# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pereira v. Sessions, 138 S. Ct. 2105 (2018) (No. 17-459)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0785%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2018

## Text

33

x Supreme Us.
FILED

| OCT 30 207

No. 17-459

—————— — —

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

WESCLEY FONSECA PEREIRA,
Petitioner,

V.
JEFFERSON B. SESSIONS, ILI, ATTORNEY GENERAL,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the First Circuit

BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE THE AMERICAN
IMMIGRATION LAWYERS ASSOCIATION IN
SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

MARK BARR BRADLEY N. GARCIA

LICHTER IMMIGRATION (Counsel of Record)

1601 Vine Street bgarcia@omm.com

Denver, CO 80206 JEREMY MALTBY

(303) 554-8400 O'MELVENY & MYERS LLP
1625 Eye Street, N.W.

Counsel for the American Washington, D.C. 20006
Immigration Lawyers .
Association (202) 383-5300
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Sv TS a I GE NT TO TIES

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ................. 1
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF THE

FIED cndvessccoviesicsonsinssatntscsicsentntcosqnessesss 2

I i lg aa ee oh ea ae a rebuluas dikodd 4

}. THE COURT SHOULD ACT TO
ADDRESS A WELL-ESTABLISHED
CIRCUIT SPLIT THAT WILL AFFECT
THOUSANDS OF IMMIGRANTG................. 4

A. The Decision Below Reinforces A
Well-Established Circuit Split

Regarding The Stop-Time Rule........... 4
B. The Question Presented Recurs
I i. icineianndeierasenivetbisnetseseen: 7

Il. ACCURATELY DETERMINING
ELIGIBILITY FOR CANCELLATION
OF REMOVAL IS EXCEPTIONALLY
TEMPUS EAANTS vsccossisconsspecsizedccdsensccosvenesssssecossens 8

A. Eligibility For Cancellation Of
Removal Is Deeply Important
And Life-Altering For
Noncitizens And Their Families ......... 9

1. Eligibility for cancellation
can mean the difference
between lawful permanent
residence status and
II cacvstivcicvessereccnsasssoeins 9

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS
(continued)
Page
2. Cancellation of removal

often provides the only

relief available for

noncitizens in removal
I vis ccnstxascapsinnenigaseaens 12

B. The Threshold For Eligibility For
Cancellation Of Removal Is High,
Ensuring That Only The Most
Deserving Noncitizens Are’
ie ae a ge Se TN BES gO A 13

lif. THE DECISION BELOW IS BASED
ON A CLEAR MISREADING OF THE
PLAIN TEXT OF THE INA...........00.scessseeee 17

IT ib bidda te Lin hivhdstee sayurkckindececwcaunnaacinatonitia 19

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES
Bridges v. Wixon,

eS Ee ED on, co cnncccpundsasuvectssbertoess uaesedenes ll
Castillo v, Sessions,

693 F. App’x 647 (9th Cir. July 13,

a es csabubbnnet Fisieerennnpines ad Te taal BF s
Dababneh v. Gonzales,

O78 ek BOG CIE Cab: DOOD vocecsvecscssssececveresssessees 7
Delgadillo v. Carmichael,

BE Fe, I IED Doccscuvaccacsseasescecepissnscsecserscneunes 11
Fong Haw Tan v. Phelan,

Te Oe eM caxevesevkessadencecs duscuasstsesussedrebabiecs 10
Fong Yue Ting v. United States,

eek Se ee eee ery ava gies 10
Garcia-Ramirez v. Gonzales,

BOD We BOS COE Cae, BOOB) visiscssecsccsecssexescosscases 5
Gonzalez-Garcia v. Holder,

cg pf £m sR) & | error 5
Guamanrrigra v. Holder,

ee Ge Ce GE, RED cidecccdcscnneccniscscsconsiasees 5

Guaman- Yuqui v. Lynch,
ee te CN Gas OOD vi cesscieascastvcnccssoncetescess 5

Hernandez-Rubio v. U.S. Atty. Gen.,
615 F. App’x 933 (11th Cir. Sept. 16,

Holder v. Martinez Gutierrez,
ee I SD os csc aisniannrbenkatnnveversenensaaisnetviin 17

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

ILN.S. v. St. Cyr,

rey SE ITED csichccdderesnvensucedsenasidssiccaan 8,13
In re Andazola-Rivas,

23 I. & N. Dec. 319 (BIA 2002)...........sccscessecceees 16
In re Monreal-Aguinaga,

23 I. & N. Dec. 56 (BIA 2001)..........0..cccsccceee 14, 16
In re Nolasco-Tofino,

221. & N. Dec. 632 (BIA 1999)................cccceseee 14
Jordan v. De George,

Bn a EIR Bs Sa AR aS ORR ORN AE spans 11
Matter of Camarillo,

Be ee ote I, OG CEs SPE Bei cick dccbincecececcenes 5, 7
Matter of Silva,

BE he Ree Os OO CA BOO cvidnssscnsicnncensesccnsccesas Y
Moscoso-Castellanos v. Lynch,

