# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Epic Sys. Corp. v. Lewis, 138 S. Ct. 42 (2017) (No. 16-285)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0699%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

~“Gupreme Coun, US. «|
FILED

16-285 | cus

No. 16-

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

Epic SYSTEMS CORPORATION,
Petitioner,

Vv.

JACOB LEWIS,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of
for the Seventh C t

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NOAH A. FINKEL NEAL KUMAR KATYAL

ANDREW SCROGGINS Counsel of Record

SEYFARTH SHAW LLP MARY HELEN WIMBERLY

131 South Dearborn Street FREDERICK LIU

Chicago, IL 60603 DANIEL J.T. SCHUKER
HOGAN LOVELLS US LLP
555 Thirteenth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 637-5600
neal.katyal@hoganlovells.com

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether an agreement that requires an employer
and an employee to resolve employment-related
disputes through individual arbitration, and waive
class and collective proceedings, is enforceable under
the Federal Arbitration Act, notwithstanding the
provisions of the National Labor Relations Act.

(i)

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

1. Epic Systems Corporation, petitioner on review,
was the defendant-appellant below.

2. Jacob Lewis, respondent on review, was the
plaintiff-appellee below.

iii
RULE 29.6 DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Epic Systems Corporation has no parent corpora-
tion, and no publicly held company owns 10% or
more of Epic Systems Corporation’s stock.

uae ul to ee eee Se Se ee ee Pe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. ...0....c.ccsscccscsessesssesessecseeneees
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. ............:cccs0s0000e00. ii
RULE 29.6 DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ............... iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ...........::se:seseessessseseeseees vii
Cs eadcainabins 1
TEE NR a se eR a 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..............-.. 2
SR IS Ee NE Re 3
EERE cE ee ee ee ene a 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......... 7

I. THERE IS AN ACKNOWLEDGED
SPLIT OF AUTHORITY ON THE
QUESTION PRESENTED...............0.....000. cece 7

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH THIS COURT'S ARBITRATION
PRECEDENTS AND WAS

A. The FAA Controls The Enforceability
Of Arbitration Agreements Absent
Contrary Congressional Command................ 14

B. The Court of Appeals Failed To
Follow The Requisite CompuCredit
itis hetlcidndlbaihiiiintinabigditincimteseecscens 15

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Analysis Is
Not Salvageable Through the FAA’s
| ES AE 18

(v)

al

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page
Ill. REVIEW IS NEEDED TO
ESTABLISH A NATIONWIDE RULE
ON AN IMPORTANT ISSUE FOR
BOTH EMPLOYERS AND
kd scesdpennnbensedecnneial 20
a cies dees ei nenadinianetned 26
APPENDICES
APPENDIX A—May 26, 2016 Court of
SEES ETT A a la
APPENDIX B—Sept. 10, 2016 District
SITE ES SS Ce 24a

APPENDIX C—Apr. 2, 2014 Mutual
Arbitration Agreement Regarding
Wages and Hours (C.A. App. 11-13)............ 30a

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES:
Adkins v. Labor Ready, Inc.,
303 F.3d 496 (4th Cir. 2002)...................24. 11, 21
Adriana’s Ins. Servs., Inc.,
364 N.L.R.B. 17 (May 31, 2016)..........00....00..... 22
American Express Co. v. Italian Colors
Rest., 133 S. Ct. 2304 (2013)...........000...0... passim
Arise Virtual Sols., Inc.,
No. 12-CA-144223, 2016 WL 4362210
poke f | Re 22
AT&T Mobility LLC v. Concepcion,
a ee IED sicnccsiecsristibaniininsinaseenien passim
Bekele v. Lyft, Inc.,
No. 15-cv-11650, 2016 WL 4203412
(D. Mass. Aug. 9, 2016) .......cccccsccccsosseses 17, 18, 21
Bell v. Ryan Transp. Serv., Inc.,
No. 15-9857, 2016 WL 1298083
CEG. ees MENG BE: SIL ss oeccndsddsepsenansdunnasntcinnban 21
Briad Wenco, LLC,
No. 29-CA-165942, 2016 WL 3626602
CE Ba UE Gs SED eiannssessasssovnnekoneiessoniinbits 22
Bristol Farms,
364 N.L.R.B. 34 (July 6, 2016)............00...0..: 22
California Commerce Club, Inc.,
364 N.L.R.B. 31 (June 16, 2016).................0.... 22

Cellular Sales of Mo., LLC v. NLRB,
824 F.3d 772 (8th Cir. 2016)...................

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Century Fast Foods, Inc.,

No. 31-CA-116102, 2015 WL 1885197

I I, I, BI cocccccensescocssccoseesessscors 21
Chesapeake Energy Corp. v. NLRB,

633 F. App’x 613 (5th Cir. 2016).................. 9, 23
Citi Trends, Inc. v. NLRB,

No. 15-60913, 2016 WL 4245458

ne 9, 23
CompuCredit Corp. v. Greenwood,

ee passim
D.R. Horton, Inc. v. NLRB,

737 F.3d 344 (5th Cir. 2013)........... 7, 8,9, 11, 23
D.R. Horton, Inc.,

SE EES, SED GEE ccccccccencccseccccescscecess 8, 21
Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd,

a 15
DIRECTV, Inc. v. Imburgia,

a 15
Gilmer v. Interstate / Johnson Lane Corp.,

Ee 15
Grill Concepts Servs., Inc.,

364 N.L.R.B. 36 (June 30, 2016)...................... 22
Iskanian v. CLS Transp. L.A., LLC,

I snc ccs nnesencesccoesenees 11
Killion v. KeHE Distribs., LLC,

761 F.3d 574 (6th Cir. 2014)...................... 11, 21

Lincoln E. Mgmt. Corp.,
364 N.L.R.B. 16 (May 31, 2016)...............00...... 22

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985)................ 15
Morris v. Ernst & Young, LLP,

No. 13-16599, 2016 WL 4433080

(9th Cir. Aug. 22, 2016)............. 12, 13, 15, 17, 19
Morvant v. P.F. Chang’s China Bistro, Inc.,

870 F. Supp. 2d 831 (N.D. Cal. 2012).............. 21
Moses H. Cone Mem’! Hosp. v. Mercury

Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1 (1983)........... 14, 15, 16
Murphy Oil USA, Inc. v. NLRB,

808 F.3d 1013 (5th Cir. 2015)................. 9, 22, 23
Owen v. Bristol Care, Inc.,

702 F.3d 1050 (8th Cir. 2013)........... 9, 10, 12, 23
PJ Cheese, Inc. v. NLRB,

No. 15-60610, 2016 WL 3457261

ey es I Gi BI ortcseccscncsccoussascensesoces 9, 23
Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg.

ere 15
Raniere v. Citigroup Inc.,

533 F. App’x 11 (2d Cir. 2013) ......................0« 21
Rim Hosp.,

No. 21-CA-137250, 2016 WL 3345349

RR en 20
Scherzinger Corp.,

No. 09-CA-165460, 2016 WL 3383761

BR 22

Shearson/Am. Express Inc. v. McMahon,
tk, Sa 14, 15, 16

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

SJK, Inc.,

364 N.L.R.B. 29 (June 16, 2016)...................... 22
Stolt-Nielsen S.A. v. AnimalFeeds Int'l

Corp., 559 U.S. 662 (2010) ................1...000 15, 25
Sutherland v. Ernst & Young LLP,

726 F.3d 290 (2d Cir. 2013)................... 10, 11, 12
Tallman v. Eighth Jud. Dist. Ct.,

359 P.3d 113 (Nev. 2015) ......................0000 11, 21
Walthour v. Chipio Windshield Repair,

LLC, 745 F.3d 1326 (11th Cir. 2014)......... 11, 21

STATUTES:
EET ROE ETT EOI passim
TT ne ae ae a ene Rene a 6
| a ee ae LENT 2
a esata 3, 6,17
aia seeean i iemaalaell 3, 6,18
5 RT aS Na 9, 22, 23
TIE ini ccs acerlatinsonscnentieiiaiigalaginsicesiiiiite 6
RULE:

ey Se I OF 6 Si iriccatscndapenticianiuniniiimeniesiinamniiiniogh 17

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 16-_

EPIC SYSTEMS CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
Vv.
JACOB LEWIS,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of als
for the Seventh t

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Epic Systems Corporation (Epic) respectfully peti-
tions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Seventh Circuit’s opinion is reported at 823
F.3d 1147. The District Court’s opinion denying
Epic’s motion to dismiss and compel individual
arbitration is not published in the Federal Supple-
ment, but it is available at 2015 WL 5330300.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Seventh Circuit was entered
on May 26, 2016. On July 29, 2016, Justice Kagan
extended the time within which to file a petition for a

2

writ of certiorari to and including September 23,
2016. See No. 16A93. This Court’s jurisdiction is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Federal Arbitration Act
(FAA) and the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA).
The FAA provision at issue states:
A written provision in any maritime trans-
action or a contract evidencing a transac-
tion involving commerce to settle by arbi-
tration a controversy thereafter arising out
of such contract or transaction, or the re-
fusal to perform the whole or any part
thereof, or an agreement in writing to
submit to arbitration an existing controver-
sy arising out of such a contract, transac-
tion, or refusal, shall be valid, irrevocable,
and enforceable, save upon such grounds as
exist at law or in equity for the revocation
of any contract. [9 U.S.C. § 2.]

Two provisions of the NLRA are at issue. The first,
Section 7 of the NLRA, provides:

Employees shall have the right to self-
organization, to form, join, or assist labor
organizations, to bargain collectively
through representatives of their own choos-
ing, and to engage in other concerted activ-
ities for the purpose of collective bargain-
ing or other mutual aid or protection, and
shall also have the right to refrain from
any or all of such activities except to the
extent that such right may be affected by
an agreement requiring membership in a

3

labor organization as a condition of em-
ployment as authorized in section 158(a)(3)
of this title. [29 U.S.C. § 157.]

The second, Section 8 of the NLRA, states:

It shall be an unfair labor practice for an
employer—

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce
employees in the exercise of the rights
guaranteed in section 157 of this title * * *.
Id. § 158(a).]

INTRODUCTION

This case is about the enforceability of arbitration
agreements under the FAA. As a matter of federal
substantive law, the FAA establishes a presumption
in favor of enforcing arbitration agreements as
written. See 9 U.S.C. § 2. This presumption may be
overcome by another federal statute, but only—as
the Court has recently reaffirmed—if that statute
qualifies as a “congressional command” that is “con-
trary” to the FAA’s enforcement mandate. Compu-
Credit Corp. v. Greenwood, 132 S.Ct. 665, 669
(2012). The question presented here arises in the
context of employer-employee agreements that
require employment-related disputes to be resolved
through individual arbitration and not class or
collective arbitration. It asks whether Section 7 of
the NLRA, which gives employees the right to “en-
gage in *** concerted activities for the purpose of
collective bargaining or other mutual aid or protec-
tion,” 29 U.S.C. § 157, qualifies as a contrary con-
gressional command sufficient to overcome the FAA’s
presumption that these agreements should be en-
forced according to their terms.

4

The courts are squarely divided over this important
and recurring question. Three federal courts of
appeals (the Second, Fifth, and Eighth Circuits) and
two state courts of last resort (the California and
Nevada Supreme Courts) have concluded that the
answer is no: agreements to submit employment
disputes to individual arbitration are fully enforcea-
ble. Two other federal courts of appeals (the Seventh
and Ninth Circuits)—as well as the National Labor
Relations Board—have concluded that the answer is
yes: these agreements are unenforceable because
they bar class and collective proceedings. Thus the
outcome of a case deciding the question presented
will depend on whether the case is filed in one circuit
or another—and, in the Ninth Circuit, on whether
the case is litigated in state or federal court. This
divergence in authority renders the _ dispute-
resolution process in employer-employee relation-
ships unpredictable, to the detriment of employers
and employees alike.

The question presented has been fully ventilated
and the subject of both majority and dissenting
opinions by eminent jurists. This Court’s interven-
tion is needed now to resolve the acknowledged and
intractable split. The petition should be granted.

STATEMENT

1. Epic Systems Corporation is a Wisconsin-based
company that makes software for recording, organiz-
ing, and sharing healthcare data. Across the coun-
try, Epic’s software is used every day by hospitals,
academic medical facilities, retail clinics, safety-net
providers, and other healthcare organizations. Epic
relies on its own employees to develop, install, and
maintain its software.

