# Petitioners Brief — Air & Liquid Systems Corp. v. DeVries, 139 S. Ct. 986 (2019) (No. 17-1104)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0814%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2019

## Text

No. 17-1104
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

AIR AND LIQUID SYSTEMS CORP., CBS
CORPORATION, AND FOSTER WHEELER LLC,
Petitioners,

Vv.

ROBERTA G. DEVRIES, Administratrix of the Estate

of John B. DeVries, Deceased, and Widow in her own
right,

Respondent.

INGERSOLL RAND COMPANY,
Petitioner,

v

SHIRLEY MCAFEE, Bascutrix of the Estate of
Kenneth McAfee, and Widow in her own right,

Respondent.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit
Brief for the Petitioners

Benjamin M. Flowers Shay Dvoretzky

JONES DAY Counsel of Record

325 John H. McConnell Jeffrey R. Johnson

Blvd., Suite 600 Vivek Suri

Columbus, OH 43215 JONES DAY
51 Louisiana Ave NW,
Washington, DC 20001
Tel.: (202) 879-3939
sdvoretzky@jonesday .com

Counsel for Petitioner CBS Corporation

(Additional counsel listed on inside cover)
ic Attensa

Christopher G. Conley
EVERT WEATHERSBY

HOUFF

200 Cleveland Road,
Suite 6

Bogart, GA 30622

Counsel for Petitioner
CBS Corporation

Brady L. Green
WILBRAHAM, LAWLER &
BUBA

1818 Market Street,
Suite 3100
Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Petitioner
Air & Liquid Systems
Corp. (successor by mer-
ger to Buffalo Pumps,
Inc.)

Christopher J. Keale
Afigo 1. Okpewho-
Fadahunsi

TANENBAUM KEALE LLP
1085 Raymond Blvd.
One Newark Center
16th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Counsel for Petitioner
Foster Wheeler LLC

John J. Hare
MARSHALL DENNEHEY
WARNER COLEMAN &
GOGGIN

2000 Market Street,
Suite 2300
Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Petitioner
Ingersoll-Rand Company

(continued from front cover)

Can products-liability defendants be held liable
under maritime law for injuries caused by products
that they did not make, sell, or distribute?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
AND RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The petitioners, all of whom were defendants-
appellees below, are:

1. Air & Liquid Systems Corp. is a wholly owned
subsidiary of Ampco-Pittsburgh Corporation, a pub-
licly traded corporation. It is the successor-by-
merger to Buffalo Pumps, Inc.

2. CBS Corporation is a publicly traded company.
National Amusements, Inc. is a privately held com-
pany, which beneficially owns directly and indirectly
the majority of the voting stock of CBS Corporation.
To CBS Corporation’s knowledge, no publicly held
corporation owns 10% or more of the voting stock of
CBS Corporation.

3. Foster Wheeler LLC is a wholly-owned indirect
subsidiary of John Wood Group plc (Scotland), a pub-
licly traded company. No known person or entity
currently owns 10 percent or more of John Wood
Group ple’s (Scotland) publicly traded common stock.

4. The parent company for Ingersoll-Rand Com-
pany is Ingersoll Rand PLC, a publicly traded corpo-
ration. No other publicly traded corporation owns
more than 10 percent of Ingersoll Rand Company
stock.

General Electric Company is also a respondent
supporting the petitioners under Rule 12.6. It was a
defendant-appellee below. It will be filing its own
brief.

iil
The plaintiffs-appellants below, who are respond-
ents in this Court, are:
1. Roberta DeVries, in her individual capacity and
in her capacity as administratrix of the estate of
John B. DeVries, and

2. Shirley McAfee, Executrix of the Estate of
Kenneth McAfee, Deceased, and Widow in her own
right.

In addition to the petitioners and the General
Electric Company, the following parties were listed
as either defendants or defendants-appellees on the
Third Circuit's docket below:
20th Century Gove Corp. of Texas
Allen Bradley Co.

Allen Sherman Hoff
American Optical

AMTICO Division of American Biltrite
Aurora Pumps

AZRock Industries, Inc.

AO Smith Corp.

. Baltimore Ennis Land Co. Inc.
Bayer Cropscience Inc.

Borg Warner Corp.

Burnham LLC

BW/IP Ine.

16. Carrier Corp.

17. Certain Teed Corp.

Serr Serr PP PrP re

eR SS

iv

18. Cleaver Brooks Inc.
19. Crane Co.
20. Crown Cork & Seal Co., Inc.

21. Federal Mogul Asbestos Persona! Injury
Trust

22. Gallagher Fluid Seals, Inc.
23. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.
24. Goulds Pumps, Inc.

25. Hajoca Corp.

26. Hampshire Industries, Inc.
27. IMO Industries, Inc.

28. J.A. Sexauer

29. J.H. France Refractories Co.
30. John Crane, Inc.

31. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co.
32. Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Co.
33. McCord Gasket Co.

34. NOSROC Corporation

35. Oakfabco, Inc.

36. Owens-Illinois, Inc.

37. Parker Hannifin Corp.

38. Pecora Corp.

39. Peerless Industries, Inc.

41. Selby Battersby & Co.

42. Sid Harvey Mid Atlantic, Inc.
43. Thermal Engineering, Inc.

44. Trane US. Inc.
45. Warren Pumps, LLC
46. Weil McClain Division of the Marley Co.

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

QUESTION PRESENTED....0.......220:cccccccecscececeesseeereees j
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT 0000... ..ccccccccccereeeeees il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ....00.........:.ccccceceesoeeeees viii
TIE LE aC A TEE 1
RE ee en 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ....... 2
LET ER LEE ae SS ON aT Sem 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............0-ccccccesceneeeevenees :
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT |... 00. .cccccceccccceeeees 12
NE EES LS 18
|. MANUFACTURERS ARE NOT

LIABLE FOR INJURIES ALLEGEDLY

CAUSED BY THIRD-PARTY

ASBESTOS ADDED TO THEIR

EQUIPMENT POST-SALE.....0.......--..ccccccceceeeeee 18

A. Well-settled tort-law principles forbid

I rtiticiiccinnicteeentenntinaddatitinnmndesennecs 19

B. The principles of maritime law
I. THE THIRD CIRCUITS

ALTERNATIVE APPROACH

CONTRADICTS THE COMMON LAW

AND UNDERMINES THE

PURPOSES OF MARITIME LAW ................... 40

—_—

vil

TABLE OF CONTENTS
(continued)

A. Tort-law principles do not
support the foreseeability-based test
that the Third Circuit adopted................... 40

IIL. THE PETITIONERS ARE ENTITLED TO
JUDGMENT AS A MATTER OF LAW............ 52

( 0 NCLU SION POOPED EEE ETN EEREE ERED ERM OR ER ON ERE RER EOE EE REAR EERE ObEE 5A

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

CASES
Acoba v. Gen. Tire,

GBS Fae SED CER. 1DBB) ..n.ccccencccccccccseccccescsesesse 19
Ammar v. United States,

3423 F.3d 133 Gad Cir. 2008) ..............00000000000000005.- 39
Atlantic Sounding Co. v. Townsend,

ee 39
Baughman v. Gen. Motors Corp.,

780 F.2d 1131 (4th Cir. 1986)............ 19, 20, 22, 23
Braaten v. Saberhagen Holdings,

198 P.3d 493 (Wash. 2008) ....................0000....0000.. 29
Brown v. Drake-Willock Int'l, Ltd.,

530 N.W.2d 510

ee passim
Bryant v. Glastetter,

38 Cal. Rptr. 2d 291

8 men 22
Bynum v. FMC Corp.,

770 F.2d 566 (6th Cir. 1985).....................c00.000000s 27

Cal. Div. of Labor Standards
Enforcement v. Dillingham
Constr., N_A. Inc.,
I i arian 33

Castillo v. Spiliada Mar. Corp.,
937 F.2d 240 (5th Cir. 1991)....................ccc00000000e 39

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

Cent. of Georgia Ry. Co. v. Price,

REE ener: 25, 26
Cerveny v. Aventis, Inc.,

855 F.3d 1091 (10th Cir. 2017).....................2c2000 29
Childress v Gresen Mfg. Co.,

888 F.2d 45 (6th Cir. 1989).......................... passim
Conner v. Alfa Laval, Inc.,

842 F. Supp. 2d 791 (E.D. Pa. 2012) ................... 32
Dandridge v. Crane Co.,

2016 WL 319938

EEE ean 51
DeLovio v. Boit,

7 F. Cas. 418 (C.C.D. Mass. 1815) .......c0c00000-. 15, 34
Dreyer v. Exel Indus., S.A.,

326 F. App’x 353 (6th Cir. 2009)........ 19, 20, 22, 24
East River Steamship Corp. v.

Transamerica Delaval, Inc.,

CO passim
Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker,

ae 15, 34, 37
Fabend v. Rosewood Hotels &

Resorts, L.L.C.,

381 F.3d 162 (Sd Cir. 2004) ................0c0cccccccc000002 26

‘eres v. United States,
REE Re ESS ee 9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

Firestone Steel Prods. Co. v. Barajas,

927 S.W.2d 608 (Tex. 1996)........................... 23, 29
Garrett v. Moore-McCormack Co.,

I Ce Bc rernntatinnsnnmcsncnssssicesestseatens 35, 39
Gaulding v. Celotex Corp.,

re ey HID vccenscsncsseecsevrensccnstocnanncs 23
Gilman v. Cent. Vermont Ry. Co.,

of 32
Grant v. Foster Wheeler, LLC,

140 A.3d 1242 (Me. 2016) ........cccccccccceceeeeeeeeee 29, 31
Harden v. Gordon,

11 F. Cas. 480 (C.C.D. Me. 1823) ........................ 38
Harris v. Rapid Am. Corp.,

532 F. Supp. 2d 1001 (N.D. Ill. 2007).................... 5
Holmes v. Sec. Investor Prot. Corp.,

8 8 8 13, 22, 30, 54
Hovsepian v. Crane Co.,

2016 WL 4158891

CS Eee 4
In re Certified Question from Fourteenth

Dist. Ct. of Appeals of Tex.,

740 N.W.2d 206 (Mich. 2007) ......................:000000 41

In re Darvocet, Darvon, & Propoxyphene
Prods. Liab. Litig.,
756 F.3d 917 (Gth Cir. 2014)..............cccccccceeeeeeeees 25

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)

In re Deep Vein Thrombosis,
356 F. Supp. 2d 1055

In re New York City Asbestos Litig.,
59 N.E.3d 458 (N.Y. 2016) ..................-00.-.0.- passim

lseberg v. Gross,
879 N.E.2d 278 (Til. 2007).................ccccecccecccecececee 21

Kelcey v. Tankers Co.,
217 F.2d 641 (2d Cir. 1964) ............0.0.cc.--cccceceeess 38

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale
Transatlantique,
ERR NR passim
Kochera v. Foster Wheeler, LLC,
2015 WL 5584749
Se ee I I os ccntnssneeunnscconecittioemeisos 51

Lamkin v. Towner,
563 N.E.2d 449 (Ill. 1990)...0000. 0... c eee eecceeeeeee ee 41

Lindstrom v. A-C Prod. Liab. Tr.,

424 F.3d 488 (6th Cir. 2005)........0.0000...... 23, 29, 31
May v. Air & Liquid Systems Corp.,

129 A.3d 984 (Md. 2015)...............0c eee passim
McKown v. Simon Prop. Grp., Inc.,

344 P.3d 661 (Wash. 2015) ...0000000 cece 41
Miles v. Apex Marine Corp..,

ee 16, 35, 38, 48

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)

Mitchell v. Sky Climber, Inc.,
487 N.E.2d 1374 (Mass. 1986)....................0000.000- 23

Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc.,
ee 34

Murillo v. Seymour Ambulance
Ass'n, Inc.,
GBS ADS 1308 Woomm. BOOB) ......0cccccccccccccccccceccess 41

Nat Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh,
Pa. v. Riggs Nat'l Bank of
Washington, D.C.,
5 F.3d G64 CD.C. Cir. 1908)..........0.00ccccccoceeesscecess 26

Newman v. Gen. Motors Corp.,
524 So. 2d 207 (La. Ct. App. 1988)...................... 23

Nishida v. E. I. Du Pont De
Nemours & Co..,
245 F.2d 768 (5th Cir. 1957)......................... 50, 51

Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Kirby,
Ry Be Se seciicsecceusiesvencivecesessssnesnen 15, 34, 37

O'Neil v. Crane Co.,
Se ee Cs BI circcncccncasenccosescessneces passim

PLIVA, Inc. v. Mensing,
EE EIT SE SO Ee 25

Reino de Espafia v. Am. Bureau of
Shippina,
729 F. Supp. 2d 635 (S.D.N.Y. 2010)................... 41

Reynolds v. Bridgestone / Firestone, Inc.,
989 F.2d 465 (11th Cir. 1993)...................... passim

—

xiii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)
Robertson v. Baldwin,

I isn ccrnsiisirnesnintisnneunccemictnsimmenideeti 38
S. Pac. Co. v. Jensen,

I II esc in centenactnaneinctameincnmantiaes 43
Saratoga Fishing Co. v. J.M.

