislative Backdrop To “Person” Ex-
cludes Federal Government Agencies.

Congress is presumed to “understand|] the state of
existing law when it legislates.” Bowen v. Massachu-
setts, 487 U.S. 879 (1988). When Congress enacted
the AIA, the presumption that the term “person” ex-
cluded the government was well-settled.

1. Historically, the use of the phrase “person” in
the patent statutes dates back to the original Patent
Act of 1790. Act of April 10, 1790, ch. 7, § 1, 1 Stat.
109-112. This Court succinctly outlined the statutory
history of those “persons” entitled to patent rights in
Electric Storage Battery Co. v. Shimadzu, 307 U.S. 5
(1939). In that case, the Court noted how the patent
statutes vacillated between authorizing grants of a
patent to “persons” (1790), to citizens (1793), to citi-
zens and aliens with two years of residence (1800),
and back to “persons” (1836). 307 U.S at 11. The “per-
sons” language has remained a part of the patent stat-
utes since 1836.

In this context, the “persons” language of the Pa-
tent Act of 1790 has been long understood as extend-
ing the patent rights both “to aliens” and “to citi-
zens’ —in other words, private individuals:

The first act of Congress on the subject was
passed in 1790... . This act extended the same

8

privilege to aliens as to citizens. In 1793, it
was repealed and another act passed, authoriz-
ing patents to citizens of the United States
only, to be granted by the Secretary of State,
subject to the revision of the Attorney General.
In 1800, the privilege to take out patents was
extended to aliens who have resided two year(s}
in this country, and made oath of their inten-
tion of becoming citizens of the United States.

See John Ruggles, Report of the Select Committee Ap-
pointed to Take Into Consideration the State and Con-
dition of the Patent Office, S. Doc. No. 24-338 (1836)
(describing the shifting language from citizens and al-
iens, to citizens only, and aliens with residence). In-
deed, the motivation to reintroduce “persons” into the
statute in 1836 was to acknowledge reciprocity with
England to allow aliens to secure patent rights with-
out regard to residence. Ibid. With that context, the
removal and reintroduction of “persons” into the pa-
tent statutes over the years has always been in con-
templation of which private individuals were “per-
sons” entitled to patents.

In the Dictionary Act of 1871, Congress explicitly
defined “person” in any of its Acts to extend to “bodies
politic and corporate.” Act of Feb. 25, 1871, ch. 71,
§ 2, 16 Stat. 431. This phrase included municipal cor-
porations, but not the government. Monell v. Dep't of
Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 688 (1978); see United
States v. Fox, 94 U.S. 315 (1876) (“The term ‘person’
as here used applies to natural persons and also to
artificial persons—bodies politic, deriving their exist-
ence and powers from legislation—but cannot be so
extended as to include within its meaning the Federal
government”); 2 J. Kent, Commentaries on American

9

Law *278-*279 (12th O. W. Holmes ed. 1873). The
word “person” was later revised to omit “bodies polli-
tic” and to include “partnerships and corporations.”
Act of July 30, 1947, ch. 388, § 1, 61 Stat. 633. This
was later changed in 1948 (Act of June 25, 1948, ch.
645, § 6, 62 Stat. 859) to its current incarnation: the
statutory definition of “persons” includes “corpora-
tions, companies, associations, firms, partnerships,
societies, and joint stock companies, as well as indi-
viduals,” “unless the context indicates otherwise.” 1
U.S.C. § 1; see also Stewart v. Dutra Constr. Co., 543
U.S. 481, 489-90 (2005) (1 U.S.C. 1 et seg. contains
the default definitions that apply if Congress fails to
define a particular term).

When Congress enacted the modern Patent Act in
1952, the operative definition of “persons” was this
definition in the Dictionary Act, which included indi-
viduals and other private entities. This reliance on
the Dictionary Act was even noted by one of the 1952
Act’s drafters, P.J. Frederico. Specifically, the Dic-
tionary Act’s definitions “may have application in con-
sidering particular sections of this title” and the Dic-
tionary Act’s definition of “person” was explicitly ref-
erenced as an “aid in interpreting certain sections of
this title.” P.J. Federico, Commentary on the New Pa-
tent Act, 75 J. Pat. & Trademark Off. Soc’y 161, 175
(1993) (reprinted from Title 35, United States Code
Annotated (1954 West Publishing Co. ed.)).

