# Amicus Curiae Brief — Janus v. Am. Fed'n, 138 S. Ct. 54 (2017) (No. 16-1466)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0755%3A35

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

No. 16-1466
In the Supreme Court of the United States

MARK JANUS,
Petitioner,
Vv.

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY, AND
MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, COUNCIL 31, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR CALIFORNIA PUBLIC-SCHOOL
TEACHERS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

TERENCE J. PELL MICHAEL A. CARVIN
MICHAEL E. ROSMAN Counsel of Record
CENTER FOR ANTHONY J. DICK

INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS WILLIAM D. COGLIANESE
1100 Connecticut Ave. NW VIVEK SURI

Suite 625 JONES DAY
Washington, DC 20036 51 Louisiana Ave., NW
(202) 833-8400 Washington, DC 20001
PAUL B. GREEN (202) 879-3939

JONES DAY macarvin@jonesday.com
3161 Michelson Drive

Suite 800

Irvine, CA 92612
(949) 851-3939

Counsel for Amici Curiae
᷑—̃ . — ͤͤ.'U—!b᷑ f — a me a an REE

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Court should overrule Abood v. De-
troit Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209 (1977), and
hold that public-sector “agency shop” arrangements
violate the First Amendment.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
2 ......— . ˙ i
e 1
.... nncsecnsneriscneemeseestnnncien 1
—T 5
I. Compulsory union fees are subject to
— . 6
A. This Court’s cases require exacting
scrutiny of compulsory union fees
regardless of the Government’s role as
— 7
B. Exacting review advances the First
Amendment’s purposes 14
C. History confirms the propriety of
...T— 16
II. Compulsory agency fees are unjustifiable on
any standard of review . .. . .. 18
A. “Labor peace” does not justify compulsory
— w] —⁰Üw—————— 19
B. Concerns about “free riding” do not
justify compulsory union fees 22

III. If the Court overrules Abood, it should also
clarify that unions may collect fees from
nonmembers only with their affirmative

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

CASES
Abood v. Detroit Board of Education,

11112 T passim
Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.,

. 26
Baggett v. Bullitt,

ot ees 9
Board of County Commissioners v. Umbehr,

e 9
Branti v. Finkel,

, 8
Citizens United v. FEC,

D 14
Consolidated Edison Co. v. NLRB,

! 23
Elrod v. Burns,

gf | 5 | eee 7, 8, 10
FEC v. National Right to Work Committee,

CE ... 14
Fisk v. Inslee,

No. 16-5889 (WD Wash. Oct. 16, 2017)......... 31, 32
Friedrichs v. California Teachers

, ‘ati

e aE 20, 23
Garcetti v. Ceballos,

547 U.S. 410 (2006)...............ccccessrsseesesees 10, 11, 12

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

Harris v. Quinn,

r passim
Keyishian v. Board of Regents,

. ß x
Knox v. Service Employees,

Se .. passim
Lane v. Franks,

e ⸗ 10
Maslenjak v. United States,

// x 28
Morse v. Frederick,

e iincciteincninsinmetintminmnnnedetan 16
O'Hare Truck Services, Inc. v. City of

Northlake,

r : 8. 9
Perry v. Sinder mann.

,, . 10
Pickering v. Board of Education,

RR passim
Riley v. National Federation of the Blind,

e 30

Rutan v. Republican Party of Illinois,
og T 8,

Steele v. Louisville & Nashville Railroad,
. ccc

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page(s)

Teachers v. Hudson,

475 U.S. 292 (1986). . ... . . . . 27, 28, 29
Torcaso v. Watkins,

367 U.S. 488 (1961) .. . be- 10
U.S. Civil Service Commission v. Letter

Carriers,

413 U.S. 548 (1973) . . ... 14
United States v. NTEU,

513 U.S. 454 (1995) . ... 19
United States v. United Foods,

533 U.S. 405 (2001) .. . . . 13
Waters v. Churchill.

511 U.S. 661 (1994) .. . rb. 11
West Virginia State Board of Education v.

Barnette,

319 U.S. 624 (1943) .. 12, 14, 15, 16
Wieman v. Updegraff,

344 U.S. 183 (1952). ...... . . 4
Yohn v. California Teachers Association,

No. 17-202 (CD Cal. 2017). passim
STATUTES
Act of Supremacy, 1 Eliz. c. 1 (1558) .... 16
Act of Uniformity, 14 Car. II c. 4 (1662). 17
City of London Militia Act,

14 Car. II c. 3 (1662)... .... “’ 17

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Oaths of Allegiance and Supremacy Act,

1 Gul. & Mar. c. 8 (1688)

Security of the Succession Act,

13-14 Gul. III c. 6 (170) ieee

Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Declaration of Independence .......................

Oliver Ellsworth, Landholder No. 7
(1787) in Essays on the Constitution
of the United States, Paul Leicester

8 Cee
Supreme Court Rule 37.6...

Richard H. Thaler & Cass R. Sunstein,

Noah Webster, A Collection of Essays

and Fugitiv Writings (1790)

Kim Crockett, “Unions Act as if They've
Already Lost,” Wall Street Journal

1899...

— 1

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici Bruce Aster, Darren Miller, Allen Osborn,
Michelle Raley, Robert Vehrs, Stacy Vehrs, and Ryan
Yohn are public-school teachers who are subject to
compulsory union fees in California. Amicus Associa-
tion of American Educators is a group whose members
include public-school teachers subject to compulsory
union fees (in California and elsewhere). Amici have
sued California and the California Teachers Associa-
tion to challenge the compulsory-fee scheme in that
State. That lawsuit is pending. Yohn v. California
Teachers Association, No. 17-202 (CD Cal. 2017).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This amicus brief makes three points: (1) Laws
compelling people to pay union fees as a condition of
public employment are subject to exacting scrutiny;
(2) such laws cannot satisfy any level of scrutiny, as
confirmed by empirical information that amici have
uncovered in discovery in Yohn; (3) if the Court over-
rules Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S.
209 (1977), it should also clarify that a public-sector
union may collect fees from nonmembers only with
their affirmative consent.

I. Laws compelling individuals to pay union fees
as a condition of public employment are subject to ex-
acting scrutiny. First, this Court has long engaged in
exacting review of laws requiring people to support

In accordance with Supreme Court Rule 37.6, amici state
that no counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part,
and that no person or entity, other than amici and their counsel,
made a monetary contribution intended to fund the preparation
and submission of this brief. All parties have filed letters grant-
ing blanket consent to the filing of amicus briefs.

