# Amicus Curiae Brief — Water Splash, Inc. v. Menon, 137 S. Ct. 1240 (2017) (No. 16-254)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0697%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

No. 16-254

In the Supreme Court of the United States

WATER SPLASH, INC., PETITIONER
vz.

TARA MENON

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TEXAS,
FOURTEENTH DISTRICT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

NOEL J. FRANCISCO
Acting Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
— ete ,
cting Assistant Attorney
General

EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General
JEANNE E. DAVIDSON
KATERINA V. OSSENOVA
DOUGLAS N. LETTER

SHARON SWINGLE
Attorneys
RICHARD C. VISEK Department of Justice
Acting Legal Adviser Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
Department of State SupremeCtBriefs@usdoj. gov

Washington, D.C. 20520 (208) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial
and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters (Hague Service Convention), dowe Nov. 15,
1965, 20 U.S.T. 361, 658 U.N.T.S. 1638, authorizes
transmission of judicial and extrajudicial documents
for service of process from one contracting state to
another contracting state. The question presented is
whether Article 10(a) of the Hague Service Convention
authorizes service of process by mail.

(I)

Oe ee ee eee ee eee SS eS a |? eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States.....................-000000000..

A. The text, context, and history of the Hague
Service Convention show that Article 10a),
ets mamas manta

service of process...

B. The Executive Branch Sone —— padapenancense
interpreted Article peo pemnibdarstee of

C. Other parties to the Convention agree that

Article 10(a) permits service by postal

D. Policy concerns do not support the lower court’s

a 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Abbott v. Abbott, 560 U.S. 1 (2010)..........0...........
Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392 (1985)...........

Bankston v. Toyota Motor Corp., 889 F.2d 172

(8th Cir. 1989)....

Brockmeyer v. May, 383 F 3d 798 (9th Cir. 2004) ..

Case C-412/97, ED Sri v. Italo Fenocchio,

(IIT)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page

Efeteia [Efet.] [court of appeals] 3299/2000, p. 165

i erncsicsensnesecesinensesenseminaninemnsinniinnatnenbineenantmennestesnees 23
Lozano v. Montoya Alvarez, 134 8. Ct. 1224 (2014) .......... 20
Medellin v. Texas, 552 U.S. 491 (2008) ...........-.00c--ereeeeeeeees 19
Noirhomme v. Walklate, [1992] 1 Lloyd’s Rep. 427

ID sisicniiassiccheeeniatinitinintecinienienittnemnietinennentcnmenes 23
Nuovo Pignone, SpA v. STORMAN ASIA M/V,

310 F.3d 374 (Sth Cir. 2002).............cscccsseccsseeeeses 6, 9, 27, 28
Purcaru v. Seliverstova, [2015] O.J. No. 5615

GE, GERI, I SR, BoP Git erccrcnsccsenncnnensensncscsccccsczecescerecees 23
Société Nationale Industrielle Aérospatiale v.

United States District Court, 482 U.S. 622 (1987).......... 10
Sumitomi Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176

TT itech citineteniehinciephinsiedehiectibatbehaniamigasiniianatemenees 17

Tucker (a Bankrupt), In re, {1987} 1 W.L.R.
(Ch.) (Eng.), rev’d on other grounds, [1990] 1 Ch.

ETA ee 23
Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk,

ER ne 7, 10, 12, 13
Wang v. Lin (2016), 132 O.R. 3d 48 (Can. Ont. Sup.

EARS 6S a SE SS ase 22
Wilson v. Servier Can. Inc., [2003] O.J. No. 157

Fes a Ge a ee ccerccnnastescertczmnseseczscscnzcntesscecsene 23
Zivotofsky v. Clinton, 132 S. Ct. 1421 (2012)...................... 10

Treaties, statutes and rules:

Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and
Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters, done Nov. 15, 1965, 20 U.S.T. 361,

658 U.N.T.S. 163:
PmbL, 20 U.S.T. 362, 658 U.N.T.S. 165......... 2, 11, 30, la

Art. 1, 20 U.S.T. 362, 658 U.N.T.S. 165......... 3, 11, 12, la

V

Treaties, statutes and rules—Continued: Page
Art. 2, 20 U.S.T. 362, 658 U.N.T.S. 165, 167............. 2, 1a
Arts. 2-6, 20 U.S.T. a shecueascupinbeaeadi 165,

167, 169... - I
Art. 4, 20 UST. 362, 658 U.N.TS. 167. hte maeiaeensees _
Art. 5, 20 U.S.T. 362, 658 U.N.T-.S. 167....... .%, 12
Art. 6, 20 U.S.T. 3638, 658 U.N.T.S. eS 3
Art. 8, 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S.

i cennciniicesrnaiciantenmimeesenessmececn 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 2a
Art. 9, 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T-.S. 169............... 3, 12, 2a
Art. 10, 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 169,

Iie ncsnicundictnrseegctinapiintinieninieaiisesdatinguanbemesuen passim, 2a

Art. 10(a), 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T-S. 168............ 15, 16
Art. 10(a), 20 U.S.T. 368, 658 U.N.T.S. 169 ....passim, 2a

Art. 10(b), 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 168 .................. 15
Art. 10(b), 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 169............ 11, 3a
Art. 10(c), 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 170................... 15
Art. 10(c), 20 U.S.T. 368, 658 U.N.T-S. 171............. 11, 3a
Art. 11, 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 171................. 12, 3a
Art. 13, 20 U.S.T. 364, 658 U.N.T.S. 171 ................0..0+. 12
Art. 14, 20 U.S.T. 364, 658 U.N.T-.S. 171................... 1,13
Art. 15, 20 U.S.T. 364, 658 U.N.T.S. 171, 173........... 9, 3a
Art. 15, 20 U.S.T. 364, 658 U.N.T.S. 173................. 29, 4a
Art. 19, 20 U.S.T. 365, 658 U.N.T-.S. 175................. 13, 5a
Art. 21, 20 U.S.T. 365, 658 U.N.T.S. 177......... passim, 6a
Art. 22, 20 U.S.T. 366, 658 U.N.T.S. 177..................0-+- 16
Lt ef nS 15
Convention Relating to Civil Procedure, done Mar. 1,
ERE EE a 14

Statute of the Hague Conference on Private Interna-
tional Law, art. 7, formulated Oct. 9-31, 1951, 15
po 24

