# Amicus Curiae Brief — Kindred Nursing Ctrs. Ltd. P'ship v. Clark, 137 S. Ct. 1421 (2017) (No. 16-32)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0688%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2017

## Text

: No. 16-32 matte
Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

KINDRED NURSING CENTERS
LIMITED PARTNERSHIP, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

JANIS E. CLARK AND BEVERLY WELLNER, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

BRIEF FOR THE
AMERICAN HEALTH CARE ASSOCIATION
AND THE KENTUCKY ASSOCIATION OF
HEALTH CARE FACILITIES AS AMICI
CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

JAMES F. SEGROVES
Counsel of Record
KELLY A. CARROLL
DAVID J. VERNON
HOOPER, LUNDY & BOOKMAN, PC
401 Ninth Street, NW, Suite 550
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 580-7700
ELIZABETH A. JOHNSON jsegroves@health-law.com
KENTUCKY ASSOCIATION
OF HEALTH CARE MARK E. REAGAN
FACILITIES HOOPER, LUNDY & BOOKMAN, PC
9403 Mill Brook Road 575 Market Street, Suite 2300
Louisville, KY 40223 San Francisco, CA 94105
(502) 425-5000 (415) 875-8500

A LR aN
WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Federal Arbitration Act preempts a
state-law contract rule that singles out arbitration by
requiring a power of attorney to expressly refer to
arbitration agreements before the attorney-in-fact
can bind her principal to an arbitration agreement.

(i)

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE .00.0.0...0.0.00c6.60cccccccsecseee 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................0cc0ccccccceeeeeeeee 3
i conbaveosouens 5
I. THELTC PROFESSION HAS LONG USED
ARBITRATION AS A MEANS OF OBTAINING
DISPUTE RESOLUTION THAT IS BOTH
I csuseonnennneccosoosoes 5
Il. THE PLAIN-STATEMENT RULE ADOPTED BY
THE MAJORITY BELOW IS PLAINLY WRONG .......... 8
a ceusuucumesoned 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
AT&T Techs., Inc. v. Commc’n Workers of Am..,
a sedenoetoocs 11
Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hosp.,
ES 9,10
Carter v. SSC Odin Operating Co.,
a 6
Cuozzo Speed Techs. v. Lee,
ncsasoceusenovaneets 10
Delimuth v. Muth,
a auceooopenns 10

DIRECTV, Inc. v. Imburgia,
I esseuiononsenss 10

Cases—Continued: Page
Marmet Health Care Ctr., Inc. v. Brown,
132 S. Ct. 1201 (2012) (per curiam) ............... 2,10
Moses H. Cone Mem Hosp. v. Mercury Constr.
i, Ge I 0 GE trtsccasceciccnsesiemsuntienentinicte 11
Perry v. Thomas,
|, RES EN eee 11
Preston v. Ferrer,
I cia 10
Southland Corp. v. Keating,
I a saa estaiineinedinell 11
Ware v. Hylton,
Ge De GFE ccccvvcccccccessectscccsdecesenseent 9
Constitution and Statutes:
U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2 (Supremacy Clause)......4, 9
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16 .....passim
STII tT isso ciearescnseiahetgeeieatineieummnaancatiaeliiaiddal 3
Other Authorities:

AON Global Risk Consulting, American Health
Care Association Special Study on Arbitration
in the Long Term Care Industry (June 2009) ......5

AON Global Risk Consulting, Long Term Care:
General Liability and Professional Liability
Actuarial Analysis (Nov. 2015)...............c00cscseeeeees 7

Br. Amicus Curiae for AHCA in Supp. of Pet’rs,
Clarksburg Nursing & Rehab. Ctr., Inc. v.
Marchio, No. 11-394 (U.S. Oct. 28, 2011),

EE ET orinicnedssspanssoniisiaianianbadmnienoepengeniie 2

iv
Other Authorities—Continued: Page
The Federalist No. 44 (James Madison)

1

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The American Health Care Association (AHCA) is
the Nation’s leading association of long-term care
and post-acute care providers, representing the
interests of more than 12,000 non-profit and proprie-
tary facilities. AHCA’s members are dedicated to
improving the delivery of professional and compas-
sionate care to more than 1.5 million frail, elderly,
and disabled Americans who live in skilled nursing
facilities, assisted living residences, subacute cen-
ters, and homes for persons with mental retardation
and developmental disabilities. AHCA advocates for
quality care and services for frail, elderly, and disa-
bled Americans. In order to ensure the availability of
such services, AHCA also advocates for the continued
vitality of the long-term and post-acute care provider
community.”

