# Amicus Curiae Brief — Trump v. Hawaii, 138 S. Ct. 923 (2018) (No. 17-965)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0806%3A27

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2018

## Text

No. 17-965

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

DONALD J. TRUMP, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES,
ET AL., Petitioners,
v.
STATE OF HAWAII, ET AL., Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Brief Amicus Curiae of Citizens United,
Citizens United Foundation,
Conservative Legal Defense and Education
Fund, Public Advocate of the United States,
Gun Owners Foundation, Gun Owners of
America, Inc., English First, English First
Foundation, Policy Analysis Center, and
Restoring Liberty Action Committee in

Support of Petitioners
JOSEPH W. MILLER WILLIAM J. OLSON*
RESTORING LIBERTY HERBERT W. TiTus
ACTION COMMITTEE ROBERT J. OLSON
P.O. Box 83440 JEREMIAH L. MORGAN
Fairbanks, AK 99708 WILLIAM J. OLSON, P.C.
Attorney for Amicus Curiae 370 Maple Ave. W., Ste. 4
RLAC Vienna, VA 22180
(703) 356-5070
*Counsel of Record wjo@mindspring.com

February 28, 2018 Attorneys for Amici Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES........... ss eae iii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE................. 1
STATEMENT OF THE CAGE... 2. ccc cece eeces 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ..............+-.00: 4
ARGUMENT
I. THE CLAIM THAT THE PRESIDENTIAL

PROCLAMATION VIOLATES THE

ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE IS BOGUS .......... 7

A. The Establishment Claim Rests Entirely
Upon the Ground that the Proclamation
Disfavors the Muslim Religion .......... 8

B. The Establishment Clause Does Not
Apply to Laws that Disfavor Religion.... 10

C. The Establishment Clause Claim Here
Should Not Be Appraised by the Lemon
Win bsectcbcccvevenivencueeaueuces 13

Il. THE MATTER BEFORE THIS COURT DOES NOT
RISE TO THE LEVEL OF AN ARTICLE IIT CASE
GEE odcccccecweccctsvecevas 16

A. It Is Not the Role of Article III Courts to
PEN cc iw ciewcceeueces 17

i

B. It Is Not the Role of Courts to Inquire
into Motivations of a Coordinate Branch.. 21

C. Article III Courts Do Not Have a Free
Wheeling Mandate to “Do Justice” ...... 25

Ill. THE DISTRICT COURT'S INJUNCTION, AS MODIFIED
BY THE NINTH CIRCUIT, IS CONSTITUTIONALLY
INFIRM, EXCEEDING THE JUDICIAL POWER OF THE
PIE 6 i. 5 6 0 tb dudetecidcssees 26

A. The District Court’s Global Injunction
Granted Relief to Persons Not Parties to
PPPs dcccuecuetecucevuhanes 26

B. The District Court Global Injunction Was
CO I Is occ kvesuceveuess 28

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Modification of Judge
Watson’s Injunction Cured Nothing ..... 29

D. The Ninth Circuit’s Injunction Does Not
Arise from a Class Action.............. 31

E. The Nationwide Injunction Violates
United States v. Mendoza .............. 33
F. The Nationwide Injunction Below
Exceeded the Judicial Power of the
EE ca. usa bs ocGGie wy ewkbane 35

I 6555 66 cteene ses enerabed eab dba 38

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
U.S. CONSTITUTION
EE ae aa ee ee ee 17, passim
De hc eic ccs ba heavak ed eb ee 3, passim
STATUTES
RE 86 ak el, cee ee hoey 29
CASES
Abington v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963)...... 14
Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589 (1988)........ 15

Bresgal v. Brock, 843 F.2d 1163 (9 Cir. 1987) .. 31
Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S. 682 (1979)... 32, 34
Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye v. City of

Hialeah, 508 U.S. Ee 12

Liberty v. Regan, 444 U.S. 646 (1980) ...... 15
Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1 (1958)............ 37
County of Allegheny v. A.C.L.U., 492 U.S. 573

I Roan oG oy bbdedeskesesoens 14
DaimlerChrysler Corp. v. Cuno, 547 U.S. 332

Dt cade ava wad vas cudhébeel atus esse 35
Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987)...... 14
Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968) ...... 14
Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1946) 14
Hawaii v. Trump, 859 F.3d 741 (2017).......... 3
Int'l Refugee Assistance Project v. Trump, 857

Pa ED EEO oo nec ce wecdccsececcs 3

Int'l Refugee Assistance Project v. Trump, 2018
U.S. App. LEXIS 3513 (4th Cir. 2018) . 4, passim

Kleindiensit v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753 (1972)... 7,18

iv

Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free

Sch. Dist., 508 U.S. 384 (1993) ............ 15
Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982)....... 7,13
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602

DE cicetceadeheasteeeuts cee 5, 13, 14, 15
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984) ........ 14
Madsen v. Women’s Health Ctr., Inc., 512 U.S.

Ci ..caes Cowes etenedevecwss hace 36
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803) ..... 25, 35
McCreary County v. ACLU of Ky., 545 U.S. 844

0 SR re eee 7, 14, 24

McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961)..... 12
Moss v. Spartanburg County School District

Seven, 683 F.3d 599 (4" Cir. 2012)......... 19
Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983).......... 14
Muskrat v. United States, 219 U.S. 346 (1911) .. 35
Texas v. United States, 809 F.3d 134 (5" Cir.

Pe ec cee reece eeean eee eeee 6, 28, 31
Trump v. Hawaii, 138 S.Ct. 377 (Oct. 24, 2017)... 3
United States v. Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154

ci. chsacceu es gosnpakeéetanhn 6, 33, 34
Valley Forge Christian Coll. v. Americans United

for Separation of Church & State, 454 U.S.

04 J b-cawewnd bade o0es sei 14, 20, 21
Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985).......... 14
Zelman v. Simmons-Harris, 536 U.S. 639 (2002). 15
Zepeda v. INS, 753 F.2d 719 (9 Cir. 1983) ..... 33
MISCELLANEOUS
W. Blackston, Commentaries................. 38

D. Brody, “Brody File Exclusive: President
Trump Says Persecuted Christians Will Be
Given Priority As Refugees,” CBN News
SN SEI 6 canon Case vebtseccese see% 23

v

D. Diaz, “Obama: Why I won’t say ‘Islamic

terrorism,” CNN (Sept. 29, 2016).......... 16
Executive Order No. 13,769 (Feb. 1, 2017).... 2, 22
Executive Order No. 13,780 (Mar. 9, 2017)....... 3

P. Holley, “Radical Islamic terrorism’: Three
words that separate Trump from most of
Washington,” The Washington Post (Mar. 1,

Presidential Proclamation 9645 ......... 3, passim
K. Ravishankar, “The Establishment Clause

Hydra: The Lemon Test in the Circuit

Courts,” 41 Univ. Dayton L. Rev. 262 (2006). 15
A. Scalia & B. Garner, Reading Law (West:

o> én'na dens ce Bah cideRbewe tek acevi 11
J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution,

(Little, Brown: 5” ed. 1891)............... 11
N. Webster, Third International Dictionary

