# Amicus Curiae Brief — Gill v. Whitford, 138 S. Ct. 52 (2017) (No. 16-1161)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0740%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

FILED
APR 24 2017

BSG

No. 16-1161
In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

BEVERLY R. GILL, ET AL., APPELLANTS
v.
WILLIAM WHITFORD, ET AL., APPELLEES

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

BRIEF FOR TiE STATES OF TEXAS, ARIZONA,
ARKANSAS, INDIANA, KANSAS, LOUISIANA,
MICHIGAN, MISSOURI, NEVADA, OKLAHOMA,
SOUTH CAROLINA, AND UTAH AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS

KEN PAXTON ScoTT A. KELLER

Attorney General of Texas Solicitor General

JEFFREY C. MATEER Counsst of Record

First Assistant MATTHEW H. FREDERICK

Attorney General Deputy Solicitor General
OFFICE OF THE
ATTORNEY GENERAL

P.O. Box 12548 (MC 059)
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
scott. keller@oag.texas.gov
(512) 936-1'700

[counsel for additional Amici listed at end of brief]
ee ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I a eiemeeial III]
i scolcetlinidocianamicnnaiiiientat 1
cen esranenincieniecnbipampendensaniiinsiooetie 2
a ailincisrcedietanietnninipisintiicsicininiimtinisiamepnigiianeiitimaiatmemins 3

I. The District Court’s Opinion Warrants This
Court’s Review Because It Threatens Every
State’s Ability to Reapportion Legislative
ie iiestiennsiteitavnsuliiscisptaeltianiipiiiitsanduiaititaaanimeritamasmneneen 3
A. Partisan purpose is easy to prove when

the redistricting process involves partisan

actors and necessarily produces partisan

SEIT aia 620 et REDS Re ee 4
B. The district court’s indeterminate stan-

dard does not draw a clear line between

permissible and impermissible partisan

II Pasioskstiinsisiinsedtieisdislanambiiincbipdupiediideibeanenperncnes 8

Il. The District Court’s Partisan-Gerrymander-
ing Standard Rests on Unfounded Concep-
tions of Proportional Representation and
I icici sien seitichanenislaedieiiadisimmbesimmemenes 1]
A. The district court’s expectation that

single-member districts will result in

proportional representation is

TG niiichitnaneiieibdneniiuiibideniinintgnenietnceases 11
B. The district court’s analysis reflects an

expansion of vote-dilution claims from

(T)

i

individuals’ ability to elect to group-
based statewide political influence. ............ 14

Re AAAS SINE a AE PNAS cele SY Ne a 18

Page(s)
Cases:

Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S.

RCN ERE RE ec a 15
Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780 (1983) ................ 17
Brown v. Thomson, 462 U.S. 835 (1983)................. 15, 16
Chapman ». Meier, 420 U.S. 1 (1975) ...........cccccccceceeseees 2
Common Cause v. Rucho, No. 16-cv-1026,

2017 WL 876307 (M.D.N.C. March 3, 2017)

EET ES RESO ee ee 8
Davis v. Bandemer, 478 U.S. 109 (1986)............. 5, 10, 12
Gaffney v. Cummings, 412 U.S. 735 (19738)............000. 2,4
Growe v. Emison, 507 U.S. 25 (1998) .............cccceccseeseneees 2
Harris v. Ariz. Indep. Redistricting Comm'n,

pT 8
Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555

SES ERS URAC 2th 17
LULAC v. Perry, 548 U.S. 399 (2006)...............00.. 12, 14
Miller v. Johnson, 515 U.S. 900 (1995) .......... ee ceececeeeeeeeee 6
Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964) ........cccccccceeeeeees 15
Shaw v. Hunt, 517 U.S. 899 (1996) ...............ccccccesseeeeenes 14

Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. 630 (1998) .2..... ccc. cce cece ceseeeeeee 7

ITI

Cases — Continued:
Vieth v. Jubelirer, 541 U.S. 267 (2004)................ 7,12,13
Vill. of Arlington Heights v. Metro. Hous.
Dev. Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977) .........ccccssecceseesesseere 4,7
Other Authorities

Paul A. Diller, Reorienting Home Rule: Part
1—The Urban Disadvantage in National
and State Lawmaking, 77 La. L. Rev. 287
a ciniilaineuionn 13

