# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Water Splash, Inc. v. Menon, 137 S. Ct. 1240 (2017) (No. 16-254)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0697%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

ee) i . ee an |
FILED

mo | 16-254 | sev

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

WATER SPLASH, INC.,
Petitioner,

TARA MENON,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Fourteenth Court of Appeals, Houston, Texas

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JEREMY GASTON
Counsel of Record

HAWASH MEADE GASTON

NEESE & CICACK LLP

jgaston@hmgnc.com
2118 Smith Street

Houston, TX 77002
(713) 658-9001

Counsel for Petitioner

(oe hance een a TS TREN I
WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

QUESTION PRESENTED

In 1965, the member states of the Hague
Conference on Private International Law, including
the United States, adopted a treaty known as the
Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and
Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters (“Hague Service Convention”). The Hague
Service Convention enables service of process from
one member state to another without the use of
consular or diplomatic channels. This case presents
the following federal question on which state and
federal courts have been divided for over 25 years:

Does the Hague Service Convention authorize
service of process by mail?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
re Be cccccveccescccccesscscsessenecsessonsues i
Te re Ba a cccccccssccccccccssvesseveccssersosces iv
I iasincecrirninetinnaninsseutiinmnnmsanioneniniis 1
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. ..................ccs0eeeee0 1
ee Se ITS snccccccccccescscccccscesscescssssesenscees 1
TT inettrinisnenntnincniatainmmniintininneietentitiniitiiia 1
TREATY PROVISION INVOLVED ................cc200200008 1
IEE sesnesrcocennensnnsnmupnsmbenincneenininsaiaaniiianl 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ....... 14
I. The question presented implicates a
longstanding and deep split of authority on
a fundamental question of civil procedure.......... 14
II. The question presented arises frequently. .......... 15
Ill.The question presented implicates
fundamental principles of treaty
interpretation whose proper application is
of widespread importance. ....................0sessseeeeeerees 15
IV. This case is a good vehicle to address the
iii ibcrsiniensnconnsnsrensscesstnsbusensisessnisnieanienininennbiunsiil 16
IEEE cicenicnncscensnntensevesesinininctenseniecesseiiaadl 17
APPENDIX
Opinion of the Court of Appeals.......................00+6 la

Order Denying Rehearing En Banc..................... 47a

TABLE OF CONTENTS — continued

Iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Ackermann vy. Levine,
788 F.2d 830, 838-39 (2d Cir.1986)..................c0000. 7

Arco Elec. Control Ltd. y. Core Intern..,
794 F. Supp. 1144 (S.D. Fla. 1992)......................... 7

Bankston v. Toyota Motor Corp.,
889 F.2d 172 (8th Cir. 1989) ...............cccccccccceeeeeeeeee 5

Borschow Hospital & Medical Supplies, Inc. v.
Burdick—Siemens Corp.,
BD ee Ge ie I ccceccccccccccccccesccescsssessese 7

Brockmeyerv. May,
383 F.3d 798 (Sth Cir. 2004) .............cccceceeceeenceesenees 7

Consumer Prod. Safety Comm'n v.
GTE Sylvania, Inc.,
TET ET 5
Dierigv. Lees Leisure Indus., Ltd,
CIV.A. 11-125-DLB, 2012 WL 669968 (E.D. Ky.
Feb. 28, 2012) (mem. Op.) ..........-..---scereeeeeeeceeseerereees 7

Frankenmuth Mut. Ins. Co. vy. ACO, Inc.,
484 N.W.2d 718 (Mich. App. 1992) ...................... 14

Girafa.com, Inc. vy. Smartdevil Inc.,
728 F.Supp.2d 537 (D. Del. 2010) ......................0000 7

Hayes v. Evergo Tel. Co., Lid,
397 S.E.2d 325 (N.C. App. 1990)..................c0000++: 14

Koehler v. Dodwell,
152 F.3d 304, 307-08 (4th Cir. 1998) .....................7

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page(s)

Meek v. Nova Steel Processing, Inc.,

706 N.E.2d 374 (Ohio App. 1997)...................---00+ 14
New York State Thruway Auth. v. Fenech,

94 A.D.3d 17 (N.Y. App. Div. 2012) ...................... 14
Nicholson v. Yamaha Motor Co., Lid.,

566 A.2d 135 (Md. App. 1989)....................-.ceseee00 14
Nuovo Pignone, SpA v. STORMAN ASIA M/V,

310 F.3d 374 (5th Cir. 2002) ..................... 4, 5, 6,13
Penrod Drilling Corp. v. Williams,

868 S.W.2d 294 (Tex. 1993) (per curiam) ............ 7-8
Raffa v. Nissan Motor Co. Ltd.,

Re 8 SG ee 7
Research Sys. Corp. v. IPSOS Publicite,

276 F.3d 914 (7th Cir. 2002) ............cccccececeeeceerseeeses 7
Sandoval v. Honda Motor Co., Ltd.,

527 A.2d 564 (Pa. Super. 1987)...................000ccc00-- 14
TracFone Wireless, Inc. v. Does,

No. 11-cv-21871-MGC,

2011 WL 4711458

(S. D. Fla. Oct. 4, 2011) (mem. op.) .................02220- 7
Volkswagenwerk Aktiengeselischaft v. Schlunk,

i tcnicsinicnttcicttnnienectieieesenmennn 11

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued
Page(s)

Treaties, Statutes, and Rules

Hague Convention on the Service Abroad
of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or
Commercial Matters, art. 10, No. 15, 1965,
20 U.S.T. 361, 658 U.N.T.S. 163................... passim

Other Authorities

Philip W. Amram,
The Proposed Internationa/ Convention on the
Service of Documents Abroad, 51 A.B.A. J. 650

Michael O. Eshleman & Stephen A. Wolaver,
Using the Mail to Avoid the Hague Service
Convention’s Central Authorities,
12 OR. REV. INT'L L. 283 (2010) ..............cccccceeeeneees 13

Beverly L. Jacklin,
Service of process by mail in international civil
action as permissible under Hague Convention,
112 ALL.R. FED. 241 (1993 & 2013 Supp.) ............ 15

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Water Splash, Inc. respectfully petitions
for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the
Fourteenth Court of Appeals, Houston, Texas.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. la-46a) is
reported at 472 S.W.3d 28 (Tex. App.—Houston [14th
Dist.] 2015, pet. denied). The order of the Supreme
Court of Texas denying review (47a) is unpublished.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The caption includes the names of all parties in the
court of appeals.

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The petitioner does not have a parent corporation
or shares held by a publicly traded company.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered judgment on June 30,
2015. App. la. Petitioner filed a timely motion for
rehearing en banc, which was denied on October 6,
2015. App. 47a. Petitioner filed a timely petition for
review, which the Supreme Court of Texas denied on
May 27, 2016. App. 482. This Court’s jurisdiction is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

TREATY PROVISION INVOLVED

Article 10 of the Hague Convention on the Service
Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in

2

Civil or Commercial Matters, 20 U.S.T. 361 (1969)
provides in full:

Provided the State of destination does not
object, the present Convention shall not
interfere with —

(a) the freedom to send judicial documents, by
postal channels, directly to persons abroad,

(b) the freedom of judicial! officers, officials or
other competent persons of the State of origin
to effect service of judicial documents directly
through the judicial officers, officials or other
competent persons of the State of destination,

(c) the freedom of any person interested in a
judicial proceeding to effect service of judicial
documents directly through the judicial
officers, officials or other competent persons
of the State of destination.

STATEMENT
A. Background

Petitioner Water Splash, Inc. makes aquatic
playground systems known as “splash pads” that are
popular in municipalities. Petitioner sued respondent
Tara Menon, a citizen of Canada, in state district
court in Galveston, Texas for unfair competition and
tortious interference with business relations. App. 2a-
3a. Petitioner specifically alleged that Menon, once a
sales rep for Water Splash, went to a competitor who
then used Water Splash’s designs and drawings in

3

submitting a bid to the City of Galveston for the
construction of splash pads at two city parks. Ibid.

The trial court authorized Water Splash to
effectuate service of process on Menon in Canada by
several forms of service, including certified mail,
which Water Splash accomplished. Id. at 3a.

After Menon failed to answer or otherwise appear,
Water Splash moved for default judgment. Ibid. The
trial court granted the motion and awarded actual
and exemplary damages and attorneys’ fees. [bid.
Menon filed a metion for new trial seeking to set aside
the default judgment based on the argument that
service had not been accomplished consistent with the
requirements of the Hague Service Convention. Ibid.
The trial court denied Menon’s motion. Ibid.

B. Appellate History
1. The Panel Majority

On appeal, the court addressed whether the Hague
Service Convention allows service of process by mail.
Article 10(a) of the Hague Service Convention states
that:

Provided the State of designation does not
object, the present Convention does not
interfere with . . . the freedom to sand judicial
documents, by postal channels, directly to
persons abroad ....

Hague Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial
and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial

4

Matters (“Hague Service Convention”), art. 10, No. 15,
1965, 20 U.S.T. 361, 658 U.N.T.S. 163 (emphasis
added). The determinative question was therefore
whether “send” includes “service of process” or,
alternatively, only covers transmittal of other judicial
documents (e.g., after service of process has already
been effectuated).

The panel majority followed a federal Fifth Circuit
case and held that “send” does not include “service of
process”:

“In [Nuovo Pignone, SpA v. STORMAN ASIA
M/V, 310 F.3d 374, 383 (5th Cir. 2002),
plaintiff attempted service by mailing service
of process to the defendant’s office in Italy.
See Nuovo, 310 F.3d at 383. Arguing that
service by mail violated Fed. R. Civ. P. 4(f1)
because it did not comply with the Hague
Convention, the defendant urged that the
drafters used the term ‘send’ in connection
with the delivery of judicial documents, but
used ‘serve,’ ‘service,’ and ‘to effect service’ in
other sections, including article 10. Jd The
Nuovo court discussed how other courts have
construed ‘send’ and determined that,
because ‘service’ was used throughout the
Hague Convention while ‘send’ was confined
solely to article 10(a), this demonstrated that
the drafters did not ‘intend to give the same
meaning to “send” that they intended to give
to “service.” ’ Jd. at 384.

5

We conclude that the better-reasoned
approach is to follow the so-called ‘minority
view which adheres to and applies the
meaning of the specific words used in article
10(a) and prohibits service of process by mail.”

App. 6a, 8a.

In reaching the result above, the panel majority
(like the Fifth Circuit) relied primarily on the
following principle of statutory construction:

“*“Absent a clearly expressed legislative
intention to the contrary,” a _ statute’s
language “must ordinarily be regarded as
conclusive.” Consumer Prod. Safety Comm’n
v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 108, 100
S.Ct. 2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766 (1980). And
because the drafters purposely elected to use
forms of the word “service” through the Hague
Convention, while confining use of the word
“send” to article 10(a), we will not presume
that the drafters intended to give the same
meaning to “send” that they intended to give
to “service.” ’

Nuovo, 310 F.3d at 384... .”

App 8a. The panel majority also noted that the Eighth
Circuit had reached the same result for essentially the
same reason. Id. at 8a-9a (citing Bankston v. Toyota
Motor Corp., 889 F.2d 172, 174 (8th Cir. 1989)).

The panel majority secondarily relied on the
assumption (also expressed by the Fifth Circuit) that

6

it was unlikely for the drafters of the Hague Service
Convention to have put in place specific methods of
service in Articles 2 through 7 (through central
authorities or diplomatic channels) “ ‘while
simultaneously permitting the uncertainties of
service by mail.’” App. 9a (quoting Nuovo Pignone,
310 F.3d at 385). The panel majority then vacated the
trial court’s judgment and remanded for further

proceedings. App. 11a.
2. The Panel Dissent

Justice Tracy Christopher dissented. The crux of
her reasoning was that treaties are not statutes: they
are contracts between sovereigns whose
interpretation is governed by different legal
principles. In turn, state courts must follow these
principles because they are based on controlling
precedent from the Supreme Court:

“(The majority fails to follow the United
States Supreme Court’s directions on the
construction of treaties and the Texas
Supreme Court’s instructions on the correct
approach to decisions of the federal courts.
Because Texas intermediate appellate courts
are bound by these authorities, I instead
would follow their precepts, which lead to the
conclusion that service by mail to a litigant in
Canada is permitted under Article 10(a) of the
Service Convention.”