2

political or ideological causes as a condition of public
employment. In contrast, the Court has reserved less
exacting review for routine personnel policies that re-
strict employee speech in order to manage the work-
place or ensure effective job performance. Agency-fee
laws—which are categorical compulsions to support
outside advocacy groups, rather than individualized
restrictions on workplace speech-—thus deserve exact-
ing review.

Second, the purposes of the First Amendment con-
firm this analysis. The First Amendment guards
against the threat that the government and allied in-
terest groups will abuse their powers to coerce uni-
formity of thought. There is a grave danger of such
abuse whenever a government decides that everyone
must support a favored political agenda as a condition
of public employment. Aiso, the open marketplace of
political ideas protected by the First Amendment is
badly distorted by state-imposed requirements to sup-
port a particular advocacy group. Finally, the First
Amendment secures a sphere of individual conscience
free from government control, and the state intrudes
on this sphere when it compels people to contradict
their deeply held beliefs by subsidizing causes they
fervently oppose.

Third, history confirms the propriety of exacting
review. For centuries before the Founding, English
rulers tried to secure conformity of religious and polit-
ical thought by compelling public servants to affirm
particular beliefs as a condition of employment. For
example, Parliament enacted laws forcing public em-
ployees to support the monarch’s status as head of the
Church, to denounce the theory that the people have
the right to rebel against a tyrannical government,

3

and to profess the legitimacy of the Hanoverian suc-
cession. The framers of our Bill of Rights condemned
these religious and political tests (even though the
tests were imposed only on public employees, rather
than on the citizenry at large). This history refutes the
notion that the First Amendment allows the govern-
ment to compel political speech as a prerequisite for
public employment.

II. Laws requiring payment of agency fees cannot
survive any level of review, exacting or deferential.

Abood’s defenders claim that compelled agency
fees promote “labor peace” by avoiding the problems
that would arise if the state had to deal with multiple
rival unions instead of a single bargaining agent. But
this argument is a non sequitur. The state’s interest
in avoiding multiple unions justifies (at most) the
proposition that there should be only one union, not
the separate proposition that objectors should be
forced to subsidize that union. Abood’s defenders per-
sist, however, that the state’s interest in dealing with
a single union justifies compelled agency fees on the
ground that, without such fees, the union would be-
come insolvent. Yet Abood’s defenders have never pro-
vided any empirical evidence to support such claims.
Nor can they do so, since public-sector unions flourish
at the federal level and in the many states that pro-
hibit agency fees.

Abood’s defenders also claim that compelled
agency fees are justified to prevent nonmembers from
“free riding.” This claim is meritless. The First
Amendment generally does not allow the government
to force someone to subsidize speech with which he
disagrees simply because the government thinks that

4

it benefits him. This is all the more true because a dis-
senting worker does not “free ride” on the union’s pol-
icies, but rather disagrees with those policies, and
must abide by them only because the state has im-
posed the union on him as his exclusive bargaining
representative. It is thus more accurate to describe
the dissenter (in JUSTICE KENNEDY’s words) as a com-
pelled rider” on policies with which he disagrees.

Against all of this, Abood’s defenders have sug-
gested that public-sector unions have a unique privi-
lege to extract fees from nonmembers because they
have a statutory duty to refrain from discriminating
against those nonmembers. But unions voluntarily as-
sume this “duty” in exchange for being empowered as
an exclusive bargaining representative. The “duty” is,
indeed, an essential (but minor) limit on the power of
exclusive representation: A union cannot simultane-
ously insist on both (1) the sole authority to negotiate
on behalf of all workers in the unit and (2) the author-
ity to discriminate against some of those workers dur-
ing those negotiations. Nor is there any evidence that
the nondiscrimination duty makes any difference in
how unions actually conduct themselves. Thus, the
“free-rider” justification for compelling speech is even
weaker in the union context than it is elsewhere.

III. If the Court decides to overrule Abood, exist-
ing procedures for collecting fees from nonmembers
will become defunct. Unions and nonmembers alike
need guidance about what rules will take their place.
The answer to that question is straightforward: Just
like any other political advocacy group, a union may
collect fees from a nonmember only if he affirmatively
consents (or “opts in”) to this subsidization. Under the
First Amendment, states must minimize the burden

5

on political speech. They cannot require individuals to
“opt out” of paying union fees, any more than they can
require them to “opt out” of making a donation to the
Democratic or Republican parties. Forcing nonmem-
bers to shoulder the burden of objecting to political
wage-garnishment serves no legitimate public pur-
pose, particularly since it contradicts the probable
preferences of nonmembers.

ARGUMENT

The First and Fourteenth Amendments prohibit
the States from “abridging the freedom of speech.” The
freedom of speech includes the right to decide which
words to speak, which groups to join, and which polit-
ical causes to support—or not to support.

One of the most powerful ways to support a cause
is to fund it—to put your money where your mouth is.
That is why the Declaration of Independence ends:
“we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our For-
tunes and our sacred Honor.” And it is why the Vir-
ginia Statute for Religious Freedom (also written by
Thomas Jefferson) says: To compel a man to furnish
contributions of money for the propagation of opinions
which he disbelieves is sinful and tyrannical.”

In spite of these principles, this Court held in
Abood that a state may force public employees to sup-
port the inherently political agenda pursued by pub-
lic-sector unions in collective bargaining. That ruling
was incorrect, and this Court should overrule it.

This amicus brief addresses three points. First, we
explain why exacting scrutiny applies to laws that im-
pose compulsory union fees as a condition of public
employment. Second, drawing on information secured

6

in discovery in Yohn v. California Teachers Associa-
tion, we show why such compulsory fees violate the
First Amendment under any standard of review.
Third, if the Court does overrule Abood, it should also
clarify that a public sector union may not collect any
agency fees from nonmembers unless they affirma-
tively consent, or “opt in,” to such fee paying.

I. Compulsory Union Fees Are Subject To
Exacting Scrutiny

As a general rule, laws that compel people to sup-
port a political or ideological cause as a condition of
public employment are subject to exacting judicial
scrutiny. This Court has already decided that this ex-
acting scrutiny applies to laws that require public em-
ployees to pay compulsory union fees to support col-
lective bargaining: “Because a public-sector union
takes many positions during collective bargaining
that have powerful political and civic consequences,
the compulsory fees constitute a form of compelled
speech and association that imposes a significant im-
pingement on First Amendment rights.” Knox v. Ser-
vice Employees, 567 U.S. 298, 310—11 (2012). Such an
impingement cannot be justified except in the “exceed-
ingly rare” situation where it “serve[s] a compelling
interest that cannot be achieved through means sig-
nificantly less restrictive of associational freedoms.”
Id. at 310; see id. at 314 (compulsory union fees “must
serve a compelling interest and must not be signifi-
cantly broader than necessary to serve that interest”).

