# Opposition Brief — Nat'l Inst. of Family & Life Advocates v. Becerra, 138 S. Ct. 464 (2017) (No. 16-1140)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0737%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

FILED

MAY 24 2017

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Nos. 16-1140, 16-1146, 16-1153

Iu the
Supreme Court of the United States

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF FAMILY AND LIFE
ADVOCATES, FT AL.,

Petitioners,
Vv.
XAVIER BECERRA, ET AL.,
Respondents.

ON PETITIONS FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE STATE RESPONDENTS
IN OPPOSITION

XAVIER BECERRA

Attorney General of California
EDWARD C. DUMONT

Solicitor General
JOSHUA A. KLEIN*

Deputy Solicitor General
JONATHAN M. EISENBERG
ANTHONY R. HAKL
NOREEN P. SKELLY

Deputy Attorneys General
STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
455 Golden Gate Ave., Suite 11000
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 703-2543
joshua.klein@do}.ca.gov
*Counsel of Record

A WOMAN’S FRIEND PREGNANCY RESOURCE CLINIC,

ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.
XAVIER BECERRA,
Respondent.

LIVINGWELL MEDICAL CLINIC, INC., ET AL.
Petitioners,
v.
XAVIER BECERRA, ET AL.,
Respondents.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether three district courts abused their discre-
tion in deciding not to preliminarily enjoin, before
discovery in each case and before any record of en-
forcement, the implementation of a California statute
that (1) requires licensed medical clinics to notify pa-
tients that information about state-funded prenatal
care, family planning, and abortion services may be
accessed by calling a county health department
phone number and (2) requires facilities providing
services such as pregnancy testing and ultrasound
imaging to inform clients if the facility does not em-
ploy a licensed medical professional.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
I eaea culate amemniiis i
III Das iciehpsesiad< svpiensaittiaeinaibas aden ermamncenanehcaiondiil 1
I ie hice nsnseisiiaeibiditn bshaeabaceenmabnmipieieuboulouiammanh 14
32

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Barker v. Capotosto
875 N.W. 2d 157 Towa 2016)...............cccccccsees-see- 20

Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v.
Pub. Serv. Comm’n of N_Y.
PL | 8. LTT 20, 21

Central Radio Co. v. City of Norfolk
ee re Ee BE iitectecine neccrcescecsstescorenss 21

Centro Tepeyac v. Montgomery County
5 F. Supp. 3d 745 (D. Md. 2014)........... iscaeeianaiasaiel 26

Centro Tepeyac v. Montgomery County
722 F.3d 184 (4th Cir. 2013)
tS SEE S IIASA Ee ee 13, 26

Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc.
v. City of Hialeah
Be Sls ee ED ecnscicsictciccsvesccacesess 14, 28, 29, 30

Committee to Defend Reproductive
Rights v. Myers
EES eee ee ei 2

Employment Div., Dep't of Human Res.
of Ore. v. Smith
SES re me ao Lae 28, 29

Evergreen Ass'n, Inc. v. City of New York
740 F.3d 233 (2d Cir. 2014).......... 13, 22, 24, 25, 26

lV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page

Expressions Hair Design v.

Schneiderman

Se ceiastilneeneiiabanis 20
Free Speech Coalition, Inc. v. Attorney

General

— fe BP TL eee ererere 21
Gonzales v. Carhart

I I a as ccrisiinoeparinrabinainiebelaihindions 1
In re Button

I i ea alee ranstnenslansn 18, 19
In re Primus

I I I on tii chenecemenneniannaa 18, 19
Kiser v. Kamdar

831 F.3a 764 (Gth Cir. 2016) ...........cecsescccscceseccoees 20
Lowe v. SEC

a coleslcienshhacastubaaiaiein 16
Moore-King v. County of Chesterfield

TOB F.Be CEO CEE CEP. BOUG) .cccccccccescctec0ssecceccese 20
Norton v. City of Springfield

BOD FS GLE CIE CAP. BORG) ce sccccssscecscccscovcsecs sce: 21

Pickup v. Brown
TAO F.3d 1208 (9th Cir. 2014) ......ccccccceseeceseseseeeess 12

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)
Page

Planned Parenthood Minn. v. Rounds

I ee FIG ee Gs BI oie scnessnsssresoscccsessscase 23
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern

Pennsylvania v. Casey

Sy I visi ioicirsccntcasavichmersasvetossases passim
Polk County v. Dodson

i sc ncesic at ehesantibebinenbeniis 20
Pursuing America’s Greatness v. FEC

831 F.3d GOO G).C. Cir. BO1G6) ......0ccccceccccresceseesers. 21
Reed v. Town of Gilbert

Ne Mt SE IIE icicicncnscnscesctscusssnsoses 11, 20, 21
Riley v. National Federation of the Blind

of North Carolina

a I I vc viintiicapoescnestsvespnashebstebietaieos 25
Scharpen Foundation, Inc. v. Becerra

No. RIC1514022 (Riverside Cty.

Super. Ct., filed Nov. 25, 20156)................ccceseenee 31
Stuart v. Camnitz

774 F.3d 238 (4th Cir. 2014)..................-. 18, 22, 23

Tex. Med. Providers Performing
Abortion Servs. v. Lakey
667 F.3d 570 (6th Cir. 2012) .............0....0..0scseceseee 23

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page
United Transp. Union v. State Bar of
Michigan
il CEE WOE CIEE oa cies ccnccciguneelcuindaae 19
Wagner v. Garfield Heights
9017 WL 129034 (6th Cir. 2017).......ccccccccesereees 21
Wollschlaeger v. Governor of Florida
848 F.3d 1293 (11th Cir. 2017)
Cte DRED icccncesisicnssttnvincincinivametsignesuasieimeainiaaaliin 18
Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary
Counsel of Supreme Ct. of Ohio
STE Bes Ge er tack nts tessecksccsscsissciessinsarnnts 21
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
4B TEBG, BD ccstnsciscconntgesteanrcmnmeminanain 31
Reproductive FACT Act, 2015 Cal.
IE GA Fie ccc ris incnssssixesinccseeasccmeserssoninanin passim
California Business & Professions Code
i Ti ivaccoccecvensssnocrasserscsssliesbnissonhighesiainaiientmeamaaiatel 1
Biss vncncsotessa cs anensssvibaxsipnwiesedanmeisimstateapeaaaaniens 1
shanastioubiaee 1

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page
California Health & Safety Code
ss censnnvennensessorans 1
I cssseseniebiemnsne 2, 3,16
Le sctsnsenmenseinenesnens 17
a ssotanivunsbesonosbons 3
EEE SSS a 1
Eo 2, 3, 5, 29, 30, 31
TEE AO eee 4,6
eT ceaunesciebntnnnnnennnen 4
California Code of Regulations, Title 16
ce RE 17
iain scan cemananentointnnnstoneesouee 17
California Code of Regulations, Title 22
I notte ect cateanenanadsensesonssscnncssosiees 3, 16
8S ERE EER ee 3
CONS1i{TUTIONAL PROVISIONS
United States Constitution
CCT passim
California Constitution
a a isesmebeneenennonent 31

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Cari Romm, FDA Warning: Stay Away
From “Keepsake” Ultrasounds, The
EE 29

eer

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(continued)
Page
Centers for Disease Control, NCHS
Data Brief No. 38 (May 2010).................0c.c0. 000000 19
http://mcap.dhcs.ca.gov/My_MCAP/Impo
rtant_ Information_Applicants.asp ....................... 2
http://www .familypact.org/Get%20Cover
ed/what-does-family-pact-cover ..0......0.-..-cccccccces--s. 2

Rep. of Cal. Assem. Health Comm. on
ee I eS 5

STATEMENT

States play a “significant role ... in regulating the
medical profession.” Gonzales v. Carhart, 550 U.S.
124, 157 (2007). Like other States, California main-
tains a comprehensive system for licensing and regu-
lating healthcare institutions and professionals. See,
e.g., Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 2000 et seq. (physi-
cians); id. §§ 2700 et seq. (nurses); id. §§ 4000 et seq.
(pharmacists); Cal. Health & Safety Code §§ 1200 et
seq. (clinics). This case concerns disclosures that are
mandated as part of that system by California’s Re-
productive FACT (Freedom, Accountability, Compre-
hensive Care, and Transparency) Act, 2015 Cal.
Stats. ch. 700, codified at Cal. Health & Safety Code
§§ 123470 et seq.