VI

Statutes and rules—-Continued: Page
The Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976,
EE 19
EE,
ETAT TIE AE a eee Em 19
in, cersterinanesncantnncnteibiiaionntdennnti 19
Tex. R. Civ. P. 108a(1)(d) .....2...........eceeeeee ccktatdsinbaiiionnaadiii 5
Miscellaneous:

Philip W. Amram, The Proposed International
Convention on the Service sae an
51 A.B.A. J. (1966) ... wii ee,

Code of Civil Procedure, ©. C-25.01, ‘art. 494 (Can.),
LégisQuébec, http://legisquebec.gouv.qc.ca/en/pdf/
ces/C-25.01.pdf (last updated Dec. 1, 2016).................000-+- 10

Conclusions and Recommendations Adopted by
the Special Commission om. the Practical
Operation of the Hague Apostille, Evidence and
Service Conventions (Oct/Nov. 2003), https://

3 Conférence de la Haye de Droit International
Privé, Actes et Documents de la Dixiéme Session
(1965).... _ —

Comin nthe iudine dtnbel idiaitend
Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters: Message from the President of the United
States, S. Exec. C, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967)............... 17

Dutch Gov't, Treaty Database: Convention on the
Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrayudicial
Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters:

Parties with Reservations, Declarations and
Objections, https://treatydatabase.overheid.nl/
en/Verdrag/Details/004235 _b (last visited

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Hague Conference on Private Int’] Law:

Authorities: Convention of 15 November 1965
on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extra-
judicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters, https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments
/conventions/authorities1/?cid=17 (last visited

Practical Handbook on the Operation of the
Hague Convention of 15 November 1965
on the Service Abroad of Judicial and
Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or

Practical Handbook on the Operation of the
Hague Convention of 15 November 1965
on the Service Abroad of Judicial and

Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or

Commercial Matters (3d ed. 2006) .................... 26, 27
Practical Handbook on the Operation of the

Service Convention (4th ed.

cient ceeeeatiidiaaat ita netcneeaeael 3, 15, 24, 27, 28, 29

Status Table: Ceneetion of 15 November
1965 on the Service Abroad of Judicial and
Ex. rajudicial Documents in Civil or
Commercial Matters, https://www.hcch.net/
er/instruments/conventions/status-table/

?cid=17 (last visited Jan. 24, 2017) ..............0.2.0.c000-. 2
Maurice Kay et al., Blackstone’s Civil Practice 2013
a esiispmnenegen 23

2 Marian Nash (Leich), Cumulative Digest of United
States Practice in International Law 1981—1988
(1994)... airs —

David McClean, Repeiaitiias Co-operation i in + Civil
and Criminal Matters (3d ed. 2012)... sdemaiindaainie a

Vill

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Report on the Work of the Special Commission
of April 1989 on the Operation of the Hague
Conventions of 15 November 1965 o1 the Service
Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents
in Civil or Commercial Matters and of 18 March
1970 on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil
or Commercial Matters (Apr. 1989), https://assets.
hech.net/upload/scrpt&9e_20.pdf..................cscceeeceerees 25, 26
Report on the Work of the Special Commission
on the Operation of the Convention of 15 November
1965 on the Service Abroad of Judicial and
Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters (21-25 November 1977), 17 I.L.M. 319
(1978)... aS leotiidiine

1 Bruno A Ristau, ieteaaiiienel Judicial
Assistance: Civil and Commercial
TT ms TTS .2, 14, 15, 16, 28

S. Exec. Rep. No. 6, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967)......... 16, 18

U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Office of Int'l Judicial
Assistance, Service of Process on the United States
Government (Nov. 4, 2016), https://Awww justice.
gov/civil/page/file/914441/download.................00+-s+eeees00 19
US. Dep’t of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs,
Legal Considerations: International Judicial
Assistance: Service of Process, https-//travel.
state.gov/content/travel/en/legal-considerations/
judicial/service-of-process.html (last visited
Jan. 24, 2017).... i ae
United States Reetend of, State Guinien
Regarding the Bankston Case and Service by Mail
to Japan under the Hague Service Convention,
ee iinicintsttnncinnitininniticiciiicinuniiieaaeieds 18, 19

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 16-254
WATER SPLASH, INC., PETITIONER

vz
TARA MENON

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TEXAS,
FOURTEENTH DISTRICT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case concerns the proper interpretation of
Article 10(a) of the Convention on the Service Abroad
of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or
Commercial Matters (Convention or Hague Service
Convention), done Nov. 15, 1965, 20 U.S.T. 363, 658
U.N.T.S. 169. As a party to the Convention, the United
States has a vital sovereign interest in ensuring that
the Convention is construed in accordance with its
terms and with the intent of the United States and the
Convention’s other contracting states. The Depart-
ment of State participated in the Convention’s negotia-
tion and in the process of securing the Senate’s con-
sent to its ratification in 1967. As contemplated by
Article 14 of the Convention, the Department of State
continues to work through diplomatic channels to
resolve difficulties arising in the Convention’s opera-

(1)

2

tion. The Office of International Judicial Assists.nce in
the Department of Justice serves as the United States
Central Authority in accordance with Article 2 of the
Convention and is therefore responsible for admin-
istration of the Convention in this country. Thus, the
United States has both a strong interest in and an
important perspective on the question presented.
TREATY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Pertinent portions of the Hague Service Convention
are reprinted in the appendix to this brief. See App.,
infra, la-7a.

STATEMENT

1. The United States and Canada are among the 71
contracting states that have ratified or acceded to the
Hague Service Convention,’ which was formulated at
the Tenth Session of the Hague Conference on Private
International Law in 1964 and signed in 1965. See
1 Bruno A. Ristau, /nternational Judicial Assistance:
Civil and Commercial § 4-1-1, at 145 (2000) (Ristau).
As its preamble recites, the Convention was intended
“to create appropriate means to ensure that judicial
and extrajudicial documents to be served abroad shall
be brought to the notice of the addressee in sufficient
time,” and “to improve the organisation of mutual ju-
dicial assistance for that purpose by simplifying and
expediting the procedure.” App., infra, la. The Con-
vention applies “in all cases, in civil or commercial
matters, where there is occasion to transmit a judicial

' See Hague Conference on Private Int'l] Law, Status Table:
Convention of 15 November 1965 on the Service Abroad of Judi-
cial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial Mat-
ters, https-//Awww.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/status-table/
?cid=17 (last visited Jan. 24, 2017).