Defenders of Abood have argued, however, that
agency-fee laws nonetheless deserve more deferential

review because the government has imposed them in
its capacity as a public employer. They have relied on

7

cases such as Pickering v. Board of Education, 391
U.S. 563 (1968), which holds that the government's
decision to restrict employee speech in order to man-
age the workplace triggers interest-balancing rather
than full First Amendment review. They have urged
the Court to extend the same balancing test to com-
pulsory-fee laws.

This position is incorrect. Precedent, the purposes
of the First Amendment, and the history of condition-
ing public employment on ideological commitments all
establish that compulsory union fees are subject to ex-
acting scrutiny.

A. This Court’s Cases Require Exacting
Scrutiny Of Compulsory Union Fees
Regardless Of The Government’s Role As
Public Employer

1. Under this Court’s precedents, the scope of the
government’s authority to regulate employee speech
depends on the nature of the regulation. The most ex-
acting scrutiny applies to laws that compel support for
political or ideological causes as a condition of public
employment. By contrast, routine policies that restrict
employee speech in order to manage the workplace or
ensure effective job performance receive more defer-
ential review. Under this framework, agency-fee
laws—which are categorical compulsions to support
outside political advocacy groups, rather than individ-
ualized restrictions on workplace speech—deserve ex-
acting review.

The Court made this point most clearly in Elrod v.
Burns, 427 U.S. 347 (1976) (plurality opinion). There,
the Court ruled that any government practice that
compels public servants to “contribute a portion of

8

their wages to” an ideological advocacy group “must
survive exacting scrutiny.” Id. at 362. A majority of
this Court reaffirmed that rule in Rutan v. Republican
Party of Illinois, 497 U.S. 62, 74 (1990), which held
that patronage practices must be “narrowly tailored
to further vital government interests.”

The Court further elaborated on this point in
O Hare Truck Services, Inc. v. City of Northlake, 518
U.S. 712 (1996). There, the Court explained that laws
requiring public servants to satisfy a “raw test of po-
litical affiliation” face exacting scrutiny and are pre-
sumptively invalid. Id. at 719. At the same time,
where “a government employer” simply regulates
“specific instances of the employee’s speech or expres-
sion” in the course of managing the workplace, courts
instead apply “the balancing test from Pickering” and
often (though not always) sustain the employer's deci-
sion. Id.

Time and again, the Court has invalidated laws
compelling public servants to support a political cause
as a condition of getting or keeping their jobs. For ex-
ample, the Court has ruled that the state lacks the
power to:
e Require public-sector employees to join, work
for, or contribute money to a political party.
Rutan, 497 U.S. at 74; Branti v. Finkel, 445
U.S. 507, 513-17 (1980); Elrod, 427 U.S. at
355 (plurality opinion).

„ Require public teachers to disavow com-
munism. Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385
U.S. 589, 597-604 (1967).

9

e Require public teachers to affirm that they
will respect the national and state flags. Bag-
gett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360, 371 (1964).

¢ Require public-sector employees to affirm that
they are not members of “subversive organiza-
tions.” Wieman v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183,
190-91 (1952).

The principles underlying these cases defeat com-
pulsory public- union fees. Such coerced subsidization
does not involve the management of the workplace or
the regulation of “specific instances of [an] employee's
speech,” but instead imposes “raw testſs] of political
affiliation” by forcing employees to support the inher-
ently political agenda that public-sector unions pur-
sue in collective bargaining. O'Hare, 518 U.S. at 720.
Nobody who refuses to support this political agenda
may hold the public office in question—no matter how
qualified, no matter how experienced, no matter how
effective a public servant he may be. Under this
Court’s cases, such coercive politica! favoritism is sub-
ject to exacting review, and the government has no
special authority to impose it simply because it is an
employer.

2. The general principles underlying this Court’s
cases about the government’s authority as employer
confirm that the Court should engage in exacting re-
view of the law here.

This Court has long rejected Justice Holmes’ dic-
tum that one “may have a constitutional right to talk
politics,” but has “no constitutional right to be a po-
liceman.” Board of County Commissioners v. Umbehr,
518 U.S. 668, 675 (1996). Quite the contrary, the
Court has consistently ruled that “public employees

10

do not renounce their citizenship when they accept
employment.” Lane v. Franks, 134 S8. Ct. 2369, 2377
(2014). And the government may not “leverage the
employment relationship” (Garcetti v. Ceballos, 547
U.S. 410, 419 (2006)) to “produce a result which it
could not command directly” (Perry v. Sindermann,
408 U.S. 593, 597 (1972)).

This Court thus starts with the presumption that
laws abridging freedom of political speech trigger ex-
acting scrutiny, regardless of whether the government
enforces the restriction by invoking the sovereign’s
power to punish or the employer's power to discipline.
Indeed, since taking away someone’s job is generally
more coercive than simply taking away some of his
money—especially in fields such as “teach{ing],”
where “the government is a major (or the only) source
of employment” (Rutan, 497 U.S. at 77)—it makes no
sense to reduce the level of scrutiny just because the
government has decided to fire rather than to fine.
Consequently, for example, this Court engages in ex-
acting review both when the government orders citi-
zens to be Democrats and when it orders employees to
be Democrats (Elrod, 427 U.S. at 362), both when the
government orders citizens to say that God exists and
when it orders employees to say that God exists (Tor-
caso v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488, 495 (1961)).

That said, this Court has recognized an exception
to this general rule. Under Pickering, the Court en-
gages in interest-balancing when the government reg-
ulates the workplace speech of individual employees.
391 U.S. at 568. This Court, however, has never “seen
Abood as based on Pickering.” Harris v. Quinn, 134 8.
Ct. 2618, 2641 (2014). Pickering applied less strict re-
view because of two basic realities: Applying exacting

11

scrutiny to discipline for public employees’ work-re-
lated speech would cripple the government’s ability to
manage the workplace, and would convert judges into
personnel managers. But neither of these problems
arises in reviewing laws requiring agency fees, and
there is thus no basis for relaxing scrutiny.