Martinac & Co.,

EE 29, 32
Schrock v. Wyeth, Inc.,

727 F.3d 1273 (10th Cir. 2013) .000..........ccccceeeeeeees 25
Stark v. Armstrong World Indus., Inc.,

21 F. App’x 371 (6th Cir. 2001) ............... 14, 33, 49
T.H. v. Novartis Pharms. Corp.,

Ce re es Se Piitrcrtcccccnccncccasonccnccccseccse 24, 25
The Lottawanna,

ITI a inscnsisontmespmtsoveseresncsensnsncasenetiant 18
Toth v. Econ. Forms Corp.,

571 A.2d 420 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1990) ................000+- 23
Warner v. Goltra,

I PC ix. sitsnsrnssinenscenncniapnancnmsiines 34, 35
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY AUTHORITIES
eee 2
Be i eitnctesdecascesnicencessnccnscanioensimanensempiers 16, 37
ee te cencnccsncccncsonnsinccieenscsninnsatencenesensncensaneen 2
A I odicciccsnsasensnactencesastcinionsineatenierimmmnmninnts: 2
iy Oe I devcinesitccecesrcsmecncnisnotinsernnteterienentinn 1,2

xiv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)

AD aie Fe ercocsnssiasivitecnsetentsiacasantidiadiianieiamen 2
OTHER AUTHORITIES
73 Fed. Reg. 49603 (Aug. 22, 2008) ..............22.2.02-000 28

Restatement (Second) of Torts
Re ich ctinsemetindalastieineiidebcenseininvgsaldtishaadas 13, 21

Restatement (Second) of Torts
Oe I tc cccieinsinishisinlcniepnidtunibdiiaiiiy 13, 21, 30, 54

Restatement (Second) of Torts
ff f £4 ae disiabstdedidaibacndaaiiediabasiatadl 21

Restatement (Third) of Torts:
SP: BE ie PIT ias icrtccesiimecmnenianeieiiioeduetiibaidinns 19

James A. Henderson, Jr. &

Aaron D. Twerski,

Doctrinal Collapse in Products

Liability: The Empty Shell of

Failure to Warn,

65 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 2665 (1990) .................csccccccesee0e 28
Michael L. Marlow,

Too Much (Questionable)

Information?,

Regulation 20 (Winter 2013-14) ................... 28, 29

A. Mitchell Polinsky & Steven Shavell,
The Uneasy Case for Product
Liability,
123 Harv. L. Rev. 1437 (2010)..............0.cssccccsseees 47

Prosser & Keeton on the Law of Torts

CC ET
RAND Corporation,

Asbestos Bankruptcy Trusts 28

SII iiaatathaiestereintainthinatninininemnannanennusnnepesunssnesenenesee 16, 37

Victor E. Schwartz & Mark A. Behrens,
A b t I 7 te s The “EK li
Search for a Solvent Bystander,”
BB Widomar Ld. GD CBO1F)...0..2ccccccececcccceeeeercecesseees 24

Joanna M. Shepherd,
Products Liability and E.
Activity: An Empirical Analysis of
Tort Reform’s Impact on Businesses,
G6 Vand. L. Rev. 267 (B0138).....0..cccccceccccceecseeeeenees 47

1. Air & Liquid Syste C ee
DeVries. The United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania awarded summary
judgment to the defendants in a series of un-
published orders. See 2014 WL 6746811 (Foster

ler LIL), Pet. App. 71a; 2014 WL 6746795
(CBS Corporation), Pet. App. 63a; 2014 WL 6746960
(Buffalo Pumps, Inc.).

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit remanded in an unpublished order. Pet. App.
48a-5la. The District Court again awarded sum-
ary judgment, in an opinion published at 186 F.
Supp. 3d 454. Pet. App. 20a-42a. The Third Circuit
Pet. App. la-17a.

of Pennsylvania awarded ns: jude-

ender GUEEEREp at S586 We, SEESESES. Pet. App. 56a,
der. Pet. App. 43a-47a. The District Court again
SS ee On appeal, the Third Circuit
the case with DeVries and reversed in

an opinion published at 873 F.3d 232. Pet. App. la-
17a.

in Pennsylvania state court. So did Kenneth and
Shirley McAfee, in a separate action. Both cases
were removed to the Eastern Distnct of Pennsylva-
nia. That court had jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

2

§ 1333(1), because both cases arose from injuries that
ters, and under § 1442(a)(1), because several defend-
ants stated a colorable federal common-law defense
to claims arising from their conduct as contractors
for the United States Navy.

After the District Court awarded summary judg-
ment to the petitioners in both cases, Roberta
a ee ee ee
aad feulaoes enter $ GAS Otane. It consol)-
dated the cases and decided them on October 3, 2017.
tion for certiorari until January 31, 2018, and they
filed on that date. See Air & Liquid Sys. Corp., et al.
v. DeVries, et al., No. 17A625. This Court granted
certiorari on May 14, 2018, and has jurisdiction un-
der 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The judicial Power shall extend ... to all Cases
of edmisalty and maritime Juriedicticn ..

U.S. Const. art. Il, § 2, el. 1.

3

INTRODUCTION

contracted with the Navy to manufacture and supply
shipboard equipment, which each agreed to make
and supply in the manner and form dictated by the
Navy's precise specifications. The plaintiffs are the
estates and wives of former sailors. They allege that
the sailors were injured by asbestos-containing ma-
terials that the Navy (or a third-party shipbuilder)
added to the defendants’ equipment after the defend-
ants delivered it to the Navy. They concede that the
defendants did not make, sell, or distribute these lat-
defendants should have warned about the risks asso-
ciated with this third-party asbestos. The Third Cir-
cuit agreed with this position, and held as a matter
of general maritime law that equipment manufac-
turers may be liable for failing to warn about the
risks of third-party asbestos.

The Third Circuit erred. Product manufacturers
nes caused by products that they did not make, sell,
or distribute. Because it is undisputed that the peti-
tioners did not make, sell, or distribute the asbestos
alleged to have caused the sailors’ injuries, each is
entitled to judgment as a matter of law. This Court
should reverse the Third Circuit's judgment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. The Navy controls what goes on its ships. For
much of the twentieth century, the Navy exercised
that control to require the use of asbestos. See JA
35 56. For example, it used asbestos-containing ma-
terials with its steam-driven propulsion systems.

A

These systems integrated many pieces of equipment
and thousands of feet of piping. Combined, they
generated heat that produced steam that powered
tustines that geupelied Mavy chips. The Navy used

n ulation on the exterior of the systems’
equipment and piping. It also used asbestos-
containing parts inside these systems. JA 40. For
instance, many gaskets used to form seals between
metal components contained asbestos. JA 378-80,
see also JA 318-19, 395.

(like air coms rs) that played no role in the

steams-quapuision eysteme. Pet. App. 61a; JA 518-19.
Indeed, asbestos was so prevalent on ships that, de-
spite being prized for its light weight, it added as
much as 300 tons to aircraft carriers and 22 tons to
destroyers. JA 36.

The asbestos used aboard ships sometimes had to
be replaced. See JA 280-81. a insula

sociiiiinineediaamabee, | And if eailors hed
to break a seal formed by an asbestos gasket to fix
equipment to which the coal was connected, they
new one. See JA 318-20.

The Navy knew that asbestos could be dangerous.
Hovsepian v. Crane Co., 2016 WIL, 4158891, at *3
(E.D. Mo. Aug. 5, 2016); see JA 56-66. As early as
1922, the Navy Health Bulletin recommended pre-
cautions for those working with asbestos. JA 57. In
1939, the Navy Surgeon General reported that as-
bestos causes lung disease and prescribed methods to

5

prevent inhalation. JA 59. That same year, the
Handbook of the Navy Hospital Corps recommended
that those working with asbestos use masks. JA 58
59. And in 1943, the Navy co-authored (with the
U.S. Maritime Commission) safety standards that
recommended the use of “respiratory protective
equipment” in general, and “dust respirator(s{” in
particular, when handling asbestos. JA 63; see gener.
ally JA 110-94. These examples, and many like
them, show that “by 1940” the Navy “was a leader in
the field of occupational medicine relating to ... as-
bestos exposure.” Harris v. Rapid Am. Corp., 532 ¥.
Supp. 2d 1001, 1006 (N_D. IL. 2007).

The Navy used asbestos-containing materials be-
cause its engineers concluded that asbestos “best met
the Navy's military requirements” despite its risks.
JA 35-36. It was well-suited for use aboard Navy
ships because of its “optimum heat retention, low
weight, fire resistance, resistance to water damage
and insect infestation, and cost-efficiency.” JA 36; see
JA 194-205. Its light weight was particularly im-
portant: Without insulation, the ship's systems
“would be inefficient due to loss of heat|,| and sailors
would be burned or unable to operate in engineering
spaces due to heat levels.” JA 36. But every pound
of insulation was one less pound of “weapons or fuel”
that the ship could carry. JA 36. As a result, the
Navy needed its insulation to be as light as possible.
p wnemnnnr-ar-wiryeshar adhe while protecting sailors from

i Ri ectineetienttes tenis allt ent
insulation until it found acceptable substitutes in the
late 19708. JA 36. Only then did it begin to remove
and replace the asbestos-containing materials with

_ the safer substitutes. That took time; given the
many tons of asbestos on its ships, the Navy could
not quickly remove it without immobilizing the en-
tire fleet. JA 38. But the Navy eventually transi-
tioned away from asbestos, and much of the equip-
ment originally used with asbestos is still in use to-
day without asbestos. JA 38 (addressing transition).

2. At all times relevant here, the Navy contracted
with manufacturers to supply shipboard equipment.
To retain control over its ships, it required contrac-
tors to make and supply their equipment in strict
compliance with detailed Navy specifications. It
scrutinized contractor-provided equipment, rejecting
any that failed to conform to its requirements. JA
34-36, 41.

Several features of the Navy's requirements are
relevant here. First, the Navy forbade contractors
from supplying certain equipment with external as-
bestos insulation. JA 35. Instead, the Navy required
contractors to deliver their equipment uninsulated,
or in what is today sometimes called “bare-metal”
form. Only after the Navy accepted the equipment
would the Navy (or a third-party shipbuilder) instal!
it and insulate it with asbestos. See JA 35.

Second, the Navy queers that some equipment
be used with asbestos-containing internal materials,
such as gaskets. See JA 798. These materials some.
times wore out and had to be replaced. When that
occurred, the Navy, not the original equipment man.
ufacturers, chose to continue using asbestos-
containing materials, see JA 31, 288, which the Na-
vy's own sailors (or, again, « third-party shipbuilder)
then installed, see, ¢.¢., JA 789-93.