3

or extrajudicial document for service abroad” and the
address of the person to be served with the document
is known. Jbid. (Art. 1).

The Convention provides for what has been called
“one main channel of transmission” and for “several
alternative channels of transmission.” Hague Confer-
ence on Private Int’l Law, Practical Handbook on the
Operation of the Service Convention 1 110, at 40 (4th
ed. 2016) (2016 Handbook).* Under the main channel,
described in Articles 2 through 6, an “authority or
judicial officer” in the country “where the document to
be served originates” will “transmit[] the document to
be served to a Central Authority” of the country
“where the service is to occur.” Jd. 7 111, at 40. Un-
less the Central Authority finds that the request does
not comply with the Convention, see Art. 4, 20 U.S.T.
362, 658 U.N.T.S. 167, the Central Authority will “it-
self serve the document or shall arrange to have it
served by an appropriate agency,” Art. 5, 20 U.S.T.
362, 658 U.N.T.S. 167, and will prepare a certificate of
service that “shall be forwarded directly to the appli-
cant,” Art. 6, 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 169.

The Convention’s alternative channels of transmis-
sion include direct and indirect “consular or diplomatic
channels” (addressed in Articles 8 and 9), and three
channels identified in Article 10. 2016 Handbook
1 237, at 76. Article 10 enumerates those three chan-
nels as follows:

* Those categories are something of a misnomer, as “[tjhere is
neither a hierarchy nor any order of importance among the various
channels of transmission, and transmission through one of the
other channels does not lead to service of lesser quality.” 2016
Handbook 4 236, at 75-76.

4

Provided the State of destination does not ob-
ject, the present Convention shall not interfere
with—

(a) the freedom to send judicial documents, by
postal channels, directly to persons abroad,

(b) the freedom of judicial officers, officials or oth-
er competent persons of the State of origin to effect
service of judicial documents directly through the
judicial officers, officials or other competent per-
sons of the State of Jestination,

(c) the freedom of any person interested in a judi-
cial proceeding to effect service of judicial docu-
ments directly through the judicial officers, offi-
cials or other competent persons of the State of
destination.

App., infra, 2a-3a. Article 21 further specifies that a
contracting state that objects to any of the methods of
transmission in Article 8 or 10 “shall * * * inform”
the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands.
Id. at 6a.

This case concerns whether Article 10(a)’s refer-
ence to “the freedom to send judicial documents, by
postal channels, directly to persons abroad” should be
read to pertain to the transmission of such documents
for purposes of service of process.

2. From 2011 to 2013, petitioner, a Delaware corpo-
ration with its principal office in New York State,
employed respondent, a citizen of Canada who resides
in Québec, as a regional sales representative. J.A. 40,
50. Petitioner alleged that respondent began working
for a competitor that used some of petitioner’s designs
and drawings when submitting a bid to the City of
Galveston, Texas. J.A. 50. Petitioner sued respondent

a

(and the competitor) in Texas state court for unfair
competition, conversion, tortious interference with pro-
spective business relations, and conspiracy. /bid.

Claiming it was unable to serve respondent in Tex-
as, petitioner moved for authorization to use substitut-
ed service of process. J.A. 20, 50. A state procedural
rule permits service on a party in a foreign country
“pursuant to the terms and provisions of any applica-
ble treaty or convention.” Tex. R. Civ. P. 108a(1)(d).
Contending that “the use of postal channels is a proper
means of service under Article 10(a) of the Hague
[Service] Convention,” petitioner requested permission
to serve respondent by “first class mail, certified mail,
and Federal Express to [respondent’s] address” in
Québec and “by email to each of [respondent’s] known
email addresses.” J.A. 19-20. The trial court granted
the motion. J.A. 37-38.

Respondent did not file an answer or otherwise en-
ter an appearance, and petitioner obtained a default
judgment after the trial court found that respondent
had been given proper notice of the suit and of the
motion for default judgment and a hearing. J.A. 39-45.
Respondent later moved to vacate the default judg-
ment, contending that service had not been accom-
plished “pursuant to the terms of {AJrticle 10(a) of the
Hague Service Convention.” J.A. 51. The trial court
denied the motion. J.A. 48.

3. The Court of Appeals of Texas (Fourteenth Dis-
trict) reversed and remanded. J.A. 49-58.

a. The court of appeals concluded that service by
mail to a defendant in Canada is not permitted by the
Hague Service Convention. J.A. 52-58. The court
recognized that “Canada has not objected to the use of
the mail for service of process.” J.A. 55 n.1. It con-

6

cluded, however, that Article 10(a) of the Convention
“prohibits service of process by mail.” J.A. 55. In
doing so, the court acknowledged that it was siding
with the minority of state and federal courts to have
considered the question, but it considered that view to
be “the better-reasoned approach” because it “adheres
to and applies the meaning of the specific words used
in [AJrticle 10(a).” Jbid. In particular, the court em-
phasized that Article 10(a) uses the word “send,” while
other provisions throughout the Convention “use
forms of the word ‘service.’” Jbid. (quoting Nuovo
Pignone, SpA v. STORMAN ASIA M/V, 310 F.3d 374,
384 (5th Cir. 2002)). It agreed with the Fifth Circuit’s
decision not to “presume that the drafters intended to
give the same meaning to ‘send’ that they intended to
give to ‘service.’” Jbid. (quoting Nuovo Pignone, 310
F.3d at 384). The court further found its restrictive
reading of Article 10(a) to be consistent with the Con-
vention’s “purpose” of “‘ensur[ing] that plaintiffs de-
liver notice to foreign addressees in sufficient time to
defend the allegation,’” because it would be “‘unlikely
that the drafters would have put in place’” the meth-
ods of service through Central Authorities or diplo-
matic channels “‘while simultaneously permitting the
uncertainties of service by mail.’” J.A. 56 (quoting
Nuovo Pignone, 310 F.3d at 384-385).

b. Justice Christopher dissented. J.A. 59-93. In
her view, the majority failed to follow this Court’s “di-
rections on the construction of treaties” and failed to
“address the reasoning of courts that have reached a
conclusion contrary to that of the Fifth Circuit.” J.A.
60, 89-90. Justice Christopher considered, in turn, the
purpose of the Convention (J.A. 70-72); the expecta-
tions of the parties to the Convention, as reflected in

7

its English and French texts, its negotiating and draft-
ing history, and the understanding of the delegates
(J.A. 73-75); the “unwavering[]” view of the Executive
Branch that “Article 10(a) permits service by mail”
(J.A. 75); the post-ratification interpretations of Arti-
cle 10(a) by other parties to the Convention (J.A. 76-
78); and the views of leading scholars (J.A. 78-79). In
her view, all of those considerations pointed strongly
away from the majority’s reading of Article 10(a). She
also elaborated on what she identified as flaws in the
Fifth Circuit’s reasoning in Nuovo Pignone. J.A. 80-
87.

