# Amicus Curiae Brief — Weyerhaeuser Co. v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 139 S. Ct. 45 (2018) (No. 17-71)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0771%3A36

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2018

## Text

No. 17-71

3n Tye
Supreme Court of the Anited States

@
A

WEYERHAEUSER COMPANY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES FISH AND
WILDLIFE SERVICE, et ai.,

Respondents.

@
-

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of
For The Fifth Circuit

2

BRIEF OF DEFENDERS OF WILDLIFE,

DEFENDERS OF WILDLIFE
1130 17th Street N.W.

i D.C. 20036
(202) 682-9400
jrylander@defenders.org

COCKLE LEGAL BRIEFS (800) 225-6964
WWW COCKLELEGALBRIEFS.COM

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ...............0ccc0cc000eeee0es iii
INTERESTS OF THE AMICI CURIAE............... 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ..................... 1
Po RRR AIS ESA ae 3

1. Critical habitat is an integral part of the
ESA’s comprehensive program to conserve
a tinictstisniraiontnennsnnseninstnasmens 6

A. Congress designed the ESA to address
the threats of habitat loss and degra-

ee eitridcassiinictatgtendavisiiimpeniatinncetnniadapinc 6
B. Designating critical habitat promotes
I cntedecescnistnceccnsonssesscncese 11

Sel iaistesadeavacecsacteeneseetinctaneenentsccionces 17
Il. Imposing a temporal habitability require-
ment on unoccupied critical habitat is
neither mandated by the ESA’s plain lan-
guage nor reconcilable with the Act’s con-
I isientdccnsectancsietnascsescereceen 20

A. The ESA does not require that critical
habitat be habitable at the time of des-
itl icdevcitetininanpeelabeentinceiidgiegedbantiennnne 20

B. A temporal habitability requirement
would undermine the conservation
value of critical habitat....................... 23

C. The Fifth Circuit’s ruling did not
“vastly expand the ESA” ..................... 27

is

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page
Ill. The Fifth Circuit’s ruling neither im-

pinges on the rights of states nor raises
constitutional questions ............................ 31

SN artisastntecdsicntdtadistaianssnsnssosssetsnineeicents 35

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Alabama-Tombigbee Rivers Coal. v. Kempthorne,
477 F.3d 1250 (11th Cir. 2007), cert. denied,
ey CI I iccicincenictncnttncedindotsenieiimsononcesie 33
Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51 (1979) ................c0ccce000s 32
Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of Cmtys. for a
Great Or., 515 U.S. 687 (1995) ...............cccccceeeeeeeeeee 10
Balt. Gas & Elec. Co. v. Natural Res. Def. Coun-
SE ee 31
Bear Valley Mutual Water Co. v. Jewell, 790 F.3d
EEE Se ane 27
Dean v. United States, 556 U.S. 568 (2009)................ 21
GDF Realty Inv., Ltd. v. Norton, 362 F.3d 286
(2004), cert. denied, 545 U.S. 1114 (2005)............... 34
Gibbs v. Babbitt, 214 F.3d 483 (4th Cir. 2000) .....32, 34
Gifford Pinchot Task Force v. U.S. Fish & Wild-
life Serv., 378 F.3d 1059 (9th Cir. 2004).................. 15
Gonzales v. Raich, 545 U.S. 1 (2005) .................00cc000e 34
Markle Interests, L.L.C. v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife
Serv., 827 F.3d 452 (5th Cir. 2016).............. 19, 28, 31
Markle Interests, L.L.C. v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife
Serv., 848 F.3d 635 (5th Cir. 2017).................... 26, 27

Missouri v. Holland, 252 U.S. 416 (1920)................... 32

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Nat'l Ass’n of Home Builders v. Babbitt, 130 F.3d
1041 (D.C. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 524 U.S. 937
SEI rTttcoshicachvepessiniectehsinibeindnecppesbctaiiaindeininiabiciniadbindneituminanennses 34
Nat'l Ass’n of Homebuilders v. Defenders of Wild-
ee EE III esnsscoceasnsnnanstesassnapsontncsoserene 11

Palila v. Haw. Dep’t of Land & Natural Res., 471
F. Supp. 985 (D. Haw. 1979), aff’d, 639 F.2d
I iiinttererititiceciniatsnniiernsgeaiibisienstaes 33

People for the Ethical Treatment of Property
Owners v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 852 F.3d

990 (10th Cir. 2017), cert. denied, 138 S. Ct.

ESTE eS ARSENE SI SIP niet aeencaneC NS Ne 32, 33
Perez v. United States, 402 U.S. 146 (1971)................ 34
Rancho Viejo, L.L.C. v. Norton, 323 F.3d 1062

EI ES IE He SCS a eee 32, 34

San Luis & Delta-Mendota Water Auth. v. Sala-
zar, 638 F.3d 1163 (9th Cir. 2011), cert. denied
sub nom. Orchards v. Salazar, 565 U.S. 1009

ad 33
Sierra Club v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 245

F.3d 434 (5th Cir. 2001).........cccccccccssessesesessessesseeseee 28
Stenberg v. Carhart, 530 U.S. 914 (2000) .............0...-- 22
Tenn. Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153

Sia oR 1, 6, 8, 33

Zobrest v. Catalina Foothills School Dist., 509
ee I crthnceccnsiccssénixaniencnnitidinitcnanssopsinnntapnnntets 31

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
STATUTES
I asa aciacidelatitninmgienina iste 33
TT oni smnrerenisetnsseenmnuesennpanties 7, 16, 24
To on crclinntintinieneebpenneniuensnienitiie 8, 16, 28
I ise ccceccinlaeeeatitncatinnnitinl 15, 29
oi ceetacinatialiae 28
se IID criretinennctncncsnsscevescussnccensesened 9,21
16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)(Aii) ............. shinsahicedbdnialialacaaaaba 9, 21
TT iciccniscncncdoncrecentnesnddapuedstenindebisiiaiiia 8
Be es OF ID scerccsccescccncnssccccsecoscseeveqsesin 8,11
I i ccniicisnisonierasineniadenciventunsiiti 8
a ID vcccierecserepscsssesccocsansvenetnseneetn 15
I i eicinicniinthinnrigennannintinatinaennssish 9, 29
I a sicenilaieeieetesbiteiclonnieatiiel 10
I hoi raciierrntemmntdabidintenininginasenainiiiiel 15
TEER Sa er Ce 15
ID iiccnccniicsenseresaseinesintinasecnstenietnn 10, 12
aes 10, 15, 17
critic esi incecacindcscteinininpndeniioniiniannittn 10, 15
ES 9

Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1251 et seq.................. 18

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Lacey Act of 1900, 16 U.S.C. §§ 3371-3378, 18
IIIT HEI ccicisdnctiniseaeiteincintitcndedbepteniniaiseeieitidaneneinieneinened 31
Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918, 16 U.S.C.
STITT TIITI Uidichcnictnriebesiatenictintimmnndsipidepaentabenescnbusdnentiteiinds 31
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Se ilcneinniinnlientieetieitetiahimnnigiamenaindabiiihinigiiba 10
icc ciieninmiiecageemimmemnintnaee 10
119 Cong. Rec. 30,162 (1973).................ccccceseeeescceeeeeeees 7
119 Cong. Rec. 30,528 (1973)................cccceseesscrcceesenenes 7
124 Cong. Rec. $21,575 (daily ed. July 19, 1978)......... 7
45 Fed. Reg. 63,812 (Sep. 25, 1980) .................cccccccceee 26
70 Fed. Reg. 46,924 (Aug. 11, 2005) ............00.......00.. 25
73 Fed. Reg. 62,816 (Oct. 21, 2008) .............000......c0000 25
75 Fed. Reg. 31,387 (June 3, 2010) ........0........cccccceeeees 29
75 Fed. Reg. 77,961 (Dec. 14, 2010) ................cccccceeeeee 25
77 Fed. Reg. 35,118 (June 12, 2012)............... 19, 23, 29
79 Fed. Reg. 19,712 (Apr. 9, 2014) ..000.0.........ccccccceeeeeee 13
79 Fed. Reg. 19,760 (Apr. 9, 2014) ..00.......0..cccccccceeeeeee 13
81 Fed. Reg. 14,264 (Mar. 16, 2016) .........000000.....e 12

