# Amicus Curiae Brief — Digital Realty Trust, Inc. v. Somers, 138 S. Ct. 43 (2017) (No. 16-1276)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0745%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

— FILED

No. 16-1276 SUPREME cote DiS" |

ee ____ eT _e—=8t__?f
In the Supreme Court of the United States

DIGITAL REALTY TRUST, INC., PETITIONER
Uv,

PAUL SOMERS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

SUPPORTING RESPONDENT
ROBERT B, STEBBINS NOEL J. FRANCISCO
Geueral Counsel Solicitor General
MICHAEL A. CONLEY Counsel of Record
Solicitor MALCOLM L. STEWART
sp ay Counsel Omean G. MICHEL
aaiat uusel J ; ‘ HE
STEPHEN Gc. YooER a 3 Assistant to the Solicitor
or itigat Ouns .
, Depurtment of Justice
==> MISHRA Wank . ata | .C. 20530-0001
7 ™ ann Exchange (08) 51 L- ae 'U820}. JOU

Washington, D.C. 20549

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer
Protection Act, Pub. L. No. 111-203, 124 Stat. 1376, pro-
hibits emplover retaliation against whistleblowers who
make specified disclosures. 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1). ‘The
question presented is as follows:

Whether that prohibition encompasses retaliation
against individuals who report violations of the securi-
ties laws to company management but not to the Secu-
rities and Exchange Commission.

(T)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Interest of the United Statess............c....ccccssesnsssseseccseseenennereeneens 1
Statutory and regulatory provisions involved ..............ssses0e 2
Beeadaana8nt .ccecerse-a-crecsrvererecesrseresononrsseneorsroorresnessece seeseensererceceeeser sees 2
Summary Of argument ........csereseeesersssenensersnansnnenceneacenesneneeneeeees 10

ment:

The prohibition on employer retaliation against
whistleblowers in 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1) is not limited
to whistleblowers who report to the Commission .............. 14
A. The statutory text and structure indicate that the

anti-retaliation provisions use the term

“whistleblower” in its ordinary Sense ...................0006. 14
B. The statutory background and purpose confirm

that the anti-retaliation provisions use the term

“whistleblower” in its ordinary SeNSe ....................00000 27
C. The Commission’s reasonable interpretation of
Section 78u-6(h)(1) warrants judicial deference .......... 32
IED... oiiincnieencimmnncindiaeepminienmmaiaminsidiintenasiveiensitins 36
Appendix -- Statutory and regulatory provisions................ la
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Asadi v. G.E. Energy (USA), L.L.C., 720 F.3d 620
i i iiiiehicisincternitien se neniieesisilccantianaitaniniitenpininnatinicenten 10
Berman v. Neo@Ogilvy LLC, 801 F.3d 145
i I tite coeiiicnetshasinaeseniiesnianicasnqeninatenceieniiie passim
Bussing v. COR Clearing, LLC, 20 F. Supp. 3d 719
CR i: BED ceentcinintsnensecssnuninnpenntinsuiiomnannesnenin 24, 27, 28, 32
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. NRDC, 467 U.S. 837 (1984).......... 32
Cuozzo Speed Techs., LLC v. Lee, 136 8. Ct. 2131
TEITEII iiccsraruntessanasesethennniess-cebceuinbetnncictenimiasinatteetnaninaereueensaniiees 32

(III)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page
Department of Homeland Sec. v. MacLean,
I aetna teen 16
Environmental Def. v. Duke Energy Corp.,
I iaiesiccccntensccncintncciianbiniinennsenes 17, 18, 27, 33
FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,
IS i ei inl cerriceaihnadiptismindammiennentans 19

Franklin Cal. Tax-Free Trust v. Puerto Rico,
805 F.3d 322 (1st Cir. 2015), aff'd, 1386 S. Ct. 1938

(a iceehe ineari tidetintcine dei chasieniaeipainaiantieieiaitiiisienieante 18
Herman & MacLean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S. 375

a iiiincnsemmnenibens 29
Jerman v. Carlisle, McNellie, Rint, Kramer &

Ulrich, L.P_A., 558 U.S. GTB (ZO10).............0.0ceccrccesssesseess 35
Jones v. SouthPeak Interactive Corp., 777 F.3d 658

TN aie ha teeteeeibiiicieeepabenmancidanaieiieneenioene 31
Kasten v. Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics Corp.,

es SEED cnictintnnmeeneiistersiiiiesianesiusiniiccnmenemncttaiininn 24, 29, 33
Khazin v. TD Ameritrade Holding Corp., 773 F.3d

I I iccinccrisesiniiniaibictdeiintisedanebiaenichaitiatiishinateaniansinetsaneis 31
LaManque v. Massachusetts Dep't of Emp &

Training, 3 F. Supp. 2d 83 (D. Mass, 1998) ...............000 15
Lamie v. United States Tr., 540 U.S. 526 (2004)... 27
Lawson v. FMR LLC, 134S. Ct.

a ciecsussscihiastnsniabibesnieiniesniniintansenenedionneiinenentcn 3, 22, 28
Lawson v. Suwannee Fruit & S.S. Co., 336 U.S. 198

RERSRRu Reed OE etre Recreate ee ove cee amano ences 17, 18, 19, 26
Lewis v. Clarke, 137 S. Ct. 1285 (2017).........cccccccreseesseeeeeees 35
Long Island Care at Home, Ltd. v. Coke, 551 U.S.

Se iisiresicieeicriineiieianisiininatinintataiasininpiainiiisiteniaiaimnenemnanion 35
Loughrin v. United States, 134 S. Ct. 2384 (2014)............. 16
McLane Co. v. EEOC, 137 S. Ct. 1159 (2017) .......-ccecccceeves 35

North Carolina State Bd. of Dental Examiners v.
FTC, 135 S. Ct. 1101 (2016)..........cccccccrccorsesssvreesesseessrseenss 29

V

Cases—Continued: Page
Philko Aviation, Inc. v. Shacket, 462 U.S.

Es SCR ERSESP aR ERSPe escnrennier sees See 17, 18, 30
Republican Party of Minn. v. White, 536 U.S. 765

LAEGER AIEEE Ween eon ee eva Een noe OR 29
Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S.

cease celeeticiaannienceiabiaielin 18, 20, 29, 33
United States v. Cleveland Indians Baseball Co.,

SC EE ictscntsdcdsibsinnssistilienssiiaiacneianiiciumeabiamuane 18, 26, 33
United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218 (2001) ............. 33
United States v. Public Utilities Comm'n of Cal.,

ee I a caciiiesinmatincnebiesintesinsinintensmaseninoniin 18, 20, 21
Utility Air Regulatory Grp. v. EPA, 1348. Ct. 2427

STII biclisiisicnsianeintsaptinesctinsandastantiitebinebianiiapsnsatinneaabgiiis 17, 18, 20

Statutes, guidelines, and regulations:
Dodd-F rank Wall Street Reform and Consumer

Protection Act, Pub. L. No. 111-208,
ERR EE SEER Pp ee a LaF
ITI cial hina seendctededeetnianseninesiaensibasneiibiiiiaaineninnitiiaalameitaiien 2
Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, Pub. L. No, 107-204, 116
atid sien hcireachcciesebiincianesciesboianicmnmeetiagpensapieindeassien 2
aan 4
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. 78a
OE I erettetenmsisetntccteneremennscneeniocrerrerenemtnnemninmaninnenmanennnnetinn 4
I ircciininsinnicattcisstintiterasebeiiniinseunniionsiaiiniesois 5, 21
Be es HG estbittectnctiincsessesisondustneciabainbeianbeaniitt 4, 21
a a I cistrreysincsiinrascnstsenuilensicnnesiasiniibuitineteieaesinnibiaes 5
Nii scan uscnichapentitnaaceipaipitanaiiliael passim
ie ncincncienniaicniciniamamniamints 3, 18
jt SEA ERTS Araneae eae passim
BD CA Te cecccnccenecensnessteseorsncnsenocess 3, 19, 20, 26

15 U.S.C. TBu-GIDX1)......0cecrccccorssrcceerenseccrsessersnsorersnsersenss 19

VI

Statutes, guidelines, and regulations—Continued: Page

15 U.S.C. T8u-G(n)(L (A) ....ccccccccsseseesersseses 3, 15, 32, 33, 34
Be TL aias Per EE ct rcecevintesincenssresvenntmenenemionnes 3, 15
15 U.S.C. T8u-G(h)(1 (AHI)... ecececeeeeeeeenees 4, 15, 16, 20
15 U.S.C. T8u-G(N)L (A) (ii).............eccceeseeeceeeeecesnees passim
gs eh ee 5, 6, 31
Be a Fe iscenccanncenccssmennnicereseenmernatonees 31
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(B Mili) T) (aa) 0 eee ceeeeeeeeeeneees 6
eee 6
BS CEB. Te Rice cncesenvecnosencsenmetnscenesincenneess 31
SD Cs IEEE srenveecercensaizeseesecnsseneenertnnaeniin 21, 24
Fe ee ee icictsseniteesierecsincinerensesesitrstenannninonniciiansnen 31
Fa as SE airccecesncinsesinscictenstanicmmsintevtiinnenpintasses 6, 33

Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989, Pub. L. No.
101-12, 103 Stat. 32:

I 16

ere 16

Ce a SE ete ee eos ae 16

eat RE I RP ee Ee SSL 16
Tn SECIS RAS SSS Ea a aek SS Rae Mere Aer ns 5, 21
I ice 4, 5, 15, 21, 25
I ao 1 os niuamsnabeieielian 5, 11, 21
18 U.S.C. 1514A(aK1(C)....0...ccrcesecreseeees inte ticocsioaiiniidamabiaidia 16
| SYS REESE ESSN ARR aed eee tsaler ar se 5
a 31
I sumeiniadiiaiehaiasdiabadnabions 31
Be IIIT... cccsepuasnenaioisianinammuieniespetiaian 6
ft RR RI Se kecar nnn eae toca 6, 31
Nee ee ais eceaaremsmabonabe 31
oe sesiniousenneanmadoaiea 31
BD Pre EE, cxscncectcccseceecetenewsesens se APES Shea 31

SEA: Seid siestierncnernenteinnimmnsrermnimsienemmnnineinennnnins 31

Vil

Statute, guidelines, and regulations—Continued: Page

i ciineinietnionauniianinisvaiabncansieievennesitebiniawns 6
United States Sentencing Guidelines:
I aii tec cei alate ean telah tdeeistidiememebolanideténantadebal 29
eR GTA PEE SE Seek Cr nae ee ES 29
17 C.F.R.:
Pt. 205:
RE AEA AA oars ee ee ERI RRR NE 5
RTI A ETT sae Ae Es 21
Pt. 240:
REECE Ae eee aero a h
DN caeiraenaieianl 6, 7, 33
EE ART ee STR RS! 6
a esddlbaneniapeaen 1
I ia 7, 33
Section BED.2Z1F BID) .......0-:-r-cerecscrseressrecseseesers 33
Section 240.21 F-2(1)(1 (fii) ...........sceseceeseesersteresereeens 33
I I ETD cisiccnsnitscsnnsesesonscnscieaiccvosevevensince SN
ee a viicrtcnncctocsvviccscnsosscossesessninubetnens &
ee cssinsindeautamnmiitions 8
Ce awed s
Section 240.21 F'-O(a).......cccccccccsssesscsoseeeers- 7, 18, 21, 26
Pt. 270:
Ee 5
ID ins ceacngneshtpeecaipiasbbiemeedeishonss 5
29 C.F.R. Pt. 1980:
Sections 1980.103-1980.110..............:0:cc0.cceceseenevereneenes 6, 31
i seeeaninasiondiasalcaebaseiiailaeds 6, 31
Miscellaneous:

156 Cong. Rec. (2010):

Vill

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page
estan achansicieiigumnepinaninidsiniabininens dtp neniiniiitn 2
OS EEE EE SEA Sere a a eT ee 2

DOL, Whistleblower Investigation Data F Y2006-
F Y2016, https://www.whistleblowers.gov/
3DCharts-F Y2006-F Y2016.pdf (last visited Oct. 16,

RUSTE Ea 32
75 Fed. Reg. 70,488 (Nov. 17, 2010) ..........ccccccceseeseserscneeeeees 35
76 Fed. Reg. 34,300 (June 13, 2011) ......20.e ec cceeeeeeees passim
80 Fed. Reg. 47,829 (Aug. 10, 2015) 0.0.0... ccceceeseeeeeeenens 7
H.R. 3817, 111th Cong., 2d Sess. § 203

[§ 21F (a)-(d), (f), (g)(1) and (i)(4)] (Dec. 17, 2010)........... 28

H.R. 4173, 111th Cong., 2d Sess. § 7203(a)
[$ 21F(a)-(d), (f), (g)(1) and (j)(4)] (introduced in
the House Dec. 2, 2009; passed by the House Dec.
Bile ee isinleiainicassaiougandiintaitealabidinesemstmaniiniaddakemaniicsinieniccemeccsion 28

