# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Timbs v. Indiana, 139 S. Ct. 45 (2018) (No. 17-1091)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0812%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2018

## Text

No, 17-____

Iu Tye
Supreme Court of the Hnited States

°

TYSON TIMBS AND A 2012 LAND ROVER LR2,
Petiti
v.
STATE OF INDIANA,
Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Indiana Supreme Court

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DARPANA M. SHETH Wes.ey P. Horror*
SAMUEL B. GEDGE INSTITUTE FOR JUSTICE
INSTITUTE FOR JUSTICE 10500 NE 8th Street,
901 North Glebe Road, Suite 1760

Suite 900 Bellevue, WA 98004
Arlington, VA 22203 (425) 646-9300
(703) 682-9320
dsheth@ij.org *Counsel of Record
agedge@ij.org

Counsel for Petitioners

i
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Eighth Amendment's Excessive

Fines Clause is incorporated against the States under
the Fourteenth Amendment.

‘i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioners are Tyson Timbs and his 2012 Land
Rover LR2. Respondent is the State of Indiana. Addi-
tional plaintiffs before the trial court were the J.E.A.N.
Team Drug Task Force, the Marion Police Department,
and the Grant County Sheriff's Department.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. .....................ccc0ccc0eeeees i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ................... ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................c:ccccceceeeeees v
INTRODUCTION ...........cccccccccecceeeeeeesenennnnneenenenes 1
OPINIONS BELOW.................ccccccceceeeeeeeeenennnnnnnnes 4
JURISDICTION .............00000cceeeseeeeeeeeeeeeeeneneneeeeeeeees 4
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED..... 4
PERE S EINE crcccccccncnovccccccccveccnnenecnocnescccooooconecocees 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION. ..... 10

I. The Indiana Supreme Court’s decision

deepens an existing conflict over whether

the Excessive Fines Clause applies to the
eR iscescrecsanenceseeneecesvesscsncetouseanseintereseseteee 11

A. Two Circuits and at least 14 state high

courts apply the Excessive Fines
Clause to the States ...................66:008 13

B. Indiana joins Montana, Mississippi,

and the Michigan Court of Appeals in
holding that the Excessive Fines
Clause does not apply to the States.... 19

Il. The Indiana Supreme Court’s decision
conflicts with this Court’s precedent......... 21

Ill. The question presented raises issues of
national importance that warrant this
SI CE csveccetevccsncevesesnsssceesecencensceenee 27

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued
Page
A. The Excessive Fines Clause is a key
protection against punitive economic
sanctions by States and municipali-

GERI se cencnentosnvesnednasonesésubessenensescncstonsnecces 27
B. National uniformity is critical ............ 33
C. This case is a good vehicle for deciding
the question presented ........................ 36
ei itntictenentnrtindbiniiuntsantesctoneaninesenespenes 38
APPENDIX
Opinion of the Indiana Supreme Court (Nov. 2,
Se accenpecthncerienscidinnsasinaissiidatenbiiidanantinanesiiiodinpetentes App. 1
Opinion of the Court of Appeals of Indiana (Oct.
Se SE crcrtitnssnantnnteninanennimenneniinaiaseemnennend App. 13
Order of the Indiana Superior Court, Grant
County, Court 1 (Aug. 28, 2015).................... App. 27
Order of the Indiana Superior Court, Grant
County, Court 1 (Oct. 21, 2015)...................... App. 31
Order of the Indiana Superior Court, Grant
County, Court 1 (Nov. 9, 2017)....................... App. 32

Order of the Indiana Superior Court, Grant
County, Court 1 (Nov. 15, 2017)..................... App. 33

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASES
$100 v. State, 822 N.E.2d 1001 (Ind. Ct. App.

STi inisipuiasisnistncintadhaiiesiieindiiesbiipsnbicticanedibnsmnidanssibiaainieeipenieinsens 8
Agresta v. City of Maitland, 159 So. 3d 876 (Fla.

eas A I SIRT sicerticincatnriintnmndannengeetennsecetens 18
Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002)....................... 23
Attorney-Gen. v. One Green 1993 Four Door

Chrysler, 217 A.D.2d 342 (N.Y. App. Div. 1996) ........ 18
Austin v. United States, 509 U.S. 602

EE isdbiedsigsieseniaientinitgataniaddupiegunnipetsesninsees 2, 22, 23, 37
Baze v. Rees, 553 U.S. 35 (2008) ..................... 10, 12, 22
Bond v. United States, 564 U.S. 211 (2011)................ 34
Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. 496 (1987), over-

ruled on others grounds, Payne v. Tennessee,

ee Cee SID haticitehstctrenieneesocnnainisemneeseszese 10, 22
Bowman v. State, 81 N.E.3d 1127 (Ind. Ct. App.

2017), pet. for transfer pending.........................0.---+- 35
Broussard v. Par. of Orleans, 318 F.3d 644 (5th

SE IIE cncbdenhiccintsinsdiencumugiimnianniesiatinnininastniarmenens 14
Browning-Ferris Indus. of Vt. v. Kelco Disposal,

mG Oe passim
Claflin v. Houseman, 93 U.S. 130 (1876).................... 26
Commonwealth v. 1997 Chevrolet, 160 A.3d 153

PTL TIT icsiiciisccmsistasisuiniilichinhdéieaneidaitininitaniidetiabiapiainidensane 17

Commonwealth v. Fint, 940 S.W.2d 896 (Ky.
TE eri ee ar an ee a CE 16

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page

Cooper Indus. v. Leatherman Tool Grp., 532 U.S.
a iccturtdeniiartnionsiimnnnnnipeene passim

Cripps v. La. Dep’t of Agric. & Forestry, 819 F.3d
221 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 137 S.Ct. 305

Dami Hosp., LLC v. Indus. Claim Appeals Office,
No. 16CA0249, 2017 WL 710497 (Colo. App.
Feb. 23, 2017), cert. granted in part sub nom.
Colo. Dep’t of Labor & Emp. v. Dami Hosp.,
LLC, No. 17SC200, 2017 WL 3977989 (Colo.
I, Beis ee acinscitanineninnenninesmishinrananaticheteenmenanes 18

Davanne Realty v. Edison Twp., 972 A.2d 1164
(N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 2009), aff’d, 990 A.2d

Dean v. State, 736 S.E.2d 40 (W. Va. 2012)................. 18

Disc. Inn, Inc. v. City of Chicago, 803 F.3d 317
(7th Cir. 2015), cert. denied, 136 S. Ct. 1209

Se acnctanscnstenstiintscantaiutiditiniiinetateelinnianeimance 14
Ex parte Kelley, 766 So. 2d 837 (Ala. 1999) ............... 15
Galloway v. City of New Albany, 735 So. 2d 407

iI SII sosccicsnlachsbaSahsnieticibatiiacibiaishidebnsaanibteatigiiieivenens 20
Garcia v. Wyoming, 587 F. App’x 464 (10th Cir.

ETT wiiGhiiataceninsestacssitiinidadtsianepeiitamaimneeeesetineeens 14
Hall v. Florida, 134 S. Ct. 1986 (2014)....... 2, 10, 12, 22

Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957 (1991) ... 10, 22, 33

Hopkins v. Okla. Pub. Emps. Ret. Sys., 150 F.3d
ey NN Mee artinrientidiinneensianinitnasiaihideccnmmaatmninesennnes 14

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356 (1990) .......... 1, 21, 26, 38
Idaho State Police ex rel. Russell vy. Real Prop.,

156 P.3d 5661 (Idaho 2007).......................c.ccccccccceeeees 15
In re 1982 Honda, 681 A.2d 1035 (Del. 1996)............ 15
In re Forfeiture of $25,505, 560 N.W.2d 341

ES EE 20
In re Forfeiture of 5118 Indian Garden Rd., 654

N.W.2d 646 (Mich. Ct. App. 2002) .....00.0....... eee. 20
In re McKinney, 948 N.E.2d 1154 (Ind. 2011)............ 31
In re Prop. of Flores, 711 N.W.2d 733 (lowa Ct.

eet hanicadinseeianvinndainihenidinscieniiteiiddaneeebeecwnes 18
Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (1977)..................... 2
Kennedy v. Louisiana, 554 U.S. 407

Sei ntendtesisisitaaienitniiteiinddinpitintaingimnecone 10, 12, 22, 36
Knapp v. Schweitzer, 357 U.S. 371 (1958), over-

ruled by Murphy v. Waterfront Comm’n, 378

RE ee 19
Knox Cty. Council v. Sievers, 895 N.E.2d 1263

ee ee CE einiteniitrnnectsnnnnesennnesiarsennmiiens 31, 32
Leonard v. Texas, 137 S. Ct. 847 (2017)............ 3, 29, 30

Levingston v. Washoe Cty., 916 P.2d 163 (Nev.

1996), opinion modified on reh’g on other
grounds, 956 P.2d 84 (Nev. 1998)...........................- 17

McDonald v. City of Chicago, 561 U.S. 742 (2010).... passim

ese

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Minneapolis & St. L.R. Co. v. Bombolis, 241 U.S.
ee i hcdnciresicntccnnicnccedncapcantitsediaasqspiansremmneisimsemncenes 38
One (1) Charter Arms, Bulldog 44 Special v. State
ex rel. Moore, 721 So. 2d 620 (Miss. 1998).............. 19
One (1) 1979 Ford 15V v. State ex rel. Miss.
Bureau of Narcotics, 721 So. 2d 631 (Miss.
Sil iosecesustetsutiniapetedensnetmnnemntnniaaniinaniante 19, 20
One 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 v. Panola Cty.
Narcotics Task Force, 169 So. 3d 967 (Miss. Ct.
ie ei icesatetnitecstiainialaasiiietiadiatishinieiisiaiesinalaniatiniaiamerineneen 20
One Car v. State, 122 S.W.3d 422 (Tex. App
Sa Te a wisisnteinitivinhennntenennrandintiqninsindasienpitindinnibbasidainipititeietes 18
People ex rel. Lockyer v. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco
Co., 124 P.3d 408 (Cal. 2005), as modified (Jan.
Sis ST icicashniensilalvateiinideeiadeibbisinaiadatidagaaiaipimtianindinenscecees 15
People ex rel. Waller v. 1989 Ford F350 Truck,
642 N.E.2d 460 (TIL. 1994) 20. eceeeeeeeeeeees 16
People v. Antolovich, 525 N.W.2d 513 (Mich. Ct.
Es ee eridibrencinipnndnicudininntntdinbeneneieememnnpemnnncerens 20
People v. Castillo, No. 243968, 2004 WL 243417
(Mich. Ct. App. Feb. 10, 2004) ....0..0..... cece 20
Pervear v. Commonwealth, 72 U.S. 475 (1866)........... 19
Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896)...................... 34
Pub. Emp. Ret. Admin. Comm’n v. Bettencourt,
47 N.E.3d 667 (Mass. 2016) ......0.......0......cccceeeeeeeeeee 16

Qwest Corp. v. Minnesota Pub. Util. Comm’n,
427 F.3d 1061 (8th Cir. 2005).......20... eee cece eee 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Reyes v. N. Tex. Tollway Auth., 830 F. Supp. 2d

ee 12,13
Robertson v. United States ex rel. Watson, 560

ee TE cricersencenctitiininigniiiesivetntapmidinatinemtcnermennes 27
Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005)...................... 10
Sargent v. State, 27 N.E.3d 729 (Ind. 2015)......... 32, 33
Simic v. City of Chicago, 851 F.3d 734 (7th Cir.

Suse accinttiitiinneentatuscensnncinbeiiabtinicnaneccesientininnectnemesetess 14
State v. 2003 Chevrolet Pickup, 202 P.3d 782

Ss: STI rictiectictiinnennicisaindinedencnsnisiainidnndiianmaistibannnateanpions 19
State v. A House, 886 P.2d 534 (Utah 1994)............... 17
State v. Bergquist, 641 N.W.2d 179 (Wis. Ct. App.

UIT iiceibiita ihc bdhcilsnitidetitahrowitipntibiaiiniatlenieinitpniananicnenernte 18
State v. Hill, 635 N.E.2d 1248 (Ohio 1994)................ 17
State v. Leyva, 985 P.2d 498 (Ariz. Ct. App. 1998) ...... 18
State v. Real Prop., 994 P.2d 1254 (Utah 2000).....17, 18
State v. Rewitzer, 617 N.W.2d 407 (Minn. 2000)........ 16
Tellevik v. Real Prop., 921 P.2d 1088 (Wash. Ct.

ns Tt icncintiisintetensernainediiciinenndenetgindliimanceseenseetnens 18
Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988).....2, 10, 22
Thorp v. State, 450 S.E.2d 416, 417 (Ga. 1994),

abrogated on other grounds by Howell v. State,

656 S.E.2d 511 (Ga. 2008)........................2ceeeeeeeeeeeee 15
Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958)...............ccccceeceeeeeeee 23

United States v. Bajakajian, 524 U.S. 321 (1998)......... 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Vanderbilt Mortg. & Fin. v. Cole, 740 S.E.2d 562
Fey. Weihh Sei ensscvetccssncsccnsnisnidnsceonencapeanienbamedinasseness 18
Vanderbilt Mortg. & Fin. v. Flores, 692 F.3d 358
TS Saene Bape irtasnctnccnscccaccnsmsnsincnesnatenemisaniasniennans 14
Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702 (1997)......... 22
Wilson v. Comm’r of Revenue, 656 N.W.2d 547
I, GID tccecistinsisectasensiicsitapeitiaietininttanipcitaiaiisesiaasstinaas 16
Wright v. Riveland, 219 F.3d 905 (9th Cir. 2000)....... 13
Zelman v. Simmons-Harris, 536 U.S. 639 (2002)....... 34
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
ees CII, GIT, Wt is Ditccescescescocesssicorecensescesencsenieabiniaia 26
See Ge, III, Wit eccccsccssccccsssccesconnsesesoutican passim
U.S. Const. amend. XTV, § 1 .....................02...020 4,12, 23
Te, GE, GR, BO Ci tcrccnnsescnscsnncosnvectesncngniusieniaiaaiia 9
CopEs, STATUTES AND RULES
a ee ic icnccintinccvitinncnsisstescesnatinieemitaniiniieia 4
i ee irentiestntccseccsscatscastninsiactenceniinnbliin 30
Ind. Code § 36-43-4-2(a) ...........csesccccccccosesosesessssscssccesees 6
Ind. Code § 35-48-4-2(a)(1(C) ...........cccceceeseeeeeeneeeeeenes 6