Abbey E. Camaclang et al., Current Practices in
the Identification of Critical Habitat for
Threatened Species, 29 Conservation Biology
SEIN iisedsathidsinditaninsdbctiveattsabliniabaneniadinisdimbasetiasceneess 30

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Amy N. Hagen & Karen E. Hodges, Resolving
Critical Habitat Designation Failures: Recon-
ciling Law, Policy, and Biology, 20 Conserva-
tion Biology 399 (2006) ................cccccceeseceeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 16
Black’s Law Dictionary (10th ed. 2014) ...............00000. 28

Daniel A. Farber, Separated at Birth? Address-
ing the Twin Crises of Biodiversity and Cli-
mate Change, 42 Ecology L.Q. 841 (2015)................ 4

Daniel M. Evans et al., Species Recovery in
the United States: Increasing the Effectiveness
of the Endangered Species Act, Issues in Ecol-
RE Pe i iccccedessunnvenitnbitiinenneniamenmsinesies 4, 20

Dashiell Farewell, Revitalizing Critical Habitat:
The Ninth Circuit’s Pro-Efficiency Approach,
GE OEE, Ba Gr isco rsvituccnstnsanenenntteteninnane 14

Dave Owen, Critical Habitat and the Challenge
of Regulating Small Harms, 64 Fla. L. Rev.
RR Ne Ae Ree Se oa oe 18

David Wilcove et al., Quantifying Threats to Im-
periled Species in the United States, 48 Am.

Inst. Bio. Sciences 607 (1998) ..0.............cccceeeeeeeeeeeeeee 4
Elizabeth Kolbert, The Sixth Extinction: An Un-

TE Ty iriiternttcrrcesisttancsnnninineniscnniinia 4
Be, Be Beh Ey GOED cccccecccscccsescsccesanscvesecntimienned 6
Ee. SUI Uk Ge CED cvcccccocscsccesencnsusenustnnssovsieiins 7
H.R. Rep. No. 95-1625 (1978) .................ccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeees 7

H.R. Rep. No. 97-567 (1982) ...........ccecsessssssecsessseeneeenee 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Jack McDonald, Critical Habitat Designation
Under the Endangered Species Act: A Road to
Recovery?, 28 Envtl. L. 671 (1998).......................... 13

Jacob Malcom & Ya-Wei Li, Data Contradict
Common Perceptions About a Controversial
Provision of the U.S. Endangered Species Act,

112 PNAS 15844 (2015) ..00...........cccccceceeeeeeeeeeeee 17, 18

Kalyani Robbins, Recovery of an Endangered
Habitat Under the Endangered Species Act, 58
Buff, L. Rev. 1006 (2010) ..................csecccesesreeceecereees 16

Martin FJ. Taylor, The Effectiveness of the En-

sis, 55 BioScience 360 (2005) ................cccccceeeeeeeees 16
Michael J. Bean & Melanie J. Rowland, The Evo-
lution of National Wildlife Law (3d ed. 1997)........ 15

National Research Council, Science and the En-

dangered Species Act (1995), https://www.nap.
edu/read/4978/chapter/GA72 ...............ccccccceceeeeseeeeeees 4

Press Release, Ctr. for Biological Diversity, Land
Purchase Protects Essential Mississippi Habi-
tat for Endangered Dusky Gopher Frog (May
14, 2015), https://-www.biologicaldiversity.org/
news/press_releases/2015/dusky-gopher-frog-
icin cninniniidtsiticedtetntpcinstuatiettemsesecssese 14
ide Conservation Plan for Longleaf Pine,
America’s Longleaf Restoration Initiative
(2009), http://americaslongleaf.org/media/86/
I I irrctrrtninedsereunacesennatvenssncssseees 24

ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

S. Rep. No. 93-307 (1973) as reprinted in 1973

Stephanie Brauer, Note, Arizona Cattle Grow-
ers’ Pyrrhic Victory for Critical Habitat, 38
8 ee 30
Stuart L. Pimm et al., The Biodiversity of Spe-
cies and Their Rates of Extinction, Distribu-

tion, and Protection, 344 Science 987 (2014)............ 4
US. Fish & Wildlife Serv., Delisted Species,

https-//ecos. fws.gov/ecp0/reports/delisting-report

(last visited July 2, 2018) ...................ccccecseceeeeeeeeeeees 3

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv. & Nat’l Marine Fish-

eries Serv., Endangered Species Consultation
Handbook, https://www.fws.gov/endangered/

esa-library/pdffesa_section
i iairtieciniceninncnnennterecartnintemeccninns 26

U.S. Forest Service, New Mexico Meadow Jump-
ing Mouse Habitat Improvement Projects
on the Agua Chiquita Grazing Allotment,
https//www.fs. usda.gov/project/? project=5 1273
(last visited July 2, 2018) ..0..............ccccccceeeeeceeceeeeees 12

Webster's Third New Intl. Dictionary (1976)........ 22, 23

1

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

Defenders of Wildlife, Animal Welfare Institute,
Humane Society of the United States, Sierra Club, and
Wildearth Guardians (Amici) are leading non-profit
conservation organizations with longstanding inter-
ests in protecting wildlife, particularly endangered
and threatened species, from habitat destruction and
degradation and other threats. On behalf of their mil-
lions of members and supporters nationwide, Amici
advocate for the effective implementation of the En-
dangered Species Act (ESA or Act) and seek to ensure
that native species and the ecosystems on which they
depend are preserved and maintained for present and
future generations. Amici’s extensive experience with
the ESA may assist the Court in understanding how
the statute operates in practice to protect imperiled
species and their habitats without imposing undue
burdens on private landowners.

+

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

1. The ESA is “the most comprehensive legisla-
tion for the preservation of endangered species ever
enacted by any nation.” Tenn. Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437
U.S. 153, 180 (1978). In enacting the ESA, Congress
recognized that habitat protection is vital for

' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in
part, and no person other than Amici, their members, or their
counsel made a monetary contribution to its preparation or sub-
mission. All parties have consented to the filing of this brief.

2

recovering most imperiled species and established the
purpose of the statute to “provide a means” for conser-
vation of the ecosystems on which threatened and en-
dangered species depend. Thus, in addition to
prohibiting actions .hat directly kill or harm members
of listed species, Congress ordered the Secretary of the
Interior to identify the areas “essential to the conser-
vation of the species” and to designate them as critical
habitat “to the maximum extent prudent and determi-
nable.” Congress also required that all federal agencies
ensure that their actions or authorizations do not
cause the “destruction” or “adverse modification” of
critical habitat. Designation of critical habitat—both
occupied and unoccupied areas—is an indispensable
part of Congress’s comprehensive program to recover
threatened and endangered species. Critical habitat
designation provides important benefits for species
and generally does so with minimal adverse impact on
private lands. Indeed, recovery of species may well de-
pend on designation of unoccupied critical habitat as
there is no other mechanism in the ESA that ade-
quately protects these areas.

2. The ESA does not contain, and this Court
should not impose, a current “habitability” require-
ment on the designation of unoccupied critical habitat.
This argument, which Petitioner advances for the first
time in this Court, not only lacks textual support but
makes little sense ecologically. Critical habitat can in-
clude historically crucial but now degraded habitat, as
well as other areas that are essential to the conserva-
tion (i.e., recovery) of the species. In upholding the U.S.

3

Fish and Wildlife Service’s (Service)’ designation of
critical habitat for the dusky gopher frog, the Fifth Cir-
cuit did not expand the reach of the ESA; it ruled in
accordance with the Act’s plain language and conser-
vation purpose and appropriately deferred to the Ser-
vice’s scientific findings.