App. lla.

The dissent noted the two lines of cases on the

7

issue. The prevailing view — adopted by federal courts
of appeals for the Second, Fourth, Seventh, and Ninth
Circuits (and some district courts in the First, Third,
Sixth and Eleventh Circuits)’ — holds that “send”
includes “service of process.” The minority view —
adopted by the Fifth and Eighth Circuits (and some
older cases from district courts in the Third and
Eleventh Circuits)’ — holds that it does not. App. 14a.
The dissent then explained that the job of the court
was to choose the most persuasive view based on
controlling principles of treaty interpretation:

“This provision [Hague Service Convention,
Article 10(a)} had not been construed
previously by the United States Supreme
Court, the Texas Supreme Court, or this
court. In the absence of binding precedent for
us to follow, this case presented our court with
the opportunity to choose the better-reasoned
approach. See Penrod Drilling Corp. v.

1 See Ackermann v. Levine, 788 F.2d 830, 838-39 (2d Cir.1986);
Koehler vy. Dodwell, 152 F.3d 304, 307-08 (4th Cir. 1998);
Research Sys. Carp. v. IPSOS Publicite, 276 F.3d 914, 926 (‘7th
Cir. 2002); Brockmeyerv. May, 383 F.3d 798, 802 (9th Cir. 2004);
Dierigv. Lees Leisure Indus., Ltd., CTV.A. 11-125-DLB, 2012 WL
669968 (E.D. Ky. Feb. 28, 2012) (mem. op.); TracFone Wireless,
Inc. vy. Does, No. 11-cv-21871-MGC, 2011 WL 4711458 (S. D. Fla.
Oct. 4, 2011) (mem. op.); Girafa.com, Inc. vy. Smartdevil Inc., 728
F.Supp.2d 537 (D. Del. 2010); Borschow Hospital & Medical
Supplies, Inc. v. Burdick—Siemens Carp., 143 F.R.D. 472 (D.P.R.
1992).

* Nuovo Pignone SpAv. STORMAN ASIA M/V, 310 F.3d 374, 384
(5th Cir. 2002); Bankston v. Toyota Motor Coarp., 889 F.2d 172,
174 (8th Cir. 1989); Raffa v. Nissan Motor Co. Lid., 141 F.R.D.
45, 46 (E.D. Pa. 1991); Arco Elec. Cantrol Ltd. v. Core Intern.,
794 F. Supp. 1144, 1147 (S.D. Fla. 1992).

8

Williams, 868 S.W.2d 294, 296 (Tex. 1993)
(per curiam) (explaining that Texas courts
‘are obligated to follow only higher Texas
courts and the United States Supreme
Court’).”

“Fortunately, however, our existing tools are
equal to the task of breaking new ground.
Although there is no binding precedent that
answers the specific question before us, there
is binding precedant that tells us how to find
that answer for ourselves. | accordingly would
look first to the United States Supreme Court
to identify the principles that both state and
federal courts are required to apply in
construing treaties. Next, I would follow the
same steps used by our nation’s highest court
in applying those principles.”

App. 14a-1l5a.
The dissent then listed over a dozen principles of

treaty interpretation that are binding on state and
federal courts under Supreme Court precedent:

* A treaty is not legislation.

* A treaty is not construed in the same way
as legislation.

* A treaty is construed in the manner of a
contract.

¢ Atreaty is construed more liberally than a
private contract

Such a liberal construction is required to
secure equality and reciprocity between
the signatories.

Although the construction of a treaty
begins with its text, courts are not
permitted to end the inquiry there.

The text of the treaty must be read with a
view to making effective the purposes of

the high contracting parties.

The treaty must be read in a manner
consistent with the shared expectations of

the contracting parties.

To identify those shared expectations,
courts must consider the _ treaty’s
negotiating and drafting history.

Where the official text of the treaty is
written in two languages, courts should
consider both languages in analyzing the
parties’ shared expectations.

In addition to considering the text, courts
must consider the way the text was
interpreted by the delegates involved in

negotiating and drafting the treaty.

The interpretation of a treaty by the
Executive Branch of the United States is
entitled to great weight.

10

* The opinions of other signatories are
entitled to considerable weight.

* Courts should consider the analysis of
scholars.

App. 15a-22a. Based on the above, the dissent
concluded that the term “send” includes “service of

process”:

First, the dissent determined that the Hague
Service Convention’s purpose was limited to service of
process issues. This indicated that the term “send” in
Article 10(a) meant “service of process” because non-
service transmittals were not within the scope of the
Convention in the first place:

“By agreeing with Menon’s argument that
‘she was not served pursuant to the Hague
Convention service of process provisions,’ the
majority necessarily has concluded that there
are non-service provisions in the Service
Convention. But the United States Supreme
Court has examined the English and French
text of the Service Convention and its drafting
history and concluded that the opposite is
true: the Court explained that Article 1
‘eliminate[d} the possibility’ that the Service
Convention could apply to transmissions
abroad ‘that do not culminate in service’.|

In accordance with the United States
Supreme Court’s analysis, I would conclude

11

that the Service Convention addresses only
the transmission of documents that culminate
in service, and thus, the reference in Article
10(a) to ‘send[ing] judicial documents’ means
‘serv[ing] judicial documents.’ ”

App. 23a-25a (citing Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesell-
schaft y. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694, 700 (1988)).

Second, the dissent considered the negotiation and
drafting history of the treaty and stated that she
“would give considerable weight to the fact that ‘(t]he
French text of the 1965 convention was copied from
three earlier Hague Conference conventions, all of
which were understood to allow service upon
defendants abroad by mail.’” App. 25a. The dissent
also would have considered a Convention report:

“The Rapporteur’s report on article 10(a) of
the draft convention provides in part: “The
provision of paragraph 1 [labelled ‘(a)’ in the
final text] also permits service by telegram if
the state where service is to be made does not
object. The Commission did not accept the
proposal that postal channels be limited to
registered mail.”

App. 25a-26a. From this, the dissent concluded that
“lilf Article 10(a) was considered to include service by
telegram, and not to be ‘limited to registered mail,’
then it cannot be said, as the majority now holds, that
this provision does not permit service by mail.” /d. at
26a.

Third, the dissent noted the understanding of

12

Philip Amram (part of the United States delegation to
the Hague Conference that drafted the Service
Convention). Jd. Amram’s understanding was clear:
“Article 10 permits direct service by mail. . . unless
[the receiving] state abjecta to such service.” /d. at 27a
(quoting Philip Amram, 7he Proposed International
Convention on the Service of Documents Abroad, 51
A.B.A. J. 650, 653 (1965)) (emphasis added).

Fourth, the Executive Branch “has unwaveringly
maintained that Article 10{a) permits service by
mail.” App. 27a; see also id. (“In accordance with the
instructions from the United States Supreme Court, I
would give such views ‘great weight.’ ”).

Fifth, the dissent relied on a Hague Report which
established the signatories’ post-ratification
understanding that service by mail was allowed. App.
29a (“[Tlheoretical doubts about the legal nature of
the procedure were unjustified.”); id. (“I accordingly
would defer to the signatories’ interpretation that
Article 10(a) permits service by mail.”).

Sixth, the dissent noted that it “would follow the
example of the United States Supreme Court in
consulting the writings of [noted scholar] Bruno
Ristau as to the intentions of the Service Convention’s
drafters”:

“ * Ristau has written that the language of
Article 10(a) regarding the use of “postal
channels” was “intended to include service of
process.” Others concur. “It is clear that ... every
participant in the debates concerning Article
10a) ... understood the provision as referring to

13

... the use of postal channels for the purpose of
service.” Another analysis said “[plerhaps the
most compelling evidence in support of the
theory that Article 10(a) authorizes service by
mail is the fact that those who actually
believe that to be the case.” Ristau quoted the
official report on the draft convention, which
indicated the language of Article 10 was worded
broadly. It is so broad, he writes, that it
“permits service by telegram if the State where
service is to be made does not object.” ’”

App. 31a (quoting Michael O. Eshleman & Stephen A.
Wolaver, Using the Mail to Avoid the Hague Service
Convention’s Central Authorities, 12 OR. REV. INT'L L.
283, 333 (2010)).

Finally, the dissent noted analytical problems with
the majority's analysis. Most notably, the dissent
criticized the majority’s reliance on Nuovo Pignone
because in that case, the Fifth Circuit relied on
principles of statutory interpretation, not treaty
interpretation. App. 33-35a; id. at 34a (“[T]he Fifth
Circuit essentially compared two words—in English
only—and treated the distinction between the two as
conclusive. . . . This approach follows none of the
governing precepts of treaty construction.”). The
dissent also criticized the Fifth Circuit’s reliance on
unsupported assumptions, such as the assumption
that the drafters of the Hague Service Convention
would not have permitted service by mail when other,
ostensibly more reliable methods of service were

14
available. App. 36-39a.°

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. The question presented implicates a longstanding
and deep split of authority on a fundamental
question of civil procedure.

The question presented is the subject of a 4-2 split
in the federal appellate courts, with the majority view
favoring petitioner. See supra notes 1-2. The question
presented is also the subject of a 4-4 split among state
appellate courts, including the appellate courts of
seven of the ten largest States.* Finally, the split of
authority on this federal question has persisted for
over 25 years without showing any sign of resolving
on its own. See supra notes 1-2.

* The dissent also criticized the majority's reliance on recent
Texas federal district court cases because those courts were
bound to follow Nuovo Pignone. App. 42a. In addition, the dissent
criticized the majority’s reliance on decisions by other Texas
courts because in “none of the Texas state decisions cited by the
majority was the question of the correct interpretation of Article
10 even before the court.” App. 43a-45a.

*Compare New York State Thruway Auth. v. Fenech, 94 A.D.3d
17, 22 (N.Y. App. Div. 2012); Nicholson v. Yamaha Motar Co.,
Ltd, 566 A.2d 135, 141 (Md. App. 1989); Hayes v. Evergo Tei.
Co., Ltd., 397 S.E.2d 325, 328 (N.C. App. 1990); and Sandoval v.
Honda Motor Co., Lid., 527 A.2d 564, 566 (Pa. Super. 1987) (each
holding that “send” includes “service of process”), with Meek v.
Nova Steel Processing, Inc., 706 N.E.2d 374, 377 (Ohio App.
1997); Frankenmuth Mut. Ins. Co. v. ACO, Inc., 484 N.W.2d 718
(Mich. App. 1992); Handa Motar Co. y. Superior Court, 10 Cal.
App. 4th 1043 (Cal Ct. App. 1992); and the instant case (each
holding the opposite).

15

IL. The question presented arises frequently.

The question presented potentially arises in any
state or federal lawsuit with a defendant who is a
citizen of another signatory to the Hague Service
Convention. By way of example, a recently updated
ALR cites over 120 state and federal decisions (from
district and appellate courts in 11 federal circuits and
16 states) implicating the propriety of mail for service
of process on foreign defendants under the Hague
Service Convention. See Beverly L. Jacklin, Service
of process by mail in international civil action as
permissible under Hague Convention, 112 A.L.R. FED.
241 (1993 & 2013 Supp.).° And going forward, one
would expect this issue to arise with increasing
frequency as globalization leads to more cross-border

disputes.

The question presented may seem simple on its
face, but if it were a deep split would not persist.
Moreover, the question implicates principles of treaty
interpretation that are not only important but also so
basic and fundamental that their correct application
in a case like the present would resolve not only this
matter, but also would influence judicial analysis of
similar questions by lower courts in other cases.

° Not all cases cited therein address the specific question whether
“send” includes “service of process,” but the number of decisions
does reflect the prevalence of the overarching issue (service of
process by mail on foreign defendants).

16

IV. This case is a good vehicle to address the issue.

This case is a good vehicle to address the question
presented, as it is the only issue in the case. App. 12a
(Christopher, J., dissenting) (explaining that the case
“present{s] only a single narrow question of law”).

