# Amicus Curiae Brief — Byrd v. United States, 138 S. Ct. 54 (2017) (No. 16-1371)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0749%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

No. 16-1371

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

TERRENCE BYRD,

Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE ELECTRONIC PRIVACY
INFORMATION CENTER (EPIC) AND TWENTY-
THREE TECHNICAL EXPERTS AND LEGAL
SCHOLARS IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

MARC ROTENBERG
Counsel of Record
ALAN BUTLER
ELECTRONIC PRIVACY
INFORMATION CENTER (EPIC)
1718 Connecticut Ave. NW
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 483-1140
rotenberg@epic.org
November 20, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

sy Ft. ff), |... | EERSTE naree meen ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURNHA EK... l
r E EN ANS ERTS RS ne 6
I. Modern cars collect and store vast troves of
rr 7

A. A search of a modern vehicle can reveal
extensive personal data . 8

II. Relying on rental contracts to negate Fourth
Amendment standing would undermine legitimate
expectations Of PFIVACY. .............c.cccccccecssescsssesesees 18

A. The status of the driver is irrelevant to Fourth
Amendment privacy interests 19

B. Constitutional rights are still recognized
despite contractual violations. ..................... 24

6 ————————————— 25

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Katz . United States,
e 20

Rakas v. Illinois,

r . . 24
Riley v. California,

e . 11 7

United States v. Jones,
565 U.S. 400 (2012 18, 20, 21, 22, 23

United States v. Owens,
782 F.2d 146 (10th Cir. 1986) 24

United States v. Powell,

ED CE — 24
STATUTES
EEE LTE 16, 17

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Allen & Overy, Autonomous and Connected Vehicles:
Navigating the Legal Issues
r .. 8, 13

Andrew Meola, Automotive Industry Trends: loT
Connected Smart Cars & Vehicles, Bus. Insider

ES a 8
Automatic Emergency Breaking, My Car Does What

eee . 15, 16
Avia, eee. eee 11

Damon Lavrinc, Progressive Insurance’s Driver
Tracking Tool lis Ridiculously Insecure, Jalopnik
e ̃ ÜêÄ²;˙ ...... 14

iii
David Burnham, The Rise of The Computer State
11e 25

Drowsiness Alert, My Car Does What 15

Edward H. Baker et al., Connected Car Report 2016:
Opportunities, Risk, and Turmoil on the Road to

Autonomous Vehicles (Sept. 28, 2016) 9
Enterprise, Global Privacy Policy (2017)............ 11,13
EPIC, Automobile Event Data Recorders (Black

. T 16
EPIC, State Auto Black Boxes oli 17
High Speed Alert, My Car Does What 15

Jennifer Abel, Consumer Affairs, Hertz Putting
Passenger-compartment Cameras in Rental Cars
8 ES aE t - 10, 12

Jennifer Abel, Consumer Affairs, Rental-car Drivers:
Take These Important Steps to Protect Our Privacy
..... 12

Joe Donovan, Want to Know If your Phone Pairs with
Your Car? This Handy List Should Do the Trick,
Digital Trends (Aug. 5, 2014) . 12

Kelsey Mays, Do Apple CarPlay, Android Auto Keep
Data From Your Smarthphone? Cars.com (March
r 12, 13

Kim Komando, Your Cars Hidden ‘Black Box’ and
How to Keep It Private, USA Today (Dec. 26, 2014)
— 16

Lisa Weintraub Schifferle, Fed. Trade Comm'n, What
Is Your Phone Telling Your Rental Car? (Aug. 30,
—Jtm8trßmßcm————ß. p j ————ßꝙ—jꝙðĩ 7, 11, 12, 18

Marc Rotenberg, Are Vehicle Black Boxes A Good
Idea?, Costco Connection (April 2013) .................. 16

iv
Marc Rotenberg, Steer Clear of Cars that Spy, USA

Today (Aug. 18, 2011. —————.— . 7, 16

Nat'l Conference of State Legislatures, Privacy of
Data from Event Data Records: State Statutes (Jan.

. 17
Nat'l Highway Traffic Safety Admin., Event Data

111 16
OnStar, Driving Information and Data Collection .. 14
r ̃ iAQ T 0 13
OnStar, Privacy Staten 14

Press Release, Avis Budget Group, Avis Car Rental
— of Conneates Care Gtay 58, 550%). 10

* Edward J. Markey (D-Mass), Tracking &
Hacking: Security & Privacy Gaps Put American
e 2 8,9

U.S. Gov. Accountability Office, GAO-14-649T,
Consumers’ Location Data: Companies Take Steps
to Protect Privacy, but Practices Are Inconsistent,
and Risks May Not be Clear to Consumers
——0Wçwßö . 9, 10

World Economic Forum, Digital Transformation of
Industries Automotive Industry (2016) ................... 7

1
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

The Electronic Privacy Information Center
(EPIC) is a public interest research center in Washing-
ton, D. C. EPIC was established in 1994 to focus public
attention on emerging civil liberties issues and to pro-
tect privacy, the First Amendment, and other consti-
tutional values.

