# Amicus Curiae Brief — Husted v. A. Philip Randolph Inst., 138 S. Ct. 43 (2017) (No. 16-980)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0728%3A24

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

IN THE

onare. Supreme Court of the United

JON HUSTED, OHIO SECRETARY OF STATE,
Petitioner,
v.

A. PHILIP RANDOLPH INSTITUTE, NORTHEAST
OHIO COALITION FOR THE HOMELESS
AND LARRY HARMON,

Respondents.

On Wair oF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
Court or APPEALS FOR THE SrxtH Circurr

BRIEF OF FORMER ATTORNEYS OF
THE CIVIL RIGHTS DIVISION OF THE
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF
JUSTICE AS AMICI CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

WIrLLiaM 8. Consovoy
Counsel of Record

J. MICHAEL CONNOLLY

Consovoy McCartny Park PLLC

GEORGE Mason UNIVERSITY

ANTONIN ScALiA Law ScHOOL
SuPREME Court Cuinic

3033 Wilson Blvd., Suite 700

Arlington, VA 22201

(703) 243-9423

will@consovoymccarthy.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae

August 7, 2017

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
eg i
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES .............. ii

IDENTITY & INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE..... 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.......-.....-..0005- 4
EG cans seeee Wie pon esensnbedseseeveent 6

I. The Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of
the NVRA is incorrect and contradicts
the Justice Department’s longstanding
Ee ee 6

A. The Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of
the NVRA conflicts with the law’s
text, structure, and history.............. 6

B. The Sixth Circuit’s decision contradicts
the Justice Department’s longstanding
interpretation of the NVRA ............ 13

Il. The Sixth Circuit’s decision will undermine
the states’ efforts to maintain accurate voter
rolls and to promote the integrity of elections. . .15

EE vccc db ehenbdedvadcsecsvesensuces 21
APPENDIX — GRID OF POTENTIAL

DUPLICATE REGISTRANTS WITHIN
ET Es v6 Ne navi nes¥ss0esiees concn la

a

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

CASES

Alden v. Maine,

Ge UB. FOO Cec occ cccvcevccoceccoseene

Arizona v. Inter Tribal Council of Ariz., Inc.,

1838 S. Ct. 2247 (01S)... were ccecnvcceees

BFP v. Resolution Trust Corp.,

GER CA. Ge GE oc oc ccccccccovavisesesnes

Crawford v. Marion Cty. Election Bd.,

SO CA Ee QUES ov occcvcccvesedetineuasd

CTS Corp. v. Waldburger,

1D4 BH. Cb. SETS GET) . cc cccccccccscveveves

Encino Motorcars, LLC v. Navarro,

BOS D. UC. BERT GEREN oo sc cccccccvccccsevcese

Purcell v. Gonzalez,

SED TAA: EGGS vc ccccvececocessteeveenes

Quality King Distribs., Inc. v. Lanza Research
Int'l, Inc.,

Se Sa MUU GUEE cc cocecceseccevaseueean

Rodriguez v. United States,

GO ULB. GE Gee oo vc cccccvesssssesenevs

Page

111

Cited Authorities
Page
United States v. Atl. Research Corp.,

EE 11
United States v. City of Philadelphia,

No. 2:06-cv-4592, 2007 WL. 1476781 (E.D. Pa. Apr.

i tieseeeu Sede eeeeeseceeves sceees 13, 14
United States v. Indiana,

No. 1:06-cv-1000 (S.D. Ind., June 27, 2006)........ 14
United States v. Pulaski County,

No. 4:04-cev-389 (E.D. Ark. Apr. 19, 2004)......... 14
STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES
ES 6, 12
IED «g . cc ccccccccccccceccces 15
EE ID, 6 wcrc cccccsccecesvecees 11
ES EIN, coc cccccccccccscoecces 6, 12
Se Ss PTUEIEED cccccccccccscccccces 7, 8, 11, 12
Ee 7

ot Teh S| PPPrTeTrrrrrirereri ie 1]

w

Cited Authorities
Page
Se Gee © OIE, 6 cc sv dcccoscesescecoes 7,12
GB U.S.C. § ZIOGBMAMA). . 0 oc ccccccccccccccecs 9,12
ee ey NE Ss 660.0 066sb cee bekwebewbend 6, 9, 11
i ci¢weddacdeeh tanekanenl 6, 9,11, 15
nT Sante cndws dd eden ck eens iue 1

America The Vulnerable: The Problem of
Duplicate Voting, Government Accountability
EE iranct deunhoatedwsesuudeededes .20

Antonin Scalia & Bryan A. Garner,
IE 6 eoccdb eccusesseusiesoncss 12

Comm’n on Fed. Election Reform,
Building Confidence in U.S. Elections
EN bc tu anse code o4¥ usGawtuyee 15, 16

Heritage Found., A Sampling of Election
Fraud Cases from Across the Country

ETE b onccccceastedcecsccecs 19
Kan. See’y of State, Grid of Potential Duplicate
Registration Within States by DOB (2017) ....... 18

