# Amicus Curiae Brief — Herrera v. Wyoming, 138 S. Ct. 720 (2018) (No. 17-532)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0790%3A25

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2018

## Text

No. 17-532

STATE OF WYOMING,
Respondent.

*

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
District Court Of Wyoming, Sheridan County

Tel.: (402) 471-2682
Dave.Lopez@nebraska.gov

[Additional Counsel Listed At The End Of The Brief!

COCKLE LEGAL BRIEFS (800) 226-6964
WWW COCKLELEGALBRIEFS COM

i
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether Petitioner is precluded from relitigating

the Crow Tribe’s hunting rights within Wyoming and,
more particularly, in the Bighorn National Forest.

33

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. ....0000.0..0...0...cccccee0e00e- i
TABLE OF CONTENTS .................ccceccecceescesceeeee ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES... iii
INTEREST OF AMICI STATES.......000000000000000. 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .......... 3
EEE TE Aa RT Tae 4

I. The Wyoming state courts properly ap-
plied the doctrine of issue preclusion as a
bar to Petitioner’s affirmative criminal de-

Il. This Court has never recognized the broad
ee ee

Il. ms me Circuit’s alternative basis for
affirmance is independently preclusive....... 13

NEI Ui iisderstencshcrsesencionigsinctitbtbdensaiiainsiesingetaintsidanasien 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203 (1997) ..................0.000.. 8
Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980) ..0.00........ccccccccceees 5
Ass'n of Battery Recyclers v. EPA, 716 F.3d 667

Ee SS RET HD Sean aaa 15
Astoria Fed. Sav. & Loan Assn. v. Solimino, 501

EE REESE EERE Ml ESE ES Ce 5
B & B Hardware, Inc. v. Hargis Indus., Inc., 135

I 4,11,16
Baldwin v. Iowa State Traveling Men’s Assn.,

EES I Ea ee 4
Bobby v. Bies, 556 U.S. 825 (2009) ...............ccccccceeeeeees 8
Crow Tribe of Indians v. Repsis, 73 F.3d 982

EI passim
Deweese v. Town of Palm Beach, 688 F.2d 731

EERE i ESS SE Se 15
Gelb v. Royal Globe Ins. Co., 798 F.2d 38 (2d Cir.

RE nee ee ee ee 15
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994) 000... cccccceeeeee 10
In re Westgate-California Corp., 642 F.2d 1174

RE ER re A ae eee 15
Jean Alexander Cosmetics, Inc. v. L’Oreal USA,

Inc., 458 F.3d 244 (3d Cir. 2006) «2.000.000... .cccccccccen. 15

Magnus Elecs., Inc. v. La Republica Argentina,
830 F.2d 1396 (7th Cir. 1987)..................cccceccecceseees 15

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Minnesota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indi-
ans, 526 U.S. 172 (1999)...............ccccccceeeeeees 6, 7, 8, 10
Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147
SE sbediincidesiaiabeinnhsUlnadsiniitanatintbiasiatiariiriaciciatiaminenal 5,9, 11
Nebraska v. Parker, 136 S. Ct. 1072 (2016).......... 10, 12
Parklane Hosiery Co., Inc. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322
RE OR RE Ee SR aR A 17

Partmar Corp. v. Paramount Pictures Theatres

IIIT iccnsiniatiinertecninieniehiniininmatigesieindatictemassechiieiiataniiidiaiinsiaeany 17
Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Ex-

press, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989)..............cccccccccceceeeeees 8
S. Pac. Ry. v. United States, 168 U.S. 1 (1897)............ 13
Shellong v. INS, 805 F.2d 655 (7th Cir. 1986)............ 15
Taylor v. Sturgell, 553 U.S. 880 (2008)......................... 4
United States v. Moser, 266 U.S. 236 (1924) .......... 9, 16
United States v. Title Ins. & Tr. Co., 265 U.S. 472

RECESS Se he 15
Woods v. Interstate Realty Co., 337 U.S. 535

he TET AEE SO A ay SO asa ae ee ON ae 15
STATUTES

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~— Continued
Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES
Restatement (Second) of Judgments §27 cmt. Resets 14
Restatement (Second) of Judgments §28 cmt. c.........- 9

1

INTEREST OF AMICI STATES

The Amici States, like most litigants, have an in-
terest in the finality of judgments, and correspondingly
in the maintenance of doctrines that preclude repeated
attacks by losing parties on settled matters of law.
These interests reach their apex when the matter at
hand implicates the scope of Amici States’ sovereign
authority within their borders. This is especially true
in the realm of State-Tribal relations, where the loca-
tion of a reservation boundary, the nature of a trust
land acquisition, or the meaning of a 19th century
treaty can have profound, real-world consequences as
to who has the power to tax, who has the power to reg-
ulate, and who has the power to prosecute criminal of-
fenses.

