# Amicus Curiae Brief — Oil States Energy Servs., LLC v. Greene's Energy Grp., LLC, 138 S. Ct. 350 (2017) (No. 16-712)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0724%3A46

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

AO

No. 16-712 FILED |
<< AUG 31.2017 |

eRe COURT OS.
; ALUS. |
Iu The PREM

Supreme Court of the United States

+

OIL STATES ENERGY SERVICES, LLC,

Petitioner,

Vv.

GREENE’S ENERGY GROUP, LLC, et al.,
Respondents.

—_--

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit

2

BRIEF OF PROFESSOR DMITRY KARSHTEDT
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

—__—_—__—_#¢

DMITRY KARSHTEDT

Counsel of Record

GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY
SCHOOL OF LAW

2000 H Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20052

dkarshtedt@law.gwu.edu

(202) 994-5725

August 31, 2017

COCKLE LEGAL BRIEFS (800) 225-6964
WWW COCKLELECALBRIEFS.COM

Laxey of Congas

.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I iscock cttccecsnsdanisecsnenciessessumanpaesnensous i
ee IIS canine sccusncnitctcriatencdeatanspundaieatcine iv
BOSONS GE AICI CONTEND onscccccecescsvciseesuicnneneesencions 1
| A AT 1
Pe ctccncsariscetndousndvniaceenniascninsseindiemiguaneasmeinion 4

I. Adjudication Of Claims of Private Rights Is
The Exclusive Province Of The Judiciary..... 4

Plo tcncteiscnsteghioanitn diecvaden tuennniemanetiddecsitinionsiiaban: 6

A. Patent Infringement Claims Sound In
Common-Law Trespass, A Private
BN achackecspahe cetemeddiiresaiteomhsansnmeascindanasbdtns 6

B. Patent Infringement Claims Kear Little
Resemblance To Causes Of Action That
Have Qualified For The Public Rights

I iicttctinnncncinsaiindacentnaetinibechdaimiaicense 9

III. Invalidity Is An Affirmative Defense To A
Claim For Patent Infringement, Which Con-
gress Has Unconstitutionally Delegated To

eT Tae Fe i iiivccntenescictiniaminceeniveceses i3

A. Invalidity Is Inextricably Tied To Claims
For Patent Infringement In District
I Sciineniemnsnmeninectenetiendeiiisincestecesesati 13

1. Invalidity, Which The IPR Statute
Empowers The PTAB To Resolve,
Can Be Charged In Patent Cases
Only If There Is Actua] Or Threat-
ened Infringement..................-...--. A

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

2. PTAB Proceedings Typically Take
Place In Parallel With Litigation.....

3. By Resolving Invalidity, The PTAB
Takes Infringement Suits Away From
Re EE RR ORT Et

B. PTO Expertise Docs Not Justify The
PTAB’s Authority To Bind Federal
Ee accccuuiakiacisthainineindacepudednandiatiadebiaenees.ta

1. Expertise Does Not Allow Agencies
To Take The Place Of Courts When
Private Rights Are At Issue .............

2. ‘The PTAB’s Role In IPRs Extends
Beyond Functions That Expert Agen-
cies Have Traditionally Been Permit-
I i cecceciteniosicnsin

3. The Statutory Scheme At Issue Breaks
With The Historical Practice Of De

C. The PTAB’s Invalidity Determinations
Are Not Collateral, But Central, To In-
fringement Suits, And Are Designed To
Preempt District Court Adjudication Of
The Same Questions.....................-:20000+

IV. The IPR Statute Offends The Principle Of
Separation Of Powers By Allowing An
Agency To Direct A Court How To Decide A
I IIE <.ccosecnsoseaecieuesgaremcaciusonnneneseneee

19

21

21

24

27

29

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS —- Continued
Page

A. PTAB Determinations Of Invalidity Func-
tion As “Rules of Decision” That End
I I inieccccakvusoscstentoniiehabeccoisatons 31

B. Rather Than Amend Applicable Law,
The IPR Statute Delegates To The PTAB
The Power To Pick Winners And Losers
Ne SE OI tleicccusinscitsainiadinesvesdstianhanien 32

V. Adjudication Of Cases Involving Private
Rights In Article III Courts Effectuates The
Values Protected By The Doctrine Of Sepa-
Ie ID ictertavccenssshensedvanbepesdeenttinvaesas 34

ee 36

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES
Arris Grp., Inc. v. British Telecomme’ns PLC, 639

Fe ee Ts EE SE OP nkvibnndscicasnnrwviscddscnccnndassecens 14
B & B Hardware, Inc. v. Hargis Indus., Inc., 135

RE EER yea SA te ean SEES Ne ae vee 25
Bank Markazi v. Peterson, 136 S. Ct. 1310

STREET Pe LARA Ae ies Co REE, Dee 32, 33, 34
Biook wu Birehk, 366 UB. 196 (IGE) ..0s.0000seccckcccsess.0.00: 10
Brown v. Kendall, 60 Mass. 292 (1850)..............:cceeseees 6
Butterworth v. United States ex rel. Hoe, 112 U.S.

RAE RARE Se Rg ESN DDD AIRE Re Gd 8a ME» 27
Carbice Corp. v. Am. Patents Dev. Corp., 283 U.S.

og: SRR BORGES, 6 BAS vee Eh ee lee SELES: 8
Cardinal Chem. Co. v. Morton Int'l, Inc., 508 U.S.

i 13
Ctr. for Sci. in the Pub. Interest v. Regan, 727 F.2d

Fe Geis CE BOND vriiseedcececascntdnses SEE So 29
Clark v. Time Warner Cable, 523 F.3d 1110 (9th

8 Re SI SOE SPEND Sd Rar ect Re A Oe 24
Commil USA, LLC v. Cisco Sys., Inc., 135 8. Ct.

| EL ea alee Sasa Be tation REN AS SE Mi 13
Commodity Futures Trading Comm’n v. Schor,

ee He Eo riericsadioscctieacccnsnedadsabauiaens 12, 21, 22

Consumer Watchdog v. Wis. Alumni Research
Found. , 753 F.3d 1258 (Fed. Cir. 2014), cert. de-
OC, See Ts Ce A CD acts cnsnecsetecercscscnensssnisnes 15

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Continental Paper Bag Co. v. Eastern Paper Bag
i eee HR EE III osc catigdccgacaccunpececssessiusntsimensy cans 8

Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22 (1932) ...4, 11, 13, 20, 26
Cuozzo Speed Techs., LLC v. Lee, 1386S. Ct. 2131

i ctsicinnsedycsnsdodipmnnntgsesvectinnaiutgipnste 15, 16, 22, 30
Dickinson v. Zurko, 527 U.S. 150 (1999)..................... 27
Dowagtiac Mfg. Co. v. Minn. Moline Plow Co., 235

EE NE IIE vec nisschaxuvcdvauieederindsateephibiecateckapedesesns vies 8
Envtl. Processing Sys., L.C. v. FPL Farming Ltd.,

ABT Te. Wee GEG CH, BORG oi ncccecescccnscvesssscccseccssssecees 20

ePlus, Inc. v. Lawson Software, Inc., 789 F.3d
1349 (Fed. Cir. 2015), cert. denied, 136 S. Ct.

IIIS isvtnsssihigitiacateceeersstsbomedpiaieoumnenineieaies 18
ePlus, Inc. v. Lawson Software, Inc., 790 F.3d

1507 (Ped. Cir, 2016) CeO.) ...0c00ccsccccccccccccesese. 18, 25
Ex Parte Bakelite Corp., 279 U.S. 438 (1929)............. 11
Executive Benefits Ins. Ag’cy v. Arkison, 134

ee EEE cinictdcnd ics sianceckarsicpeitshesnehiniesinbesstacee 28

Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int'l, Inc., 721 F.3d
1330 (Fed. Cir. 2013), cert. denied, 134 S. Ct.
|: RESP Sree aire mY Hot setae, See 14, 18, 19, 30

Graham v. Goodcell, 282 U.S, 409 (1931)... 22

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 492 U.S. 33
a ie a ee, a eagandgonaadeaas 4,12

vi

TABLE OF AUTTIORITIES — Continued

Page
Greene’s Energy Grp., LLC v. Oil States Energy

Servs., LLC, Case IPR2014-00216, 2015 WL

2089371 (Patent Tr. & App. Bd. May 1, 2015),

aff'd, 639 Fed. App’x 639 (Fed. Cir. 2016)

nc ci tatesapeunndbiandaaabpepsbauietcainante 17
In re Baxter Int'l, Inc., 678 F.3d 1357 (Fed. Cir.

