# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ohio v. Am. Express Co., 138 S. Ct. 355 (2017) (No. 16-1454)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0754%3A33

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

No. 16-1454

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

STATE OF OHIO, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.
AMERICAN EXPRESS COMPANY, et al.,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF NEW YORK, ALASKA,
CALIFORNIA, DELAWARE, HAWAI‘1, INDIANA, KENTUCKY,
MAINE, MASSACHUSETTS, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI,
NEW MEXICO, NORTH CAROLINA, OREGON,
PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, WASHINGTON,
AND WISCONSIN, AND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA,
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ERIC T. SCHNEIDERMAN
Attorney General
State of New York
BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD*

Solicitor General
BEAU W. BUFFIER STEVEN C. WU
Bureau Chief Deputy Solicitor General
ELINOR R. HOFFMANN JUDITH N. VALE
Deputy Bureau Chief Senior Assistant
JEREMY R. KASHA Solicitor General
Assistant Attorney General 120 Broadway
Antitrust Bureau New York, NY 10271
(212) 416-8020
barbara. underwood@ag ny gov
*Counsel of Record

(Addit ional counsel listed on signature page)

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Section 1 of the Sherman Act prohibits
unreasonable restraints of trade. The petitioner
States and the United States (together, the
government“) allege that respondent American
Express Company (“Amex”) violated § 1 through anti-
steering rules, which prohibit merchants from
encouraging Amex cardholders to use different, lower-
fee credit cards. Applying the rule of reason, the
district court held that the government had proven a
prima facie violation by establishing that the anti-
steering rules imposed anticompetitive effects (such as
a price increase) on merchants. On appeal, the Second
Circuit reversed, holding that to prove a prima facie
violation the government had to show not only
anticompetitive effects on the merchant side but also
insufficient procompetitive benefits on the cardholder
side. The question presented is:

Under the rule of reason, did the district
court's finding that Amex’s anti-steering
provisions stifled price competition on the
merchant side of Amex’s credit-card platform
suffice to prove anticompetitive effects and
thereby shift to Amex the burden of
establishing any procompetitive benefits from
the anti-steering rules?

ul

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE . . 1
s. adieanninansbokaamnesindatiodiniations 3
JJ rr 4

B. The Government's Antitrust Complaint
GEER SS AA—A————— eC 6
C. The District Court’s Opinion 7
D. The Second Circuit’s Opinion 12
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT . eee 13
ET dicniaetbichcmtdincsetsditnincreninhsentsensetsbmcsienens 17

I. The Traditional “Reasonable
Interchangeability” Rule for Market
Definition Applies to Two-Sided Platforms...... 17

A. The Services That Amex Sells to
Merchants Are a Separate Market from
the Services It Sells to Cardholders. s 17

B. Limiting the Relevant Market to One
Side of a Platform Does Not Preclude
Consideration of Impacts on the Other
. III ccccsnacssesnecsnsceccesuseoncones 18

1. The relevant market is one side of the
platform, but the court may consider
the competitive effects on that market
caused by a restraint’s effects on the
other side of the platform 20

2. Courts should not consider a
restraint’s asserted benefit on the
other side of a platform unless it
causes a procompetitive effect in the
EXE 22

iii
Page

ILA Plaintiff Satisfies Its Prima Facie Burden
by Demonstrating an Anticompetitive
Effect—Such as a Price Increase—on One
Side of a Two-Sided Platform 27

A. A Plaintiff Should Not Be Required to
Predict and Disprove All Possible
Procompetitive Benefits to Satisfy Its
Prima Facie Burden of Demonstrating an
Anticompetitive Effect 28

B. Maintaining the Proper Assignment of
Burdens Ensures That Potentially
Procompetitive Conduct Is Not Chilled by
Antitrust Enforcement Efforts. .................. 32

— c —j—ç— — 34

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page(s)
Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544 (2007)...... 31
Board of Trade of Chicago v. United States, 246

Gee ree ee 20
California Dental Ass’n v. FTC, 526 U.S. 756

EEA 7,28,31,33
Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Tech. Servs., Inc.,

II 19
Federal Trade Commission b. Actavis, Inc., 133

N. CC 29
Federal Trade Commission v. Indiana Fed n of

Dentists, 476 U.S. 447 (1986) . . 7
Geneva Pharm. Tech. Corp. v. Barr Labs. Inc.,

386 F.3d 485 (2d Cir. 2004) ees 7
Leegin Creative Leather Prods., Inc. v. PSKS,

pm! 8S Fok, eee 20,28

National Collegiate Athletic Ass’n v. Board of
Regents of the Univ. of Okla., 468 U.S. 85

c 7,28, 29,30
National Soc y of Pro Engers v. United States,

II . 20,23
Times-Picayune Publ’g Co. b. United States, 345

Deer 24
United States v. Charlotte- Mecklenburg Hosp.

Auth., 248 F. Supp. 3d 720 (W. D. N. C. 2017) 27
United States v. E.. du Pont de Nemours & Co.,

III 17
United States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563

dd 17

— . 17,21

Page(s)
United States v. Topco Assocs. Inc., 405 U.S. 596
1 25,26
United States v. Visa U.S.A., Inc., 163 F. Supp.
e 23
United States v. Visa CU. S. A., Inc., 344 F. 3d 229
e 18

Miscellaneous Authorities

Areeda, Phillip E. & Herbert Hovenkamp,
Antitrust Law: An Analysis of Antitrust
Principles and Their Application vol. 7 (3d ed.
e 8.31.32
Areeda, Phillip E., Herbert Hovenkamp & John
L. Solow, Antitrust Law: An Analysis of
Antitrust Principles and Their Application

EE 17
Armstrong, Mark, Competition in Two-Sided
Markets, 37 RAND J. of Econ. 669 (2006)............. 4

Carlton, Dennis W., & Alan S. Frankel,
Transaction Costs, Externalities, and “Two-
Sided” Payment Markets, 2005 Colum. Bus. L.
e 24

Delegation of the U.S. to the Competition
Committee, Roundtable on Two-Sided
Markets: Note by the Delegation of the United
States, OECD No. DAF/COMP/W1(2009)68
(2009), at https://www.ftc.gov/sites/default/
files/attachments/us-submissions-oecd-and-
other-international-competition-fora/
roundtabletwosided. pd 4.5.24

vi

Page(s)

Filistrucchi, Lapo, Damien Geradin & Eric van
Damme, Identifying Two-Sided Markets
(Tilburg Univ., TILEC Discussion Paper No.
2012-008 2012), at
http://ssrn.com/abstract=200866 1 .................. 24,25

Hesse, Renata B., & Joshua H. Soven, Defining
Relevant Product Markets in Electronic
Payment Network Antitrust Cases, 73
. 18

Hovenkamp, Herbert, The Rule of Reason (Univ.
of Penn. Law Sch. Inst. for Law and Econ.,
Research Paper No. 17-28 2017), at
http://ssrn.com/abstract=28859 16 ........ 28,29,31,33

N.Y. Att'y Gen., Press Release, A.G.
Schneiderman Announces Multi-State
Settlement with NFL Permanently Barring
League-Wide Mandatory Ticket Price Floor
(Nov. 15, 2016), at https://ag.ny.gov/press-
release/ag-schneiderman-announces-multi-
state-settlement-nfl-permanently-barring-
—T—T—TT—T—T—T—————— 5 1