7

Finally, the Navy retained total control over the
manuals accompanying contractor-supplied equip-
ment, including their instructions and warnings. JA
38-41, 77-84. For example, its military specifica-
tions “addressed the instructions considered essen-
tial by the Navy to warn individuals working with
[shipboard] equipment and material about potential
hazards.” JA 39. At first, military specifications for
technical manuals did not even mention warnings.
JA 39. When the Navy revised its specifications in
1957 to address warnings, it intended to include “on-
ly warnings concerning how someone might be im-
mediately physically injured by their actions or cause
serious damage to equipment.” JA 39. And these
updated specifications expressly directed that “warn-
ings were to be used sparingly,” and “consistent with
real need.” JA 39.

The Navy consciously decided to address long-term
health hazards such as those presented by asbestos
through “personnel training” rather than through
warnings. JA 40, 201-10. As a result, when several
of its asbestos suppliers offered to provide warnings
in the 1940s, the Navy refused. JA 76. Years later,
the Navy specifically considered whether to put a
hazard label on a form of asbestos insulation. The
Navy decided not to do so. JA 80. There is also no
evidence that “the Navy, at any time during the
1930s through the 1960s, instructed or permitted a
supplier of engineering equipment ... to affix or pro-
vide any asbestos-related warning with its equip-
ment.” JA 77. Given the Navy's knowledge of the
dangers asbestos posed, its familiarity with the use
of asbestos-containing materials aboard its ships,
and its control over product manuals, it would have

8

required warnings (and would not have approved
manuals without them) if it thought warnings ap-
propriate. JA 39.

The Navy’s conscious decision to rely on personnel
training rather than individual warnings made
sense. It needed to “provide clear, concise directions”
to sailors and civil contractors. JA 38-39. Ships in
general, and Navy ships in particular, are dangerous
places. There is no way to warn of everything with-
out diluting the most important warnings. That is
why the Navy limited the use of warnings to immi-
nent threats to life and limb. JA 39.

3. This case began as two separate cases, one
brought by the DeVrieses and one by the McAfees.

John DeVries served aboard the USS Turner be-
tween 1957 and 1960, where he worked as an engi-
neer. Pet. App. 63a—64a, 68a—69a. Bath Iron Works
built that ship for the Navy in 1945 with parts made
by many other contractors. JA 272, 384-89. These
contractors included three of the petitioners: Foster
Wheeler made “economizers” for use inside some of
the ship’s boilers. JA 383. CBS's predecessor-in-
interest (Westinghouse Electric Corporation) made
generators, forced-air blowers, and turbines. Pet.
App. 64a. Air & Liquid Systems’ predecessor-in-
interest (Buffalo Pumps) supplied some of the ship’s
pumps. Pet. App. 80a. John DeVries and his wife
sued these companies after he developed cancer.
They claimed that his exposure to the asbestos that
the Navy added to these companies’ equipment post-
sale caused his disease.

Kenneth McAfee served on the USS Wanamassa
and the USS Commodore from the late 1970s to the

9

early 1980s. Pet. App. 56a; JA 517, 570. The Navy
commissioned the Commodore in 1959, and received
delivery on the Wanamassa in 1973. JA 586. Peti-
tioner Ingersoll manufactured the compressors used
on both ships. Pet. App. 56a. McAfee, like DeVries,
developed cancer, allegedly because of his exposure
to asbestos that the Navy added to these compressors
after buying them from Ingersoll. He and his wife
sued Ingersoll (and others) for failing to warn about
the dangers of this later-added asbestos.

It is undisputed that the petitioners delivered
their products in strict compliance with Navy specifi-
cations, free of external asbestos insulation. Pet.
App. 4a. As noted, the Navy did require that con-
tractors supply some equipment with asbestos-
containing internal parts installed already. It is un-
disputed, however, that any original asbestos-
containing parts had worn out—and the Navy had
replaced them many times—before DeVries and
McAfee set foot aboard their ships. It is also undis-
puted that none of the petitioners made, sold, or dis-
tributed any asbestos-containing replacement parts
used aboard these ships. Thus, neither DeVries nor
McAfee ever came into contact with asbestos-
containing material made, sold, or distributed by the
petitioners. Pet. App. 61a, 69a—70a, 77a—78a, 85a—
86a

The DeVrieses and the McAfees could not sue the
Navy for the injuries that they claimed to have sus-
tained from shipboard exposure to asbestos, because
it is immune from suit. See Feres v. United States,
340 U.S. 135 (1950). So instead they sued the peti-
tioners and dozens of other companies who made
equipment to which the Navy later added the asbes-

10

tos-containing materials that allegedly caused their
injuries. They alleged, among other things, negli-
gent failure to warn. According to them, the peti-
tioners had a duty to warn about the third-party as-
bestos-containing insulation and replacement parts
added to their products post-sale. And, according to
them, each breached that duty by failing to give a
warning about the dangers of asbestos.

The District Court granted summary judgment to
the petitioners in both cases. It held that equipment
manufacturers have “no duty” to “warn of the dan-
gers associated with another manufacturer’s ‘prod-
uct’ (or component part).” Pet. App. 29a—30a. Since
none of the petitioners made, sold, or distributed the
asbestos-containing products that injured DeVries or
McAfee, none were liable for the injuries that asbes-
tos caused. Pet. App. 18a—19a, 35a—37a.

4. On appeal, the Third Circuit consolidated the
DeVries and McAfee cases and then reversed. It
characterized the issue as whether a manufacturer
can be held liable “for an asbestos-related injury
most directly caused by parts added on to the manu-
facturer’s product.” Pet. App. 5a. After puzzling for
a few pages over the “vexing question” whether to
address the issue as a matter of “duty” or “proximate
cause,” Pet. App. 6a—9a, the court determined that it
did not matter: Either way, it said, the question is
whether the injuries were reasonably foreseeable,
since “foreseeability is a concept embedded” in both
elements. Pet. App. 7a—9a.

Because of this, the court viewed the case “as a de-
bate over what a bare-metal manufacturer could rea-
sonably foresee—no asbestos-related injuries, or
some?” Pet. App. 10a (internal citation omitted). So

11

framed, the court rejected the “bright-line rule” that
no bare-metal manufacturer could foresee asbestos-
related injuries because the alternative approach—
one in which some asbestos-caused injuries are “rea-
sonably foreseeable” to those who do not supply as-
bestos—would be more consistent with the principles
of maritime law. Pet. App. 5a, 13a. The court be-
lieved that a reasonable foreseeability test would
promote maritime law’s concern for the “protection of
sailors,” since that test would “permit a greater
number of deserving sailors to receive compensation,
and compensation closer to what they deserve.” Pet.
App. 13a, 15a.

The Third Circuit acknowledged that what is rea-
sonably foreseeable would “necessarily be fact-
specific.” Pet. App. 15a. Yet it tried to list a few sit-
uations in which liability is likely. For instance, a
manufacturer “may be subject to liability if it rea-
sonably could have known, at the time it placed its
product into the stream of commerce, that”:

(1) asbestos is hazardous, and
(2) its product will be used with an asbestos
containing part, because

(a) the product was originally equipped
with an asbestos containing part that
could reasonably be expected to be re-
placed over the product’s lifetime,

(b) the manufacturer specifically directed
that the product be used with an as-
bestos-containing part, or

(c) the product required an asbestos-
containing part to function properly.

12

Pet. App. 15a—16a.

The court stressed that these “may or may not be
the only facts on which liability can arise”; the “finer
contours of” its test would have to “be decided on a
case-by-case basis.” Pet. App. 16a.

5. Four of the defendants in the DeVries and
McAfee matters—Air & Liquid Systems, CBS, Foster
Wheeler, and Ingersoll—petitioned for review of the
Third Circuit’s ruling. This Court granted certiorari
on May 14, 2018.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The plaintiffs allege that John DeVries and Ken-
neth McAfee were injured from exposure to asbestos.
They concede that the petitioners did not make, sell,
or distribute the asbestos that allegedly injured
these sailors. Instead, they allege that the petition-
ers made equipment to which, years after the equip-
ment’s manufacture and sale, the Navy or some oth-
er third party added asbestos-containing materials
made by others. And, they say, the petitioners negli-
gently failed to warn DeVries and McAfee about the
dangers of those later-added materials.

The Third Circuit held that the petitioners did in-
deed have a duty to warn about the risks of later-
added asbestos-containing products if their use was
“reasonably foreseeable.” This case asks whether
that is right: Can equipment manufacturers be held
liable for failing to warn about the risks of third-
party products added to their equipment post-sale?

1A. Because the case arises under general mari-
time law—that “amalgam of traditional common-law
rules, modifications of those rules, and newly created
rules” that apply in admiralty, East River Steamship

13

Corp. v. Transamerica Delaval, Inc., 476 U.S. 858,
865 (1986)—the answer derives from common-law
rules and the principles of maritime law. These rules
and principles all require reversing the Third Cir-
cuit, and holding that those outside a product’s chain
of distribution are not liable for the injuries it caus-
es.

Start with traditional tort doctrine, under which
product manufacturers are not liable for injuries
caused by products made, sold, and distributed by
others. This traditional rule applies even when the
combined use of a third-party product with the man-
ufacturer’s own is foreseeable. For example, a tire
manufacturer has no duty to warn about the dangers
of the wheels for which the tire is specifically de-
signed, Reynolds v. Bridgestone/ Firestone, Inc., 989
F.2d 465, 471—72 (11th Cir. 1993), and the maker of a
component part commissioned for use in a log split-
ter need not investigate whether the component is
safe for its intended use, Childress v Gresen Mfg. Co.,
888 F.2d 45, 48—49 (6th Cir. 1989).

The rule limiting liability to those within a prod-
uct’s chain of distribution derives from two founda-
tional tort-law principles. First, defendants have no
duty to protect the public from third parties, even
wien the danger created by third parties is foreseea-
ble. See Restatement (Second) of Torts §§ 314—15.
Second, a defendant is not liable simply because its
conduct forms one link in the causal chain leading to
injury. There must be something directly connecting
the defendant’s wrongdoing to the plaintiff’s injury.
Holmes v. Sec. Investor Prot. Corp., 503 U.S. 258, 268
(1992). That direct connection is missing when third

14

parties make, supply, and sell the injury-causing
product.

Applying these rules to the asbestos context means
that equipment manufacturers are not liable for in-
juries caused by asbestos added to their products
post-sale. When asbestos is added to equipment
post-sale, either as insulation or in the form of a re-
placement part, the equipment manufacturer's only
connection to the asbestos is the foreseeability of its
use. As just addressed, that is not enough to justify
tort liability.

In addition to contradicting settled tort-law prin-
ciples, a foreseeability-based test for liability would
prove unworkable. “On a ship most things are con-
nected to other things,” and thus foreseeably used
with those other things. Stark v. Armstrong World
Indus., Inc., 21 F. App’x 371, 381 (6th Cir. 2001). So
if manufacturers of naval equipment had to warn
about the risks of all products that might foreseeably
be used with their own, they would have to warn
about innumerable other products, and sailors would
be inundated with warnings. This would lead to
overwarning, causing sailors to ignore those warn-
ings that are most important. And the risk of such
open-ended liability would increase equipment prices
without an offsetting gain to product safety. After
all, equipment manufacturers have no control over
the third-party products that are added to their
equipment post-sale, or the conditions in which they
are used. Moreover, they cannot prevent their cus-
tomers from purchasing asbestos, or search for non-
asbestos alternatives, dictate safety precautions, or
oversee the inclusion of warnings. Nor can they en-
sure that decisions to use such materials—and the

15

work practices involved—conform to evolving
knowledge. Subjecting these manufacturers to liabil-
ity would cause them to increase their prices (to
hedge against the risk of liability), while diluting the
incentive of those best positioned to reduce risk—the
makers and sellers of the injurious products them-
selves—-to do so. That is neither fair nor efficient.