One way in which AHCA promotes the interests
of its members is by participating as an amicus
curiae in cases before this Court with far-ranging
consequences for its members. Such cases include
those involving application of the Federal Arbitration
Act (FAA), 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16, in response to state
judicial rulings inhibiting the use of arbitration to
resolve disputes fairly and efficiently. See, e.g., Br.
Amicus Curiae for AHCA in Supp. of Pet’rs, Clarks-
burg Nursing & Rehab. Ctr., Inc. v. Marchio, No. 11-

* No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in
part, and no person other than the amici curiae, their members,
or their counsel made a monetary contribution intended to fund
the preparation or submission of this brief. The petitioners’ and
respondents’ written consents to the filing of this brief have
been filed with the Clerk.

2

394 (U.S. Oct. 28, 2011), 2011 WL 5189096; see also
Marmet Health Care Ctr., Inc. v. Brown, 132 S. Ct.
1201, 1203—04 (2012) (per curiam) (granting Clarks-
burg petition in curve-lined cases where state court
of last resort erroneously held that the FAA does not
protect pre-dispute arbitration agreements covering
claims of personal injury or wrongful death against a
nursing facility, summarily vacating state court’s
judgment, and remanding for further proceedings).

The Kentucky Association of Health Care Facili-
ties (KAHCF) is a non-profit trade association repre-
senting approximately 200 licensed and certified
nursing facilities throughout Kentucky. Founded in
1954, KAHCF is the primary advocacy organization
for nursing facilities in Kentucky. KAHCF’s mission
is to promote quality long-term and post-acute care
services and supports through advocacy, member
services, education, and quality-achievement recog-
nition. KAHCF advocates for its members in legisla-
tive, regulatory, and judicial settings to further the
overall goals of its membership.

AHCA, KAHCF, and their respective members
have a significant interest in the question presented
by this case, which is why AHCA and KAHCF previ-
ously filed an amicus brief supporting the petition for
a writ of certiorari filed by Kindred Nursing Centers
Limited Partnership, et al. (collectively, Kindred).
The four-to-three decision of the Supreme Court of
Kentucky at issue here held that powers of attorney
authorizing attorneys-in-fact to enter into contracts
do not include the authority to enter into one par-
ticular type of contract: arbitration agreements.
Instead, the majority below ruled that in light of the
Kentucky Constitution’s protection of the right to a

3

trial by jury, powers of attorney must contain explic-
it, unambiguous language specifically authorizing
the attorney-in-fact to enter into arbitration agree-
ments.

That erroneous decision is emblematic of the
struggle members of the long-term and post-acute
care profession (collectively, LTC Profession) cur-
rently face in seeking judicial enforcement and
protection of their federal arbitration rights. The
majority decision below also is emblematic of the
lengths to which certain state courts will go to im-
pede the exercise of those rights by creating novel
legal rules that single out arbitration for special,
disfavored treatment in spite of the FAA’s command
that arbitration agreements “shall be valid, irrevoca-
ble, and enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist
at law or in equity for the revocation of any contract.”
9 U.S.C. § 2.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Kindred’s brief explains in detail why the rule
adopted by the majority below cannot be reconciled
with the FAA or this Court’s long line of decisions
interpreting the statute’s preemptive effect. Rather
than repeat those arguments, AHCA and KAHCF
wish to emphasize two additional reasons for revers-
ing the judgment of the Supreme Court of Kentucky
in this case.