Hearing Before the House Comm. on Financial
Services: Public Policy Issues Raised by the
Report of the Lehman Bankruptcy Examiner,
Be eg Sie Sy ID coreseeccecnccmeneinsesinccnesensascerecsscese 2
Stephen Kohn, Clarifying Anti-Retaliation Protec-
tions Under Dodd-F rank, Law 360, June 22, 2017,
https://www.law360.com/articles/93626f/clarifying-
anti-retaliation-protections-under-dodd-frank (last

| LL ea 28
International Handbook on Whistleblowing Re-
search (A.J. Brown et al. ed, 2014)..........:cccccccescecereseeeeees 23

Samuel C. Leifer, Note, Protecting Whistleblower
Protections in th« Dodd-F rank Act, 113 Mich. L.
Pe I iii in cceneslecinatinpenincdaoninidubasteiichanseebiannie 23
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary,
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary (last
ES EAL RR 15

IX

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Janet P. Near & Marcia P. Miceli, After the Wrong-
doing: What Managers Should Know About

Whistleblowing, 59 Bus. Horizons 105 (2016)....0.....-....0.. 23
New Oxford American Dictionary (3d ed. 2010)............... 15
S. Rep. No. 176, 111th Cong., 2d Sess. (2010)......ccccccccccccseee. 8
SEC, 2016 Annual Report to Congress on the Dodd-

Frank Whistleblower Program. ...cccccccccocesssseseecersseeesseseees 23
Antonin Sealia & Bryan A. Garner, Reading Law:

The Interpretation of Legal Tewts (2012)........cccccc0e000. 9,17

U.S. Attorney’s Manwal 9-28.300.A(7) (2017) ....cccccccccoceoeee 29

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 16-1276
DIGITAL REALTY TRUST, INC., PETITIONER
Vv.
PAUL SOMERS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The question presented in this case concerns the
scope of the prohibition on employer retaliation against
whistleblowers that is imposed by the Dodd-Frank Wal]
Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Dodd-
Frank), Pub. L. No. 111-203, 124 Stat. 1376. The United
States has a substantial interest in the resolution of that
question. The Department of Justice and the Securities
and Exchange Commission (Commission) administer
and enforce provisions of Dodd-Frank, including the
anti-retaliation provisions codified at 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(h)(1), and other federal securities laws. The Commis-
sion has issued a rule that addresses the question pre-
sented, 17 C.F.R. 240.21F-2(b), and the Commission
filed an amicus brief supporting respondent in the court
of appeals.

(1)

2

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Pertinent statutory and regulatory provisions are
reproduced in this brief’s appendix. App., infra, la-30a.

STATEMENT

1. In the wake of the 2008 financial crisis, Congress
enacted Dodd-Frank to “promote the financial stability
of the United States by improving accountability and
transparency in the financial system.” 124 Stat. 1376.
Dodd-Frank responded to numerous perceived short-
comings in financial regulation, including the failure of
the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (Sarbanes-Oxley), Pub.
L. No. 107-204, 116 Stat. 745, to pre ent retaliation
against corporate whistleblowers who alerted internal
management about securities-law violations and fraud.

In particular, Members of Congress expressed con-
cern that whistleblowers at Lehman Brothers had
“tried to alert management to illegal accounting tricks,”
but were “fired” in retaliation for their internal disclo-
sures. 156 Cong. Rec. 7235, 7236 (2010); see id. at '7083-
7084 (Lehman Brothers did not “listen to the alerms
that were sounded in [its] own company, * * * [iJnstead,
those people who were trying to tell the truth were
forced out.”); Hearing Before the House Committee on
Financial Services: Public Policy Issues Raised by the
Report of the Lehman Bankruptcy Examiner, 111th
Cong., 2d Sess. 68, 75-77, 128, 175-178 (2010) (describ-
ing Lehman Brothers whistleblowers, including one
who was fired days after informing internal manage-
ment about improper accounting practices and another
at a Lehman Brothers subsidiary who was fired for dis-
closures to the FBI).

To address that problem, among others, Congress
included two distinct measures in Section 922 of Dodd-

3

Frank, codified at 15 U.S.C. 78u-6, that “extend[]} pro-
tection comprehensively to corporate whistleblowers.”
Lawson v. FMR LLC, 134 S. Ct. 1158, 1175 (2014).

a. First, Section 78u-6 creates an award program
for whistleblowers who provide useful information to
the Commission. Subsection (a) states that “lin this
section the following definitions shall apply,” and then
defines six terms that are used to delineate the award
program: “covered judicial or administrative action,”
“Fund,” “original information,” “monetary sanctions,”
“related action,” and “whistleblower.” 15 U.S.C. 78u-
fi(a). The term “whistleblower” is defined as “any indi-
viilual who provides, or 2 or more individuals acting
jointly who provide, information relating to a violation
of the securities laws to the Commission, in a manner
established, by rule or regulation, by the Commission.”
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(a)(6). Subsections (b)-(g) govern the
operation of the whistleblower award program. 15
U.S.C. T8u-6(b)-(g).

b. Second, Section 78u-6 prohibits retaliation
by employers against whistleblowers. Subparagraph
(hX1)(A) provides that, in three specified scenarios,
“Injo employer may discharge, demote, suspend,
threaten, harass, directly or indirectly, or in any other
manner discriminate against, a whistleblower in the
terms and conditions of employment because of any law-
ful act done by the whistleblower.” 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(h)(1)(A).

Clause (i) prohibits retaliation against a whistle-
blower for lawful acts in “providing information to
the Commission in accordance with this section.”
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(hX 1)(A)(i). Clause (ii) prohibits retali-
ation against a whistleblower for lawful acts in “initiat-
ing, testifying in, or assisting in any investigation or

4

judicial or administrative action of the Commission
based upon or related to [the] information” provided
to the Commission under clause (i), 15 U.S.C.
78u-6(h)(1)(A)(ii).

Clause (iii) was added late in the legislative process,
after both Houses of Congress had passed bills that in-
cluded only clauses (i) and (ii), and amid the discussion
of Sarbanes-Oxley’s failure to protect internal whistle-
blowers at Lehman Brothers. See p. 2, supra; H.R.
4173, 111th Cong. § 922(a) (2010) (conference base text
approved for use by the Senate in May 2010). Clause
(iii) prohibits retaliation against a whistleblower for
lawful acts in “making disclosures that are required or
protected under” several cross-referenced laws, includ-
ing Sarbanes-Oxley; the Securities Exchange Act of
1934 (Exchange Act), 15 U.S.C. 78a et segq.,' “including
section 78j-1(m)”’; 18 U.S.C. 1513(e); and “any other
law, rule, or regulation subject to the jurisdiction of the
Commission.” 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)(iii).

The laws cross-referenced by clause (iii) require or
protect disclosures to other entities in addition to the
Commission. Sarbanes-Oxley, for example, includes a
provision entitled “Whistleblower Protections for Em-
ployees of Publicly Traded Companies,” that prohibits
employer retaliation against employees for disclosing
violations of certain securities and fraud laws to any
federal “regulatory or law enforcement agency,” “any
Member of Congress or any committee of Congress,” or

' The whistleblower provisions of Dodd-Frank are codified as
Section 21F of the Exchange Act, which clause (iii) incorporates by
reference through the phrase “this chapter.” 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(h)(1)(A)(iii).

2 Section 78j-1(m) was enacted through Sarbanes-Oxley, 116 Stat.
775-777, and is codified as part of the Exchange Act.

5

“a person with supervisory authority over the em-
ployee.” 18 U.S.C. 1514A(a)(1). Another provision of
Sarbanes-Oxley—one that clause (iii) expressly singles
out—protects certain internal disclosures about audit-
ing matters. 15 U.S.C. 78j-1(m)(4). Similarly, Sarbanes-
Oxley requires attorneys representing public compa-
nies to disclose securities-law or fiduciary-duty viola-
tions to specified company officials, not to the Commis-
sion. 15 U.S.C. 7245; see 17 C.F.R. 205.3.

The Exchange Act, which clause (iii) also cross-
references, similarly requires registered public ac-
counting firms to report illegal acts discovered during
certain audits to the audited public company’s manage-
ment. 15 U.S.C. 78j-1(b). Another statute that clause
(iii) cross-references, 18 U.S.C. 1513(e), prohibits harm-
ful retaliation against any person for “providing to a law
enforcement officer any truthful information relating
to” a federal offense. And numerous other laws, rules,
or regulations “subject to the jurisdiction of the Com-
mission,” 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)(iii), require internal
reporting.*

c. Like a “person” who alleges a violation of the
whistleblower provisions of Sarbanes-Oxley, 18 U.S.C.
1514A(b), an “individual” who alleges a violation
of Dodd-Frank’s anti-retaliation provisions may seek
relief from his or her employer, 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(h)(1)(B)(i). The remedial schemes created by the two

* See, e.g., 17 C.F.R. 270.38a-1(a)(4) (mutual fund’s chief compli-
ance officer must report material compliance matters to fund’s
board); 17 C.F.R. 240.17a-5(h) (broker-dealer’s auditor must report
material inadequacies to broker-dealer’s chief financial officer); 17
C.F .R. 275.204A-1(a)(4) (investment adviser must adopt code of eth-
ics requiring supervised persons to report violations thereof to chief
compliance officer).

6

statutes, however, differ significantly. Sarbanes-
Oxley directs an aggrieved person to file a complaint
with the Department of Labor (DOL), which can either
adjudicate the claim through an administrative
process subject to review by a federal court of appeals,
or leave the person to bring a cause of action in federal
district court. Jbid.; 49 U.S.C. 42121(b); 29 C.F.R.
1980.103-.110, 1980.114. Dodd-Frank, by contrast,
allows an immediate action in federal district court.
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(B)(i). Sarbanes-Oxley includes
a six-month baseline statute of limitations, 18 U.S.C.
1514A(b)(2)(D), while Dodd-F rank’s baseline statute of
limitations is six years, 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(B)(iii)(1)(aa).
And Sarbanes-Oxley provides that an employee “shall be
entitled to all relief necessary to make the employee
whole,” including back pay, 18 U.S.C. 1514A(c)(1), while
Dodd-F rank authorizes double “the amount of back pay
otherwise owed,” 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(C)(ii).

d. Section 78u-6 authorizes the Commission to “is-
sue such rules and regulations as may be necessary or
appropriate to implement the provisions of this section
consistent with the purposes of this section.” 15 U.S.C.
78u-6(j).

2. In 2011, the Commission issued Rule 21F-2 and
related rules addressing both the award and anti-retal-
iation provisions of Section 78u-6. See 76 Fed. Reg.
34,300 (June 13, 2011).

For purposes of the award program, Rule 21F-2
states that “[yJou are a whistleblower if, alone or jointly
with others, you provide the Commission with infor-
mation” related “to a possible violation of the Federal
securities laws” pursuant “to the procedures set forth
in” another Commission rule. 17 C.ER. 240.21F-2(a).

7

That other rule requires information to be submitted ei-
ther through the Commission’s website or by mailing or
faxing a form to the Commission’s Office of the Whistle-
blower. 17 C.F.R. 240.21F-9(a).

For purposes of the anti-retaliation provisions, Rule
21F-2 states that a person is a “whistleblower” if he pro-
vides information that he reasonably believes relates to
a possible violation of the securities or certain criminal
fraud laws, and if he “provide[s] that information in a
manner described in” clauses (i) through (iii) of
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)—that is, to the Commission as
part of the whistleblower award program, through cer-
tain forms of participation in a Commission proceeding,
or through disclosures protected or required by the
laws cross-referenced in clause (iii), which protect inter-
nal disclosures and do not require reporting to the Com-
mission. 17 C.F-R. 240.21F-2(b)(1).*

In adopting its rules, the Commission explained that
encouraging reporting through internal compliance
procedures, such as those required or protected by the
laws cross-referenced in clause (iii), advances the pur-
poses of Section 78u-6. Specifically, the Commission ex-
plained that internal reporting enables the private sec-
tor to screen out meritless claims, and thereby improves
the quality of whistleblower tips later brought to the
Commission; that internal reporting gives businesses
the opportunity to self-correct without the need for in-
trusive Commission investigations; and that internal re-

* In 2015, the Commission issued an interpretive rule explaining
that a whistleblower is protected from retaliation even if he does not
utilize the channels established by the Commission for the award
program—i.e., by reporting through the Commission’s website or
its Office of the Whistleblower. 80 Fed. Reg. 47,829 (Aug. 10, 2015).

8

porting thereby promotes efficient use of both corpo-
rate and government resources. See 76 Fed. Reg. at
34,323-34,325, 34,359 & nn.449-450 (citing S. Rep. No.
176, 111th Cong., 2d Sess. 110 (2010)).° The Commission
also considered and responded to public comments,
many of which urged the agency to adopt rules that
would encourage or require internal reporting. E.g., id.
at 34,302 n.21, 34,326 n.230 (citing comment letters from
the U.S. Chamber of Commerce).