Ind. Code §§ 35-50-2-4 to -7.............csccceessseeessseseeeeeeenens 8

xi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Beth A. Colgan, The Excessive Fines Clause:
Challenging the Modern Debtors’ Prison, 65

Beth A. Colgan, “Fines, Fees, and Forfeitures” in
Reforming Criminal Justice — Volume 4: Pun-
ishment, Incarceration, and Release (Erik
Ee

David P. Smith, Prosecution and Defense of For-
feiture Cases (LexisNexis 2017)................6.6..006

Findings and Report on Civil Drug Forfeitures
in Division 2, Including a Limited Number of
Cases in the Other Four Divisions of the Del-
aware Circuit Court (Ind. Cir Ct., Delaware

George F. Will, A Missouri town demands sub-
stantive due process, The Wash. Post (Dec. 11,
EE

Heather Gillers et al., Cashing in on crime: In-
diana law allows prosecutors to farm out for-
feiture cases to private lawyers — who get a cut
of the money, The Indianapolis Star, Nov. 14,
EES EE eee

Institute for Justice, Dick M. Carpenter II et al.,
Policing for Profit: The Abuse of Civil Asset
Forfeiture (2d ed. Nov. 2015) ................ccccccccceceeeeeees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~— Continued

Jennifer S. Mann, Lawsuit filed against
Pagedale for ticketing high grass and other
cae) eietatione, St. Lauie Tut Sagates Cten
GS ianaictictnsncmsscensnannnenatiatnneicinasinaiibeneednmintaspenens

Joseph T. Hallinan, Police can take crime cash
but can’t dish it out, The Indianapolis Star,

Laurence Claus, The Antidiscrimination Eighth
Amendment, 28 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol'y 119
ee brescsnessercsnnecmsmensseeenmeemntenennnenes

Office of the Att'y Gen., Order No. 3946-2017
(Federal Forfeiture of Property Seized by
State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies)
ee

Office of the Inspector Gen., U.S. Dep't of Jus-
tice, Audit of Henry County Sheriff's Office's
Equitable Sharing Program Activities, New
Castle, Indiana (Feb. 2017) ...............ccceeeeeeseeeeeveeees

Paris Lewbel, Take a look inside Indy’s FedEx

hub, the second-largest in the U.S., Indy Chan-
GS GERD, TER, GEG cccencnvccosececcceececessesnsvcncssnnseeveccseeces

Pls.’ Mot. Summ. J., State v. Jaynes, No. 49D01-
1111-M1-043642, 2012 WL 12974140 (Ind. Su-
per. Ct., Marion Cty. filed May 23, 2012)................

sss

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Steven G. Calabresi & Sarah E. Agudo, Individ-
ual Rights Under State Constitutions When
the Fourteenth Amendment Was Ratified in
1868: What Rights Are Deeply Rooted in Amer-
ican History and Tradition? 87 Tex. L. Rev. 7

U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Jnvestigation of the Fergu-
son Police Department (Mar. 4, 2015) .....................

1 Wm. & Mary, 2d Seas., ch. 2, 3 Stat. at Large
EE

1

INTRODUCTION

This case presents an unsettled question of na-
tional importance: whether the Excessive Fines Clause
of the Eighth Amendment is incorporated against the
States. Although the majority of state and federal
courts to consider this question have applied the
Clause to the States, a growing minority of state courts
have chosen not to. The Indiana Supreme Court in this
case aligned itself with that minority view, relying on
a sentence of “dicta” from McDonald v. City of Chicago,
561 U.S. 742 (2010), while acknowledging an open
break with other jurisdictions. See App. 8-9. Unless
and until this Court “authoritatively” holds that the
Excessive Fines Clause is incorporated against the
States, the Indiana Supreme Court announced that it
would “decline to find or assume incorporation”—or
even engage with the incorporation analysis. App. 8.

The Indiana Supreme Court’s decision deepens a
growing divide on the question presented. Although
two Circuits and at least 14 state high courts apply the
Excessive Fines Clause to the States, a minority of
courts—in Montana, Mississippi, Michigan, and now
Indiana—believe that the Clause does not apply. And
despite their “coordinate responsibility” to give effect
to federally protected rights, Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S.
356, 367 (1990), each of these jurisdictions has written
off the Excessive Fines Clause without evaluating this
Court’s incorporation precedent. As a result, Petitioner
Tyson Timbs—along with the 6.6 million residents of
Indiana and more than 13 million residents of the

three other minority jurisdictions—enjoys Eighth

2

Amendment protection against fines and forfeitures
imposed by the federal government but not against
those imposed by state and local authorities. See gen-
erally Austin v. United States, 509 U.S. 602, 621-22
(1993) (holding that the Excessive Fines Clause ap-
plies to civil forfeitures imposed by the federal govern-
ment).

Beyond exacerbating a split of authority, the Indi-
ana Supreme Court's decision also breaks with this
Court’s precedent. The Eighth Amendment embodies
three “parallel limitations” on the government's power
to punish: the Cruel and Unusual Punishments
Clause, the Excessive Bail Clause, and the Excessive
Fines Clause. Browning-Ferris Indus. of Vt. v. Kelco
Disposal, Inc. , 492 U.S. 257, 263 (1989) (quoting Ingra-
ham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651, 664 (1977)). Together,
these Clauses operate to secure a single, fundamental!
right to be free from excessive punishments. For that
reason, this Court has repeatedly observed that the
three Clauses are incorporated in equal measure
against the States. See, e.g., Hall v. Florida, 134 S. Ct.
1986, 1992 (2014); Cooper Indus. v. Leatherman Tool
Grp., 532 U.S. 424, 433-34 (2001); Thompson v. Okla-
homa, 487 U.S. 815, 819 n.1 (1988) (plurality opinion).
And by any measure, the Excessive Fines Clause is
deeply rooted in our nation’s legal tradition, making it
an obvious candidate for incorporation.

Moreover, the question presented is especially
pressing today. As disagreement among courts has
deepened, fines and forfeitures have exploded at the
state and local levels. Civil forfeiture in particular—

3

the basis for this case—-is now “widespread and highly
profitable,” causing “egregious and well-chronicled
abuses.” Leonard v. Texas, 137 S. Ct. 847, 848 (2017)
(Thomas, J., statement respecting denial of certiorari).
State and local governments “have strong incentives
to pursue forfeiture” in part because “many States
permit 100 percent of forfeiture proceeds to flow di-
rectly to law enforcement.” Jd. Additionally, prosecu-
tors enjoy procedural advantages in civil-forfeiture
cases—for example, no criminal conviction is needed,
the standard of proof is lower than in criminal cases,
and property owners have no right to appointed coun-
sel. And in Indiana, prosecutors sometimes have a per-
sonal financial stake in civil forfeiture because in
many cases—including this one—the government
farms out forfeiture prosecutions to private lawyers on
a contingency-fee basis. The impulse to use economic
sanctions “for raising revenue in unfair ways” could
hardly be stronger. See Browning-Ferris Indus., 492
U.S. at 272.

This Court has recognized that the Excessive
Fines Clause is an essential check on the government's
tendency to “use| | the civil courts to extract large pay-
ments or forfeitures for the purpose of raising reve-
nue.” Jd. at 275. But that protection carries little
weight if state courts can “decline” to apply it, as the
Indiana Supreme Court did here. See App. 9. Only this
Court can resolve the inherently national question
whether the Excessive Fines Clause is incorporated

4

against all 50 States. Because this case is an ideal
vehicle for doing so, the Court should grant certiorari.

°

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Indiana Supreme Court is re-
ported at 84 N.E.3d 1179. See App. 1-12. The opinion of

the Indiana Court of Appeals is reported at 62 N.E.3d
472. See App. 13-26. The opinions of the Grant County
Superior Court are unpublished, but included in the

Appendix at App. 27-34.
>

JURISDICTION

The Indiana Supreme Court entered judgment on
November 2, 2017. See App. 1. Petitioners request a
writ of certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

°

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Eighth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
provides: “Excessive bail shall not be required, nor ex-
cessive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punish-
ments inflicted.”

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S.
Constitutiou provides, in relevant part: “No State shall
make or enforce any law which shall abridge the priv-
ileges or immunities of citizens of the United States;
nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty,

5

or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of
the laws.”

=
as

STATEMENT

1. After his father died, in the winter of 2012, Pe-
titioner Tyson Timbs (“Petitioner”) received around
$73,000 in life-insurance proceeds. He used $41,558.30
to buy a car—the Land Rover LR2 at issue in this case.

At the time, Petitioner had recently moved to Mar-
ion, Indiana, to live with an aunt while he worked on
rebuilding his life. Back home in St. Mary’s, Ohio, he
had become addicted to hydrocodone—an opioid medi-
cation prescribed to him for a work-related injury.
When he could no longer find pills on the street, he be-
gan using heroin.

For a short time in Marion, Petitioner overcame
his addiction. But following his father’s death, he be-
gan using heroin again. With a new Land Rover and
more than $31,000 left to spend, Petitioner began driv-
ing the vehicle to Richmond, Indiana, and Ohio—some-
times on a daily basis—to buy heroin for his personal
use.

His money soon ran out, and Petitioner began
looking for new ways to fund his addiction. With the
help of a confidential informant, he arranged several
drug transactions with undercover officers. On the
first such occasion, Petitioner drove across Marion in

6

the Land Rover and sold officers two grams of heroin
for $225. Hrg. Tr. 26:25-27:02 (July 15, 2015). A few
days later, he walked from his aunt’s house to a nearby
gas station, where he sold officers another two grams
for $160. Hrg. Tr. 29:16-29:20. While driving to a third
transaction, Petitioner was pulled over and arrested.
No drugs were found in the vehicle (apart from a pre-
scription pill in the pocket of Petitioner’s traveling
companion). The Land Rover was seized.

The State of Indiana charged Petitioner with two
counts of dealing in a Schedule I controlled substance
(a class B felony, see Ind. Code § 35-48-4-2(a)(1)(C)) and
one count of felony conspiracy to commit theft (a class
D felony, see id. § 35-43-4-2(a)).'

Petitioner pleaded guilty to one count of dealing
and to the count of conspiracy to commit theft. The
trial court sentenced him to six years, with the first
year to be served in home detention and the remaining
five years on probation. Petitioner agreed to attend an
addiction-treatment program under court supervision.
He also agreed to pay police costs of $385, an interdic-
tion fee of $200, court costs of $168, a bond fee of $50,

‘ In a post-arrest interview, detectives asked why Petitioner
and his companion had no heroin in the Land Rover at the time
of their arrest, given they were traveling to a meeting at which
undercover officers expected to buy heroin. Petitioner told them,
“we thought about maybe just pulling up and, if he would’ve gave

me the money, just driving away . . . 'm not really sure what we
were going to do.” State’s Trial Ex. 1 at 19:23-20-:00, 21:03-21:25.

These statements appear to have been the basis for Petitioner’s
theft charge.

7

and a $400 fee for undergoing a drug-and-alcohol as-
sessment with the probation department.

2. Several months after Petitioner’s arrest, a pri-
vate ‘aw firm filed a case to forfeit his vehicle on behalf
of the State. The complaint “referred only to May 31,
“213”—the date on which Petitioner was arrested
while driving to the unconsummated third transaction
with officers. See App. 21.

Following Petitioner’s conviction, the trial court
held an evidentiary hearing on the State’s forfeiture
request. The court found that Petitioner purchased
the Land Rover legally using life-insurance proceeds
but used the vehicle to “transport ... heroin back to
Marion.” App. 28 {{ 2-3. Based on the record, the court
determined that forfeiture would be “grossly dispropor-
tional to the gravity of [Petitioner’s] offense” and thus
unconstitutional under the Eighth Amendment’s Ex-
cessive Fines Clause, App. 29-30 44 6-9. “While the
negative impact on our society of trafficking in illegal
drugs is substantial,” the court acknowledged, “a for-
feiture of approximately four (4) times the maximum
monetary fine is disproportional to [Petitioner’s] illegal
conduct.” App. 30 { 9.

3. A divided panel of the Indiana Court of Ap-
peals affirmed. App. 13-26. The court concluded that
“(t]he United States Supreme Court has yet to hold
that the Excessive Fines Clause is applicable to the
States.” App. 17-18 n.4 (citing Browning-Ferris Indus.
of Vt. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 276 (1989)).
Based on its own precedent, however, the court held

8

that the Clause applies in state forfeiture proceedings.
App. 17-18 n.4 (citing $100 v. State, 822 N.E.2d 1001,
1011 (Ind. Ct. App. 2005)).

After conducting the proportionality assessment
required under this Court’s excessive-fines precedent,
the court of appeals affirmed that forfeiture of Peti-
tioner’s vehicle would be unconstitutionally excessive.
App. 20 (citing United States v. Bajakajian, 524 U.S.
321, 334 (1998)). The court compared the value of the
Land Rover (about $40,000) to the maximum criminal
penalty that could be imposed for Petitioner’s offense
($10,000). App. 20-21.” The court considered the “finan-
cial burdens [that] had already been imposed on [Peti-
tioner] when he pleaded guilty.” App. 21. It further
concluded that the State’s request for forfeiture was
based on a single, unconsummated sale of heroin on
May 31, 2013. App. 21. “If the State wished to seek for-
feiture of the Land Rover based on [Petitioner’s] other
criminal acts,” the court reasoned, “it should have done
so more clearly in its forfeiture complaint.” App. 21-22.
Regardless, the court observed, “the only evidence be-
fore the trial court was that [Petitioner] sold heroin
twice, both times as a result of controlled buys.” See
App. 22 (noting that “[t]he remaining times he trans-
ported heroin, it was apparently for his own use”).
Based on this record, the court affirmed that

? Indiana sets a uniform $10,000 maximum fine for every
class of felony. See Ind. Code §§ 35-50-2-4 to -7.