BOS FB TOTS eR Civ. BOULG). .vcscvcssccssccscccccecsccsss 5
Ng Fung Ho v. White,

I a oon ons ra gra vecnhanubdundunennaiedd 11

O’Garro v. U.S. Atty. Gen.,
605 F. App’x 951 (11th Cir. May 22,

Ordaz-Gonzalez v. Holder,
533 F. App’x 752 (9th Cir. July 17,

Orozco- Velasquez v. Lynch,
OT re Fe ee Cs NO wicsnnnsnecapcetineesscnsetinaas 5, 7

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

Padilla v. Kentucky,

ST ee WE CIT so ccc tinshnesonveeseeningebebinettitee 10
Scialabba v. Cuellar de Osorio,

ee ss ccnac nc cdegvupeupsutannveueennanet 17
Urbina v. Holder,

746 F.3G TOG (4ti Civ. BOVS). ...cccrccccccseccccess: ae 5
Wang v. Holder,

759 F.3d 670 (7th Cir. 2014)......... peo R aS Seon Sete 5
Zarbaelov v. Holder,

499 F. App’x 96 (2d Cir. Oct. 9, 2012) ..........008. 8
STATUTES
eee We PINT destnstinnbniniatsi sédicdiadnsvesiessdaanven 7
1996 Illegal Immigration Reform and

Immigrant Responsibility Act, Pub.

L. No. 104-208, 110 Stat. 3009

(Sa OIE Sata Se Rar anti Mean Goel ah eae CO a 13
ig Fave 2) ERMA Be ile i SaRRACRESRBee serer Pri tn)dNe= 13
ee Oe I acu ccuiisnaisinaavisnecissanisenpevadnies 13
8 U.S.C. § 1182(a)(9)(A)(GI)(D-ID oe eeeeeeeees 11
RE Fete eh Re IEEE binccavasissscsscickhnsesinseesnis ll
Be ese ME sesicancebaciuiceincech casdesnnitiixension 4,17
ee EE uiidesniuieebincatesenididckiniiistnipsnlisssssecknigeie 3
Be FE idteresistsivecissnap ncitsinsiaorerens 14

ii ccnsssescidisduntnaiicnsia 3, 15

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)

Page(s)
Uy OS oc sasnisensacionsevinsciioke 4
ee III. scccccecussuiuv oun secvesuantuisiaptaien 14
UE BOO ROIIIIY vices scssesesncrecscesesesoseen sess 4, 5,17
Be ie ie CED Sa cacvenieisetudecacbercibbiutaticerions 10, 14
acs TEED x cin cpcsaskscavecococeburscoerdamninnnstianneie 15
a! I acct da een aa canis ann emncaedianes sueeeien 10

Immigration Act of 1917, § 3, proviso 7,
a SI ic pvnccndwosccacecenscessesessiceecens 8

Immigration and Nationality Act of
Rg Eee ae eee 8

Victims of Trafficking and Violence
Protection Act of 2000, Pub. L. No.
106-386, 114 Stat. 1464 (2000)......................008 12

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Allison Brownell Tirres, Mercy in
Immigration Law, 2013 BYU L. Rev.
Fi RI ea el aS SC RE 8

AMERICAN IMMIGRATION COUNCIL,
AGGRAVATED FELONIES: AN
OVERVIEW (Dec. 16, 2016),
https://www.americanimmigrationco
uncil.org/research/aggravated-
a ssn spacdeltenmetaenensel 15

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Edward R. Grant, Laws of Intended
Consequences: ITRIRA and Other
Unsung Contributors to the Current
State of Immigration Litigation, 55

CATH. U. L. REV. 923 (2006).................:.

EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF IMMIGRATION
REVIEW, FY 2016 STATISTICS

YEARBOOK at N1 (Mar. 2016)................
H.R. Rep. No. 104-828, at 213 (1996).........

Hon. Dana Leigh Marks, Hon. Denise
Noonan Slavin, A View Through the
Looking Glass: How Crimes Appear
from the Immigration Court
Perspective, 39 FORDHAM URB, L.J.

Py Hee EE ntatiunnecesistveieiecedesesecsusecassecens

Kalina M., Brabeck et al., The
Psychosocial Impact of Detention
and Deportation on U.S. Migrant
Children and Families, 84 AM. J. OF

ORTHOPSYCHIATRY, 496 (2014)...............

Lisseth Rojas-Flores et al., Trauma and
Psychological Distress in Latino
Citizen Children Following Parental
Detention and Deportation, 9 PSYCH.
TRAUMA: THEORY, RESEARCH,

PRACTICE, & POLICY, 352 (2017) ............