5

In April 2014, Epic sent an email to many of its
employees. Pet. App. 2a. Contained within the
email was an arbitration agreement. Jd. The email
asked recipients to review and acknowledge the
agreement by responding in one of two ways: the
recipients could either confirm that they understood
and consented to the agreement, or they could re-
quest that someone contact them about it. Jd.; C.A.

App. 15.

One day after receiving the email, Jacob Lewis,
who was then a technical communications employee
of Epic, responded by acknowledging that he under-
stood and consented to the terms of the arbitration
agreement. Pet. App. 2a. In doing so, Lewis
“agree[d] to use binding arbitration, instead of going
to court, for any ‘covered claims’”—a category that
the agreement specifically defined as including any
“claimed violation of wage-and-hour practices or
procedures under local, state or federal statutory or
common law.” Jd. at 30a-31a.

The arbitration agreement also contained a “Waiv-
er of Class and Collective Claims.” Jd. at 3la. By
accepting that waiver, Lewis “agree(d] that covered
claims will be arbitrated only on an individual basis,”
and “waiveld| the right to participate in or receive
money or any other relief from any class, collective,
or representative proceeding.” Jd. The agreement
further provided that “if the Waiver of Class and
Collective Claims is found to be unenforceable, then
any claim brought on a class, collective, or repre-
sentative action basis must be filed in a court of
competent jurisdiction.” Jd. at 35a.

2. Lewis continued to work for Epic until Decem-
ber 2014. C.A. App. 9. Then, in February 2015,

6

Lewis sued Epic in federal court on behalf of a puta-
tive class and collective of technical communications
employees, claiming that they had been denied
overtime wages in violation of the Fair Labor Stand-
ards Act of 1938 (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seqg., and
Wisconsin law. Pet. App. 2a.

Epic moved to dismiss the complaint and compel
individual arbitration, citing the arbitration agree-
ment to which Lewis had consented. Jd. Although
Lewis acknowledged that his claims fell within the
scope of that agreement, the District Court denied
Epic’s motion. Jd. at 24a, 29a. According to the
District Court, the waiver of class and collective
proceedings was unenforceable because it violated
the right of employees to engage in “concerted activi-
ties” under Section 7 of the NLRA. Id. at 25a-28a
(quoting 29 U.S.C. § 157).

3. Epic appealed, see 9 U.S.C. § 16(a), and the Sev-
enth Circuit affirmed.

Turning first to the NLRA, the court concluded that
“lal collective, representative, or class legal proceed-
ing is *** a ‘concerted activitly]’” under NLRA
Section 7. Pet. App. 10a (brackets in original). And
because Section 8 of the NLRA prohibits an employer
from interfering with an employee’s right to engage
in concerted activity, 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1), the court
held that the NLRA renders the waiver of class and
collective proceedings “unenforceable.” Pet. App.
lla.

Only then did the court turn to the FAA, asking
whether that statute “resuscitates” the waiver. Id.
at 12a. The court concluded that it does not, because
of the FAA’s saving clause. Jd. at 15a. Under that
clause, an arbitration agreement may be rendered

7

unenforceable by “such grounds as exist at law or in
equity for the revocation of any contract.” Id. at 14a-
15a (quoting 9 U.S.C. §2). And according to the
court, “[iJllegality is one of those grounds.” Id. at
15a. The court thus held that the waiver was “unen-
forceable” even under the FAA. 7d. at 20a. In doing
so, the court acknowledged that the Fifth Circuit in
D.R. Horton, Inc. v. NLRB, 737 F.3d 344 (5th Cir.
2013), had come “to the opposite conclusion.” Pet.
App. 15a. The court nevertheless proceeded to
“create a conflict in the circuits.” Jd. at 15a n.f.

This petition followed.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THERE IS AN ACKNOWLEDGED SPLIT
OF AUTHORITY ON THE QUESTION
PRESENTED.

The split of authority in this case is clear, acknow]l-
edged, and undisputed. The federal courts of appeals
and state courts of last resort are divided, five to two,
on whether the NLRA overcomes the FAA’s pre-
sumption that arbitration agreements are enforcea-
ble as written, when the agreement at issue submits
employment-related disputes to individual arbitra-
tion.

1. The Second, Fifth, and Eighth Circuits, as well
as the Supreme Courts of California and Nevada,
have each determined that provisions waiving class
and collective arbitration in the employment context
are enforceable under the FAA.

a. The Fifth Circuit has squarely and repeatedly
upheld class waivers in employment-related arbitra-
tion agreements. Starting with D.R. Horton, Inc. v.
NLRB, 737 F.3d 344, 362 (5th Cir. 2013), the court

8

rejected a decision by the National Labor Relations
Board (NLRB or Board), which had found the class
waiver at issue unenforceable under the FAA and
the NLRA. See D.R. Horton, Inc., 357 N.L.R.B. 2277
(2012). The Fifth Circuit considered and rejected the
Board’s determination that the FAA’s saving clause
was “a basis for invalidating” class waivers due to
their purported illegality under the NLRA. 737 F.3d
at 360. The Board’s analysis was flawed, the court
explained, because its finding of illegality had “the
effect of *** disfavor[ing] arbitration.” Jd. at 359
(citing AT&T Mobility LLC v. Concepcion, 563 U.S.
333, 346 (2011)). That type of illegality is not a
“ground|] *** for the revocation of any contract,” 9
U.S.C. §2 (emphasis added); it is a ground that
specifically targets arbitration, D.R. Horton, 737
F.3d at 360. The court therefore concluded that the
defense falls outside the saving clause. Id.

After dispensing with the Board’s reasoning, the
Fifth Circuit proceeded to the analysis required by
this Court’s precedent in cases where a party seeks
to avoid arbitration based on another federal statute
such as the NLRA. The court asked whether the
NLRA is “‘a contrary congressional command’” that
overcomes the FAA’s presumption favoring arbitra-
tion. Id. (quoting CompuCredit, 132 S. Ct. at 669).
The Fifth Circuit answered no: “there is no basis on
which to find that the text of the NLRA supports a
congressional command to override the FAA.” Id. In
so holding, the Fifth Circuit recognized that “[elvery
one of our sister circuits to consider the issue” has
“held arbitration agreements containing class waiv-
ers enforceable,” and the court was “loath to create a
circuit split.” /d. at 362. The proper resolution,

9

therefore, was straightforward: a class waiver “must
be enforced according to its terms.” Jd.

The Fifth Circuit has adhered to this view consist-
ently for the last three years. It has done so in the
face of serial challenges to its decisions from the
NLRB—challenges that are mounted whenever
aggrieved parties elect to file petitions to review
NLRB rulings in the Fifth Circuit. See Citi Trends,
Inc. v. NLRB, No. 15-60913, 2016 WL 4245458, at *1
(5th Cir. Aug. 10, 2016) (per curiam) (unpublished);
PJ Cheese, Inc. v. NLRB, No. 15-60610, 2016 WL
3457261, at *1 (5th Cir. June 16, 2016) (per curiam);
Chesapeake Energy Corp. v. NLRB, 633 F. App’x 613,
615 (5th Cir. 2016) (per curiam) (unpublished);
Murphy Oil USA, Inc. v. NLRB, 808 F.3d 1013, 1021
(5th Cir. 2015). See also infra pp. 22-24 (discussing
how the NLRA’s judicial review provision, 29 U.S.C.
§ 160(f, allows a party to petition for review of an
NLRB decision in one of several different courts of
appeals).

b. The Eighth Circuit also has concluded that em-
ployment arbitration agreements containing class
waivers are enforceable under the FAA, notwith-
standing federal labor laws or the NLRB’s interpre-
tation of those laws. See Cellular Sales of Mo., LLC
v. NLRB, 824 F.3d 772, 776 (8th Cir. 2016); Owen v.
Bristol Care, Inc., 702 F.3d 1050, 1052, 1054-1055
(8th Cir. 2013); see also NLRB C.A. Amicus Br. 23-24
(identifying the Eighth Circuit as aligned with the
Fifth Circuit). In Owen, the Eighth Circuit acknowl-
edged the NLRB’s determination that class waivers
in employment arbitration agreements are unen-
forceable, but the court specifically “reject[ed]” the
“invitation to follow the NLRB’s rationale.” 702 F.3d

10

at 1055. The court instead found the FAA’s pre-
sumption in favor of the enforcement of arbitration
agreements to be dispositive. See id. at 1052-1055.

Applying that presumption, the Eighth Circuit
followed this Court’s rule that “there must be a
‘contrary congressional command’ for another statute
to override the FAA’s mandate.” Jd. at 1052 (quoting
CompuCredit, 132 S. Ct. at 669). The two potential
contrary congressional commands alleged in Owen
were the FLSA and the NLRA. 7d. at 1053-1054.
The Eighth Circuit concluded that neither statute
sufficed to “override[{|] the mandate of the FAA in
favor of arbitration.” /d. at 1055. Because Congress
had reenacted the FAA in 1947, after passing both of
those statutes, the court reasoned, “Congress intend-
ed its arbitration protections to remain intact even in
light of the earlier passage of *** major labor rela-
tions statutes.” Id. at 1053.

The Eighth Circuit reaffirmed its Owen decision
just a few months ago, in Cellular Sales, 824 F.3d
772. That case came before the court of appeals on a
petition to review the NLRB’s ruling “ ‘that a manda-
tory agreement requiring individual arbitration of
work-related claims’ violates the NLRA.” /d. at 776.
The court granted the petition in relevant part,
explaining that the “holding in Owen is fatal” to the
NLRB’s position. Jd. Under Owen, an “arbitration
agreement that include([s}| a waiver of class or collec-
tive actions in all forums to resolve emr!oyment-
related disputes” is enforceable. Id.

c. The Second Circuit agrees with the Fifth and
Eighth Circuits. See Sutherland v. Ernst & Young
LLP, 726 F.3d 290, 297 & n.8 (2d Cir. 2013) (per
curiam). It too has held that a class waiver in an

11

employment arbitration agreement is enforceable
under the FAA. 7/d. at 292-293, 299 (citing American
Express Co. v. Italian Colors Rest., 133 S. Ct. 2304
(2013)). The court found that neither the FLSA nor
the NLRA was a “contrary congressional command”
that overrode the FAA. Id. at 296-297 & n.8. And
like the Eighth Circuit before it, the Second Circuit
reached this conclusion even though the NLRB had
decided otherwise; the court “decline[d] to follow” the
Board’s views. Id. at 297 n.8.'

d. The validity of class and collective waivers un-
der the FAA and the NLRA has reached state courts
of last resort as well. The Supreme Courts of Cali-
fornia and Nevada have both upheld class waivers in
employment arbitration agreements. See Iskanian v.
CLS Transp. L.A., LLC, 327 P.3d 129, 137-143 (Cal.
2014); Tallman v. Eighth Jud. Dist. Ct., 359 P.3d
113, 122-123 (Nev. 2015). The California Supreme
Court reached its decision by adopting the Fifth
Circuit’s D.R. Horton analysis. See Iskanian, 327
P.3d at 141-142. And the Nevada Supreme Court did
the same, citing Iskanian. See Tallman, 359 P.3d at
123.

2. On the other side of the split are the Seventh
and Ninth Circuits.

' Several other circuits have similarly held that the FAA
demands enforcement of class waivers in employment arbitra-
tion agreements, albeit without expressly discussing the NLRA
in their decisions. See Killion v. KeHE Distribs., LLC, 761 F.3d
574, 592 (6th Cir. 2014); Walthour v. Chipio Windshield Repair,
LLC, 745 F.3d 1326, 1334-1336 (11th Cir. 2014); Adkins v.
Labor Ready, Inc., 303 F.3d 496, 503 (4th Cir. 2002).

12

a. The Seventh Circuit broke from its sister cir-
cuits in the decision below, expressly recognizing
that its opinion “would create a conflict in the cir-
cuits.” Pet. App. 15a n.f. Unlike the Second, Fifth,
and Eighth Circuits, the Seventh Circuit held that
agreements to submit employment disputes to indi-
vidual arbitration are not enforceable under the
NLRA and the FAA. The panel concluded that class
waivers in employment arbitration agreements are
“illegal” under the NLRA because they interfere with
employees’ right to engage in concerted activities.
Id. at 10a-lla. And it determined that such waivers
are unenforceable under the FAA’s saving clause
because illegality is a “‘ground[] *** for the revoca-
tion of any contract.’” Jd. at 14a-15a (quoting 9
U.S.C. § 2); see id. at 20a.