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 16-1161

BEVERLY R. GILL, ET AL., APPELLANTS
Vv.
WILLIAM WHITFORD, ET AL., APPELLEES

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF TEXAS, ARIZONA,
ARKANSAS, INDIANA, KANSAS, LOUISIANA,
MICHIGAN, MISSOURI, NEVADA, OKLAHOMA,
SOUTH CAROLINA, AND UTAH AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amici are the States of Texas, Arizona, Arkansas, In-
diana, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada,
Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Utah. The States have a
vital interest in the rules that govern apportionment of
seats for state legislative bodies and the United States
House of Representatives. This Court has repeatedly
held that “reapportionment is primarily the duty and re-
sponsibility of the State through its legislature or other

' Counsel of record received timely notice of intent to file this
brief, as required by Rule 37.2(a).

(1)

2

body, rather than of a federal court.” Growe v. Emison,
507 U.S. 25, 34 (1993) (quoting Chapman v. Meier, 420
U.S. 1, 27 (1975)).

And the Court has recognized that reapportionment
by state legislatures is an inherently political task. See,
e.g., Gaffney v. Cummings, 412 U.S. 735, 749 (1973). It
has never held that a State violates the Constitution by
pursuing or achieving political goals through reappor-
tionment.

Yet in this case, the district court held that Wisconsin
violated the Constitution when it passed Act 43, the re-
apportionment plan for its Assembly and Senate, be-
cause that plan was purportedly a partisan gerrymander.
The district court’s decision invites openly partisan pol-
icy battles in the courtroom. This will expose every State
to litigation under a legal standard so indeterminate that
any party that loses in the statehouse has a fighting
chance of overriding that policy decision in the court-
house. The Constitution does not support, let alone com-
pel, this result. The district court’s decision therefore
warrants review by this Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court has repeatedly stated that legislative re-
apportionment is an inherently partisan task. And the
Court has made clear that partisan-gerrymandering
claims are not cognizable based on a measure of propor-
tional representation between the votes and seats ob-
tained by a political party.

Nevertheless, the split decision of the district court
here recognized a partisan-gerrymandering claim under

3

an amorphous test that could be used to threaten count-
less state legislative reapportionment plans. Partisan
purpose is inherent in the nature of legislative reappor-
tionment, and the district court’s indeterminate stand-
ard does not draw a predictable line between permissible
and impermissible partisan effects. Furthermore, the
district court’s analysis is predicated on an expectation
that single-member districts should produce propor-
tional representation—a concept this Court has ex-
pressly rejected multiple times. And the district court’s
reliance on vote-dilution cases fundamentally misunder-
stands the difference between those claims regarding in-
dividual rights versus the novel group-based right rec-
ognized here. The Court’s review is necessary to reject
the district court’s flawed analysis before it spreads to
other jurisdictions and interferes with the States’ funda-
mental political responsibilities.

ARGUMENT

I. The District Court’s Opinion Warrants This
Court’s Review Because It Threatens Every
State’s Ability to Reapportion Legislative Seats.

The district court majority held that a redistricting
plan violates the First Amendment and the Equal Pro-
tection Clause when it “(1) is intended to place a severe
impediment on the effectiveness of the votes of individual
citizens on the basis of their political affiliation, (2) has
that effect, and (3) cannot be justified on other, legiti-
mate legislative grounds.” J.S. App. 109-10a. That hold-
ing will be quite disruptive in practice. First, partisan
motivation will be easy to prove because, unlike race or

4

other presumptively impermissible criteria, political con-
siderations are unavoidable in legislative reapportion-
ment. Second, political impact is foreseeable in any ap-
portionment plan, but there is no clear standard to dis-
tinguish permissible from impermissible partisan ef-
fects. The district court’s indeterminate standard of lia-
bility warrants review by this Court because it threatens
to entangle every State in protracted, politically moti-
vated litigation.

A. Partisan purpose is easy to prove when the redis-
tricting process involves partisan actors and nec-
essarily produces partisan effects.

In an effort to provide structure to its intentional-dis-
crimination test, the majority purported to borrow the
framework for judging discriminatory purpose from ra-
cial-discrimination cases, J.S. App. 117a, including the
nonexhaustive list of factors identified in Arlington
Heights. J.S. App. 123-24a (quoting Vill. of Arlington
Heights v. Metro. Hous. Dev. Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 266-68
(1977)). The problem with this, of course, is that the
Court has repeatedly noted that partisan purpose is in-
herent in legislative reapportionment. So a finding of
partisan purpose says nothing about the constitutional-
ity of a reapportionment plan.