SEES ae Ea an SOE ante eee eR 19, 26
Kappos v. Hyatt, 132 S. Ct. 1690 (2012)............... 21, 27
Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,517 US.

ih 6 aaiaeueaniedamcanicitaneines 6
McCormick Harvesting Mach. Co. v. C. Aultman

ee A Ce OI ecenicrecessncinincossonsensesececeseee 20
MCM Portfolio LLC v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 812

F.3d 1284 (Fed. Cir. 2015), cert. denied, 137

SEE III nos tecsadesouaeuinnsncetasiccnnsatandiecenent veined 5, 21
MedIimmune, Inc. v. Genentech, Inc., 549 U.S. 118

SRR RSS SR RE a ae ee Ree 14

Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361 (1989) .........34

Murray’s Lessee v. Hoboken Land & Improve-
ment Co., 59 U.S. (18 How.) 272 (1855).....4, 9, 10, 11

Muskrat v. United States, 219 U.S. 346 (1911).......... 36

N. Pipeline Constr. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line
Ca., 458 U.S. 50 (1962) ...........ccccrccceesssccceerenrees 4, 5, 34

Oil States Energy Servs., LLC v. Trojan Wellhead
Protection, Inc. and Greene’s Energy Grp., LLC,
No. 6:12-cv-00611-RWS, 2014 WL 12360946
Ee See, cE Is TINIE Srrnripncicrcinsancuceustsovnenecsersuneaes 17

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITLES — Continued

Page
Organic Seed Growers & Trade Ass’n v. Mon-
santo Co., 718 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013), cert.
OREO, SIG Ge Ce. Be CD eve csacanesvvncccenseesscesesees 14
Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 US. 211
Precision Instrument Mfg. Co. v. Auto. Maint.
Mack. Co. ; SB4 UG. GEG CABG) ......ncevercsscccccccscsssesss 22
Reiter v. Cooper, 507 U.S. 258 (1993)..............cceeseeceees 24
Robertson v. Seattle Audubon Soc., 503 U.S. 429
0 lie tad tl sate eet cE NE: SOUS RE eS 31
Stein v. Goddard, 22 F. Cas. 1233 (C.C.D. Cal.
ERIE TT a eS eee ee tee 8
Stern v. Marshall, 564 U.S. 462 (2011)............... passim
St. Joseph Stockyards Co. v. United States, 298
A a ca eta pnansinennien 10
Tandon Corp. v. U.S. Int'l Trade Comm'n, 831
pe 8 oy gi Re % | eee 25
Theodore Roosevelt Conservation P’ship v. Sala-
Br, SE Fae ee Cakes GR DEED scoscnccccsinccestsssscncsss 29
Thomas v. Union Carbide Agric. Prods. Co., 473
I es cal 4,5,9, 10
Thomson-Houston Elec. Co. v. Ohio Brass Co., 80
6, . ___, Re RRR SSS eet ES meee 8

Translogic Tech., Inc. v. Hitachi, Lid., 250 Fed.
App’x 988 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 555 U.S.

Vill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Troy v. Samson Mfg. Corp., 758 F.3d 1322 (Fed.
IIE Tia ta hears cab tli cenidcedeaeehiaiiiiatenasecdaeimaliahepemeennsonaion 28

Ultratec, Inc. v. CaptionCall, LLC, Nos. 2016-
1708, 2016-1709, 2016-1715, 2017 WL 3687453

CI Ss NE IG, SITE OP occscstnchesecnics-cseccodiicsvunsatetnocesessd 30
Union Sugar Refinery v. Mathiesson, 24 F. Cas.

686 (C.C.D. Mass. 1865) (No. 14,399) ........0.... 7
United States v. Klein, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 128

aD rat RE ESE LFS PRIUS ie Seat ed OE 31, 32
United States v. Sioux Nation, 448 US. 371

SREP RID Brot ean OSS SSA Siva ee etd ore eee em 31, 32
Wellness Int'l Network, Ltd. v. Sharif, 135 S. Ct.

PE I cigs shaadanita cits crnadaabetbinrsselseanmeiicetunseedietunhas 12

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

HN I acecatesscsectsdiicscedmncceteopn-aiennecsocepeseened passim
STATUTES

Be I in centers cenineecnnemndiacmecvelcatuiadmnbeninenssiniinsanies 23
BE OI ais cncddacenyaivunnuoenangalnavastneyeelsadidenniaareseion 17
I sip tienen siemanisucncsaimdditeenennaiinciniorentussieclnsiianeiie 27
Be Ns Ot I aaa iid scicrninivenininmaenencasiibanemcnnetogs 27, 28
RR a pene eee MEN PRS SLE 28
a aa ict nosinatoncatasep Uiritpricnideeiecdiialeedeaietinpianientsaianisail 28

Be Ne OF A Seecteek cerned denis deeninetingetchoccncaunniideidinelanen 6

1x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
es I Abid ccccaduihninaes onedotasansenunbeeniiiasesiinbcensnandegl 6
Ee i iteriicrccnitanidindadnbsanmianswdtemreinauiatouaes 13, 16
Be ee I aietrcvtsciccsoeoietenstanterirreninerpiss 15, 16, 23, 30
BN IIT IES nr scaccniniee tpt aceeasineniie naan helices amipegeaieneaelia 16
Be Pe I oid iccaiehccenesinisindncdeksindesosslensticinienaetaseneuberesteomses 15
Be RN I a sn.cncatoetnahdirevieneiteniip eahinaesimecumoeaneabenenain 10
Act of Apr. 10, 1790, 1 Stat. 109 (1790)........0000.0.. 6, 22
Act of Feb. 21, 1793, 1 Stat. 318 (17993)..................e000+. 7
Act of July 8, 1870, 16 Stat. 198 (1870) ............0.......... 6
Act of July 19, 1952, 66 Stat. 792 (1952) ..........0.00... 28
Title 35, United States Code Annotated (1954
ee I NED sai dcicidnaenensrecccomescensiccescnienes 28
TREATISES

A. LaLonde, Gilson on Trademarks (2014)................25

William C. Robinson, The Law of Patents for
EP UMUC EIN sic sibetticsinennhcadneverencactesaes 7

Arthur Underhill et al., Principles of the Law of
Torts; or, Wrongs Independent of Contract 612
(1st American ed. from 2d English ed., Albany,
William Gould & Son 1881)....................cceeeeeeeeeee eee 7

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

OTHER AUTIIORITIES

Ralph Brubaker, Non-Article Ill Adjudication:
Bankruptcy and Nonbankruptcy, With and
Without Litigant Consent, 33 Emory Bankr.

I oi i eT Oa oe

Complaint, Oil States Energy Servs., LLC v. Tro-
jan Wellhead Protection, Inc. and Greene’s En-
ergy Grp., LLC, No. 6:12-cv-00611-RWS (E.D.

Pe ls ANT I occidibttidatctctenctcintinsubdsaanssodee

Dennis Crouch, RIM v. NTP Continues to Trou-
ble Patent Office, Patently-O, https://patentlyo.
com/patent/2008/05/rim-v-ntp-conti.html (May

ayn che RCRA EO SF MOAB 90 SSS 2

Frank H. Easterbrook, Presidential Review, 40

Case W. Res. L. Rev. 905 (1989) ......0.......0. ee.

Richard H. Fallon, Jr., Of Legislative Courts,
Administrative Agencies, and Article lif, 101

ee in, Se I ico kaa ticsnlusss Shueceaates

P.J. Federico, Commentary on the New Patent
Act, 75 J. Pat. & Trademark Off. Soc’y 161

Catherine Fredenburgh, Reading the Bilack-
Berry Tea Leaves, Law360, https:/Awww.law360.

com/articles/5509 (Mar. 1, 2006)........................

Paul R. Gugliuzza, (njvalid Patents, 92 Notre

NS Sn, SNS GE te MII caccsicecricdasinceninchesnanaonddeces

Page

ine

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

Mark D. Janis, Rethinking Reexamination: To-
ward a Viable Administrative Revocation Sys-
tem for U.S. Patent Law, 11 Harv. J. L. & Tech.
PITT at scntscccapinndidipadndataenninaninampdansincdegibannsrncsinie’s 22

Joint Stipulation of Dismissal, elcommerce.com
v. SAP AG, 745 F.3d 490 (Fed. Cir.), vacated,
564 Fed. App’x 599 (Fed, Cir. 2014) (en banc)
RS Oo caaumamaceantebids 26

Amy L. Magas, Comment, When Politics Inter-
fere with Patent Reexamination, 4 J. Marshall
Rev. Intell. Prop. L. 160 (2004).............000.... 34, 35, 36

Adam Mossoff, Who Cares What Thomas Jeffer-
son Thought About Patents? Reevaluatiny the
Patent “Privilege” in Historical Context, 92

SIE Bas SNe SP INET oricrncicscnsscescecpetnecesesessenécesones 8
Caleb Nelson, Adjudication in the Political

Branches, 107 Colum. L. Rev. 559 (2007)......... 11,12
Peggy P. Ni, Rethinking Finality in the PTAB

Age, 31 Berkeley Tech. L.J. 557 (2016) ..........0000..., 19

Kevin E. Noonan, What the Director’s Letter Did
Not Say, Patent Docs, http:/Avww.patentdocs.org/

2008/06/what-the-direct.html (June 15, 2008)............ 35
Note, “Moot” Administrative Orders, 53 Harv. L.
atten PIE a TPT GRE RSS ew SEE ao PD ST 29

Lynda J. Oswald, The “Strict Liability” of Direct
Patent Infringement, 19 Vand. J. Ent. & Tech.
Re at See. EARN IR Sh NS aera eer 6

Restatement (Second) of Judgmenis (1980)............... 25

x1
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Sidney A. Shapiro, Abstention and Primary Ju-
risdiction: Two Chips Off the Same Block - a
Comparative Analysis, 60 Cornell L. Rev. 75
(RIPPED. snscaicccconnscsenes tvessssesesesdscideshunadimmapammianaaani 24

Saurabh Vishnubhakat et al., Strategic Deci-
sionmaking in Dual PTAB and District Court
Proceedings, 31 Berkeley Tech. L.J. 45 (2016) .......17

lL

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Amicus is a full-time law professor who has pub-
lished several articles exploring the relationship be-
tween patent law and tort law. This brief describes the
historic connection betwee patent infringement and
common-law trespass, and addresses the bearing of
this connection on the question presented.’

