# Reply Brief — City of Hays v. Vogt, 138 S. Ct. 55 (2017) (No. 16-1495)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0757%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

No. 16—1495

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

City OF HAYS, KANSAS, PETITIONER

U.

MATTHEW JACK DWIGHT VOGT

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

DAVID R. COOPER
LAUREN LAUSHMAN
FISHER, PATTERSON,
SAYLER & SMITH LLP
3550 SW Sth Street
Topeka, KS 66606

JOHN T. BIRD
City ATTORNEY
GLASSMAN, BIRD, BROWN
& POWELL LLP
200 West 13th, PO Box 727
Hays, KS 67601

TOBY J. HEYTENS
Counsel of Record
DANIEL R. ORTIZ
UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA
SCHOOL OF LAW
SUPREME COURT
LITIGATION CLINIC
580 Massie Road
Charlottesville, VA 22903
heytens@virginia.edu
(434) 924-3229

TABLE OF CONTENTS

. Vogt proposes no workable test for
determining which pretrial uses violate

the Self-Incrimination Clause...

The grand jury analogy underscores the
fundamental problems with the Tenth

ES ES I BE ne

. Holding that the Self-Incrimination Clause
can be violated by use during pretrial

proceedings would cause severe problems

. Vogt’s remaining arguments do not warrant

e . sc anesiaanin

. At minimum, the Court should hold that no

Garrity violation can occur before trial

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
Best v. City of Portland, 554 F.3d 698

oS ee eee rn 2
Chavez v. Martinez, 538 U.S. 760 (2003)...... 14, 20, 21
Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1 (1970) ................... 11
Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 547 (1892).......... 9
Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004) ....... 3, 18
Cruz v. New York, 481 U.S. 186 (1987) 18
Digital Equip. Corp. v. Desktop Direct, Inc.,

eae FS |: a ers 7
Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963) .............. 11
Estelle v. Smith, 451 U.S. 454 (1981) 3,7
Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967)........ 14, 21
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975) . 5
Halbert v. Michigan, 545 U.S. 605 (2005) ................ 11
Hiibbel v. Sixth Judicial Dist. Ct.,

4's B00 . 17
Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (1968) 12
Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972)........ 10
Michigan v. Bryant, 562 U.S. 344 (2011)............ 18, 20
Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433 (1974) 20
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ................. 21
Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39 (1987).............. 1
People v. Melotik, 561 N.W.2d 453

Gn 15
Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court

of California, 478 U.S. 1 (1986) . . 12

II

Rayyis v. Superior Court, 35 Cal. Rptr. 3d 12

e 15
State v. Butler, 897 P. 2d 1007 (Kan. 1995) 4, 5, 8
State v. Moats, 457 N. W. 2d 299 (Wis. 1990) 16
State v. Zimmerman, 660 P. 2d 960 (Kan. 1983) 7
United States v. Hubbell, 530 U.S. 27 (2000) 17, 18
United States v. North, 910 F.2d 843

e ..... 15
United States v. Verdugo-Urquidez,

r 1. 10
Van Cauwenberghe v. Biard, 486 U.S. 517 (1988) 6
Waller v. Georgia, 467 U.S. 39 (1984) 12
Whorton v. Bockting, 549 U.S. 406 (2007)................ 18
Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules:
e ̃ . 10
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2902(1) (20 16) 5, 6
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2902(3) (2016)........................ 4,5
Miscellaneous:

Albert W. Alschuler, A Peculiar Privilege In
Historical Perspective: The Right to Remain Silent,
94 Mich. L. Rev. 2625 (1996) 19

Eben Moglen, Taking the Fifth: Reconsidering the
Origins of the Privilege Against Self-Incrimination,
92 Mich. L. Rev. 1086 (1994) 19

John H. Langbein, The Historical Origin of the
Privilege Against Self-Incrimination At Common

Law, 92 Mich. L. Rev. 1047 (1994)..................00.... 19
U.S. Attorneys’ Manual: Principles of Federal
— 16

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

Our position is straightforward. It is based in the
constitutional text. And it has remained consistent
throughout these proceedings. See Pet. Cert. Reply Br.
4 (Our argument does not turn on when a ‘criminal
case’ begins.”). A person cannot be a “witness against”
a criminal defendant until the stage where guilt and
punishment are determined—that is, at trial. That is
why this Court has described the Self-Incrimination
Clause and the Confrontation Clause as trial rights.
That is why defendants may not attack indictments by
claiming that the grand jury violated either Clause
and why the Confrontation Clause does not apply to
constitutionally mandated bail hearings. Pet. Br. 19-
22. And that is why there is no warrant for holding
that the Self-Incrimination Clause is violated—and
civil liability triggered—by use of allegedly compelled
statements during pretrial hearings that are not con-
stitutionally required and that are expressly designed
to substitute for the very grand jury proceedings where
the Fifth Amendment would pose no such bar.