B. The foregoing reflects the traditional com-
mon-law rule: Those outside a product’s chain of dis-
tribution cannot be held liable for the injuries that
product causes. This leaves only the question
whether the principles of maritime law dictate modi-
fying the common-law rule. See East River, 476 U.S.
at 864-65. They do not. The law limiting liability to
those inside a product’s chain of distribution fully ac-
cords with maritime law’s “traditions of simplicity
and practicality.” Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale
Transatlantique, 358 U.S. 625, 631 (1959). The easi-
ly applied rule yields predictable results, which will
lead to uniformity of the sort that admiralty jurisdic-
tion exists to assure. See DeLovio v. Boit, 7 F. Cas.
418, 443 (C.C.D. Mass. 1815) (Story, J.). And predict-
ability will also allow producers of maritime equip-
ment to “look ahead with some ability to know what
the stakes are in choosing one course of action or an-
other,” Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, 554 U.S. 471,
502 (2008), thereby promoting maritime law’s “fun-
damental interest” in the “protection of maritime
commerce.” Norfolk S. Ry. Co. v. Kirby, 543 U.S. 14,
25 (2004) (emphasis omitted).

Il. The Third Circuit's test, under which manu-
facturers must provide warnings about later-added
components whenever the risk of injury is deemed
“reasonably foreseeable” under the circumstances,

16

accomplishes none of this. A test that requires an-
swering an abstract question (is the risk of injury
“reasonably foreseeable”?) through the totality of the
circumstances will provide few clear answers. This
lack of clarity, and the difficulty of application, will
undermine maritime law's “traditions of simplicity
and practicality.” Kermarec, 358 U.S. at 631. And its
unpredictable application would contradict maritime
law's interests in uniformity and the promotion of
maritime commerce.

The Third Circuit purported to justify its approach
as promoting the welfare of seamen by “permit|ting|
a greater number of deserving sailors to receive com-
pensation, and compensation that is closer to what
they deserve.” Pet. App. 13a. But the relevant ques-
tion is not whether injured sailors can recover, but
from whom they can recover. To say that they should
recover does not mean they should collect from par-
ties (like the petitioners) that did not breach a duty
or cause their injuries. What is more, they can in
fact recover from other sources, including dozens of
“asbestos trusts” that have paid out billions of dollars
to date, RAND Corporation, Asbestos Bankruptcy
Trusts 28 (2010), available at https://perma.cce/5HY2-
H6DH, and that are required by federal law to con-
tinue doing so, 11 U.S.C. § 524(g)(2). In any event,
the Third Circuit’s exclusive reliance on the welfare
of seamen is misguided, since this Court has held
that maritime courts should not “expand remedies at
will simply because it might work to the benefit of
seamen and those dependent upon them.” Miles v.
Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 36 (1990). On top of
that, a concern for the welfare of seamen does not
support the Third Circuit’s approach, which will spur

17

companies to give more warnings than are necessary,
thus diluting the effect of important ones and there-
by impairing the safety of sailors.

III. In sum, traditional tort-law doctrine and the
principles of maritime law support the rule limiting
liability to those in a product’s chain of distribution.
Because the petitioners did not make, sell, or dis-
tribute the asbestos-containing products that alleg-
edly injured DeVries and McAfee, they are entitled to
judgment as a matter of law. Indeed, the facts here
vividly show that liability should be limited to those
inside the chain of distribution. That is because the
connection between the petitioners and the plaintiffs’
alleged injuries is significantly attenuated: The
plaintiffs allege injuries from exposure to asbestos-
containing insulation and replacement parts added
to the petitioners’ equipment years (or even decades)
after its sale. Those injuries were possible only be-
cause of a series of independent decisions—for exam-
ple, the Navy’s decision to require the use of asbestos
for decades after learning of its dangers, and the de-
cisions of innumerable third parties who chose to
make, sell, and distribute the later-added asbestos.
In light of the many independent decisions standing
between the petitioners’ actions and the injuries al-
leged, the petitioners did not cause those injuries in
any meaningful sense.

This Court should reverse the Third Circuit's
judgment, and remand with instructions to affirm
the District Court’s entries of summary judgment in
favor of the petitioners.

18

ARGUMENT

May manufacturers of naval equipment be held li-
able under maritime law for injuries caused by as-
bestos that they did not make, sell, or distribute, and
that Navy sailors and third-party shipbuilders added
to their equipment post-sale? Because no statute re-
solves this question, the answer turns on the general
maritime law—the “amalgam of traditional common-
law rules, modifications of those rules, and newly
created rules” that apply in admiralty. Kast River,
476 U.S. at 865. When determining the general mar-
itime law, admiralty courts look to “state and federal
sources,” including the common law. Id. at 864; ac-
cord The Lottawanna, 88 U.S. 558, 576 (1874). They
then decide, considering maritime law’s own “princi-
ples,” whether to incorporate the law from these oth-
er sources into maritime law. East River, 476 U.S. at
865.

Here, the common law and the principles of mari-
time law point in the same direction: Manufacturers
are not liable for injuries caused by products that
they did not make, sell, or distribute, even if those
products might foreseeably be used with their own.

I. MANUFACTURERS ARE NOT LIABLE FOR
INJURIES ALLEGEDLY CAUSED BY
THIRD-PARTY ASBESTOS ADDED TO
THEIR EQUIPMENT POST-SALE.

In general, there is no duty to protect the public
from third parties. In the products-liability context,
this means that manufacturers are not liable for in-
juries caused by third parties’ products. The reasons
for this rule are just as applicable at sea as they are

19

on land. The Court should recognize it as binding in
cases governed by maritime law.

A. Well-settled tort-law principles forbid
such liability.

The principle that a person is not liable for injuries
caused by someone else’s products follows from prod-
ucts-liability cases, from tort-law doctrine generally,
and from the purposes of tort law.

1. Products-Liability Cases. Courts have long
held that companies can be held liable for the inju-
ries that their products cause. In the Restatement’s
terms: “One engaged in the business of selling or
otherwise distributing products who sells or distrib-
utes a defective product is subject to liability for
harm to persons or property caused by the defect.”
Restatement (Third) of Torts: Prod. Liab. § 1 (1998).

Conversely, courts have traditionally held that
companies are not liable for injuries caused by others’
products. Car manufacturers need not warn about
the dangers of aftermarket parts compatible with
their vehicles. See Baughman v. Gen. Motors Corp.,
780 F.2d 1131, 1132 (4th Cir. 1986). Tire manufac-
turers have no duty to warn about the dangers of the
wheels with which they are compatible—even when
they are designed specifically to be used with those
wheels. See Reynolds, 989 F.2d at 471; accord Acoba
v. Gen. Tire, 986 P.2d 288, 305 (Haw. 1999). The
maker of dialysis machines has no duty to warn
about the risks of the third-party formaldehyde
used—at the maker’s recommendation—to clean its
machines. Brown v. Drake-Willock Int'l, Lid., 530
N.W.2d 510, 514-15 (Mich. Ct. App. 1995); accord
Dreyer v. Exel Indus., S.A., 326 F. App’x 353, 357-58

20

(6th Cir. 2009). And the manufacturer of a custom-
ordered component piece has no duty to investigate
whether its piece is safe for use in the customer’s log
splitter. See Childress, 888 F.2d at 49.

All of this fully accords with consumer expecta-
tions. The home chef who buys a butcher’s knife
would hardly expect a warning about the dangers of
other products—undercooked meat, for example—
with which the knife will foreseeably be used. Simi-
larly, a hockey player would be surprised to learn
that he could sue the maker of his skates for failing
to warn about the risk of head injury associated with
an improperly secured helmet. A swimmer injured
while diving into a shallow pool would not think to
sue the maker of her swimsuit for failing to warn
about the risks of diving without first checking the
depth. It would be absurd if a smoker could sue the
manufacturer of his cigar lighter or ash tray for fail-
ing to warn about the dangers of smoking. And it
would be equally absurd if a boater could sue the
seller of marine gasoline for failing to warn about the
risks of boating at high speeds.

Perhaps because a rule subjecting companies to li-
ability for the dangers of third-party products would
lead to these untenable results, few plaintiffs outside
the asbestos context have even argued for such a
rule. And, outside the asbestos context, those who
have made these arguments have failed. See, e.z.,
Brown, 530 N.W.2d at 515; Reynolds, 989 F.2d at
471; Baughman, 780 F.2d at 1132-33.

2. Tort Doctrine. The rule limiting liability to
those within a product’s chain of distribution derives
from foundational tort-law principles.

21

To start, one of the most “deeply rooted” principles
of Anglo-American tort law is the “difference ... be-
tween misfeasance and nonfeasance.” Prosser &
Keeton on the Law of Torts § 56 (5th ed. 1984). A de-
fendant is liable only for his own “active misconduct
working positive injury,” not for his passive “failure
to take steps to protect” victims from harms caused
by third parties. Jd. This traditional principle is
sometimes expressed as a “duty”: A defendant owes
no duty to protect the public from dangers that third
parties create. Restatement (Second) of Torts § 315
(1965). It can also be expressed as proximate causa-
tion: To recover in negligence, the plaintiff must
show that “/t/he actor’s negligent conduct” caused the
harm. Id. § 431 (emphasis added). Either way, the
underlying principle is that a defendant is liable for
the consequences of his own wrongdoing, not for fail-
ing to ameliorate the wrongdoing of others. And that
is true without regard to how foreseeable the third
party’s wrongdoing is; in general, no one has a duty
to stop, and no one can be held liable for, even fore-
seeable third-party misconduct. See id. § 314; ac-
cord, e.g., Iseberg v. Gross, 879 N.E.2d 278, 284 (Ill.
2007).

The second principle is related to the first: A de-
fendant cannot be held liable simply because its con-
duct forms one link in the causal chain leading to in-
jury. Instead, there must be something more directly
connecting the defendant’s wrongdoing to the plain-
tiff’s injury. Without this requirement, any affirma-
tive act serving as a but-for cause of a later injury
would subject the actor to liability. That would
amount to imposing a duty to rescue, since it would
obligate would-be defendants to intervene to protect

22

would-be plaintiffs from injuries caused by down-
stream actors. This principle is perhaps most natu-
rally expressed in terms of proximate cause, which
requires “some direct relation between the injury as-
serted and the injurious conduct alleged.” Holmes,
503 U.S. at 268. But it can also be thought of as du-
ty, as it is when courts proclaim that there is no duty
to protect against remote harms. See, e.g., Bryant v.
Glastetter, 38 Cal. Rptr. 2d 291, 296-97 (Cal. Ct. App.
1995). Either way, the underlying principle recog-
nizes that the plaintiff must prove something more
than a but-for connection.

Applied to the products-liability context, these
principles mean that a defendant is responsible only
for the injuries directly caused by its own products,
not for the failure to protect consumers against inju-
ries caused by third-party products foreseeably used
with its own. Again, one can think of this principle
under the rubric of either duty or proximate causa-
tion. The manufacturer of product A has no duty to
warn consumers against the hazards of product B.
And a plaintiff cannot recover against the manufac-
turer of one product for harms caused by a different
product.

The cases discussed at the outset reflect this prin-
ciple. See, e.g., Brown, 530 N.W.2d at 515; Baugh-
man, 780 F.2d at 1133; Reynolds, 989 F.2d at 471;
Childress, 888 F.2d at 49. Many others confirm it.
See, e.g., Dreyer, 326 F. App’x at 357-58 (6th Cir.
2009) (manufacturer of paint sprayer had no duty to
warn about dangers of product foreseeably used to
clean it); O’Neil v. Crane Co., 266 P.3d 987, 991 (Cal.
2012) (no liability for third-party asbestos-containing
replacement parts); Jn re Deep Vein Thrombosis, 356

23

F. Supp. 2d 1055, 1067-68 (N.D. Cal. 2005) (no duty
to warn about risks presented by seats foreseeably
installed on Boeing’s planes); Toth v. Econ. Forms
Corp., 571 A.2d 420, 423 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1990) (scaf-
folding company not responsible for warning about
risk of injury arising from scaffolding’s use with de-
fective boards); Newman v. Gen. Motors Corp., 524
So. 2d 207, 209 (La. Ct. App. 1988) (GMC not liable
for defective ratchet added to vehicle by a third party
post-sale); Gaulding v. Celotex Corp., 772 S.W.2d 66,
68 (Tex. 1989) (no liability without proof of which de-
fendant made injury-causing asbestos).