2. This Court repeatedly has interpreted this same
definition of “person” under the Dictionary Act as ex-
cluding a sovereign. United States v. United Mine
Workers of Am., 330 U.S. 258, 275 (1947) (citing the
Dictionary Act and noting that “[i]m common usage,”
person “does not include the sovereign, and statutes

10

employing it will ordinarily not be construed to do
so”). Subsequently, this Court confirmed the
“longstanding interpretive presumption that ‘person’
does not include the sovereign.” Vermont Agency of
Natural Res. v. United States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S.
765, 780 (2000). Reading ““person’ to mean the sover-
eign” is “decidedly awkward,” and this Court has been
“reluctant” to do so. Intl Primate Prot. League v.
Adm'rs of Tulane Educ. Fund, 500 U.S. 72, 83 (1991).

In Wilson v. Omaha Indian Tribe, 442 U.S. 653,
666-67 (1979), the Court was asked to determine
whether the term “white persons” in 25 U.S.C. 194 did
not include the state of lowa. The Court first noted:
“(I]n common usage, the term ‘person’ does not in-
clude the sovereign, [and] statutes employing the
phrase are ordinarily construed to exclude it.” /d. at
667 (quoting United States v. Cooper Corp., 312 U.S.
600, 604 (1941) and citing United Mine Workers, 330
U.S. at 275) (brackets in original). The Court then
elaborated that “much depends on the context, the
subject matter, legislative history, and executive in-
terpretation.” Ibid. Even though the legislative his-
tory and executive interpretation were unhelpful, the

dian squatters on Indian lands”—helpful in resolving
this issue. /bid. Because that purpose suggests that
Congress did not intend “person” to include States,
the Court held that the ordinary usage controlled. /d.
at 667-68.

More recently, in Vermont Agency, the Court con-
sidered whether a state agency, the Vermont Agency
of Natural Resources, was a “person” in a qui tam ac-
tion under the False Claims Act. 529 U.S. at 768-70.

11

The False Claims Act specifically imposed “civil liabil-
ity upon ‘any person.” /d. at 770. The Court held that
the state is not a person based on its “longstanding
interpretative presumption that ‘person’ does not in-
clude the sovereign.” Jd. at 780 (citing Cooper Corp.,
312 U.S. at 604 and United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. at
275). The Court found no such affirmative showing in
the False Claims Act to overcome this presumption.
Id. at 780-88. Instead, the Court noted that the stat-
utory scheme suggested otherwise.

In particular, the Court noted that another section
of the False Claims Act expressly defined “person” to
include States, implying that the absence of such a
definition in the section in question indicated that
States should not be included in that section. 529
U.S. at 783-84. In addition, the fact that the False
Claims Act provided for punitive damages also ran
counter to an interpretation that “person” included
States because of the “presumption against imposi-
tion of punitive damages on government entities.” /d.
at 784—86. A sister scheme called the Program Fraud
Civil Remedies Act of 1986 provided for administra-
tive remedies for false claims and, unlike the False
Claims Act, included a definition of “person,” which
did not include States. Id. at 786. The PFCRA also
did not provide for treble damages. Jbid. The Court
thought it incongruent for States to be subject to tre-
ble damages under the False Claims Act, but then ex-
empt from the smaller remedies available under the
PFCRA. Ibid. Accordingly, the Court held the pre-
sumption that a sovereign is not a “person” under the
False Claims Act still applied. Jd. at 787.

12

This is also consistent with this Court’s more re-
cent unanimous holding in USPS v. Flamingo Indus-
tries (USA) Ltd., that the Postal Service is not a “per-
son” for the purposes of the antitrust laws. 540 U.S.
736, 746 (2004). The Sherman Act imposed liability
on “any person,” which it defined ar “corporations and
associations existing under or authorized by the laws
of either the United States [or of States or foreign gov-
ernments].” Jd. at 744—45 (brackets in original); 15
U.S.C. 7. The Court noted that corporate or govern-
mental status, under this definition, did not preclude
liability under the Sherman Act, but then noted that
“it is otherwise, however, when liability is pursued
against the Federal Government.” 540 U.S. at 744—
45 (citing Cooper Corp., 312 U.S. at 614). Applying
Cooper, the Court held that the Postal Service, as an

“establishment of the executive branch” and not a
“corporation,” is not a person for the purposes of the
antitrust laws, even if “independent.” Jd. at 745-47
(distinguishing the Postal Service from private busi-
nesses).

