# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Microsoft Corp., 138 S. Ct. 1186 (2018) (No. 17-2)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0768%3A29

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2018

## Text

No. 17-2

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
Vv.

MICROSOFT CORPORATION,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Second Circuit Court of Appeals

BRIEF OF INTERNETLAB LAW AND
TECHNOLOGY CENTER
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

AMY NEUHARDT

Counsel of Record
JESSICA PHILLIPS
ISRA BHATTY
BIBEANE METSCH
BOIrES SCHILLER FLEXNER LLP
1401 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 237-2727
aneuhardt@bsfllp.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE, OF CONTHINTG ccccoscoscccsccsvcccescesessccessonsecnsses i
TABLE OF APPENDICESG.................:cccccceeeeceeeeeeeees iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG................::::ececseeeeeeeeees iv
QUESTION PRESENTED....................ccccceceeeeeeeeeeeees 1
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE.................:::::ceee 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....000.........cccceceeeeeeeeeees 6
AIRTIUTIIIIIE E ocevccccconscsnevesessesnoseesnensesssesentsnvsncesasnoonion 8

I. WHERE A WARRANT ISSUED PURSUANT
TO SECTION 2703(B)(1)(A) OF THE SCA
SEEKS ELECTRONIC
COMMUNICATIONS LOCATED IN A
COUNTRY WITH WHICH THE UNITED
STATES HAS ENTERED AN MLAT, THE
WARRANT HAS EXTRATERRITORIAL
RIP PL IEE tie eevesccccvcrscssrsnesvenesevsesveseveoseseveovoesese 8

Il. WHERE THE ELECTRONIC
COMMUNICATIONS SOUGHT BY A
WARRANT ISSUED PURSUANT TO
SECTION 2703 (B)(1)(A) OF THE SCA ARE
SUBJECT TO DUAL JURISDICTION WITH
ANOTHER COUNTRY WHOSE LAWS
CONFLICT WITH THOSE OF THE
UNITED STATES WITH RESPECT TO
THOSE COMMUNICATIONS, THE
WARRANT HAS EXTRATERRITORIAL
RPP R ee cccssiscscetscrstansesncintionsnntietivannsaiatiogn 15

i)

Page
A. Brazil, One Of The Largest Global
Internet Markets, Has Aggressively
Enforced Brazilian Law Against United
States Internet Service Providers
Confronted With Judicial Orders To Turn
Over Private Electronic Communications

1. Brazil Provides Specific Privacy
Guarantees To Users Of The Internet... 17

2. The Marco Civil, Like Section 2702 Of
The SCA, Prohibits Disclosure Of
Customers’ Private Communications
Absent Appropriate Legal Process......... 18

B. The Practical Experiences Of United

States Internet Service Providers Doing

Business In Brazil Demonstrate How A

Global Internet Service Provider

Responding To Law Enforcement

Requests Can Be Penalized Under

Conflicting International Laws................... 21

LI.THE MLAT PROCESS IS THE BEST
MEANS OF RESOLVING THE DIFFICULT
INTERNATIONAL POLICY DECISIONS
INHERENT IN LAW ENFORCEMENT
REQUESTS FOR FOREIGN DATA................. 28
A. MLATs Are Widely Used To Request
Foreign Assistance In Domestic Criminal
Investigations And Prosecutions And
Reflect Privacy, Due Process, And Comity
RE ESE SE a ee 28

B. The Current Challenges Of The MLAT
Process Can Be Cured Through MLAT
EE ER ae ee coe a Ie A ERED NPE

iv
TABLE OF APPENDICES
Page

APPENDIX A — ARTICLE BY REUTERS, DATED
FEBRUARY 7, 2017 (ENGLISH) ....................0000+ la

APPENDIX B — ARTICLE BY REUTERS, DATED
FEBRUARY 7, 2017 (PORTUGUESE).................. 5a

APPENDIX C — ARTICLE BY G1 SAN PAULO,
DATED APRIL 11, 2017 (ENGLISH).................... 8a

APPENDIX D — ARTICLE BY G1 SAN PAULO,
DATED APRIL 11, 2017 (PORTUGUESE)......... 13a

APPENDIX E — AFFIDAVIT OF ERIC HOLDER
FILED IN ACAO DECLARATORIA DE
CONSTITUCIONALIDADE N.51, SUPREMO
TRIBUNAL FEDERAL (DECEMBER 5, 2017) .. 17a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Cases

Hood v. AU Optronics Corp.,
OF DR ee 14

In re Google Referrer Header Privacy
Litigati
87 F. Supp. 3d 1122 (N.D. Cal. 2015)............... 25

In re Marc Rich & Co. v. United States,
707 F.2d 663 (2d Cir. 1983).................c0008 14, 15

Kiobel v. Royal Dutch Petroleum Co.,
Ey Bc cpinieeceenscccunscnsccnsccccescccessescees 31

Matter of Warrant to Search a Certain E-
Mail Account Controlled & Maintained
by Microsoft Corp.,
829 F.3d 197 (2d Cir. 2016)....................000 14, 15

Mississippi ex rel. Hood v. AU Optronics

Corp.,
CO EE 12

Morrison v. National Australia Bank, Lid.,
fl ) fdlC passim

RJR Nabisco., Inc. v. European Comty.,
oy Ef. ell eee 12, 27

Page(s)

Société Nationale Industrielle Aérospatiale

v. United States District Court for the

Southern District of lowa,

483 U.S. GBB (1987) ......0.2000000000000000 12, 13, 15, 27
United States v. Microsoft Corp.,

EE SRR re! passim
Statutes
TIED arhinenisntindsenintnepnechenstiteniinintnabioitinmiiues 4
Oo 8 ee passim
ee aitnicicntettntiersecsucestonstecinensinaty 30
a ee eI eirirraieniccininariendinisesinneiniungnimbtingenios passim
jt te | on passim
ee ee Oe I a cncicetnietencneticesssensiantinns 14
ee ee inttedeccievetectiinnaininhsncnedenenaenineianmionens 30
Foreign Statutes

Constituicéo da Republica Federativa do
Brasil de 1988, art. 5 [Constitution of
the Federative Republic of Brazil].................... 17

Marco Civil da Internet, Lei No. [Law No.]|
12.965, de 23 Abril de 2014, Col. Leis

vil

Rules
Supreme Court Rule 37.3(@).............:.ccceeeeeeeeeeeeeees 2
Supreme Court Rule 37.6 .............ccccccccecceeeeeeeeeeeenens 2

Treaties

Treaty Between Thailand and the United
States of America on Mutual Assistance
in Criminal Matters, Mar. 19, 1986, S.
Treaty Doc. No. 100-18 .............::cceeceeeenereeenereeees 9

Treaty Between the Government of the
Republic of the Philippines and the
United States of America on Mutual
Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters,
Nov. 13, 1994, S. Treaty Doc. 104-18 ................. 9

Treaty Between the Government of the
United States of America and the
Government of the United Kingdom of
Great Britain and Northern Ireland on
Mutual Legal Assistance on Criminal
Matters, Jan. 6, 1994, S. Treaty Doc.
104-2 (10B6) ......ccsceccccssscccsssccncsssccceeseroeessrescsseserees 9

Treaty on Cooperation Between The United
States of America and the United
Mexican States, Dec. 9, 1987, S. Treaty
Boom, BE, BBO ED ccccocceccacecesncesccesccsssscessvevsccesscesoess 9

vill

Treaty on Mutual Legal Assistance in
Criminal Matters, U.S.-Brazil, Oct. 14,

1997, S. Treaty Doc. No. 105-42 .................

Treaty on Mutual Legal Assistance in
Criminal Matters, U.S.-Ireland, Jan. 18,

2001, T.L.A.S. No. 13137 ........::0:cceeeeeeeeeeeeees

Treaty on Mutual Legal Assistance in
Criminal Matters, U.S.-S. Kor., Nov. 23,

1993, S. Treaty Doc. No. 104-1 (1995)........

Treaty with Spain on Mutual Legal
Assistance in Criminal Matters,
November 20, 1990, S. Treaty Doc. No.

1GB-B1 (IGSS) ..00cccrccccccceccccecsccccovscccovocsessvecees

United States of America and the
Government of the Republic of
Argentina on Mutual Legal Assistance
in Criminal Matters, Dec. 4, 1990, S.

Treaty Doc. No. 102-18 (1991)...................

Other Authorities

Affidavit of Eric Holder filed in Ac&o
Declaratéria de Constitucionalidade n.
51, Supremo Tribunal Federal (Dec. 5,

FO er passim

ix

Richard A. Clarke et. al., Liberty and Secu-
rity in a Changing World: Report and
Recommendations of the President’s Re-
view Group on Intelligence and Commu-
nications Technologies, OBAMA WHITE

HOUSE ARCHIVES (Dec. 12, 2013)..................

Jennifer Daskal & Andrew K. Woods,
Congress Should Embrace the DO-/’s
Cross-Border Data Fix at 3, Just

BOCUNy CAME, 1, BRED i .cveccscccccncccscoscsccsccssesss

Jennifer Daskal & Andrew K. Woods,
Cross-Border Data Requests: A Proposed
Framework, LawFare (Nov. 24, 2015,

RL ERE RTS Ce eT A Ee Ea ee

T. Markus Funk, Mutual Legal Assistance
Treaties and Letters Rogatory: A Guide
for Judges, Federal Judicial Center,

tnt ennciniendsntnsiininantnnanctnainsastincmsnecseees

Jonah Force Hill, Problematic Alternatives:
MLAT Reform for the Digital Age, Harv.

Nat'l. Sec. J. (Jan. 28, 2015, 1:05 PM)..........

Jonah Force Hill, The Growth of Data
Localization Post-Snowden: Analysis
and Recommendations For U.S.
Policymakers and Industry Leaders, 2
Lawfare Research Paper Series, No. 3,

eB sacs batiaeteniratbidinibisieininaeinienenaeiinnes

x

Hon. Virginia M. Kendall & T. Markus
Funk, The Role of Mutual Legal
Assistance Treaties in Obtaining Foreign
Evidence, 40 Litigation 2, 3 (2014)............. 28, 30

Tiffany Lin & Mailyn Fidler, Cross-Border
Data Access Reform: A Primer on the
Proposed U.S.-U.K. Agreement, Berkman
Klein Center for Internet & Society
NY Me ibendciiichitedisinidbiiusnlasiicddssianaainiicciinssanasnen 36

Peter Swire & Justin D. Hemmings, Mutual
Legal Assistance in an Era of Globalized
Communications: The Analogy to the
Visa Waiver Program, 71 N.Y.U. Ann.
Surv. Am. L. 687, 702 (2017) ....................6 29, 34

Andrew K. Woods, Data Beyond Borders:
Mutual Legal Assistance in the Internet
Age, Global Network Initiative 7 (Jan.
SRT ERT RM SE esc ise ad ORT 33, 35

Andrew K. Woods, Against Data Exceptionalism, 68
0 RK RE em 35

U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Legislation to Permit
the Secure and Privacy-Protective
Exchange of Electronic Data for the
Purposes of Combating Serious Crime
Including Terrorism (2016).........................0..005 36

l

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a United States provider of email ser-
vices must comply with a probable-cause-based
warrant issued under 18 U.S.C. § 2703 by making
disclosure in the United States of electronic com-
munications within that provider's control, even if
the provider has decided to store that material
abroad.

2

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE!

InternetLab Law and Technology Center (“In-
ternetLab”) is an independent research center lo-
cated in Brazil that aims to foster academic debate
on issues involving law and technology, and in par-
ticular, on internet policy. It was founded in the
wake of the 2014 enactment of Brazil’s landmark
internet legal framework, the Marco Civil da Inter-
net, Lei No. [Law No.] 12.965, de 23 Abril de 2014,
Col. Leis Rep. Fed. Brasil (“Marco Civil,” or “MCI”),
which recognized a strong individual right to priva-
cy in electronic communications and provided
means for law enforcement to access and obtain in-
ternet users’ data and communications.

At the time that this milestone law was enacted,
it was apparent to the founders of InternetLab that
there was a lack of understanding and dialogue be-
tween advocates of civil liberties, the private tech-
nology industry, and the world of law enforcement.
InternetLab’s mission has been to mediate the de-
bate and build bridges of dialogue between these
different sectors.

InternetLab generates and disseminates infor-
mation on these subjects and collaborates with a
network of scholars, researchers, students, entre-
preneurs, and both private and public institutions.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a), InternetLab certi-
fies that all parties have consented to the filing of this brief.
Pursuant to Rule 37.6, InternetLab certifies that no counsel
for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no per-
sons other than InternetLab or its counsel made a monetary
contribution to its preparation or submission.

3

It has participated in more than ten public hearings
in the Brazilian National Congress with respect to
these issues and has contributed to the work of the
Brazilian Federal Supreme Court, Federal Prosecu-
tors Office, Ministry of Justice, Public Defender’s
Office, and the Court of Justice of the State of Sao
Paulo. InternetLab has spoken regarding these is-
sues at events in more than fifteen countries and
has been cited more than two hundred times by na-
tional and international media.