Vogt's position, in contrast, is a moving target. Ac-
cording to Vogt, the Self-Incrimination Clause covers
uses “at any point in the criminal case.” Resp. Br. 10,
32. Except (maybe) not uses before a grand jury. Id. at
45. Or (probably) not during post-charge bail hearings.
Id. at 29, 48 n.12. And (perhaps) not during proceed-
ings held to determine the defendant’s competency to
stand trial. /d. at 29, 38 n.8. And definitely not during

! United States v. Verdugo-Urquidez, 494 U.S. 259, 264 (1990)
(‘The privilege against self-incrimination * * * is a fundamental
trial right of criminal defendants.”); Pennsylvania v Ritchie, 480
U.S. 39, 52 (1987) (plurality opinion) (“The opinions of this Court
show that the right to confrontation is a trial right).

2

suppression hearings designed “to filter out [the] com-
pelled statements themselves,” id. at 55 n.14, but
(maybe) during hearings held to determine the admis-
sibility of other evidence, see Best v. City of Portland,
554 F.3d 698, 702-703 (7th Cir. 2009) (holding that
plaintiff had stated claim based on use of compelled
statements during a suppression hearing).

These hedges, caveats, and qualifications are nec-
essary to prevent Vogt’s proposed resolution of this
case from too flagrantly violating this Court's prece-
dent or practical realities. But they illustrate a deeper
problem. To the extent Vogt proposes a clear rule that
he attempts to ground in the constitutional text, that
rule sweeps far beyond this case and creates conse-
quences he is unwilling to accept. And when Vogt tries
to limit the damage, his “rule” becomes increasingly ad
hoc, jerry-rigged, and removed from the constitutional
text and purpose.

A. Vogt proposes no workable test for deter-
mining which pretrial uses violate the Self-
Incrimination Clause

I. Vogt's primary argument involves a reading of
the constitutional text that cannot be squared with
this Court’s precedent or his own concessions about
which pretrial uses the Fifth Amendment does and
does not restrict. As Vogt points out, “(t]he Self-Incrim-
ination Clause prohibits the government from ‘com-
pel[ing]’ a person ‘to be a witness against himself” ‘in
any criminal case. Resp. Br. I. According to Vogt, a
“criminal case” exists once formal proceedings have
been initiated, id. at 16-18, and the sole function of the
words “witness against himself” is to “describe[] the

3

type of evidence covered by the Clause,” id. at 9, re-
gardless of “how or when the prosecution later uses
that statement,” id. at 20.

As the Federal Government has already explained
(U.S. Br. 18-19), that argument is inconsistent with
Esteile v. Smith, 451 U.S. 454 (1981), which involved
the constitutional restrictions on use of a defendant's
statements from a court-ordered competency examina-
tion. The statements were compelled and testimonial,
id. at 463-464, 468, and they were obtained and used
after a criminal case had been commenced, id. at 456-
457 (noting that the examination took place after the
defendant was indicted). Yet the Court was clear that
although use of the defendant’s statements in one type
of proceeding (a sentencing hearing to determine his
future dangerousness) had violated the Self-Incrimi-
nation Clause, id. at 466, “no Fifth Amendment issue
would have arisen” had the statements been used dur-
ing a hearing held to “ensur{e] that [the defendant] un-
derstood the charges against him and was capable of
assisting in his defense,” id. at 465; see id. at 468. Es-
telle thus demonstrates that, contrary to Vogt’s sug-
gestions, the exact same statements may or may not
trigger Self-Incrimination Clause concerns depending
on “how or when the prosecution later uses” them,
Resp. Br. 20. Cf. Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36,
60 n.9 (2004) (reaffirming that the Confrontation
Clause “does not bar the use of testimonial statements
for purposes other than establishing the truth of the
matter asserted”).

In fact, Vogt himself relies on a context- and pur-
pose-based approach when attempting to avoid the un-
tenable consequences of his own proposed rule. For ex-
ample, Vogt argues that there is no constitutional

4

problem with using a compelled statement for pur-
poses of determining the statement’s admissibility at
trial because “the point of a suppression hearing is to
determine whether the statement is compelled and el-
igible for Fifth Amendment protection.” Resp. Br. 55
n.14. Vogt makes the same move when discussing bail
hearings and competency proceedings. Id. at 48 n.12
(referring to the “purpose” served by bail hearings); id.
at 29 (discussing bail hearings and competency pro-
ceedings). We agree with Vogt that the context and
purpose for which an allegedly compelled statement is
being used matters for Fifth Amendment purposes.
But, at that point, even Vogt has abandoned the idea
that the “witness against himself” determination can
be based solely “on the nature of the evidence given
and the circumstances surrounding that person’s
statement at the time it is made.” Id. at 20.