First, the LTC Profession has long used arbitra-
tion as a means of obtaining dispute resolution that
is both efficient and fair. No profession or industry is
perfect. Humans and organizations can, and do,
make mistakes. When disputes arise involving the
LTC Profession, arbitration permits the parties to
appoint subject-matter experts to serve as arbitra-

4

tors who can quickly resolve the issues such disputes
often entail, including questions regarding the scope
of professional duties of care, whether such duties
were breached, and whether such a breach caused
the injury complained of. Many members of the LTC
Profession use arbitration agreements containing
elements similar to the agreements at issue here,
which grant the resident or resident representative a
significant period of time to rescind the agreement
and provide that the facility will incur most, and
sometimes all, of the costs of arbitration. And as
demonstrated by one recent study, such claimants
often recover significant amounts, with the highest
proportion of recoveries falling in the $25,000 to
$250,000 range.

Second, the plain-statement rule adopted by the
majority below is plainly wrong. It not only ignores
the fact that the Supremacy Clause of the United
States Constitution requires a state constitutional
provision to give way to contrary federal law, the
majority's plain-statement rule is the opposite of
what the rule must be under the FAA. In light of the
emphatic federal policy in favor of arbitral dispute
resolution, a power of attorney that authorizes an
attorney-in-fact to enter into contracts must unam-
biguously exclude the authority to enter into arbitra-
tion agreements before such an instrument can be
held not to convey such authority in a case subject to
the FAA. That rule, which is consistent with the
plain-statement rule adopted by this Court in the
context of interpreting contract language controlling
the scope of disputes subject to arbitration, puts
arbitration agreements on equal footing with all
other contracts as Congress intended.

5

Accordingly, the judgment of the Supreme Court
of Kentucky should be reversed.

ARGUMENT

I. THE LTC PROFESSION HAS LONG USED ARBI-
TRATION AS A MEANS OF OBTAINING DISPUTE
RESOLUTION THAT IS BOTH EFFICIENT AND FAIR

A significant percentage of individuals who re-
quire care by the LTC Profession are incapable of
contracting for themselves, whether because of such
things as accidental injury or disability resulting
from the normal aging process. Many individuals
have planned for such an eventuality by preparing
general powers of attorney that give designated
individuals whom they trust authority to, among
other things, enter into contracts on their behalf. The
LTC Profession, in turn, depends on such powers of
attorney to deliver timely care and to order its busi-
ness affairs on a daily basis.

Arbitration agreements are a common and essen-
tial component of contracting in the LTC Profession.
Like many industry sectors, the LTC Profession has
long used arbitration agreements as a means of
facilitating timely and efficient dispute resolution.
See, e.g., AON Global Risk Consulting, American
Health Care Association Special Study on Arbitration
in the Long Term Care Industry 5 (June 2009) (de-
scribing history of LTC Profession’s use of arbitra-
tion agreements and benefits of same), available at
https://www.ahcancal.org (last visited Dec. 11, 2016).
The two arbitration agreements at issue here even
share certain attributes of the model arbitration
agreement AHCA makes available to its members
nationwide. For example, in addition to not being a
condition of admission to the nursing facility, each

6

arbitration agreement is a document separate from
the admission agreement and grants the resident or
resident representative 30 days to rescind the arbi-
tration agreement. J.A. 19, 26. Like the arbitration
agreements at issue here, it also is common for
arbitration agreements in the LTC Profession to
provide that the facility will pay all or most of the
costs of arbitration, including the arbitrators’ fees.
See J.A. 17, 24 (provisions in arbitration agreements
at issue here providing that the facility will pay all
such fees up to five days of hearing, with subsequent
fees being divided equally between the parties); see
also, e.g., Carter v. SSC Odin Operating Co., 976
N.E.2d 344, 349 (Ill. 2012) (describing arbitration
agreement providing that nursing facility would pay
all arbitration fees).

Moreover, disputes involving the LTC Profession
are particularly well-suited for resolution using
arbitration. When such disputes arise involving
residents or their representatives, they most often
sound in tort and involve an alleged breach of the
professional standard of care. Many such cases are
limited in temporal scope and focus on relatively
modest factual disputes, as well as disagreements in
expert testimony regarding the scope of the profes-
sional duty in question, whether it was breached,
and whether any such breach proximately caused the
injury complained of. The parties often are able to
appoint arbitrators who have specialized expertise in
resolving such disputes, including former judges.