The court acknowledged that the Fifth Circuit had
reached “the opposite conclusion.” /d. at 15a. But
the Seventh Circuit minimized the Fifth Circuit’s
reasoning as relying on mere “dicta” from this
Court’s decisions in Concepcion and Italian Colors.
Id. As for the Second and Eighth Circuits, the panel
did not dispute that these “two circuits agree with
the Fifth,” but it deemed the analysis from those
circuits to be “substantively” insufficient. Jd. at 19a
(citire Sutherland and Owen).

b. The Ninth Circuit has now joined the Seventh.
In Morris v. Ernst & Young, LLP, No. 13-16599, 2016
WL 4433080 (9th Cir. Aug. 22, 2016), a divided panel
held that a waiver provision requiring employees to
bring legal claims through individual arbitration
violates the NLRA and therefore is unenforceable.
Id. at *1, *5. Echoing the Seventh Circuit’s decision,
the majority concluded that the FAA’s saving clause

13

“causles|] the FAA’s enforcement mandate to yield” to
the NLRA. /d. at *7. In so holding, the majority
acknowledged that it was widening a circuit split:
Although it “agree|d] with the Seventh Circuit,” the
majority “recognize(d| that [its] sister Circuits are
divided on this question.” Jd. at *10 n.16.

Judge Ikuta dissented. She described the majori-
ty’s decision as “breathtaking in its scope and in its
error.” Id. at *11. In her view, the NLRA was not a
contrary congressional command that overrode the
FAA’s enforcement mandate. Jd. at *12-*14. Judge
Ikuta stressed that the majority's decision otherwise
was “directly contrary to Supreme Court precedent
and join[ed] the wrong side of a circuit split.” Jd. at
*11.

3. This split of authority is now fully developed,
acknowledged, and ripe for resolution by this Court.
The competing pronouncements from the courts of
appeals and state courts of last resort have vetted
the arguments on both sides. Five of these courts
have upheld class and collective waivers under the
FAA and the NLRA; two others have invalidated
them. As more courts take a side in this dispute, the
split becomes less likely to resolve itself. And be-
cause the issue is a discrete question of statutory
interpretation, it is unlikely to benefit from further
percolation. This Court should intervene now to
resolve it.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
THIS COURT’S ARBITRATION
PRECEDENTS AND WAS INCORRECT.

This Court’s intervention is also needed because
the Seventh Circuit’s decision was mistaken on the

12

a. The Seventh Circuit broke from its sister cir-
cuits in the decision below, expressly recognizing
that its opinion “would create a conflict in the cir-
cuits.” Pet. App. 15a n.*. Unlike the Second, Fifth,
and Eighth Circuits, the Seventh Circuit held that
agreements to submit employment disputes to indi-
vidual arbitration are not enforceable under the
NLRA and the FAA. The panel concluded that class
waivers in employment arbitration agreements are
“illegal” under the NLRA because they interfere with
employees’ right to engage in concerted activities.
Id. at 10a-lla. And it determined that such waivers
are unenforceable under the FAA’s saving clause
because illegality is a “‘ground[] * * * for the revoca-
tion of any contract.’” Jd. at 14a-15a (quoting 9
U S.C. § 2); see id. at 20a.

The court acknowledged that the Fifth Circuit had
reached “the opposite conclusion.” /d. at 15a. But
the Seventh Circuit minimized the Fifth Circuit's
reasoning as relying on mere “dicta” from this
Court’s decisions in Concepcion and Italian Colors.
Id. As for the Second and Eighth Circuits, the panel
did not dispute that these “two circuits agree with
the Fifth,” but it deemed the analysis from those
circuits to be “substantively” insufficient. Jd. at 19a
(citing Sutherland and Owen).

b. The Ninth Circuit has now joined the Seventh.
In Morris v. Ernst & Young, LLP, No. 13-16599, 2016
WL 4433080 (9th Cir. Aug. 22, 2016), a divided panel
held that a waiver provision requiring employees to
bring legal claims through individual arbitration
violates the NLRA and therefore is unenforceable.
Id. at *1, *5. Echoing the Seventh Circuit’s decision,
the majority concluded that the FAA’s saving clause

13

“causles] the FAA’s enforcement mandate to yield” to
the NLRA. dd. at *7. In so holding, the majority
acknowledged that it was widening a circuit split:
Although it “agree[d] with the Seventh Circuit,” the
majority “recognize|ld] that [its] sister Circuits are
divided on this question.” Jd. at *10 n.16.

Judge Ikuta dissented. She described the majori-
ty’s decision as “breathtaking in its scope and in its
error.” Id. at *11. In her view, the NLRA was not a
contrary congressional command that overrode the
FAA’s enforcement mandate. /d. at *12-*14. Judge
Ikuta stressed that the majority’s decision otherwise
was “directly contrary to Supreme Court precedent
and joinfed] the wrong side of a circuit split.” Jd. at
*11.

3. This split of authority is now fully developed,
acknowledged, and ripe for resolution by this Court.
The competing pronouncements from the courts of
appeals and state courts of last resort have vetted
the arguments on both sides. Five of these courts
have upheld class and collective waivers under the
FAA and the NLRA; two others have invalidated
them. As more courts take a side in this dispute, the
split becomes less likely to resolve itself. And be-
cause the issue is a discrete question of statutory
interpretation, it is unlikely to benefit from further
percolation. This Court should intervene now to
resolve it.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
THIS COURT’S ARBITRATION
PRECEDENTS AND WAS INCORRECT.

This Court’s intervention is also needed because
the Seventh Circuit’s decision was mistaken on the

14

merits of the important question presented. The
court claimed that it was “harmoniz[ing]” the FAA
with the NLRA. Pet. App. 16a. Instead, it was
disregarding this Court’s instructions about how to
interpret arbitration agreements under the FAA and
misreading the NLRA to boot.

A. The FAA Controls The Enforceability
Of Arbitration Agreements Absent
Contrary Congressional Command.

Federal statutes are not all on equal footing when
it comes to arbitration agreements. The FAA is
“(t]he background law governing” questions relating
to the enforcement of an arbitration provision, even
when other federal statutes are at issue. Compu-
Credit, 132 S. Ct. at 668. It “establishes ‘a liberal
federal policy favoring arbitration agreements.’” Id.
at 669 (quoting Moses H. Cone Mem'l Hosp. v. Mer-
cury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24 (1983)). More
particularly, the type of arbitration “envisioned by
the FAA” is “bilateral” (individual) arbitration, not
class arbitration. Concepcion, 563 U.S. at 348, 351.

Under the FAA, the default rule is enforceability:
“A written provision *** to settle by arbitration a
controversy *** shall be valid, irrevocable, and
enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist at law
or in equity for the revocation of any contract.” 9
U.S.C. § 2. Accordingly, “[t]he burden is on the party
opposing arbitration *** to show that Congress
intended to preclude a waiver of judicial remedies for
the statutory rights at issue.” Shearson/Am. Ex-
press Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 227 (1987); see
also Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 24-25 (explaining
that the FAA “establishes that, as a matter of federal
law, any doubts concerning the scope of arbitrable

15

issues should be resolved in favor of arbitration”).
That is why, for decades, this Court has consistently
upheld the FAA’s policy favoring enforcement of
arbitration agreements as written. See, e.g.,
DIRECTV, Inc. v. Imburgia, 136 S. Ct. 463 (2015);
Italian Colors, 133 S. Ct. 2304; CompuCredit, 132
S. Ct. 665; Concepcion, 563 U.S. 333; Stolt-Nielsen
S.A. v. AnimalFeeds Int'l Corp., 559 U.S. 662 (2010);
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.
20 (1991); McMahon, 482 U.S. 220; Mitsubishi Mo-
tors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S.
614 (1985); Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd, 470
U.S. 213 (1985); Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. 1; Prima
Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co., 388 U.S.
395 (1967).

Consistent with the strong federal policy favoring
arbitration, the FAA “requires courts to enforce
agreements to arbitrate according to their terms|(,|
*** even when the claims at issue are federal statu-
tory claims, unless the FAA’s mandate has been
‘overridden by a contrary congressional command.’”
CompuCredit, 132 S. Ct. at 669 (quoting McMahon,
482 U.S. at 226); see Morris, 2016 WL 4433080, at
*12-*14 (Ikuta, J., dissenting). This contrary con-
gressional command cannot be “obtuse,” but rather
must indicate Congress’s contrary intent with some
“clarity.” CompuCredit, 132 S. Ct. at 672. And, as
stated, the directive must be “congressional,” id. at
669—not administrative or judicial.

B. The Court of Appeals Failed To Follow
The Requisite CompuCredit Analysis.

1. The court of appeals below erred when it ex-
pressly declined to evaluate whether the NLRA is a
“contrary congressional command,” as CompuCredit

16

requires. See Pet. App. 13a. It concluded that the
CompuCredit analysis would “put[] the cart before
the horse.” Jd. The court perceived a preceding, and
ultimately superseding, obligation “to see if the two
statutes conflict.” Jd. Above all else, the court said,
it was required to “harmonize” the FAA with the
NLRA. 7d. at 14a, 16a. In this way, the court of
appeals started in the wrong place and conducted the
wrong analysis—and the result of its backward
methodology was to nullify, not harmonize.

The court of appeals should have begun the analy-
sis with the FAA—specifically, the Act’s presumption
that arbitration agreements are enforceable as
written. See 9 U.S.C. § 2; CompuCredit, 132 S. Ct. at
668-669; Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 24-25. It should
have imposed the burden on the party opposing
arbitration (Lewis) to show that the agreement was
unenforceable, resolving all doubts in favor of arbi-
tration. McMahon, 482 U.S. at 227. And it should
have asked whether the NLRA was a congressional
command “contrary” to the FAA. CompuCredit, 132

S. Ct. at 669.

Instead, the court began with the NLRA and im-
posed the “burden” “to show that the FAA clashes
with the NLRA” on the party seeking to enforce
arbitration (Epic). Pet. App. 14a. The court also
asked the wrong question: whether the NLRA’s
protection of employees’ right to engage in “concerted
activities” could be read to cover class and collective
proceedings. Jd. at 3a-9a. And only after the court
answered the wrong question affirmatively did it
consider, as a secondary inquiry, whether the FAA
“resuscitates” the class waiver. Jd. at 12a. The
court’s analysis thus was flawed from start to finish.

17

2. Under the standards this Court has laid down,
the NLRA is not a “contrary congressional command”
that bars class waivers in arbitration agreements.
CompuCredit, 132 S. Ct. at 669; see Morris, 2016 WL
4433080, at *14-*16 (Ikuta, J., dissenting). Section 7
of the NLRA does not expressly prohibit class waiv-
ers; it grants employees the right “to engage in * * *
concerted activities for the purpose of collective
bargaining or other mutual aid or protection.” 29
U.S.C. § 157. To qualify as a contrary congressional
command, therefore, Section 7 would have to actual-
ly give employees the right to arbitrate or litigate a
dispute as a class or collective action. But that
interpretation is not compelled by the statutory
language, and it makes little sense.

If the NLRA were indeed the source of employees’
putative right to proceed as a class or collective
action in litigation or arbitration, employees could
commence such proceedings directly under the
NLRA. See Bekele v. Lyft, Inc., No. 15-cv-11650,
2016 WL 4203412, at *20 (D. Mass. Aug. 9, 2016)
(criticizing the decision below, including on this
ground), appeal docketed, No. 16-2109 (1st Cir. Aug.
30, 2016). They presumably could have done so even
before the federal rules were revised to provide for
class litigation of legal claims. See generally Italian
Colors, 133 S. Ct. at 2311 (describing the advent of
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23). Yet there was
no rush to the courthouse by employees seeking a
class or collective remedy under the NLRA, then or
now, because no such right exists.

Moreover, if NLRA Section 7 gives employees the
right to proceed in a class or collective action, NLRA
Section 8 makes it an unfair labor practice for an

18

employer “to interfere with” that “right[].” 29 U.S.C.
§ 158(a)(1). The logical consequence is that any
employer opposition to employees’ efforts to certify a
class or collective action or arbitration “interfere(s]
with” the employees’ “right[].” See id. That would
make certification of class or collective actions auto-
matic when they are brought by employees against
their employer. See Bekele, 2016 WL 4203412, at *20
(making a similar observation). Nothing in the
NLRA suggests that was Congress’s intended result,
however. Accordingly, the NLRA does not give
employees a right to proceed in class arbitration, and
certainly not a right that trumps the FAA’s pre-
sumption that arbitration agreements are enforcea-
ble as written.

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Analysis Is Not
Salvageable Through the FAA’s Saving
Clause.