As the government correctly notes, USPS does “dif-
fer{] in many respects from other federal agencies” in
that “[w]hen Congress created the Postal Service in
1970, it empowered the Service ‘to sue and be sued in
its official name.” Br. in Opp. 14 (quoting Loeffler v.
Frank, 486 U.S. 549, 555-56 (1988)); 39 U.S.C. 401(1).
But, as in Flamingo Industries, that difference does
not justify departing from the clear rules of statutory
construction that exclude the government and its
agencies from “persons.”

Instead, the two circuit cases cited by the govern-

ment (Br. in Opp. 14) are anomalies dealing exclu-
sively with the Lanham Act. Federal Express Corp. v.

13

USPS, 151 F.3d 536, 546 (6th Cir. 1998) (the Postal
Service is a “person” within the meaning of the Lan-
ham Act); GlobalMail Lid. v. USPS, 142 F.3d 208, 216
(4th Cir. 1998) (same). But, notably, both of those
cases also predate this Court’s decision in Vermont
Agency, 529 U.S. 765, and Flamingo Industries, 540
U.S. 736.

Furthermore, Federal Express and GlobalMail
both turned on the Lanham Act’s specific, statutory
definition of a “person,” which is not present in the
AIA or the patent statutes. The Lanham Act de-
parted from the Dictionary Act’s definition of “person”
and included “other organization[s] capable of suing
or being sued in a court of law.” 15 U.S.C. 1127. Both
circuits found it dispositive that Congress mandated
that a “general power|]” of USPS was the authority to
“sue or be sued in its official name.” 39 U.S.C. 401(1);
Federal Express Corp, 151 F.3d at 539-40, 544—46;
Global Mail, 142 F.3d. at 216-17.

3. The history of the patent statutes establishes
that Congress knew how to explicitly include federal
government agencies when discussing patents rights.
There is an entire chapter dealing with the patents
rights for federal government agencies, designed “to
ensure that the Government obtains sufficient rights
in federally supported inventions.” 235 U.S.C. 200.
That chapter explicitly defines “Federal agency” to
mean “any executive agency as defined in section 105
of title 5, and the military departments as defined by
section 102 of title 5.” 35 U.S.C. 201(a).

That chapter then authorizes “each Federal
agency” to “apply for, obtain, and maintain patents,”
to “grant licenses under federally owned inventions,”

14

to “undertake all other suitable and necessary steps
to protect and administer rights to federally owned in-
ventions on behalf of the Federal Government either
directly or through contract,” and to “transfer custody
and administration, in whole or in part, to another
Federal agency, of the right, title, or interest in any
federally owned invention.” 35 U.S.C. 207(a) (empha-
sis added). Presumably, there would have been no
need for this provision had federal government agen-
cies already been entitled to the same rights as
granted to a “person” under then-existing Section
102(a) when Section 207(a) was enacted in 1980. 35
U.S.C. 102(a) (“A person shall be entitled to a patent
unless”); accord 35 U.S.C. 118 (A “person” may file on
behalf of an invention by another).

The government’s reading should be rejected be-
cause Section 207(a) would be superfluous if federal
government agencies were already authorized to ap-
ply for, obtain, and maintain patents under Section
102(a) and the other provisions of the patent statutes.
Such a reading runs counter to this Court’s “deep re-
luctance to interpret a statutory provision so as to
render superfluous other provisions in the same en-
actment.” Pennsylvania Dept. of Public Welfare v.
Davenport, 495 U.S. 552, 562 (1990); see Circuit City
Stores, Inc. v. Adams, 532 U.S. 105, 113 (2001).