3. Petitioner’s attempt to invoke the doctrine of
constitutional avoidance is unfounded. This case turns
on a narrow issue of statutory interpretation and is not
a necessary or appropriate vehicle for broad pro-
nouncements on constitutional questions or the bal-
ance of state and federal powers. Nonetheless, the
designation of critical habitat for the dusky gopher
frog was a valid exercise of federal power. Accordingly,
this Court should affirm the Fifth Circuit’s decision.

°

ARGUMENT

The Endangered Species Act has been remarkably
successful in preventing the extinction of species. Only
one percent of the more than 1,800 species listed in the
United States as endangered or threatened have been
declared extinct after receiving the protections of the
Act and many species are on the path to recovery. U.S.

® The Department of the Interior's U.S. Fish and Wildlife Ser-
while the Department of Commerce’s National Marine Fisheries
tat provisions apply to both agencies and we therefore use Service
or Services throughout this brief to refer to their collective obliga-
tions under the Act.

4

Fish & Wildlife Serv., Delisted Species, https://ecos.
fws.gov/ecp0/reports/delisting-report (last visited July
2, 2018); Daniel M. Evans et al., Species Recovery in
the United States: Increasing the Effectiveness of the
Endangered Species Act, Issues in Ecology, Winter
2016, at 1. But despite significant efforts to prevent ex-
tinction, the loss of biodiversity, driven largely by hab-
itat degradation and destruction, remains a rapidly
growing crisis. See, eg., Stuart L. Pimm et al., The
Biodiversity of Species and Their Rates of Extinction,
Distribution, and Protection, 344 Science 987 (2014);
David Wilcove et al., Quantifying Threats to Imperiled
Species in the United States, 48 Am. Inst. Bio. Sciences
607 (1998); National Research Council, Science and the
Endangered Species Act 72 (1995), https://www.nap.
edu/read/4978/chapter/6#72 (“[Tlhere is no disagree-
ment in the ecological literature about one fundamen-
tal relationship: sufficient loss of habitat will lead to
species extinction.”). Scientists estimate that by 2050,
10 percent of all terrestrial species will be “committed
to extinction.” Elizabeth Kolbert, The Sixth Extinction:
An Unnatural History 167-68 (2014); see also Daniel
A. Farber, Separated at Birth? Addressing the Twin
Crises of Biodiversity and Climate Change, 42 Ecology
L.Q. 841, 846 (2015) (noting that climate change will
exacerbate biodiversity loss).

Amici submit this brief to underscore the vital role
that designation of critical habitat plays in the ESA’s
comprehensive scheme to protect threatened and en-
dangered species and the ecosystems on which they de-
pend. Accordingly, this brief will focus on the benefits

5

of critical habitat for species and the narrow question
of statutory interpretation that Petitioner presents to
this Court: whether the ESA requires critical habitat
to be habitable by the species at the time of designa-
tion. Amici urge the Court not to graft onto the ESA a
requirement of current habitability for unoccupied ar-
eas. This extra-statutory requirement is fundamen-
tally inconsistent with Congress’s decision to allow for
the designation of unoccupied areas that are biologi-
cally “essential” for species conservation. Such a rule
would undermine the conservation value of critical
habitat and make species recovery—the ESA’s ulti-
mate goal—less likely.

Beyond this issue of statutory construction, which
Petitioner raises for the first time in this Court, Peti-
tioner’s challenge amounts to no more than a garden-
variety disagreement with the views of an expert
agency entrusted by Congress to perform a highly tech-
nical task. The Service’s designation of Unit 1 as dusky
gopher frog critical habitat was based on a thorough
review of intact and restorable habitat areas. The Ser-
vice designated this unoccupied critical habitat only
after independent peer reviewers determined that ex-
isting occupied habitat was not sufficient for recovery
and that the area contained unique and irreplaceable
features essential to the conservation of the species.
On such ecological questions, including what specific
habitat is essential for the frog’s recovery, this Court
has repeatedly instructed that courts owe the Service
a high level of deference. No persuasive, let alone

6

compelling basis exists for upsetting the Service’s ex-
pert judgment here.

This brief will not address whether the Service’s
decision not to exclude areas from critical habitat is
separately reviewable from the designation itself. Our
focus here is on the proper statutory interpretation of
“unoccupied critical habitat” and the deference due the
Service's scientifically-grounded determinations.

Il. Critical habitat is an integral part of the
ESA’s comprehensive program to conserve
imperiled species
A. Congress designed the ESA to address

the threats of habitat loss and degrada-
tion

When Congress passed the ESA in 1973 it was
acutely aware that stemming the loss of biodiversity
required more than protecting individual animals and
plants: it also required protecting habitat from de-
struction or adverse modification. Of the many threats
to America’s wildlife heritage, Congress recognized
that the “most significant has proven also to be the
most difficult to control: the destruction of critical hab-
itat.” H.R. Rep. No. 93-412, at 4 (1973); see also Tenn.
Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437 U.S. at 179 (“Congress started
from the finding that ‘|t}he two major causes of extinc-
tion are hunting and destruction of natural habitat.’ Of
these twin threats, Congress was informec that the
greatest was destruction of natural habitats.”)

7

(quoting S. Rep. No. 93-307, at 2 (1973) as reprinted in
1973 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2989, 2990).*

In the 1978 amendments to the ESA, Congress
reemphasized that “[t/he loss of habitat for many spe-
cies is universally cited as the major cause for the ex-
tinction of species worldwide.” H.R. Rep. No. 95-1625,
at 5 (1978). Indeed, in the lead-up to those amend-
ments, Congress specifically stated that “if the protec-
tion of endangered and threatened species depends in
large measure on the preservation of the species’ hab-
itat, then the ultimate effectiveness of the Endangered
Species Act will depend on the designation of critical
habitat.” H.R. Rep. No. 94-887, at 3 (1976).

To that end, the ESA’s purpose is not only to ad-
dress actions directed at species themselves—such as
hunting and trade—but also to “provide a means
whereby the ecosystems upon which endangered spe-
cies and threatened species depend may be conserved.”
16 U.S.C. § 1531(b) (emphasis added). Conservation is
statutorily defined as “the use of all methods and

* The legislative history demonstrates that Congress under-
stood this relationship between species protection and habitat
loss. See, e.g., 119 Cong. Rec. 30,528 (1973) (statement of Rep. Leh-
man) (“The new law recognizes that the greatest threat to endan-
gered animals has been man’s destruction of their habitat.”); see
also 119 Cong. Rec. 30,162 (1973) (statement of Rep. Sullivan)
(“For the most part, the principal threat to animals stems from
the destruction of their habitat.”). After the 1978 amendments,
one senator even said, “the designation of critical habitat is more
important than the designation of an endangered species itself.”
124 Cong. Rec. $21,575 (daily ed. July 19, 1978) (statement of Sen.
Garn).

8

procedures which are necessary to bring any endan-
gered species or threatened species to the point at
which the measures provided pursuant to this chapter
are no longer necessary.” Jd. § 1532(3). This conserva-
tion mandate covers the Act from nose to tail. As this
Court has recognized, the “plain intent of Congress” in
enacting the ESA “was to halt and reverse the trend
toward species extinction, whatever the cost. This is re-
flected not only in the stated policies of the Act, but in
literally every section of the statute.” Tenn. Valley
Auth. , 437 U.S. at 184.

The ESA establishes a framework for the conser-
vation of imperiled species, with specific management
actions left to the scientific judgment of the appropri-
ate Service. First, the Service determines whether a
species warrants listing as “threatened” or “endan-
gered.” 16 U.S.C. § 1533(a)(1). In making this determi-
nation, the first factor the Service considers is “the
present or threatened destruction, modification, or cur-
tailment of its habitat or range.” Jd. § 1533(a)(1)(A).
Consistent with Congress’s emphasis on habitat
preservation, the Service must also at the time of list-
ing and “to the maximum extent prudent and determi-
nable” designate “any habitat of such species which
is then considered to be critical habitat.” /d.
§ 1533(aX(3)A), (a3 A).