1. Some 700,000 California women become preg-
nant each year, and over half of those pregnancies
are unintended. NIFLA Pet. App. 76a-77a.! The Act
addresses two problems that pregnant Californians
can face.

a. First, many women cannot afford medical care
on their own, and are unaware of the public pro-
grams that are available to them. NIFLA Pet. App.
76a-77a. Medi-Cal and the Medi-Cal Access Program
provide low-cost prenatal care, delivery care, and

1 This brief is a combined response to three petitions.
Citations to a particular petition or lower court document in-
clude the petitioner’s name, abbreviating National Institute for
Family and Life Advocates as NIFLA and A Woman’s Friend as
AWF. Unless otherwise indicated, statutory references are to
the California Health & Safety Code.

2

newborn pediatric care.2, The Medi-Cal Family Plan-
ning, Access, Care, and Treatment (Family PACT)
Program provides family planning services, including
contraception, preconception counseling, limited in-
fertility services, sexually transmitted infection test-
ing and treatment, and cancer screening.* And Medi-
Cal covers abortion services.‘ “[C]are early in preg-
nancy is important,” and “pregnancy decisions are
time sensitive.” NIFLA Pet. App. 77a. The state
Legislature concluded that “[t]he most effective way
to ensure that women quickly obtain the information
and services they need” is to require licensed health
care facilities that are unable to immediately enroll
patients into state-funded programs to advise each
patient at the time of her visit that the programs ex-
ist and give information on how they may be ac-
cessed. /d.

As a result, the Act imposes a notice requirement
on “licensed covered facilitiies].” A “licensed covered
facility” is a clinic licensed under California Health &
Safety Code Section 1204 (covering “primary care”
clinics, “community” clinics, “free” clinics, and “spe-
cialty” clinics such as “surgical” clinics and “alterna-
tive birth center[s]”), whose “primary purpose is
providing family planning or pregnancy-related ser-
vices” and that satisfies two of six enumerated crite-
ria. § 123471(a). The enumerated criteria are that

2 See http://mcap.dhcs.ca.gov/My_MCAP/Important_
Information_Applicants.aspx.

8 See http://www.familypact.org/Get%20Covered/what-
does-family-pact-cover.

4 See Committee to Defend Reproductive Rights v. Myers,
29 Cal. 3d 252 (1981).

3

the facility (1) “offers obstetric ultrasounds, obstetric
sonograms, or prenatal care,” (2) “provides, or offers
counseling about, contraception or contraceptive
methods,” (3) “offers pregnancy testing or pregnancy
diagnosis,” (4) “advertises or solicits patrons with of-
fers to provide prenatal sonography, pregnancy tests,
or pregnancy options counseling,” (5) “offers abortion
services,” and (6) “has staff or volunteers who collect
health information from clients.” § 123471(a).5

The definition’s cross-reference to section 1204
means that licensed covered facilities provide
“(djiagnostic, therapeutic, radiological, laboratory [or]
other services for the care and treatment of patients
for whom the clinic accepts responsibility,” Cal. Code.
Regs. tit. 22, § 75026, and that they must have “a li-
censed physician designated as the professional di-
rector” and have a physician, physician’s assistant, or
registered nurse present whenever medical services
are provided, id. § 75027. The Act excludes from cov-
erage clinics that are operated by the federal gov-
ernment. § 123471(c)(1). The Act also excludes
Medi-Cal Family PACT providers, § 123471(c)(2),
which are capable of enrolling pregnant women in
state-sponsored programs on the spot, NIFLA Pet.
App. 77a.

The Act requires licensed covered facilities to
provide clients with a notice stating that:

5 An off-site, limited-hour “intermittent” clinic affiliated
with a licensed primary care clinic is also a licensed covered fa-
cility if it has the primary purpose of providing family planning
or pregnancy-related services and meets two of these criteria.
§§ 123471(a), 1206(h).

4

California has public programs that
provide immediate free or low-cost ac-
cess to comprehensive family planning
services (including all FDA-approved
methods of contraception), prenatal
care, and abortion for eligible women.
To determine whether you qualify, con-
tact the county social services office at
[insert the telephone number].

§ 123472(a)(1).

Clinics may choose how to provide this infor-
mation: by handing patients a printed notice in 14-
point or larger type, providing a digital notice at the
time of check-in or arrival, or posting a notice in the
waiting room. § 123472(a)(2). Clinics may issue the
notice separately, or combined with other disclosures.
§ 123472(a)(3). However provided, the notice must
be in English and in the county’s primary threshold
languages for Medi-Cal beneficiaries. § 123472(a).
For clinics that choose to comply with the require-
ment by posting the notice in the waiting room, the
posting must be at least 8.5 inches by 11 inches and
written in 22-point or )arger font. § 123472(a)(2)(A).

Violations are punishable by a civil fine of $500
for a first offense or $1,000 for subsequent offenses.
§ 123473(a). No enforcement proceeding may occur
unless the government attorney has previously noti-
fied the facility of noncompliance and given it 30 days
to correct the violation. Id.

b. The second problem the law responds to is
confusion among certain women as to whether the
care and advice they receive comes from medical pro-
fessionals. Licensed medical professionals and insti-

5

tutions are required, by professional standards and
governmental regulation, to give medically accurate
information. Laypeople and unlicensed organiza-
tions, however, are not under similar mandates. The
Legislature reviewed evidence about so-called “crisis
pregnancy centers,” finding that they frequently pro-
vide women with medically inaccurate information.®
At the same time, some facilities offer services such
as pregnancy testing and ultrasound examinations,
which can lead women to believe they are receiving
treatment in a medical setting. These circumstances
caused the Legislature to conclude that it is “vital”
for pregnant women to know if they are receiving
pregnancy-related services from a facility or individ-
ual that is not licensed to provide actual medical
care. NIFLA Pet. App. 77a.

The Act therefore imposes a separate notice re-
quirement on “unlicensed covered facilit[ies].” Such a
facility is one whose “primary purpose” is “providing
pregnancy-related services,” but which is not licensed
by the State and where no licensed medical provider
provides or supervises the clinic’s services.
§ 123471(b). To be treated as an unlicensed covered
facility, the facility must aiso satisfy two or more
from a list of four criteria: (1) offering obstetric ultra-
sounds or sonograms, or prenatal care to pregnant
women; (2) offering pregnancy testing or diagnosis;
(3) advertising or soliciting patrons with offers to
provide prenatal sonography, pregnancy tests, or
“pregnancy options counseling”; or (4) collecting
health information from clients. Jd.