1. The court of appeals said it found support for its
decision in the FAA’s saving clause, which provides
that an arbitration agreement is enforceable “‘save
upon such grounds as exist at law or in equity for the
revocation of any contract.’” Pet. App. 14a-l5a
(quoting 9 U.S.C. § 2). The court reasoned as follows:
the class waiver here is “illegal” under Section 7 of
the NLRA; “illegality” is a defense allowing for the
revocation of a contract; therefore, the case falls
within the FAA’s saving clause, and there is no
conflict between the NLRA and the FAA. Zd. at 15a.

In this way, the court of appeals used the saving
clause as a means to sidestep the analysis required
by CompuCredit. Under its reasoning, there is never
any need to determine whether another federal
statute qualifies as a contrary congressional com-

19

mand because the saving clause allows courts to
decide simply whether the other federal law could be
interpreted to disfavor arbitration. That rule would
eviscerate the presumption of enforceability created
by the FAA, however, converting enforcement into
the exception rather than the rule. See Morris, 2016
WL 4433080, at *16-*17 (Ikuta, J., dissenting).

2. The court of appeals’ analysis is also wrong.
The saving clause allows courts to decline to enforce
arbitration agreements based on generally applicable
contract defenses; that is, those that provide “for the
revocation of any contract.” 9 U.S.C. § 2 (emphasis
added). A defense that exists only because of the
presence of a particular arbitration provision in a
contract is not generally applicable. As Concepcion
explained, “when a doctrine normally thought to be
generally applicable, such as duress or *** uncon-
scionability, is *** applied in a fashion that disfa-
vors arbitration,” it falls outside the saving clause.
563 U.S. at 341. Likewise, a defense that precludes
the waiver of class or collective arbitration is not
truly generally applicable: “Requiring the availabil-
ity of classwide arbitration interferes with funda-
mental attributes of arbitration and thus creates a
scheme inconsistent with the FAA.” Id. at 344; cf.
Italian Colors, 133 S. Ct. at 2310, 2312 & n.5 (relying
on Concepcion’s general analysis in a case where the
law competing with the FAA was federal, and reject-
ing the dissent’s “dismiss[al]” of Concepcion as “a
case involving pre-emption”). But see Morris, 2016
WL 4433080, at *17 (Ikuta, J., dissenting) (stating
that this Court “does not apply the saving[] clause to
federal statutes”).

20

The court of appeals in this case interpreted the
NLRA to render class or collective waivers in em-
ployment arbitration agreements illegal. But that
illegality-based defense—which arises only in some
contracts, not “any contract,” 9 U.S.C. § 2 (emphasis
added)—can hardly be likened to classic universal
defenses such as fraud and mistake. Instead, it has
the effect of “conditioning enforcement of arbitration
on the availability of class procedure.” Italian Col-
ors, 1383 S.Ct. at 2312. Under Concepcion, that
means the defense disfavors arbitration and is not
generally applicable. See 563 U.S. at 341, 344.
Accordingly, the saving clause does not apply, and
the Seventh Circuit’s decision is wrong on the merits.

Ill. REVIEW IS NEEDED TO ESTABLISH A
NATIONWIDE RULE ON AN IMPORTANT
ISSUE FOR BOTH EMPLOYERS AND
EMPLOYEES.

The question presented in this case holds critical
importance to employers and employees around the
country. Arbitration agreements with class and
collective waivers are commonly used in the em-
ployment context, but the split of authority over the
enforceability of those waivers creates tremendous
uncertainty for employers and employees alike. And
the problem is particularly acute for entities whose
operations span multiple circuits.

1. The viability of class and collective arbitration
waivers affects a broad spectrum of industries across
the country. Consider the range of companies whose
cases are part of the split of authorities: Epic
(healthcare software), D.R. Horton (home construc-
tion), Murphy (convenience stores), Bristol Care
(residential care services), Cellular Sales of Missouri

21

(telecommunications retail), Ernst & Young (profes-
sional services), Bloomingdale’s (department stores),
CLS Transportation (trucking), and CPS Security
(security services; in Tallman, the Nevada Supreme
Court case). Beyond those cases, class and collective
arbitration waivers are used in a wide variety of
employment contexts. See, e.g., Killion v. KeHE
Distribs., LLC, 761 F.3d 574 (6th Cir. 2014) (foodser-
vice); Walthour v. Chipio Windshield Repair, LLC,
745 F.3d 1326 (11th Cir. 2014) (automobile repair);
Raniere v. Citigroup Inc., 533 F. App’x 11 (2d Cir.
2013) (unpublished) (financial services); Adkins v.
Labor Ready, Inc., 303 F.3d 496 (4th Cir. 2002)
(temporary staffing); Bekele, 2016 WL 4203412 (ride-
hailing); Bell v. Ryan Transp. Serv., Inc., No. 15-
9857, 2016 WL 1298083 (D. Kan. Mar. 31, 2016)
(third-party logistics); Morvant v. P.F. Chang’s
China Bistro, Inc., 870 F. Supp. 2d 831 (N.D. Cal.
2012) (restaurants).

Unsurprisingly, then, the enforceability of class
waivers in employment arbitration agreements is an
issue that arises frequently. Since the NLRB’s 2012
D.R. Horton decision—which declared class and
collective waivers in employment arbitration agree-
ments invalid under the NLRA—the Board has
handled “a steady stream of cases, by now numer-
ous,” on the same issue. Century Fast Foods, Inc.,
No. 31-CA-116102, 2015 WL 1885197 (N.L.R.B. Apr.
24, 2015). In just the short time since the Seventh
Circuit’s decision below, the Board has issued at
least ten new administrative decisions applying the
same view of the FAA and the NLRA that it has

22

advanced since 2012.2, The NLRB’s approach, com-
bined with the continued flow of private suits, en-
sures that this issue will recur frequently in the
federal courts.

2. The divide among the authorities on this fre-
quently recurring question is particularly problemat-
ic because of the NLRA’s judicial-review provision,
29 U.S.C. § 160(f). That provision broadly allows
those aggrieved by NLRB decisions to seek review in
(1) the circuit “wherein the unfair labor practice in
question was alleged to have been engaged,” (2) the
circuit “wherein such person resides or transacts
business,” or (3) the D.C. Circuit. Jd. Because “[t]he
Board may well not know which circuit’s law will be
applied on a petition for review,” Murphy Oil, 808
F.3d at 1018, the Board has held firm to its view that
class waivers in employment arbitration agreements
are unenforceable, even after its decisions have been
overturned again and again by certain courts of

2 See, e.g., Arise Virtual Sols., Inc., No. 12-CA-144223, 2016 WL
4362210 (N.L.R.B. Aug. 12, 2016) (applying the Boare’s position
and noting that “the courts of appeals are now split”); Briad
Wenco, LLC, No. 29-CA-165942, 2016 WL 3626602 (N.L.R.B.
July 6, 2016); Grill Concepts Servs., Inc., 364 N.L.R.B. 36 (June
30, 2016); Bristol Farms, 364 N.L.R.B. 34 (July 6, 2016);
Scherzinger Corp., No. 09-CA-165460, 2016 WL 3383761
(N.L.R.B. June 17, 2016) (adhering to the same position and
stating that the Seventh Circuit’s opinion opened “a circuit split
that will likely have to be resolved by the Supreme Court”
(footnote omitted)); California Commerce Club, Inc., 364
N.L.R.B. 31 (June 16, 2016); SJK, Inc., 364 N.L.R.B. 29 (June
16, 2016); Rim Hosp., No. 21-CA-137250, 2016 WL 3345349
(N.L.R.B. June 15, 2016); Adriana’s Ins. Servs., Inc., 364
N.L.R.B. 17 (May 31, 2016); Lincoln E. Mgmt. Corp., 364
N.L.R.B. 16 (May 31, 2016).

23

appeals. Thus, employers located in the Second,
Fifth, and Eighth Circuits will continue to be sub-
jected to NLRB enforcement actions against their
use of class waivers. And when the NLRB inevitably
finds that the waivers are unenforceable, the em-
ployers must go through the hassle of filing a peti-
tion for review, even though the issue has been
decided squarely in their favor in those circuits.

The Fifth and Eighth Circuits have already con-
fronted this problem. The Fifth Circuit has rejected
the Board’s position in four additional cases since
D.R. Horton. Citi Trends, 2016 WL 4245458, at *1
(“The Board concedes, as it must, that its order
contravenes our published decisions * * * , [but] this
Court is bound by its prior published decisions.”); PJ
Cheese, 2016 WL 3457261, at *1 (granting the em-
ployer’s motion for summary disposition); Chesa-
peake Energy, 633 F. App’x at 615 (“(Nlo intervening
change in the law permits reconsideration of our
precedent.”); Murphy Oil, 808 F.3d at 1018, 1021
(neither “celebratiing]” nor “condemniing]” the
Board’s “nonacquiescence” to the Fifth Circuit’s D.R.
Horton decision, but rebuking the Board for
“hold[ing] that an employer who followed the reason-
ing of [the] D.R. Horton decision had no basis in fact
or law *** in doing so”). The Eighth Circuit has
likewise rebuffed the Board in another opinion
published after Owen. Cellular Sales, 824 F.3d at
776 (m ting that the Eighth Circuit had rejected the
Board’s request to reconsider Owen, a precedent that
the Board recognized was “fatal” to its contentions).

Absent action by this Court, courts will continue to
face repeat litigation on this question. In the mean-
time, Section 160(f)’s review procedures will leave

24

enforcement of employment arbitration agreements
with class waivers uncertain for both employers and

employees.

3. The proper resolution of this issue thus carries
significant implications for the employer-employee
relationship. Employers need to know whether class
waivers in arbitration provisions will actually be
enforced. Employees need to know whether they are
actually bound by these provisions. Without a deci-
sion by this Court establishing a uniform rule, the
law governing a given dispute will remain unclear
until the case is litigated—-and the place of filing
dictates the rule that applies.

The split of authority is especially troublesome for
companies with employees in workplaces across the
United States. So long as this split persists, large
employers will need to have one set of employment
policies for employees in the Seventh and Ninth
Circuits, and another set of policies for employees
elsewhere. And even then, employers operating in
California or Nevada cannot know which law will
govern, because the answer will depend on whether
litigation is brought in state or federal court.

In effect, the decision below “condition|s] enforce-
ment of arbitration on the availability of class proce-
dure,” Italian Colors, 133 S. Ct. at 2312, despite this
Court’s admonition that “[rjequiring the availability
of classwide arbitration * * * creates a scheme incon-
sistent with the FAA,” Concepcion, 563 U.S. at 344.
And yet this is the choice now faced by employers in
the Seventh and Ninth Circuits: if they want to
resolve employment disputes through arbitration,
class arbitration must be kept available. The result
is a regime that—at least in those two circuits—

25

disfavors arbitration and the “‘lower costs, greater
efficiency and speed’” that attend individual arbitra-
tion, contrary to the purpose of the FAA. /d. at 348
(quoting Stolt-Nielsen, 559 U.S. at 685).

This Court’s review is therefore needed, now. Only
this Court can rectify the myriad problems caused by
competing standards for employment arbitration
agreements. Only this Court can establish a uniform
standard for employers and employees nationwide.
And only this Court can bring predictability and
stability back to the dispute-resolution process in
employer-employee relationships.

4. Finally, this case is an excellent vehicle to de-
cide the question presented. The question was
pressed below, fully briefed by the parties and amici
(including the NLRB), and passed on by the court of
appeals. The question was the single issue on ap-
peal, and the court of appeals’ resolution of the issue
was the sole basis for its decision. And in that deci-
sion, the court acknowledged that it was departing
from the holdings of other courts of appeals.

Moreover, the parties to this case—an employer
and an employee—are best situated to represent the
two opposing viewpoints on the issue. They are the
real parties in interest subject to both the FAA and
the NLRA: their arbitration agreement is governed
by the FAA, and their employer-employee relation-
ship is governed by the NLRA. They have the most
direct stake in courts’ interpretations of these stat-
utes and therefore are the parties most acutely
interested in the question presented.

26

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

NOAH A. FINKEL

ANDREW SCROGGINS
SEYFARTH SHAW LLP

131 South Dearborn Street
Chicago, IL 60603

SEPTEMBER 2016

Respectfully submitted,

NEAL KUMAR KATYAL
Counsel of Record

MARY HELEN WIMBERLY

FREDERICK LIU

DANIEL J.T. SCHUKER

HOGAN LOVELLS US LLP

555 Thirteenth Street, NW

Washington, DC 20004

(202) 637-5600

neal. katyal@hoganlovells.com

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 15-2997

JACOB LEWIS,
Plaintiff - Appellee,

V.