N. V. Att'y Gen., Press Release, A. G.
Schneiderman Announces Settlement with
Nation’s Largest Mall Operator To Stop
Anticompetitive Tactics at Woodbury
Common Outlet Center (Aug. 21, 2017), at
https://ag.ny.gov/press-release/ag-
schneiderman-announces-settlement-nations-
largest -mall- operator - sto 2
Rochet, Jean-Charles, & Jean Tirole, Platform
Competition in Two-Sided Markets, 1 J. Eur.
1 ccc 5,6

vii

Page(s)
Rochet, Jean-Charles, & Jean Tirole, Two-Sided
Markets: A Progress Report, 37 RAND J. of

Rysman, Marc, The Economics of Two-Sided

— — 4-6,24

Werden, Gregory J., Antitrust’s Rule of Reason:
Only Competition Matters, 79 Antitrust L.A.
PE —ↄ—I—I—:, — ̃— 28

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

This appeal raises important legal questions about
how to apply the rule of reason to alleged anticompe-
titive conduct involving a “two-sided” platform—..e.,
an intermediary that brings together two distinct
groups of its customers to interact with each other.
Amici States of New York, Alaska, California,
Delaware, Hawai'i, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine,
Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico,
North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South
Carolina, Washington, Wisconsin, and the District of
Columbia have a direct interest in ensuring that they
may continue to effectively enforce antitrust laws to
preserve vigorous competition in industries that may
involve two-sided (or multisided) platforms.

The States have been increasingly active in
enforcing the antitrust laws in sectors that may
involve two-sided platforms, which have become more
common with the rise of computer technology and the
internet. For example, New York, Florida, Massachu-
setts, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and the District of
Columbia entered into a settlement with the National
Football League resolving antitrust claims arising
from the NFL’s policy of requiring all teams to impose
a price floor on secondary tickets sold over NFL-
sanctioned ticket-exchange websites—two-sided plat-
forms that unite ticket buyers with ticket owners who
want to resell their tickets.“ And New York recently

|! N.Y. Att'y Gen. Press Release, AG. Schneiderman
Announces Multi-State Settlement with NFL Permanently
Barring League-Wide Mandatory Ticket Price Floor (Nov. 15,
2016) (internet). (For sources available on the internet, URLs are
listed in the table of authorities.)

2

entered into a settlement with Simon Property Group,
the operator of an outlet center that connects retailers
and shoppers, to prohibit Simon from using its
contracts to restrict retailers from opening a nearby
store—an anticompetitive restraint that thwarted the
development of competing outlet stores.”

Amici States recognize that the economics of two-
sided platforms may differ from the economics of
traditional buyer-seller relationships, and that such
economic differences should be properly taken into
account in any application of traditional antitrust
principles. But the court of appeals erred here in its
approach to two-sided platforms, distorting bedrock
antitrust law based on the mistaken belief that it was
required to do so to account for the interdependent
nature of the two sides of the platform at issue—a
credit-card network that connects merchants and
cardholders. First, the court of appeals erroneously
defined the relevant market as the entire platform,
combining into a single market the services Amex sells
to merchants and the services Amex sells to card-
holders—even though the well-established law on
market definition would deem these two types of
services to be in separate markets. Second, the court
of appeals incorrectly required the government to
demonstrate a net anticompetitive effect across the
entire platform at the prima facie stage, rather than
an anticompetitive effect (such as a price increase) on
just one side of the platform.

2 N.Y. Att'y Gen., Press Release, AG. Schneiderman
Announces Settlement with Nations Largest Mall Operator To
Stop Anticompetitive Tactics at Woodbury Common Outlet
Center (Aug. 21, 2017) (internet).

3

These holdings threaten to undermine amici
States’ antitrust enforcement efforts by placing an
unwarranted burden on plaintiffs seeking to challenge
unreasonable restraints in industries that may involve
two-sided platforms, such as the credit-card industry.
Contrary to the court of appeals’ reasoning below,
well-established antitrust doctrines involving market
definition and burden shifting fully account for the
distinct economics of two-sided platforms and the
different ways in which firms operating two-sided (or
multisided) platforms may compete. The amici States
have a substantial interest in establishing the correct
principles for analyzing unreasonable restraints of
trade, in order to prevent disruption to their antitrust
enforcement efforts.

STATEMENT

In this antitrust enforcement action, the United
States and several States (together, the government“)
alleged that respondents American Express Company
and American Express Travel Related Services
Company (“Amex”) violated federal antitrust law by
contractually barring merchants that accept Amex
credit cards from encouraging their customers to use
a different credit card that is less expensive for the
merchants to accept. After a bench trial, the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of New
York (Garaufis, J.) held Amex liable for unreasonably
restraining trade in violation of § 1 of the Sherman
Act. On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit reversed and entered judgment for
Amex.

4

A. Two-Sided Platforms

By connecting merchants and cardholders to
complete financial transactions, Amex operates a
business that economists call a “two-sided platform.”
See Jean-Charles Rochet & Jean Tirole, Two-Sided
Markets: A Progress Report (“Progress Report’), 37
RAND J. of Econ. 645, 645-46 (2006).* Although many
firms act as intermediaries between other businesses
and customers, a distinct feature of two-sided
platforms is that they connect two different groups of
the firm’s own customers and facilitate an interaction
between them. See Delegation of the U.S. to the
Competition Committee, Roundtable on Two-Sided
Markets: Note by the Delegation of the United States
(U.S. Roundtable Note”), at 2, OECD No.
DAF/COMP/WD(2009)68 (2009).

The manner in which the two sides of a platform
interact may depend on the specific customer groups
and businesses involved in each platform. But many
two-sided platforms share certain common features.
In particular, although the two groups of customers
often purchase different products at different prices
from the firm operating the platform, the value that
each customer group derives from the platform may
depend on the other group’s usage of the platform. See
id.; see also Progress Report, supra, at 645-67. With
respect to credit-card platforms, for example, a credit
card is more valuable to a retail customer when more
merchants accept that card at their stores. In turn, a
credit-card network is more valuable to merchants

See also Marc Rysman, The Economics of Two-Sided
Markets, 23 J. of Econ. Perspectives 125 (2009); Mark Armstrong,
Competition in Two-Sided Markets, 37 RAND J. of Econ. 669
(2006).

5

when more retail customers use that card to make
purchases. See U.S. Roundtable Note, supra, at 2.

When the value that each customer group
derives from a two-sided platform is interconnected in
this manner, the company operating the platform may
need to obtain and retain sufficient numbers of
customers on each side of the platform to ensure that
the platform functions effectively. Jean-Charles
Rochet & Jean Tirole, Platform Competition in Two-
Sided Markets, 1 J. Eur. Econ. Ass’n 990, 990 (2003).
For example, if too few merchants accept a credit-card
company’s card, consumers would likely have little
incentive to use that card. And if hardly any
consumers use a specific credit card, merchants would
likely have little incentive to accept that card brand.
To solve this problem, where one group of customers
is more difficult to attract than the other group, the
platform may structure its pricing to account for this
difference. U.S. Roundtable Note, supra, at 2-3. For
example, a shopping mall charges retailers rent to
access the mall but likely allows shoppers to enter
without charge. Credit-card companies have likewise
long charged merchants higher prices for using credit-
card services than are charged to cardholders, who
may pay an annual card fee but usually pay no
transaction fees and may even pay negative prices if
they receive rewards from using a card. See id. at 3.
Pricing thus may look “unusual in two-sided markets”
because pricing on “one side of the market depends not
only on the demand and costs that those consumers
bring but also on how their participation affects
participation” and pricing on the other side of the
platform. Rysman, supra, at 129. Moreover, pricing is
not the only competitive factor that may differ in two-
sided markets because strategies for “innovation,

6

advertising, and quality investment can also take on
added dimensions in a two-sided market.” Id. at 135.