°

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Petitioner Oil States Energy Services sued respon-
dent Greene’s Energy Group in a district court on sev-
eral counts, including patent infringement. Greene’s
then petitioned the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
(PTO) to challenge the validity of the patent claims as-
serted in the litigation. The PTO cancelled the claims,
and the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit sum-
marily affirmed that determination. Had this Court
not granted certiorari, the petitioner’s patent infringe
ment cause of action would have been extinguished by
the PTO’s decision.

The error made by the Federal Circuit in the opin-
ions that bound the court in the instant case, and re-
peated by respondents in certiorari briefing, lies in the
attempt to classify patents as either public or private

' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in
part and no counsel or a party made a monetary contribution in-
tended to fund the preparation or submission of this brief. The
parties have all consented to this filing, and the consents are on
file with the Clerk.

2

rights in a categorical manner ~ that is, in isolation
from any particular cause of action. This framing is im-
proper because, under this Court’s precedents, the
question whether a case involves a private right that
must be adjudicated by an Article III tribunal relates
to a particular legal action or claim, not the underlying
privilege or property interest. Under the correct ap-
proach, which takes into account the context in which
the PTO makes its invalidity decisions, the Inter Partes
Review (IPR) statute at issue in this case should be
held unconstitutional because it empowers an agency
to resolve a claim of private right: an action for patent
infringement.

The cause of action for patent infringement is a
private right because it has long been recognized as a
species of trespass claim by which the plaintiff typi-
cally seeks, among other remedies, monetary relief for
past harm from another private party. Because of its
historic characterization as a trespass, infringement
has a close kinship to common-law claims that this
Court has recognized as private rights that cannot be
adjudicated outside Article III courts.

Invalidity is one of several, enumerated affirma-
tive defenses that a defendant in a patent case may
plead in response to an allegation of patent infringe-
ment. The IPR statute effectively removes this affirm-
ative defense to infringement from Article III courts,
and empowers the Patent Trial and Appeal Board
(PTAB), an arm of the PTO, to decide it. In many cases,
including one involving these very litigants, a deter-
mination of invalidity by the PTAB has extinguished

3

parallel district court actions for patent infringement.
This delegation of judicial power over such causes of
action to a body that is not a part of the judiciary, and
not an adjunct to an Article III court, is constitution-
ally forbidden by this Court’s precedents.

The IPR statute offends the doctrine of separation
of powers for another, closely related reason: It effec-
tively grants to the PTAB the power to direct that
pending cases be dismissed. Although Congress can
constitutionally abate extant claims by amending ap-
plicable law while the litigation is pending, Congress
in this case delegated to an agency the power to extin-
guish a claim by adjudicating an affirmative defense
in favor of a defendant. Because the PTAB here fully
resolved a claim concurrently pending in a district
court, it violated the rule that coordinate branches can-
not direct Article III courts to dispose of specific cases
in a particular way.

The doctrine of separation of powers exists in part
to prevent abuses that might eventuate if claims of pri-
vate rights are adjudicated outside Article LII courts.
By empowering the Executive Branch to resolve such
disputes in the patent infringement context, the IPR
statute weakens Article III safeguards of impartial ad-
judication, and therefore contravenes separation of
powers principles.

4

ARGUMENT

I. Adjudication Of Claims Of Private Rights Is
The Exclusive Province Of The Judiciary.

Article 0] requires that claims of private rights be
adjudicated in Article III courts. Stern v. Marshall, 564
U.S. 462, 488-92 (2011) (collecting cases). As this Court
explained, a “private right” is one that implicates “the
liability of one individual to another under the law as
defined.” Jd. at 489 (quoting Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S.
22, 50, 51 (1932)). Although this Court allowed certain
claims involving private parties to be adjudicated by
specialized tribunals, e.g, Thomas v. Union Carbide
Agric. Prods. Co., 473 U.S. 568 (1985), claims sounding
in common law are core private rights that have his-
torically been, and must continue to be, resolved in
Article III courts. Stern, 564 U.S. at 497-99 (tortious
interference claims must be adjudicated in an Article
III court); Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 492 US.
33, 438-46 (1989) (same for fraudulent conveyance);
N. Pipeline Constr. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458
U.S. 50, 71-72 (1982) (plurality op.) (same for breach of
contract).

In opposing certiorari, neither respondent dis-
putes that claims of private rights must be adjudicated
in the Judicial Branch. Rather, both contend that the
PTAB adjudications at issue in this case fall under the
“public rights” exception to this requirement because
patent rights are granted by the government. Greene’s
BIO at 6-7 (citing Murray’s Lessee v. Hoboken Land &
Improvement Co., 59 U.S. (18 How.) 272, 284 (1855);

5

Thomas, 473 U.S. at 587); Fed. BIO at 8-9. In so doing,
respondents repeat the error of the Federal Circuit in
MCM Portfolio LLC uv, Hewlett-Packard Co., 812 F.3d
1284 (2015), cert. denied, 137 S. Ct. 292 (2016), by
imagining that the PTAB’s patent invalidation deci-
sions exist in isolation from infringement litigation.
Respondents and the Federal! Circuit overlook the fact
that, in both structure and practice, the IPR statute
charges the PTAB with deciding important, often dis-
positive questions in cases involving private rights.

In contrast, petitioner correctly notes that “patent
infringement cases — complete with invalidity defenses
— were ‘traditional actions at common law’ and there-
fore ‘the responsibility for deciding that [type of] suit
rests,’ if not with juries then at a minimum, ‘with Arti-
cle III judges in Article III courts.’” Petition for a Writ
of Certiorari at 19 (alteration in original) (emphasis
added) (quoting Stern, 564 U.S. at 498 (quoting N. Pipe-
line, 458 U.S. at 90 (Rehnquist, J., concurring in the judg-
ment))). Under petitioner’s proper framing of the Article
III question, the IPR statute creates a fatal separation
of powers problem because it enables an agency to
usurp the exclusive power of the judiciary to adjudi-
cate claims of private rights.

6

li. Patent Infringement Is A Claim Of Private
Right.

A. Patent Infringement Claims Sound In
Common-Law Trespass, A Private Right.

A suit for patent infringement involves the de-
termination of one party’s liability to another, see 35
U.S.C. §§ 271, 281 (2012), and patent infringement
claims have long been the province of the judiciary. Pa-
tent disputes, including validity challenges as defenses
to claims of infringement, have been heard in courts
since the first federal patent laws, see Act of Apr. 10,
1790, ch. 7, §§ 4-5, 1 Stat. 109, 111 (1790), and one can
easily trace the “descent of today’s patent infringement
action from the infringement actions tried at law in the
18th century.” Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,
517 US. 370, 377 (1996).

Patent law has a historic kinship to common-law
trespass, both in the sense of writs of trespass and tres-
pass on the case that constitute the foundation for
modern tort law, see Brown v. Kendall, 60 Mass. 292,
295 (1850), and of the property torts of the same name.
“Trespass, and the role of writs as the basis for tres-
pass actions, played a key role in early understandings
of patent infringement liability.” Lynda J. Oswald, The
“Strict Liability” of Direct Patent Infringement, 19
Vand. J. Ent. & Tech. L.. 993, 1000 (2017). This connec-
tion is not merely a similarity, but a substantive link
that has done real work in the law of patents. For ex-
ample, the 1870 Patent Act stated that “damages for
the infringement of any patent may be recovered by
action on the case.” Act of July 8, 1870, ch. 230, § 59, 16

7

Stat. 198, 207 (1870) (emphasis added); see 3 William
C. Robinson, The Law of Patents for Useful Inventions
§ 992, at 203 (1890) (comparing pleadings in patent
cases to those “in other common-law actions”); id.
§ 1082, at 392 (noting that “[t]he acts of Congress, prior
to 1819, made no provision for any suit in equity by the
owner of the patent .. . in connection with his action
jor damages at common law”) (emphasis added).”