InternetLab’s interest in this case is two-fold.
First, InternetLab has devoted substantial time
and effort to furthering the study of and discussion
regarding global cross-border law enforcement ac-
cess to user data and communications, including
mutual legal assistance treaties (“MLATs”).2 These
treaties have the force of law and, at least in the
case of those entered into by the United States,
generally were consented to by both the executive

See, e.g., Dennys Antonialli & Jacqueline de Souza Abreu,
State Surveillance of Communications in Brazil and the Pro-
tection of Fundamental Rights, Necessary & Proportionate,
available at https://necessaryandproportionate.org/country-
reports/brazil (last visited Jan. 17, 2018); see also Inter-
netLab, Videos of the International Conference On Fundamen-
tal Rights and Criminal Procedure in the Digital Age (Aug. 15,
2017), http://www. internetlab.org. br/en/privacy-and-
surveillance/videos-of-the-i-international-congress-of-
fundamental-rights-and-criminal-process-in-the-digital-age/;
InternetLab, Reforma do MLAT entre privacidade e eficiéncia:
Greg Nojeim, Center for Democracy and Technology, YouTube
(Aug. 2, 2017),

https://www. youtube.com/watch?v=OAwSGbG Xgr0.

4

and legislative branches of government.’ In the
case of warrants issued pursuant to Section 2703 of
the Stored Communications Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2701
et seq. (“SCA”), that seek data located in a country
with which the United States has entered an
MLAT, the existence of those MLATs covering the
same data must be considered in determining the
extraterritorial application of warrants seeking
production of data abroad.

MLATSs also are a continually developing area of
the law that with proper reform driven by legisla-
tive and executive policymakers in the United
States and abroad, can resolve many of the con-
cerns raised by the United States and amici curiae
in this case.

Second, InternetLab has an interest in further-
ing dialogue rega: ding the legal standards that
govern access to information held in Brazil or oth-

See T. Markus Funk, Mutual Legal Assistance Treaties and
Letters Rogatory: A Guide for Judges, Federal Judicial Center,
(2014), https://www. fjc.gov/sites/default/files/2017/MLAT-LR-
Guide-Funk-FJC-2014.pdf (“MLATs are legally birding nego-
tiated commitments. ... An MLAT is negotiated by the U.S.
Department of Justice in cooperation with the U.S. Depart-
ment of State. The Secretary of State formally submits the
proposed MLAT, typically together with a report detailing the
function and purposes of the MLAT’s key provisions, to the
President of the United States for transmittal to the U.S.
Senate. Following the advice and consent of the Senate, the
President signs the treaty and directs the Secretary of State
to take the actions necessary for the treaty to enter into force.
Once signatory countries have complied with entry-into-force
provisions, the MLAT becomes binding under international
law.”).

5

erwise on behalf of Brazilians and Brazilian enti-
ties. Certain amici curiae already have provided
the Court with information regarding the extrater-
ritorial legal and practical impact of the position
taken by the United States with respect to seeking
data located in Ireland.‘ But the conflicts raised by
the warrant to Microsoft here are not unique to Ire-
land.

Because of the large number of Brazilian citi-
zens served by United States service providers, and
Brazil’s aggressive enforcement of judicial orders
directing United States internet service providers
to produce private communications located outside
of Brazil, a scenario analogous to that presented to
the Court in this case may well arise in the near
future that will directly highlight the intersection
of the laws of the United States and Brazil rather
than those of the United States and Ireland. To ful-
ly understand the extraterritorial application of
warrants such as those issued to Microsoft in the
present case, it is useful for this Court to under-
stand the interaction of the laws of the United
States and Brazil with respect to these issues.

See Brief for lreland as Amicus Curiae in Support of Neither
Party, United States v. Microsoft, (2017) (No. 17-2); Brief for
the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Northern Ireland as Amicus Curiae in Support of Neither
Party, United States v. Microsoft, (2017) (No. 17-2); Brief for
the European Commission on Behalf of the European Union
as Amicus Curiae in Support of Neither Party, United States
vu. Microsoft, (2017) (No. 17-2).

6

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case concerns whether Section
2703(b)(1)(A) of the SCA, which permits a state or
federal government entity to force a provider of
electronic communications to produce private cus-
tomer communications—without notice to the cus-
tomer—upon issuance of a valid warrant, has an
extraterritorial application when those private
communications are located abroad.

I. Section 2703(b)(1)(A) of the SCA should
be found to have an extraterritorial application
where the communications sought by a warrant is-
sued pursuant to that provision are located in a
country with which the United States has entered
an MLAT. Those treaties, including the U.S.-
Ireland MLAT specifically at issue in this case and
the U.S.-Brazil MLAT potentially at issue in future
cases, set forth mechanisms for obtaining evidence
located in the other country such as the customer
communications sought from Microsoft here. The
existence of these treaties demonstrates official
recognition by the United States of the extraterrito-
rial application of any effort by the United States to
seize items held in those countries. That official
recognition should not be disregarded when consid-
ering the extraterritorial application of warrants
such as the one used in this case, despite the con-
ceri.s expressed by the United States regarding the
efficacy of the MLAT process.

Il. Section 2703(b)(1)(A) of the SCA also
should be found to have an extraterritorial applica-
tion where the communications sought by the war-
rant are the subject of dual jurisdiction with anoth-
er country whose laws conflict with those of the

7

United States with respect to the relevant commu-
nications. Such conflict is not limited to those iden-
tified by other amici curiae with respect to the spe-
cific warrant here. Brazil is one of the largest con-
sumers of internet services in the world, and is a
prolific user of United States technology services.
The experiences of those service providers in Brazil
in recent years have revealed a concrete conflict be-
tween Brazilian law and the SCA with respect to
law enforcements requests for private electronic
communications. Regardless of whether production
of such communications physically occurs within
the United States, the act of complying with a war-
rant for such data can put a United States service
provider directly in conflict with foreign law. This
Court should find that when compliance with a
warrant issued under Section 2703(b)(1)(A) of the
SCA potentially subjects the recipient of the war-
rant to sanctions under foreign law, the warrant
has extraterritorial application.

Ill. The parties and amici curiae have identi-
fied policy issues related to the merits and efficacy
of using a warrant procedure such as that set forth
in the SCA to obtain data located abroad. This
Court need not address those policy questions to
determine the narrow question of whether the war-
rant issued to Microsoft here has extraterritorial
application. Rather, these policy issues are best re-
solved through reform of the current MLAT system,
not through the judiciary or through attempts to
rehabilitate the SCA and similar laws in other
countries. Many currently proposed reforms to the
MLAT system would resolve specific problems iden-
tified by the parties here, and would do so with the
benefit of consultation and agreement between in-

8

ternational governments, as well as executive and
legislative approval of such policy measures.

ARGUMENT

I. WHERE A WARRANT ISSUED PURSUANT
TO SECTION 2703(B)(1)(A) OF THE SCA
SEEKS ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS
LOCATED IN A COUNTRY WITH WHICH
THE UNITED STATES HAS ENTERED AN
MLAT, THE WARRANT HAS EXTRATER-
RITORIAL APPLICATION

The United States argues that the warrant is-
sued to Microsoft here necessarily has domestic ap-
plication because the conduct of gathering and re-
leasing the private communications at issue could
physically be accomplished by persons who never
leave the United States. See, e.g., Pet. Br. at 25. In
support of this argument, the United States engag-
es in a lengthy discussion of whether extraterritori-
al application should be judged by reference to the
entirety of the SCA or to only Section 2703. /d. at
18-25.

InternetLab takes no position regarding the
proper parsing of the SCA when considered in isola-
tion. It suggests, however, that the SCA cannot be
considered in isolation. Rather, the question
whether the warrant at issue in this case has extra-
territorial application can be answered only with
reference to all directly applicable United States
law, including MLATs specific to evidence located
in the country in question.

In .his case, the U.S.-lreland MLAT—signed by

the United States and ratified by the United States
Senate after enactment of the Stored Communica-

9

tions Act in 1986°—-specifically provides that “The
Parties shall provide mutual assistance . . . in con-
nection with the investigation, prosecution, and
prevention of offenses, and in proceedings related to
criminal matters.” Treaty on Mutual Legal Assis-
tance in Criminal Matters, U.S.-Ireland, Jan. 18,
2001, T.1.A.S. No. 13137 [hereinafter U.S.-Ireland
MLAT] art. 1(1).6 The treaty further includes spe-

Examples of other MLATs entered into by the United States
after the enactment of the SCA include MLATs with Argenti-
and the United Kingdom. See Treaty Between the Govern-
ment of the United States of America and the Government of
the Republic of Argentina on Mutual Legal Assistance in
Criminal Matters, Dec. 4, 1990, S. Treaty Doc. No. 102-18
(1991); Treaty on Cooperation Between The United States of
America and the United Mexican States, Dec. 9, 1987, S.
Treaty Doc. No. 100-13; Treaty Between Thailand and the
United States of America on Mutua! Assistance in Crimina!
Matters, Mar. 19, 1986, S. Treaty Doc. No. 100-18; Treaty
with Spain on Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters,
November 20, 1990, S. Treaty Doc. No. 102-21 (1990); Treaty
on Mutua! Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters, US.-S. Kor.,
Nov. 23, 1993, S. Treaty Doc. No. 104-1 (1995); Treaty Be-
tween the Government of the Republic of the Philippines and
the United States of America on Mutual Legal Assistance in
Criminal Matters, Nov. 13, 1994, S. Treaty Doc. 104-18; Trea-
ty Between the Government of the United States of America
and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain
and Northern Ireland on Mutual Legal Assistance on Crimi-
nal Matters, Jan. 6, 1994, S. Treaty Doc. 104-2 (1995).

The United States and Brazil are also parties to a MLAT that,
like the U_S.-Lreland MLAT, was entered into by the United
States and ratified by the United States Senate after enact-
ment of the SCA. See Treaty on Mutual Legal Assistance in
Criminal Matters, U.S.-Brazil, Oct. 14, 1997, S. Treaty Doc.
No. 105-42 [hereinafter U.S.-Brazil MLAT]. Under the U.S.-

10

cific provisions for “search, seizure and delivery of
any item to the Requesting Party if the request in-
cludes the information justifying such action under
the laws of the Requested Party and it is carried
out in accordance with the laws of that Party.” /d.
art. 14(1). That is, both Ireland and the United
States have agreed to assist each other in criminal
matters with respect to the search and seizure of
“any item” so long as the search is legal under the
Requesting Party’s law, following the procedures
set forth in the MLAT, and respecting the Request-
ed Party’s law. Jd. Although the United States
here questions the efficacy of the U.S.-Ireland
MLAT for obtaining evidence in a timely manner,’
there is no serious dispute that the U.S.-Lreland
MLAT could have been used to obtain the commu-
nications sought. /d.*

Brazil MLAT, both countries are obligated to provide mutual
assistance “in connection with the investigation, prosecution,
and prevention of offenses, and in proceedings related to crim-
inal matters,” id. art. 1 (1), including “providing documents,
records, and items,” id. art. 1(2)(b).

Pet. Br. at 44-45.

In its submission as amicus curiae, lreland reiterated that it
“considers that the procedures provided for in [the U_S.-
Ireland MLAT] represent the appropriate means to address
requests such as those which are the object of the warrant in
this case” and noted that “Ireland remains ready to consider,
as expeditiously as possible, a request under that Treaty, if
and when it be made.” Brief for Ireland as Amicus Curiae in
Support of Neither Party, United States v. Microsoft, (2017),
(No. 17-2), at 3.

9

11

InternetLab does not argue here that as a mat-
ter of current United States law, use of the U.S.-
Ireland MLAT is mandatory in this matter or that
use of the existing U.S.-Brazil MLAT is mandatory
in cases presenting warrants between those two
countries. Rather, InternetLab argues that the
very existence of these MLATs—-signed and ratified
after the enactment of the SCA—demonstrates offi-
cial recognition by the United States of the extra-
territorial application of any effort by the United
States to obtain evidence held in one of those coun-
tries.?

Giving weight to the existence of a directly ap-
plicable MLAT in this case is consistent with this
Court's jurisprudence on determining the extrater-
ritoriality of statutes. For example, in Morrison v.
National Australia Bank, Ltd., 561 U.S. 247 (2010),
which addressed the extraterritorial application of
Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
(“Exchange Act”), the Court looked not only to that
statute, but also to the language of the Securities
Act of 1933 (“Securities Act”). /d. at 268-69. The
Court explained that “(t]he same focus on domestic
transactions” evident in the Securities Act provided
further evidence of the focus on domestic transac-
tions in the Exchange Act. /d. at 268. Although the
Court noted in its comparison that the Securities

InternetLab also submits that the decision of the United
States to enter into MLATs with more than sixty countries
reflects official recognition by the United States of the extra-
territorial impact of efforts to obtain evidence in any foreign
country.