Put simply, which sovereign has the power to gov-
ern over particular subject matter within a particular
geographic area matters greatly to government as well
as to the governed. More specifically for this case, the
finality and stability of what the federal judiciary has
said the law is regarding that power matters at least
as much. To that end, Amici States have a substantial
interest in this Court’s reaffirmation of the important
doctrine of issue preclusion and in its limitation on ex-
pansive new exceptions to the doctrine.

This case concerns the preclusive effect of the fed-
eral judiciary’s judgment on a settled issue of federal
law: whether under an 1868 treaty the Crow Tribe cf
Indians retain unrestricted hunting rights in the “un-
occupied lends of the United States,” notwithstanding

the Tenth Circuit's conclusive 1995 holding to the con-
trary. It arises from Wyoming's misdemeanor prosecu-
tion of Petitioner, a Crow Tribe member, for elk
hunting in the Bighorn Nationa! Forest in violation of

Wyoming's game laws.

Despite the quintessentially local nature of the
underlying facta, Petitioner's arguments in resistance
to the issue preclusion doctrine as a bar to his affirm.
ative criminal defense would have consequences far
beyond tribal hunting rights in northern Wyoming. Pe
titioner invites the Court to import into the federal
common law a broad—-and heretofore unrecognized —
automatic exception to issue preclusion where there
has been “a change in the applicable legal context.”
This ill-defined, manipulable standard would incentiv-
ize losing parties to continually innovate new means of
relitigating settled issues, even where, as here, the in-
tervening “change” is dubious at best.

Amici States have an interest in this Court's rejec-
tion of these arguments. Assuming the Court remains
assured that its grant of certiorari was appropriate,
the Court should use this case as an opportunity Lo re-
affirm its precedents concerning the doctrine of issue
preclusion, clarify the limited nature of the exceptions
to that doctrine, and repudiate Petitioner's expansive
and destabilizing arguments to the contrary.

°

3

Petitioner proceeds from the false premise that his
affirmative defense regarding tribal hunting rights is
not precluded by the federal courts’ decades-old judg.
ment that those hunting rights terminated. See Crow
Tribe of Indians v. Repsis, 73 F.3d 982, 992 (10th Cir.
1995), cert. denied, 517 U.S. 1221 (1996). In resisting
issue preclusion, Petitioner argues for a dramatic ex-
pansion of a narrow exception to the doctrine where
there has been a “change in the applicable legal con-
text.” Not only does Petitioner's fact-bound claim not
meet the requirements for this limited exception, his
desired expansion of the exception could lead to ma-
nipulation as losing parties maneuver to identify some
precedent cited in the adverse opinion that appears to
rest on reasons rejected in some other line of “interven.
ing” decisions by the Supreme Court. Amici States aim
to complement their sister State Wyoming’s own argu.
ments by pointing out how Petitioner's broad concep-
tion of this exception would undermine finality and
stability in an area of law—State-Tribal relations —
where jurisdictional certainty is of paramount im-
portance.

Amici States will first summarize the well-estab-
lished principles of issue preclusion and why the Wyo-
ming state courts properly applied that doctrine below.
Amici States will then demonstrate how Petitioner's
overbroad, Restatement-based conception of the
“change in the applicable legal context” exception to is-
sue preclusion has not been recognized by this Court,
would undermine the principle of judgment finality,

4

and, as illustrated by the facts of this case, would have

destabilizing consequences on important jurisdictional!
questions in the sphere of State-Tribal relations.

*

|. The Wyoming state courts properly ap-
plied the doctrine of issue preclusion as a
bar to Petitioner's affirmative criminal de-
fense.

