# Amicus Curiae Brief — Oil States Energy Servs., LLC v. Greene's Energy Grp., LLC, 138 S. Ct. 350 (2017) (No. 16-712)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0724%3A39

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

ala aaa —

FILED
RECORD AUG 31 2097
AND | NO. 16-712 OFFICE OF THE CLERK
SS

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OIL STATES SERVICES, LLC,
Petitioner,

Vv.

GREENE’S ENERGY GROUP, LLC ET AL.,
Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari to the
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE IEEE-USA
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Maura K. Moran

Counsel of Record
IEEE-USA Vice President, Government Relations
CAMBRIDGE TECHNOLOGY LAW LLC
686 Massachusetts Avenue, Suite 201,
Cambridge, MA 02139
Tel: 978.443.4558
mmoran@cambridgetechlaw.com

31 August 2017
Cibsury of Conasess

2

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIBG.................... Seabees ss
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ............ sh aaatontnens |
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT....................0068 saeavans 2
Tal dad dccinwatanmassosnisisiessdcessoeceunece sssccee es

It.

PATENT-VALIDITY ADJUDICATIONS
ARE ENTITLED TO THE SAME
CONSTITUTIONAL PROTECTIONS AS
OTHER PRIVATE-PROPERTY

a iiswiscecdnisdnsesesesevesscoeens |

|.A IPR adjudications fall squarely within
the scope of Article LI] courts’
jurisdiction and the attendant Seventh

Amendment right to jury trial ..................
|.B IPRs adjudicate private rights .....................

[.B.1 Whether adjudicated rights are
private or public depends on the
nature of the action and the remedy

ca ish iuciienapenee

1.B.2 IPRs adjudicate private nghts

and traditional legal claims.................

I.B.3 Example of patent adjudication

involving public rights ................:..00000

[PRs UNDERCUT ARTICLE Lil
CONSTITUT' ONAL PROTECTIONS DUE
TO LIMITED DISCOVERY AND
PRECLUSIVE EFFECT ON ARTICLE III

scans chimiaienebaineinaneneneyeoeese

111. IPR’S CONSTITUTIONAL INFIRMITY IS

COMPOUNDED BY IMPROPERLY
PRESCRIBING THE PREPONDERANCI«
OF EVIDENCE STANDARD FOR

INVALIDATING PATENT CLAIMS .............
CONCLUSION

ee eee

Tee RR RR RRR eR ROR Oe ee ee eh eee

bee 12

sides 13

pasa 17

re 19

29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Pages

CASES
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979)......23, 26, 27
B & B Hardware, Inc. v. Hargis Indus., Inc.,

Re Be Slr ee eae xan saddnbepieenssacincienestcnsrees 21
Bene v. Jeaniet, 129 U.S. 683 (1889) ................-.ee 25
Coffin v. Ogden, 85 U.S. 120 (1874)..........cccceeceees ee 22

in re Convertible Rowing Exerciser Patent
Litigation, 814 ¥. Supp. 1197 (D. Del. 1993) ...... 19

Curtis v. Loether,

ru Bie Me Lh fy | es 3, 8, 12, 15, 16, 18
Garmin Intl, Inc. v. Cuezzo Speed Techs. LLC,

IPR2012-00001, (PTAB. Mar. 5, 20138)................ 20
Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg,

I res Ste Ee ecteincnsinncitunitibadeoesancetes 3, 9, 10, 17
Joy Technologies, Inc. v. Manbeck,

959 F.2d 226 (Fed. Cir. 1992) .........ccecceccseseseeeeeeees 7
Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp..,

Se a eC iin ckndindsdeennacettccntntenestenn 13
Kungys v. United States, 485 U.S. 759 (1988).......... 28

Markman v. Westview Instrums., Inc., 517
ee soci cases enneivaseaicnaaes B

MCM Portfolio LLC v. Hewlett-Packard Co.,
812 F.3d 1284 (Fed. Cir. 2015).......... 4, 7,9, 13, 15

nN

Microsoft v. i4i, 131 S. Ct. 2238 (2011)........... 3, 22, 27

Motion Picture Patents Co. v. Universal Film

Mfg. Co., 243 U.S. 502 (1917) ......cccccsececceeeeeceeeee. 11
Murray's Lessee v. Hoboken Land &

Improvement Co., 59 U.S. 272 (1856)..............2.....8
Northern Pipeline Consir. Co. v. Marathon

Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50 (1982).............. 8, 16, 20
Patlex Corp. v. Mossinghoff,

- $e | (f ky %. | ee 7
Radio Corp. of Am. v. Radio Eng’g Labs., Inc.,

293 U.S. 1 (1934)........ sae Zicinheakiodusesaseaminranienasaaabania 22
Ross v. Bernhard, 396 U.S. 531 (1970).................... 12
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co.,

i I hhcctrenapsinscsescs stuetinpgdsansawcnniinten 13
Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982)....... 5, 28, 27
Spansion, Inc. v. Int'l Trade Comm'n,

GED F.98 1981 Cred. Car. DOUG) nn. .ccccccsessccccsccess me
Stern v. Marshail, 564 U.S. 462 (2011)...... 8, 9, 16, 17

Texus Instruments Inc. v. Cypress
Semiconductor Corp., 90 F.3d 1558

ee Ri testes taeda SAR. SR ERR a ATE 19
Tull v. United States,

RE , S Pceaeee 8, 12,15, 18
United States v. American Bell Telephone Co.,

ee Ie CTE sieticiesiineonsotniaviononebniennsions 11,13
Winship Jn re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970)...... 23, 27

inl

STATUTES
pte fag Bo | nee eee:

19 U.B.C. § 1387........... ee ae 17, 18, 19
I EN, =. ecuppeaneoupessieibennechaesiaeibnengial 12
I IEE 2. cestcreocnsyeiniecensareneuontioarnmibensntonehiahine 15
I ig is neteseennigeereinnsenbibpeeenaltiostietie 15
OE non soctevcnsvonnnsahetenreionecsbgl 3, 11, 22