EPIC SYSTEMS CORPORATION,
Defendant - Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Western District of Wisconsin.
No. 15-cv-82-bbe — Barbara B. Crabb, Judge.

ARGUED FEBRUARY 12, 2016 — DECIDED MAy 26, 2016

Before WOOD, Chief Judge, ROVNER, Circuit
Judge, and BLAKEY, District Judge.*

WOOD, Chief Judge. Epic Systems, a health care
software company, required certain groups of
employees to agree to bring any wage-and-hour
claims against the company only through individual
arbitration. The agreement did not permit collective
arbitration or collective action in any other forum.
We conclude that this agreement violates the
National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), 29 U.S.C.
$§ 151, et seg., and is also unenforceable under the

*Of the Northern District of Illinois, sitting by designation.

Lien,’

2a

Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), 9 U.S.C. §§ 1, et seq.
We therefore affirm the district court’s denial of
Epic’s motion to compel arbitration.

I

On April 2, 2014, Epic Systems sent an email to
some of its employees. The email contained an
arbitration agreement mandating that wage-and-
hour claims could be brought only through individual
arbitration and that the employees waived “the right
to participate in or receive money or any other relief
from any class, collective, or representative
proceeding.” The agreement included a clause
stating that if the “Waiver of Class and Collective
Claims” was unenforceable, “any claim brought on a
class, collective, or representative action basis must
be filed in a court of competent jurisdiction.” It also
said that employees were “deemed to have accepted
this Agreement” if they “continue[d] to work at Epic.”
Epic gave employees no option to decline if they
wanted to keep their jobs. The email requested that
recipients review the agreement and acknowledge
their agreement by clicking two buttons. The
following day, Jacob Lewis, then a “technical writer”
at Epic, followed those instructions for registering
his agreement.

Later, however, Lewis had a dispute with Epic, and
he did not proceed under the arbitration clause.
Instead, he sued Epic in federal court, contending
that it had violated the Fair Labor Standards Act
(FLSA), 29 U.S.C. §§ 201, et seg. and Wisconsin law
by misclassifying him and his fellow technical
writers and thereby unlawfully depriving them of
overtime pay. Epic moved to dismiss Lewis’s claim
and compel individual arbitration. Lewis responded

3a

that the arbitration clause violated the NLRA
because it interfered with employees’ right to engage
in concerted activities for mutual aid and protection
and was therefore unenforceable. The district court
agreed and denied Epic’s motion. Epic appeals,
arguing that the district court erred in declining to
enforce the agreement under the FAA. We review de
novo a district court’s decision to deny a motion to
compel arbitration. Gore v. Alltel Commc’ns, LLC,
666 F.3d 1027, 1033 (7th Cir. 2012).

II
A

Section 7 of the NLRA provides that “[e])mployees
shall have the right to self-organization, to form,
join, or assist labor organizations, to bargain
collectively through representatives of their own
choosing, and to engage in other concerted activities
for the purpose of collective bargaining or other
mutual aid or protection.” 29 U.S.C. § 157. Section 8
enforces Section 7 unconditionally by deeming that it
“shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer ...
to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in the
exercise of the rights guaranteed in [Section 7].” Id.
§ 158(aX1). The National Labor Relations Board is
“empowered ... to prevent any person from engaging
in any unfair labor practice ... affecting commerce.”

Id. § 160(a).

Contracts “stipulatling] ... the renunciation by the
employees of rights guaranteed by the [NLRA|” are
unlawful and may be declared to be unenforceable by
the Board. Nat? Licorice Co. v. NLRB, 309 U.S. 350,
365 (1940) (“[I]t will not be open to any tribunal to
compel the employer to perform the acts, which, even
though he has bound himself by contract to do them,

4a

would violate the Board’s order ur be inconsistent
with any part of it[.]”); JJ. Case Co. v. NLRB,
321U.S. 332, 337 (1944) (“Wherever private
contracts conflict with [the Board’s] functions, they
obviously must yield or the [NLRA] would be reduced
to a futility.”). In accordance with this longstanding
doctrine, the Board has, “from its earliest days,” held
that “employer-imposed, individual agreements that
purport to _ restrict Section 7 rights” are
unenforceable. D.R. Horton, Inc., 357 N.L.R.B.
No. 184 at *5 (2012) (collecting cases as early as
1939), enfd in part and granted in part, D.R. Horton,
Inc. v. NLRB, 737 F.3d 344 (5th Cir. 2013). It has
done so with “uniform judicial approval.” Jd. (citing
as examples NLRB ov. Vincennes Steel Corp.,
117 F.2d 169, 172 (7th Cir. 1941), NLRB v. Jahn &
Ollier Engraving Co., 123 F.2d 589, 593 (7th Cir.
1941), and NLRB v. Adel Clay Products Co., 134 F.2d
342 (8th Cir. 1943)).

Section 7’s “other concerted activities” have long
been held to include “resort to administrative and
judicial forums.” Eastex, Inc. v. NLRB, 437 U.S. 556,
566 (1978) (collecting cases). Similarly, both courts
and the Board have held that filing a collective or
class action suit constitutes “concerted activitly]”
under Section 7. See Brady v. Nat'l Football League,
644 F.3d 661, 673 (8th Cir. 2011) (“[A] lawsuit filed
in good faith by a group of employees to achieve more
favorable terms or conditions of employment is
‘concerted activity’ under § 7 of the National Labor
Relations Act.”); Altex Ready Mixed Concrete Corp. v.
NLRB, 542 F.2d 295, 297 (5th Cir. 1976) (same);
Leviton Mfg. Co. v. NLRB, 486 F.2d 686, 689 (1st Cir.
1973) (same); Mohave Elec. Co-op., Inc. v. NLRB, 206
F.3d 1183, 1189 (D.C. Cir. 2000) (single employee’s

5a

filing of a judicial petition constituted “concerted
action” under NLRA where “supported by fellow
employees”); D.R. Horton, 357 N.L.R.B. No. 184, at
*2 n.4 (collecting cases). This precedent is in line
with the Supreme Court’s rule recognizing that even
when an employee acts alone, she may “engage in
concerted activities” where she “intends to induce
group activity” or “acts as a representative of at least
one other employee.” NLRB v. City Disposal
Systems, Inc., 465 U.S. 822, 831 (1984).

Section 7’s text, history, and purpose support this
rule. In evaluating statutory language, a court asks
first “whether the language at issue has a plain and
unambiguous meaning with regard to the particular
dispute in the case.” Exelon Generation Co., LLC v.
Local 15, Int'l Bhd. of Elec. Workers, AFL-CIO,
676 F.3d 566, 570 (7th Cir. 2012). In doing so, it
“givies| the words used their ordinary meaning.”
Lawson v. FMR LLC, 134 S. Ct. 1158, 1165 (2014)
(internal citation omitted). “Absent a clearly
expressed legislative intention to the contrary, that
language must ordinarily be regarded as conclusive.”
Consumer Prod. Safety Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania,
Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 108 (1980).

The NLRA does not define “concerted activities.”
The ordinary meaning of the word “concerted” is:
“jointly arranged, planned, or carried out;
coordinated.” Concerted, NEW OXFORD AMERICAN
DICTIONARY 359 (3d ed. 2010). Activities are
“thing[s] that a person or group does or has done” or
“actions taken by a group in order to achieve their
aims.” Id. at 16. Collective or class legal proceedings
fit well within the ordinary understanding of
“concerted activities.”

6a

The NLRA’s history and purpose confirm that the
phrase “concerted activities” in Section 7 should be
read broadly to include resort to representative,
joint, collective, or class legal remedies. (There is no
hint that it is limited to actions taken by a formally
recognized union.) Congress recognized that, before
the NLRA, ‘a single employee was helpless in
dealing with an employer,” and “that union was
essential to give laborers opportunity to deal on an
equality with their employer.” NLRB v. Jones &
Laughlin Steel Corp., 301 U.S. 1, 33 (1937). In
enacting the NLRA, Congress’s purpose was to “to
equalize the bargaining power of the employee with
that of his employer by allowing employees to band
together in confronting an employer regarding the
terms and conditions of their employment.” City
Disposal Systems, 465 U.S. at 835. Congress gave
“no indication that [it] intended to limit this
protection to situations in which an employee’s
activity and that of his fellow employees combine
with one another in any particular way.” /d.

Collective, representative, and class legal remedies
allow employees to band together and thereby
equalize bargaining power. See Phillips Petrol. Co.
v. Shutis, 472 U.S. 797, 809 (1985) (noting that the
class action procedure allows plaintiffs who would
otherwise “have no realistic day in court” to enforce
their rights); Harry Kalven, Jr. & Maurice
Rosenfield, The Contemporary Function of the Class
Suit, 8 U. Cui. L. REV. 684, 686 (1941) (noting that
class suits allow those “individually in a poor
position to seek legal redress” to do so, and that “an
effective and inclusive group remedy” is necessary to
ensure proper enforcement of rights). Given Section
7’s intentionally broad sweep, there is no reason to

7a

think that Congress meant to exclude collective
remedies from its compass.

Straining to read the term through our most Epic-
tinted glasses, “concerted activity” might, at the
most, be read as ambiguous as applied to collective
lawsuits. But even if Section 7 were ambiguous—
and it is not—the Board, in accordance with the
reasoning above, has interpreted Sections 7 and 8 to
prohibit employers from making agreements with
individual employees barring access to class or
collective remedies. See D.R. Horton, 357 N.L.R.B.
No. 184, at *5. The Board’s interpretations of
ambiguous provisions of the NLRA are “entitled to
judicial deference.” Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 502
U.S. 527, 536 (1992). This Court has held that the
Board’s views are entitled to Chevron deference, see
Int'l Ass’n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers v.
NLRB, 133 F.3d 1012, 1015 (7th Cir. 1998), and the
Supreme Court has repeatedly cited Chevron in de-
scribing its deference to the NLRB’s interpretation of
the NLRA, see, e.g., Lechmere, 502 U.S. at 536;
NLRB v. United Food & Commercial Workers Union,
Local 23, AFL-CIO, 484 U.S. 112, 123 (1987). The
Board’s interpretation is, at a minimum, a sensible
way to understand the statutory language, and thus
we must follow it.

Epic argues that because the Rule 23 class action
procedure did not exist in 1935, when the NLRA was
passed, the Act could not have been meant to protect
employees’ rights to class remedies. See
FED. R. Civ. P. 23 (Committee Notes describing the
initial 1937 version of the rule and later
amendments). We are not persuaded. First, by
protecting not only employees’ “right to self-
organization, to form, join, or assist labor

8a

organizations, {and| to bargain collectively through
representatives of their own choosing” but also “other
concerted activities for the purpose of ... other
mutual aid or protection,” Section 7’s text signals
that the activities protected are to be construed
broadly. 29 U.S.C. § 157 (emphasis added); see City
Disposal Systems, 465 U.S. at 835. There is no
reason to think that Congress intended the NLRA to
protect only “concerted activities” that were available
at the time of the NLRA’s enactment.

Second, the contract here purports to address ail
collective or representative procedures and remedies,
not just class actions. Rule 23 may have been yet to
come at the time of the NLRA’s passage, but it was
not written on a clean slate. Other class and
collective procedures had existed for a long time on
the equity side of the court: permissive joinder of
parties, for instance, had long been part of Anglo-
American civil procedure and was encouraged in
19th-century federal courts. CHARLES ALAN WRIGHT
& ARTHUR R. MILLER, 7 FEDERAL PRACTICE AND
PROCEDURE § 1651 (3d ed. 2015) (noting that federal
equity courts encouraged permissive joinder of
parties as early as 1872). As early as 1853, it was
“well established” that representative suits were
appropriate “where the parties interested are
numerous, and the suit is for an object common to
them all.” Smith v. Swormstedt, 57 U.S. 288, 302
(1853) (allowing representative suit on behalf of
more than 1,500 Methodist preachers). In fact,
representative and collective legal procedures have
been employed since the medieval period. See
STEPHEN C. YEAZELL, FROM MEDIEVAL GROUP
LITIGATION TO THE MODERN CLASS ACTION 38 (1987)
(discussing group litigation in England occurring as

9a

early as 1199 C.E.). The FLSA itself provided for
collective and representative actions when it was
passed in 1938. See, e.g., Williams v. Jacksonville
Terminal Co., 315 U.S. 386, 390 n.3 (1942) (allowing
suits by employees on behalf of “him or themselves
and other employees similarly situated” (quoting
FLSA, 29 U.S.C. § 216(b))).