This Court has correctly noted that as long as redis-
tricting is carried out by partisan legislatures, partisan
intent will be easy to prove. Gaffney v. Cummings, for
instance, referred to “the impossible task of extirpating
politics from what are the essentially political processes
of the sovereign States.” 412 U.S. at 754. Similarly, in

5

Davis v. Bandemer, 478 U.S. 109, 129 (1986), the plural-
ity recognized that partisan intent is inherent in legisla-
tive redistricting: “As long as redistricting is done by a
legislature, it should not be very difficult to prove that
the likely political consequences of the reapportionment
were intended.”

Because some degree of partisanship is inherent in
legislative redistricting, the district court had to consider
“what kind of partisan intent offends the Constitution.”
J.S. App. 1lla. The district court’s answer to that ques-
tion sets an extremely low bar.

The hallmark of excessive partisanship, according to
the district court, is “an intent to entrench a political
party in power.” J.S. App. 117a. It did not define “en-
trenchment,” but it described the concept in terms that
could apply to any effort to secure an electoral ad-
vantage. According to the district court, “excessiveness”
or “extreme partisan gerrymanders” do not require any
particular distribution of legislative seats. A party with a
bare majority of safe seats could be sufficiently “locked-
in” to impose “representational harms” on adherents of
the other party. J.S. App. 116a.

The district court’s opinion illustrates how easy it will
be to establish discriminatory intent. It found that “one
purpose of Act 43 was to secure the Republican Party’s
control of the state legislature for the decennial period.”
J.S. App. 126a. One basis of this finding was the drafters’
consideration of partisan data to predict the outcome of
elections. J.S. App. 126-36a. The district court found im-
permissible partisan purpose because “from the outset
of the redistricting process, the drafters sought to un-
derstand the partisan effects of the maps they were

6

drawing.” J.S. App. 138a. It also relied on the drafters’
concern with “the durability of their plan,” that is,
whether the anticipated advantage would persist over
the life of the plan. J.S. App. 139a.’ Ultimately, this was
enough to prove “that one of the purposes of Act 43 was
to secure Republican control of the Assembly under any
likely future electoral scenario for the remainder of the
decade, in other words to entrench the Republican Party
in power.” J.S. App. 140a.

Under the district court’s test, any effort to secure a
marginal partisan advantage may qualify as prohibited
intentional discrimination. It dismissed the argument
that drafters “only wanted to improve their position in-
crementally,” reasoning that if that had been their pur-
pose, “they could have settled on one of the maps that
provided a pickup of a smaller number of Republican
seats.” J.S. App. 145a n.241. But under the majority’s
reasoning, the “pickup” of a smaller number of seats
would still support a finding of intent to “entrench”—it
would merely be a lesser degree of entrenchment.

The district court’s standard of discriminatory pur-
pose will effectively reverse the presumption of constitu-
tionality afforded to legislative enactments. See, e.g.,
Miller v. Johnson, 515 U.S. 900, 916 (1995) (noting “the
sensitive nature of redistricting and the presumption of
good faith that must be accorded legislative enact-
ments”). After all, “it rarely can ‘be said that a legislature

* This concern was proven, in part, by signs of optimism—one
drafter assured the Republican caucus that “(t]he maps we
pass will determine who’s here 10 years from now.” J.S. App.
136a.

7

or administrative body operating under a broad mandate
made a decision motivated by a single concern.” J.S.
App. 118-19a (quoting Arlington Heights, 429 U.S. at
265). This is particularly true in redistricting—legisla-
tures typically must consider, among other factors, “tra-
ditional districting principles such as compactness, con-
tiguity, and respect for political subdivisions.” J.S. App.
119a (quoting Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. 630, 647 (1993)).
And since this Court has presumed that politics will fig-
ure in that mix, the fact of a legislatively enacted plan
will almost always suffice to make out a prima facie case
of discriminatory intent under the district court’s test.
The States will find no comfort in “a sensitive inquiry
into such circumstantial and direct evidence of intent as
may be available,” J.S. App. 123a (quoting Arlington
Heights, 429 U.S. at 266), since the circumstantial evi-
dence—and likely the direct evidence—will presumably
abound with indicators of political motive. See, e.g., Vieth
v. Jubelirer, 541 U.S. 267, 347-50 (2004) (Souter, J., dis-
senting) (“[UJnder a plan devised by a single major
party, proving intent should not be hard, . . . politicians
not being politically disinterested or characteristically
naive.”). Contrary to the district court’s suggestion,
court- or commission-drawn plans will not escape liabil-
ity if they have a partisan impact. The “components of
the analysis” under Arlington Heights can never “pre-
vent a finding of a constitutional violation,” J.S. App.
17la, because they are not necessary elements of proof;
they are merely “subjects of proper inquiry.” 429 U.S. at
268. Indeed, a recent case before this Court proves that
claims of partisan gerrymandering will not “stall,” J.S.
App. 171a, merely because a court or commission drew