Reflecting these common-law roots, examples of
treatment of patent infringement as trespass abound.
A nineteenth-century treatise classified patent in-
fringement as a species of “particular torts,” explaining
that “infringement... is a wrongful act, in the nature
of a trespass,” and noting that “of course the defendant
in any such action or suit may plead the invalidity of
the patent.” Arthur Underhill et al., Principles of the
Law of Torts; or, Wrongs Independent of Contract 612,
652, 653 (1st American ed. from 2d English ed., Albany,
William Gould & Son 1881) (quoting Union Sugar Re-
finery v. Mathiesson, 24 F. Cas. 686, 689 (C.C.D. Mass.
1865) (No. 14,399) (Clifford, Circuit Justice) (charging
the jury)). An 1856 circuit court decision explained that
“(tlhe infringement of a patent is a tort; but as the

2 In contrast to the 1870 Act, the Patent Act of 1793 referred
to “trespass on the case founded on this act.” Act of Feb. 21, 1793,
ch. 11, § 5, 1 Stat. 318, 322 (1793) (emphasis added). Understood
in conjunction with the Robinson treatise, this additional lan-
guage must refer to the statutory source of the property right that
the common-law writ of trespass un the case was meant to vindi-
cate. In addition, as the absence of the “founded on this act” phase
in the parallel provision of the 1870 Act confirms, a plaintiff’s
ability to enforce its patent did not turn on that language.

8

wrongful act is not committed with direct force, and
the injury is the indirect effect of the wrongful act of
the defendant, the form of action is that description of
tort called ‘trespass on the case.’” Stein v. Goddard, 22
F. Cas. 1233 (C.C.D. Cal. 1856) (No. 13,353); see also
Thomson-Houston Elec. Co. v. Ohio Brass Co., 80 F. 712,
721 (6th Cir. 1897) (“An infringement of a patent is a
tort analogous to trespass or trespass on the case.”).
These are but a few examples; a large number of ninc-
teenth-century cases describe infringement as a spe-
cies of trespass. See Adam Mossoff, Who Cares What
Thomas Jefferson Thought About Patents? Reevaluat-
ing the Patent “Privilege” in Historical Context, 92 Cor-
nell L. Rev. 953, 993 & n.192 (2007) (collecting cases).

Consistent with this history, this Court has long
discussed patent infringement in trespassory terms.
For example, in Continental Paper Bag Co. v. Eastern
Paper Bag Co., the Court referred to remedies for
patent infringement as “reparation for the trespass.”
210 US. 405, 430 (1908). [n Carbice Corp. v. American
Patents Development Corp., the Court stated that
“(ilnfringement, whether direct or contributory, is es-
sentially a tort, and implies invasion of some right of
the patentee.” 283 U.S. 27, 33 (1931); see also Dowagiac
Mfg. Co. v. Minn. Moline Plow Co., 235 U.S. 641, 648
(1915) (“ITlhe exclusive right conferred by the patent
was property and the infringement was a tortious tak-
ing of a part of that property. . . .”). Thus, although pa-
tents are granted by an agency created by Congress,
the infringement cause of action is closely linked to ac-
tions at common law. Patent infringement is a claim to

9

vindicate a property right by an action deriving from
the writ of trespass, and is the patent counterpart of
the trespassory property torts.

Once this connection to common-law trespass is
recognized, the die is cast: This Court has never sug-
gested that one private party’s claim of trespass
against another could be adjudicated within the Exec-
utive Branch. To the contrary, the Court in Murray’s
Lessee made clear that “we do not consider congress
can either withdraw from judicial cognizance any mat-
ter which, from its nature, is the subject of a suit at the

common law, or in equity, or admiralty.” 59 U.S. (18
How.) at 284.

B. Patent Infringement Claims Bear Little
Resemblance To Causes Of Action That
Have Qualified For The Public Rights
Exception.

The close relationship between claims of patent in-
fringement and claims of trespass comes into focus
when infringement is contrasted with causes of action
that have qualified for the public rights exception. For
example, claims for compensation under the Federal
Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA),
see Thomas, 473 U.S. at 582-83, lack connection in form
or history to claims known to common law. Unlike the
Patent Act, FIFRA is a modern regulatory statute that
implemented “an essentially Icgislative function” of
“ratemaking,” which Congress accomplished by au-
thorizing subsidies for firms that submitted research

10

data to the federal government via a system that “per-
mits the parties to fix the amount of compensation,
with binding arbitration to resolve intractable dis-
putes.” Jd. at 590 (citing St. Joseph Stockyards Co. v.
United States, 298 U.S. 38, 49-53 (1936)). Similarly, in
upholding a commission’s power to set reasonable
rents and regulate rights of landlords vis a vis holdover
tenants, this Court observed that “if public interest be
established the regulation of rates is one of the first
forms in which it is asserted... .” Block v. Hirsh, 256
U.S. 135, 157 (1921) (cited in Thomas, 473 U.S. at 589).
Indeed, the government has numerous statutory com-
pensation schemes — the Social Security system, for ex-
ample —that are just as far removed from common law
causes of action as they are from a claim of patent in-
fringement. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (2015) (providing for
deferential judicial review of the decisions of the Com-
missioner of Social Security).

As another cxample, the Treasury Department’s
issuance of a distress warrant to recover property pur-
chased with federal funds embezzled by a customs of-
ficer also lacked any antecedent private cause of action
under the common law. See Murray’s Lessee, 59 U.S. at
284. This Court concluded that Article III courts were
not constitutionally required to issue such warrants
based on historical practice in England and the consti-
tutional commitment to Congress of the power to lay
and collect taxes, which Congress had authorized the
Executive Branch to bring into effect via appointment
of customs officers. Jd, at 281-82. Likewise, in Ex Parte

11

Bakelite Corp., this Court allowed the Court of Cus-
toms Appeals to adjudicate appeals of the Tariff Com-
mission’s exclusion orders after observing that this
legislative court “was created by Congress in virtue of
its power to lay and collect duties on imports and to
adopt any appropriate means of carrying that power
into execution.” 279 U.S. 438, 458 (1929). The Court ex-
plained that “[t]he full province of the [customs] court
under the act creating it is that of determining matters
arising between the Government and others in the ex-
ecutive administration and application of the customs
laws” and noted that the customs court was empow-
ered to decide “matters the determination of which
may be, and at times has been, committed exclusively
to executive officers.” Jd. Finally, as this Court in Crow-
ell observed in its discussion of Murray’s Lessee, claims
relating to immigration status and veterans benefits
would similarly be committed to Executive and Legis-
lative Branches. 285 U.S. at 51. None of these claims
resemble causes of action at common law.

As these cases illustrate, the question of whether
a right at issue is public or private turns on the nature
of the cause of action being adjudicated, not on the type
of the underlying property interest in the abstract.
Thus, while the Treasury Department could constitu-
tionally issue distress warrants with respect to land, it
could not adjudicate causes of action relating to that
same land sounding in common law, such as trespass.
Cf Caleb Nelson, Adjudication in the Political Branches,
107 Colum. L, Rev. 559, 588-89 (2007) (discussing Mur-
ray’s Lessee and concluding that “even if the traditional

12

power of taxation enabled the government tu take
authoritative actions adverse to core private rights
without any ‘judicial’ involvement, and even if the
power of cminent domain was cut from the same cloth
in some respects, these deviations from the traditional
framework were quite limited. Whatever their precise
contours, they did not spill over to the broad areas
of governmental authority that nineteenth-century
jurists grouped under the loose rubric of the ‘police
power.’”). But see Greene’s BIO at 7 (stating that “[pla-
tents are quintessential public rights” without consid-
ering the context of infringement litigation); Fed. BIO
at 9 (same). A causc of action for patent infringement,
a tort-like claim between private parties, cannot be
fairly analogized to a ratemaking, a distress warrant,
or a claim for compensation from the government, and
therefore belongs only in an Article ILI court.*

3 This Court allowed adjudication of a common-law claim,
sounding in contract, in a non-Article III tribunal in Commodity
Futures Trading Commission v. Schor, 478 US. 833 (1986). In
Schor, however, respondent consented to resolution of that claim
in the very tribunal he was complaining about, and this Court’s
later cases emphasized Schor’s consent rationale. See Wellness
Int'l Network, Ltd. v. Sharif, 135 S. Ct. 1932, 1939 (2015); Cranfi-
nanciera, 492 U.S. at 59 n.14 (“The |Schor| Court reached this con-
clusion . . .on the ground that Congress did not require investors
to avail themselves of the remedial scheme over which the Com-
mission presided. The investors could have pursued their ciaims,
atbeit less expeditiously, in federal court. By electing to use the
speedier, alternative procedures Congress had created, the Court
said, the investors waived their right to have the state-law coun-
terclaims against them adjudicated by an Article LI court.”);
Ralph Brubaker, Non-Article ITI Adjudication: Bankruptcy and
Nonbankruptcy, With and Without Litigant Consent, 33 Emory

13

Il. Invalidity Is An Affirmative Defense To A
Claim For Patent Infringement, Which Con-
gress Has Unconstitutionally Delegated To
An Agency To Resolve.

A. Invalidity Is Inextricably Tied To Claims
For Patent Infringement [n District
Courts.

1. Invalidity, Which The IPR Statute
Empowers The PTAB To Resolve,
Can Be Charged In Patent Cases Only
If There Is Actual Or Threatened In-
fringement.