The doctrine of issue preclusion is designed to pre
vent parties who lose in one tribunal to “shop around
for another.” B & B Hardware, Inc. v. Hargis Indus,
Inc., 136 8. Ct. 1293, 1298-99 (2015). When two differ.
ent tribunals are asked to decide the same issue, th»
second tribunal must usually follow the decision of the
first tribunal. /d.

Issue preclusion bars “successive litigation of an
issue of fact or law actually litigated and resolved in a
valid court determination essential to the prior judg-
ment.” Taylor vu. Sturgell, 6563 U.S. 880, 892 (2008) (ci-
tation omitted). The principle behind issue preclusion
is straightforward: “\o|nce a court has decided an issue,
it is ‘forever settled as between the parties."” B & 2B
Hardware, 136 8. Ct. at 1302-03 (citing Baldwin uv.
lowa State Traveling Men's Asan., 283 US. 522, 525
(1931)). Under the doctrine, once an issue is directly
determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, that
determination is conclusive and cannot be disputed in
subsequent suits between the same parties or their

5

privies. Montana vu. United States, 440 US. 147, 153
(1979).

Issue preclusion protects parties from the expense
and vexation of multiple lawsuits, conserves judicial
resources, and fosters reliance on judicial action by
minimizing the possibility of inconsistent verdicts. B &
B Hardware, 135 8. Ct. at 1302 (citing Montana, 440
U.S. at 153-54). Indeed, the goal of minimizing incon-
sistent verdicts “encourage|s| reliance on adjudica-
tion.” Allen uv. McCurry, 449 US. 90, 94 (1980).
Moreover, issue preclusion “promote|s| the comity be-
tween state and federal courts that has been recog-
nized as a bulwark of the federal system.” Allen, 449
US. at 96.

Issue preclusion is “central to the purpose for
which civil courts have been established, the conclu.
sive resolution of disputes within their jurisdictions.”
Montana, 440 U.S. at 153 (emphasis added). Simply
put, “a losing litigant deserves no rematch after a de-
feat fairly suffered.” Astoria Fed. Sav. & Loan Assn. v.
Solimino, 601 U.S. 104, 107 (1991).

Here, although Petitioner and his Amici are un-

derstandably eager to skip past the critical threshold
question of issue preclusion, the application of the doc-
trine is straightforward on a fair and complete reading
of the line of relevant decisions. As Respondent has
ably and comprehensively described, and as Amici
States will briefly summarize, the decided nature of
the termination of the Crow Tribe's off-reservation

hunting rights is clear.

Twenty years after Repsis, Petitioner (and, indeed,
the Crow Tribe itself) seeks a rematch on precisely the
legal issue his Tribe lost in 1996. Petitioner argues
that the doctrine of issue preclusion does not bar him
from relitigating off-reservation Wyoming hunting
rights because Repsis lacks preclusive effect due to a
“change in the applicable legal context.” The basis of
this argument is that Repsis relied exclusively on Race
Horse and this Court effectively overruled Race Horse
in Minnesota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians,
526 U.S. 172 (1999). Petitioner argues that Mille Lacs
“thoroughly repudiated” Race Horse, the case on which
Repsis relied, and that Petitioner should, therefore, be
permitted to relitigate Repsis itself. Id.

But Mille Lacs did not overrule the relevant part
of Race Horse on which Repsis relied. All parties agree
that this Court rejected the doctrine of “equal footing”
that Race Horse relied on in holding that Indian hunt-
ing rights are irreconcilable with state sovereignty.
Mille Lacs, 526 U.S. at 206. Critically, however, this
Court continued:

[tlhe equal footing doctrine was only part of
the holding in Race Horse, however. We also
announced an alternative holding: The treaty
rights at issue were not intended to survive
Wyoming's statehood.

Mille Lacs, 526 U.S. at 206. Mille Lacs did not explicitly
overrule this alternative holding in Race Horse.

Mille Lacs acknowledged that Race Horse con-
cluded that the rights in the treaty at issue in Race

7

Horse were not intended to survive statehood. Id. This
Court then contrasted the treaty rights at issue in
Race Horse, which had a “fixed termination point,”
with the Mille Lacs treaty, which had no fixed termi-
nation and did not tie the duration of rights to the oc-
currence of a clearly contemplated event. Mille Lacs,
526 U.S. at 207. It further explained that the treaty at
issue in Race Horse “contemplated that the rights
would continue only so long as the hunting grounds re-
mained unoccupied and owned by the United States”
and the “happening of these conditions was ‘clearly
contemplated’ when the Treaty was ratified.” Jd. at 207
(quoting Race Horse, 163 U.S. at 609).