The rule limiting liability to those inside a prod-
uct’s chain of distribution is a “fundamental princi-
ple” of products-liability law. Gaulding, 772 S.W.2d
at 68. It applies without regard to whether the
plaintiff seeks relief in strict liability or negligence.
See O'Neil, 266 P.3d at 991; Childress, 888 F.2d at 48;
Lindstrom v. A-C Prod. Liab. Tr., 424 F.3d 488, 492
(6th Cir. 2005). Similarly, it applies to all theories of
products liability. Thus, manufacturers are not lia-
ble for the design or manufacturing defects of third-
party components (like wheels) added to their prod-
ucts (like cars) post-sale. See Baughman, 780 F.2d at
1132. And a “manufacturer generally does not have
a duty to warn or instruct about another manufac-
turer’s products,” even where “a third party might
use those products in connection with the manufac-
turer’s own product.” Firestone Steel Prods. Co. v.
Barajas, 927 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Tex. 1996); accord
Mitchell v. Sky Climber, Inc., 487 N.E.2d 1374, 1376

(Mass. 1986).
All this is true even for defendants who reasonably
could have foreseen that their products would be

24

used with the injury-causing product. That is clear
from the cases so holding. See, e.g., Dreyer, 326 F.
App’x at 357—58; Brown, 530 N.W.2d at 514; Reyn-
olds, 989 F.2d at 472; Childress, 888 F.2d at 47-48.
It is equally clear from the dearth of cases holding
otherwise. For as long as people have been starting
fires by striking flint against steel, they have been
using products together with other products. In all
that time, there have been innumerable situations
where the maker of a non-defective product was
more solvent—or for some other reason a more at-
tractive defendant—than the maker of the injury-
causing defective product. In all those cases over all
those years, plaintiffs’ lawyers have had strong in-
centive to sue the maker of the non-defective prod-
uct. Why, then, after all these centuries, are there
not more suits against those who made non-defective
products for injuries caused by defective products
foreseeably used along with their own? Why, for that
matter, did asbestos plaintiffs sue bare-metal manu-
facturers like the petitioners only after running out
of other defendants to sue? See Victor E. Schwartz &
Mark A. Behrens, Asbestos Litigation: The “Endless
Search for a Solvent Bystander,” 23 Widener L.J. 59,
61 (2013) (explaining the history of asbestos litiga-
tion).

The most logical explanation is that tort law has
never permitted such suits. Indeed, the sparse cases
imposing liability on one manufacturer for injuries
caused by another’s product are aberrant and widely
regarded as contradicting foundational tort-law prin-
ciples. Take the outlier cases holding brand-name
drug manufacturers liable for injuries caused by
their generic counterparts. See, e.g., T.-H. v. Novartis

25

Pharms. Corp., 407 P.3d 18, 29 (Cal. 2017). But see
Schrock v. Wyeth, Inc., 727 F.3d 1273, 1285 (10th Cir.
2013); In re Darvocet, Darvon, & Propoxyphene
Prods. Liab. Litig., 756 F.3d 917, 938-39 (6th Cir.
2014). Not one member of this Court imagined that
possibility when the Court held that failure-to-warn
claims against generic manufacturers are preempt-
ed—indeed, quite the opposite. See PLIVA, Inc. v.
Mensing, 564 U.S. 604, 625 (2011) (“acknowledg{ing]
the unfortunate hand that federal drug regulation
has dealt” those who are injured by generic drugs);
id. at 643 (Sotomayor, J., dissenting) (“[A] drug con-
sumer’s right to compensation for inadequate warn-
ings now turns on the happenstance of whether her
pharmacist filled her prescription with a brand-name
drug or a generic.”). That centuries of tort law have
not produced any widely accepted body of case law
allowing liability for third-party products is a good
sign that centuries-old principles do not allow it.

3. Purposes of Tort Law. A\l of this fully accords
with tort law’s purposes: Vindicating plaintiffs who
are wronged, and efficiently allocating responsibility
to the party best-positioned to stop the harm.

From one perspective, the main function of tort
law is to give remedies to people injured by wrongful
conduct. Tort law does this by imposing liability on
those parties who can fairly be blamed for the plain-
tiff’s injury. Attenuated connections do not count.
That is why a railroad that negligently fails to drop a
passenger off at her stop, and then buys her a hotel
room for the night, is not liable when an exploding
lamp injures her while she sleeps. Cent. of Ga. Ry.
Co. v. Price, 32 S.E. 77, 77-78 (Ga. 1898). It is also
why a campground cannot be held liable for failing to

26

warn patrons about the dangers on an adjoining
property. Fabend v. Rosewood Hotels & Resorts,
L.L.C., 381 F.3d 152, 155 (3d Cir. 2004). Both the
railroad and the campground played a causal role in
the plaintiff’s injuries. In neither case, however, is
the plaintiff seeking relief for an injury fairly at-
tributable to the defendant’s wrongdoing.

The same logic supports the rule limiting liability
to those inside a product’s chain of distribution.
These companies have control over their products;
they can test them, address any safety concerns, and
even stop the products from going to market. In con-
trast, those outside the chain of distribution cannot
control third-party products used with their own.
Holding them liable for injuries caused by these
third-party products would impose liability for harms
inflicted by someone else’s wrongdoing. That is ex-
actly the sort of attenuated liability that tort law
concepts like duty and proximate cause prohibit. See
Cent. of Ga. Ry., 32 S.E. at 77—78; Fabend, 381 F.3d
at 155.

Tort law’s concern with efficiency also supports the
traditional rule imposing liability only on those with-
in a defective product’s chain of distribution. From
this perspective, liability belongs with the party “who
is best positioned to avoid the loss.” NatT Union Fire
Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, Pa. v. Riggs Natl Bank of
Washington, D.C., 5 F.3d 554, 557 (D.C. Cir. 1993)
(Silberman J., concurring). “Placing liability with
the least-cost avoider increases the incentive for that
party te adopt preventive measures and ensures that
such measures would have the greatest marginal ef-
fect on preventing the loss.” Jd. And in the products-
liability context, even where the least-cost avoider

27

cannot prevent the injury, the prospect of liability
will lead to increased prices, and “the increased pric-
es will ... discourage consumers from purchasing
risky products and thereby lower total accident costs
to society.” Bynum v. FMC Corp., 770 F.2d 556, 571
(5th Cir. 1985); see also Richard A. Posner, Economic
Analysis of Law 183 (6th ed. 2003).

This Court has recognized that products-liability
law is built upon the least-cost avoider rationale; it
fixes “responsibility” for injuries caused by defective
products “wherever it will most effectively reduce the
hazards to life and health inherent in defective prod-
ucts that reach the market.” East River, 476 U.S. at
866 (internal quotation marks omitted). That ra-
tionale justifies limiting liability to those within the
chain of distribution. For one thing, those inside the
chain of distribution are the only parties positioned
to do anything about a potential defect; they can test
their products and fix them before they hit the mar-
ket. For another, imposing liability on those outside
the chain of distribution would blunt the incentive to
perform that testing. After all, if liability were im-
posed on those outside the chain of distribution, each
party within the chain of distribution would face a
lower risk of liability, and thus have less incentive to
improve product safety.

What is more, imposing liability on those outside
the chain of distribution would result in increased
costs not justified by an offsetting gain to safety. Any
company that may be held liable for selling a product
must increase its prices to account for that risk. The
added costs might be justified if they encourage con-
sumers to buy, and manufacturers to develop, safer
products. But imposing liability on those outside the

28

chain is unlikely to encourage the production of safer
products. That is because those outside the chain of
distribution are rarely capable of doing anything to
make third-party products safer. As the California
Supreme Court explained, there “is no reason to
think a product manufacturer will be able to exert
any control over the safety of replacement parts or
companion products made by other companies.”
O'Neil, 266 P.3d at 1007. Given this lack of control,
imposing liability on the manufacturers and suppli-
ers of safe products—forcing them to raise their pric-
es or exit the market—-would do little except discour-
age socially and mutually beneficial sales. That is
the definition of inefficiency.

In fact, imposing liability on those outside the
chain of distribution would undermine safety in the
failure-to-warn context, because it would lead to
overwarning. See id. Those who read warnings have
only so much time in the day, and they will ignore
warnings altogether— including the ones they need—
if they are inundated with useless ones. See, e.z.,
FDA, 73 Fed. Reg. 49603, 49605-06 (Aug. 22, 2008)
(overwarning may dilute other “more important
warnings” and “deter appropriate use” of beneficial
products); James A. Henderson, Jr. & Aaron D.
Twerski, Doctrinal Collapse in Products Liability:
The Empty Shell of Failure to Warn, 65 N.Y.U. L.
Rev. 265, 296-97 (1990).

Any modern consumer knows the feeling. A res-
taurant patron in California, for example, likely re-
ceives warnings “about olives, bread, and chicken be-
cause those foods” naturally “contain trace amounts
of substances known to cause cancer in rodents” at
much higher doses. Michael L. Marlow, Tho Much

29

(Questionable) Information?, Regulation 20, 22 (Win-
ter 2013-14). If she bothers to read this information,
it may deter her from engaging in perfectly healthy
behavior. More likely, however, she will just start to
ignore warnings altogether—including those that she
really needs.

To avoid this, courts should not take the view that
a party's “willingness to strengthen its warning is
something always to be encouraged.” Cerveny v.
Aventis, Inc., 855 F.3d 1091, 1102 (10th Cir. 2017). A
good place to start is with refusing to impose on
manufacturers “a duty to warn or instruct about an-
other manufacturer's products.” Firestone, 927
S.W.2d at 614. That at least removes the incentive to
issue warnings about products made, sold, and dis-
tributed by others.

4. Asbestos. Under the doctrine set out above,
equipment manufacturers are not liable for injuries
caused by asbestos added to their equipment post-
sale. When a third party makes an asbestos-
containing component, it puts a product of its own
into the stream of commerce. See Saratoga Fishing
Co. v. J.M. Martinac & Co., 520 U.S. 875, 884-85
(1997) (Gin maritime law, components added to a
product after its sale are “not part of the product” to
which they are added). Those outside the chain of
distribution thus owe no duty as to, and are not the
proximate causes of, injuries that the asbestos caus-
es. See, e.g., Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at 492-95; Grant v.
Foster Wheeler, LLC, 140 A.3d 1242, 1248-49 (Me.
2016); O’Neil, 266 P.3d at 996; Braaten v. Saberhagen
Holdings, 198 P.3d 493, 502 (Wash. 2008).

To see why this is true, first consider manufactur-
ers who made, sold, and distributed equipment with

30

no asbestos at all. This equipment of course presents
no asbestos-related danger unless some third party
introduces a danger through the manufacture, dis-
tribution, and installation of its own, separate prod-
uct containing asbestos. To hold the original equip-
ment manufacturer liable for this later-introduced
risk would contravene the rule that there is no duty
to protect the public from third-party actions. Re-
statement (Second) of Torts § 315 (1965). It would be
equally inconsistent with the concept of proximate
causation, which requires “some direct relation be-
tween the injury asserted”—here, an asbestos-caused
disease—“and the injurious conduct alleged.”

Holmes, 503 U.S. at 268. The connection between
the equipment manufacturer and the asbestos-
caused injury is quite indirect, since it depends on a
third party introducing the risk by producing and in-
stalling asbestos.

True, the bare-metal manufacturer might foresee
that asbestos-containing materials will be used with
its product. But that is not enough to justify liability.
If it were, the maker of dialysis machines would have
to issue warnings about the dangers of the chemicals
it recommends for cleaning its machines, Brown, 530
N.W.2d at 514, the tire manufacturer could be liable
for injuries caused by the wheel for which it was spe-
cifically designed, Reynolds, 989 F.2d at 471, the cut-
ler could be sued for the dangers of undercooked
meat, and so on. In each of these cases, the harm
posed by some third-party product is wholly foresee-
able. And in each, the manufacturer of the safe
product is not liable for the injuries that a third-
party product caused, because it neither owed a duty
nor proximately caused the injury.