The ESA recognizes that critical habitat can be
occupied or unoccupied by the species at the time of
listing and provides separate definitions for each. Oc-
cupied critical habitat is defined as “the specific areas
within the geographical area occupied by the species,

9

at the time it is listed ... on which are found those
physical or biological features (I) essential to the con-
servation of the species and (II) which may require
special management consideration or protection.” Jd.
§ 1532(5)(A\(i) (emphasis added). By contrast, the def-
inition of unoccupied critical habitat includes the “spe-
cific areas outside the geographical area occupied by
the species at the time it is listed . . . upon a determi-
nation by the Secretary that such areas are essential
for the conservation of the species.” Id. § 1532(5)A)(ii)
(emphasis added). Notably, Congress’s definition of un-
occupied critical habitat specifically omits the require-
ment that such habitat possess the “physical or
biological features” essential to species conservation
and, instead, requires only that the Service make a
“determination . . . that such areas are essential for the
conservation [i.e., recovery] of the species.” Compare 16
U.S.C. § 1532(5AXMi) with 16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)A)(ii).
For both occupied and unoccupied critical habitat, the
Service must make a species-specific determination
“on the basis of the best scientific data available and
after taking into consideration the economic impact,
the impact on national security, and any other relevant
impact of specifying any particular area as critical
habitat.” Jd. § 1533(b)(2).

Once a species is listed, a series of substantive and
procedural requirements attach. While section 9 pro-
hibits “take” of endangered species without prior au-
thorization, id. § 1538(a)(1)(B),* section 7(a)(1) imposes

* Section 9’s prohibitions apply only to endangered species
but may be extended in whole or in part to threatened species

10

on federal agencies a substantive obligation to promote
the conservation of listed species. Jd. § 1536(a)(1).
Moreover, section 7(a)(2) obligates federal agencies to
consult with the Service whenever they act, authorize,
or fund a project that may affect a listed species or its
designated critical habitat. Jd. § 1536(a)(2). Through
consultation, federal agencies must ensure that their
actions will not “jeopardize the continued existence” of
a listed species or “result in the destruction or adverse
modification” of critical habitat. Id. § 1536(a)(2). This
consultation process is designed to lessen the impact
of federal or federally-permitted activities on species
and their critical habitats. In practice, consultation has
allowed most development projects to proceed with no
more than minor modifications.

Section 7 is particularly important for unoccupied
critical habitat because while such habitat may in fact
be indispensable to the species’ conservation, there is
no other statutory mechanism for protecting these ar-
eas. The Act’s take prohibition protects species from,
among other things, “harm,” id. § 1538, but the regula-
tory definition of “harm” only applies to habitat modi-
fication that actually kills or injures wildlife which is
unlikely to happen if the listed species is not present.
50 C.F.R. § 17.3; Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of
Cmtys. for a Great Or., 515 U.S. 687 (1995) (requiring a
reasonable likelihood of harm to individual animals for
habitat modification to constitute take under the ESA).

pursuant to regulation. 16 U.S.C. § 1533(d). The U.S. Fish & Wild-
life Service has enacted a blanket rule extending section 9 prohi-
bitions to threatened species. 50 C.F_R. § 17.31(a).

11

By contrast, the proscription on federal agency actions
that may destroy or adversely modify critical habitat
protects designated areas regardless of whether an ac-
tion will directly harm individual animals. Thus, criti-
cal habitat designation provides the only statutory
protection for areas that are unoccupied but necessary
for the expansion and recovery of the species.°

Congress’s determination that unoccupied habitat
may nonetheless be essential to conservation, even if
it is not habitable when designation occurs, makes
biological and practical sense. When a species with a
previously larger range has been reduced to a smal!
patch of presently suitable habitat by the “destruction
lor] modification ... of its habitat,” 16 U.S.C.
§ 1533(a)(1)(A), recovery may necessarily require the
protection of both the dwindling areas where the spe-
cies still occurs and other areas needed for its conser-
vation, including historically occupied areas capable of
being restored and recolonized. For such species, des-
ignation of unoccupied critical habitat plays an indis-
pensable role in their recovery.

B. Designating critical habitat promotes
species recovery

Critical habitat’s operative weight stems from

section 7’s consultation requirement. 16 U.S.C.

* Even that protection is limited because it only extends to
discretionary actions authorized, funded, or carried out by federal
agencies. Nat'l Ass’n of Homebuilders v. Defenders of Wildlife, 551
U.S. 644, 666 (2007).

12

§ 1536(a)(2). For projects on federal lands or that re-
quire federal funding, approval, or implementation,
section 7 provides important substantive and proce-
dural checks on actions affecting habitat that is essen-
tial to a species’ conservation. But designation also
generates valuable information that federal, state, lo-
cal, and private landowners can use to help conserve
species. These benefits may be just as important as the
action-forcing provisions described above.

When critical habitat is designated on federal
lands, it can help prioritize section 7(a)(1) conservation
efforts. Under section 7(a)(1), all federal agencies must
“utilize their authorities in furtherance of the purposes
of [the ESA] by carrying out programs for the conser-
vation of endangered species and threatened species.”
16 U.S.C. § 1536(a)(1). This obligation covers every-
thing from recovery planning to direct restoration of
habitat on federal lands. Take, for example, the U.S.
Forest Service's efforts to restore degraded unoccupied
critical habitat for the New Mexico meadow jumping
mouse. Unoccupied critical habitat for this species was
designated along riparian tracts degraded by years of
overgrazing. 81 Fed. Reg. 14,264, 14,267 (Mar. 16,
2016). Following designation, the Forest Service en-
gaged with conservation partners and local ranchers to
install a series of cattle exclusion fences and alterna-
tive water sources that allowed these degraded areas
to return to their natural condition and once again host
the mouse. U.S. Forest Service, New Mexico Meadow
Jumping Mouse Habitat Improvement Projects on the

13

Agua Chiquita Grazing Allotment, https://www.fs.usda_gov/
project/?project=5 1273 (last visited July 2, 2018). With-
out critical habitat designation, it is unlikely that
these areas would have received the same priority.

Critical habitat designation also provides broad
notice to both federal agencies and the public of the lo-
cation and importance of the particular areas that are
essential to species recovery. Listing the species alone
agencies and private landowners alike may be other-
wise unaware of the importance of an area to a species’
recovery because even the most diligent survey of the
area may not reveal the listed species or the physical
or biological characteristics associated with its sur-
vival. Jack McDonald, Critical Habitat Designation
Under the Endangered Species Act: A Road to Recov-
ery?, 28 Envtl. L. 671, 688-91 (1998) (discussing the no-
tice benefits of designation). This is especially true for
migratory species and those that depend on ephemera!
habitats.

A prime example of this occurs in the glacial out-
wash prairies of western Washington, where four listed
subspecies of Mazama pocket gopher are found. 79 Fed.
Reg. 19,760, 19,772 (Apr. 9, 2014). These gophers spend
most of their lives underground, which makes observa-
tion extremely difficult. Jd. That difficulty is com-
pounded by the species’ tendency to shift its occupied
range from generation to generation. 79 Fed. Reg.
19,712, 19,715 (Apr. 9, 2014) (designating critical aab-
itat) (“movements result in apparent changes of the oc-
cupancy status of a specific site over time, as juveniles

14

disperse and colonize new sites, or conversely, as terri-
torial individuals die and specific sites become unoccu-
pied”). If unoccupied areas were not protected by
critical habitat designation, the species’ protected hab-
itat would be limited to the occupied range at the time
of listing, and subsequent generations would not have
sufficient protected habitat in which to disperse. Des-
ignation of critical habitat allows the Service to iden-
tify areas that are presently unoccupied or otherwise
appear to lack conservation value and highlights their
importance to the species.