But the Court never explicitly overruled its second
holding in Race Horse. The Mille Lacs Court held that
courts should determine whether the rights granted in
a treaty were intended to terminate upon the happen-
ing of a clearly contemplated event, such as in Race
Horse. At worst, this Court only refused to extend the
holding in Race Horse beyond the precise treaty lan-
guage present in Race Horse—the same language in
Repsis and here. The Wyoming state courts thus
properly found that Race Horse's second holding re-
mained good law since this Court had not overruled it,
and that it precluded Petitioner from relitigating the
ultimate holding in Repsis.

This Court has long taken the position that lower
courts are not to conclude that its recent cases have
impliedly overruled earlier precedent: “\i)f a precedent
of this Court has direct application in a case, yet ap-
pears to rest on reasons rejected in some other line of

4

decisions, the Court of Appeals should follow the case
which directly controls, leaving to this Court the pre-
rogative of overruling ita own decisions.” Agostini v.
Felton, 521 U.S. 203, 237-38 (1997) (quoting Rodriguez
de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S.
477, 486 (1989)).

The facta, circumstances, and procedural posture
of the present litigation illustrate the wisdom behind
this Court’s opinion in Agostini. Petitioner is asking
this Court to greatly expand the exception to the doc-
trine of issue preclusion that limits issue preclusion
due to a “change in the applicable legal context. See
Bobby v. Bies, 5666 U.S. 826, 834 (2009). Petitioner is
asking the Court to hold that parties are not bound by
issue preclusion when the binding decision was based
on case precedent that may have been subsequently
questioned, but not overruled. This runs contrary to
the principle of Agostini and is flatly inconsistent with
what this Court actually held in Mille Lacs.

Il. This Court has never recognized the broad
exception to issue preclusion urged by Pe-
titioner.

It is upon the intersection of Repsis and Mille Lacs
that Petitioner bases his primary—and farthest-reach-
ing—argument for expanding the recognized excep-
tions to issue preclusion “where there has been a
change in the applicable legal context.” Pet. Br. 46-48.
Petitioner bases his argument on Bobby vu. Bies, 5566
U.S. 825, 834 (2009), where the Court cited a comment

9

from the Restatement (Second) of Judgments that “an
intervening change in the relevant legal climate may
warrant reexamination of the rule of law applicable as
between the parties.” Restatement (Second) of Judg-
ments §28 cmt. c.

Bies does not appear to represent the Court’s for-
mal adoption of the Restatement’s broad exception to
issue preclusion. This is particularly true, as Respond-
ent has ably demonstrated, in light of the Court’s long-
standing articulation of a related—but justifiably nar-
row—standard for when issue preclusion should be
withheld given an intervening development in the law:

Where, for example, a court in deciding a case
has enunciated a rule of law, the parties in a
subsequent action upon a different demand
are not estopped from insisting that the law is
otherwise, merely because the parties are the
same in both cases. But a fact, question or
right distinctly adjudged in the original action
cannot be disputed in a subsequent action,
even though the determination was reached
upon an erroneous view or by an erroneous
application of the law.

Montana, 440 U.S. at 162 (emphasis original) (quoting
United States v. Moser, 266 U.S. 236, 242 (1924)). This
standard defeats issue preclusion only “for ‘unmixed
questions of law’ in successive actions involving sub-
stantially unrelated claims.” /d.

The exception as set out in Montana and Moser is
superior in that it provides more concrete guidance to
courts and litigants as to the circumstances in which a

10

prior final judgment will not enjoy the benefit of issue
preclusion. Petitioner's Restatement-based alterna-
tive, on the other hand, would trigger the exception
whenever a disappointed party can imagine a change
in the legal “context,” vague though that term may be.
Here, the consequences of such a malleable standard
are obvious, given that two of the freestanding reasons
for the Repsis court’s holding remained categorically
valid even after Mille Lacs overruled the first reason.
This should be a circumstance where issue preclusion
still unquestionably applies based on the two undis-
turbed reasons in the prior case.