B. Congress Did Not Affirmatively Expand
The Statutory Meaning Of “Person” In

The AIA.
The AIA also does not define the term “person.”
Only “a person” may petition for inter partes review,
35 U.S.C. 311(a), and only a “person” may petition for

15

post-grant review, 35 U.S.C. 321(a). Similarly, as en-
acted, Section 18(a)(1)(B) of the AIA provides that cov-
ered business method review petitions are only avail-
able to “a person” who “has been sued for infringe-
ment of the patent or has been charged with infringe-
ment under that patent.” AIA, § 18(a)(1)(B), 125 Stat.
330. No other context in the statute warrants deviat-
ing from a standard meaning of “person” that differed
from the use prior to the AIA’s enactment.

Instead, the AIA text and structure continues to
recognize the difference between a “person” and fed-
eral government agencies, just as it did prior to the
enactment of the AIA. Specifically, the release of set-
tlement agreements in AIA proceedings “[sjhall be
made available only to Federal Government agencies
on written request, or to any person on a showing of
good cause.” 35 U.S.C. 317(b), 327(b); see 35
U.S.C. 135(e) (similar in the context of a derivation
proceeding, but omitting the word “Federal”). The
AIA statutory provisions specific to AIA review pro-
ceedings thus explicitly delineate between federal
government agencies and persons just as it had before
the AIA in Section 207(a). And while the government
argues that this is just a recognition of the lesser
threshold for the federal government agency (Br. in
Opp. 11—12), such a reading requires modifying the
statute either by adding “other” (“any other person”)
or rewriting the statutory sentence entirely.

Importantly, Congress did not amend the use of the
term “person” when it amended Section 102(a) in the
AIA. 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (“A person shall be entitled to
a patent unless”). “Congress’ reenactment of the stat-
ute ... using the same language, indicates its appar-
ent satisfaction with the prevailing interpretation of

16

the statute.” See Davis v. United States, 495 U.S. 472,
482 (1990). The more reasoned reading of the statute
is that Congress merely maintained the traditional
interpretation of “person” by choosing to reuse “per-
son” without modification.

“The absence of any comparable provision extend-
ing the term to sovereign governments implies that
Congress did not desire the term to extend to them.”
United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. at 275. In terms of the
AIA review proceedings, there is neither a “compara-
ble provision” extending the term “person” to the “sov-
ereign government” nor an “affirmative showing of
statutory intent” to “broade[n]” the term. United
Mine Workers, 330 U.S. at 275; Vermont Agency, 529
U.S. at 780-82. This implies that Congress “did not
desire the term to extend” to federal government
agencies. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. at 275.
Thus, a “person” in the context of its usage for AIA
review proceedings must be construed in accordance
with its ordinary, statutory meaning excluding fed-
eral government agencies as prescribed by 1 U.S.C.
§ 1 and this Court’s precedent.

Il. ALLOWING FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AGENCIES TO
INITIATE AIA REVIEWS VIOLATES THE POLICY
UNDERLYING THE AIA.

Under the AIA, statutory estoppel bars all “peti-
tioner[s]” from asserting invalidity challenges that
petitioners “raised or reasonably could have raised” in
an AIA review proceeding in any actions in the dis-
trict court (“a civil action arising in whole or in part
under section 1338 of title 28, United States Code”) or
the International Trade Commission (“under section
337 of the Tariff Act of 1930 (19 U.S.C. 1337)”). 35

17

U.S.C. 315(e)(2) (inter partes review), 325(e)(2) (post-
grant review); see AIA, § 18(a)(1)(D), 125 Stat. 284,
330 (covered business method review) (similar but
omitting “reasonably could have raised”). But a pa-
tent owner’s exclusive remedy for unauthorized use or
manufacture by the government is an action in the
United States Court of Federal Claims for the recov-
ery of its “reasonable and entire compensation.” 28
U.S.C. 1498(a). Thus, these estoppel provisions can-
not apply to a federal government agency. It was no
accident that the estoppel provisions omit the United
States Court of Federal Claims: Congress did not in-
tend AIA review proceedings to be available to federal
government agencies in the first place.

Instead, the legislative history of these provisions
from the AIA underscores that Congress intended to
prevent the same party from asserting the same inva-
lidity challenges against a patent twice. AIA reviews
were designed to “improve patent quality and restore
confidence in the presumption of validity that comes
with issued patents.” H.R. Rep. No. 112-98, at 39—40,
48, 58 (2011).