Be Cece ie BD a oiienteinescccontsienenrcenessensninnnenagenenied Aa

I insesscsssnhardinansheheneiuanbnias 13
I ON ances cecenespiwscn tannins A, 20, 21
UN oo . scseceosisiniteccemnnoreduniint Sicesiedteis 19
ee ct edcnetenennenulec 26
CE LRT Ena Pane eee ace Salen! STDDS 13

PUBLIC LAWS & STATUTES AT LARGE

America Invents Act,
Pub. L. 112-29, 125 Stat. 284 (2011).....2, 3, 22, 27

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
eee ee” Sh Aeneas: © ft

BU A, II PID goss vcneticdnesnwenscneensinsestondel passim

i ME IRS hI A rr ncesnectossnegubicsnervevesianseidunndaven Fig &

ee ee le EE enalncniintceadmrcennncsemstevusoensitiies passim
iv

RULES

a OE Ce I ace ese pdscernninesnsinatnigssers

CONGRESSIONAL REPORTS
Sen. Rep. Accompanying Senate Bill No. 239,

24th Cong., lst Sess. (April 28, 1836) .............

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Abbott A., et al., Crippling the Innovation
Economy: Regulatory Overreach al the
Patent Office,” Regulatory Transparency
Project of the Federalist Society,

I Tl alts

Black, Henry Campbell, Joseph R. Nolan, and
Michael J. Connolly. KLACK'S LAW
DICTIONARY: St. Paul: West Pub. Co.

NE EP ccichniciininrcinesiscanntcontaninsstation cassaprencuiis

Katznelson Ron D., Brief of Amicus Curtae in
Support of Affirmance, Microsoft Corp. v.
ifi et al., U.S. Supreme Court

SN Gs CIE EO aces ncacuicpwdemieidensadinsinouhicesieiiéomues

Nelson Caleb E., Adjudication in the Political
Branches, 107 COLUM. L. REV. 5859, 567-8,

Rich Giles S., Laying the Ghost of the
"Invention" Requirement,

41 AIPLA Qud., 1 (2012). cccccc-ccccssceceeveceeee oy

Strong John W., 2 MCCORMICK ON EVIDENCE

i i ele memohecilensliaih

roe t |

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE '

IEKE-USA is an organizational unit of The
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers,
Inc. (EEF), the world’s largest technical
professional organization dedicated to advancing
technology for the benefit of humanity. IEEE-USA
supports the nation’s prosperity and competiveness
by fostering technological innovation for the benefit
of all, including nearly 200,000 U.S. engineers,
scientists, and allicd professionals who are members

of the IR EF.

As part of its mission, IEKE-USA seeks to
ensure that U.S. intellectual property law
“promote[s] the Progress of Science and useful Arts,
by securing for limited Times to Authors and
Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective
Writings and Discoveries.” U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8.
IEEE-USA’s members have a substantial stake in
the United States patent system. Our membership
includes inventors who create and use cutting-edge
technology, researchers who are involved in scientific
discovery, authors of journal articles in the broad
fields of engineering and science, entrepreneurs, and
employees of firms that acquire, license, and market

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, counsel for the amicus
curiae certifies that no counsel for any party authored this brief
in whole or in part and that no person or entity other than the
amicus, its membership, or its counsel made a monetary
contribution intended to fund the preparation or submission of
the brief. Rule 37.2(a) notice was timely provided to all parties,
who have consented to the filing of this amicus brief and their
letters are filed with the clerk.

7: e

patented technology. TEEE-USA also fully supports
robust procedures for correction of Patent Office
examination errors, thus focusing quality control
measures within the examination process in the first
place, rather than over-focusing such efforts at the
later most disruptive and costly stage—post-grant.
While IEEE-USA supports Petitioner on the
constitutional question presented, it takes no sides
in the dispute between the parties regarding the
validity or infringement of the patents at issue in
this case.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Does the Constitution allow Congress to
establish a non-Article III forum for extinguishing
patent rights without a jury in which the burden of
proof is lower than that applied in Article Ill
adjudicutions and the decision of which has
mandatory preclusive effect on Article If] courts?
Congress did that by enacting the America Invents
Act, Pub. L. 112-29, 125 Stat. 284 (2011) (“AIA”),
which created inter partes review (“IPR”) proceeding
in which the Patent ‘Trial and Appeal Board
(“PTAB”), a PTO admunistrative tribunal,
adjudicates the validity of issued patents. The Court
of Appeals for the Federal Circuit answered the
question presented above with a “yes”. This is a
usurpation of Article III courts’ exclusive
jurisdiction. This Court should reverse’ the
judgement of the Court of Appeals. All issued US.
patents deserve the constitutional protections and
legal standards in invalidation proceedings as those
available in Article III courts. Those protections are
secured by a right to a jury trial in an Article III

iu

court in which the 35 U.S.C. § 282 presumption of
validity and corresponding burden of clear and
convincing evidence to show invalidity. Microsoft v.
i4i, 131 S. Ct. 2238 (2011).

Over three decades, the Federal Circuit has
countenanced continually expanding administrative
review power on patent validity, which this Court
has never reviewed. This Court should cabin the
exceptions under which patent validity adjudications
can be withdrawn from Article II] courts or juries,
and thereby restore the constitutional protections for
such adjudications. IEEE-USA addresses here only
the AIA-codified statute in Chapter 31 of Title 35 of
the U.S. Code dealing with IPRs.

Before 1791, patent validity was traditionally
tried in the English common law courts to juries. Br.
for H. T. Gémez-Arostegui and S. Bottomley as
Amici Curiae. This fact is determinative because
“the thrust of the [Seventh] Amendment was to
preserve the right to jury trial as it existed in 1791.”
Curtis v. Loether, 415 U.S. 189, 193 (1974). “[N]or
can Congress conjure away the Seventh Amendment
by mandating that traditional legal claims be ...
taken to an administrative tribunal.”
Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 192 U.S. 33, 52
(1989) (emphasis added).

The Federal Circuit’s decision did not address
the traditional Jegal claim nature of IPRs nor the
remedies sought therein. Instead, the Federal
Circuit held that patent rights are “public rights,”
and therefore “Congress has the power to delegate
disputes over public rights tu non-Article I] courts.”