Congress was aware of class, representative, and
collective legal proceedings when it enacted the
NLRA. The plain language of Section 7 encompasses
them, and there is no evidence that Congress
intended them to be excluded. Section 7’s plain
language controls, GTE Sylvania, 447 U.S. at 108,
and protects collective legal processes. Along with
Section 8, it renders unenforceable any contract
provision purporting to waive employees’ access to
such remedies.

B

The question thus becomes whether Epic’s
arbitration provision impinges on “Section 7 rights.”
The answer is yes.

In relevant part, the contract states “that covered
claims will be arbitrated only on an individual basis,”
and that employees “waive the right to participate in
or receive money or any other relief from any class,
collective, or representative proceeding.” It
stipulates that “[njo party may bring a claim on
behalf of other individuals, and any arbitrator
hearing [a] claim may not: (i) combine more than one
individual’s claim or claims into a single case;
(ii) participate in or facilitate notification of others of
potential claims; or (iii) arbitrate any form of a class,
collective or representative proceeding.” It notes
that “covered claims” include any “claimed violation

10a

of wage-and-hour practices or procedures under
local, state, or federal statutory or common law.” It
thus combines two distinct rules: first, any wage-
and-hour dispute must be submitted to arbitration
rather than pursued in court; and second, no matter
where the claim is brought, the plaintiff may not
take advantage of any collective procedures available
in the tribunal.

Insofar as the second aspect of its provision is
concerned, Epic’s clause runs straight into the teeth
of Section 7. The provision prohibits any collective,
representative, or class legal proceeding. Section 7
provides that “[e]mployees shall have the right to...
engage in ... concerted activities for the purpose of
collective bargaining or other mutual aid or
protection.” 29 U.S.C. §157. A collective,
representative, or class legal proceeding is just such
a “concerted activitly].” See Eastex, 437 U.S. at 566;
Brady, 644 F.3d at 673; D.R. Horton, 357 N.L.R.B.
No. 184, at *2-3. Under Section 8, any employer
action that “interfere[s] with, restrain|[s], or coerce[s]
employees in the exercise of the rights guaranteed in
[Section 7]” constitutes an “unfair labor practice.”
29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1). Contracts that stipulate away
employees’ Section 7 righ.ts or otherwise require
actions unlawful under the NRLA are unenforceable.
See Nat’ Licorice Co., 309 U.S. at 361; D.R. Horton,
357 N.L.R.B. No. 184, at *5.

We are aware that the circuits have some
differences of opinion in this area, although those
differences do not affect our analysis here. The
Ninth Circuit has held that an arbitration agreement
mandating individual arbitration may be enforceable
where the employee had the right to opt out of the
agreement without penalty, reasoning that the

lla

employer therefore did not “interfere with, restrain,
or coerce” her in_ violation of Section 8.
Johnmohammadi v. Bloomingdale’s, Inc., 755 F.3d
1072, 1077 (9th Cir. 2014). The Ninth Circuit’s deci-
sion in Johnmohammadi conflicts with a much
earlier decision from this court, which held that
contracts between employers and _ individual
employees that stipulate away Section 7 rights
necessarily interfere with employees’ exercise of
those rights in violation of Section 8. See NLRB uv.
Stone, 125 F.2d 752, 756 (7th Cir. 1942). Stone,
which has never been undermined, held that where
the “employee was obligated to bargain individually,”
an arbitration agreement limiting Section 7 rights
was a per se violation of the NLRA and could not “be
legalized by showing the contract was entered into
without coercion.” Jd. (“This is the very antithesis of
collective bargaining.” (citing NLRB v. Superior
Tanning Co., 117 F.2d 881, 890 (7th Cir. 1940))).
The Board has long held the same. See D.R. Horton,
357 N.L.R.B. No. 184, at *5-7 (citing J.H. Stone &
Sons, 33 N.L.R.B. 1014 (1941) and Superior Tanning
Co., 14 N.L.R.B. 942 (1939)). (In Johnmohammadi,
the Ninth Circuit, without explanation, did not defer
to the Board.) We have no need to resolve these
differences today, however, because in our case, it is
undisputed that assent to Epics arbitration
provision was a condition of continued employment.
A contract that limits Section 7 rights that is agreed
to as a condition of continued employment qualifies
as “interfer[ing] with” or “restrain[ing] ... employees
in the exercise” of those rights in violation of Section
8(a)(1). 29 U.S.C. § 157(a)(1).

In short, Sections 7 and 8 of the NLRA render
Epic’s arbitration provision unenforceable. Even if

12a

this were not the case, the Board has found that
substantively identical arbitration agreements,
agreed to under similar conditions, violate Sections 7
and 8. See D.R. Horton, 357 N.L.R.B. No. 184;
Murphy Oil USA, Inc., 361 N.L.R.B. No. 72 (2014),
enfd in part and granted in part, Murphy Oil USA,
Inc. v. NLRB, 808 F.3d 1013 (5th Cir. 2015). We
conclude that, insofar as it prohibits collective action,
Epic’s arbitration provision violates Sections 7 and 8
of the NLRA.

Ii

That would be all that needs to be said, were it not
for the Federal Arbitration Act. Epic argues that the
FAA overrides the labor law doctrines we have been
discussing and entitles it to enforce its arbitration
clause in full. Looking at the arbitration agreement,
it is not clear to us that the FAA has anything to do
with this case. The contract imposes two rules:
(1) no collective action, and (2) proceed in arbitration.
But it does not stop there. It also states that if the
collective-action waiver is unenforceable, then any
collective claim must proceed in court, not
arbitration. Since we have concluded in Part II of
this opinion that the collective-action waiver is
incompatible with the NLRA, we could probably stop
here: the contract itself demands that Lewis’s claim
be brought in a court. Epic, however, contends that
we should ignore the contract’s saving clause because
the FAA trumps the NLRA. In essence, Epic says
that even if the NLRA killed off the collective-action
waiver, the FAA resuscitates it, and along with it,
the rest of the arbitration apparatus. We reject this
reading of the two laws.

13a

In relevant part, the FAA provides that any written
contract “evidencing a_ transaction § involving
commerce to settle by arbitration a controversy
thereafter arising out of such contract or transaction
... Shall be valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save
upon such grounds as exist at law or in equity for the
revocation of any contract.” 9 U.S.C. § 2. Enacted in
“response to judicial hostility to arbitration,”
CompuCredit Corp. v. Greenwood, 132 S. Ct. 665, 668
(2012), its purpose was “to make arbitration
agreements as enforceable as other contracts, but not
more so.” Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin
Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 395, 404 n.12 (1967). Federal
statutory claims are just as arbitrable as anything
else, unless the FAA’s mandate has been ‘overridden
by a contrary congressional command.”
CompuCredit, 1325. Ct. at 669 (quoting
Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon, 482
U.S. 220, 226 (1987)). The FAA’s “saving clause
permits agreements to arbitrate to be invalidated by
‘generally applicable contract defenses,’ ... but not
by defenses that apply only to arbitration or that
derive their meaning from the fact that an
agreement to arbitrate is at issue.” AT&T Mobility
LLC v. Concepcion, 563 U.S. 333, 339 (2011) (quoting
Doctor’s Associates, Inc. v. Casarotto, 517 U.S. 681,
687 (1996)).

Epic argues that the NLRA contains no “contrary
congressional command” against arbitration, and
that the FAA therefore trumps the NLRA. But this
argument puts the cart before the horse. Before we
rush to decide whether one statute eclipses another,
we must stop to see if the two statutes conflict at all.
See Vimar Seguros y Reaseguros, S.A. v. M/V Sky
Reefer, 515 U.S. 528, 533 (1995). In order for there

l4a

to be a conflict between the NLRA as we have
interpreted it and the FAA, the FAA would have to
mandate the enforcement of Epic’s arbitration
clause. As we now explain, it does not.

A

Epic must overcome a heavy presumption to show
that the FAA clashes with the NLRA. “[Wjhen two
statutes are capable of co-existence ... it is the duty
of the courts, absent a clearly expressed
congressional intention to the contrary, to regard
each as effective.” Vimar Seguros, 515 U.S. at 533
(applying canon to find FAA compatible with other
statute) (quoting Morton v. Mancari, 417 U.S. 535,
551 (1974)). Moreover, “[wlhen two statutes
complement each other”—that is, “each has its own
scope and purpose” and imposes “different
requirements and protections’—finding that one
precludes the other would flout the congressional
design. POM Wonderful LLC v. Coca-Cola Co., 134
S. Ct. 2228, 2238 (2014) (internal citations omitted).
Courts will harmonize overlapping statutes “so long
as each reaches some distinct cases.” J.E.M. Ag
Supply, Inc. v. Pioneer Hi-Bred Int'l, Inc., 534 U.S.
124, 144 (2001). Implied repeal should be found only
when there is an “irreconcilable conflict’ between the
two federal statutes at issue.” Matsushita Elec.
Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367, 381 (1996)
(quoting Kremer v. Chem. Const. Corp., 456 U.S. 461,
468 (1982)).

Epic has not carried that burden, because there is
no conflict between the NLRA and the FAA, let alone
an irreconcilable one. As a general matter, there is
“no doubt that illegal promises will not be enforced in
cases controlled by the federal law.” Kaiser Steel

15a

Corp. v. Mullins, 455 U.S. 72, 77 (1982). The FAA
incorporates that principle through its saving clause:
it confirms that agreements to arbitrate “shall be
valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save upon such
grounds as exist at law or in equity for the revocation
of any contract.” 9U.S.C. § 2. [legality is one of
those grounds. See Buckeye Check Cashing, Inc. v.
Cardegna, 546 U.S. 440, 444 (2006) (noting that
illegality is a ground preventing enforcement under
§2). The NLRA prohibits the enforcement of
contract provisions like Epic’s, which strip away
employees’ rights to engage in “concerted activities.”
Because the provision at issue is unlawful under
Section 7 of the NLRA, it is illegal, and meets the
criteria of the FAA’s. saving clause for
nonenforcement. Here, the NLRA and FAA work
hand in glove.

B

In D.R. Horton, Inc. v. NLRB, the Fifth Circuit
came to the opposite conclusion.’ 737 F.3d at 357.
Drawing from dicta that first appeared in
Concepcion, 563 U.S. at 348, and was then repeated
in American Express Co. ov. Italian Colors
Restaurant, 133 S. Ct. 2304, 2310 (2013), the Fifth
Circuit reasoned that because class arbitration
sacrifices arbitration’s “principal advantage” of
informality, “makes the process slower, more costly,
and more likely to generate procedural morass than
final judgment,” “greatly increases risks to
defendants,” and “is poorly suited to the higher
stakes of class litigation,” the “effect of requiring

‘Because this opinion would create a conflict in the circuits,
we have circulated it to all judges in active service under
Circuit Rule 40(e). No judge wished to hear the case en banc.

16a

class arbitration procedures is to disfavor arbitra-
tion.” D.R. Horton, 737 F.3d at 359 (quoting
Concepcion, 563 U.S. at 348-52); see also Italian
Colors, 133 S. Ct. at 2312. The Fifth Circuit
suggested that because the FAA “embodlies] a
national policy favoring arbitration and a liberal
federal policy favoring arbitration agreements,”
Concepcion, 563 U.S. at 346 (internal quotation
marks and citations omitted), any law that even
incidentally burdens arbitration—here, Section 7 of
the NLRA—necessarily conflicts with the FAA. See
D.R. Horton, 737 F.3d at 360 (“Requiring a class
mechanism is an actual impediment to arbitration
and violates the FAA. The saving clause is not a
basis for invalidating the waiver of class procedures
in the arbitration agreement.”).

There are several problems with this logic. First, it
makes no effort to harmonize the FAA and NLRA.
When addressing the interactions of federal statutes,
courts are not supposed to go out looking for trouble:
they may not “pick and choose among congressional
enactments.” Morton, 417 U.S. at 551. Rather, they
must employ a strong presumption that the statutes
may both be given effect. See id. The savings clause
of the FAA ensures that, at least on these facts, there
is no irreconcilable conflict between the NLRA and
the FAA.