8

the challenged plan. See Harris v. Ariz. Indep. Redis-
tricting Comm’n, 136 S. Ct. 1301, 1307 (2016) (rejecting
claim that deviations from absolute population equality
resulted from the redistricting commission’s “political
efforts to help the Democratic Party”).

B. The district court’s indeterminate standard does
not draw a clear line between permissible and im-
permissible partisan effects.

Just as any effort to favor one political party could
support a finding of discriminatory intent, any degree of
partisan advantage could lead to a finding of discrimina-
tory effect under the district court’s standard. The dis-
trict court did not adopt wholesale the plaintiffs’ pro-
posed “efficiency gap” statistical test, instead treating it
as corroborating evidence of a purported partisan gerry-
mander. J.S. App. 176a. But the court nevertheless cre-
ated an even more open-ended standard that would re-
sult in a finding of discriminatory effect whenever a
State’s redistricting plan would “place a severe impedi-
ment on the effectiveness of the votes of individual citi-
zens on the basis of their political affiliation.” J.S. App.
109-10a. The district court’s constitutional standard mer-
its this Court’s full review because it places every State
at risk of constitutional liability, as the district court’s
decision will be—and has been—relied on by other
courts in evaluating partisan-gerrymandering claims.
See Common Cause v. Rucho, No. 16-cv-1026, 2017 WL
876307 (M.D.N.C. March 3, 2017) (per curiam). This
guarantees that every State will face protracted litiga-
tion under a test that does not impose clear standards.

9

The plaintiffs’ proposed “efficiency gap” test for par-
tisan gerrymandering shows the extent of the threat to
the States. Plaintiffs’ “efficiency gap” test attempts to
measure the difference between the percentage of
statewide votes for legislative seats for a political party
compared to the actual percentage of seats held by that
party. J.S. App. 159-61la. The plaintiffs’ expert Dr. Jack-
man applied this efficiency-gap test to elections in 41
States over a 43-year period, finding impermissible par-
tisan discrimination whenever the first election produced
an efficiency gap greater than 7%.’ The appellants note
that this test would condemn approximately one third of
all plans considered. J.S. 14-15. Indeed, considering all
elections in the analysis, the plaintiffs’ test would have
found an impermissible partisan effect in at least one
plan in 36 States—including Alabama, Arkansas, Califor-
nia, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, IIli-
nois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michi-
gan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North
Carolina, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Okla-
homa, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Ten-
nessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington,
Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming. See Jackman
Rpt. at 34. Confining the analysis to elections held in

8 See Simon Jackman, Assessing the Current Wisconsin State
Legislative Districting Plan at 20 (July 7, 2015), ECF No. 1-3
[hereinafter “Jackman Report”}. Dr. Jackman excluded 9
States—Arizona, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, New
Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, and South Dakota—
from his analysis because they had “exceedingly high rates of
uncontested races” or because they used multi-member dis-
tricts, non-partisan elections, or a run-off system. /d.

10

2012 and 2014, Dr. Jackman found an efficiency gap
greater than 10% in Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan,
Missouri, North Carolina, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island
Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. See id. at 73. In ad-
dition, Dr. Jackman found consistent partisan bias in
post-2010 redistricting plans in Alaska, Colorado, Geor-
gia, Maine, Minnesota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Ver-
mont. Jd.

The district court’s standard is even more open-
ended. Eschewing the plaintiffs’ efficiency-gap metric
and its 7% threshold, the district court found that Wis-
consin “burden([ed] the representational rights of Demo-
cratic voters in Wisconsin by impeding their ability to
translate their votes into legislative seats, not simply for
one election but throughout the life of Act 43.” J.S. App.
176-77a.