“ee

MCM Portfolio LLC v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 812
F.3d 1284, 1289 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The Federal
Circuit’s decision failed to address the tssue to be
tried and the remedy sought in IPRs. Patent
adjudications generally may involve various issues
and remedies that are not present in IPRs. IPRs do
not adjudicate “public rights,” because they involve
traditional legal claims and because the actual
rights adjudicated in IPR are private property
rights. IPRs that result in cancelling patent claims
void the patent barguin of disclosure in exchange for
an exclusive right, without restoring the inventor’s
common law private rights of secrecy to the
invention.

The remedy sought in IPR is to cancel patent
claims, thereby extinguishing the patent owner's
private right to exclude others and conferring onto
the IPR petitioner a private right to freely exploit the
invention. Because as shown below the “public right”
exception does not apply to patent invalidation
proceedings, they must be conducted in Article III
courts, with a right to jury trial, and not in an
executive branch tribunal.

The IPR statute in 35 U.S.C. § 315(e)(2)
mandates that the PTAB final decisions have
preclusive effect on Article III courts. This it does
with only limited and truncated opportunity for
discovery in the administrative IPR _ proccss,
dispensing with rights otherwise available in Article
III court adjudications. This violates separation of
powers.

~

Due Process, which Article [II] courts adhere
to, requires that sufficient safeguards from erroneous
judgements be in place. Santosky v. Kramer, 455
U.S. 745, 745—46 (1982). The clear and convincing
evidence standard of proof for invalidating patents
apphed in Article II] courts properly accounts for
asymmetry in the countervailing risks to the litigants
due to factfinder errors in patent invalidity
determinations. In an IPR, the countervailing risks
of error are vastly higher for the patentee than for
the IPR petitioner, just as the case in Article III fact-
finding. When the factfinder erroneously upholds an
invalid patent, the defendant risks the unjust loss of
damage award only for his own infringement,
whereas when the factfinder erroncously finds a
valid patent invalid, the patentee risks the unjust
loss of his rights to damage awards from hundreds or
thousands of infringers or licensees. Therefore, the
same clear-and-convincing-evidence standard that is
applied by Article III courts should govern patent
claim validity adjudications, no matter the tribunal.
However, IPRs are statutorily governed by a lower
preponderance of the evidence standard. 35 U.S.C.
§ 316(e).

“In any given proceeding, the minimum
standard of proof tolerated by the due process
requirement reflects ... how the risk of error should
be distributed between the liligants. The minimum
standard is a question of federal law which this
Court may resolve. Retrospective case-by-case
review cannot preserve fundamental fairness when a
class of proceedings is governed by a constitutionally
defective evidentiary standard.” Santosky, 455 U.S.
at 745-46 (emphasis added). Article III courts are

/.

bound by this Court's ruling on the application of the
clear and convincing evidence standard in
adjudicating patent invalidity. This protection from
fact-finding errors, immutably related to the high
asymmetry in the risk of adjudication errors for
issued patents, does not exist for patent owners in
IPRs due to lower IPR standard of proof and lack of
Article IIIT de novo reviewability. The IPR’s
“constitutionally defective evidentiary standard” a
less of Article IJI protectinn—should be highly
relevant for the Court’s decision on removal of
patent validity adjudications from Article II courts.
‘To he clear, the point made here is not that the IPR
standard of proof per sc violates the Constitution —
a Fifth Amendment question not before the Court—
but rather that it is part of the bundle of rights that
come with Article IIT adjudications, and thus loss of
the heightened standard of proof due to removal
from Article II] courts compounds the constitutional
infirmity of Congress’ IPR design. IEKK-USA is
unique in addressing this connection to this case.

For the foregoing rcusons and those explained
further below, this Court should reverse the
judgment of the Court of Appeals.

.
ARGUMENT

I. PATENT-VALIDITY ADJUDICATIONS
ARE ENTITLED TO THE SAME
CONSTITUTIONAL PROTECTIONS AS
OTHER PRIVATE-PROPERTY
ADJUDICATIONS

The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
previously held below that patent rights are “public
rights,” and therefore “Congress has the power to
delegate disputes over public rights to non-Article [II
courts.” MCM, 812 F.3d at 1289. The Federal
Circuit also reasoned that its own precedents
invoking the “public mght” argument in Joy
Technologies, Inc. v. Manbeck, 959 F.2d 226, 228
(Fed. Cir. 1992) and in Patlex Corp. v. Mossinghoff,
758 F.2d 594 (Fed. Cir. 1985) upholding the prior
procedure of ex parte reexamination bound it to
uphold IPRs. MCM, 812 F.3d at 1298.

The Federal Circuit's decision failed to
address the actual nature and the remedies sought in
IPR proceedings. The non-specific “patent rights”
that the Federal Circuit characterizes as “public
rights” may be merely ancillary if not adjudicated in
IPRs. Rather, IPRs adjudicate traditional legal
claims and “private rights.” IPRs adjudicate
cancellation of patent claims, voiding a private right
to exclude others, and conferring onto petitioner the
private right to freely exploit the invention.

_

LA IPR adjudications fall squarely within
the scope of Article III courts’
jurisdiction and the attendant Seventh
Amendment right to jury trial

IPR adjudications involve intellectual property
rights of the inventor. Property rights are
historically adjudicated by the judiciary in Article II]
courts, often with a right to a jury for factual!
determinations. “Congress cannot ‘withdraw from
judicial cognizance any matter which, from its
nature, is the subject of a suit at the common law, or
in equity, or admiralty.” Stern v. Marshall, 564 U.S.
462, 488 (2011) (citing Murray's Lessee v. Hoboken
Land & Improvement Co., 59 U.S. 272, 284 (1856)).
“When a suit is made of ‘the stuff of the traditional
actions at common law tried by the courts at
Westminster in 1789,’ and is brought within the
bounds of federal jurisdiction, the responsibility for
deciding that suit rests with Article III judges in
Article LIL courts.” Stern, 564 U.S. at 484 (citing
Northern Pipeline Constr. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line
Co., 458 U.S. 50, 90 (1982) (Rehnquist, J., concurring
in judgment)). This Court explained that “the thrust
of the [Seventh] Amendment was to preserve the
right to jury trial as it existed in 1791.” Curtis, 415
U.S. at 193. Thus, the Seventh Amendment requires
a jury trial when historical practice in the English
courts before 1791 gave such matters to the jury.
Markman v. Westview Instrums., Inc., 517 U.S. 370,
377 (1996). Since Tull v. United States, courts also
look to whether the claim involves legal, or equitable
remedies. 481 U.S. 412, 417 (1987) (stating that
Seventh Amendment requires a jury trial on the

9

merits in actions that are analogous to “Suits at
common law.”)