Arbitration also provides a better mode of dispute
resolution for the typical claimant than traditional
court-based litigation. For example, a recent study
performed by a leading provider of risk-management

7

and insurance services found that claims involving
the LTC Profession that are subject to arbitration
resolve three months faster on average than claims
not subject to arbitration. AON Global Risk Consult-
ing, Long Term Care: General Liability and Profes-
sional Liability Actuarial Analysis 10 (Nov. 2015),
available at https://)www.ahcancal.org (last visited
Dec. 11, 2016). In addition, the same study found
that such claimants can, and often do, recover signif-
icant amounts. As demonstrated by the following
table reproduced from the study, almost 50 percent
of claims subject to arbitration resulted in recoveries
falling in the $25,000 to $250,000 range:

No Payment 233| 27.5%| 267| 20.2%

$25,000 to 407| 48.0% 41.0%
$250,000

Greater than 7 0.8% 1.9%
$1,000,000

Claims with | 615 | 72.5% | 1,053 79.8%
| Payment |

Id. at 11. Accordingly, the contention made by some
anti-arbitration advocates that arbitration involving
the LTC Profession is somehow categorically unfair
to claimants has no basis in fact.

8

Il. THE PLAIN-STATEMENT RULE ADOPTED BY THE
MAJORITY BELOW Is PLAINLY WRONG

The narrow majority of the Supreme Court of
Kentucky held that, before Kentucky’s courts will
enforce an arbitration agreement entered into by an
attorney-in-fact pursuant to a power of attorney, the
power of attorney must contain an explicit, unam-
biguous statement specifically authorizing the attor-
ney-in-fact to enter into arbitration agreements. Pet.
App. 4la. Language vesting an attorney-in-fact with
authority to enter into contracts is insufficient. Jd. at
42a. The majority crafted its novel legal rule because
the “drafters of [Kentucky’s] Constitution deemed
the right to a jury trial to be inviolate, a right that
cannot be taken away; and, indeed, a right that is
sacred, thus denoting that right and that right alone
as a divine God-given right.” Jd. at 43a.

As Kindred’s brief explains in detail (at 12—29),
the rule adopted by the majority below cannot be
reconciled with the FAA or this Court’s jurispru-
dence interpreting the statute’s preemptive force. At
a more fundamental level, however, the “constitu-
tional right” line of reasoning used by the majority
below ignores the fact that the foundation for this
Court’s preemption jurisprudence—the Supremacy
Clause of the United States Constitution—applies
even if the contrary state rule is embodied in a state
constitution.

In relevant part, the Supremacy Clause provides
that the “Laws of the United States ... shall be the
supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in every
State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the
Constitution or Laws of any State to the Contrary
notwithstanding.” U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2 (emphasis

9

added). From the earliest days of our Nation, the
Supremacy Clause has been understood to require
that a state constitutional provision must give way to
a contrary federal law. See, e.g., Ware v. Hylton, 3
U.S. (3 Dall.) 199, 236-37 (1796) (opinion of Chase,
J.) (“If the Constitution of a State (which is the
fundamental law of the State, and paramount to its
Legislature) must give way to a treaty, and fall
before it; can it be questioned, whether the less
power, an act of the State Legislature, must not be
prostrate?”). A contrary rule would create a “mon-
ster, in which the head was under the direction of
the members.” The Federalist No. 44, at 254 (James
Madison) (George Stade ed., 2006).

In those instances in which this Court has adopt-
ed a plain-statement rule similar to that adopted by
the majority below, it has done so in recognition of
the fact that a default legal principle of great signifi-
cance requires the use of express, unambiguous
language if that default principle is to be overcome.
For example, in Bowen v. Georgetown University
Hospital, 488 U.S. 204 (1988), the Court was asked
to decide whether Congress had granted a federal
agency authority to promulgate rules with retroac-
tive effect. In finding that Congress had not granted
the agency such authority, the Court explained:

Retroactivity is not favored in the law. Thus, con-

gressional enactments and administrative rules

will not be construed to have retroactive effect un-
less their language requires this result. ... By the
same principle, a statutory grant of legislative
rulemaking authority will not, as a general mat-
ter, be understood to encompass the power to

10

promulgate retroactive rules unless that power is
conveyed by Congress in express terms.