12

Act was “enacted by the same Congress as the Ex-
change Act, and formed part of the same compre-
hensive regulation of securities trading,” id., the
fact that the U.S.-Lreland MLAT was not ratified by
the same Congress as the one that passed the SCA
is of no moment here. The President that signed
the U.S.-Ireland MLAT and the Senate that ratified
it are presumed to be aware of the existence of the
SCA at the time they did so. See, e.g., Mississippi ex
rel. Hood v. AU Optronics Corp., 134 8. Ct. 736, 742
(2014) (“[W]le presume that Congress is aware of
existing law when it passes legislation.”) ‘internal
quotation marks omitted). They nonetheless recog-
nized in a treaty with the force of United States law
that efforts by the United States to seize items held
in another country have extraterritorial applica-
tion.!°

This Court's decision in Société Nationale Indus-
trielle Aérospatiale v. United States District Court
for the Southern District of lowa, 482 U.S. 522
(1987), also is directly on point. There, the Court
considered the interaction between United States
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Hague
Convention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in

Similarly, in RJR Nabisco, Inc. v. European Community, 136
S. Ct. 2090 (2016), the Court compared the statute providing
a private right of action under RICO to Section 4 of the Clay-
ton Act. In making that comparison, the Court found RICO’s
failure to include the specific language from the Clayton Act
defining “person” to include foreign entities to be strong evi-
dence that Congress did not intend RICO to include foreign
injuries. Id. at 2109-10.

13

Civil or Commercial Matters (the “Hague Conven-
tion”). As with Section 2703(b)(1)(A) of the SCA
and the U.S.-Ireland MLAT in this case, in
Aérospatiale both laws were applicable to the par-
ticular request for foreign discovery. Although the
Court declined to hold that the Hague Convention
is mandatory when seeking discovery from a for-
eign litigant to civil litigation in the United States,
it acknowledged the international impact of such
discovery requests and directed United States
courts to pay heed to the concerns that necessarily
arise from such impact. See Aérospatiale, 482 U.S.
at 546 (“American courts should .. . take care to
demonstrate due respect for any special problem
confronted by the foreign litigant on account of the
nationality or the location of its operations, and for
any sovereign interest expressed by a foreign
state.”).'!! The recognition by the Aérospatiale Court
of the extraterritorial nature of United States civil
discovery requests for documents abroad should
have even more force here. The foreign defendants
in Aérospatiale that ultimately were required to
comply with discovery requests propounded under
the United States Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
were parties to the litigation and also plainly sub-
ject to the jurisdiction of the United States courts.
Id. at 539-40 (“We conclude accordingly that the
Hague Convention did not deprive the District

Another amicus curiae has provided the Court with an analy-
sis of the effectiveness of the guidance given by the Aérospa-
tiale Court. See Brief for E-Discovery Institute et al. as Amici
Curiae in Support of Neither Party, United States v. Mi-
crosoft, (2017), (No. 17-2) at 17.

13

14

Court of the jurisdiction it otherwise possessed to
order a foreign national party before it to produce
evidence physically located within a signatory na-
tion.”); id. at 540 (“[T]he Hague Convention does
not divest the District Court of jurisdiction to order
discovery under the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure. ...”). They also were required to produce on-
ly their own documents located abroad. /d. at 525-
26, 547.

Here, the warrant does not seek Microsoft's own
communications, unlike the records at issue in
Morrison or in In re Marc Rich & Co. v. United
States, 707 F.2d 663 (2d Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 463
U.S. 1215 (1983). Rather, it requires Microsoft to
produce the private communications of a third-
party customer.'? Because the United States chose
to proceed under 18 U.S.C. § 2703(b)(1)(A), rather
than under one of the provisions of 18 U.S.C. § 2703
that requires notice to the third-party customer, '®

The record is devoid of information regarding that customer's
citizenship or residency. See Matter of Warrant to Search a
Certain E-Mail Account Controlled & Maintained by Microsoft
Corp., 829 F.3d 197, 209 (2d Cir. 2016) (“As to the citizenship
of the customer whose e-mail content was sought, the record
is silent.”), cert. granted sub nom. United States v. Microsoft
Corp., 138 S. Ct. 356 (2017); id. at 220 (“The record is silent
regarding the citizenship and location of the customer.”); id.
at 229 (“We do not know, on this record, whether the customer
whose emails were sought by the government is or is not

a United States citizen or resident.”) (Lynch, J. concurring).
Given this uncertainty about the subscriber's connections to
the United States, it is unclear whether he or she can even be
subject to the jurisdiction of United States courts.

See 18 U.S.C. § 2703(b)(1)(B).

15

that customer—unlike the parties in Aérospatiale,
Morrison or Marc Rich—is unable to assert directly
his or her own privacy and jurisdictional interests.
Consequently, the foreign sovereign’s interest in
asserting those rights on behalf of its residents and
citizens is even greater than in Aérospatiale. The
existence (and magnification) of the international
impact recognized by this Court in Aérospatiale
should itself be conclusive evidence of the extrater-
ritorial application of 18 U.S.C. § 2703(b)(1)(A) in
this case.

Il. WHERE THE ELECTRONIC COMMUNI-
CATIONS SOUGHT BY A WARRANT IS-
SUED PURSUANT TO SECTION 2703
(B)(1)(A) OF THE SCA ARE SUBJECT TO
DUAL JURISDICTION WITH ANOTHER
COUNTRY WHOSE LAWS CONFLICT
WITH THOSE OF THE UNITED STATES
WITH RESPECT TO THOSE COMMUNI-
CATIONS, THE WARRANT HAS EXTRA-
TERRITORIAL APPLICATION

Section 2703(b)(1)(A) of the SCA also should be
found to have an extraterritorial application where
the communications sought by the warrant are the
subject of dual jurisdiction with another country
whose laws conflict with those of the United States
with respect to those communications. Other amici
curiae have identified such conflicts specific to the
warrant at issue in this case,'* but potential for

See Brief for Ireland as Amicus Curiae in Support of Neither
Party, United States v. Microsoft, (2017) (No. 17-2) at 3; Brief
for the European Commission as Amicus Curiae in Support of

16

such conflict is not limited to the specific circum-
stances of the warrant here.

A. Brazil, One Of The Largest Global
Internet Markets, Has Aggressively
Enforced Brazilian Law Against United
States Internet Service Providers
Confronted With Judicial Orders To
Turn Over Private Electronic
Communications Covered By The SCA

Brazil is one of the largest markets for internet
use worldwide. A survey conducted in 2016 by the
Brazilian Internet Steering Committee revealed
that nearly 108 million Brazilians used the internet
in 2016.!5 Moreover, Brazilian internet users’ in-
teraction with United States-based technology
companies is particularly robust. American tech-
nology companies including Facebook, YouTube,
Google, and Microsoft have millions of users in
Brazil. As of July 2017, for example, Brazil had the
third-largest number of Facebook users, second on-
ly to India and the United States,'® and the second-

Neither Party, United States v. Microsoft, (2017) (No. 17-2) at
5.

See, e.g., Brazilian Internet Steering Committee, 2016 ICT
Households Survey 164 (“Currently there are 107.9 million
Internet users in Brazil.”) (2017),

http://cetic. br/media/docs/publicacoes/2/T! C_DOM_2016_Livro
Eletronico. pdf.

Statista.com, Facebook Users By Country (extrapolated from
data released by Facebook),
https://www.statista.com/statistics/268 1 36/top-1 5-countries-
based-on-number-of-facebook-users/ (last visited Jan. 16,
2018).

17

largest number of YouTube users, second only to
the United States.'? In a December 2016 survey of
1801 Brazilians, 92% of respondents with a cell
phone or smart phone stated that they used
WhatsApp, 79% of respondents used Facebook, and
64% of respondents used YouTube.'*

1. Brazil Provides Specific Privacy
Guarantees To Users Of The Internet

As does the United States Constitution, common
law and statutory law, the Brazilian Constitution
recognizes a strong right to privacy. Constituigéo da
Republica Federativa do Brasil de 1988 {[Constitu-
tion of the Federative Republic of Brazil] art. 5(X),
(XII). In addition, in 2014, Brazil enacted the
Marco Civil, which “establishes the principles,
guarantees, rights and obligations for the use of In-
ternet in Brazil....” MCI art. 1." This law makes

Statista.com, Leading Countries Based On Number Of Month-
ly Active YouTube Users As Of 1* Quarter 2016 (In Millions),
https://www.statista.com/statistics/280685/number-of-
monthly-unique-youtube-users/ (last visited Jan. 16, 2018).

Datafolha, Habitos de Uso de Aplicativos, Populagao brasilei-
ra, 13 anos ou mais [App Use Habits, Brazilian Population, 13
Or Older] 10 (Dec. 2016),

http://media. folha. uol.com. br/datafolha/2017/0 1/27/da39a3ee5
e6b4b0d3255bfef9560 1 890afd80709.pdf; see also 2016 ICT
SURVEY, at 217 (Chart 4: Activities Carried Out On The In-
ternet In The Last Three Months, by Age Group (%) (2015)).

Quotations are to the English language translation of the
Marco Civil distributed to all participants of the Global Multi-
stakeholder Meeting on the Future of Internet Governance.
See Public Knowledge, Marco Civil English Version (May 27,
2014), https://www.publicknowledge.org/documents/marco-
civil-english-version.

18

clear Brazil’s recognition of the human right to pri-
vacy specifically with respect to internet use, in-
cluding “protection of privacy” and “protection of
personal data, pursuant to law.” /d. art. 3(11), (II).
Consistent with this recognition, Chapter I of the
Marco Civil provides that “the access to the inter-
net is essential to the exercise of citizenship, and
the following rights are guaranteed to the users:

Il — inviolability and secrecy of the
flow of user’s communications through
the Internet, except by court order, as
provided by law;

III — inviolability and secrecy of user's
stored private communications, except
upon a court order.

VII — non-disclosure to third parties of
users’ personal data, including connec-
tion records and records of access to
internet applications, unless with ex-
press, free and informed consent or in
accordance with the cases provided by
law.

Id. art. 71D, (IID, (VID.

2. The Marco Civil, Like Section 2702 Of
The SCA, Prohibits Disclosure Of
Customers’ Private Communications
Absent Appropriate Legal Process

To protect these guarantees of privacy, the
Marco Civil provides, “The content of private com-
munications may only be made available by court
order, in the cases and in the manner established

19

by law, and in compliance with items II and III of
art. 7.” Id. art. 10 § 2. Violation of the prohibition
against disclosure of protected electronic communi-
cations can result in severe penalties including a
fine of up to 10% of the gross income of the compa-
ny in the previous fiscal year and temporary or
permanent suspension of activities within the coun-
try. Id. art. 12(11), (IID.

Responsibility for ensuring protection of these
guarantees is laid squarely upon internet service
providers such as Microsoft:

In any operation of collection, storage,
retention and treating of personal data
or communications data by connection
providers and internet applications
providers where, at least one of these
acts takes place in the national terri-
tory, the Brazilian law must be man-
datorily respected, including in regard
[to] the rights to privacy, to protection
of personal data, and to secrecy of pri-
vate communications and logs.

Id., art. 11. This responsibility extends not only to
data collected in Brazil, but also to “the content of
the communications in which at least one of the
terminals is placed in Brazil” (“Brazilian Data”).
Id. art. 11, § 1.2° A foreign company is subject to

2”) As one report on the then-new Marco Civil explained:

Under the new provisions, log data and private
communications may not be disclosed absent a
Brazilian court order. According to the terms of
the law, Brazilian law must be followed for this

20

these provisions—and the penalties set forth in the
Marco Civil—if the company provides services in
Brazil or has but a single employee in the country.
Id. art. 11 § 2 (“Art. 11 applies even if the activities
are carried out by a legal entity placed abroad, pro-
vided that it offers services to the Brazilian public
or at least one member of the same economic group
is established in Brazil.”).

Consistent with the exception to liability for dis-
closure pursuant to court order, see id. art. 10 § 2;
id. art. 7(11) and (II]), the Marco Civil provides a
mechanism for obtaining a judicial order for elec-
tronic records. Through this and the previously
discussed provisions of the Marco Civil, a United
States internet service provider with a single em-
ployee in Brazil can be issued a court order to pro-
duce customers’ private communications under the
Marco Civil—even if those communications are lo-

data even if the data is stored abroad, if one of the
following occurs in Brazil: a) collection, storage or
processing of data; or b) one end of personal com-
munications. This requirement is explained to
apply where data or communications are collected
in Brazil by virtue of one of the computers or de-
vices being located in Brazil. Further, it applies
ever. if the actions are performed by a legal entity
domiciled abroad, if a public service is offered in
Brazil or a member of the same corpora’* family
owns property in Brazil.
Elizabeth Banker, New Brazil “Bill of Rights” Takes Effect at
End of June, ZwillGen Blog, Law Across The Wire and Into
the Cloud (June 17, 2014),
https://blog. zwillgen.com/20 1 4/06/17/going-brazil-just-world-
cup/.

21

cated in the United States or were made by only
United States citizens—so long as the communica-
tions are considered Brazilian Data (i.e., communi-
cations made with one termina! located in Brazil).

These provisions of the Marco Civil are similar
to the protections and obligations provided in Sec-
tions 2702 and 2703 of the SCA. Section 2702 pro-
hibits persons or entities providing an electronic
communication service to the public from divulging
communications stored, carried or maintained by
the service except under limited circumstances, in-
cluding the methods set forth in Section 2703 for a
warrant such as that at issue in this case. 18
U.S.C. §§ 2702, 2703.