2. Although the precise formulations vary, Vogt
suggests three more reasons why use of his allegedly
compelled statements during the probable cause hear-
ing violated the Fifth Amendment. The first rests on a
mischaracterization of the nature of that hearing. The
second and third have no basis in the constitutional
text and are endlessly manipulable.

a. At times, Vogt suggests that the Self-Incrimina-
tion Clause was violated because the purpose of the
probable cause hearing was to determine his guilt or
innocence. See, e.g., Resp. Br. 9 (“to demonstrate his
criminal guilt”); id. at 28 (“showing his guilt of the
charged crime”). That simply isn’t so. Under Kansas
law, “[a] preliminary hearing is not a trial of a defend-
ant’s guilt or innocence but rather an inquiry as to
whether the defendant should be held for trial.” State
v. Butler, 897 P.2d 1007, 1020 (Kan. 1995) (emphases
added); accord Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2902(3) (2016)

5

(framing issue as whether “there is probable cause to
believe that a felony has been committed by the de-
fendant”). The probable cause hearing thus “fulfills the
function of a grand jury proceeding,” Butler, 897 P.2d
at 1007, for which it is an express statutory substitute,
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2902(1) (2016) (providing “a right
to a preliminary examination before a magistrate, un-
less such charge has been issued as a result of an in-
dictment by a grand jury).

b. Vogt’s next argument is framed in the negative.
Unlike certain other pretrial proceedings, Vogt sug-
gests, probable cause hearings implicate the Fifth
Amendment because they are not “so divorced from the
ultimate determination of guilt and punishment as to
warrant different treatment” than uses at trial. Resp.
Br. 29.

There are several fatal problems with this argu-
ment. Vogt never explains how a “so divorced” test can
be squared with his proposed interpretation of “crimi-
nal case” and “witness against.” What is more, Vogt's
own explanations only underscore the severe line-
drawing problems that would be created by such a
standard. For example, Vogt all but concedes that the
Fifth Amendment does not apply to use of the defend-
ant’s statements at constitutionally mandated bail
hearings. Resp. Br. 29, 48 n.12. But why not? The ulti-
mate legal question is the same as at Kansas’s proba-
ble cause hearing: whether there is “probable cause to
believe the suspect has committed a crime.” Gerstein
v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103, 120 (1975) (bail hearings); see
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2902(3) (2016) (probable cause
hearing). True, the hearings may be governed by some-
what different procedural rules, Resp. Br. 48 n.12, and
the consequences of an affirmative answer are some-
what different. But those differences have nothing to

6

do with the text of the Fifth Amendment nor with the
relationship between the question to be decided at the
hearing and “the ultimate determination of guilt and
punishment.” Id. at 29; cf. Van Cauwenberghe v.
Biard, 486 U.S. 517, 527 (1988) (holding that even an
order denying a motion to dismiss based on forum non
conveniens was not “completely separate from the mer-
its” for purposes of the collateral order doctrine).

c. At still other points, Vogt suggests that use of
his statements violated the Self-Incrimination Clause
because the probable cause hearing was “a necessary
step the State had to take to continue prosecuting
him,” Resp. Br. 29, and thus gave Vogt “a chance to
avoid trial in the first place,” id. at 12.

That claim likewise cannot withstand scrutiny. For
one thing, it depends on a very specific use of the word
“necessary.” Unlike the constitutionally mandated bail
hearings at which Vogt seems to acknowledge that the
Self-Incrimination Clause would have posed no bar to
the use of his statements, the Federal Constitution did
not require Kansas to conduct a preliminary hearing
at all. Pet. Br. 20-21. Even under Kansas law, moreo-
ver, there is no right to a probable cause hearing where
the defendant has been indicted by a grand jury. Kan.
Stat. Ann. § 22-2902(1) (2016). In other words, neither
the Federal Constitution nor Kansas law made the
hearing “necessary” in the sense of being “essential.”

A chance-to-avoid-trial test also proves far too
much and is endlessly manipulable. A defendant who
challenges his competency to stand trial has “a chance
to avoid trial in the first place,” Resp. Br. 12, but this
Court has said that use of compelled statements dur-
ing competency hearings does not violate the Self. In-

7

crimination Clause, Estelle, 451 U.S. at 465, 468. De-
fendants file suppression motions because they hope
“to avoid trial in the first place,” Resp. Br. 12, but Vogt
disclaims any suggestion that the Clause is violated by
use of allegedly compelled statements at suppression
hearings, Resp. Br. 55 n.14. This Court has been care-
ful to police against facile use of chance-to-avoid-trial
reasoning in other contexts. See Digital Equip. Corp.
v. Desktop Direct, Inc., 511 U.S. 863, 873 (1994) (ob-
serving that “virtually every right that could be en-
forced appropriately by pretrial dismissal might
loosely be described as conferring a ‘right not to stand
trial’”) (citation omitted). Similar vigilance is war-
ranted here.

A chance-to-avoid-trial theory is particularly dubi-
ous here for two additional reasons, one involving
Vogt’s own inaction and the other involving Kansas
law. As we and the Federal Government have pointed
out, it appears that Vogt made no effort to prevent con-
sideration of his allegedly compelled statements dur-
ing the probable cause hearing, whether by filing a
prehearing motion or objecting at the hearing itself.
Pet. Br. 28; U.S. Br. 4 n.2. If the Fifth Amendment
problem was compromising his chance to avoid a trial,
it was at least partly of Vogt’s own making.