Petitioncr and several amici have provided
detailed accounts of the historical practice in
Kngland before 1791, where courts of law
adjudicated patent validity and where related
questions of fact were decided by juries. It therefore
follows that the IPR statute contravenes Article III
and the Seventh Amendment of the Constitution.
The Federal Circuit, however, held that the IPR
statute qualifies for the “public right” exception,
permitting Congress to establish [PR trials in an
administrative tribunal. MCM, 812 F.3d at 1291.
The next section shows, however, that no exception
can apply to the kind of rights adjudicated in | PRs.

I.B IPRs adjudicate private rights

Congress may validly assign resolution of
certain claims and novel causes of action to a non-
Article III tribunal when the claims involve a so-
called “public right.” Granfinanctera, 492 U.S. at 51.
However, this is an exception, not the rule. This
Court limited “the exception to cases in which the
claim at issue derives from a federal regulatory
scheme, or in which resolution of the claim by an
expert government agency is deemed essential to a
limited regulatory objective within the agency's
authority.” Stern, 564 U.S. at 490 (emphasis added).
The PTAB ostensibly serves as mere impartial
adjudicator that must render a decision on patent
validity in much the same way that district courts
routinely do, and thus the PTO’s unique examination
“expertise” is neither invoked nor “essential.”

- 10 -

Respondent further argues that Congress “may
delegate even a ‘seemingly private right’ to non-
Article JII courts if the right ‘is so closely integrated
into a public regulatory scheme as to be a matter
appropriate for agency resolution.” Greene’s BIO at
7 (citing Granfinanciera, 492 U.S. at 54).

Kespondent’s notion of a patent right as
“seemingly private right” being a “public right”
superficially appears in line with a taxonomy on
public rights, wherein “privileges” or “franchises”
awarded by the government are public rights. See
Caleb E. Nelson, Adjudication in the Political
Branches, 107 CoLum. L. Rev. 559, 567-8, (2007).
“Depending on how the legislature chose to structure
particular ‘privileges,’ they could operate just hke
private rights; while the legislature permitted them
to exist, they could form the basis for private claims
against other individuals, and they could command
recognition from both judicial and executive officials.
But unlike the core private rights ... these
entitlements were but means to carry out public
ends; ‘they originated with the state rather than the
individual, and even in private hands they
amounted to mere ‘trusts of civii power to he
exercised for the public benefit.’ As such, they were
not understood to vest in private individuals in the
same way as core private rights.” /d.

There is httle doubt that it is this notion of a
“privilege,” or a “franchise” put in place by a “federal!
regulatory scheme” “to carry out public ends” that
underlies the putative theory that patent rights are
public rights. But this notion applied to patent
rights is wrong because that taxonomy is patently

»o BD

ill-suited for describing patent rights, let alone the
actual rights adjudicated in IPRs.

First, exclusive patent rights are not
“franchises” that exist only at the sufferance of
public authoritics or at the public’s expense. “A
time-limited exclusive right to subject matter which
was neither known, nor obvious from what was
known, takes nothing from the public which it had
before.” Giles S. Rich, Laying the Ghost of the
“Invention” Requirement, 41 AIPLA Q.J., 1, 5-6
(2012). As a necessary corollary, the disclosure in a
patent “gives to the public knowledge it did not
possess, actually or potentially, and thereby makes
for progress.” Jd. Second, the exclusive patent rights
dv not “originate with the state” but rather “with the
individual”— rights that inventors already had, to be
“secure|d| ... for limited times” rather than be
granted as new rights. U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8. Third,
the exclusive patent rights are not bestowed
“privileges” existing at the largesse of the
government as “trusts of civil power to be exercised
for the public benefit.” Indeed, “the patent for an
invention is not a conveyance of something which the
government owns.” United States v. American Bell
Telephone Co., 167 U.S. 224, 238-9 (1897). And “the
patentee receives nothing from the law which he did
not have belure.” Motion Picture Patents Co. v.
Universal Film Mfg. Co., 243 U.S. 502, 510 (1917).
The effect of the patent is to restrain others for a
limited time from exploiting that which they would
not have had but for the disclosure of the patent. An
issued patent is presumed valid, 35 U.S.C. § 282,
and “shall have the attributes of personal property.”

. e

35 U.S.C. § 261. The right to exclude is therefore a
private right of personal property.

1.B.1 Whether adjudicated rights are
private or public depends on the
nature of the action and the remedy
sought.

The mere fact that a patent is involved in a
particular adjudication cannot be dispositive as to
whether the specific adjudicated rights are “private”
or “public.” In deciding whether the adjudicated
right is “private” or “public,” “the Court must
examine both the nature of the action and of the
remedy sought.” Tull, 481 U.S. at 417 (emphasis
added); Curtis, 415 U.S. at 195 (“a jury trial must be
available if the action involves rights and remedies of
the sort typically enforced in an action at law’).
Characterizing the relief sought is “{mjore
important” than finding a precisely analogous
common-law cause of action in determining whether
the Seventh Amendment guarantees a jury trial. Id.
at 196; Ross v. Bernhard, 396 U.S. 531, 538 (1970)
(“The Seventh Amendment question depends on the
nature of the issue to be tried rather than the
character of the overall action.”) (Emphasis added).

By applying the abovementioned Tull-Curtis
test, examples of patent adjudications that do
involve only public rights and others that involve
only private rights can be readily identified.

ae

1.B.2 IPRs adjudicate private rights and
traditional legal claims

The “nature of the action” in IPRs is not
patent enforcement but rather “to correct the
agency's own errors in issuing patents.” MCM, 812
F.3d at 1290. And the “remedy sought” by a
petitioner in an IPR proceeding is “to cancel as
unpatentable 1 or more claims of a_ patent”
35 U.S.C. § 311(b). In fashioning this “remedy,” “the
[PTO] Director shall issue and publish a certificate
canceling any claim of the patent finally determined
to be unpatentable.” 35 U.S.C. § 318(b).