GP 65 Fe b-nd cVS VedCbivinteteeseav ier 10

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

Citizens United, Public Advocate of the United
States, Gun Owners of America, Inc., and English
First are nonprofit social welfare organizations,
exempt from federal income tax under Internal
Revenue Code (“IRC”) section 501(c)(4). Citizens
United Foundation, Conservative Legal Defense and
Education Fund, Gun Owners Foundation, English
First Foundation, and Policy Analysis Center are
nonprofit educational and legal organizations, exempt
from federal income tax under IRC section 501(c)(3).
Restoring Liberty Action Committee is an educational
organization. These organizations were established,
inter alia, for purposes related to participation in the
public policy process, including conducting research,
and informing and educating the public on the proper
construction of state and federal constitutions, as well
as statutes related to the rights of citizens, and
questions related to human and civil rights secured by
law. These amici filed seven previous amicus briefs in
this and related cases in the Fourth and Ninth
Circuits, and in this Court:

* Washington v. ‘Trump, Brief Amicus Curiae of
U.S. Justice Foundation, et al,, Ninth Circuit
(Feb. 6, 2017);

* Washington v. Trump, Brief Amicus Curiae of
U.S. Justice Foundation, et al., Ninth Circuit
(Feb. 16, 2017);

' It is hereby certified that counsel for the parties have consented
to the filing of this brief; that no counsel for a party authored this
brief in whole or in part; and that no person other than these
amici curiae, their members, or their counsel made a monetary
contribution to its preparation or submission.

2

IRAP v. Trump, Brief Amicus Curige of U.S.
Justice Foundation, et al., Fourth Circuit (Mar.
31, 2017);

- Hawaii v. Trump, Brief Amicus Curige of U.S.
Justice Foundation, et a/., Ninth Circuit (Apr.
21, 2017); and

Trump v. IRAP, Brief Amicus Curiae of

Citizens United, et al., U.S. Supreme Court
(June 12, 2017).

- Trump v. IRAP, Brief Amicus Curiae of

Citizens United, et al., U.S. Supreme Court
(August 17, 2017).

* Hawaii v. Trump, Brief Amicus Curiae of

Citizens United, et ai, Ninth Circuit
(November 22, 2017).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On February 1, 2017, newly inaugurated President
Trump issued an Executive Order designed to
implement a pause in the immigration policies of
President Obama, as he sought to staff a new
Administration fashioning new and _ improved
immigration policies and practices as he had promised
the American people while on the campaign trail.
That Executive Order triggered much litigation
primarily in the Ninth and Fourth Circuits.

A. President Trump’s First Two Executive
Orders.

The First Executive Order (No. 13,769 (Feb. 1,
2017)) immediately became the subject of litigation
around the country. It was replaced by the Second

3

Executive Order (Executive Order No. 13,780 (Mar. 9,
2017)), which imposed a temporary suspension (“a
brief period of 90 days”) of immigration from seven
specifically named countries, for a specific purpose: to
review “existing screening and vetting procedures were
under review.” Id., Sec. 1(b)(ii). In enjoining
enforcement, both Maryland and Hawaii district court
judges actually went so far as to enjoin the President
himself — an almost unprecedented act. The Fourth
Circuit and the Ninth Circuit removed the injunctions
against the President, but upheld injunctions as to
other defendants, the Fourth limiting it to Section 2(c)
of the Second Executive Order,’ and the Ninth limiting
it to both Sections 2 and 6.° This Court granted
certiorari to review the decisions of both circuits, but
after the expiration of the Second Executive Order
ordered the lower courts to vacate the injunctions and
dismiss those cases as moot . See Trump v. Hawaii,
138 S.Ct. 377 (Oct. 24, 2017).

B. Presidential Proclamation 9645

On September 24, 2017, the President issued his
third presidential directive: Proclamation 9645. The
Ninth Circuit affirmed a nationwide injunction
imposed by the District Court in Hawaii, on statutory
grounds, without reaching the Establishment Clause

claim. Hawaii v. Trump, 878 F.3d 662, 702 (9 Cir.
2017). The Government filed a petition for certiorari

? Int'l Refugee Assistance Project v. Trump, 857 F.3d 554, 572
(4th Cir. 2017) (“IRAP”).

* Hawaii v. Trump, 859 F.3d 741, 755 (9th Cir. 2017).

4

and Respondents urged this Court to add the
Establishment Clause question because the alleged
Establishment Clause violation “would be sufficient by
itself to justify the affirmance of the preliminary
injunction.” Brief in Opposition at 34. On January 19,
2018, this Court granted certiorari to review the
decision of the Ninth Circuit and directed the parties
to address the Establishment Clause question.

On February 15, 2018, the Fourth Circuit upheld
the Maryland District Court’s nationwide injunction as
before, on the ground that it violated the
Establishment Clause. See Int’ i
Project v. Trump, 2018 U.S. App. LEXIS 3513, *61 (4th
Cir. 2018). On February 23, 2018, the Maryland
plaintiffs also filed a petition for certiorari (No. 17-
1194), seeking review of one question decided against
it in the Fourth Circuit, and requesting consolidation
with the Ninth Circuit case. This amicus brief
addresses, as has the Government, the Establishment
Clause claim as it was decided by the Fourth Circuit.
Brief for Petitioners (“Pet. Br.”) at 17, 58.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Establishment Clause claim rests entirely
upon the mistaken assumption that, because the
Proclamation disfavors the Muslim religion, it is an
unconstitutional law respecting an establishment of a
religion. This claim is erroneous both as a matter of
logic and of history. Logically, to establish is to favor,
not disfavor, something. Historically, this Court has
consistently recognized that the Establishment Clause
was designed to prohibit laws that “prefer” one religion

5

over another, not laws that disfavor a religion as
alleged here. Thus, reliance on the Lemon test — a test
developed in Establishment Clause cases to appraise
the constitutionality of a law designed to benefit
religion — is totally misplaced here. Or “has no place
here.”

The Fourth Circuit plaintiffs were never able to
demonstrate they suffered judicially cognizable harm.
The injuries alleged were expressed in terms of
feelings and expectations. Efforts to show injury to
plaintiffs, through assertions that some third parties
discriminated against Muslims, or that the “facially-
legitimate” Proclamation itself was offensive, were
unavailing. To the extent that there was any other
type of injury alleged, it was to foreign nationals who
have no protectable First Amendment rights.
Therefore, the Court should never have reached the
issues of supposed bias and animus by a coordinate
branch of government. Candidate Trump repeatedly
expressed his plan to limit entry into the country from
certain majority-Muslim countries and, based on that,
the American people voted him into office. A court
that imputes animus to the President also levels that
charge against the American people who elected him,
and the judiciary has no role to second-guess the
results of an election. Despite denying it did so, the
Fourth Circuit conducted precisely what this Court
has prohibited — a “judicial psychoanalysis of a
drafter’s heart of hearts.”

The Hawaii and Maryland District Court
injunctions, as upheld by the Ninth and Fourth
Circuits, were not limited to granting relief to the

6

parties before the court, but purported to bind the
Trump Administration worldwide from implementing
its travel restrictions. The extraordinary nature of the
remedy was given little attention by the courts below,
as illustrated by Judge Watson’s observation
“(njationwide relief seems appropriate in light of the
likelihood of success” on the merits. The courts below
relied on the 2015 injunction against President
Obama’s JAPA program entered in Texas, et al. v.
United States, but they failed to recognize, or at least
failed to point out, that case was inapposite, as it
involved a violation of the Administrative Procedure
Act which authorized courts to “set aside” illegal
agency action.