Page(s)

pawubeceseia 16

eh: eee 12

vill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)
Page(s)

Luis H. Zayas & Laurie Cook Heffron,
Disrupting young lives: How
detention and deportation affect US-
born children of immigrants, AM.
PSYCH. ASSOC, (Nov. 2016) .......6ccceeseeeees Ges 12

Luis H. Zayas et al., The Distress of
Citizen Children with Detained and
Deported Parents, 24 J. OF CHILD &
FAMILY STUDIES, 3213 (Nov. 2015)........ Ree Petri 12

MARGARET MIKYUNG LEE,
CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE,
AN OVERVIEW OF JUDICIAL REVIEW
OF IMMIGRATION MATTERS at 3 (Sept.
11, 2013),

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE'

The American Immigration Lawyers Associa-
tion (“AILA”) is a national association with more
than 13,000 members throughout the United States,
including lawyers and law school professors who
practice and teach in the field of immigration and
nationality law. AILA seeks to advance the admin-
istration of law pertaining to immigration, nationali-
ty, and naturalization; to cultivate the jurisprudence
of the immigration laws; to facilitate the administra-
tion of justice; and to elevate the standard of integri-
ty, honor, and courtesy of those appearing in a rep-
resentative capacity in immigration and naturaliza-
tion matters. AILA’s members practice regularly be-
fore the Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”),
immigration courts, and the Board of Immigration
Appeals (“BIA”), as well as before the United States
District Courts, Courts of Appeals, and the Supreme
Court of the United States.

AILA has a deep understanding of the signifi-
cant consequences the stop-time rule of the Immi-
gration Nationality Act (the “INA”) has fe adividu-
als placed in removal proceedings, and respectfully
submits this brief as amicus curiae to alert the Court
to the extreme practical importance of the question
presented and the severe inequity created by the
well-established circuit conflict over this issue.

1 Pursuant to Rule 37.6, no counsel for any party authored
this brief in whole or in part and no counsel or party made a
monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation or
submission of this brief. Pursuant to Rule 37.2(a), timely no-
tice was provided to counsel of record for all parties, and this
brief is accompanied by the written consent of all parties.

2

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF THE
ARGUMENT

The “stop-time” rule the First Circuit inter-
preted below determines whether many noncitizens
facing deportation after years of residence in the
United States are eligible for a discretionary form of
relief called “cancellation of removal.” As the peti-
tion details, there is a firmly-established conflict in
authority over the proper application of that rule,
and the issue recurs frequently.

Amicus submits this brief to demonstrate the
exceptional importance of correctly determining eli-
gibility to apply for cancellation of removal. The
stakes of that determination are extreme: Nonciti-
zens who receive cancellation are given status as
lawful permanent residents and put on the path to
citizenship; those denied it are removed from the
country, torn from their families, communities, and
livelihoods, and many are not permitted to even ap-
ply to return to the country for several years.

Further, cancellation of removal is the only
form of relief from removal available to many noncit-
izens, and it is open only to the most deserving of
applicants who can meet a demanding eligibility
threshold. To be eligible for cancellation of removal,
a noncitizen who is not a lawful permanent resident
must show that he is a person of “good moral charac-
ter”; that he has not been convicted of any of a broad
range of criminal offenses; that he has an immediate
family member who is a U.S. citizen or lawful per-
manent resident that would suffer “exceptional and
extremely unusual hardship” if he were deported;
and, finally, that he has maintained a ten-year peri-

3

od of continuous residence in the United States. 8
U.S.C. § 1229b(b)(1).?

Cancellation of removal is therefore the last,
best hope for the most deserving noncitizens seeking
to remain in the country with their family members.
Indeed, cancellation of removal is the only way those
family members—who are U.S. citizens or lawful
permanent residents—can be saved from extreme
hardship. Properly and consistently determining el-
igibility for that relief is therefore exceptionally im-
portant not just to the individuals who have lived in
this country for years as productive members of our
nation and our communities, but to their families as
well.

That eligibility for such vital relief currently
depends on an arbitrary matter of geography is in-
tolerable. Review is al] the more necessary because
the First Circuit’s reading of the statute is profound-
ly erroneous. Amicus therefore respectful!y urges
the Court to grant the petition to resolve the well-
established circuit conflict over the question pre-
sented.

2 Slightly less onerous requirements apply to lawful per-
manent residents seeking cancellation of removal. See 8 U.S.C.

§ 1229b.

4

ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT SHOULD ACT TO ADDRESS
A WELL-ESTABLISHED CIRCUIT SPLIT
THAT WILL AFFECT THOUSANDS OF
IMMIGRANTS

A. The Decision Below Reinforces A Well-
Established Circuit Split Regarding
The Stop-Time Rule

The First Circuit’s decision cements a well-
established circuit split concerning a matter of great
importance: How the government measures the re-
quired period of continuous residence a -noncitizen
must prove to be eligible for cancellation of removal.