Under the Patent Act, invalidity is an “affirmative
defense” to a claim for patent infringement. Commil
USA, LLC v. Cisco Sys., Inc., 135 S$. Ct. 1920, 1929
(2015); 35 U.S.C. § 282(b)(2) (2012). Accordingly, if es-
tablished, invalidity precludes the defendant’s liability
to the plaintiff in an infringement case, and so resolves
“the liability of one individual to another under the law
as defined.” Crowell, 285 U.S. at 51.

Although invalidity can also be styled as a “coun-
terclaim,” Cardinal Chem. Co. v. Morton Int'l, Inc. , 508
U.S. 83, 96 (1993), it is not a separate cause of action.
Invalidity can be asserted at the outset of a patent case

Bankr. Dev. J. 11, 39 (2016) (“[T] he Court has never upheld as con-
stitutionally valid, in the face of a clear constitutional challenge
thereto, a fina] judgment non-Article II] bankruptcy adjudication
without consent of the litigants.”) (emphasis removed). In the in-
stant case, there was no consent to PTAB adjudication. Petitioner
chose the forum of a district court to pursue its patent infringe-
ment claim.

14

only to counter a charge of infringement or as a claim
for relief under the Declaratory Judgment Act, and the
party asserting invalidity must face at least a “threat-
ened enforcement action,” i.e., a suit for infringement.
MedImmune, Inc. v. Genentech, Inc., 549 U.S. 118, 130
(2007). In the absence of “adverse legal interests” be-
tween parties arising from an actual or threatened
infringement claim, there is no case or controversy,
and a district court has no subject matter jurisdiction
over an assertion of invalidity. Jd. at 127 (citations
omitted). Invalidity defenses and counterclaims in dis-
trict courts are thus inextricably tied to claims of in-
fringement. See Organic Seed Growers & Trade Ass’n
v. Monsanto Co., 718 F.3d 1350, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2013),
cert. denied, 134 S. Ct. 901 (2014) (declaratory judg-
ment plaintiff must allege “significant, concrete steps
to conduct infringing activity”) (citation omitted); Arris
Grp., Inc. v. British Telecomme’ns PLC, 639 F.3d 1368,
1381 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (finding subject matter jurisdiction
based on an “implied assertion” that the declaratory
judgment plaintiff “was committing. . . infringement”).

The IPR statute empowers the PTAB to decide
questions of validity in an adversarial proceeding in
the shadow of a district court. The effect of patent in-
validation at the PTAB on court proceedings is that
“the patentee’s cause of action is extinguished and the
suit fails.” Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int'l, Inc., 721
F.3d 1330, 1340 (Fed. Cir. 2013), cert. denied, 134 S. Ct.

15

2295 (2014);* see also Cuozzo Speed Techs., LLC v. Lee,
136 S. Ct. 2131, 2143 (2016) (“[A]} decision to cancel a
patent normally has the same effect as a district
court’s determination of a patent’s invalidity.”). The
IPR proceeding, therefore, in operation allows the
PTAB to take the adjudication of an affirmative de-
fense to a private-right claim out of the courts and, in
so doing, vests resolution of the action for infringement
in an administrative agency.

The close connection between assertions of inva-
lidity in district courts and at the PTAB is reflected in
the IPR statute itself, which precludes IPR institution
if the potential defendant in an infringement suit “filed
a civil action challenging the validity of a claim of
the patent.” 35 U.S.C. § 315(a)(1) (2012); see also id.
§ 315(aX(2). Moreover, Congress spelled out the rela-
tionship between IPR and future infringement actions,
id. § 315(e), and provided for appellate review of the
PTAB’s decisions on the assumption that the peti-
tioner would, as a party facing an actual or potential
infringement suit, have standing to appeal the PTAB’s
confirmation of the patentability of the claims at issue,
id. §319.° Finally, a closely related statute setting

* This case dealt with another type of PTO post-issuance pro-
ceeding, but the suit-extinguishing effect of patent invalidations
during IPR is the same.

5 This statutory design raises serious Article III problems of
another kind in those rare cases in which an IPR petitioner is not
facing a threatened enforcement action. See Consumer Watchdog
v. Wis. Alumni Research Found., 753 F.3d 1258, 1262 (Fed. Cir.
2014), cert. denied, 135 S. Ct. 1401 (2015) (analyzing the prede-
cessor to the IPR statute and concluding that, given the absence

16

forth so-called “Post-Grant Review,” adopted in the
same legislation as IPR, explicitly ties PTAB actions to
assertions of invalidity defenses in district court. It
states that “[a] petitioner . .. may request to cancel as
unpatentable 1 or more claims of a patent on any
ground that could be raised under paragraph (2) or (3)
of section 282(b),” the Patent Act’s “Defenses” section.
Id. § 321(b). Although “the purpose of the [IPR] pro-
ceeding is not quite the same as the purpose of district
court litigation,” Cuozzo, 136 S. Ct. at 2144, statutory
design reveals a close tie between the two.

Thus, as a matter of Article 111 standing and stat-
utory structure, private allegations of invalidity are
inextricably linked to claims of infringement. The func-
tion of invalidity determinations is often to resolve
these claims.

2. PTAB Proceedings Typically Take
Place In Parallel With Litigation.

The connection between allegations of infringe-
ment and assertions of validity is borne out in the ex-
perience of the PTAB. The typical [PR takes place in
the shadow of a district court, thus enabling the PTAB
to moot the entire patent case by resolving the defense
of invalidity. Parallel proceedings that might lead to
such results were explicitly contemplated by Congress,
35 U.S.C. § 315, and are the norm in practice. A recent

of adversity of legal interests between patentee and petitioncr, pe-
titioner lacked Article ITI standing to appeal its PTAB loss to the

Federal Circuit).

17

empirical study found that approximately 70% of IPR
petitioners have challenged before the PTAB the same
patents that they had been accused of infringing in dis-
trict courts. Saurabh Vishnubhakat eft al., Strategic
Decisionmaking in Dual PTAB and District Court Pro-
ceedings, 31 Berkeley Tech. L.J. 45, 73 (2016) (“We find
that, overall, [Covered Business Method] and IPR
petitions are in fact predominantly assertions of the
petitioners’ own direct interests with respect to in-
fringement liability on the particular patent being
challenged.”).

The devclopments that brought the instant case
to this Court are typical and illustrative. Petitioner
Oil States sucd respondent Greene’s for patent in-
fringement in a district court and sought monetary
and injunctive relief. Complaint at 6-7, 12-13, O7/
States Energy Servs., LLC v. Trojan Wellhead Protec-
tion, Inc. and Greene’s Energy Grp., LLC, No. 6:12-cv-
00611-RWS (E.D. Tex. Sept. 10, 2012), ECF No. 1. The
trial judge construed the asserted claims and denied
Greene’s motion for summary judgment of invalidity of
the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), 2014 WL 12360946
(E.D. Tex. June 23, 2014), discovery closed, and the
date for jury trial was set, ECF No. 173 (Mar. 16, 2015).
Greene’s, however, had filed a petition for an IPR. In
an administrative ruling that was summarily affirmed
by the Federal Circuit, the PTAB invalidated the very
patent claims that Oil States had alleged Greene’s was
infringing. Greene’s Energy Grp., LLC v. Ou States
Energy Servs., LLC, Case IPR2014-00216, 2015 WL

18

2089371 (Patent Tr. & App. Bd. May 1, 2015), aff’d, 639
Fed. App’x 639 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mem.). In so doing, the
PTAB effectively resolved the infringement case in fa-
vor of Greene’s, and the patent suit would have been
fully extinguished had this Court not granted certio-
rari in this case.

Given the commonality of these parallel proceed-
ings, the prospect of conflicting decisions between the
agency and Article III courts is real. And when the
PTAB and the courts reach opposing conclusions with
respect to validity, the agency supersedes the courts.
For example, as long as the district court has issues left
to address in a case and all the appeals have not been
resolved,® the PTAB’s decision to invalidate a patent
can wipe out a judgment for past monetary damages,
even if that judgment was affirmed by the Federal Cir-
cuit in a prior opinion. Fresenius, 721 F.3d at 1340-44.
Moreover, the PTAB’s invalidity decision can undo a
judgment of contempt against an infringer for disre-
garding an injunction, as long as the injunction was
not final. ePlus, Inc. v. Lawson Software, Inc. , 789 F.3d
1349, 1356-58 (Fed. Cir. 2015), cert. denied, 136 S. Ct.
1166 (2016).’

® See Paul R. Gugliuzza, (invalid Patents, 92 Notre Dame L.
Rev. 271, 295-307 (2016) (discussing the “absolute finality” rule).