To elaborate: The Pickering cases explain that
“the extra power the government has in this area
comes from the nature of the government’s mission as
employer.” Waters v. Churchill, 511 U.S. 661, 674—75
(1994) (plurality opinion). “Government employers,
like private employers, need a significant degree of
control over their employees’ words and actions.” Gar-
cetti, 547 U.S. at 418. If an employee “who is paid a
salary so that she will contribute to an agency’s effec-
tive operation begins to do or say things that detract
from the agency’s effective operation, the government
employer must have some power to restrain her.” Wa-
ters, 511 U.S. at 675. Otherwise, “there would be little
chance for the efficient provision of public services.”
Garcetti, 547 U.S. at 418.

This rationale, however, does not cover laws com-
pelling public employees to support the political
agenda of an outside advocacy group. A public em-
ployer simply has no “need” to require public servants
to support the inherently political agenda pursued by
public-sector unions’ collective bargaining against the
employer. Nor is there any risk that public servants’
refusal to support the union’s political agenda will
hamper the “effective operation” of the government
workplace. There is, accordingly, no justification for
deferential review in this context.

12

Separately, the Pickering cases explain that more
deferential review is necessary to avoid the “displace-
ment of managerial discretion by judicial supervision.”
Garcetti, 547 U.S. at 423. These cases have cautioned
against “intrusive” “judicial oversight” of the interac-
tions between “government employees and their supe-
riors in the course of official business.” Id.

Again, however, there is no such risk here. This
case involves a general law requiring public servants
to fund the political agenda of outside advocacy groups.
It does not involve any exercise of “managerial discre-
tion” regarding how the workplace is run or how em-
ployees perform their job duties. As a result, this key
justification that underpinned Pickering and Garcetti
is entirely absent here.

This is particularly true because it is not Mark Ja-
nus’ employer, the Department of Healthcare and
Family Services, that has decided to extract fees from
him. It is the Illinois General Assembly that has done
so. There is no more reason to defer to this law than
there is to defer to any other law regulating speech.

In any event, even if Janus’s employer itself had
extracted the fees, this Court’s “duty” to protect the
employee’s right to refrain from supporting a political
cause that he opposes “does not depend upon [its] pos-
session of marked competence in the field where the
invasion of rights occurs.” West Virginia State Board
of Education v.Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 639 (1943). The
Court “act[s] in these matters not by authority of [its]
competence but by force of [its] commissions.” Id. It
should not, “because of modest estimates of [its] com-
petence in such specialties as public [employment],
withhold the judgment that history authenticates as
[its] function ... when liberty is infringed.” Id.

13

3. There is no merit to the claim that this Court’s
decisions require deferential review here because col-
lective bargaining addresses “prosaic” issues rather
than issues of “public concern” (Harris, 134 S. Ct. at
2655 (KAGAN, J., dissenting)). This characterization of
collective bargaining “flies in the face of reality.” Har-
ris, 134 S. Ct. at 2642. Collective bargaining affects
public policy, public services, and the public fisc—all
“matter|s] of great public concern.” Id. at 2643.

More importantly, even assuming the accuracy of
this characterization of collective bargaining, the
“prosaic” character of the union’s speech would not af-
fect the objector’s First Amendment rights. People
have a right not to fund speech they oppose, prosaic or
not. For example, this Court has held that the First
Amendment prohibits compelling people to fund
mushroom advertising. United States v. United Foods,
533 U.S. 405 (2001). If there is a fundamental right
not to fund something as “mundane” as mushroom ad-
vertising, there is also a fundamental right not to fund
collective bargaining. Knox, 567 U.S. at 309.

This is because the nature of the union’s speech
tells us only whether the government may prevent the
union from uttering that speech; it says nothing about
whether the government may force a third party to
subsidize that speech. The “prosaic” nature of the un-
ion’s speech may diminish the First Amendment pro-
tection enjoyed by the union in making that speech,
but it does not diminish the protection enjoyed by pe-
titioner in refusing to fund that speech. Indeed, even
if the union’s collective-bargaining speech were wholly
unprotected, the government would still have no basis
for forcing others to fund it. A State’s choice not to ban
speech that it could constitutionally prohibit hardly

14

provides a rational justification for forcing others to
support that proscribable speech. For example, the
government may prohibit unions from contributing to
political campaigns (FEC v. National Right to Work
Committee, 459 U.S. 197, 208 (1982)), but that hardly
suggests that the government may compel third par-
ties to subsidize a union’s political contributions. Sim-
ilarly, the government may prohibit its employees
from participating in partisan politics (U.S. Civil Ser-
vice Commission v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548, 556
(1973)), but that does not mean that it may compel
third parties to support its employees’ partisan activ-
ities. Thus, petitioner’s right not to fund the union’s
bargaining is coextensive with petitioner’s right to
criticize or to refuse to praise that speech; it is not co-
extensive with the union’s right to engage in that bar-
gaining in the first place.

B. Exacting Review Advances The First
Amendment’s Purposes

The basic purposes of the First Amendment rein-
force all of these points.

First, the First Amendment is “premised on mis-
trust of governmental power.” Citizens United v. FEC,
558 U.S. 310, 340 (2010). It denies government power
to regulate speech, because governments (and allied
interest groups) tend to abuse that power to “coerce
uniformity of sentiment” in society. Barnette, 319 U.S.
at 641. There is a grave danger of such abuse any time
a government decides to require every public servant
to support a given creed as a condition of public em-
ployment. That is obvious from, for example, the
American experience with loyalty oaths during the

15

Red Scare. It is essential to review such speech com-
pulsions rigorously, not deferentially.

Second, the First Amendment secures for society
an “open marketplace in which differing ideas about
political, economic, and social issues can compete
freely for public acceptance without improper govern-
ment interference.” Knox, 567 U.S. at 309. It denies
the government the power to distort that marketplace
by “prohibit[ing] the dissemination of ideas that it dis-
favors” or “compel|[ling] the endorsement of ideas that
it approves.” Jd. A categorical requirement that all
public employees support a given political cause un-
doubtedly distorts this marketplace of ideas. By con-
trast, limiting the speech of government employees in
order to manage their wo lace or ensure their effec-
tive job performance carries no such risk. It therefore
makes sense to review the former far more stringently
than the latter.