As noted above, one eligibility requirement for
cancellation of removal is that a noncitizen must
have “been physically present in the United States
for a continuous period of not less than 10 years im-
mediately preceding the” cancellation application. 8
U.S.C. § 1229b(b)(1)(A). Under the stop-time rule,
the period of continuous residence ends upon service
of a specific document: a “notice to appear under sec-
tion 1229(a).” Jd. § 1229b(d){1). Section 1229(a), in
turn, defines a “notice to appear” as “written notice
... specifying” certain information, including the
“time and place at which the proceedings will be
held.” Jd. § 1229(a)(1). Thus, Congress provided
that once a noncitizen has a notice to appear that
describes the proceedings against him and sets a
date and time for such proceedings, his period of con-
tinuous residence is stopped.

The First Circuit below held that the govern-
ment can trigger the stop-time rule by serving a doc-
ument labeled “notice to appear,” even if that docu-

5

ment lacks the statutorily required components of a
“notice to appear under section 1229(a).” See Pet.
App. 2a. The First Circuit joined five other circuits
in deferring to an interpretation of § 1229b(d)(1) by
the Board of Immigration Appeals. See Matter of
Camarillo, 25 I. & N. Dec. 644 (BIA 2011); Moscoso-
Castellanos v. Lynch, 803 F.3d 1079 (9th Cir. 2015);
Guaman-Yuqui v. Lynch, 786 F.3d 235 (2d Cir.
2015); Gonzalez-Garcia v. Holder, 770 F.3d 431 (6th
Cir. 2014); Wang v. Holder, 759 F.3d 670 (7th Cir.
2014); Urbina v. Holder, 745 F.3d 736 (4th Cir.
2014). This deference appears outcome determina-
tive: Prior to Camarillo, two courts of appeals cor-
rectly determined that the stop-time rule would ap-
ply only once a noncitizen received a notice to appear
that includes the statutorily mandated information,
see Guamanrrigra v. Holder, 670 F.3d 404, 410-11
(2d Cir. 2012); Garcia-Ramirez v. Gonzales, 423 F.3d
935, 937 n.3 (9th Cir. 2005), and only reversed
course once the BIA adopted the opposite interpreta-
tion.

In direct and explicit conflict with those deci-
sions, the Third Circuit has held that, under the
plain text of the INA, the stop-time rule is only trig-
gered by a notice to appear that is “in conformance
with 8 U.S.C. § 1229(a)”—that is, one that notes the
time and place at which the removal proceedings will
take place, along with the other statutorily mandat-
ed information that is required for a document to be
a “notice to appear under section 1229(a).” Orozco-
Velasquez v. Lynch, 817 F.3d 78, 82 (3d Cir. 2016).
The Third Circuit rejected the BLA’s conclusion to
the contrary because it “conflicts with the

6

INA’s plain text, [and therefore] it is not entitled
to Chevron deference.” Id. at 81—82.

In the case below, the First Circuit considered
and explicitly disagreed with the Third Circuit's rea-
soning. See Pet. App. 7a-—8a. The split in authority
is thus openly acknowledged and firmly entrenched.

This Court should not allow the meaning of a
federal statute of this importance to turn on some-
thing as arbitrary as geography. The present case is
illustrative: Wescley Fonseca Pereira remained in
the country after his tourist visa expired in 2000,
eventually settling in Martha’s Vineyard,.where he
has lived for over a decade with his wife and U.S.-
citizen children and is a respected member of the
community. See Pet. 4. Less than six years after his
visa expired, he was served with a notice lacking the
statutorily mandated date and time. It was not until
2013, when he had been in the United States for
over ten years, that Pereira was detained and placed
in removal proceedings after being pulled over for
failing to use his headlights.* See Pet. 13. When he
then applied for cancellation of removal—at this
point having been in the United States continuously
for thirteen years since his visa expired—his appli-
cation was denied based on the contention that the
deficient 2006 notice to appear stopped the clock on
his period of continuous residence. /d. at 13-14.

Now imagine Pereira had decided to settle
with his family not in Martha’s Vineyard, but in

———

3 DHS had mailed a notice to appear with date and time in
2007 to the incorrect address. As a result, Pereira did not re-
ceive any notice of proceedings against him after the deficient
notice in 2006.

7

Stone Harbor, New Jersey, a different east coast
beach community. There, under the Third Circuit's
decision in Orozco- Velasquez, the continuous resi-
dence clock would not have been stopped by the defi-
cient 2006 notice, and Pereira would have been eligi-
ble for cancellation of removal. 817 F.3d 78 at 71-82.
Leaving the fate of thousands of noncitizens and
their families up to an arbitrary matter of geography
is intolerable, and this Court should intervene.