9

“(florfeiture of the Land Rover . . . was grossly dispro-
portionate to the gravity of [Petitioner’s] offense.” App.
24.8

4. The Indiana Supreme Court granted review
and unanimously reversed. App. 1-12. Surveying deci-
sions that have addressed the incorporation of the Ex-
cessive Fines Clause, App. 5-7, the court concluded that
this Court “has never held that the States are subject
to the Excessive Fines Clause,” App. 5. Given the “lack
of clear direction from the Supreme Court,” the court
“decline[d] to find or assume incorporation.” App. 8. Be-
cause this Court has not “decide[d] the issue authori-
tatively,” the Indiana Supreme Court believed that no
incorporation analysis was warranted. App. 8. Citing
Indiana’s status as “a sovereign state within our fed-
eral system,” the court held that it would not “impose
federal obligations on the State that the federal gov-
ernment itself has not mandated.” App. 9.

The Indiana Supreme Court acknowledged that
its holding broke from the weight of authority. See App.
8. The court further acknowledged that “our colleagues
on the Court of Appeals and the trial court may be cor-
rect in foretelling where the Supreme Court will one

’ The dissenting court-of-appeals judge agreed that “the Ex-
cessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment may come into
play in a forfeiture case,” App. 25, but disagreed that forfeiture of
Petitioner’s Land Rover would be excessive, App. 26. Like the trial
court, the court-of-appeals majority addressed the Excessive
Fines Clause alone, noting that Petitioner did not raise the sepa-
rate protection against excessive fines under the Indiana Consti-
tution. See App. 18 n.4 (citing Ind. Const. art. I, § 16).

10

day lead on whether to apply the Clause to the States.”
App. 9-10. Nonetheless, the court declined to apply the
Excessive Fines Clause absent further instruction
from this Court.

ee
4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Four Terms ago, this Court remarked—correctly—
that all three Clauses of the Eighth Amendment apply
to the States: “The Eighth Amendment provides that
‘lelxcessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive
fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual! punishments in-
flicted,’” and “(t]he Fourteenth Amendment applies
those restrictions to the States.” Hall v. Florida, 134
S. Ct. 1986, 1992 (2014). The Court has reaffirmed the
same principles on a half-dozen other occasions: in
2008, Kennedy v. Louisiana, 554 U.S. 407, 419; Baze v.
Rees, 553 U.S. 35, 47 (plurality opinion); in 2005, Roper
v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551, 560; in 1991, Harmelin v.
Michigan, 501 U.S. 957, 962 (opinion of Scalia, J.); in
1988, Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815, 819 n.1
(plurality opinion); and in 1987, Booth v. Maryland,
482 U.S. 496, 501 n.5, overruled on other grounds,
Payne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S. 808 (1991). Put simply,
“the Fourteenth Amendment ... makes the Eighth
Amendment’s prohibition against excessive fines and
cruel and unusual punishments applicable to the
States.” Cooper Indus. v. Leatherman Tool Grp., 532
US. 424, 433-34 (2001).

11

The Indiana Supreme Court nonetheless con-
cluded that this Court has been insufficiently “defini-
tive” on the incorporation of the Excessive Fines
Clause. App. 9. For that reason, it “decline|[d] to find or
assume incorporation until the Supreme Court decides
the issue authoritatively.” App. 8. The court reached
this conclusion based on what it labeled “dicta” in
McDonald v. City of Chicago—in which this Court ad-
dressed incorporation of the Second Amendment, not
the Eighth. See App. 8-9. Indiana thus aligned itself
with a growing minority of jurisdictions that decline to
apply the Excessive Fines Clause when state and local
authorities impose economic sanctions.

Given the surge in punitive fines and forfeitures
at the state and local levels, the issue of the Clause’s
incorporation is more pressing now than ever. Only
this Court can answer the inherently national question
of incorporation, and this case presents the ideal vehi-
cle for resolving that question.

I. The Indiana Supreme Court’s decision
deepens an existing conflict over whether
the Excessive Fines Clause applies to the
States.

The Indiana Supreme Court’s decision turned on
what it called a “lack of clear direction” from this
Court. App. 8. While acknowledging that other courts
“have either applied the Excessive Fines Clause to
challenged state action or assumed without deciding
that the Clause applies,” the court elected to “await

12

guidance” from this Court. App. 8. This decision deep-
ens an existing split over whether state courts are re-
quired to enforce the federal protection against
excessive fines under the Eighth and Fourteenth
Amendments.

In large part, this growing divide stems from what
state courts—and lower federal courts—have per-
ceived as mixed signals from this Court. In 1989, for
example, this Court suggested that it had yet to “decide
whether the Eighth Amendment’s prohibition on ex-
cessive fines applies to the several States through the
Fourteenth Amendment.” Browning-Ferris Indus. of
Vit. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 276 n.22.
Twelve years later, however, the Court remarked that
“the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment ... makes the Eighth Amendment's prohibition
ments applicable to the States.” Cooper Indus. , 532 U.S.
at 433-34. But in 2010, the Court noted that “[wle
never have decided whether ... the Eighth Amend-
ment’s prohibition of excessive fines applies to the
States through the Due Process Clause.” McDonald v.
City of Chicago, 561 U.S. 742, 765 n.13. At other times,
the Court has observed that all three Clauses of the
Eighth Amendment apply to the States equally. See,
eg., Hall, 134 S. Ct. at 1992; Kennedy, 554 U.S. at 419;
Baze, 553 U.S. at 47 (plurality opinion).

These conflicting statements have left state and
federal ccurts split, leading to “a surprising amount of
confusion as to whether the Excessive Fines Clause
has been incorporated against the states.” Reyes v. N.

13

Tex. Tollway Auth., 830 F. Supp. 2d 194, 206 (N.D. Tex.
2011). The majority of courts that have addressed the
issue have applied the Clause to the States (Section A,
infra). A lopsided minority—now including Indiana—
have declined to do so (Section B, infra).

A. Two Circuits and at least 14 state high
courts apply the Excessive Fines Clause
to the States.

The Eighth and Ninth Circuits have applied the
Excessive Fines Clause to the States. So, too, have the
high courts of Alabama, California, Delaware, Georgia,
Idaho, Illinois, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota,
Nevada, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Utah, and West Virginia.

These courts view the matter as beyond serious
dispute. In Qwest Corp. v. Minnesota Public Utilities
Commission, 427 F.3d 1061 (8th Cir. 2005), for exam-
ple, the Eighth Circuit reviewed a local exchange car-
rier’s challenge to a state agency's $25.95-million
penalty. Drawing on Cooper Industries, the court held
that “[t}he Eighth Amendment’s prohibition of exces-
sive fines applies to the states through the Due Process
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.” /d. at 1069 (cit-
ing Cooper Indus, 532 U.S. at 433-34). Likewise in
Wright v. Riveland, 219 F.3d 905 (9th Cir. 2000), the
Ninth Circuit held that a Washington statute author-
izing deduction of inmate funds “is punitive and sub-
ject to Eighth Amendment scrutiny” under the
Excessive Fines Clause. Jd. at 915. And two other

14

Circuits—the Fifth and the Seventh——have frequently
remarked on the “open question” of incorporation be-
fore forging ahead on the assumption that the Exces-
sive Fines Clause applies to the States. Simic v. City of
Chicago, 851 F.3d 734, 739 (7th Cir. 2017); see also
Cripps v. La. Dep't of Agric. & Forestry, 819 F.3d 221,
234 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 137 S. Ct. 305 (2016); Disc.
Inn, Inc. v. City of Chicago, 803 F.3d 317, 319-20 (7th
Cir. 2015), cert. denied, 136 S. Ct. 1209 (2016); Vander-
bilt Mortg. & Fin. v. Flores, 692 F.3d 358, 374 & n.14
(5th Cir. 2012); Broussard v. Par. of Orleans, 318 F.3d
644, 652 (5th Cir. 2003).*

At the state-court level—-where judicial review of
state and local fines normally occurs—at least 14 state
courts of last resort have applied the Excessive Fines
Clause to the States:

Alabama. The Alabama Supreme Court holds
that “[t|he forfeiture provisions of our Code are subject
to the Excessive Fines Clauses of the Alabama Consti-
tution, Art. I, § 15, and the Eighth Amendment to the

* The Tenth Circuit appears to have taken both sides of the
issue. In 1998, the court analyzed the forfeiture of a state pension
under the Excessive Fines Clause, rejecting the constitutional
claim without commenting on incorporation. See Hopkins v. Okla.
Pub. Emps. Ret. Sys., 150 F.3d 1155, 1162-63. But, in a recent un-
published decision, the court affirmed the diamissal of a pro se
appeal in part because “the Excessive Fines Clause has never
been incorporated by the Fourteenth Amendment and applied to
the states.” Garcia v. Wyoming, 587 F. App’x 464, 469 (10th Cir.
2014).

15

United States Constitution.” Ex parte Kelley, 766 So.
2d 837, 840 (Ala. 1999).

wise recognizes that “|t}he Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Federal Constitution
... Makes the Eighth Amendment's prohibition
against excessive fines and cruel and unusual punish-
ments applicable to the States.” People ex rel. Lockyer
v. R.d. Reynolds Tobacco Co., 124 P.3d 408, 420 (Cal.
2005), as modified (Jan. 18, 2006) (quoting Cooper In-
dus. , 532 U.S. at 433-34).

Delaware Supreme Court has held that “it is clear that
civil forfeitures imposed pursuant to Delaware law are
subject to the constraints of the Excessive Fines
Clause of the Eighth Amendment.” Jn re 1982 Honda,
681 A.2d 1035, 1039 (Del. 1996).

Georgia. Answering certified questions, the Geor-
gia Supreme Court has held that “[t/he prohibition
against excessive fines of the Eighth Amendment does
apply to civil in rem forfeitures under [the State’s civil-
forfeiture law].” Thorp v. State, 450 S.E.2d 416, 417
(Ga. 1994), abrogated on other grounds by Howell v.
State, 656 S.E.2d 511 (Ga. 2008).

Idaho. The Idaho Supreme Court “has decided
that the Eighth Amendment’s prohibition on ‘excessive
fines’ applies to civil in rem forfeitures brought under
[the State’s civil-forfeiture law].” Idaho State Police ex
rel. Russell v. Real Prop., 156 P.3d 561, 564 (Idaho
2007).

16

Illinois. Th Illinois Supreme Court holds that
the Excessive Fines Clause applies to state-law forfei-
tures. People ex rel. Waller v. 1989 Ford F350 Truck, 642
N.E.2d 460, 466 (Ill. 1994); see also id. (“[Wle remand
with instructions for the circuit court to expressly con-
sider and determine the excessive fine issue.”).

Kentucky. The Kentucky Supreme Court has
recognized that “a punitive forfeiture is subject to scru-
tiny to determine if it violates the ‘excessive fines’
clauses of the Eighth Amendment to the United States
Constitution and section 17 of our Constitution, which
contain identical language.” Commonwealth v. Fint,
940 S.W.2d 896, 897-98 (Ky. 1997) (internal citation
omitted).

Massachusetts. The Supreme Judicial Court of
Massachusetts holds that “[t/he due process clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution ‘makes the Eighth Amendment’s prohibition
against excessive fines and cruel and unusual punish-
ments applicable to the States.’” Pub. Emp. Ret. Ad-
min. Comm'n v. Bettencourt, 47 N.E.3d 667, 672 0.7
(Mass. 2016) (quoting Cooper Indus., 532 U.S. at 433-
34).

Minnesota. The Minnesota Supreme Court has
invalidated fines under “the Excessive Fines Clauses
of the United States and Minnesota Constitutions”
alike. State v. Rewitzer, 617 N.W.2d 407, 415 (Minn.
2000); see also Wilson v. Comm’r of Revenue, 656
N.W.2d 547, 557 (Minn. 2003).

17

Nevada. The Nevada Supreme Court holds that
the Excessive Fines Clause places limits on state-law
forfeitures. Levingston v. Washoe Cty., 916 P.2d 163,
169 (Nev. 1996) (“While we conclude that excessive
fines analysis applies to civil forfeiture actions, insuf-
ficient evidence was presented to the district court to
determine whether (the government's] forfeiture of the
10th Street home violated the Excessive Fines
Clause.”), opinion modified on reh’g on other grounds,
956 P.2d 84 (Nev. 1998).

Ohio. The Ohio Supreme Court “holdis| that
forfeiture of property, pursuant to [the State’s civil-
forfeiture law], is a form of punishment for a specified
offense and, therefore, is a ‘fine’ for purposes of Section
9, Article I of the Ohio Constitution and the Eighth
Amendment to the United States Constitution.” State
v. Hill, 635 N.E.2d 1248, 1256 (Ohio 1994).

Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court
holds that “[t}he Eighth Amendment, and, specifically,
the Excessive Fines Clause, is made applicable to the
states through the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution.” Commonwealth v. 1997
Chevrolet, 160 A.3d 153, 162 n.7 (Pa. 2017) (citing
Cooper Indus. , 532 U.S. at 433-34).

Utah. The Utah Supreme Court has recognized
that “a forfeiture pursuant to [the State’s civil-
forfeiture law] is . . . subject to the limitations of the
Eighth Amendment’s Excessive Fines Clause.” State v.
A House, 886 P.2d 534, 541 (Utah 1994); see also State
v. Real Prop., 994 P.2d 1254, 1256 (Utah 2000)

18

(invalidating forfeiture as excessive fine “on the basis
of the United States Constitution alone”).