The Ninth Circuit appeared to justify the scope of
its injunction based on the need to allow “lesbian, gay,
bisexual, transgender, and queer (“LGBTQ”)
individuals “to safely bring their partners home to
them,” even though this claim was never before the
Court. And the case cited by the Ninth Circuit as
authority for a nationwide injunction involved a class
action, also not involved in this case. The injunctions
entered below violate this Court’s rule in United
States v. Mendoza, designed to provide this Court with
the benefit of multiple, different circuit court decisions.
Lastly, these injunctions exceeded the judicial power
of the United States, going beyond resolving disputes
into making and implementing laws and rules for the
nation.

7
ARGUMENT

I. THE CLAIM THAT THE PRESIDENTIAL
PROCLAMATION VIOLATES THE
ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE IS BOGUS.

In its opening brief, the Government erroneously
assumes that the Establishment Clause claim
tendered in this case is genuine, but that it fails on its
merits — either because the Presidential Proclamation
(i) “rests on a ‘facially legitimate and bona fide reason”
in compliance with this Court’s ruling in Kleindienst
v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753 (1972); or (ii) has an “official
objective’ [that] is religion-neutral” in compliance with
McCreary County v. ACLU of Ky., 545 U.S. 844, 862
(2005). Pet. Br. at 16, 58-71. In fact, however, the
Establishment Clause challenge to the Proclamation
fails without resort to the merits, because it rests upon
a claim that the Proclamation “disfavors” the Muslim
religion, whereas the Establishment Clause condemns
only laws that “prefer” some religion over another. See
Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228, 244-46 (1982). As
this Court has explained in Larson:

Since [1947] this Court has adhered to the
principle, clearly manifested in the history and
logic of the Establishment Clause, that no
State can “pass laws which aid one religion” or
that “prefer one religion over another.” [J/d..
at 246 (emphasis added). |

Because the Establishment Clause claim here, both on
its face and as a matter of fact, rests on alleged
“animus” toward the Muslim faith, not on a preference

8

for any religion, the claim is not a genuine
Establishment Clause claim, and thus, fails to
constitute a claim upon which relief can be granted
under F.R.Civ.P. Rule 12(b)(6).

A. The Establishment Claim Rests Entirely
Upon the Ground that the Proclamation
Disfavors the Muslim Religion.

As Petitioners make clear in their brief, the
Establishment Clause objection to the Proclamation
was based on the allegation that it was “infused with
religious animus ... ‘denigrat{ing]” the Muslim
religion. Pet. Br. at 17, 28, 65-66. As the Petitioners
further explained, it was on the basis of this allegation
that the Fourth Circuit rendered its decision that “EO-
2 was the product of religious animus, and then
contend[ing] that the Proclamation failed to ‘cure the
“taint.”” Pet. Br. at 65-66. Indeed, the Fourth Circuit
went to great lengths to establish that the
Proclamation violated the Establishment Clause solely
on the ground that the Proclamation and its
predecessor executive orders “disfavored the Muslim
faith.” IRAP v. Trump, 2018 U.S.App. LEXIS 3513,
*17-18, *28-29, *32-33 (4" Cir. 2018). See also id. at
*33, *37. So convinced by its evidentiary survey, the
Fourth Circuit concluded that “the Proclamation’s
invocation of national security is a pretext for an anti-
Muslim religious purpose”:

Plaintiffs here do not just plausibly allege with
particularity that the Proclamation’s purpose
is driven by anti-Muslim bias, they offer
undisputed evidence of such bias: the words of

9

the President. This evidence includes
President Trump’s disparaging comments and
tweets regarding Muslims; his repeated
proposals to ban Muslims from entering the
United States.... [/d. at *48-49.]

Completely absent from the Fourth Circuit opinion is
any evidence that the Proclamation purposes to favor
a religion. To be sure, the Fourth Circuit did note that
the President had previously stated that “EO-1 would
give preference to Christian refugees” (id. at *18), but
it never ruled that the purpose of the Proclamation
was to “prefer” Christianity over Islam. See id. at *53-
54. Rather, the Fourth Circuit found only that, as a
matter of fact, “EO-1 ... provided exemptions for
Christians,” negating “any asserted evidence
indicating a genuine national security purpose,” but
rather to reinforce the claim that EO-1’s overarching
“purpose was to discriminate against Muslims,” not to
prefer Christians. Indeed, whatever preference that
EO-1 may have given to “Christian refugees,” that
provision was entirely removed from subsequent
iterations of the travel ban, including the
Proclamation. To the contrary, after “[e}xamining
official statements from President Trump and other
executive branch officials, along with the Proclamation
itself,” the Fourth Circuit “conclud[ed] that the
Proclamation is unconstitutionally tainted with
animus toward Islam.” /d. at *33. If so tainted, it
taxes one’s credulity how the Proclamation can be a
law respecting an establishment of religion, when that
very Proclamation is touted as one that disfavors a
religion. This is Alice in Wonderland logic,
unsupported either by the plain meaning of the words

10

“establishment” and “disfavor,” or by the historical
context of the Establishment Clause.

B. The Establishment Clause Does Not Apply
to Laws that Disfavor Religion.

The Fourth Circuit opinion, as it is written, is
inconsistent. On the one hand, it has stated that the
plaintiffs have “claimed that the Proclamation violated
the Establishment Clause’s prohibition on disfavoring
religion....". Id. at *29. On the other hand, it has
stated that the “Plaintiffs here have alleged that the
Proclamation violates the Establishment Clause,
which bars government action that establishes or
disfavors religion.” Jd. at *36 (emphasis added). See
also id. at *37. In its first statement, the Fourth
Circuit appears to have embraced the novel notion that
the word “establishment” comprehends “disfavor.”
However, in its second statement, the Fourth Circuit
makes clear that it understands those two words have
distinctly different meanings. According to Webster,
“disfavor” means “the state or fact of not being favored
or in favor.”* In contrast, Webster defines “establish”:
“to assist, nurture so that stability and continuance
are assured.” Jd. at 778. Thus, establishment means
an “act of bringing into existence, creating, founding,
originating or setting up so that certain continuance is
assured.” Jd. In contrast “disfavor” means “the
condition of being deprived of favor or under
displeasure; or absence of loss of that which favors
one’s standing or cause.” Jd. at 649. Thus, synonyms

* N. Webster, Third International Dictionary 649 (1982).

11

for disfavor are “disadvantage” or “dislike” (id.),
whereas “establish” calls to mind words like “appoint,”
“entitle,” or “ordain.” Jd. at 778. Rather than the two
words having compatible meanings, they are quite the
opposite. The ordinary meaning of the phrase’ — “no
law respecting an establishment of religion” — would
preclude only those laws conferring favor on a religion,
not laws that would disfavor.