4. Petitioner was unsuccessful in seeking rehearing
en banc by the court of appeals and discretionary re-
view by the state supreme court. J.A. 95-98.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Although Article 10(a) of the Hague Service Con-
vention does not affirmatively authorize service of pro-
cess by mail, it is properly construed as permitting
service of process by postal channels where such ser-
vice satisfies otherwise applicable law.

A. The text of Article 10(a) must be read in the
context of the rest of the Convention, which this Court
has already held was intended to “appl{ y] only to doc-
uments transmitted for service abroad.” Volkswagen-
werk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694, 701
(1988). In that light, Article 10(a)’s reference to “send-
[ing] judicial documents,” App., infra, 2a, is readily
understood as referring to the sending of documents
through postal channels for purposes of service, rather
than for some unspecified reasons that are disconnect-
ed from the Convention because they do not involve
service. That reading is supported by the negotiating
history of Article 10(a), which includes a report de-

8

scribing a materially identical earlier draft that dis-
cussed its applicability to “service.” It is further sup-
ported by the derivation of the parallel phrase in the
French version of the Convention, which had, in the
context of earlier conventions, been consistently inter-
preted as applying to service. Finally, just a few
months before the Convention was signed, a member
of the U.S. delegation who was on the committee that
drafted the Convention described Article 10 as permit-
ting direct service by mail.

B. The Court should also give great weight to the
views of the Executive Branch, which has consistently
interpreted Article 10(a) to permit service of process
by postal channels—from the report that accompanied
the President’s transmission of the Convention to the
Senate to the guidance posted on the Department of
State’s website. Most conspicuously, in 1990, the Dep-
uty Legal Adviser in the Department of State sent a
letter to the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts
and the National Center for State Courts explaining
the United States’ disagreement with the first federal
court of appeals that adopted the interpretation of the
decision below.

C. Other parties to the Convention have consist-
ently indicated that Article 10(a) permits service through
postal channels. Many of them have done so in the
course of either objecting, or making it clear that they
do not object, to the use of methods set forth in Article
10(a). Several foreign courts have expressly stated
their understanding that Article 10(a) permits service
by postal channels, and we are not aware of any for-
eign decisions that agree with the decision below. In
addition, multiple Special Commissions convened since
1977 and comprising representatives from many of the

9

Convention’s contracting states have repeatedly con-
cluded that Article 10(a) permits service by postal chan-
nels. In 2003, representatives of 57 countries unani-
mously reaffirmed the conclusion that Article 10(a)’s
use of the term “send” is to be understood as referring
to “service” through postal channels.

D. Policy concerns do not support the lower court’s
reading of Article 10(a). United States courts should
not second-guess the comparative reliability of service
by mail in countries that have not seen fit to lodge
their own objections under Article 21. Postal channels
are often more expeditious and cost-efficient than the
other channels of transmission. And, to the extent that
there is uncertainty in an individual case about wheth-
er a mailed document was actually received, Article 15
provides protections for defendants.

ARGUMENT

ARTICLE 10(a) OF THE HAGUE SERVICE CONVENTION
PERMITS SERVICE OF PROCESS BY POSTAL CHAN-
NELS

The decision below, like those of other courts that
have reached a similar conclusion, relied principally on
the supposed contrast between Article 10(a)’s refer-
ence to “send[ing]” judicial documents and the refer-
ences in many other articles of the Convention to the
“service” of documents. See J.A. 55-56; see also, e.g.,
Nuovo Pignone, SpA v. STORMAN ASIA M/V, 310
F.3d 374, 383-384 (5th Cir. 2002); Bankston v. Toyota
Motor Corp., 889 F.2d 172, 173-174 (8th Cir. 1989). All
of the traditional tools of treaty interpretation, howev-
er, support the conclusion that Article 10(a)’s refer-
ence to “send[ing]” documents pertains—like the rest
of the Convention—to the “service” of documents.
Although the Convention does not itself affirmatively

10

authorize service of process by mail, it is properly
construed to permit such service when it would accord
with otherwise applicable law. See Brockmeyer v.
May, 383 F.3d 798, 803-804 (9th Cir. 2004).*

A. The Text, Context, And History Of The Hague Service
Convention Show That Article 10(a), Like The Rest Of
The Convention, Pertains To Service Of Process
When interpreting a treaty, the Court “begin/s]
‘with the text of the treaty and the context in which the
written words are used.’” Volkswagenwerk Aktien-
gesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694, 699 (1988) (quot-
ing Société Nationale Industrielle Aérospatiale v.
United States District Court, 482 U.S. 522, 534 (1987)
(in turn quoting Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 397
(1985)). If the text and context of the treaty are am-
biguous, the Court “may look beyond the written
words to the history of the treaty, the negotiations,
and the practical construction adopted by the parties.”
Id. at 700 (citations omitted).

* Respondent has contended (Br. in Opp. 6-9) that the judgment
below could be affirmed on the alternative ground that, when this
suit began, the Province of Québec had not yet adopted legislation
to execute the Hague Service Convention. That question of foreign
law, however, was not addressed by the state courts, and petitioner
has questioned whether respondent preserved her argument as a
matter of state procedural law. See Cert. Reply Br. 6-7. In any
event, this Court typically does not address in the first instance
questions that were not decided below. See, e.g., Zivotofsky v.
Clinton, 132 S. Ct. 1421, 1430 (2012). Accordingly, this brief does
not address the potential effect of Québec law on the validity of the
service in this case. (Article 494 of Québec’s Code of Civil Proce-
dure now affirmatively states that the Hague Service Convention
“has force of law in Québec.” Code of Civil Procedure,
ce. C-25.01, art. 484 (Can.), LégisQuébec, http-/legisquebec.gouv.qc.
ca/en/pdf/cs/C-25.01.pdf (ast updated Dec. 1, 2016).)