Id. at 208.'

The default legal principle of great significance
that controls here is not the Kentucky Constitution’s
language regarding the right to a jury trial. Instead,
the default legal principle that controls is that arbi-
tration is favored as a matter of federal law. As this
Court has held time and again, the FAA “establishes
a national policy favoring arbitration when the
parties contract for that mode of dispute resolution.
The [FAA] supplies not simply a procedural frame-
work applicable in federal courts; it also calls for the
application, in state as well as federal courts, of
federal substantive law regarding arbitration.”
Preston v. Ferrer, 552 U.S. 346, 349 (2008); see also
DIRECTV, Inc. v. Imburgia, 136 S. Ct. 463, 471
(2015) (explaining that “due regard” must be given to
the “federal policy favoring arbitration”) (internal
quotation marks and citation omitted); Marmet
Health Care Ctr., Inc. v. Brown, 132 S. Ct. 1201,
1203 (2012) (per curiam) (explaining that the FAA

' Other examples of this Court’s use of plain-statement
rules or their near equivalents have involved similar instances
of needing to overcome a default legal principle of great signifi-
cance. See, e.g., Cuozzo Speed Techs. v. Lee, 136 S. Ct. 2131,
2140 (2016) (explaining that the “strong presumption in favor of
judicial review” of agency action must be overcome by “clear
and convincing indications”) (internal quotation marks and
citation omitted); Dellmuth v. Muth, 491 U.S. 223, 228 (1989)
(“Congress may abrogate the States’ constitutionally secured
immunity from suit in federal court only by making its inten-
tion unmistakably clear in the language of the statute.”)
(internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

11

“reflects an emphatic federal policy in favor of arbi-
tral dispute resolution”) (internal quotation marks
and citation omitted); Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S. 483,
489 (1987) (explaining that the FAA “embodies a
clear federal policy” in favor of arbitration); South-
land Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1, 10 (1984) (explain-
ing that by enacting the FAA, “Congress declared a
national policy favoring arbitration”).

This Court has previously applied what amounts
to a plain-statement rule that promotes arbitration
in recognition of the fact that arbitration is favored
as a matter of federal law. For example, the Court
has explained that the FAA “establishes that, as a
matter of federal law, any doubts concerning the
scope of arbitrable issues should be resolved in favor
of arbitration, whether the problem at hand is the
construction of the contract language itself or an
allegation of waiver, delay, or a like defense to arbi-
trability.” Moses H. Cone Mem’! Hosp. v. Mercury
Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24-25 (1983) (emphasis
added); see also AT&T Techs., Inc. v. Commce’n Work-
ers of Am., 475 U.S. 643, 650 (1986) (explaining that
an order compelling arbitration “should not be de-
nied unless it may be said with positive assurance
that the arbitration clause is not susceptible of an
interpretation that covers the asserted dispute”). The
Court should adopt a similar plain-statement rule
here that is the converse of the rule adopted by the
majority below, such that a power of attorney author-
izing an attorney-in-fact to enter into contracts on
behalf of the principal must unambiguously exclude
the authority to enter into arbitration agreements
before such an instrument will be held not to convey
such authority in a case subject to the FAA.

12

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and those contained in
Kindred’s brief, the judgment of the Supreme Court
of Kentucky should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

JAMES F. SEGROVES
Counsel of Record
KELLY A. CARROLL
DAVID J. VERNON
HOOPER, LUNDY & BOOKMAN, PC
401 Ninth Street, NW, Suite 550
ELIZABETH A. JOHNSON Washington, DC 20004
KENTUCKY ASSOCIATION (202) 580-7700
OF HEALTH CARE jsegroves@health-law.com
FACILITIES
9403 Mill Brook Road MARK E. REAGAN
Louisville, KY 40223 HOOPER, LUNDY & BOOKMAN, PC
(502) 425-5000 575 Market Street, Suite 2300

San Francisco, CA 94105
DECEMBER 2016 (415) 875-8500

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385016_0688%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