Third, the First Amendment also secures for the
individual a “sphere of intellect and spirit” free “from
all official control.” Barnette, 319 U.S. at 642. The
state intrudes upon this sphere when it prevents
someone from “speak[ing] his own mind.“ but it in-
trudes even more seriously when it compells] him to
utter what is not in his mind.” Id. at 634. To be sure,
preventing an individual from expressing his views
impermissibly distorts the marketplace of ideas by ex-
cluding that citizen’s voice. But compulsions to speak
are worse still, because they force the citizen to affirm-
atively contradict his own views, both violating his
conscience and artificially enhancing the voice of the
opposing side. For this reason, “involuntary affirma-
tion could be commanded only on even more immedi-
ate and urgent grounds than silence.” Id. at 633.

16

The school cases illustrate this principle. On the
one hand, public schools have broad power to prohibit
the utterance of a disruptive message, say by disci-
plining a student for unfurling a banner urging drug
use. Morse v. Frederick, 551 U.S. 393, 410 (2007). On
the other hand, public schools lack similar power to
compel the support of a favored message, say by disci-
plining a student for failing to salute the flag. Barnette,
319 U.S. at 642.

The same logic is decisive here. A government em-
ployer intrudes upon its employees’ liberty more seri-
ously when it requires them to support political posi-
tions they do not favor (for example, by forcing them
to pay union fees) than when it restricts their speech
in order to improve workplace functioning and job per-
formance. Such affirmative compulsion therefore in-
herently deserves the most exacting scrutiny in all cir-
cumstances.

C. History Confirms The Propriety Of
Exacting Review

History illustrates the evils of imposing compul-
sory political support as a condition of public employ-
ment. For centuries before the Founding, English rul-
ers tried to secure conformity by requiring public serv-
ants to affirm religious and political beliefs. For exam-
ple:

e The Act of Supremacy required everyone “hav-
ing [the Queen's] Fee or Wagys' to affirm that
Elizabeth I was “the supreme Governour of
this Realme” in both “Spirituall” and Tempo-
rall” matters. 1 Eliz c. 1 (1558).

17

e The City of London Militia Act required mili-
tia officers to denounce the “traiterous posi-
tion” that the people may “take Armes against
the King.” 14 Car. II c. 3 (1662).

e The Act of Uniformity required “every
Publique Professor” to reject “change or alter-
ation of Government ... in Church or State.”
14 Car. II c. 4 (1662).

e The Oaths of Allegiance and Supremacy Act
required anyone “admitted into any Office or
Imployment” to “Abjure” the “Damnable Doc-
trine” that “Princes ... may be Deposed ... by
their Subjects.” 1 Gul. & Mar. c. 8 (1688).

e The Security of the Succession Act required
everyone who received “any Pay, Salary, Fee,
or Wages” from the Crown to profess the legit-
imacy of the Hanoverian succession. 13-14
Gul. III c. 6 (1701).

The framers of our Bill of Rights were familiar
with these abuses, and they abhorred them. For ex-
ample, Noah Webster condemned “test laws, oaths
of ... abjuration, and partial exclusions from civil of-
fices” as instruments of slavery” and “badge{s] of tyr-
anny.” Noah Webster, “On Test Laws, Oaths of Alle-
giance and Abjuration, and Partial Exclusions from
Office,” A Collection of Essays and Fugitiv Writings,
151-53 (1790). Oliver Ellsworth insisted that laws re-
quiring people to “make a public declaration of ... be-
lief ... in order to qualify themselves for public em-
ployments” were “useless, tyrannical, and peculiarly
unfit for the people of this country.” Oliver Ellsworth,
Landholder No. 7 (1787), in Essays on the Constitution
of the United States, Paul Leicester Ford ed., 168-71

18

(1892). And Thomas Jefferson wrote that “proscribing
any citizen as unworthy the public confidence, by lay-
ing upon him an incapacity of being called to offices of
trust and emolument, unless he profess ... this or
that ... opinion, is depriving him injuriously of those
privileges and advantages, to which, in common with
his fellow citizens, he has a natural right.” Virginia
Statute for Religious Freedom (1786).

This history forecloses the theory that the govern-
ment may require people to support a political or ide-
ological cause simply because it happens to be their
employer. To the contrary, English history shows that
such requirements are rife with potential for abuse,
and American history shows that the founding gener-
ation would not have tolerated them. It thus makes no
difference that agency-fee requirements are enforced
through employment sanctions; exacting scrutiny still
applies.

II. Compulsory Agency Fees Are Unjustifiable
On Any Standard Of Review

Regardless of whether this Court engages in ex-
acting or deferential review, the government bears the
burden of identifying a good reason for forcing objec-
tors to fund the political agenda of an outside advo-
cacy group such as a public-sector union. Defenders of
Abood have identified two justifications for this prac-
tice: (1) promoting “labor peace” and (2) preventing
“free riding.” Neither of these interests, however, can
justify the extraordinary step of compelling political
speech—on any standard of review. We show why that
is so below, drawing on empirical information that we
have uncovered during discovery in Yohn v. California
Teachers Association.

19

A. “Labor Peace” Does Not Justify
Compulsory Union Fees

Defenders of Abood claim that compelled agency
fees promote “labor peace” by helping the state avoid
“the confusion and conflict that could arise if rival ...
unions, holding quite different views, ... e ch sought
to” represent employees during collective bargaining.
Abood, 431 U.S. at 224.

But this argument is a non sequitur. The state’s
interest in avoiding a multiplicity of unions justifies
(at most) the proposition that there should be only one
union. It does nut justify the entirely different propo-
sition that objectors should be forced to subsidize the
speech of that one union. Put simply, “a union’s status
as exclusive bargaining agent and the right to collect
an agency fee from nonmembers are not inextricably
linked.” Harris, 134 S. Ct. at 2640.

In an effort to show why the state’s interest in
having a single union justifies compelled agency fees,
defenders of Abood have argued that the single union
would become insolvent without the funding provided
by such fees. This argument is mistaken.

First, Abood’s defenders bear the burden of sup-
porting their claims with evidence, since “mere specu-
lation” cannot justify limiting speech. United States v.
NTEU, 513 U.S. 454, 473 (1995). Yet public-sector un-
ions have never offered any empirical evidence that
they will wither away without compulsory fees.

The Yohn lawsuit currently pending in California
confirms this point. In that case, we asked the unions
whether loss of compulsory fees really would make
them insolvent or preclude them from serving effec-

20

tively as exclusive bargaining representatives. In re-
sponse, the unions never asserted (much less provided
any evidence) that any such result would occur. They
instead said that, if Abood falls, “some number” of
workers will refuse to pay dues and that this number
“may” be “substantial.” NEA Response to Interroga-
tory No. 13. They made no effort to quantify this short-
fall or to suggest that it would impede them from ef-
fectively representing employees.