This “remedy” and this “nature” of an IPR
proceeding involve only private rights. Upon
creating the invention, an inventor enjoys private
property rights in the invention well before a patent
thereto is issued. American Bell, 167 U.S. at 238-9.
These include various rights of secrecy, including
common law trade secret rights, the value and
intangible nature of which are well-recognized by
this Court. Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp., 416 U.S.
470, 475 (1974); Ruckelshuus v. Monsanto Co., 167
U.S. 986, 1011 (1984) (holding that trade secrets are
private property rights for Fifth Amendment
purposes). Upon receiving ua patent, the inventor
irrevocably shares with the world information on the
invention and exchanges common-law private secrecy
rights for the patent right. The right that the
inventor receives is the enforcement right to exclude
all others (including the IPR petitioner) from the free
use of the private rights that would otherwise
remain secret, bargained for by public disclosure of

ee

the invention as claimed. But IPRs do not
adjudicate patent enforcement.

An IPR adjudication that cancels patent claims
voids this exchange of rights under the patent
bargain, but without restoring to the inventor the
private secrecy rights, which became publicly
available. The “remedy sought” by the IPR petitioner
in an IPR adjudication is to cancel patent claims in
order to obtain the private right? to freely practice
the invention. The inventor incurs a loss of his/her
private right to exclude others. It is this economic
gain of a private right by the IPR petitioner and the
loss of the inventor’s private right to exclude that is
at the heart of IPR adjudications.

if [PR adjudications were to result in a full
reversal of the patent bargain in which all parties
find themselves fully restored to the status quo ante,
matters would be simpler because no net change in
private rights would take place, and arguably no
private rights would be implicated. However, such is
not the case because the “genie is out of the bottle’—
the public disclosure of the invention cannot be
erased, the immediate attended benefits to the IPR
petitioner cannot be denied, and the inventor's
private rights to exclude cannot be_ restored.

2A “right” is defined as a “[t]hat which one person ought te
have or receive from another, it being withheld from him, or not
in his possession,” Black, Henry Campbell, Joseph R. Nolan,
and Michael J. Connolly. BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY: St. Paul:
West Pub. Co. (5th ed.1979) at 1189. Petitioner obtains a
private right because his free use of the invention is no longer
“being withheld from him.”

.:

Moreover, the substantial investments that the
patentee may have made in reliance on the exclusive
patent right cannot be returned to the patentee.
While not directly adjudicated in IPRs, these
pecuniary losses are purely losses of private rights.
That said, the inventor docs take a calculated risk in
entering the exchange of rights described above—
later loss of the inventor’s private right may well
turn out to be justified in some circumstances of
improvidently-issued patents. However, only a
judgement of an Article III court can _ justly
extinguish such private rights.

The Federal Circuit’s MCM decision failed to
address “the issue to be tried” and the “remedy
sought” in IPRs—it skipped the essential Tull-Curtis
test. The term “remedy” —a term central to the
Tull-Curtis test — does not appear even once in the
Federal Circuit’s decision, As its basis, the MCM
decision broadly proclaims that “[t]he patent right
derives from an extensive federal regulatory schemc,
and is created hy federal law.” MCM, 812 F.3d at
1290 (internal quotation and citation omitted). But
this “patent right” created by federal law involves
several statutory rights that are not adjudicated in
IPRs, including patent enforcement rights. For
example, the PTAB does not adjudicate claims under
Title 35 of the U.S. Code, § 271 (infringement of
patent), § 281 (remedy for infringement of patent);
§ 288 (injunction), §§ 284, and 286 (damage awards),
and § 285 (award of attorney fees). Stated
differently, none of these statutory “patent rights”
constitute the “nature of the action and of the remedy
sought” in IPRs. Tull, 481 U.S. at 417 (emphasis
added).

+ 2

The “patent rights” that the Federal Circuit
characterizes as “public rights” are merely ancillary
to the proceeding as they are not adjudicated in
IPRs. To be sure, an IPR adjudication can result in
the loss of the “patent right” to assert cquitable
claims in another tribunal. However, even if some
equitable component is excluded from a private right
category, the presence of that “equitable” component
is irrelevant; where a “legal claim is joined with an
equitable claim, the right to jury trial on the legal
claim, including all issues common to both claims,
remains intact. The right cannot be abridged by
characterizing the legal claim as ‘incidental’ to the
equitable [claim).” Curtis, 415 U.S., at 196, n, 11.
Thus, the patentee has a constitutional right to an
Article IIT court and jury trial to determine the
factual issues of validity.

Furthermore, any uncertainty as to which
rights in TPR dominate in the proceeding is to be
resolved in favor of Article III review. “(E]ven with
respect to matters that arguably fall within the
scope of the ‘public rights' doctrine, the presumption
is in favor of Art. IIT courts.” Stern, 564 U.S. at 499
(citing Northern Pipeline, 458 U.S., at 69, n. 23
(plurality opinion)). “Congress may not bypass
Article III simply because a proceeding may have
some bearing on a [different proceeding].” Jd.

Congress “lacks the power to strip parties
contesting matters of privaie right of their
constitutional right to a trial by jury.”
Granfinanciera, 492 U.S. at 51-52 (emphasis added).
“(Njor can Congress conjure away the Seventh
Amendment by mandating that traditional legal

eT, a

claims be ... taken to an administrative tribuna!.”
Id. at 52 (emphasis added). “The Constitution
nowhere grants Congress such puissant authority.”
Id.

In conclusion, the “public right” exception does
not apply and adjudication of patent validity cannot
be withdrawn from Article III courts or juries. “If
such an exercise of judicial power may nonetheless
be taken from the Article II] Judiciary simply by
deeming it part of some amorphous ‘public right,’
then Article III would be transformed from the
guardian of individual liberty and separation of
powers the Court has long recognized into mere
wishful thinking.” Stern, 564 U.S. at 462.