B. The Question Presented Recurs Fre-
quently

Amicus’s experience representing thousands
of noncitizen clients reveals that the government’s
use of notice lacking the statutorily required date
and time is common practice. In fact, as the BIA it-
self has noted, “DHS frequently serves” purported
notices to appear without specifying the date and
time of any removal hearing. Matter of Camarillo,
25 I. & N. Dec. at 648 (quoting Dababneh v. Gonza-
les, 471 F.3d 806, 809 (7th Cir. 2006)).

As this case well demonstrates, it can be years
from the time a noncitizen receives a deficient notice
until he actually receives a hearing date. Unlike in
the criminal context, where the Speedy Trial Act en-
sures prompt prosecution of charges, see 18 U.S.C.
§§ 3161-3174, and unlike in litigation governed by
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, immigration
law provides no assurance that the government will
carry removal proceedings forward expeditiously.
The majority interpretation of the stop-time rule
compounds that problem by removing an incentive to
even calendar an initial hearing within a reasonable
amount of time.

9

A survey of recent judicial decisions confirms
that this issue arises frequently: As the petition for
certiorari notes, “All seven of [the published deci-
sions in the courts of appeals concerning this issue}
have come in the last three years alone.” Pet. Br. at
3. Several unpublished or lower court decisions have
addressed the impact of deficient notices to appear
as well. See Castillo v. Sessions, 693 F. App’x 647,
648 (9th Cir. July 13, 2017); Hernandez-Rubio v.
U.S. Atty. Gen., 615 F. App’x 933, 934 (11th Cir.
Sept. 16, 2015); O’'Garro v. U.S. Atty. Gen., 605 F.
App’x 951, 953 (11th Cir. May 22, 2015); Ordaz-
Gonzalez v. Holder, 533 F. App’x 752, 754 (9th Cir.
July 17, 2013); Zarbaelov v. Holder, 499 F. App’x 96,
98 (2d Cir. Oct. 9, 2012).

Il. ACCURATELY DETERMINING ELIGIBIL-
ITY FOR CANCELLATION OF REMOVAL
IS EXCEPTIONALLY IMPORTANT

“Deportation relief, like deportation itself, has
deep roots.” Allison Brownell Tirres, Mercy in Immi-
gration Law, 2013 BYU L. Rev. 1563, 1583 (2013).
For more than a century, discretionary relief from
removal has been an essential part of our immigra-
tion system, allowing the government to ensure de-
serving individuals are not removed. See, e.g., Im-
migration Act of 1917, § 3, proviso 7, ch. 29, 39 Stat.
874, 878 (“[A]liens returning after a temporary ab-
sence to an unrelinquished United States domicile of
seven consecutive years may be admitted in the dis-
cretion of the Secretary of Labor, and under such
conditions as he may prescribe....”); .N.S. v. St. Cyr,
533 U.S. 289, 294 (2001) (noting that this provision
also provides relief in deportation proceedings), Im-
migration and Nationality Act of 1952, 8 U.S.C.

9

§ 1182(c) (granting the Attorney General broad dis-
cretion to admit excludable noncitizens); Matter of
Silva, 16 1. & N. Dec. 26, 30 (BIA 1976) (applying
that provision to deportation proceedings as well).

Fairly determining eligibility for the particu.
lar form of relief at issue here—cancellation of re-
moval—has deep practical importance, since qualify-
ing for cancellation of removal can mean the differ-
ence between deportation and a path to citizenship
for the noncitizen, and the difference between stabil-
ity or exceptional hardship for their U.S. citizen or
lawful permanent resident family members. This
vital form of relief already is open only to the most
deserving applicants, particularly as the eligibility
standards for cancellation of removal have become
more stringent. The difficulty of meeting those cri-
teria means that reversing the First Circuit’s misin-
terpretation of the stop-time rule would not result in
a windfall to noncitizens.

A. Eligibility For Cancellation Of Removal
Is Deeply Important And Life-Altering
For Noncitizens And Their Families

l. Eligibility for cancellation can_mean the
difference between lawful permanent
residence status and deportation

The benefits of cancellation of removal are
immense. Beyond the obvious fact that the individ-
ual will not be deported, receiving cancellation of
removal can eventually lead to citizenship. If the
noncitizen is eligible to apply and is granted cancel.
lation of removal, the noncitizen will receive lawful
permanent residence (commonly known as a “green
card”) and can apply for U.S. citizenship after at

10

least five years. 8 U.S.C. § 1427. The threshold for
eligibility is high, but a significant number of noncit-
izens actually obtain cancellation of removal] each
year. Although the INA (8 U.S.C. § 1229b(e)(1)) al-
lows only 4,000 cancellations of removal per year,
immigration courts granted cancellation of removal
in 3,358 cases in fiscal year 2016, 3,510 cases in fis-
cal year 2015, and 3,474 cases in fiscal year 2014.
See EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF IMMIGRATION REVIEW, FY
2016 STATISTICS YEARBOOK at N1 (Mar. 2016). For
over three thousand immigrants each year, then, a
cancellation determination allows them to remain in
the United States and avoid uprooting their lives.