B. The Practical Experiences Of United
States Internet Service Providers Doing
Business In Brazil Demonstrate How A
Global Internet Service Provider
Responding To Law Enforcement
Requests Can Be Penalized Under
Conflicting International Laws

The experiences of United States internet ser-
vice providers with at least one employee in Brazil
illustrate how the SCA can place international elec-
tronic service providers in the untenable position of
choosing between compliance with United States
law or a foreign country’s law. Where the applica-
tion of United States law creates such a conflict or
potential conflict, that application of the law should
be considered extraterritorial.

As discussed above, foreign internet service pro-
viders are subject to the Marco Civil if they provide
services in Brazil or have a single employee based
in Brazil. MCI art. 11 § 2. Such companies are

21

22

subject to warrants issued by Brazilian courts as
well as to the penalties for unlawful disclosure set
forth in Article 12 of the Marco Civil.

Where a United States-based company is subject
to Brazilian law with respect to electronic commu-
nications, it also may be bound by the SCA. In such
circumstances, law enforcement requests for com-
munications covered by both laws can put the com-
pany in the position of conflicting obligations in
each jurisdiction.

This conflict is not merely speculative for United
States companies operating in Brazil. In 2015, a
Brazilian court fined Microsoft's local subsidiary
and arrested and criminally charged a Microsoft
official in Brazil for violating a Brazilian court or-
der to turn over Brazilian Data stored in the United
States.?' Similarly, in 2016, a Brazilian court fined
Facebook 1.38 million Real for violating a court or-
der to disclose foreign-stored data to Brazilian au-

See International Conflicts of Law Concerning Cross Border
Data Flow and Law Enforcement Requests: Hearing Before the
H. Comm. On the Judiciary, 114th Cong. 3 (2016) (written
statement of Brad Smith, President and Chief Legal Officer of
Microsoft), https://judiciary. house.gov/wp-
content/uploads/2016/02/brad-smith-testimony pdf (Instead,
when we have refused to violate U.S. law by complying with
unilateral and extraterritorial Brazilian orders, government
authorities in Brazil have levied fines against our local sub-
sidiary and in one case even arrested and criminally charged
a local employee.”); see also Brad Smith, In the Cloud We
Trust, Microsoft,

https://news. microsoft.com/stories/inthecloudwetrust/ (last
visited Jan. 16, 2018.

23

thorities pursuant to a drug investigation.22 Face-
book’s regional vice president was later criminally
charged for non-compliance with the court order.?®

22 See Reuters, Ministério Publico Defende Corregdo Em Multa
de R$ 1,38 Mi Para Facebook |Public Prosecutor's Office Sup-
ports Adjustment of R$1.38 Million Fine Applied to Facebook}
(July 2, 2017, 12:12 PM),
http:/Mink.estadao.com.br/noticias/empresas, mpf-defende-
multa-superior-a-r 1 -38-mi-para-facebook-no-
brasil, 70001656255 (original and official translation attached
at Appendices A and B).

23 See G1 Sao Paulo, Justiga abre processo contra vice do Face-
book na América Latina por desobediéncia de ordem judicial
[Prosecutors Go After Facebook VP in Latin America for Fail-
ure to Comply with Court Order| (Nov. 4, 2017, 9:50 PM),
https://g 1.globo.com/sao-paulo/noticia/justica-abre-processo-
contra-vice-do- facebook -na-america-latina-por-desobediencia-
de-ordem-judicial ghtm! (original and official translation at-
tached at Appendices C and D).

In addition, on at least three occasions, Brazilian courts
have ordered telecommunications providers to block access to
WhatsApp due to the failure by Facebook (as owner of
WhatsApp) to turn over customer communications pursuant
to a Brazilian court order. See Vinod Sreeharsha, WhatsApp
Is Briefly Shut Down in Brazil for a Third Time, N.Y. Times,
July 19, 2016. On one of these occasions, Facebook also was
fined and had one of its officers arrested for the violations.
See Jonathan Watts, Brazilian Police Arrest Facebook's Latin
America Vice-President, The Guardian (Mar. 1, 2016 10:35
AM),
https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2016/mar/0 1/brazil-
police-arrest-facebook-latin-america-vice-president-diego-
dzodan. In each case, Facebook has explained that it could
not comply with the Brazilian court orders because WhatsApp
does not store its customer communications, a situation that
was not a direct conflict with the SCA. See Reuters, Brazil
Court Blocks Facebook Funds Over WhatsApp Dispute: Report

24

The Marco Civil has provided clarity into the
circumstances under which Brazilian law enforce-
ment officers may seek information, but has not re-
solved the conflict with United States law. As a re-
sult, the Federacdo das Associacées das Empresas
Brasileiras de Tecnologia da Informacdo in Brazil
(Federation of Associations of Brazilian Companies
in Information Technology, or “ASSESPRO”) has
filed a Declaratory Action of Constitutionality in
the Brazilian Federal Supreme Court seeking clari-
fication of the obligation of Brazilian courts to apply
MLATs and other Brazilian laws to Brazilian law
enforcement requests for electronic communications
stored by foreign companies.

In support of ASSESPRO in that action, Face-
book Brazil filed a brief as amicus curiae attaching
an affidavit by former United States Attorney Gen-
eral Eric Holder. See Affidavit of Eric Holder filed
in Ac&o Declaratéria de Constitucionalidade n. 51,
Supremo Tribunal Federal (Dec. 5, 2017) [hereinaf-
ter Holder Aff.], Appendix E. In his affidavit, Mr.
Holder outlines to the Brazilian Federal Supreme
Court the dilemma faced by United States technol-
ogy companies doing business in foreign countries,
including in Brazil. Specifically, Mr. Holder ex-
plains that Section 2702 of the SCA prohibits elec-
tronic communications service providers subject to

(June 30, 2016 8:32 PM), https://in. reuters.com/article/brazil-
facebook-whatsapp/brazil-court-blocks-facebook -funds-over-
whatsapp-dispute-report-idI NKCNOZH3F4). The cases
demonstrate, however, the severe penalties Brazilian courts
are willing to impose on United States service providers for
violations of the Marco Civil.

24

25

United States jurisdiction from disclosing the com-
munications of their users to any other person un-
less one of the statute’s exceptions applies. Holder
Aff. ¢4 8, 11-13 (Appendix E at 20a, 22a-23a). He
further makes clear that there is no exception for
responding to a foreign law enforcement request,
even where the foreign request is the result of a
valid legal proceeding such as one arising from the
Marco Civil, or where it relates to “non-U.S. per-
sons.” Jd. 44 8, 15 (Appendix E at 20a, 24a). Mr.
Holder also explains the penalties that a company
ean receive in the United States for violating the
SCA.% Id. 4 18 (Appendix E at 26a).

Although these examples—and Mr. Holder's af-
fidavit to the Brazilian Federal Supreme Court—all
concern conflicts arising from Brazilian law en-
forcement requests for private electronic communi-
cations held by United States companies, the con-
verse conflict also exists when an internet service
provider subject to both United States and Brazili-
an law receives a warrant issued pursuant to Sec-
tion 2703 of the SCA for electronic communications
that qualify as Brazilian Data. Complying with
such a warrant subjects the provider to the real
risk of penalties in Brazil for unlawful disclosure of

As an example to the Brazilian Court of the perils faced by a
company that fails to follow Section 2702 of the SCA, Mr.
Holder cites In re Google Referrer Header Privacy Litigation,
87 F. Supp. 3d 1122 (N.D. Cal. 2015), in which Google agreed
to a settlement of $8.5 million for alleged violations of the
SCA.

26

Brazilian D «ta as set forth in Article 12.“ Because
the Marco Civil is only three years old, that particu-
lar conflict has not yet arisen.26 Given Brazilian
authorities’ aggressive enforcement of the Marco
Civil and the prevalence of United States service
providers within Brazil, however, a company con-
fronted with such a conflict will face a serious risk
no matter what action it takes.

See, e.g., Jonah Force Hill, The Growth of Data Localization
Post-Snowden: Analysis and Recommendations For U.S. Poli-
cymakers and Industry Leaders, 2 LAWFARE RESEARCH PAPER
SERIES, No. 3, July, 2014, at 18 (“While the Marco Civil was
signed into law on April 23, 2014 with the most potent locali-
zation provision rescinded, one provision remained, Article 11,
which deeply troubles international business interests, in that
it extends the reach of Brazilian law to any Internet service in
the world with Brazilian users. A firm based in the United
States whose services are used by Brazilians could, for exam-
ple, be penalized for adhering to its domestic data-disclosure
laws if they conflict with Brazil's. Penalties include fines of
up to ten percent of a firm’s Brazilian revenues or even termi-
nation of the offending company’s services in Brazil.”).

The warrant in this case was issued on December 4, 2013,
prior to the enactment of the Marco Civil in 2014. Other ami-
ci curiae have identified other legislation regarding electronic
data privacy enacted since the since the issuance of the war-
rant at issue in this case. See Brief of the Government of the
Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland as Amicus
Curiae in Support of Neither Party (2017), (No. 17-2) at 5-6
(discussing the United Kingdom's Data Retention and Inves-
tigatory Powers Act of 2014 and the Investigatory Powers Act
of 2016); Brief of the European Commission on Behalf of the
European Union as Amicus Curiae in Support of Neither Par-
ty (2017), (No. 17-2) at 2, 8-16 (discussing the European Un-
ion's General Data Production Regulation, adopted in 2016
and set to become effective in May 2018).

27

InternetLab identifies these potential conflicts
to the Court to demonstrate that warrants such as
those issued to Microsoft in this case have foreign
application regardless of the location of the compa-
ny or person producing the requested communica-
tions. See, e.g., Morrison, 561 U.S. at 269 (“The
probability of incompatibility with the applicable
laws of other countries is so obvious that if Con-
gress intended such foreign application ‘it would
have addressed the subject of conflicts with foreign
laws and procedures.”’) (quoting E.E.O.C. v. Arabi-
an Am. Oil Co., 499 U.S. 244, 256 (1991); see also
RJR Nabisco., Inc. v. European Comty., 136 S. Ct.
2090, 2107 (2016) (“It is to say only that there is a
potential for international controversy that mili-
tates against recognizing foreign-injury claims [un-
der the RICO private right of action] without clear
direction from Congress.”).

As discussed more fully in Section | above, the
Court’s decision in Aérospatiale, is also instructive
here. There, the Court recognized that the act of
producing documents pursuant to United States
law puts a party in a position of breaking the law of
one country by complying with the law of another,
and that in such circumstances the courts of the
United States are obligated to recognize the extra-
territorial impact of that production. Aérospatiale,
482 U.S. at 543-44. The same is true here, and this
Court should recognize that Section 2703 has a for-
eign application when used to obtain private com-
munications subject to dual jurisdiction with an-
other country whose laws conflict with those of the
United States with respect to those communica-
tions.

28

Ill. THE MLAT PROCESS IS THE BEST
MEANS OF RESOLVING THE DIFFICULT
INTERNATIONAL POLICY DECISIONS
INHERENT IN LAW ENFORCEMENT RE-
QUESTS FOR FOREIGN DATA

Rather than construing Section 2703 of the SCA
to allow the United States government to reach da-
ta in violation of other sovereigns’ laws, this Court
should acknowledge that the difficult policy deci-
sions implicit in United States’ efforts to obtain
electronic communications stored abroad are better
left to other branches of government. Although
some such foreign policy decisions certainly could
be made by the United States Congress through re-
visions to the SCA, InternetLab submits that for-
eign relations are better served by permitting the
executive branch to negotiate and execute reforms
to the MLAT system that then can be ratified by
the United States Senate.

A. MLATs Are Widely Used To Request
Foreign Assistance In Domestic
Criminal Investigations And
Prosecutions And Incorporate Privacy,
Due Process, And Comity
Considerations

The United States has now entered into MLATs
with more than sixty foreign nations and used
these MLATs to target various crimes.27 “MLATs

See Hon. Virginia M. Kendall & T. Markus Funk, The Role of
Mutual Legal Assistance Treaties in Obtaining Foreign Evi-
dence, 40 Litigation 2, 3 (2014). Alternate means of obtaining

29

are shifting from an obscure specialty issue to a key
component of law enforcement in our world of glob-
alized communications and are central to interna-
tional debates about the structure of the Inter-
net.”28 They are widely used to request foreign as-
sistance in domestic criminal investigations and
prosecutions.2° Congress also has recognized that

foreign evidence that still respect comity also exist. “Where
there is no treaty, or where the treaty’s mechanisms may be
overly burdensome, a nation may still rely on principles of
comity in submitting a letter rogatory to effect a cross-border
data request.” Peter Swire & Justin D. Hemmings, Mutual
Legal Assistance in an Era of Globalized Communications:
The Analogy to the Visa Waiver Program, 71 N.Y.U. Ann.
Surv. Am. L. 687, 702 (2017). In addition, as explained in the
affidavit of former U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder to the
Brazilian Federal Supreme Court, the U.S. Department of
Justice frequently works with foreign partners to facilitate
disclosures of information under the provision of Section 2702
of the SCA excepting from its reach disclosures of private
communications made “to a governmental entity, if the pro-
vider, in good faith, believes that an emergency involving
danger of death or serious physical injury to any person re-
quires disclosure without delay of communications relating to
the emergency.” 18 U.S.C. § 2702(b)(8). Holder Aff. 14
(“During my term as Attorney General, | was personally in-
volved in emergency responses of foreign countries, in which a
U.S. provider disclosed information to the DOJ under the
terms of the emergency exception, and the DOJ, in turn, for-
warded this information to our foreign partner.”) (Appendix E
at 23a).