The distinction between a government act favoring
religion, as contrasted with disfavoring religion, is not
just a semantic one, but also stems from the fact that
the two religion clauses in the First Amendment were
designed to protect two quite different rights. As
Joseph Story has explained, the Establishment Clause
addresses the “limits to which the government may
rightfully go in fostering and encouraging religion.”
Id., 2 J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution,
Section 1872, at 628 (Little, Brown: 5“ ed. 1891). On
the other hand, the Free Exercise Clause addresses the
limits to which the government may rightfully go in
“excluding” individual religious beliefs and practices.
Id. at 629. Although the two rights are interrelated,
Story opined that “the duty of supporting religion,
especially the Christian religion, is very different from
the right to force the consciences of other men or to
punish them for worshiping God in the manner which
they believe their accountability to him requires.” /d.
at Section 1876. This reading of the Establishment
Clause is compatible with the history of the two

° “The ordinary-meaning rule is the most fundamental semantic
rule of interpretation.” A. Scalia & B. Garner, Reading Law at 69
(West: 2012).

12

religion guarantees as they appear in the First
Amendment.

A quarter century ago, this essential distinction
between Establishment and Free Exercise claims was
marked by this Court. In Church of Lukumi Babalu

Aye v. City of Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520 (1993), the Court
observed that, in cases involving claims of a
government “attempt to disfavor [one’s] religion|,} the
Free Exercise Clause is dispositive.” Jd. at 532
(emphasis added). In contrast, the Court further
noticed that “Establishment Clause cases ... for the
most part® have addressed governmental efforts to
benefit religion or particular religions.” Jd. (emphasis
added). In the eyes of this Court, then, there are two
kinds of religion cases — Establishment and Free
Exercise — each of which “deal[s] with a question
different ... in its formulation and emphasis.” Id.

In Free Exercise cases, discriminatory actions
taken against a religion require proof that the action
“prohibits” one’s “exercise” of one’s religious faith. See
id. at 532. See McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420,

429 (1961). Thus, as applied to the Lukumi Babalu
plaintiffs, they were able to sustain a Free Exercise

claim because the law targeted the church’s “religious
exercise” of animal sacrifices. Jd. at 542. Such is not

* Even if the Establishment Clause might be invoked in a case
involving government action disparaging a religion, the Court's
“for the most part” qualifier does not allow courts to disregard the
presumptive rule that government attempts to disfavor religion or
religious practice are not governed by the Establishment Clause,
but rather by the Free Exercise Clause.

13

the case here. No one is contending that any one is
prohibited from exercise of their religious faith by the
President's Proclamation. Instead, the claim is
phrased as an Establishment one, asserting that the
Proclamation “send[s] a message to non-adherents of
a particular religion that they are outsiders, not full
members of the political community.” See IRAP at 36
(italics original, bold added). To sustain such a claim,
a court must first discern whether the law or activity
in question is one that is conferring a benefit upon a
favored religious group, and on account of this favor,
unconstitutionally causes “feelings of marginalization
and exclusion” in non-adherents of the preferred
religious faith. Jd. at 43.

C. The Establishment Clause Claim Here
Should Not Be Appraised by the Lemon
Test.

Having assumed that the Establishment Clause
applies even to laws that do not prefer or in some other
way benefit religion, the Fourth Circuit assumed that
this Court’s three-part test set forth in Lemon v.
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) would apply. Slip Op.
at 44. The Fourth Circuit is mistaken — on two
counts.

First, as already established, there is no finding
that the Proclamation preferred any religious
denomination over another, such as in Larson v.
Valente, 456 U.S. 228, 244 (1982); nor was there any
effort expended upon an inquiry whether one could
infer from the alleged anti-Muslim rhetoric that the
real purpose was to benefit any competing religious

14

faith. See, e.g., Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97
(1968). The Lemon test, however, has been tailored to

sort out those laws that permissibly benefit religion
from those that do not, requiring proof of: (i) a
“secular purpose,” (ii) a primary effect that neither
advances not inhibits religion, and (iii) no “foster[ing]
lof} ‘an excessive government entanglement with
religion.” Jd. at 612-13. Each prong of the test makes
sense only if the Establishment Clause challenge is
limited to claims that one has been injured by a
government benefit conferred on a favored religious
group, such as the placement of a Ten Commandments
monument on public property,’ the erection of a creche
scene during the Christmas season on the county
courthouse lawns,” teaching “creation” in a public
school classroom,’ prayer and Bible reading as part of
the public school curriculum,"® conferring monetary
benefits upon private religious schools,'' conferring
monetary benefits upon parents who send their
children to private religious schools,'* or providing tax

" See, e.g., McCreary County v. ACLU of Ky., 545 U.S. 844 (2005).

* See, e.g., County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492 U.S. 573 (1989),
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984).

* See, e.g., Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987).

° See, e.g., Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985); Abington v.
Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963).

| See, e.g., Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1947);
of Church & State, 454 U.S. 464 (1982).
* See, e.g., Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983).

15

breaks and other monetary benefits to support private
counseling organizations with ties to certain religious
denominations.'®

Second, and in any event, federal court judges are
ill-advised to grant preliminary injunctive relief in
Establishment Clause cases based on the application
of the Lemon test. Such preliminary relief is available
only when one is likely to succeed on the merits, and it
is not obvious that the Court would even apply the
Lemon test, much less render a decision favorable to
plaintiffs on the merits. See K. Ravishankar, “The
Establishment Clause Hydra: The Lemon Test in the
Circuit Courts,” 41 U. DAYTON L. REV. 262 (2006).
Indeed, for years, the Court’s Establishment Clause
jurisprudence has been severely criticized by former
members of this Court. See, e.g., Zelman v. Simmons-
Harris, 536 U.S. 639, 688 (2002) (Souter, J.,
dissenting) (Establishment Clause jurisprudence has

reached “doctrinal bankruptcy”); Lamb’s Chapel v.

Center Moriches Union Free Sch. Dist., 508 U.S. 384,
399 (1993) (Scalia, J., concurring) (“Establishment

Clause [cases constitute a] geometry of crooked lines
and wavering shapes”); Committee for Public Educ.

and Ruligious Liberty v. Regan, 444 U.S. 646, 671
(1980) (Stevens, J., dissenting) (“the ‘blurred,

indistinct, and variable barrier’ desc. ibed in Lemon.”).

* See e.g., Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589 (1988).

16

Il. THE MATTER BEFORE THIS COURT DOES
NOT RISE TO THE LEVEL OF AN ARTICLE
III CASE OR CONTROVERSY.

During his campaign for the presidency, then-
candidate Trump repeatedly invoked the term “radical
Islamic terrorism.”'* This rhetoric distinguished him
from President Obama, who for years had been widely
criticized because of his steadfast refusal to use the
words “Islamic” and “terrorism” in the same
sentence."° President Trump apparently believed it
was little more than common sense to describe a
significant portion of the world’s terrorism in relation
to the religion openly espoused by the persons
committing it. President Obama, however, appeared
to believe that linking Islam to terrorism would paint
with too broad a brush, tying an entire religion to the
views of a subset of its most extreme and violent
adherents. At its essence, this rhetorical conflict
constituted a political dispute between two competing
positions embraced by different segments of the
American public.