I.B.3 Example of patent adjudication
involving public rights

Not ail adjudications involving patents
implicate private rights. For cxample, patent
adjudications involving only public rights are
conducted by the U.S. International ‘Trade
Commission (“ITC”) under Section 337 of the Tariff
Act of 1980. 19 U.S.C. § 13837. The ITC adjudicates
allegations of certain unfair practices in import
trade. Section 337 specifically declares the
importation of infringing items covered by “a valid
and enforceable United Stutes patent” to be unlawful
import practices. § 1337(a)(1)(B). In the event that
the Commission determines that Section 337 has
been violated, the Commission may issue an
exclusion order barring the products at issue from
entry into the United States, § 1337(d), as well asa

18 -

“ecase and desist” order directing the violating
parties to cease certain actions. § 1337(f).

A patent owner prevailing in such ITC
exclusion order adjudication cannot obtain monetary
damages or equitable injunctive relief. Traditional
presence of irreparable injury and the balance of the
hardships between the parties, for example, are not
factors before the ITC. Spansion, Inc. v. Intl Trade
Comm'n, 629 F.3d 1331, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (the
ITC is not bound by the equitable test of eBay).
Instead, the sole remedy is an exclusion order, a
remedy not intended to protect the patentce per se—
it is applied to protect the public interest and a
domestic industry from the consequences of unfair
competitive acts in the importation of goods into the
U.S. Thus, the public interest harms that the ITC
considers are: public health and welfare; competitive
conditions across the whole US economy; the
existence of competitive articles produced in the US:
and the effect on U.S. consumers. § 13387(d);
Spansion, Inc., 629 F.3d at 1358.

The patent holder’s sole remedy at the ITC
clearly involves only “public rights”— a governmental
action protecting the domestic industry, which is the
“nature of the action and of the remedy sought.” Tull,
481 U.S. at 417 (emphasis added). It does not
involve “rights and remedies of the sort typically
enforced in an action at law.” Curtis, 415 U.S. at 195
(emphasis added).

Moreover, pursuant to § 1337(a)(1)(B), the ITC
adjudication requires a determination upon a
challenge to the patent validity. However, the

- 19.

“nature of the action” does not directly involve the
patentec’s private rights because that determination
is solely for the purpose of ascertaining that the
conditions of § 1337{a)(1)(B) are met, a decision that
does not extinguish the patent holder’s patent rights.
This is because ITC decisions in patent issues “have
no preclusive effect in district courts,” Texas
instruments Inc. v. Cypress Semiconductor Corp., 90
F.3d 1558, 1569 (Fed. Cir. 1996), even when an ITC
determination of patent invalidity was affirmed on
appeal by the Federal Circuit. Jn re Convertible
Rowing Exerciser Patent Litigation, 814 F. Supp.
1197, 1207 (D. Del. 1993). Thus, ITC validity
determinations are limited to whether the patent
holder has a valid claim for an exclusion order under
§ 1337(a)(1)(B). So there are indeed patent
adjudications that involve public rights, but IPR
adjudications do not.

II], IPRs UNDERCUT ARTICLE III
CONSTITUTIONAL PROTECTIONS DUE
TO LIMITED DISCOVERY AND
PRECLUSIVE EFFECT ON ARTICLE Ii!
COURTS

The limits on discovery from opposing party in
IPRs undermine substantive litigants’ rights that
can only be available in an Article ITT court. The
latter’s relatively liheral discovery standard provides
that “[plarties may obtain discovery regarding any
nonprivileged matter that is relevant to any party’s
claim or defense and proportional to the needs of the
case...” Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(1). In contrast, the one-
year statutory deadline for completion of IPRs in 35
U.S.C, § 316(a){11), and the substantial hurdle of

- 20 -

meeting the PTAB’s permissible discovery “in the
interest of justice” standard under 35 U.S.C.
§ 316(a)(5) results in PTAB denial of discovery that
would otherwise be available in Article III courts.
See Garmin Int, Inc. vu. Cuozzo Speed Techs. LLC,
IPR2012-00001, Paper No. 26, at *5—6 (PTAB. Mar.
5, 2013) (In IPR, “discovery is limited as compared to
that available in district court litigation. Limited
discovery lowers the cost, minimizes the complexity,
and shortens the period required for dispute
resolution.”) The effects of these denials and other
procedura) hurdles have had adverse effects on IPR
litigants. See A. Abbott, et al., Crippling the
Innovation Economy: Regulatory Overreach at the
Patent Office,” released by the Regulatory
Transparency Project of the Federalist Society,
(August 14, 2017) (https://regproject.ury/wp-
content/uploads/RTP-Intellectual-Property-Working-
(jroup-Paper.pdf).

Congress also enacted the IPR statute in 35
U.S.C. § 315(e)(2) which provides that the petitioner
in an IPR may not assert in an Article [II court civil
action that the patent claim is invalid on any ground
that the IPR petitioner raised or reasonably could
have raised during that JPR. This means that the
IPR statute strips the judiciary of its discretion. It
mandates that PTAB decisions have preclusive effect
on Article ITI courts, raising substantial separation
of powers concerns. Northern Pipeline, 158 U.S. at
58 (the judicial power established in Article Lil, § 1,
is “an inseparable element of the constitutional
system of checks and balances.”)

=,

The separation of powers concerns here are
particularly heightened as the IPR statute mandates
a preclusive effect of a decision by a non-Article III
tribunal which denies full redress for a litigant. It
prevents a patent challenger who was afforded only
the limited and truncated opportunity for discovery
in the administrative IPK process from making his
case by utilizing the full scope of discovering and
adducing evidence otherwise available in Article ITI
court adjudications. This Court sidestepped this
preclusion concern in the context of trademark law
and “has never addressed whether such preclusion
offends Article IIT.” A & B Hardware, Inc. v. Hargis
Indus., Inc., 135 S. Ct. 1293, 1305, (2015) (n. 2: “[Wle
do not decide whether such preclusion is
unconstitutional because the issue is not before us.’)
Where, as here, the constitutionality of a statute
that removes from Article IT! courts the adjudication
of private property rights is manifestly before this
Court, consideration of Congress’ design in 35 U.S.C.
§ 315{e)(2) that such removal further have a
preclusive effect on Article III courts should be
highly relevant to this Court’s decision. The Court
should apply the Founders’ intent — _ the
Constitution “vests the ‘judicial Power’ not in
administrative agencies, but in federal courts, whose
independence 18 safeguarded by certain
constitutional requirements. Art. [I], § 1." B&B
Hardware, 135 S. Ct. at 1813 (Thomas J.,
dissenting). Thus, IPRs may be constitutionally
infirm because they strip away rights to Article III
court adjudications not only from the patent holder
but also from the patent challenger.