28 Swire & Hemmings, 71 N.Y.U. Ann. Surv. Am. L. at 703.

29 See Jonah Force Hill, Problematic Alternatives: MLAT Reform
for the Digital Age, Harv. Nat'l. Sec. J. Jan. 28, 2015, 1:05
PM), http://harvardnsj.org/2015/01/problematic-alternatives-
mlat-reform-for-the-digital-age/.

30

MLATSs are critical for prosecutors to effectively
combat crime. “Reflecting the realization that
MLATSs are now a well-worn tool in the prosecutors’
toolbox, Congress [in 2009] passed the Foreign Evi-
dence Efficiency Act, 18 U.S.C. § 3512... to help
streamline the MLAT process and make it easier

for the United States to respond to MLAT requests .
30

MLATSs include safeguards to protect the due
process and privacy rights of users whose electronic
data is requested. For example, under the U.S.-
Ireland MLAT at issue in this case, any requests for
the “search, seizure, and delivery of any item to the
Requesting iirty . . . is carried out in accordance
with the laws of that Party.” U.S.-Ireland MLAT,
art. 14(1). Similarly, under the U.S.-Brazil MLAT,
“[rjequests shall be executed in accordance with the
laws of the Requested State.” U.S.-Brazil MLAT,
art. 5(3). The “laws of that Party” or “the laws of
the Requested State” will include the underlying
privacy protections of the receiving country, includ-
ing the country’s constitution. Accordingly, any
electronic data requested under these MLATs will
be produced only after consideration of the due pro-
cess and privacy protections of the producing coun-
try. In this way, MLATs are the tool for foreign
productions that is most protective of the due pro-
cess and privacy considerations of the receiving
country. In addition, because MLATs are the prod-
uct of negotiations between nations, MLATs are the

3° Kendall & Funk, 40 Litigation at 2 (internal quotation marks
omitted).

31

32

31

tool for foreign productions that is most consistent
with notions of comity and respect for foreign sov-
ereigns.

B. The Current Challenges Of The MLAT
Process Can Be Cured Through MLAT
Reform

The United States and various states attorneys
general as amicus curiae argue that if Section 2703
is interpreted to prohibit warrants for electronic da-
ta located abroad, the government will lose a criti-
cal means of accessing evidence necessary for law
enforcement and national security.*! The answer to
this problem, however, is not to interpret Section
2703 of the SCA to permit warrants for foreign da-
ta. Rather, the foreign and domestic policy issues
raised by requests for information to and from for-
eign countries are best resolved through reform of
the current MLAT system, not through the judici-

ary.*2

Pet. Br. at 44 (“Without the Section 2703 warrant process, the
government lacks an equally effective means of accessing elec-
tronic data critical to law enforcement and national securi-
ty.”); Brief for State of Vermont et al. as Amici Curiae in Sup-
port of Petitioner, United States v. Microsoft, (2017), (No. 17-
2) at 2 (‘Law enforcement agencies in Amici States, like their
federal counterparts, routinely use this essential investigative
tool in a wide variety of important criminal investigations
around the country.”) (internal quotation marks omitted).

See, e.g., Kiobel v. Royal Dutch Petroleum Co., 569 U.S. 108,
124 (2013) (“The presumption against extraterritoriality
guards against our courts triggering such serious foreign poli-
cy consequences, and ins*vad defers such decisions, quite ap-
propriately so, to the political branches.”). Policy considera-

32

Many curiently proposed reforms to the MLAT
system would resolve the specific problems identi-
fied by the parties and amici curiae here and would
do so with the benefit of consultation and agree-
ment between international governments, as well
as U.S. executive and legislative approval of such
policy measures.

The United States complains that the alterna-
tive MLAT process is ineffective because it is “slow
and uncertain.” Pet. Br. at 44. Proponents of re-
form agree, however, that one key requirement for
any reform effort is increased efficiency. As ex-
plained in a report on MLAT reform for the Global
Network Initiative:

The process for requesting and provid-
ing mutual legal assistance must be
made more efficient. Government A
should not have to wait longer than 30
days for a complete response from
Government B about their request for
data, except (a) where additional time
is needed to evaluate the potential
human rights implications of the MLA
request or (b) for particularly complex
requests. Efficiency is critical so that
law enforcement sees MLA as the best
way to access data across jurisdictions,

tions also could be addressed through attempts by Congress to
rehabilitate the SCA, but MLATs are a better vehicle for en-
suring proper consideration of the privacy, due process, and
comity implications of obtaining private electronic communi-
cations located abroad.

33

34

33

rather than demanding data localiza-
tion or attempting to apply local law
extraterritorially.*®

To the extent that a thirty-day response time is too
long for some law enforcement needs, exceptions to
any authorization requirement could be permitted
in cases of true emergency, such as when there is
danger of death or serious injury.**

Other proposals for MLAT reform that target
delay and administrative hurdles include:

(1) increase[ing] resources to the De-
partment of Justice’s Office of Interna-
tional Affairs (OLA); (2) streamlin[ing]
the process, by minimizing the number
of steps and reducing the amount of
time required to complete steps where
possible; (3) improve|ing] transparen-
cy, such as by creating an online

Andrew K. Woods, Data Beyond Borders: Mutual Legal
Assistance in the Internet Age, Global Network Initiative 7
(Jan. 2015),
https://globalnetworkinitiative.org/sites/default/files/GN1I%20
MLAT%20Report. pdf [hereinafter Data Beyond Borders}.

See, e.g., Jennifer Daskal & Andrew K. Woods, Cross-Border
Data Requests: A Proposed Framework, LawFare (Nov. 24,
2015, 8:00 AM), https://www.lawfareblog.com/cross-border-
data-requests-proposed-framework (“Emergencies: Excep-
tions to the authorization requirement are permitted in situa-
tions of true emergency—when there is danger of death or
serious bodily injury and there is an immediate need that
makes compliance with the authorization requirement im-
practicable.”).

34

MLAJT] submission form; and (4) pro-
mot{ing] the use of MLA[Ts] globally
and demonstrate the U.S. govern-
ment’s commitment to an effective
process.*°

MLAT reform also could resolve the potential
problem identified by the United States here of us-
ing the MLAT process where data is rapidly moving
between jurisdictions, or even split into multiple
parts located in multiple jurisdictions.** As ex-
plained by one proponent of MLAT reform, there is
nothing unique about the mobility of data. “[F Jor
as long as global trade has existed, people have
been commingling and moving their assets in and
out of different jurisdictions and courts have man-

Swire & Hemmings, 71 N.Y.U. Ann. Surv. Am. L. at 716.
President Barack Obama's Review Group on Intelligence and
Communication Technologies identified these same areas for
improvement in a report published in 2013. See Richard A.
Clarke et. al., Liberty and Security in a Changing World: Re-
port and Recommendations of the President’s Review Group on
Intelligence and Communications Technologies at 226-229,
OBAMA WHITE HOUSE ARCHIVES (Dec. 12, 2013)
https://obamawhitehouse. archives. gov/sites/default/files/docs/2

013-12-12_rg_final_report.pdf.

The United States argues that interpreting Section 2703 to
permit warrants seeking foreign data is critical “[b]ecause
Google constantly moves data around the world, the location
of the data at any given moment in time is difficult or impos-
sible to ascertain—a problem compounded by splitting a sin-
gle email into separate pieces of data.” Pet. Br. at 45.

35

aged to adapt their old, territorial rules to assets
that cross territories.”*’

To minimize administrative delay, MLAT re-
form advocates also have suggested requiring coun-
tries to “develop an electronic system for submit-
ting, managing, and responding to MLA[T] re-
quests.”°8 Executive branch support of MLATs
could come from prioritizing responses to MLATs
and providing additional staff to evaluate and pro-
cess outgoing requests for MLAT.*® The United
States has already started to implement such re-
forms. See Holder Aff. at 4 35 (discussing Depart-
ment of Justice actions in 2015 and 2016 to imple-
ment “a more centralized system to process re-
quests and reduce response times,” enhance “tech-
nological resources,” and support “training efforts
to assist key foreign partners in submitting MLAT
requests that comply with their MLAT treaties and
with U.S. law.”) (Appendix E at 34a).

As a potential substitute for the current MLAT
process, in July 2016, the U.S. Department of Jus-
tice proposed legislation to address issues related to

37 Andrew K. Woods, Against Data Exceptionalism, 68 Stan. L.
Rev. 729, 756 (2016); see also id. at 758 (‘But mobility, as a
feature of an asset class, is hardly unique to data. Consider
money, which can be wired from one location to another in an
instant. Courts have little trouble determining the location of
money for the purposes of asserting jurisdiction over the as-
set. The same is true for nearly everything, given the speed of
modern communications and transportation networks.”).

38 Woods, Data Beyond Borders at 2, 7-8.

39 Jd. at 2.

36

transferring of cross-border data.” The proposed
reciprocal legislation would have “permit|[ted}] UK
law enforcement to make direct requests to US-
based providers for emails and live chats that are
sought in the investigation of serious crime.”*' Re-
quests could be made only with respect to nonciti-
zen targets outside the United States. For data be-
longing to a US citizen or legal permanent resident,
wherever located, or to any person physically locat-
ed in the United States, regardless of citizenship,
the MLAT process would remain the default.*?

This proposed legislation sought to move away
from the treaty-based MLAT system in certain in-
stances and instead require “lighter touch” bilateral
agreements between the United States and the
United Kingdom and eventually, other countries.**

40 See U.S. Dep't of Justice, Legislation to Permit the Secure and
Privacy-Protective Exchange of Electronic Data for the Pur-
poses of Combating Serious Crime Including Terrorism
(2016).

4! Jennifer Daskal & Andrew K. Woods, Congress Should Em-
brace the DO.J’s Cross-Border Data Fix at 3, JUST SECURITY
(Aug. 1, 2016) https://www.justsecurity .org/32213/congress-
embrace-dojs-cross-border-data-fix/ [hereinafter Cross-Border
Data Fix}.

42 Id.

® Tiffany Lin & Mailyn Fidler, Cross-Border Data Access Re-
form: A Primer on the Proposed U.S.-U.K. Agreement at 2,
Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society (Sept. 2017),
https://dash. harvard.edu/bitstream/handle/ 1/33867385/20 1 7-
09_berklett.pdf?sequence=1. Such reciprocal agreements
could be possible only with foreign countries that meet neces-

37

Although this proposed legislation was not enacted,
its submission demonstrates that Congress has ac-
tively considered the policy implications associated
with the MLAT process as recently as 2016.

Reversing the Second Circuit’s decision here
would allow the United States government to disre-
gard the legal regimes of other countries and to uni-
laterally undermine MLAT agreements concerning
foreign evidence previously ratified by the United
States Senate. Such an outcome not only is contra-
ry to this Court’s precedent in Morrison, RJR
Nabisco and Aérospatiale, but it also is wholly un-
necessary given the robust MLAT system already
in place and the many possible ways to improve it
that have been proposed. MLAT reforms also are
the best method for ensuring proper consideration
of due process, privacy, and comity in gathering or
providing foreign evidence. Such reforms also per-
mit full consideration of the related foreign and
domestic policy concerns by both the executive and
legislative branches of the United States govern-
ment.

+ * ”

CONCLUSION

This Court should affirm the judgment of the
Second Circuit Court of Appeals and hold that the
warrant issued to Microsoft in this matter was an
improper extraterritorial application of 18 U.S.C.

§ 2703(b)(1)(A).

sary “substantive and procedural protections for privacy and
civil liberties.” Daskal & Woods, Cross-Border Data Fix.

38
Respectfully submitted,

AMY NEUHARDT

Counsel of Record
JESSICA PHILLIPS
ISRA BHATTY
BIBEANE METSCH
BOIES SCHILLER FLEXNER LLP
1401 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 237-2727
aneuhardt@bsfllp.com

January 18, 2018

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — ARTICLE BY REUTERS,
DATED FEBRUARY 7, 2017 (ENGLISH)

PUBLIC PROSECUTOR’S OFFICE SUPPORTS
ADJUSTMENT OF R$1.38 MILLION FINE
APPLIED TO FACEBOOK

The public prosecutor’s office is referring to information
wiretapped in February 2016; Facebook is alleged to
have failed to comply with an order to release information
related to persons under investigation for drug trafficking

2/7/2017 — 12:12 p.m.

By Redagao Link - With Reuters

Order was issued by a court in February 2016; Facebook
is alleged to have failed to comply

2a

Appendix A

The Federal Public Prosecutor’s Office (MPF) yesterday
told the court that it supports a review of the R$1.38
million fine that Facebook must pay for the failure
to comply with a court order from February 2016. If
the Regional Federal Court for the 2" Region, in Rio
de Janeiro, accepts the argument, the amount will be
adjusted with interest and monetary correction for the
period between May 2016, when the fine was applied, and
the hearing date for Facebook's appeal, which should be
considered in the coming days.