6 See Rep. of Cal. Assem. Health Comm. on A.B. 775,
Apr. 14, 2015, at 3-4.

6

Such a facility must provide to clients, on site
and in any print and digital advertising materials, a
notice stating that:

This facility is not licensed as a medical
facility by the State of California and
has no licensed medical provider who
provides or directly supervises the pro-
vision of services.

§ 123472(b). The notice must be provided in English
and in the county’s primary threshold languages for
Medi-Cal beneficiaries. Jd. The on-site notice must
be on a sign measuring at least 8.5 by 11 inches and
written in 48-point or larger type, and the advertis-
ing-material notice must be “clear and conspicuous,”
§ 123472(b)(2), (3). Violations are governed by the
same penalty provisions that apply to licensed cov-
ered facilities. See p. 4, supra.

2. Before the Act’s January 2016 effective date,
the three sets of petitioners in these cases brought
separate actions, seeking to declare the Act unlawful
under the First Amendment and to enjoin its en-
forcement. In each case, the petitioners requested a
pre-enforcement, pre-discovery preliminary injunc-
tion barring enforcement of the Act against them.

a. The NIFLA plaintiffs filed suit in the U.S.
District Court for the Southern District of California
against California’s Governor and Attorney General,
the County Counsel for San Diego County, and the
City Attorney of E] Cajon. NIFLA Pet. App. 84a-85a.
The complaint states that one plaintiff is licensed by
the State as a community clinic and clinical laborato-
ry and employs licensed physicians and nurses. Id.
at 9la-92a. It provides “[m]edical” and “clinical” ser-

7

vices such as ultrasound examinations, health pro-
vider consultation, information on natural family
planning, and prenatal vitamins, as well as non-
medical services such as peer counseling, maternity
clothes, and support groups. Jd. Another plaintiff is
an unlicensed covered facility, which provides preg-
nancy test kits, educational programs, and maternity
clothes, and which contracts with a licensed provider
to provide ultrasound services at a separate facility.
Id. at 92a. The final plaintiff is a non-profit organi-
zation comprised of both medical and non-medical
centers that provide “pro-life information services” to
women with unplanned pregnancies. Jd. at 93a.
NIFLA’s motion for a preliminary injunction relied
on the plaintiffs’ complaint alone without any sup-
porting declarations. Jd. at 47a n.2. The motion re-
lied exclusively on Free Speech and Free Exercise
arguments, not on additional statutory and state
constitutional claims also included in the complaint.
NIFLA D. Ct. Doc. 3, at 2 n.1 (Motion); NIFLA Pet.
App. 116a-117a.

The district court concluded that the NIFLA
plaintiffs were not likely to succeed on the merits of
their federal constitutional claims. NIFLA Pet. App.
56a-69a. With respect to the licensed facility provi-
sions, the court noted that, while “the Act requires
medical providers to advise their patients of various
types of treatment available so patients are fully in-
formed,” it was “neutral as to any particular view or
opinion,” did not make any recommendation, and did
not preclude plaintiffs from openly expressing disa-
greement. Id. at 61a, 64a-65a. Given that the defini-
tion of “licensed covered facilities” encompassed only
state licensed medical institutions providing specific
medical services, id. at 61a-62a, the court concluded

8

that the licensed facility requirements were no
broader than necessary and survived intermediate
scrutiny, id. at 64a-65a. The court further concluded
that the Act’s unlicensed facility requirements could
withstand “any level of scrutiny,” because disclosure
of a facility’s unlicensed status was narrowly tailored
to achieve the compelling interest of ensuring that
women know whether or not they are receiving care
from a licensed professional. Jd. at 65a-67a. With
respect to the Free Exercise claim, the court found
“no evidence to suggest the Act burdens only conduct
motivated by religious belief.” Jd. at 68a. Rather,
the Act was “neutral,” “generally applicable,” and
constitutional. Jd. Finally, the court found that the
balance of hardships and public policy interests fa-
vored not granting an injunction. /d. at 69a-71a.

b. The AWF plaintiffs sued the California Attor-
ney General in the U.S. District Court for the East-
ern District of California. AWF C.A. E.R. 333
(Amended Complaint). The plaintiffs are three li-
censed covered facilities that are licensed as commu-
nity clinics. Jd. at 335-336. They provide “medical
consultations” and services, including pregnancy
testing, ultrasound examinations, referrals to other
medical providers, and information on prenatal care
and fetal development. Jd. Patients typically mect
with a registered nurse for administration of a preg-
nancy test, estimation of a due date and conception
date, collection of medical history and vital signs,
medical evaluation, advice on collecting health insur-
ance benefits, instruction on prenatal care and devel-
opment, and an ultrasound examination. AWF Pet.
App. 19-20. AWF’s motion for a preliminary injunc-
tion was based on declarations in addition to the
complaint. AWF C.A. E.R. 270-305 (Declarations).

9

The district court concluded that the AWF plain-
tiffs were unlikely to succeed on the merits of their
claims. AWF Pet. App. 44-89. The court reasoned
that the Act’s licensed clinic provision “regulates
speech within the confines of a professional relation-
ship,” id. at 64, providing “information relevant to
patients’ medical decisions,” id. at 61. Although
some cases had interpreted Planned Parenthood of
Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833
(1992), as requiring only rational basis review for
government-mandated speech directed to women
considering whether to terminate a pregnancy, the
court applied the more demanding standard of in-
termediate scrutiny under the professional-speech
doctrine. Id. at 65-68. The licensed facility require-
ment passed that test, given the limited nature of the
required notice and given the State’s interests in
regulating the medical profession, assuring safe
healthcare, and ensuring that pregnant women are
informed of their healthcare options. Jd. at 70-71; id.
at 72 (“The notice provides the information in neutral
language and does not incorporate ideological com-
mentary or convey an opinion. Although it includes
the word ‘abortion,’ the word appears in the context
of a list describing the full spectrum of reproductive
health care services available in California.”). In-
deed, given the evidence “at this stage” of the case,
the court deemed it likely that the statute would pass
even strict scrutiny. Jd. at 73-78. The court also con-
sidered the balance of hardships and the public in-
terest, concluding that neither factor would change
the outcome even counting the ultimate merits ques-
tion as close. Jd. at 89-97. With respect to the Free
Exercise claim, the court upheld the Act as “a neutral
law of general applicability” which “‘regulate[s] all

10

pregnancy centers,” not just those opposed to abor-
tion, in a “‘uniform manner.” Jd. at 79, 86.

c. The Livingwell case was filed in the U.S. Dis-
trict Court for the Northern District of California
against the California Attorney General, the Director
of the California Department of Public Health, three
county counsels, and three city attorneys. Livingwell
C.A. E.R. 78 (First Amended Complaint). The plain-
tiffs are three clinics licensed as primary care, free,
or community clinics. Id. at 79-80. They based their
motion for a preliminary injunction on their com-
plaint and on brief declarations, which together pro-
vide limited detail about the clinics’ activities—such
as that they are morally opposed to abortion, that
they do not charge patients for their services, and
that they provide both medical services (such as
pregnancy testing and verification, obstetrical ultra-
sounds, and sexually transmitted infection testing
and treatment) and non-medical services (such as
post-abortion healing retreats and material support
through a thrift store). Jd. at 71, 74, 77 (Declara-

tions).