3. Petitioner is a public company operating as a real
estate investment trust. Pet. App. 14a. Respondent was
a portfolio-management vice president employed by pe-
titioner from 2010 to 2014. Jd. at 3a, 14a. Respondent
has alleged that he made multiple reports to petitioner’s
senior management about alleged securities-law viola-
tions by his supervisor, including elimination of internal
corporate controls in violation of Sarbanes-Oxley, hid-
ing millions of dollars in cost overruns, and granting no-
bid contracts and unsubstantiated payments to friends.
Id. at 3a, 14a-15a. Respondent has further alleged that
petitioner fired him because of his disclosures. /bid. It
is undisputed that respondent did not “report his con-
cerns to the SEC before [petitioner] terminated his em-
ployment.” Jd. at 3a.

Respondent filed this lawsuit. His complaint alleged,
inter alia, that petitioner had fired him for making dis-
closures that were required or protected under Sar-
banes-Oxley and thus were protected by clause (iii) of

* The Commission’s rules governing the whistleblower award pro-
gram also underscore the benefits of internal reporting in advancing
the purposes of Section 78u-6. See 17 C.F.R. 240.21F-4(b)(7) and
(c)(3), 240.21 F -6(a)(4) and (b)(3) (treating internal reporting as as-
sisting in establishing whistleblower award eligibility and in enhanc-
ing award amount).

9

the anti-retaliation provisions in 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(h)(1)(A)(iii). Pet. App. 3a, 14a-15a. Petitioner moved
to dismiss the suit, arguing that respondent was not a
“whistleblower” under Section 78u-6 because he had
not provided information “to the Commission” as re-
quired by the definition of “whistleblower” in 15 U.S.C.
78u-6(a)(6). Pet. App. 3a, 17a-18a.

4. The district court denied petitioner’s motion to
dismiss. Pet. App. 12a-48a. The court explained that
clause (iii)’s protection of disclosures by whistleblowers
under staiutes (like Sarbanes-Oxley) that require or
protect disclosures to entities other than the Commis-
sion “conflict{[s} with the assumption that only those
who report to the” Commission are protected. Jd. at
33a. The court observed that, in circumstances where
applying a statutory definition “would cause a provision
to contradict another provision, whereas the normal
meaning of the word would harmonize the two, the nor-
mal meaning should be applied.” /d. at 28a (quoting An-
tonin Scalia & Bryan A. Garner, Reading Law: The In-
terpretation of Legal Texts 228 (2012)). The court held
that the tension between the anti-retaliation protections
and the statutory definition created ambiguity, and that
the Commission’s reasonable interpretation in Rule
21F-2 was entitled to deference. Jd. at 35a-41a.

5. On interlocutory appeal, the court of appeals af-
firmed. Pet. App. la-lla.

The court of appeals concluded that Section 78u-6’s
“definitional provision * * * should not be dispositive
of the scope of [Section 78u-6’s] later anti-retaliation
provision.” Pet. App. 7a. The court explained that lim-
iting retaliation protection to whistleblowers who re-
port to the Commission “would make little practical
sense and undercut congressional intent” because it

10

“would, in effect, all but read [clause] (iii) out of the stat-
ute.” Jd. at 8a. The court stated that it would avoid that
“illogical” result by applying the statutory definition
only to the whistleblower-award provisions. /bid. As
an alternative ground for its decision, the court of ap-
peals joined the Second Circuit by concluding that “the
agency responsible for enforcing the securities laws” —
the Commission—“has resolved any ambiguity and its
regulation is entitled to deference.” /d. at 10a; see Ber-
man v. Neo@Ogilvy LLC, 801 F.3d 145, 146, 150-155
(2d Cir. 2015).

Judge Owens dissented. Pet. App. lla. He would
have followed the reasoning of Judge Jacobs’s dissent
in Berman, 801 F.3d at 155, and the panel opinion in
Asadi v. G.E. Energy (USA), L.L.C., 720 F.3d 620 (5th
Cir. 2013). Pet. App. 11a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The court of appeals correctly held that 15 U.S.C.
78u-6(h)(1)(A)(Giii) prohibits employers from retaliating
against whistleblowers who make specified disclosures,
regardless of whether those whistleblowers report to
the Commission.

A. Section 78u-6 establishes two distinct measures .
to encourage whistleblowers to report potential
securities-law violations and fraud. First, the provision
creates an award program for whistleblowers who bring
valuable information to the Commission. Second, the
provision prohibits job-related retaliation against whis-
tleblowers who make specified types of disclosures. The
text and structure of the statute indicate that the spe-
cialized definition of “whistleblower” applies to the
award program but not to the retaliation prohibitions.

Subsection (a) of Section 78u-6 defines six terms,
each of which appears in the award provisions created

1]

in Subsections (b) through (g), and each of which fits
naturally there. The term “whistleblower,” for exam-
ple, requires reporting to the Commission, consistent
with the fact that awards are available only after suc-
cessful Commission actions.

Except for “whistleblower,” however, none of Sec-
tion 78u-6’s defined terms appears in the anti-
retaliation provisions of paragraph (h)(1). The statu-
tory text and structure indicate that paragraph (h)(1)
uses “whistleblower” in accordance with its ordinary
meaning, not as a term of art that requires reporting to
the Commission. Subparagraph (h)(1)(A) contains
three clauses that prohibit retaliation for three distinct
types of whistleblowing. The first two clauses reference
reports to the Commission, but clause (iii) does not—a
textual distinction that should be read to make a sub-
stantive difference. Indeed, clause (iii) protects disclo-
sures under laws that themselves protect or even re-
quire “{w]histleblower[s|” to report to entities other
than the Commission. 18 U.S.C. 1514A(a)(1).

Extending the specialized definition of “whistle-
blower” to clause (iii) would markedly narrow the ban
on employer retaliation and would create anomalies in-
consistent with the statutory language and design. Un-
der petitioner’s reading, clause (iii) would prohibit em-
ployers from retaliating only against employees who
have reported to the Commission. But employers gen-
erally do not know that an employee has reported to the
Commission, which is required to keep reports confi-
dential, so petitioner’s reading would substantially di-
minish the retaliation prohibition’s deterrent effect. In
addition, under petitioner’s reading, clause (iii) would
not protect an employee who reports a suspected
securities-law violation to company management, in the

12

hope of triggering internal compliance mechanisms that
will make a report to the Commission unnecessary, and
who is fired immediately thereafter. Excluding such
persons from Dodd-Frank’s protections would depart
from usual understandings of the term “whistleblower”
and would undermine Congress’s effort to promote
more rigorous and effective internal compliance pro-
grams.

This Court has often confirmed that a statutorily de-
fined term may retain its ordinary meaning where nec-
essary to give effect to the language and objective of a
statute. The court of appeals applied that sensible ap-
proach, preserving the specialized meaning of “whistle-
blower” in the award provisions, while applying its or-
dinary meaning to facilitate the effective implementa-
tion of the anti-retaliation provisions.

B. The legislative background and purpose further
support the court of appeals’ construction. The special-
ized definition of “whistleblower” that requires report-
ing to the Commission first appeared in the bill that be-
came Dodd-Frank at a stage of the drafting process
when only the award provisions used that term. And
clause (iii) of the anti-retaliation provision, which cross-
references federal statutes that expressly protect or
require disclosures to entities other than the Commis-
sion, was adopted at the final stage of the legislative
process, after both Houses of Congress had passed the
bill. There is no indication that “the conferees who ac-
cepted the last-minute insertion of” clause (iii) intended
this “subdivision of a subsection” to have “the extremely
limited scope it would have” if the term “whistleblower”
is construed to require reporting to the Commission.
Berman v. Neo@Ogilvy LLC, 801 F.3d 145, 154-155 (2d
Cir. 2015).

13

Congress enacted Dodd-Frank against the backdrop
of Sarbanes-Oxley, which protects internal whistle-
blowers who report securities-law violations to corpo-
rate management, but which had failed to expose im-
proper financial practices that precipitated the 2008 fi-
nancial crisis. As its cross-reference to Sarbanes-Oxley
and creation of new remedies demonstrate, Section
78u-6(h)(1) is intended to strengthen protections for in-
ternal whistleblowers. Reading that provision to pro-
tect only whistleblowers who report to the Commission
would defeat Congress’s purpose, weaken internal cor-
porate-compliance programs, and potentially flood the
Commission with allegations that have not been vetted
by the corporate insiders best situated to address them
in the first instance.

C. At a minimum, the tension between the special-
ized definition of “whistleblower” in Subsection (a) and
its more natural meaning in paragraph (h)(1) creates an
ambiguity for the Commission to resolve. The Commis-
sion did so reasonably, pursuant to an express conferral
of rulemaking authority, after following notice-and-
comment procedures, and with a careful explanation
drawing on its expertise in securities law. Petitioner’s
new assertion of procedural deficiencies in the rule is
forfeited, outside the question presented, and without
merit. The Commission’s reasonable reading of Section
78u-6(h)(1) to protect both internal and external whis-
tleblowers is entitled to deference.

14

ARGUMENT

THE PROHIBITION ON EMPLOYER RETALIATION
AGAINST WHISTLEBLOWERS IN 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1) IS
NOT LIMITED TO WHISTLEBLOWERS WHO REPORT TO
THE COMMISSION

Section 78u-6 includes two distinct measures to en-
courage whistleblowers to report securities-law viola-
tions: awards for whistleblowers who bring valuable in-
formation to the Commission, and protection against
job-related retaliation for whistleblowers who make de-
scribed disclosures. The specialized definition of “whis-
tleblower” codified in Subsection (a), which requires re-
porting to the Commission, fits naturally with the award
program. Use of that definition in paragraph (h)(1),
however, would subvert the effective implementation of
the anti-retaliation provisions, which protect disclo-
sures to other entities as well. The text and structure
of the statute as a whole, as well as Congress’s overrid-
ing policy of encouraging internal reporting through
corporate-compliance mechanisms, indicate that the or-
dinary meaning of “whistleblower” applies to the anti-
retaliation provisions. At a minimum, the Commission’s
rule adopting that interpretation, issued after notice-
and-comment procedures and pursuant to an express
statutory conferral of rulemaking power, is a reasona-
ble resolution of statutory ambiguity and is accordingly
entitled to deference.

A. The Statutory Text And Structure Indicate That The
Anti-Retaliation Provisions Use The Term “Whistle-
blower” In Its Ordinary Sense

1. Section 78u-6 prohibits an “employer” from retal-

iating against “a whistleblower in the terms and condi-
tions of” the whistleblower’s “employment because of

15

any lawful act done by the whistleblower” in three spec-
ified contexts. 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A). Clause (i) pro-
hibits retaliation for “providing information to the Com-
mission in accordance with this section,” including the
whistleblower award program defined earlier in the
Section. 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)(i). Clause (ii) prohib-
its retaliation for “initiating, testifying in, or assisting
in any investigation or judicial or administrative action
of the Commission based upon or related to such infor-
mation” —that is, the information provided to the Com-
mission through the prescribed means. 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(h)(1)(A)(ii). Clause (iii) prohibits retaliation for “mak-
ing disclosures that are required or protected under”
several provisions of law, including Sarbanes-
Oxley, the Exchange Act, 18 U.S.C. 1513(e), and “any
other law, rule, or regulation subject to the jurisdiction
of the Commission.” 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)(iii).

Read in accordance with its ordinary meaning, the
term “whistleblower” is not limited to people who re-
port to the Commission, and it naturally encompasses
employees who report wrongdoing to company manage-
ment. See, ¢g., New Oxford American Dictionary
1970-1971 (3d ed. 2010) (defining “whistle-blower” as “a
person who informs on someone engaged in an illicit ac-
tivity”); Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, http://
www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/whistleblower
(“one who reveals something covert or who informs
against another”). That understanding is consistent
with the origin of the term—the action of blowing the
whistle. See LaManque v. Massachusetts Dep't of
Emp't & Training, 3 F. Supp. 2d 83, 92 (D. Mass. 1998)
(“Whistleblowers may ‘blow the whistle’ on any number

16

of persons, about any number of things for any number
of reasons.”),°

The whistleblowing actions protected by subpara-
graph (h)(1)(A) of Section 78u-6 are not limited to
providing information to the Commission. Although
clause (i) includes that limitation, clause (ii) encom-
passes distinct acts of whistleblowing by “initiating, tes-
tifying in, or assisting” in Commission proceedings that
are “based upon or related to” information provided to
the Commission. 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)(ii). And
clause (iii)’s lack of any such reference to the Commis-
sion indicates that “Congress intended a difference in
meaning” from the requirement of Commission report-
ing referenced in clauses (i) and (ii). Loughrin v.
United States, 134 S. Ct. 2384, 2390 (2014). That infer-
ence is reinforced by clause (iii)’s prohibition of retalia-
tion for “disclosures that are required or protected un-
der” other provisions of law that require or protect dis-
closures to entitites other than the Commission.
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)Giii); see pp. 4-5, supra. As
relevant here, Sarbanes-Oxley provided “|w)histle-
blower protection” for respondent’s disclosure of al-
leged securities-law violations and fraud to “a person
with supervisory authority over” him. 18 U.S.C.
1514A(a)(1)(C). Accordingly, under the ordinary mean-
ing of clause (iii), petitioner was prohibited from firing

®° Likewise, numerous federal statutes use “whistleblower” in its
ordinary sense. See, ¢.g., Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989,
Pub. L. No. 101-12, §§ 2(a)(3), (b)(2)(A), 4(a) and (b), 103 Stat. 16,
16, 32; see also Department of Homeland Sec. v. MacLean, 136 S.
Ct. 913, 916 (2015) (describing “whistleblower protection” under the
Act).