» 29 .

Ill. 1PR’S CONSTITUTIONAT INFIRMITY IS
COMPOUNDED BY IMPROPERLY
PRESCRIBING THE PREPONDERANCE
OF EVIDENCE STANDARD FOR
INVALIDATING PATENT CLAIMS

The AIA codified 35 U.S.C. § 316{e) which
directs the PTO to apply the “preponderance of the
evidence” standard in adjudicating the validity of the
claims in post grant proceedings even though
patents are presumed valid, 35 U.S.C. § 282, and
invalidity must be proven by clear and convincing
evidence, Microsoft v. i¢i, 131 S. Ct. 2238 (2011);
Radio Corp. of Am. v. Radio Engg Labs., Inc., 293
U.S. 1, 7-8 (1934) (“one otherwise an infringer who
assails the validity of a patent fair upon its face
bears a heavy burden of persuasion, and fails unless
his evidence has more than a_— dubious
preponderance”); Coffin v. Ogden, 85 U.S. 120, 124
(1874) (“The burden of proof rests upon [the patent
challenger], and every reasonable doubt should be
resolved against him.”)

To be sure, it is within the domain of Congress
to establish presumptions and rules respecting
burden of proof. Nonethcless, the Due Process
Clause of the Constitution does not permit the
deprivation of liberty or property upon application of
a standard of proof too lax to make reasonuble
assurance of accurate fact-finding. Due Process,
which Article [II] courts adhere to, requires that
there be sufficient safeguards from erroneous
judgements that have disproportionately high risk to
a litigant.

- 23 -

Thus, "[t]he function of a standard of proof, as
that concept is embodied in the Due Process Clause
und in the realm of fact-finding, is to ‘instruct the
factfinder concerning the degree of confidence our
society thinks he should have in the correctness of
factual conclusions for a_ particular type of
adjudication.” Addington v. Texas 141 U.S. 418, 423
(1979) (quoting Jn re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 370
(1970) (Harlan J. concurring)). “In any given
proceeding, the minimum standard of proof tolerated
by the due process requirement reflects not only the
weight of the public and private interests affected,
but also a societal judgment about how the risk of
error should be distributed between the litigants. The
minimum standard is a question of federal law
which this Court may resolve. Retrospective case-by-
case review cannot preserve fundamental fairness
when a class of proceedings is governed by a
constitutionally defective evidentiary standard.”
Santosky, 455 U.S. at 745-46 (emphasis added).

When the litigants’ risks are equal, that is, in a
symmetric case where the consequences of an error
in favor of one litigant are just as serious as the
consequences of an ecrror in favor of the other, the
certainty level must not favor one litigant over the
other and it need only be greater than % to allow a
verdict for the plaintiff. This is reflected in legal
determinations made under the preponderance-of-
the-evidence standard in many civil cases,

In certain civil cases, however, u party is
required to demonstrate certain facts to a higher
degree of probability because the litigants’ risks in
the event of an adjudication error against them are

~ ©

substantially asymmetric. For example, where the
defendant is accused of civil fraud, a finding against
him may do more than merely cost him restitution
money. Since he loses reputation as well, the risk of
an erroncous judgment aguinst him is greater than
that of an erroneous judgment against the plaintiff;
as a result, the plaintiff must prove his case to a
higher probability— clear-and-convincing evidence.
See John W. Strong, 2 MCCORMICK ON EVIDENCE
§§ 340, 443-444 (4th ed.1992) (collecting civil cases
where the clear-and-convincing evidence standard
applies including civil fraud, undue _ influence,
special danger of deception, revocation of citizenship,
or policy grounds). In criminal law, the loss of
liberty or life to the defendant due to a judgement
error makes the countervailing risks extremely
asymmetric, and thus prosecutors must prove their
case “beyond reasonable doubt” to convict.

The presumption of validity under the clear-
and-convincing-evidence standard in patent law is
not necessarily based on any deference to the PTO
examination prior to the patent grant. The
heightened standard was used even before the Office
started examining applications in 1836. See Ron I).
Katznelson, Brief of Amicus Curiae in Support of
Affirmance, Microsoft Corp. v. idi et al., at 30-32,
U.S. Supreme Court (March 18, 2011) (quoting
passages from Sen. Rep. Accompanying Senate Bill
No. 239, 24th Cong., Ist Sess. (April 28, 1836), as
endorsing the heightened standard of proof and the
presumption of patent validity), available at
http://).mp/MS-y-i4i-Brief. Rather, the presumption
of validity under the clear-and-convincing-evidence
standard is an immutable adjudicatory standard

>

matched to the large asymmetry in the
countervailing risks to the litigants due to factfinder
errors in validity determinations.

In a patent infringement action, the litigants’
risks of fact-finding errors in determining
infringement are symmetric, because each party has
the same dollars at risk—the damages judgment
amount im the event of a finding for their adversary.
Therefore, this essential symmetry of risks has long
been recognized as requiring that infringement be
proven by preponderance-of-the-evidence. Bene v.
Jeantet, 129 U.S. 683, 688 (1889). That is not the
case for patent invalidity determinations. When the
factfinder erroneously upholds an invalid patent, the
defendant risks the unjust loss of dumage award
only for his own infringement, whereas when the
factfinder erroneously finds a valid patent invalid,
the patentee risks the unjust loss of his rights to
damage awards from hundreds or thousands of
infringers or licensees, and the unjust enrichment of
the public with a disclosure of the invention that was
published upon consummation of the patent bargain.
The asymmetry arises immediately upon the grant
of the exclusive patent right and is irreversible
thereafter because the patentee’s loss and the
dedication of his invention to the public is
irreversible.