This is nothing new. Public-sector unions had a
chance in Harris to show that “the cited benefits” of
exclusive bargaining “could not have been achieved if
the union had been required to depend for funding on
the dues paid by those ... who chose to join.” 134 S. Ct.
at 2641. They had the same chance again in Frie-
drichs. They had the same chance once more in Yohn,
and once more after that in this case. Each time, how-
ever, “no such showing has been made.” Id. at 2641.
That speaks volumes.

Second, experience refutes the unions’ claims. The
Federal Government and most states already allow
emp!,ees to decide for themselves whether to pay un-
ion fees. Yet despite the inability to extract fees from
dissenters, public-sector unions remain vibrant at the
federal level and in all such states.

Experience also shows that nonmember fee-pay-
ers constitute only a tiny fraction of the people who
financially support public-sector unions. For example,
we learned in Yohn that, in 2016-17, the National Ed-
ucation Association received fees from 3 million mem-
bers, but only 90,000 nonmembers (or 3 percent of the
total number of workers). NEA Response to Interrog-
atory No. 16. In the same period, the California Teach-
ers Association collected fees from around 315,000

21

members, but only 25,000 nonmembers (or 7 percent
of the total). CTA Response to Interrogatory No. 18.
The loss of fees from such a miniscule part of the work-
force will not imperil unions’ continued existence.

Indeed, even if there were a massive increase in
the number of nonmembers, and even if all of these
nonmembers decide not to pay fees, unions could still
continue to do their jobs effectively. After all, at the
federal level, around two-thirds of covered employees
pay no union dues. Harris, 134 S. Ct. at 2657 n.7 (KA.
GAN, J., dissenting). But public-sector unions ably rep-
resent their federal bargaining units.

Unions could in all events make up for any short-
fall by redirecting funds from express political activity
to collective bargaining. Unions spend vast sums on
campaigning; just consider the $12 million that the
union in Knox budgeted to “fight back” against a Re-
publican governor's effort to limit the union’s ability
to extract coercive fees. 567 U.S. at 306. Unions can
more than make up for the loss of compulsory fees by
spending less money at the polling place and more
money at the workplace.

Third, common sense likewise belies any claim
that public-sector unions will collapse unless propped
up by compulsory fees. If public-sector workers really
consider unions’ agenda and services beneficial and
worthy of support, it stands to reason that “a high per-
centage” of public-sector workers would “bec[ome] un-
ion members and willingly pay union dues.” Harris,
134 S. Ct. at 2641. That suffices to keep the union sol-
vent. There is no need (and thus no justification) for
the further step of extracting compulsory fees from
those who oppose the unions.

22

Ultimately, what the unions really seem to fear is
not that the loss of agency fees will hamper their pro-
vision of services, but, instead, that it will spur debate
about the value of those services. In Yohn, the unions
speculated that “dark-money groups” will “attempt to
persuade” employees to quit unions and to refuse to
pay dues. NEA Response to Interrogatory No. 14.

Under the First Amendment, however, more de-
bate is a good to be welcomed, not an evil to be
avoided. Perhaps outside groups will indeed try to per-
suade employees to stop paying dues, but unions re-
main free to respond to such speech with more speech
of their own. If unions really do achieve all the bene-
fits they claim to achieve, they should have little trou-
ble persuading workers to continue supporting them.
Regardless, a government cannot justify compulsory
subsidization of unions on the grounds that it wishes
to avoid public debate about the value of those unions.

B. Concerns About “Free Riding” Do Not
Justify Compulsory Union Fees

1. Defenders of Abood have also claimed that
states may force dissenters to pay dues in order to pre-
vent the dissenters from “free riding” on the union’s
efforts. But this rationale, too, is wrong.

“Free-rider arguments ... are generally insuffi-
cient to overcome First Amendment objections.” Knox,
567 U.S. at 311. Lots of groups provide benefits for
people who are not members, but it does not follow
that the government may coerce the beneficiaries to
subsidize the groups’ activities. For example, the Gov-
ernment may not force hikers to fund the Sierra Club,
businesses to fund the Chamber of Commerce, or doc-
tors to fund the American Medical Association, even

23

though they might well benefit from these organiza-
tions’ activities. So too, the Government may not force
objecting employees to fund a public-sector union, re-
gardless of whether the employees benefit from the
union’s activities.

Indeed, the free-rider rationale is far weaker in
this setting than it is elsewhere. No law compels un-
ions to represent nonmembers; unions may engage in
“members only” bargaining. Consolidated Edison Co.
v. NLRB, 305 U.S. 197, 236 (1938). Unions consciously
choose to represent nonmembers in exchange for
recognition as exclusive barga ning representatives.
This recognition subjects the nonmembers to the un-
ions’ control, depriving them of their right to negotiate
independently with their employer and forcing them
to adhere to the employment policies that the unions
want included in the collective bargaining agreement.

It is thus Orwellian to describe the objectors here
as “free riders.” As JUSTICE KENNEDY aptly put it, it
would be more accurate to describe the objectors as
“compelled riders for issues on which they strongly
disagree.” Transcript of Oral Argument 45, Friedrichs
v. California Teachers Association, 136 S. Ct. 1085
(2016) (No. 14-915). The government’s decision to
force a nonmember to live by union policies to which
he objects hardly justifies the additional restriction of
forcing him to subsidize the negotiation of those poli-
cies.

2. Abood’s defenders have nonetheless claimed
that the free-rider rationale uniquely permits compul-
sion to speak here, because the exclusive bargaining
representative has a duty to represent nonmembers.
Where the government requires a union to provide
services to nonmembers (the theory goes), it may also

24

require the nonmembers to pay the cost. This ra-
tionale is incorrect for a number of reasons.

There is, again, no duty to represent nonmembers:
No law requires any union to represent workers that
it does not want to represent. Public-sector unions
have voluntarily assumed this “duty” in exchange for
the power of exclusive representation.

Indeed, the “duty” of nondiscrimination is an es-
sential limitation on the unions’ voluntarily assumed
power to control nonmembers’ employment conditions.
Having insisted on exclusive authority to negotiate on
behalf of members and nonmembers alike, the union
cannot reasonably insist that it should also be allowed
to discriminate against those nonmembers.