31

The same logic applies to manufacturers whose
equipment originally came with asbestos-containing
parts that were replaced before the user used that
equipment. These manufacturers stood in the same
relation to any later-added asbestos as did the mak-
ers of asbestos-free equipment: Both could have
foreseen the future use of asbestos, but neither had
any control over third parties’ decisions whether to
use asbestos-containing parts in the future. Any in-
juries arising from later-added asbestos, including
later-added replacement parts, resulted directly from
third-party conduct. Thus, just like the makers of
equipment originally supplied without any asbestos,
makers of equipment with asbestos-containing parts
had no duties relating to, and did not proximately
cause any injuries arising from, asbestos added to
their equipment post-sale. See, e.g., Lindstrom, 424
F.3d at 492-95; Grant, 140 A.3d at 1248-49; O'Neil,
266 P.3d at 996.

All of this accords with tort law’s interest in giving
plaintiffs a remedy against those who wrong them.
As suggested above, once these manufacturers put
their equipment into the stream of commerce, they
could not “exert any control over the safety of re-
placement parts or companion products made by oth-
er companies.” O'Neil, 266 P.3d at 1007. Nor could
they exert any control over whether some intermedi-
ary, like the Navy, continued to require asbestos.
And these independent decisions to supply asbestos
and require it were often made over the course of
many years, even decades (as in DeVries). There is
no relevant sense in which an injury that results
from a series of independent decisions by the Navy
and third parties is fairly attributable to the manu-

32

facturer who supplied the equipment. At most, the
equipment manufacturer created “a mere condition”
that allowed some other party to take independent
actions that injured the plaintiff. The creation of
such a condition has never been enough to constitute
a “proximate cause.” Gilman v. Cent. Vermont Ry.
Co., 107 A. 122, 125 (Vt. 1919). What is more, impos-
ing liability would amount to a duty to protect
against third-party actions. These longstanding tort-
law rules show that manufacturers of equipment to
which injury-causing asbestos is later added do not
commit the sort of “wrong” for which tort law impos-
es liability.

That conclusion is even stronger when the plaintiff
was exposed to asbestos while working on complex
systems, such as propulsion systems in ships, see,
e.g., Conner v. Alfa Laval, Inc., 842 F. Supp. 2d 791,
800 (E.D. Pa. 2012), or steam-pipe systems in build-
ings, see In re New York City Asbestos Litig. (“Dum-
mitt’), 59 N.E.3d 458, 467 (N.Y. 2016). These sys-
tems generally consist of many individual component
products; for example, the turbines in a propulsion
system, or the piping in a heating system. If it was
important to use asbestos, it was important to the
system as a whole. Imposing liability on whoever
made the part of a system to which the injury-
causing asbestos happened to be attached would
make “the scope of a manufacturer’s liability turn on
what seems” to be a “fortuity.” Saratoga, 520 U.S. at
881.

Many of the same considerations bear on tort law’s
concern with regulating the conduct of product man-
ufacturers. The “curbstone philosopher'’s]” observa-
tion that “everything is related to everything else,”

33

Cal. Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v. Dilling-
ham Constr., N.A. Inc., 519 U.S. 316, 335 (1997)
(Scalia, J., concurring), is particularly true at sea:
“On a ship most things are connected to other
things,” Stark, 21 F. App’x at 381, so most ship com-
ponents will be used with other components. As a
result, imposing liability on everyone who made a
product foreseeably used with asbestos would risk
imposing liability on everyone who made or sold a
product incorporated into a ship’s (or a building’s, or
a car’s) asbestos-containing systems. That would no
doubt increase the price of each component, but it
would do nothing at all to improve safety. Worse, it
would dilute the incentive to make a safer product by
spreading the risk of liability to those (often solvent
defendants) outside the asbestos-containing product’s
chain of distribution.

The interconnectivity also raises concerns about
overwarning. Requiring each manufacturer whose
equipment was foreseeably used with asbestos to
warn about the risks of asbestos would have inun-
dated those tasked with maintaining that equipment
with warnings. And that would have presented dan-
gers all its own, because ships—especially war-
ships—pose many immediate risks to life and limb
that a sailor could miss if warned of every potential
risk. In this context, the more sensible approach was
the one the Navy adopted: Give warnings only of the
most immediate threats, dealing with long-term haz-
ards, such as those posed by asbestos, through train-
ing and other means. JA 39—40.

What all of this shows is that traditional tort prin-
ciples support the so-called “bare-metal rule,” under
which equipment manufacturers are not liable for

34

injuries caused by asbestos insulation and asbestos-
containing components obtained by the user from
other sources and added to the equipment by a third

party post-sale.

B. The principles of maritime law require
the same rule.

The next question is whether this tort-law doctrine
comports with the principles of maritime law. It

does

1. Principles of maritime law. The Constitution
gives federal courts jurisdiction over suits arising in
admiralty, thereby securing “a uniformity of rules
and decisions in all maritime questions.” DeLovio, 7
F. Cas. at 443. This uniformity protects parties from
being held to different standards in different parts of
the country, allowing them to “look ahead with some
ability to know what the stakes are in choosing one
course of action or another.” Exxon Shipping, 554
U.S. at 502. This predictability promotes maritime
law's most “fundamental interest”: “the protection of
maritime commerce.” Norfolk S., 543 U.S. at 25 (in-
ternal quotation marks and emphasis omitted). And
the benefits of predictability have fostered a
longstanding tradition of “simplicity and practicality”
in maritime law. Kermarec, 358 U.S. at 631.

Maritime law also has a long tradition of “special
solicitude for the welfare of those men who under-
took to venture upon hazardous and unpredictable
sea voyages.” Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc.,
398 U.S. 375, 387 (1970). The principle arose in an
era when courts viewed sailors as “ignorant and
helpless, and so in need of protection against [them-
selves] as well as others.” Warner v. Goltra, 293 U.S.

35

155, 162 (1934). While at sea, these men were at the
mercy of the ship and the captain. Given this dispar-
ity in power, maritime-law doctrines sometimes
make it easier for seamen to recover against their
disproportionately powerful employers. See Garrett
v. Moore-McCormack Co., 317 U.S. 239, 246 (1942).
This Court has never, however, used maritime law’s
concern with the welfare of seamen to adopt whatev-
er rule maximizes their potential for recovery. To the
contrary, it expressly stated that courts should not
“expand remedies at will simply because it might
work to the benefit of seamen and those dependent
upon them.” Miles, 498 U.S. at 36.

The Court has often turned to the foregoing prin-
ciples in determining the general maritime law. East
River, 476 U.S. 858, is illustrative. There, the Court
held that maritime law recognizes the “economic loss
rule,” under which “a manufacturer in a commercial
relationship has no duty under either a negligence or
strict products-liability theory to prevent a product
from injuring itself.” Jd. at 871. It relied in large
part on its view that rejecting the economic-loss rule
would impair maritime commerce by collapsing the
distinction between contract law and tort law, and by
subjecting maritime-equipment manufacturers to
large, unpredictable awards. Jd. at 871-75. “In
products-liability law, where there is a duty to the
public generally, foreseeability is an inadequate
brake” on liability, and “[pjermitting recovery for all
foreseeable claims for purely economic loss would
make a manufacturer liable for vast sums.” /d. at
874. So while state courts had disagreed about
whether to adopt the economic-loss rule, this Court
determined that the rule ought to apply as a matter

36

of maritime law, since it fit with that body of law as a
whole.

Similarly instructive is the Court’s decision in
Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale, which held that
maritime law does not incorporate the common law’s
distinction between invitees and licensees as it re-
lates to premises liability. 358 U.S. at 630-31. The
complexity of that distinction had caused courts “to
formulate increasingly subtle verbal refinements, to
create subclassifications among traditional common-
law categories, and to delineate fine gradations in
the standards of care which the landowner owes to
each,” “produc{ing] confusion and conflict” even in
the common law. /d. at 630, 631. “[T]o import such
conceptual distinctions’"—even _long-recognized
ones—“would be foreign to” maritime law’s “tradi-
tions of simplicity and practicality.” Id. at 631.

2. Applicability of the traditional rule. The
rule limiting liability to those within the chain of dis-
tribution fully accords with maritime law. For one
thing, it is predictable and easily applied. Courts
must only identify the injury-causing product and
ask whether the defendant made, sold, or distributed
it. If the answer is yes, the defendant might be lia-
ble. If the answer is no, the defendant is not liable.
This test avoids all the complications that would
arise from asking whether the interaction between
products is foreseeable, a complication that is espe-
cially serious on ships, where most things are con-
nected.

For another thing, the rule yields predictable, uni-
form results across the country, allowing those en-
gaged in maritime commerce and navigation to “look
ahead with some ability to know what the stakes are

37

in choosing one course of action or another,” without
having to worry about being subject to different rules
in different parts of the country. Exxon Shipping,
554 U.S. at 502. That promotes maritime law’s “fun-
damental interest”—fostering maritime commerce.
Norfolk S., 543 U.S. at 25.

Finally, there is maritime law’s interest in the wel-
fare of seamen. The traditional rule limiting liability
to those in the chain of distribution leaves sailors no
worse off than any other tort litigant. For instance,
they can still sue manufacturers of asbestos-
containing parts, just like anyone else injured by a
defective product. They also have access to asbestos-
specific procedures, such as the “asbestos trusts” es-
tablished in accordance with federal bankruptcy law.
These trusts, funded with the reorganizing compa-
ny’s assets, must “use [their] assets or income to pay
claims and demands.” 11 U.S.C. § 524(g)(2). In re-
turn for the establishment of this trust, the bank-
ruptcy court may enter a channeling injunction re-
quiring that asbestos claims be brought against the
trust rather than the reorganized company. /d.
§ 524(g)(1). More than 50 asbestos trusts have been
established. RAND Corporation, Asbestos Bankrupt-
cy Trusts 28 (2010), available at https://perma.cc/
5HY2-H6DH. Through 2008, these trusts had paid
out $10.9 billion in claims to “hundreds of thousands
of claimants.” Jd. at 13, 28. They will continue to do
so, since federal law requires such trusts to operate
in a way that “provide[s] reasonable assurance that
the trust will ... be in a financial position to pay ...
present claims and future demands.” 11 U.S.C.

§ 524(g)(2).

38

Of course, it is easy to conceive of liability rules
that might permit recovery by individual sailors
where traditional tort law does not. (“The sailor al-
ways wins,” for starters.) This Court, however, has
long denied that courts should adopt whatever rule
helps sailors the most. Miles, 498 U.S. at 36. And in
any event, the justifications for giving seamen “spe-
cial solicitude” are outdated and inapplicable to this
case. Centuries ago, admiralty courts believed that
seamen were “deficient in that full and intelligent
responsibility for their acts which is accredited to or-
dinary adults” and therefore needed “the protection
of the law in the same sense in which minors and
wards are entitled to the protection of their parents
and guardians.” Robertson v. Baldwin, 165 U.S. 275,
287 (1897). As Justice Story put it: “They are gener-
ally poor and friendless, and acquire habits of gross
indulgence, carelessness, and improvidence. ... Every
court should watch with jealousy an encroachment
upon the mghts of seamen ... because they are
thoughtless and require indulgence; because they are
credulous and complying; and are easily over
reached.” Harden v. Gordon, 11 F. Cas. 480, 483, 485
(C.C.D. Me. 1823)

It should go without saying that this conception of
sailors, especially Navy sailors, is worse than outdat-
ed. The disparaging characterizations, already criti-
cized more than 70 years ago, see Kelcey v. Tankers
Co., 217 F.2d 541, 548 (2d Cir. 1954) (Hand J., dis-
senting), are downright absurd today:

The modern reality is that most seamen are no

longer “friendless”; rather, they have gained

strength through collectivity, and they are a

well-organized work force with sophisticated

39

leaders who constantly press for better working
conditions, pay, and benefits, as well as in-
creased job security. Thus, the need for judicial
intervention to protect seamen has been sub-
stantially lessened.

Ammar v. United States, 342 F.3d 133, 146 (2d Cir.
2003).