B. The Government’s Antitrust Complaint
Against Amex

In this case, the government alleges that Amex
illegally stifled competition on the merchant side of its
credit-card platform—also known as the “network-
services market” or the “merchant-services market.”
The government challenged Amex’s “anti-steering
rules,” which are private contractual provisions that
bar merchants that accept Amex cards from
encouraging their customers to use a different credit
card. (Pet. App. 66a-68a.) Amex’s anti-steering rules
thus prohibit a merchant from indicating that it
prefers another credit card or from offering consumers
an incentive (such as a price discount) to use a
different credit card. For example, the rules preclude
a merchant from telling a customer that it “prefers
Visa”; providing a discount to customers who use
Discover cards; or posting a sign displaying the fees it
pays to use each credit-card network. (Pet. App. 95a-
96a, 100a.) Absent the anti-steering rules, a merchant
might want to encourage its customers to use a non-
Amex card brand because Amex often charges mer-
chants higher fees than other credit-card companies

charge. (Pet. App. 68a.)

The government alleged that the anti-steering
rules caused actual anticompetitive effects in the
merchant-services market by essentially eliminating
the credit-card companies’ incentives to compete for
merchants. (See Pet. App. 68a.) For example, the
government alleged that the anti-steering rules had
raised merchant fees above competitive levels,
prevented credit-card companies from offering lower

7

merchant fees, and stifled innovation. (See Pet. App.
196a-197a, 203a, 212a-214a.)

C. The District Court’s Opinion

Amex’s anti-steering rules are a form of restraint
that is analyzed for antitrust purposes under the rule
of reason. Courts follow a four-step burden-shifting
framework to apply the rule of reason. First, the
plaintiff has the initial burden to make a prima facie
showing that the challenged restraint is anticompeti-
tive in the relevant market.‘ See National Collegiate
Athletic Ass n v. Board of Regents of the Univ. of Okla.
(“NCAA”), 468 U.S. 85, 104-13 (1984). Second, if the
plaintiff carries its burden, the burden shifts to the
defendant to establish a procompetitive justification
for the restraint in the relevant market. See id. at 113;
California Dental Ass’n v. FTC, 526 U.S. 756, 788
(1999) (Breyer, J. concurring in part & dissenting in
part). Third, where the defendant satisfies its burden,
the plaintiff may show that the defendant’s procompet-
itive benefits could have been achieved through less
restrictive means, i.e., actions that are less damaging
to competition. Fourth, if no less-restrictive alter-
natives exist, the plaintiff bears the burden of
demonstrating that the anticompetitive harms
outweigh the procompetitive gains. See 7 Phillip E.

As an alternative to establishing directly that a restraint
caused actual anticompetitive effects, a plaintiff may prove
anticompetitive effects indirectly by establishing that the
defendant imposed a restraint and possessed sufficient market
power to impair competition. See FTC v. Indiana Fed’n of
Dentists, 476 U.S. 447, 460-61 (1986); Geneva Pharm. Tech. Corp.
v. Barr Labs. Inc., 386 F.3d 485, 509 (2d Cir. 2004). This market-
power route to establishing anticompetitive effects is not at issue
here. See infra at 9 n.5.

8

Areeda & Herbert Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law: An
Analysis of Antitrust Principles and Their Application
430 (3d ed. 2010) (describing framework’s four steps).
Applying this framework here, the district court
determined after a seven-week bench trial that the
anti-steering rules violate § 1 of the Sherman Act.
(Pet. App. 66a-72a.)

Market Definition: The court first determined that
the relevant market was the market for merchant
“network services”’—i.e., the services that enable
merchants to process credit-card payments. The court
rejected Amex’s argument that the relevant market
should be a market for credit-card “transactions,”
which would include not only merchant services but
also the distinct services that Amex provides to
cardholders—such as the provision of credit and
cardholder rewards for using an Amex card. The court
explained that merchant services and cardholder
services are not interchangeable, and thus could not
be collapsed into a single, platform-wide market under
traditional antitrust doctrines. (Pet. App. 113a-121a.)

The court emphasized that limiting the relevant
market to include only merchant services would not
require the court to ignore entirely the cardholder side
of the platform. Rather, the court explained that
because the merchant and cardholder sides of the
platform are “inextricably linked” (Pet. App. 118a), the
court would consider “the two-sided features” of the
platform as part of the rule of reason analysis (Pet.

App. 121a).

Anticompetitive Effects: The district court next
concluded that the government had satisfied its prima
facie burden of showing that Amex’s anti-steering
rules had caused actual anticompetitive effects in the

9

market for merchant services.“ Specifically, the court
concluded that the rules had increased prices to
merchants above competitive levels, blocked other
firms from using a lower-fee business model, and
stifled innovation. (Pet. App. 203a-214a.)

The court determined that the anti-steering
rules caused these anticompetitive effects by exploiting
interconnections between the merchant and card-
holder sides of the network. As the court explained,
the rules prohibited merchants from responding to
increases in Amex’s fees by encouraging customers to
use lower-fee cards. (Pet. App. 194a-197a.) The rules
did so by controlling merchants’ interactions with
customers at the “point of sale“ the critical moment
when the merchant side and cardholder side of the
platform meet to complete a credit-card transaction.
(Pet. App. 195a.) At that moment, the merchant’s
decision to use a particular credit-card company’s
services—and thus to pay that company’s per-
transaction fee—is effectively controlled by the
customer’s decision to use a specific card. The court
determined that prohibiting merchants from steering
customers to use lower-fee cards deprived the
merchants of “any meaningful ability” to switch their
own use of network services in response to lower fees
offered by a particular card network. (Pet. App. 196a.)
As a result, the district court found that the anti-
steering rules impeded horizontal competition among
the credit-card networks because the networks lacked

5 In the alternative, the district court held that the govern-
ment had satisfied its prima facie burden by demonstrating that
Amex possessed sufficient market power to cause anticompetitive
effects. (Pet. App. 148a-191la). This market power finding was
reversed by the Second Circuit and is no longer at issue.

10

any incentive to offer merchants lower fees. (Pet. App.
194a-197a, 202a-203a.)