The consequence of deeming an individual
who would otherwise receive cancellation ineligible
on the basis of the stop-time rule is, of course, dire.
Deportation is a harsh consequence that should be
limited to only those noncitizens Congress clearly
intended to be subject to removal—indeed, in the
context of cancellation of removal, deportation is a
consequence that by definition imposes extraordi-
nary harms on not just noncitizens petitioning for
relief, but also their U.S. citizen or lawful permanent
resident relatives. Because “deportation is a drastic
measure and at times the equivalent of banishment
or exile,” the Court has noted that it “will not as-
sume that Congress meant to trench on [a nonciti-
zen's] freedom beyond that which is required by the
narrowest of several possible meanings of [statutory
language].” Fong Haw Tan v. Phelan, 333 U.S. 6, 10
(1948); see also Padilla v. Kentucky, 559 U.S. 356,
365 (2010) (“We have long recognized that deporta-
tion is a particularly severe ‘penalty” (citing Fong
Yue Ting v. United States, 149 U.S. 698, 740 (1893));

11

Jordan v. De George, 341 U.S. 223, 243 (1951) (Jack-
son, J., dissenting) (removal means “a life sentence
of exile from what has become home, of separation
from his established means oi livelihood for himself
and his family of American citizens”); Delgadillo v.
Carmichael, 332 U.S. 388, 391 (1947) (“Deportation
can be the equivalent of banishment or exile.”);
Bridges v. Wixon, 326 U.S. 135, 147 (1945)
(“[A]lthough deportation technically is not criminal
punishment, it may nevertheless visit as great a
hardship as the deprivation of the right to pursue a
vocation or a calling”); Ng Fung Ho v. White, 259
U.S. 276, 284 (1922) (noting that deportation “may
result also in loss of both property and life, or of al]
that makes life worth living”).

The effects of deportation in this circumstance
are long-lasting: For most unsuccessful! applicants
for cancellation of removal, the path back to the
United States is strewn with obstacles, some requir-
ing many years outside the United States before
they can be reunited with their family members.
See, e.g., 8 U.S.C. § 1182(a)(9)(A)GI(D-dD (barring
any noncitizen who “has been ordered removed” from
being admitted to the United States “within 10 years
of the date of such alien’s departure or removal”); 8
U.S.C. § 1182(a)(9(C)\@UD (permanently barring
any noncitizen “who enters or attempts to reenter
the United States without being admitted” after be-
ing ordered removed). And deportation leads to dire
consequences for the noncitizen’s U.S. citizen or law-
ful permanent resident family members, who are
forced to choose between two bad options: staying
behind without their family member, who is possibly
the breadwinner or primary caregiver, or accompa-

12

nying their family member to a foreign country
where they may have no family or community ties.
See, e.g., Luis H. Zayas & Laurie Cook Heffron, Dis-
rupting young lives: How detention and deportation
affect US-born children of immigrants, AM. PSYCH.
Assoc. (Nov. 2016); Lisseth Rojas-Flores et al.,
Trauma and Psychological Distress in Latino Citizen
Children Following Parental Detention and Deporta-
tion, 9 PSYCH. TRAUMA: THEORY, RESEARCH, PRAC.
TICE, & POLICY, 352, 352-61 (2017); Luis H. Zayas et
al., The Distress of Citizen Children with Detained
and Deported Parents, 24 J. OF CHILD & FAMILY
STUDIES, 3213, 3213-23 (Nov. 2015); Kalina M.
Brabeck et al., The Psychosocial Impact of Detention
and Deportation on U.S. Migrant Children and Fam-
ilies, 84 AM. J. OF ORTHOPSYCHIATRY, 496-505 waniod

ai aes cceadneiae tom porns nna

in apres poe om

Today, cancellation of removal is often the on-
ly form of relief available to those in removal pro-
ceedings; there are very few additional ways that
otherwise-removable noncitizens can remain in the
country. Of those few avenues available, most of
these forms of relief are available in particularized
situations that exclude many noncitizens from eligi-
bility.

For example, so-called T and U visas are a
narrow form of relief available specifically for noncit-
izens who are victims of human trafficking or crimi-
nal activities, respectively. Victims of Trafficking
and Violence Protection Act of 2000, Pub. L. No. 106-
386, 114 Stat. 1464, 1477-80 (2000). Making out a

13

claim for asylum also requires specific circumstances
that preclude many noncitizens from eligibility: Asy-
lum claims must be made within one year of entry, 8
U.S.C, § 1158(a)(2)(B), and applicants must demon-
strate they have a “well-founded fear of persecution
on account of race, religion, nationality, membership
in a particular social group, or political opinion” if
forced to return. 7d. § 1101(a)(42). Notably, neither
T and U visas nor asylum helps to protect people on
account of deep family connections in the United
States, the motivating rationale behind cancellation
of removal.