Additionally, the information developed during
the designation process can help focus the efforts of
conservationists, states, and private landowners when
developing habitat conservation plans. Even where no
federal action is involved, these actors may elect to tai-
lor their activities to avoid negatively affecting a sen-
sitive area. See, e.g., Dashiell Farewell, Revitalizing
Critical Habitat: The Ninth Circuit’s Pro-Efficiency Ap-
proach, 46 Envtl. L. 653, 663 (2016) (“With more par-
ties on notice the more likely it is that habitat will
receive the consideration and protection it deserves.”).

Designation can also help maximize the conserva-
tion value of land acquisition by allowing parties to
target those areas that would most benefit a species.
For example, after conservation groups expressed con-
cern about development near one of the dusky gopher
frog’s last known breeding ponds, the real estate devel-
opers agreed to a land purchase that protected 170
acres of critical habitat for the species. See Press Re-
lease, Ctr. for Biological Diversity, Land Purchase

15

Protects Essential Mississippi Habitat for Endangered
Dusky Gopher Frog (May 14, 2015), https://www.

biologicaldiversity.org/news/press_releases/2015/dusky-
gopher-frog-05-14-2015.html.

Perhaps most importantly, designating critical
habitat ensures that adequate focus is placed on spe-
cies recovery and not just survival. Gifford Pinchot
Task Force v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv. , 378 F.3d 1059,
1070 (9th Cir. 2004) (requiring the Service to provide
for species recovery, not just survival, in designating
critical habitat). While other provisions of the Act pro-
tect species from direct harm, see 16 U.S.C. §§ 1536,
1538, or authorize the discretionary acquisition of
lands, see id. § 1534, only critical habitat mandates
that the Service determine precisely which areas are
essential to recovery. Id. §§ 1532(5), 1533(a)(3\(B). In
fact, of all the provisions in the ESA, critical habitat
designation may contribute the most to recovery be-
cause it is not limited just to those areas where a spe-
cies lives at any given moment. This is particularly
true for species that have been driven to the point of
extinction by habitat loss.

Designation of unoccupied critical habitat is espe-
cially important for areas that were historically occu-
pied or are scientifically determined to be essential for
expansion of a species’ range in the future. Michael J.
Bean & Melanie J. Rowland, The Evolution of National
Wildlife Law 261-62 (3d ed. 1997) (“Unoccupied criti-
cal habitat is habitat, the protection of which is needed
to improve the species’ status quo; that is, it is primar-
ily needed for the recovery of the species.”). If the goal

16

is to recover species to a point where the Act’s protec-
tions are no longer needed, then logically “it will be
necessary to protect some of |a species’| former habitat
as well as that which it currently occupies.” Kalyani
Robbins, Recovery of an Endangered Provision: Untan-
gling and Reviving Critical Habitat Under the Endan-
gered Species Act, 58 Buff. L. Rev. 1095, 1105 (2010).

Critical habitat’s contribution to recovery will, of
course, vary on a species-by-species basis, but research
shows a correlation between critical habitat designa-
tion and positive trends in recovery status. See Martin
FJ. Taylor, The Effectiveness of the Endangered Species
Act: A Quantitative Analysis, 55 BioScience 360, 363
(2005). Other studies have shown that designation of
critical habitat is “correlated with increased effort to
protect species.” Amy N. Hagen & Karen E. Hodges,
Resolving Critical Habitat Designation Failures: Rec-
onciling Law, Policy, and Biology, 20 Conservation
Biology 399, 400 (2006). Indeed, species with critical
habitat are also more likely to have recovery plans that
are up to date and being implemented than species
without critical habitat. Jd. (“Critical habitat designa-
tion therefore helps populations improve, increases
knowledge about trends, and contributes to recovery
goals being met.”). Critical habitat is thus an im-
portant tool for recovering species, the ultimate goal
of the ESA. 16 U.S.C. §§ 1531(b) (purposes), 1532(3)
(definitions of “conserve,” “conserving,” and “conserva-
tion”).

17

C. Petitioner vastly overstates the economic
impacts of critical habitat designation

Contrary to the alarmist rhetoric adopted by Peti-
tioner and supporting amici, critical habitat serves a
vital function in the ESA’s conservation scheme with-
out imposing an undue burden on economic activity.
Designating critical habitat does not convert an area
into a park or preserve, nor does it require that hu-
mans cease all activity on the land. The consultation
requirement that attaches to critical habitat is di-
rected solely at federal agency actions. 16 U.S.C.
§ 1536(a)(2). Thus, so long as no federal permit is re-
quired, and no federal funding needed, designating
critical habitat on private land has no effect on the
owner's use of the property.

Even when a federal permit is required, empirical
evidence demonstrates that section 7 consultation al-
most never stops a proposed development in its tracks.
After examining every consultation recorded by the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service between January 2008
and April 2015, Malcom and Li determined that “no
project has been stopped or extensively altered as a re-
sult of FWS concluding either jeopardy or destruc-
tion/adverse modification of critical habitat.” Jacob
Malcom & Ya-Wei Li, Data Contradict Common Percep-
tions About a Controversial Provision of the U.S. En-
dangered Species Act, 112 PNAS 15844, 15845 (2015)
(reviewing all 88,920 USFWS consultations from Jan-
uary 2008 through April 2015). Most consultations
during this period were informal, but of the 6,829 for-
mal consultations, only two resulted in a jeopardy

18

determination. Jd. In only one of those two cases did
the Service find that the proposed action would destroy
or adversely modify critical habitat. Jd. Despite that
finding, the proposed action was approved with tle
adoption of reasonable and prudent alternatives that
minimized impacts to habitat. Jd.* As this research
shows, section 7 does not, in theory or practice, ham-
string all private development. Rather it advances the
ESA’s recovery goals by striking a science-driven bal-
ance between conservation and economic activity.

On the record before the Court, Petitioner has not
sought, let alone been denied, federal permits to de-
velop Unit 1, and it is undisputed that the critical hab-
itat designation does not impede current silviculture
activities on the site. Pet. Br. at 42 (noting that they
could “forego [Clean Water Act] permitting or other
federal involvement and continue to operate Unit | as
a commercial forest”). Even if Petitioner must ulti-
mately seek federal permits for the proposed develop-
ment,’ it is unlikely that a section 7 consultation would
scuttle their plans. It is entirely possible that

® While several earlier studies found higher rates of jeopardy
and adverse modification findings, such findings were still ex-
tremely rare. See, e.g., Dave Owen, Critical Habitat and the Chal.
lenge of Regulating Small Harms, 64 Fla. L. Rev. 141 (2012) (from
2005 to 2009, 7.2% of consultations related to U.S. Fish & Wildlife
Service administered fish species resulted in jeopardy); H.R. Rep.
No. 97-567, at 13 (1982) (House Report on 1982 ESA amendments
noting that only 1.8% of consultations resulted in jeopardy and
that of those only two projects were ultimately halted).

" Here, ESA regulations are only implicated if there is a fed-
eral nexus, like a section 404 permit under the Clean Water Act,
33 U.S.C. §§ 1251 et seq. (1972).

19

residential development of the area could proceed
along with a habitat conservation plan to preserve the
rare ponds on the property and restore upland features
that are optimal for the frog’s lifecycle. Alternatively,
other private actors could purchase the property for
conservation purposes.*

We cannot stress enough: designating this area as
critical habitat is only the first step in a process to de-
termine how it will contribute to the frog’s recovery. In
contrast with the lack of evidence supporting Peti-
tioner’s speculative injuries, record evidence shows
that Unit 1 is essential to the conservation of the dusky
gopher frog because it is the last remaining area of the
species’ historic range that could still support the spe-
cies in the future. 77 Fed. Reg. 35,118, 35,124 (June 12,
2012) (“the five ponds in Unit 1 provide breeding hab-
itat that in its totality is not known to be present else-
where within the historic range of the dusky gopher
frog”). Moreover, the breeding ponds cannot be re-
placed or restored once destroyed. /d. at 35,123 (noting

* Judge Owen's dissenting opinion makes much of Peti-
uioner’s alleged opposition to restoration efforts on the property
and focuses on the remote likelihood that restoration would occur.
Markle Interests, L.L.C. v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv. , 827 F.3d 452,
487 (5th Cir. 2016) (Judge Owen dissenting). But the current will-
ingness of any existing landowner to conserve or improve a prop-
erty does not foreclose the Service from determining that a
particular area is essential to the species’ conservation—_a deter.
mination that, under the statute, turns on biological facts rather
than landowner preference. The point of designating critical hab-
itat is to identify and provide notice of the areas scientists believe
are essential to a species’ recovery before options for conservation
are foreclosed.