EPIC routinely participates as amicus curiae
before this Court and other courts in cases concerning
privacy issues, new technologies, and constitutional
interests. See, e.g., Carpenter v. United States, No. 16-
402 (2017) (arguing that the Fourth Amendment pro-
tects the right against warrantless seizure and search
of location data); State v. Earls, 214 N.. 564 (2013)
(same); Packingham v. North Carolina, 137 S. Ct. 1730
(2017) (arguing that the First Amendment protects
the right to access speech from the privacy of a per-
sonal electronic device); Utah v. Streiff, 136 S. Ct. 2056
(2016) (arguing that evidence obtained via suspicion-
less identification should be suppressed); Riley v. Cal-
ifornia, 134 S8. Ct. 2473 (2014) (arguing that it is un-
reasonable to warrantlessly search a cell phone inci-
dent to an arrest); Florida v. Harris, 133 S. Ct. 1050
(2013) (arguing that the government bears the burden
of establishing the reliability of new investigative
techniques used in establishing probable cause for a
search); United States v. Jones, 565 U.S. 400 (2012)
(arguing that warrantless tracking of a car using a

' Both parties consent to the filing of this brief. In accord-
ance with Rule 37.6, the undersigned states that no mone-
tary contributions were made for the preparation or sub-
mission of this brief, and this brief was not authored, in
whole or in part, by counsel for a party.

2

GPS device violates the Fourth Amendment); Com-
monwealth v. Connolly, 454 Mass. 808 (2009) (same).

EPIC has also filed extensive comments with
federal agencies and testified before the U.S. Congress
regarding the privacy and consumer safety risks posed
by connected vehicles. See, e.g., Comments of EPIC to
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administra-
tion/Department of Transportation (Nov. 14, 2017);?
Comments of EPIC to the Federal Trade Commission
& National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,
EPIC (May 1, 2017); Self-Driving Vehicle Legislation:
Hearing on H.R. 3388 Before the H. Comm. on Energy
& Commerce, 115th Cong. (2017) (statement of Marc
Rotenberg, EPIC President); Comments of EPIC to
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Department of Transportation, EPIC (Nov. 22, 2016);°
The Internet of Cars: Joint Hearing Before the Sub-
comm. on Transp. & Pub. Assets of the H. Comm. on
Oversight & Gov't Reform, 114th Cong. (2015) (state-
ment of Khaliah Barnes, Associate Director and Ad-
ministrative Law Counsel, EPIC)“ EPIC has repeat-
edly emphasized that there are unique privacy risks
arising from modern vehicles that are not addressed
in current law. See Marc Rotenberg, Steer Clear of

* https://epic.org/apa/comments/E PIC-NHTSA-Automat-
edDrivingSystems. pdf.

’ https://epic.org/apa/comments/E PIC-ConnectedCar-
Workshop-Comments.pdf.

‘ https://epic.org/testimony/congress/E PIC-HEC-AV-Legis-
lation-Jun2017.pdf.

® https://epic.org/apa/comments/EPIC-NHTSA-AV-Policy-
comments- 11-22-2016.pdf.

® https://epic.org/privacy/edrs/E PIC-Connected-Cars-Testi-
mony-Nov-18-2015.pdf.

3

Cars that Spy, USA Today (Aug. 18, 2011);’ Mare Ro-
tenberg, Are Vehicle Black Boxes A Good Idea?, Costco
Connection (April 2013).

EPIC seeks to ensure that Fourth Amendment
protections apply to policing practices that implicate
new technologies. This case presents a fundamental
question about the scope of Fourth Amendment pro-
tections as applied to the search of rental vehicles at a
time when motor vehicles are being routinely
equipped with devices that capture and record per-
sonal data. EPIC submits the following amicus brief,
signed by distinguished technical experts and legal
scholars, in support of the Fourth Amendment in the
digital age.

Technical Experts and Legal Scholars

Rod Beckstrom
Founder and CEO, BECKSTROM

Colin J. Bennett
Professor, University of Victoria

Cynthia Dwork
Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Science,
Harvard Radcliffe Alumnae Professor, Radcliffe
Institute for Advanced Study

David J. Farber
Distinguished Career Professor of Computer Sci-
ence and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon Univer-

sity

’ https://usatoday30. usatoday.com/news/opinion/editorials/
2011-08-18-car-insurance-monitors-driving-snap-
shot_n.htm.

* http://www .costcoconnection.com/connection/20 1304?

pe=24#pg24.

4
Addison Fischer
Founder and Chairman, Fischer International
Corp.
Hon. David Flaherty
Former Information and Privacy Commissioner
for British Columbia

Chris Larsen
Executive Chairman, Ripple, Inc.