? Questioning this result, a dissent filed in ePlus explained
that the dual-track system “encourages defendants to scrap and
fight to keep underlying litigation pending in the hope that they
will fare better with the PTO and then be able to unravel the dis-
trict court judgment against them.” ePlus, Inc. v. Lawson Software,
Inc., 790 F.3d 1307, 1314 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (Moore, J., dissenting

19

3. By Resolving Invalidity, The PTAB
Takes Infringement Suits Away From
District Courts.

In creating the IPR system, Congress dissected a
cause of action that is rooted in the common law and
has long been the exclusive province of the judiciary,
and vested a particular aspect of that cause of action,
the affirmative defense of invalidity, in an agency. Once
the PTAB establishes invalidity, it does not matter
what conclusion the courts have reached with respect
to validity or infringement of the same patent in a case
between the same parties — the suit is resolved in favor
of the defendant.* Cf Fresenius, 721 F.3d at 1339
(“[T]he language and legislative history of the reexam-
ination statute show that Congress expected reexami-
nation to take place concurrent with litigation, and
that cancellation of claims during reexamination
would be binding in concurrent infringement litiga-
tion.”).? Such a scheme — which renders a district court
a mere adjunct to the PTAB in the resolution of a claim

from denial of rehearing en banc); Peggy P. Ni, Rethinking Final-
ity in the PTAB Age, 31 Berkeley Tech. L.J. 557, 586 (2016)
(“(A]ileged infringers arc incentivized to prolong district court lit-
iyation in hopes of receiving a favorable PTO determination.”).

® Because of “a lower standard of proof and the broadest rea-
sonable interpretation standard of claim construction” at the
PTO, In re Baxter Int'l, Inc., 678 F.3d 1357, 1360-61 (Fed. Cir.
2012), it does not matter that the patent’s validity was upheld in
a parallel district court proceeding, even if that decision was af-
firmed on appeal, id. at 1364-65.

® Even if the patent survives PTO review with amended
claims, the original claims are cancelled, i.e., rendered invalid. See
Fresenius, 721 F.3d at 1339-40.

20

for liability in a patent case — offends Article III be-
cause it allows an agency to dispose of “a private right,
that is, the liability of one individual to another under
the law as defined.” Crowell, 285 U.S. at 51.

The fact that district courts might still adjudicate
whether the defendant infringes the patent and
whether the patent is valid — if the PTAB happens to
uphold the challenged claims — does not cure the con-
stitutional problem. An example will illustrate why.
Suppose a trespass claim arises under the law of a ju-
risdiction in which consent is an affirmative defense."
Given that the prima facie trespass claim must be ad-
judicated in an Article III tribunal, it would be odd to
conclude that Congress could nonetheless delegate to
an agency the question of consent with the effect that
a trespass suit must be dismissed if the agency found
that the plaintiff consented to entry. When agencies de-
cide questions that require the dismissal of a case,
courts are Ieft with nothing to adjudicate, and the
plaintiff is denied its day in an Article II{ forum.

The cifect in the patent context is the same: Con-
gress impermissibly enabled an agency to “oust the
jurisdiction of [a] court to which the [patent] owner
might apply for an adjudication of his rights.” Mc-
Cormick Harvesting Mach. Co. v. C. Aultman & Co., 169
U.S. 606, 611-12 (1898), Even if district courts might

1” Cf Envtl. Processing Sys., L.C. v. FPL Farming Ltd., 457
S.W.3d 414 (Tex, 2015) (reversing a lower court’s holding that con-
sent to trespass is an affirmative defense in ‘Texas after conclud-
ing that the lack of consent is part of the plaintiff’s prima facte
case).

21

have something meaningful left to do in some infringe-
ment cases running in paralle! with PTAB proceedings,
and even though some decisions in parallel infringe-
ment cases are not rendered null by the PTAB, the IPR
scheme still cannot stand. “A statute may no more law-
fully chip away at the authority of the Judicial Branch
than it may eliminate it entirely.” Stern, 546 U.S. at

502-03.

B. PTO Expertise Does Not Justify The
PTAB’s Authority To Bind Federal Courts.

1. Expertise Does Not Allow Agencies To
Take The Place Of Courts When Pri-
vate Rights Are At Issue.

A counterargument respondents are likely to ad-
vance is that the PTO possesses expertise with respect
to patent validity that makes agency adjudication per-
missible in this case. The PTO does play an important
role in a “particularized area of law,” Stern, 564 U.S. at
489 n.6, and this specialization was central to the Fed-
eral Circuit’s rejection of a prior Article III challenge
to IPR, see MCM Portfolio, 812 F.3d at 1291 (“It would
be odd indeed if Congress could not authorize the PTO
to reconsider its own decisions.”). And, to be sure, this
Court has referred to the PTO’s “special expertise.”
Kappos v. Hyatt, 132 S. Ct. 1690, 1700 (2012).

Nonetheless, while this Court has deferred to
agency expertise in deciding whether a claim may be
adjudicated outside an Article III court, e.g., Schor, 478
U.S. at 855-56, it has done so when “the magnitude of

22

any intrusion on the Judicial Branch can only be
termed de minimis,” id. at 856. This is not such a case.
When a plaintiff is attempting to exercise its rights un-
der a patent, it is asserting a property right via a claim
stemming from the common law, necessitating an Arti-
cle III forum for the claim’s resolution. Cf Nelson, su-
pra, at 578 (describing the “vest[ing]” or rights granted
by land patents, whereby rights could not be taken
away without a judgment of a court, even though an
agency was responsible for the initial grant); see also
Act of Apr. 10, 1790, § 5, 1 Stat. 109, 111 (empowering
“defendant|s|” in patent infringement cases to make
pleas to “repeal. . . patents” via an “oath or affirmation
made before the judge of the district court”). Infringe-
ment causes of action, therefore, do not fall within the
sphere of “a limited regulatory objective within the
agency's authority.” Stern, 564 U.S. at 490.

That is not to say that the P'l'O’s expertise can
never be invoked to address validity of a patent after
its grant. Indeed, post-issuance proceedings can “help| |
protect the public’s ‘paramount interest in seeing that
patent monopolies... are kept within their legitimate
scope.” Cuozzo, 136 S. Ct. at 2144 (quoting Precision
Instrument Mfg. Co. v. Auto. Maint. Mach. Co., 324 US.
806, 816 (1945)). More generally, certain “curative”
statutes have withstood constitutional scrutiny. See,
e.g., Graham v. Goodcell, 282 U.S. 409, 428-31 (1931);
see also Cuozzo, 136 S. Ct. at 2144; cf Mark D. Janis,
Rethinking Reexamination: Toward a Viable Admin-
istrative Revocation System for U.S. Patent Law, 11
Harv. J. L. & Tech. 1, 93-122 (1997) (discussing possible

23

post-issuance review schemes that are unlikely to
raise constitutional! problems). For example, Congress
could create an opposition proceeding that would pre-
vent a patent from being enforceable until it undergoes
third-party challenges to validity within a defined pe-
riod after a provisional grant. Cf 15 U.S.C. § 1063
(2006) (setting forth the process of opposition to trade-
mark registration).

But the IPR scheme goes well beyond empowering
the PTO to correct its own mistakes, instead installing
the PTAB as a kind of specialized quasi-court au-
thorized to make determinations that are binding on
Article II] courts in which these questions have tradi-
tionally been adjudicated. In addition to the effects al-
ready discussed, supra Section III.A, the IPR statute
includes an estoppel provision stating that an IPR pe-
titioner “may not assert either in a civil action arising

. under section 1338 of title 28 or in a proceeding
before the International Trade Commission .. . that
the claim is invalid on any ground that the petitioner
raised or reasonably could have raised during that
{IPR].” 35 U.S.C. § 315(e)(2). This subsection reinforces
the conclusion that the IPR statute has gone beyond
error correction and empowered the PTAB to function
as an alternative adjudicatory forum for cases in the
district courts.

24

2. The PTAB’s Role In IPRs Extends Be-
yond Functions That Expert Agencies
Have Traditionally Been Permitted
To Exercise.

The PTAB’s role under the IPR statute with re-
spect to private rights is unlike those exercised even
by expert agencies in other contexts. The PTO’s singu-
lar power to effectively decide patent infringement
suits in a plenary fashion by invalidating patents lies
in stark contrast to, first, the role of an agency under
the doctrine of primary jurisdiction, under which “the
federal courts have developed the practice of using
their discretionary power to decide that certain issues
otherwise properly in federal court must be litigated
before a federal administrative agency,” Sidney A.
Shapiro, Abstention and Primary Jurisdiction: Two
Chips Off the Same Block - a Comparative Analysis, 60
Cornell L. Rev. 75, 79 (1974) (emphasis added); see
Clark v. Time Warner Cable, 523 F.3d 1110, 1114 (9th
Cir. 2008) (“The primary jurisdiction doctrine allows
courts to stay proceedings or to dismiss a complaint
without prejudice pending the resolution of an issue
within the special competence of an administrative
agency. A court’s invocation of the doctrine does not in-
dicate that it lacks jurisdiction. Rather, the doctrine is
a ‘prudential’ one, under which a court determines that
an otherwise cognizable claim implicates technical and
policy questions that should be addressed in the first
instance by the agency with regulatory authority over
the relevant industry rather than by the judicial
branch.” (quoting Reiter v. Cooper, 507 U.S. 258, 268-69

25

(1993)). Under the IPR statute, however, courts lack
any discretion whether or not to defer to the agency,
and effectively lose jurisdiction upon PTAB invalida-
tion of the asserted patents.