Procompetitive Effects: Because the government
had established actual anticompetitive effects, the
district court shifted the burden to Amex to demon-
strate that its anti-steering rules had procompetitive
effects in the merchant-services market. (Pet. App.
228a.) Among other arguments, Amex asserted two
primary procompetitive justifications. First, Amex
argued that the anti-steering rules allowed Amex to
compete against other credit-card networks for
cardholders’ business. Amex contended that the anti-
steering rules protected its ability to impose higher
fees on merchants, and that those fees in turn funded
robust cardholder rewards and other benefits that
allowed Amex to compete with the larger credit-card
networks (MasterCard and Visa) for cardholders. (See
Pet. App. 229a-234a; Defs.’ Post-Trial Br. (Defs. Br.“)
3-4, 21-25, United States v. American Express Co., No.
10-cv-4496 (E.D.N.Y.), ECF No. 605; Defs.’ Propose.
Findings of Fact & Conclusions of Law (“Defs.
Proposed Findings”) 29-36, American Express, No. 10-
cv-4496, ECF No. 612.)

Second, Amex asserted that the anti-steering
rules allowed Amex to offer significant value, not only
to cardholders, but also to merchants. Amex argued
that its cardholder rewards program and other
cardholder benefits allowed merchants to gain access
to high-spending Amex customers. (See Defs. Proposed
Findings, supra, at 36-40.) Amex further argued that,
absent the anti-steering rules, merchants could free-
ride on the benefits of Amex’s investments in
cardholder rewards while avoiding the higher
merchant fees needed to fund those programs. (See
Pet. App. 255a-256a; Defs. Br., supra, at 25-26.)

11

In analyzing both of these arguments, the
district court questioned whether it could consider the
anti-steering rules’ purported procompetitive impacts
on the market for cardholder services at all. The court
noted that procompetitive effects in one market cannot
be used to offset anticompetitive effects in a separate,
interrelated market—here, the market for merchant
services. (Pet. App. 238a-24 la.)

The court nonetheless concluded that, even if
such “cross-market balancing is appropriate” (Pet.
App. 239a), the anti-steering rules were not reasonably
necessary to achieve the procompetitive effects that
Amex had raised (Pet. App. 239a-240a). The court
found that Amex’s business model was unlikely to
collapse if the anti-steering rules were removed
because merchants and cardholders would still want
to use Amex’s services if Amex truly delivered services
supericr to those of other credit-card networks. (Pet.
App. 242a-245a.) The court also determined that the
rules were not needed to prevent free-riding because
rational cardholders would continue to use their Amex
cards so long as the rewards offered by Amex were
greater than any benefits provided by merchants for
using a different card. (Pet. App. 257a.) The court
concluded that even without the rules, Amex would
thus continue to have an incentive to invest in its
cardholder rewards program. (Pet. App. 257a.) Finally,
the court determined that even if the anti-steering
rules were necessary to achieve some procompetitive
effects, any such procompetitive gains did not “offset,
much less overcome,” the rules’ anticompetitive effects
on the network-services market. (Pet. App. 229a; see
also Pet. App. 239a-240a.)

12

D. The Second Circuit’s Opinion

On appeal, the Second Circuit reversed and
directed the district court to enter judgment in favor
of Amex. (Pet. App. 4a.) Two holdings by the Second
Circuit are relevant here.

First, the Second Circuit held that the district
court had improperly defined the relevant market by
excluding the customer side of Amex’s two-sided
platform. The Second Circuit determined that the
proper market was the entire platform, including both
cardholders and merchants (Pet. App. 50a), because
concluding otherwise would improperly ignore “the
two markets’ interdependence” and the anti-steering
rules’ impacts on the cardholder side (Pet. App. 34a-
35a.)

Second, the Second Circuit concluded that the
government had failed to carry its prima facie burden
of establishing that Amex’s anti-steering rules caused
actual anticompetitive effects in the platform-wide
market it had defined. The court held that the
government was required to prove a net anticompeti-
tive harm across the entire platform—for example, by
demonstrating that the anti-steering rules caused
Amex to charge a supracompetitive “net price” to
merchants and cardholders (Pet. App. 49a); reduced
output by lowering the number of credit-card
transactions; or reduced the net quality of services
Amex provides to merchants and cardholders (Pet.
App. 5la-52a).

The court determined that the government had
failed to establish any such platform-wide net
anticompetitive harm, and that the burden to prove
procompetitive effects hud thus never shifted to Amex.
While the court did not question the district court's

13

finding that the anti-steering rules had increased
prices for merchants, the court found that the
government had failed to demonstrate a higher “net
price” that took into account the benefits that Amex
provided to cardholders. (Pet. App. 49a; see Pet. App.
53a.) The court thus faulted the district court for
improperly focusing “on the interests of merchants
while discounting the interests of cardholders.” (Pet.
App. 54a.) The court further reasoned that the
government had failed to satisfy its prima facie
burden, notwithstanding the price increase for
merchants, because the overall number of credit-card
transactions had increased rather than decreased, and
because Amex had improved the quality of its
cardholder services. (Pet. App. 52a-53a.)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Two-sided platforms present unique features that
courts may appropriately consider in applying
established antitrust doctrines. But the court of
appeals here committed two critical legal errors in
applying antitrust principles to Amex’s two-sided
credit-card platform. The court of appeals incorrectly
concluded (I) that the relevant market must be
defined as the entire platform, rather than as separate
markets for merchant services and cardholder services;
and (2) that at the prima facie stage, the government
must establish a net anticompetitive effect that harms
both merchants and cardholders, rather than an
anticompetitive effect (such as a price increase) on
only the merchant side of the platform.®

As explained supra at 7 n.4, as an alternative to direct proof
of an actual anticompetitive effect, an antitrust plaintiff may

14

The Second Circuit distorted bedrock antitrust
principles to reach both of these conclusions, based on
the unfounded concern that it was required to do so to
account for interdependencies between the merchant
and cardholder sides of Amex’s platform. But long-
standing antitrust doctrines already ensure tuat
courts may properly consider interdependencies
between the two sides of a platform. The Second
Circuit's novel and disruptive approaches to two-sided
platforms are unnecessary and threaten to undermine
valid antitrust enforcement.

I. This Court has long defined the relevant market
for antitrust purposes as including only products that
are reasonably interchangeable for each other. The
court of appeals failed to apply this controlling principle
here when it combined into a single market the
services that Amex sells to merchants and the services
Amex sells to cardholders. These two types of services
are not interchangeable because a merchant that buys
Amex’s merchant services cannot switch to purchasing
Amex’s cardholder services in response to Amex
increasing merchant fees.

The Second Circuit mistakenly defined the market
as the entire platform based on the concern that
separating the markets for merchant services and
cardholder services would improperly ignore intercon-
nections between these two sides of Amex’s platform.
But defining the relevant market as the market for
merchant services would not preclude consideration of

satisfy its prima facie burden by demonstrating that a defendant
has imposed a restraint of trade and possesses sufficient market
power to suppress competition in a properly defined market
affected by the restraint. This independent route to establishing
anticompetitive effects is not at issue here.

15

the anti-steering rules’ impacts on the cardholder side
of the platform, as the court of appeals reasoned.
Rather, under a proper market definition, the court
would be able to consider the anti-steering rules’
impacts on the cardholder side to the extent that such
impacts affect competition on the merchant side. Such
an inquiry both accords with long-standing antitrust
analysis and ensures that the competitive realities of
a two-sided platform are fully addressed.