Harry R. Lewis
Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Science,

Harvard University

Anna Lysyanskaya

Professor of Computer Science, Brown University
Gary T. Marx

Professor Emeritus of Sociology, MIT
Mary Minow

2017-18 Fellow, Berkman Klein Center for Inter-
net and Society at Harvard University

Eben Moglen
Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

Founding Director, Software Freedom Law Center
Dr. Pablo Garcia Molina
Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University

Dr. Peter G. Neumann
Senior Principal Scientist, SRI International Com-
puter Science Lab

Dr. Deborah C. Peel, M.D.
Founder and Chair, Patient Privacy Rights

Ronald L. Rivest
Institute Professor of Electrical Engineering and

Computer Science, MIT

5

Bruce Schneier
Program Fellow and 'vecturer, Harvard Kennedy

School

Robert Ellis Smith
Publisher, Privacy Journal

Nadine Strossen
John Marshall Harlan II Professor of Law, New
York School; Former President, American Civil
Liberties Union

Jim Waldo
Gordon McKay Professor of the Practice of Com-
puter Science, Chief Technology Officer, John A.
Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sci-
ence, Professor of Technology Policy, Harvard
Kennedy School

Anne L. Washington, PhD
Data & Society Research Institute Fellow
Assistant Professor, Schar School of Policy and
Government, George Mason University

Christopher Wolf
Board Chair, Future Privacy Forum

Shoshana Zuboff
Charles Edward Wilson Professor of Bus ness Ad-
ministration, Emerita, Harvard Business School

(Affiliations are for identification only)

6
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The modern vehicle is not your dad’s Chevy. The
connected car is a computer on wheels. It stores vast
troves of personal data, including the date, time,
and location of the vehicle, as well as acceleration and
braking patterns, weather conditions, and the identi-
ties of the occupants. An individual’s entire address
book can be quickly collected from a Bluetooth-con-
nected device and stored within the vehicle. The
car makes little distinction between driver and occu-
pant, those on a rental agreement and those who are
not. All of the personal data collected by the vehicle is
stored, recorded, and available for later inspection.

In response to these new technologies, many
states have established privacy safeguards for modern
vehicles. Most have limited police access to the event
data recorders, also known as “black boxes.” These
states are seeking to provide a ride safe from mass sur-
veillance. But the bump in the road remains the ab-
sence of a clear Fourth Amendment rule to limit police
access to personal data stored in the vehicle. That is-
sue may not be obvious in this case. But if you look
under the hood, you will see that the warrantless
search of a modern vehicle implicates far more privacy
interests than the physical search of a 66 Buick
LeSabre.

EPIC also encourages the Court to steer clear of
a Fourth Amendment ruling that relies on private con-
tracts. That is a Fourth Amendment detour that leads
to a dead end.

ARGUMENT

7

I. Modern cars collect and store vast troves
of personal data.

A warrantless search of a vehicle today could
expose much more than just the physical items around
the seats. For example, a police officer could readily
obtain the complete address book from an occupant’s
cell phone even though this Court has previously ruled
that a similar search of a cell phone incident to arrest
would require a warrant. Riley v. California, 573 U.S.
__ (2014) (holding that the warrantless search of a cell
phone seized subsequent to arrest is impermissible);
see also Lisa Weintraub Schifferle, Fed. Trade
Comm'n, What Is Your Phone Telling Your Rental
Car? (Aug. 30, 2016).° It should make no difference
whether the search of a vehicle was for a person named
on a rental car agreement or not. Modern vehicles spy
on both drivers and passengers. Marc Rotenberg, Steer
Clear of Cars that Spy, USA Today (Aug. 18, 2011).

The automobile is undergoing a transformation.
Modern vehicles contain “infotainment” systems that
record location data and GPS trips visited while trav-
eling in the rental car, along with a wide range of other
personal data. By 2020, approximately 381 million
connected vehicles will be on the road, and 90% of cars
sold will have the capacity to connect to the Internet.
World Economic Forum, Digital Transformation of In-
dustries Automotive Industry 9 (2016) Andrew Me-
ola, Automotive Industry Trends: loT Connected Smart

https ,-ww. consumer. fte. gov/blog / 20 16/08/what-your-
phone: telling-your- rental-car.

'© https , ]ꝰ wm. accenture. com/t 20170116 T084448 _w__/us-
en/_acnmedia/Accenture/Conversion-Assets/WEF/PDF/Ac-
centure-Automotive-Industry.pdf.

8

Cars & Vehicles, Bus. Insider (Dec. 20, 2016).'! Con-
nected vehicles, which store detailed personal data,
will become the predominant form of private transpor-
tation in the near future.

A. Asearch of a modern vehicle can reveal
extensive personal data.

Modern cars are computers on wheels. Today’s
vehicles contain dozens of small computers that are
linked together by the car’s internal computer net-
work. See Allen & Overy, Autonomous and Connected
Vehicles: Navigating the Legal Issues (2017);'2 Sen.
Edward J. Markey (D-Mass), Tracking & Hacking: Se-
curity & Privacy Gaps Put American Drivers at Risk,
(2015) [hereinafter “Markey Report”].'* These comput-
ers control everything from braking, acceleration,
steering, engine performance, door locks, and climate
control to navigation and entertainment. Allen &
Overy, supra, at 2. Pre-installed technological systems
collect a diverse set of data, including location data
recorded at regular intervals; previous destinations
entered into the navigation system: and last location
parked. Markey Report, supra, at 8. These systems
also collect operational data, such as vehicle speed; di-
rection/heading of travel; distances and time traveled;
average fuel economy/consumption; status of power
windows, doors, and locks; tire pressures; fuel level;
tachometer reading (engine RPM gauge); odometer

'| http://www.businessinsider.com/connected-car-statis-
tics-manufacturers-2015-2.