20

that years of effort to restore or recreate habitat of sim-
ilar quality elsewhere have failed). Thus, Unit 1 pro-
vides the best chance of increasing the representation,
resiliency, and redundancy that are essential to the re-
covery of the dusky gopher frog.’ If the Service cannot
designate the last places on earth that the frog could
potentially breed as critical habitat, there is little hope
for the species.

ll. Imposing a temporal habitability require-
ment on unoccupied critical habitat is nei-
ther mandated by the ESA’s plain language
nor reconcilable with the Act’s conserva-
tion purpose
A. The ESA does not require that critical

habitat be habitable at the time of des-
ignation
Petitioner and their amici have seized on an ex-
traordinarily broad dissent from the Fifth Circuit's
denial of rehearing en banc to assert a new argument
that they themselves failed to present to either the
district court or the appellate panel below. Pet. Br. at

22-32; Markle Br. in Support of Pet. at 26—28. This ar-

gument, that unoccupied critical habitat must be hab-

itable at the time of designation, conflicts with the

ESA’s plain language and would significantly dimin-

ish, if not eviscerate, the value of unoccupied critical

habitat for the conservation of habitat-limited species.

* Evans, supra, at 6, 22 (describing the “3R’s” of species re-
covery).

21

The ESA defines unoccupied critical habitat as the
“specific areas” that the Service determines to be “es-
sential for the conservation” of the species. 16 U.S.C.
§ 1532(5)AXii). This definition focuses on whether an
area is essential for conservation, i.e, recovery, not
whether it could, as is, support the species. A require-
ment that critical habitat must be immediately occupi-
able at the time of designation has no basis in the
statutory language and would foreclose designation of
restorable areas, areas that shift inte and out of habit-
ability, and areas that the Service has determined to
be essential for species conservation because they pro-
vide the source of ecological benefits for occupied por-
tions of the species’ range.

Petitioner’s effort to read a present habitability re-
quirement into the statute is problematic in many re-
spects. Most significantly, Congress did not create such
a requirement. In fact, it did the opposite. Again, the
statute defines occupied critical habitat as areas on
which “are found those physical or biological features”
that are “essential to the conservation of the species.”
Id. § 1532(5a\i) (emphasis added). In the very next
subsection, Congress omitted any such present tense
requirement for unoccupied critical habitat, and in-
stead required only a “determination by the Secretary
that such areas are essential for the conservation of
the species.” Jd. § 1532(5)A)(ii). It is axiomatic that
Congress acts intentionally when it “includes particu-
lar language in one section of a statute but omits it in
another section of the same Act.” Dean v. United States,
556 U.S. 568, 573 (2009). Applying that principle here

22

leads to the inescapable conclusion that Congress did
not require that unoccupied critical habitat must be
habitable by the species at the time of designation.

To avoid this straightforward reading of the stat-
ute, Petitioner relies heavily on a dictionary definition
of “habitat.” Pet. Br. at 23. But that definition gets Pe-
titioner nowhere. Indeed, it circumvents another car-
dinal rule of statutory construction: dictionary
definitions only come into play when Congress itself
has not defined the term at issue. Stenberg v. Carhart,
530 U.S. 914, 942 (2000) (“When a statute includes an
explicit definition, we must follow that definition, even
if it varies from that term’s ordinary meaning.”). Here,
Congress defined unoccupied critical habitat in a man-
ner that is irreconcilable with Petitioner's interpreta-
tion. In the “Definition” section of the ESA, Congress
established what unoccupied critical habitat means.
That definition does not support any requirement that
the species must be able to exist in the “area” in ques-
tion at the moment of designation.

Even if Congress had not already defined the rele-
vant term, Petitioner’s argument would still fail. Peti-
tioner defines habitat as “the place where a plant or
animal species naturally lives and grows” or “the kind
of site or region with respect to physical features ...
naturally or normally preferred by a biological spe-
cies.” Pet. Br. at 23 (citing Habitat, Webster’s Third
New Intl. Dictionary (1976)). To Petitioner, if a species
cannot currently live on a site, then it does not “natu-
rally” live there, and that area cannot qualify as habi-
tat. But such a reading fails to properly examine what

23

it means for a thing to be “natural.” “Natural” has
many definitions, among them “growing without hu-
man care,” “not cultivated,” and “closely resembling an
original: true to nature.” Natural, Webster’s Third New
Intl. Dictionary (1976). This implies a state prior to
significant human disturbance. When understood
properly, what “naturally lives and grows” on Unit 1
are not the loblolly pines that Petitioner cultivates but
the longleaf pine forests that could prow ide “food, shel-
ter and protection” for the frog, 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,131.
The frog, after all, naturally lived there u»wil at least
1965. Id. at 35,133.

This is not to say that critical habitat requires re-
storing all designated areas to pre-settlement condi-
tions. It is only to say that restricting critical habitat
to unaltered, move-in ready parcels is at odds with not
only Congress’ chosen definition but the very purpose
of the statute itself. There is simply no reasonable ba-
sis for construing the meaning of “habitat” so narrowly
as to exclude, for example, historically occupied habitat
that has become degraded but is nonetheless vital for
species recovery efforts.

B. A temporal habitability requirement
would undermine the conservation value
of critical habitat

Petitioner’s proposed extra-textual requirement

ignores the reality of habitat modification, the very
force that has driven many species to the point of

24

extinction and which Congress sought to address by
passing the ESA. 16 U.S.C. § 1531(b). For many species,
recovery requires protecting more than limited parcels
of pristine habitat. It requires protecting remnants of
degraded lands that are necessary to the species’ con-
servation (i.e., recovery). That is why Congress left it
to the Service to ascertain which “specific areas” of un-
occupied habitat are “essential for the conservation” of
species that have been listed as endangered or threat-
ened. Determining which lands are essential to ful-
filling the ESA’s recovery goals is a question for
science, not Webster’s dictionary.

By Petitioner's standard, currently unoccupied
habitats that could be rendered suitable for occupation
with even minor restoration efforts could never qualify
for designation. This would be the case on federal
lands, leaving agencies without crucial information to
inform their 7(a)(1) conservation duty to promote the
recovery of species like the New Mexico meadow jump-
ing mouse, see supra Section I.B., as well as on private
lands where landowners may be willing to help restore
critical habitat through voluntary conservation efforts.
See Rangewide Conservation Plan for Longleaf Pine,
America’ 5 ern tad Restoration Initiative (2009),

Ginitiine a obas to sestave 8 million acres of longleaf
pine forest on private land by 2025).

A current habitability requirement could also pre-
clude the Service from designating dynamic habitats
that cycle in and out of habitability. Some species re-
quire transitory or ephemeral habitats that may go

25

long periods without habitation. Many migratory
shorebirds, for example, rely on intertidal habitats
that are constantly changing and may be unsuitable
from one year to the next. See, e.g., Revised Designa-
tion of Critical Habitat for the Wintering Population of
the Piping Plover (Charadrius melodus) in North Car-
olina, 73 Fed. Reg. 62,816, 62,818 (Oct. 21, 2008) (not-
ing that “designating specific locations of critical
habitat for the wintering piping plovers is difficult be-
cause the coastal areas they use are constantly chang-
ing due to storm surges, flood events, and other natural
geo-physical alterations of beaches and shoreline”).
Similarly, vernal pool species depend on ephemeral
ponds that may go long periods without exhibiting the
characteristics necessary for the species to thrive. Fi-
nal Designation of Critical Habitat for Four Vernal
Pool Crustaceans and Eleven Vernal Pool Plants in
California and Southern Oregon, 70 Fed. Reg. 46,924,
46,925 (Aug. 11, 2005) (noting that “the duration of
ponding of vernal pools also varies, and in certain
years some pools may not fill at all”).