Defining the relevant market as including only
merchant services also protects against another error
in the Second Circuit's reasoning, namely, the
suggestion that any benefit on one side of a platform
will always be relevant to evaluating the reasonable-
ness of a restraint on the other side of the platform—
irrespective of whether the benefit actually affected
competition on the side of the platform at issue. Such
a blanket rule does not comport with the rule of
reason’s fact-intensive inquiry into a restraint's
competitive effects in the relevant market. Because
different industries may involve different types of two-
sided (or multisided) platforms, the procompetitive
significance of an out-of-market benefit on the
relevant side of a platform will vary depending on the
particular platform and restraint at issue. The
antitrust inquiry should thus remain focused on
whether, under the facts of each case, a procompetitive
effect on one side of a platform affects competition in
the relevant market on the other side of the platform.

Il. The court of appeals’ incorrect definition of the
market as including both merchant and cardholder
services caused the court to conclude that the
government's prima facie burden to establish an
anticompetitive effect required showing that the anti-
steering rules imposed a net anticompetitive harm to

16

both merchants and cardholders. But the established
burden-shifting framework applied under the rule of
reason provides that where the government establishes
an anticompetitive effect, the burden shifts to the
defendant to show potential procompetitive effects
from its restraint. The Second Circuit's “net harm”
approach drastically distorts this framework by
requiring the government, at the prima facie stage, to
predict and disprove any potential procompetitive
effects.

The burden-shifting framework was developed to
avoid placing precisely such an undue burden on
antitrust plaintiffs. Because a defendant possesses in-
depth knowledge about its own industry and motiva-
tions for implementing a restraint, the burden should
remain with the defendant to demonstrate procompet-
itive effects from its conduct. And contrary to the
Second Circuit’s concern, maintaining a proper
allocation of burdens will not chill potentially
procompetitive conduct in industries involving two-
sided platforms. The burden-shifting framework
already protects such conduct by providing a
defendant with a full and fair opportunity to establish
that its conduct causes procompetitive effects on the
side of the platform at issue.

17
ARGUMENT

I. The Traditional “Reasonable
Interchangeability” Rule for Market
Definition Applies to Two-Sided Platforms.

A. The Services That Amex Sells to
Merchants Are a Separate Market from
the Services It Sells to Cardholders.

For more than fifty years, this Court, legal
scholars, and economists have defined the relevant
market for antitrust purposes as including only
products that are reasonably interchangeable with the
product over which the defendant is alleged to have
exercised an illegal restraint of trade. See, e.g., United
States v. E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 351 U.S. 377,
404 (1956); see also United States v. Grinnell Corp.,
384 U.S. 563, 571-72 (1966); 2B Phillip E. Areeda,
Herbert Hovenkamp & John L. Solow, Antitrust Law:
An Analysis of Antitrust Principles and Their
Application 235-38, 389-93 (4th ed. 2014). This
“reasonable interchangeability rule, E. I. du Pont, 351
U.S. at 404, properly identifies the range of products
that consumers can buy from other firms instead of
the defendant's product in response to defendant’s
conduct. The relevant market has long been defined in
this way because reasonably interchangeable products
constrain the defendant's ability to engage in
anticompetitive conduct: purchasers will simply buy
another product rather than continue to purchase the
defendant’s product subject to defendant's anticompet-
itive restraint. See United States v. Microsoft, 253 F.3d
34, 51-52 (D.C. Cir. 2001) (en banc) (per curiam);
Areeda, Hovenkamp & Solow, supra, at 266-67.

18

Applying this bedrock principle of market
definition here, the services that Amex sells to mer-
chants and the services that Amex sells to cardholders
are in separate antitrust markets because the two
types of services are not interchangeable. As the
petitioner States and the United States aptly explain,
merchants that purchase Amex’s merchant services
cannot switch to buying Amex’s cardholder services—
such as the extension of credit and provision of
rewards for using an Amex card—in response to Amex
increasing its merchant fees. See Br. for the Pet'rs &
Resp’ts Nebraska, Tennessee, and Texas 53-55; Br. for
the United States 35-37. Likewise, a cardholder
unhappy with an increase in the interest rate charged
by Amex cannot switch to purchasing network
services. Accordingly, merchant services “constitute a
distinct market, separate from the market for
cardholder services. See United States v. Visa U.S.A.,
Inc., 344 F.3d 229, 239 (2d Cir. 2003); see also Renata
B. Hesse & Joshua H. Soven, Defining Relevant
Product Markets in Electronic Payment Network
Antitrust Cases, 73 Antitrust L.J. 709, 726-27 (2006)
(credit-card network may be able to exercise market
power over only one side of two-sided platform).

B. Limiting the Relevant Market to One
Side of a Platform Does Not Preclude
Consideration of Impacts on the Other
Side of the Platform.

The Second Circuit violated the well-
established principles of market definition by
collapsing the market for merchant services and the
market for cardholder services into a single platform-
wide market for credit-card transactions. The court
applied this novel platform-wide approach based on a

19

concern that dividing the two sides of Amex’s network
into separate markets would improperly ignore
interdependencies between the merchant and
cardholder sides of the platform. (See Pet. App. 34a-
35a, 39a-40a, 49a.)

The court’s concern was unfounded. Separating
the merchant and cardholder sides of Amex’s network
into distinct markets would not preclude all considera-
tion of the anti-steering rules’ competitive impacts on
the cardholder side. To the contrary, courts applying
the rule of reason may consider evidence about a
restraint’s impacts outside of the market in question
when such impacts affect competition in the relevant
market. Applying the traditional doctrine of market
definition thus does not preclude the factual inquiry
into cardholder benefits discussed by the court of
appeals here. By contrast, the court of appeals’ merger
of the distinct merchant- and cardholder-services
markets improperly constrains such a factual inquiry
by mistakenly presuming that any cardholder benefit
caused by Amex’s anti-steering rules would be relevant
to justifying the higher prices that those rules inflict
on merchants—irrespective of the nature or strength
of the interconnections between the two sides of the
platform.

The appropriate way for this Court to resolve
these competing concerns is to hold that (a) the
relevant market is limited to merchant-side services,
and (b) courts may look to the anti-steering rules’
effects on the cardholder-services market, but only to
the extent that cardholder benefits affect competition
in the relevant market for merchant services. In this
way, the market definition respects the “commercial
realities” of two-sided platforms, see Eastman Kodak
Co. v. Image Tech. Serus., Inc., 504 U.S. 451, 482 (1992),

20

by permitting a factual inquiry into the related
cardholder-services market, while limiting any such
inquiry to only the relevant aspects of that separate
market.

1. When the relevant market is one
side of the platform, a court may
consider the competitive effects on
that market caused by a restraint’s
effects on the other side of the
platform.

Allowing a court to consider arguments that an
alleged restraint’s impact on one side of a two-sided
platform affects competition in the relevant market on
the other side of the platform accords with established
antitrust principles and long-standing practice. The
touchstone of the rule of reason is the competitive
effect of the challenged restraint and whether it
suppresses or promotes competition. See National
Soc’y of Prof Eng’rs v. United States, 435 U.S. 679,
688 (1978); see also Leegin Creative Leather Prods.,
Inc. v. PSKS, Inc., 551 U.S. 877, 886 (2007) (“In its
design and function the rule [of reason] distinguishes
between restraints with anticompetitive effect that
are harmful to the consumer and _ restraints
stimulating competition that are in the consumer's
best interest.”). This analysis has long encompassed
consideration of a wide variety of factors—such as
historical conditions, applicable regulations, and other
“facts peculiar to the business“ that illuminate
whether the defendant’s conduct has anticompe itive
or procompetitive effects in the relevant market.
Board of Trade of Chicago v. United States, 246 U.S.
231, 238 (1918). Competitive effects or legitimate
justifications that arise in a separate but closely

21

interrelated market may likewise be considered, so
long as they cause competitive effects in the market at
issue.