Whether or not Fourth Circuit Chief Judge
Gregory and his Fourth Circuit colleagues who joined
his opinion approve, on November 8, 2016, the
American people voted for the very immigration

‘* P. Holley, “Re
usuiinteealenatieiiae The Weshington Post
(Mar. 1, 2017)

* D. Diaz, “Obama: Why I won't say ‘Islamic terrorism,” CNN
(Sept. 29, 2016)

17

policies that President Trump has been attempting to
carry out with EO-1, EO-2, and the September
Proclamation. Indeed, President Trump’s statements
that the Chief Judge Gregory finds so “disparaging,”
“disturbing,” and “raw[]” (TRAP at *52, *55, *57) were
widely known by the American public prior to its
choosing to elect President Trump. Therefore, the
Court’s imputation of religious animus to President
Trump based on statements he made on the campaign
trail inescapably imputes those same motivations to
the American public who voted for the President’s
policies. This is dangerous ground for the judiciary to
stand, as it is fundamental to our nation that it is the
people who are sovereign.

The political dispute reflected in this case is
quintessentially the sort of matter in which judges
should have absolutely no role, aside from their role as
an individual citizen in casting an election ballot.'®
Unfortunately, many federal judges appear to think
differently. But it is not the role of federal judges to
operate ‘behind enemy lines’ as a left-behind army,
tasked with impugning the President and impeding his
agenda.

A. It Is Not the Role of Article III Courts to
Redress Hurt Feelings.

As the Fourth Circuit’s en banc opinion makes
clear, the suit before it was based not on the First
Amendment rights of foreign nationals — as they have

‘© See Judge Niemeyer’s dissent, IRAP at *325-26.

18

none (see Kleindienst v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753, 762
(1972), see also LRAP at *339 (Judge Agee, dissenting))
— but on the rights of American citizens and persons.
Yet, as the Fourth Circuit admits, the plain language
of “[t}he Proclamation only applies to foreign nationals
who are outside the United States....” IRAP at *26.
One is left to wonder, then, how an American’s rights
can be violated by a policy that, by its terms, has
nothing to do with him. In order to reach that
conclusion, the Fourth Circuit was forced to engage in
a series of mental and emotional leaps, relying on a
series of precedents that in no way stand for the
principles that the Fourth Circuit claimed.

First, the Fourth Circuit attempts to bridge the
gap between persons explicitly targeted by the
Proclamation and persons allegedly affected, with its
conclusion that the U.S. plaintiffs in this case “have
sufficiently alleged personal contact with
unconstitutional religious animus.” IRAP at *34
(emphasis added). That is so, the court claims,
because “Establishment Clause injury-in-fact ‘may be
shown in various ways’....” Jd. at *36. The court then
relies on a series of cases where Establishment Clause
standing was found — while not bothering to mention
that all of those cases dealt with laws or policies that
applied within the United States to United States
persons. See id. at *36-37; see also Pet. Br. at 61-62.
The court cites not one authority for the proposition
that policies directed only at those with no ties tu this
country can injure domestic persons sufficiently to
create Article III standing.

19

Second, apparently recognizing the thinness of its
argument, the Fourth Circuit cites itself for the
proposition that “Establishment Clause injuries are
often ‘spiritual and value-laden, rather than tangible
and economic.” IRAP at *36 (citing Moss v.
Spartanburg County School District Seven, 683 F.3d
599, 607 (4 Cir. 2012)). But even if that were so, the
injuries the court alleges here do not even meet its own
test. The court claims that the plaintiffs are “suffering
‘[fleelings of marginalization and exclusion,” and “are
experiencing prolonged separation from close family
members who have been rendered categorically
ineligible for visas.” IRAP at *38. Indeed, plaintiffs’
case in the Fourth Circuit rises and falls on feelings —
giving a list of eight examples of how various plaintiffs
below “feel,” “feels,” or “felt.”'’ IRAP at *39-40.

Even pretending that hurt feelings can establish
standing, the Fourth Circuit is utterly unable to tie the
alleged “injuries-in-fact” offered by the plaintiffs to the
alleged anti-Muslim “evidence” it marshals against
President Trump. It appears that most of the hurt
“feelings” to which the Fourth Circuit refers were not

As these amici noted in an earlier amicus brief in this case:
“Dr. Elshikh does not have standing just because President
Trump has made him sad.” As amici explained: “Being personally
offended by government action has never been sufficient to confer
standing for a federal judge to second guess the President of the
United States — at least before 2017 challenges to President
Trump’s two Executive Orders. Although this country may now
have entered an era where people often believe that they can go
to court any time their feelings have been hurt, the lawyers and
the district court should have known better.” Hawaii v. Trump,
Brief Amicus Curiae of USJF (Apr. 21, 2017) at 17-18.

20

caused by President Trump’s alleged anti-Muslim
statements directly, but rather because various
plaintiffs “heard anti-Islamic comments more
frequently, and he or someone he knows experiences
Islamophobia ‘[a]lmost every week,” or because “a man
.. said that I make this country worse,” or because
another plaintiff “gets ‘more suspicious looks from
more people’....”. IRAP at *39-40. Apparently in the
Fourth Circuit, standing to challenge an executive
action can be established by an odd look from a
stranger. See IRAP at *343 (Agee, J., dissenting).
Additionally, even when the Fourth Circuit tries to tie
President Trump to the plaintiffs’ injuries, it is not
President Trump’s alleged anti-Muslim statements
that are the cause of the injuries, but rather the travel
ban itself. The lower court blames “the ban,” “the
travel restrictions,” “the first travel ban,” “the
Proclamation,” and “this new Proclamation” — a
Proclamation the court assumed was “facially
legitimate.” [RAP at *39-40, 47.

Finally, the Fourth Circuit makes one last attempt
to shore up its opinion by citing a 1982 opinion of this
Court. The Fourth Circuit alleges that hurt feelings
“are personal, particularized injuries cognizable under
Article III because they are suffered ° as a consequence
of the alleged constitutional error.” JRAP at *40-41
(citing Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans

United for Separation of Church & State, 454 U.S. 464,
485 (1982). In reality, Valley Forge says much more —

in fact, it says just the opposite.

Although respondents claim that the
Constitution has been violated, they claim

21

nothing else. They fail to identify any
personal injury suffered by them as a
consequence of the alleged constitutional error,
other than the psychological consequence
presumably produced by observation of
conduct with which one disagrees. [Valley
Forge at 485 (emphasis added).]

The Fourth Circuit’s machinations are unavailing
— there simply is no law for the sort of standing the
lower court “found” (manufactured) in this case. It is
entirely unclear how EO1, EO2, or the Proclamation
now under review make any of the plaintiffs feel like
they are “outsiders, not full members of the political
community” (RAP at *36), when the President’s
actions explicitly apply only to foreigners who quite
literally — and certainly legally — are “outsiders, not
full members of the political community.” See IRAP at
*339-40 (Judge Agee, dissenting).

B. It Is Not the Role of Courts to Inquire into
Motivations of a Coordinate Branch.

Following its creation of standing out of whole
cloth, the Fourth Circuit begins its Establishment
Clause analysis by noting that “[t]he Proclamation’s
stated purpose is ‘to protect [U.S.] citizens from
terrorism....” TRAP at *47. However, the Court
apparently is not entirely sure that national security
is a valid governmental interest: “[a]ssuming
without deciding that the proffered purpose of the
Proclamation is ‘facially legitimate’....” Id. (emphasis
added). Rather, the court “look[s] behind’ the
Government’s proffered justification for its action,” and

22

concludes that “the Proclamation’s invocation of
national security is a pretext for an anti-Muslim
religious purpose.” Jd. at *48.