Noting the “limited record” before it, Livingwell
Pet. App. 31, 32, the district court concluded that the
plaintiffs were unlikely to succeed on the merits of
their claims, id. at 25-37. In the court’s view, “fur-
ther discovery [would be] needed” for the court to
evaluate whether the speech at issue was commercial
speech. Jd. at 31-32. As a regulation of professional
speech, however, the law was permissible, because
the plaintiffs had “accept[ed] the responsibility of
providing medically-supervised treatment for pa-
tients,” and the statute required them to provide “on-
ly factual and incontrovertibly true information

11

about the range of pregnancy-related public health
services available.” Jd. at 37. The court also held
that the plaintiffs had not demonstrated irreparable
injury and that the balance of equities did not weigh
in their favor. Id. at 38.

2. Two motions panels of the court of appeals de-
nied motions by the Livingwell and AWF plaintiffs
seeking injunctions pending appeal, concluding that
the plaintiffs were “not likely to succeed on their
claim that the district court abused its discretion in
holding that they do not meet the preliminary injunc-
tion standard.” Livingwell Pet. App. 5-6; see also
AWF C.A. Doc. 11.7

A merits panel then affirmed the district courts’
denials of injunctive relief, issuing a published opin-
ion in NIFLA and unpublished summary opinions in
Livingwell and AWF. NIFLA Pet. App. 1a-43a; AWF
Pet. App. 1-3; Livingwell Pet. App. 1-4.

In its lead opinion, the court reasoned that the
Act did not discriminate based on viewpoint. NIFLA
Pet. App. 20a. Indeed, “[o]ther than ... two narrow
exceptions unrelated to viewpoint, the Act applies
equally to clinics that offer abortion and contracep-
tion as it does to clinics that oppose those same ser-
vices.” Id. at 21a. Although the Act mandated the
provision of notices with particular content, that did
not require strict scrutiny under Reed v. Town of Gil-
bert, 135 S. Ct. 2218 (2015). NIFLA Pet. App. 23a.
With respect to professional speech, this Court had
upheld certain state compelled notices by physicians

7The NIFLA plaintiffs did not move for an injunction
pending appeal.

12

in Casey. Id. at 23a-24a. Although some courts, rely-
ing on Casey, had imposed a mere “‘reasonableness’
test when determining whether an abortion-related
disclosure law violated physicians’ First Amendment
rights,” id. at 25a (citing Fifth and Eighth Circuit de-
cisions), the court of appeals concluded that it was
appropriate to apply here the same test that it would
apply to other regulations of professional speech. Id.
at 26a-27a; see id. at 28a-33a (applying professional
speech test from Pickup v. Brown, 740 F.3d 1208 (9th
Cir.), cert. denied, 134 S. Ct. 2871, and 134 S. Ct.
2881 (2014)). Application of that test was appropri-
ate because “clients go to the clinic precisely because
of the professional services it offers” and “reasonably
rely upon the clinic for its knowledge and skill,” and
because the notice applicable to licensed clinics con-
tained information relating to the clinics’ professional
services and was “part of the clinics’ professional
practice.” Id. at 30a-31a.

As a regulation of professionals, the licensed clin-
ic notice requirement was not subject to rational ba-
sis review, because it did not regulate “therapy,
treatment,” or other conduct. Pet. App. 31a. Nor did
strict scrutiny apply, because the notice governed on-
ly professional relationships with patients—the clin-
ics were not “engaging in a public dialog when
treating their clients.” Id. As a result, the court ap-
plied intermediate scrutiny. Jd. at 3la-32a. The
statute served the State’s substantial interests in
promoting health and regulating the practice of the
profession. Id. at 34a. And the notice was “narrowly
drawn,” in that it did not “contain any more speech
than necessary” to alert women to the existence of
state-funded services, and did not “encourage, sug-
gest, or imply that women should use those ... ser-

13

vices.” Jd. This last point distinguished California’s
law from laws struck down in Evergreen Ass’n, Inc. v.
City of New York, 740 F.3d 233 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
135 S. Ct. 435 (2014), and Centro Tepeyac v. Mont-
gomery County, 722 F.3d 184 (4th Cir. 2013) (en
banc), each of which had concerned notices that went
beyond merely supplying information in a neutral
manner. See NIFLA Pet. App. 36a (“unlike ... the
regulations before the Second and Fourth Circuits,
the [California notice] does not use the word ‘encour-
age,’ or other language that suggests the California
Legislature’s preferences regarding prenatal care”).

The court also found no abuse of discretion in the
NIFLA district court’s decision to deny an injunction
as to enforcement of the notice requirement that ap-
plied to unlicensed facilities. NIFLA Pet. App. 36a-
39a. The court found no need to decide whether the
medical nature of some of the unlicensed facilities’
services (such as pregnancy tests) could make them
subject to lesser scrutiny under the professional
speech doctrine. /d. at 37a. Even if strict scrutiny
applied, “California has a compelling interest in in-
forming pregnant women when they are using the
medical services of a facility that has not satisfied li-
censing standards set by the state.” Jd. That inter-
est was “particularly compelling” given the
Legislature’s findings about the existence of clinics
“which often present misleading information to wom-
en about reproductive medical services.” Jd. And the
Act’s one-sentence notice was “narrowly tailored” to
achieve its goal—a conclusion consistent with deci-
sions by the Second and Fourth Circuits. Jd. at 37a-
38a (citing Evergreen, 740 F.3d at 246-247, and Cen-
tro Tepeyac, 722 F.3d at 190).

14

Finally, the court found no merit in the plaintiffs’
Free Exercise claim. NIFLA Pet. App. 40a-42a. Un-
like the ordinance struck down in Church of the
Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City of Hialeah, 508 U.S.
520 (1993), the Act did not single out clinics that
were motivated by religious belief. NIFLA Pet. App.
40a. Instead, it “applies to all covered facilities, and
is indifferent to the basis for any objection.” Jd. The
two exemptions merely recognized the State’s inabil-
ity to regulate federal clinics, and the lack of any
need to compel notice about public funding options at
clinics that were already able and motivated to enroll
patients in those options themselves. Id. at 41a.

The plaintiffs’ petitions for rehearing en banc
were denied without dissent. NIFLA Pet. App. 72a-
73a; AWF Pet. App. 98; Livingwell Pet. App. 41-42.

ARGUMENT

The court of appeals’ decisions upholding the dis-
trict courts’ denials of petitioners’ requests for pre-
liminary relief conflict neither with this Court’s
precedents nor with the decisions of other lower
courts. The notice that licensed facilities must give
under the FACT Act falls well within the First
Amendment's tolerance for the regulation of the
practice-related speech of licensed professionals. The
notice that unlicensed facilities must give is a per-
missible means to ensure that women are not misled
about whether they are under the care of medical
professionals, as courts reviewing similar laws have
concluded. And the Act poses no substantial Free
Exercise question. There is no reason for review by
this Court, particularly at the prelimwiary stage of
this ongoing litigation.