The final problem with a chance-to-avoid-trial ar-
gument can be illustrated by imagining a counterfac-
tual where the state trial court found probable cause
and allowed the criminal case to proceed. Vogt could
not have taken an immediate appeal, because in Kan-
sas, like the federal system, criminal defendants are
not permitted interlocutory appeals. State v. Zimmer-
man, 660 P.2d 960, 963 (Kan. 1983). So even if Vogt
had objected to the use of his statements during the
probable cause hearing or filed a motion to suppress

8

his statements after it—and even if such a claim had
merit—Vogt still could have been faced with the choice
“between trial and a plea” had the judge wrongly over-
ruled Vogt's objection, “even though the prosecution
should never have been entitled to go to trial in the
first place.” Resp. Br. 58.2

B. The grand jury analogy underscores the
fundamenta! problems with the Tenth Cir-

cuit’s ruling

Everyone agrees that “this case does not involve
grand jury proceedings.” Resp. Br. 45. And it is under-
standable why the Federal Government—w hich, un-
like the States, is constitutionally required to prose-
cute via grand jury—would resist the comparison to
minimize the risk of adverse impact on federal prose-
cutions. U.S. Br. 9 n.3. But the grand jury analogy is a
telling one, and Vogt’s inability to refute it underscores
the weaknesses of his position.

1. To briefly restate the point: A criminal defend-
ant may not attack an indictment by claiming that the
grand jury considered his own previously compelled
statements. The Federal Constitution permits States
to use—or not use—grand juries as they see fit, and
Kansas law specifically provides that the hearing that

2 Vogt could have challenged the conduct of his probable cause
hearing via an appeal from a judgment of conviction. Even there,
however, Kansas law provides that “where an accused has gone
to trial and been found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, any er-
ror at the preliminary hearing stage —including consideration of
inadmissible evidence—‘is harmless unless it appears that the
error caused prejudice at trial.” Butler, 897 P.2d at 1021. Vogt
thus seeks to impose Section 1983 liability against the City based
on something that would not have supported relief even had he
gone to trial.

9

occurred in this case is a substitute for and an alterna-
tive to proceeding via grand jury. The Federal Consti-
tution also would permit Kansas to eliminate probable
cause hearings entirely and leave criminal defendants
with no opportunity to challenge the decision to prose-
cute. Pet. Br. 19-21.

2. Vogt disputes none of that. Instead, he suggests
that the difference is that there is no “‘criminal prose-
cution’ at the time the grand jury does its work,” that
“the grand jury’s unique role and history” explain why
“the Fifth Amendment's constraints” are “ease[d]” in
that context, and that there is no anomaly in saying
that the Constitution imposes fewer restrictions on
proceedings that are often constitutionally required
(grand juries) than on proceedings that are never con-
stitutionally required (probable cause hearings). Resp.
Br. 45-47. None of these arguments withstands scru-
tiny.

a. The presence or absence of an ongoing “criminal
prosecution” provides no basis for treating grand juries
and probable cause hearings differently for Self-In-
crimination Clause purposes. The reason is simple.
The words “criminal prosecution” appear only in the
Sixth Amendment, whereas both the Grand Jury
Clause and the Self-Incrimination Clause are housed
in the Fifth Amendment.

The Self-Incrimination Clause applies to “criminal
casels].“ Vogt's whole argument, of course, is premised
on the idea that probable cause hearings are part of a
criminal case. But, as Vogt acknowledges, this Court
has said that grand jury proceedings also “are part of
a ‘criminal case’ under the Fifth Amendment.” Resp.
Br. 25 (citing Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 547,
563 (1892)). Although Counselman was overruled on

10

other grounds by Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S.
441 (1972), its conclusion about the scope of “criminal
case” has never been disavowed. Indeed, it is rein-
forced by the Fifth Amendment's clarification that
there is no right to a grand jury “in cases arising in the
land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of War or public danger.” U.S. Const.
amend. V (emphasis added). By underscoring that
grand jury proceedings are part of the “criminal case,”
the constitutional text thus refutes any effort to distin-
guish between grand juries and probable cause hear-
ings on that basis.

b. Vogt’s assertion that “the grand jury's unique
role and history” explain why this Court has easeld]
the Fifth Amendment’s constraints in grand jury pro-
ceedings,” Resp. Br. 46, suffers from two problems.
First, it assumes the answer to the question being
asked by presupposing what the Self-Incrimination
Clause would have required had it not been “ease[d].”
Second, it amounts to nothing less than a suggestion
that grand juries have a non-textual entitlement to vi-
olate the Self-Incrimination Clause. In contrast, any
anomaly disappears once it is recognized that “[t]he
privilege against self-incrimination * * * is a funda-
mental trial right” that can be violated “only at trial.”
Verdugo-Urquidez, 494 U.S. at 264.

c. Vogt is right that the Federal Constitution
sometimes imposes restrictions on procedures that
States are not required to create in the first place.
Resp. Br. 46-47. But when the Constitution does so, it
is for some reason. Other than simply repeating his as-
sertions about what the Fifth Amendment requires of
its own force, Vogt identifies no such reason here.