Kris W. Kobach, Presentation on Interstate Voter

Registration Crosscheck Program to Nat'l Ass'n
of State Election Directors (Jan. 26, 2013)........ 19

Vv

Cited Authorities
Page
Pew Ctr. on the States, Inaccurate,
Costly, and Inefficient: Evidence that
America’s Voter Registration System
Needs am Upgrade (2012) .. 2 cc cccccccccccccecs 16

U.S. Comm’n on Civil Rights, Department of
Justice Voting Rights Enforcement for the
2008 U.S. Presidential Election (2009)........ 16, 21

I
IDENTITY & INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amici are six former attorneys of the Civil Rights
Division of the United States Department of Justice:

1. Colonel Karl S. “Butch” Bowers is the State Staff
Judge Advocate for the Joint Force Headquarters, South
Carolina Air National Guard, and a lawyer in private
practice, focusing on governmental and legislative affairs,
campaign finance and election law, and regulatory matters.
In 2007-08, Col. Bowers was appointed by President
George W. Bush as Special Counsel for Voting Matters at
the U.S. Department of Justice. He also has served as the
Staff Judge Advocate for the 169th Fighter Wing, as the
Chairman of the South Carolina Election Commission, and
as a JAG officer. Col. Bowers earned a J.D. from Tulane
Law School, a M.P.A. from the College of Charleston, and
a B.A. from the University of South Carolina.

2. Christopher Coates is the former General Counsel
for the American Civil Rights Union. He worked in the
Voting Section of the Justice Department from 1996-2010.
During ten of those years, he worked in a supervisory
or management position, and during two of those years
he was the Chief of the Voting Section. He earned the
Walter W. Barnett Memorial Award in 2007, the Civil
Rights Division's second highest award for excellence in
advocacy. From 1985-96, Mr. Coates was an attorney with

1. Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 37.6, counsel for amici
curiae certifies that this brief was not authored in whole or in part
by counsel for any party and that no person or entity other than
amici curiae or their counsel has made a monetary contribution
to the preparation or submission of this brief. The parties have
consented to the filing of this brief.

2

the Voting Rights Project of the American Civil Liberties
Union. In 1991, he was awarded the Thurgood Marshall
Decade Award by the Georgia NAACP for his work in
voting rights and civil rights law. He is a graduate of
the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the
University of North Carolina School of Law.

3. Christy McCormick has worked in voting and
elections for over 25 years, starting out as an assistant
voter registrar in Connecticut in 1988. She is currently a
Commissioner on the Presidential Commission on Election
Integrity. She is also a Commissioner on and former Chair
of the U.S. Elections Assistance Commission (EAC).
Prior to the EAC, she was a Senior Trial Attorney in the
Voting Section of the Department of Justice’s Civil Rights
Division for eight years. During 2009-10, she was detailed
by the Deputy Attorney General to the U.S. Embassy
in Baghdad to work on the Iraq national elections and
rule-of-law matters. Previously, she clerked for Justice
Elizabeth A. McClanahan on the Court of Appeals of
Virginia. She also served as an Assistant Solicitor and
Assistant Attorney General in Virginia. Commissioner
McCormick received a B.A. from the University of Buffalo
and a J.D. with honors from the George Mason University
(now Antonin Scalia) Law School. She also has attended
the William & Mary School of Law.

4. Robert D. Popper has been practicing law for 26
years. He has special knowledge and expertise in the area of
voting law. Along with Professor Daniel D. Polsby, he is the
co-creator of the “Polsby-Popper” compactness standard,
used to measure racial and partisan gerrymandering.
In 1995, he represented plaintiffs in a successful
constitutional challenge alleging racial segregation in

3

the design of New York’s 12th Congressional District. In
2005, Mr. Popper joined the Voting Section of the Civil
Rights Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, and
in 2008, he was promoted to Deputy Chief. In 2013, he
joined Judicial Watch as Director of the Election Integrity
Project, in which capacity he litigates voting rights cases.
Mr. Popper is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania
and Northwestern Law School.

5. Bradley J. Schlozman served as a Deputy Assistant
Attorney General (and Acting Assistant Attorney General)
of the Civil Rights Division from 2003-06, where his
responsibilities included supervision of the Voting Section.
He also later served as U.S. Attorney for the Western
District of Missouri from 2006-07. Mr. Schlozman now
practices law at the Hinkle Law Firm and frequently
represents states and municipalities on a variety of voting
rights matters.

6. Hans A. von Spakovsky is a Senior Legal Fellow
and Manager of the Election Law Reform Initiative in
the Center for Legal and Judicial Studies at the Heritage
Foundation, where he concentrates on voting, elections,
campaign finance, civil rights, immigration enforcement,
and government reform. In 2006-07, he served as a
Commissioner of the Federal Election Commission. From
2002-05, he served as Counsel to the Assistant Attorney
General for Civil Rights, providing expertise and advice
on voting and election issues. The Commission on Federal
Election Reform organized by President Jimmy Carter
and Secretary James Baker also sought his expertise.
Mr. von Spakovsky also has served as a member of the
first Board of Advisers of the U.S. Election Assistance
Commission, as Vice Chairman of the Fairfax County

4

Electoral Board in Virginia, as a member of the Fulton
County Registration and Election Board in Georgia, and
as a member of the Virginia Advisory Board to the U.S.
Commission on Civil Rights. Mr. von Spakovsky currently
is a Commissioner on the Presidential Commission
on Election Integrity. He is a graduate of Vanderbilt
University Law School and the Massachusetts Institute
of Technology.