15

1. All petitioners argue that the FACT Act’s pro-
visions requiring disclosures by licensed facilities vio-
late the Free Speech Clause of the First Amendment.
NIFLA Pet. 17-30; AWF Pet. 15-31; Livingwell Pet.
14-38. The court of appeals’ decision that the peti-
tioners were unlikely to succeed on that claim is con-
sistent with this Court’s precedents, and creates no
conflict with decisions of other lower courts. NIFLA
Pet. App. 18a-36a.

a. This Court has recognized that, for First
Amendment purposes, requirements imposed on a
licensed professional’s speech in the course of profes-
sional practice present substantially different ques-
tions than similar requirements imposed on a non-
professional. In Planned Parenthood of Southeast-
ern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992) (plu-
rality opinion), for example, the Court considered a
Pennsylvania statute that, among other things, re-
quired a physician or qualified non-physician to in-
form women seeking abortions about the availability
of state-prescribed printed materials that described
the fetus and gave information about paternal child-
support, adoption, and other alternatives to abortion.
Id. at 881. Casey rejected a First Amendment chal-
lenge to this requirement, because “the physician’s
First Amendment rights not to speak are implicated,
but only as part of the practice of medicine, subject to

8 AWF proposes (Pet. 30) that certiorari should be
granted to determine whether a special category of professional
speech exists at all. But AWF did not contest the existence of a
special category of professional speech regulation in the lower
courts. It argued only that the Act fell outside the professional
speech doctrine’s boundaries and that compelled speech always
receives strict scrutiny. AWF C.A. Br. 18-26; AWF C.A. Reply
Br. 3-6.

16

reasonable licensing and regulation by the State.”
Id. at 884 (citations omitted). See also Lowe v. SEC,
472 U.S. 181, 207-208 (1985); id. at 227-233 (White,

J., concurring).

Petitioners suggest that Casey's reasoning does
not extend to the FACT Act, because California al-
lows the delivery of the notice during check-in proce-
dures or by a posted sign in the waiting room, rather
than requiring disclosures of information in one-on-
one conversations with physicians. NIFLA Pet. 27-
28. But the notice requirement applies only to clinics
licensed under section 1204. Such clinics provide
“Idjiagnostic, therapeutic, radiological, laboratory
and other services for the care and treatment of pa-
tients for whom the clinic accepts responsibility,” Cal.
Code. Regs. tit. 22, § 75026, thus “tak[ing] the affairs
of [the patient] personally in hand and purport[ing]
to exercise judgment on [the patient’s behalf] in the
light of [her] individual needs and circumstances,”
Lowe, 472 U.S. at 232 (White, J., concurring).9 Nor
can Casey support a rule limiting professional! disclo-
sures to speech by particular professionals rather
than by the licensed institution at which the profes-
sionals work. The statute upheld in Casey required
that certain disclosures be made by the physician or
a qualified nonphysician. 505 U.S. at 881. Indeed,
by allowing the clinic to choose whether to make its
disclosure by a printed notice (delivered by the physi-
cian or otherwise), a digital notice, or a sign on clinic

® Although NIFLA argues (Pet. 28) that the licensed
clinics also engage in activities such as offering clothing and
diapers, the record at this stage does not show that such ser-
vices predominate over the provision of personalized medical
services.

17

walls, California’s Act imposes a lesser burden on
both the speaker and the listener than would be im-
posed if the disclosure had to be made in a one-on-
one conversation with a particular person.

Casey likewise cannot be read as limiting the
regulation of medical professionals’ speech to pre-
surgery informed consent. NIFLA Pet. 27. Many of
the disclosures at issue in Casey went far beyond in-
forming a woman as to the nature and health conse-
quences of a surgical procedure. See, e.g., 505 U.S. at
883 (upholding required dissemination of information
regarding “the assistance available should [the wom-
an] decide to carry the pregnancy to full term”). Like
the law at issue in Casey, the FACT Act recognizes
that licensed medical institutions and professionals
have specialized knowledge not only about the tech-
nical aspects of medicine, but also about related
financial and regulatory questions.!° Indeed, peti-
tioners encourage their patients to depend on such
expertise. See AWF Pet. App. 20 (AWF’s nurses ad-
vise on collecting health insurance benefits). Cali-
fornia’s law seeks to ensure that pregnant women
have access to information that is relevant to the va-
riety of health decisions they face, much as the Casey
disclosures aimed to “ensure that a woman appre-
hend the full consequences of her decision” so that

10 See also, e.g., Cal. Health & Safety Code § 1204.3(a)(5)
(alternative birthing centers must provide to patients a sum-
mary of state child-car-seat laws and list of public car-seat pro-
grams); Cal. Code Regs., tit. 16, § 1355.4 (physicians’ offices
must provide notice, by posted sign or otherwise, stating that
physicians are “licensed and regulated by the Medical Board of
California” and giving the Medical Board’s phone number); Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 16, § 1707.6 (pharmacies must post notice that
interpreter services and large-font drug labels are available).

18

she does not “discover later, with devastating psycho-
logical consequences, that her decision was not fully
informed.” 505 U.S. at 882.11

b. NIFLA contends (Pet. 21-23) that certiorari
should be granted to determine whether, under Jn re
Primus, 436 U.S. 412 (1978), strict scrutiny applies
whenever the State regulates the speech of profes-
sionals who do not charge for their services. In Pri-
mus, an attorney was disciplined for informing a
forced-sterilization victim that the ACLU might rep-
resent her for free. Jd. at 416-421. This Court con-
cluded that the case was controlled by Jn re Button,
371 U.S. 415 (1963), which had forbidden Virginia
from punishing the NAACP for soliciting potential
plaintiffs to file suit with the NAACP as counse’!.
Primus, 436 U.S. at 422-426. In each case, the “solic-
itation of prospective litigants ... for the purpose of
furthering [the organization’s and its members’] ob-
jectives” fell squarely “within the right to engage in
association for the advancement of beliefs and ideas.”

1! NIFLA argues (Pet. 30) that the Ninth Circuit’s appli-
cation of the professional speech doctrine based on Casey con-
flicts with the Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Wollschlaeger v.
Governor of Florida, 848 F.3d 1293 (11th Cir. 2017) (en banc).
As NIFLA notes, Wollschlaeger observed that Casey did not
“‘hold sweepingly that all regulation of speech in the medical
context merely receives rational basis review.” Jd. at 1311
(quoting Stuart v. Camnitz, 774 F.3d 238, 249 (4th Cir. 2014)).
But the Ninth Circuit did not apply rational basis review. In-
stead, although mentioning that some courts have applied such
review with respect to regulations of medical professionals’
speech, the Ninth Circuit rejected that standard in favor of in-
termediate scrutiny. NIFLA Pet. App. 25a-28a. That is con-
sistent with Wollschlaeger. See Wollschlaeger, 848 F.3d at 1311
(rejecting rational basis review in favor of “heightened scruti-

ny”).

19

Id. at 423-424 (footnote and internal quotation marks
omitted). Any prohibition on that solicitation was
subject to “‘exacting scrutiny,” requiring a “‘compel-
ling” interest and a restriction “‘closely drawn to
avoid unnecessary abridgment of associational free-
doms.” Id. at 432.

Under Primus and Button, interference with a
nonprofit’s associational right to attract members
and allies for collective action through litigation re-
ceives strict scrutiny. See United Transp. Union v.
State Bar of Michigan, 401 U.S. 576, 585 (1971) (But-
ton concerned the “right to group legal action”).12 But
those cases do not hold that a State’s ability to regu-
late professional conduct depends on whether the
professional charges for his or her services. Neither
Primus nor Button suggest that a pro bono attorney's
advice to clients on the conduct of their litigation
would be subject to anything other than the ordinary
rules regulating the profession. And exempting med-
ical professionals from ordinary regulations in their
advice to non-paying patients would create a vast
population vulnerable to abuse and neglect.14

12 For nonprofit litigating organizations, the client is not
only a recipient of legal services but also a necessary participant
in the lawsuit that propounds the organization’s advocacy mes-
sage to the public and to courts. A medical clinic’s patient, in
contrast, receives confidential medical services. California does
not restrict petitioners’ efforts to recruit staff or volunteers—the
activity most analogous to the practices at issue in Button and

Primus.