West Virginia. The Supreme Court of Appeals of
West Virginia holds that “(t]he Excessive Fines Clause
of the U.S. Constitution is applicable to the states
through the Fourteenth Amendment.” Vanderbilt
Mortg. & Fin. v. Cole, 740 S.E.2d 562, 570 n.10 (W. Va.
2013) (citing Cooper Indus., 532 U.S. at 433-34); see
also Dean v. State, 736 S.E.2d 40, 42 syl. 6 (W. Va.
2012).°

No.
2017 WL 710497, at *1 (Colo. App. Feb. 23, 2017), cert. granted in
part sub nom. Colo. Dep't of Labor & Emp. v. Dami Hosp., LLC,
No. 178C200, 2017 WL 3977989 (Colo. Sept. 11, 2017) (agreeing

(NJ. 2010); In re Prop. of Flores, 711 N.W.2d 733 (table), at *4
(lowa Ct. App. 2006); One Car v. State, 122 S.W.3d 422, 423 n.2,
428 (Tex. App. 2003); State v. Bergquist, 641 N.W.2d 179, 180 (Wis.
Ct. App. 2002); State v. Leyva, 985 P.2d 498, 504 (Ariz. Ct. App.
1998); Tellevik v. Real Prop., 921 P.2d 1088, 1093-94 (Wash. Ct.
App. 1996); Attorney-Gen. v. One Green 1993 Four Door Chrysler,
217 A.D.2d 342, 345 (N.Y. App. Div. 1996).

19

B. Indiana joins Montana, Mississippi, and
the Michigan Court of Appeals in hold-
ing that the Excessive Fines Clause does
not apply to the States.

The Indiana Supreme Court acknowledged part-
ing ways with the weight of authority on the question
presented. In so doing, the court aligned itself with a
growing minority of jurisdictions that have written off
the nationwide force of the Excessive Fines Clause.

In a civil-forfeiture case, like this one, the Mon-
tana Supreme Court refused to treat the Excessive
Fines Clause as incorporated against the States. State
v. 2003 Chevrolet Pickup, 202 P.3d 782, 783 (Mont.
2009). Reasoning that this Court has not clearly incor-
porated the Clause, the Montana Supreme Court de-
clined to “hold that the Eighth Amendment to the
federal constitution is applicable to Montana, when the
federal courts have not done so.” Id.

The Mississippi Supreme Court has taken a simi-
lar approach. Relying on a decision that predates the
Fourteenth Amendment, that court has twice re-
marked that “|t}he United States Supreme Court has
never held that the Excessive Fines Clause of the
Eighth Amendment is applicable to the states.” One (1)
Charter Arms, Bulldog 44 Special v. State ex rel. Moore,
721 So. 2d 620, 623 (Miss. 1998) (citing Pervear v. Com-
monwealth, 72 U.S. 475 (1866) and Knapp v. Schweit-
zer, 357 U.S. 371 (1958), overruled by Murphy v.
Waterfront Comm’n, 378 U.S. 52 (1964)); One (1) 1979
Ford 15V v. State ex rel. Miss. Bureau of Narcotics, 721

20

So. 2d 631, 634 (Miss. 1998). For this reason, Missis-
sippi courts evaluate excessive-fines defenses using a
unique state constitutional test. See Galloway v. City
of New Albany, 735 So. 2d 407, 412 (Misa. 1999) (dis-
cussing four-part test); One 2011 Chevrolet Silverado
1500 vy. Panola Cty. Narcotics Task Force, 169 So. 3d
967, 970 (Miss. Ct. App. 2014) (same).

Michigan’s lower courts have likewise rejected in-
corporation. Although the Michigan Supreme Court
has not considered the issue, the intermediate court of
appeals has three times declined to address properly
raised arguments on the ground that “the United
States Supreme Court has never determined that the
Excessive Fines Clause is applicable to the states
through the Fourteenth Amendment.” Jn re Forfeiture
of $25,505, 560 N.W.2d 341, 347 (Mich. Ct. App. 1996);
see also In re Forfeiture of 5118 Indian Garden Rd. , 654
N.W.2d 646, 648 (Mich. Ct. App. 2002) (similar); People
v. Antolovich, 525 N.W.2d 513, 515 (Mich. Ct. App.
1994) (“We decline to determine whether the $25,000
fine imposed violates the Eighth Amendment of the
United States Constitution.”). But see People v. Cas-
tillo, No. 243968, 2004 WL 243417, at *1 (Mich. Ct.
App. Feb. 10, 2004) (non-precedential) (“[Wle note that
the Supreme Court recently held that the Due Process
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment ‘makes the
Eighth Amendment’s prohibition against excessive
fines ... applicable to the States.’”). Like the high
courts of Indiana, Montana, and Mississippi, the
Michigan Court of Appeals conducted no meaningful
analysis of whether the Fourteenth Amendment

21

incorporates the Clause against the States. Rather, the
court refused to apply the Clause based on the absence
of a sufficiently definitive ruling from this Court.

In sum, the state courts taking the minority posi-
tion have placed the onus on this Court to more clearly
hold that the Excessive Fines Clause is incorporated.
All of these courts—like the Indiana Supreme Court in
this case—have decided that they will not enforce
excessive-fines defenses under the Eighth Amendment
until this Court decides the question presented.

Ii. The Lodiana Supreme Court’s decision con-
flicts with this Court’s precedent.

Review is also warranted because the Indiana Su-
preme Court’s decision conflicts with this Court's in-
corporation precedent. By any measure, the Eighth
Amendment’s protection against excessive fines is
deeply rooted in our nation’s legal tradition, making it
a clear candidate for incorporation. By declining to ap-
ply the Clause, the Indiana Supreme Court thus broke
with this Court’s precedent at a fundamental level.
The court compounded that error by failing to under-
take the incorporation analysis. By “awaitling|] guid-
ance” from this Court, App. 8, the Indiana Supreme
Court neglected its “coordinate responsibility” to deter-
mine whether the Clause protects people like Peti-
tioner from excessive fines imposed by state and local
authorities, see Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356, 367
(1990).

22

1. The Excessive Fines Clause applies to the
States under a straightforward application of this
Court’s precedent. Along with the other Civil War
Amendments, the Fourteenth Amendment “fundamen-
tally altered our country’s federal system.” McDonald,
561 U.S. at 754. And under the selective-incorporation
doctrine, “almost all of the provisions of the Bill of
Rights” apply not just to the federal government, but
to the States and municipalities as well. Id. at 764; see
also id. (“The Court ... shed any reluctance to hold
that rights guaranteed by the Bill of Rights met the
requirements for protection under the Due Process
Clause.”). In determining whether one of the Bill of
Rights’ provisions applies to the States, the Court asks
whether the right in question “is fundamental to our
scheme of ordered liberty,” id. at 767 (emphasis omit-
ted), and, relatedly, whether it “is ‘deeply rooted in this
Nation’s history and tradition,” id. (quoting Washing-
ton v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 721 (1997)). Unsurpris-
ingly, virtually all of the rights the Framers enshrined
in the first eight amendments satisfy this test.

The Eighth Amendment’s protection against ex-
cessive fines is no different. On at least seven occa-
sions, this Court has said that the Clause applies to the
States by way of the Fourteenth Amendment.* Like the
protections against “cruel and unusual punishments”
and “excessive bail”—-which the Court long ago applied

* Hall, 134 S. Ct. at 1992; Kennedy, 554 U.S. at 419; Baze, 553
US. at 47 (plurality opinion); Cooper Indus., 532 U.S. at 433-34;
Harmelin, 501 U.S. at 962 (opinion of Scalia, J.); Thompson, 487
US. at 819 n.1 (plurality opinion); Booth, 482 U.S. at 501 n.5.

23

to the States—the Excessive Fines Clause “prevent(|s]
the government from abusing its power to punish.”
Austin v. United States, 509 U.S. 602, 607 (1993) (em-
phasis omitted). Together, the three Clauses “place! |
limits on the steps a government may take against an
individual, whether it be keeping him in prison, impos-
ing excessive monetary sanctions, or using cruel and
unusual punishments.” Browning-Ferris Indus., 492
US. at 275. By working in harmony “to prohibit all ex-
cessive punishments,” Atkins v. Virginia, 536 U.S. 304,
311 n.7 (2002), the Clauses secure Americans’ life, lib-
erty, and property, see U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1.
There is thus “no reason to distinguish one Clause of
the Eighth Amendment from another for purposes of
incorporation.” Browning-Ferris Indus. , 492 U.S. at 284
(O’Connor, J., concurring in part and dissenting in
part). All three Clauses stand as “parallel limitations”
securing the same unitary right to be free from dispro-
portionate punishment. See id. at 263 (majority opin-
ion); cf Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 100 (1958) (plurality
opinion) (“The basic concept underlying the Eighth
Amendment is nothing less than the dignity of man.”).

Like the rest of the Eighth Amendment, of
course, the Excessive Fines Clause is also “deeply
rooted” in our constitutional tradition. See McDonald,
561 U.S. at 767. At the time of ratification, “at least
eight of the original States . . . had some equivalent of
the Excessive Fines Clause in their respective Decla-
rations of Rights or State Constitutions.” Browning-
Ferris Indus., 492 U.S. at 264. The Eighth Amend-
ment’s language was borrowed from the Virginia

24

Declaration of Rights, which drew from the 1689 Eng-
lish Bill of Rights, which in turn declared that “exces-
sive Bail ought not to be required, nor excessive Fines
imposed; nor cruel and unusual Punishments in-
flicted.” 1 Wm. & Mary, 2d Sess., ch. 2, 3 Stat. at Large
440, 441 (1689), quoted in Browning-Ferris Indus. , 492
U.S. at 266-67. Blackstone traced the constitutional
protection against excessive fines back further still, to
Magna Carta, and before that to the reign of Henry II.
See 4 William Blackstone, Commentaries *372; see gen-
erally McDonald, 561 U.S. at 768 (looking to Black-
stone and the English Bill of Rights to determine that
the Second Amendment is incorporated).

The same mistrust of the government’s power
to punish inspired the Eighth Amendment. The “pri-
mary focus” of the Amendment “was the potential
for governmental abuse of its ‘prosecutorial’ power,”
Browning-Ferris Indus. , 492 U.S. at 266, with the Ex-
cessive Fines Clause in particular “limiting the ability
of the sovereign to use its prosecutorial power, includ-
ing the power to collect fines, for improper ends,” id. at
267. In adopting the Eighth Amendment, the Framers
thus “uncritically claim|ed] a liberty of their heritage.”
See Laurence Claus, The Antidiscrimination Eighth
Amendment, 28 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 119, 134 (2004).
Relying on Anglo-American legal traditions, they rec-
ognized that economic sanctions can ° »:pose burdens
no less punishing than incarceration; an excessive fine,
after all, can “amount|| to imprisonment for life.” 4
William Blackstone Commentaries *373. When the
Fourteenth Amendment was ratified, in 1868, these

25

same concerns persisted. By that time, 35 state consti-
tutions included protections against excessive fines.
See Steven G. Calabresi & Sarah E. Agudo, Individual
Rights Under State Constitutions When the Fourteenth
Amendment Was Ratified in 1868: What Rights Are
Deeply Rooted in American History and Tradition? , 87
Tex. L. Rev. 7, 82 (2008); cf McDonald, 561 U.S. at 769,
777 (looking to state constitutions during the periods
surrounding ratification of the Bill of Rights and the
Fourteenth Amendment to determine incorporation).

For these reasons, the Framers counted the pro-
tection against excessive fines as among those funda-
mental rights that are essential to our system of
ordered liberty, and the Fourteenth Amendment's
ratifiers intended that protection to apply to the
States.

2. Like the courts of Montana, Mississippi, and
Michigan, the Indiana Supreme Court took account of
none of these principles. In that court’s view, it was
enough that this Court has not issued a “definitive
holding” on the question of the Excessive Fines
Clause’s incorporation. App. 9. And because “Indiana is
a sovereign state within our federal system,” the court
“elect(ed]| not to impose federal obligations on the State
that the federal government itself has not mandated.”
App. 9. Until this Court “decides the issue authorita-
tively,” the Indiana Supreme Court thus announced
that it would “decline to subject Indiana to a federal
test that may operate to impede development of our
own excessive-fines jurisprudence under the Indiana
Constitution.” App. 8, 9 (emphasis in original).

26

Far from being “cautious,” App. 8, this reasoning
raises grave constitutional concerns in its own right.
Our federal system “charges state courts with a coor-
dinate responsibility” to give effect to all Americans’
federally protected rights. Howlett, 496 U.S. at 367.
This includes deciding whether federal constitutional
provisions like the Excessive Fines Clause protect
against penalties levied by state and local govern-
ments. For “the Constitution and laws passed pursuant
to it are as much laws in the States as laws passed by
the state legislature.” Id. ; see also Claflin v. Houseman,
93 U.S. 130, 137 (1876) (explaining that federal and
state courts both must enforce “the laws of the United
States”). By declining to engage with this issue, the In-
diana Supreme Court thus effectively “den|ied| a fed-
eral right.” Howlett, 496 U.S. at 369.

By dismissing the Excessive Fines Clause as “a
federal test” that could “impede development” of state
law, App. 9, the Indiana Supreme Court also misunder-
stood the supremacy of the federal Constitution, see
U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2. State courts—no less than fed-
eral courts—must give effect to the Constitution. And
it is never the case that a constitutional protection
should remain unincorporated simply to avoid interfer-
ing with state laws. See McDonald, 561 U.S. at 790
(plurality opinion) (“Incorporation always restricts ex-
perimentation and local variations, but that hae not
stopped the Court from incorporating virtually eve: y
other provision of the Bill of Rights.”). Yet the Indiana
Supreme Court’s reasoning begins and ends with that
flawed premise. See App. 9. The Court should thus
grant certiorari, reaffirm the state courts’ coordinate

27

duty to enforce federally protected rights, and hold
that the Excessive Fines Clause is incorporated
against the States.

Itl. The question presented raises issues of na-
tional importance that warrant this Court’s
review.

As suggested by the number of courts that have
considered the question presented, see pp. 13-21, su-
pra, whether the Excessive Fines Clause applies to the
States is an important and recurring issue. It is im-
portant in all 50 States (and countless localities),
which levy fines and forfeit property on a daily basis.
And it is important to the many Americans every year
targeted for punitive economic sanctions by state and
local authorities. As the Indiana Supreme Court put it,
only a “definitive holding” from this Court (App. 9) will
guarantee that the Clause can act as a truly national
counterweight to the “terrifying force of the criminal
justice system.” Robertson v. United States ex rel. Wat-
son, 560 U.S. 272, 273 (2010) (Roberts, C.J., dissenting
from dismissal of certiorari). There is no reason to wait
to resolve the question presented, and this case is the
perfect vehicle in which to do so.