Against this, respondent will argue that the
question presented is somehow moot because, even if
service of process had been proper under the Hague
Service Convention, it was somehow improper under
Canadian domestic law. But even assuming that were
correct for the sake of argument, it is a red herring for
two reasons:

First, although the propriety of service under
Canadian law might be relevant in other
circumstances (such as a post-judgment enforcement
proceeding in Canada), it has no bearing on whether
service of process was proper in this case under
federal law, the only issue of relevance in a domestic
lawsuit.

Second, in the court of appeals, respondent
conceded that the only question at issue in this case
was the federal question presented here. App. 13a
(Christopher, J., dissenting) (“[Menon] concedes that
(ilf Article 10(a) authorizes service of process by a
litigant mailing or e-mailing documents directly to a
party, without going through the Centra! Authority of
the receiving nation, then the service in this case was
good.” (internal quotation marks omitted)).

All that said, one factor that ordinarily would
counsel against review in this particular case is that

17

it originates from an intermediate state court rather
than a state supreme court or an intermediate federal
court. And certainly, that might be determinative if
the split were recent or highly lopsided, or the case
implicated the majority view or was unpublished, or if
there otherwise were a lack of lower court analysis
supporting petitioner. But none of that is the case
here: the split is deep, over 25 years old, and the
present case implicates the minority view. In
addition, Justice Christopher’s published dissent is
one of the most detailed and thorough analyses
supporting petitioner’s position.

In addition, the longstanding nature of the split
coupled with the fact that the issue has already been
addressed by so many federal courts means that, as a
practical matter, the question presented is likely to
continue reaching this Court from state intermediate
courts given the discretionary review of most state
high courts.®

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted.

JEREMY GASTON
Counsel of Record
HAWASH MEADE GASTON
NEESE & CICACK LLP

jgaston@hmgnc.com

® Because this case implicated no split within Texas, it was
perhaps unsurprising that the state high court denied review.

18

2118 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77002
(713) 658-9001

Counsel for Petitioner
AUGUST 25, 2016

APPENDIX

la

472 S.W.3d 28
Court of Appeals of Texas,
Houston (14th Dist.).

Tara Menon, Appellant

v.
Water Splash, Inc., Appellee

NO. 14—-14—-00012-CV

|

Opinions filed June 30, 2015

Rehearing En Banc Overruled October 6, 2015

Synopsis

Background: Employer sued its former employee, who
now worked for competitor, and competitor, alleging
unfair competition, conversion, tortious interference
with business relations, and conspiracy. After employee
did not file an answer or otherwise appear, employer
moved for default judgment . The District Court granted
motion for default judgment against employee.
Employee filed motion for new trial to set aside the
default judgment. The 212th District Court, Galveston
County, denied employee’s motion, and employee
appealed.

(Holding:] The Court of Appeals, John Donovan, J., held
that service by mail to a defendant, namely former

employee, in Canada was not permitted by Hague
Convention.

Reversed and remanded.
Christopher, J., filed dissenting opinion.

*29 On Appeal from the 212th District Court, Galveston
County, Texas, Trial Court Cause No. 13-CV-—0205,
Susan Elizabeth Criss, Judge.

Attorneys and Law Firms
*30 Timothy A. Hootman, Houston TX, for Appellant.

Andrew K. Meade, Jeremy Jason Gaston, Houston TX,
for Appellee.

Panel consists of Justices Christopher, Donovan, and
Wise

OPINION
John Donovan, Justice

**] Appellant, Tara Menon (“Menon”), appeals the trial
court’s default judgment granted after she failed to
answer the suit filed by appellee, Water Splash, Inc.
(“Water Splash”). In four issues, Menon contends that
the trial court erred in refusing to set aside the default
judgment because state law cannot allow service of
process in foreign nations where the service does not
comport with the requirements of the Hague Service
Convention. We reverse and remand.

IL BACKGROUND
Menon is a citizen of Canada, residing in Quebec. Water
Splash is a Delaware corporation with its principal
office located in Champlain, New York. Water Splash
sued Menon in Galveston, Texas. In its original petition,
Water Splash alleged that Menon was its regional sales
representative and that Menon also began to act as a
sales manager for South Pool, a competitor of Water

3a

Splash. Sometime in 2012, Water Splash discovered
that South Pool had used some of Water Splash’s
designs and drawings when submitting a bid to the City
of Galveston for the construction of splash pads at two
parks. A year later, Water Splash sued South Pool and
Menon for unfair competition, conversion, tortious
interference with business relations, and conspiracy.
To effectuate service, Water Splash filed a motion for
alternative service of process pursuant to Texas Rule of
Civil Procedure 108a. See Tex. R. Civ. P. 108a. The
motion requested that the trial court order service on
Menon in Quebec, Canada, by “first class mail, certified
mail, and Federal Express to Menon’s address” and “by
email to each of Menon’s known email addresses.” The
trial court granted the motion.

After Menon did not file an answer or otherwise appear,
Water Splash moved for default judgment alleging it
had diligently sought service on Menon utilizing the
methods allowed for substituted service. The motion
stated that service was accomplished by sending a letter
to Menon’s Quebec address by certified mail, return
receipt requested and first class mail, and Water Splash
introduced evidence of those attempts at service. Water
Splash also alleged that Menon’s emails proved she
knew of the existence of the suit. The trial court granted
the motion for default judgment against Menon and
awarded actual and exemplary damages and attorneys’
fees.

Menon filed a motion for new trial seeking to set aside
the default judgment because service was not
accomplished pursuant to the terms of article 10(a) of
the Hague Service Convention. Water Splash
responded, arguing Rule 108a was an acceptable form

4a

of alternative service. The trial court denied Menon’s
motion for new trial.

IL ANALYSIS

In four interrelated issues involving the interpretation
of particular words in the Hague Service Convention,
appellant attacks the trial court’s grant of default
judgment and denial of her motion for new trial.

*31 A. Standard of Review

We review a trial court’s denial of a motion for new trial
for abuse of discretion. Dolgencorp of Tex., Inc. v.
Lerma, 288 S.W.3d 922, 925 (Tex.2009). A trial court
abuses its discretion if it reaches a decision without
reference to any guiding rules or principles, or acts in an
arbitrary or unreasonable manner. Cire v. Cummings,
1384 S.W.3d 835, 838-39 (Tex.2004); Stevens v.
Anatolian Shepherd Dog Chub of Am., Inc., 231 8.W.3d
71, 76 (Tex.App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 2007, pet.
denied).

oeQ 1) 1B M@Absent waiver, a trial court lacks personal
jurisdiction over a defendant to whom citation has not
been “issued and served in a manner provided for by
law.” See Wilson v. Dunn, 800 S.W.2d 833, 836
(Tex.1990). In a direct appeal from a no-answer default
judgment, there is no presumption of valid issuance,
service, and return of citation. See id. (quoting Uvalde
Country Club v. Martin Linen Supply Co., 690 S.W.2d
884, 886 (Tex.1985)) (per curiam). Thus, a default
judgment cannot withstand a direct attack unless the
record affirmatively shows strict compliance with the
rules for service of citation. Primate Constr., Inc. v.
Silver, 884 S.W.2d 151, 152 (Tex.1994) (per curiam).
Whether a trial court has personal jurisdiction over a
defendant is a question of law, which we review de novo.

5a

Haaksman v. Diamond Offshore (Bermuda), Ltd., 260
S.W.3d 476, 479 (Tex.App.—Houston [14th Dist.) 2008,
pet. denied).

B. Hague Convention

Articles 2 through 7 of the Hague Convention require a
signatory nation to establish a “Central Authority”
which acts as an agent to handle various matters
regarding requests for service, service of documents and
proof of service. Article 10(a) of the Hague Convention,
at issue here, states:

Provided the State of designation does not object, the
present Convention does not interfere with

(a) the freedom to send judicial documents, by postal
channels, directly to persons abroad,

(b) the freedom of judicial officers, officials or other
competent person of the State of origin to effect service
of judicial documents directly through the judicial
officer, officials or other competent persons of the
State of designation,

(c) the freedom of any person interested in a judicial
proceeding to effect service of judicial document
directly through the judicial officers, officials, or other
competent persons of the State of destination.

Hague Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial
and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters, art. 10, No. 15, 1965, 20 U.S.T. 361, 658
U.N.T.S. 163, available at http:www.hcch.net/index_en.
php?act=conventions.text & cid=17 (last visited June
22, 2015) (“Hague Convention”). The question before us
turns on the meaning attributed to “send” and “service.”
| (Where it applies, compliance with the provisions of

6a

the Hague Convention is “mandatory.” Volkswagen-
werk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694, 698—
99, 108 S.Ct. 2104, 100 L.Ed.2d 722 (1988). Its purpose
is to provide a more efficient and effective manner of
service of process abroad and to ensure that defendants
sued in foreign jurisdictions receive timely notice of suit.
Id. at 699, 108 S.Ct. 2104; see also Nuovo Pignone, SpA
v. STORMAN ASIA M/V, 310 F.3d 374, 383 (5th
Cir.2002). In Nuovo, plaintiff attempted service by
mailing service of process to the defendant's office in
Italy. See Nuovo, 310 F.3d at 383. Arguing that service
by mail violated Federal Rule of Civil Procedure. 4(fX 1)
*32 because it did not comply with the Hague
Convention, the defendant urged that the drafters used
the term “send” in connection with the delivery of
judicial documents, but used “serve,” “service,” and “to
effect service” in other sections, including article 10. Jd
The Nuovo court discussed how other courts have
construed “send” and determined that, because “service”
was used throughout the Hague Convention while
“send” was confined solely to article 10(a), this
demonstrated that the drafters did not “intend to give
the same meaning *o ‘send’ that they intended to give to
‘service.’ ” Jd. at 384. In short, the drafters intended to
attach meaning to the specific word used. See id.

The Hague Convention applies “in all cases, in civil or
commercial matters, where there is occasion to transmit
a judicial or extrajudicial document for service abroad.”
20 U.S.T. 361, art. 1. The Hague Convention “preempts
any inconsistent methods of service prescribed by Texas
law in all cases where the Convention applies.” Wux7
Taihu Tractor Co, Ltd. v. York Group, Inc., No. 01—13—
00016—CV, 2014 WL 6792019, at *5 (Tex. App.—Houston
{ist Dist.) Dec. 4, 2014, no pet.) (mem.op.) (citing

7a

Paradigm Entm't Inc. v. Video Sys. Co., No. Civ. A.
3.99-CV—2004P, 2000 WL 251731, at *4 (N.D.Tex. Mar.
3, 2000)) (concluding service was effective where
secretary of state forwarded a copy of service of process
to defendant pursuant to Texas law, and Japan did not
object to this manner of service).

C. Application of article 10(a)

**3 Menon argues the default judgment should not have
been rendered because she was not served with process.
See Tex. R. Civ. P. 124 (“In no case shall judgment be
rendered against any defendant unless upon
service....”). Menon further asserts that Water Splash
did not effectuate service under Rule 108a, providing for
service in a foreign country “pursuant to the terms of
any treaty or convention,” because she was not served
pursuant to the Hague Convention service of process
provisions. She argues “the drafters use the words
‘serve,’ ‘service,’ and ‘to effect service’ in other sections,
including subparts (b) and (c) of article 10,” but they
only used the word “send” in subsection (a), which
applies only to sending judicial documents. See Nuovo,
310 F.3d at 383.

Water Splash argues that article 10(a) allows service of
process by mail, and relies on the “majority view” which
holds that article 10(a) allows service of process by mail,
so long as the state of destination does not object.’
Courts following this view include the Second, Fourth,
Seventh and Ninth Circuits.’

‘Canada has not objected to the use of the mail for
service of process. See Canada—Central Authority &
Practical Information, HAGUE CONF. OF PRIVATE
INTL. L., http?//www.hcch.net/index_en.php?act=au-
thorities.details & aid=248 (last updated Aug. 19, 2014)

8a

(listing the text of Canada’s declarations, including
those to “[tlransmission through postal channels,” and
stating that “Canada does not object to service by postal
channels” as permitted in article 10(a)); see also Dierig
v. Lees Leisure Indus., Ltd., CTV.A. 11—125—DLB, 2012
WL 669968, at *19 (E D.Ky. Feb. 28, 2012) (mem.op.).