13 See Centers for Disease Control, NCHS Data Brief No.
38 (May 2010) (roughly 20% of emergency room patients under
age 65 are uninsured), available at http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/

data/databriefs/db38. pdf.

20

NIFLA claims (Pet. 22-23) that the Ninth Cir-
cuit’s rejection of its argument conflicts with Moore-
King v. County of Chesterfield, 708 F.3d 560 (4th Cir.
2013). But Moore-King addressed the regulation of
“fortune-teller[s], palmist[s], astrologist[s],’” “‘clair-
voyant{s],” “‘prophet[s]’” and other practitioners of
the “‘occult sciences.” Jd. at 563. Its recognition
that States have greater latitude to regulate such a
person’s advice to “‘a paying client’” (NIFLA Pet. 23)
does not imply converse restrictions on the States’
ability to regulate the pro bono services of profes-
sionals such as doctors and lawyers. Cf. Polk County
v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312, 323 (1981) (legal ethics rules
constrain public defenders’ advocacy); Barker v. Ca-
potosto, 875 N.W. 2d 157, 167 (lowa 2016) (attorneys
who serve indigent clients are subject to ordinary
malpractice law).

c. Livingwell (Pet. 35) and NIFLA (Pet. 18) argue
that, regardless of any professional context, com-
pelled speech should receive strict scrutiny as con-
tent-based regulation under Reed v. Town of Gilbert,
135 S. Ct. 2218 (2015). But Reed did not extinguish
the categorically lower levels of scrutiny that apply to
certain kinds of speech, such as commercial speech
and speech in the context of a professional relation-
ship. The Ninth Circuit’s recognition of this point is
consistent with other lower courts’ post-Reed deci-
sions. E.g., Kiser v. Kamdar, 831 F.3d 784, 788 (6th
Cir. 2016) (applying intermediate scrutiny test of
Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Pub. Serv.
Comm’n of N.Y., 447 U.S. 557 (1980), to content-
based restriction on dentist's advertising). It is also
consistent with recent actions by this Court. See Ex-
pressions Hair Design v. Schneiderman, 137 S. Ct.
1144, 1151 (2017) (remanding for consideration of
whether a statute governing price-disclosures should

21

be reviewed as a commercial speech regulation under
Central Hudson, or whether it should be “upheld as a
valid disclosure requirement” under Zauderer v. Of-
fice of Disciplinary Counsel of Supreme Ct. of Ohio,
471 U.S. 626 (1985) (allowing disclosure require-
ments that are “reasonably related” to the State’s in-
terest in preventing deception of consumers)).

AWF contends (Pet. 18-20) that certain lower
court decisions interpret Reed as mandating strict
scrutiny for all speech regulations that are content-
based. But AWF’s cases say nothing about Reed’s ef-
fect on speech in categories for which this Court had
previously established a lesser standard of review.
Free Speech Coalition, Inc. v. Attorney General, 825
F.3d 149, 176 n.7 (3d Cir. 2016), cited without criti-
cism several post-Reed decisions continuing to apply
intermediate scrutiny to content-based commercial-
speech laws. Two of AWPF’s strict-scrutiny cases con-
cerned core political speech. See Pursuing America’s
Greatness v. FEC, 831 F.3d 500, 508 (D.C. Cir. 2016);
Wagner v. Garfield Heights, 2017 WL 129034, at *1
(6th Cir. 2017) (per curiam). Another posed the same
question as Reed itself. See Central Radio Co. v. City
of Norfolk, 811 F.3d 625 (4th Cir. 2016) (sign ordi-
nance with exemptions for particular content was not
a time-place-manner restriction). And Norton v. City
of Springfield, 806 F.3d 411 (7th Cir. 2015), applied
strict scrutiny to an ordinance that barred oral re-
quests for money. Nothing in those decisions demon-
strates any need for further review in this case.

d. Petitioners contend that the Ninth Circuit’s
decision conflicts with lower court decisions regard-
ing abortion-related disclosures in particular. That is
not correct.

22

NIFLA argues (Pet. 24) that the Ninth Circuit’s
decision conflicts with the portion of Evergreen Ass’n,
Inc. v. City of New York, 740 F.3d 233 (2d Cir. 2014),
that considered a New York City ordinance which re-
quired pregnancy centers to make several disclo-
sures, including one about whether or not each center
would provide, or provide referrals for, abortion,
emergency contraception, or prenatal care. Id. at
238. The Second Circuit affirmed the district court’s
preliminary injunction against that particular man-
dated disclosure, holding that the requirement could
not survive strict or intermediate scrutiny because it
“overly burden[ed]” the centers’ speech. Jd. at 249.
But the ordinance in Evergreen applied only to cen-
ters that were not “‘licensed ... to provide medical or
pharmaceutical services” and that did not “have a
licensed medical provider on staff.” Id. at 239. Ever-
green thus did not consider or decide the questions
concerning professional speech regulation that the
Ninth Circuit addressed here.

Petitioners contend that the Ninth Circuit’s deci-
sion conflicts with Stuart v. Camnitz, 774 F.3d 238
(4th Cir. 2014). See Livingwell Pet. 20-24; NIFLA
Pet. 29; AWF Pet. 25. Stuart concerned a North Car-
olina law that required a doctor or technician to per-
form a sonogram on any woman seeking an abortion,
to display the sonogram so that the woman would see
it unless she “avert[ed] her eyes,” to offer the woman
the ability to hear the fetal heartbeat, and to give a
detailed description of the fetus’s “‘presence, location,
and dimensions” and “‘the presence of external
members and internal organs.” Stuart, 774 F.3d at
243. The Fourth Circuit in Stuart, like the Ninth
Circuit here, rejected rational basis review and in-

23

stead applied a “heightened intermediate scrutiny
standard.” Id. at 248.14 The statute in Stuart did not
survive that scrutiny because “the context surround-
ing the delivery of [the state-mandated message]
promote[d] the viewpoint the state wishe[d] to en-
courage.” Jd. at 253. “[U]nusual” features of the
North Carolina disclosure requirement reinforced
that its purpose was not to provide neutral infor-
mation, but to make the discussion of abortion dis-
tasteful. Jd. at 254-255. Moreover, unlike the law in
Casey and California’s law here, the North Carolina
statute required the physician herself to speak the
message, rather than simply “[ijnforming a patient
that there are state-issued materials available.” Jd.
at 253. Nothing in Stuart implies that the Fourth
Circuit would have come to a different conclusion
than the Ninth Circuit on the quite different facts of
this case.

e. Finally, the State argued below that at least
some of the activities of the licensed facilities were
commercial speech and could be regulated as such.
See, e.g., Livingwell Pet. App. 31-32 (district court
decision noting the commercial speech question).
Although the court of appeals rejected the argument,
NIFLA Pet. App. 18a n.5, it would provide an inde-
pendent basis for sustaining the judgment below if
the Court were to grant review in this case.