The Fourth Circuit fabricates President Trump’s
alleged “pretext” out of bits of “evidence” about foreign
Muslims which, the court argues, leads to the
“commonsense conclusion” that the President’s
actions were taken because of his “religious
animosity” towards U.S. Muslims. See IRAP at *48,
*49, *51, *60. The government’s opening brief on the
merits in this case correctly criticizes the Fourth
Circuit for relying on “extrinsic material” rather than
the actual text and context of the Proclamation. Pet.
Br. at 17. The government notes that this Court’s
precedents do not “permit courts to ‘look behind’ the
Proclamation’s stated rationale and search for
pretext.” Pet. Br. at 61. Even so, the Fourth Circuit’s
“peek behind” the Proclamation does not reveal the
animus that the court claims.

On first glance, much of the court’s “evidence” is
nothing more than its perception of President Trump’s
attitude, rather than actual “evidence.” But, even the
so-called “evidence” on which the court relies is
misleading, at best. Early in its opinion, the court
claims that “President Trump stated in an interview
with the Christian Broadcasting Network that EO-1
would give preference to Christian refugees.” IRAP
at *18 (emphasis added). To be sure, that correctly
reflects the spin put on President Trump’s statement
by the interviewers, but what he actually said was far
different. In reality, what President Trump said was
that the disparity between Muslim and Christian

23

refugees was “very, very unfair” and “we are going to
help them.”"® A promise to stop discrimination against
one group of persons hardly rises to the level of an
intent to “prioritize” them, or to correspondingly
discriminate against others.

The Fourth Circuit also uses as “evidence” of the
President’s alleged animus the fact that he often has
made statements expressing his desire to ban Muslim
immigration from certain countries. [RAP at *19, *49,
*52 n.15. The court apparently believes such
statements provide an open and shut case — that a
statement intending to crack down on Muslim
immigration is per se discrimination on the basis of
religion. See [RAP at *56. Nothing could be further
from the truth. In making this assumption, the
Fourth Circuit confuses President Trump’s “purpose”
with his “motivation.” Noting that this Court has
permitted courts to “look behind’ the Government's
proffered justification” (IRAP at *48), the Fourth
Circuit claims to do just that by looking at evidence
that it believes is unambiguous — such as President
Trump’s statements that use the word “Muslim.” But
rather than the court looking behind the Proclamation
at President Trump’s statements, the court looks
behind those statements at a meaning the court

’ D. Brody, “Brody File Exclusive: President Trump Says

Persecuted Christians Wil! Be Given Priority As Refugees,” CBN

News (Jan. 27, 2017) https//www1.cbn.com/thebrodyfile/
‘-chriati en ee '

24

imputes to them.'” Indeed, while many of President
Trump’s statements may be clear, the motivation
behind them is not unambiguous. For example, the
President has said “that he wanted a ‘Muslim ban’....”
IRAP at *19. The Fourth Circuit believes this
statement is capable of only one interpretation —
President Trump must hate Muslims. But the
President never actually said “I want a Muslim ban
because I hate Muslims” — not even close. It is the
Fourth Circuit which imparts this unstated meaning
to the President’s words, by engaging in precisely what
this Court has prohibited — a “judicial psychoanalysis
of a drafter’s heart of hearts.” McCreary, 545 U.S. at
862; see Pet. Br. at 17, 64.

As President Trump has repeatedly stated, his
intent is to exclude terrorists from the United States.
President Trump clearly believes that the majority of
the terrorist threats that this nation faces come from
countries with Muslim populations, that this form of
terrorism is inextricably linked to the religion of those
who perpetrate it, and that excluding persons from
certain majority-Muslim countries is the best way to
exclude terrorists from their midst.”” While some may
disagree with some of those suppositions, they do not
constitute animus.

’* As Judge Niemeyer notes in his dissent, the majority's
conclusion of animus came from “the unstated objective of
expressing anti-Muslim animus.” [RAP at *323 (emphasis added).

* Judge Niemeyer concludes that “[u)nless corrected, the district
court's approach will become a sword for plaintiffs to challenge
any facially neutral government action, particularly an action
affecting regions dominated by a single religion.” [RAP at *325.

25

C. Article III Courts Do Not Have a Free
Wheeling Mandate to “Do Justice.”

In a speech to a bar association last year, Fourth
Circuit Chief Judge Gregory explained his belief that
the core of the Constitution was the phrase “establish
justice”’' contained in its Preamble — even though we
do not know what that is all the time. And, he
explained that a judge has “the power to make void
any act that is contrary to the manifest tenor of the
Constitution.... It’s not the height of our dedication to
the rule of law, but it’s the depth of our determination
to do justice....” Id. Reducing the Constitution to two
words — “do justice” — gives judges a fair bit of
latitude to strike down whatever they may believe is
against the “manifest tenor” of the Constitution, as
different judges may interpret that standardless
phrase.” In overruling the President's Proclamation
that was authorized by statute, Judge Gregory
apparently concluded that “the Rule of Law falls
short.” Jd. Departing from the historic role of the
Courts to “say what the law is,” the Fourth Circuit
determined to do what the judges felt that justice
required.

*' See North Carolina Bar Association Annual Meeting (2017)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwsirKFU-be at 10:20.

“ Judge Niemeyer, writing in dissent, similarly faults the
majority for creating a “new rule that [] will enable a court to
justify its decision to strike down any executive action with which
it disagrees.” [RAP at *319.

* Marbury v. Madigon, 5 U.S. 137, 177 (1803).

26

Ill. THE DISTRICT COURT'S INJUNCTION, AS
MODIFIED BY THE NINTH CIRCUIT, IS
CONSTITUTIONALLY INFIRM,
EXCEEDING THE JUDICIAL POWER OF
THE FEDERAL COURTS.

A. The District Court’s Global Injunction
Granted Relief to Persons Not Parties
to the Litigation.

This Court granted certiorari to determine
“lwlhether the global injunction is impermissibly
overbroad.” Petition for Certiorari at (1). In this case,
the overbreadth problem is not primarily an issue of
the injunction’s geographic scope, but rather whether
the district court had authority to grant relief to an
enormous class of persons who are not parties to the
litigation.

The five plaintiffs in this suit were identified as
the “State of Hawai'i ..., Ismail Elshikh, Ph.D., John
Doe 1, John Doe 2, and the Muslim Association of
Hawaii, Inc.” Hawai'i” v. Trump, 265 F.Supp.3d 1140,
1145 (D. Haw. 2017). Although all of the individual
plaintiffs were residents of Hawaii and the claims of
all parties related to that state directly, these five
plaintiffs sought “a nationwide” injunction, as if they
had brought a class action on behalf of all Muslims
nationwide. Yet district court judge Derrick K.

* Note that the district court used what it appeared to believe to
be a culturally sensitive name for the State of Hawaii, federal law

notwithstanding.

27

Watson obligingly responded, “the Court orders exactly
that.” Jd. at 1148.