During their tenures, amici were charged with
enforcing the nation’s election laws, including the National
Voter Registration Act of 1993 (NVRA) and the Help
America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). Amici have a continued
interest in the proper interpretation and enforcement of
these laws. The Sixth Circuit adopted an interpretation
of the NVRA that contradicts how amici enforced that
statute. In fact, during amici’s tenures, the Justice
Department negotiated settlement agreements that
required localities to do exactly what the Sixth Circuit held
was illegal here. The Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of the
NVRA squarely contradicts this history of enforcement
and threatens to undermine the core purposes of the
NVRA—ensuring the accuracy of state voter rolls and
protecting the integrity of federal elections.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amici were once tasked with enforcing the NVRA,
part of the “complex superstructure of federal regulation”
that “Congress has erected ... atop state voter-registration
systems.” Arizona v. Inter Tribal Council of Ariz., Inc.,
133 S. Ct. 2247, 2251 (2013). The NVRA requires the states
to keep their voter rolls up to date. Each state must adopt
a program that removes voters from the rolls when they

5

move to a different jurisdiction. Although a voter cannot
be removed solely because he failed to vote, a voter can
be removed if the state sends him a notice and he neither
responds nor votes in two consecutive federal elections.
There are no limits on when the states can send these
notices or to whom they can send them; the NVRA says

nothing about that.

Or at least that is how amici interpreted and enforced
the NVRA when they served in the Civil Rights Division
of the Justice Department. But the Sixth Circuit, in
a 2-1 decision, rejected this settled interpretation. It
struck down Ohio’s Supplemental Process, which sends
individuals an NVRA-compliant notice if they have not
engaged in voter activity for two years. The Supplemental]
Process violates the NVRA, according to the Sixth
Circuit, because the “trigger” for the notice is a person’s

failure to vote.

The Sixth Circuit erred, and its error warrants this
Court’s correction. The text, structure, and history of
the NVRA all point in the same direction: the NVRA
requires the states to send notices before removing
voters for changing residences. But it does not regulate
the “triggers” for those notices. In fact, amici helped
the Justice Department negotiate settlements with
localities in Pennsylvania, Indiana, and Arkansas
that required a notice procedure indistinguishable
from Ohio’s Supplemental Process. The decision below
directly contradicts this history of federal enforcement.
And it deprives the states of an important tool in
combatting bloated voter rolls. “|A]ecurate and current
voter registration lists,” in turn, “are essential to the
integrity of the election process and .or the protection

6

of the individual.” H.R. Rep. No. 103-9, at 14 (1993);
S. Rep. No. 103-6, at 31 (1993).

ARGUMENT

This Court should reverse the Sixth Circuit for two
main reasons. First, the Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of
the NVRA conflicts with its text, structure, and history.
Amici have long interpreted the statute oppositely, and
they helped the Justice Department negotiate settlements
that would be illegal under the Sixth Circuit’s view.
Second, the Sixth Circuit’s decision deprives Ohio and
other jurisdictions of an important means to combat
bloated voter rolls, a real and pressing threat to the
integrity of federal elections.

I. The Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of the NVRA is
incorrect and contradicts the Justice Department’s
longstanding enforcement policy.

A. The Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of the NVRA
conflicts with the law’s text, structure, and

history.

The NVRA has two main goals: maximizing the
number of eligible citizens on the voter rolls and
minimizing the number of ineligible citizens on the voter
rolls. See 52 U.S.C. § 20501(b). To minimize the number
of ineligible voters, the NVRA requires states to adopt
a “program” that removes registered voters who become
ineligible “by reason of ... a change in the[ir] residence.”
Id. § 20507(a)(4)(B).

7

The NVRA limits how states can remove these now-
ineligible voters—two of those limits are relevant here.
First, under subsection (b)(2), states cannot adopt a
program that “result[s] in the removal of the name of any
person ... by reason of the person’s failure to vote.” Jd.
§ 20507(b)(2). Second, under subsection (d), states cannot
remove voters without confirming that they actually
have changed residences. See id. § 20507(d). A state can
conclude that a voter changed residences, however, if he
“fail[s}] to respond to a notice” sent by the state and “has
not voted or appeared to vote” in two consecutive federal
elections. Jd. § 20507(d)(1)(B).