Here, there is no “unmixed question of law.” Inter-
pretation of the 1868 treaty is necessarily a fact-inten-
sive endeavor, as the state court recognized in its
careful, weil-reasoned decision to apply issue preclu-
sion. Pet. App. 25. This is not surprising, since the over-
whelming majority of cases determining State-Tribal
jurisdictional disputes based on 19th century treaties
will involve mixed questions of fact and law. See, e.z.,
Nebraska v. Parker, 136 S. Ct. 1072 (2016) (fact-inten-
sive analysis in reservation diminishment context);
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994) (same).

Were this Court to allow Petitioner to relitigate
Repsis, no judgment would be safe. Every final judg-
ment would be at risk of losing its preclusive effect
between the parties and their privies the moment
the underpinning legal authority can be called into
question through mere reference to some intervening
decision that criticizes a single component of the oth-
erwise preclusive decision. This would invite relentless

11

litigation of settled issues until the non-prevailing
party prevails, leading to abusive, vexatious and ex-
pensive litigation, waste of judicial resources, incon-
sistent results, and inability to rely on any
adjudication. See B & B Hardware, Inc., 135 S. Ct. at
1298-99, 1302; Montana, 440 U.S. at 153.

States and Tribes must be able to rely on past de-
cisions and have finality between each other, particu-
larly when such decisions directly implicate public
safety considerations by deiineating which sovereign
may exercise law enforcement over a certain area, and
the scope of the same. The alternative would breed ju-
risdictional chaos. Not only would Amici States be sub-
ject to litigation of previously decided issues—
including, in all likelihood, on core jurisdictional issues
stemming from century-old treaties decided (and re-
lied on) for decades—they would be concerned with fo-
rum-shopping, including for relitigation of State-Tribal
jurisdictional matters in non-federal forums _ill-
equipped to resolve such issues.

To be clear, Amici States do not accuse Petitioner
of forum-shopping. But without jurisdictional cer-
tainty, individual parties could forum shop to relitigate
such issues in forums that are ill-suited to that work.
For example, Wyoming Circuit Courts, with original ju-
risdiction in all misdemeanor cases, Wyo. Stat. Ann.
§ 5-9-129. Like their counterparts in many other
States, they are courts of limited jurisdiction with sim-
plified rules to provide limited, focused discovery and
expedited trial dates. Relitigating significant issues

12

regarding treaty-based State-Tribal jurisdictional
boundaries during misdemeanor criminal prosecutions
in such courts would tax judicial resources and in-
crease the possibility of inconsistent decisions.

Moreover, and without at all casting doubt on the
capacity of lower State courts, such courts are simply
not the appropriate venues for the resolution of such
significant and inherently federal issues. A strong is-
sue preclusion doctrine serves as a safeguard against
the relitigation of federal treaty questions in misde-
meanor-level State courts, at least where, as here, the
federal courts have already spoken. That is desirable
from a policy perspective. Jurisdictional clarity and
consistency would be ill-served if, for example, the is-
sues decided by this Court several terms ago in Parker,
136 S. Ct. 1072, were continually relitigated in misde-
meanor prosecutions in Nebraska county courts.

The need for jurisdictional certainty is particu-
larly true in the context of State-Tribal criminal
jurisdiction. For example, this term, in Carpenter v.
Murphy, No. 17-1107 (U.S.), this Court will resolve
a jurisdictional boundary dispute covering all of east-
ern Oklahoma and 1.8 million residents. However
the dispute is resolved, it should be expected that both
the State of Oklahoma and the Creek Nation respect
the finality of the decision. It should also be expected
that future clarification of issues addressed in Car-
penter v. Murphy not be used as a “change in the
applicable legal context” to undermine the finality of
whatever decision is reached. Once a jurisdictional
boundary is determined, that determination should

13

be final. Yet Petitioner's position would invite every
criminal defendant in a successive prosecution to
relitigate in state court the federal court’s determina-
tion of the underlying jurisdictional boundaries. Pet.
Br. 57. Such vexatious relitigation of settled jurisdic-
tional issues would place no value on finality. Each
successive prosecution should not spawn a renewed op-
portunity to undo the jurisdictional boundaries settled
by the last.

The general rule of issue preclusion “is demanded
by the very object for which civil courts have been es-
tablished.” S. Pac. Ry. v. United States, 168 U.S. 1, 49
(1897). The doctrine of issue preclusion protects the ju-
dicial system’s vital interest in the finality of judg-
ments. Allowing Petitioner to expand the recognized
exceptions to the issue preclusion doctrine in order to
relitigate Repsis would undermine this vital interest.