"Ackermann vy. Levine, 788 F.2d 830, 838-39 (2nd
Cir.1986); Koehler v. Dodweil, 152 F.3d 304, 307-08
(4th Cir.1998); Research Sys. Corp. v. IPSOS Publicite,
276 F.3d 914, 926 (7th Cir.2002); and Brockmeyer v.
May, 383 F.3d 798, 802 (9th Cir.2004).

“We conclude that the better-reasoned approach is to
follow the so-called “minority view” which adheres to
and applies the meaning of the specific words used in
article 10(a) and prohibits service of process by mail.

*33 ‘Absent a clearly expressed legislative intention to
the contrary,’ a statute’s language ‘must ordinarily be
regarded as conclusive. Consumer Prod. Safety
Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 108, 100
S.Ct. 2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766 (1980). And because the
drafters purposely elected to use forms of the word
‘service’ throughout the Hague Convention, while
confining use of the word ‘send’ to article 10(a), we will
not presume that the drafters intended to give the
same meaning to ‘send’ that they intended to give to
‘service.’

Id. at 384 (relying on canons of statutory interpretation
and adopting the reasoning of the courts which
concluded that article 10(a) of the Hague does not
permit service of process by mail); see also Bankston v.
Toyota Motor Corp., 889 F.2d 172, 174 (8th Ci:.1989)
(stating that language used should be regarded as
conclusive and concluding that article 10(a) prohibits

Sa

service of process by registered mail); see also Wuxi,
2014 WL 6792019, at *6 (citing Nuovo, 310 F.3d at 384).
Wuxi involved service on a defendant located in China
attempted under Rule 108a. 2014 WL 6792019, at *6,,.
The Wuxi court held that article 5 of the Hague
Convention does not permit service by direct mail to a
defendant in China who should have been served
throughout the Central Authority pursuant to the

specific language of the Hague Convention. Jd.

Because the purpose of the Hague Convention is to
“ensure that plaintiffs deliver notice to foreign
addressees in sufficient time to defend the allegation,”
we are not persuaded that the drafters did not intend
what they wrote, particularly where the Hague
Convention describes other methods of service. See
Nuovo, 310 F.3d at 385. Specifically, articles 2 through
7 provide for service of process through a central
authority and, under articles 8 and 9, through
diplomatic channels. “It is unlikely that the drafters
would have put in place these methods of service ...
while simultaneously permitting the uncertainties of
service by mail.” Jd

**4 Further, other federal district courts in Texas which
considered whether service of process by mail, under
article 10(a) as involved here, or under article 5 which
allows service through a central authority, have ruled
consistently that service must be effectuated by the
specific methods authorized by the terms included in the
Hague Convention. See Duarte v. Michelin N. Am., Inc.,
No. 2:13-CV-—00050, 2013 WL 2289942, at *4-6
(S.D.Tex.2013) (considering question of service by mail
on the secretary of state and determining, following
Nuovo, that service by mail not authorized under the

Hague Convention) (citing Berezowsky v. Ojeda, No.

10a

4:12-CV-03496, 2013 WL 150714, at *7 (S.D.Tex.2013)
(holding service was not effectuated under articles 2-5

demonstrating courts adherence to the specific
meaning of the words used in the Hague Convention);
LK. v. Mazda Motar Carp., No. 3:09-cv-469—M, 2009
WL 1033334, at *2 (N.D.Tex.2009) (holding service
under article 5 was not effective because Japanese
requirement that service be transmitted to the Central
Authority was not met); A/bo v. Suzuki Motor Corp., No.
3:08-0139-KC, 2008 WL 2783508, at *2 (W.D.Tex.2008)
(holding service not effective because, under article 5,
the Hague Convention required full translation of
documents into Japanese and without complying with
specific Hague Convention requirements, service was
insufficient)).

Further, in addition to Wuxi, two other state courts
have considered whether the specific words used in the

Hague Convention have specific meanings regarding
service *34 of process or sending of judicial documents.
See In re J_P.L., 359 S.W.3d 695, 706 (Tex.App.—San
Antonio, 2011, pet. denied) (holding that service of
process in a child custody matter must be accomplished
through the provisions of the Hague Convention and
service on the Central Authority in Mexico); Velasco v.
Ayala, 312 S.W.3d 783, 794 (Tex.App.—Houston [1st
Dist.) 2009, no pet.) (relying on article 10(a) and Nuovo
and concluding that service of process must be
accomplished pursuant to the requirements of the
Hague Convention).

In sum, we conclude the specific provisions set forth in

the Hague Convention govern service, whether through
article 5 and its reliance on a central authority, or on the

lla

language expressed in article 10(a).

For these reasons, we sustain appellant’s four issues,
reverse the trial court's default judgment and
permanent injunction against Tara Menon, and remand
for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.
(Christopher, J., dissenting).

Tracy Christopher, Justice, dissenting.

The only question that appellant Tara Menon presents
for our review is whether service by mail to a defendant
in Canada is permitted under Article 10(a) of the Hague
Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and
Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters (“the Service Convention”).' The majority
concludes that it is not.’ In reaching this result, the
majority fails to follow the United States Supreme
Court's directions on the construction of treaties and the
Texas Supreme Court’s instructions on the correct
approach to decisions of the federal courts. Because
Texas intermediate appellate courts are bound by these
authorities, I instead would follow their precepts, which
lead to the conclusion that service by mail to a litigant
in Canada is permitted under Article 10(a) of the
Service Convention. I accordingly would affirm.

‘Opened for signature Nov. 15, 1965, 20 U.S.T. 361, 658
U.N.T.S. 163.

*But see Cook v. Toidze, 950 F.Supp.2d 386, 394
(D.Conn.2013) (“[Slervice by regular mail is proper
under the Hague Convention where the party served is
a resident of Canada.”); Mitchell v. Theriault, 516
F.Supp.2d 450, 455 (M.D.Pa.2007) (holding that service
of process by mail on a resident of Québec is not
prohibited by the Service Convention); Heredia v.

12a

Transp. SAS, Inc, 101 FSupp.2d 158, 161
(S.D.N.Y.2000) (“[Slervice by registered mail in Quebec
is adequate service under the Convention.”); Randalph
v. Hendry, 50 F.Supp.2d 572, 578 (S.D.W.Va.1999)
(“Because Canada does not object to service by postal
channels, service of process by mail is authorized in this
case.”); Taft v. Moreau, 177 F.R.D. 201, 204 (D.Vt.1997)
(“Plaintiffs’ use of registered mail, return receipt
requested, to transmit the summons and complaint [to
defendants in Québec] was in compliance with the
Hague Convention.”); Cantara v. Peeler, 267 A.D.2d
997, 701 N.Y.S.2d 556, 557 (1999) (holding that Article
10(a) permits service by mail upon residents of Canada
because Canada has not objected to service through
postal channels).

L ISSUES PRESENTED

**5 It is unnecessary to detail the facts in this case,
because although Menon’s brief lists four issues, she has
presented only a single narrow question of law. That
question is presented in her third issue, in which she
asks, “Did the drafters of the Hague Service Convention
intend for the word ‘send’ contained in Article 10(a) to
meen ‘serve’” She restates the question in her fourth
issue, asking, “May a litigant serve a Canadian citizen
and resident of Québec with process in a Texas civil
proceeding (bypassing traditional diplomatic channels
and the Central Authority under the Hague Service
Convention) by sending *35 citation directly to the
Canadian citizen ... by mail, private delivery service, or
e-mail?”

Menon’s first two issues do not raise any other
questions. Her briefing of her first stated issue (“Did the

13a

trial court err in denying the motion for new trial and
refusing to set aside the default judgment?) contains no
argument, but instead consists solely of an introduction
and a single statement, with citations, regarding the
standard of review.” In her second issue, she asks, “Can
state law provide a procedure for service of process in
foreign nations that does not comport with traditional
international law (e.g. letters rogatory) or the Hague
Service Convention?” As stated, this issue begs the
question of whether service by mail comports with the
Service Convention.

*See TEX.R. APP. P. 38.1(i); Archer v. DDK Holdings
LLC, 463 S.W.3d.597, 603 (Tex.App.—Houston [14th
Dist.] 2015, no pet.) (where appellants stated an issue
challenging the judgment and the trial court’s findings
on two grounds, but only briefed one ground, they
waived appellate review of the unbriefed ground).

Menon has not briefed any other grounds for reversing
the trial court's denial of her motion for new trial or
setting aside the default judgment. 1 See TEX. R. CIV.
P. 108a(1\d) (“Service of process may be effected upon a
party in a foreign country if service of the citation and
petition is made ... pursuant to the terms and provisions
of any applicable treaty or convention....”). But, before
reaching this question, it is first necessary to clarify the
standard of review.
I. STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review the trial court’s ruling on a motion for new
trial for abuse of discretion, but “abuse of discretion”
means different things in different contexts. See
Schuring v. Fosters Mill Vill. Cmty. Ass’n, 396 S.W.3d
73, 76 (TexApp.—Houston [14th Dist.] 2013, pet.
denied). Here, the relevant facts are undisputed, and

l4a

Menon moved for a new trial on the ground that Article
10(a) of the Service Convention does not permit service
by mail. We accordingly are presented only with a
question of law, not with a matter within the trial
court’s discretion. See Walker v. Packer, 827 S.W.2d
833, 840 (Tex.1992) (orig. proceeding) (“A trial court has
no ‘discretion’ in determining what the law is or
applying the law to the facts.”). Courts review questions
of law de novo. Pinnacle Premier Props., Inc. v. Breton,
447 S.W.3d 558, 563 (Tex.App.—Houston [14th Dist.)
2014, no pet.) (sub.op.).

Il. GOVERNING LAW

In this country, there are at least two competing lines of
authority interpreting Article 10(a) of the Service
Convention. The prevailing view holds that Article 10(a)
permits service by mail. See, e.g., Brockmeyer v. May,
383 F.3d 798 (9th Cir.2004); Research Sys. Corp. v.
IPSOS Publicité, 276 F.3d 914 (7th Cir.2002); Koehler
v. Dodweill, 152 F.3d 304 (4th Cir.1998); Ackermann v.
Levine, 788 F.2d 830 (2d Cir.1986). The countervailing
view holds that Article 10(a) does not permit service by
mail. See, e.g., Nuovo Pignane, SpA v. STORMAN ASIA
MV, 310 F.3d 374 (5th Cir.2002); Bankston v. Toyota
Motor Carp., 889 F.2d 172 (8th Cir.1989). This provision
had not been construed previously by the United States
Supreme Court, the Texas Supreme Court, or this court.
In the absence of binding precedent *36 for us to follow,
this case presented our court with the opportunity to
choose the better-reasoned approach. See Penrod
Drilling Corp. v. Williams, 868 S.W.2d 294, 296
(Tex.1993) (per curiam) (explaining that Texas courts
“are obligated to follow only higher Texas courts and the
United States Supreme Court”).

15a

**§ Fortunately, however, our existing tools are equal to
the task of breaking new ground. Although there is no
binding precedent that answers the specific question
before us, there is binding precedent that tells us how to
find that answer for ourselves. I accordingly would look
first to the United States Supreme Court to identify the
principles that both state and federal courts are
required to apply in construing treaties. Next, I would
follow the same steps used by our nation’s highest court
in applying those principles. See Life Partners, Inc. v.
Arnold, 464 S.W.3d 660, 670 (Tex.2015) (“We have
described the Supreme Court’s decisions in some detail
here, however, because in addition to providing the
relevant test, they also describe the proper approach to
the term’s construction.”).

A. Principles of Treaty Construction
In construing Article 10(a) of the Service Convention,
this court is bound by the following principles.
1. A treaty is not legislation. See Lozano v. Montoya
Alvarez, ——U.S. , 134 S.Ct. 1224, 1232-33, 188
L.Ed.2d 200, (2014) (“‘A treaty is in its nature a contract
between ... nations, not a legislative act.’ ” (quoting
Foster v. Neilson, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 253, 314, 7 L.Ed. 415
(1829))); id. at 1233 (“[I]n their nature treaties originate
differently from laws. They are made by equal parties,
and each side has half of the bargain to make ....”
(quoting 2 Debates on the Federal Constitution 506 (J.
Elliot 2d ed. 1863) (James Wilson))).