\¢ Because the decision below upheld California’s notice
requirement for licensed facilities under intermediate scrutiny,
this case does not implicate AWF’s view that a standard of re-
view that is even lower should apply to other kinds of abortion-
disclosure regulations. AWF Pet. 25-26 (citing Texas Med. Pro-
viders Performing Abortion Servs. v. Lakey, 667 F.3d 570 (5th
Cir. 2012), and Planned Parenthood Minn. v. Rounds, 530 F.3d
724 (8th Cir. 2008)).

24

2. The court of appeal also correctly affirmed the
denial of a preliminary injunction with respect to
NIFLA’s Free Speech challenges to the notice that
unlicensed facilities are required to give. NIFLA Pet.
App. 36a-39a.

The notice requirement for unlicensed facilities
applies only to facilities whose characteristics—such
as the provision of ultrasound examinations and
pregnancy tests, see p. 5, supra—could mislead visi-
tors into believing that they are receiving care under
the supervision of licensed medical professionals.
The Act requires disclosure only of the fact that the
facility “is not licensed as a medical facility by the
State of California and has no licensed provider who
provides or directly supervises the provision of ser-
vices.” See p. 6, supra. The court of appeals conclud-
ed that the disclosure was likely to survive strict
scrutiny, because it is narrowly tailored to achieve
the State’s compelling interest in ensuring “that
women, who may be particularly vulnerable when
they are searching for and using family-planning
clinical services, are fully informed that the clinic
they are trusting with their well-being is not subject
to the traditional regulations that oversee those pro-
fessionals who are licensed by the state.” NIFLA Pet.
App. 37a-38a.

As NIFLA concedes (Pet. 25 n.4), the Second Cir-
cuit in Evergreen also upheld, under strict scrutiny, a
requirement for unlicensed centers to “disclose
whether or not they ‘have a licensed medical provider
on staff who provides or directly supervises the pro-
vision of all of the services at such pregnancy services
center.” 740 F.3d at 246.15 Evergreen reasoned that

16 This Court denied the Evergreen plaintiffs’ petitions
(continued...)

25

such a disclosure “is the least restrictive means to
ensure that a woman is aware of whether or not a
particular pregnancy services center has a licensed
medical provider at the time that she first interacts
with it.” Id. at 247. Evergreen rejected an argument
that New York should instead have barred only pur-
poseful deception. A woman is harmed if a center’s
attributes lead her to believe erroneously that she is
receiving care from licensed professionals, even in
the absence of any active deception. Jd.

NIFLA contends (Pet. 31-36) that the decision be-
low is inconsistent with Riley v. National Federation
of the Blind of North Carolina, 487 U.S. 781 (1988).
Riley invalidated a North Carolina requirement that
a nonprofit’s paid fundraisers disclose to potential
donors “the average perc atage of gross receipts ac-
tually turned over to charities by the fundraiser for
all charitable solicitations conducted in North Caro-
lina within the previous 12 months.” Jd. at 786. The
Court rejected North Carolina’s attempt to defend
the law as necessary to prevent donors from giving
money under a mistaken assumption about how
much would go to the soliciting charity. Jd. at 798.
But part of Riley’s reasoning for why that disclosure
was unnecessary was that a separate provision of
North Carolina law, which the plaintiffs had not
challenged, id. at 786, “require[d] professional fund-
raisers to disclose their professional status to poten-
tial donors,” id. at 799. Riley thus “suggest|s] that a
requirement that solicitors disclose their professional
status is ‘a narrowly tailored requirement [that]

(...continued)
for certiorari on that issue. See 135 S. Ct. 435 (2014) (denying
certiorari in Case Nos. 13-1462 and 13-1504).

26

would withstand First Amendment scrutiny.” Ever-
green, 740 F.3d at 248.16

In its question presented and elsewhere (Pet. i, 1,
10, 16, 32-33), NIFLA now focuses on the Act’s re-
quirement that notices be provided in Medi-Cal
threshold languages, which NIFLA says would re-
quire it to use 13 languages in Los Angeles County
and six languages in San Diego County. Neither that
argument nor any supporting evidence was presented
to the district court. Indeed, NIFLA’s district court
pleadings regarding its motion for a preliminary in-
junction did not raise the multiple-language issue at
all. See NIFLA D. Ct. Doc. 3 (Motion); NIFLA D. Ct.
Doc. 17 (Reply); NIFLA Pet. App. 85-122a (Com-

16 NIFLA contends (Pet. 32 n.5) that the Ninth Circuit’s
ruling as to notices by unlicensed providers conflicts with Cen-
tro Tepeyac v. Montgomery County, 5 F. Supp. 3d 745 (D. Md.
2014). But the Centro Tepeyac ordinance required that a disclo-
sure about lack of medical personnel be made by every “‘organi-
zation, center or individual” that “‘has a primary purpose to
provide pregnancy-related services” and “‘provides information
about pregnancy-related services’” without a licensed profes-
sional on staff. Jd. at 748. California’s requirement applies on-
ly to facilities with certain characteristics that could create a
misimpression about whether they are in fact medical clinics.
And the Centro Tepeyac ordinance required a covered facility to
disclose not only that it “‘does not have a licensed medical pro-
fessional on staff,” but also that “‘the Montgomery County
Health Ofcer encourages women who are or may be pregnant
to consult with a licensed health care provider.” Id. The dis-
trict court decision cited by NIFLA did not decide whether it
would have violated the First Amendment to require only the
first disclosure. Jd. at 754. When the Fourth Circuit considered
the two provisions separately at an earlier stage of that case, it
upheld the denial of a preliminary injunction as to the first dis-
closure. Centro Tepeyac v. Montgomery County, 722 F.3d 184,
189-190, 192 (4th Cir. 2013) (en banc).

27

plaint). NIFLA belatedly raised a form of the argu-
ment at the court of appeals, based on more limited
(and inconsistent) assertions. See NIFLA C.A. Open-
ing Br. 17 (arguing that law would require notice to
be provided “in up to four languages”); id. at 54 (five
languages). NIFLA’s accusation (Pet. 15) that the
lower courts failed to address the Act’s multiple lan-
guage requirement simply underscores NIFLA’s fail-
ure to properly present or preserve the issue. There
is no reason for this Court to address the language
requirement in the first instance, in a preliminary
injunction posture, on a nonexistent record.

The same is true of NIFLA’s claims about how
the Act’s language and type-size requirements would
interact with newspaper rates to make advertising
“cost prohibitive” (Pet. 1, 16, 25, 32-33)—assertions
that likewise were not presented to the courts below.
And although NIFLA alleged generally at the district
court that web advertisements on services such as
Google “have limits on their size, such as in the num-
ber of characters that can be used,” NIFLA Pet. App.
100a, NIFLA’s submissions to the lower courts did
not provide specific allegations about what those lim-
its are or about how members’ advertisements would
be affected.!7 Even if NIFLA intends to provide fur-
ther information to support its claims at a later
stage, the district court did not abuse its discretion in
withholding a preliminary injunction given the rec-
ord before it. And the absence of proper argument

17 See NIFLA D. Ct. Doc. 51, at 20 (Jan. 28, 2016, Tr.)
(court’s observation about the absence of information in the rec-
ord regarding “what [the plaintiffs’] advertisements say and
how they might be impacted by the disclosure required by the
statute”).