11

1. Article 10(a) of the Convention states that, if
“the State of destination does not object,” the Conven-
tion “shall not interfere with * * * the freedom to
send judicial documents, by postal channels, directly to
persons abroad.” App., infra, 2a. Unlike the other two
paragraphs of Article 10, which reference methods to
“effect service of judicial documents,” id. at 3a, Article
10(a)’s reference to postal channels does not use the
term “service.” It must not, however, be viewed in iso-
lation. In context, its reference to “send[ing] judicial
documents” is readily understood as referring to the
sending of documents through postal channels for pur-
poses of service. The court of appeals’ contrary read-
ing would transform Article 10(a) into a bizarre and
solitary interloper—the only portion of the Convention
that would be about something other than service of
documents.

a. The full title of the Hague Service Convention
indicates that it is concerned with “Service Abroad.”
Its preamble explains that the Convention was intend-
ed “to create appropriate means to ensure that judicial
and extrajudicial documents to be served abroad shall
be brought to the notice of the addressee in sufficient
time,” and to “simplify[] and expeditfe]” the proce-
dures for doing so. App., infra, 1a. Then, in establish-
ing the general scope of the Convention, Article 1 pro-
vides that it “shall apply in all cases, in civil or com-
mercial matters, where there is occasion to transmit a
judicial or extrajudicial document for service abroad.”
Ibid.

As this Court has previously explained, the Conven-
tion’s negotiating history demonstrates that its ap-
plicability was consciously limited to instances requir-
ing the transmission of documents to other countries

12

for purposes of “service of process in the technical
sense.” Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 700. A preliminary draft
of Article 1 referred to “all cases in which there are
grounds to transmit or to give formal notice of a judi-
cial or extrajudicial document in a civil or commercial
matter to a person staying abroad.” /d. at 700-701
(translating the French text from 3 Conférence de la
Haye de Droit International Privé, Actes et Documents
de la Dixiéme Session 65 (1965)). That preliminary
draft, however, was criticized for “suggest{ing] that the
Convention could apply to transmissions abroad that do
not culminate in service.” /d. at 701. As a result, the
final version of Article 1 was revised, such that the
Convention now “applies only to documents transmit-
ted for service abroad.” Jbid. The decision below
cannot be reconciled with this Court’s authoritative
construction of Article 1 and the negotiating history
upon which the Court relied.

The Court’s reading of Article 1 is buttressed by
the many other provisions of the Convention that are
expressly tied to service of process rather than trans-
mission of documents for some other purpose. Article
5 obliges a Central Authority that receives a request
for service either to “serve the document” or to “ar-
range to have it served.” 20 U.S.T. 362, 658 U.N.T.S.
167. Article 8 permits a contracting state to “effect
service of judicial documents” through its diplomatic
or consular agents, and Article 9 permits the use of
consular or diplomatic channels “to forward documents,
for the purpose of service.” App., infra, 2a; see, ¢.g.,
id. at 3a (Art. 11) (permitting contracting states to
agree to alternate channels of transmission “for the
purpose of service of judicial documents”); Art. 13, 20
U.8.T. 364, 658 U.N.T.S. 171 (restricting grounds upon

13

which a state may refuse to comply with “a request for
service” that complies with the Convention); Art. 14,
20 U.S.T. 364, 658 U.N.T.S. 171 (providing that dis-
putes over “the transmission of judicial documents for
service” will be settled diplomatically); App., infra, 5a
(Art. 19) (providing that the Convention will not alter a
contracting state’s law permitting other methods of
transmission “of documents coming from abroad, for
service within its territory”).

Because the scope of the entire Convention thus
was intentionally limited to “documents transmitted
for service abroad,” Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 701, there is
no reason to infer that Article 10(a) was intended,
through the word “send,” to refer exclusively to un-
specified uses of postal channels that do not involve
service of process. Rather, the language in Article 10(a)
preserving the freedom to “send” judicial documents,
by postal channels, “directly” to persons abroad can be
explained by the fact that, in contrast to Article 10(a),
all other methods of service identified in the Conven-
tion require the affirmative engagement of an inter-
mediary to effect “service.” The word “send” in Arti-
cle 10(a) is the most natural way to describe the using
of “postal channels” as an alternative way of effecting
service—“directly”—without invoking an intermediary.

b. Moreover, the only provision of the Convention
that refers to Article 10 does not give any indication
that paragraph (a) was seen as unique or as being
about a different topic than is the rest of the Conven-
tion. Article 21 directs each contracting state to give
formal notice (to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the
Netherlands) of any “opposition” that the contracting
state has “to the use of methods of transmission pur-
suant to [AJrticles 8 and 10.” App., infra, 6a. Article 8

14

applies only to “service of judicial documents,” as do
paragraphs (b) and (c) of Article 10. Jd. at 2a-3a. Art-
icle 21 thus indicates that the drafters perceived no
categorical difference between the types of transmis-
sion of judicial documents addressed by those provi-
sions and the type of transmissions governed by Arti-
cle 10(a).

2. The negotiating history of Article 10(a) itself also
provides strong support for the view that it refers to
service of process. See Saks, 470 U.S. at 400 (recog-
nizing that, in interpreting a treaty, “it is proper
* * * to refer to the records of its drafting and nego-
tiation”).

The Rapporteur’s report on the final text of the
Convention, as adopted in the plenary session of the
Hague Conference, “states that, except for minor edi-
torial changes, Article 10 of the Convention corre-
sponds to” the same article in an earlier draft. 1 Ristau
§ 4-3-5, at 205. The report about that draft version of
Article 10, in turn, had explained as follows:

a) Postal channels (para. 1)
Paragraph 1 [designated “(a)” in the final text] of

Article 10 corresponds to paragraph 1 of Article 6
of the 1954 Convention.[*]

* += & *#

The provision of paragraph 1 also permits service
* * * by telegram if the state where service * * *
is to be made does not object.

The Commission did not accept the proposal that
postal channels be limited to registered mail.

* Convention Relating to Civil Procedure, done Mar. 1, 1954, 286
U.N.T.S. 265.