2. A treaty is not construed in the same way as
legislation. See id. at 1233 (“That distinction [between a
legislative act and a contract] has been reflected in the
way we interpret treaties.”); Nielsen v. Johnson, 279
U.S. 47, 51, 49 S.Ct. 223, 73 L.Ed. 607 (1929) (“The

16a

narrow and restricted interpretation of the treaty ...,
while permissible and often necessary in construing two
statutes of the same legislative body in order to give
effect to both so far as is reasonably possible, is not
consonant with the principles which are controlling in
the interpretation of treaties.”).

3. A treaty instead is construed in the manner of a
contract. See Lozano, 134 S.Ct. at 1232-33; see also BG
Grp., PLC v. Republic of Argentina, ——U.S. ——, 134
S.Ct. 1198, 1208, 188 L.Ed.2d 220 (2014) (“As a general
matter, a treaty is a contract, though between nations.
Its interpretation normally is, like a contract's
interpretation, a matter of determining the parties’
intent.”); Santovincenzo v. Egan, 284 U.S. 30, 40 & n. 2,
52 S.Ct. 81, 76 L.Ed. 151 (1931) (“[Tireaties are
contracts between independent nations....”).

4. A treaty, however, is construed more liberally than a
private contract. See Choctaw Nation of Indians v.
United States, 318 U.S. 423, 431, 63 S.Ct. 672, 87 L.Ed.
877 (1943) (“[Tlreaties are construed more liberally than
private agreements ....”); see also Valentine v. United
States ex rel. Neidecker, 299 U.S. 5, 10, 57 S.Ct. 100, 81
L.Ed. 5 (1936) (“(Tlreaties should be liberally construed
so as to give effect to the apparent intention of the
parties.”); Factor v. Laubenheimer, 290 U.S. 276, 293—
94, 54 S.Ct. 191, 78 L.Ed. 315 (1933) (explaining that
“[clonsiderations which should govern the diplomatic
relations between nations, and the good faith of
treaties” require that “if a treaty fairly admits of two
constructions, one restricting the *37 rights which may
be claimed under it, and the other enlarging it, the more
liberal construction is to be preferred”); Todok v. Union
State Bank of Harvard, Neb., 281 U.S. 449, 454, 50 S.Ct.
363, 74 L.Ed. 956 (1930) (explaining that it is a

17a

“fundamental principle that treaties should receive a
liberal interpretation to give effect to their apparent
purpese”).

5. Such a liberal construction is required to secure
equality and reciprocity between the signatories. See
Factor, 290 U.S. at 293, 54 S.Ct. 191 (explaining that
treaties are “liberally construed so as to effect the
apparent intention of the parties to secure equality and
reciprocity between them”); Jordan v. K. Tashiro, 278
US. 123, 127, 49 S.Ct. 47, 73 L.Ed. 214 (1928) (same);
see also Dubai Petroleum Co. v. Kazi, 12 S.W.3d 71, 80
(Tex.2000) (“As treaties are to be construed broadly, the
treaty need not provide explicitly for equal court access;
it need only imply it.” (citing Asakura v. City of Seattle,
265 U.S. 332, 342, 44 S.Ct. 515, 68 L.Ed. 1041 (1924)).

B. Steps in Applying the Principles of Treaty
Construction

**7 As the foregoing principles show, we are required to
construe a treaty more liberally than a private contract
to implement the apparent intention of the parties to
secure equality and reciprocity between them. And
although the construction of a treaty begins with its
text, we are not permitted to end the inquiry there. See,
e.g., Abbott v. Abbott, 560 U.S. 1, 9-10, 130 S.Ct. 1983,
176 L.Ed.2d 789 (2010) (“This Court’s inquiry is shaped
by the text of the Convention; the views of the United
States Department of State; decisions addressing the
meaning of ‘rights of custody’ in courts of other
contracting states; and the purposes of the
Convention.”); Choctaw Nation, 318 U.S. at 431-32, 63
S.Ct. 672 (“To ascertain their meaning we may look
beyond the written words to the history of the treaty,
the negotiations, and the practical construction adopted

18a

by the parties.” (citing Factor, 290 U.S. at 294, 295, 54
S.Ct. 191)).

As a practical matter, then, how do we apply the
principles that govern treaty construction? To answer
this question, I would again look to the precepts set
forth by the United States Supreme Court. See Life
Partners, Inc., 464 S.W.3d at 670.

1. Identify the Treaty’s Purpose.

The text must be read “with a view to making effective
the purposes of the high contracting parties.” Sullivan
v. Kidd, 254 U.S. 433, 439, 41 S.Ct. 158, 65 L.Ed. 344
(1921); see also El Al Isr. Airlines, Lid. v. Tsui Yuan
Tseng, 525 U.S. 155, 169, 119 S.Ct. 662, 142 L.Ed.2d 576
(1999) (identifying a treaty’s “cardinal purpose”). The
treaty’s purpose may be expressly stated in its
preamble, see Tseng, 525 U.S. at 169, 119 S.Ct. 662, and
the role played by a specific provision may be gleaned
from the treaty’s structure and the context in which the
provision appears. See Olympic Airways v. Husain, 540
U.S. 644, 650, 124 S.Ct. 1221, 157 L.Ed.2d 1146 (2004)
(noting that the Court considers the treaty’s “text,
structure, and history”); Tseng, 525 U.S. at 169, 119
S.Ct. 662 (identifying the treaty interpretation that “is
most faithful to the Convention’s text, purpose, and
overall structure”); Santovincenzo, 284 U.S. at 37, 52
S.Ct. 81 (considering “the context of the provision in
question”).

2. Identify the signatories’ shared expectations.
The treaty must be read “in a manner ‘consistent with
the shared expectations of the contracting parties.’ ”
Lozano, 134 §.Ct. at 1233 (quoting Husain, 540 U.S. at

650, 124 S.Ct. 1221); Tseng, 525 U.S. at 167, 119 S.Ct.
662 (same); Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 399, 105

19a

S.Ct. 1338, 84 L.Ed.2d 289 (1985) *38 (“[I]t is our
responsibility to give the specific words of the treaty a
meaning consistent with the shared expectations of the
contracting parties.”); see also Zicherman v. Korean Air
Lines Co., 516 U.S. 217, 223-25, 116 S.Ct. 629, 133
L.Ed.2d 596 (1996) (rejecting the petitioners’
interpretation of a phrase as “implausible” and
“unlikely” in view of “the shared expectations of the
contracting parties,” and instead concluding that “an
equally plausible reading ... that leads to a more
comprehensible result” was the only “realistic”
alternative). Adherence to the parties’ shared
expectations is required because—unlike legislation—a
treaty is “necessarily the product of consensus.” Michael
P. Van Alstine, The Death of Good Faith in Treaty
Jurisprudence and a Call for Resurrection, 93 Geo. L.J.
1885, 1923 (2005). “Contrary to the majoritarian
premise of statutory adoption, there is no means of
imposing treaty obligations on a dissenting minority. If
the product of negotiations is not satisfactory, a
disaffected nation may simply not ratify the treaty.” Jd.
It therefore is no surprise that to identify those shared
expectations, courts must consider the treaty’s
negotiating and drafting history. See, e.g., Medellin v.
Texas, 552 U.S. 491, 507, 128 S.Ct. 1346, 170 L.Ed.2d
190 (2008); Tseng, 525 U.S. at 167, 119 S.Ct. 662;
Zicherman, 516 U.S. at 226, 116 S.Ct. 629; Choctaw
Nation, 318 U.S. at 431-32, 63 S.Ct. 672; Factor, 290
U.S. at 294-95, 54 S.Ct. 191; Nielsen, 279 U.S. at 52, 49
S.Ct. 223. The construction of the Service Convention is
no exception to this rule. See Volkswagenwerk
Aktiengeselischaft v. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694, 700, 108
S.Ct. 2104, 100 L.Ed.2d 722 (1988) (examining the

Service Convention’s drafting history and negotiations).

20a

**8 To understand a treaty’s negotiating and drafting
history, its provisions must be considered in the
language used by the drafters in the official text. See
Zicherman, 516 U.S. at 221, 116 S.Ct. 629 (considering
the meaning of the French word dommage where the
official text of the treaty was in French, and rejecting
the contention “that we simply look to English
dictionary definitions of ‘damage’ and apply that term’s
‘plain meaning’ ”); Saks, 470 U.S. at 399, 105 S.Ct. 1338
(“We look to the French legal meaning for guidance as
to [the signatories’ shared] expectations because the
Warsaw Convention was drafted in French by
continental jurists.”); Todok, 281 U.S. at 454, 50 S.Ct.
363 (“The text of the treaty of 1783 with Sweden was in
French only, and the French text is _ therefore
controlling.”). Where the official text of the treaty was
drawn up in two languages, then courts consider both
languages when analyzing the parties’ shared
expectations. See United States v. Percheman, 32 U.S.
(7 Pet.) 51, 88-89, 8 L.Ed. 604 (1833) (where a treaty
was drawn up in both Spanish and English, the Court
considered the text in both languages, explaining that
“[njo violence is done to the language of the treaty by a
construction which conforms the English and Spanish
to each other”).

The Service Convention was drafted “in the English and
French languages, both texts being equally authentic.”
Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 699, 108 S.Ct. 2104; see also
Service Convention, supra note 1, at closing paragraph
(stating that the Service Convention was drafted “in the
English and French languages, both texts being equally
authentic, in a single copy”). Thus, the negotiating and
drafting history of the Service Convention’s text in both
languages must be considered. See Schlunk, 486 U.S. at

2la

700-01, 108 S.Ct. 2104 (considering French terms that
were proposed for inclusion in the Service Convention
and comparing the meanings given to the terms “in
some countries, such as *89 France” and “in others, such
as the United States”). This negotiating and drafting
history may be documented by the conference’s
rapporteur. See United States v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 11,
43, 89 S.Ct. 773, 22 L.Ed.2d 44 (1969).

In addition to considering the text itself, courts consider
the way in which the text was interpreted by the
delegates involved in negotiating and drafting the
treaty. See Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 703, 108 S.Ct. 2104
(considering statements and articles by Philip Amram,
the head of the United States delegation to the
Convention); id at 709-10 & n.1, 714, 716, 108 S.Ct.
2104 (Brennan, J., concurring) (same). The delegates’
views also may be memorialized by the conference
rapporteur. See Société Nationale Industrielle
Aérospatiale v. U.S. Dist. Court, 482 U.S. 522, 530 n. 13,
107 S.Ct. 2542, 96 L.Ed.2d 461 (1987).

3. Accord “great weight” to the Executive Branch’s
int ati

“It is well settled that the Executive Branch’s
interpretation of a treaty ‘is entitled to great weight.’ ”
Abbott, 560 U.S. at 15, 130 S.Ct. 1983 (quoting
Sumitomo Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176,
185, 102 S.Ct. 2374, 72 L.Ed.2d 765 (1982)); Medellin,
552 U.S. at 513, 128 S.Ct. 1346 (same); Tseng, 525 U.S.
at 168, 119 S.Ct. 662 (“Respect is ordinarily due the
reasonable views of the Executive Branch concerning
the meaning of an international treaty.”).

4. Accord “considerable weight” to the interpretation of
the other signatories.

22a

Finally, the parties’ shared expectations are shown by
their post-ratification understanding and conduct. See
Medellin, 552 U.S. at 507, 128 S.Ct. 1346; Husain, 540
U.S. at 649-50, 124 S.Ct. 1221; Theng, 525 U.S. at 167,
119 S.Ct. 662; Zicherman, 516 U.S. at 227, 116 S.Ct.
629; see also O'Connor v. United States, 479 U.S. 27, 33,
107 S.Ct. 347, 93 L.Ed. 2d 206 (1986) (“The course of
conduct of parties to an international agreement, like
the course of conduct of parties to any contract, is
evidence of its meaning.”). These may be documented in
an organizational handbook or report. See Sale v.
Haitian Ctrs. Council, Inc., 509 U.S. 155, 182 n. 40, 113
S.Ct. 2549, 125 L.Ed.2d 128 (1993) (quoting Office of
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees,
Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining
Refugee Status 46 (Geneva, Sept. 1979)). The United
States Supreme Court instructs us that, when
interpreting a treaty, “ t]he opinions of our sister
signatories ... are entitled to considerable weight.’ ”
Abbott, 560 U.S. at 16, 130 S.Ct. 1983 (Tseng, 525 U.S.
at 176, 119 S.Ct. 662); Saks, 470 U.S. at 404, 105 S.Ct.
1338 (same).