11

In fact, Vogt’s own example undermines his argu-
ment. As Vogt notes, Resp. Br. 46-47, “[t]he Federal
Constitution imposes on the States no obligation to
provide appellate review of criminal convictions.” Hal-
bert v. Michigan, 545 U.S. 605, 610 (2005). But if
States provide for such review, the Constitution re-
quires them to “appoint counsel for an indigent defend-
ant's first-tier appeal as of right.” Id. at 611. The
Court’s decisions also explain why this is so: because
of “both equal protection and due process concerns.” /d.
at 610 (internal citation omitted).

Here, in contrast, equality and fairness concerns
cut against Vogt. In the appointment-of-counsel con-
text, the salient distinction was between rich and poor
defendants, and the Court’s decisions acted to address
an existing disparity. See Douglas v. California, 372
U.S. 353, 355 (1963) (“[T]here can be no equal justice
where the kind of an appeal a man enjoys depends on
the amount of money he has.”) (internal quotation
marks and citation omitted) But Vogt is asking this
Court to hold that the Constitution requires creating a
distinction between different categories of defendants
(those who can take issue with use of allegedly com-
pelled statements during pretrial proceedings and
those who cannot) and to do so based on a distinction
over which States have unfettered choice and the de-
fendants themselves often have no control (whether a
particular prosecution involves a grand jury or a prob-
able cause hearing).

The Court's decision in Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1
(1970), Resp. Br. 47, reflects a different principle. The Sixth
Amendment has long been construed to require counsel at all
critical stages of the State's criminal process, including stages
that are not constitutionally required. Coleman, 399 U.S. at 7-9
(plurality opinion) (giving examples). The Court's holding was

12

C. Holding that the Self-Incrimination Clause
can be violated by use during pretrial pro-
ceedings would cause severe problems

The court below acknowledged that if the Fifth
Amendment applies to pretrial proceedings,” evidence
that would be inadmissible at trial “would be consid-
ered inadmissible in pretrial proceedings as well.” Pet.
App. 19a. Such a holding would create severe prob-
lems.

1. For one thing, the City is not the gatekeeper of
evidence on Fifth Amendment grounds. It is the court,
not the parties or the witnesses, that determines
whether evidence was obtained in a constitutional
manner and the uses to which it may be put in further
proceedings. Cf. Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368
(1968); note 5, infra (discussing Kastigar hearings).
What is more, Vogt seeks to hold the City liable based
on at least two decisions the City did not make: the
state prosecutors, not the City, decided to proceed via
probable cause hearing rather than via grand jury and
to use Vogt’s allegedly compelled statements at the
probable cause hearing. Pet. Br. 27-29; State & Local
Gov't Employers Amicus Br. 9, 12-14.

thus based on a conclusion that the preliminary hearing at issue
there was a “critical stage” for Sixth Amendment purposes. This
case involves a different question: what uses of allegedly com-
pelled statements make someone a “witness against himself” for
purposes of the Self-Incrimination Clause.

Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court of California, 478 U.S.
1 (1986), and Waller v. Georgia, 467 U.S. 39 (1984), Resp. Br. 39
n.9, are even further afield, because those cases implicated im-
portant public interests involving access to judicial proceedings.
Waller, 467 U.S. at 46-47 (noting that the public-trial guarantee
“ensure[s] that judge and prosecutor carry out their duties re-
sponsibly’).

13

2. Vogt acknowledges that his position would re-
quire courts to resolve admissibility issues before con-
ducting at least some types of pretrial proceedings.
Resp. Br. 53-55. As the State amici explain, requiring
that such decisions be made before bail hearings or
during grand jury proceedings would be incompatible
with the nature of those proceedings. Kansas Amicus
Br. 5-11.

Even if the Court could identify some basis for lim-
iting expansion of the Self-Incrimination Clause's re-
strictions to probable cause hearings alone, but see
Section A, supra, such a holding would still cause sig-
nificant problems. The Federal Government and many
States currently forbid courts from adjudicating sup-
pression issues during probable cause hearings, U.S.
Br. 29; Kansas Amicus Br. 13 & n.5, so all of those
rules would have to be flipped to require courts to do
so. But the current rules are well-justified, because
“requir[ing] courts to make complex determinations
about the admissibility of a defendant’s statements be-
fore resolving other preliminary issues” “would change
the nature and purpose of pretrial proceedings,” U.S.
Br. 26, “either cause delays or would give the parties
insufficient time to investigate and prepare” for those
hearings, Kansas Amicus Br. 14 (quotation marks and
citation omitted), and “raise difficult questions about
what a defendant must do to preserve an argument
that his statements were compelled,” U.S. Br. 30.