A. The Excessive Fines Clause is a key pro-
tection against punitive economic sanc-
tions by States and municipalities.

The main evil addressed by the Excessive Fines

Clause—like its precursors in the English Bill of

28

Rights and Magna Carta—is the sovereign impulse to
“usel | the civil courts to extract large payments or for-
feitures for the purpose of raising revenue or disabling
some individual.” See Browning-Ferris Indus. , 492 U.S.
at 275. This constitutional safety valve is as urgently
needed today as ever. Particularly at the state and lo-
cal levels, “many lawmakers use economic sanctions in
order to avoid increasing taxes while maintaining gov-
ernmental services, with some lawmakers even includ-
ing increases to revenues generated from economic
sanctions in projected budgets.” Beth A. Colgan, The
Excessive Fines Clause: Challenging the Modern Debt-
ors’ Prison, 65 UCLA L. Rev. (forthcoming 2018) (foot-
notes omitted).

Like the Stuart practices that inspired the Exces-
sive Fines Clause, modern economic sanctions also
“target the politically vulnerable.” Jd. “Fines, fees,
and forfeitures can have devastating consequences on
those who are financially vulnerable, particularly in
low-income communities and communities of color
that are most likely to be heavily policed.” Beth A.
Colgan, “Fines, Fees, and Forfeitures” in Reforming
Criminal Justice — Volume 4: Punishment, Incarcera-
tion, and Release 212 (Erik Luna ed. 2017) (footnote
omitted). In Ferguson, Missouri, for example, the U.S.
Department of Justice determined that “[clity officials
have consistently set maximizing revenue as the
priority for . . . law enforcement activity.” U.S. Dep't of
Justice, Investigation of the Ferguson Police Depart-
ment, at 9 (Mar. 4, 2015). The roughly 3,000 residents
of nearby Pagedale—five miles to the south of

29

Ferguson—have been fined for trivial offenses like
missing curtains, aging paint, walking on the left side
of crosswalks, and enjoying a beer within 150 feet of a
grill. See George F. Will, A Missouri town demands sub-
stantive due process, The Wash. Post (Dec. 11, 2015),
https://goo.gi/Jfq667. From 2010 to 2013, the number
of non-traffic tickets in Pagedale increased 495%, with
the city collecting $356,601 in associated fines and fees
in 2013 alone. Jd. In 2014, authorities issued nearly
enough non-traffic tickets for each household within
city limits to receive two. See Jennifer S. Mann, Law-
suit filed against Pagedale for ticketing high grass and
other code violations, St. Louis Post-Dispatch (Nov. 4,
2015), https-//goo.g/Qmc86R.

In civil-forfeiture cases, like this case, the Exces-
sive Fines Clause is a vitally important check on the
government’s impulse to punish disproportionately. In
the majority of States and at the federal level, when
property is forfeited most (and often all) of the result-
ing proceeds flow to law-enforcement coffers, fre-
quently those of the seizing agency. As a result, state
and federal agencies have increasingly resorted to civil
forfeiture as a revenue-raising tool. In 2012 alone,
agencies in 26 States and the District of Columbia took
in more than $254 million through forfeiture. Institute
for Justice, Dick M. Carpenter II et al., Policing for
Profit: The Abuse of Civil Asset Forfeiture 11 (2d ed.
2015), https://goo.gi/sY32sT. (Between 2001 and 2014,
total deposits in the Department of Justice and Treas-
ury forfeiture funds approached $29 billion. Jd. at 10.)
Nationwide, the modern civil-forfeiture system “has

30

led to egregious and well-chronicled abuses.” Leonard
v. Texas, 137 S. Ct. 847, 848 (2017) (Thomas, J., state-
ment respecting denial of certiorari). And, like eco-
nomic sanctions generally, forfeitures “frequently
target the poor and other groups least able to defend
their interests in forfeiture proceedings.” Id.

Indiana vividly illustrates these national prob-
lems. As one prosecutor declared after law enforcement
acquired a financial stake in civil forfeiture, “the stat-
ute is limited only by your own creativity.” Joseph T.
Hallinan, Police can take crime cash but can’t dish it
out, The Indianapolis Star, Feb. 2, 1986, at 6B. More-
over, Indiana’s forfeiture system has inspired a unique
set of abuses. Unlike every other State, Indiana allows
local prosecutors to outsource their civii-forfeiture
cases to private-sector lawyers on a contingency-fee
basis. See Ind. Code § 34-24-1-8. Petitioner’s case, for
example, was prosecuted by a private law firm. See
App’x of Appellant at 10-11, State v. Timbs, No. 27A04-
1511-MI-1976 (Ind. Ct. App. filed Mar. 30, 2016) (com-
plaint); see generally David P. Smith, Prosecution and
Defense of Forfeiture Cases ¥ 1.01, at 1-13 (LexisNexis
2017) (“The biggest scandal of all is Indiana’s institu-
tionalized bounty hunter system in which state DAs
contract with private attorneys to handle all of the
county’s civil forfeiture cases for a contingent fee of a
quarter or a third of all the property they forfeit.”).

This system of mercenary prosecutors only magni-
fies the Excessive Fines Clause’s animating concern:
that state power will be harnessed “for raising revenue
in unfair ways, or for any other improper use.”

31

Browning-Ferris Indus., 492 U.S. at 272. Predictably,
private-sector lawyers pocket hundreds of thousands
of dollars based on forfeitures. See generally Heather
Gillers et al., Cashing in on crime: Indiana law allows
prosecutors to farm out forfeiture cases to private law-
yers — who get a cut of the money, The Indianapolis
Star, Nov. 14, 2010, at Al. One deputy prosecutor liti-
gated criminal cases while moonlighting as a contin-

gency-fee lawyer in parallel forfeiture proceedings.
“On numerous occasions when the ethics of the asset
forfeiture procedures were called into question,” the
Indiana Supreme Court later found, “[the prosecutor]
turned a blind eye and acted to protect his private in-
terest in his continued pursuit of forfeiture property.”
In re McKinney, 948 N.E.2d 1154, 1155-56 (Ind. 2011).
In the same county, a local trial court investigated the
same system, which it termed “a carefully crafted as-
sault on the judicial system and court adjudication of
civil forfeitures.” Findings and Report on Civil Drug
Forfeitures in Division 2, Including a Limited Number
of Cases in the Other Four Divisions of the Delaware
Circuit Court, at 6 (Ind. Cir. Ct., Delaware Cty. Aug. 18,
2008), https://goo.gi/TCHk4S; see also id. at 13 (“The
handling of civil drug forfeitures amounts to fraud on
the court.”).

Elsewhere in Indiana, a county council sued its lo-
cal sheriff and prosecutor over their “respective roles
most notably the handling of funds therefrom.” Knox
Cty. Council v. Sievers, 895 N.E.2d 1263, 1265 (Ind. Ct.
App. 2008). As alleged in that case, the state auditing

32

agency “found a deficiency balance of $51,987.00 in the
Drug Seizure Fund,” id., but law-enforcement officials
refused to produce even basic information “concerning
the financial aspects of [the county’s] civil forfeiture
proceedings,” id. at 1266. And last year, a federal audit
found that Indiana’s Henry County and a neighboring
police department misspent more than $300,000 in
federal forfeiture money on “unallowable purchases”
and “unallowable salary and fringe benefit costs.”
Office of the Inspector Gen., U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Audit
of Henry County Sheriff’s Office’s Equitable Sharing
Program Activities, New Castle, Indiana at 4 (Feb.
2017), https-//goo.gl/A56PuJ.

For ordinary citizens—many of them low-level
drug offenders or innocent property owners—the
real-world consequences are profound. With economic
sanctions serving as both punishment and revenue
source, “law enforcement Weapons of Mass Destruc-
tion” are increasingly deployed against “pedestrian
targets.” Sargent v. State, 27 N.E.3d 729, 735 (Ind.
2015) (Massa, J., dissenting). In one case, Indianapolis
law enforcement sued to forfeit a teenager’s car, which
was found with “a large quantity of Gatorade bottles
and assorted snacks and candies” stolen from a play-
ground concession stand. See Pls.’ Mot. Summ. J., State
v. Jaynes, No. 49D01-1111-MI-043642, 2012 WL
12974140 (Ind. Super. Ct., Marion Cty. filed May 23,
2012). In another case, the State tried to forfeit a
woman’s 1996 Buick Century after she attempted to
shoplift four iPhones. Sargent, 27 N.E.3d at 731. When
the Indiana Supreme Court rejected that forfeiture on

33

statutory grounds, see id. at 733, even a dissenting jus-
tice voiced bewilderment at the State’s “overreach,” id.
at 735 (Massa, J., dissenting); see also id. at 734 (“But
really? Firing Sargent and having her righteously
prosecuted for felony theft was not enough? The State
had to take her car, too?”).

The abuse of fines and forfeitures is not unique to
Indiana. Nor is it new. The pressure to generate “royal
revenue” is a well-recognized byproduct of any system
of economic sanctions. See Browning-Ferris Indus. , 492
U.S. at 271. Unlike every other form of punishment—
all of which cost the government money—‘“fines are
a source of revenue.” Harmelin, 501 U.S. at 978 n.9
(opinion of Scalia, J.). So “[t]heve is good reason to be
concerned that fines, uniquely of all punishments, will
be imposed in a measure out of accord with the penal
goals of retribution and deterrence.” Jd. Because “the
State stands to benefit” from levying fines, id., there is
a singular risk that governments—federal, state, and
local alike—will exercise their punitive powers with an
eye toward revenue, rather than justice. The Excessive
Fines Clause is an essential check on the many unjust
punishments that can result from such perverse incen-
tives. Cf McDonald, 561 U.S. at 918 (Breyer, J., dissent-
ing) (considering “the extent to which incorporation
will further other, perhaps more basic, constitutional
aims”).

B. National uniformity is critical.

Few questions are more demanding of national
resolution than which provisions of the Bill of Rights

34

apply to the several States. By setting a constitutional
floor securing individual liberty, the Fourteenth
Amendment “fundamentally restructured the relation-
ship between individuals and the States.” Zelman v.
Simmons-Harris, 536 U.S. 639, 678 (2002) (Thomas, J.,
concurring). That principle makes this Court’s inter-
vention particularly warranted in a case like this. As
the Indiana Supreme Court recognized, this Court
plays a unique role in deciding incorporation issues.
See App. 8-9. All 50 States, as well as their residents,
need to know which federal protections apply in state
proceedings. In this way, every question of incorpora-
tion bears on the nation as a whole, and this Court
alone can provide a nationwide answer.

Of course, the federal-state balance is not just “a
matter of rights belonging only to the States.” Bond v.
United States, 564 U.S. 211, 222 (2011). It also “pro-
tects the liberty of the individual from arbitrary
power,” id., with the Fourteenth Amendment “add|ing|
greatly to the dignity and g'ory of American citizen-
ship, and to the security of personal liberty,” Plessy v.
Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537, 555 (1896) (Harlan, J., dissent-
ing). To be a meaningful right of American citizenship,
however, a right must have equal force throughout the
nation. Today, the Eighth Amendment’s protection
against excessive fines applies in some places, but not
others. The Clause protects people in Idaho, but not
Montana; it protects people in Alabama, but not Mis-
sissippi; and—with the Indiana Supreme Court’s deci-
sion in this case—it protects people in Illinois, but not
Indiana.

35

By “electiing| not to impose federal obligations on
the State,” App. 9, the Indiana Supreme Court has also
undermined the rights of people far beyond Indiana’s
borders. For instance, Indianapolis is home to one of
the nation’s central FedEx hubs,’ which state and local
law enforcement routinely comb for cross-country ship-
ments of cash to seize. See generally Bowman v. State,
81 N.E.3d 1127, 1131 (Ind. Ct. App. 2017), pet. for
transfer pending (holding parcel-seizure practices un-
lawful). In 2017 alone, Indianapolis prosecutors sued
to forfeit—or to transfer to the federal government—
over $1.5 million in currency seized in this fashion."

With the Indiana Supreme Court’s decision in this
case, whether citizens fighting these seizures enjoy
any protection under the Excessive Fines Clause de-
pends on happenstance: whether a particular ship-
ment is routed through Indiana and whether a
prosecutor there decides to seek forfeiture in a state
forum or a federal one. The prosecutor may elect to
transfer the property to federal agencies for forfeiture
under federal law, in which case the Clause would ap-
ply. See generally Office of the Att’y Gen., Order No.
3946-2017 (Federal Forfeiture of Property Seized by
State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies) (July 19,
2017). Or the prosecutor may proceed in state court, in
which case the Clause would not apply.

" See Paris Lewbel, Tuke a look inside Indy’s FedEx hub, the
second-largest in the U.S., Indy Channel (Dec. 15, 2017),
https//goo.gV/g2wp4 1.

* This figure is derived from filings available on Indiana's
online case-management system.

36

This situation calls out for correction. Federally
protected rights should never depend on state borders,
much less on how commercial carriers choose to route
their shipments. “The National Government and,
beyond it, the separate States are bound by the pro-
scriptive mandates of the Eighth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States, and all persons
within those respective jurisdictions may invoke its
protection.” Kennedy, 554 U.S. at 412. Despite the
Court’s many statements to this effect, however, state
courts and ordinary Americans are in need of a “defin-
itive holding” on whether the Excessive Fines Clause
applies to the States. See App. 9.

C. This case is a good vehicle for deciding
the question presented.

This case offers an excellent vehicle for resolving
the question presented. The Excessive Fines Clause
was the sole basis for the decisions of the trial court,
App. 27-30, and court of appeals, App. 13-26. Both
courts believed that the Clause was incorporated and
so they applied the Clause and ruled in Petitioner’s fa-
vor on the merits, holding that forfeiture of his vehicle
would be “grossly disproportionate to the gravity of
{his} offense.” App. 24, 29-30. The Indiana Supreme
Court did not consider whether the lower courts cor-
rectly applied the Clause, however. App. 4 (“Before ad-
dressing whether forfeiture of Timbs’s Land Rover
would be an excessive fine, we must decide the ante-
cedent question of whether the Excessive Fines Clause
applies to forfeitures by the State.”). Instead, the state

37

high court reversed on one ground: This Court has not
“authoritatively” held that the Clause applies to the
States. App. 8. That decision turned on no factual find-
ings or matters of state law. And, like the lower courts
in Austin, the Indiana Supreme Court “had no occasion
to consider what factors should inform [the Eighth
Amendment analysis] because it thought it was fore-
closed from engaging in the inquiry.” See Austin, 509
U.S. at 622. The incorporation question ceuld not be
more cleanly presented.