15

Ibid. (brackets in original) (translated by Ristau from
the original French). The report about the draft ver-
sion of Article 10 also noted that, as was the case un-
der the similar provision of the earlier convention,
service of process could be made by postal channels
only if it was also “authorized by the law of the forum
state.” Jbid. Thus, the description of the earlier draft
of Article 10 demonstrates that the drafters intended
for the provision to permit service of process by postal
channels in the absence of the receiving state’s objec-
tion pursuant to Article 21.

3. That construction is also supported by the deri-
vation of the parallel phrase in the French version of
the Convention. The French text—which, according to
the Convention’s final clause, is “equally authentic”
with the English text, 20 U.S.T. 367, 658 U.N.T.S.
181—contains the same potential anomaly, using a
different word in Article 10(a) than in Article 10(b) and
(c).° But “the verb ‘adresser’ * * * , rendered in
English by the verb ‘send’, had been used in substan-
tially the same context in the three predecessor trea-
ties [about civil procedure] drafted in The Hague [in
1896, 1905, and 1954)].” 2016 Handbook {1 279, at 91.
Even though the verb “adresser” is not actually
“equivalent to the concept of ‘service,’” it had “been
consistently interpreted” in the earlier treaties “as
meaning service or notice.” /bid. The drafters accord-

®* Compare Art. 10(a), 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 168 (“a la fac-

ulté d’adresser directement, par la voie de la poste”) (emphasis
added), with Art. 10(b), 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 168 (“Aa la
faculté, pour les officiers ministériels * * * de faire procéder a
des significations ou notifications”) (emphasis added) and Art.
10(c), 20 U.S.T. 363, 658 U.N.T.S. 170 (“de faire procéder A des
significations ou notifications”) (emphasis added).

16

ingly would have expected the same interpretation to
apply to the term’s appearance in the Hague Service
Convention. In addition, Article 10(a) of the Hague
Service Convention replaced Article 6(1) of the 1954
Convention (for states that were parties to both). See
1 Ristau § 4-3-5, at 204; see also Art. 22, 20 U.S.T. 366,
658 U.N.T.S. 177. In light of that history, it would be
particularly incongruous if the similar French text in
Article 10(a) were construed as eliminating the earlier
understanding that postal channels could indeed be
used for service when it is authorized by the law of the
forum state and the receiving state does not object.
See 1 Ristau § 4-3-5, at 205.

4. Other evidence contemporaneous with the nego-
tiation of the Convention also supports the conclusion
that Article 10(a) refers to service of process. Philip
W. Amram was the member of the United States dele-
gation who was the “principal American spokesman in
the Committee of the Conference that produced the
[Convention].” S. Exec. Rep. No. 6, 90th Cong., Ist
Sess. 5 (1967) (S. Exec. Rep. No. 6) (reprinting state-
ment of Deputy Legal Adviser Richard D. Kearney).
In an article dated just a few months before the Con-
vention’s signing (and nine months after “(tjhe final
text of the Convention * * * was developed,” 1 Ristau
§ 4-1-1, at 145), he summarized the Convention and
stated that “Article 10 permits direct service by mail
** * unless thf{e] state objects to such service.”
Philip W. Amram, The Proposed International Con.
vention on the Service of Documents Abroad, 51
A_B.A. J. 650, 653 (1965).

Thus, when read in the context of the Convention,
its negotiation history, the predecessors to the parallel
French text, and contemporaneous statements by one

17

of its drafters, the text of Article 10(a) is best con-
strued as permitting service of process through postal
channels.

B. The Executive Branch Has Consistently Interpreted
Article 10(a) To Permit Service Of Process By Postal
Channels

“It is well settled that the Executive Branch’s in-
terpretation of a treaty ‘is entitled to great weight.’”
Abbott v. Abbott, 560 U.S. 1, 15 (2010) (quoting Sumi-
tomo Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176, 184-
185 (1982)). The decision below, however, contradicts
the Executive Branch’s longstanding position that Arti-
cle 10(a) refers to service of process, not to the sending
of documents for other unspecified purposes.

1. When President Johnson transmitted the Con-
vention to the Senate in 1967 for its advice and con-
sent, his transmittal letter noted that “(t]he provisions
of the convention are explained in the report of the
Secretary of State transmitted herewith.” Convention
on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Ezxtrajudicial
Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters: Message
from the President of the United States, S. Exec. C,
90th Cong., Ist Sess. 1 (1967). The accompanying
report explained that “Articles 8 through 11 provide
for channels of service entirely outside the central
authority.” Jd. at 4. {t further stated that “Article 10
permits direct service by mail or by any persons who
are competent for that purpose in the state addressed
unless that state objects to such service.” Jd. at 5
(emphasis added).

Consistent with that construction, U.S. delegate
Amram testified before the Senate Foreign Relations
Committee that use of the Central Authority is “not
obligatory” and that “[{o}ptional techniques” inelude,

18

“unless the requested State objects, direct service by
mail.” S. Exec. Rep. No. 6, at 13 (citing Article 10).

2. Since the United States ratified the Convention,
the Executive Branch has consistently adhered to that
construction of Article 10(a). In 1980, the Administra-
tive Office of the U.S. Courts sent a memorandum to
all United States District Court Clerks requesting,
based on advice from the Department of State, that
they “refrain from sending summonses and complaints
by international mail to foreign defendants in those
countries” that had “made a reservation with respect
to Article 10(a) of the Convention.” 2 Marian Nash
(Leich), Cumulative Digest of United States Practice
in International Law 1981-1988, at 1447 (1994). Ser-
vice by mail to defendants in non-objecting countries
was not seen as a problem in the context of the Con-
vention.

In 1989, the Eighth Circuit became the first federal
court of appeals to hold that the Convention does not
permit service by registered mail on a defendant in
a foreign country. See Bankston, F.2d at 174. A
few months later, the Deputy Legal Adviser, Alan J.
Kreczko, sent a letter to the Administrative Office of
the U.S. Courts and the National Center for State
Courts that expressed the Department of State’s disa-
greement with the Bankston decision. See United
States Department of State Opinion Regarding the
Bankston Case and Service by Mail to Japan under
the Hague Service Convention, 30 1.L.M. 260, 260-261
(1991) (reprinting excerpts of March 14, 1990 letter).
That letter concluded that “the decision of the Court of
Appeals in Bankston is incorrect to the extent that it
suggests that the Hague Convention does not permit
as a method of service of process the sending of a copy

19

of a summons and complaint by registered mail to a
defendant in a foreign country.” Jd. at 261.