At first blush, these limits may seem contradictory.
Subsection (b)(2) prohibits states from removing voters
“by reason of [their] failure to vote.” /d. § 20507(b)(2). Yet
subsection (d)’s notice procedure allows states to remove
voters precisely because they failed to vote in consecutive
federal elections. But the NVRA resolves this tension
by clarifying that subsection (d)’s notice procedure does
not “result in the removal of the name of any person ...
by reason of the person’s failure to vote” for purposes of
subsection (b)(2):

[A state program] shall not result in the removal
of the name of any person from the official list
of voters registered to vote in an election for
Federal office by reason of the person’s failure
to vote, except that nothing in this paragraph
may be construed to prohibit a State from using
[subsection (d)’s notice procedure] to remove an
individual from the official list of eligible voters
if the individual—

8

(A) has not either notified the
applicable registrar (in person or
in writing) or responded during the
period described in subparagraph (B)
to the notice sent by the applicable
registrar; and then

(B) has not voted or appeared to vote
in 2 or more consecutive genera!
elections for Federal office.

Id. § 20507(b)(2) (emphases added).

The “except” clause of subsection (b)(2) was added
by the HAVA in 2002. In using the word “construed,” the
except clause does not change the meaning of subsection
(b)(2); it clarifies what subsection (b)(2) has always meant.
See Alden v. Maine, 527 U.S. 706, 722-23 (1999) (explaining
that the use of the word “construed” in the Eleventh
Amendment means it was enacted “not to change” but to
“address|[] the proper interpretation of ... the original”).
The notice procedure in subsection (d) never “result/ed]
in the removal of the name of any person ... by reason of
the person’s failure to vote.” Although the failure to vote
(in two consecutive elections) is one requirement under
the notice procedure, it is the voter’s failure to respond to
the notice—not his failure to vote—that ultimately leads
to his removal from the voting rolls.

Another provision of the HAVA makes the same point.
Section 21083 expressly incorporates the notice procedure
of the NVRA. It explains the notice procedure this way:
“(Rjegistrants who have not responded to a notice and
who have not voted in 2 consecutive general elections for

9

Federal office shall be removed from the official] list of
eligible voters, except that no registrant may be removed
solely by reason of a failure to vote.” 52 U.S.C. § 21083(a)
(4)(A) (emphasis added). The use of the word “solely” is
telling. It confirms that, under the NVRA, a person’s
failure to vote can be a factor in removing him from the
voter rolls. It just cannot be the sole factor.

This distinction is precisely the one that Congress
meant to draw. Both the House and the Senate reports
surveyed the state voter-registration policies existing at
the time and explained how the NVRA would affect them:

Almost all states now employ some procedure
for updating lists at least once every two years,
though practices may vary somewhat from
county to county. About one-fifth of the states
canvass all voters on the list. The rest of the
states do not contact all voters, but instead
target only those who did not vote in the most
recent election (using not voting as an indication
that an individual might have moved). Of
these, only a handful of states simply drop the
non-voters from the list without notice. These
states could not continue this practice under
[the NVRAI.

H.R. Rep. No. 103-9, at 30; S. Rep. No. 103-6, at 46. The
“handful” of state programs that “removie] registrants
from the list simply for not voting” were the ones the
NVRA prohibited—not the majority of state programs
that first “send a notice to assess whether the person has
moved.” H.R. Rep. No. 103-9, at 30; S. Rep. No. 103-6, at
46.

10

Ohio’s Supplemental Process is not among the
“handful” of programs the NVRA prohibited. Ohio sends a
notice to anyone who fails to engage in any “voter activity”
for two years. If the voter does not respond to the notice
and does not vote (or appear) in two consecutive federal
elections—the two requirements in subsection (d) of the
NVRA—Ohio cancels his registration. As Judge Siler
recognized, “no voter is removed solely by reason of a
failure to vote” under Ohio’s Supplemental Process. Pet.
App. 35a (Siler, J., dissenting). A voter is removed only
if he fails to respond to the notice. And a voter can stay
registered by engaging in any kind of voter activity during
this four-year period. See Pet. 10.

The Sixth Circuit nevertheless held that Ohio’s
Supplemental Process violates subsection (b)(2) of the
NVRA. The Sixth Circuit gave three reasons for reaching
this conclusion. None is persuasive.

First, the Sixth Circuit noted that the “trigger” for
the notices sent out under the Supplemental Process “is
ultimately based ‘solely’ on a person’s failure to vote.”
Pet. App. 22a (majority opinion). But, as the district
court explained, the word “trigger” is “nowhere to be
found in the NVRA.” Pet. App. 56a. The NVRA explains
that subsection (d)’s notice procedure complies with
subsection (b)(2), and it does not limit “the events that
need or need not happen before a state may initiate” that
notice procedure. /d. at 58a. No matter what trigger a
state chooses, the removal of a voter under subsection
(d)’s notice procedure is premised on the voter’s failure to
respond to the notice—not on his failure to vote.