Indeed, finding the NLRA in conflict with the FAA
would be ironic considering that the NLRA is in fact
pro-arbitration: it expressly allows unions and
employers to arbitrate disputes between each other,
see 29 U.S.C. §171(b), and to negotiate collective
bargaining agreements that require employees to
arbitrate individual employment disputes. See
14 Penn Plaza LLC v. Pyett, 556 U.S. 247, 257-58

17a

(2009); City Disposal Systems, 465 U.S. at 836-37.
The NLRA does not disfavor arbitration; in fact, it is
entirely possible that the NLRA would not bar Epic’s
provision if it were included in a _ collective
bargaining agreement. See City Disposal Systems,
465 U.S. at 837. (“[I]/f an employer does not wish to
tolerate certain methods by which employees invoke
their collectively bargained rights, [it] is free to
negotiate a provision in [its] collective-bargaining
agreement that limits the availability of such
methods.”). If Epic’s provision had permitted
collective arbitration, it would not have run afoul of
Section 7 either. But it did not, and so it ran up
against the substantive right to act collectively that
the NLRA gives to employees.

Neither Concepcion nor Italian Colors goes so far
as to say that anything that conceivably makes
arbitration less attractive automatically conflicts
with the FAA, nor does either case hold that an
arbitration clause automatically precludes collective
action even if if is silent on that point. In
Concepcion, the Supreme Court found incompatible
with the FAA a state law that declared arbitration
clauses to be unconscionable for low-value consumer
claims. See Concepcion, 563 U.S. at 340. The law
was directed toward arbitration, and it was hostile to
the process. Here, we have nothing of the sort.
Instead, we are reconciling two federal statutes,
which must be treated on equal footing. The
protection for collective action found in the NLRA,
moreover, extends far beyond collective litigation or
arbitration; it is a general principle that affects
countless aspects of the employer/employee
relationship.

18a

This case is actually the inverse of Italian Colors.
There the plaintiffs argued that requiring them to
litigate individually “contravene(d] the policies of the
antitrust laws.” 133 S. Ct. at 2309. The Court
rejected this argument, noting that “the antitrust
laws do not guarantee an affordable procedural path
to the vindication of every claim.” With regard to the
enforcement of the antitrust laws, the Court
commented that “no legislation pursues its purposes
at all costs.” Jd. (quoting Rodriguez v. United States,
480 U.S. 522, 525-526 (1987) (per curiam)). In this
case, the shoe is on the other foot. The FAA does not
“pursue its purposes at all costs”’—that is why it
contains a saving clause. /d. If these statutes are to
be harmonized—and according to all the traditional
rules of statutory construction, they must be—it is
through the FAA’s saving clause, which provides for
the very situation at hand. Because the NLRA
renders Epic’s arbitration provision illegal, the FAA
does not mandate its enforcement.

We add that even if the dicta from Concepcion and
Italian Colors lent itself to the Fifth Circuit’s
interpretation, it would not apply here: Sections 7
and 8 do not mandate class arbitration. Indeed, they
say nothing about class arbitration, or even
arbitration generally. Instead, they broadly restrain
employers from interfering with employees’ engaging
in concerted activities. See 29 U.S.C. §§ 157, 158.
Sections 7 and 8 stay Epic’s hand. (This is why, in
addition to its being waived, Epic’s argument that
Lewis relinquished his Section 7 rights fails.) Epic
acted unlawfully in attempting to contract with
Lewis to waive his Section 7 rights, regardless of
whether Lewis agreed to that contract. The very
formation of the contract was illegal. See /talian

19a

Colors, 133 S. Ct. at 2312 (Thomas, J., concurring)
(noting, in adopting the narrowest characterization
of the FAA’s saving clause of any Justice, that
defenses to contract formation block an order
compelling arbitration under FAA).

Finally, finding the NLRA in conflict with the FAA
would render the FAA’s saving clause a nullity. See
TRW Inc. v. Andrews, 534 U.S. 19, 31 (2001) (noting
the “cardinal principle of statutory construction that
a statute ought, upon the whole, to be so construed
that, if it can be prevented, no clause, sentence, or
word shall be superfluous, void, or insignificant”).
Illegality is a standard contract defense
contemplated by the FAA’s saving clause. See
Buckeye Check Cashing, 546 U.S. at 444. If the
NLRA does not render an arbitration provision
sufficiently illegal to trigger the saving clause, the
saving clause does not mean what it says.

Epic warns us against creating a circuit split,
noting that at least two circuits agree with the Fifth.
See Owen v. Bristol Care, Inc., 702 F.3d 1050, 1052
(8th Cir. 2013) (rejecting argument that there is
inherent conflict between NLRA/Norris LaGuardia
Act and FAA); Sutherland v. Ernst & Young LLP,
726 F.3d 290, 297 n.8 (2d Cir. 2013) (rejecting NLRA-
based argument without analysis); Richards v. Ernst
& Young, LLP, 744 F.3d 1072, 1075 n.3 (9th Cir.
2013) (noting “|wlithout deciding the issue” that a
number of courts have “determined that they should
not defer to the NLRB’s decision in D.R. Horton”). Of
these courts, however, none has engaged
substantively with the relevant arguments.

The FAA contains a general policy “favoring
arbitration and a liberal federal policy favoring

20a

arbitration agreements.” Concepcion, 563 U.S. at
346 (internal quotation marks and citations omitted).
Its “substantive command” is “that arbitration
agreements be treated like all other contracts.” See
Buckeye Check Cashing, 546 U.S. at 447. Its purpose
is “to make arbitration agreements as enforceable as
other contracts, but not more so.” Prima Paint,
388 U.S. at 404 n.12 (holding that FAA’s saving
clause prevents enforcement of both void and
voidable arbitration contracts). “To immunize an
arbitration agreement from judicial challenge on” a
traditional ground such as illegality “would be to
elevate it over other forms of contract—a situation
inconsistent with the ‘saving clause.” Jd. (applying
same principle to fraud in the inducement). The
FAA therefore renders Epic’s arbitration provision
unenforceable.

C

Last, Epic contends that even if the NLRA does
protect a right to class or collective action, any such
right is procedural only, not substantive, and thus
the FAA demands enforcement. The right to
collective action in section 7 of the NLRA is not,
however, merely a procedural one. It instead lies at
the heart of the restructuring of employer/employee
relationships that Congress meant to achieve in the
statute. See Allen-Bradley Local No. 1111, United
Elec., Radio & Mach. Workers of Am. v. Wis.
Employ’t Relations Bd., 315 U.S. 740, 750 (1942)
(“[Section 7] guarantees labor its ‘fundamental right’
to self-organization and collective bargaining.”
(quoting Jones & Laughlin Steel, 301 U.S. 1, 33));
D.R. Horton, 357 N.L.R.B. No. 184, at *12 (noting
that the Section 7 right to concerted action “is the
core substantive right protected by the NLRA and is

2la

the foundation on which the Act and Federal labor
policy rest”). That Section 7’s_ rights are
“substantive” is plain from the structure of the
NLRA: Section 7 is the NLRA’s only substantive
provision. Every other provision of the statute
serves to enforce the rights Section 7 protects.
Compare 29 U.S.C. § 157 with id. §§ 151-169. One of
those rights is “to engage in ... concerted activities
for the purpose of collective bargaining or other
mutual aid or protection,” id. §157; “concerted
activities” include collective, representative, and
class legal proceedings. See Eastex, 437 U.S. at 566;
Brady, 644 F.3d at 673; D.R. Horton, 357 N.L.R.B.
No. 184, at *2-3.

The Supreme Court has held that “(bly agreeing to
arbitrate a statutory claim, a party does not forgo the
substantive rights afforded by the statute; it only
submits to their resolution in an arbitral, rather
than a judicial, forum.” Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v.
Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 628
(1985). (Contrary to the Fifth Circuit’s assertion in
D.R. Horton, the Supreme Court has never held that
arbitration does not “deny a party any statutory
right.” 737 F.3d at 357.)

Arbitration agreements that act as a “prospective
waiver of a partys right to pursue statutory
remedies” —that is, of a substantive right—are not
enforceable. Italian Colors, 133 S. Ct. at 2310
(quoting Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 637 n.19).
Courts routinely invalidate arbitration provisions
that interfere with substantive statutory rights. See,
e.g., McCaskill v. SCI Mgmt. Corp., 285 F.3d 623,
626 (7th Cir. 2002) (holding unenforceable
arbitration agreement that did not provide for award
of attorney fees in accordance with right guaranteed

22a

by Title VII); Kristian v. Comcast Corp., 446 F.3d 25,
48 (1st Cir. 2006) (holding unenforceable arbitration
provision precluding treble damages available under
federal antitrust law); Booker v. Robert Half Int'l,
Inc., 413 F.3d 77, 83 (D.C. Cir. 2005) (holding
unenforceable and severing clause in arbitration
agreement proscribing exemplary and punitive
damages available under Title VII); Hadnot v. Bay,
Ltd., 344 F.3d 474, 478 (5th Cir. 2003) (same);
Morrison v. Circuit City Stores, Inc., 317 F.3d 646,
670 (6th Cir. 2003) tholding unenforceable
arbitration agreement that limited remedies under
Title VII); Paladino v. Avnet Computer Techs., Inc.,
134 F.3d 1054, 1062 (11th Cir. 1998) (same).

Epic pushes back with three arguments, but none
changes the result. It points out the Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 23 simply creates a_ procedural]
device. We have no quarrel with that, but Epic
forgets that its clause also prohibits the employees
from using any collective device, whether in
arbitration, outside of any tribunal, or litigation.
Rule 23 is not the source of the collective right here;
Section 7 of the NLRA is. Epic also notes that courts
have held that other employment statutes that
provide for Rule 23 class actions do not provide a
substantive right to a class action. See, e.g., Gilmer
v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 26
(1991) {Age Discrimination in Employment Act
(ADEA)); D.R. Horton, 737 F.3d at 357 (citing court
of appeals cases for FLSA). It bears repeating: just
as the NLRA is not Rule 23, it is not the ADEA or
the FLSA. While the FLSA and ADEA allow class or
collective actions, they do not guarantee collective
process. See 29 U.S.C. §§ 216(b), 626. The NLRA
does. See id. § 157. Epic’s third argument is that

23a

because Section 7 deals with how workers pursue
their grievances—through concerted action—it must
be procedural. But just because the Section 7 right is
associational does not mean that it is not
substantive. It would be odd indeed to consider
associational rights, such as the one guaranteed by
the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, non-
substantive. Moreover, if Congress had meant for
Section 7 to cover only “concerted activities” related
to collective bargaining, there would have been no
need for it to protect employees’ “right to ... engage
in other concerted activities for the purpose of
collective bargaining or other mutual aid or
protection.” 29 U.S.C. § 157 (emphasis added).

IV

Because it precludes employees from seeking any
class, collective, or representative remedies to wage-
and-hour disputes, Epics arbitration provision
violates Sections 7 and 8 of the NLRA. Nothing in
the FAA saves the ban on collective action. The
judgment of the district court is therefore AFFIRMED.

24a
APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

No. 15-cv-82-bbe

LEWIS, J.,
individually and on behalf of
all others simi:arly situated,

Plaintiff,
v.

EPIC SYSTEMS CORPORATION,
Defendant.

— ee

OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff J. Lewis was a technical writer for
defendant Epic Systems Corporation. In this
proposed collective action, plaintiff contends that
defendant misclassified his position as exempt from
the requirement to pay overtime wages under the
Fair Labor Standards Act. Defendant has filed a
iaotion to dismiss the case on the ground that
plaintiffs claims are subject to an arbitration
agreement. Dkt. #19. Plaintiff concedes that his
claims fall within the scope of the arbitration
agreement, but he argues that the agreement is
invalid because it is unconscionable. Alternatively,
he says that the court should invalidate the provision
in the agreement called “Waiver of Class and
Collective Claims,” which requires employees to
arbitrate claims “only on an individual basis.”

25a

In this case, it makes sense to consider the second
argument first because it may be dispositive. As
plaintiff points out, the arbitration agreement
includes the following “savings clause”: “([I|f the
Waiver of Class and Collective Claims is found to be
unenforceable, then any claim brought on a class,
collective or representative action basis must be filed
in a court of competent jurisdiction, and such court
shall be the exclusive forum for such claims.” Dkt.
#22-1 at 3. Thus, if I conclude that the waiver is
invalid, plaintiffs challenge to the rest of the
arbitration agreement is moot.

As the parties acknowledge, I considered a similar
waiver in an arbitration agreement in Herrington vy.

Waterstone Mortgage Corp., No. 11-cv-779-bbe (W.D.
Wis.). In that case, the agreement stated that

“(such arbitration may not be joined with or join or
include any claims by any persons not party to this
Agreement.” In an order dated March 16, 2012, I
concluded that the waiver was inconsistent with In
re D.R. Horton, Inc., 357 NLRB No. 184 (2012),
available at 2012 WL 36274, in which the National
Labor Relations Board held that an employer
violates the National Labor Relations Act by
entering into individual arbitration agreements that
include a prohibition on collective actions by
employees.