'2 http://www.allenovery.com/SiteCollectionDocuments/
Autonomous-and-connected-vehicles. pdf.

'S https://www.markey.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/20 15-02-
06_MarkeyReport-Tracking Hacking CarSecurity%
202.pdf.

9

reading; mileage since last oil change; battery health;
coolant temperature; engine status; exterior tempera-
ture and pressure. Id. Modern vehicles also connect “to
the Internet and [contain] a variety of sensors, and
. are thus able to send and receive signals, sense the
physical environment around them, and interact with
other vehicles or entities.” Edward H. Baker et al.,
Connected Car Report 2016: Opportunities, Risk, and
Turmoil on the Road to Autonomous Vehicles 10 (Sept.
28, 2016).'4

Soon, connected vehicles will collect data about
“driving patterns, touch point preferences, digital ser-
vice usage, and vehicle condition.” Jd. at 21. As cars
become increasingly connected, they will collect and
store more and more sensitive data about the driver
and other occupants of the vehicle. According to a 2015
Senate report, about a third of all cars from 13 major
car manufacturers collect data about driving history.
Markey Report, supra, at 8. This includes “navigation,
telematics, infotainment, emergency assist, stolen ve-
hicle recovery, and event data recording systems.” /d.
This data would reveal where a car was driven and
how the car was driven, and could also include the
identity of drivers or occupants. Id. Telematics sys-
tems “use telecommunication networks and GPS sig-
nals to allow information, such as location data, to be
communicated between a car and a service provider.”
U.S. Gov. Accountability Office, GAO-14-649T, Con-
sumers’ Location Data: Companies Take Steps to Pro-
tect Privacy, but Practices Are Inconsistent, and Risks
May Not be Clear to Consumers (2014)."®

14 http://www. strategyand. pwe.com/media/file/Connected-car-re-

port-2016.pdf.
'® http://gao.gov/products/GAO-14-649T.

10

According to a GAO study, the collection and
disclosure of consumer location information by in-car
navigation providers poses serious risks to consumer
privacy. Id. at 2. Storing location information over
time “create[s] a detailed profile of individual behav-
ior, including habits, preferences, and routes trav-
eled,” the exploitation of which can lead to identity
theft or threats to personal safety. Id.

Rental cars are increasingly equipped with sys-
tems that collect personal data about drivers and oc-
cupants. Presently, “1 out of 8 cars in Hertz’s rental
fleet are equipped with dashboard cameras — not out-
ward-facing cameras monitoring the road, but inward-
facing cameras capable of making audio and video re-
cordings of everything inside the passenger compart-
ment.” Jennifer Abel, Consumer Affairs, Hertz Putting
Passenger-compartment Cameras in Rental Cars (Mar.
18, 2015). 16 Avis recently announced that it would dou-
ble the number of connected vehicles in its fleet by
2018, raising the overall number to 100,000. Press Re-
lease, Avis Budget Group, Avis Car Rental Expands
Fleet of Connected Cars (May 22, 2017).'7 Avis speci-
fies that its vehicles are “equipped with devices which
allow [Avis] to send commands to and receive certain
information from the vehicle, including geolocation
data from a global positioning system (GPS). These de-
vices are turned on all the time, even when other ser-
vices or other media in the vehicle is turned off.” Avis,

16 https://www.consumeraffairs.com/news/hertz-putting-
passenger-compartment-cameras-in-rental-cars-
031815.html

'T Available at http://ir.avisbudgetgroup.com/releases.cfm?
Year=&ReleasesT ype=&PageNum=2.

11

Privacy Notice 3 (2017). Avis further specifies that
the devices “collect and process vehicle data about the
vehicle itself, such as fuel level, odometer, speed, diag-
nostic and performance data, tire pressure, accident or
damage data, and location and direction of travel
data.” Id. Enterprise rental vehicles also contain
telematics systems, which collect (1) location infor-
mation, (2) crash notification and related crash data,
and (3) operational condition, mileage, diagnostic and
performance reporting of vehicles. Enterprise, Global
Privacy Policy (2017). 1 The company claims that it is
“not responsible for any data that is left in the vehicle”
and that it “cannot guarantee the privacy or confiden-
tiality of such information.” Id. Rental car companies
even “collect photos and videos in some instances, such
as when you link your [Avis] account with your social
media profile.” See, e.g., Avis, Privacy Notice 3 (2017).

Rental vehicles also contain “infotainment” sys-
tems that collect personal data stored on a driver's cell
phone. Schifferle, supra. These systems are designed
to “pair” an occupant’s phone with the vehicle’s audio
and media system. But once a phone is connected, the
car automatically downloads a vast amount of infor-
mation from the driver's cell phone, including private
contacts and messages. Id.

The amount of personal data a modern vehicle
can collect varies by Bluetooth module “but typically
there is storage for hundreds if not thousands of phone
numbers.” Kelsey Mays, Do Apple CarPlay, Android
Auto Keep Data From Your Smarthphone? Cars.com

'8 https://www.avis.com/content/dam/avis/na/us/common/
pdf-files/4433_AV_COM_terms_update_01.30.17.pdf.
'9 https://www.enterprise.com/en/privacy-policy. html.