Courts are familiar with considering the ways in
which a defendant’s conduct affects competition in the
relevant market through interconnections between
that market and a distinct but related market. For
example, in Microsoft Corp., several States and the
United States proved at trial that Microsoft unlawfully
maintained its monopoly in the market for Intel-
compatible computer operating systems (“operating-
system market”) through, among other things,
anticompetitive actions in the separate but inter-
related market for internet browser software. See 253
F.3d at 47. In reaching this conclusion, the D.C.
Circuit rejected Microsoft's argument that its actions
in the browser market were irrelevant because there
were separate markets for browsers and operating
systems. See id. at 53-54, 78-79. Notwithstanding the
separate markets, the court determined that inherent
interconnections between these markets allowed
Microsoft to maintain its monopoly in the operating-
system market through actions it took in the browser
market specifically, Microsoft had suppressed usage
of other companies’ browsers and thereby prevented
development of competing software applications that
would have increased competition in the operating-
system market. Jd. at 60-62. Microsoft's browser-
related conduct thus contributed to its anticompetitive
monopolization of the operating-system market.

The parties in this proceeding presented similar
evidence below about the feedback loop between the
cardholder impacts of Amex’s anti-steering rules and
competition on the merchant market at issue here. For
example, the government argued that the anti-steering

22

rules prevented consumers from obtaining (or even
perceiving) any benefit from the lower-cost credit
cards offered by Amex’s competitors, and thus
restrained price competition in the merchant-services
market by eliminating any incentive for the credit-
card networks to compete to offer lower merchant fees.
(See Pls. Post-Trial Mem. 1, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-15, American
Express, No. 10-cv-4496, ECF No. 606; see also Pet.
App. 191la-198a.) Amex, in turn, argued that the anti-
steering rules permitted it to offer robust benefits to
cardholders that encouraged them to spend more
money at the merchants’ businesses—thus improving
competition in the merchant-services market. (See
Pet. App. 86a-88a; see also Defs. Br., supra, at 23-25;
Defs. Proposed Findings, supra, at 226-33, 241-48.)

Adhering to traditional principles of market
definition thus fully permits courts to consider
whether a restraint’s impact on one side of a platform
causes actual and direct competitive effects in the
relevant market on the other side of a platform. As the
record shows, such evidence may both support and
undermine a plaintiffs claim of an unreasonable
restraint on competition in the relevant market. The
court of appeals thus had no basis to reject traditional
market-definition principles here.

2. Courts should not consider a
restraint’s asserted benefit on the
other side of a platform unless it
causes a procompetitive effect in
the market at issue.

The Second Circuit’s erroneous market definition
led it to believe that any procompetitive benefit on the
cardholder side could be considered in the competitive-
effects analysis—irrespective of whether the benefit

23

had an effect on competition in the relevant merchant-
services market. (See Pet. App. 5la (criticizing
government for failing to consider anti-steering rules’
effects on “all Amex consumers on both sides of the
platform”); Pet. App. 54a (criticizing district court for
“discounting the interests of cardholders”).) Amex
likewise argued below that its anti-steering rules
could be justified solely by their alleged procompeti-
tive effects on the cardholder side of the platform. See
supra at 10.

Such reasoning expands too far the scope of
potential procompetitive justifications relevant to
analyzing a two-sided platform under the rule of
reason. As this Court has explained, the rule of reason
“does not open the field of antitrust inquiry to any
argument in favor of a challenged restraint.” National
Soc’y of Profl Eng’rs, 435 U.S. at 688 (emphasis
added). In particular, a defendant may not simply
point to some perceived benefit in a separate market
to justify its anticompetitive actions in the market in
question. See United States v. Visa U.S.A., Inc., 163 F.
Supp. 2d 322, 330 (S.D.N.Y. 2001) (vigorous competi-
tion “to offer lower interests rates” and incentive
programs to cardholders could not be used to offset
“reduced price competition in the network services
market”). Rather, the rule of reason “focuses directly
on the challenged restraint’s impact on competitive
conditions” in the relevant market. National Soc’y of
Prof Eng’rs, 435 U.S. at 688.

To be sure, two-sided platforms that exhibit close
interconnections between the groups on either side of
the platform would ordinarily aid a party’s attempt to
establish how impacts on one side of a platform affect
competition on the other side. But because not all two-
sided platforms are alike, the strength and importance

24

of “the network interactions between the two sides” of
a platform will vary depending on the platform and
market participants, as well as the specific restraint
at issue. U.S. Roundtable Note, supra, at 3; see Dennis
W. Carlton & Alan S. Frankel, Transaction Costs,
Externalities, and “Two-Sided” Payment Markets,
2005 Colum. Bus. L. Rev. 617, 630 (2005). Establishing
the relevant connection is thus a fact-intensive inquiry
that will turn on the particular features of the
platform and restraint in question—features that are
likely to differ from platform to platform and restraint
to restraint.

For example, platforms that are used to complete
financial transactions between two customer groups
(“transactional platforms”) differ significantly from
other types of platforms. Transactional platforms—
such as the credit-card payment platform at issue
here—often exhibit strong, two-way interconnections
between each side’s use of the platform. See Lapo
Filistrucchi, Damien Geradin & Eric van Damme,
Identifying Two-Sided Markets 4 (Tilburg Univ.,
TILEC Discussion Paper No. 2012-008 2012) (internet).

In other cases, however, the interactions between
the two sides of a platform “may be insignificant or
may not be relevant for a particular antitrust issue” or
a particular restraint. U.S. Roundtable Note, supra, at
3. For example, a newspaper is generally considered
to be a two-sided platform that unites readers and
advertisers. See Rysman, supra, at 128; see Times-
Picayune Publ’g Co. v. United States, 345 U.S. 594, 610
(1953). But a transaction between a reader and an
advertiser does not occur each time that a reader
purchases a newspaper or an advertiser buys adver-
tising space. And while an advertiser likely wants to
purchase more advertising from a newspaper that has

25

more readers, a reader does not necessarily want to
purchase a newspaper because it has more
advertisers—in fact, a reader might prefer a news-
paper with fewer advertisers. See Filistrucchi et al.,
supra, at 4. As a result, although advertising revenue
may allow the newspaper to charge a lower price to
readers, the interdependencies between the two
groups are more attenuated than in a transactional
platform. See id. at 6-7.

An approach to two-sided platforms that too
broadly allows a restraint’s procompetitive effects on
one side of the platform to justify its anticompetitive
effects in the relevant market on the other side of the
platform would improperly ignore such critical
differences between platforms. Such an approach would
also undermine proper enforcement in cases involving
two-sided platforms or similarly complex industries. If
the universe of relevant procompetitive factors is not
limited to factors that are proven to have procompeti-
tive effects in the relevant market, defendants could
easily justify misconduct that stifles competition in
one market by pointing to purported procompetitive
effects in some other market—so long as they could
plausibly claim that the two kets are connected in
some way. Such an expansive view of the relevant
procompetitive justifications would improperly allow
defendants to “sacrifice competition” in one market
“for greater competition” in another market, thereby
frustrating the goals of the antitrust laws: to preserve
vigorous competition in all markets. United States v.
Topco Assocs. Inc., 405 U.S. 596, 610-11 (1972).