3. Vogt's reassurances that there is no cause for
alarm are unpersuasive.

a. Much of Vogt’s argument rests on a bit of rhe-
torical sleight-of-hand, specifically blurring the dis-
tinction between what this Court must assume be-

14

cause of the procedural posture of this case and the ac-
tual situation confronting the City. The reason “[t]here
is no dispute before this Court that Officer Vogt's
statements were compelled by [the City] and impli-
cated him in criminal conduct,” Resp. Br. 1, is because
the Court is reviewing a decision dismissing Vogt's
complaint for failure te state a claim. The City, of
course, did not have Vogt’s complaint when it acted,
nor was it required to view the facts in the light most
favorable to him. Yet much of Vogt's argument is
premised on the idea that the City knew all along that
Vogt would later argue that his interactions with his
former superiors gave rise to obligations under Garrity
v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967), and that the City
should have avoided the whole problem by keeping the
information about Vogt’s possible criminal wrongdoing
from the KBI. Resp. Br. 48-52. But, as we and our
amici have explained, matters will rarely be so clear in
the real world, which is why courts hold suppression
hearings in the first place. Pet. Br. 26-27; U.S. Br. 27-
28; Kansas Amicus Br. 67.“

b. Vogt asserts that “application of the Fifth
Amendment at pretrial hearings is the law of the land
in at least four circuits * * *, and there has been no
sign that those proceedings have become unworkable
for prosecutors in those parts of the country.” Resp. Br.

Simply giving the information to the KI could not itself
have been a Fifth Amendment violation because, at that point,
there was no “criminal case.” See Chavez v. Martinez, 538 U.S.
760 (2003); Pet. Br. 18-19. This matter was nearly certain to be
referred to the KBI in any event, becauee Vogt does not contend
that the City compelled him to make his initial disclosures about
the knife. And Vogt cites no authority for the proposition that the
City was required to forgo even telling state officials that one of
its police officers had been implicated in serious wrongdoing.

15

53-54. It would be more accurate to say that courts and
litigants have yet to perceive the problem. The deci-
sions comprising the Vogt-favoring side of the split
were all civil cases decided within roughly the last dec-
ade, see Pet. 7-8, and we have been unable to locate
any cases where a criminal defendant relied on one of
those decisions to support a claim that the Federal
Constitution barred use of allegedly compelled state-
ments during pretrial proceedings or required over-
turning a conviction because such statements were im-
properly used during such proceedings. That will
doubtlessly change if Vogt prevails before this Court.“

4. Vogt contends (Resp. Br. 29-30) that our posi-
tion would permit the prosecution to require criminal
defendants to take the witness stand at probable cause
hearings and then use the resulting statements to sup-
port binding the defendant over for trial. Vogt identi-
fies no case where prosecutors attempted such a ma-
neuver.® (And, of course, Vogt’s own approach would

Vogt is incorrect that “courts have already determined that
the Fifth Amendment requires pretrial proceedings in cases
where testimony has been immunized.” Resp. Br. 56. Under cur-
rent law, “a trial court may hold a Kastigar hearing pre-trial,
post-trial, mid-trial (as evidence is offered), or it may employ
some combination of these methods.” United States v. North, 910
F.2d 843, 854 (D.C. Cir. 1990). Under Vogts approach, these
“time-consuming procedure[s],” Resp. Br. 56, often will need to
occur far earlier and before other proceedings designed to take
place immediately or soon after charges are filed.

® The decisions cited by NACDL (at 18), are not to the con-
trary. Rayyis v. Superior Court, 35 Cal. Rptr. 3d 12, 13-14 (Cal.
Ct. App. 2005), involved “the ‘corpus delicti rule, under which
“the fact that a crime has been committed * * * cannot be proved
based solely on extrajudicial statements of the defendant.” People
v. Melotik, 561 N.W.2d 453, 455, 457 (Mich. Ct. App. 1997), and

16

permit such conduct before a grand jury, yet he pro-
vides no reason for believing there have been problems
in that context either.)

The reason should be equally obvious: the strategy
would be self-defeating. The defendant would be able
to invoke the privilege against self-incrimination at
the probable cause hearing and refuse to speak unless
granted immunity. See Pet. Br. 12-15 (discussing the
distinction between when the privilege against self-in-
crimination may be invoked and when the Fifth
Amendment is actually violated). And any victory won
at the probable cause hearing by granting the defend-
ant immunity would almost certainly be a pyrrhic one,
because the resulting statements would be inadmissi-
ble at trial and it seems unlikely that the prosecutors
would be able to carry their burden of showing that
none of their trial evidence was derived from the de-
fendant’s immunized statements. See id. at 16-18 (dis-

cussing immunity doctrines).’
D. Vogt’s remaining arguments do not war-
rant a different result

1. Contrary to his repeated suggestions (Resp. Br.
20-24), the issue is not whether Vogt's statements

State v. Moats, 457 N.W.2d 299, 302 (Wis. 1990), involved out-of-
court statements obtained by police officers.