As a result of these limits, cancellation of re-
moval is the only form of relief available to many
immigrants who seek to remain in the United
States.

B. The Threshold For Eligibility For Can-
cellation Of Removal Is High, Ensuring
That Only The Most Deserving Nonciti-
zens Are Eligible

The threshold for eligibility for cancellation of
removal was heightened considerably by the 1996
Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Respon-
sibility Act (ITRIRA), Pub. L. No. 104-208, 110 Stat.
3009 (1996). IIRIRA “narrowed the forms of re-
lief... that may be applied for as a defense to re-
moval in immigration court.” Edward R. Grant,
Laws of Intended Consequences: IIRIRA and Other
Unsung Contributors to the Current State of Immi-
gration Litigation, 55 CATH. U. L. REV. 923, 933
(2006); see also St. Cyr, 533 U.S. at 297 (describing
how IIRIRA restricted the availability of discretion-
ary relief to noncitizens in removal proceedings).

14

ITIRIRA repealed a prior form of relief called
“suspension of deportation” and replaced it with can-
cellation of removal, imposing an increased continu-
ous residence requirement and increased hardship
standard in the process. Suspension of deportation
had a seven-year continuous presence requirement
and a standard of “extreme hardship” that could in-
clude hardship to the noncitizen himself. See IIRI-
RA § 304(a)(3), 8 U.S.C. § 1229b(a)-(b); see also In re
Monreal-Aguinaga, 23 I. & N. Dec. 56, 64-65 (BIA
2001); In re Nolasco-Tofino, 22 I, & N. Dec. 632, 641
(BIA 1999). Cancellation of removal requires ten
years of continuous residence, and the new hardship
standard requires a showing of “exceptional and ex-
tremely unusual hardship,” not to the noncitizen
himself, but to an immediate family member (not in-
cluding a sibling) who must be a United States citi-
zen or lawful permanent resident. 8 U.S.C.

§ 1229b(b)(1)(D).

As noted above, IIRIRA also limited the num-
ber of noncitizens who could be granted this newly
restricted form of relief, providing that the govern-
ment “may not cancel the removal. . . of a total of
more than 4,000 aliens in any fiscal year.” 8 U.S.C,
§ 1229b(e)(1). ITRIRA also narrowed judicial review
of immigration decisions, repealing provisions that
had allowed noncitizens in custody to seek review of
a deportation order in district court: Now, “a court
cannot review the denial of most types of relief from
removal that are granted at the discretion of the
immigration officer or immigration judge, including
... cancellation of removal.” MARGARET MIKYUNG
LEE, CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE, AN OVER:
VIEW OF JUDICIAL REVIEW OF IMMIGRATION MATTERS

15

at 3 (Sept. 11, 2013),
htts://fas.org/sgp/crs/homesec/R4 3226. pdf; see 8
U.S.C. § 1252(a)(2).

All told, to be eligible for cancellation of re-
moval, a noncitizen who is not a lawful permanent
resident must have been physically present in the
United States for a continuous period of not less
than 10 years; must have been a person of “good
moral character” during such period; must not have
been convicted of certain criminal offenses, including
an aggravated felony; and also must establish “ex-
ceptional and extremely unusual hardship” to a fam-
ily member who is a U.S. citizen or lawful perma-
nent resident. 8 U.S.C. § 1229b(b)(1).

Experience has demonstrated just how stren-
uous these statutory requirements are to satisfy.
For example, many noncitizens are disqualified from
eligibility for cancellation of removal based on rela-
tively minor past criminal offenses. Even noncitizens
who are lawful permanent residents are ineligible
for cancellation if they have been convicted of an
“aggravated felony,” a category that in fact sweeps in
many “non-violent, fairly trivial misdemeanors.”
Hon. Dana Leigh Marks, Hon. Denise Noonan Slav-
in, A View Through the Looking Glass: How Crimes
Appear from the Immigration Court Perspective, 39
FORDHAM URB. L.J. 91, 92 (2011); see also AMERICAN
IMMIGRATION COUNCIL, AGGRAVATED FELONIES: AN
OVERVIEW (Dec. 16, 2016),
https://www.americanimmigrationcouncil.org/researc
h/aggravated-felonies-overview (noting that “an ‘ag-
gravated felony’ does not require the crime to be ‘ag-
gravated’ or a ‘felony,” but instead “includes many
nonviolent and seemingly minor offenses”). And

16

noncitizens who are not lawful permanent residents
are rendered ineligible by an even broader range of
criminal offenses. 8 U.S.C. § 1229b(b)(1)(C).