17

respondent for his disclosure to company management
of alleged corporate wrongdoing.

2. The definition of “whistleblower” codified at 15
U.S.C. 78u-6(a)(6), which requires reporting “to the
Commission, in a manner established” by the Commis-
sion, does not compel a different result.

a. As petitioner correctly notes (Br. 17-18), statu-
tory definitions “control the meaning of statutory words
*** in the usual case.” Lawson v. Suwannee Fruit &
S.S. Co., 336 U.S. 198, 201 (1949) (emphasis added). The
Court has made clear, however, that this is not an iron-
clad rule. See ibid.; Environmental Def. v. Duke En-
ergy Corp., 549 U.S. 561, 575-576 (2007) (explaining that
there is no “irrebuttable ‘presumption that the same de-
fined term in different provisions of the same statute
must’ be interpreted identically”); Philko Aviation, Inc.
v. Shacket, 462 U.S. 406, 412 (1983) (noting that a stat-
utory definition is “not dispositive”). Rather, “a statu-
tory term—even one defined in the statute—may take
on distinct characters from association with distinct
statutory objects calling for different implementation
strategies.” Utility Air Regulatory Grp. v. EPA, 1348.
Ct. 2427, 2441 (2014) (UARG) (citation omitted); accord
Scalia & Garner 228 (“Definitions are, after all, just one
indication of meaning—a very strong indication, to be
sure, but nonetheless one that can be contradicted by
other indications.”). That is true even when the defini-
tional provision states expressly that the specialized
meaning applies to a particular section or chapter of a
law. See UARG, 134 8S. Ct. at 2441; Duke Energy, 549
U.S. at 576.

This Court has accordingly declined to apply “in me-
chanical fashion” statutory definitions that would “cre-
ate obvious incongruities in the language” of a statute

18

or “destroy one of the major purposes” of the law. Su-
wannee Fruit, 336 U.S. at 201; see, e.g., UVARG, 134 8.
Ct. at 2441; Duke Energy, 549 U.S. at 575-576; United
States v. Cleveland Indians Baseball Co., 5382 U.S. 200,
213 (2001); Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337, 343-
346 (1997); United States v. Public Utilities Comm’n of
Cal., 345 U.S. 295, 312-313 (1953). That is especially
true when a statutory definition conflicts with the de-
fined term’s “most natural” meaning. Philko, 462 U.S.
at 411; see Suwannee Fruit, 336 U.S. at 201; Franklin
Cal. Tax-Free Trust v. Puerto Rico, 805 F.3d 322, 340
(ist Cir. 2015) (“Where statutory definitions give rise to
such problems, a term may be given its ordinary mean-
ing.”), aff’d, 136 S. Ct. 1938 (2016).

In some cases, the ordinary meaning adopted may be
narrower than the statutory definition, see, e.g., VARG,
134 S. Ct. at 2441-2442; in other cases, the ordinary
meaning adopted may be broader than the statutory
defintion, see, e.g., Suwannee Fruit, 336 U.S. at 201-206
(adopting the “broader and more usual” meaning of
“disability,” rather than treating the word as a special-
ized statutory “term of art”). In all cases, “[cjontext
counts.” Duke Energy, 549 U.S. at 576.

b. The definition on which petitioner relies states
that “[t]he term ‘whistleblower’ means any individual
who provides, or 2 or more individuals acting jointly
who provide, information relating to a violation of the
securities laws to the Commission, in a manner estab-
lished, by rule or regulation, by the Commission.”
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(a)(6). The “manner established” by
Commission rule is by reporting “[o]nline, through the
Commission's Web site,” or “[bly mailing or faxing a”
specified form “to the SEC Office of the Whistle-
blower.” 17 C.F.R. 240.21 F-9(a).

19

This specialized definition of “whistleblower,” like
the five other definitions contained in Subsection (a),
fits naturally with the whistleblower award program
created by Subsections (b)-(g) of Section 78u-6. Dodd-
Frank directs the Commission to pay awards to “whis-
tleblowers who voluntarily provided original infor-
mation to the Commission that led to the successful en-
forcement of the covered judicial or administrative ac-
tion.” 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(b)(1). By defining the term
“whistleblower” to mean a person who reports wrong-
doing “to the Commission,” Section 78u-6(a)(6) incorpo-
rates a fundamental eligibility criterion under the
award program. Likewise, because the payment of
awards is governed by “regulations prescribed by the
Commission,” ibid., a whistleblower must report “in a
manner established *** by the Commission,” 15
U.S.C. 78u-6(a)(6). And because the award program al-
lows multiple whistleblowers to divide an award of a
statutorily limited amount, 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(b)(1), either
a single “individual * * * or 2 or more individuals acting
jointly” can qualify as a “whistleblower,” 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(a)(6). Applying the specialized definition of “whistle-
blower” in Subsection (a) to the award program created
by Subsections (b)-(g) thus accords with the fundamen-
tal rule that courts should “interpret the statute as a
symmetrical and coherent regulatory scheme.” F'DA v.
Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 529 U.S. 120, 133
(2000) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted).

ce. By contrast, extending the specialized definition
of “whistleblower” in Subsection (a) to the anti-
retaliation protections in paragraph (h)(1) would “cre-
ate obvious incongruities in the language.” Swwannee
Fruit, 336 U.S. at 201. None of the other five terms de-

20

fined in Subsection (a)—‘“covered judicial or adminis-
trative action,” “Fund,” “original information,” “mone-
tary sanctions,” or “related action”—appears in para-
graph (h)(1). 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(a). Rather, all of those
terms are used exclusively in Subsections (b)-(g), which
define and delimit the award program. Although the
term “whistleblower” is both defined in Subsection (a)
and used in paragraph (h)(1), extending the specialized
definition to the anti-retaliation provisions would pro-
duce “substantive effect([s]” not “compatible with the
rest of the law.” UARG, 134 S. Ct. at 2442 (citation
omitted); see Public Utilities Comm'n, 345 U.S. at 312
(departing from specialized statutory definition based
on “the statutory scheme as a whole”).

Most significantly, applying the specialized defini-
tion of “whistleblower” to the anti-retaliation provisions
in paragraph (h)(1) would “vitiate much of the protec-
tion afforded by” the ordinary meaning of clauses (ii)
and (iii). Robinson, 519 U.S. at 345. Clause (ii) prohib-
its job-related retaliation against a whistleblower “be-
cause of any lawful act done by the whistleblower * * *
in initiating, testifying in, or assisting in any investiga-
tion or judicial or administrative action of the Commis-
sion” that is “based upon or related to” information pro-
vided to the Commission under Section 78u-6. 15 U.S.C.
78u-6(h)(1)(A)(ii). Petitioner’s argument logically im-
plies that an individual who testifies in a Commission
enforcement action is protected from retaliation only if
he falls within Section 78u-6(a)(6)’s definition of “whis-
tleblower.” Under that approach, an employer could
fire an employee for giving such testimony if the em-
ployee had not previously reported to the Commission
online or through the specified written form. See 15

21
U.S.C. 78u-6(a)(6); 17 C.F.R. 24021 F-9(a). That con-
struction “would thwart the premise of” clause (ii)’s
protections, which is cause to depart from the statutory
definition. Public Utilities Comm’n, 345 U.S. at 313."
Extending the specialized definition of “whistle-
blower” to clause (iii) would do even greater violence to
the statutory design. As noted above, pp. 4-5, supra,
clause (iii) prohibits retaliation against a whistleblower
for “making disclosures that are required or protected
under” various laws that “require[] or protect| ]”disclo-
sures to recipients other than the Commission. 15
U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)(iii). The “[w]histleblower protec-
tion” provisions of Sarbanes-Oxley incorporated by
clause (iii) protect disclosures to any federal “regula-
tory or law enforcement agency,” “any Member of Con-
gress or any committee of Congress,” or “a person with
supervisory authority over the employee.” 18 U.S.C.
1514A(a)(1). A Sarbanes-Oxley provision specifically
referenced in clause (iii), 15 U.S.C. 78j-1(m), expressly
protects internal disclosures about auditing matters.
Other provisions of Sarbanes-Oxley and the Exchange
Act require certain auditors and attorneys to disclose
certain information internally. 15 U.S.C. 78j-1(b) and
7245; see 17 C.F.R. 205.3." And another provision spe-
cifically referenced in clause (iii), 18 U.S.C. 1513(e),
which protects reports to law enforcement officers

’ The limitations that petitioner would place on anti-retaliation
suits under paragraph (h)(1) would also severely weaken the confi-
dentiality protections in 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(2)(A), which generally
require the Commission to keep reported information secret, be-
cause a plaintiff would be required to identify himself as having re-
ported to the Commission in order to bring a cause of action.

* Indeed, attorneys are typically prohibited from reporting to the
Commission. Pet. App. 7a (citing 17 C.F.R. 205.3(d)(2)).

22

about federal offenses, necessarily requires reporting
to an entity other than the Commission.

Construing clause (iii) to protect only those individ-
uals who report to the Commission would substantially
diminish the practical effect of that provision. Jnter
alia, petitioner’s reading would deny Section 78u-6 pro-
tection to “[{ljegions of accountants and lawyers” that
Congress concluded are “equipped to bring fraud on
investors to a halt,” but who must report internally un-
der the laws cross-referenced in clause (iii). Lawson v.
FMR LLC, 1348. Ct. 1158, 1168 (2014). That would dis-
serve Congress’s objectives by “leaviing] these profes-
sionals vulnerable to discharge or other retaliatory ac-
tion for complying with the law,” id. at 1171, and it is
incompatible with this Court’s characterization of
Dodd-Frank as “extending protection comprehensively
to corporate whistleblowers,” id. at 1175.

Auditors and attorneys are not the only potential
corporate whistleblowers excluded by petitioner’s
interpretation of clause (iii). Given that persons who
suffer employment-related retaliation because of their
disclosures to the Commission are separately protected
by clause (i), the practical effect of clause (iii) under pe-
titioner’s reading is, at most, to extend protection to a
“whistleblower who reports misconduct both to the SEC
and to another entity, but suffers retaliation ‘because
of’ the non-SEC disclosure.” Pet. Br. 32 (quoting 15
U.S.C. T8u-6(h)(1)(A)(iii)); see id. at 22. Petitioner is
correct that clause (iii) applies to such individuals. Con-
struing clause (iii) as limited to such persons, however,
would “shrink to insignificance the provision’s ban on
retaliation” and produce anomalous results. Lawson,
134 S. Ct. at 1166.

23

Of the whistleblowers who received awards from the
Commission in 2016, about 80% reported internally be-
fore reporting to the Commission. SEC, 2016 Annual
Report to Congress on the Dodd-Frank Whistleblower
Program 18. There are numerous reasons why employ-
ees tend to report internally first, including loyalty to
the organization, hope that supervisors will rectify or
explain the perceived misconduct without the need for
government intervention, or (as with auditors and attor-
neys) a legal obligation to raise a matter in-house. See
Janet P. Near & Marcia P. Miceli, After the Wrongdo-
ing: What Managers Should Know About Whistleblow-
ing, 59 Bus. Horizons 105, 105, 113 (2016). Studies also
show that retaliation for internal reporting, when it oc-
curs, generally follows quickly. See IJnternational
Handbook on Whistleblowing Research 242 (A.J.
Brown et al. ed., 2014). The persons whom clause (iii)
would protect under petitioner’s reading—i.e., those
who report both internally and to the Commission, and
who suffer retaliation because of the internal report-
ing—therefore are “likely to be few in number.” Ber-
man, 801 F.3d at 151; accord Samuel C. Leifer, Note,
Protecting Whistleblower Protections in the Dodd-
Frank Act, 118 Mich. L. Rev. 121, 139 (2014) (noting
that “the majority of incentives for and benefits of in-
ternal whistleblowing * * * are absent [where] the em-
ployee has also reported to the SEC,” and “[t]hus, it is
hard to imagine what motivations would prompt the em-
ployee to make this internal disclosure at all”).°

® Petitioner cites several cases (Br. 32-33 & n.4) in which whistle-
blowers reported both internally and to the Commission. But it is
not clear whether the plaintiffs in any of those cases—most of which
have arisen under Sarbanes-Oxley rather than under Dodd-

24

Petitioner identifies no good reason that Congress,
having chosen to protect employees from retaliation for
internal disclosures, would have wished to make that
protection contingent on the employees’ making addi-
tional disclosures to the Commission. Petitioner ac-
knowledges (Br. 32) that “an employer will often be un-
aware that an employee has reported to the SEC,” in
part because of the confidentiality protections in
15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(2)(A). When an employer fires an
employee because of the employee’s internal reporting
(as respondent alleges occurred here), petitioner’s
reading of the statute thus makes liability under Section
78u-6 turn on a fact that the employer may not know.
That unusual approach would substantially diminish
Dodd-Frank’s deterrent effect. Such a result would be
especially peculiar in the context of an anti-retaliation
provision, where liability depends on an employer’s rea-
son for taking a particular employment-related action.
See, e.g., Kasten v. Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics
Corp., 563 U.S. 1, 14 (2011).