That view continues to be reflected on the Depart-
ment of State’s website, which explains that “[slervice
by registered or certified mail, return receipt request-
ed is an option in many countries in the world,” but that
“{slervice by registered mail should * * * not be used
in the countries party to the Hague Service Conven-
tion that objected to the method described in Article
10(a) (postal channels).” U.S. Dep't of State, Bureau of
Consular Affairs, Legal Cousiderations: International
Judicial Assistance: Service of Process, https://travel.
state.gov/content/travelV/en/legul-considerations judicial/
service-of-process.litim| (last visited Jan. 24, 2017).°

The Court should give great weight to the Execu-
tive Branch’s contemporaneous, longstanding, and con-
sistent interpretation of Article 10(a). See, e.g., Medel-
lin v. Texas, 552 U.S. 491, 513 (2008).

* Although not relevant here, additional considerations apply in
cases involving efforts to serve sovereign defendants. The Foreign
Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976, 28 U.S.C. 1602 et seq., provides
the exclusive means of service for purposes of suing a foreign state
in a \J.S. court. See 28 U.S.C. 1608(a)(1)-(4); Fed. R. Civ. P. 4(j)(1).
Section 1608(a) does not provide for service by a plaintiff on a
foreign sovereign through postal channels without the foreign
suvercign’s consent. Similarly, “service on the U.S. (iovernment
cunnet be effected through Article 10,” even theiych “the United
States does not object to Article 10 service by postal channels for
private individuals or companies.” U.S. Dep’t of Justice. Office of
Int’] Judiviu! Assistance. Necrice af Process on the | /nited States
Government 2 (Nov. 4, 2016), https://www.justice.gov/civil/page/
file/914441/download.

20

C. Other Parties To The Convention Agree That Article
10(a) Permits Service By Postal Channels

Because a treaty is “in its nature a contract be-
tween ... [NJations,” the Court has recognized its
“responsibility to read the treaty in a manner con-
sistent with the shared expectations of the contracting
parties.” Lozano v. Montoya Alvarez, 134 S. Ct. 1224,
1232-1233 (2014) (citations and internal quotation marks
omitted). As a result, the views of the other states
that are parties to the treaty are “entitled to consider-
able weight.” Abbott, 560 U.S. at 16 (citations omit-
ted). With respect to the Hague Service Convention,
many of the United States’ treaty partners have con-
sistently indicated—both singly and in joint Special
Commissions periodically convened to assist in the
Convention’s implementation—that Article 10(a) per-
mits “service” through postal channels, so long as the
receiving state has not exercised its right under Arti-
cle 21 to object to that form of service.

1. In formally giving notice to the Ministry of For-
eign Affairs of the Netherlands of their ratification or
accession to the Convention (Article 21), several con-
tracting states—including Canada—have made clear
their understanding that Article 10(a) of the Conven-
tion refers to using postal channels for service of pro-
cess, not sending documents for other purposes. In its
1988 accession to the Convention, Canada declared,
under a heading referring to Article 10(a), that “Cana-
da does not object to service by postal channels.”’ In

' Duteh Gov't, Treaty Database: Convention on the Service
Abroad of Judicial and Extrayudicial Documents in Civil or Com-
mercial Matters: Parties with Reservations, Declarations, and
Objections, https://treatydatabase.overheid.nl/en/Verdrag/Details/
004235 _b (last visited Jan. 24, 2017) (entry for Canada).

21

1990, Pakistan declared that it does not object to “ser-
vice by postal channels directly to the persons con-
cerned (Article 10(a)).”* In 2009, the Republic of Lat-
via, citing Article 10(a), declared that it “does not ob-
ject to the freedom to send a judicial document, by
postal channels, directly to an addressee within the
Republic of Latvia * * * if the document to be serv-
ed” satisfies certain conditions.” In 2010, Australia
referred to Article 10(a) when declaring that “Austral-
ia does not object to service by postal channels, where
it is permitted in the jurisdiction in which the process
is to be served” and the documents are “sent via regis-
tered mail.” In 2016, Vietnam declared that it does
not oppose “the service of documents through postal
channels mentioned in paragraph a of Article 10” if the
documents are “sent via registered mail with acknowl-
edgment of receipt.”"’

Other contracting states have expressly objected to
“service” pursuant to Article 10(a) or to having docu-
ments “served” through “postal channels.”” By doing
so, they have made clear their shared understanding
that Article 10(a) would otherwise have permitted ser-
vice by mail. Similarly, at least 13 states have declared
their objection to all of the methods of transmission in
Article 10 and described them collectively as involving
“service,” without discriminating between paragraph

® Ibid. (entry for Pakistan).

° Ibid. (entry for Latvia).

Ibid. (entry for Australia).

" Ibid. (entry for Vietnam).

” See, e.g., ibid. (entries for the Czech Republic and Slovenia).

22

(a) and the rest."* Under the decision below, objections
to “service” through postal channels would effectively
be rendered meaningless; those states would have
exercised their Article 21 power to object to Article
10(a) by objecting to something that Article 10(a) had
not allowed in the first place.

To be sure, the declarations of some states have re-
ferred to the “sending,” “transmitting,” or “transmis-
sion” of documents under Article 10, or have referred
to “service or transmission” or “transmission and ser-
vice” under Article 10. Such formulations do not
clearly express a view on whether Article 10(a) refers
to service. But no country has affirmatively indicat-
ed—either in its formal reservations, declarations, or
objections, or, to our knowledge, anywhere else—that
it shares the understanding of the decision below that
Article 10(a) does not refer to service of process.

2. Nor are we aware of any foreign courts that have
adopted the view of the decision below. To the contra-
ry, several have expressly stated their understanding
that Article 10(a) permits “service” through postal
channels. For instance, an Ontario appellate court re-
cently explained that “art. 10 of the Hague Service
Convention provides that documents can be served
directly by postal channels or local judicial officers of
the state of destination, unless that state objects.”
Wang v. Lin (2016), 132 O.R. 3d 48, 61 (Can. Ont. Sup.
Ct. J.). That statement was consistent with earlier
Ontario cases that had recognized the validity of ser-

“ Ibid. (entries for Bulgaria, the People’s Republic of China,
Croatia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Kuwait, Lithuania,
Macedonia, Poland, the Russian Federation, and Turkey).