The AIA’s estoppel provision was key to this goal
because it prevented petitioners from “later asserting
invalidity before the ITC or a Federal court on a
ground that was considered and resulted in a written
decision.” H.R. Rep. No. 112-98, at 80. The estoppel
is designed to “quiet title” for patent owners “to en-
sure continued investment resources” and to avoid
“repeated litigation and administrative attacks on the
validity of a patent.” Jd. at 48. Allowing repeated at-
tacks on validity “would frustrate the purpose of the
section as providing quick and cost effective alterna-
tives to litigation.” Ibid.

18

Indeed, the AIA estoppel provisions sought to “sig-
nificantly reduce the ability to use post-grant proce-
dures for abusive serial challenges to patents,” and
“[t}hese new procedures would also provide faster,
less costly alternatives to civil litigation to chai enge
patents.” Patent Reform Act of 2011, 157 Cong. Rec.
S936-02, S952 (daily ed. Feb. 28, 2011) (statement of
Sen. Grassley). The estoppel was specifically de-
signed to be strong so that “any issue that [petition-
ers] raised or could have raised . . . . [petitioners] can
bring up no place else” as “a complete alternative to
litigation.” Patent Reform: The Future of American
Innovation: Hearing before the Senate Comm. On the
Judiciary, 110th Cong. 13 (2007) (statement of Direc-
tor Jon Dudas). Director David Kappos noted that the
estoppel provisions are designed to confer a “signifi-
cant advantage” because it leaves the patent “largely
unchallengeable by the same party.” America Invents
Act: Hearing on H.R. 1249 Before the House Comm.
On the Judiciary, 112th Cong. 52-53 (2011) (state-
ment of Director David Kappos). Senator Grassley
characterized the purpose as “ensur|ing] that if an in-
ter partes review is instituted while litigation is pend-
ing, that review will completely substitute for at least
the patents-and-printed-publications portion of the
civil litigation.” Patent Reform Act of 2011, 157 Cong.
Rec. $1360-94, $1376 (daily ed. Mar. 8, 2011) (state-
ment of Sen. Grassley).

Despite this strong evidence of Congressional in-
tent, and without citing to any statutory or legislative
history support, the government seeks to enable fed-
eral government agencies to avoid the very corner-
stone of AIA reviews and permit these agencies to
mount multiple attacks on patent validity before the

19

Patent Office and the United States Court of Federal
Claims in a Section 1498(a) proceeding.

In support of its position, the government argues
that federal government agencies can participate in
AIA reviews without estoppel because equitable es-
toppel ordinarily does not apply to federal govern-
ment agencies, citing OPM v. Richmond, 496 U.S.
414, 419 (1990). But this is not a case of equitable
estoppel (a judicial doctrine) in light of statements
from Executive agents “contrary to the wishes of Con-
gress” as in Richmond, 496 U.S. at 415. Instead, this
is statutory estoppel directly enacted by and reflect-
ing the exact wishes of Congress. Thus, Richmond is
inapplicable.

More importantly, even assuming arguendo that
this presumption of no equitable estoppel is applica-
ble to statutory estoppel, the government’s position is
untenable. Under the AIA, estoppel attaches to more
than the district court and International Trade Com-
mission proceedings. There is also an estoppel that
attaches to petitions in pending and future proceed-
ings before the Patent Office after the conclusion of
inter partes and post-grant reviews.* Specifically,
these two proceedings both contain an additional es-
toppel provision that bars the petitioner from “re-
quest[ing] or maintain[ing] a proceeding before the
Office with respect to that claim on any ground that
the petitioner raised or reasonably could have raised
during” the review. 35 U.S.C. 315(e)(1), 325(e)(1).