Nearly any two-sided platform could adopt Amex’s
expansive theory of procompetitive effects to justify
even a naked restraint of trade on one side of the
platform. For example, an outlet mall that prohibited

26

retailers from opening another outlet store within
sixty miles could claim that it needs such a restraint
to ensure that sufficient shoppers visit its outlet mall,
thereby allowing the mall to compete with other
outlets—even though the restraint plainly inhibits
outlet malls’ competition for retailers. This Court
should not endorse such arguments, which, if
accepted, would effectively allow a defendant to
suppress competition in one market so long as it uses
its supracompetitive profits to benefit a different
group of customers in the process. See id. at 611-12
(explaining that defendants “keenly aware of their
own interests” are not permitted to determine “relative
values to society of competitive areas of the economy”).

Moreover, adopting the Second Circuit’s reasoning
could have widespread negative consequences for
antitrust enforcement in industries that involve
interrelated markets other than two-sided platforms.
Any firm in such an industry could try to justify its
restraints anticompetitive effects in the relevant
market by pointing to purported procompetitive
benefits from the restraint in a separate, interrelated
market. Such arguments would likely become
widespread because separate markets are often
interconnected with each other. For example, the
health care industry involves several separate but
interrelated markets involving health care providers,
insurance companies, and patients. But interconnec-
tions between the price of health care services and the
price of health insurance does not mean that the
medical services that hospitals sell to patients are in
the same market as the insurance plans that
insurance companies sell to insureds. And a hospital
should not be able to justify a restraint that raises
prices or decreases quality in the health care services

27

market by claiming, for example, that the restraint
increases innovation in the insurance market. (/
United States v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Hosp. Auth.,
248 F. Supp. 3d 720, 728-32 (W.D.N.C. 2017) (govern-
ments stated § 1 claim against hospital based on
hospital’s contractual provisions prohibiting insurance
companies from encouraging patients to use lower-
cost health care services). Allowing such wide-ranging
effects to be cognizable would render unmanageable
an already complex rule of reason analysis.

Il. A Plaintiff Satisfies Its Prima Facie Burden
by Demonstrating an Anticompetitive
Effect—Such as a Price Increase—on One
Side of a Two-Sided Platform.

The Second Circuit’s erroneous definition of the
relevant market as including both merchant services
and cardholder services caused the court to conclude
that the government’s initial, prima facie burden to
establish an anticompetitive effect required showing
that the anti-steering rules imposed a “net harm” to
competition for both merchants and cardholders. (Pet.
App. 54a.) The Court should reject this approach and
hold that the government satisfied its prima facie
burden here by demonstrating that Amex’s anti-
steering rules stifle price competition in the market
for merchant services.

28

A. A Plaintiff Should Not Be Required to
Predict and Disprove All Possible
Procompetitive Benefits to Satisfy Its
Prima Facie Burden of Demonstrating
an Anticompetitive Effect.

Through decades of experience, the courts have
developed a burden-shifting framework to structure
the highly complex and fact-intensive rule of reason
inquiry. See Gregory J. Werden, Antitrust’s Rule of
Reason: Only Competition Matters, 79 Antitrust L. J.
713, 756-57 (2014). Under this framework, when the
plaintiff establishes that a restraint imposes an
anticompetitive effect in the relevant market, the
burden shifts to the defendant to establish a procom-
petitive effect from the restraint. See NCAA, 468 U.S.
at 104-13; California Dental Ass n, 526 U.S. at 788
(Breyer, J., concurring in part & dissenting in part).
When the defendant satisfies its burden, the plaintiffs
may show that the procompetitive benefits could be
achieved through less restrictive means. Finally, if the
plaintiff fails to establish such less-restrictive options,
the court determines whether the anticompetitive
harms outweigh the procompetitive gains. See Areeda
& Hovenkamp, supra, at 430.

This structured framework evolved to achieve a
“fair and efficient” system for distinguishing between
restraints that harm competition, which are
prohibited, and restraints that promote competition,
which are allowed. See Leegin Creative Leather Prods.,
551 U.S. at 898-99; see also California Dental Ass n,
526 U.S. at 793-94 (Breyer, J., concurring in part &
dissenting in part). The serial shifting of burdens
strikes an important balance between the litigants.
See Herbert Hovenkamp, The Rule of Reason 16 (Univ.
of Penn. Law Sch. Inst. for Law and Econ., Research

29

Paper No. 17-28 2017) (internet) (“Of all the
procedural issues involved in antitrust litigation
under the rule of reason, none are more critical than
questions about assignment of the burden of proof).
In particular, by giving plaintiffs the initial burden of
showing only anticompetitive effects at the prima facie
stage, and leaving to defendants the burden of
identifying procompetitive justifications, the burden-
shifting framework ensures that plaintiffs are not
required to predict and refute “every possible fact or
theory” that a defendant might assert to justify its
conduct—a herculean standard that would render
antitrust enforcement and litigations unfocused and
unmanageable. See FTC v. Actavis, Inc., 133 S. Ct.
2223, 2237 (2013); see also Hovenkamp, Rule of Reason,
supra, at 34 (discussing Actavis).

Here, the government satisfied its initial burden
at the prima facie stage by establishing that Amex’s
anti-steering rules had “the effect of raising the price
that merchants pay for credit-card services, see NCAA,
468 U.S. at 105, by eliminating any incentive for the
credit-card networks to compete to offer lower fees to
merchants. (See Pet. App. 195a-203a.) Such proof that
the anti-steering rules actually “operated to raise
prices” in the relevant market should have shifted to
Amex the “heavy burden of establishing an affirmative
defense which competitively justifies this apparent
deviation from the operations of a free market.” See
NCAA, 468 U.S. at 113; see also Hovenkamp, Rule of
Reason, supra, at 22 (discussing NCAA).

The court of appeals concluded otherwise, holding
that the government had not satisfied its prima facie
burden because it had not proven that the anti-
steering caused a net anticompetitive effect on both
merchants and cardholders. (See Pet. App. 5la-52a.)

30

The court appeared to give two reasons that the
government's focus on supracompetitive prices for
merchants was insufficient. First, the court reasoned
that the government should further have calculated
the “net” or “two-sided price” of credit-card transac-
tions by offsetting “the value or cost of the rewards
paid to cardholders” against the higher merchant fees
that funded those rewards. (Pet. App. 53a.) Second,
the court reasoned that the government should have
shown that the anti-steering rules also reduced the
overall volume of credit-card transactions or decreased
the quality of credit-card services. (Pet. App. 52a.)