4 See, e.g., ibid. (entries for Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, San
Marino, and Switzerland).

23

vice by mail on persons located in states that have not
objected to Article 10(a)." In 1999, the Court of Jus-
tice of the European Union repeated without disa-
greement an Italian court’s recognition that “Article
10(a) * * * allows service by post.” In 2000, a
Greek Court of Appeal held that an Italian judgment
was enforceable against a defendant that had been
served in Greece by registered mail, because Greece
had not yet objected to Article 10(a), which “envis-
aged” the “possibility of serving judicial documents in
civil and commercial cases through postal channels.”"
In 1987, the Chancery Division of the English High
Court concluded that the “service of a * * * sum-
mons by post on a resident of Belgium” was valid be-
cause Belgium had not objected to Article 10(a).”
Such reasoning remains hornbook law in the United
Kingdom.”

% See Purcaru v. Seliverstova, [2015] O.J. No. 5615, para. 5 n.1
(Can. Ont. Sup. Ct. J.) (QL) (finding “service by mail” on Romani-
an respondent to be “appropriate and e+ *# *# &

Article 8

Each contracting State shall be free to effect service
of judicial documents upon persons abroad, without ap-
plication of any compulsion, directly through its diplo-
matic or consular agents.

Any State may declare that it is opposed to such
service within its territory, unless the document is to be
served upon a national of the State in which the doc-
uments originate.

Article 9
Each contracting State shall be free, in addition, to
use consular channels to forward documents, for the

purpose of service, to those authorities of another con-
tracting State which are designated by the latter for

this purpose.

Each contracting State may, if exceptional circum-
stances so require, use diplomatic channels for the same
purpose.

Article 10

Provided the State of destination does not object, the
present Convention shall not interfere with—

(a) the freedom to send judicial documents, by
postal channels, directly to persons abroad,

3a

(b) the freedom of judicial officers, officials or other
competent persons of the State of origin to effect ser-
vice of judicial documents cirectly through the judicial
officers, officials or other competent persons of the
State of destination,

(c) the freedom of any person interested in a ju-
dicial proceeding to elfect service of jucicial documents
directly through the judicial officers, officials or other
competent persons of the State of destination.

Article 11

The present Convention shall nut prevent two or
more contracting States from agreeing to permit, for
the purpose of service of judicial «documents, channels
of transmission other than those prvevided for in the
preceding articles and, in particular, direct communi-
cation between their respective authorities.

* +e * &

Article 15

Where a writ of summons or an equivalent document
had to be transmitted abroad for the purpose of service,
under the provisions of the present Convention, and the
defendant has not appeared, judgment shall not be
given until it is established that—

(a) the document was served by a method pre-
scribed by the internal law of the State addressed for
the service of documents in domestic actions upon per-
sons who are within its terr.tory, or

(b) the document was actually delivered to the de-
fendant or to his residence by another method provided
for by this Convention,

4a

and that in either of these cases the service or the
delivery was effected in sufficient time to enable the
defendant to defend.

Each contracting State shall be free to declare that
the judge, notwithstanding the provisions of the first
paragraph of this article, may give judgment even if no
certificate of service or delivery has been received, if all
the following conditions are fulfilled—

(a) the document was transmitted by one of the me-
thods provided for in this Convention,

(b) a period of time of not less than six months, con-
sidered adequate by the judge in the particular case,
has elapsed since the date of the transmission of the
document,

(c) no certificate of any kind has been received,
even though every reasonable effort has been made to
obtain it through the competent authorities of the State
addressed.

Notwithstanding the provisions of the preceding pa-
ragraphs the judge may order, in case of urgency, any
provisional or protective measures.

Article 16

When a writ of summons or an equivalent document
had to be transmitted abroad for the purpose of service,
under the provisions of the present Convention, and a
judgment has been entered against a defendant who has
not appeared, the judge shall have the power to relieve
the defendant from the effects of the expiration of the
time for appeal from the judgment if the following con-
ditions are fulfilled—

5a

(a) the defendant, without any fault on his part, did
not have knowledge of the document in sufficient time
to defend, or knowledge of the judgment in sufficient
time to appeal, and

(b) the defendant has disclosed a prima facie de-
fence to the action on the merits.

An application for relief may be filed only within a
reasonable time after the defendant has knowledge of
the judgment.

Each contracting State may declare that the appli-
cation will not be entertained if it is filed after the
expiration of a time to be stated in the declaration, but
which shall in no case be less than one year following
the date of the judg ment.

This article shall not apply to judgments concerning
status or capacity of persons.

* t+ *+ * *

CHAPTER ITI—GENERAL CLAUSES

* +t + *

Article 19

To the extent that the internal law of a contracting
State permits methods of transmission, other than
those provided for in the preceding articles, of docu-
ments coming from abroad, for service within its ter-
ritory, the present Convention shall not affect such pro-
visions.

* * & & &

6a

Article 21

Each contracting State shall, at the time of the
deposit of its instrument of ratification or accession, or
at a later date, inform the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
of the Netherlands of the following—

(a) the designation of authorities, pursuant to ar-
ticles 2 and 18,

(b) the designation of the authority competent to
complete the certificate pursuant to article 6,

(c) the designation of the authority competent to
receive documents transmitted by consular channels,
pursuant to article 9.

Each contracting State shall similarly inform the
Ministry, where appropriate, of —

(a) opposition to the use of methods of transmission
pursuant to articles 8 and 10,

(b) declarations pursuant to the second paragraph
of article 15 and the third paragraph of article 16,

(c) all modifications of the above designations, op-
positions and declarations.

*- * * *€

Article 28

Any State not represented at the Tenth Session of
the Hague Conference on Private International Law
may accede to the present Convention after it has
entered into force in accordance with the first para-
graph of article 27. The instrument of accession shall
be deposited with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the
Netherlands.

Ta

The Convention shall enter into force for such a
State in the absence of any objection from a State, which
has ratified the Convention before such deposit, notified
to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands
within a period of six months after the date on which the
said Ministry has notified it of such accession.

In the absence of any such objection, the Convention
shall enter into force for the acceding State on the first
day of the month following the expiration of the last of
the periods referred to in the preceding paragraph.

* s+ # *& &

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0697%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