The logic of the district court’s opinion would permit
a finding of partisan gerrymandering based on any de-
gree of disproportionality between statewide votes and
legislative seats, provided only that the seats-to-votes
gap persisted over the life of the plan. A smaller number
of safer seats would arguably provide even stronger evi-
dence of a partisan effect. A narrower majority would al-
low a greater margin of safety, thereby increasing the
durability of the alleged gerrymander. See, e.g.,
Bandemer, 478 U.S. at 152 (O’Connor, J., concurring in
the judgment) (“[AJn overambitious gerrymander can
lead to disaster for the legislative majority: because it
has created more seats in which it hopes to win relatively
narrow victories, the same swing in overall voting
strength will tend to cost the legislative majority more

11

and more seats as the gerrymander becomes more ambi-
tious.”). As long as the legislature intended to create
some degree of electoral advantage—and it is difficult to
imagine how this could not be proven—liability would be
established. The potential for interference with State re-
districting efforts merits review by this Court.

II. The District Court’s Partisan-Gerrymandering
Standard Rests on Unfounded Conceptions of
Proportional Representation and Vote Dilution.

A. The district court’s expectation that single-mem-
ber districts will result in proportional represen-
tation is unfounded.

The majority based its partisan-gerrymandering test
on the notion that the proportion of statewide votes for a
major party’s candidates should match the proportion of
legislative seats won in single-member legislative dis-
tricts. As the district court put it, the plaintiffs’ proposed
test—the efficiency gap—“measures the magnitude of a
plan’s deviation from the relationship we would expect to
observe between votes and seats.” J.S. App. 169a. But
there is no reason to expect proportional representation
in a system based on single-member districts. More im-
portantly, there is no constitutional basis to compel the
States to achieve proportional partisan representation in
their legislatures.

The premise underlying the majority’s decision—
“the normative judgment that a party’s seats won must
be proportional to the party’s statewide vote totals,” J.S.
App. 273a (Griesbach, J., dissenting)—stands at odds
with the nature of single-district, winner-take-all elec-
tions. This conflict was apparent, and clearly noted, in

12

Bandemer, where the plurality explained that dispropor-
tionality “is inherent in winner-take-all, district-based
elections.” 478 U.S. at 130 (plurality opinion); id at 159
(O’Connor, J., concurring) (explaining that when “voters
cast votes for candidates in their districts . . . efforts to
determine party voting strength presuppose a norm that
does not exist—statewide elections for representatives
along party lines”).

The district court failed to locate a right to propor-
tional representation in the Constitution. That failure is
significant given this Court’s prior decisions. See, e.g.,
Vieth, 541 U.S. at 308 (Kennedy, J., concurring) (finding
“no authority” for the notion “that a majority of voters in
the Commonwealth should be able to elect a majority of
the Commonwealth’s congressional delegation”); id. at
358 (Breyer, J., dissenting) (explaining that systems de-
signed to produce more proportional representation
simply “reflect different conclusions about the proper
balance of different elements of a workable democratic
government”); LULAC v. Perry, 548 U.S. 399, 419 (2006)
(opinion of Kennedy, J.) (“(T]here is no constitutional re-
quirement of proportional representation, and equating
a party’s statewide share of the vote with its portion of
the congressional delegation is a rough measure at
best.”). The dissent below noted correctly that “the effi-
ciency gap—or any measure that simply compares
statewide votes to seats—is little more than an enshrine-
ment of a phantom constitutional right.” J.S. App. 235a
(Griesbach, J., dissenting).

The majority’s opinion also downplays the impact of
geographic clustering, where Democratic-leaning voters
tend to concentrate in high-density urban areas. This

13

well-documented phenomenon exists across the country,
with predictable effects on district-level elections. See,
e.g., Vieth, 541 U.S. at 290 (plurality opinion) (recogniz-
ing that “political groups that tend to cluster (as is the
case with Democratic voters in cities) would be system-
atically affected by what might be called a ‘natural’ pack-
ing effect”); Paul A. Diller, Reorienting Home Rule:
Part 1—The Urban Disadvantage in National and State
Lawmaking, 77 La. L. Rev. 287, 336 (2016) (“The same
overlap of residential demography and political prefer-
ence that skews the U.S. House in favor of Republicans
operates, perforce, at the state level because a vast ma-
jority use contiguous, single-member, winner-take-all
districts to elect legislators.”). The majority acknowl-
edged, and the plaintiffs conceded, that “Wisconsin’s po-
litical geography affords Republicans a modest natural
advantage in districting.” J.S. App. 200a. Indeed, the
plaintiffs’ demonstration plan, which was drawn to mini-
mize the efficiency gap, still showed an efficiency gap of
2.2% to 3.89% in favor of Republicans under their meas-
ure. J.S. App. 202a, 208a n.355.‘