Vogt is suggestion that this Court should act to prevent pros-
ecutors from bringing cases where they know the “defendant's
compelled statement would not be admissible at trial” solely in
the “hope” of “extract{ing] a plea,” Resp. Br. 58, ignores ſt Ihe pre-
sumption of regularity” and good faith accorded to those charged
with enforcing the law. United States v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456,
464 (1996) (citation omitted); see U.S. Attorneys’ Manual: Princi-
ples of Federal Prosecution § 9 27. 220 (instructing prosecutors to
commence a case only if they “believe[] * * that the admissible
evidence will be sufficient to obtain and sustain a conviction’ ).

17

were sufficiently testimonial to make him a “witness.”
True, the Court has used that word to describe people
who participate in “any investigation,” id. at 21 (cita-
tion omitted), including those questioned by police of-
ficers, Crim. Proc. Scholars Amicus Br. 18-19. But the
Court has been equally clear that the Fifth Amend-
ment cannot be violated absent some sort of courtroom
use during a criminal proceeding. Pet. Br. 18-19. Ac-
cordingly, the key question is whether use of Vogt's
statements at the probable cause hearing was, by it-
self, enough to render him “a witness against himself.”

2. Vogt claims “that a defendant becomes a ‘wit-
ness against himself’ when he makes ‘incriminating
communications that are ‘testimonial’ in charac-
ter.“ Resp. Br. 19 (quoting United States v. Hubbell,
530 U.S. 27, 34 (2000)). That is not what Hubbell says.
The sentence from which Vogt quotes only in part
makes clear that the Court was speaking (a) about the
meaning of “witness” rather than “witness against
himself,” and (b) in terms of minimum requirements
rather than comprehensive definitions. Hubbell, 530
U.S. at 34 (The word ‘witness’ in the constitutional
text limits the relevant category of compelled incrimi-
nating communications to those that are ‘testimonial’
in character.“). And Vogt’s claim that the sole function
of the words “against himself” is to “require[] that the
testimonial statements be incriminating” in some gen-
eral sense is warranted by neither decision offered to
support it. Resp. Br. 19-20 (citing Hubbell, 530 U.S. at
34, and Hiibbel v. Sixth Judicial Dist. Ct., 542 U.S.
177, 189 (2004)).*

Although he claims that our discussion of Hubbell “makes
no sense,” Resp. Br. 42, Vogt cannot explain why the Court em-
phasized the government's inability to show “that the evidence it

18

This Court’s decisions construing the similarly
worded Confrontation Clause reinforce that one can-
not “be a witness against [one]self” until the stage
where guilt and punishment are determined. In Craw-
ford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004), for example,
the Court noted that “[o]ne could plausibly read ‘wit-
nesses against’ a defendant to mean those who actu-
ally testify at trial, those whose statements are offered
at trial, or something in-between,” id. at 42-43 (cita-
tion omitted), but gave no hint that one could be a “wit-
ness against” the defendant absent any use at trial. In
Cruz v. New York, 481 U.S. 186 (1987), the Court
stated that ſolrdinarily, a witness is considered to be
a witness ‘against’ a defendant for purposes of the Con-
frontation Clause only if his testimony is part of the
body of evidence that the jury may consider in assessing
his guilt,” id. at 190 (emphases added)—that is, the ev-
idence at trial. Accord Michigan v. Bryant, 562 U.S.
344, 358 (2011) (describing “the basic objective of the
Confrontation Clause” as “preventling] the accused
from being deprived of the opportunity to cross-exam-
ine the declarant about statements taken for use at
trial”); Whorton v. Bockting, 549 U.S. 406, 413 (2007)
(reiterating that the Confrontation Clause applies to
“[tlestimonial statements of witnesses absent from
trial”) (citation omitted).

3. Vogt's argument from history also fails. We
agree that “the Framers could not possibly have in-
tended the phrase [‘witness against himself'] to cover

* * * proposed to use at trial was derived from legitimate [inde-
pendent] sources.” Pet. Br. 18 n.11 (quoting Hubbell, 530 U.S. at
45). On Vogt’s view, that observation was irrelevant at best, and
actively misleading at worst.

19

statements made by the defendant only at the trial it-
self.” Resp. Br. 22. Like the Confrontation Clause, the
Self-Incrimination Clause also covers at-trial use of a
defendant's compelled pretrial statements. Pet. Br. 1,
9, 12-14. Where we disagree is whether a defendant
has been made to be a “witness against himself” when
he has neither been forced to take the witness stand at
his own trial nor had his own previously compelled
statements introduced against him at trial.

As the Federal Government explains, the purpose
of the pretrial examinations Vogt discusses was to gen-
erate evidence that could later be used to prove the de-
fendant’s guilt at trial. U.S. Br. 19-24.9 Vogt provides
no evidence that the Fifth Amendment “was intended
to guard against the use of a defendant's compelled
statements for the limited purpose of determining
whether the case should go forward upon a showing of
probable cause after charges were filed, with no subse-
quent use of the statements at the guilt or penalty
stage.” U.S. Br. 23.