The board’s reasoning was straightforward. Under
the NLRA, “lelmployees shall have the right to ...
engage in ... concerted activities for the purpose of
... mutual! aid or protection.” 29 U.S.C. § 157. Both
courts and the board have found consistently that
lawsuits for unpaid wages brought by multiple
plaintiffs may be one type of “concerted activity”
protected by §§ 157 and 158(a)(1). Brady v. National

26a

Football League, 644 F.3d 661, 673 (8th Cir. 2011)
(“[A] lawsuit filed in good faith by a group of
employees to achieve more favorable terms or
conditions of employment is ‘concerted activity
under §7 of the National Labor Relations Act.”);
Leviton Manufacuring Co., Inc. v, NLRB, 486 F.2d
686, 689 (1st Cir. 1973) (“[Tlhe filing of a labor
related civil action by a group of employees is
ordinarily a concerted activity protected by § 7,
unless the employees acted in bad faith.”); Saigon
Gourmet Restaurant, 353 NLRB No. 110 (2009) (“[A)
wage and hour lawsuit [is| clearly protected
concerted activity.”); In re 127 Restaurant Corp.,
331 NLRB 269, 269 (2000) (lawsuit filed on behalf of
17 employees regarding wages was protected
activity); 52nd Street Hotel Associates, 321 NLRB
624, 624 (1996) (collective action brought under
FLSA was protected activity), abrogated on other
grounds by Stericycle, Inc., 357 NLRB No. 61 (2011);

Host International, 290 NLRB 442, 443 (1988)
(multiple-plaintiff lawsuit ‘concerning working

conditions” was protected activity); United Parcel
Service, Inc,, 252 NLRB 1015, 1016 (1980) (class
action lawsuit regarding lunch breaks is protected
activity), enforced, 677 F.2d 421, 422 (6th Cir.1982);
Trinity Trucking & Materials Corp,, 221 NLRB 364,
364 (1975) (filing of lawsuit by group of employees
for failure to pay wages in accordance with contract
was protected activity), enforced, 567 F.2d 391 (7th
Cir.1977).

Further, under 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1), employers
may not “interfere with, restrain, or coerce
employees in the exercise of’ an employee’s rights
under § 157. Citing J.I. Case Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S.
332 (1944), and NLRB v. Stone, 125 F.2d 752, 756

27a

(7th Cir.1942), the board concluded in Horton, 2012
WL 36274, at *7, that an employer interferes with an
employee's right to engage in concerted activities by
requiring her to sign an agreement that includes a
prohibition on collective actions by employees. See
also Eastex, Inc, v. NLRB, 437 U.S. 556, 565-66
(1978) (“(Tlhe ‘mutual aid or protection’ clause
protects employees from retaliation by their
employers when they seek to improve working
conditions through resort to administrative and
judicial forums.”). Finally, the board concluded that
there is no conflict between the Federal Arbitration
Act and the NLRA because the Federal Arbitration
Act does not require the enforcement of arbitration
agreements that conflict with substantive provisions
of federal law.

Noting that “courts must give considerable
deference to the Board’s interpretations of the
NLRA,” ABF Freight System. Inc. v. NLRB, 510 U.S.
317, 324 (1994), I concluded that the board’s decision
was “reasonably defensible” and _ therefore
controlling. Sure-Tan, Inc, v. NLRB, 467 U.S. 883,
891 (1984). Accordingly, I invalidated the waiver on
collective action in the arbitration agreement and |
determined that the plaintiff must be allowed to join

other employees to her case. Herrington _v.

Waterstone Mortgage Corp,, No. 11-cv-779-bbc,
2012 WL 1242318, at **6-7 (W.D. Wis. Mar. 16,

2012).

Two years later (while the case was pending before
the arbitrator), the employer sought reconsideration
of the decision on the ground that new case law
supported a view that employees cannot rely on the
NLRA to invalidate arbitration provisions that
prohibit joint litigation. The employer relied

28a

primarily on D.R. Horton, Inc. v. NLRB, 737 F.3d
344 (5th Cir. 2013), a split decision in which the
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit declined to
enforce the board’s order invalidating the waiver on
collective action. Although I denied the employer’s
motion on procedural grounds, I also analyzed the
appellate court’s decision in detail. I chose to adhere
to the board’s decision because “the majority never
persuasively rebutted the board’s conclusion that a
collective litigation waiver violates the NLRA and
never explained why, if there is tension between the
NLRA and the FAA, it is the FAA that should trump

the NLRA, rather than the reverse.” Herrington vy.

Waterstone Mortgage Corp., 993 F. Supp. 2d 940,
943-46 (W.D. Wis. 2014). Further, the other cases

cited by the employer did not include additional
reasoning.

In this case, defendant does not identify any way to
distinguish its collective action waiver from the
waiver considered in Herrington. Although
defendant asks the court to ‘reconsider its prior
deference” to the board’s decision, Dft.’s Br., dkt. #20,
at 10, defendant does not challenge the reasoning in

Herrington or otherwise develop an argument in
favor of a different result. It simply cites the cases in

which courts have declined to follow the board.

As I did in Herrington, 993 F. Supp. 2d at 941, “I
acknowledge that the weight of authority ... favors
defendant’s view.... It may be that ultimately the
Supreme Court or the Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit will agree with defendant, but until
that time, I will adhere to the decision of the board.”
Accordingly, I am denying defendant’s motion to
dismiss.

29a

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that defendant Epic Systems
Corporation’s motion to dismiss, dkt. #19, is
DENIED.

Entered this 10th day of September, 2015.
BY THE COURT:
/s/

BARBARA B. CRABB
District Judge

30a
APPENDIX C

EXHIBIT A TO DECLARATION OF TINA
PERKINS FILED BY EPIC SYSTEMS
CORPORATION

United States District Court
Western District of Wisconsin
No. 3:15-cv-00082
Filed: 04/15/15
ECF No. 22-1

MUTUAL ARBITRATION AGREEMENT
REGARDING WAGES AND HOURS

April 2, 2014

Agreement to Arbitrate. Epic Systems Corporation
(“Epic”) and I agree to use binding arbitration,
instead of going to court, for any “covered claims”
that arise or have arisen between me and Epic, its
related and affiliated companies, and/or any current
or former employee of Epic or a related or affiliated
company. I understand that if I continue to work at
Epic, I will be deemed to have accepted this

Agreement.

“Covered claims” are any statutory or common
law legal claims, asserted or unasserted, alleging
the underpayment or overpayment of wages,
expenses, loans, reimbursements, bonuses,
commissions, advances, or any element of
compensation, based on claims of eligibility for
overtime, on-the-clock, off-the-clock or other
uncompensated hours worked claims, timing or
amount of pay at separation, improper deductions

3la

of pay or paid-time-off, fee disputes, travel time
claims, meal or rest period claims, overpayment
claims, claims of failure to reimburse or repay
loans or advances, claims over improper or
inaccurate pay statements, or any other claimed
violation of §wage-and-hour practices or
procedures under local, state or federal statutory
or common law.

I understand and agree that arbitration is the
only litigation forum for resolving covered
claims, and that both Epic and I are waiving
the right to a trial before a judge or jury in
federal or state court in favor of arbitration.

The Arbitrator shall have the authority to award
the same damages and other relief that would have
been available in court pursuant to applicable law.
The arbitrator shall! follow the rules of law of the
state which is the employee’s principal place of work,
any applicable Federa} law, and the rules as stated
in this Agreement. The arbitrator shall have the
authority to grant any remedy or relief that the
arbitrator deems just and equitable and which is
authorized by and consistent with applicable law,
including applicable statutory or other limitations on
damages.

Waiver of Class and Collective Claims. I also agree
that covered claims will be arbitrated only on an

individual basis, and that both Epic and I waive the
right to participate in or receive money or any other
relief from any class, collective, or representative
proceeding. No party may bring a claim on behalf of
other individuals, and.any arbitrator hearing my
claim may not: (i) combine more than one
individual’s claim or claims into a single case;

32a

(ii) participate in or facilitate notification of others of
potential claims; or (iii) arbitrate any form of a class,
collective, or representative proceeding.

] en d
Agreement. Nothing in this agreement changes or in
any manner modifies my relationship with Epic of
employment-at-will.

Claims not Covered by thig Agreement. Covered
claims under this agreement do not include claims
alleging discrimination, harassment, or retaliation.
Also excluded from this agreement are any claims
that cannot be required to be arbitrated as a matter
of law. I also understand that I am not barred from
filing a claim or charge with a governmental
administrative agency, such as the National Labor
Relations Board or Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission, or from filing a workers’ compensation
or unemployment compensation claim with respect to
covered claims, though I am giving up the
opportunity to recover monetary amounts from any
such governmental agency related claim (e.g., NLRB
or EEOC) and would instead be able to pursue a
claim for monetary amounts through arbitration. I
also understand that if a third party seeks to have
Epic garnish my wages, I may be subject to third-
party garnishment proceedings in court, even though
such a dispute concerns my wages.

Right to Representation. Both Epic and I shall

have the right to be represented by an attorney in
arbitration. Neither side is entitled to its attorneys’
fees except as provided for by applicable law.

How to File for Arbitration. To file a demand for

arbitration:

33a

1. The party desiring to pursue a legal dispute
must prepare a written demand setting forth
the claim(s). Epic will pay its own filing fees. If
I initiate the arbitration, I will pay the lesser of
the American Arbitration Association’s then-
current filing fee (as of this date, $200), or the
then-current filing fee applicable in state court.

2. The employment dispute resolution rules of the
American Arbitration Association (“AAA”)
effective at the time of my filing will apply. The
current version of the rules can be found on
pages 15-31 here: https://www.adr.org/aaa/
Show ? Id=
&revision=latestreleased. These rules are
modified by the terms of this Agreement,
including the following:

a. Epic will pay the arbitrator's fees and the
arbitration filing and administrative fees,
less my initial payment for the applicable
filing fee;

b. Epic and I will each have the opportunity to
“rank” our preference for the appointed
arbitrator from a list of nine proposed
arbitrators and the AAA will then appoint
the arbitrator;

c. The arbitrator shall have the authority to
issue an award or partial award without
conducting a hearing on the grounds that
there is no claim on which relief can be
granted or that there is no genuine issue of
material fact to resolve at a hearing,
consistent with Rules 12 and 56 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (“FRCP”);

34a

d. Each party shall be entitled to only one
interrogatory limited to the identification of
potential witnesses, in a form consistent
with Rule 33 of the FRCP;

e. Each party shall be entitled to only 25
requests for production of documents, in a
form consistent with Rule 34 of the FRCP;

f. Each party shall be entitled a maximum of
two (2) eight-hour days of depositions of
witnesses in a form consistent with Rule 30
of the FRCP;

g. The arbitrator shall decide all disputes
related to discovery and to the agreed limits
on discovery and may allow additional
discovery upon a showing of substantial need
by either party or upon a showing of an
inability to pursue or defend certain claims
without such additional discovery;

h. The arbitrator must issue a decision in
writing, setting forth in summary form the
reasons for the arbitrator’s determination
and the legal basis therefor; and

i. The arbitrator’s authority shall be limited to
deciding the case submitted by the parties to
the arbitration. Therefore, no decision by
any arbitrator shall serve as precedent in
other arbitrations except in a _ dispute
between the same parties, in which case it
could be used to preclude the same claim
from being re-arbitrated.

Settlement. I may settle any dispute with the
company at any time without involvement of the

arbitrator.

35a

Modifications and Amendments. [ understand and
agree that Epic may change or terminate this

agreement after giving me 90 days written or
electronic notice. Any change or termination will not
apply to a pending claim.

Savings Clause & Conformity Clause. If any
provision of this agreement is determined to be
unenforceable or in conflict with a mandatory
provision of applicable law, it shall be construed to
incorporate any mandatory provision, and/or the
unenforceable or conflicting provision shall be
automatically severed and the remainder of the
agreement shall not be affected. Provided, however,
that if the Waiver of Class and Collective Claims is
found to be unenforceable, then any claim brought on
a class, collective, or representative action basis
must be filed in a court of competent jurisdiction,
and such court shall be the exclusive forum for such
claims.

Controlling Law. I agree that this agreement is
made pursuant to and shall be governed under the
Federal Arbitration Act.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0699%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