The majority discounted this factor on the ground
that geography alone “cannot explain the burden that
Act 43 imposes on Democratic voters in Wisconsin.” J.S.
App. 217-18a. But other factors, such as larger numbers
of uncontested elections and variations in turnout, may
correlate with and magnify the effects of geographic
clustering. See J.S. App. 243a, 309-1la (Griesbach, J.,

‘To reach the 2.2% efficiency gap, the plaintiffs’ expert as-
sumed that there were no incumbents. Accounting for incum-
bency, the figure rose to 3.89%. J.S. App. 203a n.355.

14

dissenting). Without controlling for those factors, the
district court had no basis to assume that the responsi-
bility for Act 43’s partisan impact lay exclusively, or even
primarily, with its drafters.

B. The district court’s analysis reflects an expan-
sion of vote-dilution claims from individuals’
ability to elect to group-based statewide political
influence.

The opinion below also raises a substantial question
about the nature and source of vote-dilution claims. The
district court majority appeared to leverage constitu-
tional claims based on the rights of individual voters to
participate in the political process—the traditional focus
of vote-dilution claims—into a constitutional standard
based on the right of a group to achieve a certain meas-
ure of political success. That marks a significant depar-
ture from this Court’s jurisprudence.

The district court claimed that “one-person, one-vote
and vote-dilution cases provide the foundation for evalu-
ating claims of political gerrymandering.” J.S. App. 78a.
And it recognized that “(t]he gravamen of an equal pro-
tection claim is that a state has burdened artificially a
voter’s ballot so that it has less weight than another per-
son’s vote.” J.S. App. 100a. The right to cast an undiluted
vote belongs to each voter as an individual. LULAC v.
Perry, 548 U.S. at 437 (“[T he right to an undiluted vote
does not belong to the ‘minority as a group,’ but rather
to ‘its individual members.” (quoting Shaw v. Hunt, 517
U.S. 899, 917 (1996))); Adarand Constructors, Inc. v.
Pena, 515 U.S. 200, 227 (1995) (citing “the basic principle

15

that the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Con-
stitution protect persons, not groups”). The district court
did not explain, however, why or how the individual
plaintiffs’ votes had been diluted or assigned unequal
weight. It did not identify the particular Assembly dis-
tricts in which they live, nor did it consider whether they
were able to elect their preferred candidates of choice.

The district court looked past the typical elements of
vote-dilution because it treated the plaintiffs’ claims as
group-based claims, not claims based on individual
rights. The concern here, it explained, “is the effect of a
statewide districting map on the ability of Democrats to
translate their votes into seats. The harm is the result of
the entire map, not simply the configuration of a partic-
ular district.” J.S. App. 224-25a.

The district court’s willingness to recognize a group-
based right to a specific degree of political power is novel.
The district court’s attempt to locate that right in the
one-person, one-vote doctrine highlights the fundamen-
tal problem with its analysis: the absence of an identifia-
ble constitutional baseline. The majority argued that its
analysis of partisan effect “finds a constitutional ana-
logue in the malapportionment context.” J.S. App. 168a
n.299 (citing Brown v. Thomson, 462 U.S. 835, 842-43
(1983)). But in malapportionment cases, deviation from
population equality makes out a prima facie case of invid-
ious discrimination because the Constitution has been in-
terpreted to require substantially equal population in or-
der to ensure that each individual’s vote is measured
with the same weight. Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533,
579 (1964) (“[T]he overriding objective must be substan-
tial equality of population among the various districts, so

16

that the vote of any citizen is approximately equal in
weight to that of any other citizen in the State.”). Equal
population is the constitutional baseline.° There is no
equivalent constitutional baseline for partisan fairness
or equal influence for political parties.