Thus, contrary to some widely-held notions
with respect to standard of proof at the PTO, the
evidentiary standards do not, and cannot, depend on
the venue or tribunal adjudicating a case; they
depend solely on the relative disparity of the parties’
countervailing risks of adverse adjudication errors.

- 26 -

The litigants in an IPR proceeding are the
patent holder on one side and the IPR petitioner or
the real party in interest or privy of the petitioner on
the other. A.g. 35 U.S.C. § 317(a) (discussing the
parties involved in IPR settlement). The PTO is not
a party and unlike its role in pre-grant examination,
the PTO does not represent the public in the
proceeding — it merely assumes the role of an
impartial adjudicator, which can also authorize a
settlement narrowly tailored solely to the interests of
the litigants. 35 U.S.C. § 317. As in patent cases
tried in district courts, the countervailing risks of
error in IPR are vastly different for the patentee and
the petitioner. Therefore, the clear and convincing
evidence standard must apply in adjudicating the
validity of patent claims, as it does in Article II]
courts. Arguing that the standard of proof for IPR at
the PTO should be as it is in other PTO
proceedings—the preponderance of evidence——is
tantamount to arguing that a district court should
keep the preponderance of evidence standard it used
in a civil case when it proceeds to adjudicate a
criminal case.

Where, as here, the countervailing risks of
error in adjudication are highly asymmetric, this
Court made clear that setting the proper standard of
proof in civil cases is a constitutional protection
matter: “To meet due process demands ... the
standard of proof has to inform the factfinder that
the proof must be greater than the ‘prepondcrance of
the evidence’ standard applicable to other categories
of civil cases.” Addington, 141 US at 419. (Emphasis
added).

- 27 -

Accepting, as this Court should, the patent
bargain and the highly asymmetric risks that
invalidity adjudicution imparts on the parties in
IPRs, this asymmetry must guide this Court’s
analysis of the Question Presented regarding the
removal of patent validity adjudications from such
immutable legal regime. Article III courts are bound
by, Santosky, Addington and Winship in civil
proceedings and therefore are to apply the clear-and-
convincing-evidence standard in patent validity
cases, as ifi confirms. This constitutional protection
from fact-finding errors must be available in any
tribunal and are denied of patent holders under IPR.
The presumption of validity with the clear-and-
convincing-evidence standard is an _ indivisible
“bundle” of rights that come with an issued patent.
Those rights have been bargained for prior to the
AIA (at least with respect to patents applied for
before the effective date of the AIA) and thus cannot
be undermined ex posi. Yet, the IPR statute in
35 U.S.C. § 316(e) does just that.

Acquiescing to Congress’ overreach in enacting
the IPR statute and permitting a _ federal
administrative tribunal to repeal a valuable private
right through revocation of a government grant
under the mere preponderance of the evidence
standard would be a dangerous precedent. For
example, it could sanction Congress’ remittance of
denaturalization proceedings revoking a grant of
U.S. citizenship under the Immigration and
Nationality Act (INA) 8U.S.C.§145l{a) to a
government agency adjudication upon a showing by
mere preponderance of the evidence with no Article

- 98 -

ILL court findings of fact. Although immigration law
has other complexities and bases for remitting
certain adjudications to executive branch tribunals,
the point addressed here is limited to the standard of
proof protections.

Under the INA, the government must “institute
proceedings in any district court of the United States
... for the purpose of revoking and ... canceling the
certificate of naturalization.” 8 U.S.C. § 1451(a).
Proof must be by clear and convincing evidence:

“[A] certificate of citizenship is an instrument
granting [rights] and open like other public grants
to be revoked if and when it shall be found to have
been [improperly] procured. ... To set aside such a
grant the evidence must be clear, unequivocal,
and convincing—it cannot be done upon a bare
preponderance of evidence which leaves the issuc
in doubt.”

Kungys v. United States, 485 U.S. 759, 795 n.7
(1988) (citation omitted, emphasis added). “This is
so because rights once conferred should not be
lightly revoked. And more especially is this true
when the rights are precious and when they are
conferred by solemn adjudication, as is the situation
when citizenship is granted.” Jd.

To be sure, such INA naturalization revocation
is an equitable remedy because the certificate
involved may have been “procured by concealment of
a material fact or by willful misrepresentation.”
8 U.S.C. § 1451(a). However, the proceedings are
currently entrusted to an Article [II court with the

so

heightened standard of proof in keeping with the
high asymmetry of the countervailing risks of
adjudication errors. But there is no assurance that
they will remain so. These and other similar
proceedings entailing valuable private ur individual
rights which enjoy Article III protections, will be at
risk of losing such constitutional protections by a
mere act of Congress relegating them to
administrative tribunals with lower standards of
proof, should this Court uphold the precedent of the
constitutionality of IPRs.

More generally to the Question Presented, were
this Court to uphold the judgement of the Court of
Appeals permitting removal from Article III courts
adjudication of patent validity, it would threaten all
private property rights secured or conferred by
statutes. As to patent rights, there would be nothing
to prevent Congress from removing ail patent
invalidity adjudications from Article [11 courts,
requiring courts adjudicating patent infringement
cases to refer patent invalidity matters through an
expedited procedure to the “expert” agency tribunal,
ostensibly to “improve efficiency” and “reduce
litigation costs.” This would gut the very incentives
and protections that inventors and patent holders’
require for making irreversible disclosures and
investments in developing and commercializing
inventions. Even the prospect of such future
legislation would have a substantial chilling effect on
patenting activities and investments reliant on
patent rights. Rights adjudicated in IPR are private
rights. Adjudication of patent validity is the
exclusive province of Article III courts.

- >

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the
Court of Appeals should be reversed to restore the
constitutional protections to which patent owners
are entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

IEKE-USA
Amicus Curiae
By:

Maura K. Moran

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
IEEE-USA Vice President, Government Relations
Cambridge Technology Law LLC
686 Massachusetts Avenue, Suite 201,
Cambridge, MA 02139
Tel: 978.443.4558
mmoran@cambridgetechlaw.com

31 AUGUST 2017

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0724%3A39. Public record. Not legal advice.