Second, the PTAB’s role extends beyond that
played by agency determinations that could foreclose
litigation in courts under traditional issue or claim
preclusion principles. For example, a preclusive effect
of a prior determination by an agency is subject to
standard rules of res judicata, such as identity of is-
sues, B & B Hardware, Inc. v. Hargis Indus., Inc., 135
S. Ct. 1293, 1305-08 (2015), and might be avoided if
there is a “compelling showing of unfairness,” id. at
1309 (quoting Restatement (Second) of Judgments § 28,
Comments g and j, at 283-84 (1980)); see also id. at 1306
(“Ultimately, [Trademark Trial and Appeal] Board deci-
sions on likelihood of confusion . . . should be given pre-
clusive effect on a case-by-case basis.” (quoting A.
LaLonde, Gilson on Trademarks § 11.08(4]{ijLiii iB),
p. 11-319) (2014)) (emphasis added). But under the IPR
scheme, PTO decisions of invalidity effectively bind
district courts even if the specific issues litigated were
not the same, and there is no case-by-case analysis or
an unfairness out. Cf ePlus, 790 F.3d at 1315 (conclud-
ing that finality gamesmanship under the current re-
gime can be “just plain unfair”) (Moore, J., dissenting
from denial of rehearing en banc).’' In addition, while

“! In contrast, the International Trade Commission’s invalid-
ity determinations are not binding on future tribunals. Tandon
Corp. v. U.S. Int'l Trade Comm'n, 831 F.2d 1017, 1019 (Fed. Cir.
1987).

26

PTAB determinations of invalidity dispose of concur-
rent litigation in the federal courts, court determina-
tions of invalidity have no preclusive effect of any kind
on the PTO. See Baxter, 678 F.3d at 1360-61.

Third, the role of the PTAB under the IPR system
extends far beyond that of agencies functioning as “an
adjunct to the [district] court” in cases involving pri-
vate rights, whereby “the ‘essential attributes’ of the
judicial decision must remain in an article ILI enforce-
ment court.” Richard H. Fallon, Jr., Of Legislative
Courts, Administrative Agencies, and Article HI, 101
Harv. L. Rev. 915, 924 (1988) (citing Crowell, 285 U.S.
at 50-51); see Stern, 564 U.S. at 489 n.6 (“[T]he ad-
ministrative adjudicator had only limited authority to
make specialized, narrowly confined factual determi-
nations regarding a particularized area of law and to
issue orders that could be enforced only by action of the
District Court.”) (discussing Crowell). Under the IPR
statute, the PTAB is more than an adjunct and more,
even, than a district court’s equal. Instead, the PTAB
makes determinations that bind the courts. See supra
Section IT].A. Notably, the PTAB’s decisions are not
subject to de novo review by a district court and require
no court action for enforcement. See, e.g., Joint Stipu-
lation of Dismissal at 2, elcommerce.com v. SAP AG,
745 F.3d 490 (Fed. Cir.), vacated, 564 Fed. App’x 599
(Fed. Cir. 2014) (en banc) (mem.) (No. 11-1369), ECF
No. 50 Gointly moving to dismiss an appeal of an in-
fringement case where the PTAB invalidated the as-
serted patents and “no appeal {of the PTAB’s decision]
was filed”).

27

3. The Statutory Scheme At Issue Breaks
With The Historical Practice Of De
Novo Review Of PTO Determinations.

Before the advent of recently adopted post-issuance
proceedings, Congress has long given parties aggrieved
by PTO determinations an option to challenge the
agency in a district court. Thus, the PT'AB’s power to
decide validity of issued patents subject only to defer-
ential appellate review, 35 U.S.C. § 141(c) (2012); see
Dickinson v. Zurko, 527 U.S. 150, 152-53 (1999), can be
contrasted — for example — with challenges to the
PTO’s decisions under § 145, the section of the Patent
Act at issue in Hyatt, 132 S. Ct. at 1700. That section,
titled “Civil action to obtain a patent,” grants patent
applicants the right to challenge the PTO’s rejection of
their desired patent claims in a district court, and em-
powers the court to take evidence that was not before
the PTO and make de novo determinations of validity.
Hyatt, 132 S. Ct. at 1694-95; see id. at 1696 (“The PTO,
no matter how great its authority or expertise, cannot
account for evidence that it has never seen.”). In con-
trast to the IPR scheme, § 145 provides a model for the
PTO’s functioning that is consistent with the role of
the agency as an adjunct to an Article IIT court.

Notably, de novo review of PTO determinations
has deep historical roots. See Butterworth v. United
States ex rel. Hoe, 112 U.S. 50, 61 (1884) (discussing the
predecessor statute to § 145); see also Hyatt, 132 S. Ct.
at 1697-98. When the 1952 Patent Act granted to the
PTO, for the first time, the power to cance! claims of an

28

issued patent without the applicant’s consent” in a so-
called interference proceeding, Congress allowed for de
novo review in district court of that decision under 35
U.S.C. § 146," the section that paralleled, and was con-
sistent with, § 145; see Troy v. Samson Mfg. Corp., 758
F.3d 1322, 1325-28 (Fed. Cir. 2014); cf Executive Bene-
fits Ins. Ag’cy v. Arkison, 134 S. Ct. 2165, 2171 (2014)
(upholding the power of bankruptcy courts to adjudi-
cate Stern claims because of availability of de novo
review in district courts, which also enter final judg-
ments). As noted by one of the 1952 Act’s drafters, this
power of “cancellation of the claims involved from the
patent. . .is new in substance and is made possible by
the amplification of the right of review of the patentce
provided for in section 146.” P.J. Federico, Commentary
on the New Patent Act, 75 J. Pat. & Trademark Off,
Soe’y 161, 193 (1993) (reprinted from Title 35, United
States Code Annotated (1954 West Publishing Co.
ed.)). The IPR statute breaks with this long practice.

‘2 A patentee can voluntarily request that the PTO replace a
patent with a reissued one that reflects a correction of some error
in the original patent. See 35 U.S.C. § 251 (a) (2012). This proceed-
ing, by which the PTO correcta a defective patent with the pa-
tentee’s consent, is not relevant here.

'S Act of July 19, 1952, Pub. L. No. 82-593, § 146, 66 Stat. 792,
803 (1952). This section was amended in 2011, as interferences
were replaced with so-called “derivation” proceedings. 35 U.S.C.
§ 146 (2011). The new § 146, however, still allows the party ag-
grieved by the PTO’s decision a “remedy by civil ac‘ ion” in district
court. Id.

29

Under the challenged scheme, the PTAB wields signif-
icant power vis a vis Article III courts, and doves so in a
context in which private rights are implicated.

Cc. The PTAB’s Invalidity Determinations
Are Not Collateral, But Central, To In-
fringement Suits, And Are Designed To
Preempt District Court Adjudication Of
The Same Questions.

Another argument likely to be advanced in sup-
port of the IPR statute is that court proceedings can
sometimes be mooted by collateral actions of agencies
without offending Article [II]. For example, a case
might become moot when an agency withdraws a prior
decision that is subject to a court challenge and re-
places it with another decision. See, e.g., Theodore Roo-
sevelt Conservation P’ship v. Salazar, 661 F.3d 66, 79
(D.C. Cir. 2011) (holding that it is “impossible to grant
any prosnective relief” for alleged non-enforcement of
an agency decision that was superseded, and dismiss-
ing the appeal as moot); Ctr. for Sct. in the Pub. Interest
v. Regan, 727 F.2d 1161, 1164 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (dismiss-
ing as moot an appeal challenging a rule that was su-
perseded); see Note, “Moot” Administrative Orders, 53
Harv. L. Rev. 628 (1940).

The statutory scheme at issue in this case, how-
ever, is different. Here, an agency resolves the very
same issues of patent validity that district courts are
empowered to adjudicate in the course of infringe-
ment suits. Under the statutory design, the PTAB

30

proceeding is not collateral to, but can be intimately
connected with and frequently triggered by, “Action[s]”
for patent infringement. 35 U.S.C. § 315(b). PTAB de-
cisions are made in trial-like proceedings often impli-
cating, as here, the same two parties that are involved
in parallel district court litigation. See supra Section
III.A. This Court, indeed, acknowledged the IPR’s func-
tion of “helping resolve concrete patent-related dis-
putes among parties.” Cuozzo, 136 S, Ct. at 2144. But
the PTAB can do a lot more under the IPR statute than
merely “help.” It can make determinations that a dis-
trict court in a parallel proceeding has no discretion to
reject, even if the suit already reached advanced stages
and even if the court already entered judgment that
the patentee is entitled to retrospective relief. See, e.g.,
Ultratec, Inc. v. CaptionCall, LLC, Nos. 2016-1708,
2016-1709, 2016-1715, 2017 WL 3687453, at *1 (Fed.
Cir. Aug. 28, 2017); Fresenius, 721 F.3d at 1340-44;
Translogic Tech., Inc. v. Hitachi, Ltd., 250 Fed. App’x
988 (Fed. Cir.) (unpublished), cert. denied, 555 U.S.
1045 (2008).