12
(March 28, 2016).2° According to technology analyst at
HIS Automotive, Colin Bird, advanced Bluetooth sys-
tems collect and store data “including keystroke data,
wireless sensor reporting and the ability to transmit
short data packets like messages, emails, calendar no-
tifications, tasks, notes and reminders.” Id. Some cars
even collect data from the occupants’ social media ac-
counts such as Facebook and Twitter. Joe Donovan,
Want to Know If your Phone Pairs with Your Car? This
Handy List Should Do the Trick, Digital Trends (Aug.
5, 2014) (providing a detailed list of automakers and
their Bluetooth capabilities). The car also collects
call logs and any contacts from the phone. /d. This per-
sonal data is stored in the vehicle. Schifferle, supra;
see also Jennifer Abel, Consumer Affairs, Rental-car
Drivers: Take These Important Steps to Protect Our
Privacy (July 13, 2015). Stefan Cross, communica-
tions manager for GM’s connected-car division warned
that someone could easily access the Bluetooth module
and get an occupant’s phonebook, recent messages and
other basic information, such as the name of the phone
and Bluetooth key. Mays, supra. Furthermore, even if
an occupant deletes his phone from the vehicle, only
the “pointer” or “map” that shows where the data
stored in the system is erased. Id. The actual content
of the data is embedded memory and remains in the

% https://www.cars.com/articles/do-apple-carplay-android-
auto-keep-data-from-your-smartphone- 1 420684038897/.

2! https://www.digitaltrends.com/cars/automobile-blue-
tooth-compatibility/.

2 https://www.consumeraffairs.com/news/rental-car-driv-
ers-take-these-im portant-steps-to-protect-your-privacy-
071315. html.

13

system’s database. Id. A warrantless search of a vehi-
cle would provide access to this sensitive personal
data.

Modern vehicles incorporate social media apps,
too. For example, “BMW’s ConnectedDrive system has
Facebook, Twitter and a Wiki Local app (which acts
like an in-car travel guide), Mercedes-Benz’s ‘mbrace’
system uses Yelp to help find restaurants and Audi
Connect lets drivers not only find parking at their des-
tination, but also reserve and pay for a space.” Allen &
Overy, supra, at 18 (internal citations added). Fur-
thermore, the Audi Picture Navigation app allows
users to use the location metadata embedded in a
photo sent from a contact to plot a destination on the
car’s navigation system.” Id. Soon to come, the Univer-
sity of Michigan has partnered with Ford, Microsoft
and Intel to develop the Caravan Tracker app that en-
ables multiple cars on a trip to connect and share in-
formation about how much petrol is left in the fuel
tanks, to compare fuel economy, and to share route in-
formation. Id. All of these apps and personal data col-
lected therefrom are and will become accessible within
the vehicle.

Some rental vehicles collect driver and occupant
data through the OnStar system, which is owned by
General Motors and provides certain navigation and
emergency access functions. See, e.g., Avis, Privacy
Notice 3 (2017); Enterprise, Global Privacy Policy (Oct.
9, 2017). OnStar collects a broad range of data to facil-
itate communications with drivers and occupants, in-
vehicle security, hands-free calling, turn-by-turn nav-
igation, and remote diagnostics systems. OnStar,
Home.* This data includes “specific driving behavior,

* https://www.onstar.com/us/en/home. html,

14

including hard braking events, hard acceleration
events, time spent idle, speeds over 80 miles per hour,
when a trip occurs and the number of miles driven.”
OnStar, Driving Information and Data Collection.”
According to OnStar’s Privacy Policy, OnStar collects
“GPS location, speed, air bad deployments, crash
avoidance alerts, impact data, safety system status,
braking and swerving/concerning events, event data
recorder (EDR) data, seatbelt settings, vehicle direc-
tion (heading), camera image and sensor data, voice
command information, stability control or anti-lock
events, security/theft alerts, infotainment system us-
age, and WiFi data usage.” OnStar, Privacy State-
ment.“ OnStar acknowledges that this data collection
will occur with whomever operates an OnStar
equipped vehicle; for example, “you let someone else
drive your OnStar equipped vehicle.” Id. In this case,
OnStar’s Privacy Statement still applies. /d.
Insurance companies have also introduced new
techniques that collect data about a driver that could
be subject to a law enforcement search. For example,
Progressive’s Snapshot device plugs into cars OBDII
ports to track a user’s driving habits with the incentive
that the user will lower his insurance rate. Damon
Lavrinc, Progressive Insurance’s Driver Tracking Tool
lis Ridiculously Insecure, Jalopnik (Jan. 20, 2015).”
Currently, the device has over two million users. /d.
The Snapshot device logs location data and “collects

* https://www.onstar.com/us/en/help-support/onstar-
smart-driver/driving-info-data-collection. html.

® https://www .onstar.com/us/en/footer-links/privacy -pol-
icy.html.