11

Second, the Sixth Circuit reasoned that, if a state’s use
of subsection (d)’s notice procedure automatically satisfies
subsection (b)(2), then subsection (b)(2) would be reduced
to “mere surplusage.” /d. at 17a. After all, states are
required to use subsection (d)’s notice procedure before
they can remove a voter for changing his residence. See
id. But this argument fails on multiple levels. For one,
subsection (b)(2)’s prohibition on removing a voter solely
for his failure to vote retains some “independent meaning”
under Ohio’s interpretation. Quality King Distribs., Inc.
v. Lanza Research Int'l, Inc., 523 U.S. 135, 148-49 (1998).
Unlike subsection (d), subsection (b)(2) is not confined to
removal “on the ground that the registrant has changed
residence.” 52 U.S.C. § 20507(d)(1). No matter the meaning
of subsection (d), then, subsection (b)(2) applies fully to the
NVRA’s other grounds for removal, including criminal
conviction, mental incapacity, and death. See id. § 20507(a)

(3)-(4).

Even in the context of changed residences, moreover,
subsection (b)(2) is not superfluous. In the context
of change-of-residence removals, subsection (d) and
subsection (b)(2) are not two rules but one: together, they
prohibit the practice of presuming that a non-voter has
changed residences (and dropping him from the voter
rolls) without first giving him notice. See H.R. Rep. No.
103-9, at 30; S. Rep. No. 103-6, at 46. That Congress
explained how this rule works in more than one provision
is not surplusage; it is a helpful attempt to clarify how the
statute operates. See United States v. Atl. Research Corp.,
551 U.S. 128, 137 (2007). Clarification was important
because, as explained, it is not immediately obvious how
subsection (b)(2) and subsection (d) coexist in the NVRA.
See BFP v. Resolution Trust Corp., 511 U.S. 531, 543 n.7

12

(1994) (“It is no superfluity for Congress to clarify what
had been at best unclear ....”).

Third, the Sixth Circuit invoked the “traditional rule”
that a statute’s exceptions should be “construed narrowly.”
Pet. App. 16a. But this “made-up canon” is illegitimate.
Encino Motorcars, LLC v. Navarro, 136 S. Ct. 2117,
2131 (2016) (Thomas, J., dissenting). The Court has not
invoked it consistently, see Antonin Scalia & Bryan A.
Garner, Reading Law 359-63 (2012), and it contradicts
important principles of statutory construction, such as
“‘no legislation pursues its purposes at all costs” and
“{cjongressional intent is discerned primarily from the
statutory text,” CTS Corp. v. Waldburger, 134 S. Ct. 2175,
2185 (2014) (quoting Rodriguez v. United States, 480 U.S.
522, 525-26 (1987) (per curiam)).

In any event, this canon cannot apply to the NVRA.
The law serves dual purposes: increasing the registration
of eligible voters and decreasing the registration of
ineligible voters. See 52 U.S.C. § 20501(b). It is impossible
to tell which purpose is the “general rule” and which
purpose is the “exception.” For example, the principle that
a voter can be removed for failing to respond to a notice is
framed as a rule, see id. §§ 20507(a)(4)(B); 21083(a)(4)(A),
and as an exception, see id. § 20507(d)(1)(B). In subsection
(b)(2), it is framed neither as a rule nor as an exception,
but as a clarification. Jd. § 20507(b)(2). Put simply, even
if a canon that construes exceptions narrowly could ever
be applied sensibly, it could not be applied sensibly here.

In sum, the Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of the
NVRA contradicts the law’s text, structure, and history.
The NVRA requires the states to remove individuals who

13

change their residence from the voter rolls. To do so, the
NVRA allows the states to remove any individual who does
not respond to a notice and does not vote in two consecutive
federal elections; and it does not limit when the states can
send those notices. Ohio’s Supplemental Process follows
this procedure. It complies with the NVRA.

B. The Sixth Circuit’s decision contradicts
the Justice Department’s longstanding
interpretation of the NVRA.

There is little support for the Sixth Circuit’s
interpretation of the NVRA. Indeed, amici have long
taken the opposite view. When they were serving in the
Civil Rights Division, the Justice Department required
states to adopt procedures that are indistinguishable
from QOhio’s Supplemental Process. The Sixth Circuit’s
interpretation flouts this well-established history of
enforcement.

For example, in 2007, the Justice Department sued
the City of Philadelphia for violations of the NVRA, the
HAVA, and the Voting Rights Act. See Am. Compl., United
States v. City of Philadelphia, No. 2:06-cv-4592, 2007 WL
1476781 (E.D. Pa. Apr. 26, 2007) [Dkt. No. 35]. With respect
to the NVRA, the United States alleged that Philadelphia
“failfed] to conduct a meaningful general program of voter
registration list maintenance” and “d[id] not conduct a
program that makes a reasonable effort. to remove the
names of ineligible voters.” Jd. 19 55-56. The parties
ultimately settled. As part of that settlement, Philadelphia
agreed to “send a forwardable confirmation notice to any
registered elector who has not voted or appeared to vote
during any election” and “remove inactive voters who

14

fail to appear to vote during the period beginning with
the date of the confirmation notice and ending after the
second federal general election following the date of the
confirmation notice.” Settlement Agreement 4 16, United
States v. Philadelphia, No. 2:06-cv-4592 (E.D. Pa. Apr. 26,
2007), available at, https://www.justice.gov/sites/defau|t/
files/ert/legacy/2010/12/15/phila_settlement.pdf.