Just as harmful, Petitioner's reading would fore-
close the possibility of designating areas that are not
themselves habitable but which provide the physical
or biological features that are essential to the survival
of the species in occupied areas. Take, for example, the
upstream reaches of the Big Tujunga Creek that pro-
vide stream and sediment flows necessary for the sur-
vival of the Santa Ana sucker in downstream occupied
areas, see 75 Fed. Reg. 77,961, 77,973 (Dec. 14, 2010),
or the sandy desert north of Ramon Road in Riverside

26

County, California that provides the source of wind-
blown sand essential to the conservation of the
Coachella Valley fringe-toed lizard in its range to
the south, see 45 Fed. Reg. 63,812, 63,818 (Sep. 25,
1980). Under Petitioner’s reading of the statute neither
area could be designated because they were not suita-
ble for occupation by the species at the time of desig-
nation."®

A current habitability requirement would put spe-
cies like these at risk of extinction. In her dissent from
denial of rehearing en banc, Judge Jones dismissed
this concern as a mere “consequence of a more precise
textual interpretation” but the Fifth Circuit panel rul-
ing is far more faithful to the precise language used by
Congress to define unoccupied critical habitat. See su-
pra Section I1.A. Likewise, the Ninth Circuit expressly
rejected the argument that unoccupied but essential
upstream areas should be excluded from the Santa
Ana sucker designation because these areas were not
occupied (or occupiable) habitat. As the court held,

© Protection of unoccupied areas like these is not, as Judge
Jones suggests, assured by section 7(a)(2)’s consultation require-
ment. While an action “does not have to occur on designated crit-
ical habitat to trigger section 7 consultation,” Markle Interests,
LLC. v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 848 F.3d 635, 645 (5th Cir.
2017) (Judge Jones dissenting), where no critical habitat is desig-
nated, the presence of the species is typically what triggers con-
sultation. See U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv. & Nat'l Marine Fisheries
Serv., Endangered Species Consultation Handbook at 3-11,
https://www.fws.gov/endangered/esa-library/pdffesa_section7_
handbook. pdf (“A biological assessment is required if listed spe-
cies or critical habitat may be present in the action area.”) (last
visited July 2, 2018).

27

“|tlhere is no support for this contention in the text of
the ESA or the implementing regulation, which re-
quires the Service to show that the area is ‘essential,’
without further defining that term as habitable.” Bear
Valley Mutual Water Co. v. Jewell, 790 F.3d 977, 994
(9th Cir. 2015). Again, essentiality, not present habita-
bility, is what is required by the plain terms of the Act.

Neither Petitioner nor the dissenting judges artic-
ulate when, if ever, unoccupied critical habitat would
be designated under their approach. Their counterin-
tuitive and extra-textual approach would foreclose des-
ignation in numerous instances where areas are
essential to species’ conservation. Such a result is not
consistent with the plain language and purpose of the
ESA.

C. The Fifth Circuit’s ruling did not “vastly

expand the ESA”

In upholding the Service’s determination that
Unit 1 is essential to the conservation of the dusky go-
pher frog, the Fifth Circuit did not “vastly expand the
ESA,” Pet. Br. at 35, nor did the court render unoccu-
pied habitat “easier to designate” than occupied habi-
tat. Cf. Markle Interests, L.L.C., 848 F.3d at 646 (Judge
Jones dissenting). As discussed above, the text of the
statute provides clear limits on the Service’s authority
to designate critical habitat. Before designating unoc-
cupied areas, the Service must determine, on the basis
of the best scientific data available, that a specific area
is in fact “essential for the conservation of the species,”

28

16 U.S.C. § 1532(5)A) (emphasis added). Petitioner
and their amici unduly minimize this statutory re-
quirement.

Judge Owen’s panel dissent turns to the diction-
ary definition of “essential” to argue that an area that
does not presently support a species’ population (and
which could require some degree of restoration to do
so) cannot possibly be essential. Markle Interests,
L.L.C. v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv., 827 F.3d 452, 483
(5th Cir. 2016) (Judge Owen dissenting). But this argu-
ment is unavailing. Black’s Law Dictionary defines “es-
sential” as “1. Of, relating to, or involving the essence
or intrinsic nature of something. 2. Of the utmost im-
portance; basic and necessary. 3. Having real existence,
actual.” Essential, Black’s Law Dictionary (10th ed.
2014). While Judge Owen emphasizes that Unit 1 “is
not ‘actuallly|’ playing any part in the conservation of
the endangered frog species,” 827 F.3d at 483 (quoting
Black’s), this focus on the present value of habitat
misses an important textual nuance.

The ESA’s definition of “conservation” requires
consideration both of a species’ current survival needs
and what is necessary for its recovery. 16 U.S.C.
§ 1532(3); see also Sierra Club v. U.S. Fish & Wildlife
Serv., 245 F.3d 434, 441-42 (5th Cir. 2001) (“‘Conser-
vation’ is a much broader concept than mere sur-
vival.”). The purpose of the ESA, after all, is to recover
species to the point that the Act’s protections are no
longer necessary. 16 U.S.C. § 1532(3). An area that is
presently unoccupied by a species may or may not pro-
vide a current benefit to the species. But it may

29

nonetheless be “of the utmost importance” and “essen-
tial to the conservation” of the species now and in the
future. Id. § 1532(5).

As this case illustrates, the Service must find, af-
ter taking into account economic and other factors,
that the best available scientific data supports the
proposition that a presently unoccupied area is “essen-
tial for the conservation of a species.” 16 U.S.C.
§ 1533(b)(2). Here, the Service designated Unit 1 as
unoccupied critical habitat only after making a scien-
itat was insufficient to conserve the frog. The Service’s
Mississippi. See 75 Fed. Reg. 31,387, 31,395 (proposed
June 3, 2010). But scientific peer reviewers of the pro-
posed rule “were united in their assessment that this
proposal was inadequate for the conservation of the
dusky gopher frog.” 77 Fed. Reg. at 35,123-—24. Before
designating Unit 1, the Service surveyed recorded
sightings of the frog throughout its historic range and
followed up on those leads with detailed aerial and on-
the-ground surveys of potential remnant habitat. Jd. at
35,133 (noting that the five ponds on Unit 1 were of
“remarkable quality”). It also ruled out many other ar-
eas in both Alabama and Louisiana that lacked the
breeding ponds that are so importamt to the frog's
lifecycle. Id. Finally, the Service weighed the economic
burden of designating Unit 1 against the conservation
benefit from such action and determined that it was
not appropriate to exclude these tracts. Id. at 35,140—
41.

30

There is simply no substance to the notion that the
Fifth Circuit’s decision expanded the ESA by making
it easier to designate unoccupied areas than occupied
ones.'' Congress adopted the definition of critical hab-
itat and elected, for reasons that make perfect sense,
not to require that unoccupied areas contain the “phys-
ical or biological features essential to the conservation
of the species.” Congress knew how to articulate a
standard requiring the identification of specific fea-
tures; it did so for occupied areas. But it chose different
criteria for designating unoccupied critical habitat. A
court cannot contradict the statute’s plain language
simply because it believes that unoccupied areas
should be more difficult to designate than occupied ar-
eas for policy reasons that are nowhere to be found in
the statute itself.