Early last year, Facebook refused to wiretap information
of Mério Jorge Carneiro dos Santos Janior and Gabriel
Ribeiro Espindola, two suspects of international drug
trafficking and conspiracy to traffic. The targets of
the information disclosure request were the suspects’
profiles on Facebook and the Facebook Messenger instant

messaging application.

The court set the fine at R$20 thousand per day at the
time, for failure to comply with the court order. After
a search was conducted by the Federal Police at the
company’s office on May 13, 2016, the judge decided that
the information could not be obtained.

Facebook alleged in the action that they were unable to
provide the information required by the court because it
was stored on servers abroad. According to Facebook,
the only way to obtain the information would be through a
request to the Justice System in the United States under
MLAT, a cooperation agreement that exists between the
two countries for criminal cases. In the opinion sent to the

3a
Appendix A

Federal Regional Court for the 2 Region, the MPF states
that “there is no technical impediment that may justify
the company’s refusal to perform their legal obligations.
What in fact exists is a separation imposed by a business
model adopted by Facebook and a legal subterfuge based
on international rules.”

In response to an inquiry from Estado, Facebook informed
that they “have a profound respect for the Court and is
compliant with Brazilian laws.” The company stated their
belief that the fine is improper. “We will use the recourses
guaranteed by law.”

According to the Federal Regional Court (TRF-2"
Region), the MPF also opined that the daily fine should
not be jointly applied to both Facebook Brazil and
the employee who received the court order. For the
prosecutors, the charge against the employee was filed
based on a misunderstanding by the judge, who suggested
that the individual subject to fines is the company’s
President.

da

Appendix A

T&T Translation Services Inc.
89-33 Pontiac Street
Queens Village, NY 11427
Tel: +1-646-827-1163
Fax: +1-516-977-3110
E-mail: yuan@transtt.com

CERTIFICATION

I, Timothy Yuan, hereby certify that I speak and write
both the Portuguese and English languages; that I have
translated the foregoing article published by the Estado de
Sao Paulo newspaper on February 7, 2017, entitled “Public
Prosecutor's Office Supports Adjustment of R$1.38 Million
Fine Applied to Facebook,” to the best of my ability; and
that it is a true and correct translation to the best of my
knowledge, information, and belief.

Ls/ _January 16, 2018
Signature Date

va

APPENDIX B — ARTICLE BY REUTERS,
DATED FEBRUARY 7, 2017 (PORTUGUESE)

MINISTERIO PUBLICO DEFENDE CORRECAO
EM MULTA DE R$ 1,38 MI PARA FACEBOOK

Orgao publico se refere a caso de interceptacdo de dados
em fevereiro de 2016; Facebook teria descumprido ordem

para revelar dados de investigados por trafico de drogas

07/02/2017 - 12h12

Por Redagao Link - Com Reuters

Ordem foi dada pela justica em fevereiro de 2016;
Facebook teria descumprido

6a

Appendiz B

O Ministério Piblico Federal (MPF) informou ontem
a Justiga que é favoravel a reviséo da multa de R$ 1,38
milhaéo que o Facebook deve pagar por descumprir uma
ordem judicial em fevereiro de 2016. Se o parecer for
aceito pelo Tribunal Regional Federal da 2* regiao, no
Rio de Janeiro, o valor sera corrigido com juros e correcéo
monetdria referentes ao perfodo entre maio de 2016,
quando a multa foi definida, e a data do julgamento sobre
o recurso do Facebook, que deve acontecer nos préximos
dias.

No inicio do ano passado, o Facebook se recusou a
interceptar dados de M4ario Jorge Carneiro dos Santos
Janior e Gabriel Ribeiro Espindola, dois suspeitos de
trafico internacional de drogas e associacao para o trafico.
Os alvos da quebra de sigilo eram os perfis dos suspeitos
no Facebook e no aplicativo de mensagens instantaneas
Facebook Messenger.

A Justica definiu, 4 época, multa de R$ 20 mil por dia em
virtude do nao cumprimento da ordem judicial. Depois
de uma busca realizada pela Policia Federal no escritério
da empresa, em 13 de maio de 2016, o juiz decidiu que os
dados nao poderiam ser obtidos.

O Facebook alegou no processo a impossibilidade de
oferecer as informacgées solicitadas pela Justiga porque
elas estéo armazenadas em servidores fora do Pais. A
Gnica forma de obter as informacées, segundo o Facebook,
seria por meio de uma solicitagéo 4 Justica dos Estados
Unidos, mediante acordo de cooperacgéo na drea penal
entre os dois paises, o MLAT. No parecer enviado ao

7a

Appendiz B

Tribunal Regional Federal de 2* regiao, o MPF opina que
“nao ha inviabilidade técnica que possa fundamentar a
recusa de cumprir a obrigacéo legal. O que ha, na verdade,
é uma blindagem interposta por um modelo de negécio
adotado pelo Facebook e o subterfigio juridico baseado
em regras internacionais”.

Procurado pelo Estado, o Facebook informou que “tem
profundo respeito pela Justica e cumpre a legislagdo
brasileira”. A empresa afirmou que acredita que a multa
é indevida. “Vamos utilizar os recursos garantidos pela
Justiga.”

No parecer ao Tribunal Regional Federal (TRF-2*
Regiaéo), o MPF também opinou que a multa didria nao
deve ser aplicada em conjunto ao Facebook Brasil e a
seu funciondrio, que recebeu a ordem judicial. Para a
procuradoria, a denincia contra o funciondrio partiu de
um equfvoco do juiz, que deu a entender que a pessoa fisica
sujeita a multas é o presidente da empresa.

Sa

APPENDIX C — ARTICLE BY G1 SAN PAULO,
DATED APRIL 11, 2017 (ENGLISH)

PROSECUTORS GO AFTER FACEBOOK VP
IN LATIN AMERICA FOR FAILURE
TO COMPLY WITH COURT ORDER

Diego Jorge Dzodan was actually arrested in March of
last year in Sao Paulo. Facebook said that they respect
Brazilian laws and are cooperating “with the authorities
to the best of their technical and legal ability.”

By G1 Sao Paulo

4/11/2017 6:38 p.m. Updated on 4/11/2017 9:50 p.m.

Diego Dzodan, Facebook Vice President for Latin America
at a social media event in 2015. (Photo: Personal Archive/

Diego Dzodan)

Ya
Appendiz C

Federal Prosecutors have filed an action against Diego
Jorge Dzodan, Facebook Vice-President for Latin
America. The executive faces charges of failure to comply
with a court order. In a statement, Facebook said that
they respect Brazilian laws and are cooperating “with the
authorities to the best of their technical and legal ability.”

“The alleged crime that gave rise to the action does not
allow wiretapping and the charge of failure to comply does
not allow the accused to be taken into custody. Facebook
Brazil is disputing the legality of the action and we will
explore all available legal recourses,” the company added
in a statement.

According to the Federal Public Prosecutor’s Office (MPF)
in Sao Paulo, which filed the charge, Dzodan disobeyed
three orders from the 2™ Federal Criminal! Court of
Rio de Janeiro. After a petition from the Prosecutor's
Office in Rio de Janeiro, the Court ordered the release of
messages from a person accused of criminal conspiracy
for the internationai trafficking of drugs and from one
other person.

For Federal Judge Renata Lotufo, the charge showed
signs of “sufficient evidence of criminal involvement
and materiality.” The crime of failure to comply has
an established sentence of 15 days to 6 months of

imprisonment and a fine.

10a
Appendiz C
Another Case

Dzodan, an Argentinian national, was actually arrested
in March of last year in Sao Paulo. The charge that
resulted in the arrest is not related to the new charge
and was filed by prosecutors in the state of Sergipe. At
the time, the prosecutors in that state said that the social
media company disobeyed a court decision that ordered
the release of information exchanged on WhatsApp
between drug-trafficking suspects. Facebook is the
owner of WhatsApp since early 2014. The executive was
released after spending one day in jail.

The investigation leading to Dzodan’s arrest had begun
after a drug seizure in the city of Lagarto, located 75 km
from Aracaju. Judge Marcel Montalvao asked Facebook
to inform the names of the users of a WhatsApp account
used to exchange information about drugs. The company
did not obey the Court, which last year applied a daily fine
of R$50 thousand. As the company continued to fail to
comply with the order, the amount of the fine was raised
to R$1 million.

Facebook already prohibits the use of the social media app
for drug sales. In February 2016, the company changed

their usage policy for the site and the Instagram photo
app in order to also bar users from selling weapons.

In practical terms, page and profile owners already were
not allowed to sell weapons but small companies could use
the quick ad creation tool for this purpose. The change
barred this practice. However, the social media company’s
policy does not extend to WhatsApp.

lla
Appendiz C
According to Deputy Aldo Amorim, a member of the
Federal Police Anti Organized Crime Unit in Brasflia, the
investigation began in 2015 and came across the need to
obtain information related to exchanges of messages on

WhatsApp, which was requested from Facebook and not
provided in recent months.

He also revealed that escalating fines were applied and
that such fines will stop only when the company provides
the required information. The fines started at R$50
thousand, increased to R$500 thousand and then to R$1
million per day.

Also according to the deputy, there is a criminal
organization in the city of Lagarto and Facebook's
failure to provide the information is obstructing the
police investigation. He also said that any communication
company operating in Brazil must follow Brazilian laws,
whatever the country of origin.

Queens Village, NY 11427
Tel: +1-646-827-1163

Fax: +1-516-977-3110
E-mail: yuan@transtt.com

CERTIFICATION

I, Timothy Yuan, hereby certify that I speak and write
both the Portuguese and English languages; that I have
translated the foregoing article published by G1 on Apri!
11, 2017, entitled “Prosecutors Go After Facebook VP in
Latin America for Failure to Comply with Court Order,”
to the best of my ability; and that it is a true and correct
translation to the best of my knowledge, information, and
belief.

_Ls/ _danuary 16, 2018
Signature Date

l3a

APPENDIX D — ARTICLE BY G1 SAN PAULO,
DATED APRIL 11, 2017 (PORTUGUESE)

JUSTICA ABRE PROCESSO CONTRA VICE
DO FACEBOOK NA AMERICA LATINA POR
DESOBEDIENCIA DE ORDEM JUDICIAL

Diego Jorge Dzodan chegou a ser preso em marco do
ano passado em S4o Paulo. Facebook disse que respeita
a legislacaéo brasileira e coopera “no limite maximo da
nossa capacidade técnica e juridica com as autoridades”.

Por G1 Sao Paulo

11/04/2017 18h38 Atualizado 11/04/2017 21h50

Diego Dzodan, vice-presidente do Facebook para América
Latina, em evento da rede socia! de 2015. (Foto: Arquivo
Pessoal/Diego Dzodan)

14a

Appendiz D

A Justiga Federal] abriu processo contra o vice-presidente
do Facebook na América Latina, Diego Jorge Dzodan.
O executivo ira4 responder por desobediéncia de ordem
judicial. Em nota, o Facebook ‘isse que respeita a
legislacao brasileira e coopera “no limite maximo da nossa
capacidade técnica e juridica com as autoridades”.

“O suposto crime que deu origem ao caso n4o autoriza
interceptagao e a acusacaéo de desobediéncia nAo autoriza
priséo em flagrante. O Facebook Brasil est4 questionando
a legalidade do processo e vamos explorar todos os
recursos legais disponfveis”, acrescentou a empresa em
nota.

Segundo o Ministério Pablico Federal (MPF) em Sao
Paulo, responsavel pela denancia, Dzodan descumpriu trés
ordens da 2* Vara Federal Criminal do Rio de Janeiro.
Ap6s pedido da Procuradoria no Rio de Janeiro, a Justica
havia determinado a quebra do sigilo de mensagens de um
acusado de associacéo criminosa para trafico internacional!
de drogas e de mais uma pessoa.

Para a juiza federal Renata Lotufo, a denancia demonstrou
“indicios suficientes da autoria e materialidade delitivas”.
O crime de desobediéncia estabelece pena de 15 dias a 6
meses de prisdo, e multa.

Outro caso

Dzodan, que é argentino, chegou a ser preso em marco
do ano passado em Sao Paulo. A ac4o que culminou na
prisao nao tem relac4o com o novo processo e foi tomada a

15a
Appendix D

pedido da Justiga de Sergipe. Na ocasiao, a Justiga daquele
estado disse que a rede social descumpriu decis4o judicial!
de compartilhar informagées trocadas no WhatsApp
por suspeitos de trafico de droga. O Facebook é dono do
Whats App desde 0 comego de 2014. O executivou foi solto
ap6s ficar um dia na cadeia.

A investigagéo que culminou na priséo de Dzodan foi
iniciada ap6s uma apreensdo de drogas na cidade de
Lagarto, a 75 km de Aracaju. O juiz Marcel Montalvaéo
pediu que o Facebook informasse 0 nome dos usudrios
de uma conta no WhatsApp em que informagées sobre
drogas eram trocadas. A empresa ndo atendeu a Justiga,
que aplicou, no ano passado, multa didria de R$ 50 mil.
Como a empresa ainda assim nao cumpriu a determinagaéo,
o valor foi elevado para R$ 1 milhao.