The other justification for “special solicitude” is the
notion that seamen are at the mercy of the captain
and ship while at sea, and thus require special pro-
tection. See Castillo v. Spiliada Mar. Corp., 937 F.2d
240, 243 (5th Cir. 1991). But this justification is per-
tinent only when evaluating the scope of a captain’s
or shipowner’s duty to otherwise helpless sailors.
See, e.g., Atlantic Sounding Co. v. Townsend, 447
U.S. 404 (2009). It has minimal relevance in the
products-liability context, where the danger posed
bears no relation to the ship’s captain or owner.
Such cases do not involve the sort of inequality in
bargaining power this Court has cited as justification
for the special-solicitude rule. See Garrett, 317 U.S.
at 246.

3. Conclusion. The traditional common-law
rule—that product manufacturers are liable only for
the products they make, sell, or distribute—best im-
plements the principles of maritime law. So too is
the more specific rule that product manufacturers
are not liable for asbestos added to their products
post-sale. The Court should therefore recognize
these rules as a matter of maritime law.

40

ll. THE THIRD CIRCUITS ALTERNATIVE
APPROACH CONTRADICTS THE
COMMON LAW AND UNDERMINES THE
PURPOSES OF MARITIME LAW.

The Third Circuit rejected the bright-line rule
above in favor of the following approach crafted spe-
cifically for asbestos cases: A “manufacturer of a
bare-metal product may be held liable for a plaintiff’s
injuries suffered from later-added asbestos-
containing materials if the facts show the plaintiff’s
injuries were a reasonably foreseeable result of the
manufacturer’s failure to provide a reasonable and
adequate warning.” Pet. App. 15a.

The Third Circuit adopted this test for two rea-
sons. First, it determined that a product manufac-
turer “may be held liable” at common law “if the
plaintiff’s injury was a reasonably foreseeable result
of the manufacturer’s conduct.” Pet. App. 6a. Sec-
ond, it concluded that its rule would “permit a great-
er number of deserving sailors to receive compensa-
tion” than would the bright-line rule. Pet. App. 13a.

Neither justification is persuasive. Foreseeability
is not the test at common law, and the Third Circuit’s
approach cannot be justified simply because it af-
fords some individual plaintiffs greater recoveries.

A. Tort-law principles do not support the
foreseeability-based test that the Third
Circuit adopted.

The Third Circuit held that manufacturers may
have a duty to warn about third-party products used
with their own products when the risk of harm is
reasonably foreseeable. Pet. App. 5a—6a, 45a—46a.
The Third Circuit derived this test based on its mis-

41

taken belief that foreseeability alone creates a duty.
That is wrong, as even the New York and Maryland
Courts of Appeals acknowledged when they adopted
tests similar to the Third Circuit’s as a matter of
state law. Those courts adopted the foreseeability-
based test based entirely on policy concerns, without
regard to the doctrinal points set out above. Infra
42-48. As a result, the approaches used by all three
courts are as inconsistent with tort law as are the
tests they adopted.

1. The Third Circuit’s flawed approach. The
Third Circuit concluded that manufacturers are lia-
ble for all “foreseeable” results of their decision to
make a particular product. Pet. App. 6a—9a. This
foreseeability-focused analysis contradicts hornbook
law. As state courts across the country have held, in
“strict liability as in negligence, ‘foreseeability alone
is not sufficient to create an independent tort duty.”
O’Neil, 266 P.3d at 1005 (quoting Erlich v. Menezes,
981 P.2d 978, 891 (Cal. 1999)); see also, e.g., McKown
v. Simon Prop. Grp., Inc., 344 P.3d 661, 666 (Wash.
2015); In re Certified Question from Fourteenth Dist.
Ct. of Appeals of Tex., 740 N.W.2d 206, 212 (Mich.
2007); Murillo v. Seymour Ambulance Ass’n, Inc., 823
A.2d 1202, 1205 (Conn. 2003); Lamkin v. Towner, 563
N.E.2d 449, 454 (Ill. 1990). Lower courts sitting in
admiralty have recognized the same principle. See,
e.g., Reino de Espafia v. Am. Bureau of Shipping, 729
F. Supp. 2d 635, 645 (S.D.N.Y. 2010).

Thus, the principle that a defendant has no duty to
protect the public from the misconduct of others re-
mains valid even if an injury is foreseeable. For ex-
ample, a bystander has no legal duty to rescue a pe-
destrian who falls off of a dock and into the ocean,

42

even if it is entirely foreseeable that the man will
drown without assistance. In the same way, the
manufacturer of a product has no legal duty to warn
a consumer against the hazards of products made by
others, whether or not it can foresee those hazards.

Indeed, the leading state cases holding that prod-
uct manufacturers can be liable under state law for
injuries caused by later-added asbestos—May v. Air
& Liquid Systems Corp., 129 A.3d 984 (Md. 2015),
and Dummitt, 59 N.E.3d 458—acknowledge as much.
While foreseeability might be relevant to whether a
defendant violated a duty, courts “cannot recognize a
duty based entirely on the foreseeability of the harm
at iesue.” Dummitt, 59 N.E.3d at 470; accord May,
129 A.3d at 990. Thus, even the courts that agree
with the Third Circuit’s bottom line reject its ap-
proach.

2. The state courts’ flawed approaches. The
approaches that May and Dummitt used, however,
are equally indefensible. Neither seriously grappled
with the doctrinal points set out above, supra 19-25,
and each thus settled on a foreseeability-based test
at odds with these doctrinal principles, see May, 129
A.3d at 1001-11 (Watts, J., dissenting) (criticizing
the majority for expanding liability beyond what set-
tled doctrine or prior cases allowed). Both courts
characterized tort law as an exercise in policymak-
ing, and determined that imposing liability on bare-
metal manufacturers made good policy. According to
these courts, “the determination of whether a duty
exists represents a policy question of whether the
specific plaintiff is entitled to protection from the
acts of the defendant.” May, 129 A.3d at 994 (cita-
tion omitted). In divining sound policy:

43

the court must settle upon the most reasonable
allocation of risks, burdens and costs among the
parties and within society, accounting for the
economic impact of a duty, pertinent scientific
information, the relationship between the par-
ties, the identity of the person or entity best po-
sitioned to avoid the harm in question, the pub-

lic policy served by the presence or absence of a

duty and the logical basis of a duty.

Dummitt, 59 N.E.3d at 469; accord May, 129 A.3d at
989 (providing a similar list of “non-exclusive fac-
tors”).

Whatever its merits under state law, this free-
wheeling approach has no place under maritime law.
“Courts cannot give or withhold at pleasure” when
“exercising the limited jurisdiction of admiralty.” S.
Pac. Co. v. Jensen, 244 U.S. 205, 220-21 (1917)
(Holmes, J., dissenting). Rather than conducting
their own independent inquiries into sound policy,
admiralty courts must develop legal rules in light of
the common law and the “body of customs and ordi-
nances of the sea.” Id. at 220; see, e.g., East River,
475 U.S. at 864 (“body of maritime tort principles”).

In any event, the foreseeability-based, totality-of-
the-circumstances rules that Dummitt and May
adopted fail on their own terms. Dummitt held a
manufacturer must “warn of the danger arising from
the known and reasonably foreseeable use of its
product in combination with a third-party product
which, as a matter of design, mechanics or economic
necessity, is necessary to enable the manufacturer's
product to function as intended.” 59 N.E.3d at 463.
It then held that manufacturers who made products

44

much like the petitioners’ owed a duty to warn about
the dangers of later-added asbestos. Id. at 483.

May, for its part, concluded that manufacturers
have a duty to warn about the dangers posed by lat-
er-added asbestos when:

(1) a manufacturer's product contains asbestos
components, and no safer material is available;
(2) asbestos is a critical part of the pump sold by
the manufacturer;
(3) periodic maintenance involving handling as-
bestos gaskets and packing is required; and
(4) the manufacturer knows or should know of
the risks from exposure to asbestos.

129 A.3d at 994.

The first problem with these tests is that they con-
tradict the courts’ self-professed desire to “[cjabin the
duty” to avoid “exposing manufacturers to limitless
liability.” May, 129 A.3d at 995. As Dummitt put it,
courts “must draw a commonsense line at which duty
ends,” because the “duty to warn must have a logical
basis and scope that limits the legal consequences of
wrongs to a controllable degree.” 59 N.E.3d at 473
(internal citations and quotation marks omitted).

Neither the Dummitt nor the May formulation ac-
complishes this. Both use impossibly vague terms to
assess foreseeability. Take whether asbestos was
“necessary to enable the manufacturer's product to
function as intended” (Dummitt’s formulation) or
whether it was a “critical part” of the composite
product (May's formulation). The Navy eventually

stopped using asbestos-containing parts with its
equipment, replacing them with non-asbestos substi-

45

tutes, JA 38, so asbestos was never “necessary” in the
strict sense of that word. The courts presumably
mean something like “practically necessary,” but that
clarifies nothing. If there is an alternative to the
component that works only slightly less efficiently or
costs slightly more, is the dangerous component still
“necessary” to or a “critical part” of the overall prod-
uct? Who knows, but if the answer to that question
is yes, then courts—and manufacturers prospectively
trying to comply with the law—face intolerable bur-
dens. What if the safer alternative is only 75% as
efficient as the more dangerous alternative? What if
it is 85% as efficient but costs 10% more? What if it
just costs 15% more? What about 25%? Moreover, in
the Navy context, “necessity” is further complicated
because the Navy often required asbestos-containing
products in equipment. In such instances, such com-
ponents were “necessary” whether or not the asbes-
tos content was “necessary” in some technical re-
spect.

These aren’t the only imponderables that manu-
facturers will face. Whether something is “critical,”
May, 129 A.3d at 994, or “economically necessary,”
Dummitt, 59 N.E.3d at 463, cannot be determined in
a vacuum. For example, the Navy presumably has a
than commercial shippers, and a lower margin for
such deficiencies on battleships than on patrol boats
or oceanographic research vessels. On the other
hand, the Navy also has deeper pockets than inter-
national shippers, who may be wealthier than small-
time fishing companies. To assess whether a third
party’s hazardous product was “critical” or “economi-
cally necessary” to its own, then, a manufacturer

46

would have to account for many incommensurable
factors—including the relative danger, cost, and effi-
ciency of a host of possible third-party components,
the cost constraints within an industry, and so forth.
No one has provided useful guidance on how manu-
facturers (prospectively) or courts (retrospectively)
should balance these variables.

In addition to the uncertainty, there is another
problem unique to the asbestos context. As ex-
plained above, asbestos was commonly attached to
complex systems—heating systems, propulsion sys-
tems, and so on. Just about every component of
these systems was foreseeably used “in combination
with” asbestos. Dummitt, 59 N.E.3d at 463. And if
asbestos was necessary (or “critical” or “economically
required”) for any part of that system to “function as
intended,” then it was equally necessary for every
other part of it as well. To impose liability only on
the party that made the part of the system to which
asbestos happened to have been attached hardly
qualifies as “a commonsense line.” Jd. at 473

In finding a duty to warn about the risks of later-
added asbestos anyway, Dummitt and May both re-
lied heavily on their conclusion that the maker of a
durable good to which asbestos is later added is well-
positioned to learn of the risk and give a warning.
See Kermarec, 358 U.S. at 630-31. But the maker,
seller, and distributor of the asbestos are all better
positioned to give a warning about the dangers the
asbestos poses. Those parties can be sure that their
warning reaches either the user or an intermediary
with each distribution—someone will see the warn-
ing on the package. The maker of a durable good, in
contrast, can do little to ensure that warnings reach

47

anyone beyond the product’s first recipient, and is
powerless to adjust its already-distributed warnings
in light of newly discovered information.