5. Consider the analysis of scholars.
**9 See Abbott, 560 U.S. at 18, 130 S.Ct. 1983 (“Scholars
agree that there is an emerging international consensus
on the matter.”).

IV. APPLICATION

Having identified the governing precepts in the
construction of treaties and the way in which they are
applied, I would pursue the same approach in this case.

A. The Service Convention’s Purpose
The Service Convention’s two purposes are stated in its

23a

preamble:
The States signatory to the present Convention,

Desiring to create appropriate means to ensure that
judicial and extrajudicial documents to be served
abroad shall be brought to the notice of the addressee
in sufficient time,

Desiring to improve the organisation of mutual
judicial assistance for that *40 purpose by simplifying
and expediting the procedure,

Have resolved to conclude a Convention to this effect
and have agreed upon the following provisions

Service Convention, supra note 1, at preamble
(emphasis added); see also Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 702-04,
108 S.Ct. 2104 (looking to the Service Convention’s
preamble for the identification of its purpose).
Consistent with those purposes, the Service
Convention’s scope is set forth in Article 1: “The present
Convention shall apply in all cases, in civil or
commercial matters, where there is occasion to transmit
a judicial or extrajudicial document for service abroad.”
Service Convention, supra note 1, at Art. 1 (emphasis
added).

This is a more specific purpose than that found by the
majority in this case. By agreeing with Menon’s
argument that “she was not served pursuant to the
Hague Convention service of process provisions,“ the
majority necessarily has concluded that there are nan-
service provisions in the Service Convention. But the
United States Supreme Court has examined the
English and French text of the Service Convention and
its drafting history and concluded that the opposite is
true: the Court explained that Article 1 “eliminate/[d]

24a

the possibility” that the Service Convention could apply
to transmissions abroad “that do not culminate in
service”:

The preliminary draft of Article 1 said that the
present Convention shall apply in all cases in which
there are grounds 40 transmit or to give formal notice
of a judicial or extrajudicial document in a civil or
commercial matter to a person staying abroad. [3 1964
Conférence de la Haye de Droit International Privé,
Actes et Documents de la Dixiéme Session
(Notification) 65 (1965) (3 Actes et Documents) | (“La
présente Convention est applicable dans tous les cas
ou il y a lieu de transmettre ou de notifier un acte
judiciaire ou extrajudiciaire en matiére civile ou
commerciale 4 une personne se trouvant a |’étranger”)
(emphasis added). To be more precise, the delegates
decided to add a form of the juridical term
“signification” (service), which has a narrower
meaning than “notification” in some countries, such as
France, and the identical meaning in others, such as
the United States. Jd, at 152-153, 155, 159, 366. The
delegates also criticized the Janguage of the
preliminary draft because it suggested that the
Convention could apply to transmissions abroad that
do not culminate in service. Id., at 165—167. The final
text of Article 1, supra, eliminates this possibility and
applies only to documents transmitted for service
abroad. The final report (Rapport Explicatif) confirms
that the Convention does not use more general terms,
such as delivery or transmission, to define its scope
because it applies only when there is both
transmission of a document from the requesting state
to the receiving state, and service upon the person for
whom it is intended. Id., at 366.

25a

**10 Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 700-01, 108 S.Ct. 2104
(emphasis added).

*Ante, at

In accordance with the United States Supreme Court’s
analysis, I would conclude that the Service Convention
addresses only the transmission of documents that
culminate in service, and thus, the reference in Article
10(a) to “send{ing] judicial documents” means “serv[ing}
judicial documents.” Service Convention, supra note 1,
at Art. 10(a).

*41 B. The Shared Expectations of the Signatories to
the Service Convention
To ascertain the parties’ shared expectations, I would
consider the actual and proposed language of Service
Convention’s bilingual text, its negotiating and drafting
history, and the understanding of the delegates.
1. Negotiating and Drafting History of the Text

In addition to the text and the negotiating and drafting
history previously described, I would give considerable
weight to the fact that “[tJhe French text of the 1965
convention was copied from three earlier Hague
Conference conventions, all of which were understood to
allow service upon defendants abroad by mail.” See
Michael O. Eshleman & Stephen A. Wolaver, Using the
Mail to Avoid the Hague Service Convention’s Central
Authorities, 12 Or. Rev. Int’] L. 283, 333 (2010).

I additionally would consider the following history:
The Rapporteur’s report on article 10(a) of the draft
convention provides in part: “The provision of
paragraph 1 [labelled {ay in the final text] also
permits service by telegram if the state where service

26a

is to be made does not object. The Commission did not

accept the proposal that postal channels be limited to

registered mail.”
"Patricia N. McCausland, Note and Comment, How May
I Serve You? Service of Process by Mail Under the
Hague Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial
and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial
Matters, 12 PACE L.REV. 177, 186 n.67 (1992)
(translated from 3 Actes et Documents de la Dixiéme
Session (Conférence de la Haye de Droit International
Privé) 90 (1964)).

If Article 10(a) was considered to include service by
telegram, and not to be “limited to registered mail,” then
it cannot be said, as the majority now holds, that this
provision does not permit service by mail.

2. The Understanding of the Delegates

I next would consider the statements of Philip W.
Amram, a member of the United States delegation to
the Hague Conference that drafted the Service
Convention. Indeed, in his concurring opinion in
Schiunk, Justice Brennan identified Amram as “(t]he
head of the delegation” and its “chief negotiator.”
Schiunk, 486 U.S. at 710, 714 (Brennan, J., concurring).
Amram also was the only English-speaking member of
the Service Convention’s drafting committee. See
Eshleman & Wolaver, supra, at 325 (citing Unification
of the Rules of Private International Law: Report of the
U.S. Delegation to the 10th Session of the Hague
Conference on Private International Law, October 7-28,
1964, 52 Dep’t State Bull. 265, 265-66 (1965)). Amram
“told the Senate Foreign Relations Committee that
‘unless the requested State objects, direct service by
mail’ was allowed under Article 10 and ‘use of the

27a

central authority is not obligatory.’ ” Jd at 325-26
(footnotes omitted).

**11 Because the United States Supreme Court cited
Amram’s statement to the Senate in the Court’s only
opinion construing the Service Convention, see Sch/unk,
486 U.S. at 703, 108 S.Ct. 2104, I would consider this
statement in ascertaining the signatories’ shared
expectations. See also Philip W. Amram, The Proposed
International Convention on the Service of Documents
Abroad, 51 A.B.A. J. 650, 653 (1965) (“Article 10 permits
direct service by mail ... unless [the receiving] state
objects to such service.”).

*42 C. The Executive Branch’s Interpretation of Article
10(a)

The Executive Branch has unwaveringly maintained
that Article 10(a) permits service by mail. “Dean Rusk,
the American secretary of state at the time the
convention was negotiated, signed, and ratified, stated
in his official report to President Johnson: ‘Article 10
permits direct service by mail ... unless [the receiving]
state objects to such service.’ ” Eshleman & Wolaver,
supra, at 325. The State Department subsequently
produced a circular stating that unless a nation “ ‘has
made a specific reservation ... objecting to service by
registered mail .. [service] may be made by
international registered mail.’ ” Jd. (citing U.S. Dep’t of
State, Bureau of Consular Affairs, Overseas Citizen
Services, Office of Citizen Consular Services, Service of
Legal Documents Abroad, excerpted in Judicial
Assistance: Service: International Registered Mail, [2]
1981—1988 Digest § 6, at 1441-45). And, when the first
federal appellate court held to the contrary, “the State
Department formally said the ... ruling was wrong ... [in

28a

suggesting] that the Hague Convention does not permit
as a method of service the sending of a copy of the
summons and complaint by registered mail to a
defendant in a foreign country.’” /d. at 326 (citing Letter
from Alan J. Kreczco, Legal Adviser, U.S. Dep’t of State,
to the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts and the
National Center for State Courts (Mar. 14, 1991),
excerpted in United States Department of State
Opinion Regarding the Bankston Case and Service by
Mail to Japan Under Hague Service Convention, 30
I.L.M. 260, 261 (1991)).®
*Kreczco’s name actually is spelled “Kreczko”; his title
was Deputy Legal Adviser; and the referenced letter
was dated Mar. 14, 1990.
Regarding the specific application of Article 10(a) in this
case, the State Department’s website shows its view
that Canada accepts “service of process by mail.”
"U.S. Dep’t of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs, Lega/
Considerations: International Judicial Assistance:
Country Information: Canada, TRAVEL.STATE.GOV,
http://travel. state.gov/content/travel/english/legal-
considerations/judicial /country/canadahtm! (last
visited June 26, 2015) (parentheses added).
In accordance with the instructions from the United
States Supreme Court, I would give such views “great
weight.”
D. The Interpretation of Article 10(a) by Other
Signatories

The post-ratification understanding of the parties can
be seen in a Hague Conference report on the signatories’
response to the following question:

Question D: Have there been any court decisions in

29a

your country interpreting Article 10(a) of the Hague
Service Convention which reads as follows:

“Provided the State of destination does not object, the
present Convention shall not interfere with—

(a) the freedom to send judicial documents by postal
channels directly to persons abroad ...”

**12 [Answer] It was pointed out that the postal
channel for service constitutes a method which is
quite separate from service via the Central
Authorities or between judicial officers. Article 10(a)
in effect offered a reservation to Contracting States to
consider that service by mail was an infringement of
their sovereignty. Thus, theoretical doubts about the
legal nature of the procedure were unjustified.
Nonetheless, certain courts in the United States of
America in opinions cited in the “Checklist” had
concluded that service of process abroad *43 by mail
was not permitted under the Convention.°

‘PERMANENT BUREAU, HAGUE CONFERENCE
ON PRIVATE INT'L LAW, REPORT ON THE WORK
OF THE SPECIAL COMMISSION OF APRIL 1989 ON
THE OPERATION OF THE HAGUE CONVENTIONS
OF 15 NOVEMBER 1965 ON THE SERVICE ABROAD
OF JUDICIAL AND EXTRAJUDICIAL DOCUMENTS
IN CIVIL OR COMMERCIAL MATTERS AND OF 18
MARCH 1970 ON THE TAKING OF EVIDENCE
ABROAD IN CIVIL OR COMMERCIAL MATTERS 4—
5 (Apr. 1989), available at http:?//www-hcch.net/upload/
scrpt89e_20.pdf (italics omitted).

The significance of this unanimity in the interpretation
of a convention that has now existed for fifty years and
has been signed or ratified by sixty-eight countries
cannot be overstated, because as our highest court has

30a

explained, the judiciary’s “role is limited to giving effect
to the intent of the Treaty parties. When the parties to
a treaty ... agree as to the meaning of a treaty provision,
and that interpretation follows from the clear treaty
language, we must, absent extraordinarily strong
contrary evidence, defer to that interpretation.”
Avagtiano, 457 U.S. at 184-85, 102 S.Ct. 2374.

Despite a diligent search, I have found no authority that
our fellow signatories have interpreted Article 10(a) to
pertain only to the “sending” of documents and not to
the “service” of documents. Because the required
“extraordinarily strong contrary evidence” is lacking, I
accordingly would defer to the _ signatories’
interpretation that Article 10(a) permits service by mail.
See Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp.,
466 U.S. 243, 259, 104 S.Ct. 1776, 80 L.Ed.2d 273 (1984)
(“We may not ignore the actual, reasonably harmonious
practice adopted by the United States and other
signatories in the first 40 years of the Convention’s
existence.” (referring to the Convention for the
Unification of Certain Rules Relating to International
Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S.
No. 876 (1934), reprinted in Note following 49 U.S.C. §
1502)); see also In re Morgan Stanley & Co., 293 S.W.3d
182, 189-90 (Tex.2009) (orig. proceeding) (rejecting the
Fifth Circuit’s interpretation on a question of law
“[gliven the overwhelming weight of authority” reaching
a contrary result).