In fact, such an inequitable arrangement—in
which a union gets fiduciary powers over nonmembers
but owes no fiduciary duties to them—would raise
grave constitutional concerns. In Steele v. Louisville &
Nashville Railroad, 323 U.S. 192 (1944), the Court ex-
plained that an exclusive representative “is clothed
with power not unlike that of a legislature,” and so has
“an affirmative constitutional duty” to refrain from
discriminatlingl against ... those for whom it legis-
lates.” Id. at 198. “Constitutional questions arise” if a
statute gives a union exclusive authority to speak on
behalf of a worker, yet “without any commensurate
statutory duty” to refrain from discriminating against
that worker. Id.

Unions are not entitled to compensation for ful-
filling this duty. Refraining from discrimination
against nonmembers, such as the black employees in
Steele, is not a favor that burdens the union; it is, in-

25

stead, the nonmembers’ constitutional due. In none-
theless insisting on payment for refraining from dis-
crimination, a union in effect says to the objector:
“Even though you disagree with all of our policies,
we've made sure that only our union can represent
you during your negotiations with your employer.
Now pay up, because if you don’t, we'll use our power
to see that you get paid less than everybody else.” This
kind of claim—which resembles a demand for protec-
tion money—can hardly justify abridging the non-
members’ speech rights.

Underscoring these points, the nondiscrimina-
tion duty imposes no meaningful burden on unions
and provides no meaningful benefit to nonmembers.
The duty does not require unions to advocate for the
views held by nonmembers. It does not even require
them to consider the views of nonmembers. To the con-
trary, unions remain free to strike bargains that ele-
vate their own policies over those of nonmembers. The
union need only refrain from making agreements that
discriminate on their face against nonmembers.

Our experience in YoAn illustrates these points.
During discovery, we asked the defendant unions to
identify all instances in which they had even con-
sulted with a nonmember about the terms of the col-
lective bargaining agreement. In response, they
acknowledged that they had never “undertaken any
poll, survey, or other formal outreach” seeking the
opinions of nonmembers. NEA Response to Interroga-
tory No. 10. More generally, they could not identify a
single dollar they had spent because of the “nondis-
crimination duty,” since they dſo] not maintain rec-
ords that track or report the total amount or percent-

26

age of funds” they spend “in connection with repre-
senting nonmembers.” CTA Response to Interrogatory
No. 11.

What is more, the “burden” of nondiscrimination
is so trivial and commonplace that advocacy groups
(even unions) already voluntarily refrain from dis-
criminating. The AMA and AARP do not seek higher
Medicare payments to members than to nonmembers.
Unions lobbying state legislatures (a context in which
there is no nondiscrimination duty) do not seek
higher statutory overtime rates for members than for
nonmembers. The reality that unions and other
groups voluntarily refrain from discriminatory advo-
cacy vividly demonstrates both that the “duty” to do
so imposes no meaningful burden and that such non-
discrimination does not distinguish unions from other
advocacy organize tions. The “duty” thus cannot ex-
plain why unions should be allowed to extract fees
from “free riders,” when no other advocacy group can.

3. Perhaps recognizing that the nondiscrimina-
tion duty has no effect on collective-bargaining nego-
tiations, defenders of Abood have claimed that their
obligation to handle the grievances of nonmembers
entitles them to fees. Not true.

To begin with, grievance representation in fact
helps the union rather than the objector. This repre-
sentation gives the union control over the grievance
process: The union gets to decide which grievances to
press, and in doing so it may subordinatſe]l' the in-
terests of the individual” nonmember to “the collective
interests” of the bargaining unit. Alexander v. Gard-
ner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 58 n.19 (1974). Mean-
while, grievance representation has little value for the

27

nonmember. Such representation only covers griev-
ances under the collective bargaining agreement—the
very thing the dissenting nonmember may find objec-
tionable. A State may not require a nonmember to pay
a union to help him enforce a provision that he does
not agree with in the first place.

In all events, any restriction of speech must be
“carefully tailored” to the government’s interests.
Knox, 567 U.S. at 313. But nobody suggests that
states have carefully tailored agency fees to grievance
handling. Quite the contrary, the costs of grievance
representation represent at most a tiny percentage of
the total agency fee. Indeed, in Yohn, the unions could
not even say if they had spent any money on “repre-
senting nonmembers ... in grievance proceedings.”
CTA Response to Interrogatory No. 11. Asking griev-
ance representation to support the compelled agency
fee is thus like asking a Lilliputian to support Gulliver.

III. If The Court Overrules Abood, It Should Also
Clarify That Unions May Collect Fees From
Nonmembers Only With Their Affirmative
Consent

1. If this Court decides to overrule Abood, it
should also clarify what procedures unions must fol-
low when collecting fees from nonmembers. Doing so
is a practical necessity.

In Teachers v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986), this
Court set out the procedures that unions must follow
if they wish to collect ordinary annual assessments.
Each year, the union tallies up its “chargeable” ex-
penses (expenses related to collective bargaining) and
its “non-chargeable expenses” (expenses related to lob-
bying). The union then sends nonmembers a “Hudson

28

notice,” instructing them to pay the “chargeable” por-
tion of the fee and inviting them to pay the “non-
chargeable” portion. Id. at 304—09.

If the Court overrules Abood, however, the Hud-
son procedure will become defunct. There will no
longer be a distinction between “chargeable” and “non-
chargeable” expenses; in effect, all expenses will be
non-chargeable.

Consequently, Unions and nonmembers alike
need guidance about what will take Hudson’s place.
Both of these groups need to know what rules unions
must follow going forward when collecting agency
fees. Providing guidance on this point would accord
with the principle that this Court has a “responsibil-
ity” to avoid “halfway decisions,” and that its opinions
should address the “operational question” of how its
rulings should “apply in practice.” Maslenjak v. United
States, 137 S. Ct. 1918, 1927 n.4 (2017).

2. The question of what rule should take Abood s
and Hudson’s place is easy to answer. Like any other
political advocacy group, a public-sector union may
collect donations from nonmembers only by their af-
firmative consent. Just as a state cannot require em-
ployees to “opt out” of donating money to the Demo-
cratic or Republican parties, neither can it do so for
public-sector unions.