Petitioner’s reading also creates anomalies for em-
ployee whistleblowers. If two employees witness the
same fraud on the same day, report that fraud to the
same supervisor, and are fired at the same time because
of their internal disclosures, petitioner’s reading of the
statute would allow a cause of action under Section 78u-
6 only to the employee “savvy enough to know that [he]
should take the counterintuitive step of first reporting
to the SEC.” Bussing v. COR Clearing, LLC, 20 F.
Supp. 3d 719, 732-733 (D. Neb. 2014). Petitioner identi-
fies no reason that Congress would have wished to make
escalation of a concern to the federal government the

Frank—suffered retaliation because of their internal reporting ra-
ther than because of their reporting to the Commission.

25

only way for an employee to obtain Section 78u-
6(h)(1)(A)(@iii) protection against retaliation for internal
disclosures.

Moreover, nothing in Subsection (a)’s definition of
“whistleblower,” or in petitioner’s interpretation of the
statute, requires a temporal or topical connection be-
tween the violation reported to the Commission and the
internal disclosure for which the employee suffers re-
taliation. Thus, under petitioner’s reading, an employee
who was fired for reporting accounting fraud to his su-
pervisor in 2017 would have a cause of action under Sec-
tion 78u-6 if he had reported an insider-trading violation
by his previous employer to the Commission in 2012,
since the prior report would bring him within the statu-
tory definition of “whistleblower.”'° But an employee
fired for internally reporting the same accounting vio-
lation in 2017 without having made a prior report to the
Commission would have no such Dodd-Frank protec-
tion.”

'° Petitioner suggests (Br. 38) that, under the court of appeals’ ap-
proach, clause (iii) would provide “protection in situations having
nothing to do with violating the securities laws,” such as retaliation
against an employee for reporting a colleague’s illegal drug sales to
the FBI. But to the extent that clause (iii)’s cross-reference to 18
U.S.C. 1513(e) creates that possibility, petitioner’s interpretation of
the term “whistleblower” does not eliminate it. Rather, under peti-
tioner’s interpretation of the statute, an employee who was fired for
internally reporting drug-law violations could still invoke clause (iii)
80 long as the employee had also reported securities-related miscon-
duct to the Commission.

'! Similarly, because the statutory definition of “whistleblower” is
limited to persons who report to the Commission in the manner pre-
scribed by the Commission for the award program, 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(a)(6), an employee fired for internally reporting an accounting vi-
olation would have a cause of action under the anti-retaliation pro-
visions if he had reported that violation to the Commission via online

26

Petitioner argues (Br. 13, 16) that the definitional
provision, 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(a)(6), describes “who” is pro-
tected, while clauses (i)-(iii) of the anti-retaliation pro-
visions define the “conduct” that is protected. But peti-
tioner’s approach would produce an odd disconnect be-
tween the two, since the disclosure that caused a plain-
tiff to be a “whistleblower” under the statutory defini-
tion could be wholly unrelated to the disclosure that
precipitated the alleged retaliation. Rather than di-
vorcing the definition of a protected whistleblower from
the acts of whistleblowing for which he is protected, the
anti-retaliation provisions are more naturally read to
reflect Congress’s understanding that a person who
makes any of the disclosures described in clauses (i)-(iii)
qualifies as a “whistleblower” by virtwe of those disclo-
sures.”

3. This Court can and should avoid the anomalous
consequences of petitioner’s reading by giving the term
“whistleblower” its specialized meaning in the award
provisions in Subsections (b)-(g), while applying the
“broader and more usual concept of the word” to the
anti-retaliation provisions in paragraph (h)(1). Suwan-
nee Fruit, 336 U.S. at 201; cf. Cleveland Indians, 532
U.S. at 212-216 (rejecting a “symmetrical construction”
of identical statutory language based on differences in
context). That construction would give meaning to the

form, but not if he had reported the same violation to the Commis-
sion via telephone, see 17 C.F.R. 240.21 F-9(a).

Petitioner observes (Br. 23) that the anti-retaliation provisions
in the section of Dodd-Frank establishing the Consumer Financial
Protection Bureau refer to “covered employees” rather than “whis-
tleblowers.” But as respondent explains (Br. 32), those provisions
cover a broader range of protected conduct, so “whistleblower”
would have been an unnatural term.

27

“words of the definitional section” throughout most of
15 U.S.C. 78u-6’s provisions, while preserving the sub-
stantive effect of a “subdivision of a subsection that uses
the defined term” in its ordinary rather than its special-
ized sense. Berman, 801 F.3d at 154; see Bussing, 20
F. Supp. 3d at 730 (“When the term ‘whistleblower’ is
given its ordinary meaning—for purposes of the retali-
ation section only—everything falls into place. The
broad protections of subsection (iii) are given effect,
while rewards under the bounty program are properly
limited to whistleblowers who provide tips to the
SEC.”). In the absence of an “iron rule” that statutory
definitions must be applied no matter how incongruous
or implausible the result—an interpretive approach this
Court has consistently rejected, see Duke Energy, 549
U.S. at 576—the court of appeals’ sensible reading of
the statutory text and structure should be affirmed.”

B. The Statutory Background and Purpose Confirm That
The Anti-Retaliation Provisions Use The Term “Whis-
tleblower” In Its Ordinary Sense

The background and purpose of Section 78u-6 sup-
port the court of appeals’ holding that the term “whis-
tleblower” in the anti-retaliation provisions should be
given its ordinary meaning.

1. Congress enacted Dodd-Frank to promote finan-
cial stability “by improving accountability and transpar-
ency in the financial system.” 124 Stat. 1376. More spe-
cifically, Congress enacted Section 78u-6 against the

'S Petitioner’s reliance (Br. 18-19) on Lamie v. United States Trus-
tee, 540 U.S. 526 (2004), is misplaced. The Court in Lamie did not
construe a statutory definition of a particular term, much less an-
nounce a categorical] rule that a definitional provision must always
control.

28

backdrop of Sarbanes-Oxley, in which Congress had
sought to create strong protection for internal whistle-
blowers, see Lawson, 134 8S. Ct. at 1162, but which had
not adequately protected internal whistleblowers at
places like Lehman Brothers, see p. 2, supra. The con-
ference committee reconciling the House and Senate
versions of Dodd-Frank inserted clause (iii)—which
cross-references Sarbanes-Oxley and other provisions
protecting internal whistleblowers—into the legislation
for the first time shortly after multiple members of Con-
gress had discussed the shortcomings in Sarbanes-Ox-
ley and the need for stronger whistleblower protections.
See ibid.; Pet. App. 6a."

Under those circumstances, it is “doubtful that the
conferees who accepted the last-minute insertion of
[clause] (iii) would have expected it to have the ex-
tremely limited scope it would have if it were restricted
by the Commission reporting requirement in the ‘whis-
tleblower’ definition.” Berman, 801 F.3d at 155. Ata
minimum, there is no basis to “attribute to Congress an
intent to offer a broad array of protections with one
hand, only to snatch it back with the other, leaving be-
hind protection for only a narrow subset of whistleblow-
ers.” Bussing, 20 F. Supp. 3d at 733."

'* The specialized definition of “whistleblower” first appeared in
the bill at a time when the award provisions, but not the retaliation
provisions, used the word “whistleblower.” See H.R. 3817, 111th
Cong. 2d Sess. § 203 [§ 21F(a)-(d), (f), (i)(4) and (g)(1)] (Dee. 17,
2010); H.R. 4173, 111th Cong., 2d Sess. § 7203(a) [§ 21F(a)-(d), (f),
(g)(1) and (j)(4)] (introduced in the House Dec. 2, 2009; passed by
the House Dec. 11, 2009).

'® At least one commentator has suggested that Senate Banking
Committee staff inserted clause (iii) into the draft legislation specif-
ically to protect internal whistleblowers. See Stephen Kohn, Clari-
Sying Anti-Retaliation Protections Under Dodd-Frank, Law 360,

29

2. Like other “securities laws combating fraud,”
Section 78u-6 should “be construed not technically and
restrictively, but flexibly to effectuate [its] remedial
purposes.” Herman & MacLean v. Huddleston, 459
U.S. 375, 386-387 (1983) (internal quotation marks omit-
ted); cf. Kasten, 563 U.S. at 11-14 (broadly construing
anti-retaliation provisions that protect employees who
“file a complaint,” to cover oral complaints in light of
“the Act’s basic objectives”); Robinson, 519 U.S. at 346
(construing anti-retaliation provisions in light of their
“primary purpose of * * * [mJaintaining unfettered ac-
cess to remedial mechanisms”).

That approach is especially appropriate given the
purpose of Section 78u-6 and the practical desirability
of encouraging internal whistleblowing as a way to pro-
mote corporate compliance. This Court has often em-
phasized the “strong tradition of professional self-
regulation.” North Carolina State Bd. of Dental Exam-
iners v. FTC, 135 S. Ct. 1101, 1115 (2015); see Republi-
can Party of Minn. v. White, 586 U.S. 765, 793 (2002)
(Kennedy, J., concurring). And numerous provisions of
federal law and policy—including but not limited to
those cross-referenced by clause (iii)—emphasize the
importance of robust corporate-compliance mecha-
nisms. See, e.g., U.S. Attorney’s Manual 9-28.300.A(7)
(2017) (considering existence and effectiveness of cor-
porate-compliance program in decision whether to pros-
ecute); Sentencing Guidelines §§ 8B2.1, 8C2.5(f) (con-
sidering corporate-compliance program in sentencing
determination).

Reading Section 78u-6’s anti-retaliation provisions to
protect internal and external whistleblowers alike

June 22, 2017, https://www.law360.com/articles/936265/clarifying-
anti-retaliation-protections-under-dodd-frank.

30

would “support, not undermine, the effective function-
ing of company compliance and related systems.” 76
Fed. Reg. at 34,323. During its rulemaking, the Com-
mission received numerous comments from businesses
and related associations that urged the agency to prom-
ulgate rules encouraging or requiring internal report-
ing. £.g., id. at 34,302 n.21, 34,326 n.230. The Commis-
sion agreed that internal reporting systems “are essen-
tial sources of information for companies about miscon-
duct,” and therefore “play an important role in facilitat-
ing compliance with the securities laws.” /d. at 34,323,
34,325. Among other benefits, “|s|creening allegations
through internal compliance programs may limit [mer-
itless| claims, provide the entity an opportunity to re-
solve the violation and report the result to the Commis-
sion, and allow the Commission to use its resources
more efficiently.” /d. at 34,359 n.450.

“(W )histleblower reporting through internal compli-
ance procedures can [thereby] complement or other-
wise appreciably enhance ** * enforcement efforts,”
without substituting for them. 76 Fed. Reg. at 34,359
n.450. All this faciliates efficient use of private-sector
and government resources, and effectuates Section 78u-
6’s design to prevent fraud and other securities-law vi-
olations. Reading the anti-retaliation provisions to pro-
tect only those who report to the Commission, by con-
trast, would “defeat the purpose of the legislation.”
Philko, 462 U.S. at 412. “A statutory definition should
not be applied in such a manner.” [bid.

3. Petitioner argues that giving “whistleblower” its
ordinary meaning in Section 78u-6’s anti-retaliation
provisions would render Sarbanes-Oxley “effectively
obsolete.” Pet. Br. 29; see id. at 26-30. But as noted
above, Dodd-Frank’s legislative history makes clear

31

that Congress viewed Sarbanes-Oxley as inadequate
and wanted to strengthen its protections. See pp. 2,
27-28 supra. The statute that Congress enacted reflects
that objective. Clause (iii) cross-references the entirety
of Sarbanes-Oxley, which necessarily (and intention-
ally) creates substantive overlap between the two stat-
utes. But the remedial provisions of Section 78u-6 differ
from those in Sarbanes-Oxley in important ways, in-
cluding through a longer statute of limitations, poten-
tially greater back pay, and no administrative-exhaus-
tion requirement. Compare 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(B)(i),
(ii), and (C)(iii), with 18 U.S.C. 1514A(b)(1), (c)(2)(B)
and (D).