Nor is there any reason to delay addressing the is-
sue, which this Court raised nearly three decades ago.
See Browning-Ferris Indus. , 492 U.S. at 276 n.22. Fur-
ther percolation serves little purpose. Every court that
has dealt with this issue has (tacitly or expressly)
looked to this Court for guidance. The courts that apply
the Clause to the States do so because they view this
Court’s prior statements as commanding incorpora-
tion. See supra pp. 13-18. Conversely, those courts that
decline to apply the Clause have read the very same
statements and concluded they leave the incorporation
issue unsettled. See supra pp. 19-21. Those courts tak-
ing the minority position—Montana, Mississippi, the
Michigan Court of Appeals, and now Indiana—have
not analyzed whether the Clause applies to the States
under this Court’s incorporation precedent. Rather,
like Indiana, they have decided that, until this Court
issues a “definitive holding,” they will “elect not to im-
pose federal obligations on the State that the federal
government itself has not mandated.” See App. 9.

38

This Court should grant review, hold that the Ex-
cessive Fines Clause applies to the States, and reaffirm
that state courts—like the federal courts—bear “the
duty to safeguard and enforce the right of every citi-
zen.” Howlett, 496 U.S. at 368 (quoting Minneapolis &
St. L.R. Co. v. Bombolis, 241 U.S. 211, 222 (1916)).

,
a

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

DARPANA M. SHETH WESLEY P. Horrot*
SAMUEL B. GEDGE INSTITUTE FOR JUSTICE
INSTITUTE FOR JUSTICE 10500 NE 8th Street,
901 North Glebe Road, Suite 1760

Suite 900 Bellevue, WA 98004
Arlington, VA 22203 (425) 646-9300
(703) 682-9320 whottot@ij.org
dsheth@ij.org *Counsel of Record

Counsel for Petitioners

App. 1

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT ATTORNEY FOR APPELLEE
Curtis T. Hill, Jr. David W. Stone IV
Attorney General of Indiana Stone Law Office

Justin F. Roebel al Legal —_—
Deputy Attorney General eee,

In the
Indiana Supreme Court

No. 27804-1702-MI-70
STATE OF INDIANA,
Appellant (Plaintiff below),
v.
TYSON TIMBS,
Appellee (Defendant below).

Appeal from the Grant Superior Court 1,
No. 27D01-1308-MI-92
The Honorable Jeffrey D. Todd, Judge

On Petition to Transfer from the Indiana Court
of Appeals, No. 27A04-1511-MI-1976

November 2, 2017

App. 2

Slaughter, Justice.

The State sought to forfeit Defendant’s Land
Rover after he used it to transport illegal drugs. The
trial court held the proposed forfeiture would violate
the Eighth Amendment’s Excessive Fines Clause. We
conclude the Excessive Fines Clause does not bar the
State from forfeiting Defendant’s vehicle because the
United States Supreme Court has not held that the
Clause applies to the States through the Fourteenth
Amendment.

Factual and Procedural History

Defendant, Tyson Timbs, used life-insurance pro-
ceeds after his father’s death to pay $42,058.30 for a
Land Rover in January 2013. Over the next four
months, Timbs regularly drove the Land Rover be-
tween Marion and Richmond, Indiana, to buy and
transport heroin. Timbs’s trafficking came to the atten-
tion of a confidential police informant, who told a mem-
ber of the Joint Effort Against Narcotics team that he
could buy heroin from Timbs. Police set up a controlled
buy, and the informant and an undercover detective
bought two grams of heroin from Timbs for $225. Police
made another controlled buy a couple of weeks later,
acquiring another two grams of heroin for $160. Dur-
ing the second buy, the detective set up a third con-
trolled buy with Timbs. The day the third buy was to
occur, police apprehended Timbs during a traffic stop.
The Land Rover had 1,237 miles on its odometer when

App. 3

Timbs bought it in January, and more than 17,000
miles when police seized the vehicle in late May.

In June 2013, the State charged Timbs with two
counts of Class B felony dealing in a controlled sub-
stance and one count of Class D felony conspiracy to
commit theft. Nearly two years later, in 2015, Timbs
pleaded guilty to one count of Class B felony dealing
and one count of Class D felony conspiracy to commit
theft in exchange for the State’s dismissing the re-
maining charge. The trial court accepted the plea and
sentenced Timbs to six years, with one year executed
in community corrections and five years suspended to
probation. Timbs also agreed to pay police costs of
$385, an interdiction fee of $200, court costs of $168, a
bond fee of $50, and a $400 fee for undergoing a drug-
and-alcohol assessment with the probation depart-
ment.

Within a couple months of bringing criminal
charges, the State also sought to forfeit the Land
Rover. After a bench trial, the court issued written
findings that denied the State’s action, concluding that
forfeiture would be an excessive fine under the Eighth
Amendment. “The amount of the forfeiture sought is
excessive, and is grossly disproportional to the gravity
of the Defendant’s offense.” The trial court observed
that the maximum statutory fine for Timbs’s Class B
felony was $10,000 on the day he was arrested and
noted the vehicle was worth approximately four times
this amount when he bought it just a few months ear-
lier. The court made no finding about the vehicle’s
value on Timbs’s arrest date. Based on its holding, the

App. 4

court ordered the State to release the vehicle immedi-
ately. A divided Court of Appeals affirmed. State v.
Timbs, 62 N.E.3d 472 (Ind. Ct. App. 2016). We granted
transfer, thus vacating the Court of Appeals’ opinion,
and now reverse.

Standard of Review

Before addressing whether forfeiture of Timbs’s
Land Rover would be an excessive fine, we must decide
the antecedent question of whether the Excessive
Fines Clause applies to forfeitures by the State.
Whether a Bill of Rights provision applies to the States
is a purely legal question. We review such questions de
novo. State v. Harper, 8 N.E.3d 694, 696 (Ind. 2014).
Unlike legal questions, a trial court’s factual determi-
nations are reviewed for clear error. Fischer v. Hey-
mann, 12 N.E.3d 867, 870 (Ind. 2014). We will not
reweigh evidence or determine the credibility of wit-
nesses, and we will consider only the evidence favora-
ble to the judgment and the logical inferences drawn
from it. Ind. Trial Rule 52(A); Hitch v. State, 51 N.E.3d
216, 226 (Ind. 2016).

Discussion and Decision
lL. The United States Supreme Court has never
enforced the Excessive Fines Clause against
the States, and we opt not to do so here.
The framers’ original conception was settled long
ago that the Bill of Rights applies only to the national
government and cannot be enforced against the States.

App. 5

See Barron v. Baltimore, 32 US. (7 Pet.) 243, 247
(1833). Only after ratification of the Fourteenth
Amendment did the Supreme Court, in the early twen-
tieth century, begin to apply various provisions of the
Bill of Rights to the States through the doctrine of se-
lective incorporation. Justice Black’s argument for to-
tal incorporation of the Bill of Rights, see, ez.,
Adamson v. California, 332 U.S. 46, 71-72, 89 (1947)
(Black, J., dissenting), has never carried the day.
McDonald v. City of Chicago, 561 U.S. 742, 761-63
(2010).

To date, the Supreme Court has incorporated most
of the first eight amendments — with a few notable ex-
ceptions: the Third Amendment’s protection against
quartering soldiers, the Fifth Amendment’s grand-jury
requirement, and the Seventh Amendment’s right to a
civil jury trial. Jd. at 765 n.13 (citations omitted). At
issue here is whether the Eighth Amendment’s Exces-
sive Fines Clause is enforceable against the States. We
hold it is not.

The Eighth Amendment provides: “Excessive bail
shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor
cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.” U.S. Const.
amend. VIII. The Supreme Court has never held that
States are subject to the Excessive Fines Clause. The
Court initially declined to decide the Clause’s incorpo-
ration status.

Because of the result we reach today, we need

not answer several questions that otherwise

might be necessarily antecedent to finding the

App. 6

Eighth Amendment’s Excessive Fines Clause
applicable to an award of punitive damages,
... fineluding] whether the Eighth Amend-
ment’s prohibition on excessive fines applies
to the several States through the Fourteenth
Amendment|.|

Browning-Ferris Industries of Vt., Inc. v. Kelco Dis-
posal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 276 n.22 (1989).

A dozen years later, in a case involving not a fine
but another punitive-damages award, the Supreme
Court stated in dictum that the Fourteenth Amend-
ment’s Due Process Clause “makes the Eighth Amend-
ment’s prohibition against excessive fines and cruel
and unusual punishments applicable to the States.”
Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc. , 532
US. 424, 433-34 (2001) (citing Furman v. Georgia, 408
U.S. 238 (1972) (per curiam)). A prominent treatise on
criminal procedure observed that Cooper's statement
incorporating the Excessive Fines Clause was merely
dictum. “In noting that the due process clause also in-
corporated the Eighth Amendment prohibitions
against excessive fines and cruel and unusual punish-
ments, the Court cited Furman v. Georgia, . . . which
involved an application of the prohibition against cruel
and unusual punishments.” Wayne R. Lafave et al.,
Criminal! Procedure § 2.6(b), n.45 at 833 (4th ed. 2015).

Despite Cooper’s 2001 dictum that the Clause can
be enforced against States, the Supreme Court’s most
recent pronouncement on this subject, in 2010, sug-
gests the Clause has not been incorporated after all.
McDonald, 561 U.S. at 765 n.13. McDonald was an

App. 7

incorporation case. At issue was whether the Second
Amendment’s individual right to keep and bear arms,
recognized in District of Columbia v. Heller, 554 US.
570 (2008), is enforceable against the States. McDon-
ald held that it is — a position commanding the support
of five Justices, four of whom agreed it was enforceable
through the Due Process Clause. Only Justice Thomas
believed the basis for decision should be the Privileges
and Immunities Clause. McDonald, 561 U.S. at 805-58
(Thomas, J., concurring in part and in the judgment).
En route to deciding that the Second Amendment ap-
plies to the States, McDonald observed that “[olnly a
handful of the Bill of Rights protections remain unin-
corporated”, id. at 765, and included on that list “the
Eighth Amendment’s prohibition on excessive fines.”
Id. at 765 n.13. Citing only Browning-Ferris and not
Cooper, the Court stated, “We have never decided
whether the ... Eighth Amendment’s prohibition of
excessive fines applies to the States through the Due
Process Clause.” Id.

It is not self-evident why the McDonald Court did
not mention Cooper. Perhaps the omission was an over-
sight, though we will not conclude lightly that the Su-
preme Court whiffed on the existence or meaning of its
precedent. The more likely explanation is that McDon-
ald was treating Cooper’s statement as superfluous to
Cooper’s holding and therefore dictum. Just as
Cooper’s statement that the Excessive Fines Clause is
enferceable against the States is dictum, so too is
McDonald’s statement that the Clause is not.

App. 8

So where does that leave us? Given the lack of
clear direction from the Supreme Court, we have a cou-
ple of options. One option is to ignore McDonald and
follow the lead of some courts that have either applied
the Excessive Fines Clause to challenged state action
or assumed without deciding that the Clause applies.
See, e.g., Hamilton v. City of New Albany, Indiana,
Fed. Appx. __, 2017 WL 2615453, at *5 (7th Cir. Jun.
16, 2017) (vacating summary judgment for city on
plaintiff’s federal excessive-fines claim and remanding
for trial without mentioning incorporation or McDon-
ald); Cripps v. Louisiana Dep’t of Agriculture and For-
estry, 819 F.3d 221, 234 (5th Cir. 2016) (“Assuming
arguendo that the Excessive Fines Clause applies, the
record indicates that each of Plaintiffs’ offenses re-
sulted in fines that do not exceed the limits prescribed
by the statute authorizing it.”); Discount Inn, Inc. v.
City of Chicago, 803 F.3d 317, 320 (7th Cir. 2015) (hold-
ing that “the fines imposed by the challenged [city] or-
dinances are not excessive even if the ‘excessive fines’
clause is applicable”); Public Employee Retirement Ad-
min. Comm’n v. Bettencourt, 47 N.E.3d 667, 672 n.7,
681 (Mass. 2016) (holding forfeiture violates federal ex-
cessive-fines clause based on Cooper without mention-
ing McDonald).

A second option is to await guidance from the Su-
preme Court and decline to find or assume incorpora-
tion until the Supreme Court decides the issue
authoritatively. We choose this latter, more cautious
approach for two reasons. First, although the Supreme
Court has addressed this issue only in dicta, its

App. 9

statement in McDonald that the Clause has not been
incorporated is entitled to more weight because it is
the Court’s most recent. Second, Indiana is a sovereign
state within our federal system, and we elect not to im-
pose federal obligations on the State that the federal
government itself has not mandated. An important cor-
ollary is that Indiana has its own system of legal, in-
cluding constitutional, protections for its citizens and
other persons within its jurisdiction. Absent a defini-
tive holding from the Supreme Court, we decline to
subject Indiana to a federal test that may operate to
impede development of our own excessive-fines juris-
prudence under the Indiana Constitution.

Although we ultimately disagree with our Court of
Appeals’ decision to apply the Excessive Fines Clause
to the State’s forfeiture, we understand the Court’s
reason for doing so. After all, the State specifically ad-
vised the Court that it “need not decide [the issue of
incorporation] . . . because the penalties imposed were
not unconstitutionally excessive.” Despite the State’s
choice not to wage the incorporation battle here, we
need not abide a party’s consent to a misstatement or
misapplication of law. Stephenson v. State, 864 N.E.2d
1022, 1030 (Ind. 2007). We reserve to ourselves — not
the parties — the prerogative to pronounce what law
governs a particular dispute. The parties’ consensus
here to subject the State’s forfeiture to review under
the Clause does not require that we follow su’ \nd we
decline to do so, mindful that our colleagues on the
Court of Appeals and the trial court may be correct in

App. 10

foretelling where the Supreme Court will one day lead
on whether to apply the Clause to the States.