The requisite “hardship” showing is also ex-
ceedingly demanding. As interpreted by the BIA,
exceptional and extremely unusual hardship re-
quires that hardship “to the alien’s relatives .. .
must be ‘substantially’ beyond the ordinary hardship
that would be expected when a close family member
leaves this country.” Jn re Monreal-Aguinaga, 23 I.
& N. Dec. at 62 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 104-828, at
213 (1996)). The BIA has emphasized that this
standard of hardship “is significantly more burden-
some than the former ‘extreme hardship’ standard,”
and adjudicators have declined to find requisite
hardship in a number of sympathetic situations. Jn
re Andazola-Rivas, 23 I. & N. Dec. 319, 322 (BIA
2002).

In short, the only individuals for whom the
stop-time rule makes a difference are those, like Mr.
Pereira, who are the most deserving. Pet. at 16. For
many of those individuals, cancellation is their only
realistic chance at securing relief from removal. The
question presented therefore governs whether lawful
residents and citizens of this country are going to
lose loved ones who have lived in this country for
over a decade based on an incorrect interpretation of
a statute. And correcting the widespread misappli-
cation of the stop-time rule will not result in a wind-
fall for immigrants—it will merely ensure the most
deserving have an opportunity to make their case for
relief. This Court should grant certiorari to correct
the clear misreading of the INA perpetuated by the
decision below.

17

Ill. THE DECISION BELOW IS BASED ON A
CLEAR MISREADING OF THE PLAIN
TEXT OF THE INA

There are many areas of legitimate complexity
and ambiguity in the statutory labyrinth of our
country’s immigration scheme. See, e.g., Scialabba
v. Cuellar de Osorio, 134 S. Ct. 2191, 2194 (2014)
(finding ambiguity regarding whether BIA should
permit the issuance of visas for adults who initially
qualified for visas as children but “aged out” under
§ 1153(h)(3)); Holder v. Martinez Gutierrez, 566 U.S.
583, 590 (2012) (finding ambiguity regarding wheth-
er BIA should impute parent’s years of continuous
residence on child under § 1229b(a)). The issue be-
fore the Court here, however, is simply not one of
them.

As the petition details, the question of statu-
tory interpretation at issue here is straightforward:
Whether the government can trigger the stop-time
rule, cutting off a noncitizen’s period of continuous
residence, by serving a “notice to appear under sec-
tion 1229(a),” 8 U.S.C. § 1229b(d)(1), that lacks sec-
tion 1229(a)’s statutorily mandated definition of
what constitutes a notice to appear. The plain text
of § 1229b(d)(1) provides a clear answer: The gov-
ernment can only effectively trigger the stop-time
rule by serving a “notice to appear under section
1229(a).” Id. Section 1229(a) defines a “notice to
appear” as “written notice .. . specifying” certain in-
formation, including the “time and place at which
the proceedings will be held.” 8 U.S.C. § 1229(a)(1).

The BIA’s clumsy attempt to twist this clear
statutory mandate into ambiguity is erroneous, and
the First Circuit’s deference to this misreading of the

18

plain text is misguided. The government's interpre-
tation reads the “specifying” clause out of the stat-
ute, and necessarily means that a “written notice” of
anything or nothing at all would qualify as a “notice
to appear under section 1229(a).” In response to the
Third Circuit’s observation of those absurd implica-
tions, the First Circuit suggested that some of the
information “specified” in section 1229(a) might be
required, just not the date and time of the removal
hearing. Pet. App. 8a-9an.5. But there is no textual
basis whatsoever for that suggestion; the “specify-
ing” clause either has force or not, and both basic
principles of statutory interpretation and common
sense dictate that it does.

The government's reading also creates per-
verse incentives: If the government can stop the
clock on the continuous residence requirement by
sending a document without a hearing date, it re-
duces the imperative to calendar matters and move
the process along. That incentive to delay is espe-
cially concerning in light of the absence of any legal
requirement ensuring prompt proceedings. Supra at
7-8.

The government's position disregards basic
principles of statutory interpretation, with signifi-
cant practical consequences for thousands of nonciti-
zens, their families, and their communities. This
Court should intervene to ensure that the fate of
thousands of noncitizens and their families is not left
to an arbitrary matter of geography, and reverse the
decision below.

19
CONCLUSION

For all these reasons, as well as those pre-
sented in the petition for certiorari, the petition
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MARK BARR BRADLEY N. GARCIA
LICHTER IMMIGRATION (Counsel of Record)

1601 Vine Street bgarcia@omm.com
Denver, CO 80206 JEREMY MALTBY

(303) 554-8400 O'MELVENY & MYERS LLP

: 1625 Eye Street, N.W.
Counsel for the American Wghinguon, D.C. 2000
A er (202) 383-5300

ssoctation
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

October 30, 2017

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0785%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