* https://jalopnik.com/progressive-insurances-driver-
tracking-tool-is-ridicul- 1680720690.

15

information about how you drive, how much you drive
and when you drive. It also collects your vehicle iden-
tification number and triggers an email to you if it
comes unplugged. Some devices collect location data.”
Progressive, Frequently Asked Questions About Snap-
shot.27 Snapshot even collects phone usage data, in-
cluding phone calls, texting, apps, and so forth. /d.
Connected vehicles even collect information
about the driver without their knowledge by aggregat-
ing and analyzing data. This data could also be ob-
tained in a law enforcement search. For example, some
cars have a “drowsiness alert” that triggers based on
certain driving date Drowsiness Alert, My Car Does
What.” The alert detects “drowsy” driving by tracking
driving habits, such as lane departure. “High speed
alert” gathers information about a vehicle’s position,
via GPS, with a database of speed limit information to
warn a driver if they are speeding. High Speed Alert,
My Car Does What.“ Some vehicles even have a cam-
era that can read speed limit signs to determine
whether the driver is speeding. Id. “Automatic emer-
gency breaking” systems scan the road in front of the
vehicle and warn the driver of an impending crash, but
can also collect data about whether the driver does not
react in time. Automatic Emergency Breaking, My Car
Does What.“ The braking technique relies on either

27 https://www.progressive .com/auto/discounts/snap-
shot/snapshot-common-questions/.

“8 https://mycardoeswhat.org/safety -features/drowsiness-
alert/.

* https://mycardoeswhat.org/safety -features/high-speed-
alert/.

o https://mycardoeswhat.org/safety -features/automatic-
braking/.

16

camera- or radar-based sensors located in the front of
the vehicle to detect proximity between vehicles. /d.

Today’s vehicles also include built-in event data
recorders, otherwise known as “black boxes.” See gen-
erally, EPIC, Automobile Event Data Recorders (Black
Boxes) and Privacy.*' Black boxes record the events
and actions of the driver, including speed, braking,
turning, and use of a safety belt before a collision. Nat’!
Highway Traffic Safety Admin., Event Data Re-
corder. Black boxes “may record (1) pre-crash vehicle
dynamics and system status, (2) driver inputs, (3) ve-
hicle crash signature, (4) restraint usage/deployment
status, and (5) post-crash data such as the activation
of an automatic collision notification (CAN) system.”
Id.; see also Kim Komando, Your Car’s Hidden ‘Black
Box’ and How to Keep It Private, USA Today (Dec. 26,
2014).33 Law enforcement and insurers could seek to
use this information to make “determinations about li-
ability and rates based on the data gathered by EDRs.”
Marc Rotenberg, Are Vehicle Black Boxes A Good
Idea?, Costco Connection (April 2013); see also Marc
Rotenberg, Steer Clear of Cars That Spy, USA Today
(Aug. 18, 2011). In 2013, approximately 96% of all new
cars sold in the U.S. contained a black box, and by Sep-
tember 1, 2014, every new vehicle required one. /d.

In response to growing privacy concerns related
to black boxes, the federal government enacted the
Driver Privacy Act of 2015. 18 U.S.C. § 2721, Pub. L.

5! https://epic.org/privacy/edrs/.

82 https://www.nhtsa.gov/research-data/event-data-re-
corder.

* https://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/columnist/ko-
mando/20 1 4/12/26/keep-your-car-black -box-pri-
vate/20609035/.

17

No. 114-94, 129 Stat. 1712 (2015); see also Nat'l Con-
ference of State Legislatures, Privacy of Data from
Event Data Records: State Statutes (Jan. 4, 2016).**
The Act placed limits on access to black box data and
guaranteed that the information collected belongs to
the owner or lessee of the vehicle. 18 U.S.C. § 2721.

The states have also passed laws to give indi-
viduals control over the personal data gathered in
modern vehicles. Seventeen states have enacted stat-
utes governing black boxes and privacy: Arkansas,
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine,
Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New
York, North Dakota, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Virginia
and Washington. Nat'l Conference of State Legisla-
tures, Supra; see EPIC, State Auto Black Boxes Pol-
ic y. % For example, in California, except for safety re-
search or for auto diagnostics, one must obtain a court
order and the owner's consent to download the data.
Id. Arkansas, North Dakota and Oregon laws prohibit
requiring owners to disclose their data as a condition
of an insurance payment or settlement. /d. Further-
more, more than a dozen states require written notice
to owners of the use of event data recorders. /d.

As newer technologies and recent legal develop-
ments make clear, modern vehicles raise many far-
reaching privacy concerns that a Fourth Amendment
analysis cannot ignore. Moreover, none of the tech-
niques currently used in modern vehicles to collect
personal data draw a distinction between those who
are on a rental agreement and those who are not. The
Third Circuit’s bright-line distinction between these

“4 http://www.ncsl.org/research/telecommunications-and-
information-technology/privacy -of-data-from-event-data-
recorders.aspx.

o https://epic.org/state-policy/edr/.

18

two categories of drivers is entirely disconnected from
the scope of personal data that could be obtained from
the vehicle.