At the same time, Section 78u-6 preserves Sarbanes-
Oxley’s remedial scheme, see 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(3),
which offers its own advantages. First, under Sar-
banes-Oxley, the DOL administers initial review and in-
vestigates claims—a process that can be less costly and
stressful than federal-court litigation, particularly for
whistleblowers who lack counsel. See 18 U.S.C.
1514A(b)(2); 29 C.F.R. 1980.103-.110, 1980.114. Second,
Sarbanes-Oxley authorizes a court to award “all relief
necessary to make the employee whole,” including com-
pensation for special damages such as emotional inju-
ries. 18 U.S.C. 1514A(c)(1) and (2)(C); see also, e.g.,
Jones v. SouthPeak Interactive Corp., 777 F.3d 658, 663
(4th Cir. 2015). Third, unlike Section 78u-6, Sarbanes-
Oxley now expressly prohibits predispute arbitration
agreements, compare 18 U.S.C. 1514A(e), with, e.¢.,
Khazin v. TD Ameritrade Holding Corp., 773 F.3d 488,
493 (3d Cir. 2014), and thus could attract whistleblowers
who are subject to such agreements. From Fiscal Year
2009 (the year before Section 78u-6’s enactment) to Fis-
cal Year 2016, the annual number of Sarbanes-Oxley

32

complaints filed with DOL declined by less than 25%.
See DOL, Whistleblower Investigation Data F Y2006-
FY2016, _https://www.whistleblowers.gov/3DCharts-
FY2006-F Y2016.pdf. Sarbanes-Oxley thus continues to
provide whistleblowers important protections against
unlawful retaliation, even after Section 78u-6’s enact-
ment.

C. The Commission’s Reasonable Interpretation Of Sec-
tion 78u-6(h)(1) Warrants Judicial Deference

The court of appeals ruled for respondent primarily
on the ground that respondent’s reading of the statute
is correct. Pet. App. 8a. Other courts that have ruled
for whistleblowers in respondent’s position have done
the same. See, e.g., Bussing, 20 F. Supp. 3d at 733 (“the
result flows from the statute itself”). As an alternative
ground for its decision, the court of appeals found the
statute ambiguous and deferred to the Commission’s
reasonable interpretation under Chevron U/.S.A. Inc. v.
NRDC, 467 U.S. 837 (1984). Pet. App. 10a; accord Ber-
man, 801 F.3d at 155 (deferring under Chevron be-
cause, “at a minimum,” the statute is ambiguous and the
Commission’s interpretation is reasonable). That alter-
native approach would be appropriate here as well. The
Commission’s consistent, reasonable, and well-explained
formal interpretation warrants Chevron deference and
should be upheld.

1. When “a statute leaves a gap or is ambiguous,”
this Court “typically interpreti[s] it as granting the
agency leeway to enact rules that are reasonable in light
of the text, nature, and purpose of the statute.” Cuozzo
Speed Techs., LLC v. Lee, 1386 8. Ct. 2131, 2134, 2142
(2016). If the Court concludes that Dodd-Frank is am-
biguous with respect to the question presented here, the

33

Court should defer to the Commission’s reasonable res-
olution of that ambiguity. See Duke Energy, 549 U.S.
at 576 (deferring to “customary agency discretion to re-
solve questions about a statutory definition by looking
to the surroundings of the defined term”); Cleveland /1»-
dians, 532 U.S. at 218-220 (deferring to agency inter-
pretation of statutorily defined term to have different
meanings in different parts of statute); Robinson, 519
U.S. at 345-346 (same); cf. Kasten, 563 U.S. at 14-16 (de-
ferring to agency interpretation of ambiguity i in anti-re-
taliation provision).

The Commission promulgated Rule 21F-2, 17 C.F.R.
240.21F-2, pursuant to an express conferral of rulemak-
ing authority, 15 U.S.C. 78u-6(j), and through notice-
and-comment procedures, see 76 Fed. Reg. at 34,300.
The Commission issued the rule less than a year after
Dodd-Frank was enacted, ihid., and the agency’s inter-
pretation has not changed. The Court should accord-
ingly defer to the Commission’s interpretation as a rea-
sonable reading of the pertinent statutory language.
See United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218, 227
(2001).

Rule 21F-2 states that, for purposes of Dodd-Frank’s
anti-retaliation provisions, “you are a whistleblower” if,
as relevant here, “[yjou provide [the relevant] infor-
mation in a manner described in” 15 U.S.C. 78u-
6(h)(1)(A). 17 C.F.R. 240.21F-2(b)(1)(ii)."" The rule thus

* In addition, by stating that “[t)he anti-retuliation protections ap-
ply whether or not you satisfy the requirements, procedures and
conditions to qualify for an award,” Rule 21F-2(b)(1) establishes
that an individual can be protected from unlawful retaliation even if
he has not reported alleged wrongdoing to the Commission, or if he
has reported it to the Commission through means other than those
required for award eligibility. 17 C.F.R. 240.21F-2(b)(1 (iii).

34

declares a person to be a “whistleblower” under Section
78u-6(h)(1)(A) if he makes any of the disclosures that
Section 78u-6(h)(1)(A) describes. That reading com-
ports with usual understandings of the term “whistle-
blower.” The Commission thoroughly explained that its
interpretation reflects the underlying statutory objec-
tives to provide broad protection for internal and exter-
nal whistleblowers alike, to encourage corporate man-
agers to address potential violations in the first in-
stance, and to use government enforcement resources
as efficiently as possible. 76 Fed. Reg. at 34,323-34,326.

To be sure, for purposes of Section 78u-6(h)(1)’s anti-
retaliation provisions, Rule 21F-2 treats as “whistle-
blowers” some individuals who do not fall within Section
78u-6(a)(6)’s definition of that term. Under this Court’s
precedents, however, the Commission was not categor-
ically required to apply that definition in construing
every Dodd-Frank provision in which the word “whis-
tleblower” appears. See pp. 17-18, supra. Based on the
ordinary meaning of the statutory text and various con-
textual clues, considered in light of the Commission’s
securities-law expertise, the Commission determined
that, although the statutory definition should contro!
the interpretation of Dodd-F rank’s award provisions, it
was ill-suited to the anti-retaliation provisions. That
reasonable interpretation is entitled to deference. Pet.
App. 10a; Berman, 801 F.3d at 155.

2. Petitioner challenges, for the first time, the pro-
cedural validity of the Commission’s regulation. Pet.
Br. 6-7, 41-45. Petitioner contends that the notice of
proposed rulemaking did not adequately alert inter-
ested parties that the Commission was contemplating
the course it ultimately took, and that the Commission
in announcing Rule 21F-2 did not adequately explain its

35

decision to depart from the statutory definition of
“whistleblower.” Those challenges are not properly be-
fore this Court because they were not pressed or passed
on in either of the courts below, see Lewis v. Clarke, 137
S. Ct. 1285, 1292 n.2 (2017); see also McLane Co. v.
EEOC, 187 8S. Ct. 1159, 1170 (2017) (this Court is “a
court of review, not of first view”) (citation omitted), and
because they were “not presented in the petition for
certiorari,” Jerman v. Carlisle, McNellie, Rini, Kra-
mer & Ulrich, L.P.A., 559 U.S. 578, 580 n.3 (2010).

In any event, petitioner’s procedural challenges are
unfounded. The notice of proposed rulemaking pro-
vided ample notice of the Commission’s interest in re-
ceiving public comment on appropriate measures to
protect and promote internal whistleblowing, including
through the anti-retaliation provisions."’ It was there-
fore “reasonably foreseeable” that the Commission
would interpret the anti-retaliation provisions to pro-
tect internal whistleblowing. Long Island Care at
Home, Ltd. v. Coke, 551 U.S. 158, 175 (2007). And the
adopting release’s multi-page analysis and comment ci-
tations fully explained the regulation’s consistency with
the statute."* See ibid. (finding less-developed explana-
tion sufficient).

‘t See 75 Fed. Reg. 70,488, 70,495, 70,511 & q.42 (Nov. 17, 2010)
(soliciting comment on whether and how to promulgate rules inter-
preting Section 78u-6(h)(1); whether to adopt a “broadened” appli-
cation of Section 78u-6(h)(1); and whether other proposed rules
“provide sufficient incentives” to use internal compliance processes
or whether to adopt further rules to “promote effective self-policing
and self-reporting ... consistent with [Section 21F’s] goals and
text”).

'§ See 76 Fed. Reg. at 34,302-34,304 & nn.21, 23, 37-39; id. at 34,317
n.149; id. at 34,323-34,327, n.207, 230; id. at 34,359-34,362 & nn.449-

36

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be af-
firmed.

Respectfully submitted.
ROBERT B,. STEBBINS NOEL J. FRANCISCO
General Counsel Solicitor General
MICHAEL A. CONLEY MALCOLM L. STEWART
Solicitor Deputy Solicitor General
THOMAS J. KARR CHRISTOPHER G. MICHEL

Assistant to the Solicitor

Assistant General Counsel
General

STEPHEN G. YODER
Senior Litigation Counsel
DINA B, MISHRA
Attorney
Securities And Exchange
Commission

OCTOBER 2017

450 (analyzing “[s]pecifically” how clause (iii) “incorporate|s]” stat-
utory disclosures to non-Commission recipients and does not make
protection from job-related retaliation contingent on eligibility for
an award; and discussing, and citing comment letters on, the impor-
tance of preserving internal compliance reporting despite award in-
centives for reporting to the Commission).

APPENDIX

1. 15 U.S.C. 78u-6 provides:

Securities whistleblower incentives and protection

(a) Definitions
In this section the following definitions shall apply:
(1) Covered judicial or administrative action

The term “covered judicial or administrative action”
means any judicial or administrative action brought by
the Commission under the securities laws that results
in monetary sanctions exceeding $1,000,000.

(2) Fund

The term “Fund” means the Securities and Ex-
change Commission Investor Protection Fund.

(3) Original information

The term “original information” means information
that—

(A) is derived from the independent knowledge
or analysis of a whistleblower;

(B) is not known to the Commission from any
other source, unless the whistleblower is the original
source of the information; and

(C) is not exclusively derived from an allega-
tion made in a judicial or administrative hearing, in
a governmental report, hearing, audit, or investiga-
tion, or from the news media, unless the whistle-
blower is a source of the information.

(la)

2a

(4) Monetary sanctions

The term “monetary sanctions”, when used with re-
spect to any judicial or administrative action, means—

(A) any monies, including penalties, disgorge-
ment, and interest, ordered to be paid; and

(B) any monies deposited into a disgorgement
fund or other fund pursuant to section 308(b) of the
Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (15 U.S.C. 7246(b)), as a
result of such action or any settlement of such ac-
tion.

(5) Related action

The term “related action”, when used with respect
to any judicial or administrative action brought by the
Commission under the securities laws, means any judi-
cial or administrative action brought by an entity de-
scribed in subclauses (1) through (IV) of subsection
(h)(2)(D)(i) that is based upon the original information
provided by a whistleblower pursuant to subsection (a)
that led to the successful enforcement of the Commis-
sion action.

(6) Whistleblower

The term “whistleblower” means any individual who
provides, or 2 or more individuals acting jointly who
provide, information relating to a violation of the secu-
rities laws to the Commission, in a manner established,
by rule or regulation, by the Commission.

3a
(b) Awards

(1) In general

In any covered judicial or administrative action,
or related action, the Commission, under regula-
tions prescribed by the Commission and subject to
subsection (c), shall pay an award or awards to 1 or
more whistleblowers who voluntarily provided orig-
inal information to the Commission that led to the
successful enforcement of the covered judicial or
administrative action, or related action, in an ag-
gregate amount equal to—

(A) not less than 10 percent, in total, of what
has been collected of the monetary sanctions im-
posed in the action or related actions; and

(B) not more than 30 percent, in total, of
what has been collected of the monetary sanc-
tions imposed in the action or related actions.

(2) Payment of awards

Any amount paid under paragraph (1) shall be
paid from the Fund.

(c) Determination of amount of award; denial of award
(1) Determination of amount of award
(A) Discretion

The determination of the amount of an award
made under subsection (b) shall be in the discre-
tion of the Commission.

4a

(B) Criteria

In determining the amount of an award made
under subsection (b), the Commission—

(i) shall take into consideration—

(I) the significance of the information
provided by the whistleblower to the suc-
cess of the covered judicial or administra-
tive action;

(II) the degree of assistance provided
by the whistleblower and any legal repre-
sentative of the whistleblower in a covered
judicial or administrative action;

({II) the programmatic interest of the
Commission in deterring violations of the
securities laws by making awards to whis-
tleblowers who provide information that
lead to the successful enforcement of such
laws; and

(TV) such additional relevant factors as
the Commission may establish by rule or
regulation; and
(ii) shall not take into consideration the

balance of the Fund.