In such circumstances, the PTAB steps into the
shoes of a court on certain questions of invalidity and
takes over its role to “render dispositive judgments.”
Frank H. Easterbrook, Presidential Review, 40 Case W.
Res. L. Rev. 905, 926 (1989). The dispositive effect of
PTAB determinations on co-pending cases is not hap-
penstance of agency vicissitudes, but a part of the stat-
utory design. The Constitution cannot countenance an
adjunct role for Article III courts in the adjudication of

31

the private rights embodied in the patent infringement
cause of action.

IV. The IPR Statute Offends The Principle Of
Separation Of Powers By Allowing An
Agency To Direct A Court How To Decide A
Specific Case.

A. PTAB Determinations Of Invalidity Func-
tion As “Rules of Decision” That End
Pending Cases.

Coordinate branches may not “prescribe rules of
decision to the Judicial Department of the government
in cases pending before it.” Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm,
Ine., 514 U.S. 211, 218 (1995) (quoting United States v.
Klein, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 128, 146 (1872)). Although this
principle does not prohibit Congress from amending
applicable law so as to affect outcomes in pending
cases, Robertson v. Seattle Audubon Soc., 503 U.S. 429
(1992), this Court suggested that Congress may “over-
step[] its bounds by granting [a court] jurisdiction to
decide the merits of [a] claim, while prescribing a rule
for decision that left the court no adjudicatory function
to perform.” United States v. Sioux Nation, 448 U.S.
371, 392 (1980) (citing Klein, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) at 146).
Congress has done just that here. While allowing
courts to retain jurisdiction over patent cases, it also
empowered the PTAB to make determinations that
make courts superfluous.

Sioux Nation is instructive on the reach of the sep-
aration of powers principles relevant here, and shows

32

why IPRs violate them. As characterized in Plaut, the
statute under consideration in Sioux Nation “required
the Court of Claims. . . [to] review on the merits, with-
out regard to the defense of res judicata or collateral
estoppel, a Sioux claim for just compensation from the
United States — even though the Court of Claims had
previously heard and rejected that very claim.” 514
US. at 230 (citing Sioux Nation, 448 U.S. at 391-92).
The Court in Sioux Nation concluded that this statute
did not offend separation of powers because “it neither
brought into question the finality of [the Court of
Claims’ earlier judgments, nor interfered with that
court’s judicial function in deciding the merits of the
claim.” 448 U.S. at 406. Here, however, the PTAB intcr-
fered with the judicial function by effectively terminat-
ing a patent case via adjudicating the defense of
invalidity, thereby taking away a court’s ability to de-
cide the case. Under this scheme, the courts have been
relegated to the role of a stalking horse.

B. Rather Than Amend Applicable Law,
The IPR Statute Delegates To The PTAB
The Power To Pick Winners And Losers
In Patent Cases.

This Court’s recent decision in Bank Markazi v.
Peterson reiterated the long-held principle that amend-
ments to applicable law during the pendency of litiga-
tion do not offend separation of powers. 136 S. Ct. 1310,
1317 (2016). The law whose constitutionality was up-
held in Bank Markazi made certain assets subject to
attachment for the execution of judgments in a specific

33

set of cases. Jd. at 1332-33. This Court reasoned that
“a statute dues not impinge on judicial power when it
directs courts to apply a new legal standard to undis-
puted facts.” Id. at 1325. The Court made clear, how-
ever, that “Congress could not enact a statute directing
that, in ‘Smith v. Jones,’ ‘Smith wins.’” Jd. at 1323 n.17.
In addition, the Court noted that the statute under dis-
pute “facilitates execution of judgments in 16 suits,”
rather than a single suit, id. at 1326, and explained
that its decision was driven in part by the tradition of
the courts’ deference to the coordinate branches in
matters of foreign policy, id. at 1328-29.

But here, there was no amendment of applicable
law, passed by Congress and signed by the President,
that had the effect of terminating some group of pend-
ing cases. Instead, Congress has delegated to the Exec-
utive Branch an unprecedented power, subject only to
deferential appellate review, to effectively decide partic-
ular patent infringement suits. As discussed through-
out, that power has the character of directing a court
to decide that, in “Patentee v. Infringer,” “Patentee
loses,” if the PTAB concludes that the claims that are
also asserted in litigation are invalid. The intervening
determination is not a change in governing law that
embodies a new legal standard, but a legal conclusion
made by an arm of the Executive Branch that effec-
tively terminates individual patent cases.

34

V. Adjudication Of Cases Involving Private
Rights In Article III Courts Effectuates The
Values Protected By The Doctrine Of Sepa-
ration Of Powers.

In part because of its independence from political
whims, the federal judiciary serves as an important
safeguard of liberty in its role as a neutral arbiter of
private disputes. “This Court consistently has given
voice to, and has reaffirmed, the central judgment of
the Framers of the Constitution that, within our polit-
ical scheme, the separation of governmental powers
into three coordinate Branches is essential to the
preservation of liberty.” Mistretta v. United States, 488
US. 361, 380 (1989). In contrast, a system that reposes
the ability to end lawsuits involving private rights in
the Executive Branch is fraught with potential of fa-
voritism and raises the specter of a coordinate branch’s
power to pick winners and losers that has been this
Court’s concern. Bank Markazi, 1368S. Ct. at 1323 n.17;
N. Pipeline, 458 U.S. at 58 (plurality op.) (characteriz-
ing Article III “{a]s an inseparable element of the con-
stitutional system of checks and balances, and as a
guarantee of judicial impartiality”).

Patent law itself provides an example. Over a dec-
ade ago, the PTO Director decided to order reexamina-
tions of patents at issue in high-stakes infringement
cases involving lesser-known plaintiffs (Eolas and
NTP) and high powered defendants (Microsoft and
RIM — the maker of BlackBerry — respectively). See
Amy L. Magas, Comment, When Politics Interfere with
Patent Reexamination, 4 J. Marshall Rev. Intell. Prop.

35

L. 160, 160 (2004) (“The recxaminations were ordered
after an independent or small entity inventor received
a substantial judgment against a large company.”). Not
surprisingly, these decisions “created controversy among
patent practitioners,” id. at 168, and some have argued
that the PTO actions “disrupt[ed] the judicial system”
because patents were being reexamined “at the same
time as [their] validity is examined in a federal district

court,” id. at 170.

Worse yet, the NTP reexamination was marred by
allegations of ex parte contacts between PTO officials
and RIM representatives, and of other undue external
influence on the PTO. See, e.g., Dennis Crouch, RIM v.
NTP Continues to Trouble Patent Office, Patently-O,
https://patentlyo.com/patent/2008/05/rim-v-ntp-conti. html
(May 12, 2008) (“It is clear. . . that in the months lead-
ing up to the NTP settlement, the PTO was feeling a
tremendous amount of political pressure from RIM as
well as Congress and the Senate.”), Kevin E. Noonan,
What the Director’s Letter Did Not Say, Patent Docs,
http:/Awww.patentdocs.org/2008/06/what-the-dircct.html
(June 15, 2008). But in the courts, the picture was dif-
ferent. Judge Spencer, who presided over the NTP-RIM
infringement case, made it clear that he would follow
binding law even if it meant enjoining RIM from mak-
ing and selling the BlackBerry in the United States,
and would do so in spite of “the politics” and “the lob-
bying.” Catherine Fredenburgh, Reading the Black-
berry Tea Leaves, Law360, https://www.law360.com/
articles/5509 (Mar. 1, 2006) (quoting a transcript of the
permanent injunction hearing); id. (“[Judge Spencer]

36

is. . . telling the parties that he will not allow political
pressure or media limelight to sway his decision in any
way.”). Judge Spencer’s approach in the BlackBerry lit-
igation is the stuff that Article HII is made of.

Even before allegations of impropriety in the NTP
reexamination process surfaced, a proposal was made
“to minimize influences from the political arena” on
high-stakes patent cases. Magas, supra, at 179. But a
mechanism for doing so already exists. That mecha-
nism is the doctrine of separation of powers, which pre-
vents the political branches from stepping into the
shoes of the courts. Indeed, “|j]udicial power . . . is the
power of a court to decide and pronounce a judgment
and carry it into effect between persons and parties
who bring a case before it for decision.” Muskrat v.
United States, 219 U.S. 346, 356 (1911). The statutory
scheme at issue in this case contravenes the doctrine
of separation of powers because it empowers an agency
to decide cases in which private rights are at stake in
place of the courts, and it cannot stand in the current
form.

SJ

CONCLUSION

The IPR statute violates Article III of the Con-
stitution and the separation of powers doctrine by im-
permissibly entrusting adjudication of private-right

37

claims to an agency. The judgment of the Federal! Cir-
cuit should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

DMITRY KARSHTEDT

Counsel of Record

GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY
SCHOOL OF LAW

2000 H Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20052

dkarshtedt@law.gwu.edu

(202) 994-5725

August 31, 2017

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0724%3A46. Public record. Not legal advice.