Even the contractual relationship affords little
protection. A rental agreement runs for a specific du-
ration, but the data storage may extend well beyond
that period. Once a rental vehicle has been returned to
its dispatcher and the agreement has expired, the
Third Circuit’s holding establishes that the driver is
no longer subject to the agreement; therefore, the
driver would not have Fourth Amendment protection
against the subsequent warrantless search of the data
stored in the vehicles. Subsequent rentals users, em-
ployees, hackers, and even law enforcement officials
could access information collected and stored through
connecting personal devices in the vehicle. Schifferle,
supra. Consequently, the Third Circuit's bright-line
rule would significantly expand the scope of warrant-
less searches of driver data.

II. Relying on rental contracts to negate
Fourth Amendment standing would un-
dermine legitimate expectations of pri-
vacy.

This Court has held that the Fourth Amend-
ment limits the ability of the government to track the
location of a vehicle without regard to whether the
driver is the owner of the vehicle or named on a rental
car agreement. United States v. Jones, 565 U.S. 400
(2012). In Jones, the Fourth Amendment analysis did
not turn on the status of the driver but on the conduct
of the police. In three different opinions, the Court
found that the warrantless tracking of the vehicle by

19

means of new technology violated the Fourth Amend-
ment. Whether the driver was the owner or the renter
was irrelevant.

A. The status of the driver is irrelevant to
Fourth Amendment privacy interests.

This Court made clear in United States v. Jones
that significant privacy interests are implicated by the
tracking and collection of data from automobiles.
While the Court disagreed over whether a property-
based interest or the reasonable expectation of privacy
analysis was the best route to take, the Justices ended
up at the same destination and unanimously agreed
that the warrantless search of a vehicle equipped with
tracking technology violated the Fourth Amendment.

Justice Scalia emphasized in his opinion for the
Court that where police conduct violates property-
based interests, it triggers the Fourth Amendment:

[T]he Government’s installation of a GPS
device on a target’s vehicle, and its use of
that device to monitor the vehicle’s move-
ments, constitutes a “search.” It is im-
portant to be clear about what occurred
in this case: The Government physically
occupied private property for the purpose
of obtaining information. We have no
doubt that such a physical intrusion
would have been considered a “search”
within the meaning of the Fourth
Amendment when it was adopted... .
The text of the Fourth Amendment re-
flects its close connection to property,
since otherwise it would have referred
simply to “the right of the people to be se-
cure against unreasonable searches and

20

seizures”; the phrase “in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects” would have
been superfluous .. Jones, who pos-
sessed the Jeep at the time the Govern-
ment trespassorily inserted the infor-
mation-gathering device, is on much dif-

ferent footing .. . . By attaching the de-
vice to the Jeep, officers encroached on a
protected area.

Jones, 565 U.S. at 404, 405, 410. Justice Scalia’s opin-
ion did not turn on the status of the driver, even
though the vehicle was not registered to the defend-
ant. Instead, Justice Scalia emphasized that the “gov-
ernment physically occupied private property for the
purpose of obtaining information.” Id. at 404. The oc-
cupation of this private property constituted a search
under the Fourth Amendment, regardless of to whom
the vehicle belonged. Id. at 405. Therefore, under the
property-based view, the status of the driver did not
dictate the scope of Fourth Amendment protection.

In his concurring opinion in Jones, joined by
four others, Justice Alito reasoned that the police
tracking of the vehicle triggers the Fourth Amend-
ment under the reasonable expectation of privacy test,
established in Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 351
(1967):

[T]he use of longer term GPS monitoring

in investigations of most offenses im-

pinges on expectations of privacy. For

such offenses, society's expectation has

been that law enforcement agents and

others would not—and indeed, in the

main, simply could not—secretly monitor

and catalogue every single movement of

21

an individual’s car for a very long period.
In this case, for four weeks, law enforce-
ment agents tracked every movement
that respondent made in the vehicle he
was driving. We need not identify with
precision the point at which the tracking
of this vehicle became a search, for the
line was surely crossed before the 4-week
mark.

Jones, 565 U.S. 430. Justice Alito’s analysis also did
not depend on the status of the driver. Instead, Justice
Alito focused on the use of the GPS for long-term track-
ing. Id. at 424. Long-term monitoring can occur even
when the government has not committed a technical
trespass (e.g. manufacturers including a GPS tracking
device in every car). Id. A driver still maintains a rea-
sonable expectation of privacy in the data collected
from long-term tracking, regardless of if this data is
retrieved through a GPS device already installed in
the vehicle or placed by the government. Id. Despite a
lack of ownership of the vehicle, Justice Alito found
that a defendant had a reasonable expectation of pri-
vacy in the long-term monitoring of his driving habits.
Most importantly, the status of the driver was not de-
terminative in Justice Alito’s reasonable expectation
of privacy analysis.