(2) Denial of award
No award under subsection (b) shall be made—

(A) to any whistleblower who is, or was at the
time the whistleblower acquired the original] in-
formation submitted to the Commission, a mem-
ber, officer, or employee of—

5a

(i) an appropriate regulatory agency;
(ii) the Department of Justice;
(iii) a self-regulatory organization;

(iv) the Public Company Accounting Over-
sight Board; or

(v) alaw enforcement organization;

(B) to any whistleblower who is convicted of a
criminal violation related to the judicial or ad-
ministrative action for which the whistleblower
otherwise could receive an award under this sec-
tion;

(C) to any whistleblower who gains the in-
formation through the performance of an audit of
financial statements required under the securi-
ties laws and for whom such submission would be
contrary to the requirements of section 78j-1 of
this title; or

(D) to any whistleblower who fails to submit
information to the Commission in such form as
the Commission may, by rule, require.

(d) Representation
(1) Permitted representation

Any whistleblower who makes a claim for an
award under subsection (b) may be represented by
counsel.

6a

(2) Required representation
(A) In general

Any whistleblower who anonymously makes a
claim for an award under subsection (b) shall be
represented by counsel if the whistleblower ano-
nymously submits the information upon which
the claim is based.

(B) Disclosure of identity

Prior to the payment of an award, a whistle-
blower shall disclose the identity of the whistle-
blower and provide such other information as the
Commission may require, directly or through
counsel for the whistleblower.

(e) No-ontract necessary

No contract with the Commission is necessary for
any whistleblower to receive an award under subsec-
tion (b), unless otherwise required by the Commission
by rule or regulation.

(f) Appeals

Any determination made under this section, includ-
ing whether, to whom, or in what amount to make
awards, shall be in the discretion of the Commission.
Any such determination, except the determination of
the amount of an award if the award was made in ac-
cordance with subsection (b), may be appealed to the
appropriate court of appeals of the United States not
more than 30 days after the determination is issued by
the Commission. The court shall review the determi-

7a

nation made by the Commission in accordance with
section 706 of title 5.

(g) Investor Protection Fund
(1) Fund established

There is established in the Treasury of the
United States a fund to be known as the “Securities
and Exchange Commissivn Investor Protection

Fund”.
(2) Use of Fund

The Fund shall be available to the Commission,
without further appropriation or fiscal year limita-
tion, for—

(A) paying awards to whistleblowers as
provided in subsection (b); and

(B) funding the activities of the Inspector
General of the Commission under section 78d(i)
of this title.

(3) Deposits and credits
(A) In general

There shall be deposited into or credited to
the Fund an amount equal to—

(i) any monetary sanction collected by
the Commission in any judicial or administra-
tive action breught by the Commission under
the securities laws that is not added to a dis-
gorgement fund or other fund under section
308 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
(15 U.S.C. 7246) or otherwise distributed to

Sa

victims of a violation of the securities laws, or
the rules and regulations thereunder, under-
lying such action, unless the balance of the
Fund at the time the monetary sanction is
collected exceeds $300,000,000;

(ii) any monetary sanction added to a dis-
gorgement fund or other fund under section
308 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
(15 U.S.C. 7246) that is not distributed to the
victims for whom the Fund was established,
unless the balance of the disgorgement fund
at the time the determination is made not to
distribute the monetary sanction to such vic-
tims exceeds $200,000,000; and

(iii) all income from investments made
under paragraph (4).

(B) Additional amounts

If the amounts deposited into or credited to
the Fund under subparagraph (A) are not suffi-
cient to satisfy an award made under subsection
(b), there shall be deposited into or credited to
the Fund an amount equal to the unsatisfied por-
tion of the award from any monetary sanction
collected by the Commission in the covered judi-
cial or administrative action on which the award
is based.

(4)

(5)

Ya

Investments
(A) Amounts in Fund may be invested

The Commission may request the Secretary of
the Treasury to invest the portion of the Fund
that is not, in the discretion of the Commission,
required to meet the current needs of the Fund.

(B) Eligible investments

Investments shall be made by the Secretary of
the Treasury in obligations of the United States
or obligations that are guaranteed as to principal
and interest by the United States, with maturi-
ties suitable to the needs of the Fund as deter-
mined by the Commission on the record.

(C) Interest and proceeds credited

The interest on, and the proceeds from the sale
or redemption of, any obligations held in the
Fund shall be credited to the Fund.

Reports to Congress
Not later than October 30 of each fiscal year be-

ginning after July 21, 2010, the Commission shall
submit to the Committee on Banking, Housing, and
Urban Affairs of the Senate, and the Committee on
Financial Services of the House of Representatives
a report on—

(A) the whistleblower award program, es-
tablished under this section, including—

(i) adescription of the number of awards
granted; and

10a

(ii) the types of cases in which awards
were granted during the preceding fiscal
year;

(B) the balance of the Fund at the begin-
ning of the preceding fiscal year;

(C) the amounts deposited into or credited
to the Fund during the preceding fiscal year;

(D) the amount of earnings on investments
made under paragraph (4) during the preceding
fiscal year;

(E) the amount paid from the Fund during
the preceding fiscal year to whistleblowers pur-
suant to subsection (b);

(F) the balance of the Fund at the end of the
preceding fiscal year; and

(G) a complete set of audited financial
statements, including—

(i) a balance sheet;
(ii) income statement; and
(iii) cash flow analysis.
(h) Protection of whistleblowers
(1) Prohibition against retaliation

(A) In general

No employer may discharge, demote, sus-
pend, threaten, harass, directly or indirectly, or
in any other manner discriminate against, a whis-
tleblower in the terms and conditions of employ-

lla

ment because of any lawful act done by the whis-
tleblower—

(i) in providing information to the Com-
mission in accordance with this section;

(ii) in initiating, testifying in, or assisting
in any investigation or judicial or administra-
tive action of the Commission based upon or
related to such information; or

(iii) in making disclosures that are re-
quired or protected under the Sarbanes-Oxley
Act of 2002 (15 U.S.C. 7201 et seq.), this
chapter, including section 78j-l(m) of this title,
section 1513(e) of title 18, and any other law,
rule, or regulation subject to the jurisdiction
of the Commission.

(B) Enforcement
(i) Cause of action

An individual who alleges discharge or
other discrimination in violation of subpara-
graph (A) may bring an action under this
subsection in the appropriate district court of
the United States for the relief provided in

subparagraph (C).
(ii) Subpoenas

A subpoena requiring the attendance of a
witness at a trial or hearing conducted under

this section may be served at any place in the
United States.

12a
(iii) Statute of limitations

(I) In general

An action under this subsection may not
be brought—

(aa) more than 6 years after the
date on which the violation of subpara-
graph (A) occurred; or

(bb) more than 3 years after the
date when facts material to the right of
action are known or reasonably should
have been known by the employee al-
leging a violation of subparagraph (A).

(II) Required action within 10 years

Notwithstanding subclause (1), an action
under this subsection may not in any cir-
cumstance be brought more than 10 years
after the date on which the violation occurs.

(C) Relief
Relief for an individuai prevailing in an action
brought under subparagraph (B) shall include—

(i) reinstatement with the same seniority
status that the individual would have had, but
for the discrimination;

(ii) 2 times the amount of back pay other-
wise owed to the individual, with interest; and

(iii) compensation for litigation costs, ex-
pert witness fees, and reasonable attorneys’
fees.

(2)

13a

Confidentiality
(A) In general

Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and
(C), the Commission and any officer or employee
of the Commission shall not disclose any infor-
mation, including information provided by a
whistleblower to the Commission, which could
reasonably be expected to reveal the identity of a
whistleblower, except in accordance with the
provisions of section 552a of title 5, unless and
until required to be disclosed to a defendant or
respondent in connection with a public proceed-
ing instituted by the Commission or any entity
described in subparagraph (C). For purposes of
section 552 of title 5, this paragraph shall be con-
sidered a statute described in subsection

(b)(3)(B) of such section.
(B) Exempted statute

For purposes of section 552 of title 5, this
paragraph shall be considered a statute de-
scribed in subsection (b)(3)(B) of such section
552.

(C) Rule of construction

Nothing in this section is intended to limit, or
shall be construed to limit, the ability of the At-
torney General to present such evidence to a
grand jury or to share such evidence with poten-
tial witnesses or defendants in the course of an
ongoing criminal investigation.

l4a

(D) Availability to government agencies
(i) In general

Without the loss of its status as confiden-
tial in the hands of the Commission, all infor-
mation referred to in subparagraph (A) may,
in the discretion of the Commission, when de-
termined by the Commission to be necessary
to accomplish the purposes of this chapter and
to protect investors, be made available to—

({) the Attorney General of the

United States;
(Il) an appropriate regulatory au-
thority;

(III) a self-regulatory organization;

(IV) a State attorney general in con-
nection with any criminal investigation;

(V) any appropriate State regula-
tory authority;

(VI) the Public Company Accounting
Oversight Board;

(VII) a foreign securities authority;
and

(VIII) a foreign law enforcement au-
thority.

15a

(ii) Confidentiality
(I) In general

Each of the entities described in sub-
clauses (I) through (VI) of clause (i) shall
maintain such information as confidential in
accordance with the requirements estab-
lished under subparagraph (A).

(II) Foreign authorities

Each of the entities described in sub-
clauses (VII) and (VIII) of clause (i) shall
maintain such information in accordance
with such assurances of confidentiality as
the Commission determin 2s appropriate.

(3) Rights retained

Nothing in this section shall be deemed to di-
minish the rights, privileges, or remedies of any
whistleblower under any Federal or State law, or
under any collective bargaining agreement.

(i) Provision of false information

A whistleblower shall not be entitled to an award
under this section if the whistleblower—

(1) knowingly and willfully makes any false,
fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation;
or

(2) uses any false writing or document knowing
the writing or document contains any false, ficti-
tious, or fraudulent statement or entry.

l6a

(j) Rulemaking authority

The Commission shall have the authority to issue
such rules and regulations as may be necessary or
appropriate to implement the provisions of this section
consistent with the purposes of this section.

2. 180U.S.C. 1514A provides:
Civil action to protect against retaliation in fraud cases

(a) WHISTLEBLOWER PROTECTION FOR EMPLOY-
EES OF PUBLICLY TRADED COMPANIES.—No company
with a class of securities registered under section 12 of
the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 781), or
that is required to file reports under section 15(d) of
the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 780(d))
including any subsidiary or affiliate whose financial
information is included in the consolidated financial
statements of such company, or nationally recognized
statistical rating organization (as defined in section 3(a)
of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 78¢),'
or any officer, employee, contractor, subcontractor, or
agent of such company or nationally recognized statis-
tical rating organization, may discharge, demote, sus-
pend, threaten, harass, or in any other manner discrim-
inate against an employee in the terms and conditions
of employment because of any lawful act done by the
employee—

' So in original. Another closing parenthesis probably should
precede the comma.

17a

(1) to provide information, cause information to
be provided, or otherwise assist in an investigation
regarding any conduct which the employee reasona-
bly believes constitutes a violation of section 1341,
1348, 1344, or 1348, any rule or regulation of the
Securities and Exchange Commission, or any provi-
sion of Federal law relating to fraud against share-
holders, when the information or assistance is pro-
vided to or the investigation is conducted by—

(A) a Federal regulatory or law enforcement
agency;

(B) any Member of Congress or any commit-
tee of Congress; or

(C) a person with supervisory authority over
the employee (or such other person working for
the employer who has the authority to investi-
gate, discover, or terminate misconduct); or

(2) to file, cause to be filed, testify, participate
in, or otherwise assist in a proceeding filed or about
to be filed (with any knowledge of the employer) re-
lating to an alleged violation of section 1341, 1343,
1344, or 1348, any rule or regulation of the Securi-
ties and Exchange Commission, or any provision of
Federal law relating to fraud against shareholders.

(b) ENFORCEMENT ACTION,—

(1) IN GENERAL.—A person who alleges dis-
charge or other discrimination by any person in vi-
olation of subsection (a) may seek relief under sub-
section (c), by—

18a

(A) filing a complaint with the Secretary of
Labor; or

(B) if the Secretary has not issued a final de-
cision within 180 days of the filing of the com-
plaint and there is no showing that such delay is
due to the bad faith of the claimant, bringing an
action at law or equity for de novo review in the
appropriate district court of the United States,
which shall have jurisdiction over such an action
without regard to the amount in controversy.

(2) PROCEDURE.—

(A) IN GENERAL.—An action under para-
graph (1)(A) shall be governed under the rules
and procedures set forth in section 42121(b) of ti-
tle 49, United States Code.

(B) EXCEPTION.—Notification made under
section 42121(b)(1) of title 49, United States
Code, shall be made to the person named in the
complaint and to the employer.