Ill. The Tenth Circuit’s alternative basis for

affirmance is independently preclusive.

Repsis provided an additional “alternative basis
for affirmance of the district court’s dismissal of the
Tribe’s action” that was not based on Race Horse. Rep-
sis, 73 F.3d at 993. Repsis held that, at the time the
1868 treaty was executed, the land that is now the Big-
horn National Forest was unoccupied and open for set-
tlement. Jd. However, 11 years later when Congress
created the Bighorn National Forest, it expressly man-
dated that national forest lands were to be regulated
for environmental purposes and “were no longer avail-
able for settlement.” Jd. Specifically, people could no

14

longer “timber, mine, log, graze cattle, or homestead”
on national forest land without federal permission. /d.
Accordingly, the Tenth Circuit held that the Crow
Tribe had no right to hunt in the Bighorn National For-
est because those lands are “occupied,” since the
treaty only reserved off-reservation tribal hunting
rights to “unoccupied” lands. /d.; see also Pet. App. 45
(1868 treaty text).

Petitioner contends that the Tenth Circuit’s hold-
ing that the Bighorn National Forest land is “occupied”
should not be given preclusive effect. Pet. Br. 50. His
primary argument on this point, and the one Amici
States will address, again urges the adoption of an is-
sue preclusion exception drawn from a comment to the
Restatement (Second) of Judgments that this Court
has never recognized. Specifically, he argues that if a
“judgment by a court of first instance” relies on “deter-
minations of two issues” that independently support
the result, then the judgment is not preclusive on ei-
ther issue. Pet. Br. 50 (citing Restatement (Second) of
Judgments § 27 cmt. i.).

This position is contrary to this Court’s precedent.
This Court has held “where there are two grounds,
upon either of which an appellate court may rest its
decision, and it adopts both, the ruling on neither is
obiter, but each is the judgment of the court and of

' The Wyoming state courts in Petitioner's case recognized
that the “Repsis court also alternatively held that the treaty
rights were no longer valid, because the creation of the Big Horn
National Forest resulted in the occupation of the land.” Pet. App.
22, 33 (internal quotation omitted).

15

equal validity with the other.” United States v. Title Ins.
& Tr. Co., 265 U.S. 472, 486 (1924); see also Woods v.
Interstate Realty Co., 337 U.S. 535, 537 (1949) (“where
a decision rests on two or more grounds, none can be
relegated to the category of obiter dictum”).

Notably, not only has this Court not embraced this
exception, it has been rejected by at least six circuits.
The Second, Third, Seventh, Ninth, Eleventh, and D.C.
Circuits have generally followed the traditional view
that independently sufficient alternative findings that
have been litigated and decided should be given pre-
clusive effect. See Ass’n of Battery Recyclers v. EPA,716
F.3d 667, 673 (D.C. Cir. 2013); Jean Alexander Cosmet-
ics, Inc. v. L’Oreal USA, Inc., 458 F.3d 244, 255 (3d Cir.
2006); Magnus Elecs., Inc. v. La Republica Argentina,
830 F.2d 1396, 1402 (7th Cir. 1987); Shellong v. INS,
805 F.2d 655, 658-59 (7th Cir. 1986); Gelb v. Royal
Globe Ins. Co., 798 F.2d 38, 45 (2d Cir. 1986), cert. de-
nied, 480 U.S. 948 (1987); Deweese v. Town of Palm
Beach, 688 F.2d 731, 734 (11th Cir. 1982); In re West-
gate-California Corp., 642 F.2d 1174, 1176-77 (9th Cir.
1981). In so doing, these courts relied on the general
principles of issue preclusion, including finality and
promoting judicial economy: “la]pplying issue preclu-
sion to independentiy sufficient alternative findings
furthers the basic objectives of the doctrine.” See, e.g.,
L’Oreal USA, 458 F.3d at 254.