E. The Interpretation of Article 10(a) by Leading

I also would follow the example of the United States
Supreme Court in consulting the writings of Bruno
Ristau as to the intentions of the Service Convention’s

3la

drafters. See Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 698, 700, 703, 108
S.Ct. 2104 (citing 1 B. Ristau, International Judicial
Assistance (Civil and Commercial) (1984 and 1
Supp.1986)). Like all of our sister signatories and our
own government, Ristau states that Article 10(a)
permits service by mail:
Ristau has written that the language of Article 10(a)
regarding the use of “postal channels” was “intended
to include service of process.” Others concur. “It is
clear that ... every participant in the debates
concerning Article 10(a) ... understood the provision as
referring to ... the use of postal channels for the
purpose of service.” Another analysis said “[plerhaps
the most compelling evidence in support of the theory
that Article 10(a) authorizes service by mail is the fact
that those who actually participated in the original
Convention ... believe that to be the case.”

**13 Ristau quoted the official report on the draft
convention, which indicated the language of Article 10
was worded broadly. It is so broad, he writes, that it
“permits service by telegram if the State where service
is to be made does not object.”
Eshleman & Wolaver, supra, at 331-32 (footnotes
omitted).
*44 Based on all of the foregoing, I would conclude that
Article 10(a) of the Service Convention permits service
by mail.
V. THE COUNTERVAILING VIEW

The majority concludes that “the better-reasoned

approach” is to follow the countervailing view espoused
by the Fifth Circuit in Nuovo FPignone, SpA vy.
STORMAN ASIA M/V, 310 F.3d 374 (5th Cir.2002). The

32a

majority, however, has not explained why an approach
that eschews the principles of treaty construction laid
down by the United States Supreme Court is “better-
reasoned,” or even how those following the prevailing
view have arrived at a different result.

The majority's opinion constitutes binding precedent on
this court until it is overruled by a higher court or by our
own court, whether in response to a motion for
rehearing or for rehearing en banc or in a different case.
And because it is binding, I believe it is important for
the analysis to be transparent. This is especially so in
this case, given that the majority adopts an
interpretation contrary to that of the American
delegation, the American government, most American
courts, and those of our sister signatories—including, as
the majority admits, Canada.’ I accordingly have
applied the governing precepts to illustrate how they
necessarily lead to the conclusion that Article 10a) of
the Service Convention permits service by mail.
Respectfully, I believe that the majority’s differing
analysis, like the analyses in the cases on which it relies,
is flawed.

*Ante, at, —— n.1; see also Hague Conference on
Private Int] Law, List of Central Authorities
Designated by Canada, HCCH, 6,
http/www.hech.net/uploaWauth/l4ca20 14en.pdf (list
up-to-date as of August 2014) (identifying the Ministére
de la Justice as the Central Authority for Québec and
identifying that office’s website). On that website,
Québec’s Central Authority states, “The Convention
also sets out other methods of transmitting documents
sameine Guaiias Gaetan” aie to
Authority [including] postal service... Under the
Convention, a State may object to those methods

33a

although Canada did not declare any opposition when it
ratified the Convention.” Gouvernement du Québec,
Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents
in Civil or Commercial Matters: Other Methods of
Transmission, JUSTICE QUEBEC, http://www justice.
gouv.qc.ca/english/programmes/sneaie/transmission-
a.htm (last updated Feb. 26, 2004).

A. The Majority’s Adoption of the Reasoning of Nuovo
Pignone

As previously explained, the first precept of treaty
construction is that a treaty is not construed as
legislation, but instead is construed more liberally than
a private contract, drawing on a wide variety of sources
in order to implement the signatories’ shared
expectations. In Nuovo Pignone, however, the Fifth
Circuit did the opposite. As the court stated it,

We adopt the reasoning of courts that have decided
that the Hague Convention does not permit service by
mail. In doing so, we rely on the canons of statutory
interpretation rather than the fickle presumption that
the drafters’ use of the word “send” was a mere
oversight. “Absent a clearly expressed legislative
intention to the contrary,” a statute’s language “must
ordinarily be regarded as conclusive.” Consumer Prod.
Safety Comm'n vy. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102,
108, 100 S.Ct. 2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766 (1980). And
because the drafters purposely elected to use forms of
the word “service” throughout the Hague Convention,
while confining use of the word “send” to article 10(a),
we will not presume that the drafters intended to give
the same meaning to “send” that they intended to give
to “service.”

**14 *45 Jd. at 384 (emphasis added). Thus, the Fifth

34a

Circuit essentially compared two words—in English
only—and treated the distinction between the two as
conclusive. But see Eshleman & Wolaver, supra, at 333—
34 (discussing use of the same language in the
Conventions of 1954, 1905, and 1896, all of which used
the French word translated as “send” in referring to
service of process by mail).

This approach follows none of the governing precepts of
treaty construction. The majority in this case, like the
authors of the cases on which the majority relies,
instead have followed a canon of statutory
interpretation, despite the United States Supreme
Court’s contrary directive in a case decided just last
year. See Lozano, 134 S.Ct. at 1232-33 (“The Hague
Convention ... is a treaty, not a federal statute.... ‘A
treaty is in its nature a contract between ... nations, not
a legislative act.’ ... That distinction has been reflected
in the way we interpret treaties. It is our ‘responsibility
to read the treaty in a manner consistent with the
shared expectations of the contracting parties.”)
(citations and internal quotations omitted, emphasis in
original). The majority in this case neither treats the
United States Supreme Court’s discussion of how a
Hague Convention is to be construed as binding
precedent, nor explains its reasons for failing to do so.
The majority instead follows Nuovo Pignane, in which
the Fifth Circuit approached the question of treaty
construction as though the only alternative to the
application of “canons of statutory construction” was a
“fickle presumption that the drafters’ use of the word
“send” was a mere oversight.” Nuovo Pignone, 310 F.3d
at 384. But, the drafters’ intent is well-established
without the need for a presumption. As previously
explained, there is no dispute among the signatories

35a

that Article 10(a) permits service by mail. Like the
majority in this case, the Nuovo Pignane court did not
even mention most of the precepts that govern treaty
construction, or the fact that the Service Convention’s
predecessors dating back more than a hundred years
used the word “send” even when referring to service of
process by mail.

As reasons for rejecting the interpretation of Article
10(a) that is followed by all of the other Service
Convention’s signatories, the United States
government, and a majority of courts in this country, the
Fifth Circuit stated as follows:

Nuovo Pignone’s contention that the broad purpose of
the Hague Convention is furthered if article 10(a) is
interpreted to allow service by mail is problematic. As
noted, the purpose of the Hague Convention is not
only to simplify the service of process, but to ensure
that plaintiffs deliver notice to foreign addressees in
sufficient time to defend the allegation. Indeed, FED.
R. CIV. P. 4(f{1) presumes that the Hague
Convention provides methods of service “reasonably
calculated to give notice.”

We are not confident, nor should the drafters have
been confident in 1967 [sic],”° that mail service in the
more than forty signatories [sic] is sufficient to *46
ensure this goal. [In an accompanying footnote, the
court added, “Indeed, the advisory committee notes to
the 1963 amendments to FED.R.CIV.P. 4 recognize
that (slervice of process beyond the territorial limits
of the United States may involve difficulties not
encountered in the case of domestic service.”] Under
Nuovo Pignone’s interpretation of article 10(a), the
fact that a signatory could object to service by mail is

36a

unconvincing. There is no reason to think that
signatories with inadequate mail services would
voluntarily opt out of article 10(a).
**15 Finally, we note that other provisions of the
Hague Convention describe more reliable methods of
effecting service. Service of process through a central
authority under articles 2 through 7 and service
through diplomatic channels under articles 8 and 9
require that service be effected through official
government channels. It is unlikely that the drafters
would have put in place these methods of service
requiring the direct participation of government
officials, while simultaneously permitting the
uncertainties of service by mail.
Id. at 384-85 & n. 17. For several reasons, the stated
rationale cannot withstand scrutiny.
The Convention was not drafted in 1967; it was drafted
in 1964. See Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 698, 108 S.Ct. 2104
(“The Hague Service Convention is a multilateral treaty
that was formulated in 1964 by the Tenth Session of the
Hague Conference of Private International Law.”).

“There were twenty-three member States when the
Service Convention was drafted. See Schlunk, 486 U.S.
at 698, 108 S.Ct. 2104 (“Representatives of all 23
countries that were members of the Conference
approved the Convention without reservation.”); Kurt
H. Nadelmann & Willis L. M. Reese, The Tenth Session
of the Hague Conference on Private Internatianal Law,
13 AM. J. COMP. L. 612, 612 n.1 (1964) (listing the
twenty-three member States when the Service
Convention was drafted).

First, the Fifth Circuit implies that in the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure in effect when the Service Convention

37a

was drafted, the advisory committee anticipated that
service abroad by mail involved difficulties not present
in domestic service. To the contrary, however, the
advisory committee’s only example of difficulties in
service abroad was that “a person not qualified to serve
process according to the law of the foreign country may
find himself subject to sanctions if he attempts service
therein.”” The 1963 amendment to Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 4{i) was intended to ameliorate such
difficulties by providing for five “alternative provisions
for service in a foreign country”—including service by
mail. See Amendments to Rules of Civil Procedure for
the U.S. Dist. Courts, 31 F.R.D. 587, 595 (1963). That
affords a manner of service that is inexpensive and
expeditious, and requires a minimum of activity within
the foreign country.”” The Fifth Circuit cites neither
evidence nor authority for its contrary assumption.
“See ADVISORY COMM. ON CIVIL RULES,
STATEMENT ON BEHALF OF THE ADVISORY
COMMITTEE ON CIVIL RULES, PROPOSED
AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF CIVIL
PROCEDURE FOR THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURTS 11 (July 18, 1962), available at http:
/Awww.uscourts.gov/rules-policies/archives/committee-
reports/advisory-committee-rulescivil-procedure-july-
1962.

’ADVISORY COMM. ON CIVIL RULES, supra note
12, at 12.

Second, the court’s statement that “[tJhere is no reason
to think that signatories with inadequate mail services
would voluntarily opt out of article 10(a)” is contrary to
the statutory textual analysis that the authoring court

38a

purports to apply. Specifically, Article 21 of the Service
Convention requires that “[ejach Contracting State
shall similarly inform the Ministry, where appropriate,
of ... opposition to the use of methods of transmission
pursuant to Articles 8 and 10.” Service Convention,
supra note 1, at Art. 21; see also United States v.
Caldera—Herrera, 930 F.2d 409, 411 (5th Cir.1991) (
“Where possible, statutes must be read in harmony with
one another so as to give meaning to each provision.”
(citing Fed. Aviation Admin. v. Robertson, 422 U.S. 255,
261, 95 S.Ct. 2140, 45 L.Ed.2d 164 (1975))). Not only *47
must we presume that signatories that voluntarily
chose to sign the agreement intended to comply with
Article 21, but such compliance is objectively verifiable
by the _ signatories’ post-ratification conduct:
approximately half of the Service Convention’s

signatories have either qualified their acceptance of
Article 10 or have opposed it entirely.“

“See Hague Conference on Private Intl Law, Table
Reflecting Applicability of Articles 82), 10(a),(b), and
(c), 15(2) and 16(3) of the Hague Service Convention,
HCCH (Feb. 2013), http//www.hcch.net/upload/applic-
ability14e.pdf.

**16 Third, the Fifth Circuit makes the unsupported
assumption that the drafters would not have permitted
service by mail when two “more reliable” methods of
service (through a Central Authority and through
diplomatic channels) were available. In doing so, the
court assumes not only that mail is less reliable, but also
that the drafters would not have included both a more
reliable and a less reliable method. If this were true,
however, then the drafters would have included only the
single most reliable method of service, whether that was
service through a Central Authority or service through

39a

diplomatic channels, but not both. But see Philip W.
Amram, Heport on the Tenth Session of the Hague
Conference on Private International Law, 59 AM. J.
INT'L L. 87, 90 (1965) (“Use of the Central Authority is
purely optional with the applicant for service.”). And if
mail is presumed unreliable, then how are the service
documents to be transmitted to a foreign Central
Authority without the use of mail? See Service
Convention, supra note 1, at Art. 2 (“Each Contracting
State shall designate a Central Authority which will
undertake to receive requests for service coming from
other Contracting States ....) (emphasis added); id. at
Art. 3 (“The authority or judicial officer competent
under the law of the State in which the documents
originate shall forward to the Central Authority of the
State addressed a request conforming to the model
annexed to the present Convention ....”) (emphasis
added). And how, without using mail, is the foreign
Central Authority to communicate directly with the
applicant as required? See id. at Art. 4 (“If the Central
Authority considers that the request does not comply
with the provisions of the present Convention it shal]
promptly inform the applicant and specify its objections
to the request.”) (emphasis added); id. at Art. 6 (“The
Central Authority of the State addressed .. shall
complete a certificate ... [stating] that the document has
been served ... [or stating] the reasons which have
prevented service. The certificate shall be forwarded
directly to the applicant.” (emphasis added).