The settlement with Philadelphia was not an
isolated agreement. During amici’s tenures, the Justice
Department also negotiated similar agreements with
the State of Indiana and Pulaski County, Arkansas. See
Consent Decree and Order 1 4, United States v. Indiana,
No. 1:06-cv-1000 (S.D. Ind., June 27, 2006) [Dkt. No. 4],
available at, https: www justice. gov/crt/consent-decree-
and-order; Consent Order 11 4-8, United States v. Pulaski
County, No. 4:04-cv-389 (E.D. Ark. Apr. 19, 2004) [Dkt.
No. 9], available at, https://epic.org/privacy/voting/regis
ter/pulaski_cd.html.

All of these agreements required the defendants to
adopt a program like Ohio’s Supplemental Process. The
defendants had to identify a list of nonvoters, send those
nonvoters a notice asking them to confirm their address,
and cancel the registration of voters who did not respond
to the notice and did not vote in two consecutive federal
elections. According to the Sixth Circuit, however, these
agreements forced the defendants to violate federal law.
Amici respectfully disagree. Because the Sixth Circuit's
interpretation of the NV RA undermines these agreements
and impugns this history of federal enforcement, it
warrants this Court’s reversal.

15

Il. The Sixth Circuit’s decision will undermine the
states’ efforts to maintain accurate voter rolls and
to promote the integrity of elections.

Congress enacted the NVRA “to ensure that
accurate and current voter registration rolls are
maintained” and “to protect the integrity of the electoral
process.” 52 U.S.C. § 20501(b)(3)-(4). These objectives
are complementary. “The maintenance of accurate
and up-to-date voter registration lists is the hallmark
of a national system seeking to prevent voter fraud.”
S. Rep. No. 103-6, at 18. As this Court has recognized,
“{t}he electoral system cannot inspire public confidence
if no safeguards exist to deter or detect fraud,” and
“fa] good registration list will ensure that citizens are
only registered in one place.” Crawford v. Marion Cty.
Election Bd., 553 U.S. 181, 193-94 (2008) (opinion of
Stevens, J.) (quoting Comm’n on Fed. Election Reform,
Building Confidence in U.S. Elections § 2.5 (Sept. 2005),
https://goo.gl/y3jVi9). “[P]ublic confidence in the integrity
of the electoral process,” in turn, “has independent
significance, because it encourages citizen participation
in the democratic process.” Jd. at 197. “Confidence in the
integrity of our electoral processes is essential to the
functioning of our participatory democracy. Voter fraud
drives honest citizens out of the democratic process and
breeds distrust of our government. Voters who fear their
legitimate votes will be outweighed by fraudulent ones
will feel disenfranchised.” Purcell v. Gonzalez, 549 U.S.
1, 4 (2006) (per curiam).

Programs like Ohio’s Supplemental Process are an
important tool in achieving these goals. Individuals who
move to a new jurisdiction are no longer eligible to vote

16

in their old jurisdiction and should not remain registered
there. Although states can track some of these voters
through the Postal Service’s change-of-address database,
that data is underinclusive. Many people who change
residences do not use this service. See Pet. 33-34. To
maintain accurate voter rolls, states need to be able to
use other reliable indicia of ineligibility—including a lack
of voter activity.

Recent voter registration data justify Ohio’s efforts. A
2012 Pew Study found major problems with the accuracy
of voter rolls in the United States. According to the study,
24 million voter registrations (one out of every eight) are
invalid or inaccurate. For example, 1.8 million deceased
persons are listed as voters, and 2.75 million people are
registered to vote in more than one state. See Pew Ctr. on
the States, Inaccurate, Costly, and Inefficient: Evidence
that America’s Voter Registration System Needs an
Upgrade (2012), goo.gl/mQV8UI. “Inflated voter lists are
also caused by phony registrations and efforts to register
individuals who are ineligible.” See Comm’n on Fed.
Election Reform, supra, at § 2.6. After the 2008 election,
the Justice Department “sent letters to a dozen states
inquiring about their list maintenance practices” because
“there appeared to be significant imbalances between
their numbers of registered voters and their citizen
populations.” U.S. Comm’n on Civil Rights, Department
of Justice Voting Rights Enforcement for the 2008 U.S.
Presidential Election 38 (2009), goo.gi/xp7nhc (testimony
of Christopher Coates, Acting Chief of the Voting Section).
As of 2017, twenty-eight states participate in the Interstate
Voter Registration Crosscheck Program (administered by
the State of Kansas). This program analyzes the voter
rolls of the participating states and identifies individuals

17

who are registered in more than one state. As of February
2017, the Crosscheck Program revealed hundreds of
thousands of voters who were potentially registered in
multiple states. Of the twenty-eight participating states
analyzed in 2017, the following states had potential voter
registration duplications with other participating states:

* Alabama - 239,801

¢ Arizona — 274,523

Arkansas — 136,760
* Colorado — 286,035

* Georgia — 660,708

* Idaho — 28,113

¢ [llinois — 542,065

* Indiana — 516,700

* lowa — 134, 186

* Kansas — 141,250

* Kentucky — 371,788
¢ Louisiana — 134,560

* Maine — 76,484

18

* Massachusetts — 191,734

* Michigan — 418,006

* Mississippi — 181,117

* Missouri — 288,949

¢ Nebraska — 76,005

* Nevada — 95,249

* New Hampshire — 94,610
* North Carolina — 561,811
* Ohio - 479,083

* Oklahoma — 118,347

¢ South Carolina — 368,189
* South Dakota — 41,920

¢ Tennessee ~— 296,494

Virginia — 354,452

West Virginia — 105,725

See Appendix at 1 (Kan. Sec’y of State, Grid of Potential
Duplicate Registrants Within States by DOB (2017)).

19

These efforts have led to numerous prosecutions. Using
the Crosscheck data, in 2008 and 2010, Kansas referred
fourteen instances of double voting for prosecution, and
Colorado indicted or referred to the FBI ten instances
of double voting. See Kris W. Kobach, Presentation on
Interstate Voter Registration Crosscheck Program to
Nat’l Ass’n of State Election Directors (Jan. 26, 2013),

goo.gl//FQwRvQ.

Similarly, the Heritage Foundation has identified 938
recent criminal convictions for voter fraud in the United
States—many involving false registrations and double
voting. See Heritage Found., A Sampling of Election
Fraud Cases from Across the Country (last updated
July 2017), https://goo.gl/yNoVdY. Numerous convictions
involve individuals who voted in more than one state. For
example, Regina Beaupre pleaded guilty in 2015 to voting
in the same election in both Arizona and in Michigan. Jd.
at 15. James and Karen Marshall voted in both Arizona
and Kansas in 2008. Jd. at 21. Michael Hannum pleaded
guilty to voting in Nebraska and Kansas in 2012. /d. at 127.
Ron Weems pleaded guilty to voting in both Colorado and
Kansas in the 2012 and 2014 elections. Jd. at 128. Steven
Gaedtke was convicted of voting in both Arkansas and
Kansas in 2010. Jd. at 129. Wendy Rosen (a candidate for
Congress in Maryland) pleaded guilty to voting in both
Florida and Maryland in 2010. Jd. at 148. Pasco Parker
admitted to voting in Florida, North Carolina, and
Tennessee in the 2012 general election. Jd. at 267.

Other individuals were convicted of voting twice
in different parts of the same state. In Arizona, eight
individuals—David Culberson, Adam Hallin, John
Hamrick, Gerald Sack, Steven Streeter, Jay Thompson,

20

Franklin Turner, and Jeffery Hitchcock—pleaded guilty
to attempted double voting in the 2012 general election.
Id. at 11-15. In New Hampshire, Derek Castonguay
pleaded guilty to voting in Salem and Windham in the
2014 election. Jd. at 242. In Wisconsin, Todd Murray was
convicted of voting in both New Berlin and West Allis in
the 2012 election. Jd. at 362.

Still other individuals cast ballots on behalf of deceased
relatives who were not removed from state voter rolls. In
California, Mark Evans cast a ballot in the name of his
deceased father-in-law. /d. at 25. In Oregon, Lafayette
Keaton pleaded guilty to casting multiple ballots using
his deceased son’s and brother’s identities. Jd. at 291.

The Government Accountability Institute (“GAI”)
also has identified numerous potential duplicate voters.
See America The Vulnerable: The Problem of Duplicate
Voting, Government Accountability Institute (2017),
https://goo.gl/Mmgqké6d. The GAI obtained and compared
voter history and registration data from 21 states,
representing 17 percent of the possible state-to-state
comparison combinations. /d. at 2-3. The comparison
included names, birthdates, and social security numbers.
Id. at 3. It found 8,471 “highly likely” duplicate voters
in the 2016 election—individuals who illegally voted in
more than one state. Jd. GAI estimated that extending
its very conservative matching method to include all 50
states would indicate an expected minimum of 45,000
high-confidence duplicate voters. /d. at 3. The Institute
also identified more than 15,000 voters registered at
prohibited addresses including “post office boxes, UPS

stores, federal post offices, and public buildings.” /d. In one
case, it found more than 100 voters registered at the same

21

UPS store and it found other voters whose registered
home addresses matched the addresses of gas stations,
vacant lots, abandoned mill buildings, basketball courts,
parks, warehouses, and office buildings. Jd. at 18-19.