3 There is no Patent Office estoppel in covered business method
reviews. AIA, § 18(a)(1)(D), 125 Stat. 284, 330

20

Applying the government’s view, there is an estop-
pel against the government, but only before the Pa-
tent Office. Thus, even if the government is correct
that, under Richmond, a statute should presump-
tively not be read to apply estoppel to the government,
the AIA cannot be read to authorize a federal govern-
ment agency to petition for AIA reviews because, to
hold otherwise, would be to recognize just such an es-
toppel.*

The Sixth Circuit in Federal Express noted the
“penchant of some federal government agencies and
officers to proactively seek the benefits and protec-
tions afforded by the law while simultaneously en-
deavoring to avoid the responsibilities and burdens
imposed by legal restraints and standards of conduct
which constrain others.” Federal Express, 151 F.3d at
546 (Under the Lanham Act, the Postal Service has
“elevated the shield of governmental privilege when
accused of competitive wrongdoing,” yet “been quick
to behave as a Lanham Act ‘person’ in protection of its
perceived rights under that enactment”); see Global

4 Interpreting “person” in the AIA to exclude federal government
agencies will potentially impact the ability of those agencies to
request ex parte reexamination under 35 U.S.C. 302 or to cite
prior art or prior Patent Owner statements in written submis-
sions under 35 U.S.C. 301; see Manual of Pat. Exam. Proc. § 2203
(9th ed. Oct. 2015) (“Any person” may be a corporate or govern-
mental entity as well as an individual” under Section 301). But
the government can raise invalidity as a defense in the U.S.
Court of Federal Claims in a Section 1498(a) proceeding. And
the government (via the Director) can always initiate ex parte
reexamination proceedings “on his own initiative,” if the govern-
ment believes an issued patent is invalid, even one that is being
asserted against the government. See 35 U.S.C. 303(a).

21

Mail, 142 F.3d at 215 (“USPS has utilized the Lan-
ham Act to register its marks and to ensure that other
firms do not infringe upon them”).

Yet, once again, the Postal Service as a federal gov-
ernment agency is seeking to secure the benefits of a
supposed Congressional authorization (participation
in AIA reviews) with none of the downsides (estoppel).
As the Sixth Circuit held in Federal Express, “(rjudi-
mentary notions of justice and fair play reinforce the
conclusion, already amply supported by the plain lan-
guage of the operative statutes, legislative history,
and judicial interpretations, that Congress did not in-
tend” for the Postal Service to be considered a person
and “also to immunize [the Postal Service]” from lia-
bility. 151 F.3d at 546 (quoting Global Mail, 142 F.3d
at 215). Similar notions of justice and fair play are
present here: Congress did not intend for the Postal
Service to be a petitioner in AIA reviews yet immun-
ize the Postal Service from the consequence of partic-
ipating in those proceedings, i.e., estoppel.

At present, the government already enjoys consid-
erable advantages over private litigants in the patent
arena flowing from its sovereignty due to specific Con-
gressional authorization. A patentee’s only remedy
against the government for unauthorized use of a pa-
tented invention is in the United States Court of Fed-
eral Claims under Section 1498(a). Unlike a district
court action, the patent owner’s in Section 1498(a)
proceedings are limited to “reasonable and entire
compensation.” 28 U.S.C. 1498(a). There are “nu-
merous examples of where the patent statutes” are in-
applicable to the government in Section 1498(a) ac-
tions, such as injunctive relief (35 U.S.C. 283), treble
damages (35 U.S.C. 284), exceptional case attorney's

22

fees (35 U.S.C. 285), and damages limitations based
on a failure to mark (35 U.S.C. 287). Motorola, Inc. v.
United States, 729 F.3d 765, 768 n.3, 772 (Fed. Cir.
1984).

Allowing the Postal Service the advantage of peti-
tioning for AIA review without the concomitant estop-
pel and without any supporting Congressional intent
or authorization, tips the scale too far in the govern-
ment’s favor without reason and violates the entire
purpose behind the AIA reviews—a result that should
not be countenanced.

CONCLUSION

Without an affirmative showing of statutory intent
otherwise, the longstanding presumption—codified in
the Dictionary Act, the history of the patent statutes,
and in this Court’s precedent—that “person” does not
include federal government agencies like the Postal
Service must stand. As a consequence, the Court
should reverse the Federal Circuit’s judgment below
and find that the Postal Service is not a “person” for
the purposes of filing a petition for AIA review.

Respectfully submitted.

BLAIR A. SILVER

Counsel of Record
BANNER & WITCOFF, LTD.
1100 13th Street, N.W.
Suite 1200
Washington, DC 20005-4051
(202) 824-3000
bsilver@bannerwitcoff.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
DECEMBER 17, 2018

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0827%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