Because the Fifth Circuit in Nuovo Pignone did not
apply the correct precepts of treaty construction but
instead relied on unsupported assumptions, I would
decline to follow it. The majority states that “other
federal district courts in Texas .. have ruled

40a

consistently that service must be effectuated by the
specific methods authorized by the terms included in the
Hague Convention.”” But, a// courts agree that if the
Hague Service Convention applies, then service must be
effectuated by a means permitted under the treaty’s
terms. As phrased, this statement begs the question of
whether service by mail is permitted under Article
1Q(a). If the majority intended to suggest that federal
district courts in the Fifth Circuit have consistently
stated that Article 10(a) does not permit service by mail,

then that implication is wrong. See, eg., Chattem
Chems., Inc. v. Akzo Nobel Chems. B. V., 229 F Supp.2d
555, 556 (M.D.La.2002) (“The Court, having *48
reviewed conflicting authorities, finds that service made
pursuant to Article 10(a) comports with the purpose,
meaning and intent of the Hague Convention.”); Brown
v. Bandai Am., Inc., No. 3-01-CV—0442-R, 2002 WL
1285265, at *4 (N.D. Tex. June 4, 2002) (“[TJhe Court
determines that service of process by mail is permissible
under Article 10(a) of the Hague Convention.”); Lafarge
Corp. v. M/V MACEDONIA HELLAS, No. Civ.A. 99—
2648, 2000 WL 687708, at *11 (E.D.La. May 24, 2000)
(“This court adopts the reasoning of those courts that
conclude that the Hague Convention permits service of
process by mail pursuant to Article 10(a).”); Friede &
Goldman, Ltd. v. Gotaverken Arendal Consultants, No.
CIV A 99-1970, 2000 WL 288375, at *3 (E.D.La. Mar.
16, 2000) (“[TThis Court adopts the reasoning of those
courts that conclude that the Hague Convention
permits service of process by mail pursuant to Article
10(a).”); Paradigm Entm’t, Inc. v. Video Sys. Co., No.
Civ.A. 3:99-CV-—2004P, 2000 WL 251731, at *7
(N.D.Tex. Mar. 3, 2000) (“[Tlhis Court finds that Article
10(a) provides for service by mail in the current
situation.”); Ortega Dominguez v. Pyrgia Shipping

4la

Corp., No. Civ.A. 98-529, 1998 WL 204798, at *2
(E.D.La. Apr. 24, 1998) (“[TIhis Court finds that Artide
10(a) of the Hague Convention permits service of
process by mail.”); Smith v. Dainichi Kinzoku Kogyo Co.,
680 F.Supp. 847, 851 (W.D.Tex.1988) (“Plaintiffs’
service of process directly upon Dainichi-Japan by
registered mail was sufficient to comport with Art. 10(a)
of the Hague Convention.”); Great Am. Boat Co. v.
Alsthom Ati., Inc., Civ. A. Nos. 84-0105 & 84-6442,
1987 WL 4766, at *3 (E.D.La. Apr. 8, 1987) (“Mailing a
summons and a copy of the complaint with a return
receipt ... creates personal jurisdiction ... against a FSIA
corporation [i.e, a corporation whose ownership is
vested in a foreign state] .. in a Hague Service
Convention state....”).

* Ante, at —.

**17 The majority cites several opinions that were
issued by federal district courts in Texas after the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals decided Nuovo Pignone, but
these decisions add nothing to the discussion. The
authoring courts had no choice but to follow Nuovo
Pignone, because the opinion constitutes binding
precedent over the lower courts in the Fifth Circuit. The
distinction between a court that is merely following
precedent and one that makes an independent
determination of an issue can hardly be
overemphasized: the Fifth Circuit’s trial courts are
required to treat the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals’
decisions as binding precedent, whereas Texas state
courts—including this one—are forbidden to treat them
as binding precedent. As the Texas Supreme Court has
explained:
The court of appeals’ discussion of [a

42a

Fifth Circuit case] and its cursory
dismissal of contrary federal precedent
from other jurisdictions suggests that
the court felt bound by the
pronouncements of the Fifth Circuit on
federal law issues. This is not the
case.... By focusing so exclusively on
[the Fifth Circuit case], the court of
appeals overlooks the ... the weight of
.. federal court decisions from other
juriedictions.

Penrod Drilling Corp., 868 S.W.2d at 296. The

‘ority’s failure to di the queen rage
treaty construction or to address the reasoning of courts
that have reached a conclusion contrary to that of the
Fifth Circuit suggests that the majority has fallen into
the same error here.”

"This is not the only problem with the majority's
discussion of federal district court decisions. The only
case that it cites for the proposition that the Service
Convention does not permit service by mail is Duarte v.
Michelin North America, Inc., No. 2:13—CV—00050,
2013 WL 2289942 (S.D.Tex. May 23, 2013). The
majority cites the remaining cases only in connection
with articles of the Service Convention that are not at
issue here. And although Duarte does indeed cite
Berezowsky v. Ojeda, No. 4:12—CV—03496, 2013 WL
150714 (S.D.Tex. Jan. 14, 2013) that opinion has since
been vacated. 765 F.3d 456 (5th Cir.2014).

The majority cites L.K. v. Mazda Motor Corp., No. 3:09—
cv-469-M, 2009 WL 1033334, at *2 (N.D.Tex. Apr. 15,
2009) with the parenthetical, “holding service under
article 5 was not effective because Japanese

43a

requirement that service be transmitted to the Central
Authority was not met.” That is not the case’s holding.
To the contrary, the authoring court did not analyze the
adequacy of service at all, but said only that “Plaintiffs’
counsel admits that he failed to comply with the
requirements of the Hague Convention,”

Finally, the majority cites Albo v. Suzuki Motor Corp.,
No. 3:08—-0139—KC, 2008 WL 2783508 (W.D.Tex. July 2,
2008) with the parenthetical, “holding service not
effective because, under article 5, the Hague [Service
Convention] required full translation of documents into
Japanese and without complying with specific Hague
[Service Convention] requirements, service was
insufficient.” But as the authoring court explains, the
Service Convention itself has no such requirement; it
simply provides that “ ‘the Central Authority may
require [the] document be written in, or translated into,
the official language or one of the official languages of
the State.’ ” Jd. at *2 n.2 (quoting Service Convention,
supra note 1, at Art. 5) (emphasis added).

*49 B. The Majority’s Reliance on State Court
Decisions

The majoritys treatment of state court decisions
appears to me to be similarly flawed. For example, the
majority cites Wuxi Taihu Tractor Co. v. York Group,
Inc., stating that the authoring court “held that article
5 of the Hague Convention does not permit service by
direct mail to a defendant in China who should have
been served through the Central Authority pursuant to
the specific language of the Hague Convention.”” If that
were the court’s holding, then the case would be merely
inapposite, because only Article 10(a) is at issue in this
case. But that was not the court’s holding, as can be seen

44a

from the fact that the Wuxi Taihu court affirmed the
post-answer default against the foreign defendant. No.
01—13-00016-CV, 2014 WL 6792019, at *1 (Tex.App.—
Houston [lst Dist.] Dec. 2, 2014, pet. pending)
(mem.op.). In describing this as the court’s holding, the
majority fails to follow the standard for distinguishing
between dicta and an alternative holding. See State
Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Lopez, 156 S.W.3d 550, 554
(Tex.2004) (op. on reh’g) (granting petitioner’s motion
for rehearing because “we failed to apply the standard
for distinguishing between alternative holdings and
dicta”); Tex. Natural Hes. Conservation Comm’ v.
White, 46 S.W.3d 864, 868 (Tex.2001) (explaining that a
court’s statement is not dicta but instead is an
alternative holding if “the court could have relied on
either determination to reach its ultimate conclusion”).
Moreover, the construction of Article 10(a}—the only
issue presented for our review—is never mentioned in
Wuxi Taihu. Indeed, the issue could not have arisen on
the facts in that case, because the defective-service
complaint in Wuxi Taihu concerned service in the
People’s Republic of China,” which—in accordance with
Article 21 of the Service Convention—has formally
declared its opposition to “the service of documents in
the territory of the People’s Republic of China by the
methods provided by Article 10 of the Convention.”” But
*50 what the Wizx7 Taihu court actually held was that,
regardless of the appellant’s claims of defective service,
the appellant nevertheless “chose to answer, and it
cannot now, after voluntarily appearing, avoid the
consequences of its choice.” See Wuxi Taihu, 2014 WL
6792019, at *10 n.6 (citing Onda Enters., Inc. y. Pierce,
750 S.W.2d 812, 813 (Tex.App—Tyler 1988, orig.
proceeding) (per curiam)). As a result, the entirety of the
Wuxi Taihu court’s discussion of the Service Convention

45a

is dicta.
" Ante,
8 See Wuxi Taihu, 2014 WL 6792019, at *1.

*°A courtesy translation of that country’s declarations
are available on the website of the Hague Conference on
Private International Law at http://www.hcch.net/index
_en.php?act=status.comment=393=resdn (last visited
June 26, 2015).

**18 The other Texas cases cited by the majority and
decided by our sister courts also do not concern Article
10(a). See In re J.P.L., 359 S.W.3d 695 (Tex_App.— San
Antonio 2011, orig. proceeding [mand. denied] ); Velasco
v. Ayala, 312 S.W.3d 783 (Tex.App.—Houston [1st Dist.]
2009, no pet.).” As in Wuxi Taihu, the issue in Velasco
and in JPL. concerned service of process in a country
that has made a forma) declaration of opposition to
Article 10. Specifically, both Velasco and JPL.
concerned service in Mexico.” Like the Wuxi Taihu
opinion, the Velasco opinion cites Article 5 as authority
for the proposition that service by mail does not comply
with the Service Convention. See Velasco, 312 S.W.3d
at 794. In J.PL., the authoring court interpreted Article
19 of the Service Convention. See J.P_L., 359 S.W.3d at
707. Thus, in none of the Texas state decisions cited by
the majority was the question of the correct
interpretation of Article 10 even before the court. These
cases accordingly add nothing to the majority's
analysis—which make its failure to address the
reasoning of the cases that actually do address that
question and follow the prevailing view and all the more

puzzling.
* See ante, at —.

46a

“A courtesy translation of Mexico’s “declarations made
at the moment of accession” is available on the website of
the Hague Conference on Private International Law at
http://www.hcch.net/index_en.php?act=status.comment
=412=resdn (last visited June 26, 2015).

VL CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, I would conclude that
Article 10(a) of the Service Convention permits service
by mail in Canada. Because the majority does not, I
respectfully dissent.

47a

FOURTEENTH COURT OF APPEALS
301 Fannin, Suite 245
Houston, Texas 77002

Tuescay, October 06, 2015
RE: Case No. 14-14-00012-CV

Style: Tara Menon
v. Water Splash, Inc.

Please be advised that on this date the court
DENIED APPELLEE’S motion for rehearing en banc in
the above cause.

1. C. Case # 13-CV-0205 Christopher Prine, Clerk

Jeremy Jason Gaston

Hawash Meade Gaston Neese & Cicack,
LLP

2118 Smith Street

Houston, TX 77002

DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL

RE: Case No. 15-0901 DATE: 5/27/2016
COA #: 14-14-00012-CV TC#: 13-CV-0205
STYLE: WATER SPLASH INC. v. MENON

Today the Supreme Court of Texas denied the
petition for review in the above-referenced case.

MR. JEREMY J. GASTON

HAWASH MEADE GASTON NEESE & CICACK
LLP

2118 SMITH STREET

HOUSTON, TX 77002

* DELIVERED VIA E-MAIL *

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0697%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