O Facebook ja profbe que a rede social seja usada para
vender drogas. Em fevereiro de 2016, alterou a polftica de
uso do site e do aplicativo de fotos Instagram para impedir
também que os usudrios comercializassem armas. Na
pratica, donos de paginas e perfis j4 nao podiam vender
material bélico, mas pequenas microempresas podiam
usar a ferramenta de criagéo de andncios r4pidos para
isso. Com a alteracdo, essa pratica foi vetada. A politica
da rede, no entanto, nao se estende ao Whats App.

Segundo o delegado Aldo Amorim, membro da Diretoria
de Combate ao Crime Organizado da Policia Federal em
Brasflia, a investigagéo foi iniciada em 2015 e esbarrou
na necessidade informagées relacionadas as trocas
de mensagens via whatsapp, que foram solicitadas ao
Facebook e nfo fornecida ao longo dos Gltimos meses.

l6a
Appendix D

Ele revelou ainda que foram aplicadas multas gradativas
e que essas multas s6 irdo cessar quando a empresa
repassar as informagées necessdrias. Os valores das
multas iniciaram em R$ 50 mil, passando para R$ 500 mil
e, depois, R$ 1 milhdo didrios.

Ainda de acordo o delegado, existe uma organizagaéo
criminosa na cidade de Lagarto e o nao fornecimento
das informagées do Facebook esta obstruindo o trabalho
de investigagéo da policia. Ele disse também que toda
empresa de comunicacéo que atua no Brasil deve seguir a
legislacao brasileira, independente do seu pafs de origem.

17a

APPENDIX E — AFFIDAVIT OF ERIC

HOLDER FILED IN ACAO DECLARATORIA
DE CONSTITUCIONALIDADE N.51, SUPREMO
TRIBUNAL FEDERAL (DECEMBER 5, 2017)

AFFIDAVIT

I, Erie H. Holder, Jr., of Washington, D.C., United States
of America, HEREBY SWEAR THAT:

1.

I am a partner at the law firm of COVINGTON
& BURLING LLP in Washington, D.C. I submit
this affidavit in support of the action initiated by
ASSESPRO NACIONAL in order to describe the
internationally recognized mechanisms available
under United States law that facilitate Brazilian
law enforcement requests for stored electronic
communications hosted by United States service
providers.' I have knowledge of the facts set forth

below.

I am an attorney in good standing of the District
of Columbia bar and the New York bar. I received
my law degree from Columbia Law School and my
undergraduate degree from Columbia College.
Currently, in my private practice, I advise clients
on complex investigations and litigation matters,
including those that are international in scope and
those that involve significant regulatory enforcement
issues.

1. Federacgéo das Associagées das Empresas Brasileiras

de Tecnologia da Informagaéo (The Federation of Associations of
Brazilian Companies in Information Technology).

3.

or

18a

Appendiz E

From February 2009 to April2015, I servee as the
82nd Attorney General of the United Staies. The
Attorney General is the head of the U.S. Department
of Justice (“DOJ” or the “Department”). The Attorney
General is appointed by the President of the United
States and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. As Attorney
General, I was responsible for representing the United
States in legal matters, including the investigation
and prosecution of domestic and international crimes,
and advising the President and heads of executive
departments on various legal issues.

One of my primary objectives as Attorney General
was to support the Department's efforts to combat
increasingly transnational criminal conduct. During
my tenure, for example, the Department investigated
and prosecuted a variety of transnational criminal
threats, including networks used for human trafficking,
narcotics distribution, money laundering, and arms

smuggling.

International cooperation was—and remains—critical
to our efforts to fight transnational crime, and during
my time at DOJ we created a number of initiatives
to foster such cooperation. For example, we created
the International Organized Crime Intelligence and
Operations Center (IOC-2), which relies heavily on
cooperation with foreign law enforcement to combat
international organized crime.*

2. Department of Justice Office of Public Affairs, Attorney

General Announces Center to Fight International Organized
Crime, May 29, 2009, https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/attorney-
general-announces-center-fight-international-organized-crime.

a

19a

Appendiz E

Including my time as Attorney General, I have served
in the U.S. government for more than thirty years,
having been appointed to various positions requiring
U.S. Senate confirmation by Presidents Obama,
Clinton, and Reagan. I began my legal career at the
Public Integrity Section of the DOJ, the unit that
investigates and prosecutes public corruption. In 1988,
President Reagan appointed me to serve as a judge
of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia.
In 1993, I accepted an appointment from President
Clinton as U.S. Attorney for the District of Columbia,
a position I held until I became the Deputy Attorney
General in 1997. From 2001 until my confirmation as
Attorney General, I was a partner at Covington &
Burling, where I represented various clients in major
civil, criminal, and investigative matters.

The purpose of this affidavit is to discuss an
increasingly prevalent circumstance in inter: «ional
law enforcement: when law enforcement in one
country determines that emails or other electronic
communications stored by a foreign technology
company are relevant to a criminal investigation,
and seeks to obtain such communications as part of
that investigation. This situation, which is typically
referred to as a cross-border data request, presents
a number of issues under U.S. domestic and
international] law.

In particular, and as discussed in greater detail
below, the U.S. Stored Communications Act (“SCA”)
generally prohibits electronic communications service

20a
Appendix E

providers subject to U.S. jurisdiction from disclosing
the communications of their users to any other
person unless one of the statute’s exceptions applies.
Responding to foreign law enforcement requests is
not among those exceptions, and service providers
therefore generally cannot directly respond to such
unilateral requests (i.e., requests made directly
from the foreign law enforcement entity to the U.S.
provider) without violating U.S. law and subjecting
themselves to substantial penalties.

However, the United States has entered into a
considerabie number of international agreements
with foreign countries and territories that enable the
U.S. government to assist foreign law enforcement
officials with their investigations while, at the same
time, adhering to U.S. law. Mutual Legal Assistance
Treaties (MLATs) are the most prevalent mechanism
used by law enforcement for this purpose, and such a
treaty exists between the United States and Brazil.
In addition, a multilateral convention for mutual legal
assistance exists between all thirty-five independent
states of the Americas (known as the Inter-American
Convention on Mutual Assistance in Criminal
Matters). Such international agreements afford the
Brazilian government the opportunity to obtain
stored communications records from U.S. service
providers without raising conflicts with U.S. law.

2la

Appendiz EF

I. Subject to Enumerated Exceptions, U.S. Law
Generally Prohibits Service Providers from
Disclosing Users’ Communications Content To Any
Other Person.

10. The SCA protects the privacy of stored electronic
communications.’* As a technical matter, the statute
applies to two defined categories of services:
electronic communication services and remote
computing services. U.S. courts have interpreted
these categories to include social media service
providers such as Facebook. In Crispin v. Christian
Audigier, Inc., for example, a federal district judge in
California applied the SCA to subpoenas directed at
Facebook, MySpace, and Media Temple, holding that
such services provided private messaging services
similar to traditional email platforms, and therefore
could not disclose such messages without orders that
meet the appropriate legal criteria.‘

11. The centerpiece of the SCA is a prohibition on the
disclosure of customer communications content to
any other person. Section 2702(a) of Title 18 provides
that “a person or entity providing an electronic
communication service to the public shall not
knowingly divulge to any person or entity the contents
of a communication while in electronic storage by that
service.” There is a similar prohibition applicable to
remote computing services in Section 2702(b).

3. 18 U.S.C. §§ 2701-2711.

4. Crispin v. Christian Audigier, Inc., 717 F. Supp. 2d 965
(C.D. Cal. 2010).

12.

13.

22a

Appendia E

For purposes of the SCA, lhe definition of “content”
is drawn from another U.S. statute that protects
the privacy of information: the U.S. Wiretap Act,
which generally prohibits the interception of
communications content as it travels from sender to
recipient. The Wiretap Act defines “content” as “any
information concerning the substance, purport, or
meaning of that communication.” A stored email’s
content, for example, includes the body of the email
and the email’s subject line. The email’s sender and
recipient information (sometimes referred to as “to/
from” information), as well as the date and time stamp
and a subscriber’s address or name, are generally
considered “noncontent.” An apt comparison in the
physical world is a traditional letter in a person’s
mailbox—in this scenario, the letter’s “content” is
the substance of the letter itself, whereas the address
information on the envelope constitutes noncontent.

The SCA’s prohibition on the disclosure of content
is subject to several enumerated exceptions. The
exceptions are set out in Section 2702(b) of Title 18,
and allow (but do not require) providers to divulge
the contents of a communication (1) to the intended
recipient of that communication; (2) with the lawful
consent of the sender or recipient; (3) to U.S. law
enforcement, if authorized by law (for example, upon
receipt of an SCA warrant, as discussed below); (4) to a
person employed or authorized or whose facilities are
used to forward such communication to its destination;

5. 18 U.S.C. § 2510 et seq.
6. 18 U.S.C. § 2510(8).

23a
Appendiz E

(5) as necessary to render the provider's service or
to protect their rights or property; (6) to the U.S.
National Center for Missing and Exploited Children,
as authorized by the Victims of Child Abuse Act of
1990; (7) to a U.S. law enforcement agency if the
contents were inadvertently obtained and appear to
pertain to the commission of a crime; and (8) toa U.S.
government entity if the provider reasonably believes
that an emergency involving immediate danger of
death or serious physical injury to any person justifies
disclosure.

14. With respect to the final exception for disclosures
in emergency situations, it is worth noting that
even though this provision may be utilized only for
disclosures to U.S. law enforcement entities, the
Department of Justice frequently works with foreign
partners to facilitate disclosure of information under
this exception in response to emergency situations
in foreign countries. During my time as Attorney
General, I was personally involved in responding
to emergencies in foreign countries, where a U.S.
provider disclosed information to the DOJ pursuant to
the emergency exception, and the DOJ then provided
that information to our foreign partner.

15. Several courts have interpreted this list of exceptions
to be exhaustive, which is to say that it is unlawful
for providers to disclose customer content in any
circumstance other than an enumerated exception.’

7. See, e.g., In re Subpoena Duces Tecum to AOL, LLC,
550 F. Supp. 2d 606, 609 (E.D. Va. 2008); O-Grady v. Superior
Court, 139 Cal. App. 4th 1423, 1447 (2006) (“[s)ince [the SCA)

16.

24a
Appendiz E

Since there is no exception in Section 2702(b) for
disclosures to foreign law enforcement, U.S. providers
are generally forbidden from disclosing customer
content to foreign law enforcement, even if the foreign
law enforcement request is predicated on valid legal
process issued under foreign law.

The fact that a foreign law enforcement request might
pertain to a non-U.S. person does not take the request
outside the scope of this prohibition; the SCA’s privacy
protections apply to all users of covered services,
regardless of the user’s nationality. In Suzlon Energy
Ltd. v. Microsoft Corp., for example, a U.S. court of
appeals held that the SCA’s protections extend to
the contents of communications of foreign citizens.
The court reasoned that the statute’s plain

does not distinguish between U.S. and non-U.S.
citizens—it applies to all “users,” which are defined
as “any person or entity who (A) uses an electronic
communication service; and (B) is duly authorized
by the provider of such service to engage in such
use.”* The court also noted that limiting the SCA to
only U.S. persons would put service providers in an

makes an exception for for civil discovery and no repugnancy has
been shown between a denial of such discovery and congressional!

intent or purpose, the Act must be applied, in accordance with its
plain terms, to render unenforceable the subpoenas.”); Thayer

v. Chiezewski, No. 07 C 1290, 2009 WL 2957317, at * 5 (N.D. Ill.

Sept. 11, 2009) (citing Jn re Subpoena Duces Tecum to AOL in
support of the proposition that the SCA created a “zone of privacy”

to protect internet users).

8. 18 U.S.C. § 2510(13) (emphasis added).

25a
Appendiz E
untenable position. Upon receipt of each request for
communications content, providers would have to

determine the citizenship of the account holder—a
“costly, fact-intensive, and difficult determination.”

17. Similarly, the fact that a foreign law enforcement
request might be directed to a provider's subsidiary
located in the foreign jurisdiction would generally
not alter the applicability of the SCA’s prohibition on
disclosure of content to foreign law enforcement. In

many instances, foreign affiliates of U.S. providers
do not have access to customer information. More

fundamentally, it is not generally a defense to liability
under the SCA for a provider, otherwise subject to
the statute, to pass customer content through a local
subsidiary before producing it in response to a foreign
law enforcement request.

18. Violations of the SCA carry the possibility of
substantial penalties for service providers. If a user
or a class of users” sues a provider for unlawfully

9. The court noted that such a determination would involve
considering whether the account holder was “at al! times a U.S.
citizen, or later became a citizen, or was a resident alien with some
Fourth Amendment protection, or if there were other reasons to
provide Fourth Amendment rights.” Suzlon Energy Ltd., 671 F.3d
at 730.

10. Google, for example, had to pay $8.5 million to settle a class
action brought by users claiming that Google unlawfully violated
their internet privacy rights by disclosing their communications to
third parties. See In re Google Referrer Header Privacy Litigation,
87 F. Supp. 3d 1122 (N.D. Ca. 2015) (approving settlement for $8.5
million ef consumer class aetion for alleged violation of the SCA).