Accurate voter rolls are vital in the effort to combat
voter fraud. Bloated rolls “create[] a potential for people
to fraudulently vote under the names of these illegally
registered individuals.” U.S. Comm’n on Civil Rights,
supra, at 12 (executive summary of Coates’s testimony).
Efforts like Ohio’s Supplemental Process not only comply
with the NVRA; they are essential to achieving its

purposes.
CONCLUSION

For all these reasons, this Court should reverse the
Sixth Circuit’s decision.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM S. Consovoy
Counsel of Record

J. MICHAEL CONNOLLY

Consovoy McCartuy Park PLLC

GEORGE Mason UNIVERSITY

ANTONIN SCALIA LAw SCHOOL
SUPREME Court CLINIC

3033 Wilson Blvd., Suite 700

Arlington, VA 22201

(703) 243-9423

will@consovoymecarthy.com

August 7, 2017 Counsel for Amici Curiae

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX — GRID OF POTENTIAL DUPLICATE
REGISTRANTS WITHIN STATES BY DOB

([FOLDOUT]

— DOR Lenhart Vem
baal ~ me be
~ & = — 7.
~ oot) wee] om ar aM co Ga © nu i] “ «s ny uw - we - “ wo 7 ~ we wc om on tc | so ™ va w~
— +
of ‘ “ ty #308) LBA a9 ‘ee 22) Hh OF ' Ors 10707 osg sesy) 1 8H 1 a6) ee Me soe) bid An! We
+ —++>——- = — - ~ ~ —_}+—_—$4
“4 ° “om 4 4 » am) jee pail 20) eer 5 oy, s028 2 4 iA i a. | me, 2 2] jaeee) 6.109 13 Sd eee al. 2060 tes
"a ” a. a oe « s our oo & ima 4 tor, eon 1 “‘soe) 61473) = (8877 s s 2 ’ omy) ‘©
3 i 4 2 VALOR. Mel. Me » “ Lt Moe. ML Me p) 2" 15807) ear? oo ol.
¢ far 0 —— Se . oo “ 2 OUR ee | aL Le a0 | u RU m2 Lo Be 2S £™
| weq ¢ e 4 od = 2 2 1 § -— 2 a 24 ‘ oe Co
conte = 4h oa} , am USL Go “ ' rie) oe 2620 11907) 94 ‘ie sas srg ‘ 45,2" Lote & sen Aeat) tesa sary
}_ semana) _ 3 god 2290) 200s neve] 20 80) 0.337] 177i] gave) ee ee ee
a) = ‘ ' as ayy awe het iz a0 U Ch) el Ml i. OA) CD a a, s a“) 3
' 100, % a7 CL a ’ 4 ‘ 1 1 Bd Me ee s 4m20 51) ana ‘we a”
T T
197) 2 s esa 1120) 8317, SOte 0397, 28 2 nem 3° 4 ‘ le ere 8 rors a ' a “7 2.008 wen ” J
a — ——> — > ——— —— —~ ——+-————F b— ~ -
2 = ae oe ae a ‘ sae) ' ‘ Co a a ee) ”
2 d a 4 2 _ sé 3008 2 te Ld 2 wa ” s Ce, ed) hee sil aart
“a fava) a j Crh " Lh a ‘0 hk Ms oo a a ' U ie “ '
q lL i 2 bid ® i. lt Ls) *. 4 sary s "Wy 2008) 62m) toni) Saqer) Auer fy wid 1) “ae
aw ™ 9M 2 ‘s] wos] Se of aei7) ahi be U 1 M 62 neg ? 1 ay oss) 2 4 a - 1 4 arm lt
| nu, 4 se Nog Gea °° * ” “- $2 6 19 eon wr soo u WwW s ’ ALA) ML! A! . omy tm * o” le
- -— . a ee os
= 3 L en es thi is end 2 his Mo. m Z 4 t ™ aaj + —__ ye0y ._§ ie] ad
Lo. n Ck Mek ds Lc) aL 1 ch. i 2 i) ’ “ a ‘ 24% Ce ee a
a 1" tana) ” | ay * 3 a a. ee an) te ? 2 paey wi ts eau cu
u ‘a 52550) = 14617) “na ee ” o ' m2) ae Le s207| ‘se0)) 27, om 62 ‘= 6% »* se 00. vee 1819] aes, 7482) 12.95)
+ peel a. LL : A — —_
7 a Mt Ma CL Be A a ps) 82 @soy) say) zor) ot 2 544] 2080), 800) 17978) 20754) 20
re
a * 20 » swe cl. ol. oe os a wy ser] 202) 84m) f ) awa oS som ae ‘ ut
” ® ¢ 2 . Y rere) rarvg re) _ 12) 15.8 2 > ’ hn i. Me 1 2 b] ‘ol. moet ao < oa 2 %
oe. | “ : ‘ a) i — Oil. oe Bee ee 6 Lo. a
0 “ 9 ae 1) ew oor) Tar) 47 ep ‘eee8) wen? aq ee Me be Ro) 77 ” um 6 we 6 LZ) 2 a”
: Shean ha / ‘ + ad — —— 8 -
* . a sm a] Ger ‘1 <e ' = 14.908 “ on! % ch. a) 5 ‘ rasa! 207 ser we Do “a
- u = . . e —— we
») ra So ang 66 23 . 2 4 oer oo 6 uve =: aw y Py ms 45) 2m) 0 soe ™m i390 *s%

Pet ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ae ae

Letes ra)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0728%3A24. Public record. Not legal advice.