Actually, Judge Watson went even further than
requested, as the injunction he ordered could more
accurately be described as breathtakingly “global” in
scope, just short of galactic:

Defendant|s} ... are enjoined fully from
enforcing or implementing Sections 2(a), (b),
(c), (e), (g), and (h) of the Proclamation issued
on September 24, 2017 ... across the Nation.
Enforcement of these provisions in all places,
including the United States, at all United
States borders and ports of entry, and in the
issuance of visas is prohibited, pending further
orders from this Court. [/d. at 1160-61.)

Although Judge Watson could have issued an
injunction properly tailored to remedy the harm
allegedly suffered by the named plaintiffs, he chose to
bring a complete stop to the President’s Proclamation
of September 24, 2017, despite the fact that it was
plainly designed to protect United States “citizens
from terrorist attacks and other public safety threats,’
by preventing ‘foreign nationals who may ... pose a
safety threat ... from entering the United States” (id.
at 1146-47, citing Proclamation). This injunction had
the effect of barring the new President of the United
States from implementing the immigration policies on
which he had campaigned, and on which he was

28

elected President of the United States by the American
people.”

B. The District Court Global Injunction Was
Unauthorized by Law.

Judge Watson's only discussion of the scope of his
injunction was one paragraph:

Nationwide relief is appropriate in light of the
likelihood of success on Plaintiffs’ INA claims.
See Washington [v. Trump], 847 F.3d at 1166-
67 (citing Texas [v. United States], 809 F.3d at
187-88); see also Hawaii [v. Trump], 859 F.3d
at 788 (finding no abuse of discretion in
enjoining on a nationwide basis Sections 2(c)
and 6 of EO-2, “which in all applications would
violate provisions of the INA”). [/d. at 1160.)

The extent of the consideration given to, and
justification for, the worldwide scope of Judge
Watson’s injunction was limited to two Ninth Circuit
decisions issued in similar litigation earlier that year,
supported by a decision issued by the Fifth Circuit —
Texas, et al. v. United States, 809 F.3d 134 (5" Cir.
2015). The Fifth Circuit upheld a nationwide
injunction in a multi-state challenge to President

* It also prevented the new President from changing the policies
of the former President of the United States — who happened to
have been Judge Watson's classmate at Harvard Law School, and
who had appointed Judge Watson to the federal bench in 2013.
See A. Burns, “ i jecti
Trump's Travel Ban,” New York Times (Mar. 16, 2017).

29

Obama's implementation of DAPA — the Deferred
Action for Parents of Americans and Lawful
Permanent Residents. However, Judge Watson failed
to point out that the district court injunction in the
Texas case was based on a finding of a violation of the
Administrative Procedure Act (“APA”), and _ its
directive to federal courts that a:

reviewing court shall ... hold unlawful and set
aside agency action ... found to be — (A)
arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or
otherwise not in accordance with law ... [or]
(C) in excess of statutory jurisdiction,
authority, or limitations, or short of statutory
right. [5 U.S.C. § 706(2) (emphasis added).]

The APA grant of authority to “set aside” empowers a
federal district court to “vacate” agency action that
violates APA and, once that occurs, the agency has no
authority to act otherwise anywhere in the nation. At
bottom, that statute does not authorize nationwide
injunctions, but rather authorizes federal courts to
vacate illegal agency action. In contrast, there was no
reliance on an APA violation or other comparable
congressional authority undergirding Judge Watson’s
global injunction in Hawaii.

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Modification of Judge
Watson’s Injunction Cured Nothing.

On appeal, the Government argued that the
injunction was overbroad, for a variety of reasons.
Hawaii v. Trump, 878 F.3d 662, 701 (9" Cir. 2017).
Reviewing the scope of the preliminary injunction only

30

for an abuse of discretion, the Ninth Circuit agreed
that:

a nationwide injunction was necessary to
give Plaintiffs a full expression of their
rights. [/d. at 701 (emphasis added).]

The Court never explained why the injunction could
not have been narrowed and still provide full relief to
the named plaintiffs, nor did it make clear what it
meant by “full expression.” It may be a reference to a
“politically correct” comment that appears never to
have been raised by the parties, but gratuitously
added by the appellate court:

The Proclamation also risks denying lesbian,
gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer
(“LGBTQ”) individuals in the United States
the opportunity to reunite with their partners
from the affected nations.... The public
interest is not served by denying LGBTQ
persons in the United States the ability to
safely bring their partners home to them. [/d.
at 701.]

The Ninth Circuit purported to modify the district
court injunction, commenting that “a nationwide
injunction is permissible [while] a worldwide
injunction as to all nationals of the affected countries
extends too broadly.” Jd. at 701. By omitting
protection for foreign nationals who have no “credible
claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or
entity in the United States” (id. at 702), the Ninth
Circuit purported to “narrow the scope of the

31

preliminary injunction” but it in no way converted a
worldwide injunction into a nationwide injunction.

D. The Ninth Circuit’s Injunction Does Not
Arise from a Class Action.

The Ninth Circuit cited two cases as authority for
a nationwide injunction: Bresgal v. Brock, 843 F.2d
1163 (9 Cir. 1987), and Texas, et al. v. United States,
supra. The Ninth Circuit followed the lead of the
district court in ignoring entirely the APA issue ruled
upon in the Texas case, discussed supra. As for
Bresgal, the Ninth Circuit stated:

|Ajn injunction is not necessarily made over-
broad by extending benefit or protection to
persons other than prevailing parties in the
lawsuit — even if it is not a class action — if
such breadth is necessary to give prevailing
parties the relief to which they are entitled.

{Hawaii at 701, citing Bresgal at 1170.)

However, omitted from the Ninth Circuit’s quotation
from Bresgal was the sentence immediately preceding
the excerpt quoted:

Where relief can be structured on an
individual basis, it must be narrowly
tailored to remedy the specific harm
shown. Id. at 727. On the other hand ...
[Bresgal at 1170 (emphasis added).|

The only Supreme Court authority cited by the
Ninth Circuit to support its reliance on Bresgal was

32
Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S. 682 (1979) — but that

case does not stand for the proposition for which it was
cited. To be sure, Yamasaki does contain one sentence
(bolded below) that some may claim supports the
authority of district courts to issue nationwide or even
worldwide injunctions. But it must be remembered
that Yamasaki was a case involving a class action
under Rule 23 — with the procedural protections
afforded by that Rule — a very different situation from
the case under review, which was not brought as a
class action:

Nothing in Rule 23, however, limits the
geographical scope of a class action that is
brought in conformity with that Rule. Since
the class here was certified in accordance with
Rule 23 (b)(2), the limitations on class size
associated with Rule 23 (b)(3) actions do not
apply directly. Nor is a nationwide class
inconsistent with principles of equity
jurisprudence, since the scope of injunctive
relief is dictated by the extent of the
violation established, not by the
geographical extent of the plaintiff class.
Dayton Board, 433 U.S., at 414-420. If a class
action is otherwise proper, and if jurisdiction
lies over the claims of the members of the
class, the fact that the class is nationwide in
scope does not necessarily mean that the relief
afforded the plaintiffs will be more
burdensome than necessary to redress the

complaining parties. [Yamasaki at 702
(emphasis added).]