To be clear, our decision on incorporation should
not be read to prejudge the merits of pending or pro-
spective forfeiture challenges based on other provi-
sions of state or federal law. Our narrow holding here
is confined to the Court of Appeals’ reliance on a provi-
sion of the United States Constitution — the Excessive
Fines Clause — that the Supreme Court has never en-
forced against the States. We decline to address other
potential problems with the State’s forfeiture because
Timbs raised only an excessive-fines challenge under
federal law.

Il. Based on the trial court’s findings, the State
proved it is entitled to forfeit the Land

Rover.

Because we have resolved the Eighth Amendment
issue against Timbs, we turn to whether the State
proved its entitlement to forfeit the vehicle under In-
diana law. The governing statute provides, in pertinent
part, that to obtain forfeiture the State must show that
a person used the vehicle to transport an illicit sub-
stance listed in the statute for the purpose of dealing
or possessing the substance.

Sec. 1.(a) The following may be seized:

(1) All vehicles ... , if they are used ... by
the person ... in possession of them to
transport .. . the following:

App. 11

(A) A controlled substance for the pur-
pose of committing . . . any of the fol-
lowing:

(i) Dealing in or manufacturing co-
caine or a narcotic drug (IC 35-
48-4-1)

(iii) Dealing in a schedule I, I, or III
controlled substance (IC 35-48-
4-2)

***

(vii) Possession of cocaine or a nar-
cotic drug (IC 35-48-4-6)

L.C. § 34-24-1-1 (Supp. 2012). See also Katner v. State,
655 N.E.2d 345, 349 (Ind. 1995).

After a bench trial, the trial court made the follow-
ing factual findings relevant here.

Between the date of purchase, and May 31st,
2013, [Timbs] drove the vehicle frequently
from Marion to Richmond to purchase heroin.
The Land Rover was used by [Timbs] to
transport heroin back to Marion. [Timbs] both
used and sold the heroin. When the Land
Rover was seized by the State at the end of
May 2013, the odometer reading was between
17,000 and 18,000 miles. The increased mile-
age primarily resulted from [Timbs] traveling
between Marion and Richmond to engage in
illegal drug trafficking.

App. 12

On appeal, Timbs challenges these findings under the
corpus-delicti rule, which requires independent evi-
dence of a crime beyond the defendant’s confession.
But the rule applies only to an out-of-court confession
in a criminal proceeding and thus does not benefit
Timbs. See Willoughby v. State, 552 N.E.2d 462, 466
(Ind. 1990). Timbs’s inculpatory testimony occurred in
court, while his counsel was present, in this civil-for-
feiture proceeding, where he admitted to multiple trips
to Richmond in the Land Rover to acquire heroin and
transport it back to Marion. Because corpus Gelicti is
no obstacle to the use of Timbs’s testimony, the court’s
findings are supported by the evidence, and the State
proved them by the required preponderance of the ev-
idence, I.C. § 34-24-1-4(a). These findings establish
each of the statutory elements recited above to prove
the State’s entitlement to forfeit the Land Rover —
namely, that Timbs used the vehicle to transport and
possess heroin, a schedule | controlled substance, id.
§ 35-48-2-4(c) (Supp. 2013), and a narcotic drug, id.
§$§ 35-48-2-4(c), 35-48-1-20(1) (2008 Repl.), for the pur-
pose of engaging in illegal drug trafficking.

Conclusion

For these reasons, we reverse the trial court’s
judgment for Timbs and remand with instructions to
enter judgment for the State on its forfeiture com-
plaint.

Rush, C.J., and David, Massa, and Goff, JJ., concur.

App. 13

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLEE

Gregory F. Zoeller David W. Stone IV
Attorney General of Indiana Stone Law Office

A Craft & Legal Research
Justin F. Roebel CO, See
Deputy Attorney General

Indianapolis, Indiana

IN THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

State of Indiana, October 20, 2016
Appellant-Plaintiff, Corrected
v. Court of Appeals Case No.
Tyson Timbs and a 27A04-1511-MI-1976
2012 Land Rover LR2, [Appeal from the
Appellees- Defendants. Grant Superior Court 1
The Honorable
Jeffrey D. Todd, Judge
Trial Court Cause No.
27D01-1308-MI1-92

Mathias, Judge.

[1] The State of Indiana filed a complaint for for-
feiture in Grant Superior Court seeking to obtain a
2012 Land Rover LR2 owned by Tyson Timbs
(“Timbs”). The trial court ruled in favor of Timbs, and

the State appeals, presenting one issue, which we re-
state as whether the trial court erred in concluding

App. 14

that forfeiture of Timbs’s vehicle would constitute a
constitutionally excessive fine.

[2] We affirm.

Facts and Procedural History

[3] In January 2013, Timbs purchased a Land Rover
LR2 (“Land Rover”) for the sum of $42,058.30 from a
dealer in Indianapolis. Timbs paid for the Land Rover
with life insurance policy proceeds that he received fol-
lowing the death of his father. Thereafter, Timbs began
to use this vehicle to drive from Marion, Indiana to
Richmond, Indiana for the purposes of purchasing her-
oin. Timbs also used the Land Rover to transport the
heroin back to Richmond.

[4] In May 2013, a confidential informant (“CI”) told
a member of the Joint Effort Against Narcotics
(“JEAN”) team’ that he could purchase heroin from
Timbs. The police then set up a controlled buy, and on
May 6, 2013, an undercover detective and the CI met
Timbs at an apartment.’ The detective gave the CI the
purchase money, and the CI went inside the apartment
with Timbs and returned with two grams of heroin
that he had purchased for the previously agreed-to
price of $275.

' The JEAN team is composed of members from the Grant
County Sheriffs Department, the Grant County Prosecutor's Of-
fice, and the Marion Police Department.

® This apartment was apparently not Timbe’s residence. See
Tr. pp. 27-28.

App. 15

15] The police set up another controlled buy on May
22, 2013, to take place at a local gas station. This time,
the undercover detective purchased two grams of her-
oin from Timbs for a price of $260. After this transac-
tion, the detective spoke with Timbs about arranging
yet another purchase of heroin. However, on the day
this controlled buy was set to take place, the police in-
stead apprehended Timbs during a traffic stop.

16] On June 5, 2013, the State charged Timbs with
two counts of Class B felony dealing in a controlled
substance and one count of Class D felony conspiracy
to commit theft. On August 5, 2013, the State filed a
complaint for forfeiture, seeking to obtain Timbs’s
Land Rover.

(7] On April 12, 2015, Timbs entered into a plea
agreement with the State whereby he agreed to plead
guilty to one count of Class B felony dealing in a con-
trolled substance and Class D felony theft in exchange
for the State dismissing the remaining charges. The
following day, the trial court accepted the plea and sen-
tenced Timbs pursuant to the agreement to six years,
with one year executed in community corrections and
five years suspended to probation. Pursuant to the plea
agreement, Timbs also agreed to reimburse the JEAN
team $385 for the cost of the investigation and pay a
drug abuse, prosecution, and interdiction fee of $200;
court costs of $168; a bond fee of $50; and a $400 certi-
fied court program fee after undergoing a drug and al-
cohol assessment with the probation department. The
complaint for forfeiture remained pending.

App. 16

{8} On July 15, 2015, the trial court held a hearing on
the forfeiture complaint. At the hearing, Timbs argued
that forfeiture of his Land Rover, which he claimed was
worth over $40,000, constituted an excessive fine,
given that he had only dealt drugs twice, that he was
only convicted for one count of dealing, and that the
maximum statutory fine for his crime was $10,000.
The trial court took the matter under advisement and,
on August 28, 2015, entered an order in favor of Timbs,
which provided in relevant part:
7. The State now seeks a judgment against
the Defendant for forfeiture of the Land
Rover; a vehicle that just five (5) months be-
fore it was seized had a fair market value of
almost four (4) times the maximum monetary
fine of $10,000.

8. The Court finds that the judgment of for-
feiture sought by the State violates the Exces-
sive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment
of the United States Constitution. The
amount of the forfeiture sought is excessive

and is grossly disproportional to the gravity of
the Defendant’s offense.

9. While the negative impact on our society
of trafficking in illegal drugs is substantial, a
forfeiture of approximately four (4) times the
maximum monetary fine is disproportional to
the Defendant’s illegal conduct.

Judgment is entered in favor of the Defendant
and against the State. The Land Rover LR2,
at issue, is ordered released to the Defendant
immediately.

App. 17

Appellant’s App. pp. 15-16. The State filed a motion to
correct error on September 14, 2015, claiming for the
sale of the Land Rover from which a non-excessiv» ‘:':
could be deducted.’ The trial court held a heariry ~*
the State’s motion to correct error on October 14, 2U iv,
and entered an order denying the State’s motion on Oc-
tober 21, 2015. The State now appeals.

Staaodard of Review

{9| At trial, the State bore the burden of establishing
the requirements of forfeiture. See Ind. Code § 34-24-
1-4(a). Thus, the State is appealing from a negative
judgment. See Merrillville 2548, Inc. v. BMO Harris
Bank NA., 39 N.E.3d 382, 390-91 (Ind. Ct. App. 2015),
reh’g denied, trans. denied. On appeal, we will not re-
verse a negative judgment unless it is contrary to law.
Id. Here, the State argues that the trial court erred in
determining that the forfeiture of the Land Rover con-
stituted an excessive fine. This court has held that for-
feitures are subject to the Excessive Fines Clause of
the Eighth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion. $100 and a Black Cadillac v. State, 822 N.E.2d
1001, 1011 (Ind. Ct. App. 2005), trans. denied (citing
Austin v. United States, 509 U.S. 602, 609-10 (1993)).*

* The State does not reiterate this claim on appeal, and even
if it did, it is well settled that an issue may not be presented for
the first time in a motion to correct error. Van Winkle v. Nash,
761 N.E.2d 856, 859 (Ind. Ct. App. 2002).

* The State claims that there is a question as to whether the
Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment is applicable to

App. 18

We review the trial court’s conclusion regarding the
excessiveness of a fine de novo. United States v.
Bajakajian, 524 U.S. 321, 336 (1998).

Discussion and Decision

In rem forfeiture is an ancient concept under
which courts obtained jurisdiction over prop-
erty when it was virtually impossible to seek
justice against property owners guilty of vio-
lating maritime law because they were over-
seas. Civil forfeiture traces to ancient Roman
used to violate the law subject to forfeiture to
the sovereign. Civil forfeiture is no longer
tethered to difficulties in obtaining personal
jurisdiction over an individual. It now serves
as one of the most potent weapons in the judi-
cial armamentarium|.| Civil forfeiture is a
leading method for imposing economic sanc-
tions against narcotics traffickers.

the states via the Fourteenth Amendment. The United States Su-
preme Court has yet to hold that the Excessive Fines Clause is
applicable to the States. See Browning-Ferris Indus., Inc. v. Kelco
Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 276 (1989) (“We shall not decide
whether the Eighth Amendment’s prohibition on excessive fines
applies to the several States through the Fourteenth Amend-
ment.”). But this court held in $100 and a Black Cadillac that the
Excessive Fines Clause did apply to Indiana’s forfeiture statutes.
822 N.E.2d at 1011. We see no reason to disagree with our prior
opinion. We also note that the Indiana Constitution contains its
own provision against excessive fines. See Ind. Const. art. 1, sec.
16 (“Excessive fines shall not be imposed). Because neither side
federal Excessive Fines Clause.

App. 19

Today, all states have statutory provisions for
some form of asset forfeiture, and there are
more than four hundred federal forfeiture
statutes relating to various federal crimes. An
important feature of many of these statutes is
characterization of the process as civil forfei-
ture under which (by contrast to criminal for-
feiture) a property owner need not be found
guilty of a crime — or even charged — to lose
permanently their cash, car, home or other
property. The relative ease of effecting such
forfeiture and the disposition of the assets
have become a matter of prblic note.

Serrano v. State, 946 N.E.2d 1139, 1141 (Ind. 2011) (ci-
tations omitted).

{10} The Eighth Amendment provides, “Excessive
bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed,
nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.” U.S.
Const. amend. VIII. At the time the Constitution was
adopted, “the word ‘fine’ was understood to mean a
payment to a sovereign as punishment for some of-
fense.” $100 and a Black Cadillac, N.E.2d at 1011
(quoting Bajakajian, 524 U.S. at 327). Accordingly, the
Excessive Fines clause of the Eighth Amendment “lim-
its the government’s power to extract payments,
whether in cash or in kind, as punishment for some of-
fense.” Id. (quoting Bajakajian, 524 U.S. at 328) (em-
phasis added) (internal quotation marks omitted). As
noted above, this court has already held that forfei-
tures in Indiana are subject to the Excessive Fines
Clause. Id. (citing Austin, 509 U.S. at 622).

App. 20

{11} To determine whether a fine or forfeiture is “ex-
cessive,” for purposes of the Excessive Fines Clause, we
consider whether the amount of the forfeiture bears
“some relationship to the gravity of the offense that it
is designed to punish.” Id. (quoting Bajakajian, 524
US. at 334). A punitive forfeiture violates the Exces-
sive Fines Clause “if it is grossly disproportional to the
gravity of a defendant's offense.” Id. (quoting Ba-
jakajian, 524 U.S. at 334).°

[12] Here, there is no question that the nature of
Timbs’s offense was serious. He committed a Class B
felony. However, our General Assembly has determined
that a Class B felony should be punishable by a maxi-
mum fine of $10,000. Here, the evidence before the
trial court was that Timbs’s vehicle was worth approx-
imately four times the amount of the maximum fine.
Although we do not suggest that forfeiture of any asset
valued over the maximum fine is automatically a vio-
lation of the Excessive Fines Clause, it is instructive to
our analysis that the value of the asset sought by the
State is well in excess of the maximum fine. Moreover,
it is undisputed that the Land Rover was not pur-
chased with the proceeds of any criminal behavior; it
was purchased with life insurance proceeds.