The district court attempted to sidestep this problem
by invoking “the ability of voters of a certain political
persuasion to form a legislative majority.” J.S. App.
106a. According to the majority below, when a group of
voters “has a diminished or even no opportunity to effect
a legislative majority,” each member of that group is “an
unequal participant in the decisions of the body politic.”
J.S. App. 107a.

But the notion that an individual voter suffers a con-
stitutional injury because a political party cannot form a
legislative majority is hardly self-evident. The district
court did not explain why injury to the party necessarily
inflicts an injury on the individual voter. It merely ar-
gued that the asserted injury was not a generalized
grievance because the harm was “shared by Democratic
voters in the State of Wisconsin.” J.S. App. 226a. But a
wrong shared by the public at large does not confer con-
crete, individualized injury, e.g., Lujan v. Defenders of

° The majority was wrong to assert that equal apportionment
is “an outcome that the Constitution does not require in the
state legislative context.” J.S. App. 168a n.299. The Constitu-
tion requires equal population, but States have some latitude
to deviate from strict mathematical equality. See Brown, 462
U.S. at 842 (“Our decisions have established, as a general] mat-
ter, that an apportionment plan with a maximum population
deviation under 10% falls within this category of minor devia-
tions.”).

17

Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 573-74 (1992), and it does not im-
ply that a wrong shared among any smaller subset of the
public at large does create an injury sufficient for Article
III standing. Cf J.S. App. 225a (interpreting Lujan to
hold that “an injury is not sufficiently particularized only
if it is a wrong shared by the ‘public at large’”). In any
event, if political affiliation is not an immutable charac-
teristic—and it is not; voters may split their tickets—
then “Democratic voters” could include any member of
the public at large.

Nor can the individual voter’s injury be defined as a
burden on political expression, at least not as that con-
cept has been articulated in this Court’s decisions. Un-
like the ballot-access restriction at issue in Anderson v.
Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780, 806 (1983), which prevented in-
dependent voters from expressing support for their pre-
ferred candidate, assignment of Democratic voters to a
Republican-leaning district does not prevent any voter
from expressing his or her support for a Democratic can-
didate or the views he espouses. The boundaries of a sin-
gle-member district do not create “restrictions on the el-
igibility of voters and candidates.” Jd. at 786 n.7.

* * *

The majority's reasoning goes well beyond this
Court’s vote-dilution jurisprudence, but its partisan-ger-
rymandering test will not remove partisanship from the
redistricting process. Nor will it reduce partisan influ-
ence to an acceptable level, as it cannot even identify an
acceptable level of partisanship. It is virtually certain,

18

however, that any judicially created standard for detect-
ing partisan gerrymandering will make naked partisan-
ship a prominent and powerful weapon in redistricting
litigation. Given the uncertain contours of the district
court’s test—not to mention the questionable status of
the “rights” it protects—this case suggests strongly that
any hypothetical test trying to identify impermissible
partisan redistricting will only create unwarranted inter-
ference with the States’ fundamental political responsi-
bilities.
CONCLUSION

The Court should note probable jurisdiction and re-

verse the decision of the district court.

Respectfully submitted.
KEN PAXTON ScoTT A. KELLER
Attorney General of Texas Solicitor General
JEFFREY C. MATEER Counest of esore
First Assistant MATTHEW H. FREDERICK
Attorney General Deputy Solicitor General
OFFICE OF THE
ATTORNEY GENERAL

P.O. Box 12548 (MC 059)
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
scott. keller@oag.texas.gov
(512) 936-1700

APRIL 2017

19

COUNSEL FOR ADDITIONAL AMICI

Mark Brnovich

Arizona Attorney General
1275 W. Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Leslie Rutledge

Arkansas Attorney General
323 Center St., Suite 200
Little Rock, AR 72201

Curtis T. Hill, Jr.

Indiana Attorney General
200 West Washington Street
Room 219

Indianapolis, IN 46204

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General
1885 N. Third Street

Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Derek Schmidt

Kansas Attorney General
120 SW 10th Ave., 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612

Bill Schuette

Michigan Attorney General
P.O. Box 30212

Lansing, MI 48909

Joshua D. Hawley
Missouri Attorney General
207 W. High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Adam Paul Laxalt
Nevada Attorney General
100 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General
313 NE 21st Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

Alan Wilson
South Carolina
Attorney General
1000 Assembly St., Rm. 519
Columbia, SC 29201

Sean D. Reyes

Utah Attorney General

350 North State St., Ste. 230
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0740%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