33

Although the Ninth Circuit also relied on another
of its own decisions, Zepeda v. INS, 753 F:2d 719 (9
Cir. 1983), that decision undermines the case for
nationwide injunctive relief, making it even clearer
that such relief is insupportable:

We must vacate and remand, however,
because the scope of the injunction is too
broad. On remand, the injunction must be
limited to apply only to the individual
plaintiffs unless the district judge certifies a
class of plaintiffs.... A federal court may issue
an injunction if it has personal jurisdiction
over the parties and subject matter
jurisdiction over the claim; it may not
attempt to determine the rights of
persons not before the court. [/d. at 727
(citations omitted) (emphasis added). |

E. The Nationwide Injunction Violates

United States v. Mendoza.

The Brief for Petitioners relies on United States v.
Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154 (1984), but space did not
permit it to do more than state the nub of its holding
— “rejecting application of nonmutual issue preclusion
against the government.” Pet. Br. at 75 (citing pages
160 and 162 of that decision).

In Mendoza, the Supreme Court reviewed a
decision of the Ninth Circuit which had affirmed a
district court judgment that the United States was
precluded from asserting a defense against an alien,
because that defense had been previously considered

34

and rejected in earlier litigation that did not involve
the same alien. This Court determined that the
United States was not restricted by collateral estoppel
from raising the defense to the suit by Mendoza, who
had not been involved in the earlier litigation. This
Court asserted several reasons for its decision,
including that applying “nonmutual offensive
collateral estoppel” would, in the eyes of this Court,
impede the development of competing views on
complex legal issues by freezing in place the first final
decision rendered on a particular legal issue. Mendoza
at 158. Justice Rehnquist explained:

We have long recognized that “the Government
is not in a position identical to that of a private
litigant” ... both because of the geographic
breadth of Government litigation and also,
most importantly, because of the nature of the
issues the Government litigates.... A rule
allowing nonmutual collateral estoppel against
the Government in such cases would
substantially thwart the development of
important questions of law by freezing the
first final decision rendered on a particular
legal issue. Allowing only one final
adjudication would deprive this Court of
the benefit it receives from permitting
several courts of appeals to explore a
difficult question before this Court grants
certiorari. [Mendoza at 159-60 (citations
omitted) (emphasis added).}”°

*® In his Mendoza decision, Justice Rehnquist cited Califano v.
Yamasaki, supra, signaling that he understood Mendoza to be

35

By extending its injunction nationwide, the Ninth
Circuit deprived this court of the benefit of multiple,
different appellate court decisions.

F. The Nationwide Injunction Below
Exceeded the Judicial Power of the
United States.

Article III, Section 2 provides that “[t]he judicial
Power shall extend to all Cases, in Law and Equity
[and] to Controversies to which the United States shall
be a Party...” Madison’s Notes taken at the
Constitutional Convention indicate that the power of
the judiciary was “limited to cases of a Judiciary
Nature,””’ not a political nature. See Marbury v.
Madison, 5 U.S. 137, 163-67 (1803). This Court has
long recognized that judicial power is “the power of a
court to decide and pronounce a judgment and carry it
into effect between persons and parties who bring
a case before it for decision.” Muskrat v. United
States, 219 U.S. 346, 356 (1911) (emphasis added).
“(N]o principle is more fundamental to the judiciary’s
proper role in our system of government than the
constitutional limitation of federal-court jurisdiction to
actual cases or controversies.” DaimlerChrysler Corp.
v. Cuno, 547 U.S. 332, 341 (2006). Cases and
controversies are disputes between litigants, and it is
the very nature of the judicial power to resolve
disputes between parties, rather than to make laws of

comparable with that decision rendered just five years before.

27 J. Madison, The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787,
Aug. 27, 1787.

36

general applicability, which has the attributes of the
exercise of a legislative power vested in Congress, or
perhaps a power delegated to the Executive, but
certainly not a judicial power.

The injunction approved by the Ninth Circuit was
not limited to a resolution between the parties as it
should have been. Injunctions, under Rule 65 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, affect “the parties;
the parties’ officers, agents, servants, employees, and
attorneys; and other persons who are in active concert
or participation” with them if they have received
“actual notice” of the injunction. The injunction below
exceeded the scope of Rule 65, granting relief to
nonparties who had no involvement whatsoever in the
litigation. And, it impaired the ability of the President
to carry out the important responsibilities entrusted to
him by the Constitution and the laws of the land. As
this Court has stated: “injunctive relief should be no
more burdensome to the defendant than necessary to
provide complete relief to the plaintiffs.” Madsen v.
Women’s Health Ctr., Inc., 512 U.S. 753, 765 (1994).
Injunctions which compel government action with
respect to nonparties violate this principle.

It could be said that nationwide injunctions issued
by courts in class action litigation give relief to
nonparties, but that relief is given pursuant to
numerous protections afforded by federal law and the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. It could be said that
striking down a regulation issued by an unelected
bureaucrat for failure to abide by the Administrative
Procedure Act has a similar effect to a nationwide
injunction, but at least the Court there acts pursuant

37

to an express congressional authorization. See Section
111.B., supra. Neither situation is comparable to or
provides authority for the type of injunctions issued
below, which do not resolve cases and controversies
between litigants, but rather allow judges to usurp the
powers of the President of the United States.

Allowing the lower federal courts to enjoy such
free-wheeling authority to trump the political decisions
of the President provides a compelling incentive to
forum shop and find that one district court judge,
situated in a friendly circuit, who most assuredly
would agree with the policy position of the plaintiff.

And, lastly, if such federal court injunctions are
seen by a President of the United States as a political
act designed to impede the exercise of his lawful
authority to protect the nation, it certainly would bring
closer the day that this or another president will
simply refuse to give effect to a court order, based on
the sound principles discussed infra. A presidential
decision to choose to lawfully protect the nation rather
than to obey an unlawful court order might well lead
to the unraveling of the insupportable claim of the
Supreme Court to supremacy first embraced in Cooper
v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1 (1958), and re-establish the
historic rule that each branch of government has its
own independent duty to follow the Constitution, as
each perceives that duty. During the Founding Era,
and well into the history of our country, “[t}he
decisions ... of courts [were] held in the highest
regard,” but as Blackstone warned, they were not
“law” themselves, but only “evidence” of law, “[s]o that
the law, and the opinion of the judge are not always

38

convertible terms, or one and the same thing; since it
sometimes may happen that the judge may mistake
the law.” I Bilackstone’s Commentaries at 71
(emphasis original). Lastly, it is instructive to review
the words of Alexander Hamilton in Federalist 78,
concluding that the judiciary has “neither force nor
will, but merely judgment; and must ultimately
depend upon the aid of the executive arm even for the
efficacy of its judgments.” Courts should never be
entirely certain that their orders will be followed,
unless they are persuasive exercises of judgment, and
not acts of political will.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decisions of the
Ninth and Fourth Circuits should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
JOSEPH W. MILLER WILLIAM J. OLSON*
RESTORING LIBERTY HERBERT W. TITUS
ACTION COMMITTEE ROBERT J. OLSON
P.O. Box 83440 JEREMIAH L. MORGAN
Fairbanks, AK 99708 WILLIAM J. OLSON, P.C.
Attorney for Amicus Curiae 370 Maple Ave. W., Ste. 4
RLAC Vienna, VA 22180
(703) 356-5070
*Counsel of Record w)jo@mindspring.com

February 28, 2018 Attorneys for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0806%3A27. Public record. Not legal advice.