As the Fifth Circuit explained: “The Final Desig-
nation was based on the scientific expertise of the
agency’s biologists and outside gopher frog specialists.
If this scientific support were not in the record, the

"' Implicit in the arguments of Petitioner and their support-
ing amici is the notion that the Service could be over-designating
unoccupied areas. This fear is unfounded. As an empirical matter,
the Service rarely designates unoccupied critical habitat. Abbey
E. Camaciang et al., Current Practices in the Identification of Crit-
ical Habitat for Threatened Species, 29 Conservation Biology 482,
482-92 (2014) (“In addition, unoccupied habitat was included as
part of critical habitat for less than one third of the species we
considered [from 2003 to 2012].”); see also Stephanie Brauer, Note,
Arizona Cattle Growers’ Pyrrhic Victory for Critical Habitat, 38
Ecology L.Q. 369, 379 (2011) (“Despite its importance, unoccupied
habitat constitutes ‘a relatively smal! amount of habitat desig
nated as critical habitat.’”).

31

designation could not stand.” Markle Interests, L.L.C.,
827 F.3d at 472. The Service’s science-based determi-
nation that Unit 1 is essential for the conservation of
the dusky gopher frog warrants judicial deference.
Balt. Gas & Elec. Co. v. Natural Res. Def. Council, Inc.,
462 U.S. 87, 103 (1983) (“when examining this kind of
scientific determination ... a reviewing court must
generally be at its most deferential”).

Ill. The Fifth Circuit’s ruling neither impinges
on the rights of states nor raises constitu-
tional questions
Although thie Court granted certiorari on only

narrow issues of statutory interpretation, Petitioner

and their supporting amici seek to import into the case
issues of states’ rights and constitutional concerns
through the doctrine of constitutional avoidance. These
issues, however, are far beyond the scope of what this

Court needs to, or should, address for the purposes of

this case. Zobrest v. Catalina Foothills School Dist. , 509

U.S. 1, 8 (1993) (when a case can be decided on purely

statutory grounds the Court should follow a “pruden-

tial rule of avoiding constitutional questions”). None-
theless, a brief rebuttal of these arguments is in order.

First, the assertion that protection of the nation’s
wildlife is merely a matter of state concern is belied by
more than a century of direct federal involvement in
wildlife conservation. Going back at least as far as the

Lacey Act of 1900, 16 U.S.C. §§ 3371-3378 and 18

U.S.C. § 42, and the Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918

32

(MBTA), 16 U.S.C. §§ 703-711, this Court has consist-
ently upheld federal regulation in this area. See, e.z.,
Missouri v. Holland, 252 U.S. 416 (1920) (upholding the
MBTA); Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 63 n.19 (1979)
(*[the] assumption that the national commerce power
does not reach migratory wildlife is clearly flawed.”).

Circuit courts have unanimously followed the
holdings in those cases to reject arguments that the
ESA infringes on traditional state powers. As the
Fourth Circuit held: “[E]ndangered wildlife regulation
has not been an exclusive or primary state function”
but is instead “an appropriate and well-recognized
area of federal regulation.” Gibbs v. Babbitt, 214 F.3d
483, 500 (4th Cir. 2000). See also Rancho Viejo, L.L.C.
v. Norton, 323 F.3d 1062, 1078—79 (D.C. Cir. 2003) (“Far
from encroaching upon territory that has traditionally
been the domain of state and local government, the
ESA represents a national response to a specific prob-
lem of ‘truly national’ concern.”) (quoting Gibbs, 214
F.3d at 505). For that reason, the D.C. and Fourth Cir-
cuits have both concluded that the ESA is consistent
with principles of federalism: “|T|o sustain challenges
of this nature ‘would require courts to move abruptly
from preserving traditional state roles to dismantling
historic federal ones.’” Rancho Viejo, 323 F.3d at 1079—
80 (quoting Gibbs, 214 F.3d at 504).

Second, there is no serious constitutional question
here. “The substantial relationship between the ESA
and interstate commerce is patent.” People for the Eth-
ical Treatment of Property Owners v. U.S. Fish & Wild-
life Serv., 852 F.3d 990, 1006 (10th Cir. 2017), cert.

33

denied, 138 S. Ct. 649 (2018). When it enacted the ESA,
Congress determined that eudangered and threatened
species are not only of “esthetic, ecological, educa-
tional, historical, recreational, and scientific value to
the Nation and its people,” 16 U.S.C. § 1531(a)(3), but
also contain a genetic heritage of “incalculable” value.
Tenn. Valley Auth., 437 U.S. at 178. Congress was con-
cerned as well with “the unknown uses that endan-
gered species might have and the unforeseeable place
such creatures may have in the chain of life on this
planet.” Id. at 178-79. See also Palila v. Haw. Dep't of
Land & Natural Res., 471 F. Supp. 985, 995 (D. Haw.
1979), aff'd, 639 F.2d 495 (9th Cir. 1981) (“[A] national
program to protect and improve the natural habitats
of endangered species preserves the possibilities of in-
terstate commerce in these species and of interstate
movement of persons. . . who come to a state to observe
and study these species, that would otherwise be lost
by state inaction.”).

As all six circuits to address the issue have held,
Congress properly determined that endangered and
threatened species protection is economic and that pro-
tection of all imperiled species—no matter their cur-
rent trade value or state of residence—is essential to
preserving America’s wildlife resources." Even if an

"2 People for the Ethical Treatment of Property Owners v. U.S.
Fish & Wildlife Serv., 852 F.3d 990 (10th Cir. 2017) (upholding
ESA protection for the Utah prairie dog), cert. denied, 138 S. Ct.
649 (2018); San Luis & Delta-Mendota Water Auth. v. Salazar , 638
F.3d 1163 (9th Cir. 2011) (delta amelt), cert. denied sub nom. Or
chards v. Salazar, 565 U.S. 1009 (2011); Alabama-Tombigbee Riv-
ers Coal. v. Kempthorne, 477 F.3d 1250 (11th Cir. 2007) (Alabama

34

individual application of the ESA does not appear to
affect commerce directly, Congress has the power to
“‘regulate even noneconomic local activity if that reg-
ulation is a necessary part of a more general regulation
of interstate commerce.’” Gonzales v. Raich, 545 U.S. 1,
25-27 (2005) (quoting United States v. Lopez, 514 U.S.
549, 561 (1995)). As this Court has held, “[w/here the
class of activities is regulated and that class is within
the reach of federal power the courts have no power ‘to
excise, as trivial, individual instances of the class.’”
Raich, 545 U.S. at 23 (quoting Perez v. United States,
402 U.S. 146, 154 (1971)).

Congress intended the ESA to protect the dusky
gopher frog and its critical habitat, which spans multi-
ple states, as an essential part of the ESA’s compre-
hensive scheme to preserve the nation’s biodiversity
heritage. Even if it could be argued that the designa-
tion of Unit 1 does not directly affect interstate com-
merce, “that the regulation ensnares some purely
intrastate activity is of no moment.” Jd. at 22. Courts
should not “excise individual components of that larger
scheme.” Jd.

sturgeon), cert. denied, 552 U.S. 1097 (2008); GDF Realty Inv., Ltd.
uv. Norton, 362 F.3d 286 (2004) (cave species), cert. denied, 545 U.S.
1114 (2005); Rancho Viejo, L.L.C. v. Norton, 323 F.3d 1062 (D.C.
Cir. 2003) (arroyo toad), cert. denied, 540 U.S. 1218 (2004); Gibbs
v. Babbitt, 214 F.3d 483 (4th Cir. 2000) (red wolf), cert. denied sub
nom. Gibbs v. Norton, 531 U.S. 1145 (2001); Nat7 Ass’n of Home
Builders v. Babbitt, 130 F.3d 1041 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (Delhi Sands
flower-loving fly), cert. denied, 524 U.S. 937 (1998).

35

Again, this Court need not engage these issues to
resolve this case but, if it should be necessary, the re-
sult is the same. The designation of unoccupied critical
habitat for the dusky gopher frog is well within the
reach of federal power.

,%
v

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be
affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

JASON C. RYLANDER
Counsel of Record
STEVEN J. GOLDSTEIN
DEFENDERS OF WILDLIFE
1130 17th Street N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 682-9400
jrylander@defenders.org

Counsel for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0771%3A36. Public record. Not legal advice.