The court of appeals’ “net harm” test misconstrues
the government’s prima facie burden. Both of the
court’s grounds for finding the government’s initial
showing defective required the government to prove
more than anticompetitive effects in the relevant
merchant-services market. But the additional show-
ings that the court would have required are more
appropriately seen as part of Amex’s burden to prove
procompetitive justifications. Under this Court's
precedents, it was Amex’s burden to demonstrate that
its anti-steering rules led to increased cardholder
benefits (to the extent that such benefits affect the
merchant-services market, see supra Point I.B.2), or
that the rules contributed to increased output or
quality in the merchant-services market. See NCAA,
468 U.S. at 113. By requiring the government to
disprove these procompetitive justifications at the
outset, the court of appeals wrongly collapsed the first
two steps of the burden-shifting inquiry into a single
step.

Mandating that the government predict and
disprove potential procompetitive effects simply to
show an initial anticompetitive effect in the market

31

would severely undermine enforcement. The courts
have placed the burden on defendants to establish
that their conduct creates procompetitive effects
because a defendant possesses in-depth knowledge
about its own industry, business model, and motiva-
tions for imposing a restraint. See Areeda &
Hovenkamp, supra, at 422-23; see also California
Dental Ass’n, 526 U.S. at 792 (Breyer, J., concurring
in part & dissenting in part) (explaining that
defendants have incentive to introduce evidence of
procompetitive justifications, if such evidence exists).
By contrast, a government enforcer usually does not
possess such information, and would thus be put in the
untenable position of needing to speculate as to every
possible rationalization that a defendant might assert
for its conduct.

Indeed, this information gap between the litigants
would pose particularly difficult hurdles for the
government during early stages of litigation. If
proving a “net anticompetitive effect” is required at
the prima facie stage, as the Second Circuit held, then
the government might need to plead such a “net effect”
plausibly in its complaint simply to survive a motion
to dismiss. See Hovenkamp, Rule of Reason, supra, at
17, 20. See generally Bell Atl. Corp. u. Twombly, 550
U.S. 544, 570 (2007) (discussing minimum pleading
standards). But the government often does not know
prior to bringing suit whether a restraint might create
procompetitive effects in the relevant market—let
alone whether the restraint has procompetitive
impacts on one side of a platform that redound to the
benefit of the market at issue. By contrast, because the
defendant is “in the best position to suggest the
benefits that might flow from [its] activities,” the
plaintiff and court are entitled to presume that no

32

such benefits exist if the defendant cannot establish
them. Areeda & Hovenkamp, supra, at 422.

Accepting the Second Circuit’s novel rule would
thus raise the risk of courts dismissing valid
enforcement actions at the outset, even where the
defendant’s conduct imposes an obvious anticompeti-
tive effect on one side of the platform. Such an
approach could significantly harm competition in
many sectors of the economy by shielding
anticompetitive behavior by dominant firms in
industries involving two-sided platforms.

B. Maintaining the Proper Assignment of
Burdens Ensures That Potentially
Procompetitive Conduct Is Not Chilled
by Antitrust Enforcement Efforts.

The court of appeals required the government to
disprove procompetitive effects at the prima facie
stage based on the concern that, absent such a prima
facie showing, antitrust lawsuits might chill genuinely
procompetitive activities involving two-sided platforms.
Specifically, the Second Circuit reasoned that ignoring
interconnections between the two sides of a platform
might prevent a firm from engaging in conduct that
enhances output on both sides of a platform because of
the fear that the firm’s conduct could have an
apparent anticompetitive effect (e.g., higher prices) on
one side of the platform. (Pet. App. 35a (stating that
focusing on competitive effects in only the merchant-
services market would penalize legitimate competitive
activities on the cardholder side “no matter how
output-expanding such activities may be”).)

The court of appeals’ concern about protecting the
incentives of firms to engage in procompetitive

33

activities is legitimate. But this concern is already
fully addressed by the established burden-shifting
framework. If a plaintiff establishes a prima facie case
of anticompetitive harm based on effects on one side of
a platform, the defendant has a full and fair
opportunity to establish that its conduct creates
procompetitive effects in the relevant market. Such
procompetitive effects might include that its restraint
enhances the platform’s output—an effect that could
benefit both sides of the platform. And if a defendant
establishes a procompetitive effect in the relevant
market, the parties may then attempt to show whether
or not this procompetitive effect can be achieved
through less restrictive means. See supra at 7-8. See
Hovenkamp, Rule of Reason, supra, at 25. The
established burden-shifting framework thus already
protects against antitrust analysis too abbreviated to
consider fully the competitive factors at play in a
market. See California Dental Ass n, 526 U.S. at 793-
94 (Breyer, J., concurring in part & dissenting in part).

34
CONCLUSION

The decision and order of the court of appeals
should be reversed and remanded for further
proceedings.

Respectfully submitted,

ERIC T. SCHNEIDERMAN
Attorney General
State of New York
BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD*

Solicitor General
BEAU W. BUFFIER STEVEN C. WU
Bureau Chief Deputy Solicitor General
ELINOR . HOFFMANN JUDITH N. VALE
Deputy Bureau Chief Senior Assistant
JEREMY R. KASHA Solicitor General

Assistant Attorney General barbara.underwood@ag.ny.gov
Antitrust Bureau

December 2017 * Counsel of Record

(Counsel listing continues on next page.)

JAHNA LINDEMUTH
Attorney General
State of Alaska

1031 W. Fourth Ave.

Suite 200

Anchorage, AK 99501

XAVIER BECERRA
Attorney General
State of California
1300 I St.
Sacramento, CA 95814

MATTHEW P. DENN
Attorney General
State of Delaware
Department of Justice
820 N. French St.
Wilmington, DE 19801

DOUGLAS S. CHIN
Attorney General
State of Hawai

425 Queen St.

Honolulu, HI 96813

CURTIS T. HILL, JR.
Attorney General
State of Indiana

200 W. Washington St.

Room 219
Indianapolis, IN 46204

35

ANDY BESHEAR

Attorney General

State of Kentucky
700 Capitol Ave., Suite 118
Frankfort, KY 40601

JANET T. MILLS
Attorney General
State of Maine

6 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333

MAURA HEALEY
Attorney General
Commonwealth of
Massachusetts

One Ashburton Pl.

Boston, MA 02108

LORI SWANSON
Attorney General
State of Minnesota

102 State Capitol

75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther
King Jr. Blvd.

St. Paul, MN 55155

JIM Hoop
Attorney General
State of Mississippi
Post Office Box 22947
Jackson, MS 39225

HECTOR H. BALDERAS
Attorney General
State of New Mexico

408 Galisteo St.

Santa Fe, NM 87501

JOSH STEIN

Attorney General

State of North Carolina
Department of Justice
114 W. Edenton St.
Raleigh, NC 27603

ELLEN F. ROSENBLUM
Attorney General
State of Oregon

1162 Court St. N. E.

Salem, OR 97301

JOSH SHAPIRO
Attorney General
Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania

36

ALAN WILSON

Attorney General

State of South Carolina
1000 Assembly St.
Columbia, SC 29201

BOB FERGUSON

Attorney General

State of Washington
800 Fifth Ave., Ste. 2000
Seattle, WA 98104

BRAD SCHIMEL
Attorney General
State of Wisconsin
Department of Justice
P.O. Box 7857
Madison, WI 53703

KARL A. RACINE
Attorney General
District of Columbia

Suite 650 North

Strawberry Square, 16th Fl. 441 4th St., NW

Harrisburg, PA 17120

Washington, DC 20001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0754%3A33. Public record. Not legal advice.