(C) BURDENS OF PROOF.—An action brought
under paragraph (1)(B) shall be governed by the
legal burdens of proof set forth in section
42121(b) of title 49, United States Code.

(D) STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS.—An action
under paragraph (1) shall be commenced not lat-
er than 180 days after the date on which the vio-
lation occurs, or after the date on which the em-
ployee became aware of the violation.

19a

(E) JURY TRIAL.—A party to an action
brought under paragraph (1)(B) shall be entitled
to trial by jury.

(ec) REMEDIES.—

(1) IN GENERAL.—An employee prevailing in
any action under subsection (b)(1) shall be entitled
to all relief necessary to make the employee whole.

(2) COMPENSATORY DAMAGES.—Relief for any
action under paragraph (1) shall include—

(A) reinstatement with the same seniority
status that the employee would have had, but for
the discrimination;

(B) the amount of back pay, with interest; and

(C) compensation for any special damages
sustained as a result of the discrimination, in-
cluding litigation costs, expert witness fees, and
reasonable attorney fees.

(d) RIGHTS RETAINED BY EMPLOYEE.—Nothing in
this section shall be deemed to diminish the rights,
privileges, or remedies of any employee under any
Federal or State law, or under any collective bargain-
ing agreement.

(e) NONENFORCEABILITY OF CERTAIN PROVISIONS
WAIVING RIGHTS AND REMEDIES OR REQUIRING AR-
BITRATION OF DISPUTES.—

(1) WAIVER OF RIGHTS AND REMEDIES.—The
rights and remedies provided for in this section may
not be waived by any agreement, policy form, or

20a

condition of employment, including by a predispute
arbitration agreement.

(2) PREDISPUTE ARBITRATION AGREEMENTS.—
No predispute arbitration agreement shall be valid
or enforceable, if the agreement requires arbitration
of a dispute arising under this section.

3. 15 U.S.C. 78j-1 provides in pertinent part:
Audit requirements

* * * * >

(b) Required response to audit discoveries
(1) Investigation and report to management

If, in the course of conducting an audit pursuant
to this chapter to which subsection (a) of this section
applies, the registered public accounting firm de-
tects or otherwise becomes aware of information in-
dicating that an illeg» act (whether or not perceived
to have a material eftect on the financial statements
of the issuer) has or may have occurred, the firm
shall, in accordance with generally accepted auditing
standards, as may be modified or supplemented
from time to time by the Commission—

(A)(i) determine whether it is likely that an il-
legal act has occurred; and

(ii) ifso, determine and consider the possible
effect of the illegal act on the financial statements
of the issuer, including any contingent monetary

Zla

effects, such as fines, penalties, and damages;
and

(B) as soon as practicable, inform the appro-
priate level of the management of the issuer and
assure that the audit committee of the issuer, or
the board of directors of the issuer in the absence
of such a committee, is adequately informed with
respect to illegal acts that have been detected or
have otherwise come to the attention of such firm
in the course of the audit, unless the illegal act is
clearly inconsequential.

(2) Response to failure to take remedial action

If, after determining that the audit committee of
the board of directors of the issuer, or the board of
directors of the issuer in the absence of an audit
committee, is adequately informed with respect to
illegal acts that have been detected or have other-
wise come to the attention of the firm in the course
of the audit of such firm, the registered public ac-
counting firm concludes that—

(A) the illegal act has a material effect on the
financial statements of the issuer;

(B) the senior management has not taken,
and the board of directors has not caused senior
management to take, timely and appropriate re-
medial actions with respect to the illegal act; and

(C) the failure to take remedial action is rea-
sonably expected to warrant departure from a
standard report of the auditor, when made, or
warrant resignation from the audit engagement;

22a

the registered public accounting firm shall, as soon
as practicable, directly report its conclusions to the
board of directors.

(3) Notice to Commission; response to failure to
notify

An issuer whose board of directors receives a
report under paragraph (2) shall inform the Com-
mission by notice not later than 1 business day after
the receipt of such report and shall furnish the reg-
istered public accounting firm making such report
with a copy of the notice furnished to the Commis-
sion. If the registered public accounting firm fails
to receive a copy of the notice before the expiration
of the required 1-business-day period, the regis-
tered public accounting firm sha]l—

(A) resign from the engagement; or

(B) furnish to the Commission a copy of its
report (or the documentation of any oral report
given) not later than 1 business day following
such failure to receive notice.

(4) Report after resignation

If a registered public accounting firm resigns
from an engagement under paragraph (3)(A), the
firm shall, not later than 1 business day following
the failure by the issuer to notify the Commission
under paragraph (3), furnish to the Commission a
copy of the report of the firm (or the documentation
of any oral report given).

# + * * -

23a

(m) Standards relating to audit committees
(1) Commission rules
(A) In general

Effective not later than 270 days after July
30, 2002, the Commission shall, by rule, direct the
national securities exchanges and national secu-
rities associations to prohibit the listing of any
security of an issuer that is not in compliance
with the requirements of any portion of para-
graphs (2) through (6).

(B) Opportunity to cure defects

The rules of the Commission under subpara-
graph (A) shall provide for appropriate proce-
dures for an issuer to have an opportunity to cure
any defects that would be the basis for a prohibi-
tion under subparagraph (A), before the imposi-
tion of such prohibition.

(2) Responsibilities relating to registered public
accounting firms

The audit committee of each issuer, in its capac-
ity as a committee of the board of directors, shall be
directly responsible for the appointment, compensa-
tion, and oversight of the work of any registered
public accounting firm employed by that issuer (in-
cluding resolution of disagreements between man-
agement and the auditor regarding financial re-
porting) for the purpose of preparing or issuing an
audit report or related work, and each such regis-
tered public accounting firm shall report directly to
the audit committee.

24a

(3) Independence

(A) In general

Each member of the audit committee of the
issuer shall be a member of the board of directors
of the issuer, and shall otherwise be independent.

(B) Criteria

In order to be considered to be independent
for purposes of this paragraph, a member of an
audit committee of an issuer may not, other than
in his or her capacity as a member of the audit
committee, the board of directors, or any other
board committee—

(i) accept any consulting, advisory, or
other compensatory fee from the issuer; or

(ii) be an affiliated person of the issuer or
any subsidiary thereof.

(C) Exemption authority

The Commission may exempt from the re-
quirements of subparagraph (B) a particular re-
lationship with respect to audit committee mem-
bers, as the Commission determines appropriate
in light of the circumstances.

Complaints
Each audit committee shall establish procedures

for—

(A) the receipt, retention, and treatment of
complaints received by the issuer regarding ac-

25a

counting, internal accounting controls, or audit-
ing matters; and

(B) the confidential, anonymous submission
by employees of the issuer of concerns regarding
questionable accounting or auditing matters.

(5) Authority to engage advisers

Each audit committee shall have the authority to
engage independent counsel and other advisers, as it
determines necessary to carry out its duties.

(6) Funding

Each issuer shall provide for appropriate fund-
ing, as determined by the audit committee, in its
capacity as a committee of the board of directors, for
payment of compensation—

(A) to the registered public accounting firm
employed by the issuer for the purpose of ren-
dering or issuing an audit report; and

(B) to any advisers employed by the audit
committee under paragraph (5).

4. 15 U.S.C. 7245 provides:
Rules of professional responsibility for attorneys

Not later than 180 days after July 30, 2002, the
Commission shall issue rules, in the public interest and
for the protection of investors, setting forth minimum
standards of professional conduct for attorneys ap-
pearing and practicing before the Commission in any
way in the representation of issuers, including a rule—

26a

(1) requiring an attorney to report evidence of
a material violation of securities law or breach of fi-
duciary duty or similar violation by the company or
any agent thereof, to the chief legal counsel or the
chief executive officer of the company (or the equiv-
alent thereof); and

(2) if the counsel or officer does not appropri-
ately respond to the evidence (adopting, as neces-
sary, appropriate remedial measures or sanctions
with respect to the violation), requiring the attorney
to report the evidence to the audit committee of the
board of directors of the issuer or to another com-
mittee of the board of directors comprised solely of
directors not employed directly or indirectly by the
issuer, or to the board of directors.

5. 18 U.S.C. 1513(e) provides:
Retaliating against a witness, victim, or an informant

(e) Whoever knowingly, with the intent to retaliate,
takes any action harmful to any person, including in-
terference with the lawful employment or livelihood of
any person, for providing to a law enforcement officer
any truthful information relating to the commission or
possible commission of any Federal offense, shall be
fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 10
years, or both.

27a
6. 17 C.F.R. 240.21F-2 provides:

Whistleblower status and retaliation protection.

(a) Definition of a whistleblower. (1) You are a
whistleblower if, alone or jointly with others, you pro-
vide the Commission with information pursuant to the
procedures set forth in § 240.21F-9(a) of this chapter,
and the information relates to a possible violation of the
Federal securities laws (including any rules or regula-
tions thereunder) that has occurred, is ongoing, or is
about to occur. A whistleblower must be an individu-
al. A company or another entity is not eligible to be a
whistleblower.

(2) To be eligible for an award, you must submit
original information to the Commission in accordance
with the procedures and conditions described in
§§240.21F-4, 240.21F-8, and 240.21F-9 of this chapter.

(b) Prohibition against retaliation. (1) For pur-
poses of the anti-retaliation protections afforded by
Section 21F(h)(1) of the Exchange Act (15 U.S.C.
78u-6(h)(1)), you are a whistleblower if:

(i) You possess a reasonable belief that the infor-
mation you are providing relates to a possible securi-
ties law violation (or, where applicable, to a possible
violation of the provisions set forth in 18 U.S.C.
1514A(a)) that has occurred, is ongoing, or is about to
occur, and;

(ii) You provide that information in a manner
described in Section 21F(h)(1)(A) of the Exchange Act
(15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)(A)).

28a

(iii) The anti-retaliation protections apply whether
or not you satisfy the requirements, procedures and
conditions to qualify for an award.

(2) Section 21F(h)(1) of the Exchange Act
(15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)(1)), including any rules promulgat-
ed thereunder, shall be enforceable in an action or
proceeding brought by the Commission.

7. 17C.F.R. 240.21F-9 provides:
Procedures for submitting original information.

(a) To be considered a whistleblower under Section
21F of the Exchange Act (15 U.S.C. 78u-6(h)), you must
submit your information about a possible securities law
violation by either of these methods:

(1) Online, through the Commission’s Web site lo-
cated at http://www.sec.gov; or

(2) By mailing or faxing a Form TCR (Tip, Com-
plaint or Referral) (referenced in §249.1800 of this
chapter) to the SEC Office of the Whistleblower, 100 F
Street NE., Washington, DC 20549-5631, Fax (703)

813-9322.

(b) Further, to be eligible for an award, you must
declare under penalty of perjury at the time you submit
your information pursuant to paragraph (a)(1) or (2) of
this section that your information is true and correct to
the best of your knowledge and belief.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b) of this
section, if you are providing your original information
to the Commission anonymously, then your attorney

29a

must submit your information on your behalf pursuant
to the procedures specified in paragraph (a) of this
section. Prior to your attorney’s submission, you
must provide your attorney with a completed Form
TCR (referenced in §249.1800 of this chapter) that you
have signed under penalty of perjury. When your
attorney makes her submission on your behalf, your
attorney will be required to certify that he or she:

(1) Has verified your identity;

(2) Has reviewed your completed and signed Form
TCR (referenced in §249.1800 of this chapter) for com-
pleteness 2nd accuracy and that the information con-
tained therein is true, correct and complete to the best
of the attorney’s knowledge, information and belief;

(3) Has obtained your non-waivable consent to
provide the Commission with your original completed
and signed Form TCR (referenced in §249.1800 of this
chapter) in the event that the Commission requests it
due to concerns that you may have knowingly and will-
fully made false, fictitious, or fraudulent statements or
representations, or used any false writing or document
knowing that the writing or document contains any
false fictitious or fraudulent statement or entry; and

(4) Consents to be legally obligated to provide the
signed Form TCR (referenced in § 249.1800 of this
chapter) within seven (7) calendar days of receiving
such request from the Commission.

(d) If you submitted original information in writing
to the Commission after July 21, 2010 (the date of en-
actment of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and
Consumer Protection Act) but before the effective date

30a

of these rules, your submission will be deemed to sat-
isfy the requirements set forth in paragraphs (a) and
(b) of this section. If you were an anonymous whistle-
blower, however, you must provice your attorney with
a completed and signed copy of Form TCR (referenced
in §249.1800 of this chapter) within 60 days of the et-
fective date of these rules, your attorney must retain
the signed form in his or her records, and you must
provide of copy of the signed form to the Commission
staff upon request by Commission staff prior to any
payment of an award to you in connection with your
submission. Notwithstanding the foregoing, you must
follow the procedures and conditions for making a
claim for a whistleblower award described in
$$ 240.21F-10 and 240.21F-11 of this chapter.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0745%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