This Court has already held that a union’s use of
an opt-out rather than an opt-in scheme for collecting
fees is, itself, “a substantial impingement on First
Amendment rights.” Knox, 567 U.S. at 317. Rightly so.
First, opt-out regimes subject nonmembers to “the
burden” of opting out of making payments to which

29

they object. Id. at 312. In practice, this burden will of-
ten be severe, since a union will have an incentive to
make it as difficult as possible for someone to refuse
to fund its activities. Second, opt-out regimes distort
the marketplace of ideas. “An opt-out system creates
a risk that the fees paid by nonmembers will be used
to further political and ideological ends with which
they do not agree.” Id. After all, as modern social sci-
ence demonstrates, “people have a strong tendency to
go along with the status quo or default option.” Rich-
ard H. Thaler & Cass R. Sunstein, Nudge 8 (2008).
Opt-out regimes thus allow governments to exploit in-
ertia and ignorance in order to promote their pre-
ferred ideas. Third, opt-out regimes contradict the
principle that courts “do not presume the acquies-
cence in the loss of fundamental rights.” Knox, 567
U.S. at 316.

As a result, an opt-out requirement—like any
other “impingement” on freedom of speech—complies
with the First Amendment only if it survives exacting
scrutiny. Or, as the Court put it in Knox and Hudson,
“any procedure for exacting fees from unwilling con-
tributors must be ‘carefully tailored to minimize the
infringement of free speech rights.” Knox, 567 U.S. at
313 (quoting Hudson, 475 U.S. at 303).

Opt-out requirements cannot satisfy this test. In
Yohn, we asked the unions whether they could come
up with any justification for a default rule under
which every nonmember presumptively subsidizes
unions. The unions first asserted that an opt-out re-
gime “reduces administrative burdens for unions.”
CTA Response to Interrogatory No. 17. But this justi-
fication is plainly inadequate. For one thing, the un-
ions have not even attempted to describe in general

30

terms what sort of unidentified “administrative bur-
dens” an opt-in regime would purportedly impose. And
it is not obvious what these administrative burdens
would be. Either way, unions would have to send non-
members forms notifying them of their rights; either
way, unions would have to review the responses before
deducting any dues from the nonmembers’ paychecks.
In any event, “the First Amendment does not permit
the State to sacrifice speech for ef* ~iency.” Riley v. Na-
tional Federation of the Blind, 487 U.S. 781, 795
(1988). Even if an opt-out system were more efficient
than an opt-in system, the government still would
have no authority to adopt it.

The unions in bonn also claimed that an opt-out
regime “comport(s] with the preferences of most work-
ers.” CTA Response to Interrogatory No. 17. This
wholly unsupported claim defies common sense. As
this Court has already recognized, “the probable pref-
erenc[e] of most nonmembers” is to withhold fees, not
to pay them. Knox, 567 U.S. at 312. After all, it is
“likely that most employees who choose not to join the
union that represents their bargaining unit prefer not
to pay the full amount of union dues.” Id. In sum, un-
ions have come up with no cognizable justification at
all for an opt-out requirement.

More generally, it is obvious that requiring em-
ployees to “opt-out” of subsidizing political activity is
inherently unconstitutional. Otherwise, a State could
establish a default rule that one percent of every pub-
lic employee’s wages goes to the Democratic Party, re-
quiring employees to check a box on a form in order to
avoid that deduction. All would agree, however, that
such a scheme violates the First Amendment. Just as
the First Amendment requires an opt-in regime for

31

contributions to political parties, so too it requires an
opt-in regime for contributions to unions. Nothing else
would “avoid the risk” that dissenters’ funds will be
used “to finance ideological activities.” Jd. at 312.

It is true that the Court has previously given im-
plicit approval to opt-out regimes like California’s.
But those earlier cases “have given surprisingly little
attention to this distinction.” Id. Rather, “acceptance
of the opt-out approach appears to have come about
more as a historical accident than through the careful
application of First Amendment principles.” Id. This
Court has never directly decided whether the First
Amendment requires that public employees opt into
subsidizing nonchargeable speech. It is therefore free
to vindicate the important First Amendment interests
at stake in setting the default rule without reconsid-
ering any prior decisions. It should do so now.

3. Finally, an opinion squarely clarifying that
only truly voluntary, “opt-in” fees are permitted will
help ensure that the Court’s ruling does not become a
dead letter. Public-sector unions have been known to
resort to “aggressive” and even “indefensible” ploys to
“collect fees from nonmembers.” Id. at 314. There is
every danger that, unless checked by this Court, they
will engage in such ploys to circumvent the Court’s de-
cision in this case.

To take one example, consider one public-sector
union’s efforts to evade this Court’s decision in Harris
v. Quinn. After the Court decided in that case that
states may not compel homecare providers to pay
agency fees, one union in Washington unilaterally de-
clared every homecare provider in the State to be one
of its members by default. Fisk v. Inslee, No. 16-5889,
Order 2—4 (WD Wash. Oct. 16, 2017). Having done so,

32

it proceeded to collect full dues from these new “mem-
bers”—even though previously, when these homecare
providers were nonmembers, it could collect only a
portion of the dues, representing chargeable expenses.
Id. Making matters worse, a federal district court
then blessed this procedure as lawful. Id. at 5.

To take another example, consider reports that a
public-sector teachers’ union in Minnesota has al-
ready prepared a new dues form “in anticipation of Ja-
nus.” This form “says that the union is authorized to
deduct dues from the teachers’ paychecks.” The form
“also includes the following fine print”:

This authorization shall remain in effect and

shall be automatically renewed from year to

year, irrespective of my membership in the un-
ion, unless I revoke it by submitting written
notice to both my employer and the local union
during the seven-day period that begins on

September 24 and ends on September 30.

Kim Crockett, “Unions Act as if They've Already Lost,
Wall Street Journal (Oct. 2, 2017) (emphasis added).

If this Court overturns Abood, it should not leave

the door open to such evasions.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-
versed.

DECEMBER 6, 2017

TERENCE J. PELL
MICHAEL E. ROSMAN
CENTER FOR
INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS
1100 Connecticut Ave.
NW

Suite 625

Washington, DC 20036
(202) 833-8400

PAUL B. GREEN
JONES DAY

3161 Michelson Drive
Suite 800

Irvine, CA 92612
(949) 851-3939

33

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL A. CARVIN
Counsel of Record

ANTHONY J. DICK

WILLIAM D. COGLIANESE

VIVEK SUR

JONES DAY

51 Louisiana e., NW

Washington, DC 20001

(202) 879-3939

macarvin@jonesday.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0755%3A35. Public record. Not legal advice.