Dummitt and May also stressed that imposing a
duty would not “saddle manufacturers with an un-
tenable financial burden.” 59 N.E.3d at 473. In
reaching this conclusion, Dummitt asserted that
“(pjrior judicial recognition of a manufacturer’s duty
to warn” had “not imposed extreme or unreasonable
financial liability on manufacturers.” I/d. at 473.
That assertion is itself doubtful; there is no good evi-
dence that modern products-liability law is cost-
justified, and good reason to doubt that it is. See A.
Mitchell Polinsky & Steven Shavell, The Uneasy
Case for Product Liability, 123 Harv. L. Rev. 1437,
1469-76 (2010); cf. Joanna M. Shepherd, Products
Liability and Economic Activity: An Empirical Anal-
ysis of Tort Reform’s Impact on Businesses, Employ-
ment, and Production, 66 Vand. L. Rev. 257, 261
(2013) (reporting “empirical results” indicating “that
several reforms that restrict the scope of products
liability have a significant impact on economic activi-
ty.”). In any event, prior judicial recognition of the
duty to warn has not (with any frequency, at least)
extended to the dangers of third-party products, and
thus shines little light on the reasonableness of the
burden that manufacturers will face under May’s
and Dummitt’s novel regimes.

Dummitt and May both asserted that any poten-
tial burdens are no big deal because of insurance. 59
N.E.3d at 473; 129 A.3d at 994. Again, it is far from
clear that insurance will be available in this new tort
regime, given the uncertainty of the risk. If it is, it
will be more expensive, and the added expense wiil

48

either force products from the market or lead to in-
creased prices. It is hard to justify this added cost,
given the dubious value of the additional warnings
that the Dummitt and May rules could spur, all of
which would be over and above the warnings includ-
ed with component parts, and over and above those
given by employers during training.

State courts are of course free, when applying
state law, to choose whatever rules they wish. But as
the foregoing shows, policy considerations do not
support the results in May and Dummitt, so those
cases are wrongly decided on their own terms. And
the test they adopted under state law is certainly im-
proper in the context of general maritime law, given
the policies undergirding that body of law.

B. The Third Circuit’s approach

contradicts the principles of maritime
law.

The Third Circuit reasoned that its foreseeability-
based approach best fit with maritime law’s interest
in the welfare of seamen, because it would “permit a
greater number of deserving sailors to receive com-
pensation, and compensation that is closer to what
they deserve.” Pet. App. 13a. On this basis alone, it
imposed its foreseeability test. Pet. App. 13a—15a.

This analysis suffers from three flaws. First, mar-
itime courts are not supposed to “expand remedies at
will simply because it might work to the benefit of
seamen and those dependent upon them.” Miles, 498
U.S. at 36. Second, while maritime law should per-
mit recovery for “deserving” sailors, Pet. App. 13a,
the critical question is: From whom do they deserve
to collect? Foundational tort-law and maritime-law

49

principles both point to the same answer: They de-
serve to collect from the parties who made, sold, and
distributed the injury-causing asbestos, not from sol-
vent bystanders that did none of these things. Supra
18-40. Finally, the Third Circuit’s test would likely
make sailors worse off. \t implicitly rests on the
flawed assumption that every warning is a good
warning. As addressed at length above, that is
wrong, especially on a warship. The Third Circuit's
rule gives maritime companies incentive to warn
about the risks of every product foreseeably used
with their own. The effect will be to drown out the
truly important warnings, thus impairing rather
than improving the wellbeing of seamen.

In any event, the Third Circuit’s test is incon-
sistent with maritime law. Its vague, open-ended
standard, which turns on how foreseeable was the
product's use with asbestos, would be unhelpful in
any context. But its application is especially compli-
cated in maritime-law cases. Once again: “On a ship
most things are connected to other things.” Stark, 21
F. App’x at 381. And for most of the 20th century,
many of those things were in some way used with
asbestos. As a result, anyone who made a product or
product-component for use aboard a ship arguably
could reasonably have foreseen that its end users
might be injured if not warned about the risks asbes-
tos posed.

The Third Circuit pointed to a number of scenarios
in which its foreseeability standard might be satis-
fied. For example, it suggested that a manufacturer
would be liable where it should have known that as-
bestos was dangerous and should have known that
asbestos would be used with its equipment because

50

its equipment came with asbestos that would need to
be replaced, because the manufacturer “specifically
directed” use with an asbestos-containing part, or be-
cause it “required an asbestos-containing part to
function properly.” Pet. App. 15a—16a.

These “fine gradations” and “subtle” distinctions
contradict maritime law's “traditions of simplicity
and practicality.” Kermarec, 358 U.S. at 630-31.
Consider the category of cases in which “the product
required an asbestos-containing part to function
properly.” Pet. App. 15a. The concept of “functioning
properly” is ambiguous, and would require courts to
draw hairline distinctions, often arbitrary, between
manufacturers. For example, few products on board
ships would be completely inoperable without asbes-
tos, and so the question is whether they operate so
inefficiently that they cease to “function properly.” It
is impossible simply and practically to identify the
point at which a product moves from “less efficient”
to “improperly functioning.” See supra 44-45.

The same problem plagues the prong of the test
suggesting liability for those who supply a product
with an asbestos-containing part or who “direct” that
it be used with such parts. It is true enough that
these manufacturers might reasonably foresee that
their products will be used with asbestos, but at
some point the manufacturer's liability must end.
For example, if a ship owner continued making its
employees use asbestos-containing replacement
parts decades after the emergence of a perfect,
cheaper substitute, its independent decision to do so
would constitute an intervening act that freed the
manufacturer from liability. See Nishida v. E. 1. Du
Pont De Nemours & Co., 245 ¥.2d 768, 774 (5th Cir.

51

1957) (defendant not liable when supplier of cattle
feed continued using defendant’s production method
after learning it was unsafe). As this shows, at some
point foreseeability can no longer justify liability.
But the Third Circuit provides no insight into when
that occurs. Does it occur once science identifies a
perfect substitute? Does it matter if the substitute is
more expensive? Does it matter how much more ex-
pensive it is? Does an almost-perfect substitute suf-
fice? How close must it get? Did manufacturers “di-
rect” the use of asbestos if the military required them
to recommend its use, and to reflect such use in their
parts lists? There is no simple, practical way of an-
swering these inherently arbitrary questions.

It only gets worse. The Third Circuit stressed that
these categories are non-exhaustive, and that liabil-
ity will necessarily turn on the facts of each case.
Pet.App. 16a. Thus, even if manufacturers and
courts can divine answers to the questions prompted
by the Third Circuit’s purported clarifications, many
others will remain, miring every solvent bystander in
intractable, unpredictable litigation and leaving
courts helpless to clean up the mess.

For all the same reasons, the Third Circuit's test
would undermine the uniformity that maritime law
is supposed to promote. Its open-ended, unpredicta-
ble test is incapable of consistent application. In-
deed, courts applying the foreseeability test have
reached contradictory results. Compare Dandridge
v. Crane Co., 2016 WL 319938, at *4 (D.S.C. Jan. 27,
2016) (duty to warn only if the defendant's conduct
makes the use of asbestos “inevitable”) with Kochera
v. Foster Wheeler, LLC, 2015 WL 5584749, at *4 (S.D.
Ill. Sept. 23, 2015) (concluding otherwise).

52

What is more, complex, unpredictable rules “are
too indeterminate to enable manufacturers easily to
structure their business behavior.” Kast River, 476
U.S. at 870. In East River, this Court rejected a fore-
seeability-based approach to products-liability law in
favor of a bright-line rule, precisely because the fore-
seeability-based standard threatened limitless liabil-
ity to those engaged in maritime commerce. I/d. at
871-75. The same concerns apply here. Foreseeabil-
ity in this context threatens massive liability, espe-
cially given the durable, interconnected nature of
ships. This risk will increase prices, lowering de-
mand and hampering maritime commerce from both
a consumer's and a supplier’s perspective. And since
the benefits of imposing liability on manufacturers
are uncertain at best, “[t}he increased cost to the
public that would result from holding a manufactur-
er liable in tort for injury to the product itself is not
justified.” Id. at 872.

Il. THE PETITIONERS ARE ENTITLED TO
JUDGMENT AS A MATTER OF LAW.

It follows that product manufacturers cannot be
held liable under maritime law for injuries caused by
asbestos that they did not make, sell, or distribute.
That rule resolves this case. It is undisputed that
none of the petitioners made, sold, or distributed the
asbestos alleged to have caused John DeVries’s or
Kenneth McAfee’s injuries. Pet. App. 4a, 61a, 69a,
78a, 86a. Each petitioner is thus entitled to judg-
ment as a matter of law, and the Third Circuit there-
fore erred in reversing the District Court’s awards of
summary judgment.

The facts here underscore why the petitioners
should not be liable for injuries caused by asbestos

53

that the Navy added to equipment originally supplied
by the petitioners. Again, the common-law rule can
be characterized in terms of duty or proximate cau-
sation. Either way, it reflects the notion that tort de-
fendants are not liable for injuries too attenuated
from their own conduct. Here, the Navy retained
complete control over the products used aboard its
ships. Thus, no party to this case disputes the Na-
vy'’s active involvement in the decision whether to
use asbestos; its ships used asbestos because the Na-
vy mandated that they do so. Similarly, the Navy
retained control over whether and how to warn about
asbestos. And given the Navy's control over warn-
ings, its preference for dealing with asbestos’s haz-
ards through training rather than through warnings,
JA 39-40, and its consistent rejection of asbestos
warnings, JA 76, 80, the only logical conclusion is
that it did not think warnings were justified.

All of this shows that the attenuated nature of the
causal connection between the petitioners and the
alleged injuries is particularly stark. Both John
DeVries and Kenneth McAfee claimed to have been
injured by exposure to asbestos insulation and asbes-
tos-containing replacement parts added to the peti-
tioners’ equipment years or even decades after its
sale. Therefore, between the petitioners’ actions and
the injury-causing event stand countless independ-
ent decisions by other actors: the decisions by third
parties to make, sell, and supply asbestos-containing
insulation and replacement parts, the Navy's deci-
sions to continue using asbestos, the Navy's decision
to address the risks of asbestos through training ra-
ther than through labeling or warnings, and so on.
The Navy, for its part, made these independent deci-

54

sions even though it appreciated the dangerous na-
ture of asbestos no later than 1922—and even
though, by the late 1930s, it knew the risks well
enough to have published reports recommending
that those working with asbestos take steps to avoid
inhaling it. Supra 4-6.

The petitioners had no control over these deci-
sions, and cannot fairly be said to have caused the
injuries that allegedly resulted. To hold otherwise
would be to impose on the manufactures of naval
equipment a duty to protect the public from the con-
duct of third parties. Contra Restatement (Second)
of Torts § 315 (1965). And it would ignore the rule
that proximate cause requires a “direct relation be-
tween the injury asserted and the injurious conduct
alleged,” Holmes, 503 U.S. at 268.

The common law reflects the collective wisdom of
generations of jurists. There is no plausible basis for
rejecting that wisdom here.

CONCLUSION

The Court should reverse the Third Circuit, and
remand with instructions to affirm the District
Court’s entries of summary judgment for the peti-
tioners.

55

July 9, 2018 Respectfully submitted,
Benjamin M. Flowers Shay Dvoretzky

JONES DAY Counsel of Record
325 John H. Jeffrey R. Johnson
McConnell Bivd., Vivek Suri

Suite 600 JONES Day

Columbus, OH 43215 51 Louisiana Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001

Christopher G. Conley __ Tel: (202) 879-3939

EVERT WEATHERSBY sdvoretzk y@jonesday.com

HOuFF

200 Cleveland Road,

Suite 6

Bogart, GA 30622

Counsel for Petitioner CBS Corporation

Brady L. Green John J. Hare
WILBRAHAM, LAWLER & MARSHALL DENNEHEY
BUBA WARNER COLEMAN &
1818 Market Street, GOGGIN

Suite 3100 2000 Market Street,
Philadelphia, PA Suite 2300

19103 Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Petitioner Counsel for Petitioner
Air & Liquid Systems Ingersoll-Rand Compa-
Corp. (successor by ny

merger to Buffalo

Pumps, Inc.)

Additional Counsel on Next Page

Christopher J. Keale
Afigo I. Okpewho-
Fadahunsi

TANENBAUM KEALE LLP
1085 Raymond Blvd.
One Newark Center
16th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Counsel for Petitioner
Foster Wheeler LLC

Continued from Previous Page

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0814%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