* The State claims that the Supreme Court in Bajakajian
“allowled) a forfeiture three times the applicable fine” of $5,000.
This is incorrect. The Supreme Court was abundantly clear that
the only question before it was whether forfeiture of the entire

amount of cash at issue, $357,144, was proper. See Bajakajian,
524 U.S. at 339 n.11.

App. 21

[13] The State notes that an asset may be forfeited
even if the State does not convict the owner of the crim-
inal charge. See Katner v. State, 655 N.E.2d 345, 348
(Ind. 1995) (noting that a conviction on the underlying
criminal activity is not a prerequisite for forfeiture).
Thus, the State argues, it could have sought forfeiture
of the Land Rover even if Timbs had not been con-
victed. However, this does not negate the fact that our
General Assembly has set the maximum fine for the
crime for which Timbs was convicted at $10,000,
whereas the value of the Land Rover was upwards of
$40,000.

[14] We also note that financial burdens had already
been imposed on Timbs when he pleaded guilty. Pursu-
ant to his plea agreement, Timbs agreed to reimburse
the JEAN team $385 for the cost of the investigation
and pay a drug abuse, prosecution, and interdiction fee
of $200; court costs of $168; a bond fee of $50; and a
$400 certified court program fee. Notably, the trial
court imposing the sentence found no need to impose
any fine, much less the maximum fine of $10,000.

[15] The State also argues that the evidence before
the trial court was that Timbs committed criminal acts
other than the one for which he was convicted. This
may be true. However, the complaint for forfeiture re-
ferred only to May 31, 2013.° If the State wished to

* The complaint set forth in relevant part:

1. On or about May 31, 2013, officers of the Plaintiff,
J.E.AN. Team Drug Task Force, seized from the De-
fendant, TYSON TIMBS, One (1) 2012 Land Rover LR2
... in Grant County, Indiana.

App. 22

seek forfeiture of the Land Rover based on Timbs’s
other criminal acts, it should have done so more clearly
in its forfeiture complaint. Moreover, even considering
these other acts, we note that the only evidence before
the trial court was that Timbs sold heroin twice, both
times as a result of controlled buys. The remaining
times he transported heroin, it was apparently for his
own use. The trial court was free to consider these cir-
cumstances in making its determination.

[16] We also find the State’s citation to United States
uv. Aleff, 772 F.3d 508 (8th Cir. 2014), to be unpersua-
sive. In Aleff, the defendants were convicted of conspir-
acy to defraud the federal government and ordered to
pay almost $304,000 in restitution. Thereafter, the fed-
eral government brought suit against the defendants
under the False Claims Act, and the District Court

intended to be furnished by Defendant, TYSON TIMBS,
in exchange for an act that is in violation of a criminal
statute, or used to facilitate any violation of a criminal
statute or is traceable as proceeds of the violation of a
criminal statute under Indiana Law, as provided in I.C.
34-24-1-1.
3. The Defendant, TYSON TIMBS, is the owner of the
vehicle.
WHEREFORE, the Plaintiffs demand judgment
against the Defendant for forfeiture of vehicle, for the
delivery of said vehicle upon forfeiture as provided for
in LC. 34-24-1-1, for reimbursement of law enforce-
ment costs as provided by statute, and for all other re-
lief just and proper in the premises.
Appellant’s App. p. 14.

App. 23

awarded the government treble damages and statu-
tory penalties of over $1,300,000. On appeal, the
Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals held that this was not
grossly disproportionate under the Excessive Fines
Clause. Aleff, 772 F.3d at 512-13. In so holding, the
court noted that the defendants’ scheme to defraud the
government was extensive and took more than six
years. Id. at 513. The defendants “received $303,890
from the public fisc to which they were not entitled,”
and the government “suffered damage to the integrity
of one of its programs.” Jd. More importantly, the dam-
ages recovered by the government were within the lim-
its of damages allowed by the False Claims Act. Jd.

[17] The present case is readily distinguishable from
Aleff. Timbs did not engage in a years-long scheme to
defraud the State, nor did the State here seek to re-
cover treble damages under a false claims statute. It
instead sought to forfeit a vehicle that was not pur-
chased with the proceeds of Timbs’s crimes. Here, the
value of the asset subject to potential forfeiture was
well over the statutory maximum fine, whereas in
Aleff, the damages were more than the actual damages
but still within the statutory maximum allowed under
the False Claims Act.’

' The same holds true for the State’s citation to United States
v. Mackby, 339 F.3d 1013 (9th Cir. 2003), which was also brought
under the False Claims Act. The total damages awarded in that
case were within the statutory limits and the government was di-
rectly defrauded. Jd. at 1018. Although the amount awarded,
$729,455, was much greater than the $58,151 sought by the

App. 24

Conclusion
[18] Forfeiture of the Land Rover, which was worth
approximately four times the maximum permissible

statutory fine, was grossly disproportionate to the
gravity of Timbs’s offense. We therefore affirm the trial

court’s conclusion that forfeiture of the Land Rover vi-
olated the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth
Amendment.

[19] Affirmed.

Vaidik, C.J., concurs.

Barnes, J., dissents with opinion.

government, the defendants had filed fraudulent Medicare claims
for which they received payment of $331,078. Id.

App. 25

IN THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

State of Indiana, Court of Appeals Case No.
Appellant-Plaintiff, 27A04-1511-MI-1976
v.
Tyson Timbs and a
2012 Land Rover LR2,
Appellees-Defendants.
Barnes, Judge, dissenting.

[20] I respectfully dissent. I realize that my col-
leagues point to the allegedly “disproportionate” na-
ture of the forfeiture sought by the State here. |
understand their concern. I would simply say as fol-
lows:

[21] Forfeitures are constitutional and, although
some have been found to be excessive, are a useful law
enforcement tool. See U.S. v. Ursery, 518 U.S. 267, 290,
116 S. Ct. 2135, 2148 (1996).

[22] We have ruled that, in limited situations, the Ex-
cessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment may
come into play in a forfeiture case. See $100 and a
Black Cadillac, 822 N.E.2d at 1011-12.

[23] However, it is clear and without conflict in the
evidence that the vehicle here was Timbs’s and was
used to facilitate crime, i.e., to transport Timbs to the
place of an arranged heroin buy. The vehicle did not

App. 26

have only a tangential relationship to the crime or to
the defendant. It should not matter that Timbs com-
mitted the crime using an expensive new Land Rover
rather than an old, inexpensive “beater.”

[24] The majority correctly points out that the record
reflects Timbs “only” sold heroin twice. I simply posit
that Timbs was arrested before the third buy could
take place, and we are left to wonder how much heroin

he had access to.

[25] Iam keenly aware of the overreach some law en-
forcement agencies have exercised in some of these
cases. Entire family farms are sometimes forfeited
based on one family member’s conduct, or exorbitant
amounts of money are seized. However, it seems to me
that one who deals heroin, and there is no doubt from
the record we are talking about a dealer, must and
should suffer the legal consequences to which he ex-
poses himself.

[26] Timbs dealt heroin and got caught. I vote to re-
verse the trial court’s denial of the State’s forfeiture
request.

App. 27

STATE OF INDIANA
IN THE GRANT SUPERIOR COURT 1
COUNTY OF GRANT, SS:

2015 TERM

CAUSE NO. 27D01-1308-MI-92
STATE OF INDIANA, and the
J.E.A.N. Team Drug Task Force,
Marion Police Department, and
Grant Courty Sheriff's
Department, FILED

Plaintiffs AUG 28 2015
ve /s/ Carolyn J. Mowery

CLERK GSC 1

TYSON TIMBS,
One (1) 2012 Land Rover LR2
VIN#SALFR2BG7DH322169,

Defendants

JUDGMENT ORDER

The State appears by counsel, Joshua N. Taylor,
and the Defendant appears in person and by counsel,
Todd Glickfield, for a hearing on the State’s Complaint
for Forfeiture filed on August 5th. 2013. Evidence and
argument are submitted to the Court and concluded.
Having taken this matter under advisement the Court
now finds and orders as follows:

1. On or about January 30th, 2013, the De-
fendant purchased a 2013 Land Rover
LR2 vehicle from Tom Wood Jaguar-Volvo
in Indianapolis for the sum of $42,058.30.

App. 28

At the time of purchase, the Land Rover
odometer read 1,237 miles.

The uncontroverted evidence demon-
strated that the Defendant paid for the
Land Rover, in full, with life Insurance
proceeds he received following his fa-
ther’s death.

Between the date of purchase, and May
31st, 2013, the Defendant drove the vehi-
cle frequently from Marion to Richmond
to purchase heroin. The Land Rover was
used by the Defendant to transport the
heroin back to Marion. The Defendant
both used and sold the heroin. When the
Land Rover was seized by the State at the
end of May 2013, the odometer reading
was between 17,000 and 18,000 miles.
The increased mileage primarily resulted
from the Defendant traveling between
Marion and Richmond to engage in illegal
drug trafficking...

On June 5th, 2013, the Defendant was
charged in Grant Superior Court II under
cause number 27D02-1306-FB-46 with
cwo (2) counts of Dealing in a Schedule I
Controlled Substance, Class B felonies,
and one count of Conspiracy to Commit
Theft, a Class D felony. Ultimately, the
Defendant plead guilty to one (1) count of
Dealing in a Schedule I Controlled Sub-
stance, and Theft. On April 13th, 2015,
pursuant to a written plea agreement, the
Defendant was sentenced to an aggregate

App. 29

term of six (6) years at the Indiana De-
partment of Corrections with one (1) year
executed and five (5) years suspended
and served on formal, supervised proba-
tion. The executed portion of the Defend-
ants sentence is being served on home
detention through the Grant County
Community Corrections Home Detention
Program.

As part of the plea agreement entered
into by the Defendant, he is ordered to re-
imburse the J.E.A.N Team Drug Task
Force $385.00 for costs of investigation;
pay a drug abuse, prosecution, and inter-
diction fee of $200.00; pay court costs of
$168.00; and pay a bond fee of $50.00. Fi-
nally, the Defendant is ordered to un-
dergo a drug and alcohol assessment and
follow through with recommended treat-
ment, and pay a $400.00 Certified Court
Program fee to the Grant County Proba-
tion Department.

The maximum fine for a Class B felony
was $10,000.00 on the date of the Defend-
ant’s arrest in 2013.

The state now seeks a judgment against
the Defendant for forfeiture of the Land
Rover; a vehicle that just five (5) months
before it was seized had a fair market
value of almost four (4) times the maxi-
mum monetary fine of $10,000.00.

The Court finds that the judgment of for-
feiture sought by the State violates the

App. 30

Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth
Amendment of the United States Consti-
tution. The amount of the forfeiture
sought is excessive, and is grossly dispro-
portional to the gravity of the Defend-
ant’s offense.

9. While the negative impact on our society
of trafficking in illegal drugs is substan-
tial, a forfeiture of approximately four (4)
times the maximum monetary fine is dis-
proportional to the Defendant’s illegal
conduct.

10. Judgment is entered in favor of the De-
fendant and against the State. The Land
Rover LR2, at issue, is ordered released to
the Defendant immediately.

Dated this 28th day of August, 2015.
/s/ Jeffrey D. Todd

Jeffrey D. Todd, Judge
Grant Superior Court No. 1

App. 31

STATE OF INDIANA
IN THE GRANT SUPERIOR COURT 1
COUNTY OF GRANT, SS:

2015 TERM
CAUSE NO. 27D01-1308-MI-92
STATE OF INDIANA, and the
J.E.A.N. Team Drug Task Force,
Marion Police Department, and
Grant County Sheriff's
Department, FILED
Plaintiffs OCT 21 2015
ve /s/ Carolyn J. Mowery

CLERK GSC 1
TYSON TIMBS,
One (1) 2012 Land Rover LR2
VIN#SALFR2BG7DH322169,

Defendant
ORDER

The parties appear in person and by counsel for a
hearing on the Plaintiff’s Motion to Correct Error filed
on September 14th, 2015. Arguments are submitted to
the Court and concluded. Having taken this matter un-
der advisement, the Court now denies the Plaintiff's
Motion to Correct Error in all respects.

Dated this 21st day of October, 2015.

/s/ Jeffrey D. Todd

Jeffrey D. Todd, Judge
Grant Superior Court No. 1

App. 32

STATE OF INDIANA
IN THE GRANT SUPERIOR COURT
COUNTY OF GRANT
2017 TERM

CAUSE NUMBER: 27D01-1308-MI-92
STATE OF INDIANA, and the

TYSON TIMBS, One (1) 2012
Land Rover LR2
VIN#SALFR2BG7DH322 169,

Defendant

Pursuant to the Indiana Supreme Court’s opin-
ion issued on November 2, 2017, judgment is entered
in favor of Plaintiffs and against the Defendant
for forfeiture of ome (1) 2012 Land Rover LR2
VIN#SALFR2BG7DH322169.

SO ORDERED, this 9 day of November, 2017.

/s/ Jeffrey D. Todd
JEFFREY D. TODD, JUDGE
GRANT SUPERIOR COURT 1

App. 33

STATE OF INDIANA) IN THE GRANT COUNTY
)ssx SUPERIOR COURT 1
COUNTY OF GRANT) CAUSE NO. 27D01-1308-MI1-92

STATE OF INDIANA, and
the J.E.A.N. Team Drug
Task Force, Marion Police
Department, and Grant County
Sheriff’s Department,
Plaintiffs,
vs.

TYSOM TIMBS, and
One (1) 2012 Land Rover LR2
VIN#SALFR2BG7DH322 169,

Defendants.

Ne eee eee ee eee ee ee”

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION
TO WITHDRAW ORDER OF JUDGMENT AND
SUSPEND PROCEEDINGS PENDING APPEAL
TO THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

The Court, having considered Defendants’ Motion
to Withdraw Order of Judgment and Suspend Proceed-
ings Pending Appeal to the United States Supreme
Court and all related filings and being duly advised,
now GRANTS said motion. Accordingly, the Court WITH-
DRAWS its prior Order of Judgment dated November
9, 2017. Further proceedings are hereby STAYED
pending the resolution of all appeals.

App. 34

SO ORDERED, this 15 day of November, 2017.

All Counsel of Record through the Court’s ECF system

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0812%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