In a separate concurring opinion in Jones, Jus-
tice Sotomayor set out a hybrid analysis that sug-
gested that the case be resolved under both the prop-
erty test and the reasonable expectation of privacy
test:

[Als Justice Alito notes, physical intru-

sion is now unnecessary to many forms of

surveillance. With increasing regularity,

22

the Government will be capable of dupli-

cating the monitoring undertaken in this

case by enlisting factor- or owner-in-

stalled vehicle tracking devices or GPS-

enabled smartphones. In cases of elec-

tronic or other novel modes of surveil-

lance that do not depend upon a physical

invasion on property, the majority opin-

ion’s trespassory test may provide little

guidance. But “[s]ituations involving

merely the transmission of electronic sig-

nals without trespass would remain sub-

ject to Katz analysis.” Ante, at 953. As

Justice Alito incisively observes, the

same technological advances that have

made possible nontrespassory surveil-

lance techniques will also affect the Katz

test by shaping the evolution of societal

privacy expectations. Post, at 962-963.

Under that rubric, I agree with Justice

Alito that, at the very least “long term

GPS monitoring in investigations of most

offenses impinges on expectations of pri-

vacy.”
Jones, 565 U.S. at 414—15 (internal citations omitted).
Justice Sotomayor’s analysis similarly did not turn on
the status of the driver. She recognized that the
Fourth Amendment is concerned not only with tres-
passory intrusions on property, but also when the gov-
ernment’s conduct violates a subjective expectation of
privacy. Jd. Unlike Justice Alito, Justice Sotomayor
found that even aspects of short-term surveillance
could violate a reasonable expectation of privacy. Id.
at 415. The analysis should focus on “whether people

23

reasonably expect that their movements will be rec-
orded and aggregated in a manner that enables the
Government to ascertain, more or less at will, their po-
litical and religious beliefs, sexual habits, and so on,”
not whether one can claim ownership over an object or
space. Id. In fact, Justice Sotomayor pointed to pre-
cisely the problem presented in the search of the mod-
ern vehicle (the proliferation of data collection):

It may be necessary to reconsider the
premise that an individual has no rea-
sonable expectation of privacy in infor-
mation voluntarily disclosed to third par-
ties. This approach is ill suited to the dig-
ital age, in which people reveal a great
deal of information about themselves to
third parties in the course of carrying out
mundane tasks. People disclose the
phone numbers that they dial or text to
their cellular providers; the URLs that
they visit and the e-mail addresses with
which they correspond to their Internet
service providers; and the books, grocer-
ies, and medications they purchase to
online retailers.

Id. (emphasis added). Furthermore, Justice So-
tomayor emphasized that she would “not assume that
all information voluntarily disclosed to some member
of the public for a limited purpose is, for that reason
alone, disentitled to Fourth Amendment protection.”
Id. In other words, the Court should steer clear of an
analysis that relies on the status of the driver and fol-
low the right sign marked “information involuntarily
disclosed to others” to ascertain whether there is a rea-
sonable expectation of privacy in the modern vehicle.

24
As the vurious opinions in Jones make clear, re-
gardless of the Fourth Amendment road followed, the
status of the driver, named on the rental agreement or
not, is simply a detour and has no bearing on the
Fourth Amendment outcome.

B. Constitutional rights are still recog-
nized despite contractual violations.

The courts have recognized that the scope of the
Fourth Amendment should not be dictated by “[s]ubtle
distinctions” of state consumer protection laws or con-
tracts. United States v. Owens, 782 F. 2d 146, 150 (10th
Cir. 1986) (citing Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257,
266 (1960) and Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347
(1967)). Courts should not rely on whether a person’s
name appears on a consumer contract to determine
whether they have a constitutionally protected privacy
interest as against the government. This is true not
only of rental agreements, but also all commercial ser-
vices governed by contracts, including, for example,
the use of cell phones. See, e.g., United States v. Powell,
732 F.3d 361, 374 (5th Cir. 2013) (holding that a
fendant disclaiming a personal connection to the
phone discovered in the vehicle lacked a legitimate ex-
pectation of privacy in the phone being searched, re-
gardless of who the phone actually belonged to). Fur-
thermore, the Court has found that “arcane distinc-
tions developed in property and tort law . . . ought not
.. . control” the reasonableness of an expectation of
privacy. Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128, 143 (1978).

Yet the bright-line rule offered in this case
would carry forward a distinction without constitu-
tional significance and would fail to recognize the pri-
vacy interests of all driver and other occupants subject
to a warrantless search.

25

* * *

The use of data generated by a rental vehicle is
not a new privacy problem. David Burnham, The Rise
of The Computer State 39—40 (1980) (describing police
access to the “Wizard of Avis” to track the location of
those who rent cars). But the routine collection of de-
tailed personal data in modern vehicles is new and will
become more acute in the years ahead.

Before the Court heads down the road of war-
rantless car searches in the modern vehicle, we write
to warn that there is a caution sign ahead: “this will
permit police access to the same data that the Court
held in Jones would require a warrant.” A better route
is the one marked “Fourth Amendment warrant re-
quirement.”

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici respectfully ask
this Court to reverse the decision of the U.S. Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

MARC ROTENBERG

ALAN BUTLER

ELECTRONIC PRIVACY
INFORMATION CENTER (EPIC)
1718 Connecticut Ave. NW
Suite 200

Washington, DC 20009

(202) 483-1140

(202) 483-1248 (fax)
rotenberg@epic.org

November 20, 2017

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0749%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