In support of applying the Restatement (Second)
of Judgments comment as a new exception, Petitioner
contends that a court’s determination of an alternative
basis may not have been as carefully or rigorously

considered. Pet. Br. at 50. This argument gives woeful
short shrift to the Tenth Circuit's analysis, which con-
sisted of an entire substantive section of its opinion.
Repsis, 73 F.3d at 993. Hardly the “passing” conclusion
described by Petitioner. Pet. Br. 51. Litigants should
not assume that courts would give any less considera.
tion to an independently sufficient basis to support its
judgment. L’Oreal USA, 458 F.3d at 254. Courts are
reasonably expected to craft findings that are the prod.
uct of careful judicial reasoning, and the Tenth Circuit
did so in Repsis. Id.

Next, Petitioner contends that the Tenth Circuit's
alternative basis is legally and factually wrong and in-
consistent with other court decisions. Pet’r Br. at 51.
But even if the Tenth Circuit did err, this would not
tion of wrong decisions to the same degree as correct
ones. B & B Hardware, Inc., 135 S.Ct. at 1308-09; see
also United States v. Moser, 266 U.S. 236, 242 (1924)
(“{A] fact, question or right distinctly adjudged in the
original action cannot be disputed in a subsequent ac
tion, even though the determination was reached upon
an erroneous view or by an erroneous application of
law.”).

The Tenth Circuit in Repsis resolved the same is-
sue sought to be relitigated here—.c, that the 1868
treaty hunting rights were no longer valid due to the
creation of the Bighorn National Forest resulting in
“occupation” of the land. This resolution was essentia!
to the decision as an independently sufficient alterna.
tive basis that the treaty rights were no longer valid.

17

Title Ina. & Tr. Co., 265 U.S. at 486; L'Oreal USA, 458
F.3d at 255. To permit relitigation of alternative find-
ings would “eviscerate a great number of judicial de-
terminations that were the products of costly litigation
and careful deliberation.” L'Oreal USA, 458 F.3d at
255. Further establishing that the Tenth Circuit's alter.
native holding was essential to the judgment, is that it
was capable of being appealed and that the Crow Tribe
actually petitioned for certiorari on this issue. See Pet.
Br. at 7, 22, 24, Supreme Court of the United States
docket no. 95-1560; see Partmar Corp. v. Paramount
Pictures Theatres Corp., 347 U.S. 89, 100,74 8. Ct. 414,
420, 98 L. Ed. 532 (1954) (“It is only when a finding of
law or fact is not necessary for a decree that the pre-
vailing party may not appeal and the finding does not
form the basis for collateral estoppel.”).

Petitioner, as a member of the Crow Tribe, should
not be permitted to litigate, for the second time, the
precise issue litigated by the State of Wyoming and
Crow Tribe and resolved by the Tenth Circuit in Wyo-
ming’s favor. This Court should hold that Petitioner is
precluded from relitigating whether the creation of the
Bighorn National Forest rendered the land “occupied,”
thereby terminating the Crow Tribe's treaty rights to
hunt those lands in violation of Wyoming's game laws.
States must be able to rely on past decisions and the
propriety of issue preclusion to protect against the
burden of needless and vexatious relitigation of settled
jurisdictional issues. See Parklane Hosiery Co., Inc. v.
Shore, 439 U.S. 322, 326 (1979).

“Denying preclusive effect to a finding that would
support a court» judgment merely because the case
was disposed of on other grounds as well would result
in the inefficient use of private and public litigation re-
sources.” L'Oreal USA, 458 F.3d at 253. Litigants, par-
ticularly States that are often litigants to cases
involving the clash of sovereign and jurisdictional in-
terests, should not be denied preclusive effect of past
decisions simply because the ultimate holding was
based on multiple freestanding reasons. To hold other
wise would force defendants to gamble on only one le-
gal theory in defense or only be entitled to issue
preclusion on simple cases. See L'Oreal USA, 458 F.3d
at 255 (“under the approach of the Second Restate-
ment, the judicial findings in nearly any complex case
would be unlikely to preclude subsequent relitigation
of the same issues”).

19

The judgment of the District Court of Wyoming
should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ADDITIONAL COUNSEL

Dernex Scumipvr
Attorney Genera!
State of Kansas

Jevy LANDRY
Attorney Genera!
State of Louisiana
WAYNE STENEHJEM
Attorney General
State of North Dakota
Marty J. JACKLEY

Attorney Genera!
State of South Dakota

KEN PAXTON

Attorney Genera!
State of Texas

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0790%3A25. Public record. Not legal advice.