28

and evidence in the courts below makes this case ill-
suited for review of any related issue, at least in its
current posture.'®

3. AWF (Pet. 31-35) and NIFLA (Pet. 36-38) also
challenge the lower courts’ rejection of their requests
for preliminary relief based on the Free Exercise
Clause. NIFLA Pet. App. 39a-42a.

The Free Exercise Clause provides that “Con-
gress shall make no law .. . prohibiting the free exer-
cise” of religion. U.S. Const., amend I. It prevents
“governmental regulation of religious beliefs as
such.” Employment Div., Dep’t of Human Res. of Ore.
v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872, 877 (1990) (emphasis omit-
ted). But the Free Exercise Clause “does not relieve
an individual of the obligation to comply with a ‘valid
and neutral law of general applicability on the
ground that the law proscribes (or prescribes) con-
duct that his religion prescribes (or proscribes).’” Id.
at 879. Thus, a neutral law of general application
need not be justified by a compelling interest, even if
it has the incidental effect of burdening a particular
religious practice. Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye,
Inc. v. City of Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520, 531 (1993).

A law is neutral for these purposes if its object, as
determined by its text and operational effect, is
something other than the infringement or restriction
of religious practice. Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 532-533,
535. A law is generally applicable if it does not “im-

18 That is particularly so because the Act’s severability
clause, see NIFLA Pet. App. 82a-83a, would require the Court to
assess not only the combined effect of the Act’s language, adver-
tising, and other requirements, but also the separate effect of
each individual provision.

29

pose special disabilities on the basis of religious
views or religious status.” Smith, 494 U.S. at 877.
The FACT Act, which makes no distinction based on
a particular licensed or unlicensed facility’s religious
affiliation, beliefs, or position on abortion, meets
these tests.

Relying on Lukumi, NIFLA claims (Pet. 37-38)
that the Act was designed to target antiabortion facil-
ities, and that most such facilities are religiously mo-
tivated. The argument fails. Lukumi considered the
constitutionality of ordinances that interfered with
the Santeria religion’s practice of ritual sacrifice. 508
U.S. at 526. The ordinances outlawed “‘sacrific[ing]’”
or killing animals “‘for any type of ritual.” Jd. at
527. Most other kinds of animal killings were per-
mitted, including hunting, fishing, meat production,
pest extermination, and euthanasia. /d. at 536-537.
In effect, the ordinances applied only to the Santeria
Church. Id. at 537-538. The Court held that these
“gerrymandered’ ordinances were not neutral or gen-
erally applicable. Id. at 542.

Nothing similar can be said here. The unlicensed
notice requirement applies to all unlicensed facilities
that primarily provide pregnancy-related services
and that meet two or more of the criteria in section
123471(b). Thus, a commercial facility that is neu-
tral toward or supportive of abortion could be subject
to the notice requirement as a consequence of adver-
tising and offering ultrasounds. § 123471(b)(1), (3).9

19 See Cari Romm, FDA Warning: Stay Away From
“Keepsake” Ultrasounds, The Atlantic, Dec. 16, 2014 (discussing
businesses that offer “medically unnecessary scans ... adminis-
tered by people with no healthcare training”), available at
https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/12/fdawarning

(continued...)

30

Licensed facilities, too, are subject to the Act’s re-
quirements based on criteria that are neutral as to
religious motivation or stance on abortion. See
§ 123471(a).

Nor do the Act’s exemptions amount to evidence
of a “gerrymander” in the Lukumi sense. The exemp-
tion for clinics “conducted, maintained, or operated
by the United States or any of its departments, offic-
ers, or agencies,” § 123471(c)(1), simply recognizes
that the State may lack power to regulate such enti-
ties. And the exemption for licensed clinics that are
already “enrolled as a Medi-Cal provider and a pro-
vider in the Family [PACT] Program,” § 123471(c)(2),
recognizes that there is no reason to mandate notice
of a phone number for accessing free or low-cost pub-
lic services at facilities that are able to (and have the
incentive to) enroll eligible patients in those very
programs themselves. See NIFLA Pet. App. 77a.”° It

(...continued)
-stay-away-from-keepsake-ultrasounds/383816/.

20 NIFLA now claims that the exemption for Family
PACT participants “is the method by which the State excludes
all others but the pro-life centers” and thus “forces only those
centers that oppose abortion to speak the State’s message.”
NIFLA Pet. 8-9; see also id. at 18, 20-21. At the court of ap-
peals, however, NIFLA pointed to this exemption not as evi-
dence of an anti-religious or viewpoint-discriminatory
gerrymander, but only as something that “undermines the al-
leged importance of [the State] interest” in informing women.
NIFLA C.A. Br. 47. Livingwell claims (Pet. 23) that the exemp-
tion for Medi-Cal Family PACT providers results in viewpoint
discrimination because Family PACT providers are not required
to inform women of alternatives to abortion. But Medi-Cal pro-
viders commonly cover the alternatives to abortion: prenatal
care and live birth. See pp. 1-2, supra.

31

does not function to exempt abortion providers.?! In-
deed, offering abortion services is one of the factors
that may make a licensed clinic subject to the notice
requirement, § 123471(a)(5), and notice by such a
provider would alert women to the availability of an
alternative: prenatal care. See pp. 3-4, supra.
NIFLA argues (Pet. 38) that groups opposed to abor-
tion generally cannot participate in the Family PACT
program because participants must “supply contra-
ceptives [that such groups] believe work as abortifa-
cients.” But at least at this stage of the litigation,
NIFLA has not introduced evidence of how broadly
that belief is held among such entities, or that the
exemption, in intent or operation, effectively singles
out religious groups opposed to abortion.

4. Finally, these petitions concern only denials of
motions for preliminary injunctive relief, which were
litigated (by petitioners’ choice) before discovery.
Discovery in Livingwell has been completed in the
interim, and it could be completed quickly in the oth-
er cases as well. Nothing bars petitioners from re-
newing their arguments in the lower courts on a full
record. At this stage of the proceedings, however, re-
view by this Court would be at best premature.??

21 Abortion is not a covered service under the Family
PACT program, though it is covered under other Medi-Cal pro-
grams. See p. 2, supra.

22 Moreover, NIFLA’s complaint asserts that the notice
requirement governing licensed clinics violates a federal statute
and that the requirements imposed on both licensed and unli-
censed facilities violate the California Constitution’s Liberty of
Speech Clause. NIFLA Pet. App. 116a-117a (asserting claims
based on 42 U.S.C. § 238n and Cal. Const., art. I, § 2(A)). A
pending state-court lawsuit, in which discovery has been com-

(continued...)

32
CONCLUSION

The petitions for writs of certiorari should be de-
nied.

Respectfully submitted,

XAVIER BECERRA

Attorney General of California
EDWARD C. DUMONT

Solicitor General
JOSHUA A. KLEIN

Deputy Solicitor General
JONATHAN M. EISENBERG
ANTHONY R. HAKL
NOREEN P. SKELLY

Deputy Attorneys General

Counsel for Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
and Attorney General Xavier Becerra

May 24, 2017

(...continued)

pleted, challenges the Act based on three provisions of the Cali-
fornia Constitution. Schurpen Foundution, Inc. v. Becerra, No.
RIC1514022 (Riverside Cty. Super. Ct., filed Nov. 25, 2015).
The State intends to defend against. these challenges, but any
plaintiffs success in enjoining the statute’s enforcement on
statutory or state constitutional grounds would make it unnec-
essary to consider the federal constitutional issues petitioners

press here.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0737%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