Vogts sources agree. Albert W. Alschuler, A Peculiar Privi-
lege In Historical Perspective: The Right to Remain Silent, 94
Mich. L. Rev. 2625, 2654 (1996) (‘Until the mid-eighteenth cen-
tury, the record of the defendant's pretrial examination was rou-
tinely read at her trial.”); John H. Langbein, The Historical Ori-
gins of the Privilege Against Self-Incrimination At Common Law,
92 Mich. L. Rev. 1047, 1061 (1994) (Having impaled himself at
pretrial, the criminal defendant would find that any supposed
privilege against self-incrimination available at trial was worth
little. If he declined to testify at trial, or attempted to recant upon
his pretrial statement, the pretrial statement would be invoked
against him at trial.”); Eben Moglen, Taking the Fifth: Reconsid-
ering the Origins of the Privilege Against Self-Incrimination, 92
Mich. L. Rev. 1086, 1098 (1994) (“All sources agreed” that the de-
fendant’s pretrial “confession, if any, was to be admissible against
him at trial.).

20

Vogt's contrary claims miss the mark because they
neglect the critical distinction between when the priv-
ilege against self-incrimination may be invoked and
when the Fifth Amendment is actually violated. See
Pet. Br. 12-15 (discussing this distinction). It is true
that, at common law, a criminal defendant was barred
from testifying at his own trial. Resp. Br. 22, 31. But
that does not mean there was no way a defendant
could be “a witness against himself” at such trials. Cf.
Bryant, 562 U.S. at 357-358 (explaining that the
basic purpose of the Confrontation Clause was to
targe|t] the sort of abuses exemplified at the notorious
treason trial of Sir Walter Raleigh,” where an accuser’s
out-of-court statements were admitted against Ra-
leigh at trial) (internal quotation marks & citation
omitted). And that risk, in turn, explains why “defend-
ants had throughout the criminal process a right to re-
fuse to provide self-incriminating testimony under
oath.” Resp. Br. 31. Not because compulsion, standing
alone, would render the defendant “a witness against
himself.” But rather because it was clear, then as now,
“that an inability to protect the right at one stage of a
proceeding may make its invocation useless at a later
stage.” Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433, 440-441
(1974).

E. At minimum, the Court should hold that no
Garrity violation can occur before trial

This case is a far cry from Chavez v. Martinez, 538
U.S. 760 (2003). There, the plaintiff was subject to in-
tense police questioning while “screaming in pain” af-
ter being “shot in the face,” and the officer made no
effort to dispel the perception that medical treatment
was being withheld until [the plaintiff] answered the
questions put to him.” /d. at 798 (Kennedy, J., concur-
ring in part and dissenting in part).

21

Vogt cannot claim that he experienced “severe com-
pulsion,” Chavez, 538 U.S. at 799 (Ginsburg, J., con-
curring in part and dissenting in part), much less “tor-
ture or its close equivalents,” id. at 789 (Kennedy, J.
concurring in part and dissenting in part). Even cred-
iting all allegations of the complaint, this case involves
a police officer who notified his employer about his own
misconduct and was then required, as a condition of
his job (from which he had already decided to quit) to
provide additional information about those same mat-
ters. Pet. App. 49a.

As we explained in our opening brief, “[e]ven if
some types of Fifth Amendment violations could occur
before trial, the Court should reject any such notion for
* * * claims” like Vogt’s. Pet. Br. 25 (citing Garrity v.
New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967)). Such claims bear no
resemblance to the types of abuses that motivated the
Self-Incrimination Clause. What is more, the Consti-
tution specifically permits a public employer to inform
an employee that he will be fired unless he cooperates
with an official investigation so long as it follows cer-
tain rules, and the appropriate time for determining
whether those rules have been followed is at trial. Pet.
Br. 25. Thus, as with Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436
(1966), the Court should, at minimum, hold that no
Garrity violation can occur short of trial. Cf. Chavez,
538 U.S. at 790 (Kennedy, J., concurring in part and
dissenting in part) (stating that “[t]he identification of
a Miranda violation and its consequences * * * ought
to be determined at trial”).

* * *

The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-
versed.

22
Respectfully submitted.

DAVID R. COOPER
LAUREN LAUSHMAN
FISHER, PATTERSON,
SAYLER & SMITH LLP
3550 SW Stu Street
Topeka, KS 66606

JOHN T. BIRD

CiTy ATTORNEY

GLASSMAN, BIRD, BROWN
& POWELL LLP

200 West 13th, Box 727

Hays, KS 67601

JANUARY 2018

ToBy J. HEYTENS
Counsel of Record
DANIEL R. ORTIZ
UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA
SCHOOL OF LAW
SUPREME COURT
LITIGATION CLINIC
580 Massie Road
Charlottesville, VA 22903
heytens@virginia.edu
(434) 924-3229

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0757%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