19.

26a

Appendix E

disclosing their communications, a court may award
the victim users damages amounting to the sum of
actual harm suffered plus any profits made by the
provider as a result of the violation." At minimum, the
court must award the victim user or users $1,000 per
violation.’ In addition, courts are authorized to award
punitive damages for willful or intentional violations.

In General, Only a Search Warrant May Compel the
Disclosure of Customer Content Under U.S. Law.

As discussed in the previous section, one of the
exceptions to the prohibition on the disclosure of
content information is if the content is sought by
U.S. law enforcement, as authorized by U.S. law.
Section 2703 of Title 18 of the U.S. Code sets out the
procedures that U.S. federal, state, and local law
enforcement entities must follow to obtain customer
content information under the SCA.

Although the SCA itself creates several! different
procedures for |aw enforcement to obtain customer
content information, the law—which was enacted
in 1986—is in this respect outdated. In 2010, a U.S.
court of appeals held that customers have a reasonable
expectation of privacy in their email content, which
means that the Fourth Amendment to the U.S.
Constitution requires the government to obtain a

ll. 18 U.S.C. § 2707.
12. Id. at § 2707(c).

27a

Appendiz E

warrant before an email provider can be compelled
to produce the customer emails."

21. In contrast with other forms of legal process (like a
subpoena), a search warrant has two features that help
protect privacy against unreasonable governmenta!
incursions. First, search warrants must be issued on
probable cause, which is a standard that requires the
government to establish a meaningful link between
their investigation and the customer content at issue.
Second, search warrants cannot be issued by the
investigating agency itself, but must instead be issued
by an impartial magistrate.

22. As a general matter, following the court of appeals
decision in 2010, law enforcement in the United States
will obtain a warrant to compel a technology company
to disclose customer content.”

Ill. International Agreements Have Been Crafted
to Allow Law Enforcement to Investigate and
Prosecute Transnational Crime While Respecting

National Sovereignty.

23. As setout in Section I above, U.S. technology companies
are generally forbidden from disclosing customer

13. See U.S. v. Warshak, 631 F.3d 266 (6th Cir. 2010).

14. See David Kravets, “Google Tells Cops to Get Warrants
for User E-Mail, Cloud Data,” Wirep (Jan. 23, 2013); Microsorr
2017 Law Enrorcement Requests Report (noting that a warrant
is required to obtain Microsoft users’ content, whereas a subpoena
is required for noncontent).

24.

25.

28a
Appendiz E

content in response to foreign law enforcement
requests. As set out in Section II, U.S. technology
companies can be compelled to produce customer
content in response to U.S. law enforcement, but
generally only in response to a warrant.

The fact that U.S. technology companies cannot
generally be directly compelled to produce customer
content to foreign law enforcement does not, however,
mean that foreign law enforcement lacks any means
to obtain such content. To the contrary, there are a
range of international mechanisms by which a foreign
law enforcement agency can make a request to the
U.S. government, which can in turn “domesticate” the
request by issuing a U.S. warrant to the technology
company. In addition, when law enforcement agencies
in multiple countries cooperate in transnational
investigations, agencies in one country may assist
their foreign partners by voluntarily sharing evidence
obtained domestically pursuant to valid legal process.
This form of informal international cooperation is
often critical in addressing transnational criminal
threats.

These international mechanisms were created
precisely to avoid the type of conflicts-of-laws that are
raised in this context by the SCA. Before the advent
of the internet, when U.S. law enforcement agencies
wanted to conduct a law enforcement operation on
foreign soil, they generally needed to cooperate
with their foreign counterparts, and vice versa. As
the U.S. Federa! Judicial Center's International
Litigation Guide—a commentary that is frequently

29a
Appendiz E

relied upon by U.S. courts—has recognized, there
are significant U.S. and international law issues
that generally preclude U.S. law enforcement from
unilaterally flying to another country to “conduct
searches, question suspects, obtain documents, and
proceed with arresting individuals for trial.”

26. The technology in this context is different, but the
principles are the same. When a law enforcement
agency in one country wants to conduct a law
enforcement operation that implicates the sovereignty
of another country, doing so unilaterally raises
substantial domestic and international legal issues.
International agreements have thus proved critical
to allow law enforcement officials to investigate and
prosecute transnational crimes while, at the same
time, being respectful of international sovereignty.
As a result, the Department of Justice directs
its attorneys to take advantage of international
agreements such as MLATs, letters rogatory, and
other mechanisms when seeking evidence from other
countries."

15. Federal Judicial Center International Litigation Guide, Mutual
Legal Assistance Treaties and Letters Rogatory: A Guide for Judges
1 (2014). Sec aleo Restatement (Fourth)-The Foreign Relations Law
of the United States § 313 (noting that the “conduct of criminal!
investigations within the territory of a foreign statute without its
permission may violate customary international law ... as well as the
domestic laws of the foreign state.”).

16. See, e.g., Department or Justice, U.S. ArrorNneys’
MANUAL: CriminaL Resource MAnuat at 275-277; DOJ Orrice
or LecaL Epucation, SEARCHING AND Seizinc COMPUTERS AND
OBTAINING ELECTRONIC EvIDENCE IN CRIMINAL INVESTIGATIONS at

30a
Appendix E

IV. In Particular, Mutual Legal Assistance Treaties

27.

28.

(MLATs) Play an Important Role in Enabling the
United States to Assist the Efforts of Foreign Law
Enforcement Officials.

U.S. law permits our government to enter into MLATs
with foreign countries that enable our federal courts
to respond to foreign law enforcement requests
while adhering to our regulations, statutes, and our
Constitution. In particular, Section 3512 of Title 18
authorizes federal courts to issue orders necessary
to execute MLAT requests that have been approved
by U.S. government attorneys at the Department of
Justice.

The mechanics of MLATs are straightforward. When
the government of a country party to a U.S. MLAT
requests the assistance of the United States, the
request is directed to the Department of Justice’s
Office of International Affairs (“OLA”). If an attorney
from OIA approves of the request, the attorney must
go to federal court and ask for judicial approval, in
the same way the attorney would request approval of
a traditional, domestic law enforcement order. Before
approving the foreign request, the federal court must
determine whether the request complies with the
underlying MLAT treaty and U.S. law. However, there
generally is a presumption of validity for requests that
have already been approved by the OLA"

57 (instructing prosecutors to use the MLAT or letters rogatory
process to retrieve evidence of computer crime from abroad).

17. See In re Premises Located at 840 140th Ave., NW,

Bellevue, Wash., 634 F.3d 557, 571 (9th Cir. 2011) (“when a request

29.

30.

3la

Appendiz E

MLATs are formal U.S. treaty obligations, which
means they must be signed by the US. Executive
Branch (generally by the U.S. Secretary of State)
and ratified by the U.S. Senate. There is a long-
standing bipartisan practice of negotiating, signing,
and implementing MLATs in the United States, and
the U.S. government has repeatedly recognized that
MLATs represent a “formal, streamlined process by
which States may gather information and evidence in
other countries for use in criminal investigations and
prosecutions."*

Today, MLATs are the principal means by which the
United States fulfills foreign requests for evidence."
The United States currently is a party to MLATs
with more than 65 countries and territories, including
Brazil.”

for assistance under the MLAT arrives before a district court ...
almost all the factors already would point to the conclusion that
the district court should grant the request”).

18. See, e.g., Exec. Rept. 110-13; see also Exec. Rept. 110-14,

“Treaty with Malaysia on Mutual Legal Assistance,” Sen. Foreign
Rel. Comm., 110th Cong. (Sept. 11, 2008).

19. Federal Judicial Center Internationa! Litigation Guide,

supra n. 15, at 5.

20. 7 Foreign Affairs Manual 962.1; U.S. Department of

State, 2016 International Narcotics Control Strategy Report
(INCSR).

V.

31.

32.

32a

Appendix E

Brazil Can Obtain a Valid SCA Warrant Via
International Agreements, Such as the U.S.-Brazil
MLAT.

As discussed in the previous section, Section 3512
of Title 18 authorizes federal courts to issue orders
necessary to execute MLAT requests that have
been approved by U.S. government attorneys at the
Department of Justice. In particular, Section 3512
authorizes federal courts to issue search warrants in
response to MLAT requests. Since search warrants
are a valid means of compelling U.S. technology
companies to disclose customer content under the
SCA, MLATs generally provide foreign partners with
the ability to obtain customer content from providers
subject to U.S. jurisdiction, consistent with the SCA.

The Brazil-U.S. MLAT and the multilateral Inter-
American Convention on Mutual Legal Assistance in
Criminal Matters are not exceptions to this general
rule. Executed over two decades ago, the MLAT
between the United States and Brazil provides for law
enforcement assistance in a variety of forms—from
providing documents and locating persons or items to
taking testimony of witnesses and executing requests
for searches and seizures (such as SCA warrants). The
treaty also contains a catchall provision, permitting
the United States to assist Brazil in any way not
prohibited by U.S. law.”

21. Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty Between the United

States of America and Brazil art. 1(2), Treaty Doe. 105-42, 105th
Cong. (signed Oct. 14, 1997).

33.

34.

33a

Appendix E

Similarly, the multilateral Inter-American Convention
provides for uniform legal assistance procedures and
rules for cooperation across all thirty-five independent
states of the Americas, including the United States
and Brazil.” The scope of law enforcement assistance
mechanisms included in the Inter-American MLAT
is similar to the scope of measures permitted by the
U.S.-Brazil MLAT discussed above, and Article 7 of
the Convention notes that “any other procedure” may
also be covered by the Convention upon agreement
between the requesting and requested states.”

During my tenure as Attorney General of the
United States, the U.S. Department of Justice
repeatedly relied on the MLAT process to assist law
enforcement abroad—and Brazilian law enforcement
was no exception. For example, in 2011, Brazilian
law enforcement authorities were investigating the
2006 Amazon midair collision between a Legacy jet
and a Gol Airlines Boeing 737 that killed 154 people.
After making an emergency landing, the American
pilot and copilot of the Legacy jet were charged by
Brazilian authorities with criminal negligence for
causing the crash. When the pilots declined to return
to Brazil for trial, the MLAT between the U.S. and
Brazil allowed Brazilian law enforcement to pursue
their investigation. Article 8(1) of the Brazil-.S.

22. Inter-American Convention on Mutual Assistance in

Criminal Matters with Related Optional Protocol, Treaty Doc.
105-25, 105th Cont. (signed Oct. 18, 2000).

23. Id. at art. 7.

35.

34a

Appendix E

MLAT requires the United States to compel the
testimony of requested persons located in the U.S.,
and as a result, the American pilot and copilot were
successfully questioned in the United States through
written questions and video testimony.”

International cooperation has become even more
critical to law enforcement efforts as communications
have moved from physical mailboxes to digital
inboxes. To be sure, the MLAT process has not always
functioned perfectly during this shift into the digital
age. Within a decade, requests for U.S. assistance from
foreign authorities increased by nearly 60 percent,
and response times for some requests experienced
significant delays. As a result, during my tenure as
Attorney General, the Department requested—and
received—tens of millions of additional dollars to
enhance our MLAT resources throughout the DOJ.”
With these additional resources, the Department
began implementing a more centralized system
to process requests and reduce response times.
In addition, the DOJ enhanced its technological
resources and supported training efforts to assist key

24. William Glaberson, “A Trial in Brazil, With Testimony

on Long Island,” N.Y. Times (Mar. 30, 2011), http://www.nytimes.
com/2011/03/31/nyregion/31plane.html.

25. U.S. Department of Justice, FY 2015 Budget Request:

Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty Process Reform, https://www.
justice.gov/sites/default/files/jmd/legacy/2014/07/13/mut-legal-
assist.pdf. See also DOJ Criminal Division, FY 2016 President's
Budget at 20, https://www.justice.gov/sites/default/files/jmd/
pages/attachments/2015/02/02/10._criminal_division_crm.pdf.

Vi.

36.

37.

35a

Appendix E

foreign partners in submitting MLAT requests that
comply with their MLAT treaties and with U.S. law.

By Relying on the MLAT Process, Brazilian Law
Enforcement Can Obtain Evidence From U.S.
Companies While Avoiding Conflict With U.S.
Privacy Law.

The legal assistance treaty between the United States
and Brazil permits Brazil to submit requests for
evidence under the control of service providers subject
to U.S. jurisdiction. If a judge approves of a request,
the service provider to whom the request is directed
will be required to comply, just as it would be required
to comply with a valid SCA warrant issued by U.S. law
enforcement. In this way, the needs of Brazilian law
enforcement can be met, even if U.S. law prevents it
from directly compelling a U.S. provider to disclose
the evidence it seeks.

At the same time, the U.S.-Brazil MLAT preserves
the sovereignty of the United States by allowing
U.S. law to govern the standards that must be met
before U.S.-based evidence is produced to a foreign
power as part of a criminal investigation. In this
way, MLATs serve as a crucial means for advancing
international comity and partnerships when it comes
to combatting transnational crime—an effort that is,
without question, in everyone’s best interest.

fs/
ERIC H. HOLDER, JR.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0768%3A29. Public record. Not legal advice.
